About Firehouse Restaurant

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sundays 5pm-8pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Open Kitchen (20)
See All
Cozy (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Historic (15)
Casual (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, the Firehouse met our expectations and more. Chicken, pizza, clams, salad--all great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Went to take a look at the private event space, scope out the food, and see if kids would like it. Overall, good food, but not necessarily the best value. Artichoke appetizer was OK. Faux-Caesar Romaine with lemon/anchovy dressing was very good but too small. Appetizers in general were a bit too small. Pizza margherita was quite good, but family's general observation was a slightly soggy crust despite some pleasant scorch marks on the bottom. Pesto chicken with dumplings was good portion size but sauce was too thin. Meatball entree was quite good. Small half-order of plain pasta for one of the kids was cooked perfectly al dente, but tasted as if the cooking water had been over-salted. Overall a near-miss for the first time out. We might try again and choose a few different items. One downside for families is no separate menu choices for kids. I think our search for family-friendly Italian food might continue, but Firehouse is certainly worth a try.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointed online menu didn't match current restaurant menu. Service was great. Food was great, maybe a bit salty thou. We had the trout and also the hanger steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for a pre fix course for Valentines. Good selection of 6 courses (including desert), great wine pairing! Cauliflower soup was absolutely lovely. Some food was too salty, and laviola was undercooked, though. Good atmosphere but a bit noisy. Overall satisfactory place to visit for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had our Valentine Day dinner at Firehouse. Cool converted fire house but came with the common Portland 'vibe' (change the name/location - same atmosphere & food creativity). It was a set, five course meal - always a challenge to avoid the issues with 'cafeteria' style . Entree was a lamb shank which was way overcooked (the garnish was on fire at the table next to us) and the ravioli was way under-cooked (good if you like chewy, doughy ravioli - I don't).

For $40 more per person, there was a wine pairing. I passed, which seemed to annoy the server and we didn't see much of her after that - we had to wave people down to get more drinks. My wife's ice tea was flavored with what tasted like cinnamon (think of the candy red hots) so she set it aside. She mentioned it to one of the service staff and they removed it but didn't ask if she wanted (or offer) a replacement.

With all that, we'll likely try it again when the regular menu is offered but with so many great choices in Portland, that may be a decade away.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were accommodated for gluten free on their fixed price menu for valentine's and we appreciate that. The food was good, although I am not a big oyster fan. The only complaint is that our table was right next to a service station so my view was of wait staff's backsides.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We are frequent patrons to this fine establishment in the Dekum neighborhood. The menu is always creative and tasty and the ambience is excellent. We love this place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The wood-fired aroma of the place is always enticing. What was especially excellent this time is that I had the last-seating of the evening and the held the kitchen open until my friends from LA arrived, 30 minutes behind schedule.

The service certainly went beyond the call of duty!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good variety of italian inspired food. A lot of their entrees and pizzas utilize the wood fired over which gives a unique smoky flavor. I would recommend splitting a few appetizers among your group before your entrees because their starters are my favorite part of their menu. Prices are very reasonable for high quality food. New owners seem to have kept the menu and atmosphere the same which is good to see.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cool building and ambiance.

Sides were well worth it - my pizza was a little undercooked. Beyond that we enjoyed and will be back again.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We decided on Firehouse because of our past visits. We didn't want anything too fancy, something more along the lines of casual, comfortable and great food. The Firehouse fits to a 'T'. We had a wonderful evening with great service, excellent wine and amazing food. Thanks again for never disappointing.

We will be back!

Tags: Historic, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a good decision to have dinner at The Firehouse. From starters to dessert, every food item is created with care and attention to detail. There were three of us - hangar steak, meatballs and a pizza. Everyone was happy and pleased with their orders.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything we had was absolutely delicious! We ordered mostly everything that is on the happy hour menu and we loved it all!! The deep fried cauliflower, meatballs and pizza are favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I was disappointed in the quality of the food. It was not very good. We tried the meatballs, a pizza and the pasta with clams. The pizza was good. Not great atmosphere like you would think in an old firehouse. Service was good. We are not planning on going back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Portland. No drop in quality or service with the new owners. This restaurant is a gem. Love the appetizers.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My girlfriends and I went for our friends birthday. The building was interesting and done well. Our waiter was below average on personality and interest in us, in general. We ordered a specialty cocktail for 10.00. It wasn't very tasty and even worse was it had about 2 tablespoons of cocktail with one giant ice cube. The funny part was, the ice cube was the best part. I ordered a 14.00 pizza that was fine, nothing special. The waiter asked if I wanted to add any addition topping which I did. When the pizza came my addition was not added. There was no mention of why not, until the waiter brushed by and told me they were out of arugula. Ok, well it was 5:45 and they were out? Curious. We ordered dessert and had a delicious pot de cream. We also had espresso pannacotta, that I would stir clear of. It truly wasn't the worst ever experience but nothing worth it either. Just another snobby restaurant not worth my time. Portland is full of awesome places and delicious food. This was not it. The building was super cool, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Delicious food in a very comfortable setting. The service was great--attentive without hovering. Lovely neighborhood gem!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great vibrant atmosphere. A little noisy, but good food and service was just right. Not to nosey but there when needed. Great pizza crust, not thin, but not thick.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Over priced and very small menu and cocktail choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place, service, and food! The cooks take you to flavortown every time ;)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It's a neighborhood place I've never checked out because it's small & most often busy. I'm not one for a noisy or crowded restaurant experience. I also knew it is more on the pricier side of the spectrum. Decided to go, because today is my birthday, so why not treat myself. Absolutely glad I did! Food was great, service amazing, & it wasn't very noisy or busy. Mind you I did have an 8pm dinner reservation. Helps cut back on the over crowding & noise level. The building itself is a historic landmark, food is prepared fresh, & local, I will gladly be returning to this neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great rustic food. Local ingredients. Great value. Reclaimed cool old firehouse from the early 1900. Good service. Great everyday place to eat. Split a pizza, salad , and salad and was plenty of food for two.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They did not seem to read any of the notes from open table reservation where I listed a toddler was coming and a Gluten/Dairy free, so we were cramped at a table next to the bar but the food was excellent and the drinks quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent (especially the meatballs), but service was extremely slow. Took forever between our salad course and dinner, which meant the wine was pretty much gone before we got our entrees. We will return and hope to get better service next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

With a in ique ambiance and delicious food--what more could you ask for? The delicata squash bruschetta was delightful and the meatballs with roasted red peppers were so full of flavor! I would HIGHLY recommend this unique dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love this restaurant! The food is uniformly wonderful and they always make you feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Did they change hands or managers recently? This was our 7th dinner in 18 months (weekly for a while in the summer) at The Firehouse, and if it had been our first time we would not have returned. The service was slow and not very well versed for recommendations, the food was the least flavorful in 7 tries (and we ordered the same appetizers, entree and deserts each time) and it was served cold.

It will be a long time before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Tom, our server was fantastic. The food was as delicious as always!! I always leave wishing I could repeat the entire meal, but I'm too full!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Service for our party of four could not have been better! Appetizer menu was limited but we ordered two of the four offered and they were the best I have had in some time. Meatballs and hangar steak were very good. Only disappointment was the dessert menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The change in ownership has clearly had a negative impact. The same dishes on the menu lack the brilliant flavor and quality of before. New items are simply off. This was a favorite for the past several years. I doubt we'll be back for a long while. Maybe they will work out the kinks starting with making creme fraiche that isn't the consistency of water. So disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food, lovely place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal at the firehouse. I had the hanger steak and my wife had the roast chicken. Both were cooked in the wood oven and had a wonderful smoky flavor.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Came here in search of good neapolitan style pizza and was not disappointed. After traveling to Italy and living in NYC and SF, I was looking for a nice pizza place that could hit the spot and this place does. I like the pizza at Firehouse better than Kens or Pizza Scholls, and the vibe is fun. All of their food is great. I love their bruschetta, meatballs and their steak is awesome. Good happy hour specials for food and wine too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Firehouse has become our tradition whenever we have family come in from out of town. The food is wonderful, and the feel of the place is so warm and comforting. One of my all-time favorite restaurants.

Tags: Wood Oven, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good, but not great. Had higher hopes for the rotisserie chicken. Maybe I'm just lazy, but it seemed hard to get the meat off the bones. Pizza was good, but didn't knock my socks off. Best part was the ambience, and the photographs of the firefighters from the early 20th Century. And the service was prompt, and courteous.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful pizza, great mussels, yummy apple crisp. Warm and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent meal; my husband had the chicken and I had the true cod. Both were excellent. We also enjoyed the lettuce salad with Humboldt Fog (hum!). The best part was the dessert...pumpkin semifreddo...the perfect thing for this time of year.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service terrible terrible. Food expensive and not very good. They weren't busy yet service was horrible.

Pasta tasted like rubber

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We go to FireHouse again and again. Love the food, friendly wait-staff, warmth and bustle of this little gem.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

They could definitely update the website more often. I was disappointed this visit when what I expected to enjoy was not available. But overall, the Firehouse is a gem, I feel fortunate to have this restaurant in our neighborhood.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great spot

always tasty

great wood aroma

good value too

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We reserved a table for two at 7pm on a Thursday. I specifically asked for a "good" table and mentioned that this was our first dinner as husband and wife and to please help make it special. We got a bad table. The waitress took 20+ minutes to bring us our drinks which took a good 10 minutes just to order. The food was good minus some artichoke appetizer that was not good at all. Our waitress didn't check on us and the restaurant was not that busy either. Such a sad experience since we've enjoyed dining here several times before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I like the historic firehouse building, the wood-fired oven, and the location in Woodlawn, and I was looking forward to a special meal. Staff were friendly, responsive, and abundant on a Saturday evening. The menu sounded promising, but just didn't deliver.

We had dinners - small plate + salad + pizza; out of 6 dishes, only 2 were good (pizza bianca with chanterelles, green salad). Arancini were perfectly fried but almost entirely plain rice (salami and mozzerella were promised). Two other dishes were extremely over-salted and unexpectedly cold (roasted broccoli?). The sausage pie had the toppings piled in the center and came out soggy.

The food appeared promptly, the bake/fry and appearance were great overall, and the menu is interesting, varied, and includes actual vegetables. I would return if I heard about improvements, but at this price point, it would still be quite a while. Also, the missing cobblestones at the entrance are an accident waiting to happen.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Surly waitstaff and overly salty dishes ruined what was once a favorite place in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and a very good value. We love the appetizers and all the main courses are excellent. Never had a bad meal here. The restaurant is not large and seating with other tables is close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I got the Cod plate. The fish was great but the veggies were burned more than I like and I can eat some pretty black food. Also, to drink I ordered the house-made cream soda. Unfortunately, it had little taste to it and I regretted ordering it. The service was fine and was able to have a nice chat with my date so it was a good night.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely horrible service, sub-par food and a ridiculous hassle as far as value and experience vs time and money wasted go.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Really a nice little local place with more than its fair share of ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. As a bonus, we found out when we arrived that it was happy hour. Make reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Better get there in the next few days....the restaurant has been sold to new owners! We went in for a last chance to eat the roasted cauliflower.....we will miss the Firehouse!! Very sad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.