Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Firehouse Restaurant

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm;
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Firehouse continues to be our favorite restaurant. We have a favorite options but like to change from time to time for variety. Our favorite waitress was working a private party upstairs but stopped by to wish us well for our anniversary!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Unfortunately we did not have a good experience. I have always loved the Firehouse but this night was a very bad restaurant experience. There were six of us. We all ordered two things. I was served my salad and my entree within 10 mins or so of ordering. Several of my friends also got their salads at that time. And then we sat. And sat. And sat. I tried to get the waitress's attention but to no avail. I tried to eat my entree slowly. End is story is that it was over an hour before the other five got their entrees. One couple had ordered both mussels and pizza to share. Those were brought together at the end. So while I had both my salad and entree at the very beginning of the meal, they had nothing to eat for over an hour. It actually was a horrible experience and I do not understand why this happened. Our waitress did not fess up nor did she apologize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our table was ready right on time. Food was delicious and came quickly considering they were quite busy. The mussels are particularly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Seems like the service here has gone down. My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Firehouse 3 years ago and we have returned every year for the cauliflower and meatballs. Not only did the waitress not understand our question "What flavor soda's do you have?" The cauliflower was cold and the meatballs were so spicy I could not eat them.

Aside from the decline is service over these past few years, I would hope the had A/C, served cold water or that we would have been given the option to site outside at one of the three open tables. We did have a reservation, and were seated promptly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Wonderful food,ambiance and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Not quite sure if it was the management or staff but the food was not as good and the way the customer is treated is very different in a negative way from previous visits. I would not recommend Firehouse to anyone nor will I be returning. There are so many other choices in Portland where the customers are treated much better and more fairly. It's too bad, I always liked this place and was the one who chose it for this get together with a friend. I felt terrible with my experience this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My favorite pizza shop in all Portland - a town with tons of competition, so this is not a callous remark. The ambiance, service and food is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent cuisine in a restored firehouse. Moderate prices. Inside a bit noisy, as it is brick!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I liked it so much I bought a gift certificate for some friends

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Consistently one of our favorite places to dine. Especially good for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The Fire House Restaurant has great fare and is in an amazing historic building. What a wonderful way to honor Portland's history than repurposing this building into a fine restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Sat outside and enjoyed the great weather. The seating could have been a little better quality. Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. I had the roasted chicken and my husband had the pepperoni pizza. We always share the roasted beets and romaine salad.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The appetizers were amazing!!! We had the broccolini and the artichoke. So good. I would have loved more vegetarian pizza options. We had lovely service :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I really enjoyed our meal. Waitstaff were helpful and attentive. We ate outside which was lovely. Appetizers and desserts were highlights. Main dishes good but did not impress as much. Pizza tasty but so wet the crust was quickly soggy. I've been here before. Always enjoy myself.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

They were out of the salmon I wanted. The server described the wine with terms I've never heard before. The "roasted" artichoke appetizer was burnt. The "strawberry " ice cream was caramel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This place has some of the best pizza in town, but if you don't order the chickpea brocolini, you're missing out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

As always, we had a great meal and a good time. We invited friends who declared Firehouse their new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always so good. Thanks for a memorable meal. My out of town guests were quite impressed.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and prompt service. Will definitely return!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very good restaurant. Food was delicious and reasonable. Service was ok. Seemed a bit like regulars were wonderful and you were 'by the way'. My real gripe was that the kitchen had really lousy timing. First course came way too quickly after the appetizer. But what was really annoying was the entrees coming just minutes later. A table full of plates and unfinished courses. We could have been in and out in 45 minutes if we had tried to follow that pace but it's hard to eat that fast. There weren't people waiting for a table but there was a party upstairs so maybe that threw off their timing. They make an excellent negroni. I would definitely go back and give it another try because the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We are a fan of the new management, but I have to say the food was mediocre. Hangar steak was tough and the chicken was not great. Lots of bones

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food served by caring waitstaff. Deserts are good but are very limited. The pot de creme is a bit too salty for my taste, but the dinners are all excellent. I've dined here enough times to have tasted many dishes, and a patron can't go wrong with any dish. I keep coming back and introducing people to this gem. Hors d'oevres are excellent. I like the fact that the scotch is limited to single malts. Access for the disabled is ok, but an old lady using a walker will have difficulty going over the broken and crevassed walkway to the door. This place is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was our 1 year wedding anniversary so we decided to try something new. Everything was pretty good besides one interaction. My husband is a vegetarian and we ordered an appetizer that we didn't realize had meat in it (the description line was indented strange, so we didn't see the meat 'Ndjua listed). Definitely a mistake on our behalf, but we asked for a menu since he couldn't eat the appetizer. The waitress didn't pay attention to this or even address that we had a menu to order new food. We know that when we go out there will be meals that he cannot eat. It just wasn't dealt with in the best way. I know he walked away hungry due to this interaction or lack there of. At the end of the meal, my husband mentioned it was our anniversary. They ended up comping 2 limoncello's for us! It definitely made up for the weird interaction mentioned above. It is a cute charming little place and the food is unique. I would go back to try it again and definitely pay more attention to the menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Awesome pizza, crust is amazing. Hangar steak was lovely, and great flavor. Drinks slightly weak, but Barolo by the glass perfect. Service was good, and staff was really nice. I'll go back for sure...great find.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was excellent. We can't wait to have our rehearsal dinner here!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Consistently delicious. Best mussels in town - great quality, perfectly cooked, they don't even need the butter that they come with. Fried cauliflower is outrageously delicious, to good to share so we always get one plate per person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food is always so absolutely amazing. Every dish is delicious and super authentic. You can't go wrong! The menu changes and every new item is a hit and super creative. Staff are friendly and outgoing. Thank you!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our Mother's day dinner. Everything was delicious and my mother greatly enjoyed being pampered with food and drink by the staff. We will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food! Came for my brothers bday while he was visiting from FL!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Firehouse is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants, the food is excellent, especially the pizza which is the best I have eaten since Naples. On this visit a visiting son was taken there to share the pizza and starter experience. He was suitably impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and service has really improved with new owners. Keep up the good work. Staff is friendlier and they seem to be working more as a team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fantastic food and service, as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Charming ambiance, creative menu and lovely wood burning stove and open kitchen made this a hit with our family.
We took our chances trusting the Open Table community and they were spot on! It's a lovely and the food delightful! Our party of 6 ordered the mussels, beets, fried cauliflower- fantastic! For dinner we had the hanger steak and the wood fired pizzas. We will be back again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love this restaurant. Wonderful, fresh food especially the wood fired pizza. Excellent service. Nice, casual decor. Neighorhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food! A little smoky and warm from the wood burning oven. It helped when they opened the garage door to let in some fresh air.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of my very favorite places in all of Portland...Not a huge menu but everything is hugely delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was good, nothing extraordinary, but it was fine. We ordered four different entrees and one appetizer but the waiter forgot the app. Also tried a salad. This was busy on a Friday night with a lot of locals. Nice vibe in a vibrant neighborhood. It would be interesting to see what a chef could do here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great selection of unique appetizers. Fantastic pizza. Super friendly and skillful wait staff.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.