About Firehouse Restaurant

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sundays 5pm-8pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Restaurant Photos

Pizza Bianca - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Fried Cauliflower with Lemon Fraiche - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Rockfish with black trumpet mushroom dumplings and lobster ravigote - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Almond Cake - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Pork Shoulder - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Hanger Steak - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Margherita Pizza - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Firehouse Meatballs with tomato & rosemary braised lacinato kale - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Wood-grilled Hanger Steak - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Aracini - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Grilled Hanger Steak - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Pizza Margherita - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Marinara Pizza - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Fried Cauliflower With Creme Fresh - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
green salad - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Menu - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Wood Grilled Lamb Loin - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Fennel Sausage Padron Peppet - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR
Meatball - Firehouse Restaurant, Portland, OR

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Portland
Best Restaurants in NE Portland ›

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Wood Oven (33)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Casual (24)
Cozy (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Historic (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (7)
Family Style (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, lovely place!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, lovely place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a great meal at the fi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had a great meal at the firehouse. I had the hanger steak and my wife had the roast chicken. Both were cooked in the wood oven and had a wonderful smoky flavor.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Firehouse has become our tradition whene ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Firehouse has become our tradition whenever we have family come in from out of town. The food is wonderful, and the feel of the place is so warm and comforting. One of my all-time favorite restaurants.

Tags: Wood Oven, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good, but not great. Had higher hopes f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good, but not great. Had higher hopes for the rotisserie chicken. Maybe I'm just lazy, but it seemed hard to get the meat off the bones. Pizza was good, but didn't knock my socks off. Best part was the ambience, and the photographs of the firefighters from the early 20th Century. And the service was prompt, and courteous.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful pizza, great mussels, yummy ap ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful pizza, great mussels, yummy apple crisp. Warm and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal; my husband had the chick ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent meal; my husband had the chicken and I had the true cod. Both were excellent. We also enjoyed the lettuce salad with Humboldt Fog (hum!). The best part was the dessert...pumpkin semifreddo...the perfect thing for this time of year.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service terrible terrible. Food expensiv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service terrible terrible. Food expensive and not very good. They weren't busy yet service was horrible.

Pasta tasted like rubber

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We go to FireHouse again and again. Love ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We go to FireHouse again and again. Love the food, friendly wait-staff, warmth and bustle of this little gem.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They could definitely update the website ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

They could definitely update the website more often. I was disappointed this visit when what I expected to enjoy was not available. But overall, the Firehouse is a gem, I feel fortunate to have this restaurant in our neighborhood.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot always tasty great wood aroma ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great spot

always tasty

great wood aroma

good value too

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved a table for two at 7pm on a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We reserved a table for two at 7pm on a Thursday. I specifically asked for a "good" table and mentioned that this was our first dinner as husband and wife and to please help make it special. We got a bad table. The waitress took 20+ minutes to bring us our drinks which took a good 10 minutes just to order. The food was good minus some artichoke appetizer that was not good at all. Our waitress didn't check on us and the restaurant was not that busy either. Such a sad experience since we've enjoyed dining here several times before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

I like the historic firehouse building, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I like the historic firehouse building, the wood-fired oven, and the location in Woodlawn, and I was looking forward to a special meal. Staff were friendly, responsive, and abundant on a Saturday evening. The menu sounded promising, but just didn't deliver.

We had dinners - small plate + salad + pizza; out of 6 dishes, only 2 were good (pizza bianca with chanterelles, green salad). Arancini were perfectly fried but almost entirely plain rice (salami and mozzerella were promised). Two other dishes were extremely over-salted and unexpectedly cold (roasted broccoli?). The sausage pie had the toppings piled in the center and came out soggy.

The food appeared promptly, the bake/fry and appearance were great overall, and the menu is interesting, varied, and includes actual vegetables. I would return if I heard about improvements, but at this price point, it would still be quite a while. Also, the missing cobblestones at the entrance are an accident waiting to happen.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Surly waitstaff and overly salty dishes ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Surly waitstaff and overly salty dishes ruined what was once a favorite place in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent food and a very good value. We ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and a very good value. We love the appetizers and all the main courses are excellent. Never had a bad meal here. The restaurant is not large and seating with other tables is close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I got the Cod plate. The fish was great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I got the Cod plate. The fish was great but the veggies were burned more than I like and I can eat some pretty black food. Also, to drink I ordered the house-made cream soda. Unfortunately, it had little taste to it and I regretted ordering it. The service was fine and was able to have a nice chat with my date so it was a good night.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely horrible service, sub-par foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely horrible service, sub-par food and a ridiculous hassle as far as value and experience vs time and money wasted go.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Really a nice little local place with mo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Really a nice little local place with more than its fair share of ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and service. As a bonus, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. As a bonus, we found out when we arrived that it was happy hour. Make reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Better get there in the next few days... ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Better get there in the next few days....the restaurant has been sold to new owners! We went in for a last chance to eat the roasted cauliflower.....we will miss the Firehouse!! Very sad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have eaten at the Firehous ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at the Firehouse Restaurant several times in the past and have always had great meals and good service. This particular visit we were very unimpressed with the food as well as the service. The pizza was very undercooked and the meatballs were extremely salty and overcooked. Going out for a meal away from our kids is a very special occasion for my wife and I and it was a real shame that on this particular night the food and the service at the Firehouse restaurant was below average at best.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I live near the restaurant and have fina ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I live near the restaurant and have finally stepped foot and the place, food, atmosphere just blew me away! Quaint and a gem!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Organic, Late-night Find, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The staff are very nice and the food is outstanding. Everything is so delicious and cooked with a lot of love.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal...the pasta and pizza wer ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent meal...the pasta and pizza were great. Interesting wine pairings too. Always a great place for a good meal, if you can get in!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best to make a reservation, so you dont ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Best to make a reservation, so you dont have to wait too long while you see and smell all of the food come out of their open kitchen.

Dinner was delicious, as usual. Some of the best wood fired pizzas we've found in PDX.

Ambiance can get a bit noisy when dinner service is in full swing. That's why the 4 rating.

Everything else is topnotch.

I recommend so much of this menu. But a few notable faves, crispy potatoes, mussels, pepper small plate.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting small plates and very ambiti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Interesting small plates and very ambitious varieties from the kitchen.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group of four adults had a reservati ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our group of four adults had a reservation, yet we still had to wait approx. 30 minutes before being seated. After that, service was still slow and there was no attempt on the part of our server or management to rectify the situation. The food was good as always, but the unnecessary waiting left a bad taste in my mouth. I hope they learn that a reservation is always to be honored, and not something to be used only when it suits their "table turnover".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The only reason I gave ambiance only 3 s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The only reason I gave ambiance only 3 stars is because it is casual, cozy and small, no table clothes (who cares) with an open kitchen (fun) and tables are close together. For us it was an excellent choice, staff, food, wine, pace of the meal all wonderfully 5 star!

Tags: Wood Oven, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good casual food. The waitress was atten ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good casual food. The waitress was attentive but not obtrusive. great small plates of which we had several in lieu of an entree.

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great little place. The food was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

What a great little place. The food was delicious. Our server went out of her way to find a candle to put in to my Husband's dessert. It was his birthday and laughed with relief that no one sang.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made reservations at this establishmen ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I made reservations at this establishment based on the menu options and the reviews. Sadly, it was a disappointment. My husband and I had just drove 10.5 hours to see our daughter and take her and one of her friends out to dinner (break from college food) and the waitress was just rude. Her attitude was so uninviting that I wanted to leave but we gave her the benefit of the doubt, which was a mistake. When questions were asked, her answers were cold and no alternative options were given, it was a bizarre experience. I ordered the Meatballs and they were so salty I could barely eat them, I would have sent them back but the waitress never came by to ask us how our food was. I was a server for 7 years, so I get clearing plates as folks finish their meals, but I felt like I was getting pushed out of the restaurant. We all wanted a sweet treat after dinner, however, I wasn't going to going to drive up my bill at this establishment, so off to Salt & Straw we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

had lots of fun with a few friends celeb ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

had lots of fun with a few friends celebrating my birthday. the food was quite good, service was great.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed by the menu nor the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I was not impressed by the menu nor the selection. It was a really disappointing experience especially since we have been looking forward to dining here for several years. The food gave us stomachaches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We go to the Firehouse often. It's alway ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We go to the Firehouse often. It's always outstanding. It's a very comfortable place and it smells great from the food and the wood-fired oven. They have standards that have been on the menu a long time--rotisserie chicken, hanger steak--but the rotate in other dishes. Happy hour is a great deal as is their $30 3 course--small plate, salad, and main

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Firehouse was wonderful as always. We a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Firehouse was wonderful as always. We ate outside for the first time and it was very pleasant. Our server was lovely...even saved our leftover pizza which we walked off without but soon realized we didn't have!

One of our 2 favorite restaurants in Portland!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this to be a great spot, with n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We found this to be a great spot, with nice ambiance and good service. Definitely must disagree with the reviewers who are down on the pizza. If you're not used to woodfired pizza being a big soggy in the middle then you should 1) Go to Dominos and 2) Avoid Italy at all costs. The pizza was just how I'd hoped, with delicious chewy crust and yummy toppings. All wines are from Italy. There are a few not so great tables but mostly the ambiance of this historic firehouse is great. Would definitely go back and worth taking a trip to it.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Firehouse is always a great experience. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Firehouse is always a great experience. Downtown or better quality and service at a less than downtown price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Firehouse has a fantastic menu! Especial ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Firehouse has a fantastic menu! Especially their small plates. Our group tried four different small plates to start and all were inventive and outstanding. We also ordered a side of crispy potatoes that were heavenly. We ordered the mussels and were also very pleased. The Firehouse specializes in wood oven pizza. They are a nice size to share. Unfortunately ours came out wth the bottom crust soggy and not done. The server replaced it with a new pizza

but we still thought the crust was limp and soggy. Although the outside crust was fine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Best meal I have had in years! We are ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best meal I have had in years!

We are taking 3 friends next weekend!!

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful building that has be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is a beautiful building that has been well maintained. The inside has a cozy feel and seemed welcoming as was the front of the house. That, however, was the end of the welcoming feeling. Our waitress was curt, dismissive, impersonal and downright rude. When we did not order alcohol, her rude manner grew even more noticeable. In the midst of our meal, we were told to scoot our table down to make room for a third chair at a table for two next to us. This meant that the man seated in that chair was bumping up against our table and very much intruding on our space. He and his party were not happy either. At the time, there were other tables available. Bcause of this, none of the four of us will, in all likelihood, ever come to this establishment again nor will I recommend it to friends. What a pity that one surly waitress can turn off so many cusmers in one evening!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Good service makes the meal and this was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good service makes the meal and this was pretentious. We felt like an inconvenience. And the pizza crust was soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.