About Firehouse Restaurant

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sundays 5pm-8pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Restaurant Photos

Pizza Bianca
Fried Cauliflower with Lemon Fraiche
Rockfish with black trumpet mushroom dumplings and lobster ravigote
Almond Cake
Pork Shoulder
Margherita Pizza
Hanger Steak
Wood-grilled Hanger Steak
Firehouse Meatballs with tomato & rosemary braised lacinato kale
Aracini
Grilled Hanger Steak
Marinara Pizza
Pizza Margherita
Fried Cauliflower With Creme Fresh
Menu
green salad
Wood Grilled Lamb Loin
Meatball
Fennel Sausage Padron Peppet

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland
Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in NE Portland ›

neighborhood gem (80)
fit for foodies (65)
special occasion (38)
See All
great for outdoor dining (33)
romantic (25)
good for groups (22)
notable wine list (15)
kid-friendly (14)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love Firehouse and as usual the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

We love Firehouse and as usual the food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fine, but nothing special. Serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was fine, but nothing special. Server unfriendly and short in her response to questions. We went across the street and bought a Diet Coke because Firehouse does not serve soda!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

It was the birthday of an out of town re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was the birthday of an out of town relative coming to Portland to celebrate. We gave him a copy of the recent Oregonian's Best 100 restaurants in Portland and he chose Firehouse. Wonderful food in a very cool repurposed fire station. We were about 10 minutes early but they still found a lovely table for us. Great food and great atmosphere. The pizza were amazing and the meatballs were devoured quickly. Charming and welcoming wait staff. We hope to return with other friends and family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was a bad experience. we came for din ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

it was a bad experience. we came for dinner. 5 people. i have reserved a table 1 week ahead of time.

the table was next to a refrigerator and the toilet.

the service was slow the food is OK but overall experience is just not as expected from an Italian restaurant with 4 star average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was great ,service was a little slo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was great ,service was a little slow but bearable. It was very noisy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What a great venue. Our server was very ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

What a great venue. Our server was very attentive to one of our guest's food allergies to nuts.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Firehouse is consistently good. We frequ ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Firehouse is consistently good. We frequent here whenever we crave a good pizza. Never had a bad experience here and all their other food items are delicious as well. Check out their steak and rotisserie chicken! Potatoes and fried cauliflower a tad too salty this time but overall everything else was great. Wait staff is very attentive and although they don't know us by name, recognize us a regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was crowded so a lot of p ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The restaurant was crowded so a lot of people obviously like it. We have been here a couple times in the past and it was ok. We had a fennel sausage pizza which provided a month's allotment of salt. Very salty. I had a pasta dish that was ok, again with too much salt. For dessert, I had a lemon custard with blueberries, and guess what, it was so salty I couldn't eat it. My bad day L guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We like the Firehouse so much that we pl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We like the Firehouse so much that we plan a reservation 2 weeks ahead to make sure we have a table. Friends from Denver who are very picky loved it. The ambience is amazing and the Artisan bread and pizzas from that oven are great! Very interesting appetizers!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Firehouse was highly recommended and I w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Firehouse was highly recommended and I was looking forward to the experience. I had a friend visiting from North Carolina and was excited to share a great Portland meal. The service was good enough but not friendly or personal. The food was close to inedible. Along with two romaine hearts salads (a Firehouse version of the caesar), we ordered a margherita pizza and the hangar steak. I had heard the salad is the very best "caesar" in Portland — it is not. The pizza was so soggy in the middle third that only the crusts could be eaten. The hangar steak tasted as if it had sat in teriyaki sauce all day. The flavor was salty-weird. Probably the worse thing was that there were flies in the window and buzzing our table. It was a very unpleasant experience. I will not be back and cannot recommend Firehouse for any reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Every meal at the firehouse is consisten ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Every meal at the firehouse is consistently great. Wonderful space and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary. Every mouthful was a reve ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Extraordinary. Every mouthful was a revelation. Simple ingredients, no off-the-wall experiments, just amazing food. We sat outside, surrounded by their herb garden. Lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. I think sit's s ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was excellent. I think sit's some of the best pizza that I've had in a long time!! And I loved the homemade soda they served that evening. Everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved everything about our dinner at Fir ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved everything about our dinner at Firehouse... food, service, atmosphere... all awesome!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Firehouse Restaurant was wonderful! My h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Firehouse Restaurant was wonderful! My husband and I came here after our elopement and we were treated very well! I forgot I had mentioned our engagement while making the reservation and our host treated us to a champagne toast! It was very sweet. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful and never made us feel that she was busy or rushed. She helped us to pick out some small plates. All of our food was excellent (some of the best we've ever had). We felt that the value, especially compared to the average prices we saw in Portland, Firehouse felt like a steal! As firefighters, we really appreciated the ambiance and the decor. It was nice to see a restaurant with a general "firehouse" theme that was still modern and very tasteful. We loved it and will definitely recommend it to anyone coming to Portland!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time after trying several time ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our first time after trying several times. Food was very good and service excellent. Wine good and fairly priced. We will go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is my second time with friends to t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is my second time with friends to this place and it was as good this time as last. Start to finish it was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The firehouse is a great place for great ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The firehouse is a great place for great food and great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've chosen Firehouse time and time aga ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We've chosen Firehouse time and time again to gather with friends and have never been disappointed. Whether we sit outside or in the ambience is comfortable and the noise level allows a relaxed conversation. The service was excellent and all 6 of us were please with our meal on our most recent visit. Don't skip dessert!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Meh.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I wasn't planning on writing a review, but I was asked. I believe one should complain IRL first, before writing devastating reviews online, which we only did half heartedly. We complained about the food being to salt. Not only the meat, but the pizza was too extremely salty. To a point were we couldn't eat it nomore. And I do like salt. So there, I will mention that.

There was more, but we didn't share that with the Firehouse, so I leave it at that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Masterful Service - scrumptuous food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We had two major spills at our table and the young male server and staff were absolutely gracious in how quickly and capably they handled it. One spill was the water by wife; the other was a glass of wine by granddaughter, age 4. The spills became a focus of laughter given how wonderfully our server and the staff rushed to assist and clean up! Then the food - wow - that food! I understand that Portland is a "foodies kind of town" but don't miss this neighborhood gem. Unique delicious small plates that truly satisfy the palate. We'll be back to Portland, and we'll be back to the Firehouse for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Making a special occasion not so special

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Made a reservation for a friend's birthday. Couldn't reserve an outside table. Day of, temps topped 100F. Couldn't reserve an outside table, or even request to be added to the promised "wait list" less than one hour before our arrival.

Arrived, and outside tables were only on the street, not on the regularly used and much more attractive patio. Tables were open on the street, so we got our outside table. Told the host it was my friend's birthday, and we received no special acknowledgment of any kind, not even a candle in our dessert.

So, thanks for all the attitude. While your offerings may once have been unique, you now have at least three competitors in the metro area that provide almost exactly what you provide (Lovely's 50/50, Fire + Stone, Nostrana, for example -- all of which have same or better quality food, service, and atmosphere).

You might consider dialing down the holier-than-thou affectations until you can dial up your offerings into an experience that merits the snobbery.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Looking forward to return visit

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Firehouse hits all its marks beautifully. A terrific neighborhood place, with a decent range of choices for all eaters (though I would have liked maybe some other vegan options as entrees.) Service was attentive and unobtrusive for our party of 5. Lovely space, too, though the seats to the right after you enter have more charm. The five-star system is a little inaccurate: few places are "outstanding," but Firehouse gets an A for relaxed and delicious neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with friends

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I enjoyed the small plates especially fried califlower and the beets.

The pizza looked great and I was excited to try it however the middle/slices were soggy. The crust was perfect so not sure what happened to the center. I love a thinner crust but not moist. Waitress said that was how it is. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere service was friendly and helpful. Cool vibe. Will go back to try other dishes , salads looked lovely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great pizza as always.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love to go here for piazza and salad with the family but have to say that the cavatelli was very disappointng this visit. Dessert was delicious though!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I had a great meal! The Sella & Mosca w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had a great meal! The Sella & Mosca wine we had was out of this world!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for our Anniv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I came here for our Anniversary dinner. The restaurant has a beautiful aesthetic, and our server was so nice, and even brought us a free small plate just because (we didn't tell her it was our Anniversary). The food was AMAZING! We did the 3-course meal, and I wish I could have tried everything on their menu. Everything was hot, well-seasoned, perfectly cooked, and beautifully presented. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The center of the pizza was like soup. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The center of the pizza was like soup. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and service at the Firehouse Re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food and service at the Firehouse Restaurant are outstanding. The "Happy Hour" they have is a wonderful value with great selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit with our family.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a hit with our family. Great food, superb service, wonderful space.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bummed

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

This has been one of our favorite places so was a natural choice for my husband's bday dinner. I specifically asked for outside seating and mentioned it was his birthday when I made the reservation.

It is clear the restaurant does not read the notes, because they did not have seats outside for us and seemed annoyed when we asked o be seated outside. As well, the server could have cared less about us, was unaware it was a birthday celebration, and even when realized, could have cared less. Based on this experience we would rethink returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Rustic, cozy and loved that the wall at ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Rustic, cozy and loved that the wall at the end could open to the outside on a warm spring evening. Delicious and interesting menu that offered a variety. All our orders were delicious, special and well prepared. Fit for foodies and enjoyed finding a new neighborhood of Portland to explore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I will become a regular here.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I am in the industry (serve at the food-similar Ned Ludd) and, like my cohorts, find myself with a short-list of restaurants on heavy rotation. I'll be adding Firehouse. Especially if they dim lights a little;)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious arancini, nice atmosphere. Pa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Delicious arancini, nice atmosphere. Patient waitress who let us take our time and enjoy our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tuesday evening at the Firehouse

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I had the mussels and beet salad as first courses, which were very good, as was the trout I had for my main course. My old fashioned was pretty good, but not great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too Good to Ignore Open Tables' Review Request

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Truly authentic Italian dishes: starters, main courses, salads, desserts and after dinner drinks, each adapted to Portland's farm-to-table, seasonal and sustainable appetite. The flavors are blended exceptionally and the wood-fired oven and rotisserie make it even more special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredibly good food! My pizza was deli ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Incredibly good food! My pizza was delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was amazingly knowledgable a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our service was amazingly knowledgable about the wines. The food was delicious. We shared the 3 course pizza and a 3 course entree. The food was so good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual and each time we plan ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful as usual and each time we plan our return to this awesome place! Soprasetta wood oven pizza and fried cauliflower we will always love you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Happy Hour and excellent wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful Happy Hour and excellent wine selection! The cauliflower (which is often mentioned in Yelp posts) is as good as they say, but the fried olives taste exactly like some I had in Rome many years ago. It's worth the trip for the olives, but the pizza (Margharita, in our case), was so yummy as well. Total cost for much wine, appetizers and pizza was lower than you'd expect, and much more delicious than we could have found elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.