Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Firehouse Restaurant

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sundays 5pm-8pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (20)
See All
Open Kitchen (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Historic (14)
Casual (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Disappointed that the 3-course meal is now set instead of allowing customers to pick the 3 items in the past. Also, it is now a starter, entree and dessert instead of appetizer, salad and entree. I don't eat desserts so that means it doesn't work for me even if I liked the other predetermined items. There seemed to be fewer salads on the menu also. The beets were still good and the pork steak excellent, but doubt I will be as eager to return given the menu changes. I think the new owners should rethink these changes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I keep coming back because I Love the food here. Great location, friendly staff, good value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very nice as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Some of the best, if not the best, food in Portland. Great atmosphere and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere was perfect and the soundtrack had the adequate amount of Robyn Hitchcock. 10/10, would recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Historic, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A wonderful family celebration at the cozy Firehouse! We shared all plates and thought the food was great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and drink. We'll make this a regular stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Menu on Open Table site was different than restaurant. Was a little disappointed. Wait staff said the new owner had changed menu recently.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Portland Dining Month inspired us to try this restaurant and we will be back. The food is imaginative, delicious and in decent portions. The Dining Month menu offered a lacinato kale salad which even I, a kale non-believer, found delicious; crunchy with pine nuts and sweet from golden raisins. The entree was half a smoky chicken roasted over an open fire. Nothing pedestrian about this hen which was tender, juicy and intensely flavored. Dessert was a chocolate pot de creme confection with a skim of caramel over the top and peanut brittle and whipped cream gilding the lily. Took half the chicken and most of the pot de creme home. We requested a white wine to go with the meal and the suggestion of our waiter was perfect. Did I mention we'll be back? We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Idaho trout was outstanding. The hearts of Romain salad were truly fine. Service was excellent. We go there several times a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I've had more business dinners and "casual with friends" meals here then I can add up and it's always been great. This last visit was a disappointment. They've changed some of my favorites off the menu (not great but to be expected) and when I asked to add sausage (understanding it would be an added cost) to a pizza, I was told the sausage station was not located at the pizza station (it was at the pasta station 4 feet away) and they could not bridge that gap. There were a couple of other strained moments as well which embarrassed me as the host in front of my guests. Not the customer service I've experienced in the past. I was entertaining clients from back east and had bragged about the food and ambience. The VP of our visiting company remarked, "Is it my imagination or was that server not very customer focused." I've spend thousands of $ entertaining clients there over the last few years and will likely choose a new go to spot for a while. In case anyone thinks it's just another "you can't please everyone" grouch venting in cyberspace, let me also add this is the first poor review I've written on yelp or anywhere else.

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy, Casual, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I chose Firehouse b/c of their menus for the Portland Dining Month $29 deal: when I looked at them through the Open Tale site, they showed 2 menus allowing choices from the starter, salad and entree menus.

When we got to the restaurant, the $29 'deal' allowed no choice, and it was starter, entree, dessert. Enforced combo did not appeal to any of us, so we spent a lot more money eating from the regular menu. (A strategy?) My beets were okay and the trout very good; olive-and-meatball friend enjoyed her meal; I think maybe the artichoke starter was not described as a half an artichoke, not a whole one, though I am going from friend's disappointment about half, not from a rereading of the menu; tagliatelle eater thought portion was a bit skimpy for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This has been our favorite family restaurant for a long time. We hadn't been in a while and felt the quality of food had gone down. The portions were smaller, the tastes weren't balanced--it was inconsistent. That said, we love the space and the service was very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food is very good, nice atmosphere. .. have been four or five times now without disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved it! Great for visiting relatives or just a weeknight meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The service was great, food was really good. We had Caesar salad (called something different on the menu), meatballs, pizza and dessert. All very tasty.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

One of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. Love the wood oven. I had my usual, meatballs, and everyone else had the chicken. All were excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 21, 2017

As usual, the Firehouse met our expectations and more. Chicken, pizza, clams, salad--all great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Went to take a look at the private event space, scope out the food, and see if kids would like it. Overall, good food, but not necessarily the best value. Artichoke appetizer was OK. Faux-Caesar Romaine with lemon/anchovy dressing was very good but too small. Appetizers in general were a bit too small. Pizza margherita was quite good, but family's general observation was a slightly soggy crust despite some pleasant scorch marks on the bottom. Pesto chicken with dumplings was good portion size but sauce was too thin. Meatball entree was quite good. Small half-order of plain pasta for one of the kids was cooked perfectly al dente, but tasted as if the cooking water had been over-salted. Overall a near-miss for the first time out. We might try again and choose a few different items. One downside for families is no separate menu choices for kids. I think our search for family-friendly Italian food might continue, but Firehouse is certainly worth a try.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Disappointed online menu didn't match current restaurant menu. Service was great. Food was great, maybe a bit salty thou. We had the trout and also the hanger steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for a pre fix course for Valentines. Good selection of 6 courses (including desert), great wine pairing! Cauliflower soup was absolutely lovely. Some food was too salty, and laviola was undercooked, though. Good atmosphere but a bit noisy. Overall satisfactory place to visit for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had our Valentine Day dinner at Firehouse. Cool converted fire house but came with the common Portland 'vibe' (change the name/location - same atmosphere & food creativity). It was a set, five course meal - always a challenge to avoid the issues with 'cafeteria' style . Entree was a lamb shank which was way overcooked (the garnish was on fire at the table next to us) and the ravioli was way under-cooked (good if you like chewy, doughy ravioli - I don't).

For $40 more per person, there was a wine pairing. I passed, which seemed to annoy the server and we didn't see much of her after that - we had to wave people down to get more drinks. My wife's ice tea was flavored with what tasted like cinnamon (think of the candy red hots) so she set it aside. She mentioned it to one of the service staff and they removed it but didn't ask if she wanted (or offer) a replacement.

With all that, we'll likely try it again when the regular menu is offered but with so many great choices in Portland, that may be a decade away.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were accommodated for gluten free on their fixed price menu for valentine's and we appreciate that. The food was good, although I am not a big oyster fan. The only complaint is that our table was right next to a service station so my view was of wait staff's backsides.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We are frequent patrons to this fine establishment in the Dekum neighborhood. The menu is always creative and tasty and the ambience is excellent. We love this place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The wood-fired aroma of the place is always enticing. What was especially excellent this time is that I had the last-seating of the evening and the held the kitchen open until my friends from LA arrived, 30 minutes behind schedule.
The service certainly went beyond the call of duty!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good variety of italian inspired food. A lot of their entrees and pizzas utilize the wood fired over which gives a unique smoky flavor. I would recommend splitting a few appetizers among your group before your entrees because their starters are my favorite part of their menu. Prices are very reasonable for high quality food. New owners seem to have kept the menu and atmosphere the same which is good to see.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cool building and ambiance.
Sides were well worth it - my pizza was a little undercooked. Beyond that we enjoyed and will be back again.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was all good, but the price seemed high for the portion size. We had to order more sides to fill everyone up. Also, it was cold in the restaurant, and we were in the back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We decided on Firehouse because of our past visits. We didn't want anything too fancy, something more along the lines of casual, comfortable and great food. The Firehouse fits to a 'T'. We had a wonderful evening with great service, excellent wine and amazing food. Thanks again for never disappointing.

We will be back!

Tags: Historic, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a good decision to have dinner at The Firehouse. From starters to dessert, every food item is created with care and attention to detail. There were three of us - hangar steak, meatballs and a pizza. Everyone was happy and pleased with their orders.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything we had was absolutely delicious! We ordered mostly everything that is on the happy hour menu and we loved it all!! The deep fried cauliflower, meatballs and pizza are favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I was disappointed in the quality of the food. It was not very good. We tried the meatballs, a pizza and the pasta with clams. The pizza was good. Not great atmosphere like you would think in an old firehouse. Service was good. We are not planning on going back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Portland. No drop in quality or service with the new owners. This restaurant is a gem. Love the appetizers.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My girlfriends and I went for our friends birthday. The building was interesting and done well. Our waiter was below average on personality and interest in us, in general. We ordered a specialty cocktail for 10.00. It wasn't very tasty and even worse was it had about 2 tablespoons of cocktail with one giant ice cube. The funny part was, the ice cube was the best part. I ordered a 14.00 pizza that was fine, nothing special. The waiter asked if I wanted to add any addition topping which I did. When the pizza came my addition was not added. There was no mention of why not, until the waiter brushed by and told me they were out of arugula. Ok, well it was 5:45 and they were out? Curious. We ordered dessert and had a delicious pot de cream. We also had espresso pannacotta, that I would stir clear of. It truly wasn't the worst ever experience but nothing worth it either. Just another snobby restaurant not worth my time. Portland is full of awesome places and delicious food. This was not it. The building was super cool, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Delicious food in a very comfortable setting. The service was great--attentive without hovering. Lovely neighborhood gem!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great vibrant atmosphere. A little noisy, but good food and service was just right. Not to nosey but there when needed. Great pizza crust, not thin, but not thick.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Over priced and very small menu and cocktail choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place, service, and food! The cooks take you to flavortown every time ;)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It's a neighborhood place I've never checked out because it's small & most often busy. I'm not one for a noisy or crowded restaurant experience. I also knew it is more on the pricier side of the spectrum. Decided to go, because today is my birthday, so why not treat myself. Absolutely glad I did! Food was great, service amazing, & it wasn't very noisy or busy. Mind you I did have an 8pm dinner reservation. Helps cut back on the over crowding & noise level. The building itself is a historic landmark, food is prepared fresh, & local, I will gladly be returning to this neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great rustic food. Local ingredients. Great value. Reclaimed cool old firehouse from the early 1900. Good service. Great everyday place to eat. Split a pizza, salad , and salad and was plenty of food for two.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They did not seem to read any of the notes from open table reservation where I listed a toddler was coming and a Gluten/Dairy free, so we were cramped at a table next to the bar but the food was excellent and the drinks quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.