Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Firehouse Restaurant

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm;
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (22)
Cozy (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Wood Oven (15)
Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Historic (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. I had the roasted chicken and my husband had the pepperoni pizza. We always share the roasted beets and romaine salad.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The appetizers were amazing!!! We had the broccolini and the artichoke. So good. I would have loved more vegetarian pizza options. We had lovely service :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I really enjoyed our meal. Waitstaff were helpful and attentive. We ate outside which was lovely. Appetizers and desserts were highlights. Main dishes good but did not impress as much. Pizza tasty but so wet the crust was quickly soggy. I've been here before. Always enjoy myself.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

They were out of the salmon I wanted. The server described the wine with terms I've never heard before. The "roasted" artichoke appetizer was burnt. The "strawberry " ice cream was caramel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This place has some of the best pizza in town, but if you don't order the chickpea brocolini, you're missing out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

As always, we had a great meal and a good time. We invited friends who declared Firehouse their new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always so good. Thanks for a memorable meal. My out of town guests were quite impressed.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and prompt service. Will definitely return!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very good restaurant. Food was delicious and reasonable. Service was ok. Seemed a bit like regulars were wonderful and you were 'by the way'. My real gripe was that the kitchen had really lousy timing. First course came way too quickly after the appetizer. But what was really annoying was the entrees coming just minutes later. A table full of plates and unfinished courses. We could have been in and out in 45 minutes if we had tried to follow that pace but it's hard to eat that fast. There weren't people waiting for a table but there was a party upstairs so maybe that threw off their timing. They make an excellent negroni. I would definitely go back and give it another try because the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We are a fan of the new management, but I have to say the food was mediocre. Hangar steak was tough and the chicken was not great. Lots of bones

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food served by caring waitstaff. Deserts are good but are very limited. The pot de creme is a bit too salty for my taste, but the dinners are all excellent. I've dined here enough times to have tasted many dishes, and a patron can't go wrong with any dish. I keep coming back and introducing people to this gem. Hors d'oevres are excellent. I like the fact that the scotch is limited to single malts. Access for the disabled is ok, but an old lady using a walker will have difficulty going over the broken and crevassed walkway to the door. This place is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was our 1 year wedding anniversary so we decided to try something new. Everything was pretty good besides one interaction. My husband is a vegetarian and we ordered an appetizer that we didn't realize had meat in it (the description line was indented strange, so we didn't see the meat 'Ndjua listed). Definitely a mistake on our behalf, but we asked for a menu since he couldn't eat the appetizer. The waitress didn't pay attention to this or even address that we had a menu to order new food. We know that when we go out there will be meals that he cannot eat. It just wasn't dealt with in the best way. I know he walked away hungry due to this interaction or lack there of. At the end of the meal, my husband mentioned it was our anniversary. They ended up comping 2 limoncello's for us! It definitely made up for the weird interaction mentioned above. It is a cute charming little place and the food is unique. I would go back to try it again and definitely pay more attention to the menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Awesome pizza, crust is amazing. Hangar steak was lovely, and great flavor. Drinks slightly weak, but Barolo by the glass perfect. Service was good, and staff was really nice. I'll go back for sure...great find.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was excellent. We can't wait to have our rehearsal dinner here!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Consistently delicious. Best mussels in town - great quality, perfectly cooked, they don't even need the butter that they come with. Fried cauliflower is outrageously delicious, to good to share so we always get one plate per person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food is always so absolutely amazing. Every dish is delicious and super authentic. You can't go wrong! The menu changes and every new item is a hit and super creative. Staff are friendly and outgoing. Thank you!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our Mother's day dinner. Everything was delicious and my mother greatly enjoyed being pampered with food and drink by the staff. We will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food! Came for my brothers bday while he was visiting from FL!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Firehouse is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants, the food is excellent, especially the pizza which is the best I have eaten since Naples. On this visit a visiting son was taken there to share the pizza and starter experience. He was suitably impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and service has really improved with new owners. Keep up the good work. Staff is friendlier and they seem to be working more as a team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fantastic food and service, as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Charming ambiance, creative menu and lovely wood burning stove and open kitchen made this a hit with our family.
We took our chances trusting the Open Table community and they were spot on! It's a lovely and the food delightful! Our party of 6 ordered the mussels, beets, fried cauliflower- fantastic! For dinner we had the hanger steak and the wood fired pizzas. We will be back again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love this restaurant. Wonderful, fresh food especially the wood fired pizza. Excellent service. Nice, casual decor. Neighorhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food! A little smoky and warm from the wood burning oven. It helped when they opened the garage door to let in some fresh air.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of my very favorite places in all of Portland...Not a huge menu but everything is hugely delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was good, nothing extraordinary, but it was fine. We ordered four different entrees and one appetizer but the waiter forgot the app. Also tried a salad. This was busy on a Friday night with a lot of locals. Nice vibe in a vibrant neighborhood. It would be interesting to see what a chef could do here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great selection of unique appetizers. Fantastic pizza. Super friendly and skillful wait staff.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Quality ingredients and great flavor. The pizza is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Firehouse Restaurant was very pleasant with quality food and excellent service. My wife and I each ordered wood-fired pizzas - I had the Fennel Sausage and she had the Margherita. Both were fantastic. The waitstaff was on-the-spot and very friendly.

Our nitpicks? The small available seating area makes for somewhat awkward positioning as our table was located directly next to the restaurant's single bathroom (the restaurant was an old firehouse, after all). Firehouse has done what it can by adding a spring-loaded door to close automatically, however the extra traffic going to and from the bathroom with the potential of unpleasant sounds and odors left a bit to be desired.

In addition, that small indoor seating area also results in quite a high noise level from other tables during busy times.

Overall, with the small nitpicks aside, we were quite pleased!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

People are great food has always been outstanding just a nice place to spend with one you love

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Firehouse was a unique, enjoyable, friendly, restaurant easy to get to, great place to meet friends and enjoy a great meal. The pizza was outstanding as were the salads we had and to top it off ... our dessert!!!

Everything was outstanding. We and our friends had a great evening!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience at firehouse. A good craft beer selection as well as wine. Between 3 people, we shared two pizzas. The wait staff were very nice and helpful. Thank you.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It was great all around and business associates from Seattle and Bellevue were wowed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I love the main dining room with the view of the open kitchen and wood burning oven. Service is knowledgeable and relaxed. We had the mussels to share for an appetizer and they were amazing - so much so that we ordered a second! The pizzas were delicious and I had the steak-cooked beautifully and I am fussy:) Desserts are delicioso! We will return many times. Outside dining should be great in the warmer weather. Reservations work and no wait.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had a great meal and great service. They've updated their menu and the new food and drinks we had were delicious and well made. Service was great and the dessert was very good!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants, especially in the winter, when it's warm and cozy, and in the summer, when we can eat outdoors.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The pizzas here are perfect Naples-style pizzas - all are great. The mussels are absolutely heavenly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place, quiet, dark. Service attentive but not overbearing. Odor from he wood stove is amazing, place reminded me of a quaint alpine lodge but with top notch food.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The restaurant has just come under new ownership so we were anxious to give it a try. Some of the original menu items are still available but they have also introduced new items. A great selection of vegetarian firsts. We enjoyed everything we ordered and everybody in our party was very happy with their meal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Disappointed that the 3-course meal is now set instead of allowing customers to pick the 3 items in the past. Also, it is now a starter, entree and dessert instead of appetizer, salad and entree. I don't eat desserts so that means it doesn't work for me even if I liked the other predetermined items. There seemed to be fewer salads on the menu also. The beets were still good and the pork steak excellent, but doubt I will be as eager to return given the menu changes. I think the new owners should rethink these changes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.