About Firehouse Restaurant

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sundays 5pm-8pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Restaurant Photos

Pizza Bianca
Fried Cauliflower with Lemon Fraiche
Rockfish with black trumpet mushroom dumplings and lobster ravigote
Almond Cake
Pork Shoulder
Hanger Steak
Margherita Pizza
Firehouse Meatballs with tomato & rosemary braised lacinato kale
Wood-grilled Hanger Steak
Aracini
Grilled Hanger Steak
Pizza Margherita
Marinara Pizza
Fried Cauliflower With Creme Fresh
green salad
Menu
Wood Grilled Lamb Loin
Fennel Sausage Padron Peppet
Meatball

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland
Best Restaurants in NE Portland ›

Neighborhood Gem (52)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (18)
Wood Oven (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Casual (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Historic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

had lots of fun with a few friends celeb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

had lots of fun with a few friends celebrating my birthday. the food was quite good, service was great.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed by the menu nor the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was not impressed by the menu nor the selection. It was a really disappointing experience especially since we have been looking forward to dining here for several years. The food gave us stomachaches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We go to the Firehouse often. It's alway ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We go to the Firehouse often. It's always outstanding. It's a very comfortable place and it smells great from the food and the wood-fired oven. They have standards that have been on the menu a long time--rotisserie chicken, hanger steak--but the rotate in other dishes. Happy hour is a great deal as is their $30 3 course--small plate, salad, and main

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Firehouse was wonderful as always. We a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Firehouse was wonderful as always. We ate outside for the first time and it was very pleasant. Our server was lovely...even saved our leftover pizza which we walked off without but soon realized we didn't have!

One of our 2 favorite restaurants in Portland!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this to be a great spot, with n ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We found this to be a great spot, with nice ambiance and good service. Definitely must disagree with the reviewers who are down on the pizza. If you're not used to woodfired pizza being a big soggy in the middle then you should 1) Go to Dominos and 2) Avoid Italy at all costs. The pizza was just how I'd hoped, with delicious chewy crust and yummy toppings. All wines are from Italy. There are a few not so great tables but mostly the ambiance of this historic firehouse is great. Would definitely go back and worth taking a trip to it.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Firehouse is always a great experience. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Firehouse is always a great experience. Downtown or better quality and service at a less than downtown price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Firehouse has a fantastic menu! Especial ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Firehouse has a fantastic menu! Especially their small plates. Our group tried four different small plates to start and all were inventive and outstanding. We also ordered a side of crispy potatoes that were heavenly. We ordered the mussels and were also very pleased. The Firehouse specializes in wood oven pizza. They are a nice size to share. Unfortunately ours came out wth the bottom crust soggy and not done. The server replaced it with a new pizza

but we still thought the crust was limp and soggy. Although the outside crust was fine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Best meal I have had in years! We are ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best meal I have had in years!

We are taking 3 friends next weekend!!

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful building that has be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is a beautiful building that has been well maintained. The inside has a cozy feel and seemed welcoming as was the front of the house. That, however, was the end of the welcoming feeling. Our waitress was curt, dismissive, impersonal and downright rude. When we did not order alcohol, her rude manner grew even more noticeable. In the midst of our meal, we were told to scoot our table down to make room for a third chair at a table for two next to us. This meant that the man seated in that chair was bumping up against our table and very much intruding on our space. He and his party were not happy either. At the time, there were other tables available. Bcause of this, none of the four of us will, in all likelihood, ever come to this establishment again nor will I recommend it to friends. What a pity that one surly waitress can turn off so many cusmers in one evening!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Good service makes the meal and this was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good service makes the meal and this was pretentious. We felt like an inconvenience. And the pizza crust was soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Returned to the scene of a great meal la ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Returned to the scene of a great meal last March...mussels and service and ambiance all great. Pizza (spicy sopressata) was tasty, but the center of the pizza was not fully cooked. Though the edge crust was charred, the center was soft and soupy. Too bad. Will probably order something else next time.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been several times, food was EXT ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We have been several times, food was EXTRA salty this time but generally fantastic as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The pizza here is incredible - unfortuna ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The pizza here is incredible - unfortunately I did not order it this past time and was pretty disappointed with what I chose. It was meatballs topped with green beans and sauce, but no pasta. It was tasty at first but by the third bite I wanted something else to go with it (like pasta). Eating nothing by giant meatballs was a little odd, and they were very salty. My husband's steak was good but even saltier. I've had the pizza here before and it is among the best in town - definitely what I will be getting next time.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in Portl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Portland. A couple of problems with the food two of the three of us experienced: the vegetables accompanying the fish course were burned (not charred) and the pizza was very soggy, although its crust was excellent, as it (almost) always is at the Firehouse. The service was very good and the prices quite reasonable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

We went to Firehouse for our Anniversary ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went to Firehouse for our Anniversary. The server, Kasey, made a special effort to make our dinner festive. My husband ordered the sausage/pasta dish and was very pleased. I ordered the seafood of the day. It was cooked to perfection, smothered in sautéed fennel, onions and carrots. It was a bit over salted but I use very little salt when I cook and maybe the chef was a little heavy handed that night. We split the bruschetta appetizer which was exceptional. Kasey helped with my wine selection and was right on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of my favorites. The service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always one of my favorites. The service is always outstanding and the food is paced well so as to enjoy the evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place... Never disappointing. Alwa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great place...

Never disappointing. Always a meal to anticipate.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good. Excellent meatballs. Good fish. Wo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good. Excellent meatballs. Good fish. Wonderful pizza. Overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I had the hanger steak with potatoes and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I had the hanger steak with potatoes and it was delicious. The atmosphere is great as well as the service. The meal was not rushed, which I appreciated. I hesitated booking because some reviews said the potions were small. I did not find that to be the case, the portions were just right and totally satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Matthew is an amazing chef, plus he know ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Matthew is an amazing chef, plus he knows how to train his staff to be capable to provide the same quality of customer service without Matthew's presence!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seasoning of the cod dish was over t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The seasoning of the cod dish was over the top. The chicken was plated with so much food is was difficult to eat. The bruschetta had too much cheese on it, making the bread soggy. The waiter repeatedly forgot our drink orders and had to be reminded several times. The host seemed to have a chip on her shoulder the whole night.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Loved the small plates. Service was slow ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved the small plates. Service was slow to recognize and seat us even though there was no one else waiting. No 2 cocktail was delicious even though it had two ingredients I didn't recognize ( amaro zucca and saba ). Overall I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Pizza was perfect. Food was good al ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Pizza was perfect. Food was good all around but thought prices a little high for some dishes. Service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

outstanding service; great food - ate ou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

outstanding service; great food - ate outside due to heat. Wonderful find! Sorry it isn't open for lunch...would frequent more often.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Firehouse and as usual the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love Firehouse and as usual the food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fine, but nothing special. Serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was fine, but nothing special. Server unfriendly and short in her response to questions. We went across the street and bought a Diet Coke because Firehouse does not serve soda!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

It was the birthday of an out of town re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was the birthday of an out of town relative coming to Portland to celebrate. We gave him a copy of the recent Oregonian's Best 100 restaurants in Portland and he chose Firehouse. Wonderful food in a very cool repurposed fire station. We were about 10 minutes early but they still found a lovely table for us. Great food and great atmosphere. The pizza were amazing and the meatballs were devoured quickly. Charming and welcoming wait staff. We hope to return with other friends and family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was a bad experience. we came for din ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

it was a bad experience. we came for dinner. 5 people. i have reserved a table 1 week ahead of time.

the table was next to a refrigerator and the toilet.

the service was slow the food is OK but overall experience is just not as expected from an Italian restaurant with 4 star average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was great ,service was a little slo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was great ,service was a little slow but bearable. It was very noisy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What a great venue. Our server was very ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

What a great venue. Our server was very attentive to one of our guest's food allergies to nuts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Firehouse is consistently good. We frequ ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Firehouse is consistently good. We frequent here whenever we crave a good pizza. Never had a bad experience here and all their other food items are delicious as well. Check out their steak and rotisserie chicken! Potatoes and fried cauliflower a tad too salty this time but overall everything else was great. Wait staff is very attentive and although they don't know us by name, recognize us a regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was crowded so a lot of p ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The restaurant was crowded so a lot of people obviously like it. We have been here a couple times in the past and it was ok. We had a fennel sausage pizza which provided a month's allotment of salt. Very salty. I had a pasta dish that was ok, again with too much salt. For dessert, I had a lemon custard with blueberries, and guess what, it was so salty I couldn't eat it. My bad day L guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We like the Firehouse so much that we pl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We like the Firehouse so much that we plan a reservation 2 weeks ahead to make sure we have a table. Friends from Denver who are very picky loved it. The ambience is amazing and the Artisan bread and pizzas from that oven are great! Very interesting appetizers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Firehouse was highly recommended and I w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Firehouse was highly recommended and I was looking forward to the experience. I had a friend visiting from North Carolina and was excited to share a great Portland meal. The service was good enough but not friendly or personal. The food was close to inedible. Along with two romaine hearts salads (a Firehouse version of the caesar), we ordered a margherita pizza and the hangar steak. I had heard the salad is the very best "caesar" in Portland — it is not. The pizza was so soggy in the middle third that only the crusts could be eaten. The hangar steak tasted as if it had sat in teriyaki sauce all day. The flavor was salty-weird. Probably the worse thing was that there were flies in the window and buzzing our table. It was a very unpleasant experience. I will not be back and cannot recommend Firehouse for any reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Firehouse is just about perfect: great ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Firehouse is just about perfect: great old building, great food, wonderful service, great wine list. You can have a simple meal of pizza and salad or something more elaborate if you want, but it's consistently wonderful and we return as often as we can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every meal at the firehouse is consisten ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Every meal at the firehouse is consistently great. Wonderful space and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary. Every mouthful was a reve ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Extraordinary. Every mouthful was a revelation. Simple ingredients, no off-the-wall experiments, just amazing food. We sat outside, surrounded by their herb garden. Lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. I think sit's s ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was excellent. I think sit's some of the best pizza that I've had in a long time!! And I loved the homemade soda they served that evening. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved everything about our dinner at Fir ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved everything about our dinner at Firehouse... food, service, atmosphere... all awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Firehouse Restaurant was wonderful! My h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Firehouse Restaurant was wonderful! My husband and I came here after our elopement and we were treated very well! I forgot I had mentioned our engagement while making the reservation and our host treated us to a champagne toast! It was very sweet. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful and never made us feel that she was busy or rushed. She helped us to pick out some small plates. All of our food was excellent (some of the best we've ever had). We felt that the value, especially compared to the average prices we saw in Portland, Firehouse felt like a steal! As firefighters, we really appreciated the ambiance and the decor. It was nice to see a restaurant with a general "firehouse" theme that was still modern and very tasteful. We loved it and will definitely recommend it to anyone coming to Portland!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.