About Firehouse Restaurant

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sundays 5pm-8pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Portland
Best Restaurants in NE Portland ›

neighborhood gem (104)
fit for foodies (95)
special occasion (46)
See All
romantic (39)
good for groups (27)
great for outdoor dining (25)
notable wine list (20)
kid-friendly (13)
hot spot (13)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
831 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for our Anniv ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I came here for our Anniversary dinner. The restaurant has a beautiful aesthetic, and our server was so nice, and even brought us a free small plate just because (we didn't tell her it was our Anniversary). The food was AMAZING! We did the 3-course meal, and I wish I could have tried everything on their menu. Everything was hot, well-seasoned, perfectly cooked, and beautifully presented. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

The center of the pizza was like soup. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The center of the pizza was like soup. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at the Firehouse Re ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food and service at the Firehouse Restaurant are outstanding. The "Happy Hour" they have is a wonderful value with great selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit with our family.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a hit with our family. Great food, superb service, wonderful space.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Bummed

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

This has been one of our favorite places so was a natural choice for my husband's bday dinner. I specifically asked for outside seating and mentioned it was his birthday when I made the reservation. It is clear the restaurant does not read the notes, because they did not have seats outside for us and seemed annoyed when we asked o be seated outside. As well, the server could have cared less about us, was unaware it was a birthday celebration, and even when realized, could have cared less. Based on this experience we would rethink returning.

food5
ambience4
service5

Rustic, cozy and loved that the wall at ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Rustic, cozy and loved that the wall at the end could open to the outside on a warm spring evening. Delicious and interesting menu that offered a variety. All our orders were delicious, special and well prepared. Fit for foodies and enjoyed finding a new neighborhood of Portland to explore.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I will become a regular here.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I am in the industry (serve at the food-similar Ned Ludd) and, like my cohorts, find myself with a short-list of restaurants on heavy rotation. I'll be adding Firehouse. Especially if they dim lights a little;)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious arancini, nice atmosphere. Pa ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Delicious arancini, nice atmosphere. Patient waitress who let us take our time and enjoy our meal

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tuesday evening at the Firehouse

Dined on April 27, 2016

I had the mussels and beet salad as first courses, which were very good, as was the trout I had for my main course. My old fashioned was pretty good, but not great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too Good to Ignore Open Tables' Review Request

Dined on April 26, 2016

Truly authentic Italian dishes: starters, main courses, salads, desserts and after dinner drinks, each adapted to Portland's farm-to-table, seasonal and sustainable appetite. The flavors are blended exceptionally and the wood-fired oven and rotisserie make it even more special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly good food! My pizza was deli ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Incredibly good food! My pizza was delicious !

food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was amazingly knowledgable a ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our service was amazingly knowledgable about the wines. The food was delicious. We shared the 3 course pizza and a 3 course entree. The food was so good!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Happy Hour and excellent wine ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful Happy Hour and excellent wine selection! The cauliflower (which is often mentioned in Yelp posts) is as good as they say, but the fried olives taste exactly like some I had in Rome many years ago. It's worth the trip for the olives, but the pizza (Margharita, in our case), was so yummy as well. Total cost for much wine, appetizers and pizza was lower than you'd expect, and much more delicious than we could have found elsewhere.

food5
ambience2
service4

The food was fantastic and our waitress ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was fantastic and our waitress was extremely professional, however the hostess was rude and pretty much ensured I'll never spend my time in their dining establishment again. Good luck.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Our party, which included some out of town guests, had a wonderful time. The food is really good - but the service was better. Firehouse is definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Portland!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Very average food, nice server.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was very average...we got 2 small plates, 2 salads, a pizza, and trout. Salads were ok, trout was good, pizza horrible and soggy, and small plates unremarkable. Had a good rose wine and the server was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite!

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was my second time at Firehouse. The food has been amazing both times. Although it was very crowded, the service was exceptional. With so many fabulous food possibilities in this city, Firehouse is one that stays at the top of my list !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!!!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

What a gem. The service was outstanding, the food amazing and the ambiance was perfect. I had heard of the Firehouse and wanted to try it for awhile. The great reviews do not give this place justice, it's even better!!! The hanger steak was beautifully cooked and paired with the Caesar salad and fried olives, fabulous. Camille our waitress recommended a beautiful red wine to us and it matched the dinner perfectly. Go....you won't regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 26, 2016

We visited during March dining month. The selection was great and so was our server. My only complaint is that only one person in the party could participate in the March dining month special. I don't know if this is the same for all participating restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The hangar steak was excellent!

Dined on March 24, 2016

The hangar steak was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

Dined on March 23, 2016

when we walked in the place just smelled amazing so I knew the food had to be good and I wasnt wrong. Excellent food. My husband, my dad and I each did the three course Portland Dining month deal. everything we had was great and it was a great way to try a bunch of stuff. The service was excellent it felt like we had three different people making sure we had a water and refills on our drinks. Would be happy to go back and try even more things. I really wanted to try the pizza so I want to go back for that.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot!

Dined on March 23, 2016

The food was inventive and really good. Service was friendly and knowledgable. We will be back for sure! And, we'll bring friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

As always great food and impeccable serv ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

As always great food and impeccable service in a warm and friendly environment.

food4
ambience4
service5

We dined here for Portland Dining Month ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

We dined here for Portland Dining Month with a group of friends, but will definitely be back! The food was excellent--homemade pasta and pork ragu were wonderful. Great place and atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why Didn't We Come Back Sooner?

Dined on March 19, 2016

Every time we dine at the Firehouse the question we ask each other is "Why didn't we come back sooner?". This visit we were treating our niece and her husband and their two year old to dinner to celebrate their anniversary several months late (They were married here in a magical event in August six years ago). The food, as always, was superb and the prices ridiculously low for the quality and quantity. We had the 3 courses for $29 but the same offer of your choice of any item in each of the three menu courses is available all year long for $30. The service was excellent as well and our waiter was particularly charming with Arlo, our 2 year old guest. She almost had him eating from the palm of her hand... literally. One thing we've promised ourselves - we won't wait so long next time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Stumbled upon this gem during Portland D ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Stumbled upon this gem during Portland Dining Month. We will definitely come back. I loved that everything was cooked in the wood burning oven. When you walk in everything smells so good!

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sweet find

Dined on March 17, 2016

Went for Ptln dining month. Choices👍 awesome food --excellent wait staff watches for you NO hovering--excellent recommendations! Returning often!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The most unique combinations of ingredie ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

The most unique combinations of ingredients and an absolute flavor revolution for your mouth. Phenomenal food - my family was too busy eating to talk at length. I would suggest asking for a lower salt version of your food though. All of the small plates are beautifully prepared and delicious; the home made pasta and ragu was my favorite. Such a great concept for the environment and very easy to find parking. Love this place!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

A Neighborhood Gem in a Historic Firehouse!

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Delicious stone fired Italian influenced food. The prices were so reasonable and everything ordered from our group of 6 was delicious! The building sits in a fun area and is a standout in that neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Great food. Service/ambiance okay.

Dined on March 14, 2016

We love the pizza and creative starters at Firehouse! Service has been lacking during our past two visits. Unconcerned, inattentive and sometimes unfriendly service staff. Also, even though we love the wood-fired pizza, other places have come up with decent ventilation to prevent super smokey air inside the restaurant. Improvements need to be made especially for the back of the restaurant. My rain jacket was still smokey two days later.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most important ingredients are all at Fireside

Dined on March 13, 2016

The most important ingredients are here at Fireside - Food, Ambiance and Service - we loved it and had a perfect date night dinner. We will go back again and again -thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a wonderful overall experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

my partner and I enjoyed a lovely meal at Firehouse to celebrate a special event. from the moment you walk in, you are welcomed by the amazing aromas from the wood-fired oven. it is a lively, energetic atmosphere. our server was knowledgeable, friendly, and engaged without being cloying. she made a perfect wine recommendation. every dish - and we had 3 small plates to start, the winter salad, and two entrées - were fantastic, without exception. we would not hesitate to return soon and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wow, I got re-seated

Dined on March 12, 2016

Went on sat, seated next to party of eight. It got noisier, and our server asked if we wanted to move to quieter spot, in the middle of the meal no less! Talk about aware, great customer service, wow!!!😀 Meal was excellent, winter salad nice texture, cool veg sticks, and hanger steak was perfect, on a bed of greens and sliced fingerlings. Loved it. A bit smoky however, venting of wood fire could be better, looked like small amt sneaking around edge of hood, luckily high ceiling.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice resturant

Dined on March 9, 2016

Wine by the glass selection wasn’t great and neither were the 2 glasses we got. Appetizer, salads and desert were great. We both had the same pasta that pushed the definition of al dente, but was otherwise good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

The menu selection was limited. We took ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The menu selection was limited. We took out of town guests to an italian restaurant. We were dissapointed that there was only one pasta dish in the menu.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service ambivalent

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

It was a busy Saturday night, we waited a bit for our server to even acknowledge us and then for food and drink. My trout was interesting, fire roasted over fennel, not my favorite but seemed popular with others. My husband had the tenderloin over potatoes and arugula and really enjoyed it. No Oregon wine, which was a bit disappointing. Overall it was o.k., if we go back, I'll try the pizza, as they looked very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on March 5, 2016

All the food was good, but we really loved the small plates. Just order one of each and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience!

Dined on March 2, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious birthday at Firehouse! The food was excellent, presentation and technique were spot on for us. It was my mother's birthday and she was treated to a nice dessert with a candle. Our server was perfect, just the right amount of attentiveness and guidance. We look forward to our visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Creative cooking at reasonable price

Dined on March 2, 2016

First time experience is worthy of repeat visits. Every dish has a distinctive and unexpected taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Average at Best

Dined on February 28, 2016

Took a little time to be seated, very small tables, staff appeared fake friendly, very oily pizza. Very limited menu, has to be better Italian around.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.