Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Firehouse Restaurant

Firehouse Restaurant is a central and southern Italian inspired restaurant located in the historic Dekum Firehouse in NE Portland. We offer seasonable fare using sustainable fish, meats, and produce whenever possible. We use a wood-fired oven, rotisserie and grill that emphasize technique, seasonality, and a simple straightforward approach to food. To us, there are few things more beautiful than a well-prepared meal in a warm and inviting setting. We hope to see you soon!

711 NE Dekum Street
Portland, OR 97211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm;
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
NE Durham

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-1702

Website:
http://www.firehousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Parking Details:
We are located on our own city block and ample street parking is available surrounding the property.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Busetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Steven at Firehouse Restaurant for more details. 503-789-7953.

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room located just above the restaurant can seat up to 44 for family style dinners or 70 for cocktail parties. The entire restaurant and garden is also available for buyouts and can accommodate large groups.

Firehouse Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (34)
Wood Oven (33)
Cozy (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Historic (19)
Casual (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Authentic (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Family Style (6)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Organic (4)
Private Room (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent. We can't wait to have our rehearsal dinner here!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Consistently delicious. Best mussels in town - great quality, perfectly cooked, they don't even need the butter that they come with. Fried cauliflower is outrageously delicious, to good to share so we always get one plate per person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is always so absolutely amazing. Every dish is delicious and super authentic. You can't go wrong! The menu changes and every new item is a hit and super creative. Staff are friendly and outgoing. Thank you!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food! Came for my brothers bday while he was visiting from FL!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Firehouse is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants, the food is excellent, especially the pizza which is the best I have eaten since Naples. On this visit a visiting son was taken there to share the pizza and starter experience. He was suitably impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service has really improved with new owners. Keep up the good work. Staff is friendlier and they seem to be working more as a team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Fantastic food and service, as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Charming ambiance, creative menu and lovely wood burning stove and open kitchen made this a hit with our family.
We took our chances trusting the Open Table community and they were spot on! It's a lovely and the food delightful! Our party of 6 ordered the mussels, beets, fried cauliflower- fantastic! For dinner we had the hanger steak and the wood fired pizzas. We will be back again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love this restaurant. Wonderful, fresh food especially the wood fired pizza. Excellent service. Nice, casual decor. Neighorhood gem.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food! A little smoky and warm from the wood burning oven. It helped when they opened the garage door to let in some fresh air.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

One of my very favorite places in all of Portland...Not a huge menu but everything is hugely delicious...

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was good, nothing extraordinary, but it was fine. We ordered four different entrees and one appetizer but the waiter forgot the app. Also tried a salad. This was busy on a Friday night with a lot of locals. Nice vibe in a vibrant neighborhood. It would be interesting to see what a chef could do here.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great selection of unique appetizers. Fantastic pizza. Super friendly and skillful wait staff.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Quality ingredients and great flavor. The pizza is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Firehouse Restaurant was very pleasant with quality food and excellent service. My wife and I each ordered wood-fired pizzas - I had the Fennel Sausage and she had the Margherita. Both were fantastic. The waitstaff was on-the-spot and very friendly.

Our nitpicks? The small available seating area makes for somewhat awkward positioning as our table was located directly next to the restaurant's single bathroom (the restaurant was an old firehouse, after all). Firehouse has done what it can by adding a spring-loaded door to close automatically, however the extra traffic going to and from the bathroom with the potential of unpleasant sounds and odors left a bit to be desired.

In addition, that small indoor seating area also results in quite a high noise level from other tables during busy times.

Overall, with the small nitpicks aside, we were quite pleased!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

People are great food has always been outstanding just a nice place to spend with one you love

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Firehouse was a unique, enjoyable, friendly, restaurant easy to get to, great place to meet friends and enjoy a great meal. The pizza was outstanding as were the salads we had and to top it off ... our dessert!!!

Everything was outstanding. We and our friends had a great evening!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience at firehouse. A good craft beer selection as well as wine. Between 3 people, we shared two pizzas. The wait staff were very nice and helpful. Thank you.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was great all around and business associates from Seattle and Bellevue were wowed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I love the main dining room with the view of the open kitchen and wood burning oven. Service is knowledgeable and relaxed. We had the mussels to share for an appetizer and they were amazing - so much so that we ordered a second! The pizzas were delicious and I had the steak-cooked beautifully and I am fussy:) Desserts are delicioso! We will return many times. Outside dining should be great in the warmer weather. Reservations work and no wait.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a great meal and great service. They've updated their menu and the new food and drinks we had were delicious and well made. Service was great and the dessert was very good!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants, especially in the winter, when it's warm and cozy, and in the summer, when we can eat outdoors.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The pizzas here are perfect Naples-style pizzas - all are great. The mussels are absolutely heavenly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great place, quiet, dark. Service attentive but not overbearing. Odor from he wood stove is amazing, place reminded me of a quaint alpine lodge but with top notch food.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The restaurant has just come under new ownership so we were anxious to give it a try. Some of the original menu items are still available but they have also introduced new items. A great selection of vegetarian firsts. We enjoyed everything we ordered and everybody in our party was very happy with their meal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Disappointed that the 3-course meal is now set instead of allowing customers to pick the 3 items in the past. Also, it is now a starter, entree and dessert instead of appetizer, salad and entree. I don't eat desserts so that means it doesn't work for me even if I liked the other predetermined items. There seemed to be fewer salads on the menu also. The beets were still good and the pork steak excellent, but doubt I will be as eager to return given the menu changes. I think the new owners should rethink these changes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I keep coming back because I Love the food here. Great location, friendly staff, good value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very nice as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Some of the best, if not the best, food in Portland. Great atmosphere and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere was perfect and the soundtrack had the adequate amount of Robyn Hitchcock. 10/10, would recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Historic, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A wonderful family celebration at the cozy Firehouse! We shared all plates and thought the food was great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and drink. We'll make this a regular stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Menu on Open Table site was different than restaurant. Was a little disappointed. Wait staff said the new owner had changed menu recently.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Portland Dining Month inspired us to try this restaurant and we will be back. The food is imaginative, delicious and in decent portions. The Dining Month menu offered a lacinato kale salad which even I, a kale non-believer, found delicious; crunchy with pine nuts and sweet from golden raisins. The entree was half a smoky chicken roasted over an open fire. Nothing pedestrian about this hen which was tender, juicy and intensely flavored. Dessert was a chocolate pot de creme confection with a skim of caramel over the top and peanut brittle and whipped cream gilding the lily. Took half the chicken and most of the pot de creme home. We requested a white wine to go with the meal and the suggestion of our waiter was perfect. Did I mention we'll be back? We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Idaho trout was outstanding. The hearts of Romain salad were truly fine. Service was excellent. We go there several times a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I've had more business dinners and "casual with friends" meals here then I can add up and it's always been great. This last visit was a disappointment. They've changed some of my favorites off the menu (not great but to be expected) and when I asked to add sausage (understanding it would be an added cost) to a pizza, I was told the sausage station was not located at the pizza station (it was at the pasta station 4 feet away) and they could not bridge that gap. There were a couple of other strained moments as well which embarrassed me as the host in front of my guests. Not the customer service I've experienced in the past. I was entertaining clients from back east and had bragged about the food and ambience. The VP of our visiting company remarked, "Is it my imagination or was that server not very customer focused." I've spend thousands of $ entertaining clients there over the last few years and will likely choose a new go to spot for a while. In case anyone thinks it's just another "you can't please everyone" grouch venting in cyberspace, let me also add this is the first poor review I've written on yelp or anywhere else.

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy, Casual, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I chose Firehouse b/c of their menus for the Portland Dining Month $29 deal: when I looked at them through the Open Tale site, they showed 2 menus allowing choices from the starter, salad and entree menus.

When we got to the restaurant, the $29 'deal' allowed no choice, and it was starter, entree, dessert. Enforced combo did not appeal to any of us, so we spent a lot more money eating from the regular menu. (A strategy?) My beets were okay and the trout very good; olive-and-meatball friend enjoyed her meal; I think maybe the artichoke starter was not described as a half an artichoke, not a whole one, though I am going from friend's disappointment about half, not from a rereading of the menu; tagliatelle eater thought portion was a bit skimpy for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This has been our favorite family restaurant for a long time. We hadn't been in a while and felt the quality of food had gone down. The portions were smaller, the tastes weren't balanced--it was inconsistent. That said, we love the space and the service was very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food is very good, nice atmosphere. .. have been four or five times now without disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved it! Great for visiting relatives or just a weeknight meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The service was great, food was really good. We had Caesar salad (called something different on the menu), meatballs, pizza and dessert. All very tasty.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.