About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub, San Jose, CA

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (17)
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Great Beer (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Live Sports (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Romantic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great! We chose the pan frie ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great! We chose the pan fried chicken breast and the short ribs which was a special that night. Both the chicken and the short ribs was delicious! The garnish on the plates were not hot. I had the sweet potato purée and my husband had mashed potato. Both were just room temperature. Wish they had played the dish when the main dish was ready. Obviously it had sat for a few minutes.

Overall, a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our family group of 6 had an enjoyable d ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our family group of 6 had an enjoyable dinner before the Sharks game. Really enjoyed the octopus!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

On the smaller side for a San Pedro Squa ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

On the smaller side for a San Pedro Square restaurant. The place was filled with Sharks fans having pregame food and drinks. A little on the loud side, even in the table area, but it was a game night. Food was ok, nothing to write home about. They do have small plates for those who are not so hungry. Pork chop was moist, but I would have preferred a plain pork gravy, rather than the chutney style gravy (forgot what they called it). Grilled octopus (whole) was unusual and charred for the bbq'd flavor. A dipping sauce would have been Beer selection was good, but they ran out of Bloody Mary mix, who runs out of mixes? Now that I've tried Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub, I'll be trying other restaurants before returning.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Innovative menu - I had an octopus salad ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Innovative menu - I had an octopus salad that was outstanding. The person I dined with had the pork chop and said it was very juicy. Don't get the panna cotta for dessert though - it's not light but a bit more like creme brulee. The owner came around to the table to make sure that everyone was doing find and liked their meals - nice touch. The restaurant is small and very popular on Sharks' game nights so make sure you make a reservation!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, good service! A little noisy ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, good service! A little noisy but still worked for a small business meeting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Firhouse's parmesan shoestring fries wit ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Firhouse's parmesan shoestring fries with truffle aioli are swoonworthy. THeir burger is very good too, though this time the bun was served cold - not typically the case. Big, bright arugula salad with shallots made me feel a little less guilty for all the other deliciousness. This place is on of our favorites. Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very friendly staff. Good food but expen ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very friendly staff. Good food but expensive for what you get.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

thanks! food was good and drinks were ta ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

thanks! food was good and drinks were tasty. would come again.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was bad. Some of the food cold. ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was bad. Some of the food cold. One dish ordered mild & came out fiery hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Waitress was friendly and speedy, the at ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Waitress was friendly and speedy, the atmosphere was live and fun. The food was awesome!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was too salty, the service was good ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

food was too salty, the service was good. we did not stay for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Been here a few times now over 2 years o ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Been here a few times now over 2 years or so & it has remained it's consistency. Good value, limited menu but everything on it has been very good, esp. the Mac & Cheese & the burger, also their cheese board has been different but always enjoyable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the burger. Cohesive burger. Simple ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Love the burger. Cohesive burger. Simple, but really tasty. I've also had the pork belly here, and while it's not the best pork belly I've ever had, it was good. It was definitely enjoyable, but because I've had better, I can't praise this one too much. My friend and I also shared the bone marrows. I liked it! The crostini that came with it were so good, too. Good service. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service- great food- small menu - ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service- great food- small menu - a little pricey but not too much so.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, service was good, then t ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was great, service was good, then they switched servers midway and the lady who took over had an attidude problem. Would have been five star but that girl should not be a server if she doesnt like people.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was bad and expensive Not much dri ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was bad and expensive

Not much drinks on tap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a great meal at Firehouse No. 1. ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a great meal at Firehouse No. 1. The service was really wonderful. Our server was friendly and knew the menu. We were seated near the bar and the bartenders were funny and would share information about the drinks they were making. I tried the Strawberry Shortcake for dessert and it was excellent. They had a surprise of banana's in the cake. Delicious. We had the Chicken, Pork Chop and Bangers and Mash. They were all delicious. If I am in the area again I will return.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Historic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been a few times, food is hit and miss, ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Been a few times, food is hit and miss, great ideas not always exciting in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our waitress was attentive and other wai ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our waitress was attentive and other wait staff stopped by to see if we needed anything. Food was delicious and the dessert a great finish. I had the panna cotta with berries and my hustband enjoyed the blueberry cheesecake. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Spicy, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a good venue and the food was pre ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

It was a good venue and the food was pretty good. A bit expensive but overall, it was a nice place to visit. Might go back and would recommend it for a first time dinner. Enjoy

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Probably a good place to drink and nosh ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Probably a good place to drink and nosh with friends. Menu is too limited for real dining. Place is too loud for real conversation. Salads, burgers are good. Fries are standard frozen, dressed up more on the menu than in actuality.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Tried calling day prior for reservation ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Tried calling day prior for reservation and was told to call back (Open Table was done). Arrived at restaurant and tables were clean but dishes were piled up at end of bar - next to our table. Someone's Starbucks drink was also on bar in corner - work station. Waiter was prompt to take order. We asked for food to stagger since we were sharing and the table was small. Ordered drinks. Drinks never came and all of the food minus one item (forgotten) arrived at the same time. Food was like warm at best and looked as if prepared off site and reheated. Waiter never appeared after our order was taken and another employee had to cover. Reappeared at time of bill with excuses-I witnessed him taking shots with bar patrons during the dinner service. This was my second trip and my last. Experience was better the first time but behaviors the same. This is a reflection of poor management and poor expectations. Bill was far too expensive for the service and the food. Disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Been here a few times, and the food is c ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

Been here a few times, and the food is consistently good. The menu is small, but everything is done right. I love their olives, great porkchops, very rich mac n cheese, and delightful raspberry cheesecake. Not a fan of their porkbelly, which was not crispy nor distinctly flavorful - how do you mess up pork belly?!? It's always loud here. Sat on the patio once, and smokers will stand right next to your table (not awesome).

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Used Open Table to find a place to take ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Used Open Table to find a place to take the president of one of the companies that I represent along with one of our customers for lunch. It was a bit of a drive which I should have paid more attention too but the parking was very easy. Two of us order the steak salad and the third ordered a fried chicken sandwich. Fantastic! Great meal...service not so much. I suspect it was that they were a bit short handed. I would definitely come again.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

Highly recommended!! I have been here w ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Highly recommended!! I have been here with my children as well as date night with the hubby. Food is AMAZING, fresh and creative!! Not one negative thing to say about this place. The staff is also fast, friendly and always has a recommendation =)

Tags: , Disabled Access, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rog was my waiter and his level of servi ...

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

Rog was my waiter and his level of service was what made the difference. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal, location, and socializing with others on the patio

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is really spot on. My party's wa ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

Service is really spot on. My party's waitress was timely and very social. Our food came out quickly and was delicious. The drinks need some improvement. Overall, I really enjoyed Firehouse.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burger was not well done and took a long ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

Burger was not well done and took a long time to get new one...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was delicious. We had a big gro ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was delicious. We had a big group so it was nice to be in an area away from the crowd and TV even though there wasn't a big crowd in the restaurant. We asked for a birthday candle in dessert; the dessert took a very long time and the server was gone for longs stretches of time. next time we'll order dessert when we order the rest of our food.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Since it is a gastropub, I was disappoin ...

 
·Dined on October 4, 2016

Since it is a gastropub, I was disappointed at the pedestrian fare that was served with the Cheese & Sausage Board. It was good, but not much beyond supermarket quality. (One exception -- the olives were divine!)

The cocktails were well mixed and well presented.

Worth trying again to give a second chance and dive a little deeper into their menu .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious. Service was friendly ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was friendly. All around enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the tasty steak salad at lunchti ...

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Enjoyed the tasty steak salad at lunchtime, sitting with friends in the sidewalk outdoor table area. It's a people-watching spot on San Pedro Street and good meet-up place for downtown workers.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service. Good seafood options ...

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent service. Good seafood options -- recommend mussels from WA state.

Good beer selection.

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Bar Seating, Tapas, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was disappointed in the Spicy Bloody M ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

I was disappointed in the Spicy Bloody Mary; especially for $10. The mix didn't taste house made, and if it was, could use some improvement. The potatoes were pretty hard. Although the server was kind enough to bring out another order, they still felt stiff. Maybe thats just how the potatoes are served here?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food and great service in San Pedro ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good food and great service in San Pedro Square

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good place to eat but it is loud. H ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very good place to eat but it is loud. However, a good drink takes the edge off.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here before a Carrie Underwood conc ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Came here before a Carrie Underwood concert. Cheap parking in the structure across the street. Easy walk to the SAP Center. Really tasty pub grub, super friendly service, and quick kitchen made this a perfect choice. The grilled octopus was my favorite and the chicken wings were high quality. All in all, a deliciously good choice for a pre-SAP Center event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is not very diverse, but luckil ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The menu is not very diverse, but luckily we are not that picky. The service was warm and friendly - all recommended dishes ended up to be a success!

Overall, a pleasant place to have dinner and catch a drink with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal before Coldplay concert!

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious meal before Coldplay concert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun venue and good food, but this felt v ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fun venue and good food, but this felt very much like a bar that serves food, not a restaurant. I get that it's a gastro pub but just saying leans more pub. Though was a weekend. Weeknights may be different. Service is like bar service - good, welcoming, but they're busy so not super attentive servers.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.