About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub
Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:45PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 12:00PM 4:30PM - 6:45PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 6:45PM

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in San Jose ›

Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Romantic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved everything! We felt right at ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We loved everything! We felt right at home from the moment we were greeted. Not only did we get guided through the menu, it was super easy to decide what we wanted with the great recommendations. I wish San Jose was 5 min away from us to go there every weekend. We had never gone to a restaurant in which we felt so welcomed! Loved the vibes! We will have to make another trip just for this!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

spanish chicken sandwich is simply amazi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

spanish chicken sandwich is simply amazing along with the house arugula salad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Is too noisy, the food is good, and the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Is too noisy, the food is good, and the servers are friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Awful. The worst, if it wasn't for the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awful. The worst, if it wasn't for the fact that there's no good food in SJ no one would go to this tgifridays throwback. I used to wonder who buys those toasted pieces of white bread at Costco, THEY DO! They serve it with the Salumi. Stick with things they don't cook. Salad, Salumi. Mac and cheese appetizer, how bad could that be? It's canned white sauce with deep fried orange bacon, who knew the sell canned cooked bacon?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Our Manhattans were perfect! Our meals ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our Manhattans were perfect! Our meals were excellent. Our seating outside was very comfortable. Our server was very gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great experience at Firehouse 1! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had a great experience at Firehouse 1! We were looking for a good spot for an early dinner with our 16-year old daughter and her friend who were going to the Adele concert at the SAP Center that evening. Firehouse was a great choice. Good food, good drinks, great atmosphere. We totally loved San Pedro Square! Restaurants with outdoor seating on N. San Pedro Street abound and we had the opportunity to be seated outside. Vibrant and fun scene. And the weather was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Yummy food, good drinks. Felt it was a l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Yummy food, good drinks. Felt it was a little on the pricey side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very slow service ahead of a concert at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very slow service ahead of a concert at SAP. Leave an extra 20-30 minutes for a modest meal. Food was consistently--among 4 diners--overly rich. Healthier menu options would find an eager clientele. Noise is way high too. Value is ok, not great. Will look elsewhere next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The food is overpriced and the quality o ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is overpriced and the quality of food is fair. The waiter was great and offered to take my entrée off of the ticket but I said, "no". I regret that after I received the bill. I wouldn't recommend going there for the food, but perhaps a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Great recommendations. Made a meal out of the starters.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Somewhat of a disappointment -- nice res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Somewhat of a disappointment -- nice restaurant, and picked it because of the balance they seemed to strike between food and drinks.Food was ok -- the menu could do with some veggie options (however they were more than happy to whip up pasta with vegetables). Service although friendly, took forever... waiter apologized for the extraordinary delay, but that they took a long time from that point to even deliver the drinks is a sore point. Ambience at the restaurant is great... but with outdoor seating, you are staring at a huge parking lot structure that's just across from the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was good and a great place to take ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was good and a great place to take a small group--there were 5 of us. Service was a bit slow in the beginning but did get better. One meal had to be sent back so that threw us off a bit as far as timing but bottom line everyone enjoyed their "specialty " drinks and had a good time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I would definitely recommend this restau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The menu is limited, but appealing. Reasonably prices, especially for what you get. The service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place, servers are knowledgeable and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fun place, servers are knowledgeable and friendly, food is good, good beer selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was terrific (try the Mac & Che ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was terrific (try the Mac & Cheese!) and our server was amazing (ask for Kinmie!).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beer list is quite large, but the me ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The beer list is quite large, but the menu descriptions could be better

Not many vegetarian or peschetarian options (the octopus appetizer has sausage in it)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Love the pork chop!! Place is cute a hip ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love the pork chop!! Place is cute a hipster/modern. Love coming to firehouse for date night with yummy food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quick friendly service. Food & drinks we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Quick friendly service. Food & drinks were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had a great brunch with excellent servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great brunch with excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was okay. The service was fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was okay. The service was fine and the food was okay. We went for Father's Day and I was super disappointed they didn't have high chair's. We ended up going to a restaurant next door and borrowing one. It would have been nice if they had taken the initiative to do that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Helping picking booze was cool.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Helping picking booze was cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Small, bar-like restaurant with a small ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Small, bar-like restaurant with a small menu but food was not bad. Not exactly a kid friendly place. Prices were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We loved dining at Firehouse 1. It was t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We loved dining at Firehouse 1. It was three of us and we sheared a a variety of dishes, which was great. the octopus was excellent except it came with some sausage side which made no sense to us. it clashed completely with the delicious perfectly cooked octopus pieces. The pork belly was marginal, dried and flavorless, and the polenta almost unnoticeable. I'd skip it. but the arugula salad was fantastic, fresh and plentiful. And the chocolate flowerless desert was excellent. I ordered my favorite cocktail, the Sazerac, which was perfect. Parking was easy in the parking garage across the street. the place was vibrant and may be a bit noisy but we liked the overall atmosphere. Service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good. Small menu, but v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is very good. Small menu, but very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Hubby and I went here for dinner before seeing Alton Brown at the Broadway. One of the best Manhattan's! Great food and superb service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but a limited menu

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is a small place in downtown San Jose. We were seated right away and started looking over the menu. They have a great drink menu with a wide variety of local beers and a great cocktail menu. However, the food menu was pretty limited although it had all the basics most people would want (hamburger, grilled chicken, Mac and cheese, salads). The food we ordered was great, I just wish there were a few more options.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiters were great!!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Made my reservation on my phone I got a call from the restaurant earlier in the day to confirm. We were a group of 10 and the waiters made it a point to welcome everyone when they arrived. They made great recommendation on drink items. Never felt rushed checked on us every 10 min or so. Two thumb up on the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place for dinner before ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a great place for dinner before our play. The bacon Gouda mac & cheese was excellent. Loved the pork chop too. Nice variety of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food! The bone m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great service and great food! The bone marrow was so good we had two orders! Drinks were also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This ended up being a last minute Mother ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This ended up being a last minute Mother's Day find for 3 adults and a 7 y/o. And what a gem it turned out to be. The hostess made making a reservation via OT a cinch and when we showed up a half hour early and decided we wanted to be outside she was completely accommodating. Service was Swift and to the point but super friendly. Food came promptly but not too fast. It was beautifully plated, hot and very delicious!! The crew worked with a high level of teamwork as we were served well by several different people. The waiter was always available, very friendly, even with our daughter, and very attentive. Prices weren't cheap but we all left satiated and edified by the friendly staff. Would definitely encourage a visit. Family friendly, classy place with exceptional quality of both food and service.

Jeffrey

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice bar food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Nice bar food, but limited menu choices for a dinner restaurant. And no tea?

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Might go back..

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Service was great, drinks/beer selection are awesome. Rib eye was chewy, very gristly (even for ribeye). Beet salad was HUGE, very tasty and enough for two people at least. Bone marrow is incredibly oily and fatty, I have eaten bone marrow numerous times in my life and this is the by far one of the richest versions ever. Oversalted as well. I'll try other items if I decide to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Met friends here for dinner. Limited sel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Met friends here for dinner. Limited selection on menu, but all of the food we ate was delicious. I would definitely recommend and will go back. We tried the mac and cheese, brie, potato chips, olives, spinach salad, special of the day - mussels, flank stank and rib-eye steak. All of the food was good and service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Limited menu but we liked every dish we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Limited menu but we liked every dish we ordered. Mac n cheese -yum. Octopus-excellent. Muscles-great. Angry Prawns-great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious hamburger & pork chop. LOUSY w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Delicious hamburger & pork chop. LOUSY wine by the glass. Past time to upgrade. No excuse. Service spotty. Sometimes fairly good. Sometimes non existent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

This place is foodie heaven. Come here i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This place is foodie heaven. Come here if you want to have a lively, boisterous good time (the atmosphere is pretty noisy, but in a good way) with a group of friends after work. The pork chop was ridiculously succulent, and the portions were pretty generous as far as these places tend to go. The wine, beer, and mixed drink list was especially impressive- If you're looking to get tastefully snackered, this place is for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Pork chop and mac n cheese were great! S ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Pork chop and mac n cheese were great! Small menu but really great food. Fun place! Outdoor seating is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Best!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Simply one of the best restaurants in the Bay Area-great food, outstanding service, and a welcoming atmosphere! I come here regularly and am thankful it's just around the corner from where I live.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Firehouse No.1 "A MUST"!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We love going to the Firehouse before the Sharks games. They get you in and out so you don't miss any of the game. Their menu is awesome, they added an awesome grilled octopus dish that was "out of this world". This place is a must if you are in downtown San Jose.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great FOOD and SERVICE can't wait to go back!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I took a few of my friends there before a Sharks game on the recommendation of my husband. We all gave it two thumbs up! The service was outstanding --thank you Raag. The food flavorful, creative and phenomenal. And the bread pudding is to die FOR. Can't wait to back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.