Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Fun (10)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
People Watching (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

In a word, great. Food was well done and well presented. Service was spot on and Ian, the chef, is a master!

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great vintage block in San Jose downtown for this spot with a parking garage right across the street. Farmers market Friday in front, bring cash.
The restaurant has some unusual offerings or unusual presentations of traditional bar food. Three of us ordered just appetizers — wings, calamari, fries, beet salad and bone marrow. All were delicious but the bone marrow was our favorite. It’s not on a lot of menus since it’s a humble dish requiring a lot of prep. But so good, like beef jelly spread on toast. Firehouse does a very good job with theirs.
Firehouse also offers burgers, sandwiches and full plates. Pricey for bar food but better than most out there. We’d definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fun place, great craft cocktails, good food, good service
Easy parking across the street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Service just OK. Hamburger excellent. Lots of arugula in salad...large...lots of food. Fries excellent. Fieldworks IPA awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went for dinner before a recent "Broadway" show downtown. The restaurant is close enough to park nearby and walk to the Center for Performing Arts. Made reservations and glad we did since the Sharks were playing that night and downtown was very busy. The teenagers ordered the baked mac n cheese..very cheesy with bacon..yummy stuff. It's a meal in itself. We ordered the Calamari and truffle fries as appetizers..ordered a second round of fries..more yummy stuff! Wife and I shared the Butcher Block which is a nice order of sliced meats and some cheeses and pickles (think anti-pasta) along with the Napa Cabbage salad. This was a very good choice and plenty for two to share. I also tried the Allagash Saison beer and very much enjoyed that with my meal. This was our second time here and we will return for sure.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went for dinner before a Sharks game. Our server (Joy) was awesome! They had a special of pan-seared Salmon that was fantastic! What was even better, was they let me "customize" the sides since I can't eat bell peppers any more.
We had nice cocktails, really good food, and and great service. Come early with a reservation - great place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I was just disappointed on the quality of their small plates considering the reviews. I would come back, with lower expectations but would not recommend to a foodie.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

They were backed up and seemed short of staff. But we were comped drinks and they made it a nice experience. The grilled chicken main is to die for! 👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great place for meeting with Friends for a night out or pre-game drinks and dinner. The menu has delicious options, large draft beer menu (options) as well as unique cocktails available.

Would highly recommend this to others.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Everything's was great, happy crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

This place is much smaller than I envisioned. The noise level was pretty loud and the ambiance left something to be desired.
With that said however, the food was outstanding! Our server was kind & attentive, but the real score on this visit was the chow. I had the NY steak with the wine & shallot sauce; the flavor was fabulous & the steak was cooked to perfection.
I would definitely come here again, albeit not with a dinner date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Tried the bone marrow but it couldn't compare to the French restaurant we normally get it at. Wasn't bad but we had better. Everything else was delicious. The calamari, Mac and cheese and the rib eye. Definitely worth going again.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have no idea why this place got rated as one of the best Happy Hour locations in San Jose:
$3 for some BBQ chips with qty. about the same a s bag of Lay's (Lay's taste better anyway)?
4 small slices of Brie covered in a sweet glaze..yuk (not on happy hour menu btw)
Only 3 drinks on the happy hour menu and VERY small serving small tumbler filled with ice, all whiskey drinks.. no selection.
Service was good & fast but asked: Everything fantastic, yes?...uh, check please.
Menu online was nothing like the one presented online, way more limited. I guess this place is an o.k. burger joint, but we didn't stick around to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food, but noisy bar environment. Great for friends meeting for beer and good food. Not great for kids or wine-lovers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was delicious but a tad pricey. The craft beers were good. It was nice that they allowed dogs on the patio. Staff was kind and courteous. Nice dinner and drinks spot for friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Made reservation and asked about outside seating. Was told no reservations for outside seating. Upon arrival was shown to a table by the kitchen while other tables were available closer to main seating area. Reviewed menu and found a very limited selection more tapas than dinner and decided to go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a great meal here with our two teenagers, sitting outside on their patio. We consider ourselves foodies and they did not disappoint! The gouda bacon mac n'cheese was delicious with a generous portion, the wings had a nice carrot slaw to use instead of dipping sauce, and the grilled octopus was perfect! Plus the craft cocktails were amazing! Our server was friendly and took great care of us. And Happy hour to boot! Will definitely go back when we visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Nice place with good food and a very friendly staff. Location perfect for concert which was our game plan

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Best burger ive ever eaten. Service started out slow although we could tell she was busy. We were greeted with a smile and from then everything was great! Food came quickly and hot! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had dinner here with clients on July 24h. Everyone enjoyed their food, and the service was great. Wine list was limited, but had great options at good value. Would highly recommend if you are looking for dinner in downtown San Jose.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cold food that was undercooked and didn't come out at the same time for all at the table due to being "short in the kitchen"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Was a little disappointed that I noted on the reservation that we had a birthday and nothing was done. I'm not sure if the host just didn't communicate that to the server or if they don't do anything for birthdays at all. Other than that the food was excellent and the server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always great food, drinks and great service you can never go wrong here.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We reserved a table for our large party of 10, and all was set up when we arrived. Parking in the area is a challenge, and it was only after arriving that we realized the restaurant validates for the parking garage across the street.

The menu is diverse and has choices for the most picky -- the ribeye was outstaning -- and the adventurous. The star dish of the night was the grilled octopus, which was an interesting preparation with great flavor. Redefined octopus for us. Desserts are generous and suitable for sharing. Flan was a surprise -- more of a cake -- but very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We always eat here when we come to San Jose. Food is AMAZING. Most of the time the service is great...this last time, not so much. However, the food made it worth while. Greatest chefs ever! Steaks cooked perfectly and the bourbon butter melting onto the veggies is mouth watering. Don't normally eat the fries, but these I could not resist. Our favorite go-to place...hope they get better servers. If service was good I would have scored it a 5!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary - we ordered the charcuterie plate, the Greek salad, and the ribeye. The ribeye was really well cooked but underseasoned, the Greek salad was overdressed, and they forgot part of the charcuterie plate - by the time they brought it we were onto our mains. Not worth the drive from mountain view.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The menu is very interesting and diverse, complemented by a wide range of beer choices, including Erdlinger non-alcoholic beer (German import) which is a tasty beverage.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always good food and friendly service. Although they seemed to be short staffed as it took a while for our busy server to bring both rounds of drinks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Unfortunately they didn't have my reservation but at the end they treated us really well waitress are really nice

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome meal and nice cocktail. The beef bone marrow is the "must" order dish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent service. The food was great. Highly recommend the warm olives and spicy wings. We shared the beet salad, asparagus with an egg, spicy prawns with polenta. All were delicious and the prawns were magnificent. Happened to be happy hour so apps and drinks were half off. Had a great time there before walking to the concert at SAP. Highly recommend you try this place.

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Was ok. Food didn't quite live up to expectation, service was a bit of a mess: meals delivered inconsistently. Wrong feed delivered to table. Didn't quite seem up to the experience we assumed from their website

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were looking for a new place to have dinner and to watch the basketball finals, decided on Firehouse No. 1 because of the menu. Great decision!! We really enjoyed the whole experience: the food was amazing, the cocktails were imaginative and delicious, and the vibe from the staff was upbeat and very cool. We will definitely be back--a great place like this has to be at the top of your list as a gathering spot!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I thought it was excellent. I was in town for business. The service was really good, the menu prices are what are displayed online... the food was good. I really like gastropubs but this place was fun and I would go back. Always helps when they make excellent old fashions... good bartender

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Creative menu. Good beers. Interesting ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

In the area picking my son up from his first year of college. Have eaten here before and knew that for this trip I was going to eat there again. My son and I enjoyed a fantastic meal and outstanding service by our server Joy. Had the octopus, Mac and cheese and the roasted bone marrow. All not to be missed. We will be eating here again when we bring our son back down to San Jose State.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Steak salad was salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Service was great. Food was fresh n relish. Huge pork chop and polenta was outstanding . Manager did a great job at accommodating our extra guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a table of 9 and everyone seems to have enjoyed their meal! The ambiance was also nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.