About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Wed 1:15PM - 2:30PM 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in San Jose ›

fit for foodies (26)
vibrant bar scene (18)
good for groups (17)
See All
great for outdoor dining (15)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (8)
special occasion (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
notable wine list (2)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Somewhat of a disappointment -- nice res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Somewhat of a disappointment -- nice restaurant, and picked it because of the balance they seemed to strike between food and drinks.Food was ok -- the menu could do with some veggie options (however they were more than happy to whip up pasta with vegetables). Service although friendly, took forever... waiter apologized for the extraordinary delay, but that they took a long time from that point to even deliver the drinks is a sore point. Ambience at the restaurant is great... but with outdoor seating, you are staring at a huge parking lot structure that's just across from the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I would definitely recommend this restau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The menu is limited, but appealing. Reasonably prices, especially for what you get. The service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place, servers are knowledgeable and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fun place, servers are knowledgeable and friendly, food is good, good beer selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was terrific (try the Mac & Che ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was terrific (try the Mac & Cheese!) and our server was amazing (ask for Kinmie!).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beer list is quite large, but the me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The beer list is quite large, but the menu descriptions could be better

Not many vegetarian or peschetarian options (the octopus appetizer has sausage in it)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Love the pork chop!! Place is cute a hip ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love the pork chop!! Place is cute a hipster/modern. Love coming to firehouse for date night with yummy food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quick friendly service. Food & drinks we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Quick friendly service. Food & drinks were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had a great brunch with excellent servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great brunch with excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was okay. The service was fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was okay. The service was fine and the food was okay. We went for Father's Day and I was super disappointed they didn't have high chair's. We ended up going to a restaurant next door and borrowing one. It would have been nice if they had taken the initiative to do that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Helping picking booze was cool.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Helping picking booze was cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Small, bar-like restaurant with a small ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Small, bar-like restaurant with a small menu but food was not bad. Not exactly a kid friendly place. Prices were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We loved dining at Firehouse 1. It was t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We loved dining at Firehouse 1. It was three of us and we sheared a a variety of dishes, which was great. the octopus was excellent except it came with some sausage side which made no sense to us. it clashed completely with the delicious perfectly cooked octopus pieces. The pork belly was marginal, dried and flavorless, and the polenta almost unnoticeable. I'd skip it. but the arugula salad was fantastic, fresh and plentiful. And the chocolate flowerless desert was excellent. I ordered my favorite cocktail, the Sazerac, which was perfect. Parking was easy in the parking garage across the street. the place was vibrant and may be a bit noisy but we liked the overall atmosphere. Service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good. Small menu, but v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is very good. Small menu, but very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Hubby and I went here for dinner before seeing Alton Brown at the Broadway. One of the best Manhattan's! Great food and superb service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but a limited menu

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is a small place in downtown San Jose. We were seated right away and started looking over the menu. They have a great drink menu with a wide variety of local beers and a great cocktail menu. However, the food menu was pretty limited although it had all the basics most people would want (hamburger, grilled chicken, Mac and cheese, salads). The food we ordered was great, I just wish there were a few more options.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiters were great!!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Made my reservation on my phone I got a call from the restaurant earlier in the day to confirm. We were a group of 10 and the waiters made it a point to welcome everyone when they arrived. They made great recommendation on drink items. Never felt rushed checked on us every 10 min or so. Two thumb up on the service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place for dinner before ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a great place for dinner before our play. The bacon Gouda mac & cheese was excellent. Loved the pork chop too. Nice variety of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food! The bone m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great service and great food! The bone marrow was so good we had two orders! Drinks were also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This ended up being a last minute Mother ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This ended up being a last minute Mother's Day find for 3 adults and a 7 y/o. And what a gem it turned out to be. The hostess made making a reservation via OT a cinch and when we showed up a half hour early and decided we wanted to be outside she was completely accommodating. Service was Swift and to the point but super friendly. Food came promptly but not too fast. It was beautifully plated, hot and very delicious!! The crew worked with a high level of teamwork as we were served well by several different people. The waiter was always available, very friendly, even with our daughter, and very attentive. Prices weren't cheap but we all left satiated and edified by the friendly staff. Would definitely encourage a visit. Family friendly, classy place with exceptional quality of both food and service.

Jeffrey

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice bar food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Nice bar food, but limited menu choices for a dinner restaurant. And no tea?

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Might go back..

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Service was great, drinks/beer selection are awesome. Rib eye was chewy, very gristly (even for ribeye). Beet salad was HUGE, very tasty and enough for two people at least. Bone marrow is incredibly oily and fatty, I have eaten bone marrow numerous times in my life and this is the by far one of the richest versions ever. Oversalted as well. I'll try other items if I decide to return.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Met friends here for dinner. Limited sel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Met friends here for dinner. Limited selection on menu, but all of the food we ate was delicious. I would definitely recommend and will go back. We tried the mac and cheese, brie, potato chips, olives, spinach salad, special of the day - mussels, flank stank and rib-eye steak. All of the food was good and service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Limited menu but we liked every dish we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Limited menu but we liked every dish we ordered. Mac n cheese -yum. Octopus-excellent. Muscles-great. Angry Prawns-great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious hamburger & pork chop. LOUSY w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Delicious hamburger & pork chop. LOUSY wine by the glass. Past time to upgrade. No excuse. Service spotty. Sometimes fairly good. Sometimes non existent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

This place is foodie heaven. Come here i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This place is foodie heaven. Come here if you want to have a lively, boisterous good time (the atmosphere is pretty noisy, but in a good way) with a group of friends after work. The pork chop was ridiculously succulent, and the portions were pretty generous as far as these places tend to go. The wine, beer, and mixed drink list was especially impressive- If you're looking to get tastefully snackered, this place is for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Pork chop and mac n cheese were great! S ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Pork chop and mac n cheese were great! Small menu but really great food. Fun place! Outdoor seating is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Best!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Simply one of the best restaurants in the Bay Area-great food, outstanding service, and a welcoming atmosphere! I come here regularly and am thankful it's just around the corner from where I live.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Firehouse No.1 "A MUST"!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We love going to the Firehouse before the Sharks games. They get you in and out so you don't miss any of the game. Their menu is awesome, they added an awesome grilled octopus dish that was "out of this world". This place is a must if you are in downtown San Jose.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great FOOD and SERVICE can't wait to go back!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I took a few of my friends there before a Sharks game on the recommendation of my husband. We all gave it two thumbs up! The service was outstanding --thank you Raag. The food flavorful, creative and phenomenal. And the bread pudding is to die FOR. Can't wait to back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just okay.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The waitress was very enthusiastic and was very knowledgeable about the menu. The restaurant came recommended by a friend. The food was okay for the price, but not outstanding; thought it was a tad overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Customer Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was fantastic and the customer service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Knives!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had two couples in our party and I was excited to try this restaurant. The grilled octopus was really yummy, and it was an unusual treat! My girlfriend and I both ordered the pork chops and they were the best we had ever had! Very moist and tender with a sweet and a little hint of spice. I loved that our waiter brought a really cool tray of different knives before our meal for us to chose from. Fun. I forget what our husbands had but they liked their meals too. I had the cheese platter for desert and my girlfriend had a chocolate cake of some sort. I shared desert and some red wine with my husband and it was the perfect amount of food. It's a little loud but it was fun. I'd definitely come here again.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentine's Special

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I came to Firehouse last year for Valentine's, and had such a great experience, I decided to come back this year. We had excellent service - we were seated promptly and checked on appropriately. The food was spectacular, and our servers were extremely personable. The night was wonderful, and my girlfriend and I talked about the delicious meal we had for days to come. As we drove home, we decided that Firehouse will be our yearly Valentine's Day spot, and I know it will not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

V-Day

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Took my wife here for Valentine's Day and enjoyed their Prix Fixe meal and we both agreed that it was, in all honesty, the best meal we've ever eaten! The first two courses were delicious and perfectly portioned and the filet mignon was cooked to perfection. Not to mention desert; so good! We can't recommend this place enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great. A great stop before a ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great. A great stop before a hockey game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Worth trying

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We went during he super bowl festivities, so probably more of a crowd than usual. The food was very good. Wife had the burger and enjoyed it. I had the pork chop and it may have been the best pork chop I've ever had. Plated with polenta and grilled garlic and veggies made it divine. Our waiter tried just a little too hard and missed some of the order (egg on burger), but he compt'd two drinks for the error; so, he fixed the error which is all I ask (we all err).

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Best Gastro Pub in DTSJ

 
 (London)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The beer selection and service at the Firehouse is excellent, but the food is where they really shine. They clearly put a lot of effort into all of their dishes and we've never been disappointed with anything we've ever ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, would have liked a bette ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Fantastic food, would have liked a better beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great, Service was not

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Tasty food and cool location. Appetizers were great and my NY was delicious. Our service was ridiculously slow and when they did stop at our table it was like they forgot us and we were and afterthought. Bummer.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Fantastic service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

I can't say enough about the incredible service provided by our waiter, who was also a bartender at Firehouse. He gave us great cocktail suggestions, based on our love of not overly sweet drinks made with bourbon. He also had great wine suggestions, and even provided tastes of the wine options so we could select our favorite. Overall, a wonderful dining experience, not only because of the food, but also because of the excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.