Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:15PM - 9:15PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:15PM - 9:15PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (20)
Casual (17)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Comfort Food (13)
Great Beer (11)
Fun (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Sports (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Came here to use a Groupon and we were all pleasantly surprised. The food was all really great and their patio is awesome. Great service.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Waitress was great. Food was terrible. There were patrons at the bar cussing out loud. No one asked them to respect other customers. I won't be back. Huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have been here three times and enjoyed it every time because the food here was really awesome. The noise is an issue at times but it doesn't really bother me much until this (third) visit. It was St. Patrick's Day weekend, so it was a bit more noisy than usual which is fine. I get it. However, we were seated in the very front of the entrance instead of the back where it should be less rowdy. There was a group of people that arrived after us and was seated next to us and another couple. They were overwhelmingly intoxicated and loud. One guy started stumping on the floor/pipe ledge so that shook our table. There were empty tables outside the restaurant, I didn't know why they couldn't be outside if they were ONLY going to drink. Our server didn't give us silverware until we got our appetizer and had to ask her for it. Our server was mainly working in the front and prepping napkins and silverwares.

Anyways, I wouldn't hesitate coming back maybe not on a state holiday. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

They changed chefs in the food is not as good as it used to be. It's still a great place, with a solid menu and the super location. Full disclosure: I was there on st. Patrick's day and this may have affected the food and the service. nevertheless I will certainly be back

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My friends and I had a great 1st time experience here! Service was excellent. We were checked up regularly my the servers there throughout our meal.

Tiger Prawns is a must try! It comes with a delicious creamy polenta

Blood Orange Moscow Mule... must get it asap. I'm pretty sure that it's only seasonal.. So refreshing! Plus it's part of their happy hour!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Steaks were done just right and were delicious. The chicken was also great. We had calamari for the appetizer and it was pretty garden variety fried calamari. Good, but nothing special. Service was really good and attentive, but not intrusive. The ambiance is casual, youthful and the bar was really good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Celebrating my son's new job with great steaks and San Jose's best damn cheeseburger.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I want to believe this was an off night. The concept, menu and cocktails were great. It was the kitchens execution that was lackluster. We ordered a good portion of the menu and the meal wasn't memorable for the right reasons. I left most if not all but a couple bites of my steak on the plate. It would take another attempt at a meal here for this to even get close to my go to when I visit the area. Much better options nearby.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our table was missing one service utensils which the waitres did not noticed until we asked her after receiving our appetizer. The food was excellent! The noise level was the turn-off factor despite being seated in the back of the restaurant.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The description written on Open Table is not what they currently offer. I asked the server and he said,"It's like 4 years old and I don't think management knows how to update it". No Pork belly sliders and no charcuterie plate. They were nice though, so that helps...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great dining, food is amazing, service was above par and beer/ cocktail selection is also spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Expected better. Will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was awesome need to be staffed more because I don't know what was going on with server but she was rude to walk ins and barely cared about her tables, make sure you know what you want and get the order in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Opted to go here due to positive reviews on OpenTable (and other sites) and the restaurant's proximity to other places in downtown San Jose. Glad I did. Some really interesting food options like bone marrow and crispy pork belly. And they taste good, too! As a hint, don't get the Arugula salad if you are going to get a selection of small plates as Arugula seems to be the accompaniment of choice for small plates. Service was responsive, but not attentive. Restaurant also has a small patio that would be great in warm weather. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time here with the family. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

A little on the salty side, but I guess that's what the beer is for!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was yummy and service was good. Prices were reasonable. Will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good place to catch up with a friend in the mid-week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great - shrimp, steak and ribs. We came to try their grilled octopus but unfortunately they ran out of it. The service started pretty slow - we had to wait a bit for our bottle of wine - but was OK in the end. The casual atmosphere was what we wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentines Day and even though I'm sure they must have been swamped all day, the food and service were great. We go to Firehouse often for the bar (you can't go wrong with any of their draft wines btw) and this was the first time I got the chance to try the food. We got baked Brie cheese with apricot jam, a charcuterie platter, and a ribeye steak to share, and of course a chocolate cake for dessert. :) No complaints about the food, the steak was cooked perfectly. My only gripes would be that the menu said it was served with mashed potatoes but it was definitely something else. And the dessert seemed a little stale but I can overlook it especially on a crazy day for the industry such as Valentines Day. Overall lovely experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great! Especially the US Cowboy steak. Only drawback was their water tasted like straight sink water, but besides that everything was great!

Tags: Live Sports, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Night went well. Food was great and the service was awesome.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Booked here for a post-conference meal with a friend. Really liked the vibe and the menu had some nice twists to it. Overall I thought it was pretty good and I did recommend it to some colleagues. San Jose has some cool dining spots and this one fits into the mix nicely.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place is under staffed, and not very organized.
We ordered five meat plates cook medium;
We got the food two were well done ,one medium well,one medium, and one blue!(RAW)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food. Great bar. Hard to get into on game night, but well worth the effort.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed out time for dinner here. Located in a great complex of the San Pedro Square. Ride the VTA and enjoy the walk through lovely downtown San Jose. Just moved to this area and enjoying the exploration. Not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was so bad that we never got our food and half of our drink order. The waitress said that she would take the drinks off the bill but the food still didn't come. Left a $20 on the table and we left. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Sunday evening at San Pedro Square and revisiting one of my wife's favorites...... and I'm coming to agree. This was the second time we've had the BEST pork chops here and the new grilled octopus appetizer was truly terrific. The braised short ribs were also very good but I thought a little expensive at $29.

I've been disappointed in the signature mixed drinks in the past but tonight they were spot on! We'll be making plans to come back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Noisy as hell!! Group of first time drinkers next to us didn't help!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Service was great! We chose the pan fried chicken breast and the short ribs which was a special that night. Both the chicken and the short ribs was delicious! The garnish on the plates were not hot. I had the sweet potato purée and my husband had mashed potato. Both were just room temperature. Wish they had played the dish when the main dish was ready. Obviously it had sat for a few minutes.
Overall, a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our family group of 6 had an enjoyable dinner before the Sharks game. Really enjoyed the octopus!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

On the smaller side for a San Pedro Square restaurant. The place was filled with Sharks fans having pregame food and drinks. A little on the loud side, even in the table area, but it was a game night. Food was ok, nothing to write home about. They do have small plates for those who are not so hungry. Pork chop was moist, but I would have preferred a plain pork gravy, rather than the chutney style gravy (forgot what they called it). Grilled octopus (whole) was unusual and charred for the bbq'd flavor. A dipping sauce would have been Beer selection was good, but they ran out of Bloody Mary mix, who runs out of mixes? Now that I've tried Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub, I'll be trying other restaurants before returning.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Innovative menu - I had an octopus salad that was outstanding. The person I dined with had the pork chop and said it was very juicy. Don't get the panna cotta for dessert though - it's not light but a bit more like creme brulee. The owner came around to the table to make sure that everyone was doing find and liked their meals - nice touch. The restaurant is small and very popular on Sharks' game nights so make sure you make a reservation!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, good service! A little noisy but still worked for a small business meeting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Firhouse's parmesan shoestring fries with truffle aioli are swoonworthy. THeir burger is very good too, though this time the bun was served cold - not typically the case. Big, bright arugula salad with shallots made me feel a little less guilty for all the other deliciousness. This place is on of our favorites. Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very friendly staff. Good food but expensive for what you get.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

thanks! food was good and drinks were tasty. would come again.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was bad. Some of the food cold. One dish ordered mild & came out fiery hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Waitress was friendly and speedy, the atmosphere was live and fun. The food was awesome!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

food was too salty, the service was good. we did not stay for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.