Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (11)
Casual (10)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Live Sports (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Very busy place food was decent somewhat limited menu would go back next time in town

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Sports, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2017

They accepted our reservation even though they were closed. We walked all the way from our hotel just to find out Rhett were closed. Bad form.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Although our night food and service was good I have to say front of house was less than pleasant I found her to be dismissive and just there, no real greeting just doing her job to a minimum, I don’t like to complain but it did leave my date and I with a bad taste for our dining experience, if you can’t be happy At the holiday season, Thanksgiving eve, then maybe this is the wrong environment to work in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Servers were great! Food was tasty. I didn't realize there were nuts in their house salads. Had to ask. Thank goodness they were almonds and not peanuts. Otherwise food was good. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2017

We visited this spot based on Yelp reviews and pictures. They have great small plate options and I'd argue they aren't so small either. We ordered 4 items initially and had to swap one out due to them being out of that one. All 4 items we did receive were excellent! We had the bone marrow, mac n cheese, shrimp and calamari. I'd order all 4 again, though I might start with 3 because we were getting full after the first 3. I look forward to revisiting this place the next time I'm in San Jose.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

The food was terrific, I particularly enjoyed the bison burger. I liked the restaurant's atmosphere, nice bench seating inside as well as outside. We arrived during a not so busy time but it was difficult to get the server's attention so I docked points off for service.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Before Sharks game. Got 3 lite bites. Very good. Nice sized portions. Went well with beer and wine.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

This place was recommended to me by a friend and while the menu offers some interesting choices, I can't really say that I was impressed. we may have hit it on a bad night, but our waitress was really bad. poor attitude before we even sat down and never really checked to see how we were doing, if we needed anything, etc. It wasn't particularly busy so I didn't see any excuse to treat us poorly. Too bad... the place has potential.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was great and the cocktails were fantastic! Mac n cheese and the angry prawns were the best!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Parking structure across the street with validation parking. Energetic noise level. Tasty cheeseburgers but "ran out" of chicken and Shiraz on a Sunday night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The lunch menu is extremely limited, with only one option for vegetarians, a salad. The restaurant was very loud, making conversation difficult. The bacon Mac-n-cheese was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Cocktails were balanced and all 3 dishes ordered met every promise that the menu made. Foodies will enjoy the creativity - good decision to have a limited menu perfectly executed.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

In a word, great. Food was well done and well presented. Service was spot on and Ian, the chef, is a master!

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great vintage block in San Jose downtown for this spot with a parking garage right across the street. Farmers market Friday in front, bring cash.
The restaurant has some unusual offerings or unusual presentations of traditional bar food. Three of us ordered just appetizers — wings, calamari, fries, beet salad and bone marrow. All were delicious but the bone marrow was our favorite. It’s not on a lot of menus since it’s a humble dish requiring a lot of prep. But so good, like beef jelly spread on toast. Firehouse does a very good job with theirs.
Firehouse also offers burgers, sandwiches and full plates. Pricey for bar food but better than most out there. We’d definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fun place, great craft cocktails, good food, good service
Easy parking across the street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Service just OK. Hamburger excellent. Lots of arugula in salad...large...lots of food. Fries excellent. Fieldworks IPA awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went for dinner before a recent "Broadway" show downtown. The restaurant is close enough to park nearby and walk to the Center for Performing Arts. Made reservations and glad we did since the Sharks were playing that night and downtown was very busy. The teenagers ordered the baked mac n cheese..very cheesy with bacon..yummy stuff. It's a meal in itself. We ordered the Calamari and truffle fries as appetizers..ordered a second round of fries..more yummy stuff! Wife and I shared the Butcher Block which is a nice order of sliced meats and some cheeses and pickles (think anti-pasta) along with the Napa Cabbage salad. This was a very good choice and plenty for two to share. I also tried the Allagash Saison beer and very much enjoyed that with my meal. This was our second time here and we will return for sure.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went for dinner before a Sharks game. Our server (Joy) was awesome! They had a special of pan-seared Salmon that was fantastic! What was even better, was they let me "customize" the sides since I can't eat bell peppers any more.
We had nice cocktails, really good food, and and great service. Come early with a reservation - great place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I was just disappointed on the quality of their small plates considering the reviews. I would come back, with lower expectations but would not recommend to a foodie.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

They were backed up and seemed short of staff. But we were comped drinks and they made it a nice experience. The grilled chicken main is to die for! 👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great place for meeting with Friends for a night out or pre-game drinks and dinner. The menu has delicious options, large draft beer menu (options) as well as unique cocktails available.

Would highly recommend this to others.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Everything's was great, happy crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

This place is much smaller than I envisioned. The noise level was pretty loud and the ambiance left something to be desired.
With that said however, the food was outstanding! Our server was kind & attentive, but the real score on this visit was the chow. I had the NY steak with the wine & shallot sauce; the flavor was fabulous & the steak was cooked to perfection.
I would definitely come here again, albeit not with a dinner date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Tried the bone marrow but it couldn't compare to the French restaurant we normally get it at. Wasn't bad but we had better. Everything else was delicious. The calamari, Mac and cheese and the rib eye. Definitely worth going again.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have no idea why this place got rated as one of the best Happy Hour locations in San Jose:
$3 for some BBQ chips with qty. about the same a s bag of Lay's (Lay's taste better anyway)?
4 small slices of Brie covered in a sweet glaze..yuk (not on happy hour menu btw)
Only 3 drinks on the happy hour menu and VERY small serving small tumbler filled with ice, all whiskey drinks.. no selection.
Service was good & fast but asked: Everything fantastic, yes?...uh, check please.
Menu online was nothing like the one presented online, way more limited. I guess this place is an o.k. burger joint, but we didn't stick around to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food, but noisy bar environment. Great for friends meeting for beer and good food. Not great for kids or wine-lovers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was delicious but a tad pricey. The craft beers were good. It was nice that they allowed dogs on the patio. Staff was kind and courteous. Nice dinner and drinks spot for friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Made reservation and asked about outside seating. Was told no reservations for outside seating. Upon arrival was shown to a table by the kitchen while other tables were available closer to main seating area. Reviewed menu and found a very limited selection more tapas than dinner and decided to go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a great meal here with our two teenagers, sitting outside on their patio. We consider ourselves foodies and they did not disappoint! The gouda bacon mac n'cheese was delicious with a generous portion, the wings had a nice carrot slaw to use instead of dipping sauce, and the grilled octopus was perfect! Plus the craft cocktails were amazing! Our server was friendly and took great care of us. And Happy hour to boot! Will definitely go back when we visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Nice place with good food and a very friendly staff. Location perfect for concert which was our game plan

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Best burger ive ever eaten. Service started out slow although we could tell she was busy. We were greeted with a smile and from then everything was great! Food came quickly and hot! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had dinner here with clients on July 24h. Everyone enjoyed their food, and the service was great. Wine list was limited, but had great options at good value. Would highly recommend if you are looking for dinner in downtown San Jose.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cold food that was undercooked and didn't come out at the same time for all at the table due to being "short in the kitchen"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Was a little disappointed that I noted on the reservation that we had a birthday and nothing was done. I'm not sure if the host just didn't communicate that to the server or if they don't do anything for birthdays at all. Other than that the food was excellent and the server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always great food, drinks and great service you can never go wrong here.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We reserved a table for our large party of 10, and all was set up when we arrived. Parking in the area is a challenge, and it was only after arriving that we realized the restaurant validates for the parking garage across the street.

The menu is diverse and has choices for the most picky -- the ribeye was outstaning -- and the adventurous. The star dish of the night was the grilled octopus, which was an interesting preparation with great flavor. Redefined octopus for us. Desserts are generous and suitable for sharing. Flan was a surprise -- more of a cake -- but very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We always eat here when we come to San Jose. Food is AMAZING. Most of the time the service is great...this last time, not so much. However, the food made it worth while. Greatest chefs ever! Steaks cooked perfectly and the bourbon butter melting onto the veggies is mouth watering. Don't normally eat the fries, but these I could not resist. Our favorite go-to place...hope they get better servers. If service was good I would have scored it a 5!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary - we ordered the charcuterie plate, the Greek salad, and the ribeye. The ribeye was really well cooked but underseasoned, the Greek salad was overdressed, and they forgot part of the charcuterie plate - by the time they brought it we were onto our mains. Not worth the drive from mountain view.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The menu is very interesting and diverse, complemented by a wide range of beer choices, including Erdlinger non-alcoholic beer (German import) which is a tasty beverage.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.