Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

4.3
351 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Comfort Food
  • Bar Seating
  • Casual
Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(408) 287-6969
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Close
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Santa Clara
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine
What 351 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We went to Firehouse for Father's day. Our waiter was attentive and even checked back to make sure that we had all the special requests that we had made (like substitutions). The food was delicious! We have been here a few times and knew that it was a safe bet for great food. We were not disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Exactly what you would expect from a Gastro pub. Delicious food for a foodie...nice but casual atmosphere and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great food and wine selection, octopus was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Highly recommend the Steak Salad. A great business lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great food and ambiance! We had a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great food and super drinks! Waitress was very attentive and we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit here. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great experience. Would definitely go again. Only downside was there was a large group (20+ people) that got very loud and made it difficult to have a conversation at the table but that wasn’t the restaurants fault. Food, ambiance and service were all terrific!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2018

First bartender was amazing. Second Bartender was not friendly at all. And my chicken dinner was still raw at the bone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Food, service, and drinks were good. However, not sure that it quite matches the high ratings listed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Good place, amazing food. Service was on the slow side. Good beer selection and decent cocktails on menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Nice environment. Convenient location. Decent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We had a very nice meal here. The food was tasty and the service was excellent. It is easy to park as they validate your ticket for the parking garage across the street. One caution the small plates are not that small it is easy to order too much. I enjoyed the octopus and the macaroni and cheese but was unable to finish both. The bone marrow looked excellent but we did not eat it. There were several big parties and it was quite loud and there was a full complement of patrons at the bar on a Monday night. It is definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The service was a little slow. The food was good, might eat there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

My husband and I shared appetizers-beef bone marrow, pork belly and fries. All delicious. Service was awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Dinner with colleagues. Our server was in a bad mood. We waited 20 minutes for drink refills. Food was great. Calamari, fries, bone marrow, angry prawns, pork belly, pork chop. Extremely loud.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food was average to pretty good; drinks were solid but not amazing. Service was abysmal and they weren’t very busy. Server barely came around. I had to ask for water. Very loud and not an inviting ambience. Could get better food and service for the price elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I've brought work peers to here for dinner and lunch and they never disappoint. My director specifically asked if we could meet one of our reps here recently because he wanted to eat here for lunch. Salmon was cooked perfectly as was my grilled chicken

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great atmosphere in prime downtown SJ location. Great mix of elevated bar food, burgers, steak and chops. And the drinks were on point! Definite new go-to spot for me!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I ordered the salmon medium cooked & they served it raw in the center. I politely asked the busser to have it cooked a bit more thoroughly, and when he returned he gave me the rudest talking to about how I didn't understand the way the salmon was supposed to be cooked. My dinner partner was shocked & I was very put off. It doesn't matter that the bus boy thinks I don't understand, I'm a paying customer & if I politely ask for my salmon to be cooked more thoroughly, they should accommodate that request.
Not only that, but the vegetables and squash were seasoned with too much salt, and the sauce was way too sweet. Once the salmon was cooked, it was very good, though.
I will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great food, service, food and drinks to celebrate my boyfriends birthday! Great date night! We will be back! The Bison burger, calamari, bacon and Gouda Mac & cheese were to die for!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Had a few problems with the waitress when she took our entire order from Appetizers, main course and desserts all within minutes of being seated we were impressed. Then she goes on break and ALL THE FOOD SHOWED UP AT THE SAME TIME it was ridiculous!!! Had to send back everything but the appetizers. I was frustrated and spoke to manager which he fixed the problem and was nice enough to COMP the anger shrimp that were GOOD. Enjoyed the bone marrow and salads. Then steak was tender but a little over cooked. My Foodie 15 year old daughter blogged about her experience as she said she MIGHT return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The Restaurant is kinda small and a little noisy but the food is surprisingly good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Good experience and great food. Excellent lunch spot for a quick business meeting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food and quite busy for a Wed night. Seemed they were short staffed as it took us some time to flag down our waiter to get the bill and pay. Otherwise we had a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food and service. We will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I had a fantastic time here! I was here this past Saturday. Food and the service was fantastic! Huge shout out to my server! I wish I caught your name, you had glasss on and you had your hair in two buns! You’re amazing! I had such a great night thanks to you! You made me feel taken care of! Can’t wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I ordered the cheeseburger and requested bacon on it. It didn’t come with bacon when I received it I had to ask for the bacon. And my friend ordered side salad with his omelette. He receive potatoes with the omelette and we had to request a side salad. Everyone was friendly and nice, just not efficient and accurate. The burger was delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Amazing food! Great service. Good ambience. Would come back any time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

There was a mishap with the food coming out, small plates and the steak knives were forgotten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I loved the Pork Chop dish I was given the wrong vegetables (green beNs which I hate) they said they ran out of broccoli so the chef would make me a vegetable of my choice. They did and it was taste!! Great service and very helpful picking drinks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great staff but didnt feel the menu provided many options. Not our taste in beer - mostly light and citrus flavored, which is not our type. Great burgers

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great for dinner or small plates/appetizers before going to an event at Civic or SAP. The menu is small, but everything looked amazing. Would recommend the small plates, salads, and the steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Bar was a bit short staffed for a Sharks game night and the server completely forgot one of my clients drinks. Other than that, everything was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Food was large portion and fast, love the grilled octopus and arugula side salad of the steak. Our drink did come in slightly slow, and the wings could use less spice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Good experience I enjoyed the food a lot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Sunday brunch menu is small. But cool vibe and warm service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Food is always very good. A little on the high side but worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Can't go wrong with ordering their burger. One of the best in the valley! My son had the flat iron steak and loved it. We love both their wine and beer selections. When not dieting, we also enjoy their mac and cheese! Delicious. Service staff is always attentive making sure we get out in time for whatever event we may be attending at SAP Center. Great place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Hadinner with coworkers from out of town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was excellent, but service was spotty. I'll chalk up to a waitress with too many tables.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9