About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in San Jose ›

fit for foodies (27)
vibrant bar scene (20)
good for groups (18)
See All
great for outdoor dining (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (14)
great for lunch (9)
special occasion (8)
late-night find (8)
notable wine list (3)
romantic (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great brunch with excellent servic ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great brunch with excellent service!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This place was okay. The service was fin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was okay. The service was fine and the food was okay. We went for Father's Day and I was super disappointed they didn't have high chair's. We ended up going to a restaurant next door and borrowing one. It would have been nice if they had taken the initiative to do that.

food5
ambience4
service5

Helping picking booze was cool.

Dined on June 19, 2016

Helping picking booze was cool.

food3
ambience3
service4

Small, bar-like restaurant with a small ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Small, bar-like restaurant with a small menu but food was not bad. Not exactly a kid friendly place. Prices were reasonable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved dining at Firehouse 1. It was t ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We loved dining at Firehouse 1. It was three of us and we sheared a a variety of dishes, which was great. the octopus was excellent except it came with some sausage side which made no sense to us. it clashed completely with the delicious perfectly cooked octopus pieces. The pork belly was marginal, dried and flavorless, and the polenta almost unnoticeable. I'd skip it. but the arugula salad was fantastic, fresh and plentiful. And the chocolate flowerless desert was excellent. I ordered my favorite cocktail, the Sazerac, which was perfect. Parking was easy in the parking garage across the street. the place was vibrant and may be a bit noisy but we liked the overall atmosphere. Service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is very good. Small menu, but v ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is very good. Small menu, but very good!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Hubby and I went here for dinner before seeing Alton Brown at the Broadway. One of the best Manhattan's! Great food and superb service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food but a limited menu

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is a small place in downtown San Jose. We were seated right away and started looking over the menu. They have a great drink menu with a wide variety of local beers and a great cocktail menu. However, the food menu was pretty limited although it had all the basics most people would want (hamburger, grilled chicken, Mac and cheese, salads). The food we ordered was great, I just wish there were a few more options.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiters were great!!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Made my reservation on my phone I got a call from the restaurant earlier in the day to confirm. We were a group of 10 and the waiters made it a point to welcome everyone when they arrived. They made great recommendation on drink items. Never felt rushed checked on us every 10 min or so. Two thumb up on the service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great place for dinner before ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a great place for dinner before our play. The bacon Gouda mac & cheese was excellent. Loved the pork chop too. Nice variety of drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food! The bone m ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great service and great food! The bone marrow was so good we had two orders! Drinks were also good.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This ended up being a last minute Mother ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

This ended up being a last minute Mother's Day find for 3 adults and a 7 y/o. And what a gem it turned out to be. The hostess made making a reservation via OT a cinch and when we showed up a half hour early and decided we wanted to be outside she was completely accommodating. Service was Swift and to the point but super friendly. Food came promptly but not too fast. It was beautifully plated, hot and very delicious!! The crew worked with a high level of teamwork as we were served well by several different people. The waiter was always available, very friendly, even with our daughter, and very attentive. Prices weren't cheap but we all left satiated and edified by the friendly staff. Would definitely encourage a visit. Family friendly, classy place with exceptional quality of both food and service. Jeffrey

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice bar food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Nice bar food, but limited menu choices for a dinner restaurant. And no tea?

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Might go back..

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Service was great, drinks/beer selection are awesome. Rib eye was chewy, very gristly (even for ribeye). Beet salad was HUGE, very tasty and enough for two people at least. Bone marrow is incredibly oily and fatty, I have eaten bone marrow numerous times in my life and this is the by far one of the richest versions ever. Oversalted as well. I'll try other items if I decide to return.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Met friends here for dinner. Limited sel ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Met friends here for dinner. Limited selection on menu, but all of the food we ate was delicious. I would definitely recommend and will go back. We tried the mac and cheese, brie, potato chips, olives, spinach salad, special of the day - mussels, flank stank and rib-eye steak. All of the food was good and service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Limited menu but we liked every dish we ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Limited menu but we liked every dish we ordered. Mac n cheese -yum. Octopus-excellent. Muscles-great. Angry Prawns-great.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Delicious hamburger & pork chop. LOUSY w ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Delicious hamburger & pork chop. LOUSY wine by the glass. Past time to upgrade. No excuse. Service spotty. Sometimes fairly good. Sometimes non existent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

This place is foodie heaven. Come here i ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

This place is foodie heaven. Come here if you want to have a lively, boisterous good time (the atmosphere is pretty noisy, but in a good way) with a group of friends after work. The pork chop was ridiculously succulent, and the portions were pretty generous as far as these places tend to go. The wine, beer, and mixed drink list was especially impressive- If you're looking to get tastefully snackered, this place is for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Pork chop and mac n cheese were great! S ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Pork chop and mac n cheese were great! Small menu but really great food. Fun place! Outdoor seating is great too.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Best!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Simply one of the best restaurants in the Bay Area-great food, outstanding service, and a welcoming atmosphere! I come here regularly and am thankful it's just around the corner from where I live.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Firehouse No.1 "A MUST"!!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

We love going to the Firehouse before the Sharks games. They get you in and out so you don't miss any of the game. Their menu is awesome, they added an awesome grilled octopus dish that was "out of this world". This place is a must if you are in downtown San Jose.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great FOOD and SERVICE can't wait to go back!

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

I took a few of my friends there before a Sharks game on the recommendation of my husband. We all gave it two thumbs up! The service was outstanding --thank you Raag. The food flavorful, creative and phenomenal. And the bread pudding is to die FOR. Can't wait to back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Just okay.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The waitress was very enthusiastic and was very knowledgeable about the menu. The restaurant came recommended by a friend. The food was okay for the price, but not outstanding; thought it was a tad overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Customer Service

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was fantastic and the customer service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Loved the Knives!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had two couples in our party and I was excited to try this restaurant. The grilled octopus was really yummy, and it was an unusual treat! My girlfriend and I both ordered the pork chops and they were the best we had ever had! Very moist and tender with a sweet and a little hint of spice. I loved that our waiter brought a really cool tray of different knives before our meal for us to chose from. Fun. I forget what our husbands had but they liked their meals too. I had the cheese platter for desert and my girlfriend had a chocolate cake of some sort. I shared desert and some red wine with my husband and it was the perfect amount of food. It's a little loud but it was fun. I'd definitely come here again.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentine's Special

Dined on February 15, 2016

I came to Firehouse last year for Valentine's, and had such a great experience, I decided to come back this year. We had excellent service - we were seated promptly and checked on appropriately. The food was spectacular, and our servers were extremely personable. The night was wonderful, and my girlfriend and I talked about the delicious meal we had for days to come. As we drove home, we decided that Firehouse will be our yearly Valentine's Day spot, and I know it will not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

V-Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Took my wife here for Valentine's Day and enjoyed their Prix Fixe meal and we both agreed that it was, in all honesty, the best meal we've ever eaten! The first two courses were delicious and perfectly portioned and the filet mignon was cooked to perfection. Not to mention desert; so good! We can't recommend this place enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great. A great stop before a ho ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great. A great stop before a hockey game.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Worth trying

Dined on February 7, 2016

We went during he super bowl festivities, so probably more of a crowd than usual. The food was very good. Wife had the burger and enjoyed it. I had the pork chop and it may have been the best pork chop I've ever had. Plated with polenta and grilled garlic and veggies made it divine. Our waiter tried just a little too hard and missed some of the order (egg on burger), but he compt'd two drinks for the error; so, he fixed the error which is all I ask (we all err).

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Gastro Pub in DTSJ

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

The beer selection and service at the Firehouse is excellent, but the food is where they really shine. They clearly put a lot of effort into all of their dishes and we've never been disappointed with anything we've ever ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food, would have liked a bette ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

Fantastic food, would have liked a better beer selection.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was great, Service was not

Dined on January 31, 2016

Tasty food and cool location. Appetizers were great and my NY was delicious. Our service was ridiculously slow and when they did stop at our table it was like they forgot us and we were and afterthought. Bummer.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic service

Dined on January 27, 2016

I can't say enough about the incredible service provided by our waiter, who was also a bartender at Firehouse. He gave us great cocktail suggestions, based on our love of not overly sweet drinks made with bourbon. He also had great wine suggestions, and even provided tastes of the wine options so we could select our favorite. Overall, a wonderful dining experience, not only because of the food, but also because of the excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Surprising find

Dined on January 24, 2016

Just on a whim prior to attending a production at the Tabard Theatre we decided to have a quick bite to eat and a cocktail. What a nice surprise. The nutty beet salad, shrimp dish with polenta and chicken wings were all delicious. It was a bit noisy but not bothersome. Our waiter was a kick in the pants - he and another waitress covered the entire dining room area and gave everyone good personal attention. Highly recommend this if you are not looking for something romantic.

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

To be sure what you are ordering ask!!

Dined on January 20, 2016

Food was good but menu at the restaurant didn't match the website menu and the waiter said that corporate website is frequently incorrect. Ordered an appetizer and when it came it was completely different than what was said on the menu. Supposed to have sausage but none -- waiter said the menu was wrong but he made it up by giving us chicken wings and chips. Wasn't his fault I guess

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Nothing like website

Dined on January 18, 2016

New place for us. The website looked cool- ambiance, food, cocktails in jelly jars - let's try it out! The ambiance was basically a sports bar. The food was ok, but WAY overpriced for what you got (like the $7 beet salad was literally 1 beet!). And the cocktails, though well made, were in teeny tiny glasses for $12 each versus the jelly jars shown on website. Overall, did not even come close to expectations.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Firehouse No.1

Dined on January 17, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant! The Ribeye was amazing: tender and flavorful - all that it should be. The sides, appetizers and cocktails were all delicious. All the items we ate were originally prepared and truly delicious. The atmosphere is casual, which is great if you are walking from/going to a Sharks game or the convention center. The servers we had, one of whom was also a chef, were attentive, friendly and made good recommendations. We will definitely return to this restaurant when next we are in downtown San Jose.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good GastroPub

Dined on January 15, 2016

Excellent beef items - Burgers & Steaks are great! Very good draft beer selection. Prices are moderate, but service is spotty.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent first time visit!

Dined on January 15, 2016

This was my first time dining here. Treated a friend to a birthday dinner. We both had the cheeseburger and we both agreed it was the BEST burger we've had in our lives. So flavorful and perfectly cooked to order. I have already told my husband we need to go back for dinner so he can try the food. Amazing time!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small plates - way to go

Dined on January 14, 2016

We ordered several small plates and enjoyed them. Spicy prawns, chicken wings, pork belly, brussel sprouts and fries were all good. My dining companions and I rated the spicy prawns as outstanding.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.