Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 4/23
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

4.3
330 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
  • Bar Seating
Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(408) 287-6969
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Close
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Santa Clara
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine
What 330 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The Restaurant is kinda small and a little noisy but the food is surprisingly good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Good experience and great food. Excellent lunch spot for a quick business meeting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food and quite busy for a Wed night. Seemed they were short staffed as it took us some time to flag down our waiter to get the bill and pay. Otherwise we had a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food and service. We will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I had a fantastic time here! I was here this past Saturday. Food and the service was fantastic! Huge shout out to my server! I wish I caught your name, you had glasss on and you had your hair in two buns! You’re amazing! I had such a great night thanks to you! You made me feel taken care of! Can’t wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I ordered the cheeseburger and requested bacon on it. It didn’t come with bacon when I received it I had to ask for the bacon. And my friend ordered side salad with his omelette. He receive potatoes with the omelette and we had to request a side salad. Everyone was friendly and nice, just not efficient and accurate. The burger was delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Amazing food! Great service. Good ambience. Would come back any time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

There was a mishap with the food coming out, small plates and the steak knives were forgotten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I loved the Pork Chop dish I was given the wrong vegetables (green beNs which I hate) they said they ran out of broccoli so the chef would make me a vegetable of my choice. They did and it was taste!! Great service and very helpful picking drinks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great staff but didnt feel the menu provided many options. Not our taste in beer - mostly light and citrus flavored, which is not our type. Great burgers

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great for dinner or small plates/appetizers before going to an event at Civic or SAP. The menu is small, but everything looked amazing. Would recommend the small plates, salads, and the steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Bar was a bit short staffed for a Sharks game night and the server completely forgot one of my clients drinks. Other than that, everything was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Food was large portion and fast, love the grilled octopus and arugula side salad of the steak. Our drink did come in slightly slow, and the wings could use less spice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Good experience I enjoyed the food a lot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Sunday brunch menu is small. But cool vibe and warm service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Food is always very good. A little on the high side but worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Can't go wrong with ordering their burger. One of the best in the valley! My son had the flat iron steak and loved it. We love both their wine and beer selections. When not dieting, we also enjoy their mac and cheese! Delicious. Service staff is always attentive making sure we get out in time for whatever event we may be attending at SAP Center. Great place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Hadinner with coworkers from out of town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was excellent, but service was spotty. I'll chalk up to a waitress with too many tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Special of the day, crab salad, delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

The Mac & Cheese, Bison Burger and Bone-in Pork Chop... all 5-star options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

They were great at holding the birthday cake and champagne in the back to surprise our birthday boy! And the food is always fabulous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Delicious food and excellent service, even during a shift change. What more could one ask for?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2018

I took a group from work to the Firehouse for a coworker's birthday and everyone had a wonderful time. The beer was great and their meals were very good. Several of them mentioned multiple times how much they enjoyed the food and experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Octopus and pork belly appetizer are fantastic. Bison burger is delicious. Good beer selection and service is excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Waiter seemed rushed to take our order but couldn’t be found when needed water or when finished with meal.
Food was really good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Get the mac and cheese. You will not be sorry. The burger was also fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Great atmosphere with the fast, friendly service! Great beer selection too. Would recommend to anyone in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Service was fine. Food was good. Strange to have ordered a burger but not be allowed to upgrade fries to onion rings even if willing to pay extra. And was charged for two slices of bacon ($5.00!! $2.50 each) and it wasn’t asked how many slices I wanted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Intimate might be the way to describe the atmosphere in this small restaurant. The pork chop was very tasty. The special Lamb Shank was also good. Both came with polenta which was very tasty. The carrot cake desert was good. If you are in the right mood this might be a good place. We were in and out in just over an hour.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was okay. Server seemed stressed

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Nice location and delicious food. Somehow we never got our credit card back (or we left it in the folder). Either way, we contacted the restaurant and they didn't have it either. We canceled the card and ordered another but that was the only miss on this fine establishment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 4, 2017

Very busy place food was decent somewhat limited menu would go back next time in town

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 3, 2017

They accepted our reservation even though they were closed. We walked all the way from our hotel just to find out they were closed. Bad form.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Although our night food and service was good I have to say front of house was less than pleasant I found her to be dismissive and just there, no real greeting just doing her job to a minimum, I don’t like to complain but it did leave my date and I with a bad taste for our dining experience, if you can’t be happy At the holiday season, Thanksgiving eve, then maybe this is the wrong environment to work in

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Servers were great! Food was tasty. I didn't realize there were nuts in their house salads. Had to ask. Thank goodness they were almonds and not peanuts. Otherwise food was good. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2017

We visited this spot based on Yelp reviews and pictures. They have great small plate options and I'd argue they aren't so small either. We ordered 4 items initially and had to swap one out due to them being out of that one. All 4 items we did receive were excellent! We had the bone marrow, mac n cheese, shrimp and calamari. I'd order all 4 again, though I might start with 3 because we were getting full after the first 3. I look forward to revisiting this place the next time I'm in San Jose.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 31, 2017

The food was terrific, I particularly enjoyed the bison burger. I liked the restaurant's atmosphere, nice bench seating inside as well as outside. We arrived during a not so busy time but it was difficult to get the server's attention so I docked points off for service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2017

Before Sharks game. Got 3 lite bites. Very good. Nice sized portions. Went well with beer and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2017

Best breakfast in the Midwest!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9