About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 6:30PM

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (18)
Casual (16)
Fun (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great Beer (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Live Sports (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Cozy (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

A little on the salty side, but I guess that's what the beer is for!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was yummy and service was good. Prices were reasonable. Will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good place to catch up with a friend in the mid-week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great - shrimp, steak and ribs. We came to try their grilled octopus but unfortunately they ran out of it. The service started pretty slow - we had to wait a bit for our bottle of wine - but was OK in the end. The casual atmosphere was what we wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentines Day and even though I'm sure they must have been swamped all day, the food and service were great. We go to Firehouse often for the bar (you can't go wrong with any of their draft wines btw) and this was the first time I got the chance to try the food. We got baked Brie cheese with apricot jam, a charcuterie platter, and a ribeye steak to share, and of course a chocolate cake for dessert. :) No complaints about the food, the steak was cooked perfectly. My only gripes would be that the menu said it was served with mashed potatoes but it was definitely something else. And the dessert seemed a little stale but I can overlook it especially on a crazy day for the industry such as Valentines Day. Overall lovely experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great! Especially the US Cowboy steak. Only drawback was their water tasted like straight sink water, but besides that everything was great!

Tags: Live Sports, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Night went well. Food was great and the service was awesome.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Booked here for a post-conference meal with a friend. Really liked the vibe and the menu had some nice twists to it. Overall I thought it was pretty good and I did recommend it to some colleagues. San Jose has some cool dining spots and this one fits into the mix nicely.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The place is under staffed, and not very organized.

We ordered five meat plates cook medium;

We got the food two were well done ,one medium well,one medium, and one blue!(RAW)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food. Great bar. Hard to get into on game night, but well worth the effort.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed out time for dinner here. Located in a great complex of the San Pedro Square. Ride the VTA and enjoy the walk through lovely downtown San Jose. Just moved to this area and enjoying the exploration. Not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was so bad that we never got our food and half of our drink order. The waitress said that she would take the drinks off the bill but the food still didn't come. Left a $20 on the table and we left. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Sunday evening at San Pedro Square and revisiting one of my wife's favorites...... and I'm coming to agree. This was the second time we've had the BEST pork chops here and the new grilled octopus appetizer was truly terrific. The braised short ribs were also very good but I thought a little expensive at $29.

I've been disappointed in the signature mixed drinks in the past but tonight they were spot on! We'll be making plans to come back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Noisy as hell!! Group of first time drinkers next to us didn't help!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Service was great! We chose the pan fried chicken breast and the short ribs which was a special that night. Both the chicken and the short ribs was delicious! The garnish on the plates were not hot. I had the sweet potato purée and my husband had mashed potato. Both were just room temperature. Wish they had played the dish when the main dish was ready. Obviously it had sat for a few minutes.

Overall, a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our family group of 6 had an enjoyable dinner before the Sharks game. Really enjoyed the octopus!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

On the smaller side for a San Pedro Square restaurant. The place was filled with Sharks fans having pregame food and drinks. A little on the loud side, even in the table area, but it was a game night. Food was ok, nothing to write home about. They do have small plates for those who are not so hungry. Pork chop was moist, but I would have preferred a plain pork gravy, rather than the chutney style gravy (forgot what they called it). Grilled octopus (whole) was unusual and charred for the bbq'd flavor. A dipping sauce would have been Beer selection was good, but they ran out of Bloody Mary mix, who runs out of mixes? Now that I've tried Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub, I'll be trying other restaurants before returning.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Innovative menu - I had an octopus salad that was outstanding. The person I dined with had the pork chop and said it was very juicy. Don't get the panna cotta for dessert though - it's not light but a bit more like creme brulee. The owner came around to the table to make sure that everyone was doing find and liked their meals - nice touch. The restaurant is small and very popular on Sharks' game nights so make sure you make a reservation!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, good service! A little noisy but still worked for a small business meeting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Firhouse's parmesan shoestring fries with truffle aioli are swoonworthy. THeir burger is very good too, though this time the bun was served cold - not typically the case. Big, bright arugula salad with shallots made me feel a little less guilty for all the other deliciousness. This place is on of our favorites. Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very friendly staff. Good food but expensive for what you get.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

thanks! food was good and drinks were tasty. would come again.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was bad. Some of the food cold. One dish ordered mild & came out fiery hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Waitress was friendly and speedy, the atmosphere was live and fun. The food was awesome!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

food was too salty, the service was good. we did not stay for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Been here a few times now over 2 years or so & it has remained it's consistency. Good value, limited menu but everything on it has been very good, esp. the Mac & Cheese & the burger, also their cheese board has been different but always enjoyable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Love the burger. Cohesive burger. Simple, but really tasty. I've also had the pork belly here, and while it's not the best pork belly I've ever had, it was good. It was definitely enjoyable, but because I've had better, I can't praise this one too much. My friend and I also shared the bone marrows. I liked it! The crostini that came with it were so good, too. Good service. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service- great food- small menu - a little pricey but not too much so.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was great, service was good, then they switched servers midway and the lady who took over had an attidude problem. Would have been five star but that girl should not be a server if she doesnt like people.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was bad and expensive

Not much drinks on tap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a great meal at Firehouse No. 1. The service was really wonderful. Our server was friendly and knew the menu. We were seated near the bar and the bartenders were funny and would share information about the drinks they were making. I tried the Strawberry Shortcake for dessert and it was excellent. They had a surprise of banana's in the cake. Delicious. We had the Chicken, Pork Chop and Bangers and Mash. They were all delicious. If I am in the area again I will return.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Historic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Been a few times, food is hit and miss, great ideas not always exciting in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our waitress was attentive and other wait staff stopped by to see if we needed anything. Food was delicious and the dessert a great finish. I had the panna cotta with berries and my hustband enjoyed the blueberry cheesecake. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Spicy, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It was a good venue and the food was pretty good. A bit expensive but overall, it was a nice place to visit. Might go back and would recommend it for a first time dinner. Enjoy

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Probably a good place to drink and nosh with friends. Menu is too limited for real dining. Place is too loud for real conversation. Salads, burgers are good. Fries are standard frozen, dressed up more on the menu than in actuality.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Tried calling day prior for reservation and was told to call back (Open Table was done). Arrived at restaurant and tables were clean but dishes were piled up at end of bar - next to our table. Someone's Starbucks drink was also on bar in corner - work station. Waiter was prompt to take order. We asked for food to stagger since we were sharing and the table was small. Ordered drinks. Drinks never came and all of the food minus one item (forgotten) arrived at the same time. Food was like warm at best and looked as if prepared off site and reheated. Waiter never appeared after our order was taken and another employee had to cover. Reappeared at time of bill with excuses-I witnessed him taking shots with bar patrons during the dinner service. This was my second trip and my last. Experience was better the first time but behaviors the same. This is a reflection of poor management and poor expectations. Bill was far too expensive for the service and the food. Disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Been here a few times, and the food is consistently good. The menu is small, but everything is done right. I love their olives, great porkchops, very rich mac n cheese, and delightful raspberry cheesecake. Not a fan of their porkbelly, which was not crispy nor distinctly flavorful - how do you mess up pork belly?!? It's always loud here. Sat on the patio once, and smokers will stand right next to your table (not awesome).

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Used Open Table to find a place to take the president of one of the companies that I represent along with one of our customers for lunch. It was a bit of a drive which I should have paid more attention too but the parking was very easy. Two of us order the steak salad and the third ordered a fried chicken sandwich. Fantastic! Great meal...service not so much. I suspect it was that they were a bit short handed. I would definitely come again.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Highly recommended!! I have been here with my children as well as date night with the hubby. Food is AMAZING, fresh and creative!! Not one negative thing to say about this place. The staff is also fast, friendly and always has a recommendation =)

Tags: Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Rog was my waiter and his level of service was what made the difference. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal, location, and socializing with others on the patio

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Service is really spot on. My party's waitress was timely and very social. Our food came out quickly and was delicious. The drinks need some improvement. Overall, I really enjoyed Firehouse.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Burger was not well done and took a long time to get new one...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was delicious. We had a big group so it was nice to be in an area away from the crowd and TV even though there wasn't a big crowd in the restaurant. We asked for a birthday candle in dessert; the dessert took a very long time and the server was gone for longs stretches of time. next time we'll order dessert when we order the rest of our food.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Since it is a gastropub, I was disappointed at the pedestrian fare that was served with the Cheese & Sausage Board. It was good, but not much beyond supermarket quality. (One exception -- the olives were divine!)

The cocktails were well mixed and well presented.

Worth trying again to give a second chance and dive a little deeper into their menu .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was friendly. All around enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Enjoyed the tasty steak salad at lunchtime, sitting with friends in the sidewalk outdoor table area. It's a people-watching spot on San Pedro Street and good meet-up place for downtown workers.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent service. Good seafood options -- recommend mussels from WA state.

Good beer selection.

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Bar Seating, Tapas, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I was disappointed in the Spicy Bloody Mary; especially for $10. The mix didn't taste house made, and if it was, could use some improvement. The potatoes were pretty hard. Although the server was kind enough to bring out another order, they still felt stiff. Maybe thats just how the potatoes are served here?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good food and great service in San Pedro Square

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very good place to eat but it is loud. However, a good drink takes the edge off.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.