Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub

Gastropub noun\ˈga-strō-ˌpəb\ : a pub, bar, or tavern that offers exceptional food in a casual and comfortable environment.

From succulent pork belly sliders to house made paté on our charcuterie plate and an incredible house-made burger - this is not typical bar food. Paired with hand-made cocktails, exclusive craft beers, and superb wines - Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub offers an experience unlike any other bar. Located in downtown San Jose in San Pedro Square

69 North San Pedro Street
San Jose, CA 95110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: M-F 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Sa-Su 4:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Santa Clara

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 287-6969

Website:
http://firehouse1.com/

Parking Details:
Free 2 hours parking across the street with validation.

Executive Chef:
Matt Close

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Firehouse No. 1 Gastropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Special Occasion (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Spicy (3)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was delicious but a tad pricey. The craft beers were good. It was nice that they allowed dogs on the patio. Staff was kind and courteous. Nice dinner and drinks spot for friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Made reservation and asked about outside seating. Was told no reservations for outside seating. Upon arrival was shown to a table by the kitchen while other tables were available closer to main seating area. Reviewed menu and found a very limited selection more tapas than dinner and decided to go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a great meal here with our two teenagers, sitting outside on their patio. We consider ourselves foodies and they did not disappoint! The gouda bacon mac n'cheese was delicious with a generous portion, the wings had a nice carrot slaw to use instead of dipping sauce, and the grilled octopus was perfect! Plus the craft cocktails were amazing! Our server was friendly and took great care of us. And Happy hour to boot! Will definitely go back when we visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Nice place with good food and a very friendly staff. Location perfect for concert which was our game plan

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Best burger ive ever eaten. Service started out slow although we could tell she was busy. We were greeted with a smile and from then everything was great! Food came quickly and hot! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had dinner here with clients on July 24h. Everyone enjoyed their food, and the service was great. Wine list was limited, but had great options at good value. Would highly recommend if you are looking for dinner in downtown San Jose.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cold food that was undercooked and didn't come out at the same time for all at the table due to being "short in the kitchen"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Was a little disappointed that I noted on the reservation that we had a birthday and nothing was done. I'm not sure if the host just didn't communicate that to the server or if they don't do anything for birthdays at all. Other than that the food was excellent and the server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always great food, drinks and great service you can never go wrong here.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We reserved a table for our large party of 10, and all was set up when we arrived. Parking in the area is a challenge, and it was only after arriving that we realized the restaurant validates for the parking garage across the street.

The menu is diverse and has choices for the most picky -- the ribeye was outstaning -- and the adventurous. The star dish of the night was the grilled octopus, which was an interesting preparation with great flavor. Redefined octopus for us. Desserts are generous and suitable for sharing. Flan was a surprise -- more of a cake -- but very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We always eat here when we come to San Jose. Food is AMAZING. Most of the time the service is great...this last time, not so much. However, the food made it worth while. Greatest chefs ever! Steaks cooked perfectly and the bourbon butter melting onto the veggies is mouth watering. Don't normally eat the fries, but these I could not resist. Our favorite go-to place...hope they get better servers. If service was good I would have scored it a 5!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary - we ordered the charcuterie plate, the Greek salad, and the ribeye. The ribeye was really well cooked but underseasoned, the Greek salad was overdressed, and they forgot part of the charcuterie plate - by the time they brought it we were onto our mains. Not worth the drive from mountain view.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The menu is very interesting and diverse, complemented by a wide range of beer choices, including Erdlinger non-alcoholic beer (German import) which is a tasty beverage.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always good food and friendly service. Although they seemed to be short staffed as it took a while for our busy server to bring both rounds of drinks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Unfortunately they didn't have my reservation but at the end they treated us really well waitress are really nice

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome meal and nice cocktail. The beef bone marrow is the "must" order dish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent service. The food was great. Highly recommend the warm olives and spicy wings. We shared the beet salad, asparagus with an egg, spicy prawns with polenta. All were delicious and the prawns were magnificent. Happened to be happy hour so apps and drinks were half off. Had a great time there before walking to the concert at SAP. Highly recommend you try this place.

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Was ok. Food didn't quite live up to expectation, service was a bit of a mess: meals delivered inconsistently. Wrong feed delivered to table. Didn't quite seem up to the experience we assumed from their website

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were looking for a new place to have dinner and to watch the basketball finals, decided on Firehouse No. 1 because of the menu. Great decision!! We really enjoyed the whole experience: the food was amazing, the cocktails were imaginative and delicious, and the vibe from the staff was upbeat and very cool. We will definitely be back--a great place like this has to be at the top of your list as a gathering spot!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I thought it was excellent. I was in town for business. The service was really good, the menu prices are what are displayed online... the food was good. I really like gastropubs but this place was fun and I would go back. Always helps when they make excellent old fashions... good bartender

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Creative menu. Good beers. Interesting ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

In the area picking my son up from his first year of college. Have eaten here before and knew that for this trip I was going to eat there again. My son and I enjoyed a fantastic meal and outstanding service by our server Joy. Had the octopus, Mac and cheese and the roasted bone marrow. All not to be missed. We will be eating here again when we bring our son back down to San Jose State.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Steak salad was salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Service was great. Food was fresh n relish. Huge pork chop and polenta was outstanding . Manager did a great job at accommodating our extra guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a table of 9 and everyone seems to have enjoyed their meal! The ambiance was also nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was slow. They should have had another 2 servers at least. Food is delicious, but we only saw our server a few times. In fact, we backed out of a wine bottle purchase because we couldn't find our server to order it in time for our dinner. There are too many restaurants there to ever go back to this place.

Again, food was good though!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Absolutely excellent food preparations for each dish we ordered: fries with a dip in clean oil and just a hint of asiago and lemon; a perfectly cooked burger with just the right amount of vegetable condiments and melted cheese that didn't make the sandwich too mushy; an arugula/onion salad without the common soupy overapplication of dressing that makes all the greens soggy; pork bellies that just about melted in our mouths, while still retaining just the right touch of crispness on the outside. Pretty good beer/ale selection by the glass, although it could use a broader offering of wines by the glass. Someone in the kitchen didn't show up for work prior to our seating, so one of our dishes came out late, but other than that the service was very attentive. Have already recommended this place to many others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was amazing! All of our T-bone steaks were cooked perfectly, med rare. Will definitely come again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Arrived at opening time.. Didn't need the reservations but OK.. Order drinks and appetizers then looked over the menu. Not a huge selection but great variety. Calamari and Brie appetizers were great.. For dinner the Urban Cowboy steak was fantastic.. The bar was slow on our 2nd round and so the waitress comp'ed them. Super nice!! Dessert was a raspberry cheesecake.. delish!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My spinach salad was good, the raspberry cheesecake was good. Our server was nice and attentive. The music playing was fun and not too loud. The indoor lighting was harsh and not flattering- for this reason, I will not be returning. Unless it's warm enough to sit outside.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A variety of beers to choose from the list. The small plates are like tapas but bigger portion so you can share and try several dishes.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our uncle says they have one of the best dirty martinis he's ever had- so that's why we keep coming back. Drinks are good, food is great. The service is always a hit or miss. Would be wonderful if that was more consistent. But overall we like coming here!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This was a disappointing lunch experience. We had 11:45 reservations to celebrate a coworker and were promptly seated. And everything went downhill from there. It took 40 minutes to get our food (salads and sandwiches, so nothing complicated). After that long of a wait, we were all hungry and expectant. Three of six dishes were not as ordered. Things as simple as please put the blue cheese crumbles on the side were wrong. Our initial waitress was apparently serving drinks at the bar as well, which meant she was barely present. The food was not going to save this experience either. Definitely not a celebratory lunch and we won't be returning any time soon either.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fun date night...And low carb options!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The wait staff was friendly but needed to wait to put our entrees in until we finished our starters. We had an awkward moment wit too many dishes and no space on the table. However, the food was soo delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Delicious food with a small creative menu and wonderful handcrafted drinks. Have been here 5-6 times and looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great casual fare. Good value and the food is well prepped. Good selection of beers & full bar.
Busy before SAP events.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was very good--steak and burger, fantastic fries--but service was lousy, especially for higher than average prices. Had to wait a while for any kind of attention, drinks were not maintained, took a while for drink orders to come back after we had our meals. First time at this place was great, this time was not so good. Third time will be the charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Everything was great, would visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.