Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Latitudes on Sunset KeyLatitudes on Sunset Key
(5593)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 93 times today
Nine One FiveNine One Five
(1166)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 30 times today
Sarabeth'sSarabeth's
(360)
$$$$
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 9 times today
Hot Tin RoofHot Tin Roof
(1358)
$$$$
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 40 times today
La Trattoria Old TownLa Trattoria Old Town
(539)
$$$$
Italian | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 2 times today
Antonia'sAntonia's
(496)
$$$$
Italian | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 8 times today
Michaels RestaurantMichaels Restaurant
(1957)
$$$$
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 16 times today
A&B Lobster HouseA&B Lobster House
(1091)
$$$$
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 20 times today
Rooftop CafeRooftop Cafe
(134)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 12 times today
Cafe Sole - Key WestCafe Sole - Key West
(1447)
$$$$
French | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 22 times today
Bliss Key WestBliss Key West
(404)
$$$$
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 5 times today
BagatelleBagatelle
(573)
$$$$
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 18 times today
Cafe MarquesaCafe Marquesa
(333)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 6 times today
2 Cents2 Cents
(325)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 8 times today
La Te DaLa Te Da
(238)
$$$$
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 12 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Firefly

Firefly is a Southern-style restaurant in Key West. It's located in a building with an airy, refreshing atmosphere and beautiful string lights above to give off a pleasant light in the evenings. Guests who visit Firefly can relax in the indoor and outdoor eating areas all year for a hearty meal and an enjoyable downtown view. This is a good location to host private parties and events in a cozy environment.

The menu at Firefly contains some classic favorites with a twist, like the braised bison short rib, roasted half chicken, tri-tip steak and the pan-seared pork belly. Lunch portions and small plates are offered in a lot of variety as well, including delicious shrimp and grits, duck wings, skillet mac and cheese and fried green tomatoes. A range of cocktails, wines and beers are offered to go with a meal.

223 Petronia St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Daily: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chapman Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 849-0104

Website:
http://www.fireflykeywest.com/

Executive Chef:
Russ Ferstle

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Recently, we dined at Firefly - this was not our first time there. We really like the food and service at Firefly. The hamburger and shrimp and grits are fantastic. Always a local favorite for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Best southern style food I've had south of Georgia. Excellently prepared and perfect presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Awesome "low country" food. Really enjoy the flavors and use of fresh ingredients. Authentic with their own twist! Chicken and waffles, spicy chicken sandwich and shrimp and grits are all fantastic! Same goes for the fried green tomato sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2016

Very good southern food. We had mac & cheese, deviled eggs, gumbo, bison short ribs. all tasty & prepared just right. must save room for key lime cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Kinda tucked away from Duval St, but right next to Blue Heaven (also delicious). The food was great. Everyone in our party (7) really enjoyed their meal. I had the pork belly, which was delicious, a few people had the fried chicken which they loved and another person had the shrimp and grits, which he really liked. The venue is a two story house that is nice. I think they would do a lot better if they were closer to Duval st, as we were there on saturday night for an 8:30pm reservation and it was not really that busy. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2016

No fault of the staff, but loud, rowdy customers describing their exploits at the strip club ruined the experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2016

nice restaurant and good food with pleasant service.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2015

My friends and I went for New Year's Eve. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted. Unfortunately from that moment on was a complete disappointment. We were given a set menu for the night, that we were not informed about. The three course meal was $75 a person. I do not mind paying for a good experience and food on a holiday, I just wish I would have been informed when I made the reservation. When I looked at the menu all the appetizers contained fish, which I am severely allergic too. When I told the server, be told me he would have to "check" to see if they could substitute something in place. When he came back I was given a single option, Mac and Cheese. If that was not enough, it took over 30 mins between courses to be delivered to our table. The steak had excessive amounts of fat and the dessert was burnt on the bottom. The waiter took 20 mins to bring our bill. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Wonderful Southern comfort food, a fine collection of draft craft beers, and skilled friendly service (thanks, Caroline!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2015

I are at Firefly last year when I was in a Key West and couldn't wSit for this year! The chicken and waffles are absolutely the best I've ever tasted! I will definitely come back agsin before I depart!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Lots of great places in key west, this isn't one of them, unfortunately. I liked the ambiance. Great beer selection. But, not that crowded and took two hours for food. Food was not great. Waiter was cordial vs. rude but it literally took 2 hours to get food that wasn't very good. Too bad. Great for beer though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Kale salad was great. However, pork rinds were not as expected & we barely touched them & this went unnoticed by the waitress. My shrimp & grits was VERY spicy & hard to eat - not what I expected w/so many ppl raving online. Meatloaf was quite good. Table beside us raved about the fried chicken & it looked & smelled incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2015

We were there for lunch, but it's noteworthy that brunch is served til dinner. We had fried okra which was very crunchy,but greaseless. I then had a wonderful salad with a boneless fried chicken breast on top, again greaseless. The chef really has the frying down pat.
The service was outstanding. We have been there before for dinner and will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2015

I had the shrimp and grits which were some of the best grits I've ever had! The dish had peppers in it too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2015

We dined there last Christmas and the food was even better than expected. The environment was really lovely and the service was almost like being served by a family member. It had a very homely though classy feel which is what we prefer. The pricing was ok and good value for money. One year on, I still remember the restaurant and the gorgeous food. Would definitely recommend and would definitely return if I ever found myself at key west again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 20, 2015

Fried Chicken Sandwich is unbelievable. Everyone else's food looked great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2015

Skip the deviled eggs. Everyone raves about them but I felt they were over seasoned (salt and dill)and heavy on whole ground mustard. We split the biscuit and gravy... Huge portion and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The upstairs balcony was quiet and had perfect service from both Aaron and Shaun who made sure our needs were met, especially since we were in our anniversary trip. Food was great, we had fried green tomatoes, deviled eggs the gumbo and bison short-ribs. All were wonderful. Gumbo was huge and other portions just right. Would recommend for a sweet meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 1, 2015

Excellent menu, food and service. No spirits, but great draft and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2015

Meatloaf and deviled eggs were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2015

A gem of a place a couple blocks off Duval. Great food that is different from the typical fair. Great selection of craft beers and wines, and the bartender is ready with suggestions and perhaps a special concoction just for your pairing. Has a chill bar/cafe vibe downstairs with a great open space upstairs for a more upscale setting. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2015

So good that we went back a second time during our 3 day stay in Key West. Appetizers are so good you should order 3-4 and then split an entree (Shrimp & Grits or the Ribeye) which are fairly large. Knowledgeable wait staff and good wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2015

This was our favorite meal when visiting key west. The food, service and ambience were incredible. We were the only patrons in the upstairs dining room, so It was like we had the place to ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2015

We're always looking for something different in Key West. This is it. Food is amazing, different and generous. The restaurant is beautiful and romantic. Service is superb. Drink choices are varied and fun . Easy to get to, parking is a challenge like the rest of town. Don't miss this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Went for breakfast and had a great meal! The special was delicious and awesome chicken and waffles. Also had an outstanding beer menu. Wait staff was most attentive and helpful. Will definitely go again when back in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2015

My dinner was excellent. I started with the friend green tomatoes and had the shrimp with grits for dinner. Enjoyed both! My husbands appetizer was great but he ordered the gumbo for dinner which was way too runny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Went with a party of 7, sat inside upstairs. Very very loud with the high ceilings and wooden floors. Some of us enjoyed our entrees but several complained they were too spicy. The service was decent in the beginning, and then came to a crawl after the entrees. We actually had to find the server to pay. We expected southern cuisine, and the menu satisfies that...bacon wrapped meatloaf, fried green tomatoes, friend chicken, pig's ears...good if you like spicy.
Overall kind of disappointing, sad to say.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Food, ambiance, service - all excellent. It's far enough off Duval that most people won't just wander over and find it. It's worth seeking out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Was during street party and hard to get there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2015

This is a fantastic Southern Hospitality Restaurant, serving the very best in imaginative southern cuisine. This is an absolutely essential eatery when in Key West. The menu items are eclectic and the gumbo and meatloaf are to die for. Simply the very best that I've tasted in a long time. The service by Aaron and the warm greeting you will receive will complete your wonderful dining experience. Superior in food, superior in service and superior in every regard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2015

ONE OF THE BEST COMFORT FOOD RESTAURANTS EVER. THE PORTION SIZES EQUAL THE QUALITY . EXCEPTIONAL.WHO WOULD THINK DUCK WINGS WOULD BE AMAZING, THEY WERE, DEVILED EGSS NEAR PERFECT. THE FRIED CHICKED COATING WAS A PERFECT CRUNCH, THE MEATLOAF WRAPPED IN BACON WAS BRICK SIZE, WE WERE VERY HUNGRY, EITHER WAY IT WAS COMING HOME WITH US. THIS IS NOT FOOD FOR THE WEARY, ONE MUST BE HAPPY, HEARTY AND LOVE LIFE,WOULD BE THE MOTTO FOR THIS RESTAURANT. THE OWNER WHO DESIGNED THESE DISHES , SHE'S MY BEST FRIEND, AND I NEVER MET HER. hAH. IT IS REALLY AWESOME, IF I LIVED IN KEY WEST, I WOULD GO THERE UNTIL I TRIED EVERYTHING ON THE MENU. I CLAPPED WHEN THE FOOD ARRIVED, THATS HOW GOOD IT LOOKED, NO JOKE, MANY HAVE SAID THE KEY LIME CAKE CRUSHES THE LOCAL KEY LIME PIE,WITH ALL RESPECT TO KEY LIME PIE, IT CRUSHES THE PIE.5 STARS. IF I KNEW THIS FOOD WAS SERVED IN HEAVEN, I WOULD BECOME A MONK, AND TRY TO BE A PERFECT PERSON EVERYDAY,.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 17, 2015

We have dined here 3 times - 2 dinners, 1 brunch.

Pros:
- Many menu items are delicious (faves: pork belly, fried green tomatoes, fruit cobbler)
- Ambience was very nice; a clean feel and not overly cluttered.
- Bartender was fantastic

Cons:
- Several menu items are disappointments (dry fried chicken, tasteless steak, mushy wet beignets)
- Wait staff were slow and/or a bit rude

If we return to Firefly it would be for brunch as it was delicious. Dinner entrees are just not reliably pleasing to our palates. There are many consistently outstanding restaurants in Key West; Firefly isn't quite there yet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2015

My wife and I discovered Firefly on a trip last year and returned this year and ate there three times in four days because we couldn't decide what we wanted to have. The food is classic Southern, but with a hip, urban flair. We recommend it to everyone we see and are consistently surprised about how easy it is to walk in without a reservation and get a great table. They have a great outdoor dining option on a second-story deck. They also have a good selection of wine and craft beer if you're in the mood. They also have very inventive desserts - for example, not the classic key lime pie, but a key lime cake made with cream cheese frosting! AMAZING AND DELICIOUS - this place is a must-do for anyone on a Key West trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2015

Not sure what happened since our visit last year when I would have said 4+... Fried chicken was medium / pink (very) at the bone. Friend's grits were over peppered couldn't finish. Overall feel a slippage in not the right direction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 13, 2015

Great food, fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2015

Nice people- place- however food was just OK- had fried chicken and husband had short ribs- cucumber salad was great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 3, 2015

The food is really exceptional. The biscuits, fried okra, deviled eggs, and chicken and waffles are really some of the best-not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Fantastic food! Loved it, especially the biscuits. I had the house salad, which was a delicious combination! Fried chicken was delicious. The house/restaurant was HOT, HOT, HOT! I don't know if their A/C wasn't working or what the deal was, but it was uncomfortably hot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Outstanding meal. We had three appetizers the biscuits, the fried green tomatoes and the deviled eggs. All were very tasty, but special call out to those biscuits... wow... who calls out biscuits? These were so good we are going back for breakfast today. We had the pork belly for dinner. Crisp with the perfect fat. We loved the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2015

If you like Shrimp and Grits with a kick, this is the ticket! Deviled eggs are a must! Service was great. Will be back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.