Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Bliss KW
189 reviews
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Nine One Five
880 reviews
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
2 Cents
230 reviews
Gastro Pub | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
La Trattoria Old Town
316 reviews
Italian | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Antonia's
345 reviews
Italian | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Sarabeth's
137 reviews
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Martin's
250 reviews
European | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Square One Restaurant
194 reviews
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
La Te Da
117 reviews
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Banana Cafe
214 reviews
French | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Cafe Marquesa
176 reviews
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Keyviche seafood Eatery
42 reviews
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Hard Rock Cafe - Key West
10 reviews
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Señor Frogs - Key West
1 review
Mexican | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now
Michaels Restaurant
1591 reviews
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Reserve Now

About Firefly

223 Petronia St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

As of February 1, we will no longer be accepting reservations through Open Table.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Daily: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Chapman Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 849-0104

Website:
http://www.fireflykeywest.com/

Executive Chef:
Russ Ferstle

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Firefly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
See All
romantic (2)
good for groups (1)
great for brunch (1)
notable wine list (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on January 30, 2016

Best southern style food I've had south of Georgia. Excellently prepared and perfect presentation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome "low country" food. Really enjoy ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Awesome "low country" food. Really enjoy the flavors and use of fresh ingredients. Authentic with their own twist! Chicken and waffles, spicy chicken sandwich and shrimp and grits are all fantastic! Same goes for the fried green tomato sandwich!

food4
ambience4
service4

Very good southern food. We had mac & ch ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

Very good southern food. We had mac & cheese, deviled eggs, gumbo, bison short ribs. all tasty & prepared just right. must save room for key lime cake.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really tasty food, a few blocks off of Duval

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Kinda tucked away from Duval St, but right next to Blue Heaven (also delicious). The food was great. Everyone in our party (7) really enjoyed their meal. I had the pork belly, which was delicious, a few people had the fried chicken which they loved and another person had the shrimp and grits, which he really liked. The venue is a two story house that is nice. I think they would do a lot better if they were closer to Duval st, as we were there on saturday night for an 8:30pm reservation and it was not really that busy. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4

No fault of the staff, but loud, rowdy c ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

No fault of the staff, but loud, rowdy customers describing their exploits at the strip club ruined the experience for us.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I was not impressed with this place at all.

Dined on December 31, 2015

My friends and I went for New Year's Eve. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted. Unfortunately from that moment on was a complete disappointment. We were given a set menu for the night, that we were not informed about. The three course meal was $75 a person. I do not mind paying for a good experience and food on a holiday, I just wish I would have been informed when I made the reservation. When I looked at the menu all the appetizers contained fish, which I am severely allergic too. When I told the server, be told me he would have to "check" to see if they could substitute something in place. When he came back I was given a single option, Mac and Cheese. If that was not enough, it took over 30 mins between courses to be delivered to our table. The steak had excessive amounts of fat and the dessert was burnt on the bottom. The waiter took 20 mins to bring our bill. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Southern comfort food, a fine ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Wonderful Southern comfort food, a fine collection of draft craft beers, and skilled friendly service (thanks, Caroline!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch!

Dined on December 29, 2015

I are at Firefly last year when I was in a Key West and couldn't wSit for this year! The chicken and waffles are absolutely the best I've ever tasted! I will definitely come back agsin before I depart!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Slow. Mediocre food.

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Lots of great places in key west, this isn't one of them, unfortunately. I liked the ambiance. Great beer selection. But, not that crowded and took two hours for food. Food was not great. Waiter was cordial vs. rude but it literally took 2 hours to get food that wasn't very good. Too bad. Great for beer though!

food2
ambience4
service3

Kale salad was great. However, pork rind ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Kale salad was great. However, pork rinds were not as expected & we barely touched them & this went unnoticed by the waitress. My shrimp & grits was VERY spicy & hard to eat - not what I expected w/so many ppl raving online. Meatloaf was quite good. Table beside us raved about the fried chicken & it looked & smelled incredible.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eat Southern

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

We were there for lunch, but it's noteworthy that brunch is served til dinner. We had fried okra which was very crunchy,but greaseless. I then had a wonderful salad with a boneless fried chicken breast on top, again greaseless. The chef really has the frying down pat. The service was outstanding. We have been there before for dinner and will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

I had the shrimp and grits which were some of the best grits I've ever had! The dish had peppers in it too.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Brunch

Dined on December 20, 2015

Fried Chicken Sandwich is unbelievable. Everyone else's food looked great as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Skip the deviled eggs. Everyone raves ab ...

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

Skip the deviled eggs. Everyone raves about them but I felt they were over seasoned (salt and dill)and heavy on whole ground mustard. We split the biscuit and gravy... Huge portion and delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our ...

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The upstairs balcony was quiet and had perfect service from both Aaron and Shaun who made sure our needs were met, especially since we were in our anniversary trip. Food was great, we had fried green tomatoes, deviled eggs the gumbo and bison short-ribs. All were wonderful. Gumbo was huge and other portions just right. Would recommend for a sweet meal.

food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent menu, food and service. No spi ...

Dined on December 1, 2015

Excellent menu, food and service. No spirits, but great draft and wine list.

food5
ambience4
service4

Meatloaf and deviled eggs were great!

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Meatloaf and deviled eggs were great!

food4
ambience5
service5

A Southern Belle

Dined on November 25, 2015

A gem of a place a couple blocks off Duval. Great food that is different from the typical fair. Great selection of craft beers and wines, and the bartender is ready with suggestions and perhaps a special concoction just for your pairing. Has a chill bar/cafe vibe downstairs with a great open space upstairs for a more upscale setting. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find on Key West

Dined on November 22, 2015

So good that we went back a second time during our 3 day stay in Key West. Appetizers are so good you should order 3-4 and then split an entree (Shrimp & Grits or the Ribeye) which are fairly large. Knowledgeable wait staff and good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our favorite meal when visiting ...

Dined on November 19, 2015

This was our favorite meal when visiting key west. The food, service and ambience were incredible. We were the only patrons in the upstairs dining room, so It was like we had the place to ourselves.

food5
ambience5
service5

Different in Key West

Dined on November 16, 2015

We're always looking for something different in Key West. This is it. Food is amazing, different and generous. The restaurant is beautiful and romantic. Service is superb. Drink choices are varied and fun . Easy to get to, parking is a challenge like the rest of town. Don't miss this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT ATMOSPHERE/GREAT FOOD/GREAT STAFF

Dined on November 14, 2015

Went for breakfast and had a great meal! The special was delicious and awesome chicken and waffles. Also had an outstanding beer menu. Wait staff was most attentive and helpful. Will definitely go again when back in the area!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

My dinner was excellent. I started with ...

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

My dinner was excellent. I started with the friend green tomatoes and had the shrimp with grits for dinner. Enjoyed both! My husbands appetizer was great but he ordered the gumbo for dinner which was way too runny.

food3
ambience3
service3

Loud and spicy

Dined on November 7, 2015

Went with a party of 7, sat inside upstairs. Very very loud with the high ceilings and wooden floors. Some of us enjoyed our entrees but several complained they were too spicy. The service was decent in the beginning, and then came to a crawl after the entrees. We actually had to find the server to pay. We expected southern cuisine, and the menu satisfies that...bacon wrapped meatloaf, fried green tomatoes, friend chicken, pig's ears...good if you like spicy. Overall kind of disappointing, sad to say.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We'll be back!

Dined on October 30, 2015

Food, ambiance, service - all excellent. It's far enough off Duval that most people won't just wander over and find it. It's worth seeking out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Was during street party and hard to get ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Was during street party and hard to get there.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fantastic Southern Hospitality ...

vip
Dined on October 21, 2015

This is a fantastic Southern Hospitality Restaurant, serving the very best in imaginative southern cuisine. This is an absolutely essential eatery when in Key West. The menu items are eclectic and the gumbo and meatloaf are to die for. Simply the very best that I've tasted in a long time. The service by Aaron and the warm greeting you will receive will complete your wonderful dining experience. Superior in food, superior in service and superior in every regard.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

NEAR PERFECT,I CLAPPED WHEN THE FOOD ARRIVED.

Dined on October 21, 2015

ONE OF THE BEST COMFORT FOOD RESTAURANTS EVER. THE PORTION SIZES EQUAL THE QUALITY . EXCEPTIONAL.WHO WOULD THINK DUCK WINGS WOULD BE AMAZING, THEY WERE, DEVILED EGSS NEAR PERFECT. THE FRIED CHICKED COATING WAS A PERFECT CRUNCH, THE MEATLOAF WRAPPED IN BACON WAS BRICK SIZE, WE WERE VERY HUNGRY, EITHER WAY IT WAS COMING HOME WITH US. THIS IS NOT FOOD FOR THE WEARY, ONE MUST BE HAPPY, HEARTY AND LOVE LIFE,WOULD BE THE MOTTO FOR THIS RESTAURANT. THE OWNER WHO DESIGNED THESE DISHES , SHE'S MY BEST FRIEND, AND I NEVER MET HER. hAH. IT IS REALLY AWESOME, IF I LIVED IN KEY WEST, I WOULD GO THERE UNTIL I TRIED EVERYTHING ON THE MENU. I CLAPPED WHEN THE FOOD ARRIVED, THATS HOW GOOD IT LOOKED, NO JOKE, MANY HAVE SAID THE KEY LIME CAKE CRUSHES THE LOCAL KEY LIME PIE,WITH ALL RESPECT TO KEY LIME PIE, IT CRUSHES THE PIE.5 STARS. IF I KNEW THIS FOOD WAS SERVED IN HEAVEN, I WOULD BECOME A MONK, AND TRY TO BE A PERFECT PERSON EVERYDAY,.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Highs and Lows

Dined on October 17, 2015

We have dined here 3 times - 2 dinners, 1 brunch. Pros: - Many menu items are delicious (faves: pork belly, fried green tomatoes, fruit cobbler) - Ambience was very nice; a clean feel and not overly cluttered. - Bartender was fantastic Cons: - Several menu items are disappointments (dry fried chicken, tasteless steak, mushy wet beignets) - Wait staff were slow and/or a bit rude If we return to Firefly it would be for brunch as it was delicious. Dinner entrees are just not reliably pleasing to our palates. There are many consistently outstanding restaurants in Key West; Firefly isn't quite there yet.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT little find!

Dined on October 16, 2015

My wife and I discovered Firefly on a trip last year and returned this year and ate there three times in four days because we couldn't decide what we wanted to have. The food is classic Southern, but with a hip, urban flair. We recommend it to everyone we see and are consistently surprised about how easy it is to walk in without a reservation and get a great table. They have a great outdoor dining option on a second-story deck. They also have a good selection of wine and craft beer if you're in the mood. They also have very inventive desserts - for example, not the classic key lime pie, but a key lime cake made with cream cheese frosting! AMAZING AND DELICIOUS - this place is a must-do for anyone on a Key West trip!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Changed from last year

Dined on October 15, 2015

Not sure what happened since our visit last year when I would have said 4+... Fried chicken was medium / pink (very) at the bone. Friend's grits were over peppered couldn't finish. Overall feel a slippage in not the right direction.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, fantastic service.

vip
Dined on October 13, 2015

Great food, fantastic service.

food3
ambience4
service5

Firefly

Dined on October 8, 2015

Nice people- place- however food was just OK- had fried chicken and husband had short ribs- cucumber salad was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is really exceptional. The bisc ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

The food is really exceptional. The biscuits, fried okra, deviled eggs, and chicken and waffles are really some of the best-not to be missed.

food4
ambience2
service3

Hot & Heavy

Dined on September 27, 2015

Fantastic food! Loved it, especially the biscuits. I had the house salad, which was a delicious combination! Fried chicken was delicious. The house/restaurant was HOT, HOT, HOT! I don't know if their A/C wasn't working or what the deal was, but it was uncomfortably hot.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal. We had three appetize ...

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Outstanding meal. We had three appetizers the biscuits, the fried green tomatoes and the deviled eggs. All were very tasty, but special call out to those biscuits... wow... who calls out biscuits? These were so good we are going back for breakfast today. We had the pork belly for dinner. Crisp with the perfect fat. We loved the meal.

food5
ambience4
service5

If you like Shrimp and Grits with a kick ...

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

If you like Shrimp and Grits with a kick, this is the ticket! Deviled eggs are a must! Service was great. Will be back for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Key West Hidden Gem

Dined on September 16, 2015

The Firefly was a wonderful little gem we stumbled upon after being turned away by the tapas restaurant a few blocks away. Being tucked away from the bustle of Duval street, this restaurant has a chill atmosphere with delicious and unique southern creations. The waitress for our first dinner here was an absolute doll (young, rockabilly/50's style, very knowledgable of the menu and the chefs history), and she started us off with the Buttermilk Biscuits and house-made jam; perfectly baked biscuit mixed delectably with the sweet jam. The skillet mac and cheese was a perfect balance of rich, creamy and savory. The chef absolutely kills it with his take on Shrimp and Grits; this was, by far, the best item on the menu, but the Hanger Steak, Pickled Peach Salad, Biscuits and mac/cheese were all extremely close seconds in the race. Since we enjoyed our dinner experience here, we returned the next day for a late brunch. Our server (older woman, long-time key wester, a bit aloof) took 15 minutes to return to our table after being seated, brought me a pale ale after ordering a porter, forgot to bring us water and one of our sides, but was generally forgiving for her inattentiveness. The food was, again, absolutely wonderful... Chicken fried steak, biscuits and jam and the Shrimp and Grits again. I was told the menu changes slightly depending on seasons; I have a feeling I would enjoy this place any season. The chef is originally from Detroit (that's a plus in my book, as I also hail from Detroit) and clearly knows what he is doing with this little gem "off the beaten path".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The is food is fantastic me the service ...

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

The is food is fantastic me the service excellent!

food4
ambience3
service4

Very Good Meal

Dined on August 22, 2015

Great Southern comfort food in Key West. Service was friendly and attentive. The food was fresh and very tasty. A definite go to when in KW!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.