About Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern

5 Village Lodge Road
Stratton Mountain, VT 05155
View Larger Map

A casual, yet sophisticated dining experience in a rustic Vermont meets urban chic atmosphere. Our menu is similar to the State of Vermont...."a little weird"

The restaurant is named after the iconic fire tower that sits atop of Stratton Mountain where multi generations of skiers and riders made the hike to the summit.
Nestled in the heart of Stratton Village. Whet your appetite with Fire Tower Shrimp, our famous Ahi Nachos or a Winter Chevre. Salad. For dinner variety of eclectic menu options to choose from including Halibut , Mixed Wild Game Grill of Venison Chop & Elk Medallions, Vt Fresh Pasta & Lobster Alfredo, Hand Crafted Flatbreads or Mountain Burgers
Combining the spirit of a traditional tavern with upscale modern materials we take great pride in our unique bar design.
We offer some of the most unique Vermont craft beer and craft cocktail selections.
Come try a Makers Cider Smash.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
The Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern has re-opened for the 2016-17 Winter Season. Our tavern and and dining room are open at 4pm Monday to Thursday, Friday 3pm Apres and Saturday & Sunday 11:30am Lunch

4pm - Full Menu

Please check our website www.firetowerstratton.com for more information.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 297-2000

Website:
http://www.firetowerstratton.com/

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern, Stratton Mountain, VT
Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern, Stratton Mountain, VT
Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern, Stratton Mountain, VT
Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern, Stratton Mountain, VT

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ahi tuna nachos and the Fire shrimp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The ahi tuna nachos and the Fire shrimp were the best! Everyone in our party enjoyed there dinner! Delicious pomegranate Bellini! So happy to get a reservation

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were very attentive and friendly. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was very good (really liked the specialty nachos and flatbreads). Specialty drinks were good although all drinks were pricey. It was quiet enough to talk and relaxed atmosphere to enjoy without rushing. Probably a bit pricey to bring a family but would recommend a visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried this place while staying near by f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tried this place while staying near by for the weekend. Everything was delicious! I went with my boyfriend and we shared the jerk wings and the firetower shrimp. Wings were awesome because they were a dry rub so no mess and the shrimp were bomb. For an entree I got the crab meat stuffed lobster tail and my boyfriend got the lobster alfredo. Sooo good and we're from New York so I feel like we know good food. Def will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal. The lobster ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal. The lobster dishes were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, we had an excellent dinner at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

As always, we had an excellent dinner at the Firehouse. We all had different items from the menu, and each of us was very pleased with our selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location for us with our condo lo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great location for us with our condo located just across the street. We had a delicious meal served by a very accomplished waitress. Nice wine list.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mostly very good food. The children's "h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Mostly very good food. The children's "half burger" was very greasy as we're the fries. My daughter wouldn't eat it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome as usual

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal in a very cozy s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal in a very cozy setting. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Fire Tower is the epitome of ski resort dining. Great location, quality food, and fun atmosphere !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place continues to impress! Favorit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This place continues to impress! Favorite place on the mountain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was great. Food was good, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waitress was great. Food was good, great post ski day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Crowded during holidays, but still good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Crowded during holidays, but still good service, good food and reasonable noise levels.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very disappointed with the quali ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were very disappointed with the quality of our entrees. The meat dishes, which included the short ribs and the elk chop, were both tough and chewy. Given the price of our dinner, we expected a fine dining experience. Instead we received a mediocre, sub par meal. The appetizers however, salad and ribs were good along with the smoked chicken risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Good food and service. Good alternative ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food and service. Good alternative if you're in the mood for something other than meat and potatoes. Wish there were more reasonable wine offerings - selections in the $25-35 range.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were very disappointed in the food in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food in this restaurant. Three out of the four meals were horrible. This was our first and last time visiting here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Waiter literally threw our plates down. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter literally threw our plates down. Steak was ordered medium but came medium rare. Food was piled on tip of each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome! Always awesome -- we've been go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Awesome! Always awesome -- we've been going there regularly for our special occasions or for casual dining after ski, for a few years already. This is by far one of the best places around here !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course was a taste sensation. The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Each course was a taste sensation. The split pea soup was as good as my Mother used to make.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I have eaten here a couple ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My husband & I have eaten here a couple of times after skiing at Stratton. It's always delicious. Not cheap but nothing is in Stratton Village.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The five of us enjoyed a great meal and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The five of us enjoyed a great meal and get-together at the Fire Tower. Service was friendly and both kids and adults enjoyed our food. Schnitzels were particularly good and dessert sinfully rich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Up for a ski weekend with the family and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Up for a ski weekend with the family and had a fantastic first time dining experience at the Fire Tower. Lobster Alfredo and venison dishes were visually stunning and delicious. The service was prompt and friendly and our server Cheyenne was peronable and engaging. Would highly recommend and will definitely be going back next time we're up st Stratton!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Holiday meal with family. Terrific. We h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Holiday meal with family. Terrific. We have also been there for regular dinners and always leave feeling like we had a wonderful dining experience. The food is always so creative but not to the point where it is weird.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Firetower! Wonderful, eclecti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love the Firetower! Wonderful, eclectic menu, great food & service. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming, perfect for a ski resort location!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really appreciated the small plate ch ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We really appreciated the small plate choices, and the setting is very impressive, both inside and out

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every respect. The servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding in every respect. The service was friendly and attentive. Both myself and my dinner companion enjoyed creatively prepared salads and entrees, and comfortable ambiance. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very limited vegetarian options. I ended ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very limited vegetarian options. I ended up with just a side dish and some burnt rice. Of course this is partially on me for not doing my research ahead of time, but in Vermont on the mountain I am accustom to plenty of options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food all tasted sour. I rarely leav ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food all tasted sour. I rarely leave negative reviews but felt compelled to mention it. I feel the quality is suffering as they have a captive audience there on the mountain and therefore don't have to try as hard to know they will get diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Great local restaurant Try the potstick ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great local restaurant

Try the potstickers and shrimp for app

The burgers are perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizer potstickers were delicious. Ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Appetizer potstickers were delicious. Our vegetable stir fry was a bit too salty. The pizzas were a hit!

Men's restroom needs an additional stall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Menu was not impressive and food was not ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Menu was not impressive and food was not of high quality or prepared well. Manager was very solicitous and gave us free dessert. Food was overly spicy

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Love the convenience, location & accessi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the convenience, location & accessibility. Menu has not changed for two years & fish dinner (Opah) was tough & dry. Services excellent with willing & able young wait persons, priced right. Need to upgrade menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always great, and recent visit was no ex ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always great, and recent visit was no exception. Salads are HUGE and delicious. Chicken (with cheese, polenta) was awesome. Good beer selection. Service very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a really good meal. We were worki ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a really good meal. We were working in Stratton and the restaurant had been recommended to me. We had a member of our group with Celiac Disease and a few vegetarians, the hostess sent the head chef out to our table to discuss the options and ensure that the meal ordered to be gluten free would indeed be GF, with no cross contamination. As well he offered suggestions and modifications for the vegetarians. Food was good, service was good, laid back vibe, just what we were looking for after a long day at work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

How we'd LOVE to keep this place a secret!

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been to the Firetower Restaurant on Stratton Mountain many times, and it never disappoints. The menu is varied and unusual, and each member of our family has tried every dish at least once. The chef, Max, is amazing, and creates some really creative dishes. Don't miss out on the Fire Tower shrimp. The appetizers are substantial, and the salads are unique and wonderful. We can't say enough good things about the restaurant, and making reservations is so easy online.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Stratton Village Restaurant

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2016

I frequent Fire Tower during the ski season. It is one of my favorite restaurants at Stratton Mtn. The food is always top notch, their menu is never run of the mill, and everything is very fresh. The Ahi Nachos are the best I have had anywhere! They have a nice bar area with friendly bartenders and you can always find yourself getting into pleasant conversations with other patrons if you choose to. I find the food here to be as good, and a better price point than some the other restaurants on the Mountain. It is a good scene for those of us no longer in our 20's and that can be nice from a noise standpoint. Everything about it is well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the few choices on the mountain. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2016

One of the few choices on the mountain. Food was fair. Limited selection. The biggest flaw was from the host to server they had definite attitude. White wine served room temperature. Asked to share salad and it was presented on one plate and no additional offered. I could go on but I'm sure you get a sense of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

I got food poisoning.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2016

I got food poisoning. Up all night, lost a day skiing. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2016

The tuna nachos and the ribs are not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for Super Bowl weekend and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 6, 2016

We were there for Super Bowl weekend and this restaurant was definitely the place to be! The venison was perfect and I loved the Hawaian Opah. The entrees were delicious and creative! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative Drinks and Nice Menu

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Dined with three kids and two adults (including myself). The drink menu is outstanding. I started with a Bacon Old Fashioned and it was just excellent. I have had bacon infused bourbon on several occasions, and this was well done in that it was not OVER done - the infusing was just right and the bacon garnish was a fun touch and made for an excellent FB pic. (In hindsight, I'm not sure if they make the drink with Bourbon or with the traditional Rye.) I then had another craft cocktail that had bourbon and apple cider - it too was excellent. Dinners were solid all around though the kids menu, as is always the case, was nothing but fried junk - I so wish they would put decent food on kids menus! For my entree, I got - a pretty expensive - venison medalions. While the meat was tender, it was over-seasoned by quite a bit. It was still good, however, and when paired with a bite of the mushroom risotto, it was indeed excellent. For dessert we shared a chocolate pie thing that was awesome - I paired it with a nice glass of Warre port. My wife got another GREAT drink for dessert - I think it was called a Maple Jiggler. Fantastic! It was Frangelico, Maple liquer and a couple other things served in a little tiny mason jar with a tiny slice of fresh waffle - yes waffle! Really good stuff. Overall enjoyed it very much. Well behaved kids will do okay here, but there was a kid a few booths over that made it kind of loud - his parents dealt with it as best they could. (My kids are perfect. hahahahaah).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.