About Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern

5 Village Lodge Road
Stratton Mountain, VT 05155
View Larger Map

A casual, yet sophisticated dining experience in a rustic Vermont meets urban chic atmosphere. Our menu is similar to the State of Vermont...."a little weird"

The restaurant is named after the iconic fire tower that sits atop of Stratton Mountain where multi generations of skiers and riders made the hike to the summit.
Nestled in the heart of Stratton Village. Whet your appetite with Fire Tower Shrimp, our famous Ahi Nachos or a Winter Chevre. Salad. For dinner variety of eclectic menu options to choose from including Samoan Tombo Tuna, Seared Spiced Venison Medallions, Sausage & Kale Cavatappi, Hand Crafted Flatbreads or Mountain Burgers
Combining the spirit of a traditional tavern with upscale modern materials we take great pride in our unique bar design.
We offer some of the most unique Vermont craft beer and craft cocktail selections.
Come try a Makers Cider Smash.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
The Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern has re-opened for the 2015 Winter Season. Our tavern and Porcupine lounge is open at noon on Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays

Late Winter Season Hours

Monday through Friday
4pm - Full Menu

Saturday - 2pm Apres

Sunday - 4pm


Please check our website www.firetowerstratton.com for more information.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 297-2000

Website:
http://www.firetowerstratton.com/

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Vermont
Best Restaurants in Stratton ›

fit for foodies (15)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (11)
See All
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (5)
special occasion (5)
romantic (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Stratton Village Restaurant

Dined on March 4, 2016

I frequent Fire Tower during the ski season. It is one of my favorite restaurants at Stratton Mtn. The food is always top notch, their menu is never run of the mill, and everything is very fresh. The Ahi Nachos are the best I have had anywhere! They have a nice bar area with friendly bartenders and you can always find yourself getting into pleasant conversations with other patrons if you choose to. I find the food here to be as good, and a better price point than some the other restaurants on the Mountain. It is a good scene for those of us no longer in our 20's and that can be nice from a noise standpoint. Everything about it is well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1

One of the few choices on the mountain. ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

One of the few choices on the mountain. Food was fair. Limited selection. The biggest flaw was from the host to server they had definite attitude. White wine served room temperature. Asked to share salad and it was presented on one plate and no additional offered. I could go on but I'm sure you get a sense of the experience.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I got food poisoning.

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

I got food poisoning. Up all night, lost a day skiing. Would never go back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious.

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

The tuna nachos and the ribs are not to be missed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Super Bowl weekend and ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

We were there for Super Bowl weekend and this restaurant was definitely the place to be! The venison was perfect and I loved the Hawaian Opah. The entrees were delicious and creative! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Creative Drinks and Nice Menu

Dined on January 31, 2016

Dined with three kids and two adults (including myself). The drink menu is outstanding. I started with a Bacon Old Fashioned and it was just excellent. I have had bacon infused bourbon on several occasions, and this was well done in that it was not OVER done - the infusing was just right and the bacon garnish was a fun touch and made for an excellent FB pic. (In hindsight, I'm not sure if they make the drink with Bourbon or with the traditional Rye.) I then had another craft cocktail that had bourbon and apple cider - it too was excellent. Dinners were solid all around though the kids menu, as is always the case, was nothing but fried junk - I so wish they would put decent food on kids menus! For my entree, I got - a pretty expensive - venison medalions. While the meat was tender, it was over-seasoned by quite a bit. It was still good, however, and when paired with a bite of the mushroom risotto, it was indeed excellent. For dessert we shared a chocolate pie thing that was awesome - I paired it with a nice glass of Warre port. My wife got another GREAT drink for dessert - I think it was called a Maple Jiggler. Fantastic! It was Frangelico, Maple liquer and a couple other things served in a little tiny mason jar with a tiny slice of fresh waffle - yes waffle! Really good stuff. Overall enjoyed it very much. Well behaved kids will do okay here, but there was a kid a few booths over that made it kind of loud - his parents dealt with it as best they could. (My kids are perfect. hahahahaah).

food5
ambience4
service5

I took my 13 year olds out a pre ski. It ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

I took my 13 year olds out a pre ski. It was wonderful. The girls enjoyed their mock tails and mine not "mock". Pork dumpling app was terrific. The vennison one of them ordered was fabulous. Who knew?

food5
ambience5
service5

Traveled 2 hrs for the meal and to walk ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Traveled 2 hrs for the meal and to walk the small store area. Service was great, definately glad we had reservations! The waffle chicken panini was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is now our favorite restaurant at S ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

This is now our favorite restaurant at Stratton, whether we sit at the bar or have a table in the dining room. Food, drinks, and service are all wonderful. Ahi tuna nachos...spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fire Tower delivered another great dinne ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Fire Tower delivered another great dinner and was extra nice due to our outstanding server, Merideth! We'll be back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small in space, big on ambience and food

Dined on December 28, 2015

We've been here with our teen kids several years in a row now. I love the small dark feel with the big windows, it's a very comfortable space after skiing. Great wine and beer list, and the rolls they serve when seated are fantastic! Menu choices are very good, they do have a kids menu and the pizza is terrific! Much better than most VT pizza which tastes like cardboard. I can happily say the steak was great, and my wife loved her seafood. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were very good. Interes ...

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Food and service were very good. Interesting choices on the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5

Totally redone place!

Dined on November 27, 2015

New ownership knows about the quality of people that stays at Stratton Village. They are really exceeding the quality and expectative of their visitors. Great Job!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We had great experience on Saturday of C ...

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

We had great experience on Saturday of Columbus Day weekend. This is a busy weekend in VT and at Stratton, so the bar was packed and the restaurant was too. This did not take away from the service or food. The server was prompt and quick. The food came out in a very reasonable time for how busy they were. I had an excellent fall Manhattan drink, which was a special. We ordered the pot stickers as an appetizer, which were just average. The dinners were excellent though. I had wanted the seasonal dish entree, but they ran out, so I went with the Venison. My wife had a flat bread, which was also very good. The ambiance was nice, but a little noisy. We still very much enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go back. This restaurant is much better than the Italian place that was here before.

food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal!

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

The chef's takes and twists on traditional dishes, using locally sourced food, are simply brilliant. This a place for starving hikers and skiers; for foodies and gourmands; and for guys looking to catch the game. The only problem that I am able to articulate is that there were too many things that I wanted to try. Parenthetically, this place is gluten-free friendly, with clearly marked menus and GF pastas and pizza crusts for easy substitution. You must try this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

A great find but stick to the water

Dined on July 9, 2015

Everything was perfect - the food, the greeters, the waitress, the ambience, the beer and wine selection. But boy do they know how to sting you for the wine. This is without a doubt the most expensive cheap wine by the glass or by the bottle that I have ever encountered. Is it really necessary to rip people off with the wine when you are already making a packet on the food. I know that you are on Stratton but are you trying to completely eliminate locals and only service the Stratton clientele who have endlessly deep pockets?

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dinner at The Fire Tower

Dined on June 6, 2015

The risotto was so tasty, perhaps it was the addition of the crab or more cheese...flavors were great! Basil and gin together works great, the drinks are creative and interesting! Fire Tower shrimp and Ahi Nachos are always a family favorite. Key Lime pomegranate pie....what a great ending to a perfect night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great!

Dined on June 5, 2015

Have eaten here many times since its opening and have never had a bad experience! Also seemed like a lot more locals than in the past and that is great considering the restaurant is at Stratton Mountain Ski Resort!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

From Gazpacho to key lime pie - deliciou ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2015

From Gazpacho to key lime pie - delicious all around!

food4
ambience4
service4

Fire Tower has a very inovative menu. Th ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2015

Fire Tower has a very inovative menu. The staff is friendly and the food was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything you need

Dined on March 19, 2015

In a ski town restaurant. Good food good beer good service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere

vip
Dined on February 28, 2015

The Fire Tower is an excellent restaurant found in Stratton Village! The atmosphere in this restaurant is fabulous! They have a wonderful bar area that is bustling. It's all very rustic and warm feeling. The food is excellent and the staff is very accomodating. You can enjoy excellent drinks, wine and food that ranges from great appetizers to full dinners! This is our favorite restaurant in Stratton Village!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

restaurant improvement at Stratton

Dined on February 23, 2015

Food was very good on first visit on 2/22/15, I had pork porterhouse and my wife had Ahi Tuna. Went back on 2/23/15 and my wife had the cod which was overcooked, but my strip steak was perfectly cooked. Service on 2nd visit was bad. Had to wait 40 minutes for our food to arrive, and waitress never stopped by table to check on us or explain delay. Seemed odd since it was a monday night. We will chalk it up as one bad night, and try the place again. Stratton needed an improvement in the quality of restaurants in the village and hopefully this one will come through.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5

Come for location not the food

vip
Dined on February 21, 2015

We ate here twice in our week's stay at Stratton over the February break. The location is great, right in a Stratton ski village. The decor was upscale and went with the mountain theme but ask for a table in the main dinning room, it's more quaint. The food need improvement - all dishes were over seasoned and very salty. The best dish we tried was the chicken. The ribs were a pile of fat and the venison was soft but drowned in source. The drinks were decent but the wine was better. Great maple ice cream to finish off your meal. Finally, this place isn't cheap so if you're on the budget you may want to look at other options.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

A great addition to the Village.

vip
Dined on February 20, 2015

We love it. Menu is interesting, with great variety. Food tastes great/never disappoints. Service is excellent: on top of it and very personable. Make res early or you'll be SOL.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great stop in Stratton

Dined on February 20, 2015

Great service best food of the four places we ate at in the village. Better dumings than the sushi place and a good steak cooked well.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Good restaurant!

Dined on February 17, 2015

The restaurant was VERY busy the evening we were there; many families, so it was rather loud, although not obnoxiously so. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable. Food came out hot and cooked as requested. Menu has an eclectic selection of traditional and very non-traditional items. The "tamale" appetizer has all the components of a traditional tamale (with the exception of the corn husks), but combined in a non-traditional manner. For instance, there were corn masa triangles rather than the meat being wrapped in the masa. My only complaint is that I emailed once and called the restaurant twice regarding where to park. Both times I called, I left a message as it seems humans do not answer the phone, but neither my email nor either phone message generated a reply.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere, delicious ...

Dined on February 15, 2015

Great food, great atmosphere, delicious cocktails and amazing service! Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best place at Stratton for a casual family meal

Dined on February 13, 2015

The best place to eat at Stratton for a somewhat casual and enjoyable family meal. Fits well between Mulligans which is much lower quality and Verde which is high end, pricey and not really suited to a casual family meal with kids. Might be a little pricey for families but worth it compared to other options.

food5
ambience5
service5

Kudos to Max and the entire staff!!

Dined on January 25, 2015

Glad we finally have an awesome place to eat out at Stratton. Love the food and the staff!! Great job all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4

Good Food on the Mountain

Dined on January 11, 2015

Pleasant service, good wine list and well prepared food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Tough for Teenagers

Dined on December 22, 2014

Stratton needs a place to be able to families (think teenagers) that has less complicated menu items and a nicer atmosphere than Mulligans (I think thats the name). My daughters love pasta but the closest was Mountain Primavera Lasagna (we asked our waitress for some kind of pasta with sauce but were told they had none). I would have liked lamb chops, but the closest was Morrocan Lamp Ribs (slow roasted mechoui style espresso-muscovado rubbed mint mango raita with marrakesh slaw). Don't get me wrong, the menu is great for foodies or once in a while, but not if you are staying there for a few days and need someplace nice to eat.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Everything was good, except a glass of w ...

vip
Dined on December 19, 2014

Everything was good, except a glass of wine which was over-aged. We told the manager and he was very apologetic and brought me a very nice glass of wine and refills for all. He's a very good businessman.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great mountain dining!

Dined on October 4, 2014

We have been at Stratton for over 10 years. So happy to have another option for fine dining in the village. Service was excellent and the food was delicious, from appetizers through dessert. The chef served our dinners...what a great touch!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful dinner!

Dined on October 4, 2014

We enjoyed another great dinner Friday night. Both the Venison and Steak were superb, with mouthwatering sauces. The atmosphere and service (Chissy) matched the food and wine raving us with another great experience. Looking forward to coming back again!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it

Dined on September 11, 2014

This is our 4th time at The Fire Tower Restaurant and we have thoroughly enjoyed it every time. What was particularly notable about our dinner the other night was the summer chevre salad - my husband and I shared it and we absolutely loved it. Two of us had the pork schnitzel, one of us the steak from the Prix Fixe menu, and Al had the mountain prima vera. Everyone was very pleased. We love the space, the staff is wonderful and Feb, our server that night, is a real professional - yet warm and very helpful. It was an outstanding experience - we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

:) MAX

Dined on September 11, 2014

He's a real chef not a short order cook. Never disappointed especially with meat cooked as ordered and everything else on the plate is fresh and healthy . He's the best on Stratton with his culinary talent and he has a personality that is unforgettable . The wait staff is professional and efficient. Thank you Fire Tower.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been twice now for the Thursday ...

Dined on August 21, 2014

We have been twice now for the Thursday night specials and brought friends because it is so consistently good. We don't hesitate to recommend it to our friends. Keep up the special Thursday nights! Service is excellent and like that the chef delivers our entree personally each time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

The ambiance is good, very kid friendly, ...

Dined on July 19, 2014

The ambiance is good, very kid friendly, the food was somewhat disappointing, especially for the price point

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5

Very nice dinner all around!

Dined on July 4, 2014

Four of us dined at Fire Tower on a Friday night and all of us really enjoyed the food and atmosphere! Our server was very professional and sweet, had good recommendations and the right balance of attentitiveness. We'll be back!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.