About Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern

5 Village Lodge Road
Stratton Mountain, VT 05155
View Larger Map

A casual, yet sophisticated dining experience in a rustic Vermont meets urban chic atmosphere. Our menu is similar to the State of Vermont...."a little weird"

The restaurant is named after the iconic fire tower that sits atop of Stratton Mountain where multi generations of skiers and riders made the hike to the summit.
Nestled in the heart of Stratton Village. Whet your appetite with Fire Tower Shrimp, our famous Ahi Nachos or a Winter Chevre. Salad. For dinner variety of eclectic menu options to choose from including Samoan Tombo Tuna, Seared Spiced Venison Medallions, Sausage & Kale Cavatappi, Hand Crafted Flatbreads or Mountain Burgers
Combining the spirit of a traditional tavern with upscale modern materials we take great pride in our unique bar design.
We offer some of the most unique Vermont craft beer and craft cocktail selections.
Come try a Makers Cider Smash.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
The Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern has re-opened for the 2016 summer Season. Our tavern and and dining room are open at 4pm Thursday to Sunday

Sit on our new patio and enjoy an afternoon cocktail

4pm - Full Menu

Please check our website www.firetowerstratton.com for more information.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 297-2000

Website:
http://www.firetowerstratton.com/

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Vermont
Best Ambiance
Vermont
American
Vermont
1 More
Most Booked
Vermont
Best Restaurants in Stratton ›

Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
See All
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Up for a ski weekend with the family and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Up for a ski weekend with the family and had a fantastic first time dining experience at the Fire Tower. Lobster Alfredo and venison dishes were visually stunning and delicious. The service was prompt and friendly and our server Cheyenne was peronable and engaging. Would highly recommend and will definitely be going back next time we're up st Stratton!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Holiday meal with family. Terrific. We h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Holiday meal with family. Terrific. We have also been there for regular dinners and always leave feeling like we had a wonderful dining experience. The food is always so creative but not to the point where it is weird.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Firetower! Wonderful, eclecti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love the Firetower! Wonderful, eclectic menu, great food & service. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming, perfect for a ski resort location!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really appreciated the small plate ch ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We really appreciated the small plate choices, and the setting is very impressive, both inside and out

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every respect. The servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding in every respect. The service was friendly and attentive. Both myself and my dinner companion enjoyed creatively prepared salads and entrees, and comfortable ambiance. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very limited vegetarian options. I ended ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very limited vegetarian options. I ended up with just a side dish and some burnt rice. Of course this is partially on me for not doing my research ahead of time, but in Vermont on the mountain I am accustom to plenty of options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food all tasted sour. I rarely leav ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food all tasted sour. I rarely leave negative reviews but felt compelled to mention it. I feel the quality is suffering as they have a captive audience there on the mountain and therefore don't have to try as hard to know they will get diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Appetizer potstickers were delicious. Ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Appetizer potstickers were delicious. Our vegetable stir fry was a bit too salty. The pizzas were a hit!

Men's restroom needs an additional stall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great local restaurant Try the potstick ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great local restaurant

Try the potstickers and shrimp for app

The burgers are perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu was not impressive and food was not ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Menu was not impressive and food was not of high quality or prepared well. Manager was very solicitous and gave us free dessert. Food was overly spicy

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Love the convenience, location & accessi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the convenience, location & accessibility. Menu has not changed for two years & fish dinner (Opah) was tough & dry. Services excellent with willing & able young wait persons, priced right. Need to upgrade menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always great, and recent visit was no ex ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always great, and recent visit was no exception. Salads are HUGE and delicious. Chicken (with cheese, polenta) was awesome. Good beer selection. Service very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a really good meal. We were worki ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a really good meal. We were working in Stratton and the restaurant had been recommended to me. We had a member of our group with Celiac Disease and a few vegetarians, the hostess sent the head chef out to our table to discuss the options and ensure that the meal ordered to be gluten free would indeed be GF, with no cross contamination. As well he offered suggestions and modifications for the vegetarians. Food was good, service was good, laid back vibe, just what we were looking for after a long day at work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

How we'd LOVE to keep this place a secret!

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been to the Firetower Restaurant on Stratton Mountain many times, and it never disappoints. The menu is varied and unusual, and each member of our family has tried every dish at least once. The chef, Max, is amazing, and creates some really creative dishes. Don't miss out on the Fire Tower shrimp. The appetizers are substantial, and the salads are unique and wonderful. We can't say enough good things about the restaurant, and making reservations is so easy online.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Stratton Village Restaurant

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2016

I frequent Fire Tower during the ski season. It is one of my favorite restaurants at Stratton Mtn. The food is always top notch, their menu is never run of the mill, and everything is very fresh. The Ahi Nachos are the best I have had anywhere! They have a nice bar area with friendly bartenders and you can always find yourself getting into pleasant conversations with other patrons if you choose to. I find the food here to be as good, and a better price point than some the other restaurants on the Mountain. It is a good scene for those of us no longer in our 20's and that can be nice from a noise standpoint. Everything about it is well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the few choices on the mountain. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2016

One of the few choices on the mountain. Food was fair. Limited selection. The biggest flaw was from the host to server they had definite attitude. White wine served room temperature. Asked to share salad and it was presented on one plate and no additional offered. I could go on but I'm sure you get a sense of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

I got food poisoning.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2016

I got food poisoning. Up all night, lost a day skiing. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2016

The tuna nachos and the ribs are not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for Super Bowl weekend and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 6, 2016

We were there for Super Bowl weekend and this restaurant was definitely the place to be! The venison was perfect and I loved the Hawaian Opah. The entrees were delicious and creative! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative Drinks and Nice Menu

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Dined with three kids and two adults (including myself). The drink menu is outstanding. I started with a Bacon Old Fashioned and it was just excellent. I have had bacon infused bourbon on several occasions, and this was well done in that it was not OVER done - the infusing was just right and the bacon garnish was a fun touch and made for an excellent FB pic. (In hindsight, I'm not sure if they make the drink with Bourbon or with the traditional Rye.) I then had another craft cocktail that had bourbon and apple cider - it too was excellent. Dinners were solid all around though the kids menu, as is always the case, was nothing but fried junk - I so wish they would put decent food on kids menus! For my entree, I got - a pretty expensive - venison medalions. While the meat was tender, it was over-seasoned by quite a bit. It was still good, however, and when paired with a bite of the mushroom risotto, it was indeed excellent. For dessert we shared a chocolate pie thing that was awesome - I paired it with a nice glass of Warre port. My wife got another GREAT drink for dessert - I think it was called a Maple Jiggler. Fantastic! It was Frangelico, Maple liquer and a couple other things served in a little tiny mason jar with a tiny slice of fresh waffle - yes waffle! Really good stuff. Overall enjoyed it very much. Well behaved kids will do okay here, but there was a kid a few booths over that made it kind of loud - his parents dealt with it as best they could. (My kids are perfect. hahahahaah).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my 13 year olds out a pre ski. It ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2016

I took my 13 year olds out a pre ski. It was wonderful. The girls enjoyed their mock tails and mine not "mock". Pork dumpling app was terrific. The vennison one of them ordered was fabulous. Who knew?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Traveled 2 hrs for the meal and to walk ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Traveled 2 hrs for the meal and to walk the small store area. Service was great, definately glad we had reservations! The waffle chicken panini was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is now our favorite restaurant at S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2015

This is now our favorite restaurant at Stratton, whether we sit at the bar or have a table in the dining room. Food, drinks, and service are all wonderful. Ahi tuna nachos...spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire Tower delivered another great dinne ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Fire Tower delivered another great dinner and was extra nice due to our outstanding server, Merideth! We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small in space, big on ambience and food

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2015

We've been here with our teen kids several years in a row now. I love the small dark feel with the big windows, it's a very comfortable space after skiing. Great wine and beer list, and the rolls they serve when seated are fantastic! Menu choices are very good, they do have a kids menu and the pizza is terrific! Much better than most VT pizza which tastes like cardboard. I can happily say the steak was great, and my wife loved her seafood. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were very good. Interes ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Food and service were very good. Interesting choices on the menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Totally redone place!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2015

New ownership knows about the quality of people that stays at Stratton Village. They are really exceeding the quality and expectative of their visitors. Great Job!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had great experience on Saturday of C ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2015

We had great experience on Saturday of Columbus Day weekend. This is a busy weekend in VT and at Stratton, so the bar was packed and the restaurant was too. This did not take away from the service or food. The server was prompt and quick. The food came out in a very reasonable time for how busy they were. I had an excellent fall Manhattan drink, which was a special. We ordered the pot stickers as an appetizer, which were just average. The dinners were excellent though. I had wanted the seasonal dish entree, but they ran out, so I went with the Venison. My wife had a flat bread, which was also very good. The ambiance was nice, but a little noisy. We still very much enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go back. This restaurant is much better than the Italian place that was here before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Phenomenal!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2015

The chef's takes and twists on traditional dishes, using locally sourced food, are simply brilliant. This a place for starving hikers and skiers; for foodies and gourmands; and for guys looking to catch the game. The only problem that I am able to articulate is that there were too many things that I wanted to try. Parenthetically, this place is gluten-free friendly, with clearly marked menus and GF pastas and pizza crusts for easy substitution. You must try this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great find but stick to the water

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2015

Everything was perfect - the food, the greeters, the waitress, the ambience, the beer and wine selection. But boy do they know how to sting you for the wine. This is without a doubt the most expensive cheap wine by the glass or by the bottle that I have ever encountered. Is it really necessary to rip people off with the wine when you are already making a packet on the food. I know that you are on Stratton but are you trying to completely eliminate locals and only service the Stratton clientele who have endlessly deep pockets?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Another great dinner at The Fire Tower

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2015

The risotto was so tasty, perhaps it was the addition of the crab or more cheese...flavors were great! Basil and gin together works great, the drinks are creative and interesting! Fire Tower shrimp and Ahi Nachos are always a family favorite. Key Lime pomegranate pie....what a great ending to a perfect night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2015

Have eaten here many times since its opening and have never had a bad experience! Also seemed like a lot more locals than in the past and that is great considering the restaurant is at Stratton Mountain Ski Resort!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From Gazpacho to key lime pie - deliciou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 5, 2015

From Gazpacho to key lime pie - delicious all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fire Tower has a very inovative menu. Th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2015

Fire Tower has a very inovative menu. The staff is friendly and the food was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything you need

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2015

In a ski town restaurant. Good food good beer good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2015

The Fire Tower is an excellent restaurant found in Stratton Village! The atmosphere in this restaurant is fabulous! They have a wonderful bar area that is bustling. It's all very rustic and warm feeling. The food is excellent and the staff is very accomodating. You can enjoy excellent drinks, wine and food that ranges from great appetizers to full dinners! This is our favorite restaurant in Stratton Village!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

restaurant improvement at Stratton

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2015

Food was very good on first visit on 2/22/15, I had pork porterhouse and my wife had Ahi Tuna. Went back on 2/23/15 and my wife had the cod which was overcooked, but my strip steak was perfectly cooked. Service on 2nd visit was bad. Had to wait 40 minutes for our food to arrive, and waitress never stopped by table to check on us or explain delay. Seemed odd since it was a monday night. We will chalk it up as one bad night, and try the place again. Stratton needed an improvement in the quality of restaurants in the village and hopefully this one will come through.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Come for location not the food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2015

We ate here twice in our week's stay at Stratton over the February break. The location is great, right in a Stratton ski village. The decor was upscale and went with the mountain theme but ask for a table in the main dinning room, it's more quaint. The food need improvement - all dishes were over seasoned and very salty. The best dish we tried was the chicken. The ribs were a pile of fat and the venison was soft but drowned in source. The drinks were decent but the wine was better. Great maple ice cream to finish off your meal. Finally, this place isn't cheap so if you're on the budget you may want to look at other options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

A great addition to the Village.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2015

We love it. Menu is interesting, with great variety. Food tastes great/never disappoints. Service is excellent: on top of it and very personable. Make res early or you'll be SOL.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great stop in Stratton

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2015

Great service best food of the four places we ate at in the village. Better dumings than the sushi place and a good steak cooked well.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.