About fire food and drink

13220 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Red hot... just like the name, fire was smoking from the start. Owner-chef Douglas Katz hit a bull's-eye with this trendy American bistro. There are no gimmicks here. Just simple wood-fired cooking served in a hip urban space with sleek lines & an open kitchen. fire's staff is among the best in Cleveland!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Brunch Saturday - Sunday 10:00 - 2:00 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Please Note: Parties of 9 or more, please call the restaurant!

Cross Street:
North Moreland

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3473

Website:
http://www.firefoodanddrink.com/

Catering:
fire does one-of-a-kind catering functions based on customer requests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet daily

Public Transit:
Shaker Square

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Private Party Facilities:
Fire offers a private dining room accommodating up to 35 guests & is available lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. Audio visual supplies & valet parking available on request.

Private Party Contact:
Hillary Lyon: 2169213473x148

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our events page at: http://firefoodanddrink.com/category/events

Restaurant Photos

fire food and drink Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
5 More
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

fit for foodies (147)
neighborhood gem (120)
special occasion (120)
See All
great for brunch (117)
good for groups (54)
great for outdoor dining (53)
romantic (49)
hot spot (44)
notable wine list (35)
great for lunch (23)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently awesome. Never disappoints ...

Dined 6 days ago

Consistently awesome. Never disappoints.

food5
ambience3
service3

The food was OUTSTANDING! Service a bit ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food was OUTSTANDING! Service a bit slow but chef/owner Mr. Katz actually came around to refill water! Would definitely recommend for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken livers and Karen's Caesar salad ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Chicken livers and Karen's Caesar salad a must. My husband had the pork chop; also a must

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The French toast was amazing and the lem ...

Dined 7 days ago

The French toast was amazing and the lemon souffle pancakes were a delight. If you are in the savory mood try the breakfast pizza or duck confit

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the food, but more than that I li ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I love the food, but more than that I like the ambiance and the people at Fire. I feel comfortable just being there with all of the other guests. It's just a great place to hang out for the evening - the food is just icing on the cake. For brunch - Doug Katz will sometimes fill our coffee. To me this is impressive - he's very personable and present

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Six of us enjoyed EVERYTHING we ate - ap ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Six of us enjoyed EVERYTHING we ate - appetizers, salads, entrees, and dessert. The cocktails were also expertly crafted.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, Phenomenal Service

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were running late and live on the west side, so almost considered cancelling because we were going to be an hour late. We called and asked if they could move our reservation on a Saturday night. No problem. We arrived at the restaurant - complimentary valet parking - awesome (deserving of a big tip, just for convenience), and we were seated right away. The restaurant was full and they still reserved a table for us. Very awesome. The food is outstanding, so just go online and look at the menu. Our waiter was friendly and did a fabulous job - he made sure he was always around but not intrusive. It made for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A tried and true favorite

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've never had a bad meal at Fire. In addition to a creative and well thought out menu, Fire has one of the top brunches in Cleveland, hands down - for both food and drinks. One thing that's incredibly obvious is the quality of the ingredients - everything is so fresh and obviously very meticulously chosen. A few of our favorites are the Lemon Souffle Pancakes (if you're into a sweet dish) or on the savory side the Croque Madame and the Crispy Duck are both excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate a birthday. Con ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great place to celebrate a birthday. Consistently great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine and dessert

Dined on May 8, 2016

My mom, sister, and I went to Fire for wine and dessert on Mother's Day afternoon. We were able to get a reservation for the time we wanted, and it was just a perfect choice. Our waiter was fantastic! (I am blanking on his name at the moment but he was so friendly - please tell him he was a huge part of what made the experience so great!). The desserts we shared (chocolate mousse brownie and sticky bun) were delicious, and we split a bottle of wine. It was definitely the first of many times we will choose Fire as our place to go!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

The food was very good so was the servic ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good so was the service for a crowded Mother's Day brunch :)

food3
ambience4
service4

First visit was Mother's Day. My party d ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

First visit was Mother's Day. My party did enjoy the environment and food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day brunch.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always awesome

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Every time I visit Cleveland this is one of my go-to restaurants. Always excellent and a great hands-on owner who seems to enjoy visiting with his diners.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The ribeye is amazing; done in a tandoor ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The ribeye is amazing; done in a tandoor oven;-). Chickpea frittata was also perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food. Great chef. Fun atmosphere. Professional service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We'll be back again! and again and again..

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Always an incredible dining experience. Easily comfortable spending hours at Fire, be it for dinner or brunch. We dined for brunch this day. We always begin by ordering a different entree as a shared appetizer (this time the breakfast pizza- scrumptious! and plenty of food for 2-4 people to share) before getting the same entrees each time: the wagyu beef pastrami hash and the shrimp fried rice. Service is always excellent and friendly. They also have an exceptional variety of offerings for brunch cocktails. The only thing I don't much care for at Fire is the interior setting- lots of "exposed pipes" at the ceiling and such. However, the company and food are so superb I hardly have time to take notice.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still crazy good after all these years.

Dined on April 30, 2016

There are special skills at work here. Once they find you, service is good. The food is simply top tier.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for special occasions

Dined on April 29, 2016

Perfect choice for a special occasion or date. We had a nice quiet table near the window, and the wait staff helped us get a few pictures together. Food was excellent and we did not have to wait long. They even subbed out a side on one item with no issues. Best porkchop I've ever had, and the pistachio sponge cake was a delicious dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. A nice place for ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food and service. A nice place for a high class date with your partner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love going to Fore Food and Drink

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch was awesome ! So happy came and took my family. Menu had something for everyone from classic favorites to unique and delicious dishes. Can't wait to go back for dinner!!!! And more brunch

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Every meal ordered with our party was de ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Every meal ordered with our party was delicious. I highly recommend the almond French toast

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is for sure the best brunch in Clev ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This is for sure the best brunch in Cleveland. Outstanding selection and even more outstanding taste!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Think they forgot to fire the Pork Chop

Dined on April 23, 2016

We really enjoyed the pizza appetizer and salads. The problem was with the three of our four entrees. The two Chicken dinners were very dry and served on a very hot plate and the med rare steak was med , almost med well. The Pork Chop was amazing, cooked perfect! It also seemed that diners around us were getting their food before us. We think it was a sanfu in kitchen and we look forward to a return visit.

food3
ambience4
service2

Disappointing experience. One of our par ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Disappointing experience. One of our party has a garlic allergy. Our waitress seem to take the easy way out and basically limited his options to a hamburger. I know that Doug would have been disappointed with this as most restaurants we frequent try to be most accommodating. I'm sure a piece of fish and several other options could have been prepared simply but our waitress said everything has garlic and that's that.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Early arrival affords...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Peace and quiet after a long day at work. Jen took very good care of us-recommending the specials which are always interesting. The Caesar's salad is consistently GREAT - enjoyed the Hanger steak and wonderful Duck Confit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The bartender, Steve, was one of the mos ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

The bartender, Steve, was one of the most pleasant and friendly I have encountered in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

tasty sunday brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyable experience! Attentive serving staff, great menu selection with creative takes on the usual brunch standards, including an innovative brunch drink menu. Very comfortable setting to connect with friends and chat over an excellent meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Resturant in Cleveland!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best Resturant in Cleveland!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Fire - their staff and menu

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The lentil croquettes were marvelous as is all their food. Love this place!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing creativity and stellar execution

Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazing creativity and stellar execution

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food and wine with a delightfu ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Delicious food and wine with a delightful atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot, never dissapoints

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

I have only had brunch there once before. There were more menu choices this time, with a good variety to suit your palate. They feature Rising Star coffee, which immediately tells me they don't cut corners and take the high road. They take a sustainable, healthy approach which is very important to me as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Cleveland. The food is phenomenal and the quality never wavers. Thanks for another wonderful night out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NEVER Disappoints

Dined on April 6, 2016

FIRE's new menu is terrifc. Lots of choice and every dish is a winner. The new carrot salad is fantastic and a great start to any meal on the menu. I love the whole fish, the marlin was a great departure, the duck is the very best and the homemade pasta is an added bonus. We are incredibly lucky to have a terrific restaurant like Fire is our neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch Spot

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a fantastic place for brunch. Wonderfully creative choices. Chef Katz takes the time to greet every diner. Even if it's your first visit, he'll make you feel like you are his best customer. Valet parking so don't let the lack of nearby parking at Shaker Square discourage you.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

The brunch menu is interesting. The food ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The brunch menu is interesting. The food was very good. The food price se were fair. But the coffees and drinks drove the hill way up

food5
ambience5
service5

You can't miss the lemon soufflé pancake ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

You can't miss the lemon soufflé pancakes for brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking forward to next time.

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Inventive menu but not over done . I like the food very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.