About fire food and drink

13220 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Red hot... just like the name, fire was smoking from the start. Owner-chef Douglas Katz hit a bull's-eye with this trendy American bistro. There are no gimmicks here. Just simple wood-fired cooking served in a hip urban space with sleek lines & an open kitchen. fire's staff is among the best in Cleveland!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Brunch Saturday - Sunday 10:00 - 2:00 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Please Note: Parties of 9 or more, please call the restaurant!

Cross Street:
North Moreland

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3473

Website:
http://www.firefoodanddrink.com/

Catering:
fire does one-of-a-kind catering functions based on customer requests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet daily

Public Transit:
Shaker Square

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Private Party Facilities:
Fire offers a private dining room accommodating up to 35 guests & is available lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. Audio visual supplies & valet parking available on request.

Private Party Contact:
Hillary Lyon: 2169213473x148

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our events page at: http://firefoodanddrink.com/category/events

Restaurant Photos

fire food and drink
Lemon Souffle Pancakes
Toppings For Caesar Salad
Ribeye
Wood-Fired Half Chicken
Karen's Caesar Salad
Sticky Bunz
Fire Benedict
New England Scallops
Crispy Chicken Liver Salad
Fresh Oysters
Crispy Chicken Livers
Truffle Brownie Sundae With Espresso Ice Cream
Tandoor Miller Farm Grass Fed Ribeye
Lemon Polenta Cake And Maserated Strawberries
Jumbo Lump Crab
Tandoor Whole Roasted Golden Trout
Beuhler Cabernet Sauvignon
Tandoor Roasted Organic Pork Chop
Pizza
Capaccino
Tandoor Roasted Hanger Steak
18 Hour Pork
Popcorn Ice Cream Sundae
Eggs Benedict
Halibut Cakes
Shrimp On Beet Pasta
Hanger Steak

fire food and drink Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
6 More
American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

fit for foodies (129)
neighborhood gem (108)
great for brunch (106)
See All
special occasion (102)
great for outdoor dining (60)
good for groups (49)
romantic (33)
hot spot (32)
notable wine list (30)
great for lunch (23)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

some of the best food in Cleveland - whi ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

some of the best food in Cleveland - which is saying a lot! The best ribeye I have ever tasted.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday brunch with a friend from out o ...

Dined 4 days ago

Saturday brunch with a friend from out of town. Wife and I brought our very young child in car seat. Was able to sit outside (as the weather was great) without much sun. Wasn't too crowded (surprisingly), friendly service and great food and fire bloody mary. no complaints. will definitely come back for brunch

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As almost always, Fire did not disappoin ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

As almost always, Fire did not disappoint. Food was delicious, service was excellent. We sat outside, which is very pleasurable, however, the chairs can be a little hard on my old bones. I'm looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb comfit duck. Iappreciatethenew ch ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Superb comfit duck. Iappreciatethenew chairs much more comfortable. Excellent rye Manhattan

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire Food and Drink is a gorgeous gem of ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fire Food and Drink is a gorgeous gem of a restaurant in the middle of Shaker Square. I was pleasantly surprised by the prices, portions, and atmosphere, which were all extremely reasonable. Usually in Cleveland, you can pick 1 of those 3 criteria to fall within acceptable dining standards, and the other two will be ridiculously off-base. Not so here. Prices were appropriate to Cleveland and also denoted the quality of the food. Portions were not enormous and also reflected the price. Atmosphere was quiet, not chaotic, not noisy, not full of screaming children, and did not feel like a dive bar. Service was exceptional. After having gone to the other James Beard-nominated restaurant in CLE, I have been so disappointed by the service. Here, the servers were friendly and attentive, and Doug Katz himself personally visited every table. (he made eye contact and smiled at me! I felt like a celebrity!) I shared a sticky bun and a fruit plate with other guests, and I got the almond-stuffed french toast for myself. All were excellent. The almond french toast was pretty impressive because you really got that marzipan/candy-almond flavor, and the sticky bun was incredible. Even the fruit plate was thoughtful--blueberries might have been local, all seasonal fruit, all at peak freshness. This is the restaurant I've been looking for around here. I'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

unusual menu, but I'm a usual guy. The f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

unusual menu, but I'm a usual guy. The folks who like out of the ordinary will find this place to their liking.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed the meal and pairings very much. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and pairings very much. EXCELLENT customer service. Server very knowledgeable and helpful. We were there for our birthday celebration and we ate outside on the patio--very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best local restaurant in town. Food is ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Best local restaurant in town. Food is sensational and inspiring. Ambiance is warm and inviting. Crowd is familiar and friends. A real neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The Marlin and brownie desert was amazin ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The Marlin and brownie desert was amazing

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always outstanding! Personal service. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always outstanding! Personal service. My wife and I are frequent diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazingly delicious!!! The flavor ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always amazingly delicious!!! The flavors of the food are remarkable. Great creativity by Chef Katz.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful! Big thank you to the chef, h ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Delightful! Big thank you to the chef, hostess, and absolutely wonderful server for a great experience. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food taste was outstanding, though m ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food taste was outstanding, though my steak was served barely warm. It was still delicious! The wine list is nice, albeit pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my umpteenth visit to Fire and I ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my umpteenth visit to Fire and I am always impressed with the consistent quality, freshness, and inventiveness here. Favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Go there a lot, usually amazing. Last v ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Go there a lot, usually amazing. Last visit so-so. Hostess forgot about us at bar, wasn't served at table until we asked for server. Celebrating a graduation so was disappointing. Will go back though.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was a little slow...had to keep ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was a little slow...had to keep asking a server that was not ours to find our server however the server was otherwise great.

food5
ambience4
service5

This is the flagship restaurant of Doug ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

This is the flagship restaurant of Doug Katz. The service and food was excellent. Our waitress was very knowledgeable. But there were two quirks from a perfect evening. 1. My drink should have come with ice. I had to ask for it. 2. Olive oil served with bread and no herbs or even pepper to put into the oil. A servant came over, on request, to put some fresh ground pepper in it.

food4
ambience1
service3

We were sat in the back room, we didn't ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We were sat in the back room, we didn't just walk in. We had a reservation. The back room was dark and empty, I also don't understand why it took them 15 minutes to set up our table since it was empty. They were just not prepared for our reservation. I will not go there again. I'm sorry...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Default Restaurant

Dined on June 4, 2016

I have never had even a mediocre meal at fire, much less a bad one. I love the vegetarian selections, as they are imaginative and always tasty. My husband's favorite is the duck, and our friends raved about the hamburger and the Caesar salad. Even though we like to order dessert, we look forward to the complementary chocolate chip cookies that "sweeten" the arrival of the bill. Wait staff is beautifully trained. They are attentive without being intrusive. Love this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Doug Katz and team rock! Once again, a ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Doug Katz and team rock! Once again, a fabulous dinner and time at fire. I had the tandoori pork chop, mushroom salad, and pop overs. All delicious. Service was excellent too. This is the best restaurant in Cleveland, with all due respect to Messrs. Symon, Bruell, and others, all of whom provide worthy competition.

food3
ambience4
service4

Not too fond of some of the new items on ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Not too fond of some of the new items on the menu- but the standard items (e.g., duck confit and appetizers) were going as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire was Superb!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We couldn't been more pleased with our experience at Fire. The food, service and ambience were all superb. We will be back for more soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat!

Dined on June 1, 2016

We went for my birthday and had a wonderful dinner. Doug is always a wonderful host and this evening was no exception! We then had the pleasure of listening to him on the panel at the South Franklin Circle Dialogue series a few evenings later...wonderful evening as well! Thanks so much!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Fire was delicious! Lemon Souffle Pancakes, scrambled eggs, stuffed French Toast - everyone loved their meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The only meal better than Fire's dinner ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The only meal better than Fire's dinner is....Fire's brunch! Such a treat - absolutely delicious and fun.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently awesome. Never disappoints ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Consistently awesome. Never disappoints.

food5
ambience3
service3

The food was OUTSTANDING! Service a bit ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was OUTSTANDING! Service a bit slow but chef/owner Mr. Katz actually came around to refill water! Would definitely recommend for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken livers and Karen's Caesar salad ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Chicken livers and Karen's Caesar salad a must. My husband had the pork chop; also a must

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and great service

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food and great service

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The French toast was amazing and the lem ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The French toast was amazing and the lemon souffle pancakes were a delight. If you are in the savory mood try the breakfast pizza or duck confit

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the food, but more than that I li ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I love the food, but more than that I like the ambiance and the people at Fire. I feel comfortable just being there with all of the other guests. It's just a great place to hang out for the evening - the food is just icing on the cake. For brunch - Doug Katz will sometimes fill our coffee. To me this is impressive - he's very personable and present

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Six of us enjoyed EVERYTHING we ate - ap ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Six of us enjoyed EVERYTHING we ate - appetizers, salads, entrees, and dessert. The cocktails were also expertly crafted.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, Phenomenal Service

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were running late and live on the west side, so almost considered cancelling because we were going to be an hour late. We called and asked if they could move our reservation on a Saturday night. No problem. We arrived at the restaurant - complimentary valet parking - awesome (deserving of a big tip, just for convenience), and we were seated right away. The restaurant was full and they still reserved a table for us. Very awesome. The food is outstanding, so just go online and look at the menu. Our waiter was friendly and did a fabulous job - he made sure he was always around but not intrusive. It made for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A tried and true favorite

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've never had a bad meal at Fire. In addition to a creative and well thought out menu, Fire has one of the top brunches in Cleveland, hands down - for both food and drinks. One thing that's incredibly obvious is the quality of the ingredients - everything is so fresh and obviously very meticulously chosen. A few of our favorites are the Lemon Souffle Pancakes (if you're into a sweet dish) or on the savory side the Croque Madame and the Crispy Duck are both excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate a birthday. Con ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great place to celebrate a birthday. Consistently great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine and dessert

Dined on May 8, 2016

My mom, sister, and I went to Fire for wine and dessert on Mother's Day afternoon. We were able to get a reservation for the time we wanted, and it was just a perfect choice. Our waiter was fantastic! (I am blanking on his name at the moment but he was so friendly - please tell him he was a huge part of what made the experience so great!). The desserts we shared (chocolate mousse brownie and sticky bun) were delicious, and we split a bottle of wine. It was definitely the first of many times we will choose Fire as our place to go!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

The food was very good so was the servic ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good so was the service for a crowded Mother's Day brunch :)

food3
ambience4
service4

First visit was Mother's Day. My party d ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

First visit was Mother's Day. My party did enjoy the environment and food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day brunch.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day brunch.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.