About fire food and drink

13220 Shaker Square
Cleveland, OH 44120
View Larger Map

Red hot... just like the name, fire was smoking from the start. Owner-chef Douglas Katz hit a bull's-eye with this trendy American bistro. There are no gimmicks here. Just simple wood-fired cooking served in a hip urban space with sleek lines & an open kitchen. fire's staff is among the best in Cleveland!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Brunch Saturday - Sunday 10:00 - 2:00 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday and Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm, Please Note: Parties of 9 or more, please call the restaurant!

Cross Street:
North Moreland

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 921-3473

Website:
http://www.firefoodanddrink.com/

Catering:
fire does one-of-a-kind catering functions based on customer requests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet daily

Public Transit:
Shaker Square

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Private Party Facilities:
Fire offers a private dining room accommodating up to 35 guests & is available lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch. Audio visual supplies & valet parking available on request.

Private Party Contact:
Hillary Lyon: 2169213473x148

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our events page at: http://firefoodanddrink.com/category/events

Restaurant Photos

fire food and drink
Lemon Souffle Pancakes
Ribeye
Toppings For Caesar Salad
Wood-Fired Half Chicken
Karen's Caesar Salad
Sticky Bunz
Fire Benedict
New England Scallops
Crispy Chicken Liver Salad
Fresh Oysters
Crispy Chicken Livers
Truffle Brownie Sundae With Espresso Ice Cream
Tandoor Miller Farm Grass Fed Ribeye
Lemon Polenta Cake And Maserated Strawberries
Jumbo Lump Crab
Tandoor Whole Roasted Golden Trout
Beuhler Cabernet Sauvignon
Tandoor Roasted Organic Pork Chop
Pizza
Capaccino
Tandoor Roasted Hanger Steak
18 Hour Pork
Popcorn Ice Cream Sundae
Eggs Benedict
Halibut Cakes
Shrimp On Beet Pasta
Hanger Steak

fire food and drink Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
6 More
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Food
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Shaker Square ›

fit for foodies (126)
neighborhood gem (106)
great for brunch (98)
See All
special occasion (95)
great for outdoor dining (62)
good for groups (49)
romantic (34)
hot spot (33)
notable wine list (30)
great for lunch (24)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife's duck, my chicken livers, and o ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife's duck, my chicken livers, and our shared Caesar Salad were all outstanding. After our early 5 PM dinner, we caught the latest Star Trek pic then returned for an after-movie drink at the bar. All of the staff served us well and made us feel very welcome. This was not our first Fire drill; we've enjoyed our experiences in the past and will continue to enjoy more in the future. May they live long and prosper.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall underwhelmed by the meal. The se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall underwhelmed by the meal. The service was excellent! I enjoyed the chickpea fritters the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We sat outside, our waitress was so atte ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We sat outside, our waitress was so attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Delicious popovers and cheese plate to start, awesome cocktails, reasonably priced wine-- lovely time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

particularly lovely service, food is alw ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

particularly lovely service, food is always tasty, but I always get the duck

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A delicious Brunch that never disappoint ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A delicious Brunch that never disappoints!!!! We ordered an entree for dessert because we didn't want the meal to end!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love fire, mostly because we've never ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love fire, mostly because we've never had a mediocre, much less, inferior meal there. Even though I am not a vegetarian, I always order their vegetarian selections as they are uniformly delicious, imaginative, and labor-intense to prepare.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I rarely come here and not get the tando ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I rarely come here and not get the tandoori trout - it is consistently perfectly done. The meat flakes off the bones, is juicy and flavorful, and has that great smell of charred organic products.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We has an early reservation. Server was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We has an early reservation. Server was young, and not as cheery as we like. Think servers are often disappointed when diners don't order drinks. Some of us are recovering alcoholics. Splitting a meal is not so much economics, as having a meal where one doesn't feel stuffed. Food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always excellent food. Professional ser ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always excellent food. Professional service. Chicken dish was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early on the evening of July ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We arrived early on the evening of July 3 and were greeted quickly and professionally. Asked for an outside table and were seated at a great spot. Stephanie and her team took care of us with grace and poise. It was a leisurely 90 minute dinner to celebrate a recent move to Cleveland. Everything was outstanding! The beet and rhubarb soup paired with the Porkchop and Sauvignon blanc wine was a dream. We will be back many times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was fabulous. Attentive but not ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was fabulous. Attentive but not cloying. Hubby's porkchop a little pink on the inside cuz it was mammoth would be the only negative on either entree. For dessert he had carrot cake. He liked the cake but thought that the orange colored sauce was too much of a departure from traditional carrot cake. He prefers that. I chose the duck confit and it was perfect. Juicy and cooked perfectly. My custardy dessert was delicious.

I would return again but this time for brunch. This night out was after Phantom of the Opera.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is excellent, though from a sel ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is excellent, though from a selection standpoint there are only about 10 entrees to choose from. Wine list was long enough. My biggest concern about the restaurant is the seating - tables are VERY close together. Our table of 4 was about 6 inches away from the next table of 2 - they may as well have been dining with us.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great dinner with my wife for our 2nd an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great dinner with my wife for our 2nd anniversary. Food was terrific, particularly the Duck Confit, and our server was friendly and appropriately attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

some of the best food in Cleveland - whi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

some of the best food in Cleveland - which is saying a lot! The best ribeye I have ever tasted.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday brunch with a friend from out o ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Saturday brunch with a friend from out of town. Wife and I brought our very young child in car seat. Was able to sit outside (as the weather was great) without much sun. Wasn't too crowded (surprisingly), friendly service and great food and fire bloody mary. no complaints. will definitely come back for brunch

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As almost always, Fire did not disappoin ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

As almost always, Fire did not disappoint. Food was delicious, service was excellent. We sat outside, which is very pleasurable, however, the chairs can be a little hard on my old bones.

I'm looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Superb comfit duck. Iappreciatethenew ch ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Superb comfit duck. Iappreciatethenew chairs much more comfortable. Excellent rye Manhattan

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire Food and Drink is a gorgeous gem of ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fire Food and Drink is a gorgeous gem of a restaurant in the middle of Shaker Square. I was pleasantly surprised by the prices, portions, and atmosphere, which were all extremely reasonable. Usually in Cleveland, you can pick 1 of those 3 criteria to fall within acceptable dining standards, and the other two will be ridiculously off-base. Not so here. Prices were appropriate to Cleveland and also denoted the quality of the food. Portions were not enormous and also reflected the price. Atmosphere was quiet, not chaotic, not noisy, not full of screaming children, and did not feel like a dive bar. Service was exceptional. After having gone to the other James Beard-nominated restaurant in CLE, I have been so disappointed by the service. Here, the servers were friendly and attentive, and Doug Katz himself personally visited every table. (he made eye contact and smiled at me! I felt like a celebrity!) I shared a sticky bun and a fruit plate with other guests, and I got the almond-stuffed french toast for myself. All were excellent. The almond french toast was pretty impressive because you really got that marzipan/candy-almond flavor, and the sticky bun was incredible. Even the fruit plate was thoughtful--blueberries might have been local, all seasonal fruit, all at peak freshness. This is the restaurant I've been looking for around here. I'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

unusual menu, but I'm a usual guy. The f ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

unusual menu, but I'm a usual guy. The folks who like out of the ordinary will find this place to their liking.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Enjoyed the meal and pairings very much. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and pairings very much. EXCELLENT customer service. Server very knowledgeable and helpful. We were there for our birthday celebration and we ate outside on the patio--very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best local restaurant in town. Food is ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Best local restaurant in town. Food is sensational and inspiring. Ambiance is warm and inviting. Crowd is familiar and friends. A real neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Marlin and brownie desert was amazin ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Marlin and brownie desert was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding! Personal service. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always outstanding! Personal service. My wife and I are frequent diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always amazingly delicious!!! The flavor ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always amazingly delicious!!! The flavors of the food are remarkable. Great creativity by Chef Katz.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful! Big thank you to the chef, h ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Delightful! Big thank you to the chef, hostess, and absolutely wonderful server for a great experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food taste was outstanding, though m ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food taste was outstanding, though my steak was served barely warm. It was still delicious! The wine list is nice, albeit pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my umpteenth visit to Fire and I ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my umpteenth visit to Fire and I am always impressed with the consistent quality, freshness, and inventiveness here. Favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go there a lot, usually amazing. Last v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Go there a lot, usually amazing. Last visit so-so. Hostess forgot about us at bar, wasn't served at table until we asked for server. Celebrating a graduation so was disappointing. Will go back though.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was a little slow...had to keep ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was a little slow...had to keep asking a server that was not ours to find our server however the server was otherwise great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is the flagship restaurant of Doug ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This is the flagship restaurant of Doug Katz. The service and food was excellent. Our waitress was very knowledgeable. But there were two quirks from a perfect evening. 1. My drink should have come with ice. I had to ask for it. 2. Olive oil served with bread and no herbs or even pepper to put into the oil. A servant came over, on request, to put some fresh ground pepper in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were sat in the back room, we didn't ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were sat in the back room, we didn't just walk in. We had a reservation. The back room was dark and empty, I also don't understand why it took them 15 minutes to set up our table since it was empty. They were just not prepared for our reservation. I will not go there again. I'm sorry...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Our Default Restaurant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have never had even a mediocre meal at fire, much less a bad one. I love the vegetarian selections, as they are imaginative and always tasty. My husband's favorite is the duck, and our friends raved about the hamburger and the Caesar salad. Even though we like to order dessert, we look forward to the complementary chocolate chip cookies that "sweeten" the arrival of the bill. Wait staff is beautifully trained. They are attentive without being intrusive. Love this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Doug Katz and team rock! Once again, a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Doug Katz and team rock! Once again, a fabulous dinner and time at fire. I had the tandoori pork chop, mushroom salad, and pop overs. All delicious. Service was excellent too. This is the best restaurant in Cleveland, with all due respect to Messrs. Symon, Bruell, and others, all of whom provide worthy competition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not too fond of some of the new items on ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Not too fond of some of the new items on the menu- but the standard items (e.g., duck confit and appetizers) were going as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fire was Superb!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We couldn't been more pleased with our experience at Fire. The food, service and ambience were all superb. We will be back for more soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We went for my birthday and had a wonderful dinner. Doug is always a wonderful host and this evening was no exception! We then had the pleasure of listening to him on the panel at the South Franklin Circle Dialogue series a few evenings later...wonderful evening as well! Thanks so much!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Apps and deserts were good.. entrees wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Apps and deserts were good.. entrees were disappointing and over priced.. our server was pompous... the area surrounding shaker square is very dangerous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Delicious

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Fire was delicious! Lemon Souffle Pancakes, scrambled eggs, stuffed French Toast - everyone loved their meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only meal better than Fire's dinner ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The only meal better than Fire's dinner is....Fire's brunch! Such a treat - absolutely delicious and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently awesome. Never disappoints ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Consistently awesome. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.