About Fire + Ice Cambridge

50 Church Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Fire and Ice is the ultimate experience for the picky eater. An experience where a diner may create their own meal by picking out ingredients from our market, brining them up to the grill, watching them all come together, and returning as much as they would like. The restaurant offers a full bar, desserts, and a variety of late-night dance events. Perfect for birthdays and private functions!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Mass Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 547-9007

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/cambridge-ma/

Entertainment:
Monday: College Night- College Students eat for $11.99 with presentation of a valid college ID

Tuesday Night: Tango Tuesday- $10 with a free lesson 8pm-12am

Wednesday Night: West Coast Swing $12 with free lesson 8pm-1am

Thursday Night: Brazilian Night $12 with lesson and live music 9pm-2am

Friday Night: Church EDM No cover

Saturday Night: Meltdown $20 two DJs and formal dress code

Catering:
Email Cambridge@fire-ice.com for full catering details

Parking Details:
We validate for several of the parking garages in Harvard Square. There is also on street metered parking.

Public Transit:
Harvard Square stop on the Red Line and multiple bus-lines

Private Party Facilities:
FiRE + iCE has the ability to host private functions. The room seats up to 135 guests and has its own bar, dance floor, large screen TVs, sound and video systems. Please call the restaurant for more information on function packages and menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andreas Lysandropolous: 6175479007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Fire + Ice Cambridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

3.2

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (30)
kid-friendly (20)
great for lunch (16)
See All
special occasion (14)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (8)
fit for foodies (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
romantic (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Brougtmy daughter and her friends for he ...

Dined 5 days ago

Brougtmy daughter and her friends for her15th birthday. They thoughtit was great andd really enjoyed makng their own meals.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

HORRIBLE BRUNCH.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's day and our reservation was an hour after brunch started and they were ALREADY out of eggs and croissants. There were no fresh eggs for the stir fry. The staff didn't understand customers asking for assistance and there was so much confusion.Not to mention the disgusting state of the restaurant-a quarter inch of grime on the floor. In the Boston location it is much cleaner and well organized with someone directing individuals where to stand at the grill. ALSO don't even bother making a reservation, you'll still have to wait 20+ minutes for them to "set up your table"

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Place good for dinner, but NOT for Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

My family was there for a Sunday Brunch, but did not enjoy it. breakfast selection was poor, Coffee was terrible.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

My daughter and one of her friends were ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

My daughter and one of her friends were celebrating their 16th birthday. They had a great time. The way fire and ice allows you to select your ingredients for your dishes is prefect for independent minded teenagers. Staff could not have been nicer. Highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great options, delightful sangria!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Male Server was extremely dry, not very welcoming at all. Perhaps that's his personality but a smile could help considerably and especially since this is a service industry. Host and cook very nice and easy going. Food selection is always good here. The options are great and the kids love deciding what will go in their meals. Sangria pitchers are reasonably priced and very tasty. Very clean, well kept food areas. The temps on the seafood and other raw foods seemed very cold- so that's good. Love all of the seafood options as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Not as good as other Fire and Ice rest.

Dined on April 28, 2016

I ate at Fir e and Ice on Berkley St Boston and then the Fire and Ice in Cambridge in the same week. I initially went to Berkley St with my daughter for her birthday. They were so good over there. The cooks took her around the cooking area while singing happy birthday. The service was very friendly. I thought I would take my parents for their anniversary, but chose the Cambridge location because my Father uses a cane and it looked like it would be easier to park as well as to walk in to location. The cook was very unfirendly, though he did cook well. He did not want to get anyone to sing to my parents happy anniversary. Didnt even want to talk. I was disappointed. The waitress did accomodate us after explaining to her how to sing happy anniversary to the tune of happy birthday. The overall atmosphere was more dingy, not as festive and felt awkward. Certainly not as welcoming as the Berkley Location - which is where I will go from now on. Food quality was good though.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fun Concept

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fire and Ice is a great place for large groups or picky eaters. The concept is interesting - all-you-can-eat Hibachi - and there are a wide variety of proteins, vegetables, noodles, and sauces to choose from. Burgers and hot dogs are also available (beef, turkey, and veggie burgers), along with a salad bar and a few different soups. Anyone can find something they want to eat, no matter how culinarily adventurous they may be, and the all-you-can-eat set-up makes trying different things easy and fun. The food is good, but not amazing; it's more the novelty and fun of the place that would bring me back in, rather than the deliciousness of the food. A few drawbacks - don't bother getting a cocktail or mixed drink. Three people in our party of seven got mixed drinks (two margaritas, one strawberry mojito), and they were pretty poor. Sour mix and cheap tequila pervaded the margaritas, and the mojito was very overwhelmingly minty. The d├ęcor is a bit cheesy - lots of orange, red, dark wood, and tiki/tropical type patterns throughout. The noise level can be a bit much, given that the grill is out in the open, and the claims of an "interactive" dining experience went unfulfilled. The cooks hardly spoke to the patrons and there were no grilling shenanigans - this is all fine, but don't expect this to be like a hibachi restaurant where eight or ten people sit around a grill and a chef "performs" for awhile.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Okay night out probably better for tween groups

Dined on April 16, 2016

Heard F & I was a fun night out, a little too chaotic for first timers. Would not recommend for anyone with food allergy other than nut, (nut free restaurant). With the clock face cooking griddle, found surprise ingredients in all our dinners. Sort of fun trying to figure out different mixes. Would advise when you are at the high counter watching your food being cooked that you focus on the food. Not sure how BOH feels about the floor around the grill, a bit of a turn off. OK to try once but wouldn't go again. A few groups of tweens were there and seemed to love it.

food3
ambience2
service2

Service is terrible. Takes too long to m ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Service is terrible. Takes too long to make food too.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Fire & Ice Experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

Being that it was my first time going with my boyfriend I found the experience amazing. Our waitress got the feeling we were first timers so she gave us good suggestions which helped get us started. We weren't used to having to put together a meal at a restaurant lol so it was fun experimenting and seeing what food tasted good with different ingredients. Only downside was that since we went close to closing having discovering it in Harvard Sq we felt rushed by our ending Waitress due to her constantly asking us if we were still working on our meal. So highly recommend if you go to make sure you give yourself plenty of time to fully enjoy what Fire & Ice has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Informal, so it yourself fun

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Fire and Ice features an array of foods and sauces--soups, salads, main courses, desserts--that one chooses. You put your selection into a bowl, which is grilled for you on a giant central grill. The concept is derived from the Mongolian barbecue, but this is more eclectic food, with a Spanish touch. Fun for an informal night out or a family event.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Wasnt Impressed

Dined on March 16, 2016

We were under the impression going in that it was $17.95 a person which included drinks (non-alcoholic) and the desert were including. Come to find out it was the $17.95 a person only including the meal nothing else. Although it is all you can eat, the below average food isn't worth the price. On top of that, we called ahead and asked about prices for the parking lot across the street and we were told by the hostess at Fire and Ice that the parking was $12 and you get a $2 discount for going to Fire and Ice. We went to leave and it actually cost us $24 and the guys running the parking lot were extremely sketchy and would only take credit card no cash. I gave my credit card to them and they got it stuck in the machine. All around a horrible night, wouldnt recommend to anyone and definitely will not be back. Very disappointing.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

You get what you pay for, low price for ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

You get what you pay for, low price for mediocre food that all tastes the same as it is cooked on the same" drum"

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girl friend & I enjoyed our self's.

Dined on February 23, 2016

I love how they cook the food in front of you. There's tons to choose from, & you can take as much as your heart desires.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

Good casual atmosphere with festive drin ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Good casual atmosphere with festive drinks and alternate food prep experience.

food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

Fire and Ice in Cambridge has always been an experience . My 12 yr old loves it here. We took her and her 4 friends for her birthday. And at the end of the day we were pleasently surprised at the deal of day was 12 years old and younger " eat for free"....great deal

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not what it used to be

Dined on February 17, 2016

This place used to excite me, but now it feels tired. Yes you can pig out on the quantity, but when it gets off the grill it all seems like an indistinguishable, overcooked mass. And no shrimp to begin with (seems there was, once). The place feels like a big, noisy cafeteria, not what I'd call ambiance. The waiter gave a high speed shtick that I assume he's given hundreds of times. And of course you never actually eat what you've paid for at these places. Bottom line: Once the novelty has worn off, you wish you were in a real restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food & time The service was great. The restaurant was not too crowded but had a nice crowd. Everything was delicious. The environment and mood was great

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Jbert

Dined on January 31, 2016

The service was very slow. Our waiter took our drink order when we first sat down, but never checked back to see if we needed anything else or if we wanted another drink the entire time we were there. My family and I have been to the Boston location a few times before and loved it. We won't be going back to the Canbridge location. We were disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Friday d/ate!

Dined on January 22, 2016

I have been to Fire and Ice before but it's probably been about 5 years. My date and I were looking for a reasonably priced date spot and I have been trying to eat healthy and fresh, so it was a perfect pick! We also HIGHLY enjoyed our margaritas!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and Ice

Dined on January 9, 2016

We selected our food ingredients and brought them with a sauce choice to the cooks in the middle of the room. I learned that I do not prefer to have to figure out what ingredients to include in my food choice. I cook at home but sort of don't want to when I go out. Most people were much younger (in their twenties) and seemed to be enjoying themselves so maybe we were just the wrong demographic.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meals because you can customize your plate

Dined on January 7, 2016

I love this place. They have such unique sauces that allow for great create-your-own taste combinations. The all-you-can-eat buffet allow you to make several different combinations. The staff is friendly and the service is great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to eat

Dined on January 1, 2016

Fire and Ice is a very fun restaurant to dine at. Making your own food combinations is a plus, perfect for picky eaters too you pick exactly what goes into your dinner. Buffet style is great too, all you can eat and fresh food. Drinks from the bar were also great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Comply branch is better

Dined on January 1, 2016

I think food was almost same like the other one in coply. I made a reservation before I visit there. When we arrived at there, they let us wait little bit and led us to the table. They lead us very busy and noisy seat at the firts time and I asked them if we can get less busy seat. It was pretty late time and there were many seats available. However, the young guy who led us to the table were not happy with my request. As soon as we ask it, he turned to be pretty cranky to us. We asked booth which was empty at that time and they had many booth seats are available. When I asked, he said it is all reserved and I said I made a reservation too. At the end, he put us to a table in a corner which was dark and no table setting. I expected towhich see nice and friendly servers and cooks because I had pretty nice experience at the coply branch before. Unfortunately, in this Cambridge branch, there were no happy and fun cooks and no friendly servers. It seemed like they put our server to cover too broad area and we were unable to catch her, when we need her. If you would like to go to fire and ice. I would recommend you to go to Copy not Cambridge.

food4
ambience4
service4

I first experienced Fire and Ice in the ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

I first experienced Fire and Ice in the late 1990s. I missed the house made alcohol like prickly pear tecquil

food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and different

Dined on December 13, 2015

This is a great place to take the family. With so many options, everyone gets exactly what they want. We went early on a Sunday - which I highly recommend, especially if you have children. When it gets too busy, the grill backs up, then there is too much waiting time. The food is excellent and very fresh and the staff is friendly and helpful. Definitely a great place to relax and enjoy

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Cheap big beers and drinks. Lots of tvs. ...

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Cheap big beers and drinks. Lots of tvs. Heaven

food3
ambience3
service3

A fun spot for teenagers. The vegetarian ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

A fun spot for teenagers. The vegetarian among us was happy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service5

I meant to put three stars, not one. Lou ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

I meant to put three stars, not one. Loud for me but staff are attentive and cooks are very pleasant and hard workers. A little overwhelming but fun too. I wish the ice cream was included in the price - no need for toppings.

food3
ambience3
service4

Very casual "Mongolian style" BBQ

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Great food selection, friendly and helpful staff. Lots of choices. I have a shellfish allergy, so was concerned at first about how my food would be prepared. Rather than use the communal grill, my selections were taken to the kitchen and prepared separately. This is a very casual restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food good service

Dined on November 22, 2015

Good food good service

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

Dined on November 1, 2015

Restaurant was practically empty. Had a wonderful time. Food was great and so was the service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable Night

Dined on October 24, 2015

It was great. Everyone was very friendly. Our server Kevin was AWESOME. We are going back again.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Mongolian grill meets Brazilian churrasc ...

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Mongolian grill meets Brazilian churrascaria. Very fun.

food3
ambience3
service2

food was decent, service subpar

Dined on October 17, 2015

First time at the Cambridge location, and I've never had an issues with service at the Boston location. We had 2 guys serving that night. One was really attentive, kind, and apologetic when we had to wait a while for our checks. The younger one was completely absent, didn't bring drinks until we told the other server to remind him after 10+ minutes had passed, and he never stopped by our table at all after the initial explanation of how Fire and Ice works. Overall, we were left waiting around for a lot longer than we should have been and my appetizer was brought by the younger server quite late in the meal. My mozzarella sticks were cold and the cheese was not even close to melted. But we left a good tip because the 2 guys shared it.

food1
ambience1
service1

Awful experience

Dined on October 10, 2015

My son just started going to college out there, we went down for a visit and Fire & Ice had come highly recommended by my co-workers. They way they boasted about it I thought we have to try it. IT WAS AWFUL!!! The waitress was unattentive I had to ask her for a refill, they say they validate parking, she never helped me I had to reach out to another waiter who was telling his table and asked him to help me out. You would think she would have asked way she was taking away full plates of food, never did. I didn't see a visible manager who's ear I would have chewed off if I had.The food selection was mediocre at best. Then the yahoos running the grill keep walking away, due to that they way over cooked all of my party's food. It was not anywhere near the $85 the bill came up to. We go out a lot and we were hoping for a new place to go all the time, this will not be it.

food1
ambience2
service3

We went on a weeknight which may have be ...

Dined on September 23, 2015

We went on a weeknight which may have been a mistake, but this place has tragically become a local has-been. The food was terrible, we were the only customers in the entire restaurant, and we still paid $18 per plate for food that was not edible. It sort of felt like dining inside of an abandoned amusement park: depressing and creepily reminiscent of better times.

food3
ambience2
service4

I was expecting more when I booked. I w ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

I was expecting more when I booked. I wish the lighting was better. But I think that would have shown how ?unkempt the building was. I was expecting more of a show with the grill, more of a hibachi style. The food was good. Limited choices for kids. I think that there must be different choices at night then at lunch. Overall I would give it a 3 star and probably pass on returning again.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service3

Disappointed

Dined on September 5, 2015

I was disappointed with the whole experience . Long wait to get the food cooked . Only 2 cooks running the grill .

food4
ambience4
service5

This is a fun place to go with kids.

Dined on August 29, 2015

Everyone gets to choose what they want as many times as they want for one set price. Around the grill is loud and vibrant. If you want a quieter experience, ask to be seated in the back room. The wait staff is attentive and upbeat and the food fresh. Easy parking across the street, but a bit expensive. This restaurant is in Harvard Square within short walking distance to the Red Line MBTA stop,take the escalator from the platforms to the Church Street exit. After dinner stroll through Harvard Yard.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.