Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Fire + Ice BostonFire + Ice Boston
(1662)
$$$$
American | Back Bay, Boston
Booked 31 times today
Alden and HarlowAlden and Harlow
(1367)
$$$$
American | Harvard Square, Boston
Booked 129 times today
Toscano  Harvard SquareToscano Harvard Square
(733)
$$$$
Italian | Harvard Square, Boston
Booked 29 times today
Beat Brasserie (Beat hotel)Beat Brasserie (Beat hotel)
(789)
$$$$
American | Harvard Square, Boston
Booked 33 times today
The SinclairThe Sinclair
(386)
$$$$
American | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 10 times today
Russell House TavernRussell House Tavern
(1245)
$$$$
American | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 49 times today
The Hourly Oyster HouseThe Hourly Oyster House
(53)
$$$$
Oyster Bar | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 13 times today
Gyu-Kaku - CambridgeGyu-Kaku - Cambridge
(77)
$$$$
Japanese | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 21 times today
PARK Restaurant & BarPARK Restaurant & Bar
(682)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 24 times today
The Red House RestaurantThe Red House Restaurant
(902)
$$$$
European | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 12 times today
Henrietta's TableHenrietta's Table
(2618)
$$$$
American | Harvard Square, Boston
Booked 44 times today
Grafton Street Pub and GrillGrafton Street Pub and Grill
(1065)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 23 times today
NubarNubar
(585)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 12 times today
The MaharajaThe Maharaja
(181)
$$$$
Indian | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 7 times today
Parsnip RestaurantParsnip Restaurant
(124)
$$$$
Global, International | Cambridge, Boston
Booked 6 times today

About Permanently Closed - Fire + Ice Cambridge

50 Church Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Fire and Ice is the ultimate experience for the picky eater. An experience where a diner may create their own meal by picking out ingredients from our market, brining them up to the grill, watching them all come together, and returning as much as they would like. The restaurant offers a full bar, desserts, and a variety of late-night dance events. Perfect for birthdays and private functions!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Mass Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 547-9007

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/cambridge-ma/

Entertainment:
Monday: College Night- College Students eat for $11.99 with presentation of a valid college ID

Tuesday Night: Tango Tuesday- $10 with a free lesson 8pm-12am

Wednesday Night: West Coast Swing $12 with free lesson 8pm-1am

Thursday Night: Brazilian Night $12 with lesson and live music 9pm-2am

Friday Night: Church EDM No cover

Saturday Night: Meltdown $20 two DJs and formal dress code

Catering:
Email Cambridge@fire-ice.com for full catering details

Parking Details:
We validate for several of the parking garages in Harvard Square. There is also on street metered parking.

Public Transit:
Harvard Square stop on the Red Line and multiple bus-lines

Private Party Facilities:
FiRE + iCE has the ability to host private functions. The room seats up to 135 guests and has its own bar, dance floor, large screen TVs, sound and video systems. Please call the restaurant for more information on function packages and menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andreas Lysandropolous: 6175479007x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Fire + Ice Cambridge - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant closed between the time I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The restaurant closed between the time I made the reservation and the date I set for the event. I'm actually okay with that, since these things happen, and the business had a more difficult time that I did. However, I find it abhorrent that OpenTable has asked me to review my cancelled event at a place that no longer exists. I'll still go to the other Fire+Ice locations, but I doubt that I'll ever use OpenTable again to book it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Cambridge Fire and Ice closed this p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Cambridge Fire and Ice closed this past weekend. Because they were closing many menu items were not available. Can't recommend it because they are no longer in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing experience! Customer service and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Amazing experience! Customer service and food are consistent and always spot on. Best GM around, Andreas who was insightful, helpful and easy to work With for our large party event.

Tags: Vegan, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Tapas, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love fire and ice Boston, and was eage ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I love fire and ice Boston, and was eager to give the Cambridge location a try! It was smaller, and cozy. But our server barely paid us any attention. I had to get up and ask the bartender for cutlery as she was gone 20 minutes. She was nice, but wasn't attentive to our party of 10. She wouldn't split our checks either- she said she could only do up to four, which I know isn't true as Boston uses the same system and they certainly could. I was underwhelmed but I think it mostly had to do with our service than the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This place was so busy when I used to li ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This place was so busy when I used to live here a while back. Now, we went on a Friday night and it was completely dead. I'm not sure what happened. Years ago I remember waiting for a table for 2 1/2 hours on a Friday night..and now the restaurant was near empty. I don't get it. The food is still good..and the service was really good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Always a great place to go with a group ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a great place to go with a group of friends and get some good eats! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for my daughter's 14th birthday- he ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for my daughter's 14th birthday- her pick. Our first time as well. Loved the concept of pick your own food and sauce for grilling, plus the all you can eat lets you try more than one combination. Food was delicious. Atmosphere- nothing fancy. The booth we sat in had a ripped cushion, which wasn't repaired- taking away from the ambiance. I asked for the staff to sing to my daughter in advance- didn't happen.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Even in Cambridge you can get a good dea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Even in Cambridge you can get a good deal at Fire and Ice. For about $18 per person, the unlimited buffet has a dizzying array of options. They were even great about my gluten free wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It has been many years since the last ti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

It has been many years since the last time I was at Fire & Ice Cambridge, and the parts I remember fondly are still there, and the new additions (kid friendly options) are blended in seamlessly. We had a great time, and really enjoyed the food, as well as the whole food preparation process!

Thanks,

-Shawn

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was great and the food was a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was great and the food was as expected though some of the vegetables could be higher quality. Overall dining concept is fun and entertaining though somewhat difficult for family dining with kids. Hasn't changed in a decade. Could use a little TLC if not a complete remodel. At a minimum it needs a good cleaning, some repairs, new carpet, and a paint job. Bathroom was not terribly clean, even the door was sticky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

I've been eating at Fire + Ice for almos ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I've been eating at Fire + Ice for almost 20 years now and it's always a good dining option if you are looking for variety. They also have the best burgers in Boston in my opinion. However, the food wasn't as good as usual this time and there were fewer sauce options than they usually have. That said, the service was significantly better than usual - normally I find the food is better at the Cambridge location and the service better in Boston, but this time that wasn't the case and I wound up only having two plates of food (I normally have at least three). The ratings provided were specific to this visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went for my birthday celebration. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went for my birthday celebration. The kids had a blast mixing items together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Bring back diced garlic! Otherwise every ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Bring back diced garlic! Otherwise everything was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is for teenagers. The sticky ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2016

This place is for teenagers. The sticky floors are gross, the food is average (at best) quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I came to Fire and Ice to celebrate a bi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I came to Fire and Ice to celebrate a birthday with a small group, and was a bit pricey, but the food was really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food had been out for a while, didn't lo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food had been out for a while, didn't look quite fresh. Our best experience was that the waiter was helpful and gave us great service. The food didn't sit too well in our stomach.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We enjoyed the dining experience. Our on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We enjoyed the dining experience. Our only negative was the $24 we had to pay for parking. Restaurant should validate parking!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Gimmicky but fun for kids Decent food n ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Gimmicky but fun for kids

Decent food nice service

Once in a lifetime is enough

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I would spot for friends just wanting to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I would spot for friends just wanting to hangout and have fun i also love going there for sunday brunchtheres some mann food items to you can't go wrong

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Yuck. Don't go

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Yuck. Don't go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

They sent an email to confirm the reserv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2016

They sent an email to confirm the reservation, but did not request a response. I took that to mean that they knew we were coming. The day of the event, they called the house, my wife answered and that pretty much ruined the surprise. (I've never received a confirmation phone call for dining.) We found the vegetable and meat selections were weak and the facility didn't seem all that clean. They did not have room for our party in the active dining room so they put us in an empty room, but for the tables in an empty room, they gave us the one in the doorway, which seemed like the worst possible selection. (I would think the best selections would be assigned first.) Safe to say that in comparison to the Boston location, we would not likely return to the Cambridge site.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Brougtmy daughter and her friends for he ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Brougtmy daughter and her friends for her15th birthday. They thoughtit was great andd really enjoyed makng their own meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

HORRIBLE BRUNCH.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's day and our reservation was an hour after brunch started and they were ALREADY out of eggs and croissants. There were no fresh eggs for the stir fry. The staff didn't understand customers asking for assistance and there was so much confusion.Not to mention the disgusting state of the restaurant-a quarter inch of grime on the floor. In the Boston location it is much cleaner and well organized with someone directing individuals where to stand at the grill. ALSO don't even bother making a reservation, you'll still have to wait 20+ minutes for them to "set up your table"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Place good for dinner, but NOT for Brunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2016

My family was there for a Sunday Brunch, but did not enjoy it. breakfast selection was poor, Coffee was terrible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My daughter and one of her friends were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2016

My daughter and one of her friends were celebrating their 16th birthday. They had a great time. The way fire and ice allows you to select your ingredients for your dishes is prefect for independent minded teenagers. Staff could not have been nicer. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great options, delightful sangria!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Male Server was extremely dry, not very welcoming at all. Perhaps that's his personality but a smile could help considerably and especially since this is a service industry. Host and cook very nice and easy going. Food selection is always good here. The options are great and the kids love deciding what will go in their meals. Sangria pitchers are reasonably priced and very tasty. Very clean, well kept food areas. The temps on the seafood and other raw foods seemed very cold- so that's good. Love all of the seafood options as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Not as good as other Fire and Ice rest.

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2016

I ate at Fir e and Ice on Berkley St Boston and then the Fire and Ice in Cambridge in the same week. I initially went to Berkley St with my daughter for her birthday. They were so good over there. The cooks took her around the cooking area while singing happy birthday. The service was very friendly. I thought I would take my parents for their anniversary, but chose the Cambridge location because my Father uses a cane and it looked like it would be easier to park as well as to walk in to location. The cook was very unfirendly, though he did cook well. He did not want to get anyone to sing to my parents happy anniversary. Didnt even want to talk. I was disappointed. The waitress did accomodate us after explaining to her how to sing happy anniversary to the tune of happy birthday. The overall atmosphere was more dingy, not as festive and felt awkward. Certainly not as welcoming as the Berkley Location - which is where I will go from now on. Food quality was good though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Fun Concept

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fire and Ice is a great place for large groups or picky eaters. The concept is interesting - all-you-can-eat Hibachi - and there are a wide variety of proteins, vegetables, noodles, and sauces to choose from. Burgers and hot dogs are also available (beef, turkey, and veggie burgers), along with a salad bar and a few different soups. Anyone can find something they want to eat, no matter how culinarily adventurous they may be, and the all-you-can-eat set-up makes trying different things easy and fun. The food is good, but not amazing; it's more the novelty and fun of the place that would bring me back in, rather than the deliciousness of the food.

A few drawbacks - don't bother getting a cocktail or mixed drink. Three people in our party of seven got mixed drinks (two margaritas, one strawberry mojito), and they were pretty poor. Sour mix and cheap tequila pervaded the margaritas, and the mojito was very overwhelmingly minty. The décor is a bit cheesy - lots of orange, red, dark wood, and tiki/tropical type patterns throughout. The noise level can be a bit much, given that the grill is out in the open, and the claims of an "interactive" dining experience went unfulfilled. The cooks hardly spoke to the patrons and there were no grilling shenanigans - this is all fine, but don't expect this to be like a hibachi restaurant where eight or ten people sit around a grill and a chef "performs" for awhile.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Okay night out probably better for tween groups

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Heard F & I was a fun night out, a little too chaotic for first timers. Would not recommend for anyone with food allergy other than nut, (nut free restaurant). With the clock face cooking griddle, found surprise ingredients in all our dinners. Sort of fun trying to figure out different mixes. Would advise when you are at the high counter watching your food being cooked that you focus on the food. Not sure how BOH feels about the floor around the grill, a bit of a turn off. OK to try once but wouldn't go again. A few groups of tweens were there and seemed to love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Service is terrible. Takes too long to m ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Service is terrible. Takes too long to make food too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Fire & Ice Experience

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Being that it was my first time going with my boyfriend I found the experience amazing. Our waitress got the feeling we were first timers so she gave us good suggestions which helped get us started. We weren't used to having to put together a meal at a restaurant lol so it was fun experimenting and seeing what food tasted good with different ingredients. Only downside was that since we went close to closing having discovering it in Harvard Sq we felt rushed by our ending Waitress due to her constantly asking us if we were still working on our meal. So highly recommend if you go to make sure you give yourself plenty of time to fully enjoy what Fire & Ice has to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Informal, so it yourself fun

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Fire and Ice features an array of foods and sauces--soups, salads, main courses, desserts--that one chooses. You put your selection into a bowl, which is grilled for you on a giant central grill. The concept is derived from the Mongolian barbecue, but this is more eclectic food, with a Spanish touch. Fun for an informal night out or a family event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Wasnt Impressed

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2016

We were under the impression going in that it was $17.95 a person which included drinks (non-alcoholic) and the desert were including. Come to find out it was the $17.95 a person only including the meal nothing else. Although it is all you can eat, the below average food isn't worth the price. On top of that, we called ahead and asked about prices for the parking lot across the street and we were told by the hostess at Fire and Ice that the parking was $12 and you get a $2 discount for going to Fire and Ice. We went to leave and it actually cost us $24 and the guys running the parking lot were extremely sketchy and would only take credit card no cash. I gave my credit card to them and they got it stuck in the machine. All around a horrible night, wouldnt recommend to anyone and definitely will not be back. Very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

You get what you pay for, low price for ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2016

You get what you pay for, low price for mediocre food that all tastes the same as it is cooked on the same" drum"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

My girl friend & I enjoyed our self's.

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2016

I love how they cook the food in front of you. There's tons to choose from, & you can take as much as your heart desires.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good casual atmosphere with festive drin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Good casual atmosphere with festive drinks and alternate food prep experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great experience

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Fire and Ice in Cambridge has always been an experience . My 12 yr old loves it here. We took her and her 4 friends for her birthday. And at the end of the day we were pleasently surprised at the deal of day was 12 years old and younger " eat for free"....great deal

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Not what it used to be

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2016

This place used to excite me, but now it feels tired. Yes you can pig out on the quantity, but when it gets off the grill it all seems like an indistinguishable, overcooked mass. And no shrimp to begin with (seems there was, once). The place feels like a big, noisy cafeteria, not what I'd call ambiance. The waiter gave a high speed shtick that I assume he's given hundreds of times. And of course you never actually eat what you've paid for at these places. Bottom line: Once the novelty has worn off, you wish you were in a real restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic time!

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food & time

The service was great. The restaurant was not too crowded but had a nice crowd. Everything was delicious. The environment and mood was great

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jbert

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The service was very slow. Our waiter took our drink order when we first sat down, but never checked back to see if we needed anything else or if we wanted another drink the entire time we were there.

My family and I have been to the Boston location a few times before and loved it. We won't be going back to the Canbridge location. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.