About Fire + Ice Boston

205 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

FiRE+iCE is a create-your-own-meal concept that goes beyond your wildest expectations when it comes to satisfying each and every appetite. From seasoned foodies who demand a range of herbs and spices to stubborn children who refuse to eat anything that’s “touching green stuff”, anyone can create a delicious meal at FiRE+iCE.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-3473

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/boston-ma/

Public Transit:
Arlington stop off the Green Line

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch
Mother
[muhth-er] noun
1. Person who does the work of twenty. For free.
(See also: ‘saint’)

Lets face it; Mother’s Day should come more than once a year. She does everything!
Mom deserves to be pampered this Mother’s Day! Let us do the legwork while she chooses from all her favorite brunch specials! We are grilling up Mixed Berry Stuffed French Toast, Eggs Benedict and two carving stations, in addition to her weekly favorites!

Don’t be a Last Minute Larry! Mom deserves the best, make your reservations now and surprise her on the 12th! www.fire-ice.com/mothersday

Restaurant Photos

  • Mongolian Stir Fry
  • Burger
  • Stir Fry
  • Frozen Piña Colada
  • Calimari
  • Lava Flow
  • Fire Bowl
  • Salmon With Pasta
Mongolian Stir Fry
Burger
Stir Fry
Frozen Piña Colada
Calimari
Lava Flow
Fire Bowl
Salmon With Pasta

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire + Ice Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Good for Groups (66)
Special Occasion (44)
Kid-friendly (42)
See All
Hot Spot (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Late-night Find (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Healthy (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Family Style (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Romantic (5)
Spicy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1609 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant shouldn't be that freakin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant shouldn't be that freaking loud. You can't even hear the next person sitting next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Lovedit!! Wished ihad more time. Foodwa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovedit!! Wished ihad more time. Foodwasdeicious cooksfriendly. Foodseemedfresh lotsofoptions

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Family Style, Casual, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was a bit rude. They weren't all ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Hostess was a bit rude. They weren't all that welcoming. They did accommodate us, but made sly remarks and facial expression.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun place with great food. The entire s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fun place with great food. The entire staff is really outgoing and makes your visit very enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Because you make your own meal, there is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Because you make your own meal, there is something for everyone -- you can go Italian, Mexican, Asian, Latin, Creole -- the possibilities are endless. Nice selection of meats, veggies, pasta, etc.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awful. Service terrible, food sub-par. S ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awful. Service terrible, food sub-par. Save your time and money and go to one of the many great restaurants that Boston has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Food was delicious, great atmosphere!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was delicious, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed by the noise level and filt ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Disappointed by the noise level and filthy bathrooms. Our server Eduardo was great as were the drinks. Food was just ok.

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

I love this pace! But my experience was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I love this pace! But my experience was bad. I would have appreciated it if we're weren't seated in an uncomfortable spot. And waitress was tending to us. But no. We had to flag her down. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Great experience but the service sucked. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience but the service sucked. We were sat down and told how to do it , took our drink order and walked off. So we went to the food and did all that got back to our table. No drinks no nothing. Tracked down waitress and got our drinks like 15 minutes into our meal. Never refilled our drinks and the wait for check was as long as the wait for our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

The experience was ok. There were lines ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The experience was ok. There were lines of people at certain areas where it didn't have to be any. Just a lot of inexperienced diners just trying to figure everything out. People were just crowded around the grill area, and people cutting. It would be much better when it's not so busy on a Saturday night, or they figure out a way to get the people moving along.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

There was a very long wait for the cooki ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

There was a very long wait for the cooking process. Not enough space for people waiting. By the time you got back to your table, the drinks were no longer cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Waitress was poor and did not have knowl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Waitress was poor and did not have knowledge of the opentable app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

So many choices, something for everybody ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

So many choices, something for everybody's taste, could have included a scoop of ice cream for dessert, not sure what they were charging but would have been nice to be included in the dinner cost.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

food over cooked, sauces and spices no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

food over cooked, sauces and spices not mixed in food well, one bite have nothing, other bite overkill with spice,

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

It was really good food and a lot of fun ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was really good food and a lot of fun. There were lots of options as to what to get for food. My only complaint would be that the waiters came by very infrequently and were hard to find. Our waiter did not come over originally for over 10 minutes.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

It was an awesome experience I enjoyed ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was an awesome experience

I enjoyed my birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fun restaurant - little noisy, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always a fun restaurant - little noisy, interesting selection, entertaining cooking process. Downsides are they get packed FAST, which means a long wait to get food cooked (>20min standing in a line around the cook top). Have brought children (toddlers and younger) a few times. Bathrooms have a changing station, but the atmosphere is not great for kids. Food selection is fun, and ice cream topping bar is nice, but long food wait times and minimal kid-friendly foods (no real finger foods or fruit assortment)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I'm concerned about the food sanitation ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I'm concerned about the food sanitation and way the food is stored in the ice. When choosing meats, people have to reach across one raw meat to reach another and in doing so, sometimes food drops from the tongs in the other meat. I think the bar needs to be redesigned so people do not have to reach across. Consider a layout to the old Piccadilly restaurants or golden corral. The food was ok.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a reservation for eight on a Satu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a reservation for eight on a Saturday late afternoon and it was a bit on the noisier side but that didn't stop us, we had such a good time and the food was amazing! Thank you for your great service trust me we already love this place and we didn't think we could love it more!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started off downstairs. Food left on ta ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Started off downstairs. Food left on table and bartenders ignored clearing table. Drinks were served with too much ice. Upstairs, waiter was attentive for 45 minutes and then we grabbed anyone to serve us. Selection of foods were good and preparation was adequate. Server asked my 9 year old grandson if he wanted ice cream and brought him one. Low and behold an ice cream sundae was charged on the bill.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The number of food choices and possible ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The number of food choices and possible combinations was a bit overwhelming at first but we had a great time trying to make a decision on what we would try for our first visit to this unique restaurant ! Already planning to bring a group of friends to Fire + Ice the next time we are in Boston. Our server was very friendly and full of energy ..lots of fun watching the chefs at the grill.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

This place was awful! The food was horri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place was awful! The food was horrible- the salad bar had wilted lettuce and watery vegetables. 3 of us got sick that night! There was food all over the floors, everything looked dirty. Our server led us to believe the ice cream sundaes were included with our all you can eat meal... It was not! Extra $10! Our server was never around when we needed her. When the bill finally came, she charged us for a whole other person saying "oh oops". She was extremely rude and offensive when we were having issues with one of our parties credit cards. We work in the service industry and have never seen anyone treat the guests that way. Not ok and we will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The kids LOVES this place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The kids LOVES this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The waitress was incredible andvery poli ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The waitress was incredible andvery polite andattentive and helped make my son's birthday special.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our host Anna was amazing! Thank you for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our host Anna was amazing! Thank you for helping make my 18th birthday great!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I seriously think that this restaurant s ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I seriously think that this restaurant should be closed down before it makes a lot of people sick. I never saw cooks using the same spatulas to cook raw meat, then to mix and fling onto a serving plate, the cooked food. They scrape them down on the side of a trough that goes around the cooking area where they chuck the dirty bowls that people hand them the raw ingredients to prepare for them. No sterilizing, no sanitizing. Disgusting. and dangerous. and all in plain sight of the guests! Truly unbelievable; can't believe it was approved by the health authorities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fun place. Food isn't amazing, but is go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fun place. Food isn't amazing, but is good. You can make any combination you want. The guys around the grill were very funny and lively. Service was okay, we had to ask for a box three times with two different servers. But all in all it was a good meal, and a fun date.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Waitor barely came to the table, very fr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Waitor barely came to the table, very frustrating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I thought it was great overall my only ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I thought it was great overall my only concerns was that the food did not have tops on top of them . I think it would be better if they could have covers due to all the illness that are going around

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Generally the food was good and so was t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Generally the food was good and so was the service. I've been here many times before and today it just wasn't as good as usual. Food was not being replaced frequently--in fact some vegetables were never refilled. The meat bowls had tongs that were way too short--you could not serve yourself without getting juices from raw meats on your hand--we took turns washing up after giving the food to be cooked. And everything in the place was sticky--the handrails, various surfaces, parts of the table. And the bathrooms were not well serviced with papers all over the floors. The place just did not seem to have sufficient staff to keep up the pace, but those who were there were working very hard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Food was great but service was extremel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great but service was extremely slow..waiter was nice but hard to find

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

We tried this restaurant as my daughter' ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We tried this restaurant as my daughter's choice to celebrate her 50th birthday. It took 30 - 35 minutes to be seated with a 7:30 reservation. Our servers were good, but appeared to be overloaded. We bought a birthday cake with us after checking with restaurant that it was OK. It took server a while to bring cake after we had asked for it. Selection of items was good and we did sample selection for all sources of the Market. I would say my grandson enjoyed the restaurant, my wife and I see no need to rush back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The food is always really good and the s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food is always really good and the service I had last time was amazing. Also had great cocktails - the strawberry basil margarita was so good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here on a Tues night prior to see ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We ate here on a Tues night prior to seeing Blue Man Group. They have a variety of foods, sauces and seasonings to choose from. You put your ingredients in a bowl and take them to the grill where a chef cooks your food while you wait. Your servers are basically there to bring you beverages. The food was good and it is a different experience. Unfortunately our experience that night was not great. They had one chef on for the night. The chef was working like crazy to try to cook all the food, but was trying to cook for about a dozen people at once. The female who appeared to be the manager came over to the grill and did absolutely nothing. She stood there with a grin on her face watching him trying to keep up with the crowd. I don't know if someone called out for the night or that was their idea of scheduling, but it was some of the poorest management I have ever seen. She should have called someone in or God forbid rolled up her sleeves to help. Something! You pay $19.99 for all you can eat, but we only made it up to the grill to try two dishes. We had to leave for our show because it was averaging a 30 minute wait at the grill to have your food cooked each time. What took place wasn't fair to the chef on duty or the paying customers. That manager shouldn't have a job after that night!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

For the amount of times you go up and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

For the amount of times you go up and the quantity of food you want in each dish, you will be happy with it. You can make your meal as you want it with a variety of ingredients for people of all diet types. The chefs are wonderful at their cooking and make some fun with doing tricks while at the grill. If you don't like what you combined the first time, there are other opportunities to make the combination better the next time. I love this place and would recommend it for a friends night out or a fun date with your significant other or go solo.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I ordered a frozen daiquiri, and a reaso ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I ordered a frozen daiquiri, and a reasonable expectation is that it's served in a tall glass with a straw, frozen. Well, it was served in a small, short glass with a tiny brown straw (which are used for mixing not drinking, by the way). The drink was dripping over the edges-- a mess. It was also so syrupy-sweet I couldn't finish it. I politely asked the bartender about a proper glass and straw and maybe more ice. Her response was polite, but she didn't remedy the drink presentation or add more ice. I came away disappointed. I live in Boston, and this will no longer be a drink stop for me or my guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

A fun party place for everyone, from car ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A fun party place for everyone, from carb craving teens to protein loading old folks on Atkins. Mix and match. A lot of fun. A lot of food. Nobody got sick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was very good. Everything seemed fr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was very good. Everything seemed fresh and was very nicely presented. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. The biggest drawback for us was that everything inside the restaurant was sticky - the table and the floor around the food area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Good food with different varieties. Nice ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food with different varieties. Nice ambience.worth for the cost

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.