About Fire + Ice Boston

205 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

FiRE+iCE is a create-your-own-meal concept that goes beyond your wildest expectations when it comes to satisfying each and every appetite. From seasoned foodies who demand a range of herbs and spices to stubborn children who refuse to eat anything that’s “touching green stuff”, anyone can create a delicious meal at FiRE+iCE.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-3473

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/boston-ma/

Public Transit:
Arlington stop off the Green Line

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch
Mother
[muhth-er] noun
1. Person who does the work of twenty. For free.
(See also: ‘saint’)

Lets face it; Mother’s Day should come more than once a year. She does everything!
Mom deserves to be pampered this Mother’s Day! Let us do the legwork while she chooses from all her favorite brunch specials! We are grilling up Mixed Berry Stuffed French Toast, Eggs Benedict and two carving stations, in addition to her weekly favorites!

Don’t be a Last Minute Larry! Mom deserves the best, make your reservations now and surprise her on the 12th! www.fire-ice.com/mothersday

Restaurant Photos

  • Mongolian Stir Fry
  • Burger
  • Stir Fry
  • Frozen Piña Colada
  • Calimari
  • Lava Flow
  • Fire Bowl
  • Salmon With Pasta
Mongolian Stir Fry
Burger
Stir Fry
Frozen Piña Colada
Calimari
Lava Flow
Fire Bowl
Salmon With Pasta

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire + Ice Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Boston / New England
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Good for Groups (84)
Special Occasion (55)
Kid-friendly (50)
See All
Great for Lunch (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Hot Spot (33)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Romantic (6)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The kids LOVES this place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

The kids LOVES this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

I seriously think that this restaurant s ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 7 days ago

I seriously think that this restaurant should be closed down before it makes a lot of people sick. I never saw cooks using the same spatulas to cook raw meat, then to mix and fling onto a serving plate, the cooked food. They scrape them down on the side of a trough that goes around the cooking area where they chuck the dirty bowls that people hand them the raw ingredients to prepare for them. No sterilizing, no sanitizing. Disgusting. and dangerous. and all in plain sight of the guests! Truly unbelievable; can't believe it was approved by the health authorities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fun place. Food isn't amazing, but is go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fun place. Food isn't amazing, but is good. You can make any combination you want. The guys around the grill were very funny and lively. Service was okay, we had to ask for a box three times with two different servers. But all in all it was a good meal, and a fun date.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Waitor barely came to the table, very fr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Waitor barely came to the table, very frustrating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I thought it was great overall my only ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I thought it was great overall my only concerns was that the food did not have tops on top of them . I think it would be better if they could have covers due to all the illness that are going around

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Generally the food was good and so was t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Generally the food was good and so was the service. I've been here many times before and today it just wasn't as good as usual. Food was not being replaced frequently--in fact some vegetables were never refilled. The meat bowls had tongs that were way too short--you could not serve yourself without getting juices from raw meats on your hand--we took turns washing up after giving the food to be cooked. And everything in the place was sticky--the handrails, various surfaces, parts of the table. And the bathrooms were not well serviced with papers all over the floors. The place just did not seem to have sufficient staff to keep up the pace, but those who were there were working very hard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Food was great but service was extremel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great but service was extremely slow..waiter was nice but hard to find

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

We tried this restaurant as my daughter' ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We tried this restaurant as my daughter's choice to celebrate her 50th birthday. It took 30 - 35 minutes to be seated with a 7:30 reservation. Our servers were good, but appeared to be overloaded. We bought a birthday cake with us after checking with restaurant that it was OK. It took server a while to bring cake after we had asked for it. Selection of items was good and we did sample selection for all sources of the Market. I would say my grandson enjoyed the restaurant, my wife and I see no need to rush back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The food is always really good and the s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food is always really good and the service I had last time was amazing. Also had great cocktails - the strawberry basil margarita was so good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here on a Tues night prior to see ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We ate here on a Tues night prior to seeing Blue Man Group. They have a variety of foods, sauces and seasonings to choose from. You put your ingredients in a bowl and take them to the grill where a chef cooks your food while you wait. Your servers are basically there to bring you beverages. The food was good and it is a different experience. Unfortunately our experience that night was not great. They had one chef on for the night. The chef was working like crazy to try to cook all the food, but was trying to cook for about a dozen people at once. The female who appeared to be the manager came over to the grill and did absolutely nothing. She stood there with a grin on her face watching him trying to keep up with the crowd. I don't know if someone called out for the night or that was their idea of scheduling, but it was some of the poorest management I have ever seen. She should have called someone in or God forbid rolled up her sleeves to help. Something! You pay $19.99 for all you can eat, but we only made it up to the grill to try two dishes. We had to leave for our show because it was averaging a 30 minute wait at the grill to have your food cooked each time. What took place wasn't fair to the chef on duty or the paying customers. That manager shouldn't have a job after that night!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

For the amount of times you go up and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

For the amount of times you go up and the quantity of food you want in each dish, you will be happy with it. You can make your meal as you want it with a variety of ingredients for people of all diet types. The chefs are wonderful at their cooking and make some fun with doing tricks while at the grill. If you don't like what you combined the first time, there are other opportunities to make the combination better the next time. I love this place and would recommend it for a friends night out or a fun date with your significant other or go solo.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I ordered a frozen daiquiri, and a reaso ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I ordered a frozen daiquiri, and a reasonable expectation is that it's served in a tall glass with a straw, frozen. Well, it was served in a small, short glass with a tiny brown straw (which are used for mixing not drinking, by the way). The drink was dripping over the edges-- a mess. It was also so syrupy-sweet I couldn't finish it. I politely asked the bartender about a proper glass and straw and maybe more ice. Her response was polite, but she didn't remedy the drink presentation or add more ice. I came away disappointed. I live in Boston, and this will no longer be a drink stop for me or my guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

A fun party place for everyone, from car ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A fun party place for everyone, from carb craving teens to protein loading old folks on Atkins. Mix and match. A lot of fun. A lot of food. Nobody got sick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was very good. Everything seemed fr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was very good. Everything seemed fresh and was very nicely presented. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. The biggest drawback for us was that everything inside the restaurant was sticky - the table and the floor around the food area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Good food with different varieties. Nice ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food with different varieties. Nice ambience.worth for the cost

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went on a Friday Night so it was very cr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went on a Friday Night so it was very crowded the food was delicious as always but it was a little bit of a wait for them to cook it since there was so many people. Either way I love this place. Great for a group outing or Date night. Perfect location in the middle of Back Bay Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have enjoyed Fire + Ice for years. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have enjoyed Fire + Ice for years. The cooks really get into it and they do a great job. The selection is enormous and it's really fun designing your own dish! The only thing that annoys me is that there is no specific set up for retrieving your ingredients, so it's people clamoring and it can be unruly. I wish that were formatted with lines, or by calling tables by number to control how many people are selecting food at one time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

This was such a meh experience, it kind ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was such a meh experience, it kind of annoyed me. Way overpriced for what it really is. Waited way too long for the food to be cooked, and the sauces all tasted like they came out of a bottle from a shitty grocery store.

Other people may have a blast here with the gimmicky setup, but the whole experience was just lame. I definitely wouldn't go back, but I'd recommend people with kids to check it out once just to say they did.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Best all you can eat ever. Entertaining ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best all you can eat ever. Entertaining and fun. Great place to hanging out with friends. Recommand for everybody.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great experience! Great service!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This restaurant could be fun for groups. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This restaurant could be fun for groups. The waiter did not fully explain how the entire table should make their bowls and go to the grill together. Since there are only 2 chefs the wait was very long and our group ended up eating separately since our food was ready at separate times.

My teens did like the restaurant. I was not a fan since the hostess was extremely rude to our group when seating us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

What an incredible experience! New and v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What an incredible experience! New and very different way of dining with excellent choices and quality. I went with 2 picky teens and they are still talking about it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was a great night the only problem wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was a great night the only problem was the service need to wait 45 min for the bill

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Excellent experience and would highly re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent experience and would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super fun dining experience. Excellent s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Super fun dining experience. Excellent selection of foods to build your meal. Large groups in the dining room slowed down the cooking process.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Main course was great, asked for ice tea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Main course was great, asked for ice team after our meal assuming that it was included as it is an all you can eat place. We paid $12 for ice cream in the end as our server never indicated that it was extra. Otherwise food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was just excellent! The cooks a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was just excellent! The cooks are a must seen and our waiter, Eduardo -from Brazil- was very kind. We truly recommend this place!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined here on the recommendation of a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We dined here on the recommendation of a friend. The concept was new to us and the whole family enjoyed selecting their custom meal. There are plenty of components and sauces to suit every taste. Even the burgers were great. Make sure you're hungry when you go - you'll want to try it all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The atmosphere was loud and energetic, g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The atmosphere was loud and energetic, good for groups and inexpensive, all-you-can-eat food. Due to the way the food is prepared, it is always over cooked. This is not the type of restaurant a foodie is looking for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Greeted by hostess. Seated at a booth fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Greeted by hostess. Seated at a booth for 6. That made difficult for u to get up trip to the buffet. The server introduced himself as the best server there. That being the case , I would not want to have any of the others as he was not that good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

If you didn't like your meal at Fire and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

If you didn't like your meal at Fire and Ice, you only had yourself to blame! This novel restaurant has an abundant selection of meats, fish, vegetables, starches, and sauces for patrons to select for cooking by hard-working cooks. The food was fresh and cooked properly. The salad bar also was excellent. The service was attentive and friendly. The noise level with all the cooking going on right in the middle was very high. There were lots of birthday celebrations while we were there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Average food and service. The restauran ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Average food and service. The restaurant was really a little grubby and seems to cater to the 20 somethings who are trying to get as much food in their mouths as possible. It is a neat idea, but the execution could be a bit better.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I don't understand the purpose of this e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I don't understand the purpose of this establishment. You walk over to the other side of the restaurant to select your own ingredients from a buffet, which is not exactly hygienic, and place them in a bowl. You then take your ingredients to the large hibachi-style grill and wait while a cook will throw it on the hot surface, right next to someone else's selection to let it "cook". Then they will scoop it up and throw it on a plate for you to then walk back to your table to eat. It's $19.99 for the "pleasure" of that. I might as well as stay at home. The drinks were just OK: watered down, took forever to arrive, with no sign of our server to find out what was going on. If you have any kind of dietary restriction - religious, health or otherwise - definitely DO NOT eat here. I couldn't believe the "buffet" and the "grill" had fish next to meats next to vegetables, and all being scooped up, mixed up and served off the same spatula and grill spot by the cook. We were asked by the server if anyone had a food allergy, but the cook did not. With so many other dining options in this immediate area, I cannot recommend this place at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

great food! went there for my birthday w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

great food! went there for my birthday with a group of my friends and everyone had a great time and really enjoyed the food and everyone is dying to go back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Fire+Ice in Harvard Squar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to Fire+Ice in Harvard Square before and had a great time, but we decided to try the Boston location this time, a very different experience. The food was really great, the variety was incredible and the desserts were amazing. The best thing were the chefs, they were all fun and engaging and really made the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Excellent place to eat. Great food!! S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent place to eat. Great food!! Staff cooking food very pleasant and entertaining. Recommend making reservation in advance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An overall amazing experience. Reserved ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

An overall amazing experience. Reserved seats for a friends Birthday and we had a blast. Such an energetic atmosphere and the cooks have great energy. Remember-able for sure!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a great waitress her name was Anna f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Had a great waitress her name was Anna food was good as always

Love going here will return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A great fun place!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fire and Ice is a fun dining experience. You get to create your own deliciousness!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch with the grandparent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Took mygrandparents and my boyfriend out for their first time to fire and great for families

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.