About Fire + Ice Boston

205 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

FiRE+iCE is a create-your-own-meal concept that goes beyond your wildest expectations when it comes to satisfying each and every appetite. From seasoned foodies who demand a range of herbs and spices to stubborn children who refuse to eat anything that’s “touching green stuff”, anyone can create a delicious meal at FiRE+iCE.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-3473

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/boston-ma/

Public Transit:
Arlington stop off the Green Line

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch
Mother
[muhth-er] noun
1. Person who does the work of twenty. For free.
(See also: ‘saint’)

Lets face it; Mother’s Day should come more than once a year. She does everything!
Mom deserves to be pampered this Mother’s Day! Let us do the legwork while she chooses from all her favorite brunch specials! We are grilling up Mixed Berry Stuffed French Toast, Eggs Benedict and two carving stations, in addition to her weekly favorites!

Don’t be a Last Minute Larry! Mom deserves the best, make your reservations now and surprise her on the 12th! www.fire-ice.com/mothersday

Restaurant Photos

  • Mongolian Stir Fry
  • Burger
  • Stir Fry
  • Frozen Piña Colada
  • Calimari
  • Lava Flow
  • Fire Bowl
  • Salmon With Pasta
Mongolian Stir Fry
Burger
Stir Fry
Frozen Piña Colada
Calimari
Lava Flow
Fire Bowl
Salmon With Pasta

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire + Ice Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Boston / New England
Hot Spot
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

good for groups (131)
special occasion (77)
kid-friendly (67)
See All
great for lunch (62)
hot spot (59)
fit for foodies (58)
great for brunch (43)
late-night find (33)
neighborhood gem (22)
vibrant bar scene (20)
romantic (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (6)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Average food and service. The restauran ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Average food and service. The restaurant was really a little grubby and seems to cater to the 20 somethings who are trying to get as much food in their mouths as possible. It is a neat idea, but the execution could be a bit better.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I don't understand the purpose of this e ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I don't understand the purpose of this establishment. You walk over to the other side of the restaurant to select your own ingredients from a buffet, which is not exactly hygienic, and place them in a bowl. You then take your ingredients to the large hibachi-style grill and wait while a cook will throw it on the hot surface, right next to someone else's selection to let it "cook". Then they will scoop it up and throw it on a plate for you to then walk back to your table to eat. It's $19.99 for the "pleasure" of that. I might as well as stay at home. The drinks were just OK: watered down, took forever to arrive, with no sign of our server to find out what was going on. If you have any kind of dietary restriction - religious, health or otherwise - definitely DO NOT eat here. I couldn't believe the "buffet" and the "grill" had fish next to meats next to vegetables, and all being scooped up, mixed up and served off the same spatula and grill spot by the cook. We were asked by the server if anyone had a food allergy, but the cook did not. With so many other dining options in this immediate area, I cannot recommend this place at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food! went there for my birthday w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

great food! went there for my birthday with a group of my friends and everyone had a great time and really enjoyed the food and everyone is dying to go back again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

I have been to Fire+Ice in Harvard Squar ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to Fire+Ice in Harvard Square before and had a great time, but we decided to try the Boston location this time, a very different experience. The food was really great, the variety was incredible and the desserts were amazing. The best thing were the chefs, they were all fun and engaging and really made the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to eat. Great food!! S ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent place to eat. Great food!! Staff cooking food very pleasant and entertaining. Recommend making reservation in advance.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An overall amazing experience. Reserved ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

An overall amazing experience. Reserved seats for a friends Birthday and we had a blast. Such an energetic atmosphere and the cooks have great energy. Remember-able for sure!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a great waitress her name was Anna f ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Had a great waitress her name was Anna food was good as always Love going here will return again

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great fun place!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fire and Ice is a fun dining experience. You get to create your own deliciousness!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with the grandparent

Dined on May 27, 2016

Took mygrandparents and my boyfriend out for their first time to fire and great for families

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1

The food combinations are overwhelming a ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food combinations are overwhelming at first but once you get into the swing of it the possibilities are endless. My kids loved it! We would go back, however, we were not impressed with our waiter. We could never find him and we had to get up to go look for him, when we did find him it took forever for him to come back with what we needed. Refills, needed a fork because we were short one, napkins , clear the plates,ect. We did have a large party so the restaurant automatically added in the tip. This guy got a huge tip for doing practically nothing. It's like he knew he was going to get a good tip regardless of if he was attentive or not.

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Absolutely love Fire and Ice. Great heal ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Absolutely love Fire and Ice. Great healthy food. Fun place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had to ask the hostess for the server ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I had to ask the hostess for the server, utensils, drinks, and my check at the front. Server was awful and brought our melted watered down drinks which were supposed to be frozen. Staff was rude and annoying, especially Larry. Worst place to go to in Boston don't even waste your time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for large parties

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was nervous at first because the hostess gave the first member of our party of 16 some attitude about not all being there at 6:31 for a 6:30 reservation and that we "had to be done by 8:30" so not a great start but our waitress (Shayna maybe?) was awesome. The food was good. The drinks were good. It's a great place to go with a big group so you can mingle and focus on each other instead of a typical meal timing. With drinks and dessert we ran past 8:30 but never received any additional attitude about it luckily.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was great and all the workers were friendly and very helpful! No complaints about anything there. Had an amazing night and constantly come back for more memories!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Sad

Dined on May 8, 2016

The last two times I've been here for a special occasion, the drinks have been flat and watered down, people cutting in front and pushing us out of the way of the grill. Used to be a great relaxed atmosphere and we loved driving the two hours for the special occasions for either lunch or dinner.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

chefs were pretty amazing friendly and cute

Dined on May 8, 2016

the food and the choices were outstanding. can't beat the value

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable

Dined on May 6, 2016

I visited the restaurant for a dinner with my mom. At first I was not a fan, because water is poured in plastic cups and you need to go get your own food. However, the food was then prepared well and the service was nice. Mostly recommend this restaurant to families with kids, because the chefs are very friendly and they grill your food in front of you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

24th Anniversary

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I went to Boston to celebrate our 24th Anniversary and while searching for a nice spot to dine found Fire + Ice. What a find! The scene was awesome and he food was fantastic. Definitely hit the mark. Thanks for a memorable evening. Note: We liked it so much we went back the next night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a good time here.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a good time here.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The server was very good and explained the whole process and how things worked! The food was excellent and there was a great variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

LoveLegal

Dined on April 29, 2016

The concept was terrific but new to us. The variety of food choices was great and the way they cook it made it delicious. One can also add a salad and soup included in the price. Even my 94 year old mother could take an elevator to the 2nd floor.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We ate with a group of 18 people. The food was delicious and the experience was unique.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2

Seemed way more low-end / mass market th ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Seemed way more low-end / mass market than my first experience at the Cambridge location many years ago. Waiter didn't come by once to see if we wanted more drinks, etc. Guys grilling were the friendliest

food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Fun for bday

Dined on April 24, 2016

Overall this was fun for a bday outing. Was a bit overwhelmed by the wait at the grill - about 3 rows deep - though I did go at a peak time. At any other restaurant, you'd be waiting at the table for the food so the only difference is you are standing and waiting. Our waitress did find us in line so we could re-order drinks and that was cool. Given the wait, no one went up for seconds which was a bit of a bummer because they wanted to try different things. Drinks were yummy. I'll go back to Fire and Ice but will try to go at a less busy time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Never again

Dined on April 23, 2016

Terrible experience. We were seated at 8:20 for a 7:30 reservation and that was only after complaining. No comp, no apology. Hostesses on another planet. Checked in they lost our reservation. We had 20 minutes to eat, get check and make a show. Unacceptable!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Waited hour even after reservation

Dined on April 23, 2016

Not enough cooks at grill. Extremely long line. Wasnt wirth wait fir all u can eat.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Nothing made me want to return.

Dined on April 23, 2016

The bad: Very disorganized, bartender was knowingly serving beer from mixed beer lines, host stand employees were not friendly, actually, most of the employees were harried, looked overwhelmed and did not smile. It seems that the restaurant knows people will visit, so it really doesn't matter what the service is like. The good: The food options are very good. It was fun to watch the guys preparing our food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The cooks are excellent! They work extremely hard

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food is delicious and cooked in a short amount of time. There is a slight wait time but the cooks do the best they can. I can't imagine them working any harder.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Server was great! But other front desk s ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Server was great! But other front desk servers were unpleasant

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on April 17, 2016

We come here often the chefs are funny and talented we never have a bad experience the waitstaff is awesome too always a good time

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for a unique dining experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

I didn't check "romantic" because the atmosphere is energetic and noisy, but it really could be a great place for a date (other than a first date). Totally fun unique atmosphere. You pick fresh ingredients, take it to one of the cooks in the middle who grills is all for you using your chosen ingredients, seasonings, and sauce. It's all you can eat and a great value. Other than beverages or appitizers (if you order any, though I don't know why you would), it's self service. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful evening celebrating my daughte ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful evening celebrating my daughters birthday. Everyone, from the downstairs bar attendant to the cooks to the servers made her feel special and celebrated on her 24th birthday! Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh Happy Day!

Dined on April 5, 2016

It was my birthday day and I chose Fire and Ice as my place to celebrate. Since I celebrated it at this place on my birthday last year . And I had such a great time why not again. The selection and variety of buffet food is a food lovers choice. The staff was courteous and attentive.The personal facilities were the cleanest I have seen in along time. I would give everything an A+.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service4
value5

Good value for lunch

Dined on April 2, 2016

I ate lunch here and it was good..there is array of food to choose from and you watch it get cooked in front of you.. I felt the lighting was a bit dim for lunchtime and interior looked like it could use some updating.. Overall, its someplace to experience if you haven't tried this fun food concept before

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Place

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fire and ice is one amazingly fun place! Entertaining, fun, and all you can eat with great healthy choices as well as some less healthy ones. Fun for all!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Birthday

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was amazing and the atmosphere was great. I had a extraordinary time with my friends and family

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

more cooks

Dined on March 20, 2016

Coming on a Sunday there where two cooks. There was a few guys cleaning the grill and joking and tossing buns. But for people who want to eat experience fire and ice and have to catch the t. It's time consuming. It took a while to cook my food. I didn't get a burger or anything that was time consuming yet I still had to wait until the people in front of me where done first. They had burgers and ect. All I had was some shrimp and noodles something that should of taken 5 min took 20 min. Then we tipped out waitress 20% and I was the one standing in line and getting my food and all she did was bring us two drinks. Should of tipped myself.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, service from waitress was ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was good, service from waitress was timely and cooks entertaining and engaging

food4
ambience5
service4

Very fun experience

Dined on March 15, 2016

Very fun experience

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great variety of food and a lot of fun :)

Dined on March 14, 2016

Although the restaurant is quite loud, if a lot of people are there, it makes a lot of fun to go for dinner to the Fire+Ice. The service as well as the cooks were very friendly and the variety of food was huge. It is great to get your soft drinks refilled for free. One negative aspect was the always low temperature at all my visits.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.