About Fire + Ice Boston

205 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

FiRE+iCE is a create-your-own-meal concept that goes beyond your wildest expectations when it comes to satisfying each and every appetite. From seasoned foodies who demand a range of herbs and spices to stubborn children who refuse to eat anything that’s “touching green stuff”, anyone can create a delicious meal at FiRE+iCE.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-3473

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/boston-ma/

Public Transit:
Arlington stop off the Green Line

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch
Mother
[muhth-er] noun
1. Person who does the work of twenty. For free.
(See also: ‘saint’)

Lets face it; Mother’s Day should come more than once a year. She does everything!
Mom deserves to be pampered this Mother’s Day! Let us do the legwork while she chooses from all her favorite brunch specials! We are grilling up Mixed Berry Stuffed French Toast, Eggs Benedict and two carving stations, in addition to her weekly favorites!

Don’t be a Last Minute Larry! Mom deserves the best, make your reservations now and surprise her on the 12th! www.fire-ice.com/mothersday

Restaurant Photos

  • Mongolian Stir Fry - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
  • Burger - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
  • Stir Fry - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
  • Frozen Piña Colada - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
  • Calimari - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
  • Lava Flow - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
  • Fire Bowl  - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
  • Salmon With Pasta - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Mongolian Stir Fry - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Burger - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Stir Fry - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Frozen Piña Colada - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Calimari - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Lava Flow - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Fire Bowl  - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA
Salmon With Pasta - Fire + Ice Boston, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire + Ice Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (45)
Fun (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
See All
Creative Cuisine (39)
Special Occasion (39)
Casual (38)
Good for a Date (34)
Open Kitchen (32)
Family Style (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Kid-friendly (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Healthy (17)
People Watching (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Spicy (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vegan (4)
Live Sports (3)
Seasonal (3)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went with my boyfriend for his birthda ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I went with my boyfriend for his birthday. The food was AMAZING. We went up and tried different sauce and made our on combination of foods. I like getting to make my own plate and how hot the food is.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible experience. First timer after ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Terrible experience. First timer after Pops Concert. Was not expecting Chuckee Cheeses type experience. Music way too loud, multiple screaming kids, like really screaming - on a Sunday evening! Both had headaches in no time. Ate one small plate of food and had to leave. Absolutely no place for quiet dining.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Very loud. Stood in line for 15 minutes ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very loud. Stood in line for 15 minutes just to have food cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Mongolian BBQ style restarant. You ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great Mongolian BBQ style restarant. You build your own stir fry with a very large amount of ingredients to choose from. Friends had a good time. Fair Warning: This spot is very popular so make sure to book a table in advance for larger parties.

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fire and Ice is a great chill spot to ha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fire and Ice is a great chill spot to hang out with friends, go on a fun date or celebrate a neutral occasion. The workers are funny, nice, and laid back. I would defiantly recommend this place to a friend and look forward to coming back again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great, chef are always in a good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always great, chef are always in a good mood. Fun place to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cooks where entertaining. Food was aweso ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Cooks where entertaining. Food was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience! Our waiter (can't ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Wonderful experience! Our waiter (can't remember his name, unfortunately) was such a sweetheart and took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for my birthday and had a grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Went here for my birthday and had a great night wth good food and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

horrible. was very decived. the waitress ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

horrible. was very decived. the waitress never came to the table... so upset it was my husbands birthday i spent $80 on horrible service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

we always have such an amazing and fun t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

we always have such an amazing and fun time when me and my friends come here, we try to get together at least once a month and this is our to go to place!! had an amazing server, she was very friendly and straight forward, loved how she felt comfortable and joked with us! all in all a fantastic night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect location for an exciting eve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The perfect location for an exciting evening. So much freedom to eat however much and whatever you want. Plus the frozen Shirley Temples were delicious! And the chefs are so polite and skilled and entertaining to watch. Great for a quick, delicious bite, or a long evening to hang with friends!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation and STILL had to wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I made a reservation and STILL had to wait at least 20 mins for my table...Food was over cooked and I left after one plate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love this place. Love going to Boston b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love this place. Love going to Boston but I really wish there was a location in NH somewhere.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Few minor mistakes from kitc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food. Few minor mistakes from kitchen staff but the waiter handled everything!Our waiter was outstanding! Truely A great night!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fire & Ice is by far one of my favorite ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fire & Ice is by far one of my favorite restaurants in Boston! My friends and I celebrated my birthday with dinner and drinks there. I was very impressed with our delightful server Char who was as fun as she was sweet. The restaurant was very busy, but she made sure to check on us often. Thank you for a wonderful birthday! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud atmosphere, very confusing th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very loud atmosphere, very confusing the way things flow, i didnt know gratuity was built in...i wouldnt have tipped ten bucks on top of it for my waitress to get us two sodas!! Food was really yummy!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Went for my son's birthday. He likes it, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for my son's birthday. He likes it, so we indulge. The concept itself is ok, but you choose the ingredients in your own meal and, well, your creation might not turn out all that great. Just make another one?, but that means another 10-20 minute wait for them to cook it, and by cook it, I mean to overcook it. They kind of have to, too much risk when you're cooking 40 meals simultaneously on a huge circular mongolian grill. So the food is only as interesting as your creativity and not cooked all that well. The service is never great, but they only have to get you a drink, clear your dish and offer dessert, so, yeah. The atmosphere is kind of energetic and fun, I won't deny that, and for something different, I can say give it a try. But if your looking for a good meal, with good service and a menu that doesn't require you to do all of the thinking, you may look elsewhere.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

For many years, I have enjoyed dinning a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

For many years, I have enjoyed dinning at Fire and Ice Restaurants. For a special dinner, I selected this restaurant as I thought it would be a treat for my vegetariann guests. Vegetable selection was unappealing, not terribly fresh, mundane and for the most part in need of replenishment. Seafood was caked in ice. Stations had long lines. indeed, overall, a great dissapointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

we were pleasantly surprised at the qual ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and value

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Good food for the price. Always happy w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food for the price. Always happy with fire and ice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went for my Birthday and had a wonderf ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I went for my Birthday and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect from the food to the service. One of my favorite restaurants in Boston.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very busy, I had to wait more tha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was very busy, I had to wait more than 45 minutes in line to get my food cooked, my wife left because the restaurant was very noisy, the food was over cooked, did not want to wait in line again, terrible experience.

It was our first time there, the waiter did not explain how the process works.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

A table for 10 should never be jam packe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A table for 10 should never be jam packed into the middle of the dining area----reservations made well enough in advance should be given priority seating. Felt like we were stuck in the middle of the room and couldn't even enjoy conversation with all the noise and extremely loud music to mask the cooking area. Disappointed and NEVER returning. High traffic and terrible seating location for our group. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Pleasantly surprised for a first timer. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pleasantly surprised for a first timer. The variety and freshness of the food was very good. All in the party were quite satisfied.

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food ! Love the experience good se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food ! Love the experience good service the waiting time it's not too much if you reserve it before you get there

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove down from New Hampshire to spen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We drove down from New Hampshire to spend the evening with some good friends. I made reservations for 7:30 on a Friday night. We arrived 15 minutes early, and we were told we would be seated a little closer to our reservation time. We were seated just after 8:00. Waiter and waitress were very helpful and attentive. Food options were plentiful! I have a gluten allergy, and felt as though appropriate attention was given to minimize cross contamination. We enjoyed our dinner, and did not feel rushed to get out as soon as we took our last bite. Thank you for an enjoyable dinner!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Supposedly we had three servers, but the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Supposedly we had three servers, but they were nowhere to be found. They aren't even bringing food out or taking (very many) orders...

The tables are really old and nasty, I had a couple sticky spots in front of me and my shirt got stuck on a splinter on the corner of the table and ripped because it's falling apart.

Love the concept, but it's time for new tables and better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Great unique experience, staff was frien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great unique experience, staff was friendly and great definitely would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

food was great like always! always recom ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

food was great like always! always recommending this place to friends! keep up the good work staff at fire & ice

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was not very personable at al ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our server was not very personable at all and seemed like we were bothering her more than anything. Guys at the grill were very friendly. Selection of meats and veggies has significantly gone down in the last few years too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The concept, food, chefs and staff were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The concept, food, chefs and staff were very good. the venue was rundown and less than decent. It resembled a former night club; could highly benefit from a makeover.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Food is good, cooks are fun, and service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food is good, cooks are fun, and service is solid. Definitely would reccommend.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

It was okay, service was sub par took so ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It was okay, service was sub par took so long to get drinks by the time they arrived the beers were warm and the mixed drinks were watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Unfortunately our first impression was n ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Unfortunately our first impression was negative due to a very uninterested hostess. When we asked to have a booth she looked at us as if we'd asked to be seated on the moon. Once seated we noticed the table was very sticky as if wiped down with a cloth soaked in soda, just made everything feel dirty. Our server however was great. Very friendly & helpful. I can't recall his name but he told us he was from Brazil. He was excellent!!!Grill staff were friendly. Food was fine, but really nothing different than any other buffet style restaurant except for the open grill. Our daughter who is at college said the food wasn't much better than what was offered at a college buffet. So I doubt we will be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We celebrated a birthday before heading ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We celebrated a birthday before heading to Blue Man Group. The food was great. The staff was super friendly, we had lots of laughs. Only a few blocks from the theater. Great night

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is good. I love tha creae my own di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food is good. I love tha creae my own dish. I pick my ingrediens and spices an bring to big grill area whee grillers cook yor food in front of you. I createdth tastiest burger everhad with a chipotle sauce. Also had eggplant and pasta in an sauce. It is all you can eat. So creatd two hot dishes and made my own salad.

   What mahes this place fun (a very fun place t eat) is a combination of picking your foods and spices and watching grillers who truly have fn grilling te food a the with te cstomers. I loved my creation and the fun. And the price is right. 

 Cons. Very dark lightng. A bit  noisy. Wait Service in minimal at busy times. Nothing intimate here. A fun place. Not a serious atmosphere.
Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

We made time that we wanted a 8:15 howev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We made time that we wanted a 8:15 however we didn't get seated until 8:45. I don't see the point to making a Reservation if we were going to be seated late.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were running late for our reservation ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were running late for our reservation and I called to say we would be 10 minutes late. We were there to celebrate my daughters 16th bday. I dropped all of the kids off , including my adult 23 year old and they would not seat them til I arrived. I really thought this was not good customer service. When I did arrive, we had to wait an additional 30 minutes for our table.

The ladies room was absolutely disgusting too.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent food and ambience. Worth every ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Excellent food and ambience. Worth every penny!! Keep it up . Will be back

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.