About Fire + Ice Boston

205 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

FiRE+iCE is a create-your-own-meal concept that goes beyond your wildest expectations when it comes to satisfying each and every appetite. From seasoned foodies who demand a range of herbs and spices to stubborn children who refuse to eat anything that’s “touching green stuff”, anyone can create a delicious meal at FiRE+iCE.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-3473

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/boston-ma/

Public Transit:
Arlington stop off the Green Line

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch
Mother
[muhth-er] noun
1. Person who does the work of twenty. For free.
(See also: ‘saint’)

Lets face it; Mother’s Day should come more than once a year. She does everything!
Mom deserves to be pampered this Mother’s Day! Let us do the legwork while she chooses from all her favorite brunch specials! We are grilling up Mixed Berry Stuffed French Toast, Eggs Benedict and two carving stations, in addition to her weekly favorites!

Don’t be a Last Minute Larry! Mom deserves the best, make your reservations now and surprise her on the 12th! www.fire-ice.com/mothersday

Restaurant Photos

  • Mongolian Stir Fry
  • Burger
  • Stir Fry
  • Frozen Piña Colada
  • Calimari
  • Lava Flow
  • Fire Bowl
  • Salmon With Pasta
Mongolian Stir Fry
Burger
Stir Fry
Frozen Piña Colada
Calimari
Lava Flow
Fire Bowl
Salmon With Pasta

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire + Ice Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Boston / New England
Great for Lunch
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

good for groups (116)
special occasion (70)
kid-friendly (62)
See All
great for lunch (51)
fit for foodies (47)
hot spot (43)
great for brunch (27)
late-night find (25)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
romantic (9)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food with different varieties. Nice ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food with different varieties. Nice ambience.worth for the cost

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went on a Friday Night so it was very cr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went on a Friday Night so it was very crowded the food was delicious as always but it was a little bit of a wait for them to cook it since there was so many people. Either way I love this place. Great for a group outing or Date night. Perfect location in the middle of Back Bay Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have enjoyed Fire + Ice for years. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have enjoyed Fire + Ice for years. The cooks really get into it and they do a great job. The selection is enormous and it's really fun designing your own dish! The only thing that annoys me is that there is no specific set up for retrieving your ingredients, so it's people clamoring and it can be unruly. I wish that were formatted with lines, or by calling tables by number to control how many people are selecting food at one time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

This was such a meh experience, it kind ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was such a meh experience, it kind of annoyed me. Way overpriced for what it really is. Waited way too long for the food to be cooked, and the sauces all tasted like they came out of a bottle from a shitty grocery store.

Other people may have a blast here with the gimmicky setup, but the whole experience was just lame. I definitely wouldn't go back, but I'd recommend people with kids to check it out once just to say they did.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Best all you can eat ever. Entertaining ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best all you can eat ever. Entertaining and fun. Great place to hanging out with friends. Recommand for everybody.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great experience! Great service!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This restaurant could be fun for groups. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This restaurant could be fun for groups. The waiter did not fully explain how the entire table should make their bowls and go to the grill together. Since there are only 2 chefs the wait was very long and our group ended up eating separately since our food was ready at separate times.

My teens did like the restaurant. I was not a fan since the hostess was extremely rude to our group when seating us.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

What an incredible experience! New and v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

What an incredible experience! New and very different way of dining with excellent choices and quality. I went with 2 picky teens and they are still talking about it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was a great night the only problem wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was a great night the only problem was the service need to wait 45 min for the bill

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Excellent experience and would highly re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent experience and would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super fun dining experience. Excellent s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Super fun dining experience. Excellent selection of foods to build your meal. Large groups in the dining room slowed down the cooking process.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Main course was great, asked for ice tea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Main course was great, asked for ice team after our meal assuming that it was included as it is an all you can eat place. We paid $12 for ice cream in the end as our server never indicated that it was extra. Otherwise food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was just excellent! The cooks a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was just excellent! The cooks are a must seen and our waiter, Eduardo -from Brazil- was very kind. We truly recommend this place!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined here on the recommendation of a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We dined here on the recommendation of a friend. The concept was new to us and the whole family enjoyed selecting their custom meal. There are plenty of components and sauces to suit every taste. Even the burgers were great. Make sure you're hungry when you go - you'll want to try it all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The atmosphere was loud and energetic, g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The atmosphere was loud and energetic, good for groups and inexpensive, all-you-can-eat food. Due to the way the food is prepared, it is always over cooked. This is not the type of restaurant a foodie is looking for.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Greeted by hostess. Seated at a booth fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Greeted by hostess. Seated at a booth for 6. That made difficult for u to get up trip to the buffet. The server introduced himself as the best server there. That being the case , I would not want to have any of the others as he was not that good.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

If you didn't like your meal at Fire and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

If you didn't like your meal at Fire and Ice, you only had yourself to blame! This novel restaurant has an abundant selection of meats, fish, vegetables, starches, and sauces for patrons to select for cooking by hard-working cooks. The food was fresh and cooked properly. The salad bar also was excellent. The service was attentive and friendly. The noise level with all the cooking going on right in the middle was very high. There were lots of birthday celebrations while we were there.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Average food and service. The restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Average food and service. The restaurant was really a little grubby and seems to cater to the 20 somethings who are trying to get as much food in their mouths as possible. It is a neat idea, but the execution could be a bit better.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I don't understand the purpose of this e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I don't understand the purpose of this establishment. You walk over to the other side of the restaurant to select your own ingredients from a buffet, which is not exactly hygienic, and place them in a bowl. You then take your ingredients to the large hibachi-style grill and wait while a cook will throw it on the hot surface, right next to someone else's selection to let it "cook". Then they will scoop it up and throw it on a plate for you to then walk back to your table to eat. It's $19.99 for the "pleasure" of that. I might as well as stay at home. The drinks were just OK: watered down, took forever to arrive, with no sign of our server to find out what was going on. If you have any kind of dietary restriction - religious, health or otherwise - definitely DO NOT eat here. I couldn't believe the "buffet" and the "grill" had fish next to meats next to vegetables, and all being scooped up, mixed up and served off the same spatula and grill spot by the cook. We were asked by the server if anyone had a food allergy, but the cook did not. With so many other dining options in this immediate area, I cannot recommend this place at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

great food! went there for my birthday w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

great food! went there for my birthday with a group of my friends and everyone had a great time and really enjoyed the food and everyone is dying to go back again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Fire+Ice in Harvard Squar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to Fire+Ice in Harvard Square before and had a great time, but we decided to try the Boston location this time, a very different experience. The food was really great, the variety was incredible and the desserts were amazing. The best thing were the chefs, they were all fun and engaging and really made the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Excellent place to eat. Great food!! S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent place to eat. Great food!! Staff cooking food very pleasant and entertaining. Recommend making reservation in advance.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An overall amazing experience. Reserved ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

An overall amazing experience. Reserved seats for a friends Birthday and we had a blast. Such an energetic atmosphere and the cooks have great energy. Remember-able for sure!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a great waitress her name was Anna f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Had a great waitress her name was Anna food was good as always

Love going here will return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A great fun place!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fire and Ice is a fun dining experience. You get to create your own deliciousness!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch with the grandparent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Took mygrandparents and my boyfriend out for their first time to fire and great for families

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food combinations are overwhelming a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food combinations are overwhelming at first but once you get into the swing of it the possibilities are endless. My kids loved it! We would go back, however, we were not impressed with our waiter. We could never find him and we had to get up to go look for him, when we did find him it took forever for him to come back with what we needed. Refills, needed a fork because we were short one, napkins , clear the plates,ect. We did have a large party so the restaurant automatically added in the tip. This guy got a huge tip for doing practically nothing. It's like he knew he was going to get a good tip regardless of if he was attentive or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Absolutely love Fire and Ice. Great heal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Absolutely love Fire and Ice. Great healthy food. Fun place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

I had to ask the hostess for the server ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I had to ask the hostess for the server, utensils, drinks, and my check at the front. Server was awful and brought our melted watered down drinks which were supposed to be frozen. Staff was rude and annoying, especially Larry. Worst place to go to in Boston don't even waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great for large parties

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I was nervous at first because the hostess gave the first member of our party of 16 some attitude about not all being there at 6:31 for a 6:30 reservation and that we "had to be done by 8:30" so not a great start but our waitress (Shayna maybe?) was awesome. The food was good. The drinks were good. It's a great place to go with a big group so you can mingle and focus on each other instead of a typical meal timing. With drinks and dessert we ran past 8:30 but never received any additional attitude about it luckily.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

AMAZING!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was great and all the workers were friendly and very helpful! No complaints about anything there. Had an amazing night and constantly come back for more memories!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sad

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The last two times I've been here for a special occasion, the drinks have been flat and watered down, people cutting in front and pushing us out of the way of the grill. Used to be a great relaxed atmosphere and we loved driving the two hours for the special occasions for either lunch or dinner.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

chefs were pretty amazing friendly and cute

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

the food and the choices were outstanding. can't beat the value

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Enjoyable

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I visited the restaurant for a dinner with my mom. At first I was not a fan, because water is poured in plastic cups and you need to go get your own food. However, the food was then prepared well and the service was nice. Mostly recommend this restaurant to families with kids, because the chefs are very friendly and they grill your food in front of you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

24th Anniversary

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I went to Boston to celebrate our 24th Anniversary and while searching for a nice spot to dine found Fire + Ice. What a find! The scene was awesome and he food was fantastic. Definitely hit the mark. Thanks for a memorable evening. Note: We liked it so much we went back the next night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good time here.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a good time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The server was very good and explained the whole process and how things worked! The food was excellent and there was a great variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

LoveLegal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The concept was terrific but new to us. The variety of food choices was great and the way they cook it made it delicious. One can also add a salad and soup included in the price. Even my 94 year old mother could take an elevator to the 2nd floor.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We ate with a group of 18 people. The food was delicious and the experience was unique.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Seemed way more low-end / mass market th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Seemed way more low-end / mass market than my first experience at the Cambridge location many years ago. Waiter didn't come by once to see if we wanted more drinks, etc. Guys grilling were the friendliest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.