About Fire + Ice Boston

205 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

FiRE+iCE is a create-your-own-meal concept that goes beyond your wildest expectations when it comes to satisfying each and every appetite. From seasoned foodies who demand a range of herbs and spices to stubborn children who refuse to eat anything that’s “touching green stuff”, anyone can create a delicious meal at FiRE+iCE.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-3473

Website:
http://www.fire-ice.com/locations/boston-ma/

Public Transit:
Arlington stop off the Green Line

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch
Mother
[muhth-er] noun
1. Person who does the work of twenty. For free.
(See also: ‘saint’)

Lets face it; Mother’s Day should come more than once a year. She does everything!
Mom deserves to be pampered this Mother’s Day! Let us do the legwork while she chooses from all her favorite brunch specials! We are grilling up Mixed Berry Stuffed French Toast, Eggs Benedict and two carving stations, in addition to her weekly favorites!

Don’t be a Last Minute Larry! Mom deserves the best, make your reservations now and surprise her on the 12th! www.fire-ice.com/mothersday

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire + Ice Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (55)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Fun (51)
See All
Casual (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Open Kitchen (41)
Special Occasion (41)
Family Style (40)
Good for a Date (36)
Worth the Drive (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Kid-friendly (29)
Hot Spot (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
People Watching (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Spicy (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vegan (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Live Music (4)
Live Sports (4)
Romantic (4)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Waterfront (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I had a free birthday dinn ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

My friend and I had a free birthday dinner since our birthdays are two days apart but they told us we coul only use one of them even tho we both received it through email and they didn't include in the fine print how we couldn't both use it the same day. The place was crowded and it was difficult to navigate through it.The waitress was super friendly tho so that was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I loved my waitress jad she was the best ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

I loved my waitress jad she was the best definitely will go back and refer me again

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choices for my meal and at a g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent choices for my meal and at a great price.

Pay attention to beer choices and availability as several of the draft beers where not available at 8:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Rebeccca was a awesome waiter. She was f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Rebeccca was a awesome waiter. She was funny and kept us entertained!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous as always, drinks were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was fabulous as always, drinks were really slow. Half done dinner before they came, ordered another one for round 2 of dinner and they didnt come until we asked for the check.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, , Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Had a great time. But the big Spanish ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a great time. But the big Spanish guy at the grill was very rude...and that can turn people away.. especially when I spent over 200.00...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fire and Ice was a great location for lu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fire and Ice was a great location for lunch with friends. The food was amazing and the service was great.

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

celebrated my sister birthday. our waitr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

celebrated my sister birthday. our waitress Becca was phenomenal, she was on top of everything... had a wonderful visit as always.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Tasting Menu, , Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, drinks and waiter were great. Mana ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food, drinks and waiter were great. Manager cancelled open table reservation despite us waiting in line and for no obvious reason [we were getting "your table was not ready" every time asked until it went to "you lost your reservation since you weren't seated on time" ]. That Delayed birthday party by 45 minutes until we argued our way back to the table. Attitude we got was not worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

I went with a few friends and one of my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I went with a few friends and one of my friends one year old daughter. The staff was wonderful and the food was delicious! It was the perfect noise level and excitement to have a hungry baby with us 😁 I would highly recommend this to anyone !

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, , Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our son's birthday. The food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Celebrating our son's birthday. The food was great and our servers, Anderson & Colleen, were very attentive. Great place!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boys and I love this place! There bur ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My boys and I love this place! There burgers are to die for and I love the creative drinks

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The selection of food to choose from was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The selection of food to choose from was adequate. The food was often time burnt after being cooked though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our first visit. Hostess and server were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our first visit. Hostess and server were friendly. The vegetables on the buffet looked on the verge of spoiling. I expected some entertainment from the cooks, but they didn't deliver. The ladies restroom was disgusting, and the decor looked tired. But the kids (young teens) were happy with their experience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

This is my 2nd trip to the Boston locati ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is my 2nd trip to the Boston location, we've also visited Providence. Like our previous Fire + Ice experience it was great. We brought our 6,9 & 18 year old kids who also loved it. Very good, fresh food, and you don't break the bank to visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went here for my birthday for the 1st ti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Went here for my birthday for the 1st time. It was really nice, good food not noisy at all. Peaceful loved it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Vegan, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been several times, but doubt we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We have been several times, but doubt we will be back. I had to track down the waitress for beverages, and my food was overcooked and barely edible. Had to ask twice for drinks. sat us next to the door, when I asked if another table was open, since it's the busiest path, they said no (but I could see at least a dozen or more open tables unused). If you are going to have tables unused, pick the ones that are not in traffic or near the bathroom.

Also noticed food choices are slimmer than before.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Long wait to have food prepared. Empty f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Long wait to have food prepared. Empty food stations and sauces. Food on the floor everywhere. Had a 7:30 p.m. reservation and still had to wait close to 30 minutes to get seated at a table too small for our party size - asked to be moved which resulted in an overworked waiter so our entire meal was 2.5 hours! Very disappointed and won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

From the moment we walked in the staff ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

From the moment we walked in the staff was un friendly had a reservation for 7:30 didn't get seated till 8:00 , ordered drinks at the bar while we waited to be seated that we never got , the bar tender was in a bad mood and pretty much ignored us the whole time , when we finally got seated the table was dirty , took the waitress a good 10 minutes just to show up at the table , then only returned once to give me the check , the whole restaurant was dirty , the only fun part was watching the food being grilled , all in all very disappointed in my experience. I wouldn't go bad ,which is even more disappointing because I have heard a lot of good things about the place

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I usually love Fire & Ice, but I think t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I usually love Fire & Ice, but I think they have grown too big and can't keep up with the increased number of people. The line to check in for a reservation was long. Just to be told to check in again when the entire party was there. That's fine, I get it. It tough to get a drink at the bar since the bartender was making all the drinks for upstairs. I don't understand how only one bartender could support that. Needless to say, we never got drinks while we waited for the rest of the party. I was directed to the back of the line when I attempted to notify the hostess we were all here. There should be separate lines or some solution as this is totally not acceptable when I've already waited once and the line is 15 mins long.

The food is good, but due to the insane rush, the cooks were not as friendly as they usually were. We expected and got long lines. Otherwise, service upstairs was fine. Nothing spectacular but once again the level of service was expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

Always a fun time. It was very busy as ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a fun time. It was very busy as it was a holiday, but the staff kept things moving. It was hard to keep the sauce area stocked and clean, but they tried their best. Waiter was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun place to go and watch your food get ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fun place to go and watch your food get cooked- good food. Noise level - pretty loud so best to get a booth a little out of the way

Tags: Casual, Fun, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Food used to be better in Backbay. We u ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food used to be better in Backbay.

We used to be regular customers on the Cambridge one that sadly closed. We expected the same quality at BackBay however in my opinion it fell short of my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Drinks aren't worth the price and servic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Drinks aren't worth the price and service was slow. 38$ on 3 small shots. Food was ok closed Ice cream bar first... never got any

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I like the restaurant, but I have two sq ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I like the restaurant, but I have two squabbles- 1.) The noise level was too loud for a family eating scene. 2.) the price of my receipt was WAY GREATER than advertised by the menu. It jumped from an estimated $90 meal to almost $130 for 4 people!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, , Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

I was very disappointed with our dinner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was very disappointed with our dinner at Fire and Ice in Boston. We go every year to celebrate a birthday, but we have always gone to the restaurant in Cambridge. This was our first time in the Boston restaurant, and will probably be our last.

The booth bench we sat on had a HUGE rip in it (about 2 feet long), exposing the foam inside. The cocktails we ordered were completely watered down.

The food itself was mediocre.

You have to pay extra for dessert.

They increased their price to $27/person because it was New Year's Eve (4:45 pm reservation). That is outrageously expensive for this type of restaurant, and you didn't get anything special for the extra money.

All in all, it was a total rip-off and not good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Came here for my birthday. Cool setting. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Came here for my birthday. Cool setting. Dark with splashes of color. We sat at a round "private" table. Seemed like they were going to repaint/update walls in our area however. Anthony is an awesome waiter. He was funny and attentive. So many options and combos for food. Something for everyone for sure. Pick your own raw food on ice and take it to the grill. Super easy and fun to choose whatever you want! Huge drinks. Try the firebowl, does not dissapoint. Little loud at times but it's Boston at night so it was whatever. I'm sure my friends and I may have added to that too. 😉 Would definitely visit again. Something you have to experience at least once. Thanks Fire + Ice for the great time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for 4:00 pm, arrived ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had reservations for 4:00 pm, arrived on time but still had to wait at least 15 minutes to be told we could go to our table. Once upstairs, there was plenty of empty tables, yet there was a wait. Didn't make sense to me! Our server did a fantastic job! Not the first time she has been our server! Thanks Coleen! Food was good and fresh, which was great! The woman's rest room could have used some attention. The floor in there is always sticky, and there was trash on the floor...kind of a turn off.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made a reservation the week before , b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I made a reservation the week before , but when I got there I had to wait 40 minutes to be seated. The same amount of time that walk ins had to wait, I was very annoyed. Then it took them 30 minutes just to get our drinks. The waitress was nice and the chefs were very friendly. Its a fun place to go with a group.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We showed up 30 minutes before our reser ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We showed up 30 minutes before our reservation and still waited 70 minutes for a table. What is the purpose of having a reservation if you are just going to the bottom of the wait list anyway? When we finally got our table, the waitress spilled our drinks all over the people at the

table next to us, including all over their meals.

I have had good experiences with Fire + Ice before, but will definitely think twice about going back now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

We have been there before and the experi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been there before and the experience was fine. But on this night they were very unorganized. Running late as I had to yell at them to honor Opentable to seat us which then they did. Food was ok. The restrooms were horribly dirty and no paper. The whole place was awful and not a good way to celebrate a night out with my family. I used a 125$ gir certificate I am sorry to have had to spend. The management should ensure there is enough staff to work and clean or not allow Open table reservations every 15 min. The waiting area was super crowded as we left and they were angry people waiting before and after out visit. NOT GOOD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was really fresh! Clean and ver ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was really fresh! Clean and very friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The hostess was very rude and not helpfu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The hostess was very rude and not helpful, nor a happy presence when you enter. Didn't go along with the upbeat vibe of the other staff nor the restaurant. Cooks were fun and engaging. Wait was long for having shown up 5 minutes late to a reservation.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

On our recent stay ion Boston, we chose ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

On our recent stay ion Boston, we chose to dine at the Fire & Ice-Berkeley Street location. We made a reservation, but were told when we checked in that it may be at least a half hour as they had several walk-ins ahead of us! I am not sure what that meant if we had made a reservation ahead of time. We enjoyed the concept and the amazing choices we had to pick from. We thought the grill masters would have been a little more entertaining, but rather there was not much interaction, and we felt at times to be a little agitated with our questions and requests. We enjoyed ourselves as it was our first time dining there, but I do feel there is plenty of room for improvement.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

awesome place for a big group. Big selec ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

awesome place for a big group.

Big selection. Excellent waitress

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would have been helpful to know it wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It would have been helpful to know it was college night and that the items available would be limited as a result.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome birthday experience

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Awesome birthday experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fun to create your own dish.

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food, fun to create your own dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time celebrating my son's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my son's 19th birthday party. He loved the music.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure if my previous response was sen ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Not sure if my previous response was sent through.

When Fire and Ice first opened it was all the rage. Now, it is a bit "shop worn".

The food was fine and the waitress was fine it was just the appearance of the place that wasn't.

It certainly needs a renovation. I was disappointed in how it looked.

Please pass this on to Fire and Ice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.