About Fiola Mare

3050 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Fiola Mare offers world-class dining and hospitality complete with an enchanting view of the Potomac River. Evoking the seaside dining experience found along the coasts of Italy and the Mediterranean, Fiola Mare specializes in the freshest, most pristine seafood prepared with elegant simplicity through delicate and subtle additions of color, flavor and texture. Fiola Mare is a place to enjoy the highest quality fish and shellfish, paired with the finest hospitality and service in the city in a picturesque environment.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm.

Cross Street:
31st Street and K Street NW, Entrance at 3100 K Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-0065

Website:
http://www.fiolamaredc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking can be found at our main entrance on 31st and the waterfront. Valet Parking is now available for lunch and brunch, Tuesday through Sunday from 11am to 3pm, and dinner, Monday through Friday from 5:30pm to midnight. Available for dinner Saturday and Sunday from 5pm to midnight and Sunday from 11am to 2:30pm. The cost is $16.

Street Parking and Garage Parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Fabio Trabocchi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact clarice@fioladc.com

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Fiola Mare is a stunning venue for both business and social events in the heart of Georgetown on the Potomac River. Whether you would like to entertain a select group of family, friends or clients, or host a large reception, we offer several possibilities for unforgettable events and special occasions.

Fiola Mare Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
District of Columbia
Best Food
District of Columbia
4 More
Best Service
District of Columbia
Scenic View
District of Columbia
Special Occasion
District of Columbia
Seafood
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

special occasion (397)
fit for foodies (375)
scenic view (364)
See All
romantic (248)
great for outdoor dining (202)
notable wine list (200)
hot spot (139)
great for lunch (122)
great for brunch (113)
vibrant bar scene (92)
neighborhood gem (83)
good for groups (82)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (9)
 (5)
 (4)
 (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1519 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Attention from all staff was enthusiasti ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Attention from all staff was enthusiastic and sincere......food is fantastic....I love Fiola Mare!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing atmosphere and superb service. ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Amazing atmosphere and superb service. My friend and I shared the burrata appetizer, porcini pasta and the mini donuts with caramel. All were excellent. We opened with 2 perfect cocktails too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PerfectIon!

Dined 6 days ago

Of particular note was our waiter- polite, efficient, knowledgable!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal. Had the Ahi Tuna Carpacc ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious meal. Had the Ahi Tuna Carpaccio to start, and the Lobster Ravioli and Halibut as our meals, and all were outstanding. Joey the server couldn't have been nicer. A+ all around.

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

I was an absolute fan of Fiola Mare but ...

Dined 6 days ago

I was an absolute fan of Fiola Mare but now I find that the price/performance ratio is out of balance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hearty congratulations to the management ...

Dined 7 days ago

Hearty congratulations to the management! Our server was pleasant & knowledgeable about the food being served. Our guest's birthday was acknowledged in a delightfully subtle way. The well-controlled noise level in the upstairs Veranda Room is a rarity in the world of restaurants! And we send compliments from our guest, who is a retired professional chef herself!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant with incredible view ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Fabulous restaurant with incredible views of the Potomac. Service beyond impeccable! Food too outstanding to do justice in a description here. Fiola Mare is one of America's finest!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT IN EVERY WAY from start to finis ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

PERFECT IN EVERY WAY from start to finish. The best meal older New Yorkers had in DC out of 14 very good meals during the Washington National Opera's final Ring Cycle Week in mid May. Sheer pleasure on Sunday evening, May 22. Eager to return. Fiola Mare chefs, waitstaff, wine stewards, receptionists, valet parking staff work together exceedingly well. It was fun to see how easily they coordinated what they did to insure that patrons had a memorable experience. We shared two half orders of pasta, fish, spinach, potatoes, marchesa dessert, a good bottle of red wine. Our young waiter heard me say that I used to make creme fraiche ice cream and brought me a scoop to try. There are a variety of settings for dining and the receptionists work to accommodate requests. We asked for a large quiet table for two and received it in a lovely smaller section with good views of the other rooms and open kitchen. FIOLA MARE DESERVES 5 STARS. It could be a business school case study in how to run an exceptional restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal of the week!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My parents were in from out of town and we made the rounds of some of DC's finest restaurants and this was by far our best meal of the week! Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

EXCELLENT CARE

Dined on May 22, 2016

The manager went out of his way to make us comfortable by moving us to a table by the window. Sitting in the darker back looking towards the window was so hard on my eyes, and was hard to see my friend whose back was to the windows with the light shinning into mine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiola Mare is consistently great--especi ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Fiola Mare is consistently great--especially the service. Will continue to come back again and again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was excellent and worth the price . ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was excellent and worth the price . My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to DC and he booked Fiora for brunch and everything was Amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good, but not perfect enough to be great

Dined on May 21, 2016

When a restaurant is ranked as the top one in a major city, there are certain expectations for a near-perfect experience. And that may be difficult for a restaurant as large as Fiola Mare to deliver. We went there for lunch/brunch on a rainy Saturday and with graduations underway, it was very busy. I had the Colors of the Garden salad, which was fine (and fortunately wasn't overdressed), the Lemon Pancakes (good, but the fruit on top and mascarpone were the best parts of it), and the Bomboloni for dessert (it was special to get donut holes just out of the oven). My guest had the Spaghetti with King Crab, which he finished completely, noting that he normally doesn't finish all of an entrée, and had lived in Alaska and had consumed a lot of King Crab while there. The food was very good, but it was quite noisy - we were seated on the covered patio area inside, which might have had less soundproofing that the regular interior rooms. Fiola Mare had the largest number of staff I've ever seen at a restaurant, but they probably could have checked in more often. One unique aspect of the service was that it seemed like each dish was presented by a different person; I'm not sure if they were the one who had prepared the item, but each showed pride in presenting the dish. I thought our server said that there were unlimited Bellinis with the brunch, but no one ever offered another after I finished the first (which was virgin). I'm wondering how different the experience would have been at dinner than at lunch, but we were overall pleased with this restaurant selection.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The most AMAZING place to dine period! ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The most AMAZING place to dine period! We have been here several times and have taken everyone who comes to visit. Top Notch service, Amazing food, the most friendly staff. We LOVE this place. Will always come here FIRST!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Meal

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The overall experience was good, but the ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The overall experience was good, but the value was just not there. The uni foie gras "shabu" we got for appetizer was $38 with barely any uni or foie gras. We finished that in one mouthful each and that was with a chunk of bread. The lamb pasta and the frutti di mare pasta were fantastic (we got half portions so to try more things) but the grilled halibut was underwhelming. All that + 2 glasses of white wine set us back over $200. I understand you also pay for the beautiful view of the river but I just can't justify the cost. We dine out a lot in LA and believe me, prices here are not cheap but I rarely leave a restaurant feeling resentful for paying something that was way overvalued.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There's a reason it's #1

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

This was our first time dining at Fiola Mare and we couldn't have been more pleased. From the service, to the cocktails, to the wine and the food, everything was really wonderful..

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy to have found this for our so ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very happy to have found this for our son's graduation...

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent meal and wonderful service.

Dined on May 19, 2016

My parents, who are real foodies, visited us and we took them to Fiola Mare. They said it was the best meal they have had in Washington and as good as anything in NY or Paris. Service was quick, knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion lives up to recommendations

Dined on May 18, 2016

My husband and I arrived before our reservation to enjoy happy hour before the restaurant got busy. Nam and Radion were excellent bartenders; excellent recommendations for cocktails. We shared a duo of oysters and the light calamari with a hint of spiced and refreshing aioli. For our main course, my husband ordered the grilled Mahi Mahi and I ordered a cioppino like dish with clams, mussels, capers and a couple of generous sized portions of monkfish - fabulous flavors. Will, a highly knowledgeable sommelier and excellent with clients, spent time with us and recommended two delicious wines - I have an appreciation for old world wines and his extensive insight for Italian wines is much appreciated. I now have to order the two bottles we enjoyed a glass from with our dinner. We were surprised with a duo of chocolate covered mousse medallions after dinner. Thank you for such wonderful attention and making the evening a memorable celebration!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply my first choice in DC for food, a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Simply my first choice in DC for food, ambiance and excellent service. Whether business or special occasions, they never disappoint

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant with exceptional food and service. Wonderful spot for a special event or celebration. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose this restaurant because it came ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We chose this restaurant because it came out on top of the Washington Post 100. We expected the food to be great, but it was fabulous. Each dish was beautifully presented and the sauces (where applicable) were perfectly suited. The seafood mixed grill was wonderful with each piece having its own distinctive flavor and not stifled by sameness. The waiter was most accommodating and very personable and our conversation with him was most pleasant. Dessert is a bit pricey considering its size.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptionally good food with a terrific ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Exceptionally good food with a terrific view and wonderful service. We started with two appetizers: scallops and burrata, both of which were top-notch. I had monkfish and my friend had lobster ravioli, both delicious. Service could not have been more attentive.

food4
ambience4
service4

Seafood Lover's Delight ...but don't loo ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Seafood Lover's Delight ...but don't look for "the norm"!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our birthday dinne ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our birthday dinner at Fiola Mare. The service was impeccable and the food was beautiful and beyond delicious. One of our favorite meals anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. The staff was ver ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful experience. The staff was very professional, yet warm and welcoming. The food was deliciously prepared and beautifully presented. Lovely space with a cool vibe. Great location on the Potomac. Awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent seafood restaurant in Georgetown

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great quality seafood and views. Don't miss the seafood tower and grilled squid!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view, Awesome food, Impeccable service

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great view of the Potomac and all the activity on the waterfront in the evening, beautiful service, they have thought of everything and the food is brilliant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Saturday brunch. Georgetown water view ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Saturday brunch. Georgetown water view outside with the life on the Harbor Place? What could be wrong. Service was a little slow, but they were busy. Food is just flawless. This was worth repeating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to Fiola Mare for our 38th anniversary. The total experience was one of, if not the best I have had in DC. I had requested a table with a water view, but we were placed behind the register. I expressed my disappointment and Elle, the manager, not only got us a splendid table, but, while we were waiting for it to be cleared, presented us with two glasses of proseccco. She had a very warm and professional attitude. Our waiter was exceptional, Antonio. Although he clearly had a lot of tables, he never gave you the feeling that you were being rushed. Great service, charming, with a sense of humor. A little complimentary taste of the rose sancerre, and a little muscato to go with our dessert. The food was truly amazing: branzino crudo was fresh and tasty; the rigatoni with octopus ragu amazing; the simple Grand Adriatic mixed grilled fish extraordinary; and the warm strawberry and rhubarb crostata a perfect finishing touch. The sommellier directed us to a great wine at a reasonable price. Yes, the place is expensive, but for a special occasion - clearly worth it. We look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our foreign relatives enjoyed the food.

Dined on May 13, 2016

While our party of five enjoyed our lunch and the service was great, we had asked for a table by the window but we were told you do not have such accommodations. Is it something that can be accommodated in the future by putting tables together for instance when there is a party larger than 4.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was very good, as usual; but the se ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was very good, as usual; but the service was not as good as previous visits to this restaurant. The front desk was unable to confirm my reservation and looked confused; the wait staff was arrogant, seemed to question our choice of wine, the request for bread took some time. However good the food, bad service ruins it all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Seafood

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were not up for a big dinner and wanted seafood - so chose this restaurant because of the reviews. We each had a glass of wine and shared the Mixed Grill - which was plenty for us. The waiter was very attentive and did a good job of trying to get us to order extra wine, salads, starters, desserts, etc. - when we didn't order any extras we felt a little on the cheap side - but, it was just the right amount for us. The mixed grill (not sure what it's called on the menu) was outstanding and more than plenty for the 2 of us to share. The presentation was great and the flavors were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent location and outstanding menu

Dined on May 12, 2016

During a visit in DC we have been at Fiola Mare for a private dining, following a recommendation of a friend. It was a very nice evening with an excellent, outstanding menu. Wine list is extensive and well staffed. Moderate noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

a few pricey restaurant in town . Food i ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

a few pricey restaurant in town . Food is good and service is a bit above average and should be great for the money that we spent. Also the restaurant seems very arrogant when making reservation as they act like the in-place to be. Compare with other excellent & pricey restaurants in D.C. one would expect a much better service in Fiola. Service is at best just average

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice experience but felt very rushed. Ve ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Nice experience but felt very rushed. Very busy place. It was better last year.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiola Mare maintains excellence

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

This time we took a visitor from France fir a long and leisurely European style lunch. Even though our guest had lived in DC for a long time, he had left 16 years ago and was quite skeptical about the food in DC. Fiola Mare changed his mind. The Welfleet oysters, fresh and briny, appealed even to his French palate. The signature lobster ravioli was found to be delicious, as well as the complimentary crudo plate. The piece de resistance was the whole turbot, baked to perfection, boned perfectly by the server and served with several side dishes. The superb wine list provided the perfect choices to accompany this meal, which ended with several samples of the desert list. From the welcome to the departure, service, ambiance, food and wine were all perfect, convincing our French visitor that we can face the best of France!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellence and so was th ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The service was excellence and so was the food! Our server recommendation were outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

First time there... won't be the last... ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

First time there... won't be the last... unfortunately from out of town and will have to wait 'til next year. A member of our party commented that it was the best meal she'd ever had in DC. The fish is FRESH and the preparation perfect. The lobster ravioli is a very special dish. Went at the recommendation of someone we know who lives in DC ... and it still was an unexpectedly wonderful evening all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.