About Fiola Mare

3050 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Fiola Mare offers world-class dining and hospitality complete with an enchanting view of the Potomac River. Evoking the seaside dining experience found along the coasts of Italy and the Mediterranean, Fiola Mare specializes in the freshest, most pristine seafood prepared with elegant simplicity through delicate and subtle additions of color, flavor and texture. Fiola Mare is a place to enjoy the highest quality fish and shellfish, paired with the finest hospitality and service in the city in a picturesque environment.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm.

Cross Street:
31st Street and K Street NW, Entrance at 3100 K Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-0065

Website:
http://www.fiolamaredc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking can be found at our main entrance on 31st and the waterfront. Valet Parking is now available for lunch and brunch, Tuesday through Sunday from 11am to 3pm, and dinner, Monday through Friday from 5:30pm to midnight. Available for dinner Saturday and Sunday from 5pm to midnight and Sunday from 11am to 2:30pm. The cost is $16.

Street Parking and Garage Parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Fabio Trabocchi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact clarice@fioladc.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare

Private Dining

Fiola Mare is a stunning venue for both business and social events in the heart of Georgetown on the Potomac River. Whether you would like to entertain a select group of family, friends or clients, or host a large reception, we offer several possibilities for unforgettable events and special occasions.

Fiola Mare Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Exclusive
Best Overall
Exclusive
Best Food
Exclusive
2 More
Scenic View
Exclusive
Seafood
Exclusive

special occasion (355)
scenic view (341)
fit for foodies (327)
See All
great for outdoor dining (246)
romantic (209)
notable wine list (188)
hot spot (116)
great for lunch (109)
great for brunch (107)
good for groups (76)
vibrant bar scene (69)
neighborhood gem (62)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The heat level was uncomfortably high in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The heat level was uncomfortably high inside the main dining room. While it was very hot and humid outside and they have an open kitchen, that did not excuse their failure to properly provide for such conditions considering that they consider themselves and charge as a high end restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Fiola Mare is the perfect spot to enjoy ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fiola Mare is the perfect spot to enjoy great food and a beautiful view of the Potomac. The dinner choices are ceative and beautifully presented. Our server made us feel special like we were his only guests. If you have only one night to eat out, Fiola Mare should be your choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice but not excellent as I expecte ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice but not excellent as I expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food. Fiola Mare is definitely a m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great Food. Fiola Mare is definitely a must for anyone who enjoy great food , great atmosphere at a great value .

We have never been disappointed and usually make this place our special occasion location.

You want to impress someone, just take them there and let your server do the rest.

The Grill sea food platter for two is a must try.

You cannot go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A well-deserved and extremely rare 5 rat ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

A well-deserved and extremely rare 5 rating across the board. The food was excellent, especially the squid ink campanelle. The timing was perfect; and the martinis were well-done and reasonably priced. Everything was classy and attentive. When my wife spilled something on her dress, the maitre d' came over and asked if she would like something to help clean it off. She didn't need anything, but it was impressive that someone even noticed. The tables are well-spaced and it was easy to hear each other in a very full restaurant, which made an excellent meal even more enjoyable. When the server heard that we were having a delayed celebration of our 33rd anniversary, there were a few very considerate extras and a note from the owners. We would go back again without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as its reputation. Outstanding ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

As good as its reputation. Outstanding service, great and creative seafood, which tastes like it has just been pulled from the water. Great experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of 3 found the service and foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our party of 3 found the service and food disappointing. While very gracious, servers were slow to appear and apparently too rushed to attend to details. Food was disappointingly disapointing (!), after a prior happier visit to this restaurant. And prices/serving sizes seemed out of sync: too high/too small (appetizers only). Most important, the food was slightly disappointing in quality.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Extremely over priced. Portions are inc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Extremely over priced. Portions are incredibly small and taste is mediocre at best. I've been wanting to dine at Fiola Mare for a year, I was so disappointed. I ordered the lobster ravioli and not even 5mins later the food was on my table ... Faster than fast food ? I was in and out in 35mins. I saw the microscopic portion and anticipated the taste would be so good that it wouldn't matter, well no, this dish was tasteless. The only thing this place is good for is drinks. We left with a big hole in our pockets and starving. We stopped by Farmers Fishers Bakers for an actual dinner afterwards.

Save your money, do not go here !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

One of the most memorable dining experie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the most memorable dining experiences of my life. Great food and even better service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great as usual...gotta try the seafood G ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great as usual...gotta try the seafood Gazpacho...wow! Love the atmosphere right on the water...Can't beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall excellent service and food but n ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall excellent service and food but noise level was not good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dorin is the best waiter we've experienc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dorin is the best waiter we've experienced fir many years. Treated us great. Very personable and professional. Dinner was a wonderful experience and 5 star. Will visit again next trip to DC.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic (or fintastic?! :))! Excellent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic (or fintastic?! :))! Excellent food, service, atmosphere, and wine list. We were so excited to visit your lovely restaurant based on all the excellent reviews in The Washingtonian and it did not disappoint. The service was terrific and the food and wine were superb. Our dessert was both beautiful and delicious, a rarity in restaurants these days.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The level of service is excellent from t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The level of service is excellent from the discreet and super talented bartenders, chit chats with les somoliers (yes they have more than one-FUN). The bar is fresh, awash in white and draws a fairly sophisticated crowd. The table service was impeccable, halibut was perfect, the tuna tartare luscious and the drinks are gorgeous, artistically crafted and herbally infused.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good. However, I came here ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was good. However, I came here for my wife's 40th birthday. I sent a note ahead of time that it was a birthday celebration and followed up with a phone call. It was also mentioned to the manager, while I was there. I asked one of the servers if they could do something for the birthday and she said yes. I was just hoping for a candle so at least I could get a picture. Nothing, except for a passing happy birthday. First time I have ever had such an experience at any restaurant, let alone one where I spent over $300. One of the reasons why I picked this restaurant is that others said they had a great birthday experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Every time we come here, we like it more ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Every time we come here, we like it more (except for the fact that, every time we come here, we seem to spend more!). Highlights this time -- the burrata salad, mixed grill seafood, and foreign policy cocktail (all repeats because we liked them so much a previous time), and the green tomato gazpacho and marchesi dessert (which were both new to us and qualify as the two most terrific dishes we've had there so far). The cherry spumoni dessert was also really good. And getting a menu printed with a birthday greeting was a nice touch. Fiola Mare has rapidly claimed the "our favorite DC restaurant" spot -- just wish we could afford to go there on a more regular basis!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great seafood. Everything tastes very f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great seafood. Everything tastes very fresh. Wine list is a little on the pricey side, but to be expected I guess.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unfortunately the spot where we sat, in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately the spot where we sat, in the corner with window view was very busy with waiters coming in and out.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing. My wife and I celebrated our 20 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing. My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and I can't think of a better place!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an anniversary meal there last week. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had an anniversary meal there last week. I had only mentioned it in the Open Table booking, but they had prepared 'Happy Anniversary' on the menus which the chef also signed. Service was exceptional and food delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. When we could not d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding service. When we could not decide between all of the different options, the waiter created a custom made 3-course tasting menu out of the main course options (and priced it accordingly). Fantastic, romantic, and definitely will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an outstanding meal! My wife an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was an outstanding meal! My wife and I have been wanting to come here for a while, and I knew it had to be special since we were celebrating (belatedly) our anniversary. This place truly delivered. We had delicious drinks and two fantastic entrees. My wife had the halibut. I, of course, had to honor my Italian heritage by having the Lobster ravioli. Eccezionale! It would have made my ancestors proud. The dish was buttery and flavorful, without being heavy. We ended with the bombolonis! Delizioso!! Since we were celebrating, they even gave us a small slice of mango cake too, complimentary. A really nice personal touch. Service was great too. My wife gave it a thumbs up as well - so I knew I wouldn't be in the doghouse. Grazie Fiola Mare for giving us a special evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is elegant, by the waterfront, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The place is elegant, by the waterfront, fantastic view. Very knowledgeable & beautiful staff. The food was magnificent! Had the Spanish Branzino which melts in your mouth had me begging for more. The color of garden salad is a must!!! Lovethis place!!! Go Go go!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced mediocre food with good views ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Overpriced mediocre food with good views. If this appeals to you then by all means reserve a tablessing here.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

One of the finest dining experience we h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of the finest dining experience we have had , and we have been to many countries !

Will reccomend this restaurant to anyone going to Washington . A must?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiola Mare is one of the very few, if no ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Fiola Mare is one of the very few, if not the only, Washington DC restaurants that never disappoints. Over the course of several visits the service, food and hospitality have been extraordinary. The care that the restaurant takes to make the diner feel comfortable, informed about the food and wine selections, and restaurant philosophy are un-paralleled in the metropolitan area. The restaurant is not inexpensive, however, it is well worth the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyable lunch, with excellent service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Enjoyable lunch, with excellent service and a good wine list. Food fell a bit short however, especially given the prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was great all around. Our s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The service was great all around. Our server did a great job explaining the menu and providing his recommendations. The food was fabulous. Everything was good. This is THE place to go for seafood. Price was reasonable for an upscale restaurant. I will definitely try to come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great reservations and wait staff...very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great reservations and wait staff...very accommodating and fun. Wonderful for outdoor dining and a fabulous view right on the Potomac. Our meals were delicious. I had the Lobster Ravioli and my husband had a veal dish. Both were excellent. Very reasonably priced. Look forward to our return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiola Mare does not disappoint! Food an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fiola Mare does not disappoint! Food and service were excellent. The restaurant is a bit on the loud side, but not overly so. Definitely worth the trip. Prices are expensive, but the quality is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiola Mare, read simply was one of the m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fiola Mare, read simply was one of the most incredible brunch experiences I've ever had! From the bread basket filled with all sorts of fresh delicious breads to the rich Tahitian Vanilla panna cotta that finished our meal off we were blown away - a beautiful ambiance and attentive service. This was incredible, I will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations well over a month a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We made reservations well over a month ahead of time for our 2 year anniversary. We requested a table outside or inside with a view of the water. When we arrived, there were 2 women checking in ahead of us, the hostess asked them if they would like to be seated inside or outside. When we checked in, the host didn't give us an option and seated us inside with no view. We requested a better view and he seated us a little closer to the windows, but our view was still completely obscured. There were 2 open tables close to us that were adjacent to the windows, and asked if we could sit at one of them. The host told us that those tables were reserved for groups of 4 people only. Minutes later, the exact same host seated the 2 women in one of those tables (it was only a group of 2, no one else joined them). And the other table remained unused our entire time there. It appears that the host was discriminating for some reason. Our waiter and other service staff were good, but our experience was tainted by the discriminatory practices of the seating host.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was excellent. Too many dishes ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent. Too many dishes contained pork or ham or bacon or prosciutto which I and my guests do not eat, but the restaurant, when asked, said they could make the dishes without these ingredients -- and they did. The option of leaving them out was not mentioned on the menu. The ambience on the DC waterfront was super, especially on a beautiful Sunday where we had a window table. Only negative was the price for food and parking. Perhaps this is reasonable for DC, but $16 for valet parking is much higher than I have paid in other DC restaurants. $8-10 is more typical. I found the experience at the restaurant outstanding; my dining companions felt it was very good, but not at the top of the DC dining scene.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My last visit to Fiola Mare was a brunch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My last visit to Fiola Mare was a brunch with a big group of six friends. My girlfriend and I had two couples visiting from out of town and we wanted to show them a true DC brunch experience. Naturally, Fiola Mare was the default choice.

Bringing people to dine at this amazing establishment for the first time has become one of my greatest past times. That moment when you see a friend's eye's light up at the taste of the delicious food is unlike anything else.

Even more impressive than the food is the INCREDIBLE service the top notch servers provide. While I typically request a server in advance, neither of my go-to's were working that day. I am so glad I got the chance to meet Mali. He is an artist in his presentation. He went above and beyond the call of duty to make our dining experience an absolute delight. I highly recommend you to request him at your next visit.

If you are eating at any other restaurant in the city YOU ARE MISSING OUT!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall excellent experience. Food was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall excellent experience. Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always when we want a great meal wit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always when we want a great meal with exceptional service we will book a reservation at FM. Our meal was one of the best we've had -we wish we had more room for additional plates.

One suggestion would be to add or make a change to the dessert menu. My husband will not order anything but the bombolini. I love tiramisu and always hope to see it on the menu.

Thanks for providing premier service with an outstanding cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent -- service superb; th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was excellent -- service superb; the waiter recommended we split a salad and pasta course, which was a great idea. We really enjoyed the evening with a very good pace set by the waiter. The Som even recommended a better Cabernet wine which was fabulous!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Seated under an umbrella on the waterfro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Seated under an umbrella on the waterfront , where we could watch the passers by on the boardwalk and the boating action on the potomac was an enjoyable way to spend our final day in DC. We chose the 3 course menu for $32 each: a refreshing and delicious salad ,followed by perfectly cooked sea bass then a fresh berry dessert. The Provence rose from the extensive wine list was a great match. The service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 5 star experience in every sense of th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A 5 star experience in every sense of the phrase. Home to my favorite pasta dish (the Chittara) in the US and probably the best service in the DC area. Everyone from the server to the sommelier to the management seems committed to making your experience the best it can be. I have been here several time for business and for pleasure; small groups and large. Always impeccable. Do not miss the Chittara or get the ½ order and split the fish deboned table side. You will be pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.