About Fiola Mare

3050 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Fiola Mare offers world-class dining and hospitality complete with an enchanting view of the Potomac River. Evoking the seaside dining experience found along the coasts of Italy and the Mediterranean, Fiola Mare specializes in the freshest, most pristine seafood prepared with elegant simplicity through delicate and subtle additions of color, flavor and texture. Fiola Mare is a place to enjoy the highest quality fish and shellfish, paired with the finest hospitality and service in the city in a picturesque environment.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm.

Cross Street:
31st Street and K Street NW, Entrance at 3100 K Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-0065

Website:
http://www.fiolamaredc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking can be found at our main entrance on 31st and the waterfront. Valet Parking is now available for lunch and brunch, Tuesday through Sunday from 11am to 3pm, and dinner, Monday through Friday from 5:30pm to midnight. Available for dinner Saturday and Sunday from 5pm to midnight and Sunday from 11am to 2:30pm. The cost is $16.

Street Parking and Garage Parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Fabio Trabocchi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact clarice@fioladc.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
  • Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare
Fiola Mare

Private Dining

Fiola Mare is a stunning venue for both business and social events in the heart of Georgetown on the Potomac River. Whether you would like to entertain a select group of family, friends or clients, or host a large reception, we offer several possibilities for unforgettable events and special occasions.

Fiola Mare Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
District of Columbia
3 More
Scenic View
District of Columbia
Seafood
District of Columbia
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

special occasion (392)
scenic view (375)
fit for foodies (363)
See All
great for outdoor dining (256)
romantic (234)
notable wine list (208)
hot spot (131)
great for brunch (122)
great for lunch (117)
good for groups (83)
vibrant bar scene (82)
neighborhood gem (73)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (15)
Sort By:
Newest
1601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning water front dining, impeccable ...

Dined 3 days ago

Stunning water front dining, impeccable food, stellar service, beautiful decor inside as well! Loved the farm to table salads, and the lobster ravioli was awesome. Would definitely return again when in DC!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant was excellent. A real t ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

this restaurant was excellent. A real triple threat: great food, beautiful location and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious, but it was extre ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious, but it was extremely expensive. Because the portion sizes were so small, I left satisfied but ended up being very hungry only one hour later. I think portion size-related issues may have also been due to what I ordered. Because I cannot eat dairy, I had to opt out of ordering some of the most delicious-looking entrees and stick to smaller, raw dishes.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant takes itself too seriousl ...

Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant takes itself too seriously. The personnel fall all over each other, at the entrance, at the check in desk, in the dining room, but they seem to fulfill their assigned duties but do not work as a team helping one another for the benefit of the customer. Thus, for example, the drinks arrived after the appetizer had been served. Fortunately the food was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food and ambiance were outstanding. ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food and ambiance were outstanding. The service was a bit frayed, but cheerful and well intended. E.g., providing a spoon for my companion to use with her amuse bouche proved to be a challenge requiring several attempts. It was not easy to get a drink before dinner while sitting on the porch. Once that was accomplished, the waiter asked if I wanted to start a tab. I said, "Yes." No staff member ever reappeared to ask if we wanted a refill. However, all things considered, notice the first sentence.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Exceptional food, very attentive service ...

Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional food, very attentive service. The wine was good but expensive especially for the very small amount. It is pricy, but the food is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Genuine fresh fish and seafood, just lik ...

Dined 5 days ago

Genuine fresh fish and seafood, just like in Italy

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was our third time there. My only o ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was our third time there. My only objection is if you call u can not get a person on the phone. Not very personal

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way. Everything f ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding in every way. Everything from the freshness of the seafood to the perfection of the pasta is a winner. Then seafood tower was exceptional and it was nice the composition has been tweaked just a little so that there is a little more of the really prime items and fewer of the smaller "tastes" of things. The whole branzino is our favorite and always grilled to perfection, so moist and flavorful. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and were made to feel welcome and special from the greetings to the flowers on the table and the menus with anniversary wishes on them. Never a disappointment, always a delight.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, fresh flavors and nic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, fresh flavors and nice presentation. Great outdoor seating. I especially liked our waitress' straightforward explanation of dishes and her ability to steer us in what turned out to be great choices. It is expensive but you get a nice experience so you feel your money was well spent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic dinner in Geogetown but felt ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

A fantastic dinner in Geogetown but felt as if we were back on the Amalfi coast! Loved every item we selected, lobster ravioli ,prawns, salmon, etc. can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Too noisy. Attentive service. Good prese ...

Dined 7 days ago

Too noisy. Attentive service. Good presentation. Varied menu. Excellent wine/cocktail list

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Let me start out by saying that the food ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Let me start out by saying that the food at Fiola Mare is excellent. My wife had the crab cake and wilted spinach and I had the health conscious lunch 3 course meal. Neither of us were drinking any alcohol. I just had tap water and my wife asked for an iced tea. I was a little surprised that the water wasn't chilled or had any ice in it since it was a very hot day out. It took a while for my wife to get an iced tea. 2 or 3 other tables had ordered wine and they got it immediately after ordering and it was probably 10 minutes to get her tea. They were not busy this day either. When our main courses arrived my wife had asked for another glass of iced tea. It never arrived but at least 3 waiters came up to us and said it was coming soon. We were there for at least another hour and never did get that second glass of tea. The waiters there that day while they asked a few times how our meal was really didn't seem all that interested in our answer. It was like they were just programmed to ask.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FM outdid itself yet again! Kudos to Che ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

FM outdid itself yet again! Kudos to Chef Brinn! From A to Z, from the delicious Pink Moon oysters, to the green tomato gazpacho, to the subtly spicy Hamachi, to the wonderful al dente bucatini all'amatriciana, to the perfectly cooked Dover soles, to the delightful deserts, it was a total experience, complemented by excellent wines for the fabulous FM wine list... Service, as usual, was great. Our server was very kind to remember some of our idiosyncrasies (we like the ends of the addictive bread from Bread Furst). The Maitresse d' is a pleasant and very efficient. All the staff, from the reception to the helpers, were absolutely great, making our lunch exceptionally enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Sigh, the was a wedding anniversary cele ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Sigh, the was a wedding anniversary celebration. We wanted a restaurant with great food, but also great atmosphere and a sense of intimacy. Fiola Mare came across as a bit of a factory--lots of different servers, and so forth--just too impersonal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 42nd Anniversary and were ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Celebrated our 42nd Anniversary and were treated as VIPs. I am not a big seafood eater, but their tastes and presentations were excellent. We will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I was very surprised the lobster ravioli ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I was very surprised the lobster ravioli was only 2 raviolis with a clump of lobster, overpriced for $23. Our dessert was $16. Our waiter was stuffy. The bread was hard and not good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

The dinner was ok but definitely not wor ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The dinner was ok but definitely not worth $270.00. The portions were tiny. We left hungry. The server was upset he only got a $40.00 tip. Service was rather lame to begin with. Meal was undercooked n had to send it back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Beautiful location, really loud inside, ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Beautiful location, really loud inside, our waiter had too many tables and I think we were the table that suffered, we sat for tens of minutes without even seeing our waiter. Had reservations from weeks ago, I had asked for a nice scenic table - what I got was a corner booth at an intersection of people running around. Food was incredible, would definitely come back hoping for better service and seating. 100% honest

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

beautiful space. great staff. VERY VER ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

beautiful space. great staff. VERY VERY HIGH END. save your pennies!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I am a regular customer and organized a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I am a regular customer and organized a Father's Day lunch, which was unfortunately not the best experience we have had so far, due to the very slow service, which is usually not the case.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate a special occas ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place to celebrate a special occasion or just an ordinary night out. Our server was extremely knowledge and helpful in answering any questions, which led me to ordering the cobia, which was everything he said it would be. Oysters were some of the best we've had, and can't go wrong with the smoked mashed potatoes. From the comprehensive wine list to desert they never skipped a beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is such a gem by the rive ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant is such a gem by the river. Food looks and tastes amazing. Waitresses have a lot of patience to explain you each item on the menu and make wonderful recommendations. Very rich wine list indeed, we picked a Tuscan white wine at the end and it was great. If you haven't tried this restaurant, definitely book a table to bring friends of significant other. I will go back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, great outdoor dining, mi ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food, great outdoor dining, mixes a wonderful drink - one of our most favorite restaurants

food5
ambience5
service5

Monkfish was perfectly prepared and I'm ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Monkfish was perfectly prepared and I'm not sure how the simple scallops are so perfect but they are! Everything was excellent from the cocktails to the dessert. Service was spot on.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While everything we ordered was fresh, b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

While everything we ordered was fresh, beautifully presented and delicious, it was the service that completely won me over and will keep me returning to Fiola Mare. It is not just a neighborhood gem for the Georgetown waterfront but a Washington gem.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I was disappointed. We came for our food ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I was disappointed. We came for our foodie son's birthday and he enjoyed his buccatini but his salad was odd (the pickled rhubarb I ate was tasteless). My lobster roll was sparse in terms of lobster but the brioche bun was fantastic. My husbands crabcake was overseasoned. Too much salt and so much pepper you could not taste the crab. On the plus side the waiter was personable and professional, the hostess was very nice and the breads are fantastic. Go for the breads- an odd comment for an Italian sea food restaurant

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time for dinner at Fiola Mare & it ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

First time for dinner at Fiola Mare & it didn't disappoint. Truly special restaurant in every respect- food, service & ambience. They really go to every effort to make it a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Definitely the place for gourmet tastes! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Definitely the place for gourmet tastes! Loved the food, wine and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous place for my birthday celebrati ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Fabulous place for my birthday celebration.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Fiola Mare. Superb food, well p ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We love Fiola Mare. Superb food, well prepared and great service. fantastic location for our reunion lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had lunch at an outdoor table on a be ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had lunch at an outdoor table on a beautiful afternoon. The food was excellent (especially recommend the lobster ravioli). Service was wonderful. All in all, a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shared a lovely lunch with a friend for ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Shared a lovely lunch with a friend for a special birthday treat. Everything was perfect. Great staff, delicious food and views of the river on a warm, hazy day. Couldn't have chosen a better spot to dine and celebrate. Thank you, Fiola Mare!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The lobster ravioli was fantastic! The s ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The lobster ravioli was fantastic! The salad and crudo starter not so great. Wonderful molten chocolate dessert. Excellent service and a beautiful view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Might just be our new favorite restauran ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Might just be our new favorite restaurant. Third time I've been here -- twice with friends for lunch and this time with my husband for an anniversary dinner. Each time we've been able to get a (very comfortable) table outside overlooking the river, and each time the food has been outstanding. This time we got the mixed grill -- which was expensive, but there was enough there that it made an adequate lunch the next day for the two of us, and the lunch was almost as terrific as the dinner. Also got the burrata salad, the vanilla panna cotta for dessert, and the cocktail with policy in the name -- everything was memorable (even if the names weren't). Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, excellent experience over all ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

As always, excellent experience over all - the food, service, setting....

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

For the third consecutive year, we celeb ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

For the third consecutive year, we celebrated our anniversary with dinner at Fiola Mare. It's one of Washington's nicest places to dine: a handsome room with a view of the Potomac River, staffed by the city's most stylishly-dressed servers. And the food was exceptional: highlights were fine pasta, an extremely moist and flavorful halibut and a special strawberry-filled pastry for dessert. The service was not quite as dazzling as it had been in prior visits. The meal was unevenly paced, with appetizers appearing very quickly followed by a long wait for main courses. Also, I was initially given the wrong appetizer although the server rectified this problem quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

When I was last there in April, it was f ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

When I was last there in April, it was far superior to my experience this past week. The presentation of the food was pedestrian, compared to the beautiful presentations in April. The food itself was adequate but not outstanding and hardly worth the price. I have gone to this restaurant numerous times and have loved it, but this time it seemed as though the restaurant was taking steps to reduce its costs. It just wasn't that good, certainly not good enough to justify its prices. Service is attentive, however.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Stuck in mid Atlantic town wit ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Loved it! Stuck in mid Atlantic town with no fresh fish so it was manna from the Mare!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Appetizers range from $20 to $80-100 sea ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Appetizers range from $20 to $80-100 seafood. I had the salad, very fancy. Halibut was delist. Dessert is Italian and Italian desserts are the best!

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.