About Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails

31 West Carrillo Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Finch & Fork is a Modern American Bar and Grill centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara’s vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner Monday thru Sunday 5:30 pm thru 10:00 pm
Bar Sunday to Thursday closes at 11:00pm
Bar Friday to Saturday closes at 12:00am
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 9:00pm to 10:00pm
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30 am thru 2:30 pm
Breakfast Monday thru Friday 7:00 am thru 10 30 am

Cross Street:
Chapala

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 879-9100

Website:
http://www.finchandforkrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We have many venues for your catering event, please contact Elizabeth Duffy at elizabeth.duffy@canarysantabarbara.com.

Parking Details:
Services offered at main entrance of the hotel. Additional parking available in the adjacent city parking lot.

Public Transit:
Main Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
James Siao

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your own special event with us. For personalized reservations please call 805 879 9174.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:30PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:30PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Finch & Fork is Santa Barbara on a plate. Executive Chef James Siao designs clean, simple California cuisine that showcases the bounty of Santa Barbara County and the effortless, relaxed elegance of the Best Coast.

Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (58)
special occasion (41)
good for groups (38)
See All
vibrant bar scene (32)
neighborhood gem (30)
romantic (28)
hot spot (26)
great for brunch (19)
great for lunch (18)
notable wine list (11)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The chef there has done a fantastic job. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The chef there has done a fantastic job. My wife and I have had several special occasion dinners there and each has been spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fine, however, website did not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fine, however, website did not indicate that only a breakfast/brunch menu would be available on Sunday at 1:00.

Server was pleasant but seened unaware that coffee should be replenished and bread delivered before the end if the meal. He may have been new to the job.

We mentioned that there it was a birthday. A desert menu was provided. One was ordered and then appeared on the bill. After mediocre service, the charge didn't feel good.

We chose the restaurant due to the fine reviews. Sadly we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The service and recognition from the sta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service and recognition from the staff was outstanding, and I mean outstanding! Everyone made us feel very welcome as we celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary. We live locally but had never had dinner at the Finch & Fork and thought we would try something new. We had a 6:30pm reservation on a Friday night and the bar scene was very lively and loud. Our first table was near the bar but we literally could not hear each other and moved to a table in the front of the restaurant, facing the street (actually a view of the gas station across the street). It wasn't exactly the ambiance we were looking for but it was the best the staff could do and we could hear one another. The staff recognized us with complimentary champagne for our anniversary which as very nice of them but not an expectation of ours. The menu is somewhat limited but both entrees were truly outstanding - scallops and trout. Given these are two difficult dishes to prepare well, the kitchen staff did a great job.

Again, the restaurant staff was outstanding and made the night for us very special. Was it the best view or ambiance for this sort of special occasion? Perhaps not but the staff made up for it. My wife and I joked about never actually having a dinner date celebrating a special occasion in 16 years in which our view was of a gas station but this was yet another first for us.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Way too loud. Everyone came away angry b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Way too loud. Everyone came away angry because of the noise level added by the fact live music was also too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow! Would go back anytime! Great experi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wow! Would go back anytime! Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always think of Finch & Fork when I have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always think of Finch & Fork when I have out of town guests ar friends to entertain with a great meal. I can always count on the food (& choices) being consistently good, fresh and inventive. The atmosphere is great especially being in a hotel where you usually do not think of finding a great restaurant. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding. Servers and hostes ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was outstanding. Servers and hostess were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A regular Tuesday hangout for Fried Chic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A regular Tuesday hangout for Fried Chicken night. Monday features Burger and Beer and Saturday Farmer's Market Lasagna. Good uncomplicated food!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice food restaurant attached to a beaut ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nice food restaurant attached to a beautiful hotel

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience at Finch & For ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a great experience at Finch & Fork. The food was delicious and unique, our waiter, while quirky, was attentive and had very helpful suggestions about the menu. It was relaxing and fun. We missed the legendary fired chicken since we were not there on that night, but everything we has was scrumptious. We all cleaned our plates. Would highly recommend the scallops, salt and pepper chicken, and any of the desserts. Fun and relaxing dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience! We have been to th ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent experience! We have been to this lovely place a few other times and can add this to our list of exceeded expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time to Finch and For ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was my second time to Finch and Fork and again I was very impressed with their customer service. Everyone worked as a team to make sure we were taken care of and had everything needed. Their menu is also amazing, I had the corn soup and the chicken wings; would recommend them both.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT PLACE service was excellent Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

GREAT PLACE

service was excellent

Food delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous and service was gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was fabulous and service was great. The desserts were amazing as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hip dining spot - too noisy for ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great hip dining spot - too noisy for our older guests but the staff was extremely helpful in closing off the dining room from the bar which helped immensely. Food was great, unexpected combinations. Hope to visit again sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the atmosphere, the service, and th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love the atmosphere, the service, and the fresh juice mimosa options. Food options a little pricey and limited, but tasty, especially the kale salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding. Our waitress wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was outstanding. Our waitress was so charming, knowledgeable, and offered some great suggestions. The steak tartar appetizer with oyster aioli and egg yolks was decadent and expertly seasoned. We really enjoyed the short rib entrée as well. It was fork-tender and savory, with sweet caramelized onions on top.

Unfortunately we were underwhelmed by the deviled eggs. This might be a matter of opinion, but we really didn't care for the pickled eggs, smoked trout, or olive topping. The rest of the food was 5 star!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great and varied menu

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great and varied menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were staying at the Canary Hotel, so ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were staying at the Canary Hotel, so we popped in for drinks on our first evening. Good drink menu and friendly bar service. We also stopped in for breakfast on our second day.Husband ordered an egg and bacon dish and I enjoyed some fruits and breads. Food was good and dining room is quite comfortable - enjoyed the rustic leather booths. Would return for another meal.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

That banana shake was awesome.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

That banana shake was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous!! Best meal of our trip includi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fabulous!! Best meal of our trip including at stone house ! Can't wait to go again next time we are in SB.

Warm carrots salad, oysters, scallops and short ribs all yummy -lots of gluten free options too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food flavors are excellent and the d ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food flavors are excellent and the dishes are well prepared and presented. The service was also top notch. This is truly a Santa Barbara gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Finch and Fork is our new favorite spot! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Finch and Fork is our new favorite spot! We had the best habanero margarita and the yummiest food with my husband! Curtis was the most delightful server and we will absolutely be back to see him.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and pretty good food/drinks.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great scallop dish and liked the salads we had....only thing we did not like was the seafood pie....very boring and salty....and the roasted cauliflower(too hard)

Service was very good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

almost was perfect

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

this was our second night in Santa Barbara and I had banked on it being the best because we have picky friends who have never been to S.B. and one of there items was overcooked but our server was great and brought out another entree that was cooked perfect it just caused a delay for a picky eater, But I loved my meal and so did my husband and I know I will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Surprise?

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Since this was a hotel restaurant we were not sure what to expect but we were tired and did not feel like searching the neighborhood. What a wonderful surprise! Nice lively scene as a back drop yet cozy and romantic at the same time. We shared olives, Field Green salad, Brussels sprouts and pork and cork everything was very good and we loved our waiter who read us perfectly and helped create a wonderful night (I wish I remembered his name so I could give him a shout out). But I can not say enough about the Pork and Cork which was a braised pork shoulder/pork belly concoction with potato gnocchi. The pork was absolutely amazing! I asked for the recipe which the chef (Peter) emailed to me late that night! I plan to do my best to recreate this for a few good friends very soon. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice find

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

unexpectedly good - happened upon the place, and we were very happy with everything

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service! Our server Russ was fun a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great service!

Our server Russ was fun and funny.

The food was delicious, fresh and original.

Great ambience.

We look forward to coming back here soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good Restaurant Overall

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

My wife and I went here for Sunday Brunch. Drinks were reasonably priced, although most brunch places I go to give unlimited mimosas while Finch and Fork charge $1 for refills. The food was good but wasn't worth the price. I got the pork belly on toast (A.K.A Eggs benedict) which was $17 but was fairly small and not filling. I am not a large guy, but after brunch I had to go to a coffee shop to get a muffin because I was still hungry. My wife got the 2 eggs any style and she was also still hungry after. The other disappointing aspect of the menu was that it did not have any pancakes or waffles. I guess we could have checked the menu before going, but I have never seen a brunch menu that didn't have pancakes or waffles, so that was a little disappointing.

I will say that our waiter was fantastic and at one point when I changed my drink order, sprinted to the bar to make sure it was corrected, so 5 stars for that. The restaurant is nice and has a good ambiance but was fairly loud. To be fair part of the loudness was due to the hotel being cool and allowing dogs, but at one point there were about 4-5 dogs barking in the lobby which is right outside the restaurant. I love dogs so it didn't really bother me, but it was pretty loud.

All in all this is a good restaurant and I enjoyed it. I would probably go back here to try their lunch or dinner, but don't think I would go back for their brunch.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Foodies from Minnesota

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was top notch with attentive service. There was a mix up with our order and the wrong entrée was prepared. One of us ate while the other waited for a new entrée to be prepared. Chef apologized in person and prepared two delicious desserts of our choice which we enjoyed together.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything we ordered was tasty, especia ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Everything we ordered was tasty, especially the scallops, a wonderful combination of flavors and textures, and the Brussels sprouts. There is an extensive cocktail list. The wine list was good, too. Noise level was high (there was a large group seated next to us) and overall it was a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Being an inner circle member of Kimpton ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Being an inner circle member of Kimpton we would have expected better when it comes to providing something that is as described. This was my second time in this restaurant and I can't say that I would ever go back. Not one thing was good. Look at places like trattoria Mollie or Jane for some pointers. Seared Ahi tuna on a dish isn't served all the way white like a piece of rubber - this was a waste. The hotel is great just avoid their restaurant unless you are only looking for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara. The f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara. The food and service are top notch. Special compliments to the chef on both flavour and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was delicious. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious. The short rib entree was fork tender and the brussel sprout were some of the best ive had anywhere. The milkshake desert eas phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

F&F delights as always

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food, great wine list, parking next door. F&F offers 4/5 star dining at lower prices. We're regulars. Favorites include Brussell Sprouts (maple bacon and parmesan -- just try them), scallops (best in Santa Barbara), short ribs, and "burger and a beer," which on our last visit meant a whole breaded softshell crab with pork belly on a burger bun and garlic fries. Oh yeah. Nice wine list. Pickled veggies instead of bread and butter is a super nice touch. All the desserts are perfect. Staff knows their stuff, chef is easily in the top 10% of SB's best. Nice date place, go during the week for quieter and less crowded experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthy of its High Reputation

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Finch & Fork has an excellent reputation in the Santa Barbara community, and it is well deserved. You can tell within 30 seconds of walking in the door what a restaurant thinks of its guests, and we were greeted by a personable, friendly, classy woman who was very accommodating to our needs. The ambience of the restaurant is elegant and comfortable, the kind of place that reminded me of a time where opulence was the customer's destiny, but not in a stuffy manner. The service was attentive without being overbearing. We never felt rushed once during our meeting, but we didn't have to wait for a need to be met either. The chicken kale salad and prime rib sandwich were both delicious. A negroni was properly made and garnished, and the wines by the glass were thoughtfully selected to accompany the food. In short, I'm looking for an excuse to go back as soon as possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a salad with quinoa, salmon, barley, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Had a salad with quinoa, salmon, barley, cucumber. Had the house dressing which was ok but not great. The Sauvignon blanch was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Fork and Fitch has a fried chicken dinne ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Fork and Fitch has a fried chicken dinner on Tuesday. It is incredible. The salads are large so enough for two people. Our server was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My friend and I were in town for girls weekend. Finch and Fork was a wonderful find and a great experience. Thought it was going to go South at the beginning due to large group of guys with interesting vocabulary being seated nearby. But when we asked to be moved the waiter and matre de couldn't have been more helpful or nice. The new waitress was spectacular and the food mouth watering. I recommend this restaurant to everyone :)

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Santa Barbara Captured!

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I have dined at Finch & Fork several times and it is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara! The food is fresh and locally sourced, meals are prepared with quality ingredients, and presented beautifully. I highly recommend the kale salad, which can stand alone, but is even more scrumptious when you add the grilled salmon to it. I have also had breakfast and dinner entrees there as well, and they have never disappointed. Finch & Fork is my choice when I want a healthy, delicious meal. I am also quite fond of their ambience and sophisticated French country decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.