About Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails

31 West Carrillo Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Finch & Fork is a Modern American Bar and Grill centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara’s vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner Monday thru Sunday 5:30 pm thru 10:00 pm
Bar Sunday to Thursday closes at 11:00pm
Bar Friday to Saturday closes at 12:00am
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 9:00pm to 10:00pm
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30 am thru 2:30 pm
Breakfast Monday thru Friday 7:00 am thru 10 30 am

Cross Street:
Chapala

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 879-9100

Website:
http://www.finchandforkrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We have many venues for your catering event, please contact Elizabeth Duffy at elizabeth.duffy@canarysantabarbara.com.

Parking Details:
Services offered at main entrance of the hotel. Additional parking available in the adjacent city parking lot.

Public Transit:
Main Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
James Siao

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your own special event with us. For personalized reservations please call 805 879 9174.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:30PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 11:30AM - 2:00PM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:30PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Finch & Fork is Santa Barbara on a plate. Executive Chef James Siao designs clean, simple California cuisine that showcases the bounty of Santa Barbara County and the effortless, relaxed elegance of the Best Coast.

Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (66)
good for groups (39)
special occasion (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (37)
vibrant bar scene (34)
romantic (32)
hot spot (25)
great for brunch (25)
notable wine list (21)
great for lunch (20)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was delicious. The ...

Dined 2 days ago

Everything we ordered was delicious. The short rib entree was fork tender and the brussel sprout were some of the best ive had anywhere. The milkshake desert eas phenomenal

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

F&F delights as always

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great wine list, parking next door. F&F offers 4/5 star dining at lower prices. We're regulars. Favorites include Brussell Sprouts (maple bacon and parmesan -- just try them), scallops (best in Santa Barbara), short ribs, and "burger and a beer," which on our last visit meant a whole breaded softshell crab with pork belly on a burger bun and garlic fries. Oh yeah. Nice wine list. Pickled veggies instead of bread and butter is a super nice touch. All the desserts are perfect. Staff knows their stuff, chef is easily in the top 10% of SB's best. Nice date place, go during the week for quieter and less crowded experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthy of its High Reputation

Dined 4 days ago

Finch & Fork has an excellent reputation in the Santa Barbara community, and it is well deserved. You can tell within 30 seconds of walking in the door what a restaurant thinks of its guests, and we were greeted by a personable, friendly, classy woman who was very accommodating to our needs. The ambience of the restaurant is elegant and comfortable, the kind of place that reminded me of a time where opulence was the customer's destiny, but not in a stuffy manner. The service was attentive without being overbearing. We never felt rushed once during our meeting, but we didn't have to wait for a need to be met either. The chicken kale salad and prime rib sandwich were both delicious. A negroni was properly made and garnished, and the wines by the glass were thoughtfully selected to accompany the food. In short, I'm looking for an excuse to go back as soon as possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a salad with quinoa, salmon, barley, ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Had a salad with quinoa, salmon, barley, cucumber. Had the house dressing which was ok but not great. The Sauvignon blanch was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fork and Fitch has a fried chicken dinne ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Fork and Fitch has a fried chicken dinner on Tuesday. It is incredible. The salads are large so enough for two people. Our server was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

My friend and I were in town for girls weekend. Finch and Fork was a wonderful find and a great experience. Thought it was going to go South at the beginning due to large group of guys with interesting vocabulary being seated nearby. But when we asked to be moved the waiter and matre de couldn't have been more helpful or nice. The new waitress was spectacular and the food mouth watering. I recommend this restaurant to everyone :)

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Santa Barbara Captured!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I have dined at Finch & Fork several times and it is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara! The food is fresh and locally sourced, meals are prepared with quality ingredients, and presented beautifully. I highly recommend the kale salad, which can stand alone, but is even more scrumptious when you add the grilled salmon to it. I have also had breakfast and dinner entrees there as well, and they have never disappointed. Finch & Fork is my choice when I want a healthy, delicious meal. I am also quite fond of their ambience and sophisticated French country decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waitress was what made the experience so much more... She was very personable and made great food recommendations.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Understated Elegance

Dined on May 3, 2016

We booked for our Anniversary dinner. Excellent service and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very romantic american style dining

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing service and the food... the milkshake desert is die for...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful girls date!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was super attentive and our water glasses were ALWAYS full throughout the entire meal. We were a group of four ladies and the server was very patient with us and helped us with what to order, etc. The girls all got the salmon dish and I had the Thursday pork special which was perfectly prepared. We had an Axxess card, so it was a 2-for-1 kind of deal for any dishes up to $24.00. I also had the house white which I thought was pretty tasty. I've been here for lunches and happy hours, even for meetings, but I think this is by far my best experience at Finch & Fork! I will for sure be back for dinner and happy hour :) Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Service was slow, probably due to the fa ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Service was slow, probably due to the fact that the room appears to be understaffed. My companion's dinner, a bouillabaisse, arrived piping hot; my short ribs arrived warm, at best. We used to find this dining room dependable and looked forward to eating there. Now it is merely dependable for being slow, noisy and indifferent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service, food, and ambiance are amaz ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service, food, and ambiance are amazing here. I look forward to having our wedding reception here!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love

Dined on April 16, 2016

This is by far my favorite brunch spot. I will drive hours from where I live to eat here. And while in Santa Barbara, I have and will continue to eat here every morning because of the short rib and sweet potato hash with chimichurri sauce and horseradish. Everything about this dish is perfect. I love breakfast hash and order it on the menu everywhere I go if it's an option and every hash pales in comparison to this one. The short rib is tender and full of flavor, perfectly cooked and not overdone one bit. The sweet potatoes are soft but not mushy and the eggs on top are fried and easy to perfection. Not only is the food spot on, but so is the service. On our most recent visit, our waitress from Saturday recognized us on Sunday and was sure to bring me extra chimichurri and horseradish like I had requested the day before. And the delicious mimosas cap it all off perfectly. I have tried all that they offer (orange, grapefruit, cranberry and peach) and while all are yummy, peach is my favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 16, 2016

I wish I could rave about this restaurant--the decor and ambiance are lovely, but we had a very disappointing dinner. The menu checked a lot of the right boxes for locavore dining and fresh takes on classic comfort fare. However, the salt and pepper chicken wings, while crisp and lovely in texture, were bathed in a too- sweet sauce without any noticeable seasoning to balance the sugar. A roasted trout over spaetzle main course was under-seasoned in the extreme, the fish overcooked and unappetizingly arrayed over the potatoes, which had a nice chewy texture but no flavor, despite the addition of pancetta. A special 'frozen tiramisu' dessert tasted old and had terrible texture. This was exchanged for a too-sweet salted caramel pudding with graham cracker...all in all, nothing to rave about. We did appreciate the high-caliber staff and service, very professional in all respects.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Delight

Dined on April 16, 2016

While we had a dinner reservation for a table, we chose to stay at the bar after our excellent cocktails---the Guava Margaritas are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed all the plates we shared. The ambiance was high energy and classy. I look forward to returning to Finch and Fork soon, plus recommending to friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Great service, great food, great ambiance. Another fantastic dining experience here. Highly recommend the wings and the brussels sprouts, entree salmon kale salad....wow! Tatiana the floor manager was wonderful in pairing wine with each course and our server was very genuine and respectful. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice evening

Dined on April 14, 2016

The service was excellent; food very good; staff very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

No Rooftop dining

Dined on April 13, 2016

I was disappointed that we could not eat on the roof top. On the website is shows roof top dining but the restaurant is actually on the lower level. It was a bit disappointing as I picked that place because my niece was in from Ohio.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites in Santa Barbara. Go!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Why go any place else when this is one of the best?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible food

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The food is absolutely incredible. Everything I have ordered I have loved from breakfast, cocktails, dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

If I had to describe my idea of a perfec ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

If I had to describe my idea of a perfect evening, this would be it! The hosts were stellar, the food was delectable and the location is matchless. This was our third time dining here and each time exceeds the wonderfulness of the previous one.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic Brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch! We'd recommend making reservations as they were turning people away or seating them in the bar ... Food was great; service on drinks was a bit slow (probably because of how busy they were and how many were being ordered) ... but worth waiting for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service1

My friend and I had brunch which, if I c ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

My friend and I had brunch which, if I closed my eyes could have been at any low end ,run of the mill chain. It was extremely overpriced, horrible service and lacking in taste.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Substantial in every way

Dined on April 3, 2016

Could honestly not find fault with this venue. Great servers, minimal wait for reservation which is to my liking. Good menu which delivers on taste. A quite exceptional dessert with the milkshake decent cocktails wine and beer. Nothing could go wrong and it didn't. Pity I live not just on the other side of the US but on the other side of the Atlantic otherwise I'd be a regular

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! Tuesday fried Chicken was ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Outstanding! Tuesday fried Chicken was the best and the milk shake for desert was to die for. Gotta go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place can't wait to go back...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great place - can't wait to go back! The food was fabulous - service was great and the ambiance was sublime . . .

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara.

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

This is a great spot in the heart of town. Vibrant bar scene with great bar snacks. Don't miss out on the warmed olives served with garlic and rosemary. The menu with the daily special is always a treat. Wonderful service!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Nicole was very attentive. Fo ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our server Nicole was very attentive. Food was delicious and ambiance was great. Will definitely go back to this restaurant when Im in town again.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

worst meal ever

Dined on March 13, 2016

from the time we entered the front counter people were rude, couldn't make me my Martini and then had to wait another 30 mins. for the replacement and not sure what it was but not what I ordered, my wife had a lemon drop, I sure didn't taste any lemon in it. my short ribs were to fatty and cover in a sauce to cover the fat. the waiter was the only thing that was good. the noise level was way passed a 11. Not what we have come to expect from the Kimpton group

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food and service!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Finch and Fork has beautifully presented food with gourmet ingredients and a flair for creativity. Our waiter Curtis knew the menu and wine list inside and out. Tatiana the manager was very helpful and gracious. I loved my fish special dinner and the passion fruit cheese cake was very light and yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Uneven

Dined on March 8, 2016

Enjoyed the food but the service lacked polish and was inattentive. Nice portions. Delicious large rib eye but sadly me wine glass sat empty for most of it. My wife loved the Mac and cheese. My son enjoyed the duck very much. Attractive space just need a wait staff that matches the ambiance and food

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Impressive effort

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

They went all-out to honor my dietary restrictions. My server, the manager and the chef all collaborated to find a way to accommodate my needs in the dish I wanted to order. They could not have done more. We were very impressed. My only complaint is the noise level. We came once before on a weekend evening and it was very hard to hear each other speak at our own table so we decided to come early on a weekday evening thinking it would be much quieter. No way. Their bar is very popular and super noisy at all times it seems.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server Monica was terrific. We came ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Our server Monica was terrific. We came in without checking in at the front desk and I mentioned to the person who took us to out table that we had reserved on Open Table and he remarked that it was fine they had plenty of tables. Monica came by and mentioned that she overheard me and would take care of it in the system. She then recommended some items and we were very pleased. Now that we have tried Finch and Fork for dinner and breakfast will look forward to returning for lunch!

food5
ambience4
service4

Prime rib and ribeye cooked perfectly. ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Prime rib and ribeye cooked perfectly. Loved the pickled veggies that came as soon as we sat down

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had it's moments

Dined on February 28, 2016

I think the issue was we had late reservations on a Saturday night and I think maybe the staff was gassed a bit. Scallops were good. Ribeye was tasty but not the highest quality. Nice place though but wasn't blown away enough to rush back. I'd probably trust the better reviews that it has earned.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Vegetarian Friend

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was great. We had a vegetarian guest staying with us. She enjoyed every option. The server was rushed and didn't spend much time with us. He was quick to grab our menus and run. The food runners and table busers spent more time with us than the server did. I hope Finch & Fork is tipping out the food runners and busers more. They deserved our tip over our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Odd space attached to a hotel. It's nice ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Odd space attached to a hotel. It's nicely decorated and super clean but kind of large so felt empty for a Saturday brunch. Delicious mimosas (not bottomless but each refill is 1.00 so may as well be bottomless). My nephew had the French toast and he said that it was crispy on the edges and moist on the inside. My husband had the kale salad, which he enjoyed, and I had the huevos rancheros which was more of a tostada than what I expected but the flavors were still good. Aside from the quiet location and ambience, food and service was good. Mimosas a huge plus.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food at reasonable prices. One of t ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices. One of the best breakfast places in town. Probably have the most comfortable seats of any restaurant anywhere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great place!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.