About Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails

Finch & Fork is a Modern American Bar and Grill centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara’s vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.

31 West Carrillo Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner Monday thru Sunday 5:30 pm thru 10:00 pm
Bar Sunday to Thursday closes at 11:00pm
Bar Friday to Saturday closes at 12:00am
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 4:00pm to 7:00pm
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30 am thru 2:30 pm
Breakfast Monday thru Friday 7:00 am thru 10 30 am

Cross Street:
Chapala & Carrillo

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 879-9100

Website:
http://www.finchandforkrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We have many venues for your catering event, please contact Kecia Kelly at kecia.kelly@canarysantabarbara.com.

Parking Details:
Services offered at main entrance of the hotel. Additional parking available in the adjacent city parking lot.

Public Transit:
Main Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
James Siao

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your own special event with us. For personalized reservations please call 805 879 9174.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:30PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:30PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Finch & Fork is Santa Barbara on a plate. Executive Chef James Siao designs clean, simple California cuisine that showcases the bounty of Santa Barbara County and the effortless, relaxed elegance of the Best Coast.

Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (23)
Cozy (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Casual (18)
Romantic (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

With one tiny exception (way oversalted ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

With one tiny exception (way oversalted side of broccoli), food was excellent as it always is. Our usual waiter Curtis is exceptional, & we try to sit in his section when we bring new folks in. We like the variety of dishes offered, interesting preparations, & nice presentation. We have been eating here 1-2 times per month for the last 6 months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food in a sophisticated settin ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food in a sophisticated setting. Attentive, professional service. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We LOVED Finch & Fork! The menu was ver ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We LOVED Finch & Fork! The menu was very inventive and had a wide variety of dishes. The service was excellent and the servers were very well versed in both the wine menu and the food menu. We adored the Buratta and Beet toast, the Bone-in Pork Chop with Butternut Squash Puree, and the Scallop dish. The S'mores Pot du Creme was also delicious. It's a very romantic and still lively setting, so it's perfect for a date or to celebrate a special occasion. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved this gem. Food was excellent as we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved this gem. Food was excellent as well as the service. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I have been to Finch and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I have been to Finch and Fork many times, it has been one of our local favorites and we have taken friends and family here when they are in town. Thursday night, I went with a friend and the service was terrible. We waited while they found a table in a 1/2 empty restaurant (granted we were a bit early for our reservation) and were seated at the far end. The food was excellent as always the service was horrible and we were largely ignored. It took, at least, 10 minutes before we were offered water (after having asked for it). Food was dropped and we weren't checked in with until we were asked if we wanted dessert. My friend stated that this was exactly why she and her family had stopped dining there. My husband and I had never experienced anything close. Before, there had been servers I recognized and the manager would make a stop at the table to see how everything is. The restaurant was never more than half full and there weren't any recognizable staff from past visits. The food, as always, amazing (the chef hasn't changed). The food, however, is not enough to make up for the service (or lack thereof). I may try it again with my husband and see if it is better but, I will not be taking guests or recommending it any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Finch and Fork was lovely. Had a girlfri ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Finch and Fork was lovely. Had a girlfriend lunch there. Great food and service. They could use a larger menu. But all in all, it was very nice. The cheese, mushroom and kale flatbread was excellent. The fish taco appetizer was a little dry. But still tasty. It was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Organic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Located in the Canary Hotel in the heart ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Located in the Canary Hotel in the heart of downtown next to a multi-story parking garage (75 minutes free) this is a great lunch or dinner spot. Great bar, highly trained professional staff and some great menu selections make this a definite repeat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal breakfast! Service was atten ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Phenomenal breakfast! Service was attentive and great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious but a bit on the expe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was delicious but a bit on the expensive side. The cocktails were also very well crafted. Overall a great place to grab dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an early dinner on Saturday eveni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had an early dinner on Saturday evening. The service was outstanding and the food delicious. I had the recommended lasagne special and one of the other guests had the mac & cheese. Both dishes were served hot and were good-sized, yet reasonable portions. The wait staff were helpful but not intrusive and the front desk staff were friendly when we entered and exited. We are especially appreciated the quiet atmosphere and warm decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the atmosphere, but have to say t ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I love the atmosphere, but have to say the food was very average and the presentation even worse. It may be what I ordered (the special) but it was very disappointing

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals we have ever had! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Nice ambience and very ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great restaurant. Nice ambience and very good service. The food is consistently good. The menu is a little limited. Good tapas to share family style if you don't want to go for the big meal. However, the main dishes top the apps for sure.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My first time there and I was absolutely ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My first time there and I was absolutely amazed by the quality of food and service!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I managed to get a reserv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I managed to get a reservation on New Years Day for brunch. When we arrived the restaurant was very busy and we learned they had many folks staying later than expected and the reservations were backed up. We waited longer than expected for our table but considering the holiday we completely understood. Once shown to our table we received service from not only our server but some of the front desk staff...clearly a team operation and it speaks to their impressive management. We ordered the oysters and deviled eggs to start. We then moved on to the Short Rib Hash and Fried Chicken Sandwich...everything was stellar! Best Brunch we've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on New Year's Eve for dinner. They ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on New Year's Eve for dinner. They had live music and it was very festive. We really enjoyed it. Food and service was great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and great food! Every year ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service and great food! Every year we come to Santa Barbara for a family trip and we eat at Finch and Fork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service- food was yummy. One of m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service- food was yummy. One of my favorite places in SB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I continue to think Finch and Fork makes ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I continue to think Finch and Fork makes THE BEST burger in Santa Barbara! It is always so fresh tasting and juicy.

The only complaint I have is their ability to use the Open Table system. This was the THIRD time we had Open Table reservations and when we checked in at the front desk, I made sure she 'acknowledged' the reservation, which she said she did. When we got home, I found a note from Open Table telling me I had been marked 'no show'! I was pretty upset so I called the restaurant and they seem to think they did everything right at check in, but when I called Open Table, they indicated the person at the front desk had NOT checked me in. So if you use Open Table, please check after you've dined here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finch and Fork was a great find located ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Finch and Fork was a great find located in the Canary Hotel. We had a large round table in a front room with a nice decor. It was a cold evening and the room was a bit cold for me, but others did not mind. I had delicious short ribs on a parsnip purée which were nicely prepared with little red grapes. Others had steak or chicken and were quite pleased. Will definitely return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Okay. Not great. Pickled veggies didn' ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Okay. Not great. Pickled veggies didn't satisfy as a substitute for good table bread. NY strip was tough. Oysters were great buy tiny - and expensive. Great house salad. Special looked great but was sold out. Loved the idea of farm to table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant style, ambiance reminded us ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Restaurant style, ambiance reminded us most of apres ski. Valet parking was for overnight only. Our special table request, submitted through Open Table, had not been received by the receptionist. The wine, which we ordered from the wine list, was not available. In view of the price level we had expected more than casual dining.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Bouillabsse amazing highly recommended

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Bouillabsse amazing highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing especially the roast ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food is amazing especially the roasted Brussels sprouts, just fell in love with it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate there for Christmas dinner, and w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We ate there for Christmas dinner, and were distinctly disappointed: for their price, we expected a truly superb experience. Instead, we received surprisingly inconsistent food and service. Some of the food was excellent: for examples, the kale salad, the Parker House rolls, and the desserts. But some of the food was simply OK: neither particularly distinctive nor notably prepared. The variety of vegetables in the soup was delightful-- or would have been, except that the broth overwhelmed them with such a strong flavor of tomato and salt that the overall impression was almost like Campbell's canned tomato-vegetable soup. A real shame, as the mix of vegetables had clearly been thought out carefully. The hunk of beef was large but commonplace. Having only two choices for each course of the prix fixe was inappropriately limited; not offering any vegetarian option was simply inconsiderate. The service was highly variable: sometimes good, but leaving us with empty water glasses for half the meal. By comparison, the next night we ate at a restaurant on Sterns Wharf for 1/3 the cost, and had both a more interesting menu and unobtrusively solid service: our water and iced tea glasses were never empty. For a more startling but accurate comparison: last month I ate at an unpretentious New Jersey diner, and had better service than we had for Christmas dinner at Finch and Fork. In short, Finch and Fork displayed city pricing but small-town inconsistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We chose to celebrate our Christmas with ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We chose to celebrate our Christmas with dinner here and it was a great choice. The service was excellent - they even gave us a souvenir Polaroid photo of ourselves in a holiday card. Food was superb. The restaurant is located in the Canary Hotel right downtown in Santa Barbara - very easy to walk there if you are shopping on State Street. It was one of only a few places open on Christmas Day.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional with our ser ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was exceptional with our server Eric, which was matched by creative and delicious entre's. We must return soon for round two.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great space. Food was uneven from wow ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great space. Food was uneven from wow to eh. Service was responsive and knowledgeable. Had a great time overall.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best meals I've had in Santa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in Santa Barbara. Absolutely recommend the Friday special: sea food pot pie. Amazing. The short ribs were also very good. Excellent wine selection and impeccable service. Can't wait to come back!

App+ 4 glasses of wine + 2 entrees = $145. So definitely special occasion but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food nice ambience service was ok. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good food nice ambience service was ok. Food often arrived without silverware to eat with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

AMBIANCE--Really liked the restaurant la ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

AMBIANCE--Really liked the restaurant layout and decor--bar area especially cool--nice that while separate from, it looks over the restaurant.

SERVICE--Hostess--fair at best, no greeting when she arrived at the desk, and then she started speaking to the guests who come in after us without asking who was next--serious faux pas. Waiter--attentive

FOOD--seriously lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Simply a great experience. Interesting f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Simply a great experience. Interesting food, well prepared and very tasty. Terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

After a couple of less-than-satisfying d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

After a couple of less-than-satisfying dining experiences elsewhere in Santa Barbara, Finch & Fork was a refreshing change, proving that good service and good food can be found in this town.

We had the pork chop, which outstanding: thick, tender, and flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went on a Friday night and had their Sea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went on a Friday night and had their Seafood Potpie. What a taste sensation. Absolutely wonderful. The only negative thing I have to say is that the noise level was very high. We were sitting at a table backing the bar, and the noise coming from it made it hard to have a conversation. But I would go again~!.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it Salads were good

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Loved it

Salads were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I work at the Kimpton Goodland so my rev ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I work at the Kimpton Goodland so my review may be a bit bias. The service was impeccable, our server was attentive, professional, considerate, and eager to make our dining experience unique. The food was (as I imagine it always is) phenomenal. Taste buds partied with the butternut squash soup and really got down! Flavors to savor. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a busy night in the bar. Very no ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was a busy night in the bar. Very noisy, but people were having a good time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very good place-really appreciated our s ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 7, 2016

very good place-really appreciated our server snagging the last special for me! Food was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The foo wais much better than the last t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The foo wais much better than the last time we went, about 2 yrs. ago. The chef has hit his mark. Entrees were the best, delicious! Desserts (apple pie, s'mores) were meh and coffee can be improved. Enjoyed overall dining experience and will return. Lovely room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Family Style, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience was just all around a nig ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The experience was just all around a nightmare. I felt terrible for the staff because of the way that my party responded to the initial rude treatment that was inflicted upon us. However it was just a situation that should have never happened if our waiter would have treated us with the tiniest ounce of respect. It was clear that our waiter wanted us out of the restaurant asap. He dropped the check in the middle of our dinner, didn't say anything, and walked away. I don't think that he was aware of the status of the clientele that he was mistreating, and it is likely that they still have no idea who they were serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.