About Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails

Finch & Fork is a Modern American Bar and Grill centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara’s vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.

31 West Carrillo Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner Monday thru Sunday 5:30 pm thru 10:00 pm
Bar Sunday to Thursday closes at 11:00pm
Bar Friday to Saturday closes at 12:00am
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 4:00pm to 7:00pm
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30 am thru 2:30 pm
Breakfast Monday thru Friday 7:00 am thru 10 30 am

Cross Street:
Chapala & Carrillo

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 879-9100

Website:
http://www.finchandforkrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We have many venues for your catering event, please contact Kecia Kelly at kecia.kelly@canarysantabarbara.com.

Parking Details:
Services offered at main entrance of the hotel. Additional parking available in the adjacent city parking lot.

Public Transit:
Main Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
James Siao

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your own special event with us. For personalized reservations please call 805 879 9174.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:30PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:30PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Finch & Fork is Santa Barbara on a plate. Executive Chef James Siao designs clean, simple California cuisine that showcases the bounty of Santa Barbara County and the effortless, relaxed elegance of the Best Coast.

Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Cozy (19)
Casual (19)
Romantic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Fun (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service as usual. Lunch is a particularly good value. Love the lunch and dinner specials.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

The food here is generally good and well prepared. Some appetizers are worth the money others not (eggs). Entree portion size is generally good and plates are attractive. The pickled veggies welcoming appetizer is too vinegary to eat.

Restaurant is comfortable and is frequented by all ages. Can be very loud at times. It's a nice place to go for locals and visitors. I wish they would open up their upstairs patio pool area for ore special events. We dine here regularly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meals for all three guests. Good selection of food; nicely plated. Excellent service- attentive,but unobtrusive. Waiter made good suggestions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The Chop was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday night Prime Rib night is a must! Great cut, cooked perfectly and the creamy horseradish was fantastic. Russ was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food! Great bar! Great atmosphere! I will definetely be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Visited the are and took my dad and uncle, it was well worth the trip. I will definitely come back next time I'm visiting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Came out here with my girlfriends. The food was tasty, cocktails very good and the staff was solid. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Really good food with many gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We are from Chicago and took my son and wife from LA here on 2/18/17, fantastic in all areas

I recommend this highly

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Have been to The restaurant many times. Went for Valentine's Day. Good food, great service, lovely setting. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This would have been a total 5 except for one tiny thing. The food was amazing, sides were spectacular, but the dessert options were a 3 at best. It was Valentine's Day and everything had graham crackers in it. Very average for the amazing rest of the evening. It was one of the two best meals I've had in Santa B. Scallops were mind blowing in their presentation and taste. Will go back another time as the food was super.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and drinks were great . Will go back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and ambiance were great and our server Nicole was very personable (she made us laugh)!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fun delicious lively

Really interesting food

Proud waiter

Happy crowd

We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Appetizer Cheese and Charcuterie Board came without the latter. Bouillabaisse was lackluster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our waiter was fantastic, the food was beyond creative and they made our special evening memorable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went for our anniversary. We were blown away by the originality and taste of the meal, and were flattered by the thoughtfulness of the servers. Expensive, but worth the price for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Came here for fiancé's birthday. Great brunch! Delicious cocktails

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a pleasant surprise. We thought it would be much more expensive. I would say this is a great value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not our first dining experience, so we were more disappointed than might be expected if, say, a hotel guest dining there for the first time. Nearly impossible to carry on a conversation, even in the "quiet" part of the restaurant. Cocktails arrived with varying levels of fill, pork chops were tough, other dishes (farmed salmon, steak and lasagna) just so-so. At the end of the meal the waiter made a lengthy pitch for everyone at our table to buy raffle tickets for a charity event which the restaurant was promoting - all felt it was a bit awkward.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great dinner for our group and our server was awesome!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Delicious as always. The scallop dish is my absolute favorite!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loud, too loud.

Food was good, service was okay, but bar was too loud making the restaurant too loud.

No one was talking, only shouting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

With one tiny exception (way oversalted side of broccoli), food was excellent as it always is. Our usual waiter Curtis is exceptional, & we try to sit in his section when we bring new folks in. We like the variety of dishes offered, interesting preparations, & nice presentation. We have been eating here 1-2 times per month for the last 6 months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wonderful food in a sophisticated setting. Attentive, professional service. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We LOVED Finch & Fork! The menu was very inventive and had a wide variety of dishes. The service was excellent and the servers were very well versed in both the wine menu and the food menu. We adored the Buratta and Beet toast, the Bone-in Pork Chop with Butternut Squash Puree, and the Scallop dish. The S'mores Pot du Creme was also delicious. It's a very romantic and still lively setting, so it's perfect for a date or to celebrate a special occasion. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved this gem. Food was excellent as well as the service. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My husband and I have been to Finch and Fork many times, it has been one of our local favorites and we have taken friends and family here when they are in town. Thursday night, I went with a friend and the service was terrible. We waited while they found a table in a 1/2 empty restaurant (granted we were a bit early for our reservation) and were seated at the far end. The food was excellent as always the service was horrible and we were largely ignored. It took, at least, 10 minutes before we were offered water (after having asked for it). Food was dropped and we weren't checked in with until we were asked if we wanted dessert. My friend stated that this was exactly why she and her family had stopped dining there. My husband and I had never experienced anything close. Before, there had been servers I recognized and the manager would make a stop at the table to see how everything is. The restaurant was never more than half full and there weren't any recognizable staff from past visits. The food, as always, amazing (the chef hasn't changed). The food, however, is not enough to make up for the service (or lack thereof). I may try it again with my husband and see if it is better but, I will not be taking guests or recommending it any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Finch and Fork was lovely. Had a girlfriend lunch there. Great food and service. They could use a larger menu. But all in all, it was very nice. The cheese, mushroom and kale flatbread was excellent. The fish taco appetizer was a little dry. But still tasty. It was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Organic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Located in the Canary Hotel in the heart of downtown next to a multi-story parking garage (75 minutes free) this is a great lunch or dinner spot. Great bar, highly trained professional staff and some great menu selections make this a definite repeat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Phenomenal breakfast! Service was attentive and great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was delicious but a bit on the expensive side. The cocktails were also very well crafted. Overall a great place to grab dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had an early dinner on Saturday evening. The service was outstanding and the food delicious. I had the recommended lasagne special and one of the other guests had the mac & cheese. Both dishes were served hot and were good-sized, yet reasonable portions. The wait staff were helpful but not intrusive and the front desk staff were friendly when we entered and exited. We are especially appreciated the quiet atmosphere and warm decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I love the atmosphere, but have to say the food was very average and the presentation even worse. It may be what I ordered (the special) but it was very disappointing

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great restaurant. Nice ambience and very good service. The food is consistently good. The menu is a little limited. Good tapas to share family style if you don't want to go for the big meal. However, the main dishes top the apps for sure.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My first time there and I was absolutely amazed by the quality of food and service!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I managed to get a reservation on New Years Day for brunch. When we arrived the restaurant was very busy and we learned they had many folks staying later than expected and the reservations were backed up. We waited longer than expected for our table but considering the holiday we completely understood. Once shown to our table we received service from not only our server but some of the front desk staff...clearly a team operation and it speaks to their impressive management. We ordered the oysters and deviled eggs to start. We then moved on to the Short Rib Hash and Fried Chicken Sandwich...everything was stellar! Best Brunch we've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came up to SB to spend NYE with another couple and selected Finch & Fork for New Years Day brunch based on some blog and website recommendations. We are so happy that we did! The ambience was very welcoming, warm, and relaxed, exactly what we needed after one too many cocktails the night before. I'm a huge foodie and the brunch was to die for! Very well curated menu and everything tasted as delicious as the menu reads. We also loved that each additional mimosas after your first is only an extra $1. Would definitely come back here :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on New Year's Eve for dinner. They had live music and it was very festive. We really enjoyed it. Food and service was great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service and great food! Every year we come to Santa Barbara for a family trip and we eat at Finch and Fork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service- food was yummy. One of my favorite places in SB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I continue to think Finch and Fork makes THE BEST burger in Santa Barbara! It is always so fresh tasting and juicy.

The only complaint I have is their ability to use the Open Table system. This was the THIRD time we had Open Table reservations and when we checked in at the front desk, I made sure she 'acknowledged' the reservation, which she said she did. When we got home, I found a note from Open Table telling me I had been marked 'no show'! I was pretty upset so I called the restaurant and they seem to think they did everything right at check in, but when I called Open Table, they indicated the person at the front desk had NOT checked me in. So if you use Open Table, please check after you've dined here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Finch and Fork was a great find located in the Canary Hotel. We had a large round table in a front room with a nice decor. It was a cold evening and the room was a bit cold for me, but others did not mind. I had delicious short ribs on a parsnip purée which were nicely prepared with little red grapes. Others had steak or chicken and were quite pleased. Will definitely return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Okay. Not great. Pickled veggies didn't satisfy as a substitute for good table bread. NY strip was tough. Oysters were great buy tiny - and expensive. Great house salad. Special looked great but was sold out. Loved the idea of farm to table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Restaurant style, ambiance reminded us most of apres ski. Valet parking was for overnight only. Our special table request, submitted through Open Table, had not been received by the receptionist. The wine, which we ordered from the wine list, was not available. In view of the price level we had expected more than casual dining.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Bouillabsse amazing highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food is amazing especially the roasted Brussels sprouts, just fell in love with it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We ate there for Christmas dinner, and were distinctly disappointed: for their price, we expected a truly superb experience. Instead, we received surprisingly inconsistent food and service. Some of the food was excellent: for examples, the kale salad, the Parker House rolls, and the desserts. But some of the food was simply OK: neither particularly distinctive nor notably prepared. The variety of vegetables in the soup was delightful-- or would have been, except that the broth overwhelmed them with such a strong flavor of tomato and salt that the overall impression was almost like Campbell's canned tomato-vegetable soup. A real shame, as the mix of vegetables had clearly been thought out carefully. The hunk of beef was large but commonplace. Having only two choices for each course of the prix fixe was inappropriately limited; not offering any vegetarian option was simply inconsiderate. The service was highly variable: sometimes good, but leaving us with empty water glasses for half the meal. By comparison, the next night we ate at a restaurant on Sterns Wharf for 1/3 the cost, and had both a more interesting menu and unobtrusively solid service: our water and iced tea glasses were never empty. For a more startling but accurate comparison: last month I ate at an unpretentious New Jersey diner, and had better service than we had for Christmas dinner at Finch and Fork. In short, Finch and Fork displayed city pricing but small-town inconsistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.