About Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails

31 West Carrillo Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Finch & Fork is a Modern American Bar and Grill centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara’s vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner Monday thru Sunday 5:30 pm thru 10:00 pm
Bar Sunday to Thursday closes at 11:00pm
Bar Friday to Saturday closes at 12:00am
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 9:00pm to 10:00pm
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30 am thru 2:30 pm
Breakfast Monday thru Friday 7:00 am thru 10 30 am

Cross Street:
Chapala & Carrillo

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 879-9100

Website:
http://www.finchandforkrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We have many venues for your catering event, please contact Kecia Kelly at kecia.kelly@canarysantabarbara.com.

Parking Details:
Services offered at main entrance of the hotel. Additional parking available in the adjacent city parking lot.

Public Transit:
Main Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
James Siao

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your own special event with us. For personalized reservations please call 805 879 9174.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:30PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:30PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Finch & Fork is Santa Barbara on a plate. Executive Chef James Siao designs clean, simple California cuisine that showcases the bounty of Santa Barbara County and the effortless, relaxed elegance of the Best Coast.

Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Fit for Foodies (60)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Romantic (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Great for Brunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food and a laid-back ambience ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food and a laid-back ambience made for a wonderful dinner and the brussel sprouts are second to none!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The 3 of us were celebrating 2 birthdays ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

The 3 of us were celebrating 2 birthdays. We went on a foodie tour and wine tasting over 2 days. Finch & Fork was a delicious way to end our adventure. Our server was especially great and encouraged us to a complimentary dessert even though we were full. Thank you so very much. I highly recommend for many reasons.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Finch and Fork was absolutely great. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

Finch and Fork was absolutely great. The food was beyond good, we lucked out and happened in on "fried chicken night" which was the best my husband has ever had and he has been around!! Our server was delightful and extremely helpful! We stayed in Santa Barbara three nights, and ate at some of the supposed "top rated" spots and would put this right at the top!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very moderate and high price fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was very moderate and high price for what it was. Wine was also of questionable taste and value. Waiter was awkward and off-putting. He made poor suggestions and seemed offended when we didn't take them. Restaurant was largely empty but a large, loud bachelorette party was seated right by us. Everything just felt very calculated to be "authentic" and "artisanal" and nothing hit the mark. Would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Have to say the Diver Scallops and Short ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Have to say the Diver Scallops and Short Ribs were truly outstanding. As was the Olive Oil Cake. Plus our server, Russell, went above and beyond. Definitely a 5-Star dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really appreciate valet parking and char ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really appreciate valet parking and charming ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We hadn't been to this restaurant since ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We hadn't been to this restaurant since it opened. It was just finding it's feet then. Now, be were blown away. The waiter was knowledgeable and the food was fantastic. We started with warm citrus olives and oysters. My husband had the pork and cork which was very tasty, but I won with the short ribs, simply sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exquisite snacks and entrees and wonderf ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Exquisite snacks and entrees and wonderful service. Atmosphere is great as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the best meals, at any r ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was one of the best meals, at any restaurant we have been to, in recent memory. The flavors were fantastic, and entrees were beautifully presented. They were busy, but the service was still top notch. I wish I could remember the waiters name, as he made great menu recommendations and excellent suggestions on some local wine choices. The pork chop was outstanding, and the sea scallops equally enjoyable. We skipped the starters, although they had some enticing ones, and instead ordered several side dishes for the table to share with the entrees. I never knew cauliflower could be so tasty, the Brussels sprouts were roasted to perfection with a carmelized flavor, and the Mac and cheese was yummy. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really quite good, but the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was really quite good, but the noise level was high, which made the meal a bit uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Scallops are amazing, delicious raw bar, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Scallops are amazing, delicious raw bar, great cocktails and extensive, local wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

What a treat! I had never been to this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

What a treat! I had never been to this restaurant and was actually just in S Barbara for the day. I did a search for "best restaurants near the Santa Barbara Bowl" and this restaurant was one on the list. I chose wisely - this place is fantastic! The service was top notch, the food selections were superb and really reasonably priced. I had the short ribs, my friend had the pork chop, and we shared a field greens salad and... (drum roll)... the brussel sprouts, which I fondly now refer to as the "are you kidding me" sprouts! They are out of this world!!!

Great place, great service, valet is free for dining guests... I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best thing in the menu was the mac a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The best thing in the menu was the mac and cheese. A must try. Everything else was good but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing all around. The Pork chop and Tr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing all around. The Pork chop and Trout are out of this world. The Hamachi appetizer will melt in your mouth and explodes with flavor. Chef is a master!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the food, wine, and the w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really enjoyed the food, wine, and the whole experience. A larger establishment but very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely nice dinner. Very good food. P ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Extremely nice dinner. Very good food. Pleasant surprise. Kids friendly but not a particular family restaurant. The only thing I missed was some light-it was a bit dark. But thats a detail. Nice wines. Good service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Finch & Fork for breakfast. I ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went to Finch & Fork for breakfast. I enjoyed how the restaurant provided such fresh ingredients.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Likes so much we returned a few nights l ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Likes so much we returned a few nights later without a reservation and they found room for us

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate dinner at Finch & Fork in Santa B ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We ate dinner at Finch & Fork in Santa Barbara on the first evening of a planned long weekend driving up the California coast for our 39th anniversary. We were not disappointed and, in fact, this turned out to be the best dining experience we had all weekend and we enjoyed two other very good restaurants in Carmel. This was just perfect in every way. Our waiter was outstanding, recommending a wonderful Santa Barbara white wine - Refugio Ranch Roussanne. I do not have familiarity with wines from here, so his recommendation was appreciated and right on the money. Instead of offering bread to begin, they brought out a jar of house made picked vegetables, which were a treat. We also each enjoyed one of their signature cocktails, which were inventive and well balanced. The rest of the food was outstanding. We shared three appetizers [Deviled Eggs (oh so good and very different with the smoked trout)...Hamachi Crudo and Carmelized Cauliflower] and one entree (Bouillabaisse, which was unique with a tomato based broth...excellent) and still had room to share the Fire Roasted Milkshake for dessert. We will definitely return the next time we venture up to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ate here was wonderful! Th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything we ate here was wonderful! The rainbow trout was delicious and the bouillabaisse was great. For dessert we had the cream sickle dessert which was absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Santa Barbara gem! Inventor of the war ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A Santa Barbara gem! Inventor of the warmed olives with lemon and rosemary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food turned out to be more than "lai ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food turned out to be more than "laid back" had me expecting. The entrees were all excellent and complex enough to please even the most picky foodie. At the same time, our kids (7 and 10) enjoyed the experience and food as well. A win win.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a quest come from out of town. He ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a quest come from out of town. He paid so do not know the bill. I was glad to see the light fixtures in the corner booth has been raised. A big difference.Not too crowded so not too noisy. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The chef there has done a fantastic job. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The chef there has done a fantastic job. My wife and I have had several special occasion dinners there and each has been spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fine, however, website did not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was fine, however, website did not indicate that only a breakfast/brunch menu would be available on Sunday at 1:00.

Server was pleasant but seened unaware that coffee should be replenished and bread delivered before the end if the meal. He may have been new to the job.

We mentioned that there it was a birthday. A desert menu was provided. One was ordered and then appeared on the bill. After mediocre service, the charge didn't feel good.

We chose the restaurant due to the fine reviews. Sadly we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The service and recognition from the sta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service and recognition from the staff was outstanding, and I mean outstanding! Everyone made us feel very welcome as we celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary. We live locally but had never had dinner at the Finch & Fork and thought we would try something new. We had a 6:30pm reservation on a Friday night and the bar scene was very lively and loud. Our first table was near the bar but we literally could not hear each other and moved to a table in the front of the restaurant, facing the street (actually a view of the gas station across the street). It wasn't exactly the ambiance we were looking for but it was the best the staff could do and we could hear one another. The staff recognized us with complimentary champagne for our anniversary which as very nice of them but not an expectation of ours. The menu is somewhat limited but both entrees were truly outstanding - scallops and trout. Given these are two difficult dishes to prepare well, the kitchen staff did a great job.

Again, the restaurant staff was outstanding and made the night for us very special. Was it the best view or ambiance for this sort of special occasion? Perhaps not but the staff made up for it. My wife and I joked about never actually having a dinner date celebrating a special occasion in 16 years in which our view was of a gas station but this was yet another first for us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Way too loud. Everyone came away angry b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Way too loud. Everyone came away angry because of the noise level added by the fact live music was also too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Chef tried ... but steaks were over-sauc ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Chef tried ... but steaks were over-sauced. To be fair, we didn't try other dishes which may be good. But waitress was too hurried and too busy, on a Tuesday night. And she disappeared and nowhere to be found. No excuse. Another waiter took our bill after a 20 mins of wondering where our waitress had gone off to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Diners are welcomed with a jelly jar of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Diners are welcomed with a jelly jar of housemade pickled vegetables - tangy and crisp! The short ribs were some of the best, if not THE best, I've ever tasted. So tender they could be cut with a fork. And boneless too. Sticky Toffee Cake for dessert is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow! Would go back anytime! Great experi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wow! Would go back anytime! Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always think of Finch & Fork when I have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always think of Finch & Fork when I have out of town guests ar friends to entertain with a great meal. I can always count on the food (& choices) being consistently good, fresh and inventive. The atmosphere is great especially being in a hotel where you usually do not think of finding a great restaurant. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding. Servers and hostes ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was outstanding. Servers and hostess were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A regular Tuesday hangout for Fried Chic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A regular Tuesday hangout for Fried Chicken night. Monday features Burger and Beer and Saturday Farmer's Market Lasagna. Good uncomplicated food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice food restaurant attached to a beaut ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nice food restaurant attached to a beautiful hotel

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience at Finch & For ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a great experience at Finch & Fork. The food was delicious and unique, our waiter, while quirky, was attentive and had very helpful suggestions about the menu. It was relaxing and fun. We missed the legendary fired chicken since we were not there on that night, but everything we has was scrumptious. We all cleaned our plates. Would highly recommend the scallops, salt and pepper chicken, and any of the desserts. Fun and relaxing dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience! We have been to th ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent experience! We have been to this lovely place a few other times and can add this to our list of exceeded expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time to Finch and For ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was my second time to Finch and Fork and again I was very impressed with their customer service. Everyone worked as a team to make sure we were taken care of and had everything needed. Their menu is also amazing, I had the corn soup and the chicken wings; would recommend them both.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT PLACE service was excellent Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

GREAT PLACE

service was excellent

Food delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous and service was gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was fabulous and service was great. The desserts were amazing as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hip dining spot - too noisy for ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great hip dining spot - too noisy for our older guests but the staff was extremely helpful in closing off the dining room from the bar which helped immensely. Food was great, unexpected combinations. Hope to visit again sometime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.