About Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails

31 West Carrillo Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Finch & Fork is a Modern American Bar and Grill centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara’s vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner Monday thru Sunday 5:30 pm thru 10:00 pm
Bar Sunday to Thursday closes at 11:00pm
Bar Friday to Saturday closes at 12:00am
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 9:00pm to 10:00pm
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30 am thru 2:30 pm
Breakfast Monday thru Friday 7:00 am thru 10 30 am

Cross Street:
Chapala

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 879-9100

Website:
http://www.finchandforkrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We have many venues for your catering event, please contact Elizabeth Duffy at elizabeth.duffy@canarysantabarbara.com.

Parking Details:
Services offered at main entrance of the hotel. Additional parking available in the adjacent city parking lot.

Public Transit:
Main Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
James Siao

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your own special event with us. For personalized reservations please call 805 879 9174.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:30PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:30PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Finch & Fork is Santa Barbara on a plate. Executive Chef James Siao designs clean, simple California cuisine that showcases the bounty of Santa Barbara County and the effortless, relaxed elegance of the Best Coast.

Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (65)
special occasion (39)
good for groups (39)
See All
neighborhood gem (35)
vibrant bar scene (32)
romantic (27)
hot spot (27)
great for brunch (21)
great for lunch (20)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

That banana shake was awesome.

vip
Dined 7 days ago

That banana shake was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!! Best meal of our trip includi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fabulous!! Best meal of our trip including at stone house ! Can't wait to go again next time we are in SB. Warm carrots salad, oysters, scallops and short ribs all yummy -lots of gluten free options too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food flavors are excellent and the d ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food flavors are excellent and the dishes are well prepared and presented. The service was also top notch. This is truly a Santa Barbara gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finch and Fork is our new favorite spot! ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Finch and Fork is our new favorite spot! We had the best habanero margarita and the yummiest food with my husband! Curtis was the most delightful server and we will absolutely be back to see him.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service and pretty good food/drinks.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great scallop dish and liked the salads we had....only thing we did not like was the seafood pie....very boring and salty....and the roasted cauliflower(too hard) Service was very good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

almost was perfect

Dined on June 5, 2016

this was our second night in Santa Barbara and I had banked on it being the best because we have picky friends who have never been to S.B. and one of there items was overcooked but our server was great and brought out another entree that was cooked perfect it just caused a delay for a picky eater, But I loved my meal and so did my husband and I know I will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Surprise?

Dined on June 3, 2016

Since this was a hotel restaurant we were not sure what to expect but we were tired and did not feel like searching the neighborhood. What a wonderful surprise! Nice lively scene as a back drop yet cozy and romantic at the same time. We shared olives, Field Green salad, Brussels sprouts and pork and cork everything was very good and we loved our waiter who read us perfectly and helped create a wonderful night (I wish I remembered his name so I could give him a shout out). But I can not say enough about the Pork and Cork which was a braised pork shoulder/pork belly concoction with potato gnocchi. The pork was absolutely amazing! I asked for the recipe which the chef (Peter) emailed to me late that night! I plan to do my best to recreate this for a few good friends very soon. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice find

Dined on June 3, 2016

unexpectedly good - happened upon the place, and we were very happy with everything

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service! Our server Russ was fun a ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great service! Our server Russ was fun and funny. The food was delicious, fresh and original. Great ambience. We look forward to coming back here soon!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Restaurant Overall

Dined on May 31, 2016

My wife and I went here for Sunday Brunch. Drinks were reasonably priced, although most brunch places I go to give unlimited mimosas while Finch and Fork charge $1 for refills. The food was good but wasn't worth the price. I got the pork belly on toast (A.K.A Eggs benedict) which was $17 but was fairly small and not filling. I am not a large guy, but after brunch I had to go to a coffee shop to get a muffin because I was still hungry. My wife got the 2 eggs any style and she was also still hungry after. The other disappointing aspect of the menu was that it did not have any pancakes or waffles. I guess we could have checked the menu before going, but I have never seen a brunch menu that didn't have pancakes or waffles, so that was a little disappointing. I will say that our waiter was fantastic and at one point when I changed my drink order, sprinted to the bar to make sure it was corrected, so 5 stars for that. The restaurant is nice and has a good ambiance but was fairly loud. To be fair part of the loudness was due to the hotel being cool and allowing dogs, but at one point there were about 4-5 dogs barking in the lobby which is right outside the restaurant. I love dogs so it didn't really bother me, but it was pretty loud. All in all this is a good restaurant and I enjoyed it. I would probably go back here to try their lunch or dinner, but don't think I would go back for their brunch.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Foodies from Minnesota

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was top notch with attentive service. There was a mix up with our order and the wrong entrée was prepared. One of us ate while the other waited for a new entrée to be prepared. Chef apologized in person and prepared two delicious desserts of our choice which we enjoyed together.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything we ordered was tasty, especia ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Everything we ordered was tasty, especially the scallops, a wonderful combination of flavors and textures, and the Brussels sprouts. There is an extensive cocktail list. The wine list was good, too. Noise level was high (there was a large group seated next to us) and overall it was a bit pricey.

food1
ambience3
service2

Being an inner circle member of Kimpton ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Being an inner circle member of Kimpton we would have expected better when it comes to providing something that is as described. This was my second time in this restaurant and I can't say that I would ever go back. Not one thing was good. Look at places like trattoria Mollie or Jane for some pointers. Seared Ahi tuna on a dish isn't served all the way white like a piece of rubber - this was a waste. The hotel is great just avoid their restaurant unless you are only looking for drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara. The f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara. The food and service are top notch. Special compliments to the chef on both flavour and presentation.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was delicious. The ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious. The short rib entree was fork tender and the brussel sprout were some of the best ive had anywhere. The milkshake desert eas phenomenal

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

F&F delights as always

Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food, great wine list, parking next door. F&F offers 4/5 star dining at lower prices. We're regulars. Favorites include Brussell Sprouts (maple bacon and parmesan -- just try them), scallops (best in Santa Barbara), short ribs, and "burger and a beer," which on our last visit meant a whole breaded softshell crab with pork belly on a burger bun and garlic fries. Oh yeah. Nice wine list. Pickled veggies instead of bread and butter is a super nice touch. All the desserts are perfect. Staff knows their stuff, chef is easily in the top 10% of SB's best. Nice date place, go during the week for quieter and less crowded experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthy of its High Reputation

Dined on May 23, 2016

Finch & Fork has an excellent reputation in the Santa Barbara community, and it is well deserved. You can tell within 30 seconds of walking in the door what a restaurant thinks of its guests, and we were greeted by a personable, friendly, classy woman who was very accommodating to our needs. The ambience of the restaurant is elegant and comfortable, the kind of place that reminded me of a time where opulence was the customer's destiny, but not in a stuffy manner. The service was attentive without being overbearing. We never felt rushed once during our meeting, but we didn't have to wait for a need to be met either. The chicken kale salad and prime rib sandwich were both delicious. A negroni was properly made and garnished, and the wines by the glass were thoughtfully selected to accompany the food. In short, I'm looking for an excuse to go back as soon as possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a salad with quinoa, salmon, barley, ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Had a salad with quinoa, salmon, barley, cucumber. Had the house dressing which was ok but not great. The Sauvignon blanch was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fork and Fitch has a fried chicken dinne ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Fork and Fitch has a fried chicken dinner on Tuesday. It is incredible. The salads are large so enough for two people. Our server was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

My friend and I were in town for girls weekend. Finch and Fork was a wonderful find and a great experience. Thought it was going to go South at the beginning due to large group of guys with interesting vocabulary being seated nearby. But when we asked to be moved the waiter and matre de couldn't have been more helpful or nice. The new waitress was spectacular and the food mouth watering. I recommend this restaurant to everyone :)

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Santa Barbara Captured!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I have dined at Finch & Fork several times and it is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara! The food is fresh and locally sourced, meals are prepared with quality ingredients, and presented beautifully. I highly recommend the kale salad, which can stand alone, but is even more scrumptious when you add the grilled salmon to it. I have also had breakfast and dinner entrees there as well, and they have never disappointed. Finch & Fork is my choice when I want a healthy, delicious meal. I am also quite fond of their ambience and sophisticated French country decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waitress was what made the experience so much more... She was very personable and made great food recommendations.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Understated Elegance

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

We booked for our Anniversary dinner. Excellent service and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very romantic american style dining

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing service and the food... the milkshake desert is die for...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful girls date!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was super attentive and our water glasses were ALWAYS full throughout the entire meal. We were a group of four ladies and the server was very patient with us and helped us with what to order, etc. The girls all got the salmon dish and I had the Thursday pork special which was perfectly prepared. We had an Axxess card, so it was a 2-for-1 kind of deal for any dishes up to $24.00. I also had the house white which I thought was pretty tasty. I've been here for lunches and happy hours, even for meetings, but I think this is by far my best experience at Finch & Fork! I will for sure be back for dinner and happy hour :) Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Service was slow, probably due to the fa ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Service was slow, probably due to the fact that the room appears to be understaffed. My companion's dinner, a bouillabaisse, arrived piping hot; my short ribs arrived warm, at best. We used to find this dining room dependable and looked forward to eating there. Now it is merely dependable for being slow, noisy and indifferent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service, food, and ambiance are amaz ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service, food, and ambiance are amazing here. I look forward to having our wedding reception here!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love

Dined on April 16, 2016

This is by far my favorite brunch spot. I will drive hours from where I live to eat here. And while in Santa Barbara, I have and will continue to eat here every morning because of the short rib and sweet potato hash with chimichurri sauce and horseradish. Everything about this dish is perfect. I love breakfast hash and order it on the menu everywhere I go if it's an option and every hash pales in comparison to this one. The short rib is tender and full of flavor, perfectly cooked and not overdone one bit. The sweet potatoes are soft but not mushy and the eggs on top are fried and easy to perfection. Not only is the food spot on, but so is the service. On our most recent visit, our waitress from Saturday recognized us on Sunday and was sure to bring me extra chimichurri and horseradish like I had requested the day before. And the delicious mimosas cap it all off perfectly. I have tried all that they offer (orange, grapefruit, cranberry and peach) and while all are yummy, peach is my favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 16, 2016

I wish I could rave about this restaurant--the decor and ambiance are lovely, but we had a very disappointing dinner. The menu checked a lot of the right boxes for locavore dining and fresh takes on classic comfort fare. However, the salt and pepper chicken wings, while crisp and lovely in texture, were bathed in a too- sweet sauce without any noticeable seasoning to balance the sugar. A roasted trout over spaetzle main course was under-seasoned in the extreme, the fish overcooked and unappetizingly arrayed over the potatoes, which had a nice chewy texture but no flavor, despite the addition of pancetta. A special 'frozen tiramisu' dessert tasted old and had terrible texture. This was exchanged for a too-sweet salted caramel pudding with graham cracker...all in all, nothing to rave about. We did appreciate the high-caliber staff and service, very professional in all respects.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Delight

Dined on April 16, 2016

While we had a dinner reservation for a table, we chose to stay at the bar after our excellent cocktails---the Guava Margaritas are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed all the plates we shared. The ambiance was high energy and classy. I look forward to returning to Finch and Fork soon, plus recommending to friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Great service, great food, great ambiance. Another fantastic dining experience here. Highly recommend the wings and the brussels sprouts, entree salmon kale salad....wow! Tatiana the floor manager was wonderful in pairing wine with each course and our server was very genuine and respectful. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice evening

Dined on April 14, 2016

The service was excellent; food very good; staff very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

No Rooftop dining

Dined on April 13, 2016

I was disappointed that we could not eat on the roof top. On the website is shows roof top dining but the restaurant is actually on the lower level. It was a bit disappointing as I picked that place because my niece was in from Ohio.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites in Santa Barbara. Go!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Why go any place else when this is one of the best?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible food

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The food is absolutely incredible. Everything I have ordered I have loved from breakfast, cocktails, dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

If I had to describe my idea of a perfec ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

If I had to describe my idea of a perfect evening, this would be it! The hosts were stellar, the food was delectable and the location is matchless. This was our third time dining here and each time exceeds the wonderfulness of the previous one.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic Brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch! We'd recommend making reservations as they were turning people away or seating them in the bar ... Food was great; service on drinks was a bit slow (probably because of how busy they were and how many were being ordered) ... but worth waiting for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service1

My friend and I had brunch which, if I c ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

My friend and I had brunch which, if I closed my eyes could have been at any low end ,run of the mill chain. It was extremely overpriced, horrible service and lacking in taste.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Substantial in every way

Dined on April 3, 2016

Could honestly not find fault with this venue. Great servers, minimal wait for reservation which is to my liking. Good menu which delivers on taste. A quite exceptional dessert with the milkshake decent cocktails wine and beer. Nothing could go wrong and it didn't. Pity I live not just on the other side of the US but on the other side of the Atlantic otherwise I'd be a regular

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! Tuesday fried Chicken was ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Outstanding! Tuesday fried Chicken was the best and the milk shake for desert was to die for. Gotta go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.