HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 35 times today
Special offers available. See details

Finch & Fork: Corner Grill Cocktails

4.5
926 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (13)
  • Fit for Foodies (12)
  • Creative Cuisine (10)
Finch & Fork is a Modern American Bar and Grill centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara’s vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Californian, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner Monday thru Sunday 5:30 pm thru 10:00 pm
Bar Sunday to Thursday closes at 11:00pm
Bar Friday to Saturday closes at 12:00am
Happy Hour Monday thru Friday 4:00pm to 7:00pm
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30 am thru 2:30 pm
Breakfast Monday thru Friday 7:00 am thru 10 30 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 879-9100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Siao
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We have many venues for your catering event, please contact Patrick Bryant at our website.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Chapala
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet/Public Parking Lot
Services offered at main entrance of the hotel. Additional parking available in the adjacent city parking lot.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Main Bus Terminal
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Saturday February 3, 2018
Rivet Cycling + Finch & Fork's "Rivet & Ribs"
Cycle, Eat Ribs, Support a great cause 'No Kid Hungry'
Join us for a breath-taking ride followed by an incredible feast on the Kimpton Canary Hotel's rooftop. Take in stunning views of Santa Barbara and the Channel Islands while awaiting an organic, locally-sourced, farm-to-table culinary experience.
Ride: 9am - 4pm Dinner: 4pm - 8pm
Dinner $120
Dinner + Ride $145
Dinner + Ride + Return Shuttle $170
For details visit: www.rivetcycling.com/events

Host your own special event with us. For personalized reservations please call restaurant directly.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Finch & Fork is Santa Barbara on a plate. Executive Chef James Siao designs clean, simple California cuisine that showcases the bounty of Santa Barbara County and the effortless, relaxed elegance of the Best Coast.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 12:30PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM
Sat 12:30PM - 2:00PM

What 926 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
2.0  Dined 5 days ago

Go for drinks, then leave.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Great attentive service!

Report
Helpful
kellyh 
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

A Wonderful evening with special people and a fantastic meal.

Report
Helpful
Pdvta (Orange County)
2.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Made reservations several days in advance. Upon arriving at the restaurant we were seated in a very small table near the entry of the restaurant. The restaurant had many open tables and booths so I asked to move to an open booth. The hostess had a bit of an attitude with my request to change tables. We were served by two different waiters during dinner and both were rude and snobbish. Ordered a cocktail which I had to sent back twice because the drink was bitter. The salmon I ordered for dinner had very little flavor, small portion for the price charged.

Report
Helpful
Gracie (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Came here with my daughter and her boyfriend when we went to Santa Barbara visiting them. I made a reservation that morning on the way there. It was easy. When we arrived (even we were 15 min early), they seated us right away. Food was really good. I ordered the Seared Ahi plate because my husband ordered the Pork belly Benedict and we like to share. I have to say the Benedict tasted so much better. The tuna was a bit bland but it is meant to be lighter in taste. Although it was a bit bland but the quinoa was really good. In another word, it was still very good but if you want something stronger favor, don't order this one. My daughter ordered the same thing but her bf ordered the burger with garlic fries and he said it was really delicious. Expect to spend about $20 - 25 per person, could be more if you order drinks. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
vipAHreview (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Finch and Fork was a lovely find on a recent trip to Santa Barbara.
The menu is interesting and varied and the food is scrumptious.
They should have a Michelin star.
I had a buttery, warm carrot soup , then a creative beet, burrata, and nut salad that was a perfect blend of the three ingredients, with the cheese light and creamy, unlike some that is just too dense. When my stunning trout came I needed a rest, and could only eat half. The flavor popped in my mouth, and the crunchy hazelnuts were a delightful surprise in each bite. Perfectly cooked, the fish was served over a tasty, nutlike blend of multiple grains that I couldn't individually identify. (I took the other half home and ate it cold for lunch the next day, and it was still yummy, fresh, and tender.) For dessert I chose the light, but rich, lemony cheesecake, and somehow managed to eat all of it, while saying to myself that I couldn't possibly finish it. Truthfully I am somewhat jaded after way too many nice dinners out, but I have to say that this was one of the very best.

Report
Helpful
vipMplsGirl (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

My prime rib was not nearly as tender as it should have been, unfortunately. But wonderful ambiance, service, drinks, and I’ve had excellent breakfasts there multiple times. Recommended.

Report
Helpful
vipSteve (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Finch & Fork is the best restaurant experience we've had in a long time. The cocktails and food were creative and excellent, and our waiter Brett was just the right amount of attentive.

My wife had a Cadillac margarita that was just as it should be, and I experimented with an odd drink called an Avocado Fix. It is a rum-based drink that didn't taste like avocado but got a creamy body from the avocado. Like everything we had on the menu, it was a combination of flavors I never would have thought of, but worked perfectly. I later followed with a "Duck" Old Fashioned that was the best Old Fashioned I've ever had.

For an appetizer, we shared a mushroom flatbread that was the most unflat flatbread I've ever had, and I mean that in a good way. It was like the deep dish pizza of flatbreads, with four types of mushrooms, and crispy kale pieces that practically dissolved in your mouth.

For dinner, I had the best duck breast I've ever had, sitting on faro that my wife kept grabbing bites of, and a few blackberries and blackberry sauce. Again, not a combination I would have invented, but they perfectly complemented each other. My wife had what I normally consider a boring choice, the Jidori chicken. I changed my critique when I grabbed a bite. It was some of the best, juiciest chicken I've ever had, with an interesting, but not overpowering, combination of spices.

Finch & Fork is now #1 on our list of Santa Barbara restaurants we MUST visit each time we're in town.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

Went to F&F for a date night. The pictures on OpenTable made the place look more enticing than it really was. The dining area is are less of an intimate setting than I had hoped. The table was larger and put too much distance between my wife and I than we're used to in upscale places such as these. That combined with the noise from bar area meant that we had a hard time hearing one another. The seats were deeper are more reclined that one would want when dining, as well. We were hoping the menu offered a compelling reason to remain. Nope. Thankfully, our server walked up and saved the evening! He was very cool and totally engaging. After making a few recommendations and putting us at ease, we were soon sipping inventive and delightful cocktails. The Deviled Eggs and oysters appetizers were good as was the kale salad. The NY steak, however, was totally compromised with excessive garnish, and it would have been better served alone with separate sides. Other than that, we totally satisfied.

Bottom line: The menu & kitchen can use a little help. The service was TOP NOTCH and worth the trip. We will go there again with revised expectations.

Report
Helpful
vipgingermango (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

My friend and I went to Finch & Fork during our trip to Santa Barbara. F&F was recommended by a friend who is a foodie, and he was right about the restaurant being a great spot. First we were a bit wary of the menu because there were very few vegetarian items (my dining companion is a vegetarian). Even some of the vegetarian items had meat, which made them non-vegetarian. However, the vegetable items that were on the menu (both were appetizers were really well executed and delicious. It was fine since she was not that hungry, but it would have been a problem if she were. Being a pescetarian, I had the only fish dish (trout) on the "plate" part of the menu, and it was solid. We also enjoyed the cocktails (fresh, inventive) and dessert (the best thing!). I'd say F & F is a solid restaurant but is a much better choice for omnivores. It would be so much more desirable for me if the menu had more vegetarian and pescetarian-friendly dishes.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Our server Joe was very attentive and helped answer any questions we had. Food and service was incredible!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

My colleagues and I had a great evening. Excellent, although somewhat limited wine selections. Great appetizers and entres. The service and atmosphere was casual, yet elegant too.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

I’ve been there before and food is good. I went because their website mentioned lamb burgers but they haven’t had them on the menu for two years! The food is good but a bit expensive.

Report
Helpful
vipBKBK (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Chopped salad was the best I’ve ever had, and outstanding salmon tacos. Thursday special of bouillabaisse was fantastic. Scallops with avacado, beets and grapefruit... sound odd? It was delicious!!! Servers were excellent. We were in Santa Barbara for 6 days and had lunch one day and dinner the next!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Superb. Chef Peter Cham is of the upmost highly talented chefs. A must if you’re in Santa Barbara.

Report
Helpful
vipakpk (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 15, 2018

Very good Downtown spot for drinks and appetizers / nice dinner. The food was great and we liked the menu variety. Excellent cocktails.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
3.0  Dined on January 15, 2018

Not a great waitress. Overpriced mimosas. Soggy English muffin.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

Always great food. Love the pickled veggies instead of bread. Kids menu is great with healthy options.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orange County)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Very good. A little more than casual. Great food

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

Now this is what food is supposed to taste like!!! We went on my birthday for lunch and Rob took care of us - he was so friendly and personable and really helped guide us through the menu. We got the fried chicken sandwich, mushroom flatbread, and the kale salad with salmon. Each dish was amazing and the flavors were so delicious. Rob helped us choose wine and the pairings were perfect. I found the restaurant on yelp and I’m so glad we stopped in. It was such a highlight of my birthday!

Food - five stars!
Service - five stars!
Ambiance - five stars!

Everything was perfect and I would definitely return any time I’m back in Santa Barbara!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Amazing! The short rib was fantastic and carmelized pear burrata was to die for. Wonderful service, our waiter was so friendly and helped us plan our day at the wineries. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

Interesting, wish menu was just a little more rounded.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Food was delicious and very nicely presented
Service was excellent .

Report
Helpful
vipitsbob826 (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Very bad name, very good restaurant. More upscale than a Grill and the food overshadowed the cocktails. It’s a Kimpton thing.

Report
Helpful
Goodfoodgirl (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

Fabulous food and great service. Daily specials are superb.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

Make a reservation. It gets very full. It is a great hotel restaurant and very close to State St. which makes it a great location to sit down and enjoy dinner after a day of exploring or shopping.

The food was simple and tasty.

Report
Helpful
vipLsolo (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

We had a great meal with wonderful service. Loved the dining area.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on November 27, 2017

Great meal, great service. Server was knowledgeable about the menu in the wine.

Report
Helpful
1JAM (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

We were taking my father to dinner. It has proven challenging in the past to find a restaurant that serves cocktails, has nice acoustics so my dad can hear us, and lovely food that all of us enjoy and service that is professional and thoughtful.
All expectations were exceeded. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

Wanted a special lunch spot while traveling on thanksgiving weekend.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31