About Final Cut - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map

The Final Cut is a contemporary American steakhouse featuring hand selected USDA Mid-Western Prime Beef, corn-fed and naturally aged up to four weeks to insure maximum flavor and texture. Each steak is hand cut to order, seasoned with kosher salt and tri color peppercorns, then broiled at 1600 degrees to create a thin charred crust that seals in the delicious natural beef juices. All steaks are finished with a touch of butter to enhance their natural richness. In addition to serving the highest quality beef, The Final Cut Steakhouse also features Colorado Lamb, Free-range Chicken, Wild Salmon, Cold Water Lobster, Sushi Grade Ahi Tuna and many seasonal shellfish delivered daily to our door, plus incredible side dishes and fresh baked breads. On top of all that, The Final Cut Steakhouse offers a three hundred bottle wine list that features both New and Old World wines to pique any diner's interest. Welcome and enjoy a touch of Hollywood!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
All guests must be 21 or older.
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 724-4355

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Parking Details:
Please, ask your server to validate your parking ticket.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Longmire

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Final Cut - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
4 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Morgantown
Best Restaurants in Charles Town ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We visited Final Cut before a show and t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We visited Final Cut before a show and the service was top notch. My husbands meal was fantastic (he had fish). Mine on the other hand was not prepared well. I was told that the steaks were cooked in a 1,600 degree oven and would have an nice char. The steak did not have a char and was limp. The potato was dry and over baked. I don't believe for these prices we would come back given the issue with the quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We were looking for Alex as our server, ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were looking for Alex as our server, but he was on duty as manager. He kept checking to ensure everything was going good. Our server Marshall made sure we were taken care of.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the 20 oz bone in ribeye, medium r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had the 20 oz bone in ribeye, medium rare and wife had the 16 oz boneless, medium rare. Both cooked to perfection, excellent flavor, and the mashed potatoes were excellent (next day, re-heated, under 21 daughter approved). This place rivals Mortons and Ruth Chris'

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This evening would have been perfect if ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This evening would have been perfect if the person who cooked my filet understood medium rare does not mean "Rare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced. Though Appetizers and starte ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overpriced. Though Appetizers and starters are very good plus baked potato as well NY strip could be more tender for the price. McLean the server was very nice and quite polite!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is fantastic......soft noise an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is fantastic......soft noise and great waiters.

You can't ask for more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Best steaks y ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food, great service. Best steaks you will ever order anywhere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've frequented this place several times ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I've frequented this place several times. The last two have been my least memorable of the 8 or so times I've dined there.

This time I specifically requested a half booth table. The place was maybe 10% full with patrons as we were seated at the 1st table as servers go to the kitchen and bar. We could have had many other tables with less traffic constantly moving past our table.

The ahi tuna was as bad as I've had it there. It is something I order every time. The flavor was not good and the tuna was not fresh.

The $55 cut of filet was also the worst filet I've had during my dining there. I also order filet everytime I eat there. It definitely did not appear to be anywhere near a prime piece of meat.

The lobster tail I ordered was very good. And the French Onion soup was good.

The truffle Mac n Cheese was also so so.

I'm not sure if there are new cooks or what. But for a $500 meal for four people, it was no where near what I would expect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food & service was superior. The manager ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food & service was superior. The manager (Christina) and waiter (Alex) made sure we had a wonderful dining experience,will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were terrible. Sent back twice. S ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Steaks were terrible. Sent back twice. Server acted O.K. until we didn't order wine. I would NEVER allow any of my friends or family to dine there. For the price we expected much better food .(both steaks came out cold). The service is much better at Hoss's or any other steak house in the area. Will never go there again. I never bad mouth business's because people do have bad days, however, this was far below industry standards. John C., Martinsburg, WV P.S. we were so excited to try this. The epic buffet blows this out of the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Excited to dine at The Final Cut. Food w ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excited to dine at The Final Cut. Food was very good, but pricey. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were most pleased with the dinner we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were most pleased with the dinner we had at the Final Cut to celebrate our 33rd Wedding Anniversary. We have been to the Final Cut in the past and have always enjoyed the food, service and wine selection. The wait staff at this restaurant goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy with your food and wine selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great and wait servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is always great and wait service is excellent! We go for special occasions, with reservations through open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my birthday and was treated like ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was my birthday and was treated like Royalty from the door..Lars was friendly and my flowers and gifts were delivered before I got there and he knew me by my name. My waiter was a gem. he was friendly and knowlegeable...Laskar you are the best.........I would go there any time I have to celebrate any occassion. I also told everyone who would listen..those 2 people I would like to work for me if i had a restuarant......Thanks guys

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent; cocktails disappointing

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our meals very much. The cocktails were weak and had little taste. If we ever go again we'll stick to beer/wine. The steak I had was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Second time there for a special occasion ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Second time there for a special occasion and brought friends with us this time. We requested a waiter George who we had the first time and we were not disappointed. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had a wonderful server! Have been on se ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Had a wonderful server! Have been on several occasions & always excellent. We treated visiting friends from Michigan and will be back in a few weeks when our grandson visits.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was very helpful

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Waiter was very helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is top notch. We went for a b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This place is top notch. We went for a birthday dinner. It's expensive, but the food and service is outstanding. It's exactly what I want from a quality steak house. I only gave the ambiance 4 stars because we were seated in kind of a weirdly positioned booth which faced the entrance. I'd have preferred a little more privacy, instead of everyone coming and going by the table. Maybe some plants or something would help that area feel cozier. But we ordered wine, steaks, mushrooms and it was all delicious and high quality. The waiter was the perfect blend of being helpful and there when you needed him, but not overbearing. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An overall great dining experience.

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

An overall great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Mother's Night out

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My MomMom sister and I enjoyed a night out together. scallops were delish! We enjoyed the wedge salad too! Side dishes and Desserts are huge and can be shared. The PB mousse was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

As steak houses go, pretty good food. Ju ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

As steak houses go, pretty good food. Just tough for me to give an entirely excellent mark because it's at a casino, with all the challenges and limitations of casino restaurants. But we enjoyed the dinner, regardless. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We love the ambiance. Very romantic. Gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We love the ambiance. Very romantic. Great service and large portions on delicious food. 5 Star / A +

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Different from first visit

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I was quite impressed with the food and ambiance my first visit. What happened? The food was so bland this time. For the price and portion size I expect all of the food to taste amazing. It was just ok and such a let down especially since I convinced my dinner guests we should begin my boyfriend's birthday celebration at the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This was my first time, but will not be my last.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I absolutely will continue to frequent this restaurant. The food was great and the service exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Butterflying Quality Meat should not be pushed

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My fiance and I drove 1.5 hours to get to the restaurant for a birthday celebration. We ordered the fillets and wanted them cooked medium to medium well. The waiter told us it would be more consistent to have them butterflyed, I initially said no but since my fiance opted for this I went along. His was mostly medium well but mine was well done. This does not bode well for a restaurant boasting great steaks, and where everything is priced ala carte and expensive. We had previously dined here and raved about it to our friends, but no more! Quality of preparation for such high quality meat should be a requisite not an option. We were very both disappointed. We will not visit again as a result. In addition, smoke could be smelled from the casino inside the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Wonderful dinner with my wife. Our serve ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful dinner with my wife. Our server Marshall County was outstanding very informative and knowledgeable. Food was delicious. Great experience and definitely will return. Thanks for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

A special request for Carpaccio arrived at the table as a "tournedo of carpaccio", a presentation that would need to be seen to be believed. An "uneven" bowl, with the "high" side layered with tiny disks of prime tenderloin, with a wonderful horseradish cream in the bottom of the bowl. The rest of the dinner was perfect, including the halibut addition to the menu. The following week we attended a Wine Dinner, featuring Catana Argentinian wines. An incredible presentation by the winery, with some truly exceptional wines. The 7 course dinner, paired with the wines, was pure innovation from Chef Kevin Longmire....nothing from the menu. A citrus salad and the house made sausage (featuring a little fois gras as an ingredient) were amazing, featuring some very unusual and BIG flavors. Nobody organizes a wine dinner like manager Hristina Ninova. I always leave these events hoping she will schedule another one quickly. The service at our first dinner above, delivered by Alex, was as always, perfection. Most of the service staff was involved in the wine dinner, and to say it was perfectly choreographed would be a serious understatement. Literally flawless. Seven wonderful food course, with an equal number of great and unusal wines, brought to life with a grand service solution is pretty much as good as it gets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Once again, we were surprised at how good the food is here. Definitely the best thing going at the casino. The steaks were cooked perfectly, and the sides we ordered were delicious. Our only negative is that the wine list, while wide-ranging, is very high priced. It's difficult to find a bottle that is under $100. While we appreciate a robust wine list, there just has to be at least a few bottles that are within reach for most everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprisingly awesome!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Never expected to find a top notch gourmet restaurant like this in a casino in West Virginia. Now one of my favorite places anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consitent

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This is one of our favorites as it is located about 1.5 miles from our house. The food is amazing, the service is second to none and the wine list is notable. I don't eat a tons of red meat but, when I do, I go after the bone in ribeye.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place to eat

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I went there for dinner, the food and the service were amazing. The waiter was extremely attentive to our needs and our food came out quickly and was some of the best steak that we ever had. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the best, not the worst

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

It was our first time dining there, which the server found out - wish he provided a little more info on the menu and suggested choosing a sauce for our filets. I didn't realize there would be no sauce/juice/anything with the steak so it was a bit dry. My husband ordered his medium and half of the filet was just that while the other half was much more rare than medium but he hates returning food so ate it. The sides we ordered (mushrooms and steak fries) were also just ok.

Like the review title says - it wasn't the best filet I've had but wasn't the worst either. I'd say overall the experience was "ok".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Birthday

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for my girlfriend. the service was great and the meal was excellent. The beef was great and cooked to perfection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Raising the bar on a great steak

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

For a fine dining restaurant that already expertly delivers the very best prime steaks anywhere, deciding to raise the bar for a few days requires a bit of imagination, and some very serious skill and confidence in the kitchen. On this night, the Final Cut offered A5 Kobe Filets which, in terms of quality is pretty much as good as it gets. The challenge for the Final Cut kitchen, or any kitchen, is that correctly grilling this great treat is not simple and, given the cost, not a great idea in the hands of a timid chef. Not a problem here. My approach was to simply leave the decision on temperature to the incredibly skilled team assembled by Chef Kevin Longmire. Of course, what showed up at the table was, as always, perfection. Chef Longmire also offered a Kobe Carpaccio appetizer, which was pure heaven. As suggested above, only the best of the best would even attempt to serve A5 Kobe. No problem here. Coupled with the great wine suggested by manager Hristina Ninova, and the expert service delivered by McLean, this was truly a memorable, perhaps epic dining experience. Nobody does it better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great service, excellent wine list, attentive - but not annoying - staff. Excellent presentation of dishes - for example, the onion soup comes with a cute little mini grilled cheese. Love the complimentary cookies and chocolates that came with coffee as the perfect finish to a memorable meal with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our waiter Marshall was polite and wonderful! The steak and mashed potatoes were delicious!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Our evening at the Final Cut was very enjoyable. We elected to have the fixed price menu and it was an excellent choice. We paired wine with the meal and at $100 for the two of us, it was a pretty good bargain. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. We actually took some home with us. The free-range chicken was exceptional. A la carte seemed to be a little over-priced but maybe it would have been worth it. I do know the food we had was excellent and the price for it was not overly inflated. The service was also excellent. The waiter and staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

calm an relaxing

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had the bone in ribeye lobster tail an 40 ounce porterhouse which was cooked to perfection still talking about it days later can't wait to eat there again an tell more friends an family about the final cut restaurant at Charlestown casinos amazing job to everyone there for makin our meal amazing an our time spent there

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Choice

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a great meal, but the restaurant was not full and yet the waiter was running around very busy and we waited a long time between each interaction.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.