About Final Cut - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map

The Final Cut is a contemporary American steakhouse featuring hand selected USDA Mid-Western Prime Beef, corn-fed and naturally aged up to four weeks to insure maximum flavor and texture. Each steak is hand cut to order, seasoned with kosher salt and tri color peppercorns, then broiled at 1600 degrees to create a thin charred crust that seals in the delicious natural beef juices. All steaks are finished with a touch of butter to enhance their natural richness. In addition to serving the highest quality beef, The Final Cut Steakhouse also features Colorado Lamb, Free-range Chicken, Wild Salmon, Cold Water Lobster, Sushi Grade Ahi Tuna and many seasonal shellfish delivered daily to our door, plus incredible side dishes and fresh baked breads. On top of all that, The Final Cut Steakhouse offers a three hundred bottle wine list that features both New and Old World wines to pique any diner's interest. Welcome and enjoy a touch of Hollywood!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
All guests must be 21 or older.
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 724-4355

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Parking Details:
Please, ask your server to validate your parking ticket.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Longmire

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Final Cut - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
4 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Morgantown
Best Restaurants in Charles Town ›

special occasion (44)
romantic (34)
notable wine list (20)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (3)
Sort By:
Newest
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food excellent; cocktails disappointing

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our meals very much. The cocktails were weak and had little taste. If we ever go again we'll stick to beer/wine. The steak I had was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Second time there for a special occasion ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Second time there for a special occasion and brought friends with us this time. We requested a waiter George who we had the first time and we were not disappointed. We will be back

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful server! Have been on se ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Had a wonderful server! Have been on several occasions & always excellent. We treated visiting friends from Michigan and will be back in a few weeks when our grandson visits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was very helpful

Dined on May 18, 2016

Waiter was very helpful

food5
ambience5
service5

An overall great dining experience.

Dined on May 7, 2016

An overall great dining experience.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A Mother's Night out

Dined on May 6, 2016

My MomMom sister and I enjoyed a night out together. scallops were delish! We enjoyed the wedge salad too! Side dishes and Desserts are huge and can be shared. The PB mousse was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

As steak houses go, pretty good food. Ju ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

As steak houses go, pretty good food. Just tough for me to give an entirely excellent mark because it's at a casino, with all the challenges and limitations of casino restaurants. But we enjoyed the dinner, regardless. Thanks!

food5
ambience5
service5

We love the ambiance. Very romantic. Gre ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We love the ambiance. Very romantic. Great service and large portions on delicious food. 5 Star / A +

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Different from first visit

Dined on April 24, 2016

I was quite impressed with the food and ambiance my first visit. What happened? The food was so bland this time. For the price and portion size I expect all of the food to taste amazing. It was just ok and such a let down especially since I convinced my dinner guests we should begin my boyfriend's birthday celebration at the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time, but will not be my last.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I absolutely will continue to frequent this restaurant. The food was great and the service exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Butterflying Quality Meat should not be pushed

Dined on April 17, 2016

My fiance and I drove 1.5 hours to get to the restaurant for a birthday celebration. We ordered the fillets and wanted them cooked medium to medium well. The waiter told us it would be more consistent to have them butterflyed, I initially said no but since my fiance opted for this I went along. His was mostly medium well but mine was well done. This does not bode well for a restaurant boasting great steaks, and where everything is priced ala carte and expensive. We had previously dined here and raved about it to our friends, but no more! Quality of preparation for such high quality meat should be a requisite not an option. We were very both disappointed. We will not visit again as a result. In addition, smoke could be smelled from the casino inside the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner with my wife. Our serve ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful dinner with my wife. Our server Marshall County was outstanding very informative and knowledgeable. Food was delicious. Great experience and definitely will return. Thanks for a great evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner

Dined on April 8, 2016

A special request for Carpaccio arrived at the table as a "tournedo of carpaccio", a presentation that would need to be seen to be believed. An "uneven" bowl, with the "high" side layered with tiny disks of prime tenderloin, with a wonderful horseradish cream in the bottom of the bowl. The rest of the dinner was perfect, including the halibut addition to the menu. The following week we attended a Wine Dinner, featuring Catana Argentinian wines. An incredible presentation by the winery, with some truly exceptional wines. The 7 course dinner, paired with the wines, was pure innovation from Chef Kevin Longmire....nothing from the menu. A citrus salad and the house made sausage (featuring a little fois gras as an ingredient) were amazing, featuring some very unusual and BIG flavors. Nobody organizes a wine dinner like manager Hristina Ninova. I always leave these events hoping she will schedule another one quickly. The service at our first dinner above, delivered by Alex, was as always, perfection. Most of the service staff was involved in the wine dinner, and to say it was perfectly choreographed would be a serious understatement. Literally flawless. Seven wonderful food course, with an equal number of great and unusal wines, brought to life with a grand service solution is pretty much as good as it gets.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Once again, we were surprised at how good the food is here. Definitely the best thing going at the casino. The steaks were cooked perfectly, and the sides we ordered were delicious. Our only negative is that the wine list, while wide-ranging, is very high priced. It's difficult to find a bottle that is under $100. While we appreciate a robust wine list, there just has to be at least a few bottles that are within reach for most everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly awesome!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Never expected to find a top notch gourmet restaurant like this in a casino in West Virginia. Now one of my favorite places anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always consitent

Dined on March 26, 2016

This is one of our favorites as it is located about 1.5 miles from our house. The food is amazing, the service is second to none and the wine list is notable. I don't eat a tons of red meat but, when I do, I go after the bone in ribeye.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place to eat

Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I went there for dinner, the food and the service were amazing. The waiter was extremely attentive to our needs and our food came out quickly and was some of the best steak that we ever had. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not the best, not the worst

Dined on March 5, 2016

It was our first time dining there, which the server found out - wish he provided a little more info on the menu and suggested choosing a sauce for our filets. I didn't realize there would be no sauce/juice/anything with the steak so it was a bit dry. My husband ordered his medium and half of the filet was just that while the other half was much more rare than medium but he hates returning food so ate it. The sides we ordered (mushrooms and steak fries) were also just ok. Like the review title says - it wasn't the best filet I've had but wasn't the worst either. I'd say overall the experience was "ok".

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday

Dined on March 5, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for my girlfriend. the service was great and the meal was excellent. The beef was great and cooked to perfection

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raising the bar on a great steak

Dined on February 27, 2016

For a fine dining restaurant that already expertly delivers the very best prime steaks anywhere, deciding to raise the bar for a few days requires a bit of imagination, and some very serious skill and confidence in the kitchen. On this night, the Final Cut offered A5 Kobe Filets which, in terms of quality is pretty much as good as it gets. The challenge for the Final Cut kitchen, or any kitchen, is that correctly grilling this great treat is not simple and, given the cost, not a great idea in the hands of a timid chef. Not a problem here. My approach was to simply leave the decision on temperature to the incredibly skilled team assembled by Chef Kevin Longmire. Of course, what showed up at the table was, as always, perfection. Chef Longmire also offered a Kobe Carpaccio appetizer, which was pure heaven. As suggested above, only the best of the best would even attempt to serve A5 Kobe. No problem here. Coupled with the great wine suggested by manager Hristina Ninova, and the expert service delivered by McLean, this was truly a memorable, perhaps epic dining experience. Nobody does it better!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great service, excellent wine list, attentive - but not annoying - staff. Excellent presentation of dishes - for example, the onion soup comes with a cute little mini grilled cheese. Love the complimentary cookies and chocolates that came with coffee as the perfect finish to a memorable meal with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our waiter Marshall was polite and wonderful! The steak and mashed potatoes were delicious!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice evening

Dined on February 18, 2016

Our evening at the Final Cut was very enjoyable. We elected to have the fixed price menu and it was an excellent choice. We paired wine with the meal and at $100 for the two of us, it was a pretty good bargain. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. We actually took some home with us. The free-range chicken was exceptional. A la carte seemed to be a little over-priced but maybe it would have been worth it. I do know the food we had was excellent and the price for it was not overly inflated. The service was also excellent. The waiter and staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

calm an relaxing

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had the bone in ribeye lobster tail an 40 ounce porterhouse which was cooked to perfection still talking about it days later can't wait to eat there again an tell more friends an family about the final cut restaurant at Charlestown casinos amazing job to everyone there for makin our meal amazing an our time spent there

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Best Choice

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a great meal, but the restaurant was not full and yet the waiter was running around very busy and we waited a long time between each interaction.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was fantastic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent birthday celebration

Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife and I celebrated my birthday this year at Final Cut, after deciding that this was the very choice in the DC area (or anywhere else in reality). We normally request a few days in advance that the Chef prepare something special, but the talent of Chef Kevin Longmire is so dramatic that we simply left the choice to him......which is never a bad idea. What appeared at the table was an incredible seafood dish that I had never experienced..but will definitely try again. The dish was a salmon carpaccio, topped with a Chilean Seabass & avocado Escabiche, flavored with herbed breadcrumbs and oyster leaf, finished with an incredible strawberry vinaigrette. I cannot find the words to adequately describe the beautiful presentation nor the incredible flavors. This was the product of an incredible imagination and a very serious culinary talent. Just the latest in a very long list of astonishing specials we have enjoyed from this great kitchen. The rest of the mean, straight from the menu, was superb and an example of a kitchen that always gets everything just right. The same can be said for the extraordinary service, delivered flawlessly this night (like many others) by McLean. The manager, Hristina Ninova, who is always an elegant presence in the dining room was absent on this night, but her team never seemed to miss any mark. A fine dining venue that always approaches service perfection - even when the boss is away, is a rare and exceptional operation, managed with great vision and staffed by consummate professionals. The Final Cut is exactly that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Dining Experience!

Dined on January 30, 2016

The service AND food were wonderful! Can't wait to go back for our next special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice date night

Dined on January 29, 2016

Beautiful ambience. Relaxing and food served in good portions. I had scallops and was delicious. Boyfriend had lamb chops which was very tender. Shared an appetizer of tuna which was flavorful. Waiter very attentive and accommodating. Great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What a find in Charlestown

Dined on January 29, 2016

Fabulous steaks, lamb and seafood. Special occasion dining, not inexpensive, but truly a treat. Steaks and lamb were cooked to perfection. Delicious variety appetizer served on ice including lobster, shrimp, clams, scallops...wonderful! Sides are a la carte, but large enough to share. Highly recommend this restaurant for a truly unique dining experience in this area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak I ever had

Dined on January 29, 2016

We've been to many top quality steak houses and this one tops the cake! The food was perfect, the service was top notch and the atmosphere was dazzling. Request Nathan as your server to guarantee a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated 38th birthday

Dined on January 21, 2016

I celebrated my 38th birthday at Final Cut and it was wonderful. Our waiter was fantastic and the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very Good!

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

This was our second visit to a Final Cut restaurant, the other one having been in Grantsville, PA in the casino there. The service was excellent and consistent. The food was very good. Wine and liqueur list is outstanding...many many choices. It was nice not to feel rushed or be in the company of screaming kids when spending this kind of money on a nice atmosphere and good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Good but not great

Dined on January 16, 2016

I've had the pleasure of dining at many notable restaurants. Capital Grill being my favorite. The Final Cut markets itself after Capital Grill, Mortons, and Ruth Chris but falls short. The tables and booths look like they belong in an IHOP and nothing against IHOP but I expect much better when your average steak costs more than $45. This restaurant benefits that its closest competition is over 35 miles away.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Special Requests

Dined on January 8, 2016

Our first visit of the new year turned out to be a fairly quiet night. We made a few special requests in advance for steak tartare and ceviche. The special requests were honored and, as always, what showed up at the table was unique and innovative, beautifully presented and spectacular to the taste. The Chilean Seabass ceviche, which also include a small dollop of salman ceviche, was superb. Delicately spiced to preserve the seabass taste, this version was about as good as it gets. Prime steak tartare seasoned with Dijon, fennel, and an array of spices and herbs hidden throughout the dish, along with a few surprising blue cheese crumbles was quite simply perfect. The entire dish was wrapped in very thinly sliced chorizo, making this the most innovative presentation of this favorite dish I have ever observed. The chilled crab dip (with both jumbo lump and king crab), served with the house made fresh fried wontons will hopefully make it to the menu soon. Of course, the tenderloin filets were prepared perfectly. The service here, delivered by McLean, was as always absolutely perfect. So perfect in fact that I sometimes wonder if guests simply take it for granted and forget to recognize just how exceptional it is when compared with other high end fine dining venues. You would need to travel a very serious distance to find anything that compares. It is the rare venue that consistently toys with perfection, but Final Cut is exactly that, in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Dinner and Atmosphere!

Dined on January 3, 2016

George was outstanding! Made us feel right at home and comfortable. The atmosphere was special. My wife and I enjoyed the evening very much and very good food. We will return soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food here is always superb. Steaks are ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Food here is always superb. Steaks are cooked to your preference & the side dishes complement every meal. Definitely worth every penny!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Christmas gift for 2015

Dined on December 26, 2015

My husband and I decided to spend Christmas at Charles Town, WV and enjoy the casino. Our Christmas dinner was the best. Best steak/filet; a great flavor in the meat and all the sides. We will be back when the horse racing returns.....I would definitely recommend the restaurant, the food, service, and staff were awesome. Thanks for a great holiday...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

AWSOME as always perfect dinner

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

AWSOME as always perfect dinner

food5
ambience5
service5

Final cut

Dined on December 12, 2015

Everything about the visit was outstanding. The food and service were both absolutely excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.