About Filomena Ristorante

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (227)
Authentic (189)
Good for a Date (185)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (159)
Good for Birthdays (156)
Comfort Food (137)
Romantic (134)
Neighborhood Gem (128)
Worth the Drive (111)
Good for Groups (102)
Fun (101)
Fit for Foodies (96)
Notable Wine List (92)
Historic (87)
Family Style (81)
Cozy (81)
Seasonal (75)
Great for Lunch (67)
Business Meals (52)
Hot Spot (51)
Casual (51)
Pre/post Theatre (50)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Outstanding Value (43)
People Watching (35)
Kid-friendly (29)
Local Ingredients (25)
Great for Brunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Private Room (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Waterfront (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Scenic View (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
7547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food at a great price!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food at a great price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely awesome meal and excellent se ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely awesome meal and excellent service, even on a very busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Washington DC restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best Washington DC restaurants and reservations are a must. Topped off our great weekend in DC for the Trump Inauguration .

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely great Italian food. Burata s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely great Italian food. Burata said was delicious as well as the mixed salad with all the fruit (not sure of name). The black linguine with shrimp lobster and scallops was cooked to perfection and so delicious I could not stop eating until it was gone. The happy familia was eaqally as impressive. The desserts were scrumptious. The eclares were so huge and tasty and the tres Lethe cake was unbelievably good. We were so impressed with the food and service that we left a 50% tip. This will be a new favorite stop with guest when I get the chance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filament's food is authentic Italian and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Filament's food is authentic Italian and every dish we shared was equally delicious. The staff members were delightful, the salad bar plentiful and the cheesecake incredible.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filomena never fails at making any eveni ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Filomena never fails at making any evening a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our experience at Filomena's. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our experience at Filomena's. It was the perfect setting to the end of a very exciting and busy day. The food was fabulous and everyone should experience Filomena's when you are in the District. We will go back - I usually bring friends there when they visit DC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love, love, love Filomenas! Ambience aut ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Love, love, love Filomenas!

Ambience authentic, festive, celebratory.

Always accommodating-

Superb service, varied Italian menu-

Hand and home made pastas.

Desserts to die for!

Truly not to be missed, Old Georgetown/

Old Italy 🇮🇹

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad service. A lot of noise. I had to wa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Bad service. A lot of noise. I had to wait a lot of time for be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

On vacation & heard of the pasta mamas & ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

On vacation & heard of the pasta mamas & homemade dishes. Once there this was an upscale dining experience & you felt welcomed into an Italian family. You could really dress up for this night out. Excellent service & pasta is amazing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really like Abdul and as always Vino ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We really like Abdul and as always

Vino was wonderful

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined around the world------- th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

We have dined around the world------- this is one of the 10 best. We would fly back just for dinner. Everything was great. Excellent wine list. The meatball paste was sensational. The free Cordials after dinner are an extremely nice touch.

Very reasonably priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a reason this gem of a restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

There is a reason this gem of a restaurant in Georgetown has won many awards for excellent authentic Italian food. It's simply amazing. In addition, the staff is professional and friendly. We liked it so much we went for lunch one day (the salad bar is splendid) and returned the following night for dinner. While eating dinner, the owner stopped at our table to chat. What an overall great experience. Can't wait to return. And did I mention the parking deck is right across the street?

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but too rich for me. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good but too rich for me. Perhaps I should have made a different choices as I had the shrimp risotto with the lobster cream sauce. Service was impeccable. Ambiance was a little conservative but not overwhelming.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and great service. You ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and great service. You can't go wrong eating there.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic - service, food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was fantastic - service, food, atmosphere

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best! The best! The best! The best! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The best!

The best!

The best!

The best!

The best!

The best!

The best!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed an excellent meal - the pasta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We enjoyed an excellent meal - the pasta was amazing! The service was impeccable! We were seated at a comfortable table in the back which worked well for our family since we were dining with a baby and a toddler. We were treated like family by Dino and our server Maria. It was a special evening for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have not had such good Italian food si ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I have not had such good Italian food since I left Milano. The sauces were flavorful, the pasta was cooked to perfection, and everything was delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely outstanding in every way! Mat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Absolutely outstanding in every way! Mathew, their manager, couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating in finding us a special table for our anniversary. A friend recommended Filomena and I will do the same. As someone who has been in the business for over 25 years, I can be critical of service or food. Both exceeded my expectations! There is a reason they have been successful for 34 years because they treat you as a guest rather than a customer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too cramped. I didn't enjoy having o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Way too cramped. I didn't enjoy having other patrons so close to me. It was too loud to be able to carry a conversation and it was too dark to be able to read the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

The food is outstanding and delicious; h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food is outstanding and delicious; however, it is unnecessarily expensive. $30 a plate for pasta is overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

This was my 3rd time at Filomena's..... ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my 3rd time at Filomena's......and it never disappoints! I'm Italian, so it is absolutely my "go to place" for Italian food!

-Joey M.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, from appetizers to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was great, from appetizers to the dessert. Entrees were outstanding, felt like there were 8-9 things I wanted to order. Service was great. Only minor issue is because it is so busy, tables are a bit too close for my preference.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delicious food and really good portions ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Delicious food and really good portions for the price. Truly authentic Italian. Fun atmostphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved our Filomena experience. Food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We loved our Filomena experience. Food was delicious and portions huge - made for tasty leftovers. Gino, our waiter, was attentive, friendly and fun. 3 of our party had the ravioli and meatballs and said the meatballs were fantastic. Nice touch to have the pasta mama making fresh gnocchi n the window. Ordered them for lunch and had a preview of heaven. Definitely coming back !

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual. Had the meatballs, g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic as usual. Had the meatballs, gnocchi, and salmon.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic all around. HUGE portions, so ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic all around. HUGE portions, so come hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seated right away. Everyone enjoyed the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Seated right away.

Everyone enjoyed the food.

Tables are a little close together.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food!! The complimentary fresh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Delicious food!! The complimentary fresh bread and pesto is so good. Got the eggplant Parmesan and it was fantastic. Very attentive staff. Definitely make a reservation!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We put in the reservation that it was ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We put in the reservation that it was our anniversary and when they called to confirm I asked if they knew it was our anniversary and they said yes we have it on the reservation. When we got there, there was no mention of our anniversary or anything. We ordered the calamari, sandi ravioli and chicken ravioli. The calamari was the best we've ever had. The sandi ravioli was good but nothing special. I didn't like the chickens ravioli. I'm sure other things in the menu would be good. We just didn't try them. I didn't like the noise level or the crowd. It was way too crowded. I felt sorry for the wait staff. They couldn't get around the tables. They need to take out some tables to make it more intimate. Definitely not a place I would go for our anniversary again. We could barely talk. Overall a decent restaurant. I think they're trying to pack too many tables in and not trying to make it enjoyable to the people already there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always - fantastic! Save room for des ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always - fantastic! Save room for desert and amaretto!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and outstanding service Def ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and outstanding service Definitely a place to go bac to

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Filomena is my favorite Italian restaura ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Filomena is my favorite Italian restaurant in all of DC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Holiday decorations and friend ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Beautiful Holiday decorations and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just inside the entry, in a small glass ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Just inside the entry, in a small glass enclosed side room that you can observe a chef preparing pasta. We were in D.C. for business in early January so the restaurant was still decorated in holiday dress. The restaurant is understandably popular, so reservations are suggested. The wine list is quite extensive and very good. Portions are generous so depending on your appetite it would be completely reasonable to share a salad and entree just so you could enjoy a dessert afterwards. As is their tradition at Filomena's, they serve decanters of licorice and amaretto liqueur following dinner. Prices are certainly in line with service and quality of food. I would definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Since I'm on a budget, I prefer going at ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Since I'm on a budget, I prefer going at lunch. The dipping oil for the sourdough bread is amazing. My friend and I each had the soup special, which was the best chicken vegetable soup either of us have ever had, and we also shared the Arancini appetizer, which was sooooo good! A trip to their salad bar comes with most meals and it's packed with a good power greens mix and veggies and has side salads like tuna salad, pasta salad, potato salad, egg salad, etc. I was so full by the time my Ravioli Alla Matrimonia arrived (“marriage” of two of their most asked for favorites...three huge meatballs with mamma’s cheese ravioli in their slow simmered rich tomato sauce) that I had to take this huge portion home and was able to make two meals out of it (and added spinach and mushrooms, which I always prefer with my pasta).

I highly recommend this restaurant. The atmosphere is great for meals with friends, business or dates. It's cozy and cute. When I went in mid-January, it was still decorated for Christmas with a huge tree in the middle of the restaurant, which made it even cozier. I can't wait to go back and take friends who come in from out of town. Since the portions are huge, it's obviously a great spot for bigger groups since you can make it family style.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Don't bother booking a table here. The t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Don't bother booking a table here. The table I booked wasn't ready for 40 mins after the time booked. No apology or anything offered. Mediocre food and slow service for top prices. Go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Filomena never disappoints, everyone mus ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Filomena never disappoints, everyone must try the squid ink pasta it is the best!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and tastety food. Love ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent service and tastety food. Loved the homemade pasta and sauces! Only draw back is cramped spacing at the tables when eating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.