About Filomena Ristorante

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spumoni Cannoli Cake
Ravioli Di Chiacchieri
Rigatoni Con Salsiccia
Lasagna - half bechamel, half marinara
Ravioli Matrimonio
Tiramisu
Manicotti Di Funghi
Misto Di Mare Alla Filomena, Shrimp, Sea Scallops, Cockles), Mussels and Calamari sautéed with Shallots and White Wine in a Marinara Sauce over Linguine
Gnochhi
Mixed Fruit Cheesecake
Dessert Table
Cake
Oreo Cheesecake
Strawberry Cheesecake
Fettuccine Alla Carbonara
Arancini
Lasagna alla Bolognese
Cappuccino
Gnocchi Bolognese
Linguini Cardinale
Risotto alla Vitello
Hazelnut Dacquoise
La Torre Di Melanzane
Burrata Mozzarella Di Caprese
Braised Beef Brisket Tortelloni
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Seafood stuffed Black Pasta Canneloni with Lobster sauce
Canneloni Al Mare
Caprese
Penne Con Saliccia
Fettucine alla Carbonara
Raviolis
Meatballs
Seafood Canelloni
Seafood Ravioli
Cannelloni Frutti Di Mare
Raspberry Mousse Cake
Sambucca And Amaretto
Cavatelli
La Familia Meal
Veal Parm
Osso Bucco
Caramel Eclair
Costoletta Di Vitello
Calamari Fritti
Baked Cod With Tomatoes And Capers
Linguine With Shrimp, Calamari, And Mussels
Black Fettuccini With Lobster, Shrimp, & Scallops In Tomato Brandy Sauce
Oreo Mousse Cake
Fettucine Carbonara
Rigatoni with Vodka Sauce and Chicken
Pasta Mamas Gnocchi
Hazel Nut Eclair

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
District of Columbia
Italian
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

special occasion (459)
fit for foodies (326)
neighborhood gem (309)
See All
romantic (276)
good for groups (255)
notable wine list (196)
hot spot (150)
great for lunch (93)
kid-friendly (78)
late-night find (44)
great for brunch (35)
vibrant bar scene (13)
scenic view (12)
great for outdoor dining (4)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere and even more amazing ...

Dined 3 days ago

Amazing atmosphere and even more amazing food!! Highly recommend for anyone seeking authentic Italian cuisine and a wonderful experience (foodies, families, professionals, solo travelers). Be warned - the portions are enormous so you will want to share, unless you have the appetite. Great experience.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I don't understand what the hype is abou ...

Dined 4 days ago

I don't understand what the hype is about. The food and service were both mediocre. Spent $40+ dollar on a pasta dish. Was told it's their signature dish. It was meh...not worth the money. Won't be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent from the servic ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was excellent from the service to the food. One of my favorite spots. Prices are on par for the portions.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Food was AMAZING! Se ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service. Food was AMAZING! Seating was prompt when using Open Table for the reservation and the restaurant was very popular. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

In my OpenTable reservation I stated tha ...

Dined 4 days ago

In my OpenTable reservation I stated that I was celebrating a significant birthday. Despite doing that, and Filomena's "we don't do anything special/free desserts for birthdays" policy that I was made aware of that evening, my waiter never even mentioned "Happy Birthday." I thought it was the least they could do. There was 0 effort made to make the moment special by the restaurant and I think that's a huge missed opportunity on their part to add more value to the experience. As always the food was outstanding and for that I could see myself coming back for casual dinners.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food and service was excel ...

Dined 5 days ago

As usual, the food and service was excellent. We visit DC from Jersey 2 to 3 times a year and always make sure we have our reservations made. It truly is one of our top restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I have been to Filomena ...

Dined 5 days ago

My daughter and I have been to Filomena several times but it was my husband's first visit. We were excited to introduce him to the restaurant. It did not disappoint! Food, as always, was delicious. Our server, Soprano (what was written on our receipt), was exceptional and made this visit especially wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have a great time at Filomena. T ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always have a great time at Filomena. The food is absolutely delicious, the service outstanding. Every item on the menu is fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filomena's is one of our favorite restau ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Filomena's is one of our favorite restaurants in DC. The food is delicious, service is awesome, and we are never disappointed. We are always happy to introduce friends to Filomena's and they become fans.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went for our anniversary. ...

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I went for our anniversary. The wine and food were so good we already made a reservation for next month. It was more crowded than I remember (our reservation was for 1730), so make sure to make a reservation!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Went here for my Bday and everything was ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went here for my Bday and everything was going well. Order appetizers and that was good Calamari. Than order dinner had Lobster Ravioli and that was Good but Pricey and the Lobster was over cooked. My Girl order pasta dish wit peppers , onions, sausage and her and my male friend didn't like the dish at all. So we told the waiter and he said had to talk to manager and when all was said and DONE, they said we had to pay for a dinner that she didn't like...WHATTT(I have never heard of ANYTHING like that) So we went back and forth with 2 managers, And just said forget it we will pay for it........So if you go order something you really going to like.......That's UNBELIEVABLE

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I am in DC, I MUST have dinne ...

Dined 6 days ago

Every time I am in DC, I MUST have dinner at least once at Filomena's. It is the greatest place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was good, had @4-5 different ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was good, had @4-5 different waiters and waitress coming to the table. Unfortunately we felt like we were being rushed to order our drinks, apps and meals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite DC restaurant and, ...

Dined 6 days ago

This is our favorite DC restaurant and, once again, it was fabulous in every way.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting DC from out of town and ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting DC from out of town and enjoyed an anniversary dinner at Filomena's. The ambiance, food, service and attention to detail was impeccable. We returned again the following evening and had an equally wonderful experience. We highly recommend this restaurant and will look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

All the party enjoyed their meal. The si ...

Dined 7 days ago

All the party enjoyed their meal. The signature linguine cardinale was just divine. The wines are a little expensive, but the barollo I had, I enjoyed immensely. It is worth the trip to Washington to visit Filomena's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Very crowded tables and not current in d ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very crowded tables and not current in decor or charm

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my second time to Filomena. Th ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This was my second time to Filomena. The restaurant is energetic and a bit loud but we had a great time and the food was terrific. Service was again outstanding. I went with the Risotto which was delicious. The portions are huge so you better come hungry or be ready to take home leftovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent "traditional" casual Italian. ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent "traditional" casual Italian. Large portions. Loud and festive. Highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and drinks. This has to ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Fantastic food and drinks. This has to be one of the best Italian restaurants in DC. After dinner liquors added a great finish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service. The staff strives ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Exceptional service. The staff strives to create a unique and enjoyable experience. The food is AMAZING!! Highly recommend the cannoli's. A must visit experience for a DC visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining at Filomena's. Would ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

First time dining at Filomena's. Would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I can't recommend this restaurant. The ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I can't recommend this restaurant. The noise level was by far the loudest I've ever encountered in any restaurant anywhere. It was impossible to hear the person sitting next to you. The service was perfunctory and without any wasted motion or words. The food was good, but not nearly good enough to overcome the noise and service. Every inch of the restaurant had tables and chairs to the point it was difficult to get to and out from your table. Somehow, though, the place was packed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've heard a lot of great things about ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I've heard a lot of great things about this place over the years and it is worth the hype! Service was top notch and food was delicious. It is pricey, but so worth it! Next time I'm in D.C. I'll be back. Definitely do make a reservation ahead of time though, this place gets busy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Italian Meals I have eve ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

One of the best Italian Meals I have ever had. Completely authentic in the truest sense of the word. Pasta made fresh daily, bread and wine list outstanding. Bravo to this restaurant. I'll be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, wonderful character and ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful character and outstanding service! When I go back to DC I will be back!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

the large room is a bit of old,world ita ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

the large room is a bit of old,world italy-- crammed with art, objects, flowers and upolstered sofa banquettes. enormous portions of food, overly sauced and rather ho-hum taste. Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere, clearly a local favorite.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of the best Italian Restaur ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was one of the best Italian Restaurants I have dined at! The food was fresh and delicious. The service was excellent and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and friendly! Next time I am in DC this will be a must eat place. Thank you for the experience!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was amazing! My 4 year old w ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter was amazing! My 4 year old was fussy (we had a 15+ minute wait even though we had a reservation, due to how busy the restaurant was on Father's Day) and he expedited food for him and took great care of us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service4
value5

Reccomend improving decor and increase l ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Reccomend improving decor and increase lighting! Food is excellent. Name is well recognized. Reservation system & confirmation is good.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

If it wasn't for the food, this experien ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

If it wasn't for the food, this experience would have been miserable, especially for Father's Day. 1. Hostes: A. failed to post our Open Table reservation, and didn't even say bye upon our departure. 2. Maitre D: A. Walked passed my seat and hit my chair 3 times, never apologized. B. barked orders to the wait staff across the restaurant. C. Was condescending when making excuses for our waiters terrible service and offering a free dessert for our group. 3. Terrible Waiter: A. Untrained and unprepared. B. Was slow getting to us and getting us water and drink order. C. Didn't know what to do when entering our food order and their "system crashed". D. Never checked on us and had to chase him down to get a drink refill. Once I did get a refill ended up with 3 empty glasses in front of me. E. Took over an hour to get our food, and were informed of the complimentary salad bar after 45 minutes of being there. F. The table next to us got their appetizers an hour later and minutes before their lunch. 4. Terrible service. A. Hot day (88 degrees) and once the water does arrive it's warm. B. 30 minutes before they brought out the bread. Food was good but warm, on the colder side rather than the hotter side. And they did bring out the receipt very quickly!

food5
ambience3
service5

The food was excellent, as was the servi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. The atmosphere was a little noisy and crowded, good for all ages, but definitely not a romantic date night spot.

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and excellent service. No ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Noise level too high for me. Bathrooms should be better kept.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dined after a National Symphony Orchestr ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Dined after a National Symphony Orchestra Pops Concert at the Kennedy Center. Found the brisket-stuffed tortolini, which I enjoyed on previous visits, a bit dull. Was considering sending it back when the waiter dropped the table's candle into my dish, saving me that effort. My sausage appetizer and both her dishes were very tasty, so we left happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a go to place for Italian food w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a go to place for Italian food while in the DC area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

I have enjoyed Filomena's before. The se ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I have enjoyed Filomena's before. The serving sizes are ridiculously large and it's classic Italian just like you'd imagine it'd be. I also love the after dinner drinks. However, this visit I was seated in an area that appeared to be relatively well trafficked by waiters and felt like every 5 minutes my chair was getting bumped by someone which negatively affected my experiences.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in DC for the week and went to F ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were in DC for the week and went to Filomena our first night. We loved the food so much that we came back our last night. Since we have returned home we have told everyone how amazing the food is here. 5 stars truly isn't a high enough rating for the food. It's off the chain!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great. The atmosphere ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food is always great. The atmosphere makes you feel like you are in an old authentic Italian restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food Everything we ordered exceed ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great Food Everything we ordered exceeded our expectations Huge portions Great Service, very accommodating and responsive Good value Can't wait to return

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed everything from the moment we wa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Enjoyed everything from the moment we walked in. First sight is of a pasta kitchen making fatto de Casa pasta. Nice bar and enjoyable ambiance and seating. Service and staff were tops. Great Italian American menu which didn't disappoint. A special on the house after dinner drink capped a fun and excellent meal. Happy to recommend for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.