Filomena Ristorante

4.7
9822 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
For 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 338-8800
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Daniele Turchetti
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
M Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 9822 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 15 hours ago

AMAZING!!!! This is my go-to restaurant for special occasions. Amazing food. Every time I bring friends and family here, they are SHOOK! Would highly recommend the lasagna!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

GREAT FOOD VERY LOUD

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Food was great! Service was great! Extremely busy on a Friday night so might not be the best place for kids on a weekend evening l. One of my favorite/best Italian I’ve eaten in dc..shrimp risotto was mouth watering! The desserts made me so happy I took a few home!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The salmon with angel hair pasta was amazing. The ambience was nice ... nestled away in Georgetown. I could write a few paragraphs about our visit there for our 12th Anniversary ... but it's easier (and equally accurate) to say; "dine at Filomena's, you won't be disappointed".

We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Food was outstanding. The shrimp were amazing. Would go back in a heartbeat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent, as always! Filomena’s is one of my favorites for a special meal!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

My card declined when I knew I had the funds. They trusted me to go to ATM and pay them, which I did. They were very understanding and I'm glad that I went there for my birthday. The food was delicious and filling! The drinks and dessert was delicious and my server and his manager were very gracious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I'm from NY and Italian who cooks his own sauce etc andI was skeptical since I was out of NY.
I felt like I walked into my grandmothers basement lol right down to the plastic fruit and fake plants the only thing missing was the red ang white checkered table cloths.
The rice balls were on the money with a spicy marinara.
My wife got the ravioli and meatballs phenomenal and huge!
I got the lasagna Bolognese delicious
Our waiter was professional, friendly and made great suggestions
They brought crafts of sambucca and amarreto and pour as much you wanted
if you like tiramisu then get this HERE mmmmmm.
Only thing it was extremely loud we had to yell each other and it was pricey but you get what you pay for and you'll have left overs

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic as usual! We were celebrating an anniversary and coincidentally got the same table we sat at last year. The restaurant gods were good to us. Thanks a bunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic. Best pasta I have had. The menu choices are good and portions are generous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and the portions were huge. Make sure you go hungry. The leftovers are just as good the next day too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Have always enjoyed going there, but this last time service was a little too fast. Hadn’t finished appetizer before salads came. Also, seems the menu is a bit stale. Never see any new items.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Felt a little rushed, I felt we could have been in and out in 45 minutes to an hour,
we purposely slowed things down.
A little surprised there wasn't an elevator, stairway down as soon as the door was opened.
The food wasn't as good as I thought although the entrée portions were large.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

A Washington classic! Best Italian in the Washington metro area.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Filomena used to be one of my favorite restaurants. But, in recent years, it has been overcrowded (maybe they're booking reservations too close together?) and service has been slow. On this visit, we had to wait 30 minutes for our 6:30pm reservation - then we were seated for at least 10 minutes before the server brought us water or took our drink order. The pasta is great - but the menu hasn't changed in eons. I still miss some of their old entrees (like fusilli con quattro formaggi) and the fabulous rolls they used to serve. And service used to feel special; now it feels like the hard-working servers are stretched too thin and struggling to keep up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Fathers Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Food and service was excellent! Perfect for a Father's Day Celebration!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

JF a reservation and the place was packed. We were seated 20 minutes late. Had to sit a 2 person table and there was 3 in my party and we only had a small space between us and a different party. The Bruschetta was awesome, the Cesar salad was OK, the entrees were good, and the desert was awesome. Waited a little to long for the check and my water glass was always empty. Mostly a great experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Fathers day

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Food was FANTASTIC! I had previously heard such great things of this restaurant, and the food did not disappoint. What was somewhat disappointing was the service. No one came by our table to greet us or serve us water for at least 10-15 minutes after we were seated. I noticed other tables seated after us had already been greeted, and had glasses of water poured. Once our waiter came by we were ready to put all of our orders in, and the turnaround of the food was quick. Food was delicious, but the service could have been much better for the quality of restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent as usual. The service was very slow maybe because it was busy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

We sat down at noon. Our wine came immediately; our food arrived AFTER 1 pm. No apology or explanation from the server. My food was cold - cheese congealed. The server didn’t come back to check on our food until we were nearly finished.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great food, great service! I would definitely come here again and recommend to others!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Good food. Great place for multiple couples.

Service a bit erratic and rushed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Excellent meal and service! Portions are large, but save room for outstanding desserts. Our party of five each had a different entree and shared, which was a great way to sample different options - veal, chicken, seafood, etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Best Italian food I have ever eaten. Portions were huge.
Great Resturant Maybe one of the top Restaurants in the country.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Loved the experience! Highly recommending your restaurant to all our friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Awesome as my first time 24 years ago

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Wonderful. The osso bucco was fantastic. Portions are generous so sharing works. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

This is a superb Italian restaurant! The maittre d is a true professional! He makes you feel extremely welcome. The food is fantastic! Definitely a must try place....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Simply amazing! If you like Italian pasta and seafood, definitely go!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Been here quite a few times. Around holidays it can be overwhelming with crowds and decorations. Food is always really good. The service is good but not to the level it should be for location and prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The food was amazing. Expensive lunch but well worth it.
Suggest they remove reference to President Clinton on entree. Offensive on so many levels.
Large group dined while we were there and were placed in middle of room creating excess noise and blocking walkways. Large groups should be located to one side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Literally the best Italian Food I have ever had! Great wines also! Beautiful place to dine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Fantastic food and great staff! Thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Made the birthday celebration especially memorable!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 13, 2018

My wife and I had dinner at Filomena for the first time to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. We really wanted to love the place because we had heard so many good things about it from friends. The restaurant is in a dark basement and the decor is an 80's nightmare with green felt covered walls. The noise level for a Wednesday night was extremely high, but this might just be the norm because of the terrible echo. You won't be able to have a quiet dinner conversation. Be prepared to yell across your table for two. The service was good, but there were times where it felt like our waiter forgot about us. I think he may have because when we finally found him and requested our check he asked if we wanted some wine on the house--but we don't drink so we politely declined while he kept insisting.
The food was great, but the ambiance was not what we expected. The portions are very generous and you will definitely have leftovers. We were not impressed with the free bread basket we got when we were seated. It was cold and didn't seem fresh. The olive oil provided was on point but needs salt and pepper and they don't seem to come around with fresh ground pepper at any point. We split a piece of cheesecake at the end which was delicious and their desserts might be their best kept secret.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Loved them! Best pasta and cheese cake ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

One can never have enough of their service and food.Awesone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great food. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We have been here multiple times over the past 20 years. Filomena's never disappoints and is equally exceptional in both the food selection and service delivery.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
246