Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 186 times today

Filomena Ristorante

4.7
9556 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Authentic
  • Good for a Date
For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 338-8800
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Daniele Turchetti
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
M Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 9556 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 16 hours ago

It wasnt the 5 star service it normally is. Food was 5 star though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Crowded, but amazing service and huge portions of delicious classic Italian dishes. So good that after having dinner on Friday that we returned for lunch on Sunday. We had the delicious Arancini both times to start. Linguini Cardinale and veal Marsala were both fantastic for dinner. Both large enough to share. The linguini cardinale had the amount of lobster found in an entire lobster including both claws.
For lunch it was their lasagna and chicken marsala. Attentive, professional service is the standard. No wonder it is so difficult to score a reservation here. Worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Filomena will fill you up with yummy homemade pasta. The stuffed mushrooms and linguini cardinale are the bomb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful meal with my son and his housemates. The server helped us a great deal by recommending a wonderful red wine that wasn't expensive. Also he helped us pick main courses. We shared all so we could taste all. The pasta was so wonderful and fresh. A wonder evening. It was busy, a little noisy with close quarters. Surprisingly easy to talk though. No question we will return soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Always great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The best Italian restaurant i’ve Had in my life. I will return in the near future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

While I’ve been coming to Filomena’s for years, I was a little disappointed this time around. The food was wonderful as always, but since my table declined to order any alcohol, the service took a nosedive from there. I’m not a big fan of establishments where the wait staff treat you poorly/ignore you because the table doesn’t order any alcohol. It was also strange that it was a birthday celebration and they still charge you for dessert. Most restaurants give the birthday person a free dessert, especially when they put a candle on the cake and sing happy birthday. The next time there’s a special occasion, I’ll have to think twice about spending it here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Bday celebration. It was wonderful. Food was superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

What a gem!! The staff were perfect, not overbearing, right on the mark. The atmosphere was romantic Italian, beautiful. The food was amazing!!! Handmade pasta was perfect, as good as promised. Very large portions, more than enough for sharing. My husband and I will definately return!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Filomina's never fails to impress, with quality Italian Fare and a very attentive staff, they are the best in DC!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

The portions were insanely large and it was very loud inside. Wasn’t crazy about the manicotti or my husbands vodka rigatoni. Wouldn’t go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely amazing Italian fare. We all ordered differently and it was all delicious! Will be back on my next visit to DC. Don’t forget to make a reservation. It’s hopping!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Filomena's was an awesome dining experience. Wait staff was attentive and helpful. Even though the restaurant was filled, we were able to have conversation at our table. Food was delicious!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Amazing !!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Over priced. Incredibly loud. Mediocre italian food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Another great dinner at this vibrant Italian restaurant. From the made on site pasta to the wonderful deserts, this place is special. Lots of energy and not a place for a quiet conversation. However, if you want a wonderful dinner, this is the go to restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food - consider sharing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great food. We were in a rush to get to the theater and our waiter picked up on that and stayed right on top of our changing courses. Look forward to our return when we are in DC next.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

My favorite restaurant in DC! Been there many times and never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

This is my favorite restaurant. I will visit every time I visit DC.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

We should have known but we were pretty disappointed in the ponderously heavy food. Fried calamari was a highlight in an otherwise old-school-not-in-a-good-way experience. Sticking to the simple red sauce dishes is probably the best course of action if you have to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We had been told to visit Filomena if ever in Georgetown. She did not disappoint. Large portions of impeccably prepared dishes. I had the shrimp risotto with their famous lobster sauce and it was marvelous. My daughter had the mushroom manicotti and was equally pleased. Thank you Filomena.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Very tastefull food, italian ambient and recipes, big big plates, to share if you are not too hungry! I recommend the ossobuco and ngocci ! Very good restaurant , a must be experience when in D.C !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Best Italian food and unbelievable cannoli!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great food. Way too much in each serving. I wish they had half plates. Good service. Love the after dinner drinks! (Order the Sunday Sauce.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Amazing dinner. Prices are high and Portion sizes are very large. I wished I had known this because I would have split a meal with my mom or daughter. Since we were flying home the next morning, taking home leftovers was impossible. Regardless, it was easily the best Italian restaurant I’ve ever been to. The brisket rigatoni was outstanding!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great place for a supersized delicious meal. Trully italian sauces in an unforgetable experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Best traditional Italian dinner ever!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Amazing as ever! Took a friend visiting from out of town and Filomena per usual did not disappoint

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The homemade pasta is killer and so are the meatballs. The portion sizes are massive which is great if you live in the area and want to have leftovers for the week. If you’re from out of town, though, it’s a BIG WASTE of food. I recommend sharing plates!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Incredible authentic Italian food with a diverse menu. All dishes were superb from appetizers to desserts. The service was attentive and prompt. The only two complains were 1) we had to wait 20 minutes for our 7:00 reservations and 2) The dining room was very crowded. Despite that, our party of 5 was extremely pleased!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was very good, but restaurant was too crowded and noisy, as a result we will not be returning. Tables too close together, walkways so narrow, that the back of the diner's chair is constantly bumped as other diners and waitstaff walk by. Noise made it next to impossible to hold conversation. The quality of food was excellent and would consider take out as a possible option.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great service and as always, good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

FANTÁSTICO !
One word to describe the dinning experience is all you need.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was delicious! This was my second time there. Definitely will be back again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My family and friends came to dinner last night to this restaurant. What a great experience. The staff is so kind and alert. And the food, was excellent. Fresh pasta and the sauces were so amazing. I highly recommend coming back here

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Best Italian Resturant in the US. Selection is outstanding and very authentic at a reasonable price pint. Good wine selection and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This was so good we went two nights in a row ! Possibly best old school Italian we have ever had ! Noisy but so worth it !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was fabulous and oversized. We all took home leftovers. Service was fantastic although we served very quickly (almost too quick between first & second course). Love setting but it was very loud on the night we last visited - hard to hear any of the conversation at our table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Everyone was very attentive, courteous and professional!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
239