About Filomena Ristorante

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (244)
Authentic (211)
Good for a Date (198)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (183)
Romantic (174)
Good for Birthdays (164)
Neighborhood Gem (139)
Comfort Food (135)
Worth the Drive (119)
Fit for Foodies (109)
Good for Groups (104)
Fun (103)
Historic (96)
Notable Wine List (95)
Cozy (89)
Family Style (89)
Seasonal (71)
Great for Lunch (67)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Pre/post Theatre (52)
Business Meals (51)
Hot Spot (50)
Outstanding Value (47)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Casual (41)
People Watching (37)
Kid-friendly (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Private Room (11)
Waterfront (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
7681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I shared an appetizer and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I shared an appetizer and the veal marsala. We love Italian food. We have frequented NJ's most well known Italian restaurants. To our surprise, the food and the service at Filomena was unbelievable! The veal and gravy were exceptional. I will certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud and over priced. Poor service. Wou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Loud and over priced. Poor service. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Filomena was recommended to us, and we a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Filomena was recommended to us, and we absolutely loved it. The atmosphere had an old school, Italian feel. The food was just delicious. The calamari was the best we've ever had. Our server, Giuseppe, was great. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations online & stated we w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I made reservations online & stated we were celebrating my sons birthday but there was no candle or singing brought out with his dessert.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Truly a special place with excellent foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Truly a special place with excellent food and service.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place never disappoints! Just the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This place never disappoints! Just the perfect place for a dinner before a show at the Kennedy Center!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in DC for a few days and booked ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

We were in DC for a few days and booked it by others comments. We were not disappointed. It was a Friday night and we booked for 9:30 knowing we would get a table earlier. We arrived at 8:15 and were told a table canceled and we could sit at 8:30. Still decorated for Valentine's Day was a nice touch since we didn't go out that night because of the crowds. Perfect. Drinks at the bar were good. A cosmo and Goose on the rocks started the experience nicely. We were met within 2-4 minutes at the table for drinks, water and provided a wine list. Menus were given out when we sat down. We ordered to share four courses, the fresh mozzarella, followed by arugula salad and then the meatballs and raviolis for a pasta dish and ended with veal parmianna. All met out expectations for a Resturant in this price range. A nice touch is the complimentary sambuca and amaretto at the end of the meal. All in all a very nice time.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always love coming to Filomena. The on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I always love coming to Filomena. The only thing I'll say is that it took longer than expected to get a waiter for our table. Granted it was busy, but after the waiter came to our table everything went smooth from there and on.

Another general recommendation is not having the tables too close to each other, but more space in between tables. We had to squeeze through tables to make our way out.

Overall, love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my girlfriend here at 6:30 on a Fri ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Took my girlfriend here at 6:30 on a Friday night to celebrate Valentine's Day.

Pros: Great food, fresh, hot, perfect.

Cons: This restaurant is very Loud, No chance for a romantic night here.

The space was pretty dismal, there are very TIGHT quarters, the wait staff was constantly flying by us, brushing by us the whole dinner. I did not enjoy that.

For $130.00 meal, I want an area where I can sit back without feeling like I'm in the way. NOT FOR DATES :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Our favorite restaurant! We always make ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our favorite restaurant! We always make it a point to go there when we are in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful restaurant, cannot ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely wonderful restaurant, cannot recommend it highly enough. We took our 1 year old and they staff were so accommodating to our needs. Tables are close together but the food is beyond exceptional.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filomena Ristorante is one of the finest ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Filomena Ristorante is one of the finest places at which I've ever eaten. In fact, it is the best Italian restaurant ever - and I've been going there since the 1980's. I live in Iowa but travel to the DC area 2-3 times a year and I almost always treat my family and/or friends to Filomena. The food has never been less than outstanding and the service is impeccable. Dino always greets me with a wonderful welcome and has been very helpful. I highly recommend Filomena to anyone who visits the DC area. You cannot go wrong.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience with friends and co ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful experience with friends and coworkers. Lasagna is surperb and white chocolate macadamia cake to die for. When in Georgetown, don't pass this restaurant up.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent but the ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always excellent but the service is suffering. There are a lot of service staff but it appears most are there only to fill water and takes empty plates. The main waiters seem rushed and long periods go by without any inquiries on satisfaction. We didn't order another round of drinks because the waiter didn't come by in a timely manner and we were about ready to leave.

Filo's is a staple but the service is really suffering and I hope they can turn it around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was good but not as great as it is ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good but not as great as it is at dinner time. Not sure if they change recipes ingredients or just that it was the first thing in the morning. Server was OK very busy doing other things versus attending to us. That is not typical for this place. Staff congregated near my table just outside kitchen using a lot of foul language. Wasn't a fan of that as I was with my five-year-old. Overall price of food to expensive. Dessert was always good but price is way too high

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

One of our favorite spots in DC. Great f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of our favorite spots in DC. Great food. Great service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines day

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday experience!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Birthday experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Historic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, the atmosphere was g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was great, the atmosphere was great, and so was the service! Was our first visit and will definitely be back! Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We just got engaged!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We just got engaged!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time at restaurant when visiting DC. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

2nd time at restaurant when visiting DC. Worth the drive from Capital Hill area. Outstanding food and service. Will be back when next in DC

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was wonderful . Looking forward goi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was wonderful . Looking forward going back to try other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for lunch for my wife's birthday wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went for lunch for my wife's birthday with my 2 year old and in-laws. The meal was great and my father-in-law wanted to come back for my mother-in-laws birthday. They came out and sang Happy Birthday when they brought out dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love this restaurant! It's ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant! It's a bit crowded and the tables are a little too close for my liking but overall the food and service are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good was delicious and could not have be ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good was delicious and could not have been happier with our valentines celebration there. Definitely going again soon.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful meal. Although a little on the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful meal. Although a little on the pricey side, you get what you pay for, and this place delivers. The menu is incredible. The mushroom caps were delectable. The ravioli is so incredibly delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have no complaints about the delicious f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have no complaints about the delicious food or very friendly and nice service. Only feedback is that they were really packed to the point it was hard to hear people at my own table. They were understandably busy due to Valentines Day approaching. We were seated at a small table that constantly got bumped into and we were too close for comfort (maybe an inch away) from the table next to us with a couple on a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have lived in DC since 1988. It's our ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have lived in DC since 1988. It's our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time as always here. Friendly staf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great time as always here. Friendly staff and super food, kind of miss they took away the buffet, but still well worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cannelloni Frutti Di Mare was too salty ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cannelloni Frutti Di Mare was too salty.

Vongole , one of their lunch menu items, was not available for lunch. They already ran out of clams at noon. Ugh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Had lunch with family and it was fabulou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had lunch with family and it was fabulous. Had the strawberry cheesecake for dessert and absolutely the best I've had in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing. Great food, larg ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place was amazing. Great food, large portion and awesome service. I would recommend to everyone. Book early, like months in advance in order to get a good time to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food here and the ambiance i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love the food here and the ambiance is always amazing around holidays. Our most recent visit left a lot to be desired in the way of service. Our waiter took 10 minutes to initially stop by our table and was not readily available throughout the night. I couldn't flag him down for water for quite awhile and we only saw him four times the whole evening. It is understandable with it being a holiday weekend in February, but even when he was at the table he didn't seem interested in providing us with his time in order for us to have a nice evening . To top it off I handed him the check with the card and when he came he ignored my hand out stretched and gave it to my husband. It was my card, but he didn't care to look at when he swiped it or acknowledge me when I reached for it. Not the end of the world just not our normal enjoyable experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The absolute best dining experience all ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The absolute best dining experience all around!! From the moment we walked in the door until exiting, the staff is completely on point and the food is by far the best Italian ever.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service, ambiance. My rav ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food, service, ambiance. My ravioli dish was melt in your mouth good, you can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate a wonderful dinner earlier in the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate a wonderful dinner earlier in the week so decided to come back for lunch the weekend before Valentine's Day. BIG mistake. It was over crowded, servers were overwhelmed, food quality went down and we could hardly talk over the roar of the crowded room. The tables were so tight my husband kept being bumped by the person behind him. I wasn't jolsted because the chair behind me was used for customers coats. WOW! Never again! Good experience the first time, won't do weekend lunch ever again.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Always great food. Love this place

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always great food. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation and we were promptl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a reservation and we were promptly seated. Our food was delicious and hot. We absolutely loved the homemade olive oil that came with the bread basket. We shared the canoli..it was fabulous. We will definitely be back..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food served old world style. Tabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food served old world style. Tables are packed close together. The staff is very fun and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.