About Filomena Ristorante

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
District of Columbia
Italian
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

special occasion (497)
fit for foodies (351)
romantic (327)
See All
neighborhood gem (321)
good for groups (270)
notable wine list (203)
hot spot (159)
great for lunch (115)
kid-friendly (73)
late-night find (55)
great for brunch (42)
vibrant bar scene (14)
scenic view (13)
 (11)
 (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
 (7)
 (6)
 (6)
 (4)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Filomenas has the most fabulous Italian ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Filomenas has the most fabulous Italian food. The last as are homemade and cooked perfectly. The 20 oz veal chop parmigiana is to die for. It's a wonderful family experience or romantic for two!

food1
ambience3
service1

The restaurant had a nice atmosphere. A ...

Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant had a nice atmosphere. A little cheesy like an Olive Garden. Food and service were straight up awful and the little Italian woman they show making Gnocchi looks like a prisoner in her windowed kitchen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is always amazing here no mat ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everything is always amazing here no matter what you pick!

food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing authentic Italian place ...

Dined 3 days ago

The most amazing authentic Italian place I have been to. Highly recommend it.

food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Filomena is a restaurant to go to if you ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Filomena is a restaurant to go to if you have small children or want more pasta than anyone should eat in one sitting. The food is actually pretty good but all of the screaming children took away from the dining experience. The portions are ridiculously large so it attracts the kind of clientele who love a huge meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not a good value. Expensive but food was ...

Dined 4 days ago

Not a good value. Expensive but food was not great nor very good (just good). We had the meat lasagna, chicken marsala, and pasta with sausage, ribs, etc. Portions were big enough but not huge for the high price. Tomato sauce and marsala sauce were not tasty. A little disappointed considering the reputation. Rather eat at Maggiano's or Carmine's considering the price. Our waiter was a little pushy since it appears that he wanted us to order the most expensive dishes.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our sons recommended the restaurant. T ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our sons recommended the restaurant. They told us Filomena's was a DC tradition. It didn't disappoint! Excellent service. On-time with our reservation. The only thing not offered was a side dinner salad. Otherwise, OUTSTANDING!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian mean I have ever had! Gen ...

Dined 5 days ago

Best Italian mean I have ever had! Generous with main ingredients ;lobster, short rib meat, veal, etc.... Highly recommend!

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

disappointed

Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant is VERY loud. The waiter took the drink order, served the food and never returned to the table to check on us. I had to flag him down to get a second drink and the check.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Nice environment. Competent ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Nice environment. Competent & friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience! One of th ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Exceptional dining experience! One of the best we have EVER experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filomena Ristorante is the best Italian ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Filomena Ristorante is the best Italian restaurant I have ever been.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and very authentic. Lar ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was amazing and very authentic. Large portions for very reasonable prices. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Incredible desserts. Would highly recommend the caprese salad and the lobster ravioli special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great italian food the best so far with ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great italian food the best so far with great waiters and frendly service large portions

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filomena Ristorante food and service is ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Filomena Ristorante food and service is excellent. A great experience!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance and old world feel that m ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great ambiance and old world feel that makes you believe you are part of the family. The menu is very accommodating to all tastes and the Rigatoni con Salsicce is amazing. They have something for everyone. My girlfriend loved it for her birthday surprise dinner. Noise level higher than usual but it is a rather comfy sized place. I would definitely recommend everyone check out this Georgetown Gem

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Franco's service was outstanding and the ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Franco's service was outstanding and the food was delicious, as always!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The sauce in the Cannelloni Frutti di Ma ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The sauce in the Cannelloni Frutti di Mare is excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable!! Comments: One of our gr ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very enjoyable!! Comments: One of our group would have preferred a regular dinner salad instead of tbe salad bar. The rest of us enjoyed the salad bar. Salmon was a tad salty ( both persons who ordered this said same thing) , but they still thought it was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent. Try to stop by every ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always excellent. Try to stop by every time my wife and I visit the DC area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The best Italian food on the East Coast, ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The best Italian food on the East Coast, period!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have celebrated our anniversary there ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We have celebrated our anniversary there for many years and will continue to do so in the future (even though it is a 4 hr. drive to get there)! The food is beyond fantastic, never had a disappointing meal as we try to get something different each time! And the desserts.....oh yes! Although it gets a bit noisy,that is only because it is always packed with patrons that are happy and enjoying themselves, like we do! The very best part of going there is the exceptional service we receive from each and every server. This last time we had Giacarlo and Raffael, both were fantastic waiters! But the amazing part is that our favorite server, Vito, came to our table to greet us and talk to us, even though he did not have our table. Considering the thousands of people to go through those doors, to be remembered by a server enough to make a point to say hello was just unbelievable! We highly.....highly...recommend making this a stop along your way when in the D.C., Georgetown area.... You will not be disappointed!!! Thank you , Filomena Ristorante, see you again next anniversary....if not before!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food. Outstanding service. A ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Phenomenal food. Outstanding service. A trip to Filomena is well worth it. One of the best restaurants anywhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful meal a little pricy but kind o ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Wonderful meal a little pricy but kind of expected in Washington!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filomena is the best Italian meal in Washington DC

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We absolutely love Filomena. We dine at Filomena every time we visit Washington DC

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Filomena has old world charm for sure. H ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Filomena has old world charm for sure. However, the service is not quite up to the mark. The servers are inattentive and brusque in their attitude. If you like old world Italian food which is very rich on the palate with rich gravies, you will love this place. IF you are like us and want Italian food with a little more finesse and flavors minus the rich heavy sauces, you will call this restaurant average.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the breast Italian dining experie ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of the breast Italian dining experiences never had: Giacarlo was excellent - attentive, but not overbearing. The marinara, lobster sauce and pastas were superb. Will definitely be back, and would recommend anyone!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Filomena always has amazing food and exc ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Filomena always has amazing food and exceptional service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Down the best restaurant overall we come ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Down the best restaurant overall we come from Easton Pennsylvania just to have it!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! First visit was about 1 ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Love this place! First visit was about 13 years ago and it's still fantastic! Can't wait to come back. Thank you for a great evening.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The decor is incredibly dated and tacky ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The decor is incredibly dated and tacky and the place is unbelievably loud. HOWEVER the food is tremendous! The meatballs and gravy are traditional favorites. Ravioli are light and tasty. This time I had lobster ravioli and they were fantastic. Prices are high. But overall another terrific and memorable meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Food

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you find it difficult to find authentic Italian outside of New York or Chicago. This is your place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous! Must go there when ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Must go there when in DC!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot that we try to hit anytime we ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great spot that we try to hit anytime we're in DC. A bit noisy and always crowded, but good energy and they do a great job. Entrees are bountiful--you will not go home hungry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. Filomena's n ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Filomena's never ceases to disappoint!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now into our 32nd year of dining at Filo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Now into our 32nd year of dining at Filomena's, we have always enjoyed terrific food and service. Try the Festivale en Venezia but have it done with the cardinal sauce instead of the marinara - outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!! This is a m ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and service!! This is a must for anyone wanting good food in DC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food,service, ambiance excellent! Only ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food,service, ambiance excellent! Only detractor was that the tables are too close. It was impossible for people to walk through the dining room without bumping those seated and eating. Any time someone adjusted their seats they would collide with diners at adjacent tables. Filomena's is always a must do for us when in town...Our favorite Italian restaurant ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant! Food was prepare ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! Food was prepared with care and with attention to details. I would recommend Filomena to anyone visiting Washington who is interested in great food, attentive servers, and festive atmosphere. Looking forward to visiting again very soon!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.