About Filomena Ristorante

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (268)
Good for a Date (228)
Authentic (226)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (213)
Romantic (192)
Good for Birthdays (177)
Neighborhood Gem (152)
Comfort Food (139)
Fit for Foodies (131)
Worth the Drive (127)
Notable Wine List (122)
Good for Groups (111)
Fun (98)
Business Meals (94)
Cozy (78)
Hot Spot (67)
Pre/post Theatre (65)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Great for Lunch (55)
Casual (52)
Sunday Lunch (47)
People Watching (42)
Local Ingredients (32)
Tasting Menu (26)
Late-night Find (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Seasonal (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Waterfront (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Scenic View (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
8596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in D.C., especially around Halloween. They decorate to the extreme for Halloween and the food is great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

This was a VERY ENJOYABLE experience. I will return again, and again. I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Organic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food! Excellent service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

I checked "casual" because Filomena does tolerate exceptionally casually dressed customers, despite staff in tuxedoes, whereas I'm more traditionally dressy. I just hope they hold the line when people start appearing in beachwear. The maître d', Dino, is a gem, and is great at making people feel at home.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

They didn't seat us until 30 minutes after our reservation. No apology or comp'd items to rectify the situation. Our waiter was patronizing and condescending. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely delicious. Best food in DC. Great service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Filomena's before and were just dying to get back! I reserved a table for our anniversary and the food was beyond spectacular... not to mention the desserts! Service is usually quite a bit better and I honestly thought they would do something special for an anniversary (since they also do something for birthdays). In the past, Management usually stops by to check in, but that didn't happen that night.
It was also dolled up for Halloween and that was pretty cool.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

An outstanding dinner in an eclectic setting. This place is clearly popular and with good reason. Terrific meatballs, risotto, gnocchi and osso bucco. We're not from around here, but we'll be back... Just like the SNF crew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Filomena Ristorante was fantastic! I went here for dinner with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday. Food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Our waiter, Alfredo, was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant for exceptional quality, food, and service. DC's best Italian restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Best meal ive ever had. Ive been there 3 times and i say that everytime!!'

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Two criticisms: Very loud and way too much food. Really, it's shameful how much food gets wasted. That said, Filimena is a classic, and I recommend it.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first visit to Filomena, outstanding service, amazing food! The pasta was cooked perfectly which is often not the case at other restaurants. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great service. A winner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and the best cheesecake ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Filomenas is awesome! The waiters are over the top attentive and the food is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Some of the best food I’ve had in DC. Food and hospitality were phenomenal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This resteraunt is simply the best Italian food you can find! The staff is personable and funny. They are knowledgeable about the wines and their food. You always need a reservation or be prepared to wait for a few hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We didn't like our dining experience. Although the restaurant has a nice environment and good reputation, the service was terrible. They make you feel you are just a number $. You can't enjoy your time dining there. The dishes are exaggerated and not well presented that much your aren't hungry anymore. As the waiter said 80% of the people take leftovers home. Waiters are kicking you out from the start. Not value for money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Five Star Experience in every category! I mentioned in my reservation that it we were dining to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and the staff went above and beyond to make it special! In addition, although expensive, the portions are so large we each took home enough left overs for a whole additional meal. By far one of the greatest dinners we have ever had!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in D.C. Great food and even better service. Food is unbelievably good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food and a lot. It was decorated for Halloween. What a great job! If back in DC, we will eat here again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter Carmelo was amazing! The food Devine! Loved loved loved the Halloween decor and can't wait to come back in December!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome restaurant! Best Italian food I have ever tasted... period!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Waterfront, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fun, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

This authentic Italian restaurant was on the same level as the best restaurants in Milan and Florence. Great waiting staff, and great menu with my all time favorites ossobuco and risotto milanese.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best Italian food I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Filomena is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. Everything I have tried is amazing. My favorite is the gnocchi. the texture is perfect and the sauce has a ton of flavor. Service is great and ambiance is very unique. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Yummy Italian fare and fun atmosphere. Great for a birthday celebration!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Reviews looked great, so I chose Filomena. OMGOsh...everything was excellent...food, service, ambience. Highly recommend to everyone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was delicious, as always. Portions are large. Decor is a bit dated but adds to the charm and authenticity.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great experience and excellent dinner! The lighting was amazing and price reflected not only great food but excellent service (though servers could smile a little more). My girlfriend and I enjoyed our date in Washington D.C. Georgetown!

P.S.
Went a little overboard with the Halloween decorations in the restaurant, I suggest moving the ones above and away from the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent homemade Italian Cuisine! My friend and I use to go here 19 years ago when we were at GWU was our favorite restaurant

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

All three entrees had too much sauce - overwhelmed the food!! Very unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We asked for a quiet area of the restaurant and was placed between 2 tables that had screaming toddlers. That ruined our expectations of a nice enjoyable evening of having a quiet dinner. The very young hostess was seating everyone in only one section of the restaurant no matter what you requested. Service was very professional
Food was very tasty and plentiful. It was a bit oily and rich and on the heavy side. I cannot say this nest Italian restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

First time to Filomena - loved the food and the decor. I understand that this restaurant is approximately 33 years old. Our server was very helpful and pleasant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was amazing, we started with the fried mozzarella and ended with the tiramisu. We were there to celebrate my husbands birthday and the staff was nothing short of impeccable. I'm kind, thoughtful and personable. This was our first time dining at Filomena and will definitely not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Prompt seating for reservations. Helpful server with large menu. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

An great experience and meal each time we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant! The service was not as good as we've had in the past, although the waiter was very nice. I think the restaurant was just busy. It wasn't his fault. We really enjoyed the evening and can't wait to come back. It is definitely worth repeating over and over again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food outstanding. Love the touch at the end with Zambucca and Amaretto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Filomena calls itself an Italian restaurant. I've been in Polish restaurants (Krakow) that are more Italian than Filomena. I should have walked out when the bread came to the table. I've always said that you can judge a restaurant by its bread. Filomena failed. Their idea of mozarella di bufala e pomodori is to put wipped burrata on a slice of tomato (in fairness they didn't call it mozarella di bufala). But hey, it was good. The menu had two fish dishes on the menu, farmed salmon and red snapper ( special for $39). We chose the snapper. If the fish was snapper, it was buried in so much butter sauce that I could not taste it. The portions were hugh (also not Italian). The coup de grace was a dollop of spaghetti on the same plate with the fish. It is bad enough when Italo-Americans give you a side dish of pasta with the main course, but on the same plate? The desserts were proudly displayed at the entrance. They would have been at home in any Chicago diner. Filomena would not last a minute on Capitol Hill.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.