About Filomena Ristorante

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli Di Chiacchieri
Bruschetta
Chocolate Mouse
Spumoni Cannoli Cake
Rigatoni Con Salsiccia
Lasagna - half bechamel, half marinara
Ravioli Matrimonio
Tiramisu
Manicotti Di Funghi
Misto Di Mare Alla Filomena, Shrimp, Sea Scallops, Cockles), Mussels and Calamari sautéed with Shallots and White Wine in a Marinara Sauce over Linguine
Gnochhi
Mixed Fruit Cheesecake
Dessert Table
Cake
Oreo Cheesecake
Strawberry Cheesecake
Fettuccine Alla Carbonara
Lasagna alla Bolognese
Arancini
Cappuccino
Gnocchi Bolognese
Linguini Cardinale
Risotto alla Vitello
La Torre Di Melanzane
Burrata Mozzarella Di Caprese
Hazelnut Dacquoise
Braised Beef Brisket Tortelloni
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Seafood stuffed Black Pasta Canneloni with Lobster sauce
Canneloni Al Mare
Caprese
Penne Con Saliccia
Fettucine alla Carbonara
Raviolis
Seafood Canelloni
Meatballs
Seafood Ravioli
Cannelloni Frutti Di Mare
Sambucca And Amaretto
Raspberry Mousse Cake
Cavatelli
La Familia Meal
Veal Parm
Costoletta Di Vitello
Osso Bucco
Calamari Fritti
Caramel Eclair
Linguine With Shrimp, Calamari, And Mussels
Baked Cod With Tomatoes And Capers
Black Fettuccini With Lobster, Shrimp, & Scallops In Tomato Brandy Sauce
Rigatoni with Vodka Sauce and Chicken
Fettucine Carbonara
Oreo Mousse Cake
Pasta Mamas Gnocchi
Hazel Nut Eclair

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Italian
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

Special Occasion (400)
Romantic (291)
Neighborhood Gem (271)
See All
Fit for Foodies (264)
Good for Groups (197)
Notable Wine List (163)
Hot Spot (107)
Authentic (79)
Good for a Date (74)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Great for Lunch (69)
Kid-friendly (60)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Worth the Drive (48)
Late-night Find (41)
Comfort Food (36)
Historic (36)
Family Style (35)
Fun (33)
Cozy (30)
Great for Brunch (26)
Business Meals (22)
Outstanding Value (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
People Watching (15)
Casual (14)
Scenic View (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious, exquisite food. Wonderful at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious, exquisite food. Wonderful atmosphere. Loved the Halloween decorations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were anticipating great things--our e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 2 days ago

We were anticipating great things--our expectations were surpassed. Incredible place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was second time here and the food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was second time here and the food was delicious. The calamari was cooked to perfection. Nice large calamari rings, definitely great for sharing. The penne eith vodka sauce is fantastic , and that's coming from someone who doesn't care for pasta sauce. The bread with pesto oil they serve is great. Service is excellent as is the ambience .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the DELICIOUS Italian food espec ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the DELICIOUS Italian food especially. The decorations for Halloween were over the top and an added value!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best restaurants I have ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best restaurants I have ever had and I lived in italy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the experience. My husband a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed the experience. My husband and I love this restaurant. This is the first time we had lunch there. We brought our extended family to celebrate our son's 9th birthday. On Sept 24th the halloween decorations were up and over the top. Every free space was overcrowded with gargoyles and goblins. The waiter was running around with too many tables but he did his best to provide good service. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the strawberry cheesecake is always a great end to any meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Although it was pricey, we had lots of l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Although it was pricey, we had lots of leftovers for another meal. Decorations for Halloween were outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious and hot. Great food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious and hot. Great food/wine recommendations by our waiter. It was dark in the restaurant - I suggest sitting by a window if you dine during the day. I will definitely be going back with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommend - service was outstandi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Highly recommend - service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the authentic Italian ristorante ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

I loved the authentic Italian ristorante look and feel. Food and Wine was Wonderful! Service was attentive and respectful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chose this restaurant off internet as we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Chose this restaurant off internet as we were in DC area for the week and going to Opera at Kennedy Center. Service was very good as well as the ambience and food would highly recommend as a pre or post theater option.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had linquini with clams, Noodles were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had linquini with clams, Noodles were al dente, clams were tender. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing Italian fare, good wine list! A ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing Italian fare, good wine list! A very traditional Italian Resturaunt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Pricy but worth it, especi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food. Pricy but worth it, especially with the portions. The decor, however, was ridiculous. The place was covered in Halloween decorations... in mid-September.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Was visiting DC on vacation and Filomena ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was visiting DC on vacation and Filomena's was recommended while in Georgetown. id not disappoint!! Outstanding food and service. Will absolutely come back next trip!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was very special. The portio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The dinner was very special. The portions are generous. I enjoyed watching the Italian woman making fresh ravioli and pasta in the window.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food...sauce, meatballs, chick ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Delicious food...sauce, meatballs, chicken...all outstanding. Unique decor and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always Filomenas gives the best Itali ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

As always Filomenas gives the best Italian dining experience in DC. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Remarkable place! Can't think of the adj ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Remarkable place! Can't think of the adjective that fully describe this experience! Food is delicious and service outstanding!

Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Filomena's for the first time fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went to Filomena's for the first time for a Sunday lunch to celebrate a friend's birthday. The ambiance was very quaint and cozy. The food was outstanding and the service was superb. A great value for the price as well. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre over-rated food Many first tim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Mediocre over-rated food

Many first time dinners but not many regulars

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

My favorite Italian restaurant. Eat her ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My favorite Italian restaurant. Eat here a few times each fall when I visit the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and dessert!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food and dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Omg! Best Italian food ever! Said. High ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Omg! Best Italian food ever! Said. Highly recommend this restaurant due to its amazing homemade dishes that are stunningly delishes! Lasagna was great but the cheese & spinach raviolis were my fave. Get them with red sauce. I had them bring both red & Alfredo sauce & like the red better.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always had great experiences at Fil ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I've always had great experiences at Filomena. However, at the end of our meal we poured an extra glass of Amaretto. A waiter who wasn't ours (Asian, balding, glasses) stopped by to pick up the decanters and seemingly chided us for having more than one shot. He made my first-time visiting out-of-town guests feel reprimanded and uncomfortable. If the policy is one shot of digestivo, I'd think that the decanters would not be left behind, as opposed to the waiter pouring a shot and then taking the decanters with him/herself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome traditional Italian food with gr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome traditional Italian food with great service. After having been there only once before, we came in and Anton, our prior waiter was there to greet us. He remembered us, seated us and ensured that we were taken care of through the evening. Very much a five-star experience.

The food was rich and superbly prepared. Appetizers were the classic meatballs and fried calamari. The sauce on the meatballs was homemade with rich tomato flavor. The calamari was fried to perfection with tender squid and a light coating that was not greasy at all. For the main course, we had the veal osso bucco, seafood with ravioli, and meat stuffed ravioli. All well received and simply delicious. Dessert was the classic tiramisu and my son loved the chocolate mousse cake. I personally appreciate the nice touch of gratis sambuca or amaretto to end the meal. A great way to spend the evening.

The family has a new "go-to" favorite in this classic restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was a challenge because he we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The waiter was a challenge because he went so fast with beverage orders that he missed my husband and would not slow down to answer questions about the entrees. I had a few questions due to food allergies and it was hard to get him to slow down to hear the response. We also waited for 10 minutes before a waiter approached our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Amazing, as always. Filomena never fails ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing, as always. Filomena never fails to surprise. From exciting Halloween decorations to delicious food, it is so worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Family Style, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.....love this pla ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and service.....love this place. Authentic Italian food.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best Italian restaurant I'v ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Probably the best Italian restaurant I've ever dined in! The food was amazing, the staff attentive, the decoration for Halloween was over the roof...

If you go in autumn, you have to try the Pumpkin Cheesecake. It is exceptional.

Set a little time to watch the "pasta mamas". It is almost magic what they make.

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Great food and very go ...

 
 (Brazil)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great restaurant. Great food and very good atmosphere!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

simply my wife and I loved the place unt ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

simply my wife and I loved the place until now Maggianos was my #1 it's now #2

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hand made raviolis were outstanding ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The hand made raviolis were outstanding and the red sauce was delicious. The restaurant is very loud and tables close together. Overall, the food was good but atmosphere was lacking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I visit DC twice a year, and visit Filam ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I visit DC twice a year, and visit Filamena's on every trip. What a fantastic restaurant... make sure to have the lobster sauce!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy. Forget about enjoying conve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very noisy. Forget about enjoying conversation. One entree was good but very rich; the other was mediocre. Neither was worth the cost. We were really looking forward to a romantic dinner. Didn't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

It was very dark and decorated for Hallo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was very dark and decorated for Halloween way too early. The decorations took away from the experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was superb and our waiter excel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was superb and our waiter excellent .

My first time here but have already shared with others looking for a good place in this part of dc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our private tour guide recommended Filom ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our private tour guide recommended Filomena's and after a review on Yelp, we decided it was our choice for dining on our last night in DC. We were amazed! Comfortable, cozy basement location with entertaining decor. Fantastic wine choices. Fresh, homemade and scrumptious from appetizers, salad, seafood and risotto main course followed by desserts that were out of this world delicious. First time but will not be the last!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal here. Our waiter, Sopra ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Never a bad meal here. Our waiter, Soprano was outstanding!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overpriced for nothing special - Hallowe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Overpriced for nothing special - Halloween decor was odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.