About Filomena Ristorante

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (303)
Special Occasion (273)
Good for a Date (215)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (209)
Neighborhood Gem (182)
Romantic (181)
Good for Birthdays (170)
Worth the Drive (141)
Comfort Food (130)
Fit for Foodies (126)
Good for Groups (110)
Cozy (109)
Fun (106)
Notable Wine List (103)
Family Style (100)
Historic (98)
Business Meals (79)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Hot Spot (66)
Casual (64)
Sunday Lunch (55)
Great for Lunch (51)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
People Watching (42)
Kid-friendly (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Seasonal (27)
Outstanding Value (25)
Tasting Menu (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Scenic View (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Waterfront (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Private Room (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
8080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

It was a fun night out. Really good service, friendly staff and good (not great) food. For those who are driving there be warned parking is expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

The food was fantastic. Our caprese salad and meatball appetizers were delicious. Our seafood entrees spectacular. Desserts were huge and perfect. Love this place and visit every time we are in D.C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Filomena's is old school Italian. The decor is perfectly gaudy and the waitstaff has impeccable service. The handmade pasta is worth every carb and the tiramisu is divine. During dessert, our waiter brought over free vintage apertifes. A great end to a great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

We visit Washington DC every year for a week or so and since coming to Filomena's twenty years ago we always come back at least once during our visits. The food is delicious and come in large portions. So large that sometimes my wife and I will just split an entree because they are so large and filling. The family that owns the restaurant are holiday fanatics and if you come during Valentine's day, Easter, Fourth of July, Halloween, or Christmas you will be given an extra treat since the restaurant is decorated wall to wall, top to bottom with beautiful decorations. The staff is always pleasant, attentive, and efficient. We look forward to it each year and highly recommend it to our friends when they talk about going to DC. Thanks for the amazing experience!

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

Could not have had a better experience for our first meal in Washington DC

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our 8 year anniversary ..the menu can be a bit less..thats my only critical thing..its so much to choose from that it can take a while to decide...BUT the service food atmosphere was amazing!!! This place was well worth the money..we loved it!!! The food was authentic Italian....We will be back!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is absolutely amazing. If I'm ever in the area again I WILL be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I wouldn't go back to this restaurant for free. It is over crowded, the tables on top of one another, and the noise level is intolerable. You cannot enjoy the food or your company in such a setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience! Food was excellent (seafood pasta). Very good wine selection and quite reasonable. Superb deserts!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic evening. Brought a group of out-of-towners that were attending a conference with me. Everyone was blown away. Filomena's is always incredible and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome service, great ambiance, wonderful experiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Starter a little shaky as the arrival area was packed and the hostess was clearly overwhelmed, unhelpful, and almost unfriendly. But we quickly got a seat at the bar and had a perfect dirty martini. When seated, the Food was fantastic. One of the best Osso Bucco's I have ever had and the risotto was perfection. The Gaja recommended by our waiter was awesome. Will definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and large portions. The desserts were fantastic. Service was friendly, attentive, and very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing evening, my grand daughter's favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fun decor and good food for Graduation celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

While visiting DC we had heard about this resturant on the food channel. They rated it the best for great made pasta and they were absolutely right. The food was wonderful and the desserts. Wow. The waiter we had ( alfredo ) was superb. We have already recamended to friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food and service at Filomena is superb. You won't be disappointed, and plan to take home enough for another meal. The portions are huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This place... ❤... we are never disappointed with the atmosphere, food, or wine. Outstanding service! Order ANYTHING from the menu and you will fall in love with Filomena's!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing, as always! They always remember me and are so warm and inviting, just like a grandma's house in Italy would be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Filomenas is my favorite restaurant in Georgetown, and possibly even in DC. It's iconic and never disappoints. I had the Ravioli Chiachiarri.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic, genuine Italian cuisine, in a wonderful atmosphere!! All around terrific place to eat!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The wait staff was very attentive at making sure the customers' needs were met. Their knowledge of the food and beverage as well as the food recommendations were outstanding. The quality of the food was exceptional and the portion size was enough for leftovers. My party commented on how pleasant it was that all tables received "free" after dinner drink of sambuka (sp?) and amaretto .

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

A trip to Filomena's is part of every DC trip I have - hope to never see them close! Amazing food and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious food. Great atmosphere. The read deal! This a MUST EAT in DC :)

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food is outstanding the seafood dishes with pasta incredible, the waitstaff staff is fun and helps you make really great choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was one of our many trips to filomena but was by far our best experience! The service and food was top notch! This is a DC must visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful evening. Whenever we're on DC, we always make a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Amazing food and experience, as always. They never disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I just love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Filomena's was an excellent, old world Italian restaurant that made you feel like you were in Little Italy in NYC. The food was delicious! Highly recommend the arancini and calamari. The server was very professional, didn't overly attend to us, but we also didn't have to search for him at any point. I would definitely go back!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One of my favorites in D.C. - food and service never disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Filomena was recommended to me by a friend, and it blew away my expectations. We arrived early and had a delicious bottle of wine. We then shared a few apps, and had amazing main courses, as well as desserts. Then at the end the shot of Sambuca really was a great cap to the evening. Food was unbelievable. Staff was excellent. Ambience was out of this world. It's a must eat if you're in D.C.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the best authentic Italian food I have eaten. The service is excellent as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was very good. Noisy, but it was packed. Make a reservation!
Wait staff was excellent. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A+ food is always great, portions are large. Ambiance is great as well

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fortunately, my first experience at Filomena's was great. This time not so much. There was a major water leak from the ceiling. The middle of the restaurant was soaked. I know it was not their fault but I felt that they should have closed off the section. I was so concerned that dirty water was going to drip on my food or my body. They didn't offer anything to make my experience any better. They also kept moving tables and chairs around. The area is tight enough as it is. I was getting stressed watching the staff carry chairs above their heads as other staff was carrying food. I am not sure how soon it will be before I make it back. This was a Mother's Day FAIL!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day so they were very busy.

Food was still great as usual.

Best lasagna we ever had, and the fried mozzarella app was outstanding.

Ordered the strawberry cheesecake to go, they give you a huge portion and the cheesecake was very fresh.

Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been here several times for birthday celebrations, Italian food cravings, and this time for mother's day. The portion sizes were already pretty big...they seem to be even larger since the last time I was here. Quality is still good with rich flavors. I stick with the agnolotti most times. Fresh ravioli and the spinach inside makes you feel like you're actually adding to the vegetable intake for the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Authentic southern Italian dishes, large portions, great service, excellent wine menu for italian wine, it was Bill Clintons favorite and I know why!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.