About Filomena Ristorante

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (263)
Authentic (247)
Good for a Date (209)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (200)
Romantic (184)
Good for Birthdays (175)
Neighborhood Gem (165)
Comfort Food (133)
Worth the Drive (127)
Fit for Foodies (115)
Good for Groups (113)
Notable Wine List (106)
Fun (106)
Historic (101)
Family Style (98)
Cozy (97)
Seasonal (70)
Business Meals (69)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Hot Spot (60)
Pre/post Theatre (59)
Great for Lunch (59)
Casual (58)
Outstanding Value (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
People Watching (41)
Kid-friendly (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Tasting Menu (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Private Room (12)
Scenic View (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Waterfront (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (0)
Sort By:
S
7833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was outstanding!! Best pasta dishes we have ever tasted. It is pricey but well worth it. Quality ingredients are used in their dishes. A must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Best veal I've ever had! Great service and great good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great old school Italian. Very inviting. Professional staff

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food! As usual, the place was packed, and our table was a little too close to the party next to us. I know they want to maximize customers, but we had to move the table in order to get to our chairs because it was that close to the other table (and I'm rather thin). Otherwise the food was fantastic--we ordered wine, two appetizers, two entrees and dessert--all delicious!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Best food ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a reservation that I booked 3 months in advance. Got there 10 minutes before my reservation and had to wait 20 minutes past my reservation for a table. The host didn't seem to care at all. Everyone that was there before me was seated before I was, not sure if they had reservations or just showed up.

Once we got to the table food and service was great! Definitely recommend this place; however, may skip the reservation as it doesn't seem to make a difference.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

What a memorable experience! Food was outstanding, ambiance was great and service was excellent! Kids loved seeing the lady in the window making homemade gnocchi! Everything was cooked perfectly, I even did a custom order and it came out divine. The manager even came over to speak to us to make sure our dinner was to our liking and gave us some history on the owners/restaurant. Hands down the best cannoli I have ever tasted! To die for! I would recommend for a special occasion, this place will not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicioso! Food was outstanding. The ravioli was perfect. Pasta so fresh, everyone loved the food at my table. 2nd time there and will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

It was great. Food and service were very good. A lot ofvfood. Could of shared meals. The complementary after dinner drink wAs really nice. Definitely a must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was to die for! With most pastas being made on site by "Pasta Mamas", the quality and freshness was evident. Our waitress was knowledgeable, helpful with suggestions, and attentive. All four of us ate our fill, with a salad bar included, for about $80!
When we visited, however, the restaurant had decorated for Easter and it was a bit much. With bunnies on every blank space, hanging from the ceiling and basket grass all around it made the vibe very kitschy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food with slightly inattentive service. We waited a long time for a cup of tea

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience, food Staff excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Another amazing meal. If you are looking for great Italian food, look no more. Pasta made on site. Portions are enormous and wonderful. If you are looking for a quiet environment this is not for you. Filamena's is a hustle bustle environment with great waiters. Every time in DC this is a must for me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

This was honestly one of the best meals I have ever had at a restaurant. Excellent food. Service was perfect. They even charged my phone when it died so I could call my Uber. We took dessert to go and it was amazing as well. I can't wait to return and bring friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, I love the easter decoration. I will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Beside the kitschy look of an over the top Easter decoration that permeated every nook and cranny of this basement level restaurant, I can't for a moment recommend it for the food or service. The food was outrageously expensive for what it is. Saucy dishes that have been prepared way in advance and reheated in the microwave (I suppose) when ordered. My tasteless calamari appetizer was swimming and drowning in a canned tomato sauce instead of being delicately sautéed with fresh tomatoes and olives as I would expect a dish of that price to be. I suppose that the oversized portions alone justify the price but instead they turned out to be a real turn off. My ossobuco entrée ($43) a specialty of the house was tasteless and looked like it had been solidified into its sauce. The accompanying risotto was a rigid mush of what felt like badly hydrated carbohydrates. Also for that price one would expect the service to be impeccable. I had to move after the waiters kept bumping into my chair every time they passed by. I cannot explain how this restaurant manages to remain open!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Used to love it. Our waiter seemed annoyed we didn't spend enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this restaurant was amazing!!! It came highly recommended and now we know why.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Filomena's is simply outstanding. Service was impeccable, and food was delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time to dine here. It was even better than the first. The Caesar salad which we split I could of eaten a whole one and been happy. My main course was delicious , portion so large I had dinner for next night. Only wish we had been able to enjoy dessert, but we were too full. Great anniversary meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing and excellent service ! I highly recommend this restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service are always excellent! I wish you were in California.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 5 days ago

We have never had better service at any restaurant. The host and waiter were extremely attentive and friendly. The food was great but the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We came to Filomena for a birthday and it was fantastic! It was as close to authentic Italian cuisine that I've found in the DMV area, and excellent service at that! The portions are huge, and everything that we ordered was delicious. Definitely recommending to friends and relatives as our party had an excellent experience. Will be returning soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Simply outstanding. Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Wonderful, friendly and fast service. Quirky and festive ambience. What more could you want?

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This is a great place!!!! A must visit when in town.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal and excellent service!! The ambience was perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Amazing experience! Food that tasted home cooked, staff that catered to every need, and incredible ambience. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Lots of food, share! Very noisy. Food ok, too much sauce and salty over all pasta.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent all round restaurant,food,service,crazy surroundings,great atmosphere,loved it!!
Beware - massive portions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

It was a pleasure visiting. A little on the pricey side.....but will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our server, "Soprano", was the best we've had in some time. He was attentive, knew everything about each menu item as well as the wine list and he also made the experience great for all. The Veal was some of the best I've had and the Shrimp and Lobster Linguine was very good as well. Highly recommend Filomena.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Made a 6pm reservation, and stood for 50 minutes until our table was ready. Shown to a table of 4 where an extra seat had been placed in the aisle, a perfect target for anyone walking by. "The only table available at this time". Bread was cold and edge of my piece was moist/shoggy as if laden with water. I ordered lobster/angel hair which was over cooked pasta laden with cream sauce. The lobster was good only. Spumoni for dessert was tasteless-bad choice. Others fared better. Salmon dish looked great, and the lasagna was well received, as was the gnocchi. Those that had chocolate cake and cheesecake for dessert seemed to enjoy it.
Crowning blow was the $ 23 parking fee for the garage across the street. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and good service.
Great place to gather

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Noisy, crowded, food overcooked (lobster with linquine), expensive meal
I've been at Restaurant several times over the years.
It's menu hasn't changed. No excitement over choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Started going when our youngest daughter took us there while visiting her several years ago. Try to go each visit now. Highly recommend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the best server. The service was excellent. This restaurant is authentic. I would definitely go back. Try the Italian Handshake. It was a light, tasty drink. The Caprese salad was not the average. It had ricotta added with balsamic reduction. Very good. The pasta is handmade by the pasta mamas. The cannoli is not rolled. It is huge, fun with pistachios.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great as usual. Good place for family dining because all plates are generous enough to split. Delicious and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.