About Filomena Ristorante

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spumoni Cannoli Cake
Ravioli Di Chiacchieri
Rigatoni Con Salsiccia
Lasagna - half bechamel, half marinara
Ravioli Matrimonio
Tiramisu
Manicotti Di Funghi
Misto Di Mare Alla Filomena, Shrimp, Sea Scallops, Cockles), Mussels and Calamari sautéed with Shallots and White Wine in a Marinara Sauce over Linguine
Gnochhi
Mixed Fruit Cheesecake
Dessert Table
Cake
Oreo Cheesecake
Strawberry Cheesecake
Fettuccine Alla Carbonara
Arancini
Lasagna alla Bolognese
Cappuccino
Gnocchi Bolognese
Linguini Cardinale
Risotto alla Vitello
Hazelnut Dacquoise
La Torre Di Melanzane
Burrata Mozzarella Di Caprese
Braised Beef Brisket Tortelloni
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Seafood stuffed Black Pasta Canneloni with Lobster sauce
Canneloni Al Mare
Caprese
Penne Con Saliccia
Fettucine alla Carbonara
Raviolis
Meatballs
Seafood Canelloni
Seafood Ravioli
Cannelloni Frutti Di Mare
Raspberry Mousse Cake
Sambucca And Amaretto
Cavatelli
La Familia Meal
Veal Parm
Osso Bucco
Caramel Eclair
Costoletta Di Vitello
Calamari Fritti
Baked Cod With Tomatoes And Capers
Linguine With Shrimp, Calamari, And Mussels
Black Fettuccini With Lobster, Shrimp, & Scallops In Tomato Brandy Sauce
Oreo Mousse Cake
Fettucine Carbonara
Rigatoni with Vodka Sauce and Chicken
Pasta Mamas Gnocchi
Hazel Nut Eclair

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Washington, D.C. Area
Italian
District of Columbia
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

special occasion (437)
fit for foodies (310)
neighborhood gem (283)
See All
romantic (277)
good for groups (238)
notable wine list (195)
hot spot (143)
great for lunch (94)
kid-friendly (67)
late-night find (44)
great for brunch (37)
scenic view (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for outdoor dining (4)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good. The reason for t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was very good.

The reason for two stars: if this is the only meal you intend to eat that day - you are okay. The portions are enormous, you can easily share one plate between three people.

The other reason - the place is so dark everyone is using smartphones to read the menu. I'm not sure why it has to be that dark... Just doesn't make sense.

But again - the food was great. I would come back for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Old Fashion restaurant not in a cute way ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 2 days ago

Old Fashion restaurant not in a cute way. The food was heavy. Not truly Italian, to much spice, heavy cream, over cooked pasta, thick pizza. I had read the reviews and was interested, but we were a party of 5 and all the food was so-so. Definitely not a place I would recommend to anyone. Don't spend your money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Service is non courteous.It begins with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service is non courteous.It begins with the host. The waiter who took the order was good. Everyone one else was not interested to serve.

I will not go there again. It felt like I wasn't invited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The food at Filomena's was outstanding. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food at Filomena's was outstanding. Just be aware, the portions are huge. La Familia is absolutely wonderful, the sausage is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Vito, was amazing! So in tun ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter, Vito, was amazing! So in tune with our needs and he made our anniversary so special!! We will definitely come again and request Vito to be our server! Thanks again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old school delicious.....NY style Italia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Old school delicious.....NY style Italian. Only comment...I ordered a vino bi nobile and was brought a cheaper wine....waiter says he didn't notice? Brought the correct bottle....said I was right.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Carmelo was a wonderful server. The food ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Carmelo was a wonderful server. The food was amazing. Great evening will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here with my boyfriend on my birt ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

I came here with my boyfriend on my birthday and had an amazing time and fantastic meal. I have Celiac Disease and need to eat gluten free, and the waiter was very knowledgeable and accommodating. I was able to substitute gluten free pasta in one of the dishes and it was delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT food, service and ambiance. Authe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

GREAT food, service and ambiance. Authentic as it gets. Two thumbs up!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Less than 1 mile from the Kennedy Center ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Less than 1 mile from the Kennedy Center, so makes for a solid preshow dining location. Parking has become challenging due to work being done at the parking garage entrance. Great atmosphere. Best pasta in DC! Another great dining experience to compliment a perfect evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Absolutely amazing, I'm still full 3 day ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely amazing, I'm still full 3 days later. Service was great!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in Georgetown Check out the wind ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Located in Georgetown

Check out the window when walking in

Nice wait staff

Good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Portions were huge! We shoul ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food. Portions were huge! We should have shared 1 entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Best Italian food hands down you will ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best Italian food hands down you will have in Washington DC or any where you go!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Camelo was a comp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent experience. Camelo was a complete asset to the restaurant!!! Really enjoyed the night

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent BUT the size of the s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was excellent BUT the size of the size of the servings were WAY TOO BIG!!!! In fact, each serving could easily feed 4 or more people comfortably. I should have suspected this by the prices, but I strongly feel that the server should have warned us so that we could adjust our order according. I guess the best way to look at this experience is that we had 5 good sized "doggie bags" and enough food to meet our needs for the next week.

Bottom line: "Would I go back?" The answer is "yes", but with knowledge of how to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Filo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Filomena's. The food and service were superb! My only complaint is the noise level. We had to almost shout to near one another across the table. On the other hand, it was a very lively atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was oppressively hot and since I make ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was oppressively hot and since I make my home in the deep Southern U.S. I'm very heat tolerant... This however, was just unbearable. The noise level was the loudest I've ever experienced in any city any where in my 20 years of business travel. It would be interesting to measure the decibel level. I only lasted through the appetizer. The heat and noise prompted a request to prepare my entree to go. Not a place to go for a relaxing dining experience. The food, while good was not worth the heat and noise .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Great place to celebrate a special occas ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great place to celebrate a special occasion. Appetizers are the best. Entrees are large so plan to take some home or even share.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was very unhappy with the service and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I was very unhappy with the service and the food. The waiter was unfriendly. While I was ordering dinner, he left our table and took someone else's order. I found that very rude. He also spoke to me in a condescending manner. The food was mediocre. I love Italian food but this wasn't a good place. I ordered the ravioli with meatballs. I didn't like that they put mozzarella in the ravioli. It made it very messy. Most places only use ricotta in their ravioli. My partner ordered a grey goose martini and she said that it didn't taste like grey goose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I have become a regular at Filomena's, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I have become a regular at Filomena's, which is very nice. The staff always acknowledge me, and it feels good when I bring guests. The food is always excellent. The wine list is extensive, but be careful if you are on a budget because they have some very good wines which can run high on price. This restaurant will always be a go-to place for important business dinners, or special family occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. I took my nephew and hi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Love this place. I took my nephew and his new girlfriend so that I could have the opportunity to judge her! We had fun. The food is great traditional Italian. The waiter was a hoot! Really made us feel welcome. He asked if I wanted a box for my leftovers. "when I said no, that's ok." He asked, "what's wrong with you? you don't like my food?" He was hilarious. I took it home and devoured the remainder before bed! Good advice. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal!!! So delicious! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was phenomenal!!! So delicious!!!

Shared the burrata mozzarella (possibly the best I ever had)!

The manicotti was incredible, like cheesy heaven on a plate.

I was so stuffed I took the cannoli to go. And it was so different in shape than I'd ever had - like a cookie stuffed with canolli cream.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience with terri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A wonderful dining experience with terrific food, fabulous service, and a feel of early Italian-American culture. The swordfish won't be seasoned with shreds of fennel or a sauce of otherworldly flavors, but it's fresh, simply and well-prepared. The desserts are wonderful. Great for a special occasion or just a romantic dinner. It's fun to eat where so many other famous people have eaten - be part of history!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Staff was excellen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was outstanding. Staff was excellent. A little pricey, but worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Filmena everytime we are in D ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We dine at Filmena everytime we are in DC. Consistently wonderful dishes with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I brought a friend to celebrate his birt ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I brought a friend to celebrate his birthday and what a great atmosphere it was to do this. The staff was so professional and the food was great. I definitely will return and I've already recommended Filomena to various friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It was very loud and you could hear your ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was very loud and you could hear your neighbors conversation more than your own. Food was good and presentation was very nice. Service was excellent from initial drink at the bar to receiving the check. Bartender was very attentive and went out of his way to insure we were happy with our drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a wonderful meal. From the moment ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a wonderful meal. From the moment you walk in, until the moment you leave, it's a wonderful experience due to the excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is always on the top of ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This restaurant is always on the top of my list when I visit the D. C. area. The food and service are amazing and the portions are huge!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian, homemade authentic ta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent Italian, homemade authentic taste and they changed the plate by removing tomatoes, aglio... Loved it great food, great service, great location! Value was excellent. Will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very accommodating. We were a party of 1 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very accommodating. We were a party of 10 and they arranged tables to keep the group together. Great food, generous portions and super deserts.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filomena never disappoints. Great food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Filomena never disappoints. Great food. Great service. We always make it a point to go there when in the DC area. Our waiter was wonderful. The chef was accommodating to my husband who is vegan and prepared him an outstanding meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was beyond my expectatio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This restaurant was beyond my expectations... Great food, service and the ambiance was wonderful!!!!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Italian food in DC!! The who's ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The best Italian food in DC!! The who's who of customers is overwhelming including Presidents and actors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a fantastic DC experience for o ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was a fantastic DC experience for our family vacation! All three of our meals were wonderful, all of us were very satisfied and left with some delicious leftovers! The service was great, and the staff so very personable! From the bread to the Italian hospitality this is a meal wwe will not soon forget!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Very large portions. Ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food. Very large portions. Servers were very helpful and moved us to a table with more light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and atmosphere. Will be back ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Will be back every time I visit DC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Filomena after many positive ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Filomena after many positive reviews from friends and family that live here in Miami.. We had an amazing experience and will definitely be going back when we travel to DC in the near future!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience - definitely will go ba ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great experience - definitely will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.