About Filomena Ristorante

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli Di Chiacchieri
Spumoni Cannoli Cake
Bruschetta
Chocolate Mouse
Rigatoni Con Salsiccia
Lasagna - half bechamel, half marinara
Tiramisu
Ravioli Matrimonio
Manicotti Di Funghi
Misto Di Mare Alla Filomena, Shrimp, Sea Scallops, Cockles), Mussels and Calamari sautéed with Shallots and White Wine in a Marinara Sauce over Linguine
Gnochhi
Mixed Fruit Cheesecake
Dessert Table
Cake
Oreo Cheesecake
Strawberry Cheesecake
Fettuccine Alla Carbonara
Lasagna alla Bolognese
Arancini
Cappuccino
Gnocchi Bolognese
Linguini Cardinale
Risotto alla Vitello
La Torre Di Melanzane
Burrata Mozzarella Di Caprese
Hazelnut Dacquoise
Braised Beef Brisket Tortelloni
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Seafood stuffed Black Pasta Canneloni with Lobster sauce
Canneloni Al Mare
Caprese
Penne Con Saliccia
Fettucine alla Carbonara
Raviolis
Seafood Canelloni
Meatballs
Seafood Ravioli
Cannelloni Frutti Di Mare
Sambucca And Amaretto
Raspberry Mousse Cake
Cavatelli
La Familia Meal
Veal Parm
Costoletta Di Vitello
Osso Bucco
Calamari Fritti
Caramel Eclair
Linguine With Shrimp, Calamari, And Mussels
Baked Cod With Tomatoes And Capers
Black Fettuccini With Lobster, Shrimp, & Scallops In Tomato Brandy Sauce
Rigatoni with Vodka Sauce and Chicken
Fettucine Carbonara
Oreo Mousse Cake
Pasta Mamas Gnocchi
Hazel Nut Eclair

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Food
District of Columbia
2 More
Italian
District of Columbia
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

Special Occasion (434)
Romantic (300)
Fit for Foodies (299)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (278)
Good for Groups (223)
Notable Wine List (185)
Hot Spot (120)
Great for Lunch (79)
Kid-friendly (69)
Late-night Find (46)
Great for Brunch (27)
Scenic View (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I thought that this food was incredible. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I thought that this food was incredible. Really anything here is good, particularly the calamari.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy my visits to Filomena and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I always enjoy my visits to Filomena and this was no exception. The dining week deal was great and a wonderful value - if anything there was an excess of food. The only complaints I had - the meatballs I ordered for an appetizer were cold upon coming out of the kitchen. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

As always the food was outstanding altho ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always the food was outstanding although the price you pay is as much for the atmosphere as the food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great staff! Great place! An ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Great staff! Great place! And a free amaretto and sambucca after meal

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! It was so fun and the food was amaz ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wow! It was so fun and the food was amazing. I cannot wait to go back

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every visit is spectacular. They are mor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Every visit is spectacular. They are more than willing to make accommodations and have outstanding service. Worth the price time after time. Make sure you have a reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Historic, Tapas, Cozy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic (apps and entrees ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic (apps and entrees). The service was not quite up to par. They had a fixed menu for the week and I asked if I could get a non-chocolate dessert (as I have a severe allergy/anaphylaxis) and they told me to just take the chocolate home (even though chocolate could potentially kill me). This was also coming from the manager. I think if a customer was spending $300 on dinner (for 4) and asked for a dessert that wouldn't potentially end their life they would try to accommodate the patron. Unfortunately, they do not work around food allergies.

But the Italian there was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food and authentic decor. Exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and authentic decor. Excellent for special occasion celebration. Very large portions. Service was a little slow but it was a full restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The whole experience was great. The serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The whole experience was great. The service was truly good after chatting a bit with the waitresses. The service provided by Daniel was really great. The food was delicious, well served, the restaurant decoration is really nice. If you have time try to visit a small room on the back side where there is an Italian style dining room on exhibition. The restaurant has put a good effort in the decoration with good taste. The desserts are superior and really big size!

Just as a precaution, if you are going with someone with limited vision, as soon as you open the exterior door there comes steep stairs going down, just be careful and use caution with your invitees, especially if you go for lunch on a sunny day, they may need to adjust their vision to the interior that looks dark.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filomena, best Italian restaurant in DC, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Filomena, best Italian restaurant in DC, great food and great service. Highly recommended

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this restaurant! Very la ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely love this restaurant! Very large portions. Has the best lasagna I have ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was hoping to eat authentic Italian food ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was hoping to eat authentic Italian food reminiscent of being in Italy but the food was heavier and saltier than I was expecting. I got the Lasagna Bolognese and my girlfriend got the Canneloni Frutti Di Mare but neither of us ate very much. That said, the wait stuff was doing a great job for an extremely busy night and I really liked the feel of the place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

As always, Filomena's delivered a fantas ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, Filomena's delivered a fantastic meal with Great Service from the entire staff. I enjoy bringing family and friends to Filomena's every time they visit. I have never had a plate of food that I did not completely enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 9pm reservations for dinner. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had 9pm reservations for dinner. The place was packed! We had an excellent dinner - both the service and food were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filomena is a gem. From the moment you w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Filomena is a gem. From the moment you walk in, you see the Italian ladies making the pasta to be served that night. The Maitre D is Dino and he is perfect. Tall, big, handsome - he is typecast right out of Hollywood. He is a real professional and makes you feel like you are home at Filomena. The restaurant is always crowded with a full house so you get to wait at the bar for a bit. Chris, the bartender, makes a perfect Old Fashioned. Our waiter was Franco, another professional. We also enjoy Tony Soprano our last waiter, a real character.

The food is the real deal. Authentic Italian. Large portions. Hearty sauce, fresh pasta, lots of cheese and tons of flavor. I had Lasagna Bolognese and it was excellent. Took half of it home and it was excellent the next day as well. My wife had Eggplant Parmesean, also superb. We have never had a mediocre meal at Filomena and never had service less than perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is amazing! If you like Italian ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is amazing! If you like Italian do yourself a favor and eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

iv been a lot of places, but this was th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

iv been a lot of places, but this was the most that I have enjoyed. great service great great food this is the best place to go to. when im back in dc this is my place to go. its #10 in my book

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we probably won't return. I know ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall we probably won't return. I know this place has been around since 1983 and has been featured in tv food shows, but my experience was not great and for what we spent (approx $300.00) I believe there are better places to dine. Bread plate really nice. Appetizers good. Four of six entrees good, but two were poorly done (chicken like leather, sausage odd texture & taste). Optional complimentary after dinner amaretto and samba nice touch. Desserts are large and make a quite a statement. Tables packed together - high density dining. Menu prices are astronomical and don't comport with what is served. Restaurant teeming with wait staff but disjointed service. Also, I specified in my reservation over a week prior that we'd celebrate a B.D. Then, Filomena's called to confirm the reservation the day before and I reminded the gentleman of the B.D. to which he said they would put a candle in a dessert and sing to the honoree. However at dessert the waiter didn't do that. I reminded the waiter at dessert what we were there and what we were celebrating and he looked straight in the eyes but he still forgot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I enjoyed my first (but will not be my l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed my first (but will not be my last) visit to Filomena from the service to the absolutely delicious food. I visited this restaurant during restaurant week after reading the great reviews. My experience surpassed the reviews. The waiters were so nice and attentive. The food was so very delicious. It is now on my best restaurant list. Thanks for a great restaurant experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during restaurant week. We are ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went during restaurant week. We are from Dallas, but taking our daughter to her first year of university in DC. We booked Filament in advance, and we are so glad that we did.

We ordered off of the special restaurant menu, everything we had was delicious, but, our stomachs weren't big enough to handle all of the food. Portions are very generous, so go hungry! The service was flawless. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, authentic Italian, very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food, authentic Italian, very fresh, LARGE portions. Excellent service, very friendly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was inconsistent; Caesar salad ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was inconsistent; Caesar salad was awful but some pasta dishes were good. Waiter frequently ran away from table while we were talking to him (not sure if he couldn't hear us or was just rude). Wife's dirty martini came with a twist instead of olives and olives were not good. Everything overpriced for quality, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I treated a friend of mine to lunch for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

I treated a friend of mine to lunch for her birthday. Still dreaming about the food (and our desserts!)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portion is indeed more than generous ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The portion is indeed more than generous. I am very happy that they pack up all the food for me. No reason to waste these delicious. I am very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a lovely dinner at ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and I had a lovely dinner at Filomena. The food was fantastic. The service was great. We were not rushed and felt that we were truly guests of the restaurant when they treated us to an after dinner cordial. Wish I lived closer so I could go often!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Big portions even for restaurant week an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Big portions even for restaurant week and I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious pasta and tremendous desserts! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Delicious pasta and tremendous desserts! We had a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the portions ar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was amazing and the portions are quite big. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Came in on a recommendation as we passed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Came in on a recommendation as we passed through D.C. What a great spot. Ambiance, service and food all phenomenal. Only downside was that we were driving for a few more hours to our hotel and didn't think our leftovers would keep well in the car for that long. Portions were generous and every bite was delicious. We will be returning and stopping in again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and great ambience!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awesome food and great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for restaurant week lunch on a work ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went for restaurant week lunch on a work day & mentioned to the waiter that my BF & I only had about an hour. He did a goo job of quickly bringing out our appetizer, entree, to-go boxes, and dessert. Very accommodating for the quick lunch we had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

From the appetizer to the dessert, the f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

From the appetizer to the dessert, the food was outstanding with particular note to the calamari. The ambiance is old school and can be quite romantic. Wait staff attentive. Went during Restaurant Week for lunch and value was unbeatable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in DC and the concierge recommen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were in DC and the concierge recommened we give this place a try.

Needless to say, we were very impressed. When you walk in the front door, there is a " Pasta Momma" making pasta in a little room to the right, complete in pasta momma garb. The room she was working from was a period/cultural relevant room and made a great first impression for us, we knew then that this would be a unique experience. Down the steps into the dining area you are greated with a beautiful display of desserts and smiling faces of the waitstaff. I would recommend you try this place when you are in DC!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Big portions. I loved th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Delicious food. Big portions. I loved the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the food. The portions were more t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved the food. The portions were more than generous and the service was great. Loved the atmosphere. It reminded me of m grandma's house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but the waiters should war ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was good but the waiters should warn people about the food portions... plates are huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food and substantial portions. G ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing food and substantial portions. Great waiter. Loved my experience here and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time and it was fabulous! Love ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My first time and it was fabulous! Loved everything about it and the food so reminded me of my grandmother's delicious raviolli and meatballs. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were flies all around my table whi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

There were flies all around my table which is so unsanitary! Make sure to specify you want the restaurant deal when ordering if that's what you think you are ordering!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Filomena is a must when in DC! We were s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Filomena is a must when in DC! We were so excited to finally try this place. The reviews can only do so much for this place. It is very well known and has had a long list of notable people visit (now we know why). We ordered the burrata for appetizer and it was definitely not disappointing. For entrees we ordered the Ravioli di Chiacchieri and the Chicken Parm. The ravioli had perfectly cooked scallops and jumbo shrimp. The sauce was incredible and tasted so unique. The chicken parmigiana was huge and could easily be split (but it is too good to share). The dessert we had was the Oreo Cream Cake and it was super delicious! They also give you two decanters one with sambuca and one with frangelico. They have you put three coffee beans in your glass (your waiter will explain) and drink up. This restaurant was hands down the best Italian restaurant I have ever experienced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.