About Filomena Ristorante

For almost 35 Years Filomena is one of Washington's most Landmark restaurants located in the heart of Georgetown overlooking the historic C&O Canal. Voted Washington's Best Italian Restaurant by AOL Digital City past several years. Featured on The Travel Channel and Food Network. Lunch or dinner, our old-world cooking styles and recipes brought to America by the early Italian immigrants, carefully passed down from one generation to the next, alongside the culinary cutting edge creations of Italy's foods of today.

Filomena is perfect for the business luncheon or the elegant candle light dinner.

1063 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily M-Sun: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner M-Su: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Please note: Dinner Menu All Day: Easter Sunday, Mother's Day, Christmas Eve
Closed: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Years Day (except if falls on Fri, Sat, Sun)

Open New Years Day, Saturday January 1, 2016!!

Cross Street:
M Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 338-8800

Website:
http://www.filomena.com/

Catering:
Filomena introducing our Corporate/Home Catering Division!

If you have a home or office party, let us do all the work. Choose between picking up your order or having us delivery (min order and delivery charges apply)

Also we can cater your next event complete with our own staff.

Contact Anton at 202-338-8800 or anton@filomena.com

Parking Details:
Most convenient parking is located directly across the street at Georgetown Park Mall. There are also several parking garages throughout Georgetown.

Public Transit:
Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.

Executive Chef:
Daniele Turchetti

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Filomena Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (279)
Authentic (268)
Good for a Date (236)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (218)
Romantic (183)
Good for Birthdays (182)
Neighborhood Gem (159)
Worth the Drive (144)
Fit for Foodies (137)
Comfort Food (134)
Notable Wine List (123)
Good for Groups (104)
Fun (103)
Cozy (96)
Business Meals (86)
Hot Spot (67)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Sunday Lunch (59)
Casual (58)
Pre/post Theatre (58)
Great for Lunch (51)
Historic (48)
Family Style (45)
Local Ingredients (42)
People Watching (41)
Tasting Menu (22)
Late-night Find (19)
Seasonal (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Waterfront (4)
Tapas (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
8326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food and considerate service. We had a lunch with friends from Norway, and they just loved it. Definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Second time going to Filomena and the food was delicious! We came home with enough leftovers for three meals. Each pasta dish is more than enough for two people. The only downside was how touristy it is - lots of tshirts and shorts in a nicer restaurant. However the food and classic Italian feel is still there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

3rd time customers. Food & service excellent Stuck at table for 2 in very busy spot detracted from dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! Get there now !
I lived in Italy for a year and I have to say this place is the real deal. I can't think of a single Con in my visit there. We will be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great, server was great. A little noisy and took a little long for the server to get back at times but overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 15th anniversary at Filomenas. It was absolutely delicious! Very close to our Italian family homemade meals. The wait staff was attentive and extremely friendly. The portions were large and service was surprisingly quick!
The one down fall was the noise level. It was really loud which made being intimate impossible. It was 6pm so maybe that was just a really busy popular time. Next time we'll try a later time. But overall....the best Italian food I have had in a long time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Go! The food is incredible, there's enough for many meals. They are also very GF friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Authentic homemade Italian food with very large portions. Great value and good atmosphere with excellent service! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

This is what is call a tourist trap. Highly overrated, and so noisy and crowded it was impossible to relax and enjoy the meal. The Caesar salad was bland and wilted. The meatballs were ok but greasy. The pasta was nothing special. The dessert was excellent. Service was good but you can avoid this place and try something else in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent. I was there many years ago and am happy that have come back. A wonderful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

A very pleasant and delicious lunch. I would definitely recommend for Italian food fans. You will have plenty left over to take home!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

If you're looking for exceptional, authentic Italian, then this is the place! The quality/freshness of the pasta and attentive service at Filomena are outstanding. One downside is that the dining room gets quite busy/crowded at peak dinner hours (6-7pm) and the noise level ramps up. I previously went for early dinner (4-5pm) and the dining room was definitely less crowded/noisy. I highly recommend the risotto with shrimp and the complimentary Sambuca and amaretto after dinner are a nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This is the finest Italian food I have eaten in a very long time. The service was friendly and efficient and the ambiance was charming. No wonder this restaurant has been around since the 80s. WOW!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the food was great! Our server, Germano, was outstanding! In fact, he was our best server on our 6-night trip to DC this time for a conference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great place to go. We flew from Arizona just for the day to come here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 17, 2017

From the wine, to the brueshetta, to the pasta and dessert it was fabulous. The atmosphere was beautiful as well as the service. It was a little loud but was during a very busy time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Favorite place to eat in Georgetown! Feels like I'm back in Italy. The desserts are all homemade as is the pasta. Huge portions so plan on bringing some back for snacktime later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very busy touristy place. Good food with large portions. While it claims to be Italian I doubt there is a single Italian working there. It is not fine dinning but good for a large party that is hungry. Decent wine list that is not overpriced. They cannot make an Aperol spritz at the bar which for an Italian restaurant a bit ridiculous.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This was the 2nd time we've dined at Filomena's and it was just as good as the first time over 2 years ago. The food was excellent and abundant! The service was outstanding and the price was modest. We will return sooner and more often.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Authentic. Engaging. Delectable. Notable. Gastronomical. Those are just a few of the words I would use to describe my recent dinner at Filomena's. Upon arrival, we were impressed by the maitre d' kindness and willingness to see if we could get in sooner than our 10pm table time. We chose to wait at the bar in the event of an opening. The bartenders were on top of their game - creating magical concoctions for guests and engaging in conversation with us. Everyone was hospitable and concerned about patrons experience. Our waiter, Vito, took incredible care of us and made sure we enjoyed our dinner. The entrees were phenomenal and the meatballs, well, I can't really even articulate just how tasty those were. I've bookmarked your restaurant for my next visit to DC. Cannot wait to return. Job well done!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Came here for the first time to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Great food! Will def come back again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server, Fazio, was very attentive. Dino and Mac the dining experience fantastic as well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The pasta I had was the best I ever had in my life. It came with a lobster sauce and stuffed with shrimp! I would highly recommend Filomena to everyone I know!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very delicious. Large portions. Great service. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Washington DC.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Vito was excellent! He made the experience even better! Awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing Italian food! I wish we had one in California, I would fly back to Georgetown to have this food experience again! Fabulous food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great Italian food and atmosphere.
Would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The service was better than the food. Food was average for pasta

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I do not live in the D.C. Area but I found this restaurant on my last visit and when I came back to the area with a friend I had to share it with her. She agrees. A must if you like authentic Italian food!
Made reservations on open table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Muy grandes los platos y les falta calidad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful. Very popular, crowded and food was delicious! We shared 2 appetizers and each of the four of us was very happy with their meal! Will definitely return. The manager was exceptionally welcoming and the wait staff courteous and unobtrusive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was fantastic, and the service was top notch. A bit on the "loud" side of high energy, but overall a great ambiance. I was there for a business meal, and while there was a high overall volume, we were able to easily have a great work conversation. The staff was great, fthe ood was even better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Filament never disappoints! We were on vacation and took some friends to the restaurant for their first experience. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding! Every dish is authentic and delicious. Dessert was terrific as well. I would recommend the restaurant to all.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

You will LOVE the service, ambiance and of course, the food at Filomena. Whether lunch or dinner, you'll also have enough left over for your next meal. This could possibly be the best Italian restaurant I've ever sampled.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This was our second time my wife had requested to eat here for her birthday. The food was great as the first time and the service us by far the best. The waiters came and sang happy birthday to my wife. This is a great resturants for the authentic food lover. I highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent as always. My favorite restaurant whenever in DC for work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Filomena's is always one of my favorite stops when I'm in the D.C. Area. The chicken Parmesan is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Was out for a birthday celebration for my girlfriend. It was a great experience. Service was excellent, food was also excellent & very rich in flavor. Portions was great in size. & there was a surprise birthday cheesecake in which came in the in with a candle and singing! Great overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was an ultimate dining experience Authentic Italian with a dinner ending Salute

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.