About Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station

Fig Tree Café began in the fall of 2008 with owner Johan Engman’s simple mission rooted in the creation of an inviting and genuine dining experience. Since opening the first location in Pacific Beach, Fig Tree Café planted a second restaurant in the middle of San Diego’s Hillcrest neighborhood at 416 University Avenue. In Hillcrest, Fig Tree Café features an urban modern open kitchen concept, enabling patrons to observe the culinary action. The eatery is easily intimate with chameleon-like characteristics. It operates as an on-the-go spot for daytime diners and transforms into the perfect setting for a romantic dinner after the sun goes down.

2400 Historic Decatur Rd.
San Diego, CA 92106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch: Daily: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 4pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 821-2044

Website:
http://figtreeeatery.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Graduations, Birthdays, Charity Events, Corporate luncheons & meeting dinners...etc.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morreale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Special Events Manager, Leila at (619)-764-0117

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (5)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2017

We frequent The Fig Tree at Liberty Station usually once per month. All previous visits have been very good, but tonight’s was disappointing. We always order the same thing, short rib w/rosetto instead of mashed potatoes.
Tonight the rib meat was very fatty, not lean, and the rosetto was not the same, infused w/spinach is not what was previously served.... too much spinach.
We will return w/the hope the next visit will be as good as previous visits. Sure hope so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2017

This was our first visit to Fig Tree,. Exceptional food and service.We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had the fish special that was outstanding. They should put it on the menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2017

My wife and I just celebrated our 7th anniversary at Fig Tree Cafe. We seriously had a blast. We went later at night, around 8:15pm, and had most of the patio to ourselves. The food and drinks were spectacular. The best part of the night for us was the server's help with the wine list, the on the house champagne for our anniversary, and her overall joy in serving us. We had a blast!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2017

The food is just not that interesting the gnocchi was like bricks and drowning in sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Nice outdoor seating option. Moderately priced, but decent wine list. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Went during restaurant week.
All was good. Best short ribs.
However, very disappointed that there was no chocolate lava cake. It was on the special menu. They should have had it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We tried the restaurant during SD Restaurant Week ordering from the fix price dinner menu. The food was very good and the three course meal had very generous portions. If we go back we will share a starter and dessert.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We (from the east coast) went for a casual dinner to catch up. It was such a great, quaint little place at Liberty station. The food was wonderful as well as the service - friendly and courteous! Definitely I'll come back on my next visit to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Cute restaurant at fun Liberty Station. Meal delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The short ribs were wonderful.
I like when I'm allowed a substitution, rosetto for mashed potatoes. Some restaurants are not flexible.
I'll definitely return, again. This was a return visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Just an average restaurant in our opinion, nothing special, waitress forgot starter until meal was brought out, took starter off bill, but raised main meal amount by $4 dollars from menu and wine was raised by $3. From menu so we actually paid for the starter ahe took off. Might be a good place for drinks after work, wife liked her strawberry salad I had the bone in short rib which was tender with good flavor but had a lot of fat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My first time to the Fig Tree Cafe in Liberty Station.
I had the short ribs, and substituted rosetto for the mashed potatoes.....absolutely delicious. Caesar salad was very good, as well.
I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service was good! I was here on Vacation and had a great dining experience. It is price but it is a trendy restaurant which was worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was outstanding, the service could have been better.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is a great breakfast place and first time we tried it for dinner. The food was okay but nothing special. The service was slow and our waitress disappeared after we got our food. Had to flag down another waitress to get our bill. Go for breakfast and skip dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

One of our favorite places. Our small puppies usually accompany us on their good behavior. The waitstaff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food is always tasty. We highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Fig Tree is a great dining experience. I've been there for breakfast, lunch, and dinner . . . NEVER been disappointed with the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always a nice spot to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Our first trip to Fig Tree. Waitresss was friendly, helpful, and great. The food we had was superb. The chocolate lava cake was perfect end to a lovely meal. Thanks

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always enjoy the patio area. I asked to sample the soup which the server brought with no problem. Great flatbreat, beet salad (I should have asked for dressing on side), salmon a bit salty for my taste with the crab cake on top and served with risotto, I also forgot to ask for the salmon to be cooked medium rare (over cooked in my opinion), so my husband and I switched plates and I enjoyed his burger and he enjoyed the salmon. No complaints from him. The server said I should have told him it was too salty for my palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The menu showed a creative use of ingredients; execution was a bit off. Pork was overcooked.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Lovely dinner seated outside. The pasta was fresh and flavorful, service was good. We had a lovely dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was in for the Plein Air confrence , we came in a few days earlier just happened to find it in a travel book.
What a great place , loved the food, service was great, yellow tail was outstanding that evening , deserts yummy.
Good selection on menu,
two specials for the evening.
Heaters on the outside patio for the cool evenings.
Returned at the end of the trip for a late breakfast before our plane on Sunday.
A long wait, about 60 min. No reseravtions taken that Sunday.
Food qaulity was Good service was good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vegan, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We are locals who like to try different places around town. I noticed they had a "date night" listed on their website, so we thought we would go on Tuesday to try it out. When we arrived, we were told that their former manager had suddenly quit, so now there was no more "date Night" nor a "Happy Hour"...nor any specials. Okay. We ordered glasses of wine, which was good...and then appetizers, salads and their flatbreads. The food was really very good...so I guess they did not lose their chef! Only problem was that... everything arrived at once. There was not enough room on our table for four...so we had to put part of it on the table next to us! The waitress seemed pretty inexperienced, so we did not feel we could fault her...
So, in general, it was somewhat a catastrophe except for the food...which again, was very good...and would have been better if served more in courses. I would call before we go again to see if they have regained their organization. If we hadn't enjoyed the company of our friends so much, it could have been very stressful...just unfortunate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a table on the patio which was nice with a friendly hostess/server that sat us. She said that our server was busy at the time and would be with us momentarily. Took forever for the male server or even acknowledge us to get our drink order and then we placed a food order with my husband being the only one to order a salad and asked specifically to have it brought out first and before the entrees.

The salad took a long while to get to him then when he's only 1/4 way through it my entree comes out. Then about 10 minutes later the other 2 entrees come out for my niece and her husband.
My husband's entree doesn't make it out until the three of us are almost done with our entrees. And the server was nowhere to be seen to ask for any more drinks, check in on us, etc.
The server offered a free dessert but at this point I believe he should've comp'd my husband's dinner.

My husband and I had dined there some months ago for lunch and had a completely different and wonderful experience. Maybe a Sunday at 5:45 is not the time to frequent here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service and menu variety. Something for everyone - from vegans to carnivores. Appetizers were delicious as were the entrees. Didn't have room for dessert so will gladly go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Vegan, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious meal and I loved the ambiance! Went there for Valentine's Day dinner but definitely want to come back again and try brunch on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always enjoy visiting Fig Tree Cafe Liberty Station. Enjoyed the Valentine's Day menu with an appetizer (bone marrow) to share, two entrees, and a dessert to share with 2 glasses of wine. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere but would love to see another heater installed or strategic placing for evening dining.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Have eaten breakfast here several times and always satisfied so we tried dinner and meal was beyond expectations. Cant rave enough about quality of meal and service. Fig Tree Cafe is now one of my top restaurants in city.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve with a group of 7. They had a fix price combo with wine pairing. Everyone in the group opted for this over the standard menu, which was still available. All 7 of us were blown away by how good the food was, how good the wine pairings were (3 real glasses of wine for a $15 adder), and how good of a value it was.
Also notable - it seemed like everyone working there was on one team to do whatever it took to make the evening a great experience.
Outstanding!! I will definitely return when I am in town again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious food, great service! Lovely ambiance, our server went above and beyond!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cozy place to enjoy favorite dishes in an unexpected way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Only had starters - all very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Menu has great choices but service was slow and food a little disappointing. Id give it another try for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

There is nothing like the Fig Tree in Hillcrest which closed for dinner over the summer. We thought we would try the Liberty Station location and we were somewhat disappointed. Just not the same. The menu is the same with same prices and much smaller portions. I ordered the braised short ribs and half the portion was missing. Not sure we would dine at this location again but overall not a bad experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had RW $30 special. All were very good. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week! We found that the food was good, however, the vegetarian entrée could have been better. The individuals who ordered the Fish Special thought their food was delicious. It had a nice outdoor ambience and it was quite lovely since the weather was still a bit warm the night we went out.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.