About Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station

Fig Tree Café began in the fall of 2008 with owner Johan Engman’s simple mission rooted in the creation of an inviting and genuine dining experience. Since opening the first location in Pacific Beach, Fig Tree Café planted a second restaurant in the middle of San Diego’s Hillcrest neighborhood at 416 University Avenue. In Hillcrest, Fig Tree Café features an urban modern open kitchen concept, enabling patrons to observe the culinary action. The eatery is easily intimate with chameleon-like characteristics. It operates as an on-the-go spot for daytime diners and transforms into the perfect setting for a romantic dinner after the sun goes down.

2400 Historic Decatur Rd.
San Diego, CA 92106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch: Daily: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 4pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 821-2044

Website:
http://figtreeeatery.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Graduations, Birthdays, Charity Events, Corporate luncheons & meeting dinners...etc.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morreale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Special Events Manager, Leila at (619)-764-0117

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We (from the east coast) went for a casual dinner to catch up. It was such a great, quaint little place at Liberty station. The food was wonderful as well as the service - friendly and courteous! Definitely I'll come back on my next visit to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Cute restaurant at fun Liberty Station. Meal delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The short ribs were wonderful.
I like when I'm allowed a substitution, rosetto for mashed potatoes. Some restaurants are not flexible.
I'll definitely return, again. This was a return visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Just an average restaurant in our opinion, nothing special, waitress forgot starter until meal was brought out, took starter off bill, but raised main meal amount by $4 dollars from menu and wine was raised by $3. From menu so we actually paid for the starter ahe took off. Might be a good place for drinks after work, wife liked her strawberry salad I had the bone in short rib which was tender with good flavor but had a lot of fat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My first time to the Fig Tree Cafe in Liberty Station.
I had the short ribs, and substituted rosetto for the mashed potatoes.....absolutely delicious. Caesar salad was very good, as well.
I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service was good! I was here on Vacation and had a great dining experience. It is price but it is a trendy restaurant which was worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was outstanding, the service could have been better.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is a great breakfast place and first time we tried it for dinner. The food was okay but nothing special. The service was slow and our waitress disappeared after we got our food. Had to flag down another waitress to get our bill. Go for breakfast and skip dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

One of our favorite places. Our small puppies usually accompany us on their good behavior. The waitstaff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food is always tasty. We highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Fig Tree is a great dining experience. I've been there for breakfast, lunch, and dinner . . . NEVER been disappointed with the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always a nice spot to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Our first trip to Fig Tree. Waitresss was friendly, helpful, and great. The food we had was superb. The chocolate lava cake was perfect end to a lovely meal. Thanks

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always enjoy the patio area. I asked to sample the soup which the server brought with no problem. Great flatbreat, beet salad (I should have asked for dressing on side), salmon a bit salty for my taste with the crab cake on top and served with risotto, I also forgot to ask for the salmon to be cooked medium rare (over cooked in my opinion), so my husband and I switched plates and I enjoyed his burger and he enjoyed the salmon. No complaints from him. The server said I should have told him it was too salty for my palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The menu showed a creative use of ingredients; execution was a bit off. Pork was overcooked.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Lovely dinner seated outside. The pasta was fresh and flavorful, service was good. We had a lovely dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was in for the Plein Air confrence , we came in a few days earlier just happened to find it in a travel book.
What a great place , loved the food, service was great, yellow tail was outstanding that evening , deserts yummy.
Good selection on menu,
two specials for the evening.
Heaters on the outside patio for the cool evenings.
Returned at the end of the trip for a late breakfast before our plane on Sunday.
A long wait, about 60 min. No reseravtions taken that Sunday.
Food qaulity was Good service was good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vegan, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We are locals who like to try different places around town. I noticed they had a "date night" listed on their website, so we thought we would go on Tuesday to try it out. When we arrived, we were told that their former manager had suddenly quit, so now there was no more "date Night" nor a "Happy Hour"...nor any specials. Okay. We ordered glasses of wine, which was good...and then appetizers, salads and their flatbreads. The food was really very good...so I guess they did not lose their chef! Only problem was that... everything arrived at once. There was not enough room on our table for four...so we had to put part of it on the table next to us! The waitress seemed pretty inexperienced, so we did not feel we could fault her...
So, in general, it was somewhat a catastrophe except for the food...which again, was very good...and would have been better if served more in courses. I would call before we go again to see if they have regained their organization. If we hadn't enjoyed the company of our friends so much, it could have been very stressful...just unfortunate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a table on the patio which was nice with a friendly hostess/server that sat us. She said that our server was busy at the time and would be with us momentarily. Took forever for the male server or even acknowledge us to get our drink order and then we placed a food order with my husband being the only one to order a salad and asked specifically to have it brought out first and before the entrees.

The salad took a long while to get to him then when he's only 1/4 way through it my entree comes out. Then about 10 minutes later the other 2 entrees come out for my niece and her husband.
My husband's entree doesn't make it out until the three of us are almost done with our entrees. And the server was nowhere to be seen to ask for any more drinks, check in on us, etc.
The server offered a free dessert but at this point I believe he should've comp'd my husband's dinner.

My husband and I had dined there some months ago for lunch and had a completely different and wonderful experience. Maybe a Sunday at 5:45 is not the time to frequent here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service and menu variety. Something for everyone - from vegans to carnivores. Appetizers were delicious as were the entrees. Didn't have room for dessert so will gladly go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Vegan, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious meal and I loved the ambiance! Went there for Valentine's Day dinner but definitely want to come back again and try brunch on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always enjoy visiting Fig Tree Cafe Liberty Station. Enjoyed the Valentine's Day menu with an appetizer (bone marrow) to share, two entrees, and a dessert to share with 2 glasses of wine. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere but would love to see another heater installed or strategic placing for evening dining.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Have eaten breakfast here several times and always satisfied so we tried dinner and meal was beyond expectations. Cant rave enough about quality of meal and service. Fig Tree Cafe is now one of my top restaurants in city.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve with a group of 7. They had a fix price combo with wine pairing. Everyone in the group opted for this over the standard menu, which was still available. All 7 of us were blown away by how good the food was, how good the wine pairings were (3 real glasses of wine for a $15 adder), and how good of a value it was.
Also notable - it seemed like everyone working there was on one team to do whatever it took to make the evening a great experience.
Outstanding!! I will definitely return when I am in town again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious food, great service! Lovely ambiance, our server went above and beyond!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cozy place to enjoy favorite dishes in an unexpected way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Only had starters - all very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Menu has great choices but service was slow and food a little disappointing. Id give it another try for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

There is nothing like the Fig Tree in Hillcrest which closed for dinner over the summer. We thought we would try the Liberty Station location and we were somewhat disappointed. Just not the same. The menu is the same with same prices and much smaller portions. I ordered the braised short ribs and half the portion was missing. Not sure we would dine at this location again but overall not a bad experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had RW $30 special. All were very good. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week! We found that the food was good, however, the vegetarian entrée could have been better. The individuals who ordered the Fish Special thought their food was delicious. It had a nice outdoor ambience and it was quite lovely since the weather was still a bit warm the night we went out.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent diverse menu and great service! I will be returning next time I am in San Diego.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Although we were very happy to introduce our friends to the restaurant and try out the Liberty Station location for our best friend's birthday, since our dining experience at the Hillcrest location was excellent in every way. We were disappointed by the poor reception we received at the front desk, the drab and filthy patio dining area, and the constant barking of dogs in the plaza. By the way...apparently this is also a very dog friendly restaurant, and we had a 75 lb dog laying next to our table for most of our "nice evening" out with friends.
Despite the fact that our waitress was outstanding and the food was very good, my wife and I decided we probably won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great outdoor dining experience!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was not anything super special, but was competently prepared. The restaurant has a nice outdoor patio, spoiled by planes taking off from the nearby airport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Fig Tree Cafe is like many Liberty Station venues: difficult to find. The entrance is tucked away inside the building where Trader Joe's is on the west end.The Fig Tree entrance is opposite the entrance to Tender Greens.The ambience is what I call "Warehouse Modern" A feeling that the designer has grabbed industrial-use properties and combined them in an aesthetically pleasing way. Its a style that I'm beginning to appreciate, however it begs the question: Why do the chairs and stools have to be so bare-wood-on-the-tush hard?
Our chardonnay came in tulip-shaped glasses. It was pleasant to look at and okay to drink. My husband's short ribs looked dark and succulent on the plate. They were a bit over-salted for my taste. My gnocchi was fragrant with basil and garlic. Some fresh tomatoes were tucked under the little gnocchi pillows.
There were only three other people in the restaurant on a 5 p.m. Sunday, which is an early dining hour. There were families arriving to eat outside in the pleasant patio.
I would like to try a few of the vegetarian offerings at Fig Tree since I believe it is committed to
serving fresh, local produce.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The staff was super friendly, the food was top notch, and the environment was just awesome! I would definitely let my friends and family know about this wonderful place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2016

APreviously, I had tried your brunch menu a few months ago. wesome food & service! We had wine & mule for cocktails. Appetizer was the tasty cheese stuffed zucchini blossom & baby kale salad. The huge portion for the salad which fed the 3 of us. Entrees selected were the lobster ravioli w/spicy chipotle sauce which was a large portion; Cavetelli with sausage, tomatoes & kale which was a large serving, & short ribs with mash potatoes. Dessert was the delicious chocolate stuffed French toast in which we all split and received free due to my Yelp check in. The timing of the dishes were served at appropriate times. The service was great as well! I will definitely return back again! Also, I will refer my family & friends to your amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2016

The short ribs melted in my mouth. The breakfasts are also great. Eating here is always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.