About Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station

2400 Historic Decatur Rd.
San Diego, CA 92106
View Larger Map

Fig Tree Café began in the fall of 2008 with owner Johan Engman’s simple mission rooted in the creation of an inviting and genuine dining experience. Since opening the first location in Pacific Beach, Fig Tree Café planted a second restaurant in the middle of San Diego’s Hillcrest neighborhood at 416 University Avenue. In Hillcrest, Fig Tree Café features an urban modern open kitchen concept, enabling patrons to observe the culinary action. The eatery is easily intimate with chameleon-like characteristics. It operates as an on-the-go spot for daytime diners and transforms into the perfect setting for a romantic dinner after the sun goes down.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch: Daily: 7:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 821-2044

Website:
http://figtreeeatery.com/

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morreale

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Point Loma ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Great for Brunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was not anything super special, but ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was not anything super special, but was competently prepared. The restaurant has a nice outdoor patio, spoiled by planes taking off from the nearby airport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The Fig Tree Cafe is like many Liberty S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Fig Tree Cafe is like many Liberty Station venues: difficult to find. The entrance is tucked away inside the building where Trader Joe's is on the west end.The Fig Tree entrance is opposite the entrance to Tender Greens.The ambience is what I call "Warehouse Modern" A feeling that the designer has grabbed industrial-use properties and combined them in an aesthetically pleasing way. Its a style that I'm beginning to appreciate, however it begs the question: Why do the chairs and stools have to be so bare-wood-on-the-tush hard?

Our chardonnay came in tulip-shaped glasses. It was pleasant to look at and okay to drink. My husband's short ribs looked dark and succulent on the plate. They were a bit over-salted for my taste. My gnocchi was fragrant with basil and garlic. Some fresh tomatoes were tucked under the little gnocchi pillows.

There were only three other people in the restaurant on a 5 p.m. Sunday, which is an early dining hour. There were families arriving to eat outside in the pleasant patio.

I would like to try a few of the vegetarian offerings at Fig Tree since I believe it is committed to

serving fresh, local produce.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The staff was super friendly, the food w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The staff was super friendly, the food was top notch, and the environment was just awesome! I would definitely let my friends and family know about this wonderful place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

APreviously, I had tried your brunch me ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

APreviously, I had tried your brunch menu a few months ago. wesome food & service! We had wine & mule for cocktails. Appetizer was the tasty cheese stuffed zucchini blossom & baby kale salad. The huge portion for the salad which fed the 3 of us. Entrees selected were the lobster ravioli w/spicy chipotle sauce which was a large portion; Cavetelli with sausage, tomatoes & kale which was a large serving, & short ribs with mash potatoes. Dessert was the delicious chocolate stuffed French toast in which we all split and received free due to my Yelp check in. The timing of the dishes were served at appropriate times. The service was great as well! I will definitely return back again! Also, I will refer my family & friends to your amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The short ribs melted in my mouth. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The short ribs melted in my mouth. The breakfasts are also great. Eating here is always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A very Enjoyable Evening and Meal

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

All in the party of 8 really enjoyed their meals. Among the items ordered was short rib Fettuccine, Vegan Napoleon and Fried Eggplant. Baby Kale Salad was also excellent as was the Service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance was great but the food was not ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Ambiance was great but the food was not good. The braised short ribs were ok and the fig flatbread was just so so. None of the food was hot. The pizza seemed like it had been sitting for a while as the cheese was rubbery. Desserts were not good either. We had the bread pudding and chocolate cake. We had to keep asking for things from the waitress like silverware and coffee refills. The service was lacking and the restaurant was practically empty!! Definitely will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food was fine . Service was horrib ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was fine . Service was horrible. The server knew she was getting an automatic %20 tip and still neglected us. Never cleared dishes. I won't recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The Fig Tree cares, and it shows

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The folks at The Fig Tree put effort into all the important aspects of running a top notch restaurant and upscale bar. All ingredients are locally sourced & organic. They have a wine & beer menu that emphasizes quality vs quanity. The menu pretty much covers it all, but is concise & easy to understand. Appetizers range from Bruchetta to crab cakes and some awesome flatbreads! Main courses are thoughtfully crafted and well executed. Their Fig Bread Pudding was a great ending to a tasty & satisfying meal. We've already decided we will return for a lunch & dinner our next visit to San Diego. Just too many appetizing items on the menu! Their Burgers look like a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking to try something local and fresh!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Fabulous location, take a walk before or after enjoying a great meal.

Love the flatbread pizza's! Pork Chops were to die for but don't forget the Berry Tart!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised by the good choices ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the good choices and tastes. Great service always makes a place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Service was impecc ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was impeccable - very courteous and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Averaging, not average

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I did enjoy eating in a tent on a retired Navy base. The savory food was really good- 4 stars. I'd recommend the zucchini blossoms and gnocchi. Chef isn't afraid of flavor! But load up on appetizers, the desserts were really disappointing- 1 star for those. Our server would also get 4 stars, the maitre d' would be 1 on a good day. I did love the wine list with an interesting selection of quaff-ordable wines, most available by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Better for breakfast

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Enjoyed it for breakfast many times. Tried it for restaurant week and it was pretty mediocre. The entree seemed uninspiring and more like something I'd have at a diner. The bread pudding would have been so much better if it was warm - it was good, but not memorable.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Hire More Wait Staff

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The restaurant had two servers for the entire restaurant. We attempted to order drinks at the bar for 15 minutes with no luck. Then we were seated. After being seated for 15+ minutes with no one bringing water, menus, or even acknowledging we had been seated, we left. We saw food on other peoples tables. It did look good. I will give the restaurant one more chance in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Restaurant Week

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Went for restaurant week and they had Great wine pairings with dinner. The tomatoes in my caprese salad were a bit hard, basil wilted, but the mozzarella cheese was very fresh. The short ribs were delicious, great sauce and delicious mashed potatoes. The molten chocolate lava cake was milk chocolate, so sweet and definitely melted. I prefer dark chocolate but it was still good. My husband got the 'stuffed' zucchini which was fried with a bit of cheese inside which was disappointing. The chicken dish was good; but hubby says too much starch and not enough meat. He had the berry tart which was basically cheesecake with berries in it, which was good too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Maybe it was an off night

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

The place is a little tucked away. The staff was nice and the appetizer was tasty but the pasta i had was SUPER salty. My friend had the gnocchi and he said it was a little bland. I expected more but I do suppose it's just because the place had been so hyped up to me that i was just disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Won't Be Returning

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Food was completely unremarkable. Had the Portobello Tempura Fries, Gnocchi, Shortrib Flatbread and the Porkchop. There were about 5 little "fries" for about $6. Took home most of the food and it sat in the fridge until we threw it away 3 days later. Meat was overcooked also. But the worst was the service. Our waitress seemed completely disinterested and although hardly anyone was there, we had to keep asking her for things like water etc. She wasn't rude, she just wasn't there. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Good Food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Portions were large and food was good. I had the beet salad and the bruschetta. Loved the beet salad but did not particularly care for the bruschetta. The bread did not quite work - it got soggy and had no substance.

Others in my party enjoyed the short ribs, cali chili fetuccini and the gnocchi. Will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fig TreeCafe for Dinner in Pt. Loma !

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was amazing and we had reservations for 4 at the Fig Tree Cafe in Pt. Loma on Christmas Eve. While that food was amazing, the service was really bad. Just saying. We waited forever for our food and then waited forever for our bill and then forever to pay it and leave. Other than that, the dinner at FTC in Pt. Loma was wonderful ambiance, amazing food, great parking, but the service was not good. I wonder if they were understaffed for Christmas Eve as that would make sense.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Fig Tree Find

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Food was excellent, staff was great, and the atmosphere was unexpected.

First time visiting, and my wife and I both agreed that Fig Tree Cafe is a definite choice for return trip. "Man Candy" bacon is best bacon I've ever eaten, and could order just a plate of that to eat...with a glass of wine ;)

Great menu, and "Jars" were delicious, but filling, so be careful if you want to finish the delicious entrees.

Definitely recommend going here, you won't regret it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Attention

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

We appreciated the special attention paid to the member in our part celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Just okay

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

We were there on a Thursday night with four people. The food was just barely okay, the service was very friendly but several things were forgotten with our order, and the noise level from the airport was terrible! We did sit outside, but I have a feeling the noise would be not much different if sitting inside. I think airplane noise is something you have to accept in this area pretty much. The waitress was very friendly and nice, but she was not very efficient. I would probably not go back here nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Tasty use of local foods.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

While the Fig Tree has many items on their menu that are fixed, they also take advantage of what is locally available from small farms. This was the second time eating at the Fig Tree and we were celebrating my husband's parents' anniversary. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I had the asparagus risotto which was creamy and flavorful (and enjoyed leftovers the next day for lunch). In light of the great craft beer industry in San Diego the Fig Tree needs to improve their beer offerings. The house wine I had for dinner was fine. We ate on the patio which doesn't have a view but it's always nice to enjoy a warm summer evening dining outside. Overall it's a comfortable, local place that offers interesting and tasty food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The rissoto special was amazing. The des ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

The rissoto special was amazing. The desert was fantastic. The service could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great before a concert

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Had reservations on a Friday night before a concert at Humphrey's--and were delayed by traffic. The hostess seated us immediately with menus. Our orders went in right away and the food came quickly--hot and delicious! Short ribs, pork chop and lobster ravioli for our table. The roasted beet salad was excellent, too. We were in and out in 50 minutes... Fresh and Fast!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not in my kitchen

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

When I dine out, I want dishes that I wouldn't make at home but love eating. The food at Fig Tree is always good, innovative, and often too labor intensive for my kitchen. I particularly love the lobster ravioli. This week was restaurant week, so we were able to enjoy 3 courses and wine pairings for a very reasonable price. I had never ordered dessert before, and the chocolate lava cake was divine. The Liberty Station location also makes it a great neighborhood spot for anyone in the Point Loma area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Real food

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2015

Dinner options are great. Menu changes with local seasonal produce and meats. Creative variations even on standard menu options. For example the Pork Chop had a fig topping, preparation is different when figs aren't in season.

Great staff - able to accommodate special request to handle food allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Breakfast is great - dinner not so much!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

We have eaten breakfast many times at Fig Tree and love it! This was our first dinner and unfortunately we were very disappointed. We are vegetarian and appreciate the restaurant's attention to veggie options but everything was too oily. Flavor was ok but we won't go back for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Casual Place with Good Food

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

First time at Fig Tree. Good large portions of tasty "comfort food". Would like to give 3 1/2 stars for the food quality. Casual, small room with outside places too.

Great wedge iceberg lettuce salad, very fresh, excellent dressing with bacon bits and red onion, huge portion.

Chicken wrap, i.e., thin slices chicken breast wrapped around veggies including asparagus, mushrooms etc., very tasty.

Short ribs, with a tomato base gravy over mashed potatoes, also tasty. Service very good.

We hear that breakfast is their star attraction, menu looked fascinating anyway.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We have been to the Fig Tree before. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

We have been to the Fig Tree before. The food was excellent, I shared the beet salad and it was incredible. Not only was the presentation over the top, but the favors were wonderful. Not everyone likes beets, but I personally could eat this salad daily. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. You guys do a great job.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

All was great for our 10 person dinner g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2015

All was great for our 10 person dinner group. Great all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Uneven performance tonight

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2015

We have eaten at Fig Tree before and really enjoyed it. Tonight was just OK. After three people at our table ordered the fish special, the server came back to tell us there was no fish that night! It was the special for heaven's sake! Service was slow, but very cheerful. Food was good, and well presented.

We will give it another try, but I'm glad this was not our first experience or we would cross it off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Perfect spot to get delicious comfort food !

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2015

Wow! We had a wonderful dinner at Fig Tree Cafe! Everyone's dinner was excellent. Short Rib Pasta was so filling and prepared perfectly. We ordered mancandy, the best bacon appetizer you can find. Make this a favorite soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Won't be Going Back

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

We have been to Fig Tree a few times for both breakfast and dinner. We have been decently happy with the food for breakfast, but dinner has always fallen short. This last time though, it sealed the deal, we won't be going back. We went in for dinner and it took 10 min before anyone came to help us. Thankfully a waitress from another section came over and saw that no one else had taken our order, so we appreciated that. My white wine was room temp, our appetizer took 20 min to come out (after I asked about it), then our food came out while we had barely even taken a bit of the app. My husband ordered their special short rib risotto, I would never have called that a risotto. It was soupy, they used regular rice, so the starch wasn't there to make it creamy, and it was bland. My chicken pasta dish was blah at best. My sauce was soupy too, the veggies were all overcooked, and the chicken had the texture like it was cooked the day before and reused for this dish. We barely touched our meals and our waitress saw we weren't happy. She comped our wine (she was the only redeeming thing about the entire experience) and we appreciated that. Benefit of the doubt is gone, I am sad to say that we won't be going back, even for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Fig Tree

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

We had a wonderful waiter who gave us great advise about what to order as this was our first time visit. The portions were large and the food was great. I had the sushi bacon roll was outstanding and my wife had the short ribs hollandaise eggs benedict. They were both outstanding. Parking was very close and free. We will be coming back to try other items on the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Liberty Station Fig Tree Restaurant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

Dinner was totally enjoyable from the service to ease of parking and able to reach the restaurant hassle free. We started with Portobello fries and stuffed jalapenos which were both tasty and piping hot. My guests and I enjoyed grilled flat Iron steak and short ribs. Both entrees were served promptly and seasoned to perfection .For dessert we stuffed ourselves with granola chocolate mousse and the chocolate puff pastry that's loaded with wild berries and whipped cream. .All in all I would say our dinner was delightful and filling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large Portions!!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

It was my first time there. We tried both of the chicken dishes which were delicious and quite large. With each dish you got 2 pieces of chicken and 2 large sides which was very good. I would good back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Diamond in the Rough

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

I really enjoy The Fig Tree Cafe. They have great food at a decent price. The wine menu is small, but not bad. I recommend the Man Candy anytime of the day (xtra crispy). You won't be disappointed with the food or the ambiance - enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Liberty Station Fig Tree Eatery

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

While disappointed in the stuffed Portobello mushroom entrée my guests totally enjoyed their flat iron steaks and short ribs entrees.We thought the short ribs were the best as they were quite tender and tasteful... Flavorings /seasonings were spot on and all dishes were presented artfully. We totally enjoyed the Portobello fries appetizer along with the stuffed Jalapenos. The cup of squash soup was generous in portion, full of flavor and seasoned perfectly .The soup was a perfect choice for a cold rainy evening. There are enough choices for every taste so we'll be back to enjoy the Fig Tree Eatery either at Liberty Station or in Hillcrest another time...The service was friendly and efficient and we felt quite at home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.