About Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station

Fig Tree Café began in the fall of 2008 with owner Johan Engman’s simple mission rooted in the creation of an inviting and genuine dining experience. Since opening the first location in Pacific Beach, Fig Tree Café planted a second restaurant in the middle of San Diego’s Hillcrest neighborhood at 416 University Avenue. In Hillcrest, Fig Tree Café features an urban modern open kitchen concept, enabling patrons to observe the culinary action. The eatery is easily intimate with chameleon-like characteristics. It operates as an on-the-go spot for daytime diners and transforms into the perfect setting for a romantic dinner after the sun goes down.

2400 Historic Decatur Rd.
San Diego, CA 92106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch: Daily: 7:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 4pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 821-2044

Website:
http://figtreeeatery.com/

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morreale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
79 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 15 hours ago

Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We are locals who like to try different places around town. I noticed they had a "date night" listed on their website, so we thought we would go on Tuesday to try it out. When we arrived, we were told that their former manager had suddenly quit, so now there was no more "date Night" nor a "Happy Hour"...nor any specials. Okay. We ordered glasses of wine, which was good...and then appetizers, salads and their flatbreads. The food was really very good...so I guess they did not lose their chef! Only problem was that... everything arrived at once. There was not enough room on our table for four...so we had to put part of it on the table next to us! The waitress seemed pretty inexperienced, so we did not feel we could fault her...
So, in general, it was somewhat a catastrophe except for the food...which again, was very good...and would have been better if served more in courses. I would call before we go again to see if they have regained their organization. If we hadn't enjoyed the company of our friends so much, it could have been very stressful...just unfortunate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had a table on the patio which was nice with a friendly hostess/server that sat us. She said that our server was busy at the time and would be with us momentarily. Took forever for the male server or even acknowledge us to get our drink order and then we placed a food order with my husband being the only one to order a salad and asked specifically to have it brought out first and before the entrees.

The salad took a long while to get to him then when he's only 1/4 way through it my entree comes out. Then about 10 minutes later the other 2 entrees come out for my niece and her husband.
My husband's entree doesn't make it out until the three of us are almost done with our entrees. And the server was nowhere to be seen to ask for any more drinks, check in on us, etc.
The server offered a free dessert but at this point I believe he should've comp'd my husband's dinner.

My husband and I had dined there some months ago for lunch and had a completely different and wonderful experience. Maybe a Sunday at 5:45 is not the time to frequent here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service and menu variety. Something for everyone - from vegans to carnivores. Appetizers were delicious as were the entrees. Didn't have room for dessert so will gladly go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Vegan, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious meal and I loved the ambiance! Went there for Valentine's Day dinner but definitely want to come back again and try brunch on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always enjoy visiting Fig Tree Cafe Liberty Station. Enjoyed the Valentine's Day menu with an appetizer (bone marrow) to share, two entrees, and a dessert to share with 2 glasses of wine. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere but would love to see another heater installed or strategic placing for evening dining.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Have eaten breakfast here several times and always satisfied so we tried dinner and meal was beyond expectations. Cant rave enough about quality of meal and service. Fig Tree Cafe is now one of my top restaurants in city.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve with a group of 7. They had a fix price combo with wine pairing. Everyone in the group opted for this over the standard menu, which was still available. All 7 of us were blown away by how good the food was, how good the wine pairings were (3 real glasses of wine for a $15 adder), and how good of a value it was.
Also notable - it seemed like everyone working there was on one team to do whatever it took to make the evening a great experience.
Outstanding!! I will definitely return when I am in town again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food, great service! Lovely ambiance, our server went above and beyond!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cozy place to enjoy favorite dishes in an unexpected way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Only had starters - all very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Menu has great choices but service was slow and food a little disappointing. Id give it another try for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

There is nothing like the Fig Tree in Hillcrest which closed for dinner over the summer. We thought we would try the Liberty Station location and we were somewhat disappointed. Just not the same. The menu is the same with same prices and much smaller portions. I ordered the braised short ribs and half the portion was missing. Not sure we would dine at this location again but overall not a bad experience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Had RW $30 special. All were very good. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week! We found that the food was good, however, the vegetarian entrée could have been better. The individuals who ordered the Fish Special thought their food was delicious. It had a nice outdoor ambience and it was quite lovely since the weather was still a bit warm the night we went out.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent diverse menu and great service! I will be returning next time I am in San Diego.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Although we were very happy to introduce our friends to the restaurant and try out the Liberty Station location for our best friend's birthday, since our dining experience at the Hillcrest location was excellent in every way. We were disappointed by the poor reception we received at the front desk, the drab and filthy patio dining area, and the constant barking of dogs in the plaza. By the way...apparently this is also a very dog friendly restaurant, and we had a 75 lb dog laying next to our table for most of our "nice evening" out with friends.
Despite the fact that our waitress was outstanding and the food was very good, my wife and I decided we probably won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great outdoor dining experience!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was not anything super special, but was competently prepared. The restaurant has a nice outdoor patio, spoiled by planes taking off from the nearby airport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Fig Tree Cafe is like many Liberty Station venues: difficult to find. The entrance is tucked away inside the building where Trader Joe's is on the west end.The Fig Tree entrance is opposite the entrance to Tender Greens.The ambience is what I call "Warehouse Modern" A feeling that the designer has grabbed industrial-use properties and combined them in an aesthetically pleasing way. Its a style that I'm beginning to appreciate, however it begs the question: Why do the chairs and stools have to be so bare-wood-on-the-tush hard?
Our chardonnay came in tulip-shaped glasses. It was pleasant to look at and okay to drink. My husband's short ribs looked dark and succulent on the plate. They were a bit over-salted for my taste. My gnocchi was fragrant with basil and garlic. Some fresh tomatoes were tucked under the little gnocchi pillows.
There were only three other people in the restaurant on a 5 p.m. Sunday, which is an early dining hour. There were families arriving to eat outside in the pleasant patio.
I would like to try a few of the vegetarian offerings at Fig Tree since I believe it is committed to
serving fresh, local produce.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The staff was super friendly, the food was top notch, and the environment was just awesome! I would definitely let my friends and family know about this wonderful place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

APreviously, I had tried your brunch menu a few months ago. wesome food & service! We had wine & mule for cocktails. Appetizer was the tasty cheese stuffed zucchini blossom & baby kale salad. The huge portion for the salad which fed the 3 of us. Entrees selected were the lobster ravioli w/spicy chipotle sauce which was a large portion; Cavetelli with sausage, tomatoes & kale which was a large serving, & short ribs with mash potatoes. Dessert was the delicious chocolate stuffed French toast in which we all split and received free due to my Yelp check in. The timing of the dishes were served at appropriate times. The service was great as well! I will definitely return back again! Also, I will refer my family & friends to your amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2016

The short ribs melted in my mouth. The breakfasts are also great. Eating here is always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2016

All in the party of 8 really enjoyed their meals. Among the items ordered was short rib Fettuccine, Vegan Napoleon and Fried Eggplant. Baby Kale Salad was also excellent as was the Service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Ambiance was great but the food was not good. The braised short ribs were ok and the fig flatbread was just so so. None of the food was hot. The pizza seemed like it had been sitting for a while as the cheese was rubbery. Desserts were not good either. We had the bread pudding and chocolate cake. We had to keep asking for things from the waitress like silverware and coffee refills. The service was lacking and the restaurant was practically empty!! Definitely will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was fine . Service was horrible. The server knew she was getting an automatic %20 tip and still neglected us. Never cleared dishes. I won't recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The folks at The Fig Tree put effort into all the important aspects of running a top notch restaurant and upscale bar. All ingredients are locally sourced & organic. They have a wine & beer menu that emphasizes quality vs quanity. The menu pretty much covers it all, but is concise & easy to understand. Appetizers range from Bruchetta to crab cakes and some awesome flatbreads! Main courses are thoughtfully crafted and well executed. Their Fig Bread Pudding was a great ending to a tasty & satisfying meal. We've already decided we will return for a lunch & dinner our next visit to San Diego. Just too many appetizing items on the menu! Their Burgers look like a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Fabulous location, take a walk before or after enjoying a great meal.
Love the flatbread pizza's! Pork Chops were to die for but don't forget the Berry Tart!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the good choices and tastes. Great service always makes a place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was impeccable - very courteous and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I did enjoy eating in a tent on a retired Navy base. The savory food was really good- 4 stars. I'd recommend the zucchini blossoms and gnocchi. Chef isn't afraid of flavor! But load up on appetizers, the desserts were really disappointing- 1 star for those. Our server would also get 4 stars, the maitre d' would be 1 on a good day. I did love the wine list with an interesting selection of quaff-ordable wines, most available by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Enjoyed it for breakfast many times. Tried it for restaurant week and it was pretty mediocre. The entree seemed uninspiring and more like something I'd have at a diner. The bread pudding would have been so much better if it was warm - it was good, but not memorable.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2016

The restaurant had two servers for the entire restaurant. We attempted to order drinks at the bar for 15 minutes with no luck. Then we were seated. After being seated for 15+ minutes with no one bringing water, menus, or even acknowledging we had been seated, we left. We saw food on other peoples tables. It did look good. I will give the restaurant one more chance in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2016

Went for restaurant week and they had Great wine pairings with dinner. The tomatoes in my caprese salad were a bit hard, basil wilted, but the mozzarella cheese was very fresh. The short ribs were delicious, great sauce and delicious mashed potatoes. The molten chocolate lava cake was milk chocolate, so sweet and definitely melted. I prefer dark chocolate but it was still good. My husband got the 'stuffed' zucchini which was fried with a bit of cheese inside which was disappointing. The chicken dish was good; but hubby says too much starch and not enough meat. He had the berry tart which was basically cheesecake with berries in it, which was good too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2016

The place is a little tucked away. The staff was nice and the appetizer was tasty but the pasta i had was SUPER salty. My friend had the gnocchi and he said it was a little bland. I expected more but I do suppose it's just because the place had been so hyped up to me that i was just disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Food was completely unremarkable. Had the Portobello Tempura Fries, Gnocchi, Shortrib Flatbread and the Porkchop. There were about 5 little "fries" for about $6. Took home most of the food and it sat in the fridge until we threw it away 3 days later. Meat was overcooked also. But the worst was the service. Our waitress seemed completely disinterested and although hardly anyone was there, we had to keep asking her for things like water etc. She wasn't rude, she just wasn't there. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Portions were large and food was good. I had the beet salad and the bruschetta. Loved the beet salad but did not particularly care for the bruschetta. The bread did not quite work - it got soggy and had no substance.
Others in my party enjoyed the short ribs, cali chili fetuccini and the gnocchi. Will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was amazing and we had reservations for 4 at the Fig Tree Cafe in Pt. Loma on Christmas Eve. While that food was amazing, the service was really bad. Just saying. We waited forever for our food and then waited forever for our bill and then forever to pay it and leave. Other than that, the dinner at FTC in Pt. Loma was wonderful ambiance, amazing food, great parking, but the service was not good. I wonder if they were understaffed for Christmas Eve as that would make sense.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Food was excellent, staff was great, and the atmosphere was unexpected.

First time visiting, and my wife and I both agreed that Fig Tree Cafe is a definite choice for return trip. "Man Candy" bacon is best bacon I've ever eaten, and could order just a plate of that to eat...with a glass of wine ;)

Great menu, and "Jars" were delicious, but filling, so be careful if you want to finish the delicious entrees.

Definitely recommend going here, you won't regret it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2015

We appreciated the special attention paid to the member in our part celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.