Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station

4.5
135 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
Fig Tree Café began in the fall of 2008 with owner Johan Engman’s simple mission rooted in the creation of an inviting and genuine dining experience. Since opening the first location in Pacific Beach, Fig Tree Café planted a second restaurant in the middle of San Diego’s Hillcrest neighborhood at 416 University Avenue. In Hillcrest, Fig Tree Café features an urban modern open kitchen concept, enabling patrons to observe the culinary action. The eatery is easily intimate with chameleon-like characteristics. It operates as an on-the-go spot for daytime diners and transforms into the perfect setting for a romantic dinner after the sun goes down.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Californian, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast & Lunch: Daily: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 4pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 821-2044
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alberto Morreale
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Weddings, Graduations, Birthdays, Charity Events, Corporate luncheons & meeting dinners...etc.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact our Special Events Manager, Leila at (619)-764-0117
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station can accommodate all of your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details
What 135 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

As always, the short rib was outstanding.
This visit my hubby ordered the special: steak.
The steak was good, but overpriced for its size, compared to steaks that are just as good at other restaurants.
But, we will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Fig Tree takes everyday items and manages to put a twist to them. The food is always fresh with great combinations of spices. Nice, warm relaxing environment. Only wish that they continued their dinner menu at the Hillcrest location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This place was great! Definitely would recommend the burger and the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The short rib is what I enjoy most.
German, our server, was excellent. A very nice and caring young man who was very attentive. He’s a keeper for the restaurant. Ask for him.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was wonderful. The food was excellent and service was fantastic. Very warm and inviting-loved the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We are frequent guests of the Fig Tree. This visit was better than the last visit. I ordered my usual, the short rib. What I was served was a very small rib, not the usual size. My husband’s rib was much bigger. When I asked about the portion size, they agreed and brought me out more meat. They had a special, promotional menu, and I think they brought out the wrong size rib that is served on the special.
The plain, creamy risotto was very good, too.
We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My wife loves this place for breakfast. She is a morning person and this is one of our fave breakfast place. i always get their red and green salsa. Its so delicious and I usually put that instead of catsup.
One day, on my way out, i saw their dinner special outside. So we invited our friends to meet there and ate dinner. They have a trio special that day and the I ordered the Catch of the Day.. Its a white seabass and scallop and the waiter started the blah blah stuff (no offense but Im alreadu sold out on the fish and scallop). I like fish so i just let him finish... It was so delicious and perfectly cooked.
The fist choice was clam and mussels on tthe blah blah sauce.. with bread....so good and succulent!
My wife loved the ravioli stuffed something too.....
Last thing, they offer military discount!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great place to eat! Super delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Restaurant reminded me of a place in NYC very artsy and cute. The food was very good although they use too much garlic in the gnocci sauce. I would definitely go back and try something else. The molten lava cake is worth the calories. Delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had a wonderful great small business feel from a company that owns and runs many restraunts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Nice restaurant with good outdoor patio. Varied food choices. Hidden gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Another fabulous dinner at The Fig Tree in Liberty Station. This restaurant is becoming a favorite for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

This place mostly known for breakfast and brunch did a very nice job on a valentines dinner. Fantastic prosciutto/brie appetize, halibut and risotto, and roasted chicken breast. Nice crème Brule for desert and some tasty cocktails. We were very happy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The Fig Tree Cafe at Liberty Station never disappoints. The food is consistently delicious and attractively served. Our server was great, really attentive. Friendly folks. Good wine list and craft beer selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2018

This was my first time at Fig Tree, and it was a get together with my girlfriends. We sat outside on the patio, which was nice, since it wasn't really cold at all. We enjoyed our dinner, and we had a very nice server. My friends had the Rigatoni with Short Ribs, and I had the Ricotta Cavetelli pasta, which was delicious. We also shared the Fig Tree Flatbread, which was very good, and shared the Raspberry Creme Brulee.....everything was delicious! They have a nice wine list, with good prices. I'm looking forward to coming back with my husband!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Five of us enjoyed Restaurant Week ending it with this restaurant at Liberty Station. We had so much fun and The Fig Tree turned out as everyone's very favorite! I guess you could say we left the best for last! We went to 4 different places during the week including Island Prime, Fago de Chao & Tony Gwynn at the Hollywood Casino. All were good but everyone voted for The Fig Tree. They had good choices and everything was delicious. First, the people were great, so nice and friendly. Mark the General Manager was very helpful. They have the time mixed up for the dinner hour on the internet. FYI it doesn't open until 4:30 P M. on the weekend. However, Mark took very good care of us while we waited the short time. This chef is so creative. The appetizers, beet salad and eggplant were pictures of art and taste as good as they looked. The dishes really spoke to us, the fact that one eats with their eyes first. Three of us had chefs wonderful short ribs with garlic mashed potatoes, one the salmon and the last one ordered the pork chop. Every dish delicious. Between the 5 of us, we tried all the desserts. Loved the fig cake especially, not too sweet and lastly the lime pie. Perfect end to a fun week. One last comment to those of us that like the Wine Flights with dinner. This restaurant is a welcome change. I like the wine, but not to fond when they line up the 3 glasses together. This restaurant doesn't do that. They bring out the wine in a holder which you move around to take the glass. So much nicer for the guest. P. S. Good parking at large lot across the street from the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We went there for Restaurant Week. They had a nice menu and the food was great. Service was OK, but not well-paced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great date spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

In town on vacation and we saw this place while exploring. It looked so nice, we made a Restaurant Week reservation for dinner. There were several choices for the each of the 3 courses. My wife and I shared the clam/mussels and the bursts with fig jam. The shellfish were very good in a light broth (no tomato) which we used the bread provided to dip in. It was so good we ordered more bread. The burrata was also nice. Thick and creamy and the jam was a nice touch. For the main course my wife had the bone in beef rib with mashed potatoes and veg. The beef was falling off the bone and seasoned perfectly. The waiter mentioned it was cooked for 4 hours to get it that way. I had a pasta and wild boar dish. It was delicious but the pasta was a tough. They were so accommodating for it and the manager came out several times to make sure things were ok and then ended up coming my meal for the inconvenience (it took a long time to prepare my dish over). Lava cake and creme brûlée for dessert were both rich and sumptuous; a pleasant ending. The atmosphere was really pleasant. We had a 6:00 pm reservation and dined outside. The patio filled up but never got particularly noisy. The staff was friendly, welcoming and attentive but not obtrusive. Will make a point of returning whenever we are back in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Another fabulous dinner at The Fig Tree! Fresh delicious food; great service; good wines.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Really nice people but the food was so BLAND! They need to introduce some spices or garlic or just something...salt maybe? Great staff and ambiance but the flavor on the food was just so plain...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Service was really slow, yet there was no one there. It was like our server forgot about us, and we kept having to track her down. Food was okay, but not worth the money. Also there was a really strong smell of bleach at the table we were sitting at.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 1, 2018

If it's a holiday, don't trust open table to have it right regarding whether a place is open or not. It let me make a reservation at Fig Tree Cafe, and it was closed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Nice location and attentive staff. Food was a little bland but we still enjoyed our night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Great place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Enjoyed both the food and the service. Our group of 8 (including a couple of boys) were easily accommodated (with our choice of indoor or patio dining).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Very pleased with the knowledge of the server and the yummy beet salad.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 1, 2017

We eat at The Fig Tree usually 2-3 times per month.
We always order them same menu item—short ribs.
I always ask to sub rosetto for the mashed potatoes.
Tonight’s short ribs were not up-to-par. The sauce was watery and bland, as was the rosetto. I was upcharged $4 this time for the substitution , and I feel that whenever there is an upcharge, the server should tell the guest.
Because of the poor food quality and lack of communication by the server, I rated tonight’s experience as poor.
Lastly, when I made the reservation through open table, I requested an outside table. There was a private party taking up the whole outside patio, so we sat inside.
The hostess did not even mention that my request could not be accommodated. When we arrived, I told the hostess I made a reservation through open table. We had to wait about 10-15 minutes for a table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

We have dined at the Fig Cafe on several occasions. Always consistently good. Dinner specials are always creative. Service is on point.
Yes, we recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Cute little spot with interesting options for vegetarians. We were happy and would go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 12, 2017

We frequent The Fig Tree at Liberty Station usually once per month. All previous visits have been very good, but tonight’s was disappointing. We always order the same thing, short rib w/rosetto instead of mashed potatoes.
Tonight the rib meat was very fatty, not lean, and the rosetto was not the same, infused w/spinach is not what was previously served.... too much spinach.
We will return w/the hope the next visit will be as good as previous visits. Sure hope so.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

This was our first visit to Fig Tree,. Exceptional food and service.We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

We had the fish special that was outstanding. They should put it on the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

My wife and I just celebrated our 7th anniversary at Fig Tree Cafe. We seriously had a blast. We went later at night, around 8:15pm, and had most of the patio to ourselves. The food and drinks were spectacular. The best part of the night for us was the server's help with the wine list, the on the house champagne for our anniversary, and her overall joy in serving us. We had a blast!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 16, 2017

The food is just not that interesting the gnocchi was like bricks and drowning in sauce

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Nice outdoor seating option. Moderately priced, but decent wine list. Excellent service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 1, 2017

Went during restaurant week.
All was good. Best short ribs.
However, very disappointed that there was no chocolate lava cake. It was on the special menu. They should have had it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Fantastic Restaurant Week menu! Definitely worth the value. I brought a bottle of wine and our server was so great with getting a decanter for our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 27, 2017

We tried the restaurant during SD Restaurant Week ordering from the fix price dinner menu. The food was very good and the three course meal had very generous portions. If we go back we will share a starter and dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

We (from the east coast) went for a casual dinner to catch up. It was such a great, quaint little place at Liberty station. The food was wonderful as well as the service - friendly and courteous! Definitely I'll come back on my next visit to San Diego.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4