About Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station

Fig Tree Café began in the fall of 2008 with owner Johan Engman’s simple mission rooted in the creation of an inviting and genuine dining experience. Since opening the first location in Pacific Beach, Fig Tree Café planted a second restaurant in the middle of San Diego’s Hillcrest neighborhood at 416 University Avenue. In Hillcrest, Fig Tree Café features an urban modern open kitchen concept, enabling patrons to observe the culinary action. The eatery is easily intimate with chameleon-like characteristics. It operates as an on-the-go spot for daytime diners and transforms into the perfect setting for a romantic dinner after the sun goes down.

2400 Historic Decatur Rd.
San Diego, CA 92106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch: Daily: 7:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 4pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 821-2044

Website:
http://figtreeeatery.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Graduations, Birthdays, Charity Events, Corporate luncheons & meeting dinners...etc.

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morreale

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Special Events Manager, Leila at (619)-764-0117

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Fig Tree Cafe - Liberty Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Cozy (5)
Healthy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Organic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Another fabulous dinner at The Fig Tree in Liberty Station. This restaurant is becoming a favorite for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The Fig Tree Cafe at Liberty Station never disappoints. The food is consistently delicious and attractively served. Our server was great, really attentive. Friendly folks. Good wine list and craft beer selection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2018

This was my first time at Fig Tree, and it was a get together with my girlfriends. We sat outside on the patio, which was nice, since it wasn't really cold at all. We enjoyed our dinner, and we had a very nice server. My friends had the Rigatoni with Short Ribs, and I had the Ricotta Cavetelli pasta, which was delicious. We also shared the Fig Tree Flatbread, which was very good, and shared the Raspberry Creme Brulee.....everything was delicious! They have a nice wine list, with good prices. I'm looking forward to coming back with my husband!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Five of us enjoyed Restaurant Week ending it with this restaurant at Liberty Station. We had so much fun and The Fig Tree turned out as everyone's very favorite! I guess you could say we left the best for last! We went to 4 different places during the week including Island Prime, Fago de Chao & Tony Gwynn at the Hollywood Casino. All were good but everyone voted for The Fig Tree. They had good choices and everything was delicious. First, the people were great, so nice and friendly. Mark the General Manager was very helpful. They have the time mixed up for the dinner hour on the internet. FYI it doesn't open until 4:30 P M. on the weekend. However, Mark took very good care of us while we waited the short time. This chef is so creative. The appetizers, beet salad and eggplant were pictures of art and taste as good as they looked. The dishes really spoke to us, the fact that one eats with their eyes first. Three of us had chefs wonderful short ribs with garlic mashed potatoes, one the salmon and the last one ordered the pork chop. Every dish delicious. Between the 5 of us, we tried all the desserts. Loved the fig cake especially, not too sweet and lastly the lime pie. Perfect end to a fun week. One last comment to those of us that like the Wine Flights with dinner. This restaurant is a welcome change. I like the wine, but not to fond when they line up the 3 glasses together. This restaurant doesn't do that. They bring out the wine in a holder which you move around to take the glass. So much nicer for the guest. P. S. Good parking at large lot across the street from the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2018

We went there for Restaurant Week. They had a nice menu and the food was great. Service was OK, but not well-paced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Great date spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2018

In town on vacation and we saw this place while exploring. It looked so nice, we made a Restaurant Week reservation for dinner. There were several choices for the each of the 3 courses. My wife and I shared the clam/mussels and the bursts with fig jam. The shellfish were very good in a light broth (no tomato) which we used the bread provided to dip in. It was so good we ordered more bread. The burrata was also nice. Thick and creamy and the jam was a nice touch. For the main course my wife had the bone in beef rib with mashed potatoes and veg. The beef was falling off the bone and seasoned perfectly. The waiter mentioned it was cooked for 4 hours to get it that way. I had a pasta and wild boar dish. It was delicious but the pasta was a tough. They were so accommodating for it and the manager came out several times to make sure things were ok and then ended up coming my meal for the inconvenience (it took a long time to prepare my dish over). Lava cake and creme brûlée for dessert were both rich and sumptuous; a pleasant ending. The atmosphere was really pleasant. We had a 6:00 pm reservation and dined outside. The patio filled up but never got particularly noisy. The staff was friendly, welcoming and attentive but not obtrusive. Will make a point of returning whenever we are back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Another fabulous dinner at The Fig Tree! Fresh delicious food; great service; good wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Really nice people but the food was so BLAND! They need to introduce some spices or garlic or just something...salt maybe? Great staff and ambiance but the flavor on the food was just so plain...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Service was really slow, yet there was no one there. It was like our server forgot about us, and we kept having to track her down. Food was okay, but not worth the money. Also there was a really strong smell of bleach at the table we were sitting at.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2018

If it's a holiday, don't trust open table to have it right regarding whether a place is open or not. It let me make a reservation at Fig Tree Cafe, and it was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Nice location and attentive staff. Food was a little bland but we still enjoyed our night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Enjoyed both the food and the service. Our group of 8 (including a couple of boys) were easily accommodated (with our choice of indoor or patio dining).

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Very pleased with the knowledge of the server and the yummy beet salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We eat at The Fig Tree usually 2-3 times per month.
We always order them same menu item—short ribs.
I always ask to sub rosetto for the mashed potatoes.
Tonight’s short ribs were not up-to-par. The sauce was watery and bland, as was the rosetto. I was upcharged $4 this time for the substitution , and I feel that whenever there is an upcharge, the server should tell the guest.
Because of the poor food quality and lack of communication by the server, I rated tonight’s experience as poor.
Lastly, when I made the reservation through open table, I requested an outside table. There was a private party taking up the whole outside patio, so we sat inside.
The hostess did not even mention that my request could not be accommodated. When we arrived, I told the hostess I made a reservation through open table. We had to wait about 10-15 minutes for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We have dined at the Fig Cafe on several occasions. Always consistently good. Dinner specials are always creative. Service is on point.
Yes, we recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Cute little spot with interesting options for vegetarians. We were happy and would go back.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We frequent The Fig Tree at Liberty Station usually once per month. All previous visits have been very good, but tonight’s was disappointing. We always order the same thing, short rib w/rosetto instead of mashed potatoes.
Tonight the rib meat was very fatty, not lean, and the rosetto was not the same, infused w/spinach is not what was previously served.... too much spinach.
We will return w/the hope the next visit will be as good as previous visits. Sure hope so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2017

This was our first visit to Fig Tree,. Exceptional food and service.We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We had the fish special that was outstanding. They should put it on the menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2017

My wife and I just celebrated our 7th anniversary at Fig Tree Cafe. We seriously had a blast. We went later at night, around 8:15pm, and had most of the patio to ourselves. The food and drinks were spectacular. The best part of the night for us was the server's help with the wine list, the on the house champagne for our anniversary, and her overall joy in serving us. We had a blast!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2017

The food is just not that interesting the gnocchi was like bricks and drowning in sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Nice outdoor seating option. Moderately priced, but decent wine list. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went during restaurant week.
All was good. Best short ribs.
However, very disappointed that there was no chocolate lava cake. It was on the special menu. They should have had it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Fantastic Restaurant Week menu! Definitely worth the value. I brought a bottle of wine and our server was so great with getting a decanter for our table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We tried the restaurant during SD Restaurant Week ordering from the fix price dinner menu. The food was very good and the three course meal had very generous portions. If we go back we will share a starter and dessert.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We (from the east coast) went for a casual dinner to catch up. It was such a great, quaint little place at Liberty station. The food was wonderful as well as the service - friendly and courteous! Definitely I'll come back on my next visit to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Cute restaurant at fun Liberty Station. Meal delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The short ribs were wonderful.
I like when I'm allowed a substitution, rosetto for mashed potatoes. Some restaurants are not flexible.
I'll definitely return, again. This was a return visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Just an average restaurant in our opinion, nothing special, waitress forgot starter until meal was brought out, took starter off bill, but raised main meal amount by $4 dollars from menu and wine was raised by $3. From menu so we actually paid for the starter ahe took off. Might be a good place for drinks after work, wife liked her strawberry salad I had the bone in short rib which was tender with good flavor but had a lot of fat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My first time to the Fig Tree Cafe in Liberty Station.
I had the short ribs, and substituted rosetto for the mashed potatoes.....absolutely delicious. Caesar salad was very good, as well.
I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was good! I was here on Vacation and had a great dining experience. It is price but it is a trendy restaurant which was worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was outstanding, the service could have been better.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is a great breakfast place and first time we tried it for dinner. The food was okay but nothing special. The service was slow and our waitress disappeared after we got our food. Had to flag down another waitress to get our bill. Go for breakfast and skip dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

One of our favorite places. Our small puppies usually accompany us on their good behavior. The waitstaff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food is always tasty. We highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Fig Tree is a great dining experience. I've been there for breakfast, lunch, and dinner . . . NEVER been disappointed with the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always a nice spot to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Our first trip to Fig Tree. Waitresss was friendly, helpful, and great. The food we had was superb. The chocolate lava cake was perfect end to a lovely meal. Thanks

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.