About Field's at the Wilderness

511 East Adams Street
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
View Larger Map

Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Designed by James Dresser, the most celebrated protege of Frank Lloyd Wright. Field's at the Wilderness offers a menu with the highest standards in fine dining. Our menu features American cuisine with an emphasis on great steaks, chops, fresh grilled seafood. Also from the wood burning oven...appetizers, gourmet pizzas, and quesadillas. Savor remarkable cuisine in an intimate atmosphere surrounded by stone-hearth fireplaces, waterfalls, and an exhibition kitchen. Toast to the good life with selections from our extensive award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Open 4:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1400

Website:
http://www.fieldsatthewilderness.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar

Executive Chef:
Tim Field

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups of 8, 12, 24, 50 and 80 are available. Semi-private parties of up to 130 can be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Hasheider : 6082531400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Field's at the Wilderness Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin Dells
Best Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells ›

romantic (51)
special occasion (51)
scenic view (25)
See All
fit for foodies (23)
notable wine list (22)
good for groups (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (4)
 (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster bisque was the best I have e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The lobster bisque was the best I have ever eaten.. Expensive, but you get what you pay for!! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! The steak was one of ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience! The steak was one of the best ever! Great chefs!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's on the expensive side for most fami ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It's on the expensive side for most families coming to the Dells to play at the waterparks. Our group of 4 adults were happy to find upscale dining in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Went to Fields with the whole family (wi ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went to Fields with the whole family (wife and 3 daughters) and was greatly disappointed. The facility is pretty nice, but the food was mediocre at best, and considering that it is so pricey, I might even call it poor. Most of the food was slightly over cooked. And by the time we got to the end of the meal, service was non-existent. It seemed like we were completely abandoned by our server, and it took forever to wrap up desert and pay for the meal. Will not be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and amazing food

Dined on May 12, 2016

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our server was extremely professional and did a great job on recommending what to order. I had the filet and it was cooked perfectly to order. They have a wonderful wine list. We always ask for a table by the window so we can overlook the fountain outside. Every time we come to WI Dells we always go to Field's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This reservation was for my son and his ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This reservation was for my son and his friends for the prom special and it was just that...special. They all felt very grown up and that the night was great. They all loved the food and one of the girls needed gluten free options and they were more then happy to accomidate her. Thanks again for making a memorable evening even better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dells Landmark

Dined on May 7, 2016

Whether you're staying at the Wilderness Resort or just dropping by for dinner Field's is always a popular spot for locals and visitors alike. You can always count on a good selection of food and wonderful preparation and presentation. Robert John at the bar is your host and amazingly seems to know almost everyone who stops in and if he doesn't know you, he will by the end of the evening.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Food wasn't very good especially for the ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food wasn't very good especially for the price. Since the first time we were there to this last time it seems to be going down hill. The decor hasn't changed in years. The only thing that has remained the same that should never change is the amazing service. That said I'm not sure if be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice except my husband, Stan thought it was

Dined on May 5, 2016

only thing Stan thought was wrong was the fact we couldn't use our gift card monetary amount to put towards the tip in addition for the food items. Money was paid in full for the gift card amt and should be allowed to use all of card monies for whatever since cash was used to purchase gift card in the first place. Foods, service, etc were all perfect would recommend for exquisite dining and drinks!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Have been going to Fields a couple of ti ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Have been going to Fields a couple of times a year since they opened, Food has always been consistent and people are friendly and to not rush you through. Very enjoyable and one of my favorite places to eat. We drove over an hour to go there to eat and drive home.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Review

Dined on April 14, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was just OK and overpriced for what it was.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is absolutely the finest ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

This restaurant is absolutely the finest restaurant in the dells! I highly recommend this place. The service was phenomenal, they even have a great kids menu that is not just a cheap afterthought! We will always eat here when we are in the dells :) !!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fields was fantastic. Everything was great from the welcoming to the end. Hostess was pleasant and friendly. Servers and our waiter were on top of everything and it was timed perfectly from course to course. Food was in believable. The steaks were prepared masterfully and flavor was incredible. I will definitely recommend them to friends and family

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another Great Experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

We are a couple of 20 years that has been to the Dells, usually with our children, countless times over the past 25 years. We have been to Field's several times and always look forward to returning again in the future. They always have excellent food and make us feel very comfortable, whether we're dining alone or with our children. This time was no different except for one thing. We over-indulged a bit and went out the night before in Milwaukee to a famous steakhouse that has a reputation of being one of if not "the" best in Milwaukee. We had a good meal there but realized that the steaks at Fields cost a bit more but were well worth it and were much better. My wife's bone-in tenderloin was excellent and my dry-aged New York was very flavorful as well. And as usual, they were both cooked to perfection. The salads, potatoes and vegetables were also very well prepared and the service was second to none. We are heading back to the Dells at the end of April and have already decided, in agreement with our children, that we will be returning to Field's at the Wilderness!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Disapointed

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had dined her prior and had an amazing experience. Choose to dine on Easter Sunday for a late lunch. They had specials for the day. All of our party ordered from the Special menu. That is just it there was nothing special about it. No one our party was happy with there meal. My husband ordered the lamb shank and was super disappointed. Not what we had come to expect from Fields. Not sure if it was due to the holiday or just an off day. But again very disappointed with such an amazing place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Decent for the Dells

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

This was our second time at Field's. The first was more than a decade ago. Although the food wasn't as good as I recalled, considering the other options in the Dells it's still worth going to for a break from the junk served at the resorts.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Went for a birthday/ date night. 8pm res ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Went for a birthday/ date night. 8pm reservation, prompt seating. . Prime and bone-in ribeye were overcooked and little flavor. Same with the "sautéed mushrooms." The salads were delicious. Service spectacular. The ambiance was wonderful.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for a nice dinner

Dined on March 14, 2016

We had a group business dinner at this location. The dells is a very family friendly area but not very many upscale places for a business event. This place was perfect. Great food and service and an amazing wine list. We were there "off season" so had no problems getting in mid-week. Not sure how busy they are during peak season.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great dinner. Family enjoyed. Helpful service for grandkids. Pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is outstanding. The ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food and service is outstanding. They you use a team approach to service which assures that someone is always attending to your needs. The water and wine glasses are always full, and plates rapidly cleaned from table. Wine list is excellent. We eat here frequently and rarely go else where because quality is very hard to beat. We recommend Field's to friends and family all the time and they are never dissappointed. Prices are relatively high but you certainly get what you pay consistently.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelieveble

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was cooked to absolute perfection, service was great, ambience and architecture is stunning. I cannot say enough about the dining experience my wife and I had here. I will make a point to eat here whenever I am in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 17, 2016

I took my girlfriend to Fields for our first Valentines day, and back for our second. The food, the service, and the ambiance are truly excellent. We are both looking forward to our next dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Valentines Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I wanted to take my wife somwhere different this year for valentines day. The Field of Dreams was a beautiful place. They had sombody playing the paino there that night while we were eating dinner. Every time you leave the table they refold your napkin and always makes sure your water is full. I would recommend this place to almost anyone who would want to go check out a nice place for dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good, but not excellent...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Although we enjoyed our experience at Field's, it didn't really live up to our expectations. Having dined recently at the Del Bar (another OpenTable restaurant that is nearby). we would have to give the nod to the Del Bar. Both offer escargot appetizers, however, the one at Field's was overwhelmed by the puff pastry "coffin" that the small number of snails were encased in, whereas the ones at the Del Bar were served in the traditional escargot dish with just a dot of puff pastry on the top of each. Thumbs up Del Bar! Our entrees-- a seafood medley for me and veal piccata for my hubby-- were cooked to perfection although the piccata was served in a mushroom gravy rather than the typical caper/white wine/lemon sauce that is traditional... Our waitress warned us about the piccata sauce in advance, so we weren't caught out by it, but why couldn't they call it something else to not confuse diners familiar with the traditional? For dessert we chose Le Bête Noir, a dark chocolate "cake" (aka fudge...) which was so dense that it couldn't be managed by the two of us. Delicious, but too large and too rich. In terms of service, we had to keep reminding the staff to bring us our drinks--annoying when the food has been delivered but the drinks have not! The service at the Del Bar flowed seamlessly, hence our disappointment with Field's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful dining experience at Fields. Our meals were prepared perfectly. The steaks were so tender and melted in your mouth. Which is rare for me, since I order mine ruined, as my husband says, well done. You could cut it with a fork! The lobster bisque was also a pleasure. And how we had room for dessert, I don't know, but we did. Well worth the time of enjoying another glass of wine, so we could indulge in the desserts! The service, from the entire staff was also outstanding as well. We will be returning often!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding place to eat! Ambience was f ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Outstanding place to eat! Ambience was fantastic and service was exceptional! Highly recommended!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a wonderful time! The food is exquisite. The atmosphere is amazing. The service is top notch! Can't wait to come back. Thank you for the wonderful time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Pass.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Bla. Not worth the price, steaks not cooked properly and very chewy for a $39 fillet.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on February 12, 2016

The service was great. The food was delicious. The wine and scotch lists were very good. The special attention for our anniversary celebration dinner was incredible! Great attention to detail!! Great staff!! Very attentive!! Wonderful experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special occasion dining or a quiet night out.

Dined on February 12, 2016

My family was there celebrating a birthday. The service is always excellent. Their steaks are what they are most known for. We enjoyed the Grilled salmon with Raspberry Champagne Sauce though. It was lovely. It is a great place for a quieter dinner in the Dells area. When the piano player is there is the best time. She is awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Good food but over priced

Dined on January 28, 2016

My wife and myself went out to dinner here for a special occasion staff was great service was quick but the food was way overpriced for quality and amount! Our bill was nearly $100 with 2 meals and waters...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place!

Dined on January 24, 2016

My husband and I hadn't been at Field's in 11 years. That was 11 years too long! The food is spectacular! The atmosphere just as romantic as we remembered. This place gives high end Chicago steak houses a run for their money and literally about half the price. Hubs said it was probably the best prime rib he has ever had. I had a filet and lobster tail that was unbelievable! Desserts were amazing. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The BEST!

Dined on January 18, 2016

This little find in the middle of kid heaven was marvelous. I would not recommend it for children it is a little respite from little ones. Food, ambiance, were first rate. We will come here every time we are here for a hockey tournament with ourgrandchildre. But we will leave them at the hotel with their parents and the team.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WIFE'S BIRTHDAY EVENING OUT.

Dined on January 17, 2016

We had been to FIELDS once before a few years ago, and remembered it being very, very good. This visit totally lived up to our expectations. The environment was lively and comfortable. The live piano music drifting over from the bar area was great. The food was outstanding. Even our kids could not get enough of the lobster bisque! Too many restaurants spend too much effort trying to be trendy and innovative, and miss the point that great food is great food. You don't have to combine "new flavors" in everything you do, if you can consistently achieve great tasting food, you are doing things right. And FIELDS did everything right for our special night out! Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special night out

Dined on January 16, 2016

Super spot for a leisurely, high-quality fine dining experience. One of our favorite spots for a romantic retreat for "mommy-daddy date night". Can be a little too loud near piano.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic Menu and Attentive Service

Dined on January 16, 2016

We enjoyed our first time dining at Field's. We went there on a friend's recommendation. We had a later reservation and 2 children, but the staff accommodated us quite nicely. I ordered the scallops, which were done to perfection. We also enjoyed the vocalist and accompanying pianist. My husband was not thrilled with his prime rib, which he said had very little to no seasoning, but he is overly picky in my opinion. Staff was incredibly attentive and professional. I think the decor desperately needs updating. The whole restaurant appears to have been frozen circa 1989, all shades of mauve and smoked glass. Patrons meals are presented on wooden carts, which appears to be a nice idea, but all the carts I saw were sorely in need of repair. Aside from the dated decor, I thought the food was excellent and the service superb.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant!

Dined on January 2, 2016

I took my boyfriend for his 30th birthday and this restaurant exceeded all the expectations we had! Very great service, friendly environment, and wonderful food! We will definitely go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Very expensive for the food/service

Dined on December 31, 2015

We enjoyed the meal, but the service was spotty (things were forgotten, servers weren't communicating with each other). The price was very expensive - it felt like too much for the food and service we recieved.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fine Dining at the Dells

Dined on December 30, 2015

Best restaurant we have tried at the Dells. Close to Wilderness Resort. You won't find this type of dining experience with the resorts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Inconsistent

Dined on December 24, 2015

Field's has become inconsistent. It's slowly becoming too casual, offering average service and food for higher than average prices.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.