About Field's at the Wilderness

511 East Adams Street
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
View Larger Map

Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Designed by James Dresser, the most celebrated protege of Frank Lloyd Wright. Field's at the Wilderness offers a menu with the highest standards in fine dining. Our menu features American cuisine with an emphasis on great steaks, chops, fresh grilled seafood. Also from the wood burning oven...appetizers, gourmet pizzas, and quesadillas. Savor remarkable cuisine in an intimate atmosphere surrounded by stone-hearth fireplaces, waterfalls, and an exhibition kitchen. Toast to the good life with selections from our extensive award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Open 4:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1400

Website:
http://www.fieldsatthewilderness.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar

Executive Chef:
Tim Field

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups of 8, 12, 24, 50 and 80 are available. Semi-private parties of up to 130 can be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Hasheider : 6082531400x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Field's at the Wilderness Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Wisconsin
Romantic
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
1 More
Most Booked
Wisconsin Dells
Best Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells ›

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (30)
Scenic View (19)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was attentive. However our me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our server was attentive. However our meal was served while we were still eating our salad. We felt very rushed which was surprising since the restaurant was not very busy. The chicken entree was not cooked properly and the coffee was very strong. The desserts were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

When in town on business I enjoy Dining ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

When in town on business I enjoy Dining at Fields for their consistent quality and service.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My last visit was very underwhelming, th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My last visit was very underwhelming, this despite having many good meals here in the past. I feel their A-team left with summer; the salmon was bland, the salad came out without dressing, upon request the staff did not bring it until the entree had arrived. Used plates stacked on the table, which of its own is fine but at Fields we have grown accustomed to a much higher level of service - Service commensurate with the cost; this visit was not close to commensurate. We will look elsewhere the next time we wish to make a drive from Madison just for food.q

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was my first time at Fields and I w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was my first time at Fields and I will defiantly come back on the future. It was very enjoyable and the food was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very clean and the staff of ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The place is very clean and the staff of servers are fantastic. Very much a high end place with close to high prices. The we've eaten for more and less but the food here is top notch. We had filet steaks and they were so tender and full of flavor. The warm hand towels after dinner are a nice touch. Our child had a flavorful menu to choose from. Days later I still remembered the experience. This place is worth the price.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant above average food quali ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice restaurant above average food quality, but can somebody please fix the quality of the pond since it is part of the overall dining experience. Last two times I have dined there the pond is laden with weeds and algae and really detracts from the dining experience. The ducks don't seem to mind navigating through it all though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our experience very much, food w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed our experience very much, food was very tasty and the service was excellent .

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When we stay in the Dells, Fields is alw ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

When we stay in the Dells, Fields is always one place we enjoy and return for dinner. If the weather's nice dine outside if you can. Your servers pace the meal without rushing you. Nicely seasoned steaks. The top of all the steakhouses in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my 2 grown sons to Fields for din ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I took my 2 grown sons to Fields for dinner. Their steaks were delicious and my chefs special seafood dish was really good too. I like the fact that your entree comes with a choice of spinach salad or garden salad. Not many steak houses include a salad with the entree. We also enjoyed the escargot appetizer.

My sons also enjoyed the varieties of Scotch and Cognac that were available.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steaks and dessert were decent but my so ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steaks and dessert were decent but my son ordered a baked potato and thats exactly what he got, a potato on a plate. It wasnt sliced open or served with any toppings. My potato was served with bacon and cheese but tasted strange. Decent overall but a bit pricey for decent food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a great restaurant, definitely no ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was a great restaurant, definitely not what I expected in the Wisconsin Dells

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having never been, I may have went into ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Having never been, I may have went into the dining experience with too high of standards. I ordered the 7 oz filet, which came over cooked (I ordered it medium rare) and under seasoned. Although you could definitely tell the quality of the meat was there which made it even more disappointing to eat. There are signs on the table that say that if you feel that your steak is not prepared to your liking that they will take you back to the kitchen to confront the chef. My husband and I were celebrating our 1st anniversary, the last thing I wanted to do is to spoil the evening and make a scene with the chef. Not sure what the intent of those signs are but it made me not tell the waitress that my food was overcooked and instead left unhappy that I ate a $40 overcooked steak. My husband had the seafood special which he said was very good but also under-seasoned. The dessert, wine, ambiance, and service was excellent otherwise. I would still recommend this place for a special occasion, but all the hype about having the "best steak of your life" may be in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I was disappointed that the staff did no ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I was disappointed that the staff did not acknowledge our special occasion which I noted in our reservation. It was our 34th wedding anniversary and we were placed at a table in the middle of an area....not by a window. I would really like feedback as to why this happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Not real happy with our last visit. Ther ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not real happy with our last visit. There was not enough people working so it was a long time to get our food, drinks and the check. When the food finally came it was not very good. I had a steak and there was not much flavor and my wife had the seafood medley. The shrimp tasted fishy and the risotto was very stiff and not any flavor to it at all. By the time the waiter came to check on our table, we were finished and ready to get out. Sadly disappointed in the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We wanted to love this place. We wanted ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We wanted to love this place. We wanted to make it a new anniversary tradition, we really did. Sadly, it's not meant to be. We loved the ambience. Our waiter although not entirely attentive, was friendly. The portion sizes were extremely small in relation to other high end restaurants in the area with a similar price point. The salad provided ahead of the meal was seriously lacking. It felt like something I would get at The Elk's with my grandparents 20 years ago. The dessert was good but not enough to sweeten the deal for a return visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It's easily the nicest restaurant in the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It's easily the nicest restaurant in the Dells, which isn't that hard to do, but this would be a lovely restaurant even located in a larger urban area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose to celebrate our daughter's bir ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We chose to celebrate our daughter's birthday with a quick getaway to The Dells and dinner at Field's. Given the high-end menu prices, we expected a fabulous dining experience. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. The steaks, while great quality meat, were amateurishly prepared and woefully under-seasoned. At the end of the meal, our server brought our daughter an ice cream sundae for her birthday...very nice, until we received the bill and noticed that they charged us for it! This could be a great place, but it needs a more skilled/experienced staff, both back of the house and customer facing, to give patrons an experience more commensurate with the price paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Good was just ok. Nothing over the top f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good was just ok. Nothing over the top for the price. I had the prime rib and just didn't have a good quality cut meat taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Had business trip with family at wildern ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had business trip with family at wilderness. Fields even had us in a private meeting room was great. Service and food was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and very good food wit ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent service and very good food with great presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and drinks were amazing along with ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and drinks were amazing along with the service!! Fields' never disappoints!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family celebrated my husband's birth ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our family celebrated my husband's birthday at Fields while on vacation to the Wilderness Resort. The service was wonderful! The ambiance was lovely. The filet, New York strip, and crab cakes were delicious! Made for a wonderful evening and experience. Highly recommend this restaurant. If we return to the Dells, we will be sure to make a trip back here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service at Fields was excellent and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service at Fields was excellent and was what you'd expect from a high end steak restaurant. They have interesting and appetizing specials and the steaks were cooked perfectly. Although it is pricey they include a salad and side with your meal making it a far better value than a normal a la carte establishment. Although they have an adequate beer list it they all appear to be in bottles. Since there are no drafts I would've liked to see a more extensive beer list especially carrying additional WI beers. We had customers in from out of state and they were interested in all of the beer WI has to offer; in order to accomplish this we had to make another stop after dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is fantastic, great outdo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The atmosphere is fantastic, great outdoor views. This was our 7th-8th time to dine @ Fields.

We were disappointed primarily with the staff: front desk greeters/hostesses did not smile & were not very friendly; the waitress was young & new to the job & did not have the timing down

well, she did not seem to know the menu (& did not offer to find out answers to our questions),

a few of us ordered prime rib & asked our waitress when order was placed for a side of sour cream & horseradish...it did not arrive with our meal & we had to ask 3 additional staff to please

bring it, one of the staff could not speak English very well & she kept pointing to the plain sour cream on the table for the baked potatoes. Finally, a gentleman did indeed bring the horseradish & sour cream to our table...quite a bit later into the meal.

After the meal we had a drink in the bar, the bartender was delightful. She was fun, prompt, made great drinks! When we left, the same unfriendly unsmiling hostesses did not even thank us for dining there, or say "have a good night", etc.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We were first given a table that was ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were first given a table that was very "chilly" but they moved us to a very nice table that was perfect for our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Ok, but they are trying to be something ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Ok, but they are trying to be something they are not- fine dining. Part of the disappointment is my own fault- ordering fresh water fish in a touristy Midwest area. My husband had the bone in pork chop and loved it! I ordered the fish daily special, which later I interpreted to mean - entrees to get rid of old food. The waitress was pleasant, not overly chatty or hovering, which is a good thing. We were there mid week in the dead of summer and there were plenty of available tables, that's really not a good sign. I noticed the next table sent a meal back to the kitchen. In summary, ok good for too much money and a dated interior, but hey it's a water park hotel restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Lobster bisque was to die for!! Best ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lobster bisque was to die for!! Best service I've ever had. The wait staff was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of five and we had shrim ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were a group of five and we had shrimp,prime rib, salmon,salads, desert. Fantastic meal

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress was great. Waitress Assistant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Waitress was great. Waitress Assistant was a bit rude. Food was great and nice dinning experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I have celebrated her birthd ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated her birthday at Field's for the last 8 or 9 years and have always been rewarded with a special evening. All aspects of the occasion were exemplary - the food, drinks, service, and ambiance to name a few. We hope to enjoy this special occasion for many years to come.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our last dinner before leaving ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was our last dinner before leaving the Dells and I must say my husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves! The only reason why I didn't give this restaurant 5 stars, I found plastic in my spinach salad. The manager did come over right away to apologize, but I was also looking for a complimentary "something" or a small percentage off. Although a mistake, plastic shouldn't be in food. Our waitress was extremely nice, so no complaints there.

To sum it up, would I come back? Absolutely. Way better than Double Cut at Kalahari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been there as a couple and with ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been there as a couple and with a large group. Always fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely place

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This quiet restaurant has wonderful architecture and great food and service. Bring as sweater, as it can be chilly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST FOOD I'VE EVER HAD!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Will never go to Wisconsin Dells without making sure we eat at Field's. Hands down best food around!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and drinks were superb. The lo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The meal and drinks were superb. The lobster bisque was very favorful. The service was impeccable. We will definitely dine at Field's again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner was great and our service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our dinner was great and our service was perfect. We always have a great experience at Fields.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality Dells dining

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for one of our first dates, and we just returned to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary! Every time we come the service is phenomenal. The waitstaff is attentive, fast, and non-intrusive. The food is always done perfectly. Would definitely recommend if you are in the Dells area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lobster bisque was the best I have e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The lobster bisque was the best I have ever eaten.. Expensive, but you get what you pay for!!

Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! The steak was one of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience! The steak was one of the best ever! Great chefs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's on the expensive side for most fami ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It's on the expensive side for most families coming to the Dells to play at the waterparks. Our group of 4 adults were happy to find upscale dining in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.