About Field's at the Wilderness

511 East Adams Street
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
View Larger Map

Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Designed by James Dresser, the most celebrated protege of Frank Lloyd Wright. Field's at the Wilderness offers a menu with the highest standards in fine dining. Our menu features American cuisine with an emphasis on great steaks, chops, fresh grilled seafood. Also from the wood burning oven...appetizers, gourmet pizzas, and quesadillas. Savor remarkable cuisine in an intimate atmosphere surrounded by stone-hearth fireplaces, waterfalls, and an exhibition kitchen. Toast to the good life with selections from our extensive award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Open 4:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1400

Website:
http://www.fieldsatthewilderness.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar

Executive Chef:
Tim Field

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups of 8, 12, 24, 50 and 80 are available. Semi-private parties of up to 130 can be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Hasheider : (608) 253-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Field's at the Wilderness Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fireplace (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Scenic View (4)
Business Meals (4)
Live Music (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Waterfront (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely lovely place to eat. The amo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely lovely place to eat. The amount of servicers that were there to wait on us was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are foodies and love our steaks! Sinc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are foodies and love our steaks! Since our favorite spot in the Dells was closed (seasonal restaurant) we decided to try other steak houses in the area. On our trip we went to three steak restaurants and Field's was on the lower level of the three we tried. The bar is great - ambiance and lots of people watching. Great piano player, which made it relaxing. Hostess was great - took our jacket and said she'd come get us from the bar when the table was ready. Once we sat at the table we felt rushed by the server. Kind of cold service - did a nice job, but no personality and that normal welcome to Wisconsin attitude you get from servers in the area. Once the food came out the sides were luke warm and the steaks were just OK. Not the best I've ever had, nor was it the worst. For the price, I'd try other places for a steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We chose Field's for my 65th birthday ce ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We chose Field's for my 65th birthday celebration. The food and service were outstanding as usual!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food just ok, very loud. Little overpric ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food just ok, very loud. Little overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I took my wife here for a New Years Eve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my wife here for a New Years Eve Dinner. We were seated next a water type display, at a "too small of a table for 2", with a large pillar and square top right next to us. The water appeared filthy. The entire time the water was splattering in small droplets on my wife and me. I imagine this meant it was in our food also. I informed the waitress and she responded it happened all the time. Quite odd we were not asked if we wanted to be seated elsewhere. I was hungry and not one to complain so I sat there. Then came the food. We ordered appetizers that took 30 minutes. They were great! I ordered medium well prime rib. When it came to me it was as cold as if it had sat out for 30 minutes. I sent it back and asked it be tossed on a grill until hot. It came back warm. By the time I ate a few bites it was cold. 30% of the meat was not chew-able. So I filled up on bread! Spending $100 on two people and having to fill up on bread was a bit much. I brought ten people here two years ago for New Years Eve's and it was fantastic. I live only 30 minutes from here and have been here several times over the past ten years. 2017 was not so good!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

It was very busy because of new year eve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was very busy because of new year eve. But when I ever went there it was great. Just a Busy night. Hope it gets better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

The prime rib was one of the 2 best prim ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The prime rib was one of the 2 best prime rib meals I ever ate. Great wine menu to go with it. Could update the interior, it felt like we were back in time 20 years or so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was very good, there were plent ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was very good, there were plenty of options of all food types. We dined in the early evening, there was a lot of wait staff, my water was refilled frequently. I really enjoyed the ambiance, the restaurant outside view was pretty, the inside of the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Service! Very attentive! Clean! Ap ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Service! Very attentive! Clean! Appetizers were very tasty. Lobster soup was delicious! The main dishes, were not so good. My plate was so salty That I couldn't finish and my husbands dish was small, the sauce on his fish was very overwhelming with taste of mustard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was slightly better than average fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was slightly better than average for a nice steakhouse. The service was exceptional. Manager should come to each table to make sure that everything is perfect. Lastly should acknowledge anniversaries!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Celebrating ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. Celebrating anniversary. Best filet ever. Thank you Fields. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great visit to Field's. From b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Another great visit to Field's. From being greeted by name, to spectacular food, it was more than expected. Thanks again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here! Food is amazing and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We love coming here! Food is amazing and the staff is wonderful. Dan is our favorite but everyone does a nice job. So glad this place gets it right every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my friends for their 40th wedding a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Took my friends for their 40th wedding anniversary celebration and it was a great choice - terrific food, service and ambiance. The only thing they could have done better was to have informed staff of the special occasion. In making the reservation, I noted the anniversary. Unlike other restaurants under similar circumstances, Field's hadn't prepared for the occasion in advance and staff was completely unaware of the significance of the evening. They did try to make up for that oversight with a free dessert, but it was an opportunity lost by Field's to turn an otherwise terrific experience into some truly exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful time and the food was de ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Had a wonderful time and the food was delicious! Service was top notch. We highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service. Beautiful ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food and great service. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a beautiful restaurant from the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was a beautiful restaurant from the decor with waterfalls and a spectacular Atrium, to the impeccable service, to the outstanding food,this was the best steak I've ever had,to the cozy atmosphere,made this far and away one of the best dining experiences we've ever had ,would highly recommend this very fine dining spot to anyone

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply superb food service and ambience. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Simply superb food service and ambience..

We went for our anniversary dinner and feasted on filet mignon and shrimp. The house comped 2 glasses of champagne which was quite a nice touch. Our server was very attentive and we practically had the place to ourselves. We were there in mid October, so the crowds were gone. I have no idea what the crowds are like in the summer months as this was our first trip to the Dells. my wife and I have had the opportunity to dine in some really nice restaurants and this was a treat for both of us. I would highly recommend the restaurant and I would highly recommend the filet mignon which was a special that night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service , bar were great . Piano s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food, service , bar were great . Piano singer was good but way too loud for conversation in the bar. We will go again when the occasion justify the price!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Main course came out while salads were s ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Main course came out while salads were still being eaten. We were told it was within the 12 minute allowance. Seriously? Not everyone eats at same speed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The dinner was excellent, staff is alway ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The dinner was excellent, staff is always very helpful and inviting, the ambiance was very romantic, my overall experience was amazing for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Private Room, Healthy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, , Live Music, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very expensive restaurant and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is a very expensive restaurant and serving size is modest. Servers were a bit stuffy. I don't mind spending a lot of money for a great meal, but this was not great.

I had Parmesan encrusted Salmon with Pomodoro Cream Sauce. It was not good. The salmon had little flavor, the parmesan had the appropriate sharp taste but it didn't complement the salmon. The sauce could have been good on something else, but on salmon it was a huge mistake.

My husband had Sea Scallops and they tasted sublime if you forgot that they were charging $35 for six pieces.

The atmosphere was just okay.

I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Good restaurant, but doesn't quite make ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Good restaurant, but doesn't quite make it to the level of the Delbar.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

If I could, I would leave more stars for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

If I could, I would leave more stars for their impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went during off seasons. Food and servi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went during off seasons. Food and service was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server was attentive. However our me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our server was attentive. However our meal was served while we were still eating our salad. We felt very rushed which was surprising since the restaurant was not very busy. The chicken entree was not cooked properly and the coffee was very strong. The desserts were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

When in town on business I enjoy Dining ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 20, 2016

When in town on business I enjoy Dining at Fields for their consistent quality and service.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My last visit was very underwhelming, th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My last visit was very underwhelming, this despite having many good meals here in the past. I feel their A-team left with summer; the salmon was bland, the salad came out without dressing, upon request the staff did not bring it until the entree had arrived. Used plates stacked on the table, which of its own is fine but at Fields we have grown accustomed to a much higher level of service - Service commensurate with the cost; this visit was not close to commensurate. We will look elsewhere the next time we wish to make a drive from Madison just for food.q

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was my first time at Fields and I w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was my first time at Fields and I will defiantly come back on the future. It was very enjoyable and the food was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, , Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very clean and the staff of ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The place is very clean and the staff of servers are fantastic. Very much a high end place with close to high prices. The we've eaten for more and less but the food here is top notch. We had filet steaks and they were so tender and full of flavor. The warm hand towels after dinner are a nice touch. Our child had a flavorful menu to choose from. Days later I still remembered the experience. This place is worth the price.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant above average food quali ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice restaurant above average food quality, but can somebody please fix the quality of the pond since it is part of the overall dining experience. Last two times I have dined there the pond is laden with weeds and algae and really detracts from the dining experience. The ducks don't seem to mind navigating through it all though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our experience very much, food w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed our experience very much, food was very tasty and the service was excellent .

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When we stay in the Dells, Fields is alw ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

When we stay in the Dells, Fields is always one place we enjoy and return for dinner. If the weather's nice dine outside if you can. Your servers pace the meal without rushing you. Nicely seasoned steaks. The top of all the steakhouses in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my 2 grown sons to Fields for din ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I took my 2 grown sons to Fields for dinner. Their steaks were delicious and my chefs special seafood dish was really good too. I like the fact that your entree comes with a choice of spinach salad or garden salad. Not many steak houses include a salad with the entree. We also enjoyed the escargot appetizer.

My sons also enjoyed the varieties of Scotch and Cognac that were available.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steaks and dessert were decent but my so ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steaks and dessert were decent but my son ordered a baked potato and thats exactly what he got, a potato on a plate. It wasnt sliced open or served with any toppings. My potato was served with bacon and cheese but tasted strange. Decent overall but a bit pricey for decent food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a great restaurant, definitely no ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was a great restaurant, definitely not what I expected in the Wisconsin Dells

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having never been, I may have went into ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Having never been, I may have went into the dining experience with too high of standards. I ordered the 7 oz filet, which came over cooked (I ordered it medium rare) and under seasoned. Although you could definitely tell the quality of the meat was there which made it even more disappointing to eat. There are signs on the table that say that if you feel that your steak is not prepared to your liking that they will take you back to the kitchen to confront the chef. My husband and I were celebrating our 1st anniversary, the last thing I wanted to do is to spoil the evening and make a scene with the chef. Not sure what the intent of those signs are but it made me not tell the waitress that my food was overcooked and instead left unhappy that I ate a $40 overcooked steak. My husband had the seafood special which he said was very good but also under-seasoned. The dessert, wine, ambiance, and service was excellent otherwise. I would still recommend this place for a special occasion, but all the hype about having the "best steak of your life" may be in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I was disappointed that the staff did no ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I was disappointed that the staff did not acknowledge our special occasion which I noted in our reservation. It was our 34th wedding anniversary and we were placed at a table in the middle of an area....not by a window. I would really like feedback as to why this happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Not real happy with our last visit. Ther ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not real happy with our last visit. There was not enough people working so it was a long time to get our food, drinks and the check. When the food finally came it was not very good. I had a steak and there was not much flavor and my wife had the seafood medley. The shrimp tasted fishy and the risotto was very stiff and not any flavor to it at all. By the time the waiter came to check on our table, we were finished and ready to get out. Sadly disappointed in the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We wanted to love this place. We wanted ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We wanted to love this place. We wanted to make it a new anniversary tradition, we really did. Sadly, it's not meant to be. We loved the ambience. Our waiter although not entirely attentive, was friendly. The portion sizes were extremely small in relation to other high end restaurants in the area with a similar price point. The salad provided ahead of the meal was seriously lacking. It felt like something I would get at The Elk's with my grandparents 20 years ago. The dessert was good but not enough to sweeten the deal for a return visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.