Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Field's at the Wilderness

Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Designed by James Dresser, the most celebrated protege of Frank Lloyd Wright. Field's at the Wilderness offers a menu with the highest standards in fine dining. Our menu features American cuisine with an emphasis on great steaks, chops, fresh grilled seafood. Also from the wood burning oven...appetizers, gourmet pizzas, and quesadillas. Savor remarkable cuisine in an intimate atmosphere surrounded by stone-hearth fireplaces, waterfalls, and an exhibition kitchen. Toast to the good life with selections from our extensive award-winning wine list.

511 East Adams Street
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Open 4:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1400

Website:
http://www.fieldsatthewilderness.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar

Executive Chef:
Tim Field

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups of 8, 12, 24, 50 and 80 are available. Semi-private parties of up to 130 can be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Hasheider : (608) 253-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Field's at the Wilderness Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Took my lady friend there for Valentine's Day. Drove up from Sun Prairie. The place was a little chilly but tolerable. Service was very good. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was low lit with a fireplace kicking off some glow. The jumbo shrimp with lump crab meat was fresh. The steaks were cooked to perfection. I ended up dropping $200 (including tip) but this is one of those special occasion kind of things. Well worth it if you can afford it and want to impress the woman in your life by showing her a really nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Soco old fashioned price was a rip off. Nice sized baked potato but got cold fast. Tenderloin was outstanding! Salad was delicious, too. Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife's steak was over done and my blackened tuna was so coated in salt I could not eat it. When the bill is $100 you'd at least think we could eat the food. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I go to Field's for our anniversary and Valentine's Day each year and we take our out-of-town visitors there as well. The food is always done well and they make an excellent brandy old fashion. We have also had several large family functions at Field's using one of their private rooms. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were in the Dells for a Convention and decided to book a dinner date at Fields. Everything was amazing from the minute we walked in the door. We each had one of the Valentine's specials ... Salmon and the 3-fish ... and it was one of the BEST meals we've ever had. The service was perfect and staff friendly and so organized. Definitely will come back in 6 months!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Fields. The food is of excellent quality and well prepared. The room were in was cozy with a nice view. Our server started out really great, but then seemed to forget about us about half way through our meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent time at Field's at the Wilderness. We were there for a birthday and the food was great in addition to outstanding service with a smile. We highly recommend Field's to others.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful meal in a wonderful setting. Server was very attentive and we had a great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had 3 different waitresses, they never brought my husband's second beer and we had to grab our own sliver ware from off the bussing station, after we asked them 3 times. Very poor experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I really liked this place. It has a California/Arizona feel to it, the menu is original and it is very well prepared. We didn't have high expectations but it was better than we expected. It is located near the Wilderness but it in a separate building and we were very happy to escape the overly crowded resort for a second but could walk (and drink ;-))

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was not sure what to expect as I was unfamiliar with the resort area. The restaurant exceeded my expectations in ambiance, food quality, and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely Superb!! Best Prime Rib anywhere!Excellent service and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

SHRIMP TASTE LIKE AMMONIA!! Not once, not twice, but THREE times I have ordered the shrimp scampi appetizer and the shrimp taste like ammonia! That indicates spoiled shrimp! I told the server and they took them back and took the price off our bill. I never got a replacement (not sure if I want to). On our last visit, my husband got the broiled shrimp add on with his steak, and they TASTED LIKE AMMONIA TOO!!! He didn't want to cause a fuss (again) and just ate them. GROSS! I can understand this happening once....maybe. But, on four separate occasions????? And this has been over the course of several years!! I'm not sure if they need a health inspector to check things out, but it is going to be long time until I ever go there again. Their drinks are great and the atmosphere in the red room is great. Too Bad their food doesn't live up to the price. I can't believe we are the only ones that have noticed their bad shrimp. ?

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely lovely place to eat. The amount of servicers that were there to wait on us was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are foodies and love our steaks! Since our favorite spot in the Dells was closed (seasonal restaurant) we decided to try other steak houses in the area. On our trip we went to three steak restaurants and Field's was on the lower level of the three we tried. The bar is great - ambiance and lots of people watching. Great piano player, which made it relaxing. Hostess was great - took our jacket and said she'd come get us from the bar when the table was ready. Once we sat at the table we felt rushed by the server. Kind of cold service - did a nice job, but no personality and that normal welcome to Wisconsin attitude you get from servers in the area. Once the food came out the sides were luke warm and the steaks were just OK. Not the best I've ever had, nor was it the worst. For the price, I'd try other places for a steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We chose Field's for my 65th birthday celebration. The food and service were outstanding as usual!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food just ok, very loud. Little overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my wife here for a New Years Eve Dinner. We were seated next a water type display, at a "too small of a table for 2", with a large pillar and square top right next to us. The water appeared filthy. The entire time the water was splattering in small droplets on my wife and me. I imagine this meant it was in our food also. I informed the waitress and she responded it happened all the time. Quite odd we were not asked if we wanted to be seated elsewhere. I was hungry and not one to complain so I sat there. Then came the food. We ordered appetizers that took 30 minutes. They were great! I ordered medium well prime rib. When it came to me it was as cold as if it had sat out for 30 minutes. I sent it back and asked it be tossed on a grill until hot. It came back warm. By the time I ate a few bites it was cold. 30% of the meat was not chew-able. So I filled up on bread! Spending $100 on two people and having to fill up on bread was a bit much. I brought ten people here two years ago for New Years Eve's and it was fantastic. I live only 30 minutes from here and have been here several times over the past ten years. 2017 was not so good!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was very busy because of new year eve. But when I ever went there it was great. Just a Busy night. Hope it gets better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The prime rib was one of the 2 best prime rib meals I ever ate. Great wine menu to go with it. Could update the interior, it felt like we were back in time 20 years or so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was very good, there were plenty of options of all food types. We dined in the early evening, there was a lot of wait staff, my water was refilled frequently. I really enjoyed the ambiance, the restaurant outside view was pretty, the inside of the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Service! Very attentive! Clean! Appetizers were very tasty. Lobster soup was delicious! The main dishes, were not so good. My plate was so salty That I couldn't finish and my husbands dish was small, the sauce on his fish was very overwhelming with taste of mustard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was slightly better than average for a nice steakhouse. The service was exceptional. Manager should come to each table to make sure that everything is perfect. Lastly should acknowledge anniversaries!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. Celebrating anniversary. Best filet ever. Thank you Fields. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Another great visit to Field's. From being greeted by name, to spectacular food, it was more than expected. Thanks again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We love coming here! Food is amazing and the staff is wonderful. Dan is our favorite but everyone does a nice job. So glad this place gets it right every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Took my friends for their 40th wedding anniversary celebration and it was a great choice - terrific food, service and ambiance. The only thing they could have done better was to have informed staff of the special occasion. In making the reservation, I noted the anniversary. Unlike other restaurants under similar circumstances, Field's hadn't prepared for the occasion in advance and staff was completely unaware of the significance of the evening. They did try to make up for that oversight with a free dessert, but it was an opportunity lost by Field's to turn an otherwise terrific experience into some truly exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Had a wonderful time and the food was delicious! Service was top notch. We highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food and great service. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was a beautiful restaurant from the decor with waterfalls and a spectacular Atrium, to the impeccable service, to the outstanding food,this was the best steak I've ever had,to the cozy atmosphere,made this far and away one of the best dining experiences we've ever had ,would highly recommend this very fine dining spot to anyone

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Simply superb food service and ambience..
We went for our anniversary dinner and feasted on filet mignon and shrimp. The house comped 2 glasses of champagne which was quite a nice touch. Our server was very attentive and we practically had the place to ourselves. We were there in mid October, so the crowds were gone. I have no idea what the crowds are like in the summer months as this was our first trip to the Dells. my wife and I have had the opportunity to dine in some really nice restaurants and this was a treat for both of us. I would highly recommend the restaurant and I would highly recommend the filet mignon which was a special that night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food, service , bar were great . Piano singer was good but way too loud for conversation in the bar. We will go again when the occasion justify the price!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Main course came out while salads were still being eaten. We were told it was within the 12 minute allowance. Seriously? Not everyone eats at same speed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The dinner was excellent, staff is always very helpful and inviting, the ambiance was very romantic, my overall experience was amazing for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Private Room, Healthy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is a very expensive restaurant and serving size is modest. Servers were a bit stuffy. I don't mind spending a lot of money for a great meal, but this was not great.

I had Parmesan encrusted Salmon with Pomodoro Cream Sauce. It was not good. The salmon had little flavor, the parmesan had the appropriate sharp taste but it didn't complement the salmon. The sauce could have been good on something else, but on salmon it was a huge mistake.

My husband had Sea Scallops and they tasted sublime if you forgot that they were charging $35 for six pieces.

The atmosphere was just okay.

I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Good restaurant, but doesn't quite make it to the level of the Delbar.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

If I could, I would leave more stars for their impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went during off seasons. Food and service was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our server was attentive. However our meal was served while we were still eating our salad. We felt very rushed which was surprising since the restaurant was not very busy. The chicken entree was not cooked properly and the coffee was very strong. The desserts were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 20, 2016

When in town on business I enjoy Dining at Fields for their consistent quality and service.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.