Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Field's at the Wilderness

Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Designed by James Dresser, the most celebrated protege of Frank Lloyd Wright. Field's at the Wilderness offers a menu with the highest standards in fine dining. Our menu features American cuisine with an emphasis on great steaks, chops, fresh grilled seafood. Also from the wood burning oven...appetizers, gourmet pizzas, and quesadillas. Savor remarkable cuisine in an intimate atmosphere surrounded by stone-hearth fireplaces, waterfalls, and an exhibition kitchen. Toast to the good life with selections from our extensive award-winning wine list.

511 East Adams Street
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Open 4:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1400

Website:
http://www.fieldsatthewilderness.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar

Executive Chef:
Tim Field

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups of 8, 12, 24, 50 and 80 are available. Semi-private parties of up to 130 can be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Hasheider : (608) 253-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Field's at the Wilderness Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Scenic View (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fireplace (5)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Waterfront (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love your Locals Menu . We are seniors and that is worth it . Great prime Rib at a affordable price for us . It is nice of you to give back to the community .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Fields at the Wilderness. A little secret for those who love vegetables. They offer a wonderful vegetarian fettuccine dish that is not on the menu but if you ask for it they will gladly make it.
I cannot get anything like it anywhere I've ever been.
Everyone that works there is polite, friendly, and very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and great service. Food was very good, especially the tenderloin steak. It was very pricey, but at least the price included sides (unlike the local chop house). Overall, very pleasant experience. Would consider going back for another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was disappointed, my son took his date here for prom and the only menu they were given was the prom menu. He didn't know any better and thought that is only what you offered. It would have been nice for them to get the actual menu along with the special prom menu as that is why we picked this restaurant was for the food and not just to be given 4 meal options. I wanted them to pick whatever they wanted to eat as I was paying for a special evening at a very nice restaurant. They had to go elsewhere for dessert because they said you didn't offer it on the "prom" menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I have been yelping for five years and reviewed your restaurant last year.

You have the finest restaurant within 50 miles. Food, service , ambiance . Cannot be beaten.

This is definitely a distination restaurant ... no casual dinning here.

I cannot stress enough what a fine operation you have here, however you prices are extremely high ( I think it's worth every penny).

So in closing when we save enough pennies we will return!

Ps. Had the ribeye and my lady had the salmon

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

a couple times a year I like taking my wife here or sometimes we will invite friends to dine with us because we have never been disappointed with meal or service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had dinner here while on vacation in Wisconsin Dells. The was excellent and the service was outstanding. We will definitely be returning in July!

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fantastic as always. We've been going to fields for years, best steakhouse in the region without exception.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My family and I were delighted with our meals cooked to perfection. Our server was very patient, courteous and attentive to our needs. He made us feel welcome at all times. Thank you so much for everything.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went there for a birthday celebration with family. Food & service was excellent & def will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was ok and was very expensive. We had kids with us and they put us in a private room which was nice but we did not feel like we were dining in a nice restaurant because we were surrounded by 4 walls and it felt like an office meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food,good service,cooked just right,great atmosphere,little expensive but it was good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Beautiful place done in Frank Lloyd Wright stile. Food was good and delivered in timely fashion. Our server was attentive and explained everything very nicely. We was celebrating my husband birthday and that is the reason I didn't make a big deal of absolutely inappropriate and unprofessional manner that one of the servers behaved (girls with long red hair Baily) I am not sure for the name. We ordered desert and she come placed the 2 plates on the table and then proceeded to throw the forks and spoons on the table in all directions.I never been disrespected that way and that is the reason I am giving 1 star. I will not recommend this place to anyone and until this person works there is simply not worth the experience and the money .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service, drinks, staff, and ambiance reflect the price. Food falls short and we were disappointed. Dress code or etiquette not enforced whatsoever despite some reviews suggesting it was mandatory. Keep in mind this restaurant is part of the resort.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great ambiance and service but the food was not worth the price. Tuna was far too salty to even eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Took my lady friend there for Valentine's Day. Drove up from Sun Prairie. The place was a little chilly but tolerable. Service was very good. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was low lit with a fireplace kicking off some glow. The jumbo shrimp with lump crab meat was fresh. The steaks were cooked to perfection. I ended up dropping $200 (including tip) but this is one of those special occasion kind of things. Well worth it if you can afford it and want to impress the woman in your life by showing her a really nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Soco old fashioned price was a rip off. Nice sized baked potato but got cold fast. Tenderloin was outstanding! Salad was delicious, too. Service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife's steak was over done and my blackened tuna was so coated in salt I could not eat it. When the bill is $100 you'd at least think we could eat the food. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I go to Field's for our anniversary and Valentine's Day each year and we take our out-of-town visitors there as well. The food is always done well and they make an excellent brandy old fashion. We have also had several large family functions at Field's using one of their private rooms. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were in the Dells for a Convention and decided to book a dinner date at Fields. Everything was amazing from the minute we walked in the door. We each had one of the Valentine's specials ... Salmon and the 3-fish ... and it was one of the BEST meals we've ever had. The service was perfect and staff friendly and so organized. Definitely will come back in 6 months!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Fields. The food is of excellent quality and well prepared. The room were in was cozy with a nice view. Our server started out really great, but then seemed to forget about us about half way through our meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent time at Field's at the Wilderness. We were there for a birthday and the food was great in addition to outstanding service with a smile. We highly recommend Field's to others.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful meal in a wonderful setting. Server was very attentive and we had a great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had 3 different waitresses, they never brought my husband's second beer and we had to grab our own sliver ware from off the bussing station, after we asked them 3 times. Very poor experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I really liked this place. It has a California/Arizona feel to it, the menu is original and it is very well prepared. We didn't have high expectations but it was better than we expected. It is located near the Wilderness but it in a separate building and we were very happy to escape the overly crowded resort for a second but could walk (and drink ;-))

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was not sure what to expect as I was unfamiliar with the resort area. The restaurant exceeded my expectations in ambiance, food quality, and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely Superb!! Best Prime Rib anywhere!Excellent service and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

SHRIMP TASTE LIKE AMMONIA!! Not once, not twice, but THREE times I have ordered the shrimp scampi appetizer and the shrimp taste like ammonia! That indicates spoiled shrimp! I told the server and they took them back and took the price off our bill. I never got a replacement (not sure if I want to). On our last visit, my husband got the broiled shrimp add on with his steak, and they TASTED LIKE AMMONIA TOO!!! He didn't want to cause a fuss (again) and just ate them. GROSS! I can understand this happening once....maybe. But, on four separate occasions????? And this has been over the course of several years!! I'm not sure if they need a health inspector to check things out, but it is going to be long time until I ever go there again. Their drinks are great and the atmosphere in the red room is great. Too Bad their food doesn't live up to the price. I can't believe we are the only ones that have noticed their bad shrimp. ?

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely lovely place to eat. The amount of servicers that were there to wait on us was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are foodies and love our steaks! Since our favorite spot in the Dells was closed (seasonal restaurant) we decided to try other steak houses in the area. On our trip we went to three steak restaurants and Field's was on the lower level of the three we tried. The bar is great - ambiance and lots of people watching. Great piano player, which made it relaxing. Hostess was great - took our jacket and said she'd come get us from the bar when the table was ready. Once we sat at the table we felt rushed by the server. Kind of cold service - did a nice job, but no personality and that normal welcome to Wisconsin attitude you get from servers in the area. Once the food came out the sides were luke warm and the steaks were just OK. Not the best I've ever had, nor was it the worst. For the price, I'd try other places for a steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We chose Field's for my 65th birthday celebration. The food and service were outstanding as usual!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food just ok, very loud. Little overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my wife here for a New Years Eve Dinner. We were seated next a water type display, at a "too small of a table for 2", with a large pillar and square top right next to us. The water appeared filthy. The entire time the water was splattering in small droplets on my wife and me. I imagine this meant it was in our food also. I informed the waitress and she responded it happened all the time. Quite odd we were not asked if we wanted to be seated elsewhere. I was hungry and not one to complain so I sat there. Then came the food. We ordered appetizers that took 30 minutes. They were great! I ordered medium well prime rib. When it came to me it was as cold as if it had sat out for 30 minutes. I sent it back and asked it be tossed on a grill until hot. It came back warm. By the time I ate a few bites it was cold. 30% of the meat was not chew-able. So I filled up on bread! Spending $100 on two people and having to fill up on bread was a bit much. I brought ten people here two years ago for New Years Eve's and it was fantastic. I live only 30 minutes from here and have been here several times over the past ten years. 2017 was not so good!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was very busy because of new year eve. But when I ever went there it was great. Just a Busy night. Hope it gets better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The prime rib was one of the 2 best prime rib meals I ever ate. Great wine menu to go with it. Could update the interior, it felt like we were back in time 20 years or so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was very good, there were plenty of options of all food types. We dined in the early evening, there was a lot of wait staff, my water was refilled frequently. I really enjoyed the ambiance, the restaurant outside view was pretty, the inside of the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Service! Very attentive! Clean! Appetizers were very tasty. Lobster soup was delicious! The main dishes, were not so good. My plate was so salty That I couldn't finish and my husbands dish was small, the sauce on his fish was very overwhelming with taste of mustard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was slightly better than average for a nice steakhouse. The service was exceptional. Manager should come to each table to make sure that everything is perfect. Lastly should acknowledge anniversaries!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. Celebrating anniversary. Best filet ever. Thank you Fields. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Another great visit to Field's. From being greeted by name, to spectacular food, it was more than expected. Thanks again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.