About Field's at the Wilderness

511 East Adams Street
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
View Larger Map

Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Designed by James Dresser, the most celebrated protege of Frank Lloyd Wright. Field's at the Wilderness offers a menu with the highest standards in fine dining. Our menu features American cuisine with an emphasis on great steaks, chops, fresh grilled seafood. Also from the wood burning oven...appetizers, gourmet pizzas, and quesadillas. Savor remarkable cuisine in an intimate atmosphere surrounded by stone-hearth fireplaces, waterfalls, and an exhibition kitchen. Toast to the good life with selections from our extensive award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Open 4:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1400

Website:
http://www.fieldsatthewilderness.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar

Executive Chef:
Tim Field

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups of 8, 12, 24, 50 and 80 are available. Semi-private parties of up to 130 can be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Hasheider : 6082531400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Field's at the Wilderness Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Wisconsin
Romantic
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
1 More
Most Booked
Wisconsin Dells
Best Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells ›

special occasion (39)
romantic (36)
scenic view (23)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (16)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and drinks were amazing along with ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and drinks were amazing along with the service!! Fields' never disappoints!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family celebrated my husband's birth ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our family celebrated my husband's birthday at Fields while on vacation to the Wilderness Resort. The service was wonderful! The ambiance was lovely. The filet, New York strip, and crab cakes were delicious! Made for a wonderful evening and experience. Highly recommend this restaurant. If we return to the Dells, we will be sure to make a trip back here.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service at Fields was excellent and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service at Fields was excellent and was what you'd expect from a high end steak restaurant. They have interesting and appetizing specials and the steaks were cooked perfectly. Although it is pricey they include a salad and side with your meal making it a far better value than a normal a la carte establishment. Although they have an adequate beer list it they all appear to be in bottles. Since there are no drafts I would've liked to see a more extensive beer list especially carrying additional WI beers. We had customers in from out of state and they were interested in all of the beer WI has to offer; in order to accomplish this we had to make another stop after dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were first given a table that was ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were first given a table that was very "chilly" but they moved us to a very nice table that was perfect for our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Ok, but they are trying to be something ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Ok, but they are trying to be something they are not- fine dining. Part of the disappointment is my own fault- ordering fresh water fish in a touristy Midwest area. My husband had the bone in pork chop and loved it! I ordered the fish daily special, which later I interpreted to mean - entrees to get rid of old food. The waitress was pleasant, not overly chatty or hovering, which is a good thing. We were there mid week in the dead of summer and there were plenty of available tables, that's really not a good sign. I noticed the next table sent a meal back to the kitchen. In summary, ok good for too much money and a dated interior, but hey it's a water park hotel restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Lobster bisque was to die for!! Best ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lobster bisque was to die for!! Best service I've ever had. The wait staff was fantastic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of five and we had shrim ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were a group of five and we had shrimp,prime rib, salmon,salads, desert. Fantastic meal

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress was great. Waitress Assistant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Waitress was great. Waitress Assistant was a bit rude. Food was great and nice dinning experience

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I have celebrated her birthd ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated her birthday at Field's for the last 8 or 9 years and have always been rewarded with a special evening. All aspects of the occasion were exemplary - the food, drinks, service, and ambiance to name a few. We hope to enjoy this special occasion for many years to come.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our last dinner before leaving ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was our last dinner before leaving the Dells and I must say my husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves! The only reason why I didn't give this restaurant 5 stars, I found plastic in my spinach salad. The manager did come over right away to apologize, but I was also looking for a complimentary "something" or a small percentage off. Although a mistake, plastic shouldn't be in food. Our waitress was extremely nice, so no complaints there.

To sum it up, would I come back? Absolutely. Way better than Double Cut at Kalahari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been there as a couple and with ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been there as a couple and with a large group. Always fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely place

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This quiet restaurant has wonderful architecture and great food and service. Bring as sweater, as it can be chilly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST FOOD I'VE EVER HAD!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Will never go to Wisconsin Dells without making sure we eat at Field's. Hands down best food around!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and drinks were superb. The lo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The meal and drinks were superb. The lobster bisque was very favorful. The service was impeccable. We will definitely dine at Field's again.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner was great and our service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our dinner was great and our service was perfect. We always have a great experience at Fields.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality Dells dining

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for one of our first dates, and we just returned to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary! Every time we come the service is phenomenal. The waitstaff is attentive, fast, and non-intrusive. The food is always done perfectly. Would definitely recommend if you are in the Dells area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lobster bisque was the best I have e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The lobster bisque was the best I have ever eaten.. Expensive, but you get what you pay for!!

Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! The steak was one of ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience! The steak was one of the best ever! Great chefs!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's on the expensive side for most fami ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It's on the expensive side for most families coming to the Dells to play at the waterparks. Our group of 4 adults were happy to find upscale dining in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Fields with the whole family (wi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Went to Fields with the whole family (wife and 3 daughters) and was greatly disappointed. The facility is pretty nice, but the food was mediocre at best, and considering that it is so pricey, I might even call it poor. Most of the food was slightly over cooked. And by the time we got to the end of the meal, service was non-existent. It seemed like we were completely abandoned by our server, and it took forever to wrap up desert and pay for the meal. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great service and amazing food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our server was extremely professional and did a great job on recommending what to order. I had the filet and it was cooked perfectly to order. They have a wonderful wine list. We always ask for a table by the window so we can overlook the fountain outside. Every time we come to WI Dells we always go to Field's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This reservation was for my son and his ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This reservation was for my son and his friends for the prom special and it was just that...special. They all felt very grown up and that the night was great. They all loved the food and one of the girls needed gluten free options and they were more then happy to accomidate her. Thanks again for making a memorable evening even better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dells Landmark

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Whether you're staying at the Wilderness Resort or just dropping by for dinner Field's is always a popular spot for locals and visitors alike. You can always count on a good selection of food and wonderful preparation and presentation. Robert John at the bar is your host and amazingly seems to know almost everyone who stops in and if he doesn't know you, he will by the end of the evening.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food wasn't very good especially for the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food wasn't very good especially for the price. Since the first time we were there to this last time it seems to be going down hill. The decor hasn't changed in years. The only thing that has remained the same that should never change is the amazing service. That said I'm not sure if be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

very nice except my husband, Stan thought it was

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

only thing Stan thought was wrong was the fact we couldn't use our gift card monetary amount to put towards the tip in addition for the food items. Money was paid in full for the gift card amt and should be allowed to use all of card monies for whatever since cash was used to purchase gift card in the first place. Foods, service, etc were all perfect would recommend for exquisite dining and drinks!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going to Fields a couple of ti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Have been going to Fields a couple of times a year since they opened, Food has always been consistent and people are friendly and to not rush you through. Very enjoyable and one of my favorite places to eat. We drove over an hour to go there to eat and drive home.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Review

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was just OK and overpriced for what it was.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant is absolutely the finest ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

This restaurant is absolutely the finest restaurant in the dells! I highly recommend this place. The service was phenomenal, they even have a great kids menu that is not just a cheap afterthought! We will always eat here when we are in the dells :) !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Fields was fantastic. Everything was great from the welcoming to the end. Hostess was pleasant and friendly. Servers and our waiter were on top of everything and it was timed perfectly from course to course. Food was in believable. The steaks were prepared masterfully and flavor was incredible. I will definitely recommend them to friends and family

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another Great Experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We are a couple of 20 years that has been to the Dells, usually with our children, countless times over the past 25 years. We have been to Field's several times and always look forward to returning again in the future. They always have excellent food and make us feel very comfortable, whether we're dining alone or with our children. This time was no different except for one thing. We over-indulged a bit and went out the night before in Milwaukee to a famous steakhouse that has a reputation of being one of if not "the" best in Milwaukee. We had a good meal there but realized that the steaks at Fields cost a bit more but were well worth it and were much better. My wife's bone-in tenderloin was excellent and my dry-aged New York was very flavorful as well. And as usual, they were both cooked to perfection. The salads, potatoes and vegetables were also very well prepared and the service was second to none. We are heading back to the Dells at the end of April and have already decided, in agreement with our children, that we will be returning to Field's at the Wilderness!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disapointed

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had dined her prior and had an amazing experience. Choose to dine on Easter Sunday for a late lunch. They had specials for the day. All of our party ordered from the Special menu. That is just it there was nothing special about it. No one our party was happy with there meal. My husband ordered the lamb shank and was super disappointed. Not what we had come to expect from Fields. Not sure if it was due to the holiday or just an off day. But again very disappointed with such an amazing place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Decent for the Dells

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

This was our second time at Field's. The first was more than a decade ago. Although the food wasn't as good as I recalled, considering the other options in the Dells it's still worth going to for a break from the junk served at the resorts.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for a birthday/ date night. 8pm res ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Went for a birthday/ date night. 8pm reservation, prompt seating. . Prime and bone-in ribeye were overcooked and little flavor. Same with the "sautéed mushrooms." The salads were delicious. Service spectacular.

The ambiance was wonderful.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place for a nice dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We had a group business dinner at this location. The dells is a very family friendly area but not very many upscale places for a business event. This place was perfect. Great food and service and an amazing wine list. We were there "off season" so had no problems getting in mid-week. Not sure how busy they are during peak season.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great dinner. Family enjoyed. Helpful service for grandkids. Pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is outstanding. The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food and service is outstanding. They you use a team approach to service which assures that someone is always attending to your needs. The water and wine glasses are always full, and plates rapidly cleaned from table. Wine list is excellent. We eat here frequently and rarely go else where because quality is very hard to beat. We recommend Field's to friends and family all the time and they are never dissappointed. Prices are relatively high but you certainly get what you pay consistently.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelieveble

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was cooked to absolute perfection, service was great, ambience and architecture is stunning. I cannot say enough about the dining experience my wife and I had here. I will make a point to eat here whenever I am in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I took my girlfriend to Fields for our first Valentines day, and back for our second. The food, the service, and the ambiance are truly excellent. We are both looking forward to our next dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I wanted to take my wife somwhere different this year for valentines day. The Field of Dreams was a beautiful place. They had sombody playing the paino there that night while we were eating dinner. Every time you leave the table they refold your napkin and always makes sure your water is full. I would recommend this place to almost anyone who would want to go check out a nice place for dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good, but not excellent...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Although we enjoyed our experience at Field's, it didn't really live up to our expectations. Having dined recently at the Del Bar (another OpenTable restaurant that is nearby). we would have to give the nod to the Del Bar. Both offer escargot appetizers, however, the one at Field's was overwhelmed by the puff pastry "coffin" that the small number of snails were encased in, whereas the ones at the Del Bar were served in the traditional escargot dish with just a dot of puff pastry on the top of each. Thumbs up Del Bar! Our entrees-- a seafood medley for me and veal piccata for my hubby-- were cooked to perfection although the piccata was served in a mushroom gravy rather than the typical caper/white wine/lemon sauce that is traditional... Our waitress warned us about the piccata sauce in advance, so we weren't caught out by it, but why couldn't they call it something else to not confuse diners familiar with the traditional? For dessert we chose Le Bête Noir, a dark chocolate "cake" (aka fudge...) which was so dense that it couldn't be managed by the two of us. Delicious, but too large and too rich. In terms of service, we had to keep reminding the staff to bring us our drinks--annoying when the food has been delivered but the drinks have not! The service at the Del Bar flowed seamlessly, hence our disappointment with Field's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.