Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Field's at the Wilderness

Celebrate the art of fine dining in Frank Lloyd Wright style. Designed by James Dresser, the most celebrated protege of Frank Lloyd Wright. Field's at the Wilderness offers a menu with the highest standards in fine dining. Our menu features American cuisine with an emphasis on great steaks, chops, fresh grilled seafood. Also from the wood burning oven...appetizers, gourmet pizzas, and quesadillas. Savor remarkable cuisine in an intimate atmosphere surrounded by stone-hearth fireplaces, waterfalls, and an exhibition kitchen. Toast to the good life with selections from our extensive award-winning wine list.

511 East Adams Street
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: Open 4:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 253-1400

Website:
http://www.fieldsatthewilderness.com/

Entertainment:
Piano bar

Executive Chef:
Tim Field

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for groups of 8, 12, 24, 50 and 80 are available. Semi-private parties of up to 130 can be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Hasheider : (608) 253-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Field's at the Wilderness Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Scenic View (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Waterfront (5)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Amazing! Can't say enough good about it! We ate there 2 and always come back when in the Dells!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I enjoyed my steak, the service was slooow. It took 20 min. after I ate my last bite to flag down my server, but by that time I was too aggrevated to order a dessert. My whole family was constantly asking, when is a server going to be here. Too bad because lobster bisque and bone-in filet were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious birthday dinner! Our family of 5 was staying at the Wilderness and chose Fields for dinner. This was our 3rd time eating at Fields and we've enjoyed it every time! Great service and delicious food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was delicious and hot. Friendly attentive staff. Love the decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

SERVICE!!! Absolutely Wonderful! The hostess and waitresses seemed to glide across the floor effortlessly. There was an aura of relaxation present at all times. No one looked rushed but the wait staff was right there for you the minute you needed anything at all. They were all very friendly and treated us like millionaires!
FOOD: We had the prime rib, It was extremely flavorful and cooked to perfection! My wife raved about the "Twice baked potato" that she ordered as a side dish to her prime rib!
ATMOSPHERE: Very relaxed feeling. We were on the upper level which is just a few stairs up, and out the front window was a pond with a really pretty fountain in the middle. Bear in mind, It was a Monday evening when we went, I can imagine the weekends are quite a bit busier, but all I can say was It was a very calm, relaxed atmosphere!
Price: Some people might say that the price is on the higher side. I say you get what you pay for! My wife and I had the prime rib choice of potato and a soda. Our bill was around $88. The food and the service was well worth the price. I forgot to mention. They do have a kids menu as well. The prices are no different than what you would expect topay at any other "sit-down" restaurant.
In closing: If your looking for a higher end restaurant with really good food and amazing service check this place out! My wife and I have been there twice now and it has become a staple of our Wisconsin Dell's vacation!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As ways, the food was fabulous! And the Lobster Bisque was eccellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was good, service was great and atmosphere was pleasent. It took a while for food to come out, not to bad.
The bill was a bit pricey but we were celebrating out 41st Anniversary.
Overall I would recommend as as fine place to enjoy a special night of dining.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Always enjoy the dining experience. The service was attentive. Our steaks were ordered medium rare but were more medium to medium well, but still tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service. Group of 10, and gave us a private room. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Good place for a special date. Prices are a bit on the high side, but it is a high-class steak house. Food was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

When we are in the Dells, we always have a great dinner at Fields. The food is delicious and the service is always good. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 10, 2017

A dinner for two and my date drank water and I had 1 beer. Our bill was over $100. We had about three different servers for our hour long dinner. Way overpriced for just dinner if you ask me. And all the different servers approaching makes things a bit confusing. Food was mediocre for the prices they were charging. Most likely will not be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is the second time we have be at the Fields and not disappointed! We come here when on vacation with our two sons who are 12 and 6. It's a great and welcoming atmosphere for everyone. We dressed casually and didn't feel out of place. Food was delicious! Service was amazing. Sometimes in nicer places the wait staff doesn't pay close attention to the kids just the adults. At Field's our kids were also noticed and talked to as much as us. The steak makes even our kid who only eats chicken nuggets chow down. We will be back. Thanks Field's for giving us a grown up night out even on vacation with the kids!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My young adult Daughter & I were having a girls' getaway prior to her leaving for college. This was our "special dinner out", and we loved it! A good example for her as to what FINE DINING is all about!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food didn't taste good. Very disappointing for much much the bill was. Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This resteeraunt was spectacular. We had amazing food, great service and we're more than happy with the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I ordered the Prime Rib as it was recommended by the waiter. I ordered it to come out medium rare. The steak came out and it was well done. I asked for a new cut prepared to medium rare. The manager came out and informed me they only cook their prime rib to this temp and would not be able to get me a more rare cut. Very disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service was very good. Always had a full glass of water and was asked if we wanted more bread. The live piano/singing was nice as well. Food was also very good. I wish the steak was seasoned though. We didn't get any of the special toppings (for an additional charge). Had to add salt and pepper for added flavor. Server should have asked us to cut our steaks before leaving the table, as most steak places do. Also would be nice if they offered mashed or smashed potatoes instead of just fries (weren't that good), twice baked (very good), or baked potato (didn't order). If you ask for a Caesar salad instead of their spinach or garden option, you will be charged an additional $7. Dressing on salads was minimal and didn't taste like the ranch that we are used to. My kids didn't care for the variety of different colored lettuce leaves that they are typically served elsewhere. All in all a nice place to eat with good atmosphere, clean, and friendly staff. We all said we prefer a Ruth's Chris any day, but if you're traveling in the area and want something pretty comparable, this should do the trick.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great steak joint in the Dells. The food was excellent, service was really top notch and the wine menu was very good. Far more than I expected from the Dells and a restaurant just outside a water park. We'll go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was pretty good. Service was an issue. We had 3 different servers. Once hostess seated us a nice lady came and took our drink order and read us specials. Then another man came and took our order. That was the last we saw if him. At least 4 people came back to serve our dinner. Drinks were never refilled I had to ask 2 different people for a new drink after mine had been gone for awhile. Those two people stood off to the side following my request and yet another new face brought my drink after a long wait(at this point I was finished eating). Par for the corse yet another man brought the check. It was the most odd dinning experience I have ever had, especially for a fine dinning restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Would not have needed reservation as place was almost empty! Too many waitstaff. Very very pricey. Good food. Our guest was disappointed that prime rib was not available. Salad dressing cleverly hidden under the salad, waitress neglected to tell us that. This would be a place for a very special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday recently. Am I glad I did! The food was excellent, the waitresses treat you like royalty, and the outdoor scenery provided a beautiful backdrop to celebrate the occasion. Great place to take a significant other for a romantic date!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent place to eat. Would recommend anyone visiting the Wisconsin Dells to go to Fields.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The view from the bar is lush with greenery. The owner,Robert, is a fantastic host and conversationalist, the wait staff are extremely attentive, the glassware sparkles like diamonds, the wine list is second to none, and the food presentation and taste will keep you coming back. Field's is a place where the adults feel as pampered as their kids while enjoying the vacation experience in Wisconsin Dells. Truly, the definition of a five star restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was great , we came for Fathers day on Friday because you only had a Mothers Day special nothing for Fathers day ? And Friday is locals day and being retired we can afford that great prime rib .
This time wasn't to good . They sat a couple next to us and they were drunk . Should of put them away from people . The hostess had to see them because they came from your bar and she seated them. She was loud and yelled at him all night . Should have put them in a table away from people . Ruined our night out .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Field's is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. Great food and service. Highly recommend saving room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is the fourth time I have dined at Fields at the Wilderness and I have never been disappointed. The steaks are amazing and the lobster bisque is so good. The wait staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were staying at the Wilderness Resort, and had a discount coupon. We read some mixed reviews, but decided to take a chance and try Fields.

Our experience was that every positive comment was spot-on, and any negative comments (under-age staff, unsmiling service, cold food) were the polar opposite of our experience. Reviews and my own tastes led me to order the lobster bisque and wilderness salad, both of which were generous and made a very satisfying meal. I ordered the "black beast" (can't recall the French translation) for dessert, and it was heavenly and too rich to finish. My husband was equally pleased with his meal.

Whether or not you have a coupon, this restaurant is absolutely a delightful place for a special meal. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was exquisitely prepared. Wait staff were very attentive. Drinks were great. Ambiance was wonderful. Our favorite place to eat while in the dells

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love your Locals Menu . We are seniors and that is worth it . Great prime Rib at a affordable price for us . It is nice of you to give back to the community .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Fields at the Wilderness. A little secret for those who love vegetables. They offer a wonderful vegetarian fettuccine dish that is not on the menu but if you ask for it they will gladly make it.
I cannot get anything like it anywhere I've ever been.
Everyone that works there is polite, friendly, and very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and great service. Food was very good, especially the tenderloin steak. It was very pricey, but at least the price included sides (unlike the local chop house). Overall, very pleasant experience. Would consider going back for another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was disappointed, my son took his date here for prom and the only menu they were given was the prom menu. He didn't know any better and thought that is only what you offered. It would have been nice for them to get the actual menu along with the special prom menu as that is why we picked this restaurant was for the food and not just to be given 4 meal options. I wanted them to pick whatever they wanted to eat as I was paying for a special evening at a very nice restaurant. They had to go elsewhere for dessert because they said you didn't offer it on the "prom" menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I have been yelping for five years and reviewed your restaurant last year.

You have the finest restaurant within 50 miles. Food, service , ambiance . Cannot be beaten.

This is definitely a distination restaurant ... no casual dinning here.

I cannot stress enough what a fine operation you have here, however you prices are extremely high ( I think it's worth every penny).

So in closing when we save enough pennies we will return!

Ps. Had the ribeye and my lady had the salmon

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

a couple times a year I like taking my wife here or sometimes we will invite friends to dine with us because we have never been disappointed with meal or service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had dinner here while on vacation in Wisconsin Dells. The was excellent and the service was outstanding. We will definitely be returning in July!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fantastic as always. We've been going to fields for years, best steakhouse in the region without exception.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My family and I were delighted with our meals cooked to perfection. Our server was very patient, courteous and attentive to our needs. He made us feel welcome at all times. Thank you so much for everything.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went there for a birthday celebration with family. Food & service was excellent & def will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was ok and was very expensive. We had kids with us and they put us in a private room which was nice but we did not feel like we were dining in a nice restaurant because we were surrounded by 4 walls and it felt like an office meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.