Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

The Fig Tree RestaurantThe Fig Tree Restaurant
(1772)
$$$$
Continental | Elizabeth, Charlotte
Booked 16 times today
CustomshopCustomshop
(679)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Elizabeth, Charlotte
Booked 34 times today
Pure PizzaPure Pizza
(5)
$$$$
Pizzeria | Plaza Midwood, Charlotte
Passion8Passion8
(238)
$$$$
American | Elizabeth, Charlotte
Booked 15 times today
Vivace - CharlotteVivace - Charlotte
(1375)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown, Charlotte
Booked 25 times today
Carpe Diem RestaurantCarpe Diem Restaurant
(1326)
$$$$
American | Elizabeth, Charlotte
Booked 21 times today
1900 Mexican Grill- Elizabeth Avenue1900 Mexican Grill- Elizabeth Avenue
(39)
$$$$
Mexican | Elizabeth, Charlotte
Booked 4 times today
Dressler's - CharlotteDressler's - Charlotte
(2120)
$$$$
American | Midtown, Charlotte
Booked 21 times today
Mama Ricotta'sMama Ricotta's
(1544)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown, Charlotte
Booked 45 times today
Aix en ProvenceAix en Provence
(181)
$$$$
French | Myers Park, Charlotte
Booked 13 times today
Pisces Sushi Bar & LoungePisces Sushi Bar & Lounge
(270)
$$$$
Sushi | Midtown, Charlotte
Booked 18 times today
Evoke - CharlotteEvoke - Charlotte
(110)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 3 times today
Social Bar & Kitchen - Sheraton CharlotteSocial Bar & Kitchen - Sheraton Charlotte
(3)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Uptown, Charlotte
Fahrenheit - CharlotteFahrenheit - Charlotte
(1384)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 52 times today
NoCA UptownNoCA Uptown
(7)
$$$$
French American | Uptown, Charlotte

About Fern, Flavors From the Garden

1323 Central Ave
Charlotte, NC 28205
View Larger Map

Fern, Flavors from the Garden is a vegetarian restaurant offering a diverse collection of satisfying, seasonal fare. Featuring locally grown produce and plenty of vegan options, Chef Matthew Martin's comforting and ingredient driven menus are sure to please palates from vegan to omnivore.
Please Note: Saturday and Sunday Brunch service is first come, first served. Have a large group? Give us a call! Due to space restrictions online reservations are limited to parties of no more than 6.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Clement Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 377-1825

Website:
http://www.fernflavors.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Martin

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
67 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My boyfriend and I were in Charlotte for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I were in Charlotte for the day from Greenville, SC. We were in the mood for a vegetarian meal and when we asked for a recommendation for a good vegetarian restaurant, we were told we had to go to Fern! The meal was delicious– We will be back! I wish I could remember our servers name, I think it was Amir. He was very kind and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Birthday Meal

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mom here for her birthday and she loved it. We enjoyed everything from the cucumber water, delicious dishes to the artsy atmosphere. The food at Fern is a thumbs up from vegetarians and our carnivorous friends.

The only downside is the PARKING. Fern has a small parking lot and the rest of Plaza-Midwood parking is horrible. There is some free parking but if you aren't lucky to find a spot there, you might have to pay to park. This isn't Fern's fault. It is just an unfortunate fact with Plaza-Midwood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The freshness of the dishes and the flav ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2016

The freshness of the dishes and the flavors were amazing. The service was really fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible, incredible, incredible.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2016

My fiance and I went to Fern for his birthday, and it was incredible! I had gone once before with a group and had been thoroughly impressed with the food, and this time did not disappoint! The pimento cheese app was out of this world, and our entrees were delicious. We shared the chocolate cashew custard for dessert, and it was perfect. Romantic atmosphere, great service, and the best vegan food that could fool any carnivore. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list needs a complete makeover. Ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Wine list needs a complete makeover. Service was good and friendly. Food was okay. Maybe we ordered the wrong things. Either way, we'll try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Best vegetarian food in Charlotte

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 1, 2016

I have eaten at a lot of great vegetarian restaurants in North Carolina and Fern is one of the best. The menu changes often to use in-season ingredients, the plating is deliberate and elegant (even if you are getting a big bowl of beans, expect it to be beautiful).

I think Fern has a lot for non-vegetarians as well despite not having any meat dishes - the appetizers are excellent and most of the dishes do not rely on meat-substitutes and would satisfy non-vegetarians and vegetarians alike.

Brunch is fantastic and has some great vegetarian specific things like "chicken" and waffles, but also brunch staples like pancakes and biscuits and gravy (with eggs, but no meat in the gravy).

Taking into account quality, price, ambiance, convenience and service, I consider Fern the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy Vegetarian Date Night

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Our experience at Fern was overall worth the trip. We were passing through Charlotte and decided to stop for dinner.

We enjoyed an incredible meal. My husband had the tempeh with potatoes, and I enjoyed the bolognese with zucchini noodles. For dessert, we split a giant slice of carrot cake. The cucumber water is refreshing, the environment is fresh but warm, and the food is delicious.

Parking is a little tough, but it's absolutely expected in a metropolitan area. The only complaint is overhearing our server and another server arguing over who was going to serve our table!

Otherwise, the evening was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Bland and expensive.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Bland and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Lovely spot for lunch, dinner or special event!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We always count Fern as one of the Queen City's best vegan/vegetarian restaurants, and we're always confident when taking friends there for the first time. The food is excellent, service usually excellent, and the drink options are excellent. Now...add to this that my husband and I just went for their special Valentine's prix fixe menu, and it was--hands down--our best meal there yet! Our waiter, Amir, was incredibly pleasant and fun as always, and he had some stellar recommendations for us to consider. The lentil dish I had was unbelievable, and their attention to detail was fantastic. (E.g., the teensy bit of crystallized thyme on the intermezzo spoon made all the rest of the flavors burst, and just the tiniest hint of cayenne in the chocolate pots de creme gave depth to a treat that was already swoon-worthy.) Thanks for continuing to get better and better, Chef Matt and team! We're so glad to have you in Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As a vegan, it's an incredible feeling t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2016

As a vegan, it's an incredible feeling to visit a restaurant with so many amazing choices. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, well presented, eclectic ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Wonderful food, well presented, eclectic and customizable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i love this place.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Tables are great, the quality of food is great, there are vegan options, there are local options; The atmosphere is great, it's quiet and refined, the portions were ample, not overpriced, attention to detail: cucumber water... need I say more? if you are even remotely interested, give it a shot. You will not regret it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best vegetarian food we have eaten out. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Best vegetarian food we have eaten out. Server was not my taste, but okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very nice

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Food was fresh. Place was clean and attractive. Service was good and very friendly. Helpful with menu. A good find for vegetarians. Would go back. They were very accommodating .

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2015

Very great food, awesome presentation. Great gluten-free options

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Vegan restaurant

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2015

This place doesn't look like much from the outside but the food and service were great. I am new to a vegan diet so still a little leery of my veggies being able to "wow" me but this place pulled it off. "Wow", was what I kept exclaiming as I tried each dish. Thanks Fern for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent meal. I'm the furthest thing f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Excellent meal. I'm the furthest thing from a vegetarian and made a reservation for my vegetarian friend, who'd been wanting to try Fern. The food was excellent... I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Loved this vegetarian restaurant on a recent weekend trip to Charlotte. Cute place, nice menu, good food, flexibility with kids. We had a great meal and would return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We need more restaurants like these

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2015

I love that Fern is a veg restaurant and I wish more places would follow suit. I recently began to mostly plant based so I've been exploring which places would accommodate this type of eating. There aren't many in the Charlotte area, but this one came highly recommended. I've been here once for dinner and once for lunch. As to the spaghetti and meatballs it was a lot of food and the meatballs were gummy. There was something about the texture that turned me off. After the meal I asked what they were made of and unfortunately they contained a small amount of Panko bread crumbs. It was surprising the meatballs were not homemade and this Panko has gluten and other ingredients that upset my stomach. So unfortunately that meal did not sit well. For lunch almost 2 months later I had a salad with marinated tofu and the cauliflower appetizer, again huge portions. Being new at this thought I'd give tofu a try. I guess I don't care for (their?) tofu which came in big and numerous blocks and lacked flavor. The cauliflower, though a little overpowered by the thick tomato sauce, was delicious. My friend ordered the bean burger and it was dry but tasty and she could not finish the quinoa which I took home and enjoyed very much the next day. I cut up the leftover tofu and added it to a bean salad I made and it was a good meal. Thank you Fern for not over-salting the food. Most restaurants in this area seem to lay on the salt to the point where the food doesn't taste like food anymore.

The ambiance is very laid back but nice with ferns growing on the wall and interesting lighting. One male server was abrupt but Susan, the owner, came by our table and she's a gem. She was really excited about me becoming a veg and encouraged me to return since their menu changes based on season. I will keep returning to figure out what is enjoyable to eat. I give them 5 stars alone for the fact this is a veg restaurant. Thank you for providing this and I'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food great, restaurant is just a bit too small

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 17, 2015

For a vegetarian place, this was surprisingly very good. Dishes were creative and not just "a salad". Service also was good.

The only problem is the place is very small and we had a table that was literally right next to the door. Every time someone came or went, we got a blast of hot air which was not comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Must Try Vegetarian Restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2015

Besides the parking lot having few spaces to park, the indoor decor was beautiful. The customer service was excellent and the food service was quick. I had the Sweet Potato Tikka Masala dish and the serving size can serve 2 people. My husband had the Laughing Buddha Bowl. He enjoyed it. Overall, I enjoyed the food and ambiance of the restaurant and will return and tell others.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm so glad that I searched for a vegan restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2015

I loved the food. I loved the atmosphere. I will be back. This restaurant is an awesome find! I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs--LOVED IT! This place is my new favorite eatery. I will return. The chef has magic hands with food preparation and he is my new favorite cook!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not so hot

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2015

No vegetarian here, I went when it first opened and was surprised and delighted at the savoriness of the dishes, the freshness and high quality of ingredients. This time--not so much. The kale salad had old, tired (and too big) leaves of the vegetable in it . The Buddha bowl tasted like dishwater. The most interesting dishes remembered from the first visit were gone from the menu. We all left our meals unfinished and went away disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Casual neighborhood gem

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2015

Very nice menu and food is excellent. Ambiance leaves a bit to be desired if looking for a nice restaurant. Casual, friendly, and healthy food at very reasonable prices. Not crowded, so no noise besides good background music at low volume. We had a nice dinner and good conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The entire staff is terrific. Monique in ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 9, 2015

The entire staff is terrific. Monique in particular is terrific with any special needs or requests. We love Fern.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just try it!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2015

My hubby is a meat-a-holic, but has ventured into trying new things...and, thanK goodness. We got the black bean burger and the carrot cake with Chai frosting. and they were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We had the Valentine's Day special which allowed us to try several different items innovatively created for a unique dining experience. I had the Portobello mushroom steak on a bed of potatoes and brussels sprouts which was excellent. The pistachio cake for dessert was stunning and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2015

My wife and I went to Fern for Valentines day. The service was wonderful and the food was absolutely delicious!!!! We will be going back again...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2015

We moved to the area 2 years ago and this is the best vegetarian cousin restaurant we have found so far. We were there Valentines weekend and they had a set menu that looked great but seemed a bit too much food for us so we ordered off the regular menu which was great. The wine selections to accompany the meal we hat were just fascistic. We will be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Food!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Fern had a really great menu, perfect for vegetarian and vegan people. Their shepherd's pie was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best vegan restaurant in Charlotte

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2015

Since we became vegans over 2 years ago, it's been a battle trying to find a restaurant with really good food we can eat. Fern definitely is one of the few and it's a really good one. It's a very simple place with sort of a spartan yet charming ambiance. It's quiet so carrying on a conversation with your dining partner is easy. The food is really fresh and very tasty. We really liked the Sticky Cauliflower appetizer. Our entrees were very good as well. The wine list is good and many flavorful beers are available as well. They don't have much in the way of draft beers - the draft porter they had was a bit to heavy for me. But the overall experience is great. The prices are very reasonable considering the quality of the cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2015

This is our now our go to spot in Plaza-Midwood and we love the seasonal menu changes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A go-to delight

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2015

My husband and I have switched to a plant-based diet and he eats an oil free diet. Fern is a reliably good restaurant and they do their best to accommodate his diet. I appreciate how thoughtful the service is. The most important thing is, of course, the food and it is terrific. From the "Reuben" to the Buddha Bowl, warm kale salad and ridiculously decadent chocolate/peanut butter desert, there are simply no false notes here. I think, between us, we've had almost everything on the menu (that changes regularly to capitalize on what's fresh and local). We are never disappointed. Even if one is not a vegetarian or vegan, the food, ambiance and service make Fern a "go-to" dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Atmosphere

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2015

Eating healthier is easy at Fern. The food and the service were excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2014

Cute atmospher with delicious food and great service. I'll be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Vegan Gem

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 1, 2014

Who knew vegan food could taste this good? 2nd time here and on both occasions, food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Birthday Present

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2014

I surprised my wife by taking her to Fern. I had read great things online and thought we would try them. The food was wonderful so delicious. We are not vegatarians, but if we could eat like this everyday we would be. The staff was so very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experiene at Fern

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 30, 2014

The overall experience of our first dinner at Fern was excellent. The service was outstanding, the room tho' smallish was very welcoming and comfortable, and most importantly, the food was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Vegetarian

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2014

Good food and good service. Nice presentation. Even this meat eater left full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a winner

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 21, 2014

Fern never fails to disappoint. I am not a vegan or a vegetarian but I always can find something good here. Nice part is the menu changes based on what they can source locally. Love to eat at a locally owned restaurant that believes in farm to table!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.