Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Fern, Flavors From the Garden

4.4
70 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Vegetarian / Vegan
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Fern, Flavors From the Garden in Charlotte, North Carolina specializes in serving vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and organic cuisine. The restaurant features a funky and chic setting and offers a casual dining experience.

Fern, Flavors From the Garden serves lunch and dinner six days a week and features an assortment of starters, salads, sandwiches, flatbreads, entrées and sides. Starter and salad options at the restaurant include noshes, Buffalo cauliflower, fig flatbread and Mexican quinoa salad. Entrées featured at Fern, Flavors From the Garden include laughing Buddha bowl, seitan steak, risotto, raw pesto pasta, black bean burger, pesto panini and coconut tofu.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Mondays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 377-1825
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthew Martin
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Clement Ave.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 70 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I were in Charlotte for the day from Greenville, SC. We were in the mood for a vegetarian meal and when we asked for a recommendation for a good vegetarian restaurant, we were told we had to go to Fern! The meal was delicious– We will be back! I wish I could remember our servers name, I think it was Amir. He was very kind and helpful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mom here for her birthday and she loved it. We enjoyed everything from the cucumber water, delicious dishes to the artsy atmosphere. The food at Fern is a thumbs up from vegetarians and our carnivorous friends.

The only downside is the PARKING. Fern has a small parking lot and the rest of Plaza-Midwood parking is horrible. There is some free parking but if you aren't lucky to find a spot there, you might have to pay to park. This isn't Fern's fault. It is just an unfortunate fact with Plaza-Midwood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2016

The freshness of the dishes and the flavors were amazing. The service was really fast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2016

My fiance and I went to Fern for his birthday, and it was incredible! I had gone once before with a group and had been thoroughly impressed with the food, and this time did not disappoint! The pimento cheese app was out of this world, and our entrees were delicious. We shared the chocolate cashew custard for dessert, and it was perfect. Romantic atmosphere, great service, and the best vegan food that could fool any carnivore. We will be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2016

Great service and food! Can't give a 5 star because they don't have the cucumber water anymore :(

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Wine list needs a complete makeover. Service was good and friendly. Food was okay. Maybe we ordered the wrong things. Either way, we'll try again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2016

I have eaten at a lot of great vegetarian restaurants in North Carolina and Fern is one of the best. The menu changes often to use in-season ingredients, the plating is deliberate and elegant (even if you are getting a big bowl of beans, expect it to be beautiful).

I think Fern has a lot for non-vegetarians as well despite not having any meat dishes - the appetizers are excellent and most of the dishes do not rely on meat-substitutes and would satisfy non-vegetarians and vegetarians alike.

Brunch is fantastic and has some great vegetarian specific things like "chicken" and waffles, but also brunch staples like pancakes and biscuits and gravy (with eggs, but no meat in the gravy).

Taking into account quality, price, ambiance, convenience and service, I consider Fern the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2016

Our experience at Fern was overall worth the trip. We were passing through Charlotte and decided to stop for dinner.

We enjoyed an incredible meal. My husband had the tempeh with potatoes, and I enjoyed the bolognese with zucchini noodles. For dessert, we split a giant slice of carrot cake. The cucumber water is refreshing, the environment is fresh but warm, and the food is delicious.

Parking is a little tough, but it's absolutely expected in a metropolitan area. The only complaint is overhearing our server and another server arguing over who was going to serve our table!

Otherwise, the evening was incredible.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 19, 2016

Bland and expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

We always count Fern as one of the Queen City's best vegan/vegetarian restaurants, and we're always confident when taking friends there for the first time. The food is excellent, service usually excellent, and the drink options are excellent. Now...add to this that my husband and I just went for their special Valentine's prix fixe menu, and it was--hands down--our best meal there yet! Our waiter, Amir, was incredibly pleasant and fun as always, and he had some stellar recommendations for us to consider. The lentil dish I had was unbelievable, and their attention to detail was fantastic. (E.g., the teensy bit of crystallized thyme on the intermezzo spoon made all the rest of the flavors burst, and just the tiniest hint of cayenne in the chocolate pots de creme gave depth to a treat that was already swoon-worthy.) Thanks for continuing to get better and better, Chef Matt and team! We're so glad to have you in Charlotte.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2016

As a vegan, it's an incredible feeling to visit a restaurant with so many amazing choices. I will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Wonderful food, well presented, eclectic and customizable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2016

Tables are great, the quality of food is great, there are vegan options, there are local options; The atmosphere is great, it's quiet and refined, the portions were ample, not overpriced, attention to detail: cucumber water... need I say more? if you are even remotely interested, give it a shot. You will not regret it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2016

Best vegetarian food we have eaten out. Server was not my taste, but okay.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2015

Food was fresh. Place was clean and attractive. Service was good and very friendly. Helpful with menu. A good find for vegetarians. Would go back. They were very accommodating .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2015

Very great food, awesome presentation. Great gluten-free options

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2015

This place doesn't look like much from the outside but the food and service were great. I am new to a vegan diet so still a little leery of my veggies being able to "wow" me but this place pulled it off. "Wow", was what I kept exclaiming as I tried each dish. Thanks Fern for a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2015

Excellent meal. I'm the furthest thing from a vegetarian and made a reservation for my vegetarian friend, who'd been wanting to try Fern. The food was excellent... I loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2015

Loved this vegetarian restaurant on a recent weekend trip to Charlotte. Cute place, nice menu, good food, flexibility with kids. We had a great meal and would return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2015

I love that Fern is a veg restaurant and I wish more places would follow suit. I recently began to mostly plant based so I've been exploring which places would accommodate this type of eating. There aren't many in the Charlotte area, but this one came highly recommended. I've been here once for dinner and once for lunch. As to the spaghetti and meatballs it was a lot of food and the meatballs were gummy. There was something about the texture that turned me off. After the meal I asked what they were made of and unfortunately they contained a small amount of Panko bread crumbs. It was surprising the meatballs were not homemade and this Panko has gluten and other ingredients that upset my stomach. So unfortunately that meal did not sit well. For lunch almost 2 months later I had a salad with marinated tofu and the cauliflower appetizer, again huge portions. Being new at this thought I'd give tofu a try. I guess I don't care for (their?) tofu which came in big and numerous blocks and lacked flavor. The cauliflower, though a little overpowered by the thick tomato sauce, was delicious. My friend ordered the bean burger and it was dry but tasty and she could not finish the quinoa which I took home and enjoyed very much the next day. I cut up the leftover tofu and added it to a bean salad I made and it was a good meal. Thank you Fern for not over-salting the food. Most restaurants in this area seem to lay on the salt to the point where the food doesn't taste like food anymore.

The ambiance is very laid back but nice with ferns growing on the wall and interesting lighting. One male server was abrupt but Susan, the owner, came by our table and she's a gem. She was really excited about me becoming a veg and encouraged me to return since their menu changes based on season. I will keep returning to figure out what is enjoyable to eat. I give them 5 stars alone for the fact this is a veg restaurant. Thank you for providing this and I'll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 17, 2015

For a vegetarian place, this was surprisingly very good. Dishes were creative and not just "a salad". Service also was good.

The only problem is the place is very small and we had a table that was literally right next to the door. Every time someone came or went, we got a blast of hot air which was not comfortable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 10, 2015

Besides the parking lot having few spaces to park, the indoor decor was beautiful. The customer service was excellent and the food service was quick. I had the Sweet Potato Tikka Masala dish and the serving size can serve 2 people. My husband had the Laughing Buddha Bowl. He enjoyed it. Overall, I enjoyed the food and ambiance of the restaurant and will return and tell others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2015

I loved the food. I loved the atmosphere. I will be back. This restaurant is an awesome find! I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs--LOVED IT! This place is my new favorite eatery. I will return. The chef has magic hands with food preparation and he is my new favorite cook!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 24, 2015

No vegetarian here, I went when it first opened and was surprised and delighted at the savoriness of the dishes, the freshness and high quality of ingredients. This time--not so much. The kale salad had old, tired (and too big) leaves of the vegetable in it . The Buddha bowl tasted like dishwater. The most interesting dishes remembered from the first visit were gone from the menu. We all left our meals unfinished and went away disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2015

Very nice menu and food is excellent. Ambiance leaves a bit to be desired if looking for a nice restaurant. Casual, friendly, and healthy food at very reasonable prices. Not crowded, so no noise besides good background music at low volume. We had a nice dinner and good conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2015

The entire staff is terrific. Monique in particular is terrific with any special needs or requests. We love Fern.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2015

My hubby is a meat-a-holic, but has ventured into trying new things...and, thanK goodness. We got the black bean burger and the carrot cake with Chai frosting. and they were amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

We had the Valentine's Day special which allowed us to try several different items innovatively created for a unique dining experience. I had the Portobello mushroom steak on a bed of potatoes and brussels sprouts which was excellent. The pistachio cake for dessert was stunning and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2015

My wife and I went to Fern for Valentines day. The service was wonderful and the food was absolutely delicious!!!! We will be going back again...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2015

We moved to the area 2 years ago and this is the best vegetarian cousin restaurant we have found so far. We were there Valentines weekend and they had a set menu that looked great but seemed a bit too much food for us so we ordered off the regular menu which was great. The wine selections to accompany the meal we hat were just fascistic. We will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 7, 2015

Fern had a really great menu, perfect for vegetarian and vegan people. Their shepherd's pie was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2015

Since we became vegans over 2 years ago, it's been a battle trying to find a restaurant with really good food we can eat. Fern definitely is one of the few and it's a really good one. It's a very simple place with sort of a spartan yet charming ambiance. It's quiet so carrying on a conversation with your dining partner is easy. The food is really fresh and very tasty. We really liked the Sticky Cauliflower appetizer. Our entrees were very good as well. The wine list is good and many flavorful beers are available as well. They don't have much in the way of draft beers - the draft porter they had was a bit to heavy for me. But the overall experience is great. The prices are very reasonable considering the quality of the cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2015

This is our now our go to spot in Plaza-Midwood and we love the seasonal menu changes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2015

My husband and I have switched to a plant-based diet and he eats an oil free diet. Fern is a reliably good restaurant and they do their best to accommodate his diet. I appreciate how thoughtful the service is. The most important thing is, of course, the food and it is terrific. From the "Reuben" to the Buddha Bowl, warm kale salad and ridiculously decadent chocolate/peanut butter desert, there are simply no false notes here. I think, between us, we've had almost everything on the menu (that changes regularly to capitalize on what's fresh and local). We are never disappointed. Even if one is not a vegetarian or vegan, the food, ambiance and service make Fern a "go-to" dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2015

Eating healthier is easy at Fern. The food and the service were excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2014

Cute atmospher with delicious food and great service. I'll be back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 1, 2014

Who knew vegan food could taste this good? 2nd time here and on both occasions, food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 10, 2014

I surprised my wife by taking her to Fern. I had read great things online and thought we would try them. The food was wonderful so delicious. We are not vegatarians, but if we could eat like this everyday we would be. The staff was so very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2014

The overall experience of our first dinner at Fern was excellent. The service was outstanding, the room tho' smallish was very welcoming and comfortable, and most importantly, the food was terrific.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2014

Good food and good service. Nice presentation. Even this meat eater left full.

Report
Helpful
1
2