Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 25.63mi
  1. Distance: 25.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 25.63mi
  1. Distance: 25.63mi

About Fern at St Regis Bahia Beach

Fern combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants with the highest quality meats and freshest local fish and produce available in the market. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Fern dining experience. To compliment the refined flavors from the menu, Fern offers a robust wine selection and handcrafted, classically composed tropical cocktails.

State Road 187 Km. 4.2
Rio Grande, PR 00745
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:

Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Dinner:

Monday- Tuesday & Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 809-8103

Website:
http://www.fernrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Juan Peña

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you're hosting your next board meeting or intimate celebration, Fern's Wine Room provides privacy and elegance for events up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Fatima Bonano: (787) 809-8103

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Fern at St Regis Bahia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Scenic View (7)
Waterfront (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We were staying at the St Regis Bahia after a couOle days in Condado. The restaurant choices were quite limited in the Rio Grande area and especially at the resort. We were beyond pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of the tasting menu at Fern with the wine pairing. About the best preps ed hamachi, octopus and pan fried fish I've eaten ... and that's saying a lot coming from a pescatarian!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had two dinners at fern during our stay at st. Regis. While the Jean Georges restaurants may be a bit better in nyc the meals were pleasurable and the service was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Really the ONLY place to eat at the St. Regis. Service was very slow but the staff was very nice. Our meal was delicious but very pricey. Worth the experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fern was wonderful! This is a restaurant by John Georges and all of his restaurants are fantastic!. It is in a secluded area east of San Juan. The restaurant is on the second floor and overlooks the ocean. The service was great and the food was amazing. We had the tasting menu which came with wine pairing. The wine was the only weak part of the evening- kind of all over the place in flavors. We will put this restaurant on our favorites list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excelente en todo acogedor, la cena exquisita ....!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been here twice, food was great and amazing service. Is expensive but worth it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Never disappoints! Beautiful gardens and decor. Breakfast buffet was assorted and delicious. Two complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary were surely a nice detail. Love coming to Fern.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was a little slow, honestly. We were seated at 8:00 and I believe a waiter didn't come to take our drink orders for at least 15 minutes. We didn't get our entrees until 9:45pm. The food was actually fantastic, though.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The location and ambience was beautiful! The service was awesome! We shared the avocado pizza for an app, which was delicious. Our dinners, the red snapper and grouper, were a let down for how expensive they were. Not much flavor and sooo rich. You also can only get in if you have a reservation and you have to pay someone to watch your car out front. It was all a little to over the top for us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Amazing food and service in a gorgeous location. The views of the ocean are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have dined at Fern on several occasions, it is always a pleasant experience. The menu changes frequently yet the dishes remain outstanding always. You get: food, drink, service, ambiance, view and overall experience. It has it all and you pay for it but it is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Hit and miss.
I've been coming to Fern for years and the past few times I have not been impressed by the food.
The ambiance and service are exceptional.... sadly, it stops there.
There are a few things on the menu which are tasty (hamachi sashimi, ginger rice and beans, avocado pizza and octopus). However, the main course dishes (pork and chicken) were not our favorites. The pork was dry and the chicken was rubbery (the texture was like a rubber band).
Hopefully they this ironed out... overall it is a nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent ambiance, great service, great food and the outdoor tables are great. We had appetizer, main course and a dessert, but I'm undecided of which one was better than the other!!
We ate 2 days in a row, and one was as excellent as the other one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is the second visit to Fern over the last two years. The setting is wonderful, with candle lit tables on the porch listening to the ocean. The cuisine is prepared extremely well and the restaurant has a wonderful wine list. Service is acceptable. We will continue to come to Fern to celebrate a vacation as a family

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was amazing! I had the grouper over beans and it was out of this world! My husband had the bronzino served with dill and the flavor was so different from the grouper but absolutely delicious! We also has the octopus to start which was also a must order! A phenomenal experience. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We ate at Fern 2 times. The tasting menu was great and my wife loved the Parmesian Crusted Chicken. The Macallan Tasting dinner was great too. The staff was superb and the manager Giancala, very attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food is magnificent and the service is amazing. We celebrated our anniversary and had a fabulous experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

great food , service and ambiance . menu is simple and all dishes are perfectly
sized portions .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2016

My husband and I were vacationing in Rio Mar and decided to treat ourselves to a really nice dinner on the last night. I'm also a meeting planner and was evaluating several SPG properties across the country for a program and thought this would be a great opportunity to do my "secret meeting planner" visit to see how a real customer gets treated. Our server Jesus was very versed in the menu and provided some suggestions. I had also noted on open table that it was our 1 year anniversary and he came with a glass of champagne which was very nice. The amuse bouche was bland, like a hush puppy with some fruit glaze. I ordered the shrimp salad and it was incredible. My husband ordered the avocado & jalapeno pizza and it came out burned. We ordered wine with dinner and he came back to let us know our first selection was not in stock. We went for his secondary recommendation. Strike two, they didn't have that either. Finally he came back with a mediocre bottle of burgundy that was on the warmer side. My husband's entree was the filet and he said it was a very tough piece of beef (he ordered it rare). I ordered the pork chop medium and it was a good medium well, however the mustard sauce was extraordinary. Finally, he asked if we wanted dessert and we declined and then the server's attitude changed - as if he was put off that we didn't want dessert. We asked for the check and decided to check out the bar, which is always very important to my clients. We went to the bar, sat down and were completely ignored for 10 minutes! No napkins, no menus, nothing. They stood right in front of us and said nothing. I was floored that this would happen at a 5 diamond resort like the St Regis. Very disappointing experience and I would say overall, it was very pretentious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The potatoes where not creamy, The steak was above MR

The amuse bouche was superb

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ate here for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is pricey for the value you receive. Dinner was awesome! Everything the four of us ordered was top notch! Yes it's pricey but delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2016

The food was extraordinary as usual for this restaurant. Service is very prompt and the staff is attentive. We look forward to our return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The atmosphere, service, menu and food at Fern at the St. Regis Bahia Beach, Puert Rico were all delightful with attention to every extra detail. We would recommend Fern highly. We also ate there for breakfasts and again at dinner and each time was a treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2016

It was a bit disappointing for all of the hype. The food was fairly safe and predictable. It was good hotel food but nothing more. It was definitely not a gastronomic experience. Sitting on the porch was nice but it was so dark it was impossible to see the menu, food or bill. Wind screens made it impossible to enjoy the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 26, 2016

Luca, the evening restaurant manager and Italian trained sommelier, skillfully guides the staff at this lovely upscale seaside resort restaurant to live-up to it's Chef Jean George inspired reputation!

Their specialty cocktails are offered at the time of seating are the perfect way to begin a memorable, leisurely and sensuous dining experience, while you are embraced by a gentle seaside tropical breeze--

Desserts, complimented by the recommended last course wine, are the perfect way to end a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2016

We were staying down the road at Rio Mar, didn't feel like driving into San Juan so we ventured over to the St Regis. Very glad we did.
The resort at night, with holiday lights etc, was beautiful. Arriving at the restaurant, across a dark pond and large flaming torches, was awesome. We were seated outside on the second floor terrace. It was too dark to see it, but you could smell and hear the Atlantic.
Service was perfect, five star with a relaxed vibe. Cocktails, food and wine were all stupendous.
Kudos on several fronts. Service: spot on without being pushy, friendly but professional. Ambiance: again, spot on, lighting was very dim, but once your eyes adjusted it was fine. Food: delicious, the octopus was excellent, the snapper and swordfish were fresh and well seasoned/cooked, the lobster entree was huge and tasty. Wine: a great wine list with some of the best values I've seen at a resort.
Biggest surprise, this place is actually a very good value. So often a high end resort charges extraordinary prices to a captive audience. Just didn't get that sense here. All of the prices, from appetizers to entrees to the wine list were fair and reasonable for such a first class experience.
We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2016

BEWARE OF THE CHECK!!

$1,100 for dinner for four! No alcohol! And two of us children!
The room was so noisy we couldn't carry on a conversation across the table!
When the bill came, I felt like I was in a "hold-up" -- being robbed, without the gun.
The food was just okay for this caliber of restaurant.
Jean Georges -- I've always loved restaurants you've attached your name too, which is why we tried The Fern. You, and they, should be ashamed of yourselves! Mr. George, detach your name from this restaurant, it does not live up to your standards, food-wise, service-wise (though the service was good, just not of the caliber for this setting), and certainly I've never felt so ripped off in one of your other restaurants (most of them in NY).
I've eaten in many 1 Michelin star and some 3 Michelin star restaurants and have gotten FAR more for FAR LESS money -- all over the world.
I wouldn't mind paying $1,100 for a transcendent experience, this was just dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Excellent restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious! Notable favorites were the avocado pizza, black truffle pizza and salmon tartar. The entrees and dessert were delicious, too. I would definitely go back. Worth the trip to this restaurant if you're staying in San Juan. A Jean Gorges restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 5, 2015

Avocado pizza is really awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Simply amazing. This tops as my favorite St. Regis restaurant, with Decanter in D.C. Ranking right behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2015

D.C and Puerto Rico have the best St. Regis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2015

We were staying at another resort in Rio Grande & were looking for a nice place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. After searching the restaurants in the area, we decided to give Fern a try. Reservations were made online & my husband noted we were celebrating our anniversary. We were greeted at the resort & restaurant, received champagne compliments of the restaurant, enjoyed a delicious amuse-bouche, appetizer, entree & dessert. The restaurant was not too busy and staff attended to all our needs. Staff paid attention to all details and were very friendly. We had a wonderful evening and delicious meal. Thank you to the staff & chef for making this a special evening for us, right down to writing "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on our dessert plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2015

We arrived for our honey moon dinner to find they had a surprise party from a convention of around 60 people. They still had excellent service and provided us a great experience. We did the tasting menu and they were very receptive to us adding extra courses. The avocado pizza and shrimp salad are amazing. But the star of the show was the hamachi crudo. It was all amazing. They offered us a toast for our honeymoon and offered free drinks for not being able to provide the level of service they wanted to. I would come back in a second.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2015

I booked a reservation on recommendation of a friend for our 20th anniversary. After a long cab scary cab ride we arrived earlier than our reservation but wanted to check our the hotel. It was night so there was not much for us to check out. We decided to check in with hostess and let them know we were there, the hostess was friendly and let us know the table was not ready but offered to buy us a drink for the bar downstairs. I couldn't believe it, he did not have to offer this as we were early and were just checking in but he insisted. This small gesture has had me tell this story to everyone, since and I will tell anyone and everyone who goes to Puerto Rico they should make reservations at the Fern. Further more I would stay at the St. Regis the next time I come to Puerto Rico, because it was beautiful. The bartender was very friendly and while we waited and let us know when the table was ready. The waitstaff was attentive and interested in making our night special, mentioned it being our 20th and gave us a glass of champagne. The food was wonderful the two best meals we had in Puerto Rico. This place is a hidden gem. It was a bit of a travel to get there but well worth it! Thank you again to the hostess and staff who really made the night a great romantic experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2015

The service at Fern and throughout the St. Regis is impeccable. The food was fantastic, and the view was unmatched. We had a delightful time and look forward to returning to Fern.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2015

They have a nice outdoor seating area on the 2nd level. There is also indoor seating. I had the sirloin steak. It was just average- not good, not bad. My friend had the soup, which was good and the ginger rice and beans. She sent the ginger rice back because she did not like it at all. Our server seemed more into taking care of the bigger table next to us rather than the two of us. There were times when we had to pour our own wine from the wine that we bought. She was nice but should have been more attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2015

The food was amazing. The servcie was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2015

Food is great - but you are really paying for the service and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2015

It was my last evening in Puerto Rico .... And I definitely saved the best for last !!! Everything was superb !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2015

We went to Fern twice during our 6-night stay at the St. Regis. Both times I ordered the grouper because it was so good and my husband ordered the roast chicken. We also had a corn cake dessert which was great but the waiter told us the menu will change in March so these items may not be on it. The service is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.