About Fern at St Regis Bahia Beach

State Road 187 Km. 4.2
Rio Grande, PR 00745
View Larger Map

Fern combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants with the highest quality meats and freshest local fish and produce available in the market. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Fern dining experience. To compliment the refined flavors from the menu, Fern offers a robust wine selection and handcrafted, classically composed tropical cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:

Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am

Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 809-8103

Website:
http://www.fernrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Juan Peña

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you're hosting your next board meeting or intimate celebration, Fern's Wine Room provides privacy and elegance for events up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Fatima Bonano: 7878098103x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Fern at St Regis Bahia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service2

It was a bit disappointing for all of th ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

It was a bit disappointing for all of the hype. The food was fairly safe and predictable. It was good hotel food but nothing more. It was definitely not a gastronomic experience. Sitting on the porch was nice but it was so dark it was impossible to see the menu, food or bill. Wind screens made it impossible to enjoy the ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fern & Luca the Manager, are the Charm....

Dined on January 26, 2016

Luca, the evening restaurant manager and Italian trained sommelier, skillfully guides the staff at this lovely upscale seaside resort restaurant to live-up to it's Chef Jean George inspired reputation! Their specialty cocktails are offered at the time of seating are the perfect way to begin a memorable, leisurely and sensuous dining experience, while you are embraced by a gentle seaside tropical breeze-- Desserts, complimented by the recommended last course wine, are the perfect way to end a wonderful evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Puerto Rico evening

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

We were staying down the road at Rio Mar, didn't feel like driving into San Juan so we ventured over to the St Regis. Very glad we did. The resort at night, with holiday lights etc, was beautiful. Arriving at the restaurant, across a dark pond and large flaming torches, was awesome. We were seated outside on the second floor terrace. It was too dark to see it, but you could smell and hear the Atlantic. Service was perfect, five star with a relaxed vibe. Cocktails, food and wine were all stupendous. Kudos on several fronts. Service: spot on without being pushy, friendly but professional. Ambiance: again, spot on, lighting was very dim, but once your eyes adjusted it was fine. Food: delicious, the octopus was excellent, the snapper and swordfish were fresh and well seasoned/cooked, the lobster entree was huge and tasty. Wine: a great wine list with some of the best values I've seen at a resort. Biggest surprise, this place is actually a very good value. So often a high end resort charges extraordinary prices to a captive audience. Just didn't get that sense here. All of the prices, from appetizers to entrees to the wine list were fair and reasonable for such a first class experience. We'll be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

$1,100 for dinner for four!

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

BEWARE OF THE CHECK!! $1,100 for dinner for four! No alcohol! And two of us children! The room was so noisy we couldn't carry on a conversation across the table! When the bill came, I felt like I was in a "hold-up" -- being robbed, without the gun. The food was just okay for this caliber of restaurant. Jean Georges -- I've always loved restaurants you've attached your name too, which is why we tried The Fern. You, and they, should be ashamed of yourselves! Mr. George, detach your name from this restaurant, it does not live up to your standards, food-wise, service-wise (though the service was good, just not of the caliber for this setting), and certainly I've never felt so ripped off in one of your other restaurants (most of them in NY). I've eaten in many 1 Michelin star and some 3 Michelin star restaurants and have gotten FAR more for FAR LESS money -- all over the world. I wouldn't mind paying $1,100 for a transcendent experience, this was just dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. The food was absol ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Excellent restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious! Notable favorites were the avocado pizza, black truffle pizza and salmon tartar. The entrees and dessert were delicious, too. I would definitely go back. Worth the trip to this restaurant if you're staying in San Juan. A Jean Gorges restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Avocado pizza is really awesome!!

Dined on November 5, 2015

Avocado pizza is really awesome!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing. This tops as my favorite ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Simply amazing. This tops as my favorite St. Regis restaurant, with Decanter in D.C. Ranking right behind.

food5
ambience5
service5

D.C and Puerto Rico have the best St. Re ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

D.C and Puerto Rico have the best St. Regis!

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful evening and dining experience

Dined on October 7, 2015

We were staying at another resort in Rio Grande & were looking for a nice place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. After searching the restaurants in the area, we decided to give Fern a try. Reservations were made online & my husband noted we were celebrating our anniversary. We were greeted at the resort & restaurant, received champagne compliments of the restaurant, enjoyed a delicious amuse-bouche, appetizer, entree & dessert. The restaurant was not too busy and staff attended to all our needs. Staff paid attention to all details and were very friendly. We had a wonderful evening and delicious meal. Thank you to the staff & chef for making this a special evening for us, right down to writing "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on our dessert plate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent

vip
Dined on May 29, 2015

We arrived for our honey moon dinner to find they had a surprise party from a convention of around 60 people. They still had excellent service and provided us a great experience. We did the tasting menu and they were very receptive to us adding extra courses. The avocado pizza and shrimp salad are amazing. But the star of the show was the hamachi crudo. It was all amazing. They offered us a toast for our honeymoon and offered free drinks for not being able to provide the level of service they wanted to. I would come back in a second.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

20th Anniversary Romantic Meal Done Right

Dined on May 25, 2015

I booked a reservation on recommendation of a friend for our 20th anniversary. After a long cab scary cab ride we arrived earlier than our reservation but wanted to check our the hotel. It was night so there was not much for us to check out. We decided to check in with hostess and let them know we were there, the hostess was friendly and let us know the table was not ready but offered to buy us a drink for the bar downstairs. I couldn't believe it, he did not have to offer this as we were early and were just checking in but he insisted. This small gesture has had me tell this story to everyone, since and I will tell anyone and everyone who goes to Puerto Rico they should make reservations at the Fern. Further more I would stay at the St. Regis the next time I come to Puerto Rico, because it was beautiful. The bartender was very friendly and while we waited and let us know when the table was ready. The waitstaff was attentive and interested in making our night special, mentioned it being our 20th and gave us a glass of champagne. The food was wonderful the two best meals we had in Puerto Rico. This place is a hidden gem. It was a bit of a travel to get there but well worth it! Thank you again to the hostess and staff who really made the night a great romantic experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

vip
Dined on April 26, 2015

The service at Fern and throughout the St. Regis is impeccable. The food was fantastic, and the view was unmatched. We had a delightful time and look forward to returning to Fern.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Just ok

Dined on April 26, 2015

They have a nice outdoor seating area on the 2nd level. There is also indoor seating. I had the sirloin steak. It was just average- not good, not bad. My friend had the soup, which was good and the ginger rice and beans. She sent the ginger rice back because she did not like it at all. Our server seemed more into taking care of the bigger table next to us rather than the two of us. There were times when we had to pour our own wine from the wine that we bought. She was nice but should have been more attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The best in PR

Dined on March 20, 2015

The food was amazing. The servcie was incredible.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Food - Beautiful Place

Dined on March 20, 2015

Food is great - but you are really paying for the service and ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my last evening in Puerto Rico . ...

Dined on February 6, 2015

It was my last evening in Puerto Rico .... And I definitely saved the best for last !!! Everything was superb !!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Best dining choice at St. Regis

vip
Dined on February 5, 2015

We went to Fern twice during our 6-night stay at the St. Regis. Both times I ordered the grouper because it was so good and my husband ordered the roast chicken. We also had a corn cake dessert which was great but the waiter told us the menu will change in March so these items may not be on it. The service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent!

vip
Dined on January 25, 2015

Definitely try the Wagyu beef appetizer!!! Everything is amazing, though. Great ginger mixed drinks, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Goos but disappointing

vip
Dined on January 6, 2015

Disappointed the shades were up so there was no water view, a key reason we went to Fern, and no breeze coming through shades, we sat inside with only one other table of guests. It was 9:00 on a Monday so perhaps that was why. My hamachi was outstanding, grouper good but a little on dry side for me. Our waiter seemed ready to go home from the onset.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

Dined on November 30, 2014

We ordered the tasting menu and were not disappointed. It was heavenly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fern is a gem. We ate there twice and h ...

Dined on November 28, 2014

Fern is a gem. We ate there twice and had the same entree both times it was so outstanding. The grouper on black beans that are incredibly flavorful especially whe mixed with the ginger rice side dish. Also, the breakfast at Fern is terrific. The waitstaff are the best whenever you dine there. A true gem and a fantastic dining experience..

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Struck by Pizza

Dined on October 26, 2014

Just as I just wrote. I was amazed by an appetizer pizza with black truffle. One of the best pizzas I've ever had. Yes the salmon, the lobster, the steak were great but man, I won't forget that pizza! Service must be lift a notch though, drinks were taken too long to be served and sometimes was hard to find a waiter when we had a question or wanted to order something else.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

Dined on October 21, 2014

Beautiful room, great view, unbelievable food. Chef Ruben gave us a kitchen tour and personally explained all dishes. Definitely recommend the tasting menu!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Special!

Dined on October 3, 2014

This is my second time here and I was not disappointed. The staff are wonderful and the food is fantastic. As a frame of reference I live in the Hudson Valley NY and am used to eating at restaurants with chefs from the Culinary Institute of America so I recognize great stuff when I experience and this was great stuff indeed! It's pricey but for a special occasion very well worth it. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening...

vip
Dined on October 2, 2014

The staff is helpful and kind, thief food and flavors are amazing. An excellent restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent!

vip
Dined on September 6, 2014

Fern is a superior restaurant and the service is excellent ! Really an amazing experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent

Dined on August 30, 2014

Had a wonderful meal. The tasting was very good with the pairing. Gabriela was a great server. Very noisy hard to converse with the people at the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

High End Dining

Dined on August 1, 2014

Fern is a wonderful option for quiet, exclusive dining right on the ocean. We stayed at the Wyndham, but came here for dinner and really enjoyed it. You enter across a drawbridge with flaming stanchions on either side as you come up to the front door ...very impressive. Jesus was an amazing waiter and made you feel like you were in someone's luxury estate somewhere in the islands. Definitely sit outside when you dine!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on July 26, 2014

Lovely romantic anniversary dinner with my wife. We sat outside toward the ocean, nice breeze, very elegant, but relaxed tropical environment. They've created the perfect balance of beauty and relaxation. Our servers were outstanding, professional, but personable and with a passion for their job. With some probing they gushed about the professional training, and focus on customer service. Kudos to the management team for this. And the food and wine met all expectations. We are considering a larger group activity for the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3

Five Star Delight

Dined on July 3, 2014

Fern Restaurant satisfies a five-star quality restaurant so direly needed on the Northeast Coast of the Island. Utilizing fresh ingredients and blending local tropical flavors with international cuisine popular dishes, Chef Juan has successfully blended a delicious array of appetizers and entrees that shall satisfy the most discerning of palates. Nestled amidst the beauty of the Preserve, the plantation style restaurant building is elegant, classy and alluring. The service was warm, friendly and hospitable. The servers could have checked the water and drink levels in our glasses with more frequency, but the quality of service overshadowed the slight oversight. Overall Experience: Great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent view

Dined on June 26, 2014

The grouper was amazing!! And the homemade "hot sauce" with olive oil and their house bread was the perfect appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Kitchen held everyone up

Dined on April 28, 2014

The food was outstanding.The outside deck setting adds to the experience. It took 45 minutes to receive our appetizer and only after complaining that we were tired of waiting.The dishes were fabulous. We waited another 30 minutes for the entree.It was also fabulous. The food was outstanding ,but the wait ruined the experience. The waiter worked as hard as anyone can but no help from the kitchen.The kitchen appeared to be overwhelmed with the function on the lawn,so we had to wait.We would not return to the restaurant, Then again we all have off days.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Dinner Celebration in PR

Dined on April 24, 2014

Had a fabulous birthday dinner celebration with my girlfriends, such an amazing view and the grouper dinner was excellent pair to my wine selection. Will definitely return in October for my 20th wedding anniversary dinner when I return to PR.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on April 17, 2014

Had a wonderful dining experience at Fern. The tasting menu was deliciously prepared and the wine pairings were a fantastic enhancement. The staff was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. While all of the food was superb, oddly enough our favorite was the root vegetable amuse-bouche! Would love to see it on the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best in the Caribbean

vip
Dined on March 17, 2014

An absolutely amazing experience and dinner. From the superior service, to the amazing food (Tasting menu is the way to go), and the great wine list, and the amazing amazing scenery - this is by far the best restaurant in the caribbean I have ever been to. Following our birthday dinner, the manager of the restaurant walked us out to the beach to show us the full moon. A truely memorable dinner and experience. My next trip to Puerto Rico will definitely include another visit to Fern at the St. Regis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4

Somewhat disappointed

vip
Dined on March 10, 2014

The food was generally very good, but was hit and miss and unfortunately my meal was the miss. Crispy chicken, beef tenderloin and smoked pork chop were very good as were the side dishes. My meal was the hamachi and the slow cooked salmon and both were only fair as the flavors were too strong and the salmon was overly salty. Also, the presentation of my entree left much to be desired as it was not visually appealing. Desserts were outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant in PR!

vip
Dined on March 7, 2014

Absolutely love this place. Alwasy consistent and excellent food quality. Service is spectacular. Better than Marmalade and any other restaurant on open table in PR/San Juan area (I have been to all of them). Highly recommend the tasting menu and the wine pairing. Would fly to PR just for dinner at this restaurant. If you are not staying at the St. Regis would recommend you go early and spend some time walking the grounds before dinner. Cap off the night with a cocktail in the lobby bar sitting our on the back porch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful place

Dined on February 23, 2014

We had the tasting menu and it was fantastic...highly recommend the shrimp salad

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Experience!

Dined on February 7, 2014

Fern is a wonderful dining experience. The food is delicious, fresh, and creative. The service is friendly and professional. Try the tasting menu, great value for money. The setting is spectacular!! Really enjoyable evening!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Waiter

Dined on February 7, 2014

Service, attention and kindness from waiter Joel was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.