Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 25.63mi
  1. Distance: 25.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 25.63mi
  1. Distance: 25.63mi

About Fern at St Regis Bahia Beach

Fern combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants with the highest quality meats and freshest local fish and produce available in the market. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Fern dining experience. To compliment the refined flavors from the menu, Fern offers a robust wine selection and handcrafted, classically composed tropical cocktails.

State Road 187 Km. 4.2
Rio Grande, PR 00745
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:

Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Dinner:

Monday- Tuesday & Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 809-8103

Website:
http://www.fernrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Juan Peña

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you're hosting your next board meeting or intimate celebration, Fern's Wine Room provides privacy and elegance for events up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Fatima Bonano: (787) 809-8103

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Fern at St Regis Bahia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (6)
Waterfront (5)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (0)
Sort By:
S
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Stayed at the St Regis with my wife for our 8th Anniversary and dined at Fern on a Saturday night. Reservations recommended to make sure you get the time you want and depending on time of year how busy they may be. The service was great, we did the 6-course tasting menu which was good, we both added the wine pairing as well. All the food was good with the shrimp salad and beef tenderloin our favorites. All the wines paired well with the dinner item. This is a fine dining location and you should plan to take some time enjoying your meal. Very good overall.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was flawless . The place is beautiful, food is wonderful and we had spectacular time. If enjoy a secluded and beautiful place you will love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

So special. We sat outside. A lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Horrible service. I had an open table reservation and I got an email that the restaurant had cancelled it the day of the reservation!! No reason was given! So I had to make another one. Drinks ordered never arrived. It was just very disorganized!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Fern is the restaurant to come to! We had the tomahawk for two and it was absolutely amazing. It seemed slow in the restaurant but the ambience is great. Also the lights can be a little dim but the food was great. Service was good, not very personable but not bad. I recommend this restaurant and the tomahawk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food fair. Over priced. Hardly anyone dining and service just mediocre. Could've over looked the poor food quality had the service been outstanding. Not worth the $

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Superb food and service.n

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fern is a wonderful restaurant at the St Regis Resort - we had breakfast there 4 mornings and dinner on two consecutive evenings. Overall, a great selection of food, attentive staff and nice atmosphere. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Well we never go inside the restaurant due to some kind of shoes policy for gentlemen that avoid us to enter. Gentlemen are not allow to enter in sandal to the restaurant .
Our sandals were close in the side and top an open in the front of the feed.
After asking where the rule were described because the side reservation didn't described the policy. Some of the security staff came to us to explain that the responds email said the policy.
Our surprise was that the policy is just only for the man.
What is the different between men and women sandals?!!

After one hour we leave the place and our 25 five anniversary dinner was cancel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My family had breakfast here. The food was delicious. A bit pricey and a limited menu but my family was happy with everything they tasted. We would go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food! Great view! Amazing value. Least expepensive Jean George meal ever! Great evening!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Experience was excellent , the staff was quiet abit distracted , without facing the clients. The rest was Good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This is a really special place. The food is amazing (really amazing!) and Kathy the server is sooo wonderful!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were staying at the St Regis Bahia after a couOle days in Condado. The restaurant choices were quite limited in the Rio Grande area and especially at the resort. We were beyond pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of the tasting menu at Fern with the wine pairing. About the best preps ed hamachi, octopus and pan fried fish I've eaten ... and that's saying a lot coming from a pescatarian!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had two dinners at fern during our stay at st. Regis. While the Jean Georges restaurants may be a bit better in nyc the meals were pleasurable and the service was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everyone in my party felt the food was extremely salty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Really the ONLY place to eat at the St. Regis. Service was very slow but the staff was very nice. Our meal was delicious but very pricey. Worth the experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love this place ... stunning view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fern was wonderful! This is a restaurant by John Georges and all of his restaurants are fantastic!. It is in a secluded area east of San Juan. The restaurant is on the second floor and overlooks the ocean. The service was great and the food was amazing. We had the tasting menu which came with wine pairing. The wine was the only weak part of the evening- kind of all over the place in flavors. We will put this restaurant on our favorites list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excelente en todo acogedor, la cena exquisita ....!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been here twice, food was great and amazing service. Is expensive but worth it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Never disappoints! Beautiful gardens and decor. Breakfast buffet was assorted and delicious. Two complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary were surely a nice detail. Love coming to Fern.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The service was a little slow, honestly. We were seated at 8:00 and I believe a waiter didn't come to take our drink orders for at least 15 minutes. We didn't get our entrees until 9:45pm. The food was actually fantastic, though.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The location and ambience was beautiful! The service was awesome! We shared the avocado pizza for an app, which was delicious. Our dinners, the red snapper and grouper, were a let down for how expensive they were. Not much flavor and sooo rich. You also can only get in if you have a reservation and you have to pay someone to watch your car out front. It was all a little to over the top for us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Amazing food and service in a gorgeous location. The views of the ocean are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have dined at Fern on several occasions, it is always a pleasant experience. The menu changes frequently yet the dishes remain outstanding always. You get: food, drink, service, ambiance, view and overall experience. It has it all and you pay for it but it is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Hit and miss.
I've been coming to Fern for years and the past few times I have not been impressed by the food.
The ambiance and service are exceptional.... sadly, it stops there.
There are a few things on the menu which are tasty (hamachi sashimi, ginger rice and beans, avocado pizza and octopus). However, the main course dishes (pork and chicken) were not our favorites. The pork was dry and the chicken was rubbery (the texture was like a rubber band).
Hopefully they this ironed out... overall it is a nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent ambiance, great service, great food and the outdoor tables are great. We had appetizer, main course and a dessert, but I'm undecided of which one was better than the other!!
We ate 2 days in a row, and one was as excellent as the other one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is the second visit to Fern over the last two years. The setting is wonderful, with candle lit tables on the porch listening to the ocean. The cuisine is prepared extremely well and the restaurant has a wonderful wine list. Service is acceptable. We will continue to come to Fern to celebrate a vacation as a family

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was amazing! I had the grouper over beans and it was out of this world! My husband had the bronzino served with dill and the flavor was so different from the grouper but absolutely delicious! We also has the octopus to start which was also a must order! A phenomenal experience. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We ate at Fern 2 times. The tasting menu was great and my wife loved the Parmesian Crusted Chicken. The Macallan Tasting dinner was great too. The staff was superb and the manager Giancala, very attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food is magnificent and the service is amazing. We celebrated our anniversary and had a fabulous experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

great food , service and ambiance . menu is simple and all dishes are perfectly
sized portions .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2016

My husband and I were vacationing in Rio Mar and decided to treat ourselves to a really nice dinner on the last night. I'm also a meeting planner and was evaluating several SPG properties across the country for a program and thought this would be a great opportunity to do my "secret meeting planner" visit to see how a real customer gets treated. Our server Jesus was very versed in the menu and provided some suggestions. I had also noted on open table that it was our 1 year anniversary and he came with a glass of champagne which was very nice. The amuse bouche was bland, like a hush puppy with some fruit glaze. I ordered the shrimp salad and it was incredible. My husband ordered the avocado & jalapeno pizza and it came out burned. We ordered wine with dinner and he came back to let us know our first selection was not in stock. We went for his secondary recommendation. Strike two, they didn't have that either. Finally he came back with a mediocre bottle of burgundy that was on the warmer side. My husband's entree was the filet and he said it was a very tough piece of beef (he ordered it rare). I ordered the pork chop medium and it was a good medium well, however the mustard sauce was extraordinary. Finally, he asked if we wanted dessert and we declined and then the server's attitude changed - as if he was put off that we didn't want dessert. We asked for the check and decided to check out the bar, which is always very important to my clients. We went to the bar, sat down and were completely ignored for 10 minutes! No napkins, no menus, nothing. They stood right in front of us and said nothing. I was floored that this would happen at a 5 diamond resort like the St Regis. Very disappointing experience and I would say overall, it was very pretentious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The potatoes where not creamy, The steak was above MR

The amuse bouche was superb

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ate here for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is pricey for the value you receive. Dinner was awesome! Everything the four of us ordered was top notch! Yes it's pricey but delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2016

The food was extraordinary as usual for this restaurant. Service is very prompt and the staff is attentive. We look forward to our return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The atmosphere, service, menu and food at Fern at the St. Regis Bahia Beach, Puert Rico were all delightful with attention to every extra detail. We would recommend Fern highly. We also ate there for breakfasts and again at dinner and each time was a treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2016

It was a bit disappointing for all of the hype. The food was fairly safe and predictable. It was good hotel food but nothing more. It was definitely not a gastronomic experience. Sitting on the porch was nice but it was so dark it was impossible to see the menu, food or bill. Wind screens made it impossible to enjoy the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.