About Fearrington House Restaurant

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

This romantic farmhouse restaurant, a member of Relais & Chateaux, is "exquisite from start to finish...indeed sublime...at once cleverly original and intelligently conceived, with a nod to tradition," wrote critic Greg Cox of the News & Observer. Chef Colin Bedford's menu is a symphony of the seasonal, local and exotic, carefully sourced and marvelous to taste. Select from an award-winning wine cellar or let Sommelier Max Kast expertly pair wines for each course. Arrive early for an aperitif in the bar, on the front porch of the white-columned farmhouse, in the chairs overlooking the pastures, or while touring extensive gardens. Intimate rooms with fireplaces and exquisite regional art join with the 2011 Gold Medalist menu (N&O) for an exceptional experience. North Carolina’s only AAA Five Diamond restaurant is just a short drive in the countryside, near to Chapel Hill, Cary, Raleigh or Durham.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the restaurant. Limousine parking available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
Fearrington's beautifully appointed dining rooms, banquet halls, and expansive grounds offer a variety of venues for weddings, private parties, and special occasions. Our dedicated event planners will custom design, coordinate and execute every last detail guaranteeing an event that will dazzle your guests. There are several private dining rooms that will accommodate parties from 8 to 50 and our Garden Terrace will accommodate parties of up to 120.

The Barn at Fearrington offers an exceptional venue for large gatherings including weddings, holiday parties, and company events such as barbeques and team building and celebrations. The climate controlled Barn's rustic appeal always greets guests as an unexpected pleasure. The cobblestone entrance way, expansive dining and dancing space, magical twig chandeliers make the Barn one of the most desirable locations in the Triangle. The Barn at Fearrington accommodates groups from 125 to 300.

Private Party Contact:
Cheryl Kast: 919 542 2121

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.fearrington.com/wedding/

Restaurant Photos

Fearrington House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
11 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Contemporary American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
Best Food
Chapel Hill
Best Service
Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

special occasion (52)
romantic (45)
fit for foodies (38)
See All
notable wine list (37)
scenic view (20)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, fabulous in every way. The n ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

As always, fabulous in every way. The new Spring menu is wonderful. It was very difficult to make choices with so many wonderful options. The wine pairings were very nice. The only thing that marred our visit was a young couple who were seated around our the time of our entree who were dressed in jeans, T-shirts and were pretty annoying talking on the cell phone, etc.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place to go for a great meal, es ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Special place to go for a great meal, especially to celebrate. Can't go wrong on any of the menu choices, hardest part is deciding between the 3 course or 4 course menus. Save room for dessert and the complimentary petit fours afterward.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heavenly

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sweet family treated me to dinner here on Mother's Day. We have dined in some very nice restaurants in various places, but this was by far the best. Your table overlooks the lovely gardens that surround the restaurant. The atmosphere is cozy and plush. Attentive service. The food is inventive, beautifully plated and delicious. Amazing fresh combinations of favors; plated in a way that is a feast for the eyes. A very special occasion. Oh, and delicious cocktails!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an exceptional experience at Fear ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We had an exceptional experience at Fearrington House! We've dined here several times in the past but this was by far the best ever. We really challenged the Sommelier with wine pairings, we all ordered something different and on person in our group wanted only red. He was amazing and hot it out of the park every time! Service was perfect and the food was spectacular! Worthy of several multi Michelin star establishments I've dined at in the past. Can't recommend it enough!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

My wife and I had the 4 course dinner which we both loved. My wife had the tenderloin filet and I had halibut. Immensely enjoyed the signature chocolate soufflé. Chefs samplers were unique and well appreciated. Food presentation was artful. Atmosphere is just wonderful. Timing of courses was at a leasure pace giving us time to enjoy our time together. Wine prices on the high side. Only critique was that 2 business men sat near us and were a bit loud in their discussions. Overall, a very pleasing experience for our 54th wedding anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our best dining experiences. Outstanding .

Dined on April 29, 2016

One of our best dining experiences. Outstanding service and Excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstandin

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and my first visit. A gift from our children. The experience was fantastic. Food was great, the wine tasting with each course was enjoyable, and the staff went out of their way to make the experience memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

very nice, elegant restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

I am a vegetarian and i think the vegetarian menu could be expanded to include pasta and meat substitutes. the drinks were over priced. the 62 degree eggs were just a bit undercooked for my taste. the music was not loud and nerve-wracking which i appreciate immensely. i often have to ask that it be turned down. the glasses, dishes and silver ware were very elegant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great restaurant and lovely, well presented food. Service was excellent and exceeded expectations with personalized menu and chocolates for our anniversary. Ideal venue for a special occasion and to pair wines with courses. British chef so what more can you ask for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The location is very charming and welcom ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The location is very charming and welcoming. The restaurant is very nice with great service. The food is outstanding, with great presentation and flavor. I will certainly go back on special occasions and the price is high.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Every bit of the experience was special from the moment we walked in the door. Our waiter was superb, wine list was excellent and the food was outstanding. It is pricey....but we knew that going in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful and attentive

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant within the gorgeous village/hotel grounds. Wine waiter was attentive and incredibly helpful. Regular waiter equally attentive to our needs. We had the taster menu which started with a first dish which was outstanding. Next 3 dishes were beautiful but the chef had clearly not anticipated our taster menu requests and may have run out of ideas so while they were fantastic, they were somewhat similar. Desserts - what can I say? Wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was very good, service was outstanding. I do wish it was a bit less expensive, expect to pay close to 500 for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Deserving of ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Deserving of all the accolades.

food5
ambience5
service5

For absolutely fabulous food in a beauti ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

For absolutely fabulous food in a beautiful setting, Fearrington House has no peer. It has truly earned its 5 stars. The amuse bouche is incredibly flavorful, as are the meals. Honestly, Chef Bedford, Joris, and the rest of the staff are really outstanding. The food is exquisite and the wait staff appropriately attentive. By the way, you do not want to miss the Valrhona Coeur de Guanaja Chocolate Soufflé. I have been going to the Fearrington house for years and it has never... ever disappointed. I am quite certain you will feel the same!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very inventive, delicious food and the p ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Very inventive, delicious food and the presentation was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too pretty to eat!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed a delectable Easter brunch here. With no expectations, we were thoroughly delighted with the charming little farm-village venue. Our dishes were as much a feast for our eyes as our bellies - beautiful and delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful. Over-the-top nice without the attitude

Dined on March 19, 2016

The setting is absolutely gorgeous. Would be a great special occasion dining experience or a great night out with good friends. The wait staff is 5 star attentive without being 5 star snobby!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Expensive, mostly wonderful

Dined on March 10, 2016

It is always a treat to dine here. Just walking through the garden into the lovely old farmhouse gives the feel of entering into a special moment. The food is creative and beautifully presented. It's very expensive, so not something that one wants to do often. I was very impressed that the waiter and kitchen made a careful effort to accommodate the food issues of one of our guests. they did this with grace and without sacrificing any of the dishes. My first course was a tiny chicken and truffle mousse that packed a lot of punch. That was my favorite of the three dishes I had, which included a second course of spare rib and entree of two coddled eggs with grains. My husband's duck seemed to lack flavor, tho his soup was tasty . The dessert was a carrot cake with cream cheese ice cream. It was a deconstructed plate with little bites...not what one would expect but interesting and with good flavor. At the end we were provided little truffles and small jars of their house made jams.. Our main server was outstanding, while the assistants seemed a bit confused and awkward. I preferred the decor of older days. This new look is more urban but I feel less fitting for the setting at large.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic in every respect! This was as ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Fantastic in every respect! This was as much an experience as a meal, and a great deal of thought clearly went into the vegetarian option.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional!

Dined on February 12, 2016

By far one of the best upscale restaurants in the area. If you have hang ups about cost, this restaurant is NOT for you. Average cost per person +\- $100. A superb dining experience. I highly recommend Fearington House!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Special

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

The presentation of food and inventiveness of the menu are a delight. Love exploring new foods, and experiencing common foods in new and different ways.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable Experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

Dined here for a special occasion and had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding and the food was first class. Expect to pay a hefty price to eat here but you'll understand why after your meal. It was more than worth it and I plan to return... once I've saved up enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fearrington House Restaurant and Inn is ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Fearrington House Restaurant and Inn is absolutely fabulous! My husband and I went for our 1 year wedding anniversary, and they completely delivered. From the ambiance, service, and outstanding food, our experience at Fearrington could not have been more enjoyable. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter and sommelier were particularly g ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Waiter and sommelier were particularly good! Sommelier brought two wines not even listed on the menu based on my requests (they had just arrived in).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on January 28, 2016

Without a doubt the best dining experience in North Carolina. The attention to detail from the table settings to the food descriptions, the service, the wine list and presentation was exceptional. It's a very talented and educated staff from the kitchen to the Sommelier to the wait staff and management. Each bite just melted in my mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Must Visit

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

I definitely would recommend this for special occasions when cost is no object. We had one of the best meals and dining experiences we've had in our 46 years of dining out. The service was wonderful-Jake took extra good care of us. The food was spectacular both in presentation and taste. We had one 4 course and one 3 course meals so we could share the desert. We had a sparkling wine to start and a Zinfandel with dinner. Both were excellent. Every one we met was very nice and friendly. The gentleman who took our coats, the bar tender, the sommelier. the busboy, and our waiter were all welcoming and treated us like we were the only customers on the first floor. Which by the way, we were. This was the Thursday evening before the ice and snow on Friday and it appears everyone else had cancelled. We felt like a fabulously wealthy couple on a night out. It was truly a night to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in years!

Dined on January 14, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. The menu was inventive and each plate was a work of art. We chose the 4 course version, but the 3 course would have been enough. Still, the portions were not overly large, which I appreciated. We were full, but not overstuffed. There were lovely touches (amuse bouche, "pre-desert") and very attentive staff. I highly recommend Fearrington House for the ambiance, food, and service. First class all the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

The food and service were first class. We sat by the log fire for cocktails and then followed with a delightful meal. The smoked cod, sea trout and duck were excellent and the wine selection extensive, we selected a white burgundy to accompany the dishes. We finished the meal with the chocolate soufflé . Overall a wonderful evening to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

The Fearrington House

Dined on January 1, 2016

Easily the best restaurant and dining experience in North Carolina

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on December 31, 2015

The restaurant serves outstanding food, great wine list. Superb service. Totally recommend trying it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best around!

Dined on December 28, 2015

Seriously one of the best restaurants in the nation! Food is second to none, service excellent. The sommelier is awesome and we had some of the best wines to go with the food. Must do before you die :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, amazing service, what more ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Amazing food, amazing service, what more can you want?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Just stunning on Christmas Day. Perfect menu, wine, scenery. Incredible service. Worth every penny. Maybe this is a new Christmas tradition for us

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great environment

Dined on December 24, 2015

I enjoyed the staff, they were very knowledgeable about the food. The wine paring is just right.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good but not the excellent place I remember

Dined on December 23, 2015

The food is very good but it lacks that special element to be considered truly the top. The staff is fine but not as professional as they should be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous evening

Dined on December 17, 2015

As always, Fearrington Inn Restaurant delivers. Great food, wonderful service, knowledgeable wine steward, lovely ambiance. A special treat with good friends, superb wines, laughter and good joy. Thanks to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner

Dined on November 26, 2015

For the second year, my wife and I elected to let the Fearrington House cook our Thanksgiving dinner for us - we were not disappointed. The ambience at the Fearrington House reminds us of being home. We arrived a few minutes early and had an aperitif in the cozy hearth room. They sat us on time and we had a nice view of the countryside. For Thanksgiving, there were several choices for the first, second and desert courses, but the main course was fixed. We thoroughly enjoyed our choices for the first and second course, but felt the main course was not as creative as what we experienced last year. For the most part, it was the expected white meat turkey with gravy, shredded dark meat in a thick sauce, stuffing in a thick patty, roasted potatoes with a small amount of sweet potato, and a cranberry relish. No mistaking, it was excellent, but simply not as exciting as what was expected. Similarly, both my wife and I elected for the "pumpkin pie with chocolate shavings" which was more like a pumpkin cake with a strawberry freeze, chocolate shavings, and dollops of a spiced pudding. Again, excellent, but not as creative as expected - particularly for the price. At all times, service was outstanding, although, at one point, the waiter forgot to replenish my wine, despite being in the room, and I had to get up and do so myself. He appeared to be overly occupied with the family seated next to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience in NC

Dined on November 15, 2015

Last visit to Fearrington House was when I lived in Chapel Hill bout 18 yrs ago. I had fond memories of a romantic dinner with my girlfriend ( now wife) and decided to dine with my daughter while on college visit with her. This place has only gotten better. Superb food, perfect service, and beautiful setting. You will not be disappointed. We each had three course prix fix meal. Started with pumpkin soup over spiced cake pieces, just wonderful. My second course was pistachio crusted monkfish, also tasty. My entree was bacon wrapped pheasant, done perfectly. I also ordered the wine pairing, explained by a fine sommelier, and enjoyed a fine Riesling and Pinot noir. The Swiss white wine paired with the monkfish was a miss in my opinion, but still interesting to me as I would never have tasted it otherwise. If you can splurge on a meal, this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Simply perfect in all aspects.

Dined on November 8, 2015

Everything about our dining experience was perfect. Food was presented in art form. Almost too pretty to eat.....but we did! Service was impeccable. Would not and will not hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.