Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

About Fearrington House Restaurant

The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House Restaurant welcome guests with exceptional service and a seasonally changing menu. Executive Chef Colin Bedford and his team’s commitment to exceptional farm-to-fork cuisine is woven throughout the dining experience.

From partnerships with local farms, including Duckwood Farms and Heritage Farms, to vegetables and herbs harvested from gardens on property, to dishes that celebrate North Carolina’s four distinct seasons, The Fearrington House’s mission to provide Relais & Chateaux level cuisine and service to guests has remained constant since opening in 1980.

Our menu is complemented by a beverage program featuring an extensive wine list, a fully-equipped bar, cocktails with local ingredient and beers celebrating North Carolina breweries. The beverage program is overseen by Beverage Director Paula de Pano.

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the restaurant. Limousine parking available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
Fearrington's beautifully appointed dining rooms, banquet halls, and expansive grounds offer a variety of venues for weddings, private parties, and special occasions. Our dedicated event planners will custom design, coordinate and execute every last detail guaranteeing an event that will dazzle your guests. There are several private dining rooms that will accommodate parties from 8 to 50 and our Garden Terrace will accommodate parties of up to 120.

The Barn at Fearrington offers an exceptional venue for large gatherings including weddings, holiday parties, and company events such as barbeques and team building and celebrations. The climate controlled Barn's rustic appeal always greets guests as an unexpected pleasure. The cobblestone entrance way, expansive dining and dancing space, magical twig chandeliers make the Barn one of the most desirable locations in the Triangle. The Barn at Fearrington accommodates groups from 125 to 300.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (919) 542-2121

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.fearrington.com/celebrations/

Fearrington House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Local Ingredients (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Scenic View (10)
Historic (8)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been wanting to come here for years, and finally got to celebrate our anniversary here this evening. It was definitely a place we will come back to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been trying for over a year to get a reservation so was thrilled when we were able to celebrate our anniversary at Fearrington House. This place was worth the wait. We walked around the square and the service began as soon as we entered the grounds. Beautiful place. The food started with creative tapas and the menu provided so many options. I am lactose intolerant and the chef made sure to make my food without issue.
We cannot say enough good things about this place! But of course, you will pay a high price for this service, elegance and good food and wine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome, never disappointed! Every dish is a culinary delight. Your taste buds will thank you, all the descriptions are experienced. We come every season to taste the most well crafted foods. From the muffins that melt in your mouth, the spinach soup with lemon custard- a perfect match, foie gras to close your eyes for, octopus so delicate, rabbit wrapped in prosciutto surprises you with the most delicious duck confit in the center, and never leave without having the best chocolate soufflé! Happy to know it's in my backyard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

When one spends over $300 for dinner for two, one should not be placed in the crying baby section of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The service and food at Fearrington Restaurant is always simply outstanding. It is an event for the mouth and well worth the money. The staff make you feel welcome from the very beginning. They always appear actually happy to see you. They are pleasant, unpretentious, and eager to please which makes dining so much more of a positive experience. All of the food is plated with meticulous care-eye appealing every step of the way. This time the spinach soup was superior and the small chef plates between courses were inventive and delicious. In fact all of our food was a 5, except the breads which were surprisingly a little tough and dry this time- still not bad ( a 4 maybe) but not as good as in the past. We always save room for the desserts -which were again outstanding. We just love love love the after dinner chocolates. As a fond farewell they presented us with to-go gifts of yummy homemade strawberry jams. We loved every minute of our dinner and will definitely be back !!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Service was outstanding and food was amazing. The different flavors paired up were quiet outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great (food, service, ambiance) except portion sizes are very small for the tasting menu. We realize it is called "tasting" for a reason. We expected small portions for the many exquisite courses served but were surprised when the main course had only one 3 " (or smaller) narrow strip of duck. Although we liked the tasting menu, next time we will order a la carte as from looking around to see what other diners were eating, they seem to be more usual size portions. The chocolate souffle was very memorable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Consistent high quality and tasty food selections. Service is excellent, always attentive but never intrusive or overbearing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Perfect, as always! The vegetarian tasting menu is well thought out, creative and delicious. The service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Server and food were both top notch. The soufflé is not to be missed. Can't wait to come back again soon!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food that I got was some of the best food I have ever had! Honestly one of the best meals that I have ever had!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our whole evening was wonderful! Their service was far above 5star! Attention to detail, menu review, atmosphere including the scenery was all impeccable! We felt like we were taken to another world, we just really slowed down and enjoyed the whole dining experience. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fearrington House is our go-to choice for a special occasion dinner and it did not disappoint for this trip. We were welcomed by Joris and shown to our table immediately even though we were a few minutes early for our reservation. Our server was very attentive and readily answered any question about the items on the menu. As usual, we left with chocolates for later and a special additional treat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual, the food, service and ambiance were first rate.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our third time to the restaurant and as before everything was perfect. The food is amazing especially the fresh produce, since they grow it themselves. It is Michelin star dining.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unbelievable! We were celebrating a special day and it met all the expectations of a great celebratory place - very memorable. The service, wine list, and all plates (we did a 3 Three Course Meals and 1 Four Course Meal) were fabulous!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dined here for a graduation celebration and was underwhelmed. We waited about 45 minutes between our 1st and 2nd course, which seemed a bit excessive for how few other diners there were. The dishes were also not explained to us and were very vague on the menu, so we had no idea what we were ordering. Even when we asked the server for clarification, he didn't seem to know. Food was average at best, I think the most "memorable" part was the bread. I am an experienced diner and for this price point I expect much much more.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful! Perfection! I brought my very well-traveled friend who has dined at the finest restaurants, and she adored it. Our server was unbelievably gracious and went above and beyond. The food was amazing. Such a special place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was great, the atmosphere was wonderful and the food was beautiful and delicious. However, the pours for the wine pairings were very small considering the cost. I would not do the pairings again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good as always! The Spring menu is awesome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic place for special occasion. Enjoyed the tasting menu w wine pairings. Great experience

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had our 16th anniversary here at the same place we ate the first meal as a married couple. Then as now everything was close to perfect. The only thing I noticed is the room in which we were dining had a musty smell and I am allergic to mold spores. I had difficulty breathing and was stopped up most of the night. I know it's an old house, but on our wedding night we were set in a more open area upstairs and it was fine. The seating arrangement was three tables for two quite closely set into the alcove. It was hard to concentrate on just our own conversation. Not very romantic when the Sommelier and waiters were standing at other table. But overall we enjoyed ourselves. The parsnip soup was my favorite dish of the evening and the beet crêpe with bébés goat cheese was superb. Baked potatoes gelé was not something of ever want to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

An amazing experience , great staff who will take very good care of you! It was great for a special occasion and if it is in your budget go!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The cost is high but the food and service were excellent. A great setting for a special event.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday at the Fearrington House was outstanding. This was a four-course meal with fairly small portions and perfectly presented with gourmet touches. Even the rolls were housemade with different choices - delectable ! Each course was unique , and we especially loved the dessert - a chocolate souffle - and then filled with additional chocolate sauce with a dollop of whipped cream. The service was wonderful and well-timed too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Fearrington House Restaurant lived up to it's excellent reputation. The food was excellent - don't know how they come up with the combination of ingredients that generate the delicious flavors. The portions are sized perfectly so that you can get through multiple courses feeling comfortable. And as usual, the service was friendly and knowledgable. This is definitely the place for those special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Arrived early for dinner and walked around the charming small village. Live music on a Friday night- nice feel to the area. Had a drink at small bar before dinner- bartender was a bit slow but drinks were very well done. Nice wine list but bit expensive compared to other restaurants for bottles. Amuse bouche of salmon wonderfully done with just the right amount of heat. Foie gras ok but we like a warm steak cut more. Ono and wooly pig were both heavenly. Desserts were well done and artistically presented. Breads were very good with multiple unusual choices. Service was attentive and friendly without being overdone. Probably the best waitstaff service we have had for a while.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Fearrington has and continues to be our number one choice for fine dinning...always consistant!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a fine up-scale restaurant that lives up to it's reputation. The preparation is perfect. The presentation ( which doesn't mean much to me, but to my wife and many others it's part of the deal) was impressive. The attention and information from the waiter was informative, human (not robotic), and helpful without being hovering or intrusive. Oh and the food was unique, tasty, and perfectly prepared. This is in what looks like an old inn in the setting of what was once a family farm. Again, the reputation is deserved and preserved.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have ever had and certainly the finest I have had in North Carolina. The menu was creative and the food fresh and delicious. The service was outstanding. The restaurant was quiet and intimate allowing for a lovely and relaxing evening. The historic home and pastural views make for a wonderful ambiance. Each course was better than the one prior. Finishing with a selection of fantastic desserts. I highly recommend for a special occasion on anytime you want to make dining an experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Ridiculously good flavors
Excellent presentation
Worthwhile experience

Ridiculously overpriced
Mildly pretentious

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife and I had dinner there for our 19th wedding anniversary. We had a great time, really good food and service. The family and I are going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I have been to the Farrington House before but not to the fine dining restaurant. The menu sounded interesting but in fact was not that tasty. The portions were small and somewhat "gimmicky" with foam and such. There were also too many chef's treats......there should have been more substance for each course. The service was very professional. However, we would not repeat the experience or recommend it to others.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Never disappoints- perfect for special occasions!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our meal was amazing and everything we expected. We were celebrating my husbands birthday! A fabulous experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Superb food. Superb service. Superb ambiance. ++++

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Outstanding experience in dining. They make the extra effort to make your time with them special. Beautiful ambience and service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoyed every aspect of this meal. The ambience, food, wine, and service were impeccable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Creative combinations of color, texture and taste. Beautiful plating. Service is outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

5 Star all the way around. Amazing food...incredible service and attention to detail.

Outstanding...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.