Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

About Fearrington House Restaurant

The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House Restaurant welcome guests with exceptional service and a seasonally changing menu. Executive Chef Colin Bedford and his team’s commitment to exceptional farm-to-fork cuisine is woven throughout the dining experience.

From partnerships with local farms, including Duckwood Farms and Heritage Farms, to vegetables and herbs harvested from gardens on property, to dishes that celebrate North Carolina’s four distinct seasons, The Fearrington House’s mission to provide Relais & Chateaux level cuisine and service to guests has remained constant since opening in 1980.

Our menu is complemented by a beverage program featuring an extensive wine list, a fully-equipped bar, cocktails with local ingredient and beers celebrating North Carolina breweries. The beverage program is overseen by Beverage Director Paula de Pano.

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the restaurant. Limousine parking available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
Fearrington's beautifully appointed dining rooms, banquet halls, and expansive grounds offer a variety of venues for weddings, private parties, and special occasions. Our dedicated event planners will custom design, coordinate and execute every last detail guaranteeing an event that will dazzle your guests. There are several private dining rooms that will accommodate parties from 8 to 50 and our Garden Terrace will accommodate parties of up to 120.

The Barn at Fearrington offers an exceptional venue for large gatherings including weddings, holiday parties, and company events such as barbeques and team building and celebrations. The climate controlled Barn's rustic appeal always greets guests as an unexpected pleasure. The cobblestone entrance way, expansive dining and dancing space, magical twig chandeliers make the Barn one of the most desirable locations in the Triangle. The Barn at Fearrington accommodates groups from 125 to 300.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (919) 542-2121

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.fearrington.com/celebrations/

Fearrington House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Scenic View (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Cozy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at the Fearrington, and had a wonderful meal! The beef tenderloin entree was incredible, and the chocolate souffle was absolutely amazing! Service was excellent, atmosphere was fantastic, it was the perfect place for celebrating a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had never visited Fearrington House before, and went there for our anniversary. It was a special treat, and we very much enjoyed. Our server (Jason) was excellent... attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

A perfect place for an anniversary dinner. The food is outstanding, as is the entire staff. Our waiter made excellent suggestions for our menu selections and the sommelier found the perfect wine to accompany our food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

A delightful restaurant and hotel in a semi rural spot yet within easy access of Chapel Hill, Raleigh and Durham. The food is beautifully presented and delightful, the service was impeccable and the wine list very extensive. The Chocolate Soufflé, which was excellent, I was told had been on the menu continuously for the last 36 years! A restaurant for a special occasion; we visited for our wedding anniversary and there were some very nice touches including a Menu with our name on to take home together with some home made jam and chocolates.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Everything was delicious and beautiful. I had said it was our anniversary when making the reservation and they printed a special menu for us. All of he food was delicious and the wine pairings were amazing.
They even do extra things like aperitif and boxed chocolates after dessert.
A bit fancy and expensive for us on the regular, but perfect for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were extremely impressed with our experience at Fearrington House Restaurant. We live just a few minutes away but had never been. Went for my wife's birthday and we were both truly blown away by the entire experience -- most notably the food itself. It was out of this world. I had no idea such fine dining could be found so close to home in Chatham County, NC. Outstanding! We will be back for sure -- I haven't been able to stop thinking about some of the new flavors we experienced. And the wine and cocktails are also off the charts. Never had a sazerac outside of NOLA that I liked, but they nailed it here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful ambience and bright/personable service.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I have the great good luck to live in the Fearrington Village and the restaurant is less than a mile away from my house. I always use it for special occasions knowing that I and my guest(s) will have a great experience. My only suggestion, and it is a minor one, would be to have valet parking.
Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My family and I celebrated my birthday here last evening. This was our second time dining here. One of the nicest restaurants I've ever been to. They didn't disappoint last night either. Service is attentive without being pretentious or overbearing. The clear, fresh flavors of the food are amazing. We indulged in the wine pairing for each course and loved everything that was poured for us. We learned so much from the sommelier. The Fearrington House should be saved for a special occasion and relished.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent food w attention to display. Superb service

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fearrington House is a lovely place to stay and eat. We opted for the tasting menu for our dinner which was excellent. This place is a splurge but well worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fantastic dining experience! I took my fiance there for his birthday and we tried the chef's tasting. The food was creative, delicious, and perfectly prepared. They even gave us some house made strawberry jam and hand painted truffles to take home. I highly recommend them for a nice meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Possibly the best restaurant I've ever eaten at, but pricey. This was my third time eating dinner and all have been excellent.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wifey and I celebrated in style last weekend for our anniversary. Fearrington House is not for the penny pincher, except perhaps for Restaurant Week. We had an amazing meal, which can be tough to be had as a vegetarian. We got the vegetarian tasting menu with wine pairings. That, plus a cocktail, set us back to what I paid for my first car. But, it was so worth it. Inventive, scrumptious, and simply fantastic! There were at least nine courses, if you count the amuse bouches. The wine pairing were delicious too.

We've been to a Michelin star restaurant, and Fearrington House is definitely on par. Superb stuff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have been wanting to come here for years, and finally got to celebrate our anniversary here this evening. It was definitely a place we will come back to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Awesome, never disappointed! Every dish is a culinary delight. Your taste buds will thank you, all the descriptions are experienced. We come every season to taste the most well crafted foods. From the muffins that melt in your mouth, the spinach soup with lemon custard- a perfect match, foie gras to close your eyes for, octopus so delicate, rabbit wrapped in prosciutto surprises you with the most delicious duck confit in the center, and never leave without having the best chocolate soufflé! Happy to know it's in my backyard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I have been trying for over a year to get a reservation so was thrilled when we were able to celebrate our anniversary at Fearrington House. This place was worth the wait. We walked around the square and the service began as soon as we entered the grounds. Beautiful place. The food started with creative tapas and the menu provided so many options. I am lactose intolerant and the chef made sure to make my food without issue.
We cannot say enough good things about this place! But of course, you will pay a high price for this service, elegance and good food and wine.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

When one spends over $300 for dinner for two, one should not be placed in the crying baby section of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The service and food at Fearrington Restaurant is always simply outstanding. It is an event for the mouth and well worth the money. The staff make you feel welcome from the very beginning. They always appear actually happy to see you. They are pleasant, unpretentious, and eager to please which makes dining so much more of a positive experience. All of the food is plated with meticulous care-eye appealing every step of the way. This time the spinach soup was superior and the small chef plates between courses were inventive and delicious. In fact all of our food was a 5, except the breads which were surprisingly a little tough and dry this time- still not bad ( a 4 maybe) but not as good as in the past. We always save room for the desserts -which were again outstanding. We just love love love the after dinner chocolates. As a fond farewell they presented us with to-go gifts of yummy homemade strawberry jams. We loved every minute of our dinner and will definitely be back !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Service was outstanding and food was amazing. The different flavors paired up were quiet outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great (food, service, ambiance) except portion sizes are very small for the tasting menu. We realize it is called "tasting" for a reason. We expected small portions for the many exquisite courses served but were surprised when the main course had only one 3 " (or smaller) narrow strip of duck. Although we liked the tasting menu, next time we will order a la carte as from looking around to see what other diners were eating, they seem to be more usual size portions. The chocolate souffle was very memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Grew up in the area and always dreamed of trying this place but not on a student budget. Came back after a 20-year absence and decided to tick another box on the bucket list. Was sadly disappointed. Portions were microscopic (even for a tasting menu--we left still hungry) and bland both to the palate and the eye. Service was amazing, though, and the sommelier offered a quirky pairing option that was interesting (but not delicious). Two people with one having wine. Bill was almost $600 with tip. Plus another $20 for the pizza afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Consistent high quality and tasty food selections. Service is excellent, always attentive but never intrusive or overbearing.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Perfect, as always! The vegetarian tasting menu is well thought out, creative and delicious. The service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Server and food were both top notch. The soufflé is not to be missed. Can't wait to come back again soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food that I got was some of the best food I have ever had! Honestly one of the best meals that I have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our whole evening was wonderful! Their service was far above 5star! Attention to detail, menu review, atmosphere including the scenery was all impeccable! We felt like we were taken to another world, we just really slowed down and enjoyed the whole dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fearrington House is our go-to choice for a special occasion dinner and it did not disappoint for this trip. We were welcomed by Joris and shown to our table immediately even though we were a few minutes early for our reservation. Our server was very attentive and readily answered any question about the items on the menu. As usual, we left with chocolates for later and a special additional treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual, the food, service and ambiance were first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our third time to the restaurant and as before everything was perfect. The food is amazing especially the fresh produce, since they grow it themselves. It is Michelin star dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dined here for a graduation celebration and was underwhelmed. We waited about 45 minutes between our 1st and 2nd course, which seemed a bit excessive for how few other diners there were. The dishes were also not explained to us and were very vague on the menu, so we had no idea what we were ordering. Even when we asked the server for clarification, he didn't seem to know. Food was average at best, I think the most "memorable" part was the bread. I am an experienced diner and for this price point I expect much much more.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unbelievable! We were celebrating a special day and it met all the expectations of a great celebratory place - very memorable. The service, wine list, and all plates (we did a 3 Three Course Meals and 1 Four Course Meal) were fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful! Perfection! I brought my very well-traveled friend who has dined at the finest restaurants, and she adored it. Our server was unbelievably gracious and went above and beyond. The food was amazing. Such a special place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was great, the atmosphere was wonderful and the food was beautiful and delicious. However, the pours for the wine pairings were very small considering the cost. I would not do the pairings again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good as always! The Spring menu is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic place for special occasion. Enjoyed the tasting menu w wine pairings. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had our 16th anniversary here at the same place we ate the first meal as a married couple. Then as now everything was close to perfect. The only thing I noticed is the room in which we were dining had a musty smell and I am allergic to mold spores. I had difficulty breathing and was stopped up most of the night. I know it's an old house, but on our wedding night we were set in a more open area upstairs and it was fine. The seating arrangement was three tables for two quite closely set into the alcove. It was hard to concentrate on just our own conversation. Not very romantic when the Sommelier and waiters were standing at other table. But overall we enjoyed ourselves. The parsnip soup was my favorite dish of the evening and the beet crêpe with bébés goat cheese was superb. Baked potatoes gelé was not something of ever want to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

An amazing experience , great staff who will take very good care of you! It was great for a special occasion and if it is in your budget go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The cost is high but the food and service were excellent. A great setting for a special event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday at the Fearrington House was outstanding. This was a four-course meal with fairly small portions and perfectly presented with gourmet touches. Even the rolls were housemade with different choices - delectable ! Each course was unique , and we especially loved the dessert - a chocolate souffle - and then filled with additional chocolate sauce with a dollop of whipped cream. The service was wonderful and well-timed too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.