About Fearrington House Restaurant

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House Restaurant welcome guests with exceptional service and a seasonally changing menu. Executive Chef Colin Bedford and his team’s commitment to exceptional farm-to-fork cuisine is woven throughout the dining experience.

From partnerships with local farms, including Duckwood Farms and Heritage Farms, to vegetables and herbs harvested from gardens on property, to dishes that celebrate North Carolina’s four distinct seasons, The Fearrington House’s mission to provide Relais & Chateaux level cuisine and service to guests has remained constant since opening in 1980.

Our menu is complemented by a beverage program featuring an extensive wine list, a fully-equipped bar, cocktails with local ingredient and beers celebrating North Carolina breweries. The beverage program is overseen by Beverage Director Paula de Pano.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the restaurant. Limousine parking available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
Fearrington's beautifully appointed dining rooms, banquet halls, and expansive grounds offer a variety of venues for weddings, private parties, and special occasions. Our dedicated event planners will custom design, coordinate and execute every last detail guaranteeing an event that will dazzle your guests. There are several private dining rooms that will accommodate parties from 8 to 50 and our Garden Terrace will accommodate parties of up to 120.

The Barn at Fearrington offers an exceptional venue for large gatherings including weddings, holiday parties, and company events such as barbeques and team building and celebrations. The climate controlled Barn's rustic appeal always greets guests as an unexpected pleasure. The cobblestone entrance way, expansive dining and dancing space, magical twig chandeliers make the Barn one of the most desirable locations in the Triangle. The Barn at Fearrington accommodates groups from 125 to 300.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Day: 919 542 2121x333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.fearrington.com/celebrations/

Restaurant Photos

Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC
Fearrington House Restaurant, Pittsboro, NC

Fearrington House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
10 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Contemporary American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
Best Food
Chapel Hill
Best Service
Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Special Occasion (32)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Romantic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for a Date (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Historic (10)
Scenic View (9)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fireplace (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Words cannot explain what kind of experi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Words cannot explain what kind of experience The Fearrington House is like. Derek was our server and he was so amicable and passionate about the food being served. They made our engagement celebration all that more memorable. Will be returning as the seasonal menu changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable scallops with salsify and aco ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Impeccable scallops with salsify and acorn. Sublime foie gras with pumpkin and chestnuts. Inventive lobster with carrots and old bay. Perfectly seasoned vanison with quince and rutabaga. Valrhona Coeur de guanaja souffle was a slightly disappointing departure from the traditional Edna Lewis deep dark chocolate souffle. The taste and appearance was more of a milk chocolate. Please go back to the original recipe, Chef Colin! The cheese selections could have been more refined. With the exception of the Robiolo, the other three cheeses bordered on the insipid, including the bleu. Service was attentive without being overbearing. A lovely evening!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Historic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional start to finish. Personal a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Exceptional start to finish.

Personal and very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been coming here for special occas ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We've been coming here for special occasions for years. It never disappoints. Colin is definitely one of the finest to run the kitchen. Always creative with great choices. Great staff and service. Quiet. Seasonal menus. Always a treat!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to dine out for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We decided to dine out for Thanksgiving this year, and the Fearrington House was the perfect spot. The service was excellent and the cuisine even better. We brought my 8 year old daughter along, and the restaurant was completely accommodating to her. Perfect for special occasions or simply a fantastic meal. Also, it is located in Fearrington Village ... such a cool spot - neat shops, farm, etc. It was a fun occasion, and we look forward to returning soon. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Scenic View, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Fearrington House Restaurant this past Sunday night. We had a wonderful time sitting by the fire with Kir Royales and enjoying the ambiance of the drawing room for almost an hour (at out choice) before dinner. The bar tender was very pleasant and knowledgeable and made sure we had everything we wanted. Dinner was excellent and consisted of four courses for me and three for my wife with wine, of course. Following dinner we adjourned back to the fire for a cordial and to wait for transportation which the restaurant contacted on our behalf. All in all a very pleasant, romantic, delicious evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Fearrington House is a beautiful din ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Fearrington House is a beautiful dining venue with exquisite service an wonderful ambiance; and under most circumstances would be worth the drive (3 hour round trip) and the very high cost of the meal.

I had chosen the restaurant because of the consistently high reviews given by other OT reviewers. I was, however, disappointed in the food.

While the menu was extensive, the presentation beautiful and service outstanding; it seemed the chef was "stretching" in an attempt to be unique. There was not a course -- from the bread to dessert that was really satisfying to the pallet. Sauces and accompanying sides involved unusual (strange) ingredients that distracted from the primary elements of the dish.

This failure in menu design is truly sad since everything else about the Fearrington House is so outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My mom enjoys herself every year for her ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My mom enjoys herself every year for her birthday. She enjoys the way the food is prepared and presented.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. We try to go each time menu changes and have always been extremely pleased 28th the food and service!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding. This restaurant dese ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Simply outstanding. This restaurant deserves all of the accolades that they have received.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and atmosphere were f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere were fantastic, as always. This was our 4th visit this year, one time for each season, and the vegetarian tasting menu was incredible each time.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Colin does it again! I have to tel ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Chef Colin does it again! I have to tell you go now while the truffle fried chicken is on the menu. It is truly amazing. The new wine menu would be hard to beat... love the new selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb, superb, superb! Service was imp ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Superb, superb, superb! Service was impeccable, food a real treat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Fearrington House is a great restaur ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Fearrington House is a great restaurent! The food and the service is outstanding! However, it is very expensive and not for the faint of wallet. Even though it was expensive I do think the overall experience was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the most amazing experien ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is one of the most amazing experiences in the area. It was 30 minute drive and worth every minute. They even branded had printed menues with happy anniversary. A very personalized experience. The prices are very expensive the food and level of services matches the prices. Highly recommended for any special night with a loved one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The dining experience was very long. Thr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The dining experience was very long. Three hours and we tried to move it along. That's ok if you are with a big table but for two people it's a bit much. Waiter was fabulous though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place. I had been there 2 years a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place. I had been there 2 years ago and returned for a Saturday night dinner with my daughter and friend. It was even better!! The food was outstanding as were the recommendations for wine parings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been consistently the best rest ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This has been consistently the best restaurant in the area for many years. The food is excellent as is the wine list- the service is always impeccable. A comparatively rare restaurant in this area where the sommeliers really know their wine. Not inexpensive but you get what you pay for. This time I particularly liked both the game consommé and the venison.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food combined by equally great ser ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great food combined by equally great service. The restaurant is a very inviting, cozy and warm, but we were most impressed by how accommodating the servers were at all levels.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A wonderful place for special occasions. The meals are unique, the staff are attentive, and the grounds are an enjoyable backdrop to the event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of seven. It was the f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We were a party of seven. It was the first visit for some and a repeat of more than once for others. Everything about the evening was as excellent as we expected. The food is marvelous. One friend has said it's the best food she has ever had in any restaurant in the world, and she has traveled extensively. The portions are just right; the flavors and textures and everything involved in each dish in each course complement each other beautifully. We had a grand time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drive is worth it. It is an outstand ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The drive is worth it. It is an outstanding eating experience from the first bite to the last. The staff is extremely attentive to every detail. The menu selections are varied with something for everyone. I loved the quail. The courses are well thought out with delicate taste combinations that would please even the most refined palates. And the chocolate souffle was simply perfect!

We are now planning to make this our birthday clelebration place every year!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always this restaurant delivers on ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

As always this restaurant delivers on everything one needs to have a great dinner. However, for the first time...and not the restaurant's fault, a near by diner was much too loud. Almost everyone in the room turned around to look at him at some time during the evening. At times it

was difficult to keep a conversation going. Staff did not appear to know what to do. Otherwise the food was excellent, the service top notch, and the general ambiance delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for the wonderful evening of g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful evening of great good and superb service. Everything was perfect. Looking forward to our next trip and meal!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner. We selected the 3 course dinner option and we were also given an appetizer, wonderful selection of rolls, a pre-desert course, jellies to take home, and truffles, in addition to our selections. Each gourmet course was small and beautifully presented. We especially loved the smoked duck, and the Rasberry/Thyme mousse. The sommelier was a joy to speak with and recommended terrific wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary in every regard. Everyone ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Extraordinary in every regard. Everyone involved in the production of this meal works at the highest level. I have eaten there twice, and each time was unforgettable and inspiring about what individuals with knives and stoves can produce as art.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome cocktails before hand with amazi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Awesome cocktails before hand with amazing menu with custom wine pairing suited to the dishes we each individually ordered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Amazing at ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Amazing attention to detail. Wonderful staff, Carlos, our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. Food, service, atmosphere ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always great. Food, service, atmosphere is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way. Excellent atte ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Excellent attention to the needs of a gluten-free diner.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place looks good. Its sophisticated ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The place looks good. Its sophisticated but the food is not great. Its ridiculously expensive. They are very slow in service. I saw the reviews and was excited but it was just a fancy restaurant with bad to mediocre food .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fearrington House continues to live up ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fearrington House continues to live up to its reputation. We were celebrating our anniversary and received a menu with our names and anniversary date on the cover. The food and wine were excellent, as was the service. We were pleased that they had a very good selection of wines by the glass which we like since we each prefer different kind.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meal ever!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The best meal ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding. ...food, wine, and staff... ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding. ...food, wine, and staff... can not say enough positive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place for special occasions. food ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

great place for special occasions. food was great, especially the sauces, and garnishments. service was excellent and attentive. highly recommend for special occasions, as it is quite pricey, but worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant fine dining with an imaginative ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Elegant fine dining with an imaginative menu and excellent service. Many extras (amuse-bouche, etc.). Perfect for a special occasion. Prix fixe or tasting menu. Expensive but worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. I can't wait t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding in every way. I can't wait to go again to sample all culinary delights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best I have ever had in the USA. Rom ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The best I have ever had in the USA. Romantic, exquisite, refined, epic...are a few describing this place.

Leave room for the soufflé. It's been on menu for 30 years.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff was extremely friendly, knowledgab ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Staff was extremely friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating.

John went the extra mile to make the right recommendations to make our dining experience a memorable evening. An asset.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.