About Fearrington House Restaurant

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

This romantic farmhouse restaurant, a member of Relais & Chateaux, is "exquisite from start to finish...indeed sublime...at once cleverly original and intelligently conceived, with a nod to tradition," wrote critic Greg Cox of the News & Observer. Chef Colin Bedford's menu is a symphony of the seasonal, local and exotic, carefully sourced and marvelous to taste. Select from an award-winning wine cellar or let Sommelier Max Kast expertly pair wines for each course. Arrive early for an aperitif in the bar, on the front porch of the white-columned farmhouse, in the chairs overlooking the pastures, or while touring extensive gardens. Intimate rooms with fireplaces and exquisite regional art join with the 2011 Gold Medalist menu (N&O) for an exceptional experience. North Carolina’s only AAA Five Diamond restaurant is just a short drive in the countryside, near to Chapel Hill, Cary, Raleigh or Durham.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the restaurant. Limousine parking available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
Fearrington's beautifully appointed dining rooms, banquet halls, and expansive grounds offer a variety of venues for weddings, private parties, and special occasions. Our dedicated event planners will custom design, coordinate and execute every last detail guaranteeing an event that will dazzle your guests. There are several private dining rooms that will accommodate parties from 8 to 50 and our Garden Terrace will accommodate parties of up to 120.

The Barn at Fearrington offers an exceptional venue for large gatherings including weddings, holiday parties, and company events such as barbeques and team building and celebrations. The climate controlled Barn's rustic appeal always greets guests as an unexpected pleasure. The cobblestone entrance way, expansive dining and dancing space, magical twig chandeliers make the Barn one of the most desirable locations in the Triangle. The Barn at Fearrington accommodates groups from 125 to 300.

Private Party Contact:
Cheryl Kast: 919 542 2121x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.fearrington.com/wedding/

Restaurant Photos

Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant
Fearrington House Restaurant

Fearrington House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Food
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
11 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Contemporary American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
Best Food
Chapel Hill
Best Service
Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (45)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Scenic View (21)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were a party of seven. It was the f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We were a party of seven. It was the first visit for some and a repeat of more than once for others. Everything about the evening was as excellent as we expected. The food is marvelous. One friend has said it's the best food she has ever had in any restaurant in the world, and she has traveled extensively. The portions are just right; the flavors and textures and everything involved in each dish in each course complement each other beautifully. We had a grand time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drive is worth it. It is an outstand ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The drive is worth it. It is an outstanding eating experience from the first bite to the last. The staff is extremely attentive to every detail. The menu selections are varied with something for everyone. I loved the quail. The courses are well thought out with delicate taste combinations that would please even the most refined palates. And the chocolate souffle was simply perfect!

We are now planning to make this our birthday clelebration place every year!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always this restaurant delivers on ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

As always this restaurant delivers on everything one needs to have a great dinner. However, for the first time...and not the restaurant's fault, a near by diner was much too loud. Almost everyone in the room turned around to look at him at some time during the evening. At times it

was difficult to keep a conversation going. Staff did not appear to know what to do. Otherwise the food was excellent, the service top notch, and the general ambiance delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for the wonderful evening of g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful evening of great good and superb service. Everything was perfect. Looking forward to our next trip and meal!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner. We selected the 3 course dinner option and we were also given an appetizer, wonderful selection of rolls, a pre-desert course, jellies to take home, and truffles, in addition to our selections. Each gourmet course was small and beautifully presented. We especially loved the smoked duck, and the Rasberry/Thyme mousse. The sommelier was a joy to speak with and recommended terrific wines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary in every regard. Everyone ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Extraordinary in every regard. Everyone involved in the production of this meal works at the highest level. I have eaten there twice, and each time was unforgettable and inspiring about what individuals with knives and stoves can produce as art.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome cocktails before hand with amazi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Awesome cocktails before hand with amazing menu with custom wine pairing suited to the dishes we each individually ordered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Amazing at ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Amazing attention to detail. Wonderful staff, Carlos, our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. Food, service, atmosphere ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always great. Food, service, atmosphere is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way. Excellent atte ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Excellent attention to the needs of a gluten-free diner.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place looks good. Its sophisticated ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The place looks good. Its sophisticated but the food is not great. Its ridiculously expensive. They are very slow in service. I saw the reviews and was excited but it was just a fancy restaurant with bad to mediocre food .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fearrington House continues to live up ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fearrington House continues to live up to its reputation. We were celebrating our anniversary and received a menu with our names and anniversary date on the cover. The food and wine were excellent, as was the service. We were pleased that they had a very good selection of wines by the glass which we like since we each prefer different kind.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meal ever!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The best meal ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding. ...food, wine, and staff... ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding. ...food, wine, and staff... can not say enough positive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place for special occasions. food ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

great place for special occasions. food was great, especially the sauces, and garnishments. service was excellent and attentive. highly recommend for special occasions, as it is quite pricey, but worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant fine dining with an imaginative ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Elegant fine dining with an imaginative menu and excellent service. Many extras (amuse-bouche, etc.). Perfect for a special occasion. Prix fixe or tasting menu. Expensive but worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. I can't wait t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding in every way. I can't wait to go again to sample all culinary delights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best I have ever had in the USA. Rom ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The best I have ever had in the USA. Romantic, exquisite, refined, epic...are a few describing this place.

Leave room for the soufflé. It's been on menu for 30 years.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff was extremely friendly, knowledgab ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Staff was extremely friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating.

John went the extra mile to make the right recommendations to make our dining experience a memorable evening. An asset.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Fearrington House was our special oc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Fearrington House was our special occasion dining choice during the 17 years we lived in Chapel Hill and much missed when we moved 10 years ago. We have traveled back to Chapel Hill just for dinner since our move - as always we greatly enjoyed the wonderful service and lovely atmosphere although the menu selections, though very good did not quite live up to our memories of past meals. We missed the lack of salad choices on the menu. Dropping salads seems to be an unfortunate recent trend at many restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the food is inventive but not well execu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

the food is inventive but not well executed and is not nearly as good as similarly priced restaurants.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful and memorable dining. The en ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful and memorable dining. The entire experience was peaceful, relaxing, and delicious! We arrived a little early and had cocktails in lounge before. Evening started with impeccable service in lounge. We had the four course offering. All of the dishes were delicious and well balanced. Service was excellent. People's dress ranged from business casual to jacket and tie, which we think is great. The focus is on serving great food with great service, not being stuffy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've eaten here three times in the last ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've eaten here three times in the last sixteen months. Twice we had very good meals, once it was disappointing. This seems to be the consensus among friends - service is excellent but the food is inconsistent. Considering that dinner for two with cocktail/wine and tip will be in the $275.00 and up range disappointment should not be on the menu. But when it's good, it's very very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was absolutely amazing and the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing and the service was just great. Everyone is extremely welcoming at the restaurant and the atmosphere is very comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All in all an absolutely exceptional din ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

All in all an absolutely exceptional dining experience. Top 5. Fantastic!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience as always! I lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great dining experience as always! I love coming here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maybe the best meal of my life. The quai ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Maybe the best meal of my life. The quail was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Fearrington House Restaurant ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always, Fearrington House Restaurant delivered the goods and "then some". My husband and I keep praying that Colin B. and staff don't move on to any other restaurants and so far, we (and the rest of the guest that visit) are VERY lucky. Seeing Maximilian and Joris always makes our visit. Our server Jason was new to us but very well trained and delightful. As usual, the food, service, cocktails, wine and atmosphere were SUPERB. We especially loved the wine pairings that Max chose for my husband and I and the salted and unsalted BUTTER (can we buy POUNDS of that for home????). The amuse-bouche, palate cleansers, jelly, special menu's and chocolates are SO much enjoyed and appreciated. We will be back in August!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting--indoors and out! The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful setting--indoors and out! The service was very nice, the staff is charming. We had a lovely evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

we had forgotten to mention our friend's ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

we had forgotten to mention our friend's birthday but the staff put together a 'signature' menu and even had the chef sign it! it was a lovely, not-rushed, quiet evening with many little surprise 'between-courses' treats. wonderful location, good service and food for a special night! a creative, interesting and delicious menu well-presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My spouse and I came to Fearrington to e ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My spouse and I came to Fearrington to experience fine dining together - I'd been a few times before but it was my spouse's first time. Recently we'd both been trying to develop our palates and Fearrington seemed like an appropriate local opportunity.

Compared to some of my past experiences, I felt a bit out of place for not being interested in meat or alcohol. While I do know choosing not to partake does constitute a difficulty for the restaurant, I was surprised by the degree to which my tastes were assumed. The food was, of course, excellent. Beyond, the commitment to sourcing and sustainability were clear, admirable, and much appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was great, Was a bit surprised ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was great, Was a bit surprised that the waiter didn't ask about the occasion . It was our 25th wedding anniversary...no big deal. just felt the waiter was going through the motions. Not very personable, maybe was having a bad day...we all have those.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Quiet Sunday night Father's Day dinner, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Quiet Sunday night Father's Day dinner, for four, four courses with wine pairings. Relaxed evening with lots of interesting tastes to savor. Attentive and knowledgeable service (both food and wine), beautiful garden views. Very special food combinations and a good variety of menu choices. Overall, wonderful. The fine print: Yellow gazpacho fantastic. Roasted corn dish also really good. Compressed watermelon delicious. Among the four of us opting for different desserts, the cheese plate was the biggest hit. The other desserts did not seem as creative as the rest of the meal. Amuse bouche: chicken mousse (?) cute but blah. Vegetarian main dish option wanted more protein to be a main dish. Would it be nice to have at least one super spicy option?

Bon appétit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were not terribly impressed. Food w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were not terribly impressed. Food was ok but not outstanding. Menu was very limited and it was pricey. Not opposed to paying for great food, but this menu does not justify the price tag.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The main courses were disappointing. Two ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The main courses were disappointing. Two had fish and it was a bit overcooked. One had

beef tenderloin and it was overcooked. One had rabbit and said it was OK. The wine choices

were wonderful. The first and second courses were wonderful and would stand up to any

around the world. The desserts had too many choices with white chocolate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome place....has never let us down i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome place....has never let us down in the slightest little way

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a professional food scientist so fo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I am a professional food scientist so food is a passion of mine. I have enjoyed dining in several countries and all major cities of the U.S. in over 40 years of business travel. Our meal on Saturday night was the finest dining experience ever. Nothing could have been improved upon for our anniversary celebration. To top off the evening we heard "our song" played at the end of the meal. A very special serendipitous touch to an occasion we shall never forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Unfortunate ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Unfortunately, the price of wine for the amount served is outrageous! I am more than willing to pay for value-added things like food & service, but there is very little value-added in opening a bottle of wine (even taking storage & refrigeration into account). $12 to $14 for a 3 oz. glass of "featured" (house?) wine is beyond gouging. Unfortunate, since it really puts a damper on an otherwise excellent dining experience. Howard Horton

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The srevice has been phenomenal each tim ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The srevice has been phenomenal each time we've visited. The food was an experience, each bite more delicious than the previous bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Fearrington House a couple o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We dined at Fearrington House a couple of months ago and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of it, from the ambience, to the service, to the food. We were worried that another visit would not live up to that experience, and we were pleased to have this visit be as wonderful and perfect as the last. This truly is a five star restaurant. The chef does not treat the vegetarian menu as an afterthought to the meat menu. There is so much thought put into flavors and textures complementing and contrasting each other. Every course is a delight, and the service is perfect. We will go back again with every season, and hope to enjoy the chefs seasonally inspired creations for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.