Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

About Fearrington House Restaurant

The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House Restaurant welcome guests with exceptional service and a seasonally changing menu. Executive Chef Colin Bedford and his team’s commitment to exceptional farm-to-fork cuisine is woven throughout the dining experience.

From partnerships with local farms, including Duckwood Farms and Heritage Farms, to vegetables and herbs harvested from gardens on property, to dishes that celebrate North Carolina’s four distinct seasons, The Fearrington House’s mission to provide Relais & Chateaux level cuisine and service to guests has remained constant since opening in 1980.

Our menu is complemented by a beverage program featuring an extensive wine list, a fully-equipped bar, cocktails with local ingredient and beers celebrating North Carolina breweries. The beverage program is overseen by Beverage Director Paula de Pano.

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the restaurant. Limousine parking available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
Fearrington's beautifully appointed dining rooms, banquet halls, and expansive grounds offer a variety of venues for weddings, private parties, and special occasions. Our dedicated event planners will custom design, coordinate and execute every last detail guaranteeing an event that will dazzle your guests. There are several private dining rooms that will accommodate parties from 8 to 50 and our Garden Terrace will accommodate parties of up to 120.

The Barn at Fearrington offers an exceptional venue for large gatherings including weddings, holiday parties, and company events such as barbeques and team building and celebrations. The climate controlled Barn's rustic appeal always greets guests as an unexpected pleasure. The cobblestone entrance way, expansive dining and dancing space, magical twig chandeliers make the Barn one of the most desirable locations in the Triangle. The Barn at Fearrington accommodates groups from 125 to 300.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (919) 542-2121

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.fearrington.com/celebrations/

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for Easter lunch at The Fearrington House. Arrive early to stroll our blooming spring gardens & then enjoy a 4 course meal designed by Chef Colin Bedford. Contact the restaurant for reservations.

Fearrington House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Historic (10)
Fireplace (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Business Meals (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
S
1120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Creative combinations of color, texture and taste. Beautiful plating. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

5 Star all the way around. Amazing food...incredible service and attention to detail.

Outstanding...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was spectacular! In particular, the "Wooly Pig" was wonderful; wild boar done in very creative ways.

Tags: Historic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It had been over 20 years since my wife and I dined at Fearrington House. We were not disappointed. If anything the food is more modern and the chef more forward thinking.

I would put the food on par with Herons at The Umstead Hotel. The service is excellent but I did give 5 stars because we were not offered coffee after dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful, as always. Food was delicious, unique and creatively presented. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have heard about this restaurant for years. I was told by a friend about 10yrs ago this is the only 5 star restaurant in North Carolina.
I agree with the 3 star Yelp reviews.
The food is good. The quantity is very small. The price is very high.
The ambiance and service were nice.
Unfortunately it is not fine dining quality food.
It doesn't compare to fine dining experience I have had in NYC, Chicago, LA, etc.
I was so disappointed.
Anyone who reads this who thinks I am off try a decent French Restaurant in any metropolitan area and you will understand my point.
Or even better try the Inn at Little Washington in Virginia. You would be sorry to ever give the Fearrington House a good review after this. You may ask for a refund.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a wonderful time at fearington house. The food was very creative and tasteful. Jason our waiter was very personable and knowledgeable about everything. Thr black cod was our favorite dish. The portions are appropriate. Don't know what others are referring to. We came away saying that we should come here on more than special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing food! Portions were more than expected so we were well fed. Nice atmosphere but you are dining close to other guests. I enjoyed the wine pairing to try new wines. Price is at a premium but so is the food - just be aware going into the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Fearrington House Restaurant is a special place. I've had the opportunity to dine there twice now, and I certainly enjoyed each visit. Here are some things to keep in mind:

1) This restaurant thrives on delivering an experience. If I could underline and italicize 'experience,' I would. The venue is charming, the staff are very experienced, and the food is beautiful and delicious.

2) If anything, one might say that the food is too beautiful. While I didn't notice this until my second visit, I think a common critique might be that the focus on presentation outstrips taste. Now, that is not to say that the food lacks any measure of complexity or creativity in generating playful flavors. I just wonder what the menu would *taste* like if some of the focus placed on preparing dishes with a five-star visual quality was reallocated. Balance is important and I'd almost prefer if the menu favored flavor. To their credit, I think the 'Chicken with Potato & Truffle; Leek, Honey, Buttermilk' entrée is an excellent example of this in concept, although I have yet to try it.

3) Regardless of whether you choose to order 3/4 courses or the Chef's Tasting Menu, you are almost constantly presented with plate after plate. In fact, unless you are particularly interested in what the Chef's Menu offers, you're likely better served to select each course to your taste. For reference any of the 3 or 4 courses you choose can be selected from any part of the menu so long as you only order at most one main course. I would plan your order in advance.

4) The staff are (at least in my experience) very educated and precise without an air of condescension. Ask questions.

If you happen to live within a few hours and you haven't made the trip at least once, you're missing out on an experience you'll likely remember for years to come.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The meal was superb and the wine - French Syrah was delicious. the room is quiet and we were not rushed. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Among the wonderful restaurants in the Triangle, it is difficult to say that one fabulous experience is better than another, but Fearrington House Restaurant is certainly among the very best. Experience the tasting menu with wine pairings, and then walk to your room. It will be a night to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place is terribly overpriced from dishes that don't match the tag... over salted, over sweetened, and extremely small portions are big mistakes for a 5 Diamond AAA restaurant.. not impressed at all

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have stayed at Blackberry Farm in TN a number of times, and being in the area I was excited to try Fearington House. The food at Blackberry is simply outstanding, the reviews I read of F-H seemed to point in that direction. Sadly this was not the case. While the ambiance is there, the service was impeccable, and the property is beautiful, the food was no more than average. At the price point and menu of F-H , there is little room for error. I will not be dining here again, and under no circumstances would I recommend this to a friend. Go check it out, have a drink at the beautiful bar with a very professional bartender, but do yourself a favor and skip the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Exquisite experience for a special romantic time. Our waiter was perfect, k ew the menu in detail. The food was exemplary with every creative dish an amazing combination of tastes and consistencies - and beautifully presented. It clearly earns and deserves every star it has.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was impeccable, attentive and warm. Fearrington' staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Creative cuisine and unique dishes. delivery was a bit slow. We found the Wolly pig a bit chewy and the medium rare beef not as tender as beef can be at a fine dining restaurant. I'd certainly recommend it if cost and time is not an issue.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service. Food at breakfast and dinner were both outstanding. Very accommodating of dietary restructions. I hope to come back someday. Ed Kinkeade from Texas

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing as always! This place never disappoints for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Pros:
The food was excellent in quality and taste.
Very nice atmosphere.
Service was very good.

Cons:
The portions were petite. I had a three course meal. The appetizer consisted of about 2 oz. of food. Similarly the 2nd course was about 2-3 tablespoons of food. My venison entree was 2 small half-dollar size portions each, about 2-3 oz. total. I was unsatisfied at the end of the meal and it was $105.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is by far one of, if not the most outstanding restaurants that we have ever been to. We were celebrating several special occasions in one date and this experience did not disappoint. While very expensive, it is the experience that made it worth the cost. From the 4 courses to the wine pairings to the little extras throughout the evening, wow!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The Fearrington House is a unique restaurant, and one of the priciest in the triangle. They work hard to justify that price. The setting is perfect, and the service is impeccable. For all but the wealthiest customers, dining there is probably a special occasion, as it was in our case. Unfortunately, the experience was less than perfect.

We arrived early, planning to have a pre-dinner sherry in their lounge (a nice touch). We noticed the musty smell mentioned by others. It didn't bother us much though - we're a bit old and stuffy ourselves. Their drinks menu in the lounge offers several sherries by the glass. It turned out, however, that they don't really offer sherries by the glass. They did, though, manage to provide a couple by finding a bottle (not on the menu) that had been opened.

The meal itself was beautifully presented, each course consisting of a very elegant arrangement of items. Our reaction, though, was that more attention had been paid to the visual effect than to the taste. Each course contained so many strongly flavored elements that the overall effect was (to our taste) overwhelming and confusing. Too many of the dishes were heavy on the palette, too few offered light or subtle flavors.

Worse, some of the items did not live up to their promise. One or two were delightful - the hamachi with jalapeno was an excellent combination. The lobster, though, was rather tasteless. The sea bass, while otherwise excellent, tended to be dry - a little over-cooked perhaps.

By the end, we felt overwhelmed rather than gloriously satisfied. We could not finish the post-dessert treats, an array of small but heavy sweets. A small dish of, say, sorbet might have been better appreciated.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Second time here. Everything was perfect. My wife and I took her mom who had never been to a 5-star restaurant. She can't stop talking talking about it...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our family's fifth New Year's Eve dinner at the Fearrington house. I tradition we hope to carry on for many years.
Once again this year, our experience was phenomenal in every way with impressive attention to detail with the food, service, surroundings, and wine. For someone who is fortunate to be able to dine at top restaurants around the world, it is important to note that our New Year's celebrations at the Fearrington House rank as some of the most memorable dinners of a lifetime.
Thank you to Whit and the entire staff for giving up their New Year's Eve so that ours could be so memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I would recommend The Fearrington House Restaurant to anyone who asks! Great service and great food!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The most outstanding restaurant in the region by far. Very expensive but you're in for a real treat. Exquisite service and an outstanding wine list complement the creative menu items. The lobster was to die for and the chicken with truffles outstanding. Of course one cannot NOT have desert! Try the chocolate mousse and you will be in heaven!
Save your pennies and go for it!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always, the food, service and ambiance was superb. We selected the four course dinner with wine pairing, all was done with polish and outstanding service. The only negative comment is that the wine pairings are very small. The size of the pour of each wine was not more than 2 ounces. The cost was $95 per diner which if there was another ounce or two would have been a much wiser choice.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Simply the best food and service in the region. This is not for the casual diner though. It is perfect for a quiet, extended and elegant meal. The wait staff and wine list are extraordinary.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This restaurant gets better every time I go. A wonderful experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We celebrated my retirement. The team was excellent and made it a lovely and special event.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Continues to be over the top wonderful. We especially appreciate the warm hello from Joris and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This restaurant is superior in every respect. Deserving of all 5Star ratings and one of the greatest fine dining establishments in the world. Fixed price menu offering four options in each dining category. Every presentation of food speaks to the highest level of skill in the kitchen.
Decor of the restaurant is always very nice especially during holiday periods such as Christmas.
Service on this occasion was beyond 5Star, the waiter was highly trained, knew every detail of the menu items, gave excellent recommendations when asked and provided top notch serving skills. This restaurant deserves every superior rating and if you are willing to spend top dollar for a great night of dining, you can't beat it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great restaurant.... Tasting menu was fantastic from start to finish!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Words cannot explain what kind of experience The Fearrington House is like. Derek was our server and he was so amicable and passionate about the food being served. They made our engagement celebration all that more memorable. Will be returning as the seasonal menu changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Impeccable scallops with salsify and acorn. Sublime foie gras with pumpkin and chestnuts. Inventive lobster with carrots and old bay. Perfectly seasoned vanison with quince and rutabaga. Valrhona Coeur de guanaja souffle was a slightly disappointing departure from the traditional Edna Lewis deep dark chocolate souffle. The taste and appearance was more of a milk chocolate. Please go back to the original recipe, Chef Colin! The cheese selections could have been more refined. With the exception of the Robiolo, the other three cheeses bordered on the insipid, including the bleu. Service was attentive without being overbearing. A lovely evening!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Historic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Exceptional start to finish.
Personal and very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We've been coming here for special occasions for years. It never disappoints. Colin is definitely one of the finest to run the kitchen. Always creative with great choices. Great staff and service. Quiet. Seasonal menus. Always a treat!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We decided to dine out for Thanksgiving this year, and the Fearrington House was the perfect spot. The service was excellent and the cuisine even better. We brought my 8 year old daughter along, and the restaurant was completely accommodating to her. Perfect for special occasions or simply a fantastic meal. Also, it is located in Fearrington Village ... such a cool spot - neat shops, farm, etc. It was a fun occasion, and we look forward to returning soon. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Scenic View, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Fearrington House Restaurant this past Sunday night. We had a wonderful time sitting by the fire with Kir Royales and enjoying the ambiance of the drawing room for almost an hour (at out choice) before dinner. The bar tender was very pleasant and knowledgeable and made sure we had everything we wanted. Dinner was excellent and consisted of four courses for me and three for my wife with wine, of course. Following dinner we adjourned back to the fire for a cordial and to wait for transportation which the restaurant contacted on our behalf. All in all a very pleasant, romantic, delicious evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Fearrington House is a beautiful dining venue with exquisite service an wonderful ambiance; and under most circumstances would be worth the drive (3 hour round trip) and the very high cost of the meal.

I had chosen the restaurant because of the consistently high reviews given by other OT reviewers. I was, however, disappointed in the food.

While the menu was extensive, the presentation beautiful and service outstanding; it seemed the chef was "stretching" in an attempt to be unique. There was not a course -- from the bread to dessert that was really satisfying to the pallet. Sauces and accompanying sides involved unusual (strange) ingredients that distracted from the primary elements of the dish.

This failure in menu design is truly sad since everything else about the Fearrington House is so outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My mom enjoys herself every year for her birthday. She enjoys the way the food is prepared and presented.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. We try to go each time menu changes and have always been extremely pleased 28th the food and service!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.