Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 6.12mi
  4. Distance: 10.41mi

About Fearrington House Restaurant

The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House Restaurant welcome guests with exceptional service and a seasonally changing menu. Executive Chef Colin Bedford and his team’s commitment to exceptional farm-to-fork cuisine is woven throughout the dining experience.

From partnerships with local farms, including Duckwood Farms and Heritage Farms, to vegetables and herbs harvested from gardens on property, to dishes that celebrate North Carolina’s four distinct seasons, The Fearrington House’s mission to provide Relais & Chateaux level cuisine and service to guests has remained constant since opening in 1980.

Our menu is complemented by a beverage program featuring an extensive wine list, a fully-equipped bar, cocktails with local ingredient and beers celebrating North Carolina breweries. The beverage program is overseen by Beverage Director Paula de Pano.

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday: 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the restaurant. Limousine parking available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
Fearrington's beautifully appointed dining rooms, banquet halls, and expansive grounds offer a variety of venues for weddings, private parties, and special occasions. Our dedicated event planners will custom design, coordinate and execute every last detail guaranteeing an event that will dazzle your guests. There are several private dining rooms that will accommodate parties from 8 to 50 and our Garden Terrace will accommodate parties of up to 120.

The Barn at Fearrington offers an exceptional venue for large gatherings including weddings, holiday parties, and company events such as barbeques and team building and celebrations. The climate controlled Barn's rustic appeal always greets guests as an unexpected pleasure. The cobblestone entrance way, expansive dining and dancing space, magical twig chandeliers make the Barn one of the most desirable locations in the Triangle. The Barn at Fearrington accommodates groups from 125 to 300.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (919) 542-2121

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.fearrington.com/celebrations/

Fearrington House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Local Ingredients (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
Scenic View (10)
Historic (9)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fireplace (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Server and food were both top notch. The soufflé is not to be missed. Can't wait to come back again soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food that I got was some of the best food I have ever had! Honestly one of the best meals that I have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our whole evening was wonderful! Their service was far above 5star! Attention to detail, menu review, atmosphere including the scenery was all impeccable! We felt like we were taken to another world, we just really slowed down and enjoyed the whole dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fearrington House is our go-to choice for a special occasion dinner and it did not disappoint for this trip. We were welcomed by Joris and shown to our table immediately even though we were a few minutes early for our reservation. Our server was very attentive and readily answered any question about the items on the menu. As usual, we left with chocolates for later and a special additional treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual, the food, service and ambiance were first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our third time to the restaurant and as before everything was perfect. The food is amazing especially the fresh produce, since they grow it themselves. It is Michelin star dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unbelievable! We were celebrating a special day and it met all the expectations of a great celebratory place - very memorable. The service, wine list, and all plates (we did a 3 Three Course Meals and 1 Four Course Meal) were fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dined here for a graduation celebration and was underwhelmed. We waited about 45 minutes between our 1st and 2nd course, which seemed a bit excessive for how few other diners there were. The dishes were also not explained to us and were very vague on the menu, so we had no idea what we were ordering. Even when we asked the server for clarification, he didn't seem to know. Food was average at best, I think the most "memorable" part was the bread. I am an experienced diner and for this price point I expect much much more.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful! Perfection! I brought my very well-traveled friend who has dined at the finest restaurants, and she adored it. Our server was unbelievably gracious and went above and beyond. The food was amazing. Such a special place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was great, the atmosphere was wonderful and the food was beautiful and delicious. However, the pours for the wine pairings were very small considering the cost. I would not do the pairings again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good as always! The Spring menu is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic place for special occasion. Enjoyed the tasting menu w wine pairings. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had our 16th anniversary here at the same place we ate the first meal as a married couple. Then as now everything was close to perfect. The only thing I noticed is the room in which we were dining had a musty smell and I am allergic to mold spores. I had difficulty breathing and was stopped up most of the night. I know it's an old house, but on our wedding night we were set in a more open area upstairs and it was fine. The seating arrangement was three tables for two quite closely set into the alcove. It was hard to concentrate on just our own conversation. Not very romantic when the Sommelier and waiters were standing at other table. But overall we enjoyed ourselves. The parsnip soup was my favorite dish of the evening and the beet crêpe with bébés goat cheese was superb. Baked potatoes gelé was not something of ever want to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

An amazing experience , great staff who will take very good care of you! It was great for a special occasion and if it is in your budget go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The cost is high but the food and service were excellent. A great setting for a special event.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday at the Fearrington House was outstanding. This was a four-course meal with fairly small portions and perfectly presented with gourmet touches. Even the rolls were housemade with different choices - delectable ! Each course was unique , and we especially loved the dessert - a chocolate souffle - and then filled with additional chocolate sauce with a dollop of whipped cream. The service was wonderful and well-timed too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Fearrington House Restaurant lived up to it's excellent reputation. The food was excellent - don't know how they come up with the combination of ingredients that generate the delicious flavors. The portions are sized perfectly so that you can get through multiple courses feeling comfortable. And as usual, the service was friendly and knowledgable. This is definitely the place for those special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Arrived early for dinner and walked around the charming small village. Live music on a Friday night- nice feel to the area. Had a drink at small bar before dinner- bartender was a bit slow but drinks were very well done. Nice wine list but bit expensive compared to other restaurants for bottles. Amuse bouche of salmon wonderfully done with just the right amount of heat. Foie gras ok but we like a warm steak cut more. Ono and wooly pig were both heavenly. Desserts were well done and artistically presented. Breads were very good with multiple unusual choices. Service was attentive and friendly without being overdone. Probably the best waitstaff service we have had for a while.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Fearrington has and continues to be our number one choice for fine dinning...always consistant!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a fine up-scale restaurant that lives up to it's reputation. The preparation is perfect. The presentation ( which doesn't mean much to me, but to my wife and many others it's part of the deal) was impressive. The attention and information from the waiter was informative, human (not robotic), and helpful without being hovering or intrusive. Oh and the food was unique, tasty, and perfectly prepared. This is in what looks like an old inn in the setting of what was once a family farm. Again, the reputation is deserved and preserved.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have ever had and certainly the finest I have had in North Carolina. The menu was creative and the food fresh and delicious. The service was outstanding. The restaurant was quiet and intimate allowing for a lovely and relaxing evening. The historic home and pastural views make for a wonderful ambiance. Each course was better than the one prior. Finishing with a selection of fantastic desserts. I highly recommend for a special occasion on anytime you want to make dining an experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Ridiculously good flavors
Excellent presentation
Worthwhile experience

Ridiculously overpriced
Mildly pretentious

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife and I had dinner there for our 19th wedding anniversary. We had a great time, really good food and service. The family and I are going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I have been to the Farrington House before but not to the fine dining restaurant. The menu sounded interesting but in fact was not that tasty. The portions were small and somewhat "gimmicky" with foam and such. There were also too many chef's treats......there should have been more substance for each course. The service was very professional. However, we would not repeat the experience or recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Never disappoints- perfect for special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our meal was amazing and everything we expected. We were celebrating my husbands birthday! A fabulous experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Superb food. Superb service. Superb ambiance. ++++

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Outstanding experience in dining. They make the extra effort to make your time with them special. Beautiful ambience and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoyed every aspect of this meal. The ambience, food, wine, and service were impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Creative combinations of color, texture and taste. Beautiful plating. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

5 Star all the way around. Amazing food...incredible service and attention to detail.

Outstanding...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was spectacular! In particular, the "Wooly Pig" was wonderful; wild boar done in very creative ways.

Tags: Historic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It had been over 20 years since my wife and I dined at Fearrington House. We were not disappointed. If anything the food is more modern and the chef more forward thinking.

I would put the food on par with Herons at The Umstead Hotel. The service is excellent but I did give 5 stars because we were not offered coffee after dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful, as always. Food was delicious, unique and creatively presented. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have heard about this restaurant for years. I was told by a friend about 10yrs ago this is the only 5 star restaurant in North Carolina.
I agree with the 3 star Yelp reviews.
The food is good. The quantity is very small. The price is very high.
The ambiance and service were nice.
Unfortunately it is not fine dining quality food.
It doesn't compare to fine dining experience I have had in NYC, Chicago, LA, etc.
I was so disappointed.
Anyone who reads this who thinks I am off try a decent French Restaurant in any metropolitan area and you will understand my point.
Or even better try the Inn at Little Washington in Virginia. You would be sorry to ever give the Fearrington House a good review after this. You may ask for a refund.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a wonderful time at fearington house. The food was very creative and tasteful. Jason our waiter was very personable and knowledgeable about everything. Thr black cod was our favorite dish. The portions are appropriate. Don't know what others are referring to. We came away saying that we should come here on more than special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing food! Portions were more than expected so we were well fed. Nice atmosphere but you are dining close to other guests. I enjoyed the wine pairing to try new wines. Price is at a premium but so is the food - just be aware going into the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Fearrington House Restaurant is a special place. I've had the opportunity to dine there twice now, and I certainly enjoyed each visit. Here are some things to keep in mind:

1) This restaurant thrives on delivering an experience. If I could underline and italicize 'experience,' I would. The venue is charming, the staff are very experienced, and the food is beautiful and delicious.

2) If anything, one might say that the food is too beautiful. While I didn't notice this until my second visit, I think a common critique might be that the focus on presentation outstrips taste. Now, that is not to say that the food lacks any measure of complexity or creativity in generating playful flavors. I just wonder what the menu would *taste* like if some of the focus placed on preparing dishes with a five-star visual quality was reallocated. Balance is important and I'd almost prefer if the menu favored flavor. To their credit, I think the 'Chicken with Potato & Truffle; Leek, Honey, Buttermilk' entrée is an excellent example of this in concept, although I have yet to try it.

3) Regardless of whether you choose to order 3/4 courses or the Chef's Tasting Menu, you are almost constantly presented with plate after plate. In fact, unless you are particularly interested in what the Chef's Menu offers, you're likely better served to select each course to your taste. For reference any of the 3 or 4 courses you choose can be selected from any part of the menu so long as you only order at most one main course. I would plan your order in advance.

4) The staff are (at least in my experience) very educated and precise without an air of condescension. Ask questions.

If you happen to live within a few hours and you haven't made the trip at least once, you're missing out on an experience you'll likely remember for years to come.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The meal was superb and the wine - French Syrah was delicious. the room is quiet and we were not rushed. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Among the wonderful restaurants in the Triangle, it is difficult to say that one fabulous experience is better than another, but Fearrington House Restaurant is certainly among the very best. Experience the tasting menu with wine pairings, and then walk to your room. It will be a night to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.