About Fearrington Granary

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Offering a casual dining setting, The Fearrington Granary serves up lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Whether you’re grabbing dinner with friends or celebrating a special event, our nightly specials half-off bottles of wine all day Monday make every meal a treat.

“The Granary is a neighborhood gathering place,” says Chef Colin Bedford, who designs and updates the menu seasonally. “The Granary’s menu is full of comfort food and Southern classics with English influence.”

The menu is complemented by a full bar and wine list. “The Granary’s wine list, put together by sommelier Max Kast, is remarkable for a place this casual, as is the beer collection–with brews from Winston-Salem, Durham and Mills River–and the bourbon and Single Malt categories,” says The Huffington Post.

The Granary is located in Fearrington Village near Chapel Hill, NC. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date on the weekly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/granary/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the Fearrington Granary.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
The Fearrington Granary is an extremely versatile venue, providing a large open floor plan and surrounding multi-level, intimate dining spaces. The Granary’s main floor offers an open seating area adjacent to high top tables and full service bar. Great for casual meal options with friends. The Granary’s semi-private areas include: The Silo room is a second level area that offers versatile seating and overlooks the front pasture containing our iconic silo and Belted Galloway cows. Also located on the second level is the Beltie room that overlooks our pasture and grazing Belties. Galloways is a private downstairs area adjacent to the Gallery, allowing for a separate reception and dinner area. Finally, the Sunroom offers a more intimate dining area, also providing views over our front pasture. To learn more about this venue call us at 919.542.2121.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Day: 9195422121x333

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Fearrington Granary is the perfect venue for any type of special event. From Bridal Showers & Anniversary Parties to Rehearsal Dinners or casual BBQ get togethers, the Fearrington Granary is the ideal location for any celebration.

Restaurant Photos

  • Fearrington Granary
Fearrington Granary

Fearrington Granary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
1 More
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

great for lunch (60)
special occasion (51)
great for brunch (48)
See All
neighborhood gem (44)
fit for foodies (43)
great for outdoor dining (42)
good for groups (31)
scenic view (28)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (19)
kid-friendly (14)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was terrible on a Friday nig ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was terrible on a Friday night. We waited for our drinks. Had to ask for butter for the cornbread, after cornbread was finally delivered. One entree was wrong. Ordered fried oysters niscoise salad. Got salmon. More waiting. This is the second time we have had poor service at dinner. Lunch experiences were fine.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our family of dix dined recently at the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our family of dix dined recently at the Granary in Fearrington Village. We were sat promptly at a table we had requested. Our server was pleasant and efficient. The meals were all very enjoyable, some dishes more outstanding than others; the pork and sirloin meals were excellent. Our only complaint was how long it took for us to get our dinners. We had two young children in our party and the 45+ minute wait was a little too much for them, especially for simple food like hamburgers and french fries.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A local gem that always sparkles.... The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

A local gem that always sparkles.... The Fearrington Granary never fails to deliver.

I have eaten there at least 20 times in the past 2 years. The food is fantastic because the menu and kitchen are overseen by Colin Bedford, Executive Chef at the AAA Five Diamond Fearrington House Restaurant. The menu is small but varied, and always showcases local and seasonal produce. The cocktail menu is intriguing, and enjoyable! Make sure to book; it's a popular place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is very overrated at all the Fe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is very overrated at all the Fearrington establishments, including the formal dining experience at the Inn. I have been to both now and given them a couple of chances and every time it is so disappointing because of what you are paying. It is more hype, smoke & mirrors than anything else. The atmosphere easily beguiles you into thinking the food is "supposed" to be good, and you want to believe that because its a beautiful place, but the food falls flat. It truly is akin to airport food. It was bland, did not taste freshly prepared, and had poor presentation. The cavetelli and shrimp literally looked and basically tasted like a bowl of maggots with shrimp that had been frozen for awhile on top. It was inedible. Don't waste your time when there are so many great options in the triangle.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The occasion was my daughter's birthday. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The occasion was my daughter's birthday. She had never eaten there before but would return with her husband. Thank you for a wonderful meal. It was great as alwaYS.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I live in Fearrington and had not been t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I live in Fearrington and had not been to the Granary in several months because there are so many restaurants to try in the Chapel Hill and Durham area. It was raining and my wife and I just didn't feel like a long drive so we went to our local Granary. The drinks, food and service were very good. Overall we had a very enjoyable dining experience and will do it again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great. The wait for our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was great. The wait for our food was a little long. When it arrived, it was well worth the wait.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have selected Granary for many meals and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Have selected Granary for many meals and am very fond of it. The quality of food and service are consistently great. What I am very unhappy about is the ambience..........the upstairs part of the restaurant is closed at present. Diners must sit in the dark, crowded and noisy downstairs. It was almost impossible to cary in a conversation or just relax and enjoy the food. I am reluctant to go back in these circumstances. Very unfortunate management decision for this noted restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We usually have an exceptional meal here ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We usually have an exceptional meal here, but this one was substandard. It won't keep us from trying again, but it was quite disappointing.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed lunch with friends on Saturda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed lunch with friends on Saturday. The BLT, beet salad, soup, egg plant wrap, and other items were delicious. Service was prompt and courteous. The atmosphere was bright and pleasant. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been several times! This past visit was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Been several times! This past visit was terrible! Food took forever and still came incorrect, cold, and no to par. Service was terrible!! So sad to see it go down hill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We always love it there, this time servi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We always love it there, this time service was a little sub par though. Cute, quaint area so definitely worth going to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Granary offers a very nice dining ex ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The Granary offers a very nice dining experience. The menu is diverse, fairly-priced and reflects the talents of the chef. My only suggestion would be that diners who are hearing-impaired should ask to be seated upstairs since the first floor can be noisy during busy hours.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service made for an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding food and service made for an enjoyable Father's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had many great experiences at the G ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Have had many great experiences at the Granary. This brunch (fathers day) was not one of them. Ordered the salmon on a shingle (salmon on shingle, asparagus, scrambled eggs, and garnish). I was expecting to see a cut of salmon on the shingle (bread), scrambled eggs on the plate, some asparagus, and garnish. What I got was a mix on the shingle with bits of salmon and failed to find the asparagus. Noted and waiter then brought some asparagus "tips". The taste of the plated meal bland. Service was also below par. Waited for biscuits (which were boggy), waited for coffee & tea refills. This was a special treat for fathers day and overall very disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Tasty Food, Great Service We had brunch ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Tasty Food, Great Service

We had brunch on Father's Day. My SO had the pulled chicken omelet; I had the Granary Breakfast. The omelet, eggs, and roasted potatoes were tasty; the cheese grits were just ok. We were disappointed that, unlike many brunch places, fruit was not an option for a side dish. Our server was terrific -warm and friendly without overdoing it.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food here has been great on each visit a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food here has been great on each visit and I do enjoy the wine list. I've been three times now and, while most of the table service is excellent (including the wine recommendations), the hostess stand can be less than welcoming, almost snobby. Two of my outings have been with family visiting the area for the first time so that welcome is very unfortunate as it is not characteristic of of the rest of the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The hostess was very cooperative, we arr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The hostess was very cooperative, we arrived early for reservation and was sited immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service, and in Triangle ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful food, service, and in Triangle Restaurant Week, a fantastic value!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was good (not impressive, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

While the food was good (not impressive, but good), the service was lacking. Our waitress forgot to place my order for a beer to begin with, then after about 15 minutes when I asked about it, it took another 10 minutes to get the beer because she was not old enough to go behind the bar and pour it. The manager(?) came by once or twice, but seemed disinterested. Once our desert was brought out, we had to flag another wait staff down to get spoons so we could eat the dessert. The restaurant did not seem overly-crowded for a Saturday evening, so I have a hard time blaming the poor service on the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

As always ... 5 stars. We enjoyed the 3 ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

As always ... 5 stars. We enjoyed the 3 course lunch special (Raleigh restaurant week). The strawberry shortcake, lemon creme brulee, with white chocolate swirl was worth the meal price alone. Service great, attentive, without hovering.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed in the length ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were very disappointed in the length of time of the service. I know a table of 10 takes a while but this took much longer than we expected, especially as this was prior to a high school graduation that we had to go onto and couldn't get an earlier booking time. We did make it but were more rushed than we wanted to be with the meal arriving late.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food has been quite good at our previous visits to the Granary. The Restaurant Week offerings that we selected on this visit were a big disappointment except for the dessert. The "Strawberry Shortcake" Crème Brûlée was excellent, truly yummy. The tomato soup could have been Campbell's. The Cheese Fingers were bland and devoid of flavor. The flank steak was unremarkable. The cornmeal on the catfish in the fried catfish sandwich was much too coarse and there should have been some kind of dressing such as a good remoulade on the sandwich to give it some taste. The toppings on it were equally flavorless. As prepared, the sandwich was utterly tasteless. My husband tried the half I didn't eat and agreed with my assessment. The Cucumber Salad was good except that the Feta cheese squares were much too big. Too bad because it's a unique and lovely place to eat and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Long wait for food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious food! We ate outside & it was a lovely setting. Only complaint was we waited an hour & 10 mins for our entree. It was not a busy night & there were quite a few empty tables.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a wonderful server but the food t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a wonderful server but the food took so long and they forgot an order. Our dining experience was over 2 hrs long. Most of it was spent waiting on food. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Outstanding food in a wonderfully rustic locale

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

From the moment we arrived until the time we left, we were welcomed and enjoyed a very delicious and relaxing meal. The food, service, and atmosphere were all outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Meal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch during Triangle Restaurant Week at The Granary. We tried everything on the special menu, and each item was presented beautifully and prepared deliciously! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent; but, service was awful.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been to the Granary many times. The food is excellent; but, the service is awful. We had to ask for bread while we were waiting -- already 45 minutes -- for our lunch to be served. There's no reason why lunch should take 2 hours when you've ordered from the menu.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great place for lunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I loved the atmosphere at this restaurant. The mood was relaxed and the weather was perfect! Even though I dined alone, I did not feel out of place. My server was attentive to my every need. The steak salad was to die for--and the crème Brulee with strawberry shortcake on top was exquisite! I will definitely dine there again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a regular

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is very good, wines are great and service is top notch unless you decide to have dessert.

I risked trying this again, go the pana cotta and waited 1/2 hour before I had an opportunity to speak to my server again and gave a 2 minute limit before we wanted it canceled. The dessert was huge and luckily we shared it for three people. Would have preferred just the panna cotta without the whip cream, crumble chocolate cake, and three sauces. Looked like a hot mess but was tasty. The trout was great. A new item and beautifully presented. Steak always need better seasoning but is lovely to dine at the restaurant so we go.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great find

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I was looking for a unique place for an anniversary dinner and found it. Nice size portions and reasonable prices

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Brunch in Pretty Environment

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Four of us had brunch at the Granary on a rainy Sunday afternoon. We were seated promptly and given the brunch menus to review. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive and took our orders once we were ready. We all opted for the Granary Breakfast which included eggs, bacon, sausage, grits or roasted potatoes. Our orders came promptly and everything looked great and tasted even better. We had a very nice time talking over coffee, tea and wine and were not rushed. We would have had brunch outside but the weather didn't cooperate. The outside dining is beautiful and I would recommend brunch outside if the weather is nice.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great venue - but it was cold!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was diligent but distracted, the temperature was horribly cold on arrival so we asked for it to be raised and they did - great job..not easy to lift the temperature of a whole restaurant at the request of one table, but they managed. We dined on a Sunday, which is brunch day - so don't expect a full menu. Food quality was excellent as always.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

great place!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went for our anniversary! Food, service, and ambiance was great. We will go again just for great place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch ever! crab kale and ricotta ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Best brunch ever! crab kale and ricotta crepe & parmesan and asiago souffle & omg the chocolate hazelnut / strawberry panna cotta 😳❤️😭 Talk about foodgasm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have had brunch at The Granary many t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have had brunch at The Granary many times. We lovethe food and the service. Also The Granary catered a 90th brthday party for us and everything was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had eaten here before and enjoyed it. However, the service on this visit was awful. We were the first to enter the restaurant when it opened, but others around us had already eaten and left before we even received our food. The waitress was inattentive, we did not receive the salad we had ordered, and my salmon (which I ordered medium rare) was overcooked. All in all, not what I would expect from such a restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great to get back to the Granary. Only c ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great to get back to the Granary. Only constructive criticism is that all the food left on the plate be put in a to go box, especially when the customer support specifically requests it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The entrees vary in quality. When they o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The entrees vary in quality. When they offer their special entrée of the evening, you would expect that it would be a dish that the chef feels represents his culinary skill. we enjoy the atmosphere at THE GRANARY, but the quality of dishes is not consistent. Service can vary from fair to good.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The Granary is just a great place for a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Granary is just a great place for a meal. I had the best meatloaf I've ever had. Simply amazing

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.