About Fearrington Granary

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

A full-service restaurant, the Fearrington Granary is the perfect spot to enjoy fresh creative cuisine in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Executive Chef Colin Bedford's Contemporary American menus feature a delightful selection of salads, entrees, items from the grill and desserts. This vibrant restaurant provides seating on various levels with views of the charming village shops, surrounding gardens, and the rolling pastures filled with Belted Galloway Cows.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearringtongranary.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the Fearrington Granary.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
The Fearrington Granary is an extremely versatile venue, providing a large open floor plan and surrounding multi-level, intimate dining spaces. The Granary’s main floor offers an open seating area adjacent to high top tables and full service bar. Great for casual meal options with friends. The Granary’s semi-private areas include: The Silo room is a second level area that offers versatile seating and overlooks the front pasture containing our iconic silo and Belted Galloway cows. Also located on the second level is the Beltie room that overlooks our pasture and grazing Belties. Galloways is a private downstairs area adjacent to the Gallery, allowing for a separate reception and dinner area. Finally, the Sunroom offers a more intimate dining area, also providing views over our front pasture. To learn more about this venue call us at 919.542.2121.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Day: 9195422121x333

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Fearrington Granary is the perfect venue for any type of special event. From Bridal Showers & Anniversary Parties to Rehearsal Dinners or casual BBQ get togethers, the Fearrington Granary is the ideal location for any celebration.

Restaurant Photos

  • Fearrington Granary
Fearrington Granary

Fearrington Granary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

great for lunch (67)
special occasion (59)
great for brunch (55)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for outdoor dining (44)
scenic view (32)
good for groups (31)
romantic (29)
notable wine list (16)
kid-friendly (13)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1092 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We always love it there, this time servi ...

Dined 3 days ago

We always love it there, this time service was a little sub par though. Cute, quaint area so definitely worth going to!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Granary offers a very nice dining ex ...

Dined 3 days ago

The Granary offers a very nice dining experience. The menu is diverse, fairly-priced and reflects the talents of the chef. My only suggestion would be that diners who are hearing-impaired should ask to be seated upstairs since the first floor can be noisy during busy hours.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service made for an ...

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and service made for an enjoyable Father's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Have had many great experiences at the G ...

Dined 7 days ago

Have had many great experiences at the Granary. This brunch (fathers day) was not one of them. Ordered the salmon on a shingle (salmon on shingle, asparagus, scrambled eggs, and garnish). I was expecting to see a cut of salmon on the shingle (bread), scrambled eggs on the plate, some asparagus, and garnish. What I got was a mix on the shingle with bits of salmon and failed to find the asparagus. Noted and waiter then brought some asparagus "tips". The taste of the plated meal bland. Service was also below par. Waited for biscuits (which were boggy), waited for coffee & tea refills. This was a special treat for fathers day and overall very disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food here has been great on each visit a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food here has been great on each visit and I do enjoy the wine list. I've been three times now and, while most of the table service is excellent (including the wine recommendations), the hostess stand can be less than welcoming, almost snobby. Two of my outings have been with family visiting the area for the first time so that welcome is very unfortunate as it is not characteristic of of the rest of the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was very cooperative, we arr ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The hostess was very cooperative, we arrived early for reservation and was sited immediately.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, service, and in Triangle ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful food, service, and in Triangle Restaurant Week, a fantastic value!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

While the food was good (not impressive, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

While the food was good (not impressive, but good), the service was lacking. Our waitress forgot to place my order for a beer to begin with, then after about 15 minutes when I asked about it, it took another 10 minutes to get the beer because she was not old enough to go behind the bar and pour it. The manager(?) came by once or twice, but seemed disinterested. Once our desert was brought out, we had to flag another wait staff down to get spoons so we could eat the dessert. The restaurant did not seem overly-crowded for a Saturday evening, so I have a hard time blaming the poor service on the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always ... 5 stars. We enjoyed the 3 ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

As always ... 5 stars. We enjoyed the 3 course lunch special (Raleigh restaurant week). The strawberry shortcake, lemon creme brulee, with white chocolate swirl was worth the meal price alone. Service great, attentive, without hovering.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were very disappointed in the length ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were very disappointed in the length of time of the service. I know a table of 10 takes a while but this took much longer than we expected, especially as this was prior to a high school graduation that we had to go onto and couldn't get an earlier booking time. We did make it but were more rushed than we wanted to be with the meal arriving late.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointed

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food has been quite good at our previous visits to the Granary. The Restaurant Week offerings that we selected on this visit were a big disappointment except for the dessert. The "Strawberry Shortcake" Crème Brûlée was excellent, truly yummy. The tomato soup could have been Campbell's. The Cheese Fingers were bland and devoid of flavor. The flank steak was unremarkable. The cornmeal on the catfish in the fried catfish sandwich was much too coarse and there should have been some kind of dressing such as a good remoulade on the sandwich to give it some taste. The toppings on it were equally flavorless. As prepared, the sandwich was utterly tasteless. My husband tried the half I didn't eat and agreed with my assessment. The Cucumber Salad was good except that the Feta cheese squares were much too big. Too bad because it's a unique and lovely place to eat and the service was excellent.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Long wait for food

Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious food! We ate outside & it was a lovely setting. Only complaint was we waited an hour & 10 mins for our entree. It was not a busy night & there were quite a few empty tables.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We had a wonderful server but the food t ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a wonderful server but the food took so long and they forgot an order. Our dining experience was over 2 hrs long. Most of it was spent waiting on food. Disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food in a wonderfully rustic locale

Dined on June 10, 2016

From the moment we arrived until the time we left, we were welcomed and enjoyed a very delicious and relaxing meal. The food, service, and atmosphere were all outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Meal

Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch during Triangle Restaurant Week at The Granary. We tried everything on the special menu, and each item was presented beautifully and prepared deliciously! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food was excellent; but, service was awful.

Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been to the Granary many times. The food is excellent; but, the service is awful. We had to ask for bread while we were waiting -- already 45 minutes -- for our lunch to be served. There's no reason why lunch should take 2 hours when you've ordered from the menu.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for lunch

Dined on June 8, 2016

I loved the atmosphere at this restaurant. The mood was relaxed and the weather was perfect! Even though I dined alone, I did not feel out of place. My server was attentive to my every need. The steak salad was to die for--and the crème Brulee with strawberry shortcake on top was exquisite! I will definitely dine there again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm a regular

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is very good, wines are great and service is top notch unless you decide to have dessert. I risked trying this again, go the pana cotta and waited 1/2 hour before I had an opportunity to speak to my server again and gave a 2 minute limit before we wanted it canceled. The dessert was huge and luckily we shared it for three people. Would have preferred just the panna cotta without the whip cream, crumble chocolate cake, and three sauces. Looked like a hot mess but was tasty. The trout was great. A new item and beautifully presented. Steak always need better seasoning but is lovely to dine at the restaurant so we go.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on May 30, 2016

I was looking for a unique place for an anniversary dinner and found it. Nice size portions and reasonable prices

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious Brunch in Pretty Environment

Dined on May 29, 2016

Four of us had brunch at the Granary on a rainy Sunday afternoon. We were seated promptly and given the brunch menus to review. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive and took our orders once we were ready. We all opted for the Granary Breakfast which included eggs, bacon, sausage, grits or roasted potatoes. Our orders came promptly and everything looked great and tasted even better. We had a very nice time talking over coffee, tea and wine and were not rushed. We would have had brunch outside but the weather didn't cooperate. The outside dining is beautiful and I would recommend brunch outside if the weather is nice.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Great venue - but it was cold!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was diligent but distracted, the temperature was horribly cold on arrival so we asked for it to be raised and they did - great job..not easy to lift the temperature of a whole restaurant at the request of one table, but they managed. We dined on a Sunday, which is brunch day - so don't expect a full menu. Food quality was excellent as always.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We went for our anniversary! Food, service, and ambiance was great. We will go again just for great place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch ever! crab kale and ricotta ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Best brunch ever! crab kale and ricotta crepe & parmesan and asiago souffle & omg the chocolate hazelnut / strawberry panna cotta 😳❤️😭 Talk about foodgasm!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had brunch at The Granary many t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We have had brunch at The Granary many times. We lovethe food and the service. Also The Granary catered a 90th brthday party for us and everything was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor service

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had eaten here before and enjoyed it. However, the service on this visit was awful. We were the first to enter the restaurant when it opened, but others around us had already eaten and left before we even received our food. The waitress was inattentive, we did not receive the salad we had ordered, and my salmon (which I ordered medium rare) was overcooked. All in all, not what I would expect from such a restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great to get back to the Granary. Only c ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great to get back to the Granary. Only constructive criticism is that all the food left on the plate be put in a to go box, especially when the customer support specifically requests it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The entrees vary in quality. When they o ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The entrees vary in quality. When they offer their special entrée of the evening, you would expect that it would be a dish that the chef feels represents his culinary skill. we enjoy the atmosphere at THE GRANARY, but the quality of dishes is not consistent. Service can vary from fair to good.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Granary is just a great place for a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Granary is just a great place for a meal. I had the best meatloaf I've ever had. Simply amazing

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch spot

Dined on May 12, 2016

Interesting menu and all selections were quite tasty and each had an unusual but interesting taste twist that separated them from run of the mill lunch fare. Service was cordial but slow...or since we enjoyed chatting one could also call it leisurely! We will definitely dine here again, and I would strongly encourage reservations.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

salad had lots of brown on the greens... ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

salad had lots of brown on the greens....disappointing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for Grad Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had a wonderful experience at Fearrington! I had myself and 11 family members for my graduation dinner there. The food and service was wonderful plus they had us seated upstairs in a private area which was perfect. Would absolutely recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

I took my mom there- she loved it! Good ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I took my mom there- she loved it! Good food selection and attentive staff. Too much high fat food though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food; great atmosphere!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Granary has great menu and charming atmosphere! Our family brunch was lovely and the walk through the village was enjoyed by all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

good food disorganized service/reservationsprocess

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food in general was very good. The wait for a table was too long. We had a 12:00 reservation and weren't seated until almost 12:30. We were promised a particular table and the table was given to someone else. We than sat at a different table and were told that we could have the original table we requested after all as the table had now become available. It took a long time for our drinks and orders to come out. The restaurant was definitely understaffed for a warm Sunday afternoon brunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to get together with family

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was a wonderful, laid-back dinner. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and worked to fit our dietary needs (I'm celiac and my mom and aunt try to eat gluten-free). We all had wonderful food, the prices were appropriate and the drinks were tasty and original. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely afternoon with girlfriends for lunch!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food, service, shops & grounds were all beautiful! I felt like I was on vacation even though I live in Cary, NC.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

UGH

Dined on April 21, 2016

This restaurant has gone downhill, big-time. It used to be a favorite of ours and we live in Fearrington Village, so it is doubly-disappointing. I will no longer bring our house guests here. The once great beet salad was a big disappointment with just wedges of beets in a small bowl. Blah.... I had the mussel dish for my mail course and many of them were gritty and some were even inedible. One of the other dinner guests also ordered the mussels and she had half the mussels that I had. Another dinner guest ordered the meat loaf and it was bland. We will not return.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We went on a Monday night

Dined on April 18, 2016

There are few options for dining on Monday, so we went to The Granary. We've been there many times before and the food and service are usually good, never terrific and frequently underwhelming. Great concepts not always well executed. Food is very hit or miss. Some courses wonderful and then the next can be created at home with similar or better results. I applaud the efforts but get frustrated with the "oh-so-close." Service was very slow. The restaurant missed a few opportunities to make a few more dollars on wine/liquor service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best restaurants in the triangle...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We've probably been out to the Granary for brunch five or six times, but this had to be the best of them, and that's a tough bar to get over. To keep it short, great and interesting food without being extravagantly priced, and they cook their eggs perfectly - the mark of a legit brunch/breakfast spot. Dinner is always great too, and it ends with a manageable bill. This is without question one of the best and most consistent restaurants in the Chapel Hill area, and I'd put it up there with the top restaurants in the triangle. Fearrington House is an incredible experience, but the Granary makes the experience accessible when it's not a special occasion (or even when it is).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for future special events

Dined on April 9, 2016

It was a first time for our family to The Granary. The location was just beautiful, quaint. It reminds me a of a little Biltmore Village. We were seated on the 2nd floor, shame that we didn't get seated close to the window, but nonetheless, it was still a beautiful section of the dining area. They had a full course menu for a reasonable price of $25 per person. I had the goat cheese beignets as a starter, followed by a duck sausage dish, and ending with the creme brulee. Every dish was great, tasty, and well-presented. Each dish might seem small, but after having all 3, the portions were just perfect. I wish I could have had a signature drink, but we had kids with us, so I decided to just have a non-alcoholic German beer. Our server was very sweet and patient (we had some late guests). I definitely would like to come back for dinner and even stay at their inn. The place is a perfect hideaway and it's just under 20 minutes from where I live.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.