About Fearrington Granary

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

A full-service restaurant, the Fearrington Granary is the perfect spot to enjoy fresh creative cuisine in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Executive Chef Colin Bedford's Contemporary American menus feature a delightful selection of salads, entrees, items from the grill and desserts. This vibrant restaurant provides seating on various levels with views of the charming village shops, surrounding gardens, and the rolling pastures filled with Belted Galloway Cows.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearringtongranary.com/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the Fearrington Granary.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
The Fearrington Granary is an extremely versatile venue, providing a large open floor plan and surrounding multi-level, intimate dining spaces. The Granary’s main floor offers an open seating area adjacent to high top tables and full service bar. Great for casual meal options with friends. The Granary’s semi-private areas include: The Silo room is a second level area that offers versatile seating and overlooks the front pasture containing our iconic silo and Belted Galloway cows. Also located on the second level is the Beltie room that overlooks our pasture and grazing Belties. Galloways is a private downstairs area adjacent to the Gallery, allowing for a separate reception and dinner area. Finally, the Sunroom offers a more intimate dining area, also providing views over our front pasture. To learn more about this venue call us at 919.542.2121.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Day: 9195422121x333

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Fearrington Granary is the perfect venue for any type of special event. From Bridal Showers & Anniversary Parties to Rehearsal Dinners or casual BBQ get togethers, the Fearrington Granary is the ideal location for any celebration.

Restaurant Photos

Fearrington Granary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

great for lunch (57)
great for brunch (54)
fit for foodies (48)
See All
neighborhood gem (46)
special occasion (45)
great for outdoor dining (37)
scenic view (27)
romantic (26)
good for groups (25)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (12)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch ever! crab kale and ricotta ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Best brunch ever! crab kale and ricotta crepe & parmesan and asiago souffle & omg the chocolate hazelnut / strawberry panna cotta 😳❤️😭 Talk about foodgasm!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had brunch at The Granary many t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We have had brunch at The Granary many times. We lovethe food and the service. Also The Granary catered a 90th brthday party for us and everything was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor service

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had eaten here before and enjoyed it. However, the service on this visit was awful. We were the first to enter the restaurant when it opened, but others around us had already eaten and left before we even received our food. The waitress was inattentive, we did not receive the salad we had ordered, and my salmon (which I ordered medium rare) was overcooked. All in all, not what I would expect from such a restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great to get back to the Granary. Only c ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great to get back to the Granary. Only constructive criticism is that all the food left on the plate be put in a to go box, especially when the customer support specifically requests it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The entrees vary in quality. When they o ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The entrees vary in quality. When they offer their special entrée of the evening, you would expect that it would be a dish that the chef feels represents his culinary skill. we enjoy the atmosphere at THE GRANARY, but the quality of dishes is not consistent. Service can vary from fair to good.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Granary is just a great place for a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Granary is just a great place for a meal. I had the best meatloaf I've ever had. Simply amazing

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch spot

Dined on May 12, 2016

Interesting menu and all selections were quite tasty and each had an unusual but interesting taste twist that separated them from run of the mill lunch fare. Service was cordial but slow...or since we enjoyed chatting one could also call it leisurely! We will definitely dine here again, and I would strongly encourage reservations.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

salad had lots of brown on the greens... ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

salad had lots of brown on the greens....disappointing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for Grad Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had a wonderful experience at Fearrington! I had myself and 11 family members for my graduation dinner there. The food and service was wonderful plus they had us seated upstairs in a private area which was perfect. Would absolutely recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

I took my mom there- she loved it! Good ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I took my mom there- she loved it! Good food selection and attentive staff. Too much high fat food though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food; great atmosphere!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Granary has great menu and charming atmosphere! Our family brunch was lovely and the walk through the village was enjoyed by all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

good food disorganized service/reservationsprocess

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food in general was very good. The wait for a table was too long. We had a 12:00 reservation and weren't seated until almost 12:30. We were promised a particular table and the table was given to someone else. We than sat at a different table and were told that we could have the original table we requested after all as the table had now become available. It took a long time for our drinks and orders to come out. The restaurant was definitely understaffed for a warm Sunday afternoon brunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to get together with family

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was a wonderful, laid-back dinner. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and worked to fit our dietary needs (I'm celiac and my mom and aunt try to eat gluten-free). We all had wonderful food, the prices were appropriate and the drinks were tasty and original. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely afternoon with girlfriends for lunch!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food, service, shops & grounds were all beautiful! I felt like I was on vacation even though I live in Cary, NC.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

UGH

Dined on April 21, 2016

This restaurant has gone downhill, big-time. It used to be a favorite of ours and we live in Fearrington Village, so it is doubly-disappointing. I will no longer bring our house guests here. The once great beet salad was a big disappointment with just wedges of beets in a small bowl. Blah.... I had the mussel dish for my mail course and many of them were gritty and some were even inedible. One of the other dinner guests also ordered the mussels and she had half the mussels that I had. Another dinner guest ordered the meat loaf and it was bland. We will not return.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We went on a Monday night

Dined on April 18, 2016

There are few options for dining on Monday, so we went to The Granary. We've been there many times before and the food and service are usually good, never terrific and frequently underwhelming. Great concepts not always well executed. Food is very hit or miss. Some courses wonderful and then the next can be created at home with similar or better results. I applaud the efforts but get frustrated with the "oh-so-close." Service was very slow. The restaurant missed a few opportunities to make a few more dollars on wine/liquor service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best restaurants in the triangle...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We've probably been out to the Granary for brunch five or six times, but this had to be the best of them, and that's a tough bar to get over. To keep it short, great and interesting food without being extravagantly priced, and they cook their eggs perfectly - the mark of a legit brunch/breakfast spot. Dinner is always great too, and it ends with a manageable bill. This is without question one of the best and most consistent restaurants in the Chapel Hill area, and I'd put it up there with the top restaurants in the triangle. Fearrington House is an incredible experience, but the Granary makes the experience accessible when it's not a special occasion (or even when it is).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for future special events

Dined on April 9, 2016

It was a first time for our family to The Granary. The location was just beautiful, quaint. It reminds me a of a little Biltmore Village. We were seated on the 2nd floor, shame that we didn't get seated close to the window, but nonetheless, it was still a beautiful section of the dining area. They had a full course menu for a reasonable price of $25 per person. I had the goat cheese beignets as a starter, followed by a duck sausage dish, and ending with the creme brulee. Every dish was great, tasty, and well-presented. Each dish might seem small, but after having all 3, the portions were just perfect. I wish I could have had a signature drink, but we had kids with us, so I decided to just have a non-alcoholic German beer. Our server was very sweet and patient (we had some late guests). I definitely would like to come back for dinner and even stay at their inn. The place is a perfect hideaway and it's just under 20 minutes from where I live.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere and service excellent. Food is average.

Dined on April 2, 2016

We like the Granary but wish the menu would have more items. Another steak besides a Flank steak would be nice. As would a few more appetizers.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So unexpected but loved it!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Driving up I was unsure because I never heard of fearrington village but the atmosphere was amazing! It overlooked the farm which was gorgeous! Our waiter was really engaging and had great recommendations. The portions were amazing and super tasty. I will definitely be going back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

Food was excellent. HoweverWe went on a ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Food was excellent. HoweverWe went on a Wednesday evening. It seemed to be understaffed for the number of patrons. It took an hour and a half from the time we sat to get our food.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Went for what we expected to be typical ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went for what we expected to be typical Easter brunch (i.e. likely to be not up to the normal standard we generally receive at Fearrington). Sadly was less than typical, bordering on terrible in terms of service, food, ambiance. Fearrington was clearly out to exploit the day. Will be a long time before we go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family gathering was a sucess

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love this restaurant for family gatherings as it feels like home. Wine is great, portions are generous and service is always friendly

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Granary

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

A cozy, lovely spot where we enjoyed a nice dinner with the added benefit of all wines being half price (Monday's only). The only downside is the t v in the bar. Much cozier without the t v.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ladies Lunch

Dined on March 12, 2016

My two friends and I enjoyed our lunch very much and will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Great pla ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Great place for a celebration with friends and family

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice evening out

Dined on March 9, 2016

My husband and I, along with another couple, celebrated his birthday at your restaurant. Everything was perfect, from the delicious spare ribs, that we shared as an appetizer, our individual entrees, and the yummy creme brulee that we shared for dessert. Our waiter was outstanding....one of the best. Would definitely come again, perhaps for brunch or to have lunch on the patio.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Keeps getting better

Dined on February 29, 2016

I eat here often because it is in my neighborhood. I have been coming more frequently because they continue to make improvements to the menu/food.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food in casual atmosphere.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our server/bartender, George, was very personable. He made great recommendations. Enjoyed being able to have fine food in a location where jeans and a nice top was appropriate attire.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exceptional experience!

Dined on February 28, 2016

I took my family who was visiting from the West Coast. They were very impressed and we all enjoyed our food immensely. The service was top notch and the atmosphere was casual yet sophisticated.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful food and service!! Can't go wrong here!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

pleasant dinner with friends

Dined on February 22, 2016

Disappointed that upper level not available. Same thing happened on last visit Dinner was good, service excellent, bit pricey, but expected Nice 1/2 price bottle of wine on a Monday evening Wish they would stop putting kale and beets on everything!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Valentine's Brunch. We arrived e ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing Valentine's Brunch. We arrived early & took time to walk the beautiful grounds. The food & service at the Granary was just as amazing as the scenery. We'll definitely be back for brunch again & to try dinner in the future.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Could be better

Dined on February 14, 2016

Convenient to those in or near Fearrington Village. Food made the effort of being a bit creative but didn't quite live up to the effort...Our dishes were on the cold side, when they should have been hot. Service was perfunctory.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food came quick and was cold.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ordered two soups of the day to start. Both arrived at the table with 2 minutes. They looked nice, but were very small portions and were cold. Before we could finish our tiny cold soups, the main dish arrived. Main dish was barely warm. We were out the door in what felt like 30 minutes.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We had been wanting to re-connect with another couple for awhile and decided to get together for dinner at the Granary on a Friday night. It was a chilly evening and our delightful meals complemented our conversation perfectly. We each tried something different and we all thoroughly enjoyed the feasts that were set before us! The meatloaf dinner was a hearty, delicious surprise, the shrimp and grits very tasty, the salmon and polenta very nice ( although "served with brussel sprouts" turned out to be one half of a sprout) and the scallops very good! The four of us were not rushed as we caught up with one another over coffee, buttered rum, wine and dessert. A delightful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best brunch in the Triangle!

Dined on February 7, 2016

In my humble opinion! My friends had the crepes, crab cake eggs benedict, and other breakfast choices. I had the soup and sandwich--great BLT and carrot-ginger soup. It was just a great place to meet up with good food and a pleasant atmosphere....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Best Place for Sunday Brunch

Dined on February 7, 2016

We love going to The Granary for Sunday Brunch. Their biscuits are the best I've had in any restaurant. I had the crabcake special with a poached egg served on an English muffin. It was beautiful and delicious. I usually get their shrimp and grits but decided to try something different. We had our 18 month old grandson along and they had a high chair waiting for us when we arrived. We were seated upstairs and he loves looking out the window at the cows and goats.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place, but...

Dined on February 6, 2016

We love The Granary, make no mistake about it. We love the service, and Brad took great care of us. I will say that I gave the food a 3 star rating because I tried a rib-eye special they offered, and at best, it was acceptable. It was a bit on the tough side, it lacked any finesse, so I was surprised that it was a "special" offering for the evening. While I have usually ordered seafood that has always been superb, I did have another special the previous visit, which was Osso Buco, I believe, and it was superb, so I see this "steak snafu" a flash in the pan event. I still recommend The Granary to anyone who wishes an excellent dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Luncheon

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a lovely corner table looking out at the gardens. The menu was packed with excellent choices. I had the tasty mussels, cooked just right and more than I could eat while my friend had asparagus with poached egg which she thoroughly enjoyed. The service was personal and professional. One of my favorite spots for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.