About Fearrington Granary

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Offering a casual dining setting, The Fearrington Granary serves up lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Whether you’re grabbing dinner with friends or celebrating a special event, our nightly specials half-off bottles of wine all day Monday make every meal a treat.

“The Granary is a neighborhood gathering place,” says Chef Colin Bedford, who designs and updates the menu seasonally. “The Granary’s menu is full of comfort food and Southern classics with English influence.”

The menu is complemented by a full bar and wine list. “The Granary’s wine list, put together by sommelier Max Kast, is remarkable for a place this casual, as is the beer collection–with brews from Winston-Salem, Durham and Mills River–and the bourbon and Single Malt categories,” says The Huffington Post.

The Granary is located in Fearrington Village near Chapel Hill, NC. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date on the weekly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/granary/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the Fearrington Granary.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
The Fearrington Granary is an extremely versatile venue, providing a large open floor plan and surrounding multi-level, intimate dining spaces. The Granary’s main floor offers an open seating area adjacent to high top tables and full service bar. Great for casual meal options with friends. The Granary’s semi-private areas include: The Silo room is a second level area that offers versatile seating and overlooks the front pasture containing our iconic silo and Belted Galloway cows. Also located on the second level is the Beltie room that overlooks our pasture and grazing Belties. Galloways is a private downstairs area adjacent to the Gallery, allowing for a separate reception and dinner area. Finally, the Sunroom offers a more intimate dining area, also providing views over our front pasture. To learn more about this venue call us at 919.542.2121.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Day: 9195422121x333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Fearrington Granary is the perfect venue for any type of special event. From Bridal Showers & Anniversary Parties to Rehearsal Dinners or casual BBQ get togethers, the Fearrington Granary is the ideal location for any celebration.

Restaurant Photos

  • Fearrington Granary
  • Fearrington Granary
Fearrington Granary
Fearrington Granary

Fearrington Granary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
1 More
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Great for Lunch (43)
Special Occasion (34)
Great for Brunch (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Scenic View (16)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

George is a great wait person - always f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 2 days ago

George is a great wait person - always filling up our coffee cups!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food, service and ambiance. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food, service and ambiance. I live in Fearrington and The Granary is not only convenient but always very good dining if you order the right thing; the meatloaf has always been a "go to" entrée but it's no longer on the menu😢.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant is a valuable part of Fe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is a valuable part of Fearrington Village. It is within walking distance of many residents in the Village, has an excellent menu for both lunch and dinner, and the food is always good. One complaint however is that the dress code is a bit lax and the noise level is somewhat high if you are wanting a more intimate dinner. It is however a good alternative to the Fearrington Inn in regards to both price and atmosphere.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I left most of my lunch...cold greasy ba ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I left most of my lunch...cold greasy bacon on the BLT,...

pretty place but not good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My husband and I live in Raleigh and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I live in Raleigh and we were already in the area for a tour at the Carolina Tiger Rescue. Thank goodness we at least didn't make the trip just for the restaurant, because we ended up wishing we had just gone to the Belted Goat or something.

We had reservations for Sunday brunch and showed up about ten minutes early. However, we were seated right away but at a table that had not yet been set. We would have gladly waited a few minutes for them to actually be ready, especially as our server, Erica, came up and said rather sharply to the hostess "Don't seat people at a table with no silverware!", right in front of us. A fair request, but it was unprofessional for her to say it the way she did and it made us uncomfortable and embarrassed for the hostess. She remained attentive enough throughout our meal, but fairly brusque.

I ordered the Shrimp and Grits which was tasty but had absolutely no finesse or apparent composition. The soubise was good but just dumped all over the dish. My grits featured several large, dry chunks that had not been properly mixed and the dish came with bacon even though the menu said sausage. I don't mind certain changes if they're out of something, for instance, but I do like to be told that I'm not getting what I'm expecting. My husband got the burger and regretted it, saying that we have made much better ones at home.

A manager (presumably) took our drink orders and checked on us one additional time, and she was very polite and professional and that at least we appreciated. Overall though, based on this experience, we found the Fearrington Granary to be considerably overrated and overpriced for what you get. I guess a lot of people in the south are just pretty easy to please, especially if their meal is rich and heavy enough and they have a nice enough view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We eat at the Granary frequently. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We eat at the Granary frequently. The food is always very good to excellent. This time we went for brunch. We were seated promptly by the hostess at a very nice table upstairs. Our waitress was very personable and attentive. We all had the eggs, bacon and sausage special. Potatoes were an option to have with the eggs so we all had the potatoes. Everything was delicious and perfectly prepared, except for the potatoes which could have been crisper. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambience was wonderful and the food ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The ambience was wonderful and the food was very good, but I thought the service was rather slow and the server could have been a little friendlier.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I did not mind that we had to wait for a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I did not mind that we had to wait for a table to be cleared. I did not mind that our waitress was stretched in how many tables she had. But the poor quality of the meal was very upsetting at the price that I paid. The french fries were cold. The pork was burnt to black around the edges, so overcooked it was dry. I would have sent it back but our waitress never got back to us to even ask how our meal was. I have eaten in the Fearrington Restaurant which was excellent but The Granary was just plain bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Fearrington Granary was unfortunately, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fearrington Granary was unfortunately, a major disappointment except for the attentions of Cody, who tried his damndest to make things right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value3

Upstairs Room of 3 tables was unattracti ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Upstairs Room of 3 tables was unattractive, very noisy with group close to us. Did not have our order taken for 35 minutes; had been given glasses of water however, but we had to ask a young man to tell our waitress that we wanted to order. We were going to McIntyre's for the poetry readings.

*The crepe with shrimp, lentils was very bland even though the ingredients should have made it tasty.

* The pork schnitzel sandwich was overcooked, dry.

* Both orders of eggs benedict had runny whites, stiff english muffins, hollandaise was too thick. This dish should have been wonderful, sadly it was not.

The 3 people I invited to lunch had not been there before, and they expressed that they would not return again. I felt let down because food is a priority at Fearrington, but it definitely was not that day. Maybe you were short-staffed with waitresses and cooks.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The sommelier was particularly knowledga ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The sommelier was particularly knowledgable on the wine offerings. The food was impeccable and service notable. Will be back! Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was very good and the waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our dinner was very good and the waiter was attentive but the food was extremely slow coming out of the kitchen. It seemed as if the kitchen couldn't keep up and although the waiter and a manager came by our table several times, they never mentioned or apologized for the very long wait for our food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We live right here in Fearrington Villag ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We live right here in Fearrington Village so we often go to the Granary for dinner or Brunch.

It is usually a very relaxing experience, with good service and food. Our most recent dinner was very good to excellent. The salad with salmon was very good. The salmon was perfectly cooked and seasoned. My husband had the fried chicken dinner which he rated as excellent. The service was cheerful and efficient. All in all a delightful evening at the Granary. What holds me back from all "excellents" is the cocktails. My husband loves a manhattan cocktail but doesn't order them at the Granary anymore as they are not well made and extremely small. A restaurant of this caliber should do a better job of cocktail making.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is usually great but for some reaso ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food is usually great but for some reason was just okay last visit. Still highly recommend the restaurant because the staff there is so nice. The staff was very busy last visit as well but when we did get to interact with them they were great. Our drinks came to us late so they ended up not charging us for them which was also nice of them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Although we had a reservation through Op ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Although we had a reservation through Open Table, we were seated in the bar area at a high top table, though the restaurant was not full. This was not so bad as usually eating in the bar area ensures you get great service since the server never leaves your sight, making it hard for them to ignore you. Well this was certainly not the case at The Granary - Thirty minutes later and after literally waving our arms in an effort for someone to notice us, we finally had a drink. All the while watching 2 couples at the bar who came in after our party receive the full attention of the server/bartender with drinks and food before we could get a glass of wine. One of my friends noted this was the worst service she had received in a restaurant except for a shrimp shack at the beach. I was embarrassed I had recommended this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Our past experiences with this restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our past experiences with this restaurant have been spotty and sporadic. This last visit was outstanding and the food and service excellent. Let's hope they can keep this up as the local completion is getting more fierce and nearby.

I would recommend some better acoustics to dampen the noise levels when the restaurant is full of talking heads.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am always extremely happy with the res ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I am always extremely happy with the restaurant . However once I arrived for my noon reservation they said it was made for 10:30 am not 12. They were happy to accommodate us still.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Granary. So so opinion. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time at Granary. So so opinion. Had a 11:30 reservation and staff made us wait 15 min to be seated. Got private area which was nice. Food was ok, but nothing outstanding. Kind of surprised. When we left we had left overs that we asked the staff to put in fridge for us while we walked around area and shopped. Came back 30-40 min later and food was just sitting on bar counter. So not impressed with staff or total experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For our previous visits, bread and water ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

For our previous visits, bread and water were the first things brought to the table shortly after being seated, neither happened on our recent visit, we had to ask for both, the server brought water but not bread, we had to ask her twice for bread and still she did not bring any, we ended up asking another server and he did not bring any either. Server was not very attentive, worst service we have experienced at The Granary, will think twice about going back. Server's name = Jeriann.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We live Fearrington, and this was our fi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We live Fearrington, and this was our first time at the Granary. It was my Birthday & was a lovely experience! Will bring my in laws when they come in town! Loved seeing the baby goats after and walking around the beautiful farm. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had lovely meals at Fearrington ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have had lovely meals at Fearrington House, excellent food and fine service. We were hoping from the same with the Granary. Such was not the case. The wait staff seemed to purposely ignore us (when I went to the restroom, I ran into 3 of the staff--including our wait-person and the chef--who seemed to be taking a break. Our wait-person said, "Sorry for the wait--your food is coming!" Eventually, it did come.) The shrimp and grits was good, though very heavy. Don't waste calories on the fried chicken. If we go back, it will be to sit at the bar and order bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and great service - as usual. ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and great service - as usual. The menu is varied and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderul time here. The food was i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a wonderul time here. The food was incredible. Only sad part was when our waiter said he forgot to put my side of mac and cheese in with the kitchen. Other than that I still think be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dishes have a neat presentation. Servin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Dishes have a neat presentation. Serving portions are adequate. Food properly prepared with a very good taste. I did ask for black napkins which they did not have to avoid the white fuzz on the black trousers.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent place for a birthday luncheon. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent place for a birthday luncheon. Enjoyed time with good friends. Nice setting and great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to flag the waiter George down to or ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had to flag the waiter George down to order. Since this was our 1st visit we asked for a recommendation. He recommended the BLT. For $14 I got a small sandwich on packaged wheat bread with a soggy side of mixed lettuce greens drowning in dressing. Hardly a salad. My partners fries came out cold, had to ask for ketchup. Had to search for George again for our bill. Huge disappointment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The service was terrible on a Friday nig ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was terrible on a Friday night. We waited for our drinks. Had to ask for butter for the cornbread, after cornbread was finally delivered. One entree was wrong. Ordered fried oysters niscoise salad. Got salmon. More waiting. This is the second time we have had poor service at dinner. Lunch experiences were fine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

It was noisy at first but then quiet at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was noisy at first but then quiet at the end of the lunch period. Food and service were very good. Would definitely recommend it for special lunches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our family of dix dined recently at the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our family of dix dined recently at the Granary in Fearrington Village. We were sat promptly at a table we had requested. Our server was pleasant and efficient. The meals were all very enjoyable, some dishes more outstanding than others; the pork and sirloin meals were excellent. Our only complaint was how long it took for us to get our dinners. We had two young children in our party and the 45+ minute wait was a little too much for them, especially for simple food like hamburgers and french fries.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A local gem that always sparkles.... The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A local gem that always sparkles.... The Fearrington Granary never fails to deliver.

I have eaten there at least 20 times in the past 2 years. The food is fantastic because the menu and kitchen are overseen by Colin Bedford, Executive Chef at the AAA Five Diamond Fearrington House Restaurant. The menu is small but varied, and always showcases local and seasonal produce. The cocktail menu is intriguing, and enjoyable! Make sure to book; it's a popular place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is very overrated at all the Fe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is very overrated at all the Fearrington establishments, including the formal dining experience at the Inn. I have been to both now and given them a couple of chances and every time it is so disappointing because of what you are paying. It is more hype, smoke & mirrors than anything else. The atmosphere easily beguiles you into thinking the food is "supposed" to be good, and you want to believe that because its a beautiful place, but the food falls flat. It truly is akin to airport food. It was bland, did not taste freshly prepared, and had poor presentation. The cavetelli and shrimp literally looked and basically tasted like a bowl of maggots with shrimp that had been frozen for awhile on top. It was inedible. Don't waste your time when there are so many great options in the triangle.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The occasion was my daughter's birthday. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The occasion was my daughter's birthday. She had never eaten there before but would return with her husband. Thank you for a wonderful meal. It was great as alwaYS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I live in Fearrington and had not been t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I live in Fearrington and had not been to the Granary in several months because there are so many restaurants to try in the Chapel Hill and Durham area. It was raining and my wife and I just didn't feel like a long drive so we went to our local Granary. The drinks, food and service were very good. Overall we had a very enjoyable dining experience and will do it again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great. The wait for our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was great. The wait for our food was a little long. When it arrived, it was well worth the wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have selected Granary for many meals and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Have selected Granary for many meals and am very fond of it. The quality of food and service are consistently great. What I am very unhappy about is the ambience..........the upstairs part of the restaurant is closed at present. Diners must sit in the dark, crowded and noisy downstairs. It was almost impossible to cary in a conversation or just relax and enjoy the food. I am reluctant to go back in these circumstances. Very unfortunate management decision for this noted restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We usually have an exceptional meal here ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We usually have an exceptional meal here, but this one was substandard. It won't keep us from trying again, but it was quite disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed lunch with friends on Saturda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed lunch with friends on Saturday. The BLT, beet salad, soup, egg plant wrap, and other items were delicious. Service was prompt and courteous. The atmosphere was bright and pleasant. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been several times! This past visit was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Been several times! This past visit was terrible! Food took forever and still came incorrect, cold, and no to par. Service was terrible!! So sad to see it go down hill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We always love it there, this time servi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We always love it there, this time service was a little sub par though. Cute, quaint area so definitely worth going to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Granary offers a very nice dining ex ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The Granary offers a very nice dining experience. The menu is diverse, fairly-priced and reflects the talents of the chef. My only suggestion would be that diners who are hearing-impaired should ask to be seated upstairs since the first floor can be noisy during busy hours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.