About Fearrington Granary

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Offering a casual dining setting, The Fearrington Granary serves up lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Whether you’re grabbing dinner with friends or celebrating a special event, our nightly specials half-off bottles of wine all day Monday make every meal a treat.

“The Granary is a neighborhood gathering place,” says Chef Colin Bedford, who designs and updates the menu seasonally. “The Granary’s menu is full of comfort food and Southern classics with English influence.”

The menu is complemented by a full bar and wine list. “The Granary’s wine list, put together by sommelier Max Kast, is remarkable for a place this casual, as is the beer collection–with brews from Winston-Salem, Durham and Mills River–and the bourbon and Single Malt categories,” says The Huffington Post.

The Granary is located in Fearrington Village near Chapel Hill, NC. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date on the weekly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/granary/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the Fearrington Granary.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
The Fearrington Granary is an extremely versatile venue, providing a large open floor plan and surrounding multi-level, intimate dining spaces. The Granary’s main floor offers an open seating area adjacent to high top tables and full service bar. Great for casual meal options with friends. The Granary’s semi-private areas include: The Silo room is a second level area that offers versatile seating and overlooks the front pasture containing our iconic silo and Belted Galloway cows. Also located on the second level is the Beltie room that overlooks our pasture and grazing Belties. Galloways is a private downstairs area adjacent to the Gallery, allowing for a separate reception and dinner area. Finally, the Sunroom offers a more intimate dining area, also providing views over our front pasture. To learn more about this venue call us at 919.542.2121.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Day: 9195422121x333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Fearrington Granary is the perfect venue for any type of special event. From Bridal Showers & Anniversary Parties to Rehearsal Dinners or casual BBQ get togethers, the Fearrington Granary is the ideal location for any celebration.

Restaurant Photos

  • Fearrington Granary
  • Fearrington Granary
Fearrington Granary
Fearrington Granary

Fearrington Granary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Neighborhood Gem
Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Great for Lunch (56)
Great for Brunch (49)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Groups (31)
Scenic View (26)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Kid-friendly (12)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is usually great but for some reaso ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is usually great but for some reason was just okay last visit. Still highly recommend the restaurant because the staff there is so nice. The staff was very busy last visit as well but when we did get to interact with them they were great. Our drinks came to us late so they ended up not charging us for them which was also nice of them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Although we had a reservation through Op ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Although we had a reservation through Open Table, we were seated in the bar area at a high top table, though the restaurant was not full. This was not so bad as usually eating in the bar area ensures you get great service since the server never leaves your sight, making it hard for them to ignore you. Well this was certainly not the case at The Granary - Thirty minutes later and after literally waving our arms in an effort for someone to notice us, we finally had a drink. All the while watching 2 couples at the bar who came in after our party receive the full attention of the server/bartender with drinks and food before we could get a glass of wine. One of my friends noted this was the worst service she had received in a restaurant except for a shrimp shack at the beach. I was embarrassed I had recommended this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Our past experiences with this restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our past experiences with this restaurant have been spotty and sporadic. This last visit was outstanding and the food and service excellent. Let's hope they can keep this up as the local completion is getting more fierce and nearby.

I would recommend some better acoustics to dampen the noise levels when the restaurant is full of talking heads.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am always extremely happy with the res ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I am always extremely happy with the restaurant . However once I arrived for my noon reservation they said it was made for 10:30 am not 12. They were happy to accommodate us still.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Granary. So so opinion. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time at Granary. So so opinion. Had a 11:30 reservation and staff made us wait 15 min to be seated. Got private area which was nice. Food was ok, but nothing outstanding. Kind of surprised. When we left we had left overs that we asked the staff to put in fridge for us while we walked around area and shopped. Came back 30-40 min later and food was just sitting on bar counter. So not impressed with staff or total experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For our previous visits, bread and water ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

For our previous visits, bread and water were the first things brought to the table shortly after being seated, neither happened on our recent visit, we had to ask for both, the server brought water but not bread, we had to ask her twice for bread and still she did not bring any, we ended up asking another server and he did not bring any either. Server was not very attentive, worst service we have experienced at The Granary, will think twice about going back. Server's name = Jeriann.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We live Fearrington, and this was our fi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We live Fearrington, and this was our first time at the Granary. It was my Birthday & was a lovely experience! Will bring my in laws when they come in town! Loved seeing the baby goats after and walking around the beautiful farm. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had lovely meals at Fearrington ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have had lovely meals at Fearrington House, excellent food and fine service. We were hoping from the same with the Granary. Such was not the case. The wait staff seemed to purposely ignore us (when I went to the restroom, I ran into 3 of the staff--including our wait-person and the chef--who seemed to be taking a break. Our wait-person said, "Sorry for the wait--your food is coming!" Eventually, it did come.) The shrimp and grits was good, though very heavy. Don't waste calories on the fried chicken. If we go back, it will be to sit at the bar and order bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and great service - as usual. ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and great service - as usual. The menu is varied and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderul time here. The food was i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a wonderul time here. The food was incredible. Only sad part was when our waiter said he forgot to put my side of mac and cheese in with the kitchen. Other than that I still think be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dishes have a neat presentation. Servin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Dishes have a neat presentation. Serving portions are adequate. Food properly prepared with a very good taste. I did ask for black napkins which they did not have to avoid the white fuzz on the black trousers.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent place for a birthday luncheon. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent place for a birthday luncheon. Enjoyed time with good friends. Nice setting and great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to flag the waiter George down to or ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had to flag the waiter George down to order. Since this was our 1st visit we asked for a recommendation. He recommended the BLT. For $14 I got a small sandwich on packaged wheat bread with a soggy side of mixed lettuce greens drowning in dressing. Hardly a salad. My partners fries came out cold, had to ask for ketchup. Had to search for George again for our bill. Huge disappointment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The service was terrible on a Friday nig ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was terrible on a Friday night. We waited for our drinks. Had to ask for butter for the cornbread, after cornbread was finally delivered. One entree was wrong. Ordered fried oysters niscoise salad. Got salmon. More waiting. This is the second time we have had poor service at dinner. Lunch experiences were fine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

It was noisy at first but then quiet at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was noisy at first but then quiet at the end of the lunch period. Food and service were very good. Would definitely recommend it for special lunches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our family of dix dined recently at the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our family of dix dined recently at the Granary in Fearrington Village. We were sat promptly at a table we had requested. Our server was pleasant and efficient. The meals were all very enjoyable, some dishes more outstanding than others; the pork and sirloin meals were excellent. Our only complaint was how long it took for us to get our dinners. We had two young children in our party and the 45+ minute wait was a little too much for them, especially for simple food like hamburgers and french fries.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A local gem that always sparkles.... The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A local gem that always sparkles.... The Fearrington Granary never fails to deliver.

I have eaten there at least 20 times in the past 2 years. The food is fantastic because the menu and kitchen are overseen by Colin Bedford, Executive Chef at the AAA Five Diamond Fearrington House Restaurant. The menu is small but varied, and always showcases local and seasonal produce. The cocktail menu is intriguing, and enjoyable! Make sure to book; it's a popular place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is very overrated at all the Fe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is very overrated at all the Fearrington establishments, including the formal dining experience at the Inn. I have been to both now and given them a couple of chances and every time it is so disappointing because of what you are paying. It is more hype, smoke & mirrors than anything else. The atmosphere easily beguiles you into thinking the food is "supposed" to be good, and you want to believe that because its a beautiful place, but the food falls flat. It truly is akin to airport food. It was bland, did not taste freshly prepared, and had poor presentation. The cavetelli and shrimp literally looked and basically tasted like a bowl of maggots with shrimp that had been frozen for awhile on top. It was inedible. Don't waste your time when there are so many great options in the triangle.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The occasion was my daughter's birthday. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The occasion was my daughter's birthday. She had never eaten there before but would return with her husband. Thank you for a wonderful meal. It was great as alwaYS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I live in Fearrington and had not been t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I live in Fearrington and had not been to the Granary in several months because there are so many restaurants to try in the Chapel Hill and Durham area. It was raining and my wife and I just didn't feel like a long drive so we went to our local Granary. The drinks, food and service were very good. Overall we had a very enjoyable dining experience and will do it again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great. The wait for our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was great. The wait for our food was a little long. When it arrived, it was well worth the wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have selected Granary for many meals and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Have selected Granary for many meals and am very fond of it. The quality of food and service are consistently great. What I am very unhappy about is the ambience..........the upstairs part of the restaurant is closed at present. Diners must sit in the dark, crowded and noisy downstairs. It was almost impossible to cary in a conversation or just relax and enjoy the food. I am reluctant to go back in these circumstances. Very unfortunate management decision for this noted restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We usually have an exceptional meal here ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We usually have an exceptional meal here, but this one was substandard. It won't keep us from trying again, but it was quite disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed lunch with friends on Saturda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed lunch with friends on Saturday. The BLT, beet salad, soup, egg plant wrap, and other items were delicious. Service was prompt and courteous. The atmosphere was bright and pleasant. We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been several times! This past visit was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Been several times! This past visit was terrible! Food took forever and still came incorrect, cold, and no to par. Service was terrible!! So sad to see it go down hill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We always love it there, this time servi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We always love it there, this time service was a little sub par though. Cute, quaint area so definitely worth going to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Granary offers a very nice dining ex ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The Granary offers a very nice dining experience. The menu is diverse, fairly-priced and reflects the talents of the chef. My only suggestion would be that diners who are hearing-impaired should ask to be seated upstairs since the first floor can be noisy during busy hours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service made for an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding food and service made for an enjoyable Father's Day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had many great experiences at the G ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Have had many great experiences at the Granary. This brunch (fathers day) was not one of them. Ordered the salmon on a shingle (salmon on shingle, asparagus, scrambled eggs, and garnish). I was expecting to see a cut of salmon on the shingle (bread), scrambled eggs on the plate, some asparagus, and garnish. What I got was a mix on the shingle with bits of salmon and failed to find the asparagus. Noted and waiter then brought some asparagus "tips". The taste of the plated meal bland. Service was also below par. Waited for biscuits (which were boggy), waited for coffee & tea refills. This was a special treat for fathers day and overall very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Tasty Food, Great Service We had brunch ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Tasty Food, Great Service

We had brunch on Father's Day. My SO had the pulled chicken omelet; I had the Granary Breakfast. The omelet, eggs, and roasted potatoes were tasty; the cheese grits were just ok. We were disappointed that, unlike many brunch places, fruit was not an option for a side dish. Our server was terrific -warm and friendly without overdoing it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food here has been great on each visit a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food here has been great on each visit and I do enjoy the wine list. I've been three times now and, while most of the table service is excellent (including the wine recommendations), the hostess stand can be less than welcoming, almost snobby. Two of my outings have been with family visiting the area for the first time so that welcome is very unfortunate as it is not characteristic of of the rest of the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The hostess was very cooperative, we arr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The hostess was very cooperative, we arrived early for reservation and was sited immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service, and in Triangle ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful food, service, and in Triangle Restaurant Week, a fantastic value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was good (not impressive, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

While the food was good (not impressive, but good), the service was lacking. Our waitress forgot to place my order for a beer to begin with, then after about 15 minutes when I asked about it, it took another 10 minutes to get the beer because she was not old enough to go behind the bar and pour it. The manager(?) came by once or twice, but seemed disinterested. Once our desert was brought out, we had to flag another wait staff down to get spoons so we could eat the dessert. The restaurant did not seem overly-crowded for a Saturday evening, so I have a hard time blaming the poor service on the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

As always ... 5 stars. We enjoyed the 3 ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

As always ... 5 stars. We enjoyed the 3 course lunch special (Raleigh restaurant week). The strawberry shortcake, lemon creme brulee, with white chocolate swirl was worth the meal price alone. Service great, attentive, without hovering.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed in the length ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were very disappointed in the length of time of the service. I know a table of 10 takes a while but this took much longer than we expected, especially as this was prior to a high school graduation that we had to go onto and couldn't get an earlier booking time. We did make it but were more rushed than we wanted to be with the meal arriving late.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food has been quite good at our previous visits to the Granary. The Restaurant Week offerings that we selected on this visit were a big disappointment except for the dessert. The "Strawberry Shortcake" Crème Brûlée was excellent, truly yummy. The tomato soup could have been Campbell's. The Cheese Fingers were bland and devoid of flavor. The flank steak was unremarkable. The cornmeal on the catfish in the fried catfish sandwich was much too coarse and there should have been some kind of dressing such as a good remoulade on the sandwich to give it some taste. The toppings on it were equally flavorless. As prepared, the sandwich was utterly tasteless. My husband tried the half I didn't eat and agreed with my assessment. The Cucumber Salad was good except that the Feta cheese squares were much too big. Too bad because it's a unique and lovely place to eat and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Long wait for food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious food! We ate outside & it was a lovely setting. Only complaint was we waited an hour & 10 mins for our entree. It was not a busy night & there were quite a few empty tables.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a wonderful server but the food t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a wonderful server but the food took so long and they forgot an order. Our dining experience was over 2 hrs long. Most of it was spent waiting on food. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Outstanding food in a wonderfully rustic locale

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

From the moment we arrived until the time we left, we were welcomed and enjoyed a very delicious and relaxing meal. The food, service, and atmosphere were all outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.