About Fatty Fish

406 East 64th St
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Fatty Fish is a Michelin recommended restaurant with an eclectic menu focusing on Asian-Inspired Cuisine.

Executive Chef Roy Lamberty enjoys creating unique and interesting new dishes by preparing eastern menu ingredients with western cooking techniques. The result is an array of signature dishes which can only be found at Fatty Fish, such as Honey Ginger Salmon, Asian Paella, 'Plumtori' Fried Chicken, Thai Basil Pesto Fettuccine, Lapsang Souchong Braised Beef Short Ribs...and so much more!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:15pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm



Happy Hour:

Everyday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 1st Ave. and York Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 813-9338

Website:
http://www.fattyfishnyc.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering for parties up to 200 people.

We will deliver the menu items and set up chafing dishes with sterno heating, if needed.

Parking Details:
There are many private parking garages in the area

Limited street parking

Public Transit:
F subway line at 63rd St and Lexington Ave

N,Q,R,4,5,6 subway lines at 59th st and Lexington Ave

Local M15 Bus at 64th St and 1st Ave

Express M15 Bus at 68th St and 1st Ave

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Roy Lamberty

Private Party Facilities:
Fatty Fish has an enclosed patio which can be used for private parties. The room holds up to 40 guest. It can be combined with the back dining room for larger groups up to 80 guest total.

Our chef will work with you to create the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Roy Lamberty: (917) 826-4623

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Fatty Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very very unique food choices. Sushi Piz ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very very unique food choices. Sushi Pizza was surprisingly delicious. Moderate pricing. Went here for valentines day and I'm surprised it wasn't full it was very good and I got another date out of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sat us in the back patio room that was v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Sat us in the back patio room that was very cold. Asked to turn on the heat they did its on. Poor table with a planter literally with dying plants poking me in the head and said we want to sit inside. They said they could but moved us one table over! There was no one in the restaurant at 6 and wouldt accommodate us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

great neighborhood spot, just wish they ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

great neighborhood spot, just wish they would bring the sushi back!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had been to this restaurant last year an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had been to this restaurant last year and the food was exceptional. We were so enthusiastic to repeat the experience so came back again with a group of 7. The food was just good this time. Seemed that the dishes were not as piping hot and fresh flavored as last time. Also annoyed that the big table was not so stable - a metal table in the back garden - and tilted a bit that made for awkward eating. All said though the staff is well-meaning and the food is much better than at many other fusion type places.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Amazing food, accompanied by friendly st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing food, accompanied by friendly staff! We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ramen was delicious. We were visitin ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The ramen was delicious. We were visiting from Miami and this place really hit the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

On the whole, Fatty Fish is a good choic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

On the whole, Fatty Fish is a good choice. The staff are friendly and patient, the menu is varied. I had the Teriyaki Bento box with salmon. The salmon was indifferent to poor, (let's say that it had not been caught yesterday), and I left half of it; but this disappointment was made up for by the rest of the bento box which was really very good. Next time, I will avoid fish here, which is a bit of a shame in a restaurant called Fatty Fish - but hey, you are in New York, and it isn't easy to have a good fish meal without paying huge prices. I'll go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We always enjoy the interesting and tast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We always enjoy the interesting and tast food served at this pleasant restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I can say compare to its price the best ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I can say compare to its price the best restaurant in NYC. Me and my girl friend visit NYC for 7 days vacation and we visited various restaurant food prices from $160 to $10, but this place is the best place for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for dinner; very nice; good a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time for dinner; very nice; good and inspired food selections, nice atmosphere for conversation, recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seafood wasn't fresh,we ordered fried ca ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Seafood wasn't fresh,we ordered fried calamari and had to send it back. Shrimp green curry the green curry was not authentic .. Coconut rice missed the aroma

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Unexpectedly good food with friendly ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Unexpectedly good food with friendly service. They call themselves an Asian "bistro" and oddly they pulled it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant, casual restaurant with excelle ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pleasant, casual restaurant with excellent Asian/American fusion cooking. Generous portions, interesting and good drink and tasty food. Could not ask for more in a neighborhood place and will definitely be returning again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I love this restaurant. The food is incr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I love this restaurant. The food is incredible. The restaurant could use a facelift but the food overshadows that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fatty fish is such a gem. The food is fr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fatty fish is such a gem. The food is fresh and the waiters are so nice. Their pineapple fried rice and cassava fries. The decor is very rustic modern, like something out of a movie honestly. It is set up in a hallway type look after you enter, then there is a dining room in the back. This is also attached to another dining room separated by a curtain. Both spaces are nice but if it is cold outside, I recommend the table by the wall in the first dining room on your right hand side, just before you enter the other dining room...the heater is attached there and it is super warm. The staff is so kind and friendly and is always ready to refill your drink or water. I'm definitely going back there sooner, rather than later.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a very enjoyable evening. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was a very enjoyable evening. The appetizers (sushi pizza and shishito peppers with bacon) were both excellent. The vegetarian ramen dish and the paella were both good as well, although the paella could have been hotter in temperature. Both dishes lacked an intensity of flavor that was enhanced by spicy paste, although the extra charge for that addition is truly inappropriate. Sake was reasonably priced and the service was very attentive, but at times water would be served or dishes removed without regard to interfering with our conversation or eating. There are many dishes on this interesting menu that will be tried on another visit.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty dinner, interesting dishes, and th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Tasty dinner, interesting dishes, and the renovated space was comfortable and less noisy than the restaurant had been prior to renovation. We were very pleased and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never fail to have a great eating experi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Never fail to have a great eating experience there!! Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoy this neighborhood restaurant fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We enjoy this neighborhood restaurant for its interesting food and friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu has changed in the past year--no mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Menu has changed in the past year--no more sushi. But food remains creative, asian-inspired, varied and well prepared. Seafood paella can be recommended. Salad with possible add-ons also good. Fried foods are very well prepared.

Tags: Authentic, , Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Every dish was perfectly prepared, not o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Every dish was perfectly prepared, not one was over or underdone. The choices were wide and the flavors were well matched. Service was both very professional and warm welcoming. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service! Amazing food!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice "shack", with plenty of niches to s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Nice "shack", with plenty of niches to settle into. Menu was very inviting, staff was very friendly, food was very good. Different, interesting, outside-the-box, informal dining.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very cute little date night. LOVED the d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very cute little date night.

LOVED the dumplings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting Tasty Food is the reason we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Interesting Tasty Food is the reason we go to this friendly restaurant that is located in our neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sushi pizza was delicious. We had t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The sushi pizza was delicious. We had the truffle tempura portobella mushrooms and I was disappointed. I could not taste the truffle. I had the bento box with chicken and it came cold but my sister had the ramen and my husband the salmon an they said they were delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

The food is ok. The ramen is the only di ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is ok. The ramen is the only dish you should consider getting and everything else is just a hair better than your local Chinese restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

They should fill the front first because ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

They should fill the front first because walking into an empty restaurant was disconcerting. Also they should keep large families with lots of small children in corner areas not middle of the restaurant. Other than that, the food was amazing, service was more than perfect, and the price would have been good even without a Groupon. If the entire ambiance was how the porch looked (we were just outside the porch area, no seats on porch) it would have been wonderful. We would consider going again. 5 stars for food and service. 5 for BYOB. 4.5 for price and food creativity (4 for non-Groupon). 3 for ambiance. Overall 4.25

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting, tasty food beautifully pres ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Interesting, tasty food beautifully presented by friendly, helpful staff. We enjoy it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Decent neighborhood restaurant. Food is ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Decent neighborhood restaurant. Food is interesting and delicious; ambiance is unimpressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food. The fish was light and cris ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food. The fish was light and crispy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was "okay," nothing great. Have ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was "okay," nothing great. Have had much better sushi pizza elsewhere. Bento box was fine but again, have had better elsewhere. Waiter forgot to put in our appetizer order to start so it was quite a long wait at 8:30 p.m. to start eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

There are so few good restaurants in the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

There are so few good restaurants in the "hood", thank goodness for Fatty Fish! It's a real keeper. Not only is the fish delish, but the meat and veggie dishes are as well. Not only is Fatty Fish our go to local restaurant, but we had a family reunion brunch there recently. Chef Roy went out of his way to make it a wonderful, delicious event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always good here and, genera ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food is always good here and, generally, so is the service. Tonight, however, the servers were distracted by a group that they were serving and our service was really slow. I'll still be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fatty Fish never, ever, disappoints; the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Fatty Fish never, ever, disappoints; the food is delicious, and the new menu is great. Service is always lovely and timely. This is a true neighborhood gem; don't be thrown off by the name!

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, , Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was ok but expected a more welcomin ...

vip
 (Adelaide)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was ok but expected a more welcoming atmosphere - maitre d' rationed tables, even though the place was fairly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

This has become our go-to place on a nea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This has become our go-to place on a nearly-every-week basis. Excellent food and service, as well as excellent value. Maybe not the place for a "romantic dinner"--it doesn't have that ambiance--but it's pleasant. We eat here when we want a good meal out, and also bring friends when a casual atmosphere is desired.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have heard wonderful things about Fatt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I have heard wonderful things about Fatty Fish, and finally got to go for Friday lunch with a friend. Our reservation was for 12:15, and there was one other table being served in our dining room. The service was very efficient, and non-intrusive. The plates of food were beautifully presented. We each ordered a vegetarian dish with green curry sauce with an added protein. I selected salmon, and was pleased to see they listed the weight for all added proteins (4 oz.). Along with the main course we each got a salad. It was beautiful and fresh. I appreciated the size of the servings. The portions were generous, but not overwhelming. As we left the restaurant we walked through two other dining rooms with diners. I have already told friends about Fatty Fish, and look forward to going back.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I read lots of very positive reviews bef ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I read lots of very positive reviews before going here and was not disappointed. Lovely food, charming service and a decently priced (but small) wine list. Not at all pretentious. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, , Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this place twice, each time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I've been to this place twice, each time I went it was amazing. There's was nothing I didn't like! For appetizer I got sushi pizza, and for my entree I got the salmon with coconut rice. AMAZING. My first time there I got the boneless spare ribs , and the cola chicken. The place itself is small, but they have an open room outside. I highly suggest it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.