Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Fatty Fish

Fatty Fish is a Michelin recommended restaurant with an eclectic menu focusing on Asian-Inspired Cuisine.

Executive Chef Roy Lamberty enjoys creating unique and interesting new dishes by preparing eastern menu ingredients with western cooking techniques. The result is an array of signature dishes which can only be found at Fatty Fish, such as Honey Ginger Salmon, Asian Paella, 'Plumtori' Fried Chicken, Thai Basil Pesto Fettuccine, Lapsang Souchong Braised Beef Short Ribs...and so much more!

406 East 64th St
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:15pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm



Happy Hour:

Everyday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 1st Ave. and York Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 813-9338

Website:
http://www.fattyfishnyc.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering for parties up to 200 people.

We will deliver the menu items and set up chafing dishes with sterno heating, if needed.

Parking Details:
There are many private parking garages in the area

Limited street parking

Public Transit:
F & Q subway line at 63rd St and Lexington Ave

N,W,R,4,5,6 subway lines at 59th st and Lexington Ave

Local M15 Bus at 64th St and 1st Ave

Express M15 Bus at 68th St and 1st Ave

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Roy Lamberty

Private Party Facilities:
Fatty Fish has an enclosed patio which can be used for private parties. The room holds up to 40 guest. It can be combined with the back dining room for larger groups up to 80 guest total.

Our chef will work with you to create the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Roy Lamberty: (917) 826-4623

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Fatty Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
See All
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We love Fatty Fish. Nice happy hour deals on mojitos. Very family friendly. Children love the bento boxes and delicious ramen for the adults.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2017

The Kobe beef burger is very tasty. Very good food, a bit expensive for the type of food. But BYOB makes up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Delicious and generous meal portions. Went for brunch and weren't disappointed. Try their mojito, as well as the portobello mushroom omelette!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2017

I found the food to be quite good, the service and price reasonable, and the "garden" (enclosed) was really lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This our go-to place in the neighborhood. The food is original and consistently delicious.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We like the interesting and tasty food at this restaurant. The service is friendly and the setting comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent portobello tempura, sushi pizza, bento box. Enjoy BYOB. very good food, great value

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It is not a restaurant for seafood despite the name suggests. Typical upper east side menu with high prices, nothing to attract clients to return. Seems ownership and chef changed as not I recalled dining a few years back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had an out of town visitor who requested Asian food and I looked up reviews for UES. This restaurant was highly rated so we decided to give it a go. The fried chicken was quite good and I liked the sauce. The calamari was excellent. So were the truffle fries. We were able to hear ourselves talk which seems so rare these days. The service was outstanding. We will come back.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I have been to this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. This time, I took friends from out of town for an early dinner. There were 9 of us. The wait staff was very patient as we all decided what we wanted. Some people wanted vegetarian, some people wanted small plates (appetizers), some people wanted bento boxes and everyone was happy with their food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We enjoy this friendly restaurant. The food is tasty and interesting. The service is efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was delicious. The staff was wonderful. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Enjoyed bento box and salads. Great BYOB policy makes this very affordable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

They kept the name, but no more fish restaurant as used to be. Now this is an Asian ( ethnic origin unknown) place with so so food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoy the interesting dishes and the friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We've been trying to book A reservation at fatty fish for a long time so we were surprised that they had a lot of openings available on Sunday, we went to have lunch before an event in Long Island city. We had the chicken dumplings, sushi pizza which was amazing, and I had a bowl of the vegan tofu Ramen, and the banana tempura for dessert, my cousin ordered the Asian paella. Service and food were phenomenal, the restaurant is very cute, it was really quiet that day since it wasn't so busy and they also have a really beautiful patio out back. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fatty Fish is a great place for creative Asian fusion cuisine we sat outside in the back garden which was partially covered & provided a great ambience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant, with a lovely enclosed garden in the back. The food is very original and delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Been here a few times and used them for takeout. Food is excellent!!!! Great options and specials. Service is great too. May not look like much from outside but you will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Cool back room, not fancy- food was good. Very much American Asian lots of sauces. No sushi which is advertised and where all of their awards came from.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We always enjoy our meals at this pleasant friendly restaurant. The food is interesting and tasty and the service efficient and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

All-around cool spot, awesome that it has a bar and is also BYOB. Creative dishes. Great service. I was really impressed.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We always enjoy this neighborhood restaurant. The food is interesting and tasty. The staff is friendly and hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Ate here twice during a recent visit. Enjoyed the buns pork , shrimp) spring roll appetizers plus mains of short ribs and curried shrimp with vegetables. Pleasant surroundings and reasonable service on a busy evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have eaten at Fatty Fish a few times. MY son loves this place and as always they don't disappoint. I had the tea braised short ribs which were out of this world. The portion sizes are perfect for us. Will be back again of course.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The menu was interesting and everything we ordered was delicious especially the green curry Mussels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Definitely order the Filet Mignon Medallions on Kimchi pancake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Weird that 3 of the 4 menus has "sushi bar" crossed out and they randomly stopped offering sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We always enjoy our meals here. The staff is friendly and helpful and the food interesting and tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Enjoyable lunch reunion with friends. Asian fusion dishes: recommend wonton ginger soup, vegetarian spring rolls, spicy shrimp shumai, arugula salad, spare ribs with spicy fries

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent brunch menu and value. The outside seating area is adorable, on a sunny day filled with light that feels like an oasis in Manhattan. The Shishito and bacon appetizer was flavorful, mimosas plentiful, and pork belly benedict made for an excellent start to a Sunday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Charming Asian inspired eclectic menu. Lovely service and just plain fun. We'll go back.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

excellent food and service the group I was with were totally satisfied

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I love this restaurant. It is consistently delicious and the staff is fantastic. The green curry and sushi pizza are amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The sushi pizza is tasty! Apps were satisfying. Good selection of wine bottles for a reasonable price. It was raining outside and they seated us outside under the plastic roof so it was very loud! At times we couldn't hear each other. The salmon was too peppery and the green tea ice cream was one of the worst I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I walked in and thought the place looked dark and small, but as I walked further back I saw the second dining room and then the enclosed bright porch area. Really nice space. They had a nice selection of good choices. Something for everyone. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. I would go back and recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

What a delicious gem! I can't believe I just found this spot only a month ago and have now been twice in the past month! Looking forward to going back to try out more.
GREAT SPOT!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Mixed reviews on this place but I wanted to try. I was not impressed. Dumplings we OK, calamari was OK, paella was fairly bland and not hot. Friend had branzino & said it was "OK" but did not finish. It was very quiet since no one was there, so we did have a nice chat. Wish I had better things to say, our server was very nice, but other than that, I don't.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great neighborhood place for casual low key and very tasty dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Oriental / Japanese (but no sushi). Food imaginative, well-prepared, pleasant environment. Well worth the price

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.