About Fatty Fish

406 East 64th St
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Fatty Fish is a Michelin recommended restaurant with an eclectic menu focusing on Asian-Inspired Cuisine.

Executive Chef Roy Lamberty enjoys creating unique and interesting new dishes by preparing eastern menu ingredients with western cooking techniques. The result is an array of signature dishes which can only be found at Fatty Fish, such as Honey Ginger Salmon, Asian Paella, 'Plumtori' Fried Chicken, Thai Basil Pesto Fettuccine, Lapsang Souchong Braised Beef Short Ribs...and so much more!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:15pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm



Happy Hour:

Everyday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 1st Ave. and York Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 813-9338

Website:
http://www.fattyfishnyc.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering for parties up to 200 people.

We will deliver the menu items and set up chafing dishes with sterno heating, if needed.

Parking Details:
There are many private parking garages in the area

Limited street parking

Public Transit:
F subway line at 63rd St and Lexington Ave

N,Q,R,4,5,6 subway lines at 59th st and Lexington Ave

Local M15 Bus at 64th St and 1st Ave

Express M15 Bus at 68th St and 1st Ave

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Roy Lamberty

Private Party Facilities:
Fatty Fish has an enclosed patio which can be used for private parties. The room holds up to 40 guest. It can be combined with the back dining room for larger groups up to 80 guest total.

Our chef will work with you to create the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Roy Lamberty: 9178264623x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Fatty Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Romantic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every dish was perfectly prepared, not o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Every dish was perfectly prepared, not one was over or underdone. The choices were wide and the flavors were well matched. Service was both very professional and warm welcoming. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service! Amazing food!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice "shack", with plenty of niches to s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Nice "shack", with plenty of niches to settle into. Menu was very inviting, staff was very friendly, food was very good. Different, interesting, outside-the-box, informal dining.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very cute little date night. LOVED the d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very cute little date night.

LOVED the dumplings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting Tasty Food is the reason we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Interesting Tasty Food is the reason we go to this friendly restaurant that is located in our neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sushi pizza was delicious. We had t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The sushi pizza was delicious. We had the truffle tempura portobella mushrooms and I was disappointed. I could not taste the truffle. I had the bento box with chicken and it came cold but my sister had the ramen and my husband the salmon an they said they were delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

They should fill the front first because ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

They should fill the front first because walking into an empty restaurant was disconcerting. Also they should keep large families with lots of small children in corner areas not middle of the restaurant. Other than that, the food was amazing, service was more than perfect, and the price would have been good even without a Groupon. If the entire ambiance was how the porch looked (we were just outside the porch area, no seats on porch) it would have been wonderful. We would consider going again. 5 stars for food and service. 5 for BYOB. 4.5 for price and food creativity (4 for non-Groupon). 3 for ambiance. Overall 4.25

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting, tasty food beautifully pres ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Interesting, tasty food beautifully presented by friendly, helpful staff. We enjoy it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Decent neighborhood restaurant. Food is ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Decent neighborhood restaurant. Food is interesting and delicious; ambiance is unimpressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food. The fish was light and cris ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food. The fish was light and crispy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was "okay," nothing great. Have ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was "okay," nothing great. Have had much better sushi pizza elsewhere. Bento box was fine but again, have had better elsewhere. Waiter forgot to put in our appetizer order to start so it was quite a long wait at 8:30 p.m. to start eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

There are so few good restaurants in the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

There are so few good restaurants in the "hood", thank goodness for Fatty Fish! It's a real keeper. Not only is the fish delish, but the meat and veggie dishes are as well. Not only is Fatty Fish our go to local restaurant, but we had a family reunion brunch there recently. Chef Roy went out of his way to make it a wonderful, delicious event.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always good here and, genera ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food is always good here and, generally, so is the service. Tonight, however, the servers were distracted by a group that they were serving and our service was really slow. I'll still be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fatty Fish never, ever, disappoints; the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Fatty Fish never, ever, disappoints; the food is delicious, and the new menu is great. Service is always lovely and timely. This is a true neighborhood gem; don't be thrown off by the name!

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was ok but expected a more welcomin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was ok but expected a more welcoming atmosphere - maitre d' rationed tables, even though the place was fairly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

This has become our go-to place on a nea ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This has become our go-to place on a nearly-every-week basis. Excellent food and service, as well as excellent value. Maybe not the place for a "romantic dinner"--it doesn't have that ambiance--but it's pleasant. We eat here when we want a good meal out, and also bring friends when a casual atmosphere is desired.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have heard wonderful things about Fatt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I have heard wonderful things about Fatty Fish, and finally got to go for Friday lunch with a friend. Our reservation was for 12:15, and there was one other table being served in our dining room. The service was very efficient, and non-intrusive. The plates of food were beautifully presented. We each ordered a vegetarian dish with green curry sauce with an added protein. I selected salmon, and was pleased to see they listed the weight for all added proteins (4 oz.). Along with the main course we each got a salad. It was beautiful and fresh. I appreciated the size of the servings. The portions were generous, but not overwhelming. As we left the restaurant we walked through two other dining rooms with diners. I have already told friends about Fatty Fish, and look forward to going back.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been to this place twice, each time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I've been to this place twice, each time I went it was amazing. There's was nothing I didn't like! For appetizer I got sushi pizza, and for my entree I got the salmon with coconut rice. AMAZING. My first time there I got the boneless spare ribs , and the cola chicken. The place itself is small, but they have an open room outside. I highly suggest it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I read lots of very positive reviews bef ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I read lots of very positive reviews before going here and was not disappointed. Lovely food, charming service and a decently priced (but small) wine list. Not at all pretentious. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent PanAsian food at a very reason ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent PanAsian food at a very reasonable price point. Service is attentive and not overbearing . Highly recommended .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tasty interesting food at reasonable pri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Tasty interesting food at reasonable prices. Pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is always good and fresh with artis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food is always good and fresh with artistic presentation. Servers are courteous and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good value

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Interesting, tasty food with friendly se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Interesting, tasty food with friendly service close by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place. The food is delicious a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this place. The food is delicious and the ambiance is so nice and mellow. It's a great go-to place for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't eat out much on the Upper East S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2016

I don't eat out much on the Upper East Side yet wanted to meet a friend for a quiet, catch-up dinner on the east side. Time Out had given Fatty Fish a good review, and the restaurant lived up to the acclaim. The food was very good, fresh, flavorful, with attractive presentation; service was unobtrusive and attentive; we sat inside while most diners were out in the garden, so it was nice and quiet and very pleasant. Thanks for a delicious meal with the right kind of ambiance to have some serious conversations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I love their food and the service is exc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love their food and the service is excellent! Their fish is fresh and well prepared. Their menu has good variety for all tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I thought it was sushi but the menu had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

I thought it was sushi but the menu had changed in March and I didn't look at the menu. The sushi pizza was excellent. Since I was expecting sushi my evaluation of the rest of the menu was that it was food food but fusion and not what I had expected. My error.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best ramen I've had in my life. Would re ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best ramen I've had in my life. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting new york. Will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

food was average at best, but for the va ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2016

food was average at best, but for the value not at all. expensive with small portions, and a sad mixture of asian/american (I think?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

First time there, definitely not the las ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2016

First time there, definitely not the last. Everything was excellent, especially the food! Service top notch, ambiance quite nice, and noise level very manageable for our table conversation. The oysters, edaname, and pork bun appetizers were great. Crab cake and salmon main courses were also top-notch. Looking forward to returning to Fatty Fish very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and have always been satisfied with their food. Tonight we both ordered their salmon entree with honey ginger sauce (I had mine on the side), coconut rice and spinach. This was the best salmon I've had in a long time and the presentation was also excellent. The wait service here is also very good. I'm looking forward to going back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First impressions matter!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2016

I had a wonderful experience at Fatty Fish. It was my first visit, so I was a little leery of my choice for dinner reservations. I was entertaining a relative I've never formally met and wanted to make a good first impression. Fatty Fish did not disappoint! The food tasted fresh, delicious and the presentations beautifully done. We were there for happy hour, so the drinks were half price (and delicious)! I will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where surprised to see how empty this pl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Where surprised to see how empty this place was compared to our many times we have been there. Seems restaurant lost "it's chore business". Food we selected was good and well prepared. The servers were attentive. We still regret lack of sushi/sashimi offerings. Need a vigorous shake up. Please do not let this place go down the drain.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great setting loved the garden area. Exc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great setting loved the garden area. Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a nice venue with an enclosed, te ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was a nice venue with an enclosed, temperature controlled yard. Simply decorated. We were skeptical upon our arrival, because there were only two other people in the entire restaurant, but it got busier shortly after. The wait staff seemed to be a little inexperienced and nervous, but friendly and cordial.

We had the Memorial Day special Asian clam bake, which was delicious. It had a nice sized lobster and shrimps, clams, muscles, potatoes and Chinese sausage. The accompanying ginger butter was amazing. We also had the shishito peppers and the dumpling appetizers, both were delicious and well made. The sangria was good as well. Overall, we had a good experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Met up with a few friends at Fatty Fish ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Met up with a few friends at Fatty Fish for a get-together. The wait staff was great! They were very accommodating when we were running late and did not rush us at all. Food was fantastic, as always. The bring-your-own wine is a great option as well.

Overall, a great experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried the new ramen seafood dish and was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Tried the new ramen seafood dish and was disappointed. They initially forgot the noodles and we sent it back. When the dish returned with noodles the amount of seafood in it was not on par with the price of the dish. Perhaps this was due to the fact it was Mother's Day and the B team chef was in house. We go to this place often this is the first time I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Yum!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I found this hidden gem at the last minute since my original pick was not able to accommodate 11 people... and boy, am I lucky that things went as it did. The food was excellent and I highly recommend this restaurant if you want to dine as a group or for dates. They even have an enclosed garden area at the back if you want that outdoorsy feel. I would have to give this place an overall rating of 95 out of 100. 2 thumbs up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service still very good . We regret that ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Service still very good . We regret that management has not reversed its decision of not offering sushi/sashimi. This might affect our decision in continuing patronizing this restaurant .

Will see...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.