About Fatty Fish

406 East 64th St
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Fatty Fish is a Michelin recommended restaurant with an eclectic menu focusing on Asian-Inspired Cuisine.

Executive Chef Roy Lamberty enjoys creating unique and interesting new dishes by preparing eastern menu ingredients with western cooking techniques. The result is an array of signature dishes which can only be found at Fatty Fish, such as Honey Ginger Salmon, Asian Paella, 'Plumtori' Fried Chicken, Thai Basil Pesto Fettuccine, Lapsang Souchong Braised Beef Short Ribs...and so much more!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:15pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm



Happy Hour:

Everyday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 1st Ave. and York Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 813-9338

Website:
http://www.fattyfishnyc.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering for parties up to 200 people.

We will deliver the menu items and set up chafing dishes with sterno heating, if needed.

Parking Details:
There are many private parking garages in the area

Limited street parking

Public Transit:
F subway line at 63rd St and Lexington Ave

N,Q,R,4,5,6 subway lines at 59th st and Lexington Ave

Local M15 Bus at 64th St and 1st Ave

Express M15 Bus at 68th St and 1st Ave

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Roy Lamberty

Private Party Facilities:
Fatty Fish has an enclosed patio which can be used for private parties. The room holds up to 40 guest. It can be combined with the back dining room for larger groups up to 80 guest total.

Our chef will work with you to create the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Roy Lamberty: 9178264623x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Fatty Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been to this place twice, each time ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I've been to this place twice, each time I went it was amazing. There's was nothing I didn't like! For appetizer I got sushi pizza, and for my entree I got the salmon with coconut rice. AMAZING. My first time there I got the boneless spare ribs , and the cola chicken. The place itself is small, but they have an open room outside. I highly suggest it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I read lots of very positive reviews bef ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I read lots of very positive reviews before going here and was not disappointed. Lovely food, charming service and a decently priced (but small) wine list. Not at all pretentious. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent PanAsian food at a very reason ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent PanAsian food at a very reasonable price point. Service is attentive and not overbearing . Highly recommended .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tasty interesting food at reasonable pri ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Tasty interesting food at reasonable prices. Pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is always good and fresh with artis ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food is always good and fresh with artistic presentation. Servers are courteous and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Interesting, tasty food with friendly se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Interesting, tasty food with friendly service close by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place. The food is delicious a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this place. The food is delicious and the ambiance is so nice and mellow. It's a great go-to place for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't eat out much on the Upper East S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I don't eat out much on the Upper East Side yet wanted to meet a friend for a quiet, catch-up dinner on the east side. Time Out had given Fatty Fish a good review, and the restaurant lived up to the acclaim. The food was very good, fresh, flavorful, with attractive presentation; service was unobtrusive and attentive; we sat inside while most diners were out in the garden, so it was nice and quiet and very pleasant. Thanks for a delicious meal with the right kind of ambiance to have some serious conversations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I love their food and the service is exc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love their food and the service is excellent! Their fish is fresh and well prepared. Their menu has good variety for all tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I thought it was sushi but the menu had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I thought it was sushi but the menu had changed in March and I didn't look at the menu. The sushi pizza was excellent. Since I was expecting sushi my evaluation of the rest of the menu was that it was food food but fusion and not what I had expected. My error.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best ramen I've had in my life. Would re ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best ramen I've had in my life. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting new york. Will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

food was average at best, but for the va ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

food was average at best, but for the value not at all. expensive with small portions, and a sad mixture of asian/american (I think?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

First time there, definitely not the las ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

First time there, definitely not the last. Everything was excellent, especially the food! Service top notch, ambiance quite nice, and noise level very manageable for our table conversation. The oysters, edaname, and pork bun appetizers were great. Crab cake and salmon main courses were also top-notch. Looking forward to returning to Fatty Fish very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and have always been satisfied with their food. Tonight we both ordered their salmon entree with honey ginger sauce (I had mine on the side), coconut rice and spinach. This was the best salmon I've had in a long time and the presentation was also excellent. The wait service here is also very good. I'm looking forward to going back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First impressions matter!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I had a wonderful experience at Fatty Fish. It was my first visit, so I was a little leery of my choice for dinner reservations. I was entertaining a relative I've never formally met and wanted to make a good first impression. Fatty Fish did not disappoint! The food tasted fresh, delicious and the presentations beautifully done. We were there for happy hour, so the drinks were half price (and delicious)! I will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where surprised to see how empty this pl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Where surprised to see how empty this place was compared to our many times we have been there. Seems restaurant lost "it's chore business". Food we selected was good and well prepared. The servers were attentive. We still regret lack of sushi/sashimi offerings. Need a vigorous shake up. Please do not let this place go down the drain.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great setting loved the garden area. Exc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great setting loved the garden area. Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a nice venue with an enclosed, te ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was a nice venue with an enclosed, temperature controlled yard. Simply decorated. We were skeptical upon our arrival, because there were only two other people in the entire restaurant, but it got busier shortly after. The wait staff seemed to be a little inexperienced and nervous, but friendly and cordial.

We had the Memorial Day special Asian clam bake, which was delicious. It had a nice sized lobster and shrimps, clams, muscles, potatoes and Chinese sausage. The accompanying ginger butter was amazing. We also had the shishito peppers and the dumpling appetizers, both were delicious and well made. The sangria was good as well. Overall, we had a good experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Met up with a few friends at Fatty Fish ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Met up with a few friends at Fatty Fish for a get-together. The wait staff was great! They were very accommodating when we were running late and did not rush us at all. Food was fantastic, as always. The bring-your-own wine is a great option as well.

Overall, a great experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried the new ramen seafood dish and was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Tried the new ramen seafood dish and was disappointed. They initially forgot the noodles and we sent it back. When the dish returned with noodles the amount of seafood in it was not on par with the price of the dish. Perhaps this was due to the fact it was Mother's Day and the B team chef was in house. We go to this place often this is the first time I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Yum!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I found this hidden gem at the last minute since my original pick was not able to accommodate 11 people... and boy, am I lucky that things went as it did. The food was excellent and I highly recommend this restaurant if you want to dine as a group or for dates. They even have an enclosed garden area at the back if you want that outdoorsy feel. I would have to give this place an overall rating of 95 out of 100. 2 thumbs up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service still very good . We regret that ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Service still very good . We regret that management has not reversed its decision of not offering sushi/sashimi. This might affect our decision in continuing patronizing this restaurant .

Will see...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

'Lean, No-Fish'

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Understood from serving waiter, eatery changed management 4 weeks ago; therefore, menu changed - as a result, no sushi, sashimi served at this Japanese restaurant.

Very disappointing surprise, as this was my favorite business lunch spot - will need to look for another restaurant because 'new change in business model.'

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fatty Fish has changed ownership and men ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Fatty Fish has changed ownership and menu, specifically eliminating sushi, which they did well. The current menu does not perform, e.g. a teriyaki dish which was tasteless and watery. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We have been patronizing Fatty Fish for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We have been patronizing Fatty Fish for about a decade. We were extremely disappointed when we were informed that the Owners decided to discontinue their sushi/sashimi offerings. We understand sometimes changes are needed to maintain decent margins, but we believe it was a mistake to make this change. The new menu is not as extended as the old one, but our dishes were prepared with care and were of a good quality. Service remains very good and Yann, the Manager/Host is always pleasant and very knowledgeable. Not sure we will go as often as we used to due to the lack of sushi/sashimi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fatty Fish has been our go-to sushi spot ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Fatty Fish has been our go-to sushi spot for a long time, so you can imagine how disappointed we were last night when our waiter informed us that the restaurant no long serves sushi. None. Not even a California roll in a bento box. It was late so we stayed anyway and had ramen. The ramen was good but not what we were in the mood for. I hope they bring the sushi back. Meanwhile I guess we are looking for a new go-to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

In the three days between making the res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

In the three days between making the reservation and actually going to eat, they completely removed all sushi from their menu with no warning. This was the whole reason we went ( it is called Fatty Fish after all) as it was good Friday so some of our party could not eat meat and sushi would have offered everyone plenty of options. The new menu was mediocre at best and the staff offered no apology or explanation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Interesting Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

It is nice to have am attractive restaurant serving good fusion cuisine in the neighborhood. This was our first visit, but we will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Value and quality

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Quality food at a great price and it's byob. Cork fee is applied after first bottle but still an absolute deal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Brought my friend here to celebrate my birthday. She was stunned at the food and atmosphere and was most excited about that than celebrating my birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

It is a nice go to restaurant for neighb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

It is a nice go to restaurant for neighborhood sushi, I wouldn't be running from afar as there are many sushi winners in NYC in every neighborhood. The sushi Pizza was tasty, and my friend had their version of paella which he enjoyed. I would say it's a good place, but I wouldn't put it on the level of a 5 star restaurant. I would recommend to those in the area! Worth trying, more reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I've been to this restaurant on several ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I've been to this restaurant on several occasions and was always satisfied with the food and the service. Except for one other table being used, the entire restaurant was empty when we arrived. As a result, one would expect the wait service to be more attentive than usual but it was just the opposite. We had to continuously call the server to get his attention. He never came by to ask if everything was OK. When it was time for coffee, he never came by to ask if we wanted it or dessert. The same for refills. This would be understandable and acceptable in a busy restaurant but for the majority of time we were the only ones there. Not a good sign.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

As good as all of the good reviews say it is!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My daughter just moved into the neighborhood. We had a great meal and look forward to many more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighborhood Gem!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Neighborhood Gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the decor has been changed a bit and the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

the decor has been changed a bit and the menu updated and refreshed. Continues to be a great and hidden dining experience in a neighborhood that lacks for decent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place!! Used to live in neighb ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Love this place!! Used to live in neighborhood and went there weekly, but now try to get back as often as possible. The food is great, atmosphere lovely AND the staff is wonderful! And not just good for Japanese food; husband had a pasta dish that was delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fishing for a good restaurant

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Fatty Fish is a misnomer: there is nothing fat about the food and we enjoyed the fish. Sushi is fresh and superb; but if you are not a sushi enthusiast, there are still cooked meat and chicken helpings that welcome all carnivores. OpenTable continues to impress us with their choices for our dining experiences.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fresh food, good service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Sushi was good. Some of our group were not sushi eaters and opted for pasta or green curry. All loved the food. Will return .

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Head east to Fatty Fish!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Definitely worth heading east to Fatty Fish. Very broad menu with small plates and set dinners -- and you can bring your own wine! Edamame with sesame seeds & black pepper were amazing; shrimp shumai were not traditional but very tasty. Set plate with salmon was good; pork belly was ok. Nice selection of sides come with each set plate. Good food, efficient service, and great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Food & Service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

We go to Fatty Fish often. The sushi, rolls, and sashimi are all reliably fresh, and we're big fans of the salmon bento box and sauteed edamame appetizer. We also love that FF is bring your own wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.