Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Fatty Fish

4.1
230 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Fatty Fish is a Michelin recommended restaurant with an eclectic menu focusing on Asian-Inspired Cuisine.

Executive Chef Roy Lamberty enjoys creating unique and interesting new dishes by preparing eastern menu ingredients with western cooking techniques. The result is an array of signature dishes which can only be found at Fatty Fish, such as Honey Ginger Salmon, Asian Paella, 'Plumtori' Fried Chicken, Thai Basil Pesto Fettuccine, Lapsang Souchong Braised Beef Short Ribs...and so much more!

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:15pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm



Happy Hour:

Everyday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 813-9338
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Executive Chef Roy Lamberty
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Fatty Fish has an enclosed patio which can be used for private parties. The room holds up to 40 guest. It can be combined with the back dining room for larger groups up to 80 guest total.

Our chef will work with you to create the perfect menu for your event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Roy Lamberty: (917) 826-4623
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer off-site catering for parties up to 200 people.

We will deliver the menu items and set up chafing dishes with sterno heating, if needed.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 1st Ave. and York Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are many private parking garages in the area

Limited street parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
F & Q subway line at 63rd St and Lexington Ave

N,W,R,4,5,6 subway lines at 59th st and Lexington Ave

Local M15 Bus at 64th St and 1st Ave

Express M15 Bus at 68th St and 1st Ave
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 230 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
3.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Esta cerrado y lo siguen ofreciendo.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Had ramen with meat
Stomach felt bloated afterwards

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Excellent fusion tastes, especially the sauces/soups. Go to neighborhood place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Came for the sushi pizza and I was not disappointed. It was amazing!!! So was the ramen and the Bahn Mi sandwich with pork belly. Everything was so delicious. I can't wait to come back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Always good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Great food great ambiance great service

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 20, 2017

lukewarm beer
lukewarm food
lukewarm service
maybe inferior Monday night
usually better

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Filthy. Gross. Don't go. We left after drinks as it was so dirty and unattractive that we lost our appetite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2017

We love Fatty Fish. Nice happy hour deals on mojitos. Very family friendly. Children love the bento boxes and delicious ramen for the adults.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 30, 2017

The Kobe beef burger is very tasty. Very good food, a bit expensive for the type of food. But BYOB makes up for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Delicious and generous meal portions. Went for brunch and weren't disappointed. Try their mojito, as well as the portobello mushroom omelette!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 23, 2017

I found the food to be quite good, the service and price reasonable, and the "garden" (enclosed) was really lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

This our go-to place in the neighborhood. The food is original and consistently delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2017

We like the interesting and tasty food at this restaurant. The service is friendly and the setting comfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent portobello tempura, sushi pizza, bento box. Enjoy BYOB. very good food, great value

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 22, 2017

It is not a restaurant for seafood despite the name suggests. Typical upper east side menu with high prices, nothing to attract clients to return. Seems ownership and chef changed as not I recalled dining a few years back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 17, 2017

We had an out of town visitor who requested Asian food and I looked up reviews for UES. This restaurant was highly rated so we decided to give it a go. The fried chicken was quite good and I liked the sauce. The calamari was excellent. So were the truffle fries. We were able to hear ourselves talk which seems so rare these days. The service was outstanding. We will come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 6, 2017

I have been to this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. This time, I took friends from out of town for an early dinner. There were 9 of us. The wait staff was very patient as we all decided what we wanted. Some people wanted vegetarian, some people wanted small plates (appetizers), some people wanted bento boxes and everyone was happy with their food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 5, 2017

We enjoy this friendly restaurant. The food is tasty and interesting. The service is efficient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was delicious. The staff was wonderful. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Enjoyed bento box and salads. Great BYOB policy makes this very affordable!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 21, 2017

They kept the name, but no more fish restaurant as used to be. Now this is an Asian ( ethnic origin unknown) place with so so food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoy the interesting dishes and the friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

We've been trying to book A reservation at fatty fish for a long time so we were surprised that they had a lot of openings available on Sunday, we went to have lunch before an event in Long Island city. We had the chicken dumplings, sushi pizza which was amazing, and I had a bowl of the vegan tofu Ramen, and the banana tempura for dessert, my cousin ordered the Asian paella. Service and food were phenomenal, the restaurant is very cute, it was really quiet that day since it wasn't so busy and they also have a really beautiful patio out back. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

Fatty Fish is a great place for creative Asian fusion cuisine we sat outside in the back garden which was partially covered & provided a great ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant, with a lovely enclosed garden in the back. The food is very original and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Been here a few times and used them for takeout. Food is excellent!!!! Great options and specials. Service is great too. May not look like much from outside but you will not be disappointed!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Cool back room, not fancy- food was good. Very much American Asian lots of sauces. No sushi which is advertised and where all of their awards came from.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 25, 2017

We always enjoy our meals at this pleasant friendly restaurant. The food is interesting and tasty and the service efficient and welcoming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

All-around cool spot, awesome that it has a bar and is also BYOB. Creative dishes. Great service. I was really impressed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 3, 2017

We always enjoy this neighborhood restaurant. The food is interesting and tasty. The staff is friendly and hospitable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 29, 2017

Ate here twice during a recent visit. Enjoyed the buns pork , shrimp) spring roll appetizers plus mains of short ribs and curried shrimp with vegetables. Pleasant surroundings and reasonable service on a busy evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

We have eaten at Fatty Fish a few times. MY son loves this place and as always they don't disappoint. I had the tea braised short ribs which were out of this world. The portion sizes are perfect for us. Will be back again of course.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2017

The menu was interesting and everything we ordered was delicious especially the green curry Mussels.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2017

Definitely order the Filet Mignon Medallions on Kimchi pancake.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2017

Weird that 3 of the 4 menus has "sushi bar" crossed out and they randomly stopped offering sushi.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2017

We always enjoy our meals here. The staff is friendly and helpful and the food interesting and tasty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2017

Enjoyable lunch reunion with friends. Asian fusion dishes: recommend wonton ginger soup, vegetarian spring rolls, spicy shrimp shumai, arugula salad, spare ribs with spicy fries

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent brunch menu and value. The outside seating area is adorable, on a sunny day filled with light that feels like an oasis in Manhattan. The Shishito and bacon appetizer was flavorful, mimosas plentiful, and pork belly benedict made for an excellent start to a Sunday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Charming Asian inspired eclectic menu. Lovely service and just plain fun. We'll go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6