Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Fatty Fish

Fatty Fish is a Michelin recommended restaurant with an eclectic menu focusing on Asian-Inspired Cuisine.

Executive Chef Roy Lamberty enjoys creating unique and interesting new dishes by preparing eastern menu ingredients with western cooking techniques. The result is an array of signature dishes which can only be found at Fatty Fish, such as Honey Ginger Salmon, Asian Paella, 'Plumtori' Fried Chicken, Thai Basil Pesto Fettuccine, Lapsang Souchong Braised Beef Short Ribs...and so much more!

406 East 64th St
New York, NY 10065
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:15pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:45pm



Happy Hour:

Everyday: 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 1st Ave. and York Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 813-9338

Website:
http://www.fattyfishnyc.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering for parties up to 200 people.

We will deliver the menu items and set up chafing dishes with sterno heating, if needed.

Parking Details:
There are many private parking garages in the area

Limited street parking

Public Transit:
F subway line at 63rd St and Lexington Ave

N,Q,R,4,5,6 subway lines at 59th st and Lexington Ave

Local M15 Bus at 64th St and 1st Ave

Express M15 Bus at 68th St and 1st Ave

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Roy Lamberty

Private Party Facilities:
Fatty Fish has an enclosed patio which can be used for private parties. The room holds up to 40 guest. It can be combined with the back dining room for larger groups up to 80 guest total.

Our chef will work with you to create the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Roy Lamberty: (917) 826-4623

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Fatty Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

All-around cool spot, awesome that it has a bar and is also BYOB. Creative dishes. Great service. I was really impressed.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We always enjoy this neighborhood restaurant. The food is interesting and tasty. The staff is friendly and hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Ate here twice during a recent visit. Enjoyed the buns pork , shrimp) spring roll appetizers plus mains of short ribs and curried shrimp with vegetables. Pleasant surroundings and reasonable service on a busy evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have eaten at Fatty Fish a few times. MY son loves this place and as always they don't disappoint. I had the tea braised short ribs which were out of this world. The portion sizes are perfect for us. Will be back again of course.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The menu was interesting and everything we ordered was delicious especially the green curry Mussels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Definitely order the Filet Mignon Medallions on Kimchi pancake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Weird that 3 of the 4 menus has "sushi bar" crossed out and they randomly stopped offering sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We always enjoy our meals here. The staff is friendly and helpful and the food interesting and tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Enjoyable lunch reunion with friends. Asian fusion dishes: recommend wonton ginger soup, vegetarian spring rolls, spicy shrimp shumai, arugula salad, spare ribs with spicy fries

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent brunch menu and value. The outside seating area is adorable, on a sunny day filled with light that feels like an oasis in Manhattan. The Shishito and bacon appetizer was flavorful, mimosas plentiful, and pork belly benedict made for an excellent start to a Sunday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Charming Asian inspired eclectic menu. Lovely service and just plain fun. We'll go back.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

excellent food and service the group I was with were totally satisfied

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I love this restaurant. It is consistently delicious and the staff is fantastic. The green curry and sushi pizza are amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The sushi pizza is tasty! Apps were satisfying. Good selection of wine bottles for a reasonable price. It was raining outside and they seated us outside under the plastic roof so it was very loud! At times we couldn't hear each other. The salmon was too peppery and the green tea ice cream was one of the worst I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I walked in and thought the place looked dark and small, but as I walked further back I saw the second dining room and then the enclosed bright porch area. Really nice space. They had a nice selection of good choices. Something for everyone. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. I would go back and recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

What a delicious gem! I can't believe I just found this spot only a month ago and have now been twice in the past month! Looking forward to going back to try out more.
GREAT SPOT!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Mixed reviews on this place but I wanted to try. I was not impressed. Dumplings we OK, calamari was OK, paella was fairly bland and not hot. Friend had branzino & said it was "OK" but did not finish. It was very quiet since no one was there, so we did have a nice chat. Wish I had better things to say, our server was very nice, but other than that, I don't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great neighborhood place for casual low key and very tasty dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Oriental / Japanese (but no sushi). Food imaginative, well-prepared, pleasant environment. Well worth the price

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Mostly Japanese cuisine with a creative flair, all dishes were tasty and nicely prepared and presented. Neighborhood feel, casual and comfortable. Gyoza excellent. Waiter was not very well schooled in the menu or what the bar could provide, and it took a bit longer than it should have to get drinks brought to the table, but the entries came promptly after we finished the apps. Prices very reasonable.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had the unlimited mimosas with 2 entrees. The presentation, proportions and the quality of the food was great. The heated outdoor patio enclosed with its international cafe style ambience was welcoming. The service was exceptional our mimosas were always topped off ,never left thirsty..

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fatty Fish is so great! Terrific value, fab food, and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very very unique food choices. Sushi Pizza was surprisingly delicious. Moderate pricing. Went here for valentines day and I'm surprised it wasn't full it was very good and I got another date out of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Sat us in the back patio room that was very cold. Asked to turn on the heat they did its on. Poor table with a planter literally with dying plants poking me in the head and said we want to sit inside. They said they could but moved us one table over! There was no one in the restaurant at 6 and wouldt accommodate us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

great neighborhood spot, just wish they would bring the sushi back!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had been to this restaurant last year and the food was exceptional. We were so enthusiastic to repeat the experience so came back again with a group of 7. The food was just good this time. Seemed that the dishes were not as piping hot and fresh flavored as last time. Also annoyed that the big table was not so stable - a metal table in the back garden - and tilted a bit that made for awkward eating. All said though the staff is well-meaning and the food is much better than at many other fusion type places.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food, accompanied by friendly staff! We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The ramen was delicious. We were visiting from Miami and this place really hit the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

On the whole, Fatty Fish is a good choice. The staff are friendly and patient, the menu is varied. I had the Teriyaki Bento box with salmon. The salmon was indifferent to poor, (let's say that it had not been caught yesterday), and I left half of it; but this disappointment was made up for by the rest of the bento box which was really very good. Next time, I will avoid fish here, which is a bit of a shame in a restaurant called Fatty Fish - but hey, you are in New York, and it isn't easy to have a good fish meal without paying huge prices. I'll go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We always enjoy the interesting and tast food served at this pleasant restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I can say compare to its price the best restaurant in NYC. Me and my girl friend visit NYC for 7 days vacation and we visited various restaurant food prices from $160 to $10, but this place is the best place for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

First time for dinner; very nice; good and inspired food selections, nice atmosphere for conversation, recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Seafood wasn't fresh,we ordered fried calamari and had to send it back. Shrimp green curry the green curry was not authentic .. Coconut rice missed the aroma

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Unexpectedly good food with friendly service. They call themselves an Asian "bistro" and oddly they pulled it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Pleasant, casual restaurant with excellent Asian/American fusion cooking. Generous portions, interesting and good drink and tasty food. Could not ask for more in a neighborhood place and will definitely be returning again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I love this restaurant. The food is incredible. The restaurant could use a facelift but the food overshadows that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fatty fish is such a gem. The food is fresh and the waiters are so nice. Their pineapple fried rice and cassava fries. The decor is very rustic modern, like something out of a movie honestly. It is set up in a hallway type look after you enter, then there is a dining room in the back. This is also attached to another dining room separated by a curtain. Both spaces are nice but if it is cold outside, I recommend the table by the wall in the first dining room on your right hand side, just before you enter the other dining room...the heater is attached there and it is super warm. The staff is so kind and friendly and is always ready to refill your drink or water. I'm definitely going back there sooner, rather than later.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was a very enjoyable evening. The appetizers (sushi pizza and shishito peppers with bacon) were both excellent. The vegetarian ramen dish and the paella were both good as well, although the paella could have been hotter in temperature. Both dishes lacked an intensity of flavor that was enhanced by spicy paste, although the extra charge for that addition is truly inappropriate. Sake was reasonably priced and the service was very attentive, but at times water would be served or dishes removed without regard to interfering with our conversation or eating. There are many dishes on this interesting menu that will be tried on another visit.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Tasty dinner, interesting dishes, and the renovated space was comfortable and less noisy than the restaurant had been prior to renovation. We were very pleased and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Never fail to have a great eating experience there!! Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.