Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Fat Ptarmigan

Artisianal, wood-fired, hand-made pizza, set in an inviting, rustic environment with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, local draft beers and excellent service

441 W 5th Ave
Suite 100
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Bistro

Hours of Operation:

Monday- Thursday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Friday: 10:00am- 10:00pm

Saturday: 10:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 10:00pm- 9:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue and E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 777-7710

Website:
http://fatptarmigan.com/

Executive Chef:
Guy Conley

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Beer Garden, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fat Ptarmigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Good for a Date (3)
Bar Seating (2)
See All
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort by
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2017

One of our favorite places in Anchorage. Always great food and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We went for a special dinner for our Wedding Anniversary. The food and service was phenomenal. Must try the mushroom pie and Spanish wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner! Had the reindeer pizza and they had no problem making some ingredient modifications for us. It was delicious and service was great too!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The server was attentive and the food deliscious. Setting was very clean. Definitely coming back another time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Salad was OK as was the pizza. I would rate our meal as a B-.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was ok. When ordering pasta aka spaghetti and meatballs I expect rolls/bread and butter to also be served. It must be the pizza that ranks this restaurant as really good. The pasta was just ok. Salads were good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Really great pizza choices and thin crust, which is our choice! Nice waiter and good service. For our one night in Anchorage, we made a good choice! Casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service provided was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 13, 2017

When we arrived, we were told that they don't use open table for reservations so we therefore had no reservation. That's kind of a big deal downtown on Saturday night. Might wanna update the restaurants you service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The restaurant was good, but the open table experience was not. I made an OpenTable reservation earlier in the day, got a confirmation email, but when I arrived I was told by the hostess that they no longer accept OpenTable reservations and we would have to wait with at least a dozen people ahead of us. How does that happen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We made a reservation at 6:45 for 7pm and got confirmed. We show up and the hostess told us that since we just made the reservation that it didn't count and to get in line with everyone else!! Why have reservations available if you are not going to honor them?!? We were very disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Ty was a great Shepard for our dining experience. The appetizer spinach/artichoke dip with pizza dough wedges was excellent. My wife and I both ordered pizzas. The Greek pizza was fabulous. I will definitely order that again. Great job Fat Ptarmigan!

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great location but really quite loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Paper on the table, and crayons to draw with! Let's a grown-up be silly. Tasty pizza!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fat Ptarmigan is not honoring Open Table reservations. Hostess told me they don't use Open Table any longer to take reservations. Call the restaurant directly if you want a reservation, otherwise you are put in the queue with everybody else waiting for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food is always good, unfortunately service left something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent service, but the food is nothing special and seems overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The steak and Stilton pizza and Mushroom pizza with anchovies added were both excellent. Service was fast, friendly, and efficient. Great for a night out before heading to the theatre for a Broadway play.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service; friendly waiter. Good food; the homemade soup was delectable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a mediocre experience. Our server was great, but overworked (another server failed to show, so ours was doing double duty on a busy Saturday night), so service was a little slow. We started with the mozzarella balls, which were good. My husband and I both had the "full size" chopped salad, which tasted good, but was small for a dinner portion. We both also had a slice of our son's pizza and left hungry. My son's pizza was ok. Toppings were sparse and there were several burnt spots on the bottom. I tried to explain that that is the nature of wood fired pizza, but he was disappointed. My daughter had the mac and cheese, which she didn't complain about, but she didn't rave about either. It's a fun place, but fell short of our expectations.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I found that they didn't have what we wanted so we had to choose something else that was ok but not what we wanted.
I found the restaurant cold in temperature, we had to leave our coats on.
I will not go back again because prices a little high, the hard parking area and not a great deal to choose from as variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great pizza and beer. Delicious salad. Perfect location downtown Anchorage.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The steak and Stilton pizza and mushroom pizza were fantastic! Pizzas are wood fired, and service was very good, but ambience was cafe rather than bistro.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Blah. ...the food is poor and overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The smoked salmon and pepperoni pizzas were fabulous, as was the service! The pecan pie with sea salt caramel ice cream was a great way to end the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My husband and I shared the Hot Coppa pizza and boy or boy was it amazing!!!
Loved the subtle fennel flavored sausage and the spicy Coppa!!!
It's definitely a must for any day, any time all the time eatery.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Organic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Tapas, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 3, 2016

No complaints! Great food, service, beer, and ambiance. Stopped in for a casual dinner while visiting town. Artichoke dip was the best I've ever had, and we split a delicious beer cheese pizza. Special thanks to the moustachioed employee who we stopped on his way into work, who grabbed for us a sentimentally-valued hoodie we had left there the evening before, and thanks to the waitress for saving it until we returned!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2016

My husband and I came in for an evening meal. We ordered a pepperoni pizza and a margherita pizza. The pizzas were delicious- as good as any in Italy that we have had. The service was great. It's a casual place, brown paper over the table tops (crayons for decorating the tables- great to keep the kids busy).
We would definitely go again.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great thin crust pizza with good beer and wine selection. Would have appreciated more regular water refills and did not appreciate the waitress trying to rush us when we declined desert. Considering there were not people waiting for a table.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2016

As always it was amazing food and service! The music was a tad loud for 5 pm on a Friday, but it got turned down and all was well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The server was excellent and the beer and pizza great thank you for our last dinner in Alaska

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The chairs are so hard to sit on. I wish they were padded.

You guys ran out of every dessert. That was a bummer!

Service was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, good atmosphere however our wait staff seemed a bit overwhelmed. However, we enjoy the experience every time we go.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a very nice relaxed dinner of Margherita pizza and blood orange panacitta (sp?). Food was fantastic, and a perfect end to a busy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was delicious and the service was great . Definitely going to visit a few times do we can try all the different pizza. Loved the brown paper table covers so we could color while we waited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fat Ptarmigan is a cute little place in DT Anchorage with a lot to offer. My husband and I recently dined there for the second time and were very pleased with our experience.

We were greeted with a smile at the door, shown to our table, and greeted by our server in short order. The ambiance is classy but casual, and it is usually busy (so the ability to make a reservation with Open Table is much appreciated!). We started with the Guy's Meatballs appetizer: tender meatballs smothered in marinara sauce and sprinkled with cheese. It did not disappoint! The meatballs were full of flavor and the sauce was excellent. However, I would not recommend adding the flatbread as it was lackluster. For dinner, we built our own pizza to share. The toppings were fresh, the spicy marinara sauce was delicious, and the wood-fired crust was perfect (the best crust in Anchorage). Our choice for dessert was the "gelato;" it was flavorful, but somewhat disappointing because the texture was more like ice cream than true gelato. It was good for ice cream, but not if you're looking for a true gelato. That said, our meal was very good overall and our server was excellent. We will definitely come here again the next time we're craving pizza.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day and my Dad really enjoyed his meal (as did I). We'll be back again soon I'm sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was very good and reasonably priced. We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 12, 2016

I liked that I can make my reservations online! The service was great and the food was delicious! Great pizza and great beer!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.