About Fat Ptarmigan

441 W 5th Ave
Suite 100
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Artisianal, wood-fired, hand-made pizza, set in an inviting, rustic environment with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, local draft beers and excellent service

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:

Monday- Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Friday: 11:00am- 10:00pm

Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm- 9:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue and E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 777-7710

Website:
http://fatptarmigan.com/

Executive Chef:
Guy Conley

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fat Ptarmigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
1 More
Best Value
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steak and Stilton pizza and mushroom ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The steak and Stilton pizza and mushroom pizza were fantastic! Pizzas are wood fired, and service was very good, but ambience was cafe rather than bistro.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The smoked salmon and pepperoni pizzas w ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The smoked salmon and pepperoni pizzas were fabulous, as was the service! The pecan pie with sea salt caramel ice cream was a great way to end the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

No complaints! Great food, service, beer ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

No complaints! Great food, service, beer, and ambiance. Stopped in for a casual dinner while visiting town. Artichoke dip was the best I've ever had, and we split a delicious beer cheese pizza. Special thanks to the moustachioed employee who we stopped on his way into work, who grabbed for us a sentimentally-valued hoodie we had left there the evening before, and thanks to the waitress for saving it until we returned!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came in for an evening ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My husband and I came in for an evening meal. We ordered a pepperoni pizza and a margherita pizza. The pizzas were delicious- as good as any in Italy that we have had. The service was great. It's a casual place, brown paper over the table tops (crayons for decorating the tables- great to keep the kids busy).

We would definitely go again.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great thin crust pizza with good beer an ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great thin crust pizza with good beer and wine selection. Would have appreciated more regular water refills and did not appreciate the waitress trying to rush us when we declined desert. Considering there were not people waiting for a table.

Tags: Great Beer, Wood Oven, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

As always it was amazing food and servic ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always it was amazing food and service! The music was a tad loud for 5 pm on a Friday, but it got turned down and all was well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was excellent and the beer an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The server was excellent and the beer and pizza great thank you for our last dinner in Alaska

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chairs are so hard to sit on. I wish ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The chairs are so hard to sit on. I wish they were padded.

You guys ran out of every dessert. That was a bummer!

Service was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, good atmosphere however our ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food, good atmosphere however our wait staff seemed a bit overwhelmed. However, we enjoy the experience every time we go.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very nice relaxed dinner of Mar ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a very nice relaxed dinner of Margherita pizza and blood orange panacitta (sp?). Food was fantastic, and a perfect end to a busy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was delicious and the service ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was delicious and the service was great . Definitely going to visit a few times do we can try all the different pizza. Loved the brown paper table covers so we could color while we waited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fat Ptarmigan is a cute little place in ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fat Ptarmigan is a cute little place in DT Anchorage with a lot to offer. My husband and I recently dined there for the second time and were very pleased with our experience.

We were greeted with a smile at the door, shown to our table, and greeted by our server in short order. The ambiance is classy but casual, and it is usually busy (so the ability to make a reservation with Open Table is much appreciated!). We started with the Guy's Meatballs appetizer: tender meatballs smothered in marinara sauce and sprinkled with cheese. It did not disappoint! The meatballs were full of flavor and the sauce was excellent. However, I would not recommend adding the flatbread as it was lackluster. For dinner, we built our own pizza to share. The toppings were fresh, the spicy marinara sauce was delicious, and the wood-fired crust was perfect (the best crust in Anchorage). Our choice for dessert was the "gelato;" it was flavorful, but somewhat disappointing because the texture was more like ice cream than true gelato. It was good for ice cream, but not if you're looking for a true gelato. That said, our meal was very good overall and our server was excellent. We will definitely come here again the next time we're craving pizza.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for Father's Day and my Dad real ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went for Father's Day and my Dad really enjoyed his meal (as did I). We'll be back again soon I'm sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good and reasonably priced ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was very good and reasonably priced. We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Service Great Pizza And Great Beer!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I liked that I can make my reservations online! The service was great and the food was delicious! Great pizza and great beer!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, good service, very friendly ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, good service, very friendly place for all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, child friendly

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

A friend and I took our 11-year-old daughters to see Peter Pan (Sunday matinee) and we had lunch at Fat Ptarmigan beforehand. I had the chop salad, my friend had a gyro, and the girls split a pepperoni pizza. We had scoops of chocolate and pistachio gelato to finish the meal. Everything was great although the pizza crust was a little burnt, but you should probably expect that from a wood fire oven. Server was very nice, attentive, and knowledgeable. The girls loved the coloring crayons and butcher paper. Ambiance was casual and not overly loud considering it is a large room with high ceilings. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but spendy

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We found F. T. by typing "gluten free pizza anchorage" in our phone. First to pop up in Google. Loved the online reservation!! Location is fun but be sure to park in the JC penny mall parking garage. $1 for 2 hrs! Similar feel of Mooses tooth without the crowd. Hubby enjoyed the beer choices and both pizzas (gf and non-gf) were very good. Down side was with tip, one glass of beer and two 10" pizzas was $55. Pretty high-priced imo. It's definitely for us a go-once-in-a-great-while due to cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was ok, but definitely better pizza i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

It was ok, but definitely better pizza in town. Good service for lunch though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Pizza was delicious but my wife's chicke ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Pizza was delicious but my wife's chicken Alfredo was not very good today. The chicken was tough and chewy and the sauce was soupy. Not their best work today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service, but...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our server was great, even when she had to tell us our table was reserved for another couple in 30 minutes. She knew it was ridiculous and handled it well for us. We didn't leave in the 30 minute time frame. Obviously, the host/hostess didn't know what they were doing when taking reservations. Food was ok, except for dessert which was excellent. Wine was not really acceptable, beer list was decent. I would be fine never eating here again, except maybe for a late night dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Nice upscale pizza joint

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Limited menu however a good value with tasty homemade pizza. Nice beer and wine selection. Food is a good value drinks are expensive. No ambience or view. Great for groups lunches birthday parties. Would come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

First time turned out to be the right choice.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The spinach salad was fresh, simple and adequate. The mushroom pizza was scrumptious. I would definitely make an effort to visit again to try one of the other specialty pizzas. The staff is very attentive. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Missed my expectation. Decent wait time for only 2

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our table had no less than 10 drink coasters under one leg and still it was not level. We sat by the front window, nice view but cold. For an oven that cooks at 700+ degrees, my thin crust pizza was very doughy throughout the middle and took over 30 mins to arrive. I've had a lot better and cheaper around town.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great downtown hotspot

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Great wood fired pizzas with unique toppings. The server was great and very attentive. There is butcher paper on all the tables with a cup of crayons to keep young and old entertained will food is being prepped.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unexpected Delight

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We haven't take the time to eat at this restaurant for several months. Really glad we did. Enjoyed the food immensely and the fact that it was close to the center where were attending a show. Added to a great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very expensive Pizza restaurant.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The $18 Mushroom Pizza was delicious but only feed one person. We spend $75 for 2 adults and 2 children under 10 and I left Hungry.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Best atmosphere. Cozy and classy. The fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Best atmosphere. Cozy and classy. The food is outstanding and amazing! We can't say enough great things about this place. Great for date nights and even after work. Kids welcome and pizza Delish!

Will be taking both sets of parents when they visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Okay, but far from lives up to the hype

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Not Anchorage's best pizza. The spinach artichoke dip was good, pizza was okay, better than Uncle Joes, but far from Moose's Tooth or Flattop Pizza. You are paying for the downtown location and fancy decor...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very good value and a very enjoyable eve ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good value and a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

High price for product.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our order was put in wrong...twice. Unique pizza and was good but price is high. Menu could be expanded.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Beer Cheese Pizza and Blackened Chicken ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Beer Cheese Pizza and Blackened Chicken Pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I loved the mushroom pizza. Great local ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I loved the mushroom pizza. Great local craft beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good but $

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I've been to Fat Ptarmigan twice now, and it has been very good both times. But it hits the wallet pretty good. $19 for a delicious one-person pizza is steep. But the pizza and beer are top notch, no question.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Lasagna was great!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The lasagna was great!!! Servers were great. Extremely loud and smaller portions of food. The pizzas are very thin, with little toppings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I took my wife out to go have some alone time. I thought the atmosphere was nice with the brick stove. The service did take a bit longer than i would of liked. The food to me was good. We really enjoyed the "spicy red sauce" in the reindeer pizza. I would recommend reserving a spot ahead of time because the place is busy. The only other con 2as the noise level. I found that i had to raise my voice a couple of times to talk to my wife. All-in-all, i would recommend this place to others.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Place was hot, food was not

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We stopped in for a quick bite before a Saturday concert at the PAC. The restaurant was really busy, but we had reservations, so we were immediately ushered past those waiting for tables. The wait staff was friendly and responsive to having our meal to us in time for us to make the show. I've eaten at Fat Ptarmigan before, so I was expecting some good food. We got a meatball appetizer that was lacking flavor, a Caesar's salad that I think they forgot to add the garlic and a BTA pizza that was bland. I will give this place another chance, but very many meals like this will turn me away.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

A good spot for Down Town Dining

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Limited but tasty menu, Fat Ptarmigan delivers well what it has. Stone fired pizza, lasagna, an ample list of beers on tap and nice (if a bit raucous) ambiance makes it a nice stop-off for dining Down Town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too noisy.

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The location is great, the ambiance is not special, and although the food and service were good the noise level was horrible.

On Open Table we can rate from "quiet" to "energetic," but there is no option for disturbingly noisy. It makes conversation too challenging to be a pleasurable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Downtown Gem

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Arrived at 11:30 for lunch. Very quiet. The lunch crown came in shortly afterwards. Still not overly loud. Highlights:

*Spinach dip appetizer was best I've ever had, REALLY!

*Prices are very affordable

*Food is fresh and delicious

*Bread is soft and tasty

*Atmosphere is charming

*Parking is not bad

Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.