About Fat Ptarmigan

441 W 5th Ave
Suite 100
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Artisianal, wood-fired, hand-made pizza, set in an inviting, rustic environment with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, local draft beers and excellent service

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:

Monday- Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Friday: 11:00am- 10:00pm

Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm- 9:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue and E Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 777-7710

Website:
http://fatptarmigan.com/

Executive Chef:
Guy Conley

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fat Ptarmigan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (18)
good for groups (16)
kid-friendly (14)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
special occasion (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day and my Dad real ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We went for Father's Day and my Dad really enjoyed his meal (as did I). We'll be back again soon I'm sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was very good and reasonably priced ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was very good and reasonably priced. We would definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Service Great Pizza And Great Beer!

Dined on May 13, 2016

I liked that I can make my reservations online! The service was great and the food was delicious! Great pizza and great beer!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service, very friendly ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, good service, very friendly place for all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, child friendly

Dined on May 1, 2016

A friend and I took our 11-year-old daughters to see Peter Pan (Sunday matinee) and we had lunch at Fat Ptarmigan beforehand. I had the chop salad, my friend had a gyro, and the girls split a pepperoni pizza. We had scoops of chocolate and pistachio gelato to finish the meal. Everything was great although the pizza crust was a little burnt, but you should probably expect that from a wood fire oven. Server was very nice, attentive, and knowledgeable. The girls loved the coloring crayons and butcher paper. Ambiance was casual and not overly loud considering it is a large room with high ceilings. We'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good but spendy

Dined on May 1, 2016

We found F. T. by typing "gluten free pizza anchorage" in our phone. First to pop up in Google. Loved the online reservation!! Location is fun but be sure to park in the JC penny mall parking garage. $1 for 2 hrs! Similar feel of Mooses tooth without the crowd. Hubby enjoyed the beer choices and both pizzas (gf and non-gf) were very good. Down side was with tip, one glass of beer and two 10" pizzas was $55. Pretty high-priced imo. It's definitely for us a go-once-in-a-great-while due to cost.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

It was ok, but definitely better pizza i ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

It was ok, but definitely better pizza in town. Good service for lunch though.

food3
ambience4
service4

Pizza was delicious but my wife's chicke ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Pizza was delicious but my wife's chicken Alfredo was not very good today. The chicken was tough and chewy and the sauce was soupy. Not their best work today.

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service, but...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our server was great, even when she had to tell us our table was reserved for another couple in 30 minutes. She knew it was ridiculous and handled it well for us. We didn't leave in the 30 minute time frame. Obviously, the host/hostess didn't know what they were doing when taking reservations. Food was ok, except for dessert which was excellent. Wine was not really acceptable, beer list was decent. I would be fine never eating here again, except maybe for a late night dessert.

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Nice upscale pizza joint

Dined on March 14, 2016

Limited menu however a good value with tasty homemade pizza. Nice beer and wine selection. Food is a good value drinks are expensive. No ambience or view. Great for groups lunches birthday parties. Would come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time turned out to be the right choice.

Dined on March 6, 2016

The spinach salad was fresh, simple and adequate. The mushroom pizza was scrumptious. I would definitely make an effort to visit again to try one of the other specialty pizzas. The staff is very attentive. A wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Missed my expectation. Decent wait time for only 2

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our table had no less than 10 drink coasters under one leg and still it was not level. We sat by the front window, nice view but cold. For an oven that cooks at 700+ degrees, my thin crust pizza was very doughy throughout the middle and took over 30 mins to arrive. I've had a lot better and cheaper around town.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great downtown hotspot

Dined on February 25, 2016

Great wood fired pizzas with unique toppings. The server was great and very attentive. There is butcher paper on all the tables with a cup of crayons to keep young and old entertained will food is being prepped.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unexpected Delight

Dined on February 21, 2016

We haven't take the time to eat at this restaurant for several months. Really glad we did. Enjoyed the food immensely and the fact that it was close to the center where were attending a show. Added to a great evening.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very expensive Pizza restaurant.

Dined on February 21, 2016

The $18 Mushroom Pizza was delicious but only feed one person. We spend $75 for 2 adults and 2 children under 10 and I left Hungry.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best atmosphere. Cozy and classy. The fo ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Best atmosphere. Cozy and classy. The food is outstanding and amazing! We can't say enough great things about this place. Great for date nights and even after work. Kids welcome and pizza Delish! Will be taking both sets of parents when they visit!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Okay, but far from lives up to the hype

Dined on February 15, 2016

Not Anchorage's best pizza. The spinach artichoke dip was good, pizza was okay, better than Uncle Joes, but far from Moose's Tooth or Flattop Pizza. You are paying for the downtown location and fancy decor...

food5
ambience4
service4

Very good value and a very enjoyable eve ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good value and a very enjoyable evening.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

High price for product.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our order was put in wrong...twice. Unique pizza and was good but price is high. Menu could be expanded.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Beer Cheese Pizza and Blackened Chicken ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Beer Cheese Pizza and Blackened Chicken Pizza

food5
ambience4
service5

I loved the mushroom pizza. Great local ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

I loved the mushroom pizza. Great local craft beer selection.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Good but $

Dined on February 7, 2016

I've been to Fat Ptarmigan twice now, and it has been very good both times. But it hits the wallet pretty good. $19 for a delicious one-person pizza is steep. But the pizza and beer are top notch, no question.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Lasagna was great!

Dined on February 6, 2016

The lasagna was great!!! Servers were great. Extremely loud and smaller portions of food. The pizzas are very thin, with little toppings.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Food

Dined on January 31, 2016

I took my wife out to go have some alone time. I thought the atmosphere was nice with the brick stove. The service did take a bit longer than i would of liked. The food to me was good. We really enjoyed the "spicy red sauce" in the reindeer pizza. I would recommend reserving a spot ahead of time because the place is busy. The only other con 2as the noise level. I found that i had to raise my voice a couple of times to talk to my wife. All-in-all, i would recommend this place to others.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Place was hot, food was not

Dined on January 31, 2016

We stopped in for a quick bite before a Saturday concert at the PAC. The restaurant was really busy, but we had reservations, so we were immediately ushered past those waiting for tables. The wait staff was friendly and responsive to having our meal to us in time for us to make the show. I've eaten at Fat Ptarmigan before, so I was expecting some good food. We got a meatball appetizer that was lacking flavor, a Caesar's salad that I think they forgot to add the garlic and a BTA pizza that was bland. I will give this place another chance, but very many meals like this will turn me away.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A good spot for Down Town Dining

Dined on January 31, 2016

Limited but tasty menu, Fat Ptarmigan delivers well what it has. Stone fired pizza, lasagna, an ample list of beers on tap and nice (if a bit raucous) ambiance makes it a nice stop-off for dining Down Town.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Too noisy.

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

The location is great, the ambiance is not special, and although the food and service were good the noise level was horrible. On Open Table we can rate from "quiet" to "energetic," but there is no option for disturbingly noisy. It makes conversation too challenging to be a pleasurable dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Gem

Dined on January 28, 2016

Arrived at 11:30 for lunch. Very quiet. The lunch crown came in shortly afterwards. Still not overly loud. Highlights: *Spinach dip appetizer was best I've ever had, REALLY! *Prices are very affordable *Food is fresh and delicious *Bread is soft and tasty *Atmosphere is charming *Parking is not bad Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Meh....

Dined on January 24, 2016

It was very loud and the food was not as good as I was expecting. Perhaps my expectations were set to high but this was supposed to be the home of the best meatball sandwich in Anchorage. This was not the best meatball sandwich that I've had in Anchorage by far. First it was on a Pita Bread. Second the meatballs, all three of them, were cold and there was hardly any sauce on the entire thing.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

did not have our reservation on the book ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

did not have our reservation on the book at the hostess station when we arrived and had to wail 25 min. placed a cheese pizza order for our 6yo right when we sat down and he did not get the pizza untill we were done with app and entrees. the dinning area was very loud.the waitress was trying hard but overworked with to many tables and a slow kitchen. overall kind of a bummer meal and will not be celebrating any more birthdays there or using online reservation systems.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Good location for combining with downtow ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Good location for combining with downtown entertain, busy, a bit noisy, good food, engaging menu, but dropped the ball on timing. Brought appetizers late, with salads, both excellent, and entre' pizza too late to make our entertainment. They redeemed themselves thru good customer service policy (coupon), and wait staff! In fairness, this was at their peak demand...but that is why we made reservations.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the food

Dined on January 18, 2016

I've always had a great experience at Fat Ptarmigan, I love the food and always get good service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good choice for pre-theater

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our second visit in two weeks and the big draws were it's convenient downtown location and good pizza. Waitstaff is friendly and efficiency. Food and wine were great too. The only downside is the noise level. Very difficult to talk which is part of the "eating out" experience. This might move them down the list of future options a bit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time but definitely not the last!!!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Fat Ptarmigan is a great place with great food and great service. We've wanted to try it for several months and finally got the chance and my only regret was that I didn't try it sooner! The ambience is great, however during the peak hours it can get a little loud, so be prepared for that. The food is amazing and priced just right.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

An 'ok' experience. Many better choices in ANC.

Dined on January 15, 2016

Went here a couple nights ago before heading to a show at the PAC (3 adults, 1 child). Ordered a couple different pizzas and a gyro sandwich. Good quality was good ( not great) and service was on the slow side and forgetful. There are lots of better choices in ANC. I might consider here again, but it would only be because of its convenience for the PAC.

food5
ambience5
service4

Best pizza place in town.

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

Best pizza place in town.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

New Years Eve (Not So) Special

Dined on January 1, 2016

Guy and the crew really dropped the ball tonight. We never got our appetizer. Server tip: if you don't write down the order you better get it in correctly. One of our two pizzas, that evening's special, arrived with the wrong ingredients. Seriously? I'm chalking that up to the kitchen crew. To cap it off the server forgot my after meal coffee. I've had good experiences here in the past and I expected something better than I got tonight. The only positive from this whole experience was our table busser, a middle aged woman I didn't get her nam, who was on top of her game. We tried to tip her directly but she wouldn't accept. We gave the money directly to Guy so hopefully it made it to her.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really friendly service, outstanding foo ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Really friendly service, outstanding food, and we enjoyed watching the food bring prepared and then cooking in the wood fired oven!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat at Fat Ptarmigan often and really ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

We eat at Fat Ptarmigan often and really enjoy their food and great beer selection. Great pizza as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2

Pizza wasn't flavorful at all. Garlic br ...

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

Pizza wasn't flavorful at all. Garlic bread expensive for such small serving.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.