Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 4/22
Time
8:00 PM

Fat Ptarmigan

3.9
243 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pizzeria
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Good for Groups
Fat Ptarmigan is located in historical downtown Anchorage, AK. We serve authentic, wood fired pizza in a warm, inviting environment with a focus on service and attention to detail. We reach this goal with our wood-fired oven, house-made mozzarella, and specialty ingredients. Pop in for lunch or dinner and get a warm cup of Cafe Del Mundo's Black Cup coffee or a locally brewed beer along with your meal. Afterwards you can split a plate of our Cannoli's or a cup of divine gelato.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Pizzeria, Italian, Bistro
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 10:00 am–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 10:00 am–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 777-7710
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Guy Conley
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Fat Ptarmigan can accommodate all of your special event needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
our Private Event Coordinator: (907) 777-7710
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
5th Avenue and E Street
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 243 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.9
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

This was the 3rd time that I've eaten at Fat Ptarmigan and each time was a good experience. They have great pizza and I highly recommend the mushroom pizza.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great pizza. We enjoyed the "Beer Cheese" za. Friendly service and relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant has 2 sections: Bar and small table seating, and larger tables. We were seated in the larger table area on the "5th Ave side" and it was loud with kids. If you want quiet conversation, I recommend waiting for a table in the "E Street side." However, the "5th Ave side" is great for people watching. Reasonably priced. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Delicious! Great food, great service, fun place to go with friends.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Were waited on and serviced in a timely manner, but when we asked for our check it was a 15 minute wait to get checked out. Had to finally walk up to the front and track down our sever.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Good food and not busy during the off-season... a little spendy but the food was very tasty... would have liked more from the appetizer... great for a bite before a show.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Service was poor. Dining room was cold. Don’t get the pretzel, you’re sure to be disappointed. I have no idea how this place can be in the top restaurants in Anchorage. I was looking forward to trying them out but now wish I hadn’t.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Only 1 waiter, he did a great job considering he had no back up help from hostess, bussers or cook. Food was excellent but would have like to see them work as a team. Fyi it was paint night too in the back room so maybe just don't go on those nights.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Wear your coat if you are going to dine at this restaurant. Over the last two years I've been there 4 times. Three of the times I have worn my coat and sat on my hands to try to keep warm!
On this visit I ordered the Caesar salad and Creamy Garlic Chicken. Items I have ordered previously and liked well enough to order them again. There must have been a shortage of garlic and salt at the restaurant the night I visited because dishes were very bland and the chicken was only luke warm when it arrived at the table.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 22, 2018

The food always seems to be very good. Just had pizza this night and it was great; however the service was not up to par and it was cold and noisy. Usually not a problem but it was a date night and I thought we might get a table away from the middle of the floor (which is where we were). FYI - it was paint night so the room was off limits to regular diners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Tyler was great! Food was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 19, 2018

The host was smug and not welcoming. We waited 10 minutes before even being acknowledged by our waitstaff. This was 5:00pm on a Sunday so it was not busy. Food was mediocre at best and definitely not up to par with the high end menu price. Overall unimpressed. Will not be going back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Simply amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Made reservations for Valentine's day. Long story short, was about 10 mins late (called to let them know we were looking for parking) and they gave away our table. Finally got a table 30 mins later. Ordered food and never got our kids food. No apology from waiter/management. Horrible service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was Valentines Day. We arrived half an hour early for our reservation, thinking we might have to wait, but they were able to seat us. Wonderful pizza. Fun atmosphere and attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We were going to a show at the PAC, a short walk from FP, and planned to have dinner before the show. The food, drinks and service were outstanding. We will certainly return again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

It wasnt really the fault of the restaurant (it was January) but it was uncomfortably cold inside...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Pizza has a very good flavor, only thing I would mention is that the bottom of the pizza gets too burnt.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Pretty good food, service was a little slow, expensive for what you got!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

My husband and I went here for dinner on NYE. We made a reservation ahead of time and we were seated immediately. The server was very polite and kind, and the food was out within 15 minutes of us ordering. The reservations area was closer to the street and due to timing, it was a bit noisey (NYE events). However, the food was great, the service was great, and we enjoyed the overall experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

One of our favorite places in Anchorage. Always great food and staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

We went for a special dinner for our Wedding Anniversary. The food and service was phenomenal. Must try the mushroom pie and Spanish wine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner! Had the reindeer pizza and they had no problem making some ingredient modifications for us. It was delicious and service was great too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

The server was attentive and the food deliscious. Setting was very clean. Definitely coming back another time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Salad was OK as was the pizza. I would rate our meal as a B-.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was ok. When ordering pasta aka spaghetti and meatballs I expect rolls/bread and butter to also be served. It must be the pizza that ranks this restaurant as really good. The pasta was just ok. Salads were good too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Really great pizza choices and thin crust, which is our choice! Nice waiter and good service. For our one night in Anchorage, we made a good choice! Casual atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 12, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service provided was horrible.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 12, 2017

When we arrived, we were told that they don't use open table for reservations so we therefore had no reservation. That's kind of a big deal downtown on Saturday night. Might wanna update the restaurants you service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 10, 2017

The restaurant was good, but the open table experience was not. I made an OpenTable reservation earlier in the day, got a confirmation email, but when I arrived I was told by the hostess that they no longer accept OpenTable reservations and we would have to wait with at least a dozen people ahead of us. How does that happen?

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 5, 2017

We made a reservation at 6:45 for 7pm and got confirmed. We show up and the hostess told us that since we just made the reservation that it didn't count and to get in line with everyone else!! Why have reservations available if you are not going to honor them?!? We were very disappointed!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2017

Ty was a great Shepard for our dining experience. The appetizer spinach/artichoke dip with pizza dough wedges was excellent. My wife and I both ordered pizzas. The Greek pizza was fabulous. I will definitely order that again. Great job Fat Ptarmigan!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2017

Great location but really quite loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2017

Paper on the table, and crayons to draw with! Let's a grown-up be silly. Tasty pizza!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2017

Fat Ptarmigan is not honoring Open Table reservations. Hostess told me they don't use Open Table any longer to take reservations. Call the restaurant directly if you want a reservation, otherwise you are put in the queue with everybody else waiting for a table.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 24, 2017

Food is always good, unfortunately service left something to be desired.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent service, but the food is nothing special and seems overpriced for what you get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2016

The steak and Stilton pizza and Mushroom pizza with anchovies added were both excellent. Service was fast, friendly, and efficient. Great for a night out before heading to the theatre for a Broadway play.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service; friendly waiter. Good food; the homemade soup was delectable.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Fat Ptarmigan