HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Fat Ptarmigan

4.2
234 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pizzeria
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for Groups
  • Pre/post Theatre
Fat Ptarmigan is located in historical downtown Anchorage, AK. We serve authentic, wood fired pizza in a warm, inviting environment with a focus on service and attention to detail. We reach this goal with our wood-fired oven, house-made mozzarella, and specialty ingredients. Pop in for lunch or dinner and get a warm cup of Cafe Del Mundo's Black Cup coffee or a locally brewed beer along with your meal. Afterwards you can split a plate of our Cannoli's or a cup of divine gelato.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Pizzeria, Italian, Bistro
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 10:00 am–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 10:00 am–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 777-7710
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Guy Conley
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Fat Ptarmigan can accommodate all of your special event needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
our Private Event Coordinator: (907) 777-7710
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
5th Avenue and E Street
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 234 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
akdiner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Tyler was great! Food was great!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
2.0  Dined 4 days ago

The host was smug and not welcoming. We waited 10 minutes before even being acknowledged by our waitstaff. This was 5:00pm on a Sunday so it was not busy. Food was mediocre at best and definitely not up to par with the high end menu price. Overall unimpressed. Will not be going back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
Akmetalchick (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

Simply amazing

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food

Report
Helpful
JonathanS (Las Vegas)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Made reservations for Valentine's day. Long story short, was about 10 mins late (called to let them know we were looking for parking) and they gave away our table. Finally got a table 30 mins later. Ordered food and never got our kids food. No apology from waiter/management. Horrible service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It was Valentines Day. We arrived half an hour early for our reservation, thinking we might have to wait, but they were able to seat us. Wonderful pizza. Fun atmosphere and attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
TGM6 (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

We were going to a show at the PAC, a short walk from FP, and planned to have dinner before the show. The food, drinks and service were outstanding. We will certainly return again.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

It wasnt really the fault of the restaurant (it was January) but it was uncomfortably cold inside...

Report
Helpful
bddb (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Pizza has a very good flavor, only thing I would mention is that the bottom of the pizza gets too burnt.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
3.0  Dined on January 4, 2018

Pretty good food, service was a little slow, expensive for what you got!

Report
Helpful
LApr (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

My husband and I went here for dinner on NYE. We made a reservation ahead of time and we were seated immediately. The server was very polite and kind, and the food was out within 15 minutes of us ordering. The reservations area was closer to the street and due to timing, it was a bit noisey (NYE events). However, the food was great, the service was great, and we enjoyed the overall experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

One of our favorite places in Anchorage. Always great food and staff

Report
Helpful
AlaskaMom (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 23, 2017

We went for a special dinner for our Wedding Anniversary. The food and service was phenomenal. Must try the mushroom pie and Spanish wine!

Report
Helpful
vipBrazilBabe (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on September 3, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner! Had the reindeer pizza and they had no problem making some ingredient modifications for us. It was delicious and service was great too!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on September 3, 2017

The server was attentive and the food deliscious. Setting was very clean. Definitely coming back another time

Report
Helpful
vipJwhmima (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on September 2, 2017

Salad was OK as was the pizza. I would rate our meal as a B-.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was ok. When ordering pasta aka spaghetti and meatballs I expect rolls/bread and butter to also be served. It must be the pizza that ranks this restaurant as really good. The pasta was just ok. Salads were good too.

Report
Helpful
vipCttwins (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on August 15, 2017

Really great pizza choices and thin crust, which is our choice! Nice waiter and good service. For our one night in Anchorage, we made a good choice! Casual atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
vipDanielle (Minneapolis)
1.0  Dined on August 12, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service provided was horrible.

Report
Helpful
Downtown (Anchorage)
1.0  Dined on August 12, 2017

When we arrived, we were told that they don't use open table for reservations so we therefore had no reservation. That's kind of a big deal downtown on Saturday night. Might wanna update the restaurants you service

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12