About FARMHOUSE Tavern

1627 Dupont Street
Toronto, ON M6P 3S8
View Larger Map

Serving #FARMHOUSEhospitality. Rooted in the charming influences of the rural Ontario farmhouse. A little bit country/ A lot rock & roll. Cooking a blackboard menu of #FARMdrivenFOOD. Pouring Ontario craft brews + artisanal VQA.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Fridays 11:45am-1:45pm, Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Small Mid-Day Menu: Saturday 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm
*Buck-A-Shuck Oysters 5-6pm Sunday nights.

Cross Street:
Edwin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 561-9114

Website:
http://farmhousehospitality.tumblr.com/

Parking Details:
You can park Edwin on our North/South street, or on North side of Dupont East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Nearest subway is Bloor & Keel. 4 min walk.

Executive Chef:
Eoin Ramsbottom

Private Party Facilities:
Our private 'HUNT CAMP' room seats 9-12ppl at one high top table.
The entire venue can accommodate 120 guests for buy out events.

Private Party Contact:
Darcy MacDonell: 4165619114x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
FARMHOUSE tavern is available for private or semi-private functions on Wednesday or Thursday nights.

Restaurant Photos

FARMHOUSE Tavern
Farmhouse Burger
Ploughman's platter
Ceaser
Panca
Eggs Benny
Eggs In A Nest
Fried Zuccini With Ricotta And Maple Syrup
Battered Pickeral And Trout
Junction Conductors Ale And A Beau's Lugtred Lager
Sugar Shack Pancakes
Mother And Child Reunion
Eggbenny
Smoked Chicken Crêpe
Smoker Caesar
Hey, Buttercup
Pork Belly
Vegetable Gnocchi
Smoked Caesar
Ploughman's Lunch

Promotions

#NeighbourhoodNight

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

F*CKmondays

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Burger & Beaus

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

#NeighbourhoodNight

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
F*CKmondays

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Burger & Beaus

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

FARMHOUSE Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Toronto
Canadian
Toronto
Best Restaurants in The Junction ›

neighborhood gem (51)
fit for foodies (47)
great for brunch (39)
See All
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for lunch (18)
good for groups (15)
kid-friendly (14)
special occasion (13)
hot spot (8)
romantic (7)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing experience! Food was more than e ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing experience! Food was more than excellent... Best service ever! And such a great place to be with my lover... Simple WoW!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the aged rib-eye and trout. Was abso ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had the aged rib-eye and trout. Was absolutely fantastic. I can still taste it. Wine list is wonderful too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best burger ever! Tenderloin and trout m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Best burger ever! Tenderloin and trout mains were delicious and the veggie harvest excellent!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

This place has really great brunch - I l ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place has really great brunch - I love the changing menu and farm-to-table concept. In particular, it's refreshing to see a place that always has pancakes on the menu! The servers were friendly and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation. When we arrived w ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a reservation. When we arrived we asked for a table that seemed available under an umbrella. We were told it was being saved so it could be added to adjoining tables to make up a 6 for a latter reservation. We were seated in the sun on a very hot day. Not 2 minutes later the table under the umbrella was given to another couple. When we asked why we were told "it all happened so quickly, nothing we can do about it." So we left.

Called the restaurant and at least got an apology. A lesson in good customer service would not go amiss here. I have had much smaller issues dealt with much more graciously at other restaurants. I will go back to those restaurants but not Farmhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

When we arrived for our reservation at 5 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

When we arrived for our reservation at 5:30pm we were told that we could only order oysters and burgers. The full menu was not available until 6pm, we were a bit surprised by this but thought oh well we can have a drink first and relax. At 6pm our waiter came to our table and tried to tell us the features available for the night, he kept forgetting what they had to offer ( no menus) and had to ask other servers about the food. He forgot a second drink order for my husband so we just cancelled the drink after 30 min, he did not even apologize when we told him to cancel the drink he just said ok. When it came time for dessert there was only ONE option which did not suit all of our table so we left with no dessert. It was Father's Day and I thought we could have a special dessert instead we paid the bill and left. Although the food quality was very good we probably will never go back because of the poor service. We had been here once before and really enjoyed the restaurant but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

Had a delicious Father's Day brunch with ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a delicious Father's Day brunch with my dad. Food was great, only room for improvement would have been faster service and air conditioning. We were sweating by the end of our meal as the doors were wide open and no air seemed to be circulating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Farmhouse Tavern was really good, once t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Farmhouse Tavern was really good, once the servers figured out which one was supposed to take care of our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Went for Buck-A-Shuck Oysters at 8:30pm. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went for Buck-A-Shuck Oysters at 8:30pm. It's advertised as being "all night". Was still on the sign when we showed up. No oysters left, so we left. Won't go back. Totally unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Thursday night buck-a-shuck is great dea ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Thursday night buck-a-shuck is great deal, amazing oyster so good we had to order a dozen more! The 14oz rib eye was like butta, cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth. Could tell ingredients were super fresh, the tomato salad paired nicely with the rib eye.Vegan platter was also tasty and colourful. Service was great, very informative and friendly. My only suggestion is that the restsurant adds more items to their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Over priced foo foo shi shi

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Over priced wanna be foo foo shi shi food. 6 of us dined and 6 of us left hungry. Selection of food not only limited to 5 options for main course but of those options each item was small plates for the cost and the food was not good. Out of 6 people dining we sampled all main course items and we did not enjoy any. We packed the food for our dog to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Nice spot, overpriced

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Made a reservation for brunch @11 am, showed up and was informed there was no room on the patio for my reservation, as 3 large groups showed up first and despite not having reservations, the patio is first come first serve. Also of note, I showed up at 11 and these groups were already seated so the restaurant may open slightly earlier than advertised.

Food was great if on the pricey side... 4$ for a coffee. Not a lot of selection but definitely well prepared and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

a gem in the junction

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

if you've not been to Farmhouse...simply GO!. Ontario focused wine list (mostly vineyards that don't make the LCBO minimums...eg they are AWESOME), interesting local farm to table food. casual astrosphere focused on great food and no hype.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food as usual! One of my favorite ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food as usual! One of my favorite places to have meal'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my Toronto Faves

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious farm-to-table dining with a great drink selection and friendly, helpful service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited brunch selection. Small tables b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Limited brunch selection. Small tables barely allow 2 plates. Had heard great things but was a bit disappointed. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The food is absolutely spectacular!! 👌� ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food is absolutely spectacular!! 👌🏼Service great. The ambience perfect!! Eccentric and lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My son and I came to Toronto for a visit from Ft Lauderdale, FL. The location was unexpectedly in what seems like a residential neighborhood. But once inside, loved the warm eclectic decor with country charm. I especially liked that every table and seat had a different coffee mug at each setting. The staff and atmosphere is unpretentious, but the food was outstanding. Definitely worth every penny, not that I thought it was terribly expensive either. We had ordered the Mother and child reunion, not one complaint can be said! My son ate the whole thing, practically licked the plank clean! I had the Bird in the Nest, I have never had that combination of butternut squash with the perfectly poached eggs and the "cherry on top" bacon, so very pleasantly surprised. We shared an order of french fries, that's the french fries I crave. My only wish is that there was a location in South Florida. Delicious!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a lovely brunch with some friend ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely brunch with some friends from out of town. Service and food were excellent! Would definitely go back as we just moved into the neighbourhood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

low key but awesome food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The place is run-down but don't let that fool you. I went there for brunch and had the "mother & child reunion" (duck confit). It was delish!! Also had a caesar (drink), it was fantastic.

Friendly service.

Definitely coming back :)

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food and service; portions a bit small.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The Farmhouse Tavern is a neighbourhood favourite: it has a great patio, good ambiance, fresh & local menu, and the service is always reliable. I have been many times for brunch, and the first time recently for dinner. The food is always delicious and the experience consistently enjoyable, however I found the dinner menu to be lacking in value (portion sizes, particularly the rabbit ravioli and the fish dish of the day, left us hungry). The best bang for your buck - if that's what you're looking for - is the house made burger.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Nothing at all

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Nothing at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Friendly, full of locals..the front room ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Friendly, full of locals..the front room was very loud, the lamb was awesome but very skimpy on the sides, the burger was cold blue rare in the center..yikes! But lots of fries, and the duck egg was delish...maybe the cook was new?..lol :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, Nick people, ate like kings

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Good food, Nick people, ate like kings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can I try one of everything?

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We went for brunch and were very happy to have a reservation as they were turning people away at the door.

All the food items are winners, you can tell they take great pride in producing unique, tasty dishes that highlight each ingredient. I’m pretty sure the smoked oyster on the caesar was even smoked in house. The biscuit the eggs benny are served on is incredible, and the eggs in the nest was a great alternative to have the eggs served in a squash (which was cooked to perfection.)

Will have to go back to sample the other brunch items!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing house smoked ingredients on brunch menu

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Best dishes:

Eggs in a Nest with Bacon

French Fries

Other notable dishes:

Pear Pancakes

Eggs Benedict

IG: @thechewreview

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Stop restricting wine to locally produced

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I liked the Farmhouse but I really don't understand why restaurants are so adherent to local sourcing when it comes to alcohol. You wouldn't restrict alcohol to locally produced so why do restaurants insist on local wines? Ontario makes good white wine but its climate doesn't produce good reds. Yes there are some that are fine but they are they are the exception and they are expensive. The average Ontario red cannot hold up to reds from any red growing region. I like to have a good red wine with dinner. I won't likely go back unless reds from outside Ontario are on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Tasty, local food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This is a cute neighbourhood place but the portions are small, the wine list very expensive especially for Ontario wine. I had a v tasty but small dinner. I hear great things about the brunch so I might come back in the summer to experience the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not up to their usual standard

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We live in the neighbourhood and have dined at Farmhouse several times since it opened. The uneven caliber of our meals, delays, and lacklustre service on Friday evening were out of step with what we expect and usually experience at Farmhouse. It was likely just an off night, but it stung to shell out $150 for an average dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious food, but a tad much salt on the burger.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

For those who love a rustic, casual dining experience, then Farmhouse Tavern is the place for you. Highly recommended are the steak tartar, which was aromatic and full of different flavours all in one bite. The beef was so fresh - you can actually taste the flavour. The barnyard burger is also highly recommended as well. The only issue I had with it was there was way too much salt. I believe it may have been from the cured bacon that was inside the burger, or perhaps there was accidentally too much salt added, because the salt was only on one part of the beef patty. Unfortunately, the salt was too overpowering to enjoy the rest of the burger and the fries, which I have to add, are very well seasoned and delish.

Despite the salt incident on the burger, I still would say I would highly recommend Farmhouse Tavern and would definitely return when the menu changes it's line up!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Sunday Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We had the eggs bennedict on bacon, the muffin was a homemade biscuit and just delicious. Lots of options, many vegetarian so really a flexible place to go for a fun meal, definitely not 'restful' in terms of ambience, but loads of fun, our server was charming. Definitely worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Duck egg on top!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

If you have one burger in your lifetime, have it here. Enough said. Great hamburger - medium - on a fresh Kaiser bun, thick cut bacon crisp iceberg lettuce, goat cheese, house made mayo and...a duck egg on top!!!

One may add foie gras for an additional $10 if you want the ultimate indulgence but I had it without.

Others had rib eye (tasty and tender) and the roasted veggies are so delicious that it almost makes one vegetarian...until you see the burger. ;)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best Brunch Spot in the City

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I love the FARMHOUSE benny. One of the best in the city. Went for dinner a little while ago as well, also fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

greats as always

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

everything was great, the food and the drinks were perfect

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a fun place! Food is terrific and ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Such a fun place! Food is terrific and the space is a lot of fun.

I had the Eggs in a Nest. They were tasty . My friend had the eggs Benny ....they were fantastic!! Highly recommended by both of us

The smokey Cesar was average. I prefer more spice and the clam as garnish was not appealing to us.

The staff was very good

We will be going back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food, give a pass based on the service.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was great. the service was pretty abysmal. the hostess was surly, unhappy about seating us in the mostly empty resto for saturday brunch and and literally plopped down my egg in a nest so hard the salad fixings toppled over. And no, I don't know what to order because the waiter hasn't bothered to explain any of the items on the black board menu. Pretty spot but probably better experiences.. anywhere else. Hilarious that they consider hipster venue requires a no-fcks-given attitude.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Wine List

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I love everything about this restaurant except the wine list. Not a lot of variety Canadian centered only and bottles very high priced. As everything else was so special it was particularly disapointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mimosas and bread pudding were standouts ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Mimosas and bread pudding were standouts - brunch mains were also excellent! Plus, surprisingly good drip coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bold vibrant flavours - great find!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Ingredients and passion make this restaurant worthy of foodie-worship!! What passion and care is put into every dish. Every single item on the small menu is noteworthy and bursting with originality and flavour. Excellent!! Reasonably/fairly priced for the offerings. Will definitely be back and recommend heartily to all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Would have liked more gluten free option ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Would have liked more gluten free options (was there for brunch) but was very pleased with my dish. Loved the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.