Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

About FARMHOUSE Tavern

Serving #FARMHOUSEhospitality. Rooted in the charming influences of the rural Ontario farmhouse. A little bit country/ A lot rock & roll. Cooking a blackboard menu of #FARMdrivenFOOD. Pouring Ontario craft beers, ciders + artisanal VQA.

1627 Dupont Street
Toronto, ON M6P 3S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Small Mid-Day Menu: Saturday 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm
*Buck-A-Shuck Oysters 5-6pm Sunday nights.

Cross Street:
Edwin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 561-9114

Website:
http://farmhousehospitality.tumblr.com/

Parking Details:
You can park Edwin on our North/South street, or on North side of Dupont East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Nearest subway is Bloor & Keel. 4 min walk.

Executive Chef:
Eoin Ramsbottom

Private Party Facilities:
Our private 'HUNT CAMP' room seats 9-12ppl at one high top table.
The entire venue can accommodate 120 guests for buy out events.

Private Party Contact:
Darcy MacDonell: (416) 561-9114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
FARMHOUSE tavern is available for private or semi-private functions on Wednesday or Thursday nights.

Specials

Buck-A-Shuck $1 Oysters

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

F*CKmondays

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Buck-A-Shuck $1 Oysters

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us EVERY Thursday night between 6-10pm for Buck-A-Shuck $1 Oysters!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Oysters may sometimes sell out towards end of the night. Special valid Sep 7, 2017 - Dec 21, 2017 on Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

F*CKmondays

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us EVERY Sunday to F*CKmondays. Hourly specials starting at 3pm running until 10pm. $3 mimosas 3-4pm $4 Caesars 4-5pm $1 Oysters 5-6pm $6 draft #CraftBeer 6-7pm $7 feature cocktails 7-8pm $8 open wines 8-9pm 1/2 price food 9-10pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please note some items may sell out. Special valid Sep 10, 2017 - Dec 17, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

FARMHOUSE Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Casual (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Great Beer (8)
Authentic (8)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Cool place. Interesting food prepared well. Welcoming environment and really good service. Will be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Visited on 30/9/17 for brunch The food was delicious and the atomosphere cosy. 3 star for service because of having to wait a long time for explanation of menu / water / napkins - I saw some servers just standing around chatting. The girl at the door who greeted us was amazing though friendly and kept us up to date on the wait times etc.

Food was overall delicious. I deducted 1 start however as my poached eggs although cooked well had a very strong vinegar taste from the poaching water so that should be adjusted.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Every time we visit our families who live in TO we try to go to Farmhouse. We even celebrated Mother's Day there last year. Staff are professional and helpful. We really love brunch. I work in a high school and share this great restaurant pick with staff. Kid friendly.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent Restaurant with incredible service. The beet salad was one of the best I have had. As well the barnyard burger was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Farmhouse Tavern is our family go-to restaurant. We enjoy celebrating birthdays there with a routinely excellent Sunday brunch. Casual and friendly, the staff listen carefully and help us manage our special menu requirements. The food is well prepared using quality ingredients. We also recommend it for dinner with friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have now gone to Farmhouse Tavern 3 times over the past year, and the last two times were disappointing.
1. they haven't changed the menu in the year since we first went, which means it's somewhat boring on the brunch options and between the 2 of us, we've tried almost all of them;
2. The unchanged options are very rich, and while it's true that narrow brunch menus are "hip" why not try the myriad of new things out there to try? It feels like the chef doesn't want to experiment or the owner isn't letting him/her do so; it also feels like FT is trying to appeal to two groups of people: the hip young "Junction North" crowd who like to keep coming back for the cocktails and the food they can count on, and tourists who are trying to out for the first time.
3. the patio wasps were a real sting...they are trying to deal with them, but they can't, really, and the smokers they are using are nasty smelling
4. the food was served cold, and should have arrived hot, perhaps our order was left in the kitchen too long?
5. On the plus side our server was superb, and really kind to my elderly mother, and patient.

Let us know when you've changed the menu, and we'll maybe think about coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great healthy food, but not many options on the menu. Waitress was fantastic and helped to make it an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The for was unbelievable! We went for brunch and had the peaches and cream french toast -- best french toast ever! -- and the mother and child duck confit sandwich with a side of bacon. The bacon is serious voodoo! UNREAL. I also loved the way they had smoke stations set up to detract wasps from the patio.

Will def be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It's always a pleasure going to Farmhouse. The staff is always so friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our group found Farmhouse to be ok but not great. I asked our server if the ploughman's platter was a good appetizer for 4 people to share and was told yes, but the portions are far too small for that. Our server was also not familiar enough with the wine menu. The fish fish (trout that night) was quite small without substantial sides (just a little bit of a purée and a tiny amount of Swiss chard). It's a nice place, but I think the portions are an issue.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Enjoyed brunch, good food, pleasant relaxed atmosphere and service. Would go again.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The person that greeted me at the door was a little rude. But overall great experience! Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have been wanting to try Farmhouse Tavern for some time and so happy that we finally made it for brunch this past Sunday. It was definitely worth the wait and exceeded our expectations but we just wish we had made it sooner as we have been missing out on this great spot! We will certainly be back :-)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Have been to Farmhouse tavern several times. I love that I can make a reservation for brunch! Rare in Toronto. The food is good, and reasonably priced. The service for brunch this pas Saturday was however some of the worst service I have experienced. Our waitress continually forgot to bring things we asked for like milk for our coffee (which was cold by the time she brought milk). She would also spend several minutes talking to other tables which is why I assume she would forget to refill our coffees, or to make sure we had the right orders ( which we didn't).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was awful. It took forever for the server to come by and then it was rushed when she did. He food was cold, but the server never checked on us so we weren't able to let her know until we were finished and asked for the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I had the summer salad which was excellent - very delicious, followed by the veggie burger and fries - tasty!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Undeniably the best brunch spot in the Junction Triangle. Don't miss the Farmhouse Caesar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

All Ontario produce - very delicious and fun. Love Ash the chef and all the wait staff.
And we are foodies from San Francisco.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very limited menu. Given bill before asked if we were finished then waited 20 min before I had to go up and ask for debit machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was great and the food was lovely. The brunch menu is limited so if there are picky eaters, they might not be happy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Another great experience, I visit every time I come to Toronto. Been a favourite since I was introduced by Chef Tom Wade a few years back. I will continue to make it my Toronto tradition.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service is great. The only comment is that they need to pay attention to acoustics. Even in my early 30s; I had a hard time to hear people across and beside me. This might be attributed to the open kitchen and lack of material to dampen noise in the space. I think just reducing noise by a few decibles would do wonders for not only the people eating there; but also those working there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food is fresh, local and delicious! The server was knowledgeable and friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Yet again a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Limited menu. Food no better than good. No witten menu. Must read chalk board. Eh!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was our first time there, the food and service was impeccable! I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 9, 2017

This place is a great find. The food is all sourced as locally as possible, and you can taste it. Great Eggs Benny on Sunday morning, with a fresh salad to balance it out. I would go back here again in a heartbeat....the patio outside in summer is perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Best brunch I have ever had! I got the mother-daughter reunion and my partner got the eggs Benedict with bacon. Just fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We've been to the Farmhouse Tavern for a bachelorette party and for some personal reasons we almost cancelled our reservation. It would have been a serious and bad decision because the food and atmosphere was so AMAZING!! We had no regret at all! We had a private room just for us, a hunting cabin-room with some freaky but cool decorations! We enjoy the food, service was great, we all loved it!!
Thanks!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food and menu choices with fresh ingredients that I believe the owner sources straight from the farm. Cute rustic atmosphere.
Went on Father's day for brunch and it was super busy, so unfortunately service was delayed. However, they were very courteous in dealing with the situation.
Would definitely go again, highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

was so disappointed. With the amazing reviews this place has, we were expected so much more. We had the Ploughman's platter and then left to go to a different restaurant for our main course. We sat inside. It was a hot night...not air conditioned and incredibly noisy. My husband and I had to yell at eachother to have a conversation. The menu is too limited pretentious (big fish, harvest vegetables are fine ...but the attitude is just 'order the protein and we will fill the dish with whatever and trust us it will be great". Ploughman's platter was good, but tiny portions and nothing special. They ran out of the Summer Salad (the only raw veggie salad/dish). How do you offer only one salad and then run out? The attitude is that 'you go there for the experience and just trust the chef'. Problem is that the prices are very high and the pretentious air just doesn't fit the fact that the place is basically a local neighbourhood hangout. Not a great vibe unless you're from the neighbourhood and everyone knows you and greets you when you walk in (at expense of new patrons who are wondering how the hell the menu works). Seriously, save your money and go to the place 2 doors east to this restaurant for wonderful Italian at half the price....where they have air conditioning and are without the attitude. We couldn't find one thing we liked in the menu (4 items on it) and ended up going to Roncesvalles for our main course.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We met some friends for a meal at Farmhouse Tavern on Saturday night.

The pros: they have a great patio which made for a lovely outdoor eating experience.

The cons: poor value for the money. I don't mind spending money on a good meal, but the food we had was simply ok and the portions were very small. I was hungry when we left and needed a snack at home.

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Was better the first visit a few years ago. Was disappointed with the menu choices this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had the strawberry pancakes and the eggs Benedict. Both dishes were superbly prepared and had exceptional flavours and textures. Nothing weird, just high quality, in-house made ingredients from the cheddar biscuit in the Benedict to the vanilla bean in the perfectly whipped cream topping the pancakes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 28, 2017

All 5 of us had delicious meals. I've already recommended the place to others and look forward to going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing spot with great food.
A haven for carnivores! Like The attention and care in everything they produce and where it comes from.

The atmosphere is warm and eclectic. Customer service was awesome no matter who popped by your table.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

the marrow bone and foie gras , was no marrow and the tiniest piece of foie gras I have ever seen. Definitely not worth $25! The burger was missing the goat cheese, or it was so miniscule I missed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, Farmhouse delivers great food, hot fresh and locally sourced, in a quirky environment. Love it here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Brunch was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food and service were great! Their gravlax benny was delicous. Their Caesar was amazing! Love the fresh horseradish in the Caesar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

They are trying too hoard to be special and they are failing. The food is very normal, nothing special. There is a lot of noise and the sitting is pretty horrible, very uncomfortable. The service is not bad. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, the only reason I came here is because it took reservations for brunch and hate standing in lines in the morning but if you are looking for such place, check out the list on BlogTO, I recommend Ricarda.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.