Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

About FARMHOUSE Tavern

Serving #FARMHOUSEhospitality. Rooted in the charming influences of the rural Ontario farmhouse. A little bit country/ A lot rock & roll. Cooking a blackboard menu of #FARMdrivenFOOD. Pouring Ontario craft beers, ciders + artisanal VQA.

1627 Dupont Street
Toronto, ON M6P 3S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Small Mid-Day Menu: Saturday 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm
*Buck-A-Shuck Oysters 5-6pm Sunday nights.

Cross Street:
Edwin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 561-9114

Website:
http://farmhousehospitality.tumblr.com/

Parking Details:
You can park Edwin on our North/South street, or on North side of Dupont East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Nearest subway is Bloor & Keel. 4 min walk.

Executive Chef:
Eoin Ramsbottom

Private Party Facilities:
Our private 'HUNT CAMP' room seats 9-12ppl at one high top table.
The entire venue can accommodate 120 guests for buy out events.

Private Party Contact:
Darcy MacDonell: (416) 561-9114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
FARMHOUSE tavern is available for private or semi-private functions on Wednesday or Thursday nights.

Specials

F*CKmondays

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

#NeighbourhoodNight

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

F*CKmondays

Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us Sunday's for F*CKmondays. Hourly specials from 3-10pm. $3 Mimosas 3-4pm $4 Caesars 4-5pm $1 Oysters 5-6pm $6 Craft Beer 6-7pm $7 farmHOUSE cocktails 7-8pm $8 Wines 8-9pm Any FOOD left after 9pm is 1/2 price till 10pm *some items may sellout. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please note some items may sell out. Special valid May 6, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 on Sundays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

#NeighbourhoodNight

Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us every Thursday for $1 oysters, + get staff pricing (25% off) our famous Barnyard Burger with purchase of a pint of Beau's craft beer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Oysters may sell out. Get in early!. Special valid May 6, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 on Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

FARMHOUSE Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great Beer (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Romantic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very limited menu. Given bill before asked if we were finished then waited 20 min before I had to go up and ask for debit machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was great and the food was lovely. The brunch menu is limited so if there are picky eaters, they might not be happy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Another great experience, I visit every time I come to Toronto. Been a favourite since I was introduced by Chef Tom Wade a few years back. I will continue to make it my Toronto tradition.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service is great. The only comment is that they need to pay attention to acoustics. Even in my early 30s; I had a hard time to hear people across and beside me. This might be attributed to the open kitchen and lack of material to dampen noise in the space. I think just reducing noise by a few decibles would do wonders for not only the people eating there; but also those working there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food is fresh, local and delicious! The server was knowledgeable and friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Yet again a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Limited menu. Food no better than good. No witten menu. Must read chalk board. Eh!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was our first time there, the food and service was impeccable! I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 9, 2017

This place is a great find. The food is all sourced as locally as possible, and you can taste it. Great Eggs Benny on Sunday morning, with a fresh salad to balance it out. I would go back here again in a heartbeat....the patio outside in summer is perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Best brunch I have ever had! I got the mother-daughter reunion and my partner got the eggs Benedict with bacon. Just fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We've been to the Farmhouse Tavern for a bachelorette party and for some personal reasons we almost cancelled our reservation. It would have been a serious and bad decision because the food and atmosphere was so AMAZING!! We had no regret at all! We had a private room just for us, a hunting cabin-room with some freaky but cool decorations! We enjoy the food, service was great, we all loved it!!
Thanks!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food and menu choices with fresh ingredients that I believe the owner sources straight from the farm. Cute rustic atmosphere.
Went on Father's day for brunch and it was super busy, so unfortunately service was delayed. However, they were very courteous in dealing with the situation.
Would definitely go again, highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

was so disappointed. With the amazing reviews this place has, we were expected so much more. We had the Ploughman's platter and then left to go to a different restaurant for our main course. We sat inside. It was a hot night...not air conditioned and incredibly noisy. My husband and I had to yell at eachother to have a conversation. The menu is too limited pretentious (big fish, harvest vegetables are fine ...but the attitude is just 'order the protein and we will fill the dish with whatever and trust us it will be great". Ploughman's platter was good, but tiny portions and nothing special. They ran out of the Summer Salad (the only raw veggie salad/dish). How do you offer only one salad and then run out? The attitude is that 'you go there for the experience and just trust the chef'. Problem is that the prices are very high and the pretentious air just doesn't fit the fact that the place is basically a local neighbourhood hangout. Not a great vibe unless you're from the neighbourhood and everyone knows you and greets you when you walk in (at expense of new patrons who are wondering how the hell the menu works). Seriously, save your money and go to the place 2 doors east to this restaurant for wonderful Italian at half the price....where they have air conditioning and are without the attitude. We couldn't find one thing we liked in the menu (4 items on it) and ended up going to Roncesvalles for our main course.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We met some friends for a meal at Farmhouse Tavern on Saturday night.

The pros: they have a great patio which made for a lovely outdoor eating experience.

The cons: poor value for the money. I don't mind spending money on a good meal, but the food we had was simply ok and the portions were very small. I was hungry when we left and needed a snack at home.

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Was better the first visit a few years ago. Was disappointed with the menu choices this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had the strawberry pancakes and the eggs Benedict. Both dishes were superbly prepared and had exceptional flavours and textures. Nothing weird, just high quality, in-house made ingredients from the cheddar biscuit in the Benedict to the vanilla bean in the perfectly whipped cream topping the pancakes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 28, 2017

All 5 of us had delicious meals. I've already recommended the place to others and look forward to going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing spot with great food.
A haven for carnivores! Like The attention and care in everything they produce and where it comes from.

The atmosphere is warm and eclectic. Customer service was awesome no matter who popped by your table.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

the marrow bone and foie gras , was no marrow and the tiniest piece of foie gras I have ever seen. Definitely not worth $25! The burger was missing the goat cheese, or it was so miniscule I missed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, Farmhouse delivers great food, hot fresh and locally sourced, in a quirky environment. Love it here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Brunch was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food and service were great! Their gravlax benny was delicous. Their Caesar was amazing! Love the fresh horseradish in the Caesar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

They are trying too hoard to be special and they are failing. The food is very normal, nothing special. There is a lot of noise and the sitting is pretty horrible, very uncomfortable. The service is not bad. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, the only reason I came here is because it took reservations for brunch and hate standing in lines in the morning but if you are looking for such place, check out the list on BlogTO, I recommend Ricarda.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

...sure, you can be judgemental about the overly engineered "hipster" feel... you can criticize the overtly mismatched cutlery and glassware, or reflect on how cliche it is to be served water from a mason jar... but then you're missing the point.

The Farmhouse Tavern serves simply incredible food, simply prepared to let the ingredients be the hero - and all of those ingredients are LOCAL. And the place is casual and fun.

My wife and I needed a break from the universe, and we found our secret oasis here on a Friday night. We shared a carrot salad starter, which was simply amazing. My "fish dish" main featured rainbow trout sitting on top a bed of kale.. perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked. My wife's vegetarian main was equally great.

Cocktails were incredible and included local spirits.. we usually surf from restaurant to restaurant scanning the reviews of the latest it spots, and we rarely return to any particular resto, but I think we'll be coming back for more to see how the menu evolves.

Amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I have been many times to Farmhouse and always loved it. I think the food used to be better...? My husband had the burger and it was just ok.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We have dined at the Farmhouse on a few occasions and we have always appreciated the local fare. The wine list is all Ontario, an unusual stand on wine which is supported by a well curated selection. The food is simple and yet creative. A great burger, good pastas, excellent beef and, if you've got the moxy, the Big Bird which is a remarkable dish for three to four people.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've lived in the neighbourhood for the last 5 years and heard great things about this restaurant but it's always busy so you need to book ahead! Some friends took me here for a farewell dinner so I could finally try it out before I left. The noise level is a bit high because of the space but the server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and the wine and cocktail list. The menu itself is somewhat limited but I understand that it changes constantly. The food was very good, obviously made from fresh ingredients and quite creative in combining different elements. It's a bit on the pricey side but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great Brunch. Unique twists to old standards. Will try the duck next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place. Small menu with great local wine and beer options. Service was excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A hidden gem. Loved the farm country feel (even the music!). Delicious brunch and friendly staff. Just wish it was in MY neighbourhood and not a subway, bus and walk away.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fantastic flavours and quality. Charcuterie plate delicious. Best tasting fish (I ate all the skin).
Exciting ciders and beer. Fantastic service. Cozy and great value. A favourite no question

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Amazing food, great service, cute atmosphere. Loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had an unfortunate experience at Farmhouse. Bone Marrow & foie gras was very good, albeit quite oily but it did arrive promptly. The entrees, which we shared, included the 14oz ribeye steak and roasted harvest vegetables which arrived late (:20 minutes later). The meat was over cooked (definitely not medium rare) yet the vegetables were undercooked and the flavour was off on both. The server was very good and apologetic. She even compted 2 glasses of wine (the clearly cheapest of our 2 vintages). Too bad, we really wanted to like it given it's local food philosophy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 24, 2017

Delicious everything; venison, foie, marrow, gnocchi and lamb! Can't wait to visit agin.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Farmhouse Tavern was a surprise treat. On arriving, we were a bit surprised to discover a quite small, pub-like environment. The menu was limited to a small handful of dishes for dinner. So, unsure what to expect, we were delighted with the quality of the food which was outstanding, the friendliness of the waiter and the nice vibe of the place. Not your classic restaurant feel, but we would certainly go back. Lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ordered the cote de beuf - was almost all fat, very disappointing. Server told us out appetizers would be comped but when the bill came we were charged the full amount. Poor customer experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always have a great time here. Service was amazing. A bit noisy but we enjoyed the Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I don't usually like burgers but I had the farmyard beef burger and it was the best I ever had. Everything about it was so tasty. I could have eaten a second!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The Barnyard Burger is delicious, very moist and flavorful. Maybe the best burger I've had in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great vibe, limited but interesting menu. Delicious food and knowledgeable staff

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My third time here, food is always very good. Really enjoyed our brunch. It's a cozy spot and has a ton of locally sourced and house-made food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.