Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

About FARMHOUSE Tavern

Serving #FARMHOUSEhospitality. Rooted in the charming influences of the rural Ontario farmhouse. A little bit country/ A lot rock & roll. Cooking a blackboard menu of #FARMdrivenFOOD. Pouring Ontario craft beers, ciders + artisanal VQA.

1627 Dupont Street
Toronto, ON M6P 3S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Small Mid-Day Menu: Saturday 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm
*Buck-A-Shuck Oysters 5-6pm Sunday nights.

Cross Street:
Edwin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 561-9114

Website:
http://farmhousehospitality.tumblr.com/

Parking Details:
You can park Edwin on our North/South street, or on North side of Dupont East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Nearest subway is Bloor & Keel. 4 min walk.

Executive Chef:
Eoin Ramsbottom

Private Party Facilities:
Our private 'HUNT CAMP' room seats 9-12ppl at one high top table.
The entire venue can accommodate 120 guests for buy out events.

Private Party Contact:
Darcy MacDonell: (416) 561-9114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
FARMHOUSE tavern is available for private or semi-private functions on Wednesday or Thursday nights.

FARMHOUSE Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (22)
Casual (16)
See All
Great for Brunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great Beer (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Love the atmosphere of this great place! A spot I always enjoy coming back to.
The food and drink never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This is a great restaurant. The food is is consistently excellent and the staff are wonderful. The service, along with the food, is top notch. The best eggs Benedict I have ever had, great burgers, and the drinks are very very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Moms birthday 👌🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 4, 2017

The food was incredible. Really delicious.

The staff were knowledgable but cold. The servers seemed more interested in themselves than the guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Good food. Cool setup. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Great menu- they keep it small to make sure everything tastes great. Loved their creative use of in-season vegetables.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very, very much enjoyed the brunch. Simple yet special. Great service, ambiance. Thanks folks. Keep it up!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Best caesar we've had in a long time!
Love that you serve coffee in a big mug.
My husband loved the pancakes.
I had the eggs in a nest and it was good but a little bland, not much flavour.
Overall enjoyed very much!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I thought the environment was super cozy and a great place for brunch on a Sunday! Loved the poached eggs in a birds nest concept and would love to suggest to the Chef a cute idea - scrape all the squash from skin (bc its hard to eat with grace) mix the squash with flax seed meal or a beaten egg and mix with sun dried tomato, cilantro, spices - anything that will give rise to a nest "look" then create nests by hand and pre bake these so they are slightly dry. Pop the poached eggs inside and baby tomatoes/potatoes could look like the birds eggs ....anyways very much liked the concept. Oh and one more thing to all patrons...they really do open up at 10:45 am so don't arrive early bc they still need a bit of prep time before seating you.
Thanks again - September

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Casual atmosphere, service perfectly matched. Good, focused menu, fabulous quality, great value. Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Service was overall poor. The server took a long time to even acknowledge us which I was surprised by. The menu was ok....we went for oysters and it was supposed to go till 10pm we got there for 7:45 pm and they had less than 20 left?! For the food and value it was definitely not worth it. Reading the reviews and rating I was really excited to try this place out only to be very disappointed. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Love this place. Neighborhood pub with elevated locally sourced comfort food. Great friendly service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2017

I went to Farmhouse Tavern with my daughter for dinner. She is a picky eater and did pass on a few items that we ordered but she tried the Venison (very good) and a multiple amount of vegetables. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the food. The atmosphere is quaint and cozy. If there would have been a large group in the area we were it would have been too loud though. I have already mentioned this restaurant to many of my friends.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great for brunch. Very limited menu, but high quality food and easy service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I was originally seated at a table right next to another pair of guests. There was an available table one spot over, right by the window and attractively lit with a nice spotlight. I asked if I could be seated there, but the employee told me no, because "they have a bunch of weird table flips that night". Ok, but then a few minutes later another staff member told me I could sit there. Not sure what the mixed signal was about but it was a little unpolished.
Food was very tasty and good value for the price. We had the short rib pasta and the rainbow trout. Unfortunately they had already run out of the duck.
A nice meal but the restaurant was extremely loud. I believe it was due to one group behind us with a guest who was quite the thermostat for the room. He was practically yelling, causing the rest of the room to up their volume. It was almost impossible to hear my guest across our little table.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Cool place. Interesting food prepared well. Welcoming environment and really good service. Will be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Visited on 30/9/17 for brunch The food was delicious and the atomosphere cosy. 3 star for service because of having to wait a long time for explanation of menu / water / napkins - I saw some servers just standing around chatting. The girl at the door who greeted us was amazing though friendly and kept us up to date on the wait times etc.

Food was overall delicious. I deducted 1 start however as my poached eggs although cooked well had a very strong vinegar taste from the poaching water so that should be adjusted.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Every time we visit our families who live in TO we try to go to Farmhouse. We even celebrated Mother's Day there last year. Staff are professional and helpful. We really love brunch. I work in a high school and share this great restaurant pick with staff. Kid friendly.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent Restaurant with incredible service. The beet salad was one of the best I have had. As well the barnyard burger was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Farmhouse Tavern is our family go-to restaurant. We enjoy celebrating birthdays there with a routinely excellent Sunday brunch. Casual and friendly, the staff listen carefully and help us manage our special menu requirements. The food is well prepared using quality ingredients. We also recommend it for dinner with friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have now gone to Farmhouse Tavern 3 times over the past year, and the last two times were disappointing.
1. they haven't changed the menu in the year since we first went, which means it's somewhat boring on the brunch options and between the 2 of us, we've tried almost all of them;
2. The unchanged options are very rich, and while it's true that narrow brunch menus are "hip" why not try the myriad of new things out there to try? It feels like the chef doesn't want to experiment or the owner isn't letting him/her do so; it also feels like FT is trying to appeal to two groups of people: the hip young "Junction North" crowd who like to keep coming back for the cocktails and the food they can count on, and tourists who are trying to out for the first time.
3. the patio wasps were a real sting...they are trying to deal with them, but they can't, really, and the smokers they are using are nasty smelling
4. the food was served cold, and should have arrived hot, perhaps our order was left in the kitchen too long?
5. On the plus side our server was superb, and really kind to my elderly mother, and patient.

Let us know when you've changed the menu, and we'll maybe think about coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great healthy food, but not many options on the menu. Waitress was fantastic and helped to make it an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The for was unbelievable! We went for brunch and had the peaches and cream french toast -- best french toast ever! -- and the mother and child duck confit sandwich with a side of bacon. The bacon is serious voodoo! UNREAL. I also loved the way they had smoke stations set up to detract wasps from the patio.

Will def be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It's always a pleasure going to Farmhouse. The staff is always so friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our group found Farmhouse to be ok but not great. I asked our server if the ploughman's platter was a good appetizer for 4 people to share and was told yes, but the portions are far too small for that. Our server was also not familiar enough with the wine menu. The fish fish (trout that night) was quite small without substantial sides (just a little bit of a purée and a tiny amount of Swiss chard). It's a nice place, but I think the portions are an issue.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Enjoyed brunch, good food, pleasant relaxed atmosphere and service. Would go again.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The person that greeted me at the door was a little rude. But overall great experience! Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have been wanting to try Farmhouse Tavern for some time and so happy that we finally made it for brunch this past Sunday. It was definitely worth the wait and exceeded our expectations but we just wish we had made it sooner as we have been missing out on this great spot! We will certainly be back :-)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Have been to Farmhouse tavern several times. I love that I can make a reservation for brunch! Rare in Toronto. The food is good, and reasonably priced. The service for brunch this pas Saturday was however some of the worst service I have experienced. Our waitress continually forgot to bring things we asked for like milk for our coffee (which was cold by the time she brought milk). She would also spend several minutes talking to other tables which is why I assume she would forget to refill our coffees, or to make sure we had the right orders ( which we didn't).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was awful. It took forever for the server to come by and then it was rushed when she did. He food was cold, but the server never checked on us so we weren't able to let her know until we were finished and asked for the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I had the summer salad which was excellent - very delicious, followed by the veggie burger and fries - tasty!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Undeniably the best brunch spot in the Junction Triangle. Don't miss the Farmhouse Caesar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

All Ontario produce - very delicious and fun. Love Ash the chef and all the wait staff.
And we are foodies from San Francisco.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very limited menu. Given bill before asked if we were finished then waited 20 min before I had to go up and ask for debit machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was great and the food was lovely. The brunch menu is limited so if there are picky eaters, they might not be happy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Another great experience, I visit every time I come to Toronto. Been a favourite since I was introduced by Chef Tom Wade a few years back. I will continue to make it my Toronto tradition.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service is great. The only comment is that they need to pay attention to acoustics. Even in my early 30s; I had a hard time to hear people across and beside me. This might be attributed to the open kitchen and lack of material to dampen noise in the space. I think just reducing noise by a few decibles would do wonders for not only the people eating there; but also those working there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food is fresh, local and delicious! The server was knowledgeable and friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Yet again a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Limited menu. Food no better than good. No witten menu. Must read chalk board. Eh!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was our first time there, the food and service was impeccable! I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.