Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

About FARMHOUSE Tavern

Serving #FARMHOUSEhospitality. Rooted in the charming influences of the rural Ontario farmhouse. A little bit country/ A lot rock & roll. Cooking a blackboard menu of #FARMdrivenFOOD. Pouring Ontario craft beers, ciders + artisanal VQA.

1627 Dupont Street
Toronto, ON M6P 3S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Small Mid-Day Menu: Saturday 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm
*Buck-A-Shuck Oysters 5-6pm Sunday nights.

Cross Street:
Edwin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 561-9114

Website:
http://farmhousehospitality.tumblr.com/

Parking Details:
You can park Edwin on our North/South street, or on North side of Dupont East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Nearest subway is Bloor & Keel. 4 min walk.

Executive Chef:
Eoin Ramsbottom

Private Party Facilities:
Our private 'HUNT CAMP' room seats 9-12ppl at one high top table.
The entire venue can accommodate 120 guests for buy out events.

Private Party Contact:
Darcy MacDonell: (416) 561-9114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
FARMHOUSE tavern is available for private or semi-private functions on Wednesday or Thursday nights.

FARMHOUSE Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Local Ingredients (22)
Casual (20)
See All
Great for Brunch (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Authentic (18)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fun (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Organic (9)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been many times to Farmhouse and always loved it. I think the food used to be better...? My husband had the burger and it was just ok.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We have dined at the Farmhouse on a few occasions and we have always appreciated the local fare. The wine list is all Ontario, an unusual stand on wine which is supported by a well curated selection. The food is simple and yet creative. A great burger, good pastas, excellent beef and, if you've got the moxy, the Big Bird which is a remarkable dish for three to four people.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've lived in the neighbourhood for the last 5 years and heard great things about this restaurant but it's always busy so you need to book ahead! Some friends took me here for a farewell dinner so I could finally try it out before I left. The noise level is a bit high because of the space but the server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and the wine and cocktail list. The menu itself is somewhat limited but I understand that it changes constantly. The food was very good, obviously made from fresh ingredients and quite creative in combining different elements. It's a bit on the pricey side but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Horrible food
Disgusting room
Can't believe this passes the health department

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great Brunch. Unique twists to old standards. Will try the duck next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place. Small menu with great local wine and beer options. Service was excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A hidden gem. Loved the farm country feel (even the music!). Delicious brunch and friendly staff. Just wish it was in MY neighbourhood and not a subway, bus and walk away.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fantastic flavours and quality. Charcuterie plate delicious. Best tasting fish (I ate all the skin).
Exciting ciders and beer. Fantastic service. Cozy and great value. A favourite no question

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Amazing food, great service, cute atmosphere. Loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had an unfortunate experience at Farmhouse. Bone Marrow & foie gras was very good, albeit quite oily but it did arrive promptly. The entrees, which we shared, included the 14oz ribeye steak and roasted harvest vegetables which arrived late (:20 minutes later). The meat was over cooked (definitely not medium rare) yet the vegetables were undercooked and the flavour was off on both. The server was very good and apologetic. She even compted 2 glasses of wine (the clearly cheapest of our 2 vintages). Too bad, we really wanted to like it given it's local food philosophy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 25, 2017

Delicious everything; venison, foie, marrow, gnocchi and lamb! Can't wait to visit agin.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Farmhouse Tavern was a surprise treat. On arriving, we were a bit surprised to discover a quite small, pub-like environment. The menu was limited to a small handful of dishes for dinner. So, unsure what to expect, we were delighted with the quality of the food which was outstanding, the friendliness of the waiter and the nice vibe of the place. Not your classic restaurant feel, but we would certainly go back. Lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ordered the cote de beuf - was almost all fat, very disappointing. Server told us out appetizers would be comped but when the bill came we were charged the full amount. Poor customer experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always have a great time here. Service was amazing. A bit noisy but we enjoyed the Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I don't usually like burgers but I had the farmyard beef burger and it was the best I ever had. Everything about it was so tasty. I could have eaten a second!!!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The Barnyard Burger is delicious, very moist and flavorful. Maybe the best burger I've had in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great vibe, limited but interesting menu. Delicious food and knowledgeable staff

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My third time here, food is always very good. Really enjoyed our brunch. It's a cozy spot and has a ton of locally sourced and house-made food.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great oyster special. Cannot go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Poor service from the host , waitress with severe attitude issue , I dare anyone to ask for a extra fork or napkins since it was very noisy we might ask her to explain menu and we ask for jam ( after she told me " I told you already " Wow we couldn't beleive it. She storm to the open kitchen and told the others about our table . We felt stress to ask for anything extra. We definitely felt not welcome. Food average . We will never go back! Customer service needs to be addressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our first time dining, and we were very impressed. The food is fabulous, and the service is highly attentive and friendly. We were there for dinner on a Saturday evening. The bruches are also highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Organic, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Went for the oysters on a Thursday. Great service and they really are great at this locavorian thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic. Would definitely return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Staff are lovely, burgers are excellent- perhaps the best in the city but the ploughman's platter was a disappointment. Stacks of pickled veg.. actually too much.. Some charcuterie, egg, bread but two very small pieces of cheese... it was just ok.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Innovative tasty food, local ingredients, excellent knowledgeable server

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic fantastic brunch!!! We all had great interesting meals. Food was just amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I went to Farmhouse to have Saturday brunch with a friend. I liked it the instant I walked in. It has a lively and fun vibe, the service was good, and the food was delicious. I like that they use locally grown food as much as possible, and smoke their own bacon. I will definitely go there again.

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great little restaurant with a thoughtful menu. The service staff was excellent: friendly, accommodating and calm. Fantastic food and drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was great (we each got the burger) however the service was very slow.

When the beer came out, there was a piece of foil in it. Server recognized it and took the beers away - not sure if they just picked it out or poured a new pint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great meal. Cozy interior. The house cider was lovely. Limited menu but certainly memorable. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've been to Farmhouse Tavern many times. More than any other fine dining restaurant in Toronto. Decor is eclectic. Shifting menu.

Came in with a group of 8, which is never easy for any restaurant to handle. Our server, Michaela, was great and funny and patient. Food was simply fantastic as usual. I had the Cote de Boeuf with my wife. Others had fish, the barnyard burger. All was great. Can't ask for a for a better place. Good Ontario-sourced ingredients well prepared, that's it.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I brought our two-year old here, and everything was superb.
The service was outstanding, the menu was delectable and we were all very satisfied at the end of the meal. I think all of the nick knacks on the wall kept our daughter in her chair too!
Another bonus is that you can make reservations online and for brunch. Thanks so much!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Arrived a bit late in the night for buck a shuck Wednesday only to find out they were out of oysters. This was our second consecutive night of missing out on "buck a shuck", different place the night before. As I lamented about our bad luck, the owner/manager (can't remember which) overheard and went back into the kitchen to see what he could do to help. We ended up getting the last 11 oysters for the price of half a dozen. Just awesome, made our night as we were so disappointed for missing out two nights in a row. Besides the great service, we love the food here. We had a warm smoked cabbage salad which was amazing; rivaled the 10 oz ribeye my wife and I shared. Great drinks, warm and cozy atmosphere, perfect for a winters night out. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great, fresh, changing menu. Really appreciate the fact that food is fresh everyday!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Outstanding cuisine and the wonderful waitress brought the whole Chalkboard menu to life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is the second time I've been to Farmhouse tavern. The first was in the summer, on the patio. It was great then, and great again. It was a family dinner, and we were able to accommodate everyone's various food needs - the vegetarian options were delicious - farmhouse has turned me into a fan of beets and winter salads. the beer choices are good, and the service was friendly and helpful, although as the restaurant became more crowded, it was tougher for our server to get back to us quickly. she managed to make us feel welcome and well taken care of nonetheless. I recommend the winter salad, and get the deserts! The cheese platter and chocolate cake with multiple forks for sharing was excellent.
My one request would be to add a choice that is low carb ( paleo friendly?) without it being a massive steak - How about a half steak? In our previous visit, two of us shared a steak, which was more than enough. A smaller steak would be a great option.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch with two friends and their 2yo. I had the duck reunion which was very tasty. The bennies looked good as well. Was pleased with portion size as I walked away nicely sated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall, this was a great experience. Our gorgeous dark haired server was amazing-the best! The burger was outstanding as was the soup. The only complaint is that the vegetable medley entree was very sparse and hardly a main meal. It seemed like more of an appetizer in terms of portion size. And it could of used a bit more flavour!

However, I would certainly come back again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic experience, delicious food! We will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food. The only issue we had was with the music. They had it a bit too loud. We had to talk loudly to hear each other.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.