About FARMHOUSE Tavern

1627 Dupont Street
Toronto, ON M6P 3S8
View Larger Map

Serving #FARMHOUSEhospitality. Rooted in the charming influences of the rural Ontario farmhouse. A little bit country/ A lot rock & roll. Cooking a blackboard menu of #FARMdrivenFOOD. Pouring Ontario craft brews + artisanal VQA.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Fridays 11:45am-1:45pm, Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Small Mid-Day Menu: Saturday 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm
*Buck-A-Shuck Oysters 5-6pm Sunday nights.

Cross Street:
Edwin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 561-9114

Website:
http://farmhousehospitality.tumblr.com/

Parking Details:
You can park Edwin on our North/South street, or on North side of Dupont East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Nearest subway is Bloor & Keel. 4 min walk.

Executive Chef:
Tom Wade

Private Party Facilities:
Our private 'HUNT CAMP' room seats 9-12ppl at one high top table.
The entire venue can accommodate 120 guests for buy out events.

Private Party Contact:
Darcy MacDonell: 4165619114x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
FARMHOUSE tavern is available for private or semi-private functions on Wednesday or Thursday nights.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

#NeighbourhoodNight

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

F*CKmondays

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

#NeighbourhoodNight

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us every Thursday for $1 oysters, and get staff pricing (25% off) our famous Barnyard Burger with purchase of a pint of Beau's craft beer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Note oysters may sell out eventually so get in early!. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
F*CKmondays

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us Sunday night for our weekly inventory blowout party!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Oysters, craft beer, cocktail, wine & food deals. See our website for more info. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

FARMHOUSE Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Toronto
Canadian
Toronto
Best Restaurants in The Junction ›

neighborhood gem (71)
fit for foodies (67)
great for brunch (54)
See All
good for groups (28)
great for lunch (20)
special occasion (19)
great for outdoor dining (18)
kid-friendly (17)
hot spot (14)
romantic (12)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as usual! One of my favorite ...

Dined a day ago

Great food as usual! One of my favorite places to have meal'

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my Toronto Faves

Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious farm-to-table dining with a great drink selection and friendly, helpful service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

Limited brunch selection. Small tables b ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Limited brunch selection. Small tables barely allow 2 plates. Had heard great things but was a bit disappointed. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is absolutely spectacular!! 👌� ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food is absolutely spectacular!! 👌🏼Service great. The ambience perfect!! Eccentric and lovely!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

My son and I came to Toronto for a visit from Ft Lauderdale, FL. The location was unexpectedly in what seems like a residential neighborhood. But once inside, loved the warm eclectic decor with country charm. I especially liked that every table and seat had a different coffee mug at each setting. The staff and atmosphere is unpretentious, but the food was outstanding. Definitely worth every penny, not that I thought it was terribly expensive either. We had ordered the Mother and child reunion, not one complaint can be said! My son ate the whole thing, practically licked the plank clean! I had the Bird in the Nest, I have never had that combination of butternut squash with the perfectly poached eggs and the "cherry on top" bacon, so very pleasantly surprised. We shared an order of french fries, that's the french fries I crave. My only wish is that there was a location in South Florida. Delicious!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a lovely brunch with some friend ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely brunch with some friends from out of town. Service and food were excellent! Would definitely go back as we just moved into the neighbourhood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

low key but awesome food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The place is run-down but don't let that fool you. I went there for brunch and had the "mother & child reunion" (duck confit). It was delish!! Also had a caesar (drink), it was fantastic. Friendly service. Definitely coming back :)

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food and service; portions a bit small.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Farmhouse Tavern is a neighbourhood favourite: it has a great patio, good ambiance, fresh & local menu, and the service is always reliable. I have been many times for brunch, and the first time recently for dinner. The food is always delicious and the experience consistently enjoyable, however I found the dinner menu to be lacking in value (portion sizes, particularly the rabbit ravioli and the fish dish of the day, left us hungry). The best bang for your buck - if that's what you're looking for - is the house made burger.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

Nothing at all

Dined on April 30, 2016

Nothing at all

food4
ambience4
service4

Friendly, full of locals..the front room ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Friendly, full of locals..the front room was very loud, the lamb was awesome but very skimpy on the sides, the burger was cold blue rare in the center..yikes! But lots of fries, and the duck egg was delish...maybe the cook was new?..lol :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, Nick people, ate like kings

Dined on April 16, 2016

Good food, Nick people, ate like kings

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Can I try one of everything?

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went for brunch and were very happy to have a reservation as they were turning people away at the door. All the food items are winners, you can tell they take great pride in producing unique, tasty dishes that highlight each ingredient. I’m pretty sure the smoked oyster on the caesar was even smoked in house. The biscuit the eggs benny are served on is incredible, and the eggs in the nest was a great alternative to have the eggs served in a squash (which was cooked to perfection.) Will have to go back to sample the other brunch items!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing house smoked ingredients on brunch menu

Dined on April 3, 2016

Best dishes: Eggs in a Nest with Bacon French Fries Other notable dishes: Pear Pancakes Eggs Benedict IG: @thechewreview

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Stop restricting wine to locally produced

Dined on April 2, 2016

I liked the Farmhouse but I really don't understand why restaurants are so adherent to local sourcing when it comes to alcohol. You wouldn't restrict alcohol to locally produced so why do restaurants insist on local wines? Ontario makes good white wine but its climate doesn't produce good reds. Yes there are some that are fine but they are they are the exception and they are expensive. The average Ontario red cannot hold up to reds from any red growing region. I like to have a good red wine with dinner. I won't likely go back unless reds from outside Ontario are on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Tasty, local food

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is a cute neighbourhood place but the portions are small, the wine list very expensive especially for Ontario wine. I had a v tasty but small dinner. I hear great things about the brunch so I might come back in the summer to experience the patio.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not up to their usual standard

Dined on April 1, 2016

We live in the neighbourhood and have dined at Farmhouse several times since it opened. The uneven caliber of our meals, delays, and lacklustre service on Friday evening were out of step with what we expect and usually experience at Farmhouse. It was likely just an off night, but it stung to shell out $150 for an average dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious food, but a tad much salt on the burger.

Dined on April 1, 2016

For those who love a rustic, casual dining experience, then Farmhouse Tavern is the place for you. Highly recommended are the steak tartar, which was aromatic and full of different flavours all in one bite. The beef was so fresh - you can actually taste the flavour. The barnyard burger is also highly recommended as well. The only issue I had with it was there was way too much salt. I believe it may have been from the cured bacon that was inside the burger, or perhaps there was accidentally too much salt added, because the salt was only on one part of the beef patty. Unfortunately, the salt was too overpowering to enjoy the rest of the burger and the fries, which I have to add, are very well seasoned and delish. Despite the salt incident on the burger, I still would say I would highly recommend Farmhouse Tavern and would definitely return when the menu changes it's line up!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had the eggs bennedict on bacon, the muffin was a homemade biscuit and just delicious. Lots of options, many vegetarian so really a flexible place to go for a fun meal, definitely not 'restful' in terms of ambience, but loads of fun, our server was charming. Definitely worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Duck egg on top!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

If you have one burger in your lifetime, have it here. Enough said. Great hamburger - medium - on a fresh Kaiser bun, thick cut bacon crisp iceberg lettuce, goat cheese, house made mayo and...a duck egg on top!!! One may add foie gras for an additional $10 if you want the ultimate indulgence but I had it without. Others had rib eye (tasty and tender) and the roasted veggies are so delicious that it almost makes one vegetarian...until you see the burger. ;)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch Spot in the City

Dined on March 5, 2016

I love the FARMHOUSE benny. One of the best in the city. Went for dinner a little while ago as well, also fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

greats as always

Dined on March 4, 2016

everything was great, the food and the drinks were perfect

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a fun place! Food is terrific and ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Such a fun place! Food is terrific and the space is a lot of fun. I had the Eggs in a Nest. They were tasty . My friend had the eggs Benny ....they were fantastic!! Highly recommended by both of us The smokey Cesar was average. I prefer more spice and the clam as garnish was not appealing to us. The staff was very good We will be going back for sure!

food5
ambience5
service1
value2

great food, give a pass based on the service.

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was great. the service was pretty abysmal. the hostess was surly, unhappy about seating us in the mostly empty resto for saturday brunch and and literally plopped down my egg in a nest so hard the salad fixings toppled over. And no, I don't know what to order because the waiter hasn't bothered to explain any of the items on the black board menu. Pretty spot but probably better experiences.. anywhere else. Hilarious that they consider hipster venue requires a no-fcks-given attitude.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine List

Dined on February 14, 2016

I love everything about this restaurant except the wine list. Not a lot of variety Canadian centered only and bottles very high priced. As everything else was so special it was particularly disapointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Mimosas and bread pudding were standouts ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Mimosas and bread pudding were standouts - brunch mains were also excellent! Plus, surprisingly good drip coffee

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bold vibrant flavours - great find!

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Ingredients and passion make this restaurant worthy of foodie-worship!! What passion and care is put into every dish. Every single item on the small menu is noteworthy and bursting with originality and flavour. Excellent!! Reasonably/fairly priced for the offerings. Will definitely be back and recommend heartily to all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Would have liked more gluten free option ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Would have liked more gluten free options (was there for brunch) but was very pleased with my dish. Loved the atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

Mother and child reunion - with foie gra ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Mother and child reunion - with foie gras. Holy wow yum!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming & yummy

Dined on January 17, 2016

Really great food, great ambiance and really interesting decor!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Love going here

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

We always enjoy coming here. We sat facing the kitchen a flurry of activity. Go when it opens or at 1145.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was good. Fries and server we ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Everything was good. Fries and server were amazing! Man at the door (possibly the owner) was very rude.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Farmhouse Tavern a neighbourhood favourite

Dined on January 2, 2016

Went here on a Saturday night for a "date night". Decor is reminiscent of a farmhouse kitchen, warm and cozy with an appropriate number of antiques scattered about. The service was very friendly, including the kitchen staff who were visible to our half of the dining room, and knowledgeable about the menu. It had a nice variety of dishes from which to choose, most very hearty and comforting. We started with the Ploughman's platter: some cheeses, pickled veg and duck eggs, salami and crispy pork belly. Followed it up with braised pork belly, my wife had the lamb. While both were great, the lamb was spectacular. The menu seems to change all the time so we look forward to trying other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Add green tea to your menu please. It's ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Add green tea to your menu please. It's a little thing but would mean so much.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

good food, snarky waiter

Dined on December 13, 2015

we went to farmhouse tavern for my partner's birthday dinner, accompanied by a good friend who is a vegetarian. though the menu is meat-heavy, we had been before and the vegetarian main looked delicious. so while limited in veg-friendliness, we figured there would be at least one appropriate main dish for a vegetarian and convinced her to join us for dinner. we initially were going to order appetizers as well as main dishes, but our waiter informed us that it would probably be too much and assured us that the mains were meal-sized and would leave us feeling full. in the end, we ended up having to order a few appetizers after our main dishes were done because we were still feeling hungry. a few roasted veggies atop a parsnip puree were delicious but not very filling. so we ordered a cheese plate (at 14$, expensive for 3 slices of cheese and a few pieces of bread) as well as the romanesco gratin and felt more satisfied. the issue came when a bit of snark was delivered by our waiter. when asked if we had any dietary restrictions or allergies, our friend said she was a vegetarian to which our waiter replied 'well, no one is perfect.' we were all left a bit aghast and embarrassed - he obviously meant this as a joke, but it came across as snarky and condescending. our friend is a lifelong vegetarian, none of our party appreciated the attitude. our friend is unlikely to return specifically because of this waiter's remark. tldr: food was good, waiter kinda snarky, bang-for-buck meals are definitely the meat-centric ones. would be hesitant to return due to the unwarranted condescension towards vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Love it!

Dined on December 13, 2015

Been here a few times for lunch/brunch and it never disappoints. The menu usually hits the same points (burger, smoked squash salad, duck egg combo, pancakes, eggs benny variation...) each time with some variation taking into account availability. The emphasis on locally produced quality ingredients is a real plus and no doubt adds considerably to what's served. But there's also a lot of care that goes into each plate; you can tell from the first bite! Servers are very nice but there's a little bit of frantic energy with the close quarters in the dining section. Only off-note was having sweet peppers added to a "green salad" that my friend only discovered after eating some and then had to worry whether they'd give her an upset stomach... But I keep thinking I need to get there for dinner some time...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

delicious food, all local

Dined on December 13, 2015

love that there is a small menu with locally sourced food and all delicious. As a hipster establishment the service is a tad slow but still worth it.

Tags: brunch, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The threesome duck dish was perfect and ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

The threesome duck dish was perfect and the rib eye steak was flawless.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great night and a great meal

vip
Dined on December 4, 2015

We went here with friends from out of town. We hadn't been before, so were a little bit nervous about taking guests. We needn't have been! Everything was fantastic, from the servers who were fun and knowledgeable to the food which was just outstanding, tasty and unique. I can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious seared pork belly in a savoury ...

Dined on December 4, 2015

Delicious seared pork belly in a savoury broth with crispy, smoky bits of pork and subtle kimchi flavour. So good I had to ask for some farmhouse bread to enjoy all of the broth.

food5
ambience3
service2

Brunch

Dined on November 29, 2015

The food was great! The service though was a little lacking - no one came by to refill our coffee or offer water. At $7 a cup of coffee i would expect to get a pot of coffee for that price. Not very kid friendly though - no change table!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.