About FARMHOUSE Tavern

1627 Dupont Street
Toronto, ON M6P 3S8
View Larger Map

Serving #FARMHOUSEhospitality. Rooted in the charming influences of the rural Ontario farmhouse. A little bit country/ A lot rock & roll. Cooking a blackboard menu of #FARMdrivenFOOD. Pouring Ontario craft beers, ciders + artisanal VQA.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Small Mid-Day Menu: Saturday 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm
*Buck-A-Shuck Oysters 5-6pm Sunday nights.

Cross Street:
Edwin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 561-9114

Website:
http://farmhousehospitality.tumblr.com/

Parking Details:
You can park Edwin on our North/South street, or on North side of Dupont East of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Nearest subway is Bloor & Keel. 4 min walk.

Executive Chef:
Eoin Ramsbottom

Private Party Facilities:
Our private 'HUNT CAMP' room seats 9-12ppl at one high top table.
The entire venue can accommodate 120 guests for buy out events.

Private Party Contact:
Darcy MacDonell: (416) 561-9114

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
FARMHOUSE tavern is available for private or semi-private functions on Wednesday or Thursday nights.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Ploughman's platter - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Farmhouse Burger - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Ceaser - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Panca - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Fried Zuccini With Ricotta And Maple Syrup  - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Battered Pickeral And Trout - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Eggs Benny - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Junction Conductors Ale And A Beau's Lugtred Lager - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Sugar Shack Pancakes - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Mother And Child Reunion - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Eggbenny - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Smoked Chicken Crêpe - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Smoker Caesar - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Hey, Buttercup - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Pork Belly - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Vegetable Gnocchi - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Eggs In A Nest - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Smoked Caesar - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON
Ploughman's Lunch - FARMHOUSE Tavern, Toronto, ON

FARMHOUSE Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Fun (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
 (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great (we each got the burger) ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Food was great (we each got the burger) however the service was very slow.

When the beer came out, there was a piece of foil in it. Server recognized it and took the beers away - not sure if they just picked it out or poured a new pint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

I've been to Farmhouse Tavern many times ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've been to Farmhouse Tavern many times. More than any other fine dining restaurant in Toronto. Decor is eclectic. Shifting menu.

Came in with a group of 8, which is never easy for any restaurant to handle. Our server, Michaela, was great and funny and patient. Food was simply fantastic as usual. I had the Cote de Boeuf with my wife. Others had fish, the barnyard burger. All was great. Can't ask for a for a better place. Good Ontario-sourced ingredients well prepared, that's it.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I brought our two-year ol ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I brought our two-year old here, and everything was superb.

The service was outstanding, the menu was delectable and we were all very satisfied at the end of the meal. I think all of the nick knacks on the wall kept our daughter in her chair too!

Another bonus is that you can make reservations online and for brunch. Thanks so much!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, fresh, changing menu. Really appr ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great, fresh, changing menu. Really appreciate the fact that food is fresh everyday!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding cuisine and the wonderful wa ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Outstanding cuisine and the wonderful waitress brought the whole Chalkboard menu to life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the second time I've been to Far ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is the second time I've been to Farmhouse tavern. The first was in the summer, on the patio. It was great then, and great again. It was a family dinner, and we were able to accommodate everyone's various food needs - the vegetarian options were delicious - farmhouse has turned me into a fan of beets and winter salads. the beer choices are good, and the service was friendly and helpful, although as the restaurant became more crowded, it was tougher for our server to get back to us quickly. she managed to make us feel welcome and well taken care of nonetheless. I recommend the winter salad, and get the deserts! The cheese platter and chocolate cake with multiple forks for sharing was excellent.

My one request would be to add a choice that is low carb ( paleo friendly?) without it being a massive steak - How about a half steak? In our previous visit, two of us shared a steak, which was more than enough. A smaller steak would be a great option.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch with two friends and their 2yo. I ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch with two friends and their 2yo. I had the duck reunion which was very tasty. The bennies looked good as well. Was pleased with portion size as I walked away nicely sated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, this was a great experience. Ou ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall, this was a great experience. Our gorgeous dark haired server was amazing-the best! The burger was outstanding as was the soup. The only complaint is that the vegetable medley entree was very sparse and hardly a main meal. It seemed like more of an appetizer in terms of portion size. And it could of used a bit more flavour!

However, I would certainly come back again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic experience, delicious food! We ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic experience, delicious food! We will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. The only issue we had was wi ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food. The only issue we had was with the music. They had it a bit too loud. We had to talk loudly to hear each other.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is exceptional...the ambiance i ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is exceptional...the ambiance is comfy and cozy and the service is wonderfully friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was absolutely lovely, the ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waitress was absolutely lovely, the food had amazing flavor, and the restaurant made you feel like you were home. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great! I am still thinking a ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was great! I am still thinking about the food days later! It was awesome. You need to try their ploughman's platter if available. The only suggestion I have is for wait staff to fully explain what comes to the table. We had to ask what the items were on the ploughman's and then wait staff had to go and ask...

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was disappointed in the lack of service. ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was disappointed in the lack of service. Found the blonde waitress to be very rude and stand off-ish. For the price I was disappointed. Our 60 ounce ribeye was more like 40 ounces, everything tasted the same. The atmosphere is not great, restaurant is very noisy, with the people, music and extremely open kitchen. Location is good, but defiantly would not go here again

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Enjoyed welcoming, non-pretencious atmos ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Enjoyed welcoming, non-pretencious atmosphere and great local food. Good for friends get togethers and for families. Open kitchen added extra interest. Portions are small so order appetizer before and you will still have room for a great desert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Family Style, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. Professional wait staff. H ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food. Professional wait staff. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Review is for brunch in the private dini ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Review is for brunch in the private dining area. Our server was energetic and to the point, with no hesitation to provide what we needed and take responsibility for any slight errors (of which there were few). You can reserve the private dining area on open table by having a party of 9+, so long as you're willing to put down your credit card and give proper notice if cancelling.

The brunch menu is small and meat-forward, if that's a thing, with a nice selection of house made goodies. It's mostly breakfast with booze and a burger option, but the breakfast is great, so it shouldn't be an issue. I had the country breakfast - scrambled eggs, three types of meat, sourdough and jam. Everything was flavorful and prepared well. Mother + Child reunion looks like a great choice as well. Wish i lived closer.

Note - a friend did say the pancakes were nothing to write home about, but when I'm at a place that makes their own sausages, bacon, and offers foie gras on everything, I gravitate towards the meat dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love coming here. Great fresh food. We u ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love coming here. Great fresh food. We usually go Sunday but heads up its really busy. Recommend reservations. Only negative is that we do feel a bit rushed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has a unique brunch menu with very ni ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

It has a unique brunch menu with very nice staff. We all loved the food especially the pancakes!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10 women celebrating the Christmas seaso ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

10 women celebrating the Christmas season as we have for 23 straight. We all met 23 years ago working at a bar in Toronto while at university. One vegan and one veg in the group. When asked what option was available for a vegan waitress noted the eggs in the nest. We then asked for no eggs as we need vegan.

our waitress then went onto to "enlighten" us to the fact that people that don't eat all meat and all parts of meat are privileged. That it's because of this privilege that we can afford to able eat like this.

She went onto tell us that she was vegan for 5 years but gave it up after travelling and now eats all parts including intestines.

Being shamed for being "rich enough" to order and eat , for the past 20 years a vegan diet in front of a group of people is unacceptable.

Then to have same waitress recommend a $200 dollar of wine which actually is not so expensive as it is a Magnum is the icing, right?

We are a varied group of women.. We are teachers, writers, architects, owners of businesses small and large, we are in marketing and healthcare but above all we are open minded accepting women who cherish this one day a year we allow ourselves to celebrate friendship and love without judgement.

Food was great, back room perfect for a get together full of load laughter.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Good atmosphere, great server, chef was ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good atmosphere, great server, chef was accommodating to a few menu changes.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great - especially the burger. ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was great - especially the burger. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. We did feel a bit rushed at first. But, that feeling dissipated once we had a glass of wine and Ploughman's platter in front of us. We will certainly return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cozy welcoming and delicious!! The food ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Cozy welcoming and delicious!! The food and service were great and loved the amazing Ontario wine and beer options.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So SO good, this place. Takes brunch re ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

So SO good, this place. Takes brunch reservations, so there's no waiting around. Dinners/lunches are equally awesome - very fit for foodies. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awful service and rude. Horrible food. S ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awful service and rude. Horrible food. Salty and dry. Someone needs to learn how to cook

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Tasty as usual! One of my favorite place ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Tasty as usual! One of my favorite placed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good eating down at the Farmhouse Forth ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

Good eating down at the Farmhouse

Forth trip back, out of my way but worth the ride.

Limited blackboard posted menu but what they are making is always super yummy.

Usually a fish dish, a pasta, burger, veggie dish or two and hop cut stake. Sometimes duck confit which is a fav of mine.

Music was too loud for conversations but they turned it down a bit. Server very good and real. Would recommend.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food made from fresh local pro ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very good food made from fresh local products. Love the steak and good beer!

Note: if you go Sunday after 9 everything half off!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two friends and I went for brunch. The s ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Two friends and I went for brunch. The service was fast and the food came quickly, but there wasn't any warmth from our server (or when we first walked in - we actually felt like our presence wasn't really appreciated and we had a reservation!). We found the little round coffee-bistro-style tables a bit awkward.

Farmhouse is a neighbourhood jem and they definitely put an effort to create a cozy, rustic environment. It seems to be a magnet for the 'lumbersexual' (apparently that's a thing), which stands to reason, given the style of the place. Overall, I'd say, the food is good, the place has an identity, but staff could be a little more welcoming.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

pleasant staff. however, we would have l ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

pleasant staff. however, we would have liked to sit in the brighter, quieter side of the restaurant . host who seated us spoke quickly and we couldn't hear the options. music too loud.

dinner was very good. dessert was not good. bland. pastry undercooked .

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Went here for brunch on Sunday. The musi ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went here for brunch on Sunday. The music was a very loud so we all had to lean way over to be able to hear our waitress explain the menu. But the food was delicious and we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Friendly Service. Would cert ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food. Friendly Service. Would certainly recommend it. Would go again if it wasn't so far away from my home and awkward to get to

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The eggs benedict were the best I've eve ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

The eggs benedict were the best I've ever tasted! Unfortunately the coffee tasted watery to me. Too bad that a place with such superb food doesnt have good coffee and/or espresso machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful relaxed family dinner. Good fo ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wonderful relaxed family dinner. Good food, imaginative without foodie pretensions. We had a lot of fun. Server was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my go to places but the f ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is one of my go to places but the food was a bit off this last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Adored the meal & the décor. Will def re ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Adored the meal & the décor. Will def return here!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved it. Food, service and ambiance ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We loved it. Food, service and ambiance was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner here for the first time th ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had dinner here for the first time the other day. The food was disappointing compared to the brunch. The ploughman's platter was IMMENSELY overpriced for what it was, one dominant flavour (pickled) and barely any meat or cheese. It was alright, but we will probably just be sticking to the weekend brunch from now on.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to farmhouse a couple times ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I have been to farmhouse a couple times and have always enjoyed my food however since I no longer eat meat (still eat fish), it would not be my first choice. The "eat your veggies" was quite good but I would not consider it an entree. It needs something else because vegetarians/vegans are not actually rabbits ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a pleasant brunch on the patio at ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a pleasant brunch on the patio at farmhouse tavern... The food was very filling, the poached eggs were perfectly runny and I hear the reunion needed no fois gras which is our favourite way to eat any meal. I know that when you go to a place called farmhouse tavern, you pretty much know what you're in for when it comes to decor and menu options. Still, though, I encourage putting a few more items on the menu, and I'd prefer wait staff to be less familiar unless they are actual farm boys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.