Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

FairouzFairouz
(160)
$$$$
Middle Eastern | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 16 times today
North and NavyNorth and Navy
(249)
$$$$
Italian | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 14 times today
FaunaFauna
(201)
$$$$
Canadian | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 24 times today
Tosca Ristorante - OttawaTosca Ristorante - Ottawa
(227)
$$$$
Italian | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 7 times today
RivieraRiviera
(115)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 12 times today
Spin Kitchen & Bar - Marriott OttawaSpin Kitchen & Bar - Marriott Ottawa
(82)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 2 times today
Common EateryCommon Eatery
(12)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 3 times today
Madisons New York Grill & Bar - OttawaMadisons New York Grill & Bar - Ottawa
(45)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 8 times today
Slice & Co.Slice & Co.
(1)
$$$$
Pizzeria | Ottawa, Ottawa
The Vanitea Room a Tea Salon and EateryThe Vanitea Room a Tea Salon and Eatery
(10)
$$$$
Contemporary European | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 3 times today
Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - OttawaBâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Ottawa
(143)
$$$$
American | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 31 times today
L I F T Restaurant & LoungeL I F T Restaurant & Lounge
(17)
$$$$
Canadian | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 3 times today
The Shore Club - OttawaThe Shore Club - Ottawa
(491)
$$$$
Seafood | ByWard Market, Ottawa
Booked 29 times today
Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau LaurierWilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
(251)
$$$$
Canadian | ByWard Market, Ottawa
Booked 11 times today
Bazille – Nordstrom Rideau CentreBazille – Nordstrom Rideau Centre
(232)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Ottawa, Ottawa
Booked 18 times today

About Fare Blend

337 Somerset Ave. W.
Ottawa, ON K2P 0J8
View Larger Map

Enjoy international cuisine, as well as music, at Fare Blend. Its homey setting is welcoming and features a fireplace for guests to warm up on cold days while enjoying their meals. Fare Blend is open for lunch and dinner services. Guests to can begin their dining experience with a plate of fried plantains and sardines or a shredded cabbage salad with toasted nuts. Slowly cooked goat meat over coconut rice, Basa fish with jumbo prawns or boneless chicken breast in Madeira Sauce make for palate pleasing entrées. This restaurant also serves vegetarian and gluten-free dishes, as well as sweet desserts.

Fare Blend features live entertainment monthly. It also has private rooms for hosting parties, business luncheons and more.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, African

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday & Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Thursday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - CLOSE


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
Between Rue O'Connor and Bank St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 567-3700

Website:
http://www.fareblend.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live musical performances every 2-3 months. Our style of music includes: Congo/African Jazz, Big People Sytle Reggae, Lovers Rock, Rock Steady, Classic Roots Rockers, Smooth Contemporary Jazz, Classic Soul & R&B. Come enjoy the after hours (10:00pm until Close) Thursdays through Saturday. Groove to the most brilliant world sounds ever produced...Music Lovers will be most impressed..

Parking Details:
Our private parking can hold up to 20 cars. There are several public parking areas with 200 yards from restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stops within 500 yards. Bus Terminal Station is within 1 mile from Destination Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
DOKITA "D"

Private Party Facilities:
Fare Blend’s private dining offers three different rooms. Each room is distinctly appointed and carpeted throughout. Our downtown location offers on-site parking. Menus (including vegetarian options) are tailored for every occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra or Dapo: 8886749590

Additional:
Banquet, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Sort By:
S
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great ambiance, chef DR.D wi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Great food, great ambiance, chef DR.D will prepare you a great feast. The owner will meet and greet you and will make sure you have the Fare Blend experience.

From the à la carte menu to the special of the day you will find something that will please your palette. This is a high end restaurant to be enjoyed in great company.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Deserves more attention

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Was super quiet. Was awesome. Fish soup app was memorably, bring me back here good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place!

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 8, 2015

We are always looking to try a new restaurant in Ottawa, and Fare Blend fit that bill. We really enjoyed our experience and the attentive hospitality of our hosts, Sandra and Dr. D. They were also able to accommodate, with a few days' notice, our vegetarian needs within the small menu served. It's pricey, but we've spent close to this amount and been disappointed at other places in town. This is not a fast meal, but if you go with great friends, as we did, we had a great time! We would definitely go back and recommend Fare Blend to friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A memorable dining experience

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Our meals were very flavourful, the service provided by Dr. B. and his staff was attentive and impeccable, the atmosphere warm and inviting. In short, we didn't simply have a meal out.

We enjoyed a memorable dining experience.

                                             Jennifer and Fred
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very surprised

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 10, 2015

It's a small menu and wine list however it was great food and service. The owners came to our table to talk about the origins of the food as it is unique. My husband was pleasantly surprised how the wines were good even though he insanity of a wine snob and was Not familiar with their wine list as again it was a short list.

I would highly recommend it if you are adventurous and looking for a different night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Empty, over-priced and just sad

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2015

We were in Ottawa for two nights and based on the reviews on this site we could not wait to eat at Fare Blend. The experience was just sad. We were the only ones in a beautiful room. We were met at the door by the hostess and chef who treated us royally. That's fine but then to find that we were the only people eating there that night in good size restaurant, just felt strange. Honestly, they should have just closed the doors. My guess is, they soon will permanently.

We saw a full bar but were never offered anything other than wine, beer and cider. There was only one red and one white wine by the glass and the bottles were severely overpriced. We knew many of the wines.

Then we saw the menu which had three choices. THREE! Three entrees & three appetizers. That's it. And one of the entrees was chicken while another was the same chicken with two cubes of beef added to it. Exactly the same.

First, we tried an outstanding appetizer of honey beans and plantains. It was the best part of the meal. For our entrees my bride ordered the chicken and I had the chicken and beef combo. They arrived and each had half chicken breast (think Costco) and mine also had two cubes of beef, both covered in a superb West African sauce. The problem? My entree was $40. My bride's $30. I could have made the same meal (I actually have) at home for under $10. We considered dessert but decided to not risk the money as both the choices were $15.

To sum this up, Fare Blend was a HUGE disappointment. We were on a week long trip in Eastern Ontario and this was clearly the worst value of any meal we ate. The service was wonderful...very friendly (although we were left alone for 20-30 minutes at a time) but that just can't make up for the overpriced food and lack of choices.

I am not saying this is a bad place, just sad. Would I go there again? Yes, if guaranteed some choices and a better value. Let the buyer beware.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

Outstanding!

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 10, 2015

I was looking for something different and stumbled on this. Every single review was impressive so I made the reservation. When we arrived we were greeted by the Chef and the Manager right away and were provided options for seating. I made a comment in the open table reservation that I was hearing impaired and they made special considerations to make sure I could hear my wife.

The atmosphere and service from that point forward blew us away. I wont say how because I don't want to spoil it for anyone else.

The food, was brilliant! There is something special about the Chef and this comes out in the food. I had the beef shank and my wife had the chicken. I can now say that I have experienced food prepared by a soul that has a deep passion for his art. We also had the Dodo Elwa starter which was also mind blowing!

My wife could not finish her meal (good size portions) so we asked to have it packed up. We left in a hurry to get a walk in before it started to rain and forgot our food. We then got a call from Sandra letting us know that we forgot the leftovers and that they would keep them for us for a couple of days.

Sandra, Dr. D, thank you for the BEST dinning experience. Hats off to you both!

Jamie & Sara

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 2, 2015

We were looking for something different from the market. This beautiful restaurant away on a quiet street. Remarkable job restoring. Food is fantastic as is everything else. Can't recommend it highly enough .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great beautiful restaurant

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 18, 2015

What a beautiful restaurant, just impeccable. Ifyou want to treat yourself, or for a birthday as a group, or a romantic meal that is the place to go. The food was very well prepared, tasty, subtle aromas, and great dessert!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

warm & inviting the best !

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2015

exceptional service & food ...you are greeted with great warm towels from the server ,meet the chef in a beautiful cozy quiet environment ...the service is on going ,loved the whole dinner I recommend the soup (fish)yummy sweet & spicy full of flavor...would recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience and yet down to earth people ...great place can't wait to go back

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive for poor quality ingredients

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 30, 2014

It was way too pricy for what we got and a limited menu where not everything was available.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

good food and service but very expensive

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 10, 2014

Nice ambiance, very simpathic owner, tipical african food very nice but the price was really too expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Quite a Surprise!

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 13, 2013

Did some research and was disappointed to see that they only rated a 69% at one site. Decided to try it and was floored!!! I was greeted by name at the door and shown to my table. Chef Dapo came out and introduced himself and we had a lovely conversation. We didn't order anything off the menu, rather we allowed Dapo to choose what we had. After some specific questions regarding spiciness levels, our 5 course meal was delivered to the table over the next 2 hours and it was heaven! I can't rave about this place enough. I have been telling all my friends about this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2013

A must go to restaurant for those who enjoy great, fresh food and excellent service in a casual but elegant setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 3, 2013

We went for our 18th anniversary dinner. The food was amazing and the owners were very nice and the service was excellent.

We would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a different dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Huge disappointment

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2013

For my husband's 60th birthday I researched online and found the Fare Blend for the jazz music.The owner/host initially went to turn us away, telling us we needed a reservation. I explained that I had made it online through Open Table and the man apologized and let us in. We later found that the restaurant is always locked to create the feeling of exclusivity. We discovered there are 2 food price options of either $79.00 or $89.00. I was absolutely shocked because the prices I reviewed online were around $35/head. There was an additional option of a "Jazz Sampler" at $45.

For a couple you will pay over $200 for dinner, get the most ridiculously small meal and have almost no live jazz time.

We were so very, very disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Delicious food!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2013

Went on a Friday night with my wife and were pleased with the overall experience. The owners are always there and are the ones doing the impeccable service and cooking. The food was truly delicious and the chef/owner will accommodate most specific requests. The restaurant is located in a beautifully renovated house. I was sad to see only 4 other dinners while we were there from 1945 to 2300. We'll definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A unique gem

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2013

This is a restaurant you must go to. They have transformed a tired old building into a chic and sophisticated restaurant with a lovely ambience. The food is an unusual blend of african influences which makes for great food with subtle flavours. My advice - forget the menu and go with what the maitre d' recommends - you will have a wonderful time experiencing things you might not have ordered, but will end up loving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fare Blend is Rare Trend

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 8, 2013

We all loved our experience, the food, the service and the entertainment of this place were beyond our expectations. The West African food was so tasty and different, I would definitely return to try more dishes and listen to the lovely jazz that was playing all night. It wasn't too loud that we couldn't talk at the same time but very enjoyable background sounds (hats off to the players). First time I've tried plantains and it wouldn't be the last. The seafood dish was delish. The staff bent over backwards and offered upscale service. The newly opened this past Christmas restaurant, was a beautiful renovated house. Your friends and family will thank you for recommending this special place - enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unique cuisine

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 31, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our experience at Fare Blend because the owner and GM are remarkable and hospitable people. As we were the only guests on a Friday evening (!), the service was outstanding. Although the menus only contained table d'hotes, there was some flexibility to our preferences. The African spices made some dishes too spicy but they were quickly replaced with another option.

One downfall about the concept of table d'hotes is that one is more or less forced to have a three-course meal and pay $80-$90 per person for the food alone. This leaves those with smaller appetites either on the sidelines or with a large take-out container at te end of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Could not have had a better

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2013

Could not have had a better evening- the staff were so VERY warm and friendly; they bent over backwards to ensure our absolutely satisfaction. Say hello to Dapo for me when you go, he will not disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.