About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: 8313339798x

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Restaurant Photos

Fandango
Rack of Lamb
Veal Osso Bucco
Caprese Salad
Tapas
grand marnier souffle
Spaghetti Carbonara
Short Ribs
Steak Frites And Herb Butter Sauce
Saute Calimari Steaks With Herb-Butter
Veil Picata
Veal Picatta

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

Special Occasion (68)
Romantic (53)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (25)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fireplace (5)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All five of us ladies were very pleased ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

All five of us ladies were very pleased with our meals. I think mine was the best. I had the lamb shank with couscous. It had African seasonings. Very tasty and I had two more meals with my leftovers.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall the dining experience is always ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall the dining experience is always great at Fandango's! The food was excellent as usual; however the Paella was a little more watery than normal. We had a little wait for dessert, but the maître dee brought out a couple of glasses of port to compensate! My wife is a happy girl whenever we go to Fandango's - she loves the ambiance and the flowers are a nice touch! It will always be a go-to restaurant for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our family reunion of 8 was seated in a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our family reunion of 8 was seated in a private room and given expert service and attention on a vet busy night for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we returned for Monterey Jazz Festi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

When we returned for Monterey Jazz Festival this year we made sure to schedule a second visit at Fandango. Group of seven for lunch--all very pleased. Varied menu, very nice setting, quality food and service. This is a serious restaurant in an area where there are quite a few tourist traps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

second time I've been to the restaurant. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

second time I've been to the restaurant. food was OK. Service was the worst of any restaurant I've been too. The waiter, several times asked me about the meal just as I had taken a forkfull of food or as I was chewing. The busboy every couple minutes would stop by to take my plate, even though the plate was at least 1/2 or more full. I don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The staff was great Not once did I nee ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The staff was great Not once did I need to ask for my glass to be be refilled food was amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was quite please with our selections a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was quite please with our selections and the service. Also, we were able to find a very modestly priced wine, which surprised me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good but heavy. I would ha ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was good but heavy. I would have preferred some lighter options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very disappointing and overpriced. We al ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very disappointing and overpriced. We also felt very rushed. The waiter was pushy trying to get us to order more as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

We were extremely pleased with Fandango. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were extremely pleased with Fandango. This was our anniversary and they really made it special for us. I cannot think of anything about the experience that was less than excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time at this restaurant. Love ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our first time at this restaurant. Loved the old world atmosphere. Low lighting, very Spanish, Parisian décor and food more French than Spanish. Everything was great except my duck which when I complained they informed me they were trying boneless duck instead of leg quarters and were planning to go back to quarters . The boneless was very tough and chewy. Glad they are changing back. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been our go to place for ten+ y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This has been our go to place for ten+ years and have never been disappointed. We drive from east bay to pacific grove (2 hrs) for meals. Food amazing (sand dabs and abalone ) service the ultimate best...we are always made to feel special. Every room is wonderful, intimate and romantic !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been going to this restaurant for ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have been going to this restaurant for over 30 years, thru all kinds of life changes. It is always a superb place to relax, hang out and dine. The ambience has that certain "je ne sais quoi " that forgives other deficiencies--of which there are few, if any. The wait staff are pros, the feeling one of casual elegance, with several different rooms and a menu with lots of fresh catches and variety. Try it--you'll love it!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a delight to get together with fr ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was a delight to get together with friends and enjoy Fandango. We ate the filet, scallops, sandabs and a gorgeous souffle. This place never disappoints. Always consistent food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place. Food superb; service eq ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful place. Food superb; service equal to the food. We make sure we dine there every trip to Monterey/Carmel (2-3x/yr.) It will be a highlight of your visit to that area. Enjoy! PS don't miss their desserts, either!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was very good. The service was terrible. There were two of us, we had to ask several times for water, after dinner the dishes were not cleared for a very long time, and we waited forever for the bill, then again for the server to take our payment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Visiting from out of town. Celebrating o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Visiting from out of town. Celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. Restaurant was recommended to us by locals. Food was fantastic, as well as the service! The atmosphere was amazing! Very warm surroundings. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience. Outstand ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Outstanding meal and wine. Our server Mike was absolutely great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fireplace, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is a classic french/Italian restaurant, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Is a classic french/Italian restaurant, the food is fresh and very good flavors, the price is reasonable; ambiance and service are good, you will have a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charming neighborhood place with a diver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Charming neighborhood place with a diverse European menu. Larger groups tend to make it a bit on the noisy side, but everyone was having fun and all seemed to enjoy the cuisine. Outer dining room is more parties of 2 and 4, and seemed quieter. Nice ambiance and an incredibly friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants ever. It is always special... food, service, ambience. I feel like we've been transported to Europe when we go there! It is special in every way and I recommend it highly, especially for an occasion. The only problem is, it's pricey. But we know that going in, and are prepared. The entrees aren't so expensive, but by the time you add a salad, a drink (or a bottle of wine), appetizer, -or whatever, it adds up. Still, it is one of those places that I have fond memories of over many years of going there, and that's worth a bunch. We make a point of going there nearly every time we visit Pacific Grove. Overall, fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is much character with the buildin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

There is much character with the building and the location. I highly recommend it for a business meal or a casual meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good place to dine,no real surprises kit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

good place to dine,no real surprises kitchen-wise.

Value for money, friendly staff .

All good .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wild Abalone - WOW! everything was grea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wild Abalone - WOW! everything was great - great service, food, wine, value pricing, public parking adjacent. A perfect setting which made for a great evening !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed coming to Fandango for m ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have enjoyed coming to Fandango for many years and are never disappointed. The food is delicious and the service is superb. It is a neighborhood gem located in Pacific Grove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fandango is now at the top of the "must ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fandango is now at the top of the "must eat there" list whenever we go to the Monterey area. There are never any disappointments with the food or the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend this restaurant. The fo ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant. The food is incredible and Is one of my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cannot wait to return, as there were far ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Cannot wait to return, as there were far too many items on the menu that were enticing. I wished I could order them all. The wine list was quite impressive, and the service... top notch. Overall, a wonderful discovery!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant with great atmosphe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with great atmosphere and excellent food ! We will go every time we visit the Monterey Peninsula in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A real mixed bag. Cocktails and appetiz ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A real mixed bag. Cocktails and appetizers were terrific. Some entrees outstanding. Some over done or under done second and third attempts failed. Soufflés under cooked and I single.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always one of our favorites. We love th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always one of our favorites. We love the food, especially the specials,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was okey, but the service was r ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was okey, but the service was really bad. They over charge us and they count a salad that we didn't order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Everything was wonderful, but you need d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything was wonderful, but you need decaf Lipton tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had 7 guests to impress and Fandango c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had 7 guests to impress and Fandango certainly left them wanting to return again. Everyone ordered something different and every single dish was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to this restaurant. I had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our first time to this restaurant. I had osso bucco, which was fabulous; it is rare to find a restaurant that will offer his dish, and even more rare to detect the signs that the traditional slow cooking preparation has been followed. Wife had delicious fiket mignonette with scampi, and loved it. Great wine list. We will return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always delicious and reliably good. Dino ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always delicious and reliably good. Dino is an excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner at Fandago. We chose some o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great dinner at Fandago. We chose some of the French dish and they were so authentic .

The service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place never disappoints. We come d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place never disappoints. We come down from Eastbay for lunch. Best sand dabs anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner had the rack of lamb and enjo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My partner had the rack of lamb and enjoyed it. I had the paella and was a bit disappointed. Their preparation seemed to lack saffron and was somewhat bland. Service was very good. We were in a small room with four tables that were very close together. Thus, some conversations around us were very intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This was the second time my wife and I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was the second time my wife and I have dined at Fandango and we have never been disappointed. The service and ambiance have been first rate and the food has been wonderful. All in all a memorable fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.