Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Fandango

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: (831) 333-9798

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (60)
Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (50)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Fireplace (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Authentic (32)
Cozy (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Private Room (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Business Meals (19)
Historic (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Seasonal (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (7)
Tapas (6)
Family Style (6)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our 53 years Anniversary. Food was very good, waiter was great. Will be back. Thank You great experience

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a delightful birthday dinner! The table had confetti streamers, a relative had sent wine and there was a complimentary dessert. We'll be back. Many thanks for the attentive service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

This was an opportunity for my local family to get together, as we do about every month. And, almost always, we choose Fandango. The brunch is great and everyone is friendly. It's like Pierre and the staff are family, too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and great food. Lovely, quiet private room for business dinner; would also be great for a date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved our time at Fandango. Can't wait to go back. It will definitely be on our must do list whenever we are back in town!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Fandango has become our go-to place for dinner when visiting the Monterey area. Food is always top notch and the service matches! A great wine list paired with knowledgeable servers makes for some wonderful choices. I must admit I have one or two favorites on the menu that I tend to order...mainly because I can't have them done so well anywhere else (cassoulet, for one). We recommend Fandango for a leisurely and always delightful meal. Not the least expensive meal one might have in the Monterey area; but certainly worth it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have been going to fandango for many many years. This was our first really unfortunate experience. The food quality is just not what it was in the past. Although it was not crowded when we arrived, service was slow and bordering on indifferent. I think this will be our last visit there as there are many alternatives.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I was in town visiting my parents and they took me to Fandango on my last night. I have to say, everything looked amazing. I had the sweetbreads and they were the beset I've ever had (in the US). My parents split the lamb and couscous and loved it. I will be back to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Historic, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The Restaurant is beautiful and the food was amazing, the best lamb ever had. However, our waiter was good, he was just way too much in a hurry, talked fast, and hard to ask questions to.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We usually love Fandango. But, for Easter, it was different. We felt rushed, they had a fixed menu (which is kind of understandable), my food was cold and undercooked, the service was just ok. Sadly, it was not a good experience. Otherwise, we recommend it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious food, excellent and friendly service. We come for several holidays each year, including Christmas for the past four years. Beautifully decorated, fresh flowers, and very knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Though it probably wasn't, my rack of lamb had a tinge flavor as if it had been freezer burned. It was just off.

Onion soup was nothing special.

My daughter enjoyed her burger.

My wife's salmon was uneventful but well prepared.

Waiter's English was not strong so his ability to communicate subtleties of dishes and wine was hampered. However he was competent and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always good...try the sand dabs, ceasar salad with real anchovies and glass or two of white wine. Then sit back and relax.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Fireplace, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wonderful service and excellent food. The house salad and pasta putanesca were delicious. I highly recommend. House chardonnay was very nice also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The ambiance was great. We took out of town friends there even though I knew it was pricey. Our dinners came with fingerling potatoes and asparagus. Three of us had fish and one had steak. Plates arrived with 2 or 3 small potatoes and a small amount of spinach in addition to our meat item. We asked the waiter where was the asparagus. He just shrugged and said there was no asparagus. By the way there was a well stocked grocery 1 block away. The fish was fair although the steak was very good. Each meal was in the upper 30 dollar range. Overall each couple spent for 1 small salad, dinner, 1 bottle of wine and dessert close to 200 dollars. I knew they were expensive but I expected a wonderful meal. I was very disappointed. Ambiance only goes so far. It'll be my last trip to that restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fandango's Restaurant is one of my groups favorite locations in Pacific Grove to dine. Every time we have gone, including our recent dining experience, everything is top shelf. This time we were fortunate to be seated in a smaller & more private room for our group of three. Everything was superb. We look forward to our next visit. Thank you to the staff & management at Fandango's Restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Just a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary! Thanks to all the staff for a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

an old line restaurant that has seen better days -- but still is worth the trip. Food was meh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Everyone in my party loved their food. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had a great experience and meal at Fandango. The Paella was delicious and the souffle was perfect!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The food was great! Service super friendly! The only thing I didn't like was we were sat with next to a loud group. Other than that I would definitely go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner for our anniversary at Fandango for the first time. The restaurant inside is so nicely designed which isn't obvious on the outside. Our food was exceptional. The service was exceptional. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful as always. Neighborhood gem that never disappoints!! *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Freshness of salad was excellent and grilled salmon very tasty. Friends had sandwich and classic sand dabs plate with enjoyment. Really pleasant sunny rooms. Let the staff know in advance if you want the check split.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My husband and I dined there this last Tuesday night. We were seated in the little side room we were the only ones there which was wonderful. After we ordered they seated a couple next to us that was so loud talking. We could hear all their conversations. The whole restaurant was pretty empty, but was open for seating. I wished they could have seated that couple in the other part of the restaurant we left right after we finished our dinner. It would have been nice to enjoy the evening. We visit the area every so often and I will think twice about eating there again.

Tags: Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This one is highly rated by other OpenTable reviewers, and for good reason, the food and wine selection is exceptional. Highly recommend the giant calamari - both the appetizer and meal size were a very good value for a beautifully prepared and tasty treat that is very rare in terms of most other restaurants that serve so-called calamari. All the rest of the food and wine met the same high standard set by the calamari dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

When on vacation we always plan to enjoy a fine restaurant at least one night. We have done this in many cities. Our kids who are now older (14 and 17) have always gone with us and they could not say enough good things about the attentive service, wonderful tasty food preparation and plates
sized well enough to share! Specials were truly special - scallops served up tender and sweet yet well seared and crisp on the outside. Fresh Pasta well seasoned to partner and complement the beautiful scallops.
We also took advantage of their specialty -
rack of lamb which was crispy glazed and perfectly prepared.
In addition to entrees we enjoyed a the calamari steak appetizer, Caesar salad and cocktails. Well appointed wine list with great selections at all price ranges.

Loved all of it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Food was good, but the service was quite slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for a very long time. For special occasions or just anytime. Wonderful ambience,
Delicious food, terrific and attentive service, cozy ambience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had the surf and turf and it was wonderful. Lobster tails (two), were very tasty and the steak was cooked to perfection and flavorful. I would recommend this dish for anyone looking for sea food and some good old beef!!

Jerry H.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The lamb is delicious...medium rare and worthy of bone-gnawing. The French onion soup is also excellent. The front rooms beyond the entrance door are our favorite...cozy and inviting.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent food and service. I was a party of 1, which some restaurants do not like to accommodate. However, this restaurant was excellent in all regards. The clam chowder was amazing, and this was exceeded by the fresh halibut. I'd both recommend to all my friends and will return myself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great service and easy adequate parking. Not much of a view but they have everything else you want or need. I had a dream meal of fresh Caprese Salad with fantastic olive oil and aged balsamic ...perfectly cooked rack of lamb ....Plumpjack Cabernet ...and a chocolate Soufle ....the service was perfect ....Go you will not be disappointed !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

All three meals were tasty, comfortable atmosphere, good service, walking distance from our hotel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent food, professional and friendly service, charming European setting/decor, and variety on menu to visit again and again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Cozy, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Returned to Fandango with memories of earlier visits. Both food and service were C+/B-.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a favorite spot for use when we're visiting Mom in Monterey. They never disappoint!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Ate here last time I visited the area and decided to return again. There were 6 of us and when it's all said and done there were no complainers. I'll go back the next time I visit. Nice atmosphere

Tags: Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We go here every time we visit Monterey/Pacific Grove. This visit was for my wife's Birthday and we were not disappointed. Our cocktails & appetizers were fantastic but honestly I am going to just skip to the dinner. My wife loves the Rack of Lamb and it was to die for as usual, the rack of lamb was cooked and seasoned to perfection then you add the sauce and wow. My wife loved it, she gave me a sample and it was goodddd. Now, there was a spice in the sauce and I think it was cinnamon that I don't care for but that is just my tasted and honestly the Rack of Lamb was cooked to perfection so too me it did not need any sauce. Now I had the Onion Soup that was real tasty and for dinner I had the Osso Buco over rice. The Lamb shank was so tender that the meat was falling off, no need for a knife and the sauce was so hearty and flavorful that I eat it all. And for dessert we had the Profiteroles which were wonderful and finished our fantastic dinner experience.

Thanks again for a Fantastic dinner experience Fandango. See you on our next visit

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.