About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: 8313339798x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Restaurant Photos

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

special occasion (99)
romantic (91)
fit for foodies (69)
See All
neighborhood gem (69)
notable wine list (52)
good for groups (44)
great for lunch (30)
great for brunch (19)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (4)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3

We had an enjoyable dinner. I am glad we ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had an enjoyable dinner. I am glad we asked what the nightly specials cost, as several were priced at a significant premium. The wine list, though, had some good selections that were moderately priced. Taken as a whole, I will return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Trip to Monterey

Dined 6 days ago

A highlight of our getaway to Monterey Peninsula. Wonderful meal and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

I loved the ambiance, quaint room we wer ...

Dined 6 days ago

I loved the ambiance, quaint room we were seated in.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fandango was recommended by a friend who ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Fandango was recommended by a friend who frequents the Monterey, Carmel area so we gave it a try. We were very pleased with the entire experience. Our server was very professional, with just the right amount of attention. The food was very good and we will definitely be returning. The ambiance is very relaxing/ European and welcoming. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I hadn't been back to Fandango's for at ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I hadn't been back to Fandango's for at least 10 years. Came back for just alight supper. It didn't disappoint. Best sand dabs and believe me it is hard to find well prepared sand dabs. Incomparable wine list and very helpful waiter. Delicious salads - my Caprese salad was perfectly dressed and the heirloom tomatoes were genuinely flavorful - no hot house bland. When I am in Monterey Bay, Fandango's is a "go to" for me.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner for two

Dined on May 22, 2016

Seating by the fireplace was cozy and romantic. Waiter was friendly, attentive and helpful with the menu. We were not rushed even though it was a Saturday evening. Many Mediterranean traditional items but also great seafood entrees. Food was well prepared and excellent. Wine list is extensive but pricey because the vintages are older with more foreign choices.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A touch of Europe in decor with charming ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A touch of Europe in decor with charming small dining rooms to larger ones, excellent service, great varied menu and wine list, perfect for that special occasion, weekly lunch, or group.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tight place

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was just very tight/small in certain eating areas. If you're closterfobic let them know in advance.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious Food

Dined on May 21, 2016

You can't go wrong with this restaurant. The food and service are outstanding. We will definately be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time here. We had th ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our second time here. We had the the Sand dabs which were excellent. I had the French Onion Soup as an appetizer, and it was wonderful, and not salty. My wife however had the Asparagus soup that was one of the evenings specials, and she said it was "bland" and "lacking seasoning". We had the conolli for dessert, very good. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent. We do not get to ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Consistently excellent. We do not get to Pacific Grove very often any more. We always schedule at least one meal here when we are traveling through or staying for awhile. Food and service are always good. Predictable excellence even with long intervals between visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The sand dabs were perfect. Canneloni w ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The sand dabs were perfect. Canneloni was enjoyed by another guest. The salads and soups were fantastic. The steak and frites were wonderful. The only complaint is that upstairs dining room was very hot

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always awesome pasta and seafood-they do ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always awesome pasta and seafood-they do every dish to perfection. Portions are large; staff is extremely knowledgeable and professional. Small cozy rooms, large open spaces-something for every diner. Have been eating there for literally decades and always a pleasure.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Six of us went to dinner at Fandango whi ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Six of us went to dinner at Fandango while visiting the Monterey area. Everyone was very pleased with their meals. We all would recommend Fandango to a friend and plan to return next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Deligthful

Dined on May 12, 2016

Delightful "old world" restaurant with very well executed classic cuisine. Service is excellent. Beautiful atmosphere. Also has a large parking lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

The lettuce in the Caesar salad was not cold and crispy. The salmon was overcooked. The filet was overcooked. The shrimp was flavorless. The desert had Whipped cream that was already melting on to the plate when it was served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, delish, and fun place to be.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food speaks for itself, but the ambience of the place is outstanding. The locals love this place and as a visitor, I love it as well. I have been coming here for the last 8 years and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area (East Bay in Orinda). The staff is so friendly and the food is so delicious. I would recommend to anyone and have brought everyone to Fandango's. Love it so visit it and you will as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Used to be great

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have spent many Mother's Days in Carmel and have always gone to Fandango. This year the food quality was pretty poor. I guess I should have known when I booked a reservation 1 day in advance for 5 people and could get any time I wanted. Pretty dissapointing to see the quality drop so much over the years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! As always!!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Fantastic! As always!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just go to this place

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Food and service are excellent. This is not a tourist spot but someplace locals thrive . Easy to miss with all the restaurants in the area but if you go you will be pleased.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointed with quality of food preparation

Dined on April 29, 2016

The menu description for the duck was extremely promising, enough to give one the patience to wait the 25 minutes. The menu should have described the duck I was served as "3 rather tough dense little balls surrounded by a layer of fat." I've had duck many times, but what I attempted to eat did not resemble any body part of a duck. I spent a lot of time trying to imagine how they produced such a weird little main dish - perhaps it was frozen and then cooked in a rush before proper thawing? It needed thin slicing with a sharp steak knife, unfortunately missing. The flavor, texture, and appearance did not remind me of duck and was an unpleasant dining experience. My sophisticated dining partner, celebrating a special occasion, had the special, rack of lamb. It is a dish he's had in many many restaurants. When asked, he said it was "ok - nothing special, did not deserve to have the "special" designation it had that night." This expensive dinner was my treat, and it was an embarrassing experience, except for the ambience. Many years ago when it was rather new, Fandango was my very favorite place to drive to from Palo Alto. Now maybe they have a captive audience of more recent well-heeled locals who don't want to drive further, or maybe this establishment has changed ownership. They seem to be just getting by.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Consistently Excellent

Dined on April 26, 2016

Fandango has been my favorite restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula for years. The menu is varied and the food always excellent. Service is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just go! You won't be disappointed.

Dined on April 25, 2016

Just go! You won't be disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

PERFECT LUNCH!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We kicked off our Anniversary weekend here after some light shopping in town and were not disappointed. We were greeted with a big smile and cheerful service. The decor is charming and cozy. I can't remember what my husband ordered but he couldn't stop raving about how good it was. We both opted for the brunch menu. Service was consistent and quick! Definitely returning here on our next visit, such a friendly staff.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the service and the our seating in front of the fireplace was very romantic and fun. The food was excellent, Sandy had the veal picatta and I had the scallops. Service was timely but not rushed. Very good wine list as well. Overall a really great place for an evening of dining and relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Alt ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Although the dress is listed as "casual", our party looked to be the only group of people dining after an active day outdoors. There was a large party of prom royalty, all decked out, and most everyone else was cleaned up and dressed for dinner. We looked comparatively wind-blown and dressed down. We were still given excellent service, so thanks for that, Fandango!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having a Special Dinner with Special Friends

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been coming to Fandango for over 15 years - usually once or twice a year because we don't live in the area. They are gracious, with a keen sense of humor, and everyone works to make our time there special - and they always succeed! See you soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Clear specials. Everything gelreat. Star ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Clear specials. Everything gelreat. Start to finish with birthday souffle

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kay S. - Fresno, CA

Dined on April 11, 2016

I had dinner reservations at Fandango's for a group of four & we had a wonderful time. The service, meal, cocktails, wine & dessert were exceptional. The ambiance is lovely and our waiter was helpful and attentive throughout our stay. We all had a wonderful experience and would highly recommended this great restaurant to others. Fandango's is a gem for a special occasion or a place to dine with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Fandango!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We go to Fandango every time we are in the area and have recommended Fandango to many friends. Everything we have ever eaten there has been wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting, small intimate settings ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Lovely setting, small intimate settings for a romantic lunch or dinner. Classic, traditional servers with both traditional food choices covering a wide range of proteins eg sand dabs, trout, pastas, veal, beef but with a modern spin.Great experience.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Food is bland and uninspiring

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was very bland, waiter was slow and forgot to bring us couple items we requested. Food service was very slow. For the meal that has very bland and uninspiring taste, price was outrageously high. Scallop pappardale, and Rack of Lamb was uninspiring. Our lamb meal was burnt despite we requested medium. French fries was also bland, no salt, no taste, only freezer taste, does not feel fresh. 1 out of 4 stars. Not recommended. I don't know where all the hype/good reviews.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wine list was extensive. They had our fa ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Wine list was extensive. They had our favorite Italian bottle. My wife had the lamb shank stew and loved it! We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Pacific Grove!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Whether a special occasion or just dining out, Fandango's never disappoints! Pierre and Marietta Bain are welcoming hosts and professional restaurateurs in every way. This recent occasion was a business dinner with key clients. The service was superb and the food was expertly prepared and quite delicious. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the experience as did we. Fandango's is a true Pacific Grove gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Birthday/Anniversary Celebration

Dined on March 29, 2016

We were there for a special evening and first time visit at the recommendation of friends. It was a great evening with fine food, friendly service and set in a very nice atmosphere. There is no doubt that we will be back our next time in Pacific Grove.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great restaurant - Very disappointed today

Dined on March 27, 2016

I love this restaurant for lunch (exceptional) and dinner (excellent). Very disappointed today, late sitting for Easter Sunday lunch and felt we got the leftovers, had no ham left on the menu, service poor to fair and they could not wait to clear the premises of the late eaters (IMO). I'll still go back for lunch and dinner but won't go back on a busy holiday again.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic and charming

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We loved Fandango. It is truly so romantic and beautifully charming. Food is delicious and service is exactly right.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great kitchen and selection of dishes and wine. All food that we'd ordered was very tasty. A bit pricy though (and we had just a half-bottle wine)

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A great family evening

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our second dinner in recent months to Fandango. Excellent food with great choices. Our waiter was a little overly enthusiastic pushing certain desserts. Excellent quick service overall. A little pricey for the casual night out but wonderful for a special evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Fandango

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were right on time for our reservation and we didn't have to wait to be seated. They were prompt with their service and very pleasant. It was hard to chose and entree as the menu had some great options. The food was served in a timely fashion and portion sizes were perfect! We weren't rushed from one course to the other; which was a nice change. We shared the Grand Marneir soufle for dessert and it was delectable!! We will definitely be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.