About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: (831) 333-9798

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Romantic (54)
See All
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for a Date (43)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Cozy (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Authentic (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fireplace (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Private Room (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Business Meals (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Casual (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Outstanding Value (11)
Historic (10)
Fun (10)
People Watching (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Seasonal (8)
Family Style (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Tapas (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Such good food! I had the salmon fillet ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Such good food! I had the salmon fillet as for my boyfriend, he had the New York Steak. The only critique for the restaurant is that the sides that came with our meals were a little bland and presentation needs a bit of work as well. However, the service was great, the ambiance was fabulous (we were celebrating Valentine's Day a little late) and the food was tasty! I would highly recommend this place and will return for another tasty meal.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fandango has kept up it's consistent qua ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Fandango has kept up it's consistent quality and ambiance as a hidden treasure of the Monterey Peninsula. Great food and a warm and welcome setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fandango is now one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fandango is now one of my favorite restaurants! We were mostly alone in a small room with four tables. Very cozy, very quiet. So many good dishes on the menu. We were there for lunch and enjoyed the clubhouse sandwich, a glass of Pinot Noir and the best chocolate mouse ever. The service was impeccable! Looking forward to going back again and again to try more entrees.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the staff were GREAT as alw ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and the staff were GREAT as always. Their signature Rack of Lamb is the BEST. You must try it at least once in your life but I'm sure it won't be the last. Bravo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fandango's service and good are consist ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fandango's service and

good are consistently excellent. It's a great place for a lovely dining experience whatever the occasion.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to go to Fandagos, g ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It's always a treat to go to Fandagos, great food, great service, and great ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great meal. Great service too. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great meal. Great service too. A classy place.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I were celebrating our 26th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 26th Wedding Anniversary in Pacific Grove. Fandango had been recommended to us by a friend. So glad we listened! We had a lovely time! The warm, rustic decor added to the delightful ambiance, the food was simply fabulous, and the friendly and helpful staff could not have made us feel more welcome. We cannot wait to come back. Thank you for a special and very memorable time, Fandango!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a classic restaurant. We come here ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Such a classic restaurant. We come here every Valentines Day after the ATT Pro Am and I never want this tradition to end. Sweet breads is that die for. Servers are so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and ambiance is excellent and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and ambiance is excellent and the staff is friendly - they have small rooms and the restaurant is relatively quiet

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A group of eight of us returned to Fand ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A group of eight of us returned to Fandangos after a day watching golf at Pebble Beach/Spyglass golf courses for the AT &T golf tournament. The wine list was outstanding. All the food was delicious including local sand dabs, calamari, steak and paella! Service was fast and attentive. Strongly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nearly perfect. Friendly staff. Food ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nearly perfect. Friendly staff. Food very good. Dining accommodations offer a variety of choices, from large open room to intimate smaller spaces. This is picky, but we had to ask twice for water to be served and the waiter was not able to describe the nuances of a sauvignon blanc in which we were interested. Having had the calamari the previous night at another local restaurant, Fandango's was rated as second best.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fantastic meal and the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had a fantastic meal and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, service, and ambiance. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Wonderful food, service, and ambiance. I had the cassoulet de maison and the GM soufflé - both were fabulous. My husband had the filet and the creme brûlée and he was also very happy with his meal. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place. Good food and servic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We love this place. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best restaurant on the Mo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely the best restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula! Jorge, our waiter, was fantastic! Thank you for everything....

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never miss going to Fandango's when I am ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Never miss going to Fandango's when I am in the area. The food is always excellent and the service is phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted at the door and greeted ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We were greeted at the door and greeted as we left.

We asked for a special room and received it.

The food was really tasty and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our father's favorite place. We came ear ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our father's favorite place. We came early with our dad in a wheelchair -- no problems. Excellent meals - all around.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, , Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the decor and professional servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Enjoyed the decor and professional service. We say at a lovely table by he fireplace. The food was very tasty, although the only critique was that the side dishes were cold. Really enjoyed the Filet Mignon Fandango. We will definitely return for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We spent our 43rd wedding anniversary th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We spent our 43rd wedding anniversary there and they treated us exceptionally well!

AS THEY ALWAYS HAVE!

Tags: Private Room, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was the second time in two weeks th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was the second time in two weeks that we had a wonderful experience at your restaurant; delicious food coupled with great service. Your entire Staff are to be congratulated. One time it was to celebrate my birthday and the second was for a going away luncheon with friends. On both occasions we were treated as special guests and everyone commented on the extra care and consideration that our table received. Kudos for hospitality done perfectly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fandango never disappoints the food is a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Fandango never disappoints the food is always delicious the owners very friendly and the service always good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very enjoyable meal. Good food, good v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

A very enjoyable meal. Good food, good value, great service. Has been consistently good over the years.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic, classic and classy dining spo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic, classic and classy dining spot in the heart of Pacific Grove, if you have a special occasion and are in the mood for a classic meal that's extremely tasty, Fandango is your spot. Made me feel like I was back in the 80's again, dining on the 80's American classics - Sand dabs, Abalone or a the epic 7 oz Filet Mignon. Start with a Shrimp Scampi and end with some classic Chocolate Cake. Treat yourself and get a flash back to the good old days while you're at it!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch at Fandango was fine. Sanddabs we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Lunch at Fandango was fine. Sanddabs were not hot enough and the Calamari steak had too much breading. Nice place to meet friends for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The new proprietors have kept the bar ve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The new proprietors have kept the bar very high for this place. Everything about it -- the super-nice staff, ambience, food is first class.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is overrated. Some dishes wer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This place is overrated. Some dishes were very good. Others not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My wife and I had a wonderful meal in a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful meal in a quiet, quaint atmosphere that had a European flavor. We have eaten there for over 20 years when we are in the area and have never been disappointed. I would highly recommend Fandango if you are ever in Pacific Grove.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING!!!!! THE FOOD AND SERVICE IS JU ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

AMAZING!!!!! THE FOOD AND SERVICE IS JUST GREAT, AND THE FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first course choices were excellent. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our first course choices were excellent. The main course for one was very good; the other just average or a little below. Desserts were great! We were seated upstairs in a quiet area and that was delightful. Our wine was excellent and very well priced. We'll return but probably be more careful about choosing our entrees.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Arrived much earlier than reservation ti ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Arrived much earlier than reservation time. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Server was friendly, helpful but not overpowering. One of my favorite places in PG.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent. Must try the lamb. Specials a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent. Must try the lamb. Specials are on the high side.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

For the past 14 years we have been in Pa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

For the past 14 years we have been in Pacific Grove over New Years and have had dinner here for each of those years. It is a high light of our trip and never disappoints. The Lamb and steaks are great. Wait staff is excellent. Hearts of palm salad also a treat.

Just good food and and pleasant ambiance. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a good date night place. Food is g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

It is a good date night place. Food is good, and there is something for everyone. Service is also very good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going to Fandango's for ove ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have been going to Fandango's for over 30 years and have never been disappointed in our meals there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our very favorite restaurants in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

One of our very favorite restaurants in Pacific Grove! Comfortable, excellent staff, delicious meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Fandango many times and ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I've eaten at Fandango many times and have never had a meal that wasn't excellent.

The noise level depends on where you sit and whether you are seated next to a party of more than four. The front room and the small room adjacent to it are perfect for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious scallops!! Some of the best I' ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious scallops!! Some of the best I've ever had. Chicken Capri was also incredibly good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience only issue was had ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic experience only issue was had to ask twice for water and there was no drink menu. Sometimes I need a suggestion for a before dinner cocktail and a menu helps. I ordered a martini and was not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.