Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Fandango

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: (831) 333-9798

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (55)
Romantic (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Cozy (46)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Authentic (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Worth the Drive (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (16)
Fun (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Healthy (6)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1920 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 8 hours ago

birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined a day ago

Fantastic food! The filet and scampi were delicious. We will definitely return next time we are in PG!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Fandango is a great restaurant!! We all loved what we ate. The duck was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Not impressed with the food No salt or pepper on a rack of lamb! I could have had a better meal anywhere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We have celebrated all of the milestones in our relationship at Fandangos for several reasons, chief among them; the wonderful ambience. However, the service and food are top notch. We shared our first out of town dinner together there, first discussion of marriage, celebrated our engagement there, and had our Honeymoon dinner there. We are treated so well at Fandangos and have LOVED every dish we have tired here that we keep coming back when we are in this area.
While the food is fabulous, it's really the whole experience that has us yearning to celebrate the important occasions of our lives at this place. They are in the hospitality industry for good reason, it is what they do beautifully - they provide a warm, welcoming, hospitable environment to enjoy great food in a really unique space, as well as a terrific spot to celebrate special occasions. We felt welcomed by all staff and were delighted to meet the owner and share our story with her. Her attention to detail and the fact that she remembered us was impressive, much appreciated, and a testimony to what it looks like when someone finds the right way to celebrate their gifts; grace and hospitality are certainly two of hers and they are reflected in the vibrancy of Fandangos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was great. My wife and I was celibrating her birthday and our Anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Loved the ambiance, music, and food. The waiter was a bit cold and aloof. Could be because we brought our own wine which may have meant that he would get a lower tip? But the corkage fee was $26. per bottle. I had been saving this excellent wine for a Special occasion. It was great! So, the food was very good, the music perfect, the room was lovely.....but I don't think that the waiter ever cracked a smile.(The bus boy literly threw our butter and bread on the table.)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

On a girlfriends' weekend, we enjoyed an early Sunday supper in a quaint, French maison. Classic offerings we loved were paella, veal osso bucco, tomatoes and mozzarella caprese, and a perfect, not-too-sweet, fragrant Grand Marnier soufflé. The house wines by the glass were delicious as well. We had a hard time choosing our entrees which simply means, we'll be back soon!

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Everything is very good at Fandango's except for the length of time to get the food. We waited an hour after ordering. Way too long for this type of restaurant. Recommended by friends as a fabulous place. We will try one more time and then decide whether to recommend to friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was excellent, I had the scallops which were outstanding! Pedro our waiter was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Little gem salad excellent. Everything in the menu is wonderful. And SOUFFLE !!

Waiters have been there a long time, fun, smart and great service.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

In general we were happy with their meals. Tapas and salads were excellent. My husband loved his rack of lamb dinner. My paella, unfortunately, was dry and over-cooked.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great service, lovely ambiance and very good food as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and service. The souffles were worth visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (West Sussex)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The salmon and halibut were excellent. Only criticism was that we were rushed through the courses and would have preferred a more leisurely dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

It was a nice evening out. Our tables were a little to close together to the next 2 table of diners.
Our meal was delicious. I had the short ribs and there was only one short rib, I was expecting maybe at least two. But was still delicious , just not a good value for the price.
It seemed as though they might have been down a server or second server.
I would return for another evening out maybe just ask to be sat in a different area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We've been here three times and we now go every time we're in Monterey/Pacific Grove. The food is fantastic and the service is amazing. They've been so nice in accommodating any request. The wait staff are very knowledgeable and attentive. We've never had to wait too long for anything. The restaurant itself is quaint and cozy. There are several rooms, each with a modest number of tables, as well as a main room with a wall of windows. There isn't a great view (parking lot), but that's easily forgiven. Other rooms might have views of the garden areas.

The osso buco and short ribs are so good that my wife and I struggle with wanting to try new dishes, but not wanting to leave Pacific Grove without revisiting those. It usually ends up that one of us will order one of those, while the other orders something new, and we share.

I can't speak more highly of the staff. They're very friendly and we've not experienced anything but top quality service each time we've been there. The last time we were here (Sep 2018), we were there for Sunday brunch and it was nice and quiet. My wife and I have a perfect end to a short, but wonderful, trip to Monterey and Pacific Grove.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

A very enjoyable evening. We had the duck with orange sauce, it was well presented and up to the expected standard. The wine list is amazing but the bottle we chose was NOT value for money. Service was very good as expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2017

First time to Fandango but won’t be my last. Great food and wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great place for a birthday party or intimate dinner with friends. All of the food choices at our table were wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. Happy to come back anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Always GREAT food. Very good wine list. We always go here when we are at Pebble Beach
A must stop for us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2017

This restaurant, its manager, the chef, and the wait staff are in tune with the needs of its customers. They treat you like royalty but without the pretentiousness. I can't say enough good things about it - fantastic!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tapas, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

A gem of a find! Great food, great service! Will definitely return when back in town!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Giant Scallops were awesome. The Fandango soup was tasty and had character. Great salad, cheesecake, coffee and mixed drinks. Great wine list. Not stuffy, but classy and great for a date, family or event.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Overall, fantastic dinner! Paul was an excellent server and food was delicious. We liked it so much, we went back the next night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Meal was absolutely fabulous. Our favorite restaurant in the Monterey area. The sand dabs are by far the best anywhere. The sweatbreads also, can't be beat. Romantic atmosphere, great service, food that can't be beat.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This place was recommended by a chef friend who said that this place was innovative, chef driven and was fit for a foodie. I called ahead to make sure there would be a vegan option for this place since the menu is meatcentric. I was told that there were options and not to worry. The options were pasta with a marinara sauce or steamed veggies. Not veggies and pasta one or the other.

We were seated in a great little room -- ambiance was outstanding. Excellent sour dough and kalamata olives were offered with butter. Olives were fantastic.

The pasta had the same kalamata olives that were offered with the bread, perhaps a total of two olives slivered with a tomato paste base with some chopped can tomatoes. I also ordered a salad. Mesculin box greens with shredded carrots, small and priced at around $9.00. Pasta was around $25. Box noodles.

Fandango is not vegan friendly. It would have been better if they were upfront about their focus so I could have gone to another place.

We spoke to a patron on the way in, a local who frequents Fandango twice a week, he said the rack of lamb and all the meat entries are excellent. I would go with that.

Fandango is a great place for meat eaters. Plant eaters would do best to go elsewhere. Service in the small rooms needs to be better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Fandango is such a great restaurant it warrants a special trip to Pacific Grove to dine there. Easy parking, warm and gracious welcome, small rooms, so many attractive items on menu it's hard to decide what to order, food beautifully prepared and the pace of the service is just right. And a full bar and extensive wine list, to boot.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Fandango never disappoints you. Each time we go we say it has been too long since our last visit. The ambiance, the food, the staff- all the best the Monterey peninsula has to offer.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We have been dining at Fandango's for many years and are never disappointed in the food or service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. We really enjoyed dining there is was quiet enough for good conversation. The service was truely outstanding. The hostess brought more of their wonderful bread before we even asked for more. Our water glasses were always full. We had the scallops special and it was the delicious, the scallops were prepared perfectly. The decf coffee was good as well.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our waiter seemed distracted and unhappy. The rest was very good. Food took a while. Who knows? Everyone has bad days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was amazing.
Restaurant was a little warm & music was not very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2017

2nd visit and had the Abelone as it was a great special to take advantage of. Sand dabs are a great appy or meal
Worth a visit

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Birthday Celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Normally a favorite but recent experience during Labor Day weekend was underwhelming. Yes, it was a busy weekend and the weather was considerably warmer than normal. Despite temps, restaurant was appropriately cool, thanks to open windows. Service was slow, halibut over cooked and rack of lamb was so so. Broccoli on halibut plate was one modest sized floret while sand dab entree had two larger florets totally more the twice the halibut dish. Caesar salad was very good and Caprese was good (although they didn't appear to be heirloom which we thought our waiter had stated). Sat in smallest room (middle, overlooking parking) which was cramped and lightly visited by staff. Had to flag down staff for water and second round of drinks which came after dinner was served. Customers might be better served with one less table in this particular room. I'll be back with optimism based on excellent experiences of past rather than the sub par dinner of our most recent visit. Still a favorite and expect it always will be. My sincere apologies for sharing a slightly negative review despite many prior positive memories.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food and amazing service! We come back every time we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was great. Five friends had dinner during a visit to Monterey. Wine list was very complete as well. Can be crowed and a little loud but the waiter was very friendly and everyone was having fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.