Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Fandango

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: (831) 333-9798

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Romantic (49)
See All
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for a Date (44)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fireplace (39)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Authentic (34)
Cozy (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Private Room (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Casual (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Business Meals (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Historic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (8)
People Watching (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Tapas (5)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. I was a party of 1, which some restaurants do not like to accommodate. However, this restaurant was excellent in all regards. The clam chowder was amazing, and this was exceeded by the fresh halibut. I'd both recommend to all my friends and will return myself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

All three meals were tasty, comfortable atmosphere, good service, walking distance from our hotel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, professional and friendly service, charming European setting/decor, and variety on menu to visit again and again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Cozy, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Returned to Fandango with memories of earlier visits. Both food and service were C+/B-.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

This is a favorite spot for use when we're visiting Mom in Monterey. They never disappoint!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Ate here last time I visited the area and decided to return again. There were 6 of us and when it's all said and done there were no complainers. I'll go back the next time I visit. Nice atmosphere

Tags: Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We go here every time we visit Monterey/Pacific Grove. This visit was for my wife's Birthday and we were not disappointed. Our cocktails & appetizers were fantastic but honestly I am going to just skip to the dinner. My wife loves the Rack of Lamb and it was to die for as usual, the rack of lamb was cooked and seasoned to perfection then you add the sauce and wow. My wife loved it, she gave me a sample and it was goodddd. Now, there was a spice in the sauce and I think it was cinnamon that I don't care for but that is just my tasted and honestly the Rack of Lamb was cooked to perfection so too me it did not need any sauce. Now I had the Onion Soup that was real tasty and for dinner I had the Osso Buco over rice. The Lamb shank was so tender that the meat was falling off, no need for a knife and the sauce was so hearty and flavorful that I eat it all. And for dessert we had the Profiteroles which were wonderful and finished our fantastic dinner experience.

Thanks again for a Fantastic dinner experience Fandango. See you on our next visit

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I have eaten at Fandango many times even though I am not a local. When in Pacific Grove ( usually at least once a year)), dining at Fandango is a must. The service has always been very attentive and friendly and the food is consistently excellent. I'll definitely return when in town again.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Spanish omelet is the best I have had in this area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My 83 year old mother and I dined here for lunch. We were seated in a small room with 3 other tables and yet it was still quiet and private enough for us, and mom could hear me! We split a tortellini pesto pasta which came with a side salad. The waiter (or chef) split our plates for us at no additional charge. I had a very nice conversation with the maitre d before we sat for our lunch. All in all, very good!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

First time at Fandango- was on vacation with my wife. Very romantic- food was excellent. Sand dabs were cooked to perfection. Pinot was a good choice with the sand dabs. Service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have been to Fandango a couple of times now, since the first time we stumbled upon it well looking for a place to have dinner. This is truly a jewel of Pacific grove, and it has not disappointed us. It is on the pricey side, but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent dinner once again. Thanks for our request for a small room. Love your Desserts - the soufflé and the ice cream tower! Don't remember their exact names!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very special place sticking to the tradition of classic dishes prepared perfectly. Some chefs are trying too hard to recreate the 'wheel' and in the process, ruining the fish/meat/chicken. Not Fandango's and we love them for that. That is why it has been in business for so many years. Hope they will continue for many to come!

PS. The service is warm and professional meaning-perfect!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food and great service. We went for Friday night dinner. It was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Historic, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The two of us were in Monterey for just one nigh and were looking for a memorable meal for a special occasion. The 1,700+ reviews and the nearly 5-star rating were what prompted us to make a reservation at Fandango. After spending 2+ hours and more than $200 (including tip), we left feeling...underwhelmed. The food was good, but not great. The Paella, for example, had nice flavors but was on the dry side - not moist at all. Because we had already waited an hour or more for our food to arrive, it was not worth waiting to have it sent back. We also felt the servers were slightly pretentious, although one did warm up considerably after many of the other patrons had left. The wine list was indeed huge, but no one really seemed to know anything about the wines we were interested in.
As we left, we wondered if what we experienced was typical? Perhaps we set our expectations too high? We'll never know...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Met a friend for dinner. We both live a few blocks from fandangos, so we knew what to expect...great food, ambiance, service, and a fairly high check. Had the escargot and tapa plate to munch with our cocktails. Both were very good. Veal piccata and sand dabs next with another cocktail. Then desert...with another cocktail. Carlos, our server, was perfect. $225 and 2 hours later we walked back to our homes. Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent restaurant with great food and service. A long standing institution in the area. Wonderful atmosphere. You can never go wrong. Everything from the tapas appetizer to the paella is the very best!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Historic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We originally had reservations for Feb. 20th, for my wife's Birthday, but when we arrived at Fandango it was very windy, with heavy rain falling. The restaurant seemed dark and as we pulled into the parking lot one of the hosts met us in the lot and said we could not be served because the power was out because of the storm. We have been here before and loved it, so we made reservations for the next day Feb. 21.
We arrived at the restaurant at our appointed time, 6:15, and were seated right away at a very nice table in front of a small fireplace, very romantic. They were very busy, but our service was excellent, our waiter told us about the specials and answered our questions about various menu items. My wife ordered a salad which she liked very much, and then she had the veal picatta and really enjoyed that as well. I ordered the Fandango soup, which was a very good pea soup, for my entree I had the double lamb chops and they were very good. For desert we shared the raspberry sherbet, a great way to end a really great meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Such good food! I had the salmon fillet as for my boyfriend, he had the New York Steak. The only critique for the restaurant is that the sides that came with our meals were a little bland and presentation needs a bit of work as well. However, the service was great, the ambiance was fabulous (we were celebrating Valentine's Day a little late) and the food was tasty! I would highly recommend this place and will return for another tasty meal.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome, everything is superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fandango has kept up it's consistent quality and ambiance as a hidden treasure of the Monterey Peninsula. Great food and a warm and welcome setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fandango is now one of my favorite restaurants! We were mostly alone in a small room with four tables. Very cozy, very quiet. So many good dishes on the menu. We were there for lunch and enjoyed the clubhouse sandwich, a glass of Pinot Noir and the best chocolate mouse ever. The service was impeccable! Looking forward to going back again and again to try more entrees.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and the staff were GREAT as always. Their signature Rack of Lamb is the BEST. You must try it at least once in your life but I'm sure it won't be the last. Bravo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fandango's service and
good are consistently excellent. It's a great place for a lovely dining experience whatever the occasion.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It's always a treat to go to Fandagos, great food, great service, and great ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great meal. Great service too. A classy place.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 26th Wedding Anniversary in Pacific Grove. Fandango had been recommended to us by a friend. So glad we listened! We had a lovely time! The warm, rustic decor added to the delightful ambiance, the food was simply fabulous, and the friendly and helpful staff could not have made us feel more welcome. We cannot wait to come back. Thank you for a special and very memorable time, Fandango!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Such a classic restaurant. We come here every Valentines Day after the ATT Pro Am and I never want this tradition to end. Sweet breads is that die for. Servers are so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and ambiance is excellent and the staff is friendly - they have small rooms and the restaurant is relatively quiet

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A group of eight of us returned to Fandangos after a day watching golf at Pebble Beach/Spyglass golf courses for the AT &T golf tournament. The wine list was outstanding. All the food was delicious including local sand dabs, calamari, steak and paella! Service was fast and attentive. Strongly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nearly perfect. Friendly staff. Food very good. Dining accommodations offer a variety of choices, from large open room to intimate smaller spaces. This is picky, but we had to ask twice for water to be served and the waiter was not able to describe the nuances of a sauvignon blanc in which we were interested. Having had the calamari the previous night at another local restaurant, Fandango's was rated as second best.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had a fantastic meal and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Wonderful food, service, and ambiance. I had the cassoulet de maison and the GM soufflé - both were fabulous. My husband had the filet and the creme brûlée and he was also very happy with his meal. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We love this place. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely the best restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula! Jorge, our waiter, was fantastic! Thank you for everything....

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Never miss going to Fandango's when I am in the area. The food is always excellent and the service is phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We were greeted at the door and greeted as we left.
We asked for a special room and received it.

The food was really tasty and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our father's favorite place. We came early with our dad in a wheelchair -- no problems. Excellent meals - all around.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Enjoyed the decor and professional service. We say at a lovely table by he fireplace. The food was very tasty, although the only critique was that the side dishes were cold. Really enjoyed the Filet Mignon Fandango. We will definitely return for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.