About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: 8313339798x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Restaurant Photos

Fandango
Caprese Salad
Rack of Lamb
Veal Osso Bucco
Tapas
grand marnier souffle
Saute Calimari Steaks With Herb-Butter
Veal Picatta
Steak Frites And Herb Butter Sauce
Short Ribs
Veil Picata
Spaghetti Carbonara

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
3 More
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (71)
neighborhood gem (62)
See All
fit for foodies (62)
good for groups (50)
notable wine list (46)
great for lunch (32)
great for brunch (21)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fandango is great but YOU spell my name ...

Dined 3 days ago

Fandango is great but YOU spell my name wrong...it is Schulte

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb wine, food, dessert and se ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Always superb wine, food, dessert and service. The escargot is to die for the rack of lamb was out of this world.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG THISE WILL BE OUR GO TO PLACE FROM N ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

OMG THISE WILL BE OUR GO TO PLACE FROM NOW ON. THE STEAK AND LOBSTER FOR 49.00 WAS A STEAL. MY WIFE HAD OSSO BUCCO AND LOVED IT. WE GO DOWN TO PACIFIC GROVE ABOUT 6 TIMES A YEAR AND THIS WILL BE OUR DINING SPOT.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I've dined at Fandango on many occasions ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I've dined at Fandango on many occasions and unfortunately this one was a bit of a disappointment. We were seated in one of the small rooms with mostly tables for two...and all the other tables had either one or two people seated at them so it was possible to have a conversation. For some reason the staff then decided to seat a lively table of 4 in the small room instead of the bigger room (there were plenty of open tables). This created a loud atmosphere where my mom & I could hardly hear each other. We noticed the other patrons were also looking at the table for four because their noise level was overbearing. I considered asking to be moved but it would have been awkward since we had already been seated for a while and had our drinks/bread/olives. It made for an overall disappointing experience. Instead of wanting to linger over dinner we wanted to leave as soon as possible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant consistently delivers th ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

This restaurant consistently delivers the highest quality in food, preparation , presentation, service and charm. Superb wine list, too.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We dined at Fandango on June 14, 2016. O ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We dined at Fandango on June 14, 2016. Our meal was delicious, well prepared, and well served. Our choices were the steak and Frits and spaghetti, the wine we chose was an Argentian Malbec 2013, named Salentein which is more than likely one of the best Malbecs we have had, westrongly recommend this wine if you enjoy red wine.Overall recommend this dining spot when in Pacific Grove, CA.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fandango has been a "go to" place for me ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Fandango has been a "go to" place for me for lunch and brunch for many years. The food is consistently good and it's a place where you can easily chat at the table. Very good value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Met out of town friends for brunch. Eve ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Met out of town friends for brunch. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal, service and ambiance. Salmon and sand dabs were excellent and reasonably price (realizing of course the general Monterey/Carmel area). While there are no reasonable views (located adjacent to large parking lot in the middle of Pacific Grove), the restaurant offers several different and delightfully decorated rooms for dining. An extensive brunch menu was offered. We've dined here previously and over the years, it has maintained the quality of its food and service. We shall return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used to go to Fandango's frequently year ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Used to go to Fandango's frequently years back. Stopped for some reason. Now have been there 3 times in last three months for dinner. Not disappointed, so will return. Want to try out lunch or brunch maybe next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were in Pacific Grove for the Triathlon and needed a place to eat the night before. I found Fandango on OpenTable and decided to roll the dice. We were pleasantly surprised. The lounge area had the Warrior's game on, but the dining room where we sat was cozy and away from any TVs. We started with appetizers of Sand Dabs and a Prosciutto with melon. For entrees we had Steak Frites and Pasta with Sausage (carb loading). The waiter was really personable and attentive. We will definitely be recommending Fandango to friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant in Monterey Bay Area

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have enjoyed Fandango for years. It has a varied menu, the food is excellent, the service is outstanding and the prices are reasonable for what you get. Don't miss the Grand Marnier souffle!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious meal. Wonderful Frenc ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Always a delicious meal. Wonderful French onion soup, wonderful Sunday brunch & the grand Marnier soufflé after dinner is a must!

food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Never Going Back

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I was meeting my husband at the restaurant, we had been there twice before. When I arrived, I was given the once over by the host. Very unprofessional. Our waiter was rude and short with us. When my husband's salad arrived (prior to his entree), it had cheese on it. I had ordered a salad as my main course and inquired with the waiter if my salad had cheese. I go into anaphylactic shock with certain dairy products and cheese is one of them. The waiter dismissed my question as if I were bothering him and said no, there was not any cheese on the salad. Well, there was cheese on it. The waiter didn't say anything when he served me my salad. When the waiter came around husband said something, then the waiter asked if I wanted a new salad. I said no, as we were hungry and we were on a time limit. I avoided the area that had the cheese, which meant I didn't get to eat my complete meal I had paid for. There are many good restaurants in the area, and I am not going to patronized a business that is rude and unprofessional. Never again, and I will share my experience with everyone I know.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food; wonderful setting

Dined on June 1, 2016

It was a true pleasure to have lunch at Fandangos. We were re-visiting it having been there back in the 90's. I think it's even better now.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

So disappointing

Dined on May 30, 2016

Our waiter seemed irritated and disappointed when we declined cocktails. He was absent for most of the meal. He came by to ask how things were but walked away before we could answer. I had asked for food without sauces, but my broccoli was hosted in yellow, gelatinous gunk. I ordered the lamb chops but received the rack of lamb instead. I called the waiter back but he denied the mistake. Others at the table found their food so-so.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice place clean and calm Good service

Dined on May 29, 2016

Nice place clean and calm Good service

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

RR

Dined on May 29, 2016

Country French feel, good premium wine choice and desert menu.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent onion soup! Will come back for ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent onion soup! Will come back for it.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

An average neighborhood restaurant.

Dined on May 29, 2016

The menu is limited, the presentation unpretentious , with bland tasting entrees. It's good place to meet people for drinks as long as you're not expecting too much from the food.

food3
ambience3
service3

We had an enjoyable dinner. I am glad we ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner. I am glad we asked what the nightly specials cost, as several were priced at a significant premium. The wine list, though, had some good selections that were moderately priced. Taken as a whole, I will return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Trip to Monterey

Dined on May 26, 2016

A highlight of our getaway to Monterey Peninsula. Wonderful meal and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

I loved the ambiance, quaint room we wer ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I loved the ambiance, quaint room we were seated in.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fandango was recommended by a friend who ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Fandango was recommended by a friend who frequents the Monterey, Carmel area so we gave it a try. We were very pleased with the entire experience. Our server was very professional, with just the right amount of attention. The food was very good and we will definitely be returning. The ambiance is very relaxing/ European and welcoming. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I hadn't been back to Fandango's for at ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I hadn't been back to Fandango's for at least 10 years. Came back for just alight supper. It didn't disappoint. Best sand dabs and believe me it is hard to find well prepared sand dabs. Incomparable wine list and very helpful waiter. Delicious salads - my Caprese salad was perfectly dressed and the heirloom tomatoes were genuinely flavorful - no hot house bland. When I am in Monterey Bay, Fandango's is a "go to" for me.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner for two

Dined on May 22, 2016

Seating by the fireplace was cozy and romantic. Waiter was friendly, attentive and helpful with the menu. We were not rushed even though it was a Saturday evening. Many Mediterranean traditional items but also great seafood entrees. Food was well prepared and excellent. Wine list is extensive but pricey because the vintages are older with more foreign choices.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A touch of Europe in decor with charming ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A touch of Europe in decor with charming small dining rooms to larger ones, excellent service, great varied menu and wine list, perfect for that special occasion, weekly lunch, or group.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tight place

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was just very tight/small in certain eating areas. If you're closterfobic let them know in advance.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious Food

Dined on May 21, 2016

You can't go wrong with this restaurant. The food and service are outstanding. We will definately be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time here. We had th ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our second time here. We had the the Sand dabs which were excellent. I had the French Onion Soup as an appetizer, and it was wonderful, and not salty. My wife however had the Asparagus soup that was one of the evenings specials, and she said it was "bland" and "lacking seasoning". We had the conolli for dessert, very good. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent. We do not get to ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Consistently excellent. We do not get to Pacific Grove very often any more. We always schedule at least one meal here when we are traveling through or staying for awhile. Food and service are always good. Predictable excellence even with long intervals between visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The sand dabs were perfect. Canneloni w ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The sand dabs were perfect. Canneloni was enjoyed by another guest. The salads and soups were fantastic. The steak and frites were wonderful. The only complaint is that upstairs dining room was very hot

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always awesome pasta and seafood-they do ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always awesome pasta and seafood-they do every dish to perfection. Portions are large; staff is extremely knowledgeable and professional. Small cozy rooms, large open spaces-something for every diner. Have been eating there for literally decades and always a pleasure.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Six of us went to dinner at Fandango whi ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Six of us went to dinner at Fandango while visiting the Monterey area. Everyone was very pleased with their meals. We all would recommend Fandango to a friend and plan to return next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Deligthful

Dined on May 12, 2016

Delightful "old world" restaurant with very well executed classic cuisine. Service is excellent. Beautiful atmosphere. Also has a large parking lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

The lettuce in the Caesar salad was not cold and crispy. The salmon was overcooked. The filet was overcooked. The shrimp was flavorless. The desert had Whipped cream that was already melting on to the plate when it was served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, delish, and fun place to be.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food speaks for itself, but the ambience of the place is outstanding. The locals love this place and as a visitor, I love it as well. I have been coming here for the last 8 years and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area (East Bay in Orinda). The staff is so friendly and the food is so delicious. I would recommend to anyone and have brought everyone to Fandango's. Love it so visit it and you will as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Used to be great

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have spent many Mother's Days in Carmel and have always gone to Fandango. This year the food quality was pretty poor. I guess I should have known when I booked a reservation 1 day in advance for 5 people and could get any time I wanted. Pretty dissapointing to see the quality drop so much over the years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! As always!!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Fantastic! As always!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just go to this place

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Food and service are excellent. This is not a tourist spot but someplace locals thrive . Easy to miss with all the restaurants in the area but if you go you will be pleased.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointed with quality of food preparation

Dined on April 29, 2016

The menu description for the duck was extremely promising, enough to give one the patience to wait the 25 minutes. The menu should have described the duck I was served as "3 rather tough dense little balls surrounded by a layer of fat." I've had duck many times, but what I attempted to eat did not resemble any body part of a duck. I spent a lot of time trying to imagine how they produced such a weird little main dish - perhaps it was frozen and then cooked in a rush before proper thawing? It needed thin slicing with a sharp steak knife, unfortunately missing. The flavor, texture, and appearance did not remind me of duck and was an unpleasant dining experience. My sophisticated dining partner, celebrating a special occasion, had the special, rack of lamb. It is a dish he's had in many many restaurants. When asked, he said it was "ok - nothing special, did not deserve to have the "special" designation it had that night." This expensive dinner was my treat, and it was an embarrassing experience, except for the ambience. Many years ago when it was rather new, Fandango was my very favorite place to drive to from Palo Alto. Now maybe they have a captive audience of more recent well-heeled locals who don't want to drive further, or maybe this establishment has changed ownership. They seem to be just getting by.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.