About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: 8313339798x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Restaurant Photos

Fandango
Caprese Salad
Rack of Lamb
Veal Osso Bucco
Tapas
grand marnier souffle
Saute Calimari Steaks With Herb-Butter
Veal Picatta
Steak Frites And Herb Butter Sauce
Short Ribs
Veil Picata
Spaghetti Carbonara

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
3 More
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

special occasion (82)
fit for foodies (70)
romantic (70)
See All
neighborhood gem (69)
good for groups (45)
notable wine list (44)
great for lunch (30)
great for brunch (21)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My filet was perfect and the salad perfe ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined a day ago

My filet was perfect and the salad perfectly dressed! They obviously train their servers well, it's always a fabulous experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great family dinner!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great family dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous dinner, great service, couldn't ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous dinner, great service, couldn't have asked for anything tone better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat here every time we visit PG. hav ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

We eat here every time we visit PG. have never had a bad meal, love the ambience, and service is always great. We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and rood were great. Don't sit ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and rood were great. Don't sit in the old living room in the middle table by the fireplace at sunset. The Sun was blinding, but they closed the curtains when requested.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful setting and structure inside a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful setting and structure inside and out. Mediocre service, our waiter didn't tell us of the specials, we had to ask for butter, we were in a lovely corner but out of the traffic enough to be overlooked by the waiter and host. Food inconsistent, great sweetbreads but bad cassoulet........almost all beans. Overall an acceptable experience but poor attention by staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Whenever I visit Pacific Grove, it is a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Whenever I visit Pacific Grove, it is a must for me to eat at Fandango. I love the small rooms, the warm welcome and the attentiveness of the waiters. Their menu is varied, but I always opt for the lamb chops. I can't speak to much else as I tend to get the same item each time I visit. The lamb is always cooked to perfection for me, never rare, but medium on the inside and cooked well on the outside...keeps the juice in. I enjoyed this with a wonderful glass of Pinot Noir. My dessert was profiteroles, lovely cream puffs with coffee ice cream inside and whipped cream on top with drizzles of chocolate sauce. I left a very satisfied customer. I may try one of their other wonderful menu items next time I visit (but I doubt it - I can't pass up the lamb!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fandango is a gem. It is consistently ex ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fandango is a gem. It is consistently excellent- food, service, ambiance, cocktails. We had the sand dab appetizer- the best sand dabs we have ever had, and we've had quite a few. They were so good we ordered anther plate of them! The onion soup is excellent, and so is the surf and turf. This is a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and service fri ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was outstanding and service friendly! Enjoyed the atmosphere! Will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately after much excitement to r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Unfortunately after much excitement to return after our first pleasant experience to celebrate wife's birthday they fell very short of all our expectations. Had to send our salmon back twice, overcooked initially and really...under cooked the second time and to most of our displeasure it was treated as a inconvenience to our server, who obviously was not looking out for us. As well, I believe a place of this caliber should be able to do something special in helping to celebrate my wife birthday with a greeting at the least and maybe a desert of some sort without having to ask for it when they were previously well informed. For me this is hard to understand as far as good business. I think any restaurant would be honored to be the chosen location of someone celebrating a special occasion and they couldn't even handle that simple aspect. On the contrary, they made the experience unpleasant. Pretty safe to say they won't be great that opportunity again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I must admit we were super looking forwa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I must admit we were super looking forward to visiting after our BnB recommended your establishment. Our disappoint came upon reviewing the cost of both your menu, as well as, your wine list. The only options on wines outside of the US were so overpriced. My husband and I are both in the industry and were blown away at your cost for the wines. The food looked outstanding but for the value just not worth it, so we ended up just doing appetizers and a salad (which were delicious).

I would suggest being more comparable. The first night in town we enjoyed an equally outstanding meal at Passionfish that had an extremely comparable wine list at much better prices. Had we not already been sat at your establishment after making reservations we would have returned there for our meal. I have been the GM of a restraunt and understand how it operates but your prices are a bit steep. I sadly cannot say we would return for anything more then a cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Never again. They pretend to serve medit ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Never again. They pretend to serve mediterranean food but they're far away from it! Also one of our salads had snails in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The staff was phenomenal. Always attent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The staff was phenomenal. Always attentive to our needs and quick to serve. I would definitely go there again for any occasion

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our best place to eat anywhere. It deser ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our best place to eat anywhere. It deserves 6 stars.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greeting at the door was welcoming and p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Greeting at the door was welcoming and pleasant. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent wine. The decor is charming. There is China and linen on the table. Fresh cut flowers add a nice touch.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been to Fandango many years ago a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had been to Fandango many years ago and remembered the menu and offering many local choices and the presentation is always delightful.

We made our dinner reservation for 7:30 and our table was waiting for us. Our server Valentin was most attentive and informed about the specials and wines available.

The are small rooms with tables so a nice place for groups or couples.

We enjoyed the Sand dabs and Calamari dinners and even had room for the desserts of Carmel Custard and Creme Brulee!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding as always, the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was outstanding as always, the service was impersonal and a below their normal standard.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Wonderful place to dine...you can have l ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful place to dine...you can have large parties, kids or just a couple! It's our favorite restaurant in PG.

Thank you for being there all these years!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Fandango experience to me was less t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The Fandango experience to me was less than previous times I have been to your place.

My wife and I were jammed into a window sitting with a group of 10 very close to us. It was not a experience for what was paid.

My question is are you a group experience or pack them in type of place. We like the place because of the food and the presentation.

I do not like it when I am sitting with 1 ft of another table and expect to feel good about this.

It will be for me a long time before I think of coming back. We have in the past recommended your place. but this is not going to be from this point forwards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Exceptional meal, from salads to entrees ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Exceptional meal, from salads to entrees. Service is attentive and gracious. Our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parking is easy with a lot across the st ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Parking is easy with a lot across the street. The restaurant's atmosphere is cozy. There are a few different rooms to dine in. The food was tasty. The appetizer of scallops & the squid/calamari was cooked perfectly. The entrée of paella was good though the rice did not have a crust. The Grand Marnier soufflé was perfectly prepared - light & airy though could have had more grand marnier flavor. A good restaurant wih a large variety of entrée & large wine list.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten at Fandango's several time ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have eaten at Fandango's several times over the last few years. Each time has been enjoyable. Old world charm and ambiance, with superb surf and turf specials and wonderful desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to Fandango's for ov ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We have been coming to Fandango's for over ten years. It is consistently a warm and inviting place to get together with friends or have a romantic dinner for two. The food is very good...fresh fish, a very good beet salad and lamb on the menu which is getting harder to find.

Add to it all, easy parking and many varied rooms, small and intimate or the larger fireplace room with a view to the kitchen. One of our perennial favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed, service and food al ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Never disappointed, service and food always a notch above the rest. Highly recommended, all that went there have given positive feedback and said thanks for the recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fandango is great but YOU spell my name ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fandango is great but YOU spell my name wrong...it is Schulte

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made the reservation on open table. W ...

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We made the reservation on open table. We hadn't been there in a few years. We were celebrating a bday which was indicated on the reservation but at no point were we recognized for the special occasion we were dining for. We were given the worst table in the restaurant in the center of the restaurant where servers were bumping into our chairs constantly. We made a reservation and would have appreciated a nicer table. We even got there a few minutes earlier so we could get a nice table. Waiter was unattentive. We had more attention from the host who sat us than we did with our server. Our meal was fabulous as well as the dessert, however, and i commend the chef on that but we will not be returning to dine at Fandango again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Always superb wine, food, dessert and se ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always superb wine, food, dessert and service. The escargot is to die for the rack of lamb was out of this world.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG THISE WILL BE OUR GO TO PLACE FROM N ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

OMG THISE WILL BE OUR GO TO PLACE FROM NOW ON. THE STEAK AND LOBSTER FOR 49.00 WAS A STEAL. MY WIFE HAD OSSO BUCCO AND LOVED IT. WE GO DOWN TO PACIFIC GROVE ABOUT 6 TIMES A YEAR AND THIS WILL BE OUR DINING SPOT.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined at Fandango on many occasions ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've dined at Fandango on many occasions and unfortunately this one was a bit of a disappointment. We were seated in one of the small rooms with mostly tables for two...and all the other tables had either one or two people seated at them so it was possible to have a conversation. For some reason the staff then decided to seat a lively table of 4 in the small room instead of the bigger room (there were plenty of open tables). This created a loud atmosphere where my mom & I could hardly hear each other. We noticed the other patrons were also looking at the table for four because their noise level was overbearing. I considered asking to be moved but it would have been awkward since we had already been seated for a while and had our drinks/bread/olives. It made for an overall disappointing experience. Instead of wanting to linger over dinner we wanted to leave as soon as possible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This restaurant consistently delivers th ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This restaurant consistently delivers the highest quality in food, preparation , presentation, service and charm. Superb wine list, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Fandango on June 14, 2016. O ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We dined at Fandango on June 14, 2016. Our meal was delicious, well prepared, and well served. Our choices were the steak and Frits and spaghetti, the wine we chose was an Argentian Malbec 2013, named Salentein which is more than likely one of the best Malbecs we have had, westrongly recommend this wine if you enjoy red wine.Overall recommend this dining spot when in Pacific Grove, CA.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fandango has been a "go to" place for me ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Fandango has been a "go to" place for me for lunch and brunch for many years. The food is consistently good and it's a place where you can easily chat at the table. Very good value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Met out of town friends for brunch. Eve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Met out of town friends for brunch. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal, service and ambiance. Salmon and sand dabs were excellent and reasonably price (realizing of course the general Monterey/Carmel area). While there are no reasonable views (located adjacent to large parking lot in the middle of Pacific Grove), the restaurant offers several different and delightfully decorated rooms for dining. An extensive brunch menu was offered. We've dined here previously and over the years, it has maintained the quality of its food and service. We shall return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Used to go to Fandango's frequently year ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Used to go to Fandango's frequently years back. Stopped for some reason. Now have been there 3 times in last three months for dinner. Not disappointed, so will return.

Want to try out lunch or brunch maybe next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were in Pacific Grove for the Triathlon and needed a place to eat the night before. I found Fandango on OpenTable and decided to roll the dice. We were pleasantly surprised. The lounge area had the Warrior's game on, but the dining room where we sat was cozy and away from any TVs.

We started with appetizers of Sand Dabs and a Prosciutto with melon. For entrees we had Steak Frites and Pasta with Sausage (carb loading). The waiter was really personable and attentive.

We will definitely be recommending Fandango to friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite Restaurant in Monterey Bay Area

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have enjoyed Fandango for years. It has a varied menu, the food is excellent, the service is outstanding and the prices are reasonable for what you get. Don't miss the Grand Marnier souffle!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a delicious meal. Wonderful Frenc ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always a delicious meal. Wonderful French onion soup, wonderful Sunday brunch & the grand Marnier soufflé after dinner is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Going Back

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I was meeting my husband at the restaurant, we had been there twice before. When I arrived, I was given the once over by the host. Very unprofessional. Our waiter was rude and short with us. When my husband's salad arrived (prior to his entree), it had cheese on it. I had ordered a salad as my main course and inquired with the waiter if my salad had cheese. I go into anaphylactic shock with certain dairy products and cheese is one of them. The waiter dismissed my question as if I were bothering him and said no, there was not any cheese on the salad. Well, there was cheese on it. The waiter didn't say anything when he served me my salad. When the waiter came around husband said something, then the waiter asked if I wanted a new salad. I said no, as we were hungry and we were on a time limit. I avoided the area that had the cheese, which meant I didn't get to eat my complete meal I had paid for. There are many good restaurants in the area, and I am not going to patronized a business that is rude and unprofessional. Never again, and I will share my experience with everyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Good food; wonderful setting

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

It was a true pleasure to have lunch at Fandangos. We were re-visiting it having been there back in the 90's. I think it's even better now.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So disappointing

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our waiter seemed irritated and disappointed when we declined cocktails. He was absent for most of the meal. He came by to ask how things were but walked away before we could answer. I had asked for food without sauces, but my broccoli was hosted in yellow, gelatinous gunk. I ordered the lamb chops but received the rack of lamb instead. I called the waiter back but he denied the mistake. Others at the table found their food so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.