About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: (831) 333-9798

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (45)
See All
Cozy (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Good for a Date (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Authentic (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Fireplace (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Private Room (18)
Casual (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Business Meals (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Historic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fun (10)
People Watching (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic, classic and classy dining spo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic, classic and classy dining spot in the heart of Pacific Grove, if you have a special occasion and are in the mood for a classic meal that's extremely tasty, Fandango is your spot. Made me feel like I was back in the 80's again, dining on the 80's American classics - Sand dabs, Abalone or a the epic 7 oz Filet Mignon. Start with a Shrimp Scampi and end with some classic Chocolate Cake. Treat yourself and get a flash back to the good old days while you're at it!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch at Fandango was fine. Sanddabs we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Lunch at Fandango was fine. Sanddabs were not hot enough and the Calamari steak had too much breading. Nice place to meet friends for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The new proprietors have kept the bar ve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The new proprietors have kept the bar very high for this place. Everything about it -- the super-nice staff, ambience, food is first class.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is overrated. Some dishes wer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This place is overrated. Some dishes were very good. Others not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My wife and I had a wonderful meal in a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful meal in a quiet, quaint atmosphere that had a European flavor. We have eaten there for over 20 years when we are in the area and have never been disappointed. I would highly recommend Fandango if you are ever in Pacific Grove.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING!!!!! THE FOOD AND SERVICE IS JU ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

AMAZING!!!!! THE FOOD AND SERVICE IS JUST GREAT, AND THE FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first course choices were excellent. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our first course choices were excellent. The main course for one was very good; the other just average or a little below. Desserts were great! We were seated upstairs in a quiet area and that was delightful. Our wine was excellent and very well priced. We'll return but probably be more careful about choosing our entrees.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Arrived much earlier than reservation ti ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Arrived much earlier than reservation time. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Server was friendly, helpful but not overpowering. One of my favorite places in PG.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent. Must try the lamb. Specials a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent. Must try the lamb. Specials are on the high side.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

For the past 14 years we have been in Pa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

For the past 14 years we have been in Pacific Grove over New Years and have had dinner here for each of those years. It is a high light of our trip and never disappoints. The Lamb and steaks are great. Wait staff is excellent. Hearts of palm salad also a treat.

Just good food and and pleasant ambiance. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a good date night place. Food is g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

It is a good date night place. Food is good, and there is something for everyone. Service is also very good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going to Fandango's for ove ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have been going to Fandango's for over 30 years and have never been disappointed in our meals there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our very favorite restaurants in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

One of our very favorite restaurants in Pacific Grove! Comfortable, excellent staff, delicious meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Fandango many times and ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I've eaten at Fandango many times and have never had a meal that wasn't excellent.

The noise level depends on where you sit and whether you are seated next to a party of more than four. The front room and the small room adjacent to it are perfect for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious scallops!! Some of the best I' ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious scallops!! Some of the best I've ever had. Chicken Capri was also incredibly good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience only issue was had ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic experience only issue was had to ask twice for water and there was no drink menu. Sometimes I need a suggestion for a before dinner cocktail and a menu helps. I ordered a martini and was not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

only one problem: ordered the escargot f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

only one problem: ordered the escargot for appetizer, when served,told our waiter it was over cooked. when he returned with another order, all the chefs did was change platters in which they were cooked in and fresh garlic butter, otherwise same tough,overcooked, black hard escargot. my rack of lamb was STUPENDOUS !

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Michael our waiter was superb ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

As always, Michael our waiter was superb...he was professional and extremely knowledgeable with a wonderful sense of humor.

The food was very tasty, hot and presented beautifully.

The wine list extensive....and delicious....

Would always come back and always recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for an entirely delightful dining experience

Tags: , Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious and consistent. The ser ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always delicious and consistent. The service is great and the ambiance is super cozy. Perfect for a cold day on the Monterey Peninsula

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice meal and ambiance !!waiter was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice meal and ambiance !!waiter was very attentive. Great martini!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here on NYE and arrived a bit earli ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here on NYE and arrived a bit earlier than our reservation and we were seated right away. Food was tasty and service was great. Would definitely come back again. Thanks for a great start to the new year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, service, ambiance!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fabulous food, service, ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first tine at Fandango. Food was go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our first tine at Fandango. Food was good, and service was great! The rack of lamb was cooked to perfection. My husband thought the seafood paella was just ok...but he loved my lamb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, excellent service, int ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent service, interesting menu, good food, fantastic wine list. Cosy converted home, easy next door parking. Altogether a faultless experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally a true carbonara and I was able ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Finally a true carbonara and I was able to taste a real coffee in the United States after 2 weeks! I loved every little bite of my food. The waiter was lovely and we all had a good time. Thank you very much for the marvelous birthday experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely a locals place with great foo ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Definitely a locals place with great food and romantic ambiance. One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, service outstanding. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was delicious, service outstanding. Loved this experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurant experiences e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

One of the best restaurant experiences ever. Amazing food, excellent service, and amazing hospitality. Favorite restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant with impeccable s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with impeccable service. The portions are ample and well prepared and flavored. The paella is one of the best around. The abalone, though expensive, is well prepared and ample in size, especially compared to what other places serve. The wine list is extensive and well balanced, the corkage is $26. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place but do recommend reservations. We had Christmas day dinner and though extremely busy, food and service were still top notch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, , Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, too many pages of unfamiliar ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great menu, too many pages of unfamiliar wines from other countries, no list of wines offered by the glass, fast service, pleasant staff,

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant for Christmas di ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our favorite restaurant for Christmas dinner! Delicious food, great variety on the menu. Service is always very friendly and competent. We have been having Christmas dinner here for years and always enjoy the ambiance and great food.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, , Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked for a vegetarian meal and waiter d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Asked for a vegetarian meal and waiter didn't know anything about it. Our waiter Angel just told us about the one menu item pasta putenesca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Characteristic ambiance, great service a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Characteristic ambiance, great service and delicious food! An overall wonderful place!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A special place for special occasions. We were there for Christmas Eve dinner--thank goodness we had made reservations weeks in advance; the place was absolutely packed. The food was great but what was amazing to us was the service. Although the they moved at warp speed, the waiters were attentive, personable, and anxious to please.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been coming to Fandan ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Fandango for over 20 years, ever since I got down on one knee an proposed, we have loved this restaurant but it never seems to love us back. This latest visit was no exception, we were dining on Christmas eve which we knew would be busy but even arriving early and being sat relatively on time didnt do much to keep the service level up. It took over 30 minutes to just get a food menu (we were left only with the wine menu and water when we were seated) we decided as usual, to just let the evening take its time as we were more than entertained all night by a bizarre cast of characters seated at several different tables around us. The chef really gets all the credit for the review accolades above as the food is always prepared properly and comes out hot to the table and looks beautiful. I dont expect special treatment when we are there although we have booked a table there through OpenTable over a dozen times, it dosent seem to matter to the manager/owner or hostess staff to make sure we are at least greeted and thanked for our continual patronage.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, People Watching, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was fantastic and food was grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was fantastic and food was great! I will come back!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overwhelming wine list. Way too many pag ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overwhelming wine list. Way too many pages of wine...over the top !

No option for single glasses of wine

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed in turkey lunch did ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were disappointed in turkey lunch did not seem like fresh turkey . Usually have fish dish so probably should have stayed with it. Coffe is never hot but dessert &. Soup great. We still will come back &. have for many years.!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

This is fast becoming our go to place to ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is fast becoming our go to place to dine with friends for special events. We had dinner recently with our relatives for and early Christmas, and they all raved about their meal. We especially loved the wine list, and Scampi and Scallops specials. Service was well paced, and friendly. Ended the night with the exceptional soufflé, so delicious. We will return soon. Thank you for this wonderful place to dine.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect meal. Waiter, Angel, was the be ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Perfect meal. Waiter, Angel, was the best! This is without a doubt our favorite restaurant. We come here for most special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.