Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Fandango

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: (831) 333-9798

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Romantic (47)
See All
Cozy (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Authentic (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Groups (19)
Fun (18)
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Business Meals (18)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Tapas (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Private Room (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Fish was over cooked and other meals were not that great, however we had a fun time and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Always great food and service but usually too crowded and loud. Sunday evening is the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We loved it. The sand dabs were excellent.
We are coming back next week!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fandango made an impression on me the one prior time I was there 25 or 30 years ago - such an impression that on a recent visit to the area, it was the one restaurant I told my husband was a "must do." Fandango did not disappoint.

Melon and ham - a perfect score. Fresh, tasty melon and silky prosciutto - real prosciutto. Lemon chicken is one of those simple dishes that so many restaurants just cannot get right - chicken Capri is everything right. Cassoulet was very, very good, earthy and rich; my only criticism was the beans were cooked down a bit more than I would have preferred. But I would gladly do it over!

On a scale of one to ten, the profiterole gets an eleven - that good and that decadent.

Since my husband is a non-drinker, I always just order the house wine, often quite regrettably. But I was pleasantly reminded that house wine can be a winner. Our waiter was perfectly attentive and extremely helpful.

And I am so glad that I recalled Fandango!

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A trip to France - quaint and elegant, at the same time. Great menu with wonderfully prepared food. Welcoming and attentive staff. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The atmosphere at Fandango was really cozy and warm-there seemed to be a number of small rooms in a country house type building. We were a party of 3 in a small room w 3 other tables. It felt like we were in a European country inn. The service was excellent but The food wasn't as good as expected. There was a large menu with varied choices but the food could have been hotter and tastier. Still, I'd recommend it for the lovely setting if exceptional food isn't a must but atmosphere is.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

By the name Fandango, I wasn't sure what to expect. The French village atmosphere and decor was charming and inviting. The generous portion of tack of lamb was cooked to perfection! A lovely surprise...delicious!!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was mediocre. I had the filet and scampi. The filet was tiny and over-cooked. I wanted a glass of wine, but apparently there is no list of wines by the glass. You simply have to pick a varietal and you get what you get. Very odd and, frankly, unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our table was along a thoroughfare between the server station and the kitchen on a busy Saturday night. The rushing and loud noise really took away from the good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

As always a wonderful dinner. Love coming here as it's always a pleasant experience with absolutely marvelous food.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Terrific in every respect. Old world service and cuisine at their best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We were disappointed in the food and we recommended it for our friends birthday lunch. This restaurant used to be very good but it has deteriorated. The service was good and the side room was quiet as a positive attribute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was excellent, food was better than average but nothing special. We were seated in a small downstairs room which was quiet but had none of the atmosphere of upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I'm not sure where to place the blame. When I made the reservations there was a comment section, and I'm not sure who to blame for no one replying. Your web site or the restaurant? My wife and I were going to be staying in Carmel for the weekend and I wanted to take her out for her 70th birthday for a special dinner and dessert. Thanks to your site it was easy to find a restaurant that served her very favorite dessert "Grand Marnier Souffle", but it was miles away from where we were staying. So I added my comment asking if they were in fact going to have that dessert that night, saying if not we would eat locally and see them for brunch the next day. No reply. When we got to the restaurant they told us they were too busy that night to make the souffle. Very, very disappointing! They did give her some ice cream with chocolate sauce at no charge, but just not the same!!! So if no one is going to reply to comments then take it off your booking form!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Monterey Visit every time I'm in town

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Lovely restaurant with delicious food and great ambience. Each dining room in the restaurant is special. Excellent service with special attention to detail. Great selection of entrees, and though a bit pricey, well worth every penny. Don't miss the desserts!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great food. Great waiter. Staff did not rush us. Great for a special occasion or a nice evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Very good service great menu and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

the Fandango Restaurant is one of the nicest places to eat in Monterey Peninsula. everything was cooked perfectly and very delicious. Our cocktails were made perfectly. We enjoyed our visit and we'll come back again. Thanks to the staff for being wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had an delicious meal, tucked in front of a window upstairs with a view of rooftops and the ocean. It was a lovely evening, excellent and friendly service, quiet enough to enjoy conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food and service. Wasn't from area, but read reviews and were not disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fandango was a lovely restaurant and well worth eating at if you are in Pacific Grove. It certainly competes with the restaurants in Carmel, so the 15 minute trip would be worth it. The decor was wonderful and we got a cozy quiet nook with only three tables. The smoke salmon was divine according to my wife. The prawns were done to perfection. The Grand Marnier Soufflé was wonderful. I gave Fandago four stars because my order of Petite Filet Mignon was rare instead of medium. Also, the waiter was not intuitive and didn't check back soon enough to ameliorate the issue of my filet being under done and then had to be reminded we wanted the soufflé as it must be ordered well in advance. For the price and exquisite surroundings, I was a bit disappointed with the service. Despite this, we would return in an instant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was my Mother in Law's 80th birthday dinner. Fantastic all the way around. Great atmosphere too. Server Carlos was knowledgable and professional. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great dinner for two in the Small cozy area. There are only three tables in there . Enjoyed chatting with the others in the room. Compared dinners. Everyone was very happy with their selections.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A favorite when visiting Pacific Grove. Wonderful menu and regional wines. Cozy, intimate small rooms.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We love the authenticity of our experience at Fandango - a real rhinestone of a restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We live in the Los Angeles area and were spending the weekend in Pacific Grove to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. I selected Fandango based on the on-line reviews. The room we were seated in was perfect--quiet, small, nice décor. But we were disappointed in the service--our waiter seemed distracted and basically uninterested in providing us with service appropriate to the occasion. The food was very tasty (although we thought the scallop appetizer [2 scallops] was overpriced for the size of the portion)--I had sweetbreads, my husband had the Moroccan lamb dish. We appreciated a free dessert, but that did not make up for the inattentive service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great Food. Great attention by the waiter.
Terrific Evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had our wedding rehearsal dinner at Fandango 15 years & decided to go for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. The food was wonderful & the service exceptional just like we remembered from all those years ago!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Absolutely the very best!! Can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Great variety menu, food is wonderful, great presentation. Service was excellent. Can't wait to go back.
Highly recommend! They do everything just right. As I said, can't say enough about how very, very good Fandango is. Enjoyed every bite!! Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 11, 2017

They have a nice, varied menu and everything we tried we liked. Just a fun evening with family.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent service! Food was excellent! I had the veal piccata, my husband had the Halibut, he loved it!
The only thing I don't like are the big furry flowers on the table, very allergic. I like smaller arrangements, roses carnations! But love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was inconsistent. Salmon was good, but scampi was tough and pasta was not sauced. Lamb was totally without salt. For $45 it should be spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The best restaurant in Pacific Grove! I will return here every time I'm in the area.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Chose Fandango due to being highly rated on Trip Advisor...wise choice. We were seated at prize location, greeted immediately, and received both superior food and service. A subtle comment about my husband's birthday was awarded with an unexpected dessert. Wish we lived closer!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

When I visit my parents in Carmel, we always make a trip to Fandango. I have tasted several dishes, that others order, but I always get the sweet bread piccata. I can't help myself. It is so good and I haven't had better sweet breads anywhere else in the US.

My family never has an issue with anything they get, so I would say that it is all great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was perfect, from the warm welcome, to the excellent service, and delicious food. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This was a VERY special occasion, my 85th birthday! We live in another city and have been to Fandango many times when we're in the area. I had told them about my birthday when I made the reservation. They did give me a complimentary desert. The food was very good, however the service was AWFUL. We don't drink alcoholic beverages nor do we order a starter. Many older people have smaller appetites. We felt that our waiter was disappointed because he knew we wouldn't leave a large tip based on the total amount of our bill. He wasn't very attentive. We ordered coffee which wasn't delivered. The bill came and when we said that we had ordered coffee earlier but didn't want it at that time, they quickly brought us complimentary coffee. That didn't do it for us. There was a large group in a private room. The wait staff were very attenti them. I could see that the ordered many drinks.The maitre de was pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Abalone, expensive, but what a treat. Our waiter was attentive but not overly so, excellent. French onion soup, ceasar salad, both very good. The soup wasn't over-salted the way one often finds it. The dessert was coffee ice cream filled puff pastry with whipped cream and hot fudge - just wonderful along with a nice cappuccino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My husband and I dine here probably once every couple of months. The restaurant meal and service is fairly consistent. However, this latest visit was disappointing. After making OpenTable reservations we still had to wait a while as the Host scrambled to find a table. Our pleasant waiter (and the others) were rushing around. It took quite some time to place our order and receive our food; we wanted a glass of wine with dinner but no wine list ever appeared. The long wait between courses made us think there were problems in the kitchen or they were short of help. Hopefully, they have resolved these issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.