About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: 8313339798x

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Restaurant Photos

Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Rack of Lamb - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Veal Osso Bucco - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Caprese Salad - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Tapas - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
grand marnier souffle - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Spaghetti Carbonara - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Short Ribs - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Steak Frites And Herb Butter Sauce - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Saute Calimari Steaks With Herb-Butter - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Veil Picata - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA
Veal Picatta - Fandango, Pacific Grove, CA

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (41)
Cozy (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Authentic (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Private Room (18)
Fireplace (16)
Historic (12)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (6)
Tapas (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Family Style (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unique restaurant in Pacific Grove, Ca, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Unique restaurant in Pacific Grove, Ca, near Carmel. Table by the fireplace, romantic environment, great food and attentive service. There is also a small private room with 4 tables for more privacy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sand dabs were amazing. French onion sou ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Sand dabs were amazing. French onion soup was very good too. Loved the surf and turf meal as well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine, 2nd time dining ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and wine, 2nd time dining at Fandango, excellent service , great décor. Will definitely return when visiting Pacific Grove and Monterey. Had a 7:30 reservation, decided to dine earlier, seated us an hour earlier no problem.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food an service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food an service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always feel right at home at Fandango ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We always feel right at home at Fandango! Classy, warm and delicious!

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we come to the Monterey area, ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Every time we come to the Monterey area, we dine at Fandango and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot! Great dinner! The best rest ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great spot! Great dinner! The best restaurant in Pacific Grove!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful start to finish. Great Caesar ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful start to finish. Great Caesar salad, delish Filet, great pasta dishes! Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was wonderful, as always. Great place ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was wonderful, as always. Great place to take out of town guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Fandango fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our second visit to Fandango for Thanksgiving. It is one of the few places in town that serve Thanksgiving dinner after 6pm so of course it is mobbed. The staff, however, is friendly, efficient, welcoming and took care of us - and we weren't the only party with special needs.

The set menu gave a variety of options, the food was pretty good considering the volume of business and given the volume of business, we never felt rushed.

The overall experience makes me want to visit Fandango when it is not a holiday.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving Dinner. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving Dinner. The restaurant was packed with happy people! We had a 6:30pm reservation and we didn't have to wait, even though it was so busy. Wait people were very friendly and helpful. They did not rush us through our meal. We love Fandango's. We are local and have dined here many times.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restsurant ! One of our favori ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love this restsurant ! One of our favorites! This is our 2nd year for Thanksgiving in addition to to just dinine there just because! Best Manhatten cocktail ever too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for Thanksgiving dinner! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent place for Thanksgiving dinner! Glad we beat the peak rush when they appeared to be backed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have eaten at Fandango a number of ti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have eaten at Fandango a number of times for Thanksgiving dinner. This year some of the turkey meat was dry in both of our servings which was not typical of their food preparation.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving dinner, it was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner, it was very nice. Service was good and the food was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Thanksgiving dinner since it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner since it was rated well for this. Our experience was disappointing. It started by waiting inside to be acknowledged by the host. Two local pairs pushed their way in the door ahead of us and were greeted and provided. I finally spoke up and told the host we wanted to check in for our 5 pm reservation. I was barely acknowledged. We were seated shortly. The waiter kept stepping away while we were ordering. The food came pretty quickly since I'm sure the food was mass produced. The turkey was very dry. The stuffing was very mushy and had very poor flavor. Potatoes and green beans were fine. The cranberries nearly nonexistent. Based on the way we were treated from the start, I'm not even interested in trying the restaurant again. I understand holidays are difficult so had the service been good but the food a little off I would have given them a better review and been willing to try them again. We were at several other Pacific Grove restaurants over the holiday and were always treated well. Sorry but whoever the male host was at Fandango needs work on his customer service. We were not the only ones treated this way. The couple behind us were treated similarly. Local or not everyone should be acknowledged and welcomed to the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Came here for Thanksgiving dinner. Enjoy ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Came here for Thanksgiving dinner. Enjoyed it but need to come back and eat off their normal menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great, service was not. My fian ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was great, service was not. My fiance and I are in our late 20's but are often mistaken for younger and we believe that this is why we were treated differently. The waiter did not care to serve us. He was always more interested in his other tables. As my fiance was speaking to him, he completely ignored hi I'm and reached over our table to help someone else. He also told us that they did not have a drink menu, yet he offered one to another table and when the table next to us skew for one, he went and got one. The disrespect we felt ruined our experience and we will never be coming here again or recommending it to anyone else, even though the food was good.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Fandango has always been a favorite for ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fandango has always been a favorite for my wife and myself. We've eaten there many times and it has always been enjoyable. So why not Thanksgiving too. Bad choice. Turkey did not seem fresh and was dry. Ham was also overcooked. Turkey seemed to be of the frozen breast variety and was a disappointment. As expected the restaurant was busy at mid afternoon. Service was fine from a very challenged waiter. As a venue for fine Mediterranean dining, Fandango's is great. For traditional American fare, I would look elsewhere as we will be doing next Thanksgiving.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

This is our favorite restaurant and as u ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant and as usual, we were very pleased with the food, service and ambiance. It was Thanksgiving so the place was very busy but the service was still cordial and efficient. We drive down from Santa Cruz a few times a year and it has been worth the trip every time. The prices could be considered a bit high for us so we consider each delicious meal there a special treat.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Thanksgiving special was up to standards ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving special was up to standards. The place was packed to the gills, but managed fairly well. I would always recommend getting a reservation at this justifiably popular spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

So happy to have Thanksgiving at Fandang ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

So happy to have Thanksgiving at Fandango's. The food was delicious and plentiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. The turkey was served in a large portion and the salmon was perfectly done as well. The servers were attentive. Overall a great holiday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another excellent meal !! We have a bus ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Another excellent meal !! We have a business meeting over lunch. Everyone enjoyed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fandangos has been a favorite of mine fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fandangos has been a favorite of mine for over 30 years for special occasions and for business dinners. For romantic dinners but also for consistent food, wine and cocktails for business and group dinners. There are many small rooms for intimate dining as well rooms for large groups.

The dinner on Monday was fantastic but I had brunch there the Sunday before and was very disappointed. The service was awful!!! I had eggs Benedict and I've had better eggs benedict at Jeffrey's in Carmel Valley. I would NOT recommend Fandangos for brunch. Food on the dinner menu I would rate a 10, food on the brunch menu I would at best give a 4.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good and service was great! My steak was ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good and service was great! My steak was a little tough but had great flavor! Romantic setting.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant. It was my husbands Bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great Restaurant. It was my husbands Birthday and the service staff gave him ribbons for the table and a lovely dessert (without us having to arrange it with them).

We would definitely go back to Fandango.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fandango was excellent. Living in Sacram ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fandango was excellent. Living in Sacramento, I make it down to the Monterey area often. This trip I wanted to go out with my fiancé to several of my favorite restaurants including. Fandangos, Passion Fish, Roy's at Spanish Bay and the Sardine Factory.

Fandango was by far the best with excellent food, ambiance and a great waiter. The lamb was outstanding as was everything we ordered.

Definitely worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently had dinner at Fan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I recently had dinner at Fandango's during our last day in the Monterey bay area. I had the rack of lamb and it was delicious. My wife had the scallops special and they were cooked perfectly. We look forward to returning to Fandango's on our next trip to the Pacific Grove.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to say that I have been to and ha ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I have to say that I have been to and have enjoyed Fandango's many times, and I know the owner personally, but this last visit was a disappointment on several levels. I had booked my reservation through Open Table. It was for a birthday celebration with my good friend. We arrived a bit before our 6:30 PM reservation time. There were only a few tables occupied at the time. The host was unable to locate our reservation, but took us to be seated. He took us to the center of the dining area smack dab in the middle of the room at a four person table. Since there were only two of us we asked if we might be seated in a more intimate location. He said he didn't have anything available although we could see there were plenty of options. He led us to the bar area where we waited a full thirty minutes before WE went looking for him to find out what was delaying our seating. He finally took us to a nice table in one of the smaller rooms, but said it was only because a party of seven hadn't shown up. What??? I had a reservation, which I showed him the confirmation number on my phone. The dinner didn't go as planned either. We waited quite a while before the waiter came to take our order. Unbelievably, every entree had only potatoes and green beans as the side dish. I don't like green beans so opted for just potatoes. I had the sand dabs, but they were drowning in so much of the lemon butter sauce that it was hard to enjoy them. The waiter did take pity on me and came back later with some cooked carrots for us. Next came dessert. Even though I had told the maitre 'd this was a birthday dinner nothing special was done by the restaurant to mark the occasion. No apologies were made for the delay, and it was this delay that caused us to miss our movie. I had heard rumors that the restaurant was lacking in customer service, but had not believed it until this night. I can't say that I would recommend Fandango's in the future. It just wasn't a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Always delicious. The most consistent re ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always delicious. The most consistent restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey but well worth it for sp ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A little pricey but well worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was excellent! Foo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Everything we ordered was excellent! Food is very fresh - service excellent - a memorable dining experience - we were able to have a good conversation in a quiet relaxed atmosphere - hard to find these days

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was fabulous as always. G ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The experience was fabulous as always.

Great food and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for my wife's birthday and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We went there for my wife's birthday and they treated us like royalty!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not seasoned enough for our ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was not seasoned enough for our tastes and was not interesting enough to be worth the price. The duck was a bit tough, but the salmon filet was cooked well. The french onion soup and cheesecake with raspberry sauce were our favorite parts of the meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Three of us had very good food but the f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Three of us had very good food but the fourth person's entree (the duck) was quite chewy even though the sauce was very good. The service was mostly very good but then awful as far as taking care of our leftovers. Rather than packing them up, they tossed small cartons in our direction (and we had to ask for one larger one) and left us to struggle with emptying our plates into their boxes. To make matters worse, as we were - quite obviously - struggling with that task, a busboy came over and started clearing dishes, making things even more difficult for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Located in the center of Pacific Grove, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Located in the center of Pacific Grove, Fandango rivals any up-scale restaurant to be found in the Monterey or Carmel areas. The menu and wine list are extensive, service is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallops are to die for! I was given ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The scallops are to die for! I was given a perfect seat in front of the fireplace - excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was excellent. Both my wife and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Waiter was excellent. Both my wife and sister-in-law enjoyed the halibut special. I had the paella. Very good! Grand Marnier souffle was good - but not as good as Le Papillon in San Jose where you can have it served with fresh berries and chocolate. Overall a tasty experience.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.