Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Fandango

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: (831) 333-9798

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (42)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Romantic (42)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Cozy (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Authentic (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Fireplace (20)
Private Room (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (13)
Historic (12)
Tapas (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect, as always. The ambiance is great, with its Europe s feel.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful brunch. Fresh flowers on the tables were such a nice touch.
California Omelette and Spanish omelette were fresh, perfectly prepared. I like that the b'fast potatoes include Mediterranean style vegetables. Great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Fandango is a family favorite. We go for a full amazing meal or for delicious appetizers and soup or salad. Service is always excellent. Try the sandabs, French onion soup, paella, pasta or their special rack of lamb. Fandango is consistently fabulous!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent dining experience! Tony, our waiter, was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal was good - not exceptional but still good. We had better meals in Pacific Grove when we were there. The food was as promised on the menu but not terribly original or inspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The menu was great and the food was delicious. Fine dining, Mediterranean cuisine. Excellent service too. Not much to look at on the outside but first class on the inside. We always dine there when we visit the Monterey Peninsula.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This restaurant has a very cozy atmosphere and is a welcome relief from the hubbub of the port area. There are several different rooms and one has a lovely large fireplace. The food was delicious. The wine list was very good and the service was excellent. The only thing I would not rate highly was the bar area. It is not very useful for awaiting your table. We did arrive a bit early, but fortunately we didn't have to wait long for our table.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We visited the restaurant to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. The service was prompt, professional, and the place has a great atmosphere of sophistication without being pretentious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As always we were welcomed by very polite staff, shown to our table which was in a quiet room off the main dining room. Perfect for my 92 y/o mother who uses a walker. We were able to have a great conversation without being disturbed by other guests. We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch menu and Mimosas. The service was great and the food very tasty and filling. We had a great time enjoying brunch for Father's Day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, absolutely great service and food. Perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have eaten here numerous times over the years. Charming atmosphere and delicious food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lovely restaurant in downtown Pacific Grove. The service is excellent and the food is always good. The portions are generous and we usually bring home leftovers. One of our favorite places to eat in Pacific Grove!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was well prepared and tasty. Service was excellent. This was our third visit and once again we were not disappointed. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Very good food. Lovely atmosphere. Good service. Wonderful place to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food quality for lunch has slipped.... but I would still recommend

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We were playing Pebble the next day, found you on the internet. Scallops FAR exceeded those we had at Pebble, and the calamari was the best any of us ever had in the past. Wish you were in the Chicago area!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The "old fashioned" menu featured many classic dishes and preparations not to be found in today's gimmicky restaurant scene. The enormous menu and wine list made us wary. Yet everything we chose was perfectly prepared and the portions copious. The wine list was spectacular, the waiter knowledgeable but not obtrusive, the service prompt. Took us back to more gracious days of dining. A winner!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We had a family birthday dinner with small children and older adults and a wonderful time was had by all. Great food, drink, service and an all around good experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Steak was way overdone and the waiter replaced it, but didn't apologize even once for the issue. Keeping a water glass full was also a major challenge.

Food was delicious, though

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The meal was delicious and the staff was friendly and accommodating

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My biggest objection was we ordered a bottle of wine that was described as "jammy" and when our waiter opened it and poured it, the taste was not at all as he described. We told him so and asked for a different bottle of wine, but he said he could not do that once he opened it. That's a first for me- the whole point of "tasting" a wine is to see if you like. The food was good, but we were put in small room which they tried to fill up even though the restaurant was not busy. The third party they tried to put into this small area, objected.
So I don't think we'll be going there again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Outstanding food and service..Poterhouse Steak A+ Scallops and pasta A+ and of course all the staff.Dino A+++++..A wonderful menu cooked to perfection.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were seated shortly after arriving. (That was the best part of the evening.) After given menues, but before asking about water or drinks, the waiter asked if we were ready to order. As we were finally served our bottle of wine we again asked if we were ready to order.

I ordered the Grilled Lamb Chops, Medium. They arrived "Rare++". When they were brought out a second time they were still "Rare". I ate what was grilled and took the rest home for the dog.

Once the dinner plates had been cleared the waiter brought the check, without asking if we were interested in anything else.

My hope is that people stop patronizing this establishment so it can "Go Under", and someone significantly more competent can step in and run it as a restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The pasta puttanesca was amazing! Lovely ambiance; small semi-private rooms. We'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We (four adults and four kids) went there for Sunday Brunch, and decided to go back for dinner. The food is really good. Highly recommend CROQUE MONSIEUR (Sunday Brunch), FILET MIGNON FANDANGO (Sunday Brunch), PAELLA FANDANGO, RACK OF LAMB, Surf & TurF, Souffle Glacé Grand Marnier (Dessert). It's a little bit pricey, but worth it. Better make a reservation before going. It's easy to make the reservation from their website. A complaint: Although I had told the waiter to give us desert after we finished the dishes, he tried to give us the desert while we were still working on the food. I'm not so happy about it. It's kind of ruined my mood for desert. Besides this, everything is perfect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very popular with locals. Always consistent quality. Would definitely suggest reservations during weekends and high season

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

While the service and atmosphere at Fandango are pleasant, the prices are out of line compared to similar restaurants in the Pacific Grove area. The calamari steak was well prepared but nothing special; the salmon papardelle had me looking for the salmon amidst all the sauce and pasta (which was tasty). There are better places with fresh seafood within a couple of blocks.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Always come to this restaurant when in area. Especially like the calamari steak - either as an appetizer or main course. Front rooms cozy and romantic - back dining room good for a group, five or more.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Once again, a lovely meal. I ordered the Chicken Capri and it was wonderful. Thin slices of chicken breast with a lemon/butter/caper sauce - outstanding. My husband had the Osso Buco and said it was adequate. He is a tough audience. Another person had the Canneloni and raved about it. Another person had the Veal Piccata and loved it. I don't recall the third entree but it disappeared quickly.
The server was hard to hear his voice and left us alone a little too much. They weren't that crowded for him to be so busy. Pleasant but nothing special.
We love to come here when ever we visit Monterey!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food, ambience, waiter were outstanding! This is our new favorite place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lovely restaurant with relatively quiet dining. The food was excellent - good sand dabs appetizer, wonderful lemon rice soup, exquisite scallops and calamari, and the profiteroles and coffee were superb. We had a large group of 10 and our waiter handled it with aplomb. Not inexpensive, but high quality.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Fandango's is my go to place for anything special, or just cocktails and dinner with friends. The staff could not be more friendly, as well as attentive. The food (and cocktails) never disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We look forward to dining at Fandangos every time we visit the Monterey area. It is a high light of our trip!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place would be perfect for a special anniversary or occasion! The food will blow your mind! Its on the pricy side but I would definitely say its very worth the money. I will definitely keep it on the list for anniversaries and the like. I can't wait to go again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service is always impeccable - attentive, without being intrusive, and extremely courteous staff. At times I find the food overly salted but I had a perfect meal with the NY steak done to perfection, preceded by a Caesar salad that had just the amount of dressing. Prices are on the high side but I attribute that to the quality of service. A great place for a special occasion in a lovely setting.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Simply one of the best restaurants we've ever tried. I would eat my last meal here...that's how good it is.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful food and great table staff. It was our first dining experience here, and we loved being in a small, quaint room to enjoy our date night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A favorite in Pacific Grove. Have been coming for years and still love it. The lamb rack is special

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I've lived in Monterey all my life and Fandango's is my favorite restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula.
We were celebrating our Mothers 90th B-Day. In our private room, the staff and the owner Marietta went above and beyond to make sure our dinning experience was perfect..
We had the Halibut, Rack of Lamb, Osso Bucco, Sand dabs, Prawn Pasta and piaya..Wow!!! ALL SUPERB!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The menu must be 40 years old and is too heavy. The prices were much too high for the quality of the meal. We had a better meal the night before at the best restaurant in Pacific Grove and the price points were $6-10 less per entree. The wine list is extensive (the have a Wine Spectator award), but a bit pricey.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.