About Fandango

223 17th St
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
View Larger Map

A favorite among Fandango regulars is the succulent Rack of Lamb; other menu items include Fresh Seafood, a variety of pastas, delicious and exotic Mediterranean dishes such as paella and Couscous, and a tempting selection of excellent steaks. Several daily specialties are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-3456

Website:
http://www.fandangorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Next to the restaurant is a public lot with 100 spaces.

Executive Chef:
Pedro De La Oruz

Private Party Facilities:
Fandango Restaurant, located in the heart of Pacific Grove, stands for a heritage of good taste,craftsmanship of award winning cuisine and 25 years of tradition. We have a number of unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jenn Adams: 8313339798x

Additional:
Banquet, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking for a unique venue with a warm and inviting European atmosphere, fabulous food and excellent service Fandango Restaurant will be your best choice. We have 5 unique private dining rooms that seat from 8-60 guests with full bar and extensive wine list. All banquet menus have at least 5 entree choices. We welcome rehearsal dinners, business meetings and private parties.

Restaurant Photos

Fandango
Rack of Lamb
Veal Osso Bucco
Caprese Salad
Tapas
grand marnier souffle
Spaghetti Carbonara
Short Ribs
Steak Frites And Herb Butter Sauce
Saute Calimari Steaks With Herb-Butter
Veil Picata
Veal Picatta

Fandango Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Pacific Grove ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (65)
Fit for Foodies (63)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Notable Wine List (44)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Lunch (24)
Great for Brunch (18)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a delight to get together with fr ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was a delight to get together with friends and enjoy Fandango. We ate the filet, scallops, sandabs and a gorgeous souffle. This place never disappoints. Always consistent food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place. Food superb; service eq ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful place. Food superb; service equal to the food. We make sure we dine there every trip to Monterey/Carmel (2-3x/yr.) It will be a highlight of your visit to that area. Enjoy! PS don't miss their desserts, either!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good. The service was terrible. There were two of us, we had to ask several times for water, after dinner the dishes were not cleared for a very long time, and we waited forever for the bill, then again for the server to take our payment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Visiting from out of town. Celebrating o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Visiting from out of town. Celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. Restaurant was recommended to us by locals. Food was fantastic, as well as the service! The atmosphere was amazing! Very warm surroundings. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience. Outstand ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience. Outstanding meal and wine. Our server Mike was absolutely great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fireplace, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is a classic french/Italian restaurant, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Is a classic french/Italian restaurant, the food is fresh and very good flavors, the price is reasonable; ambiance and service are good, you will have a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charming neighborhood place with a diver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Charming neighborhood place with a diverse European menu. Larger groups tend to make it a bit on the noisy side, but everyone was having fun and all seemed to enjoy the cuisine. Outer dining room is more parties of 2 and 4, and seemed quieter. Nice ambiance and an incredibly friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants ever. It is always special... food, service, ambience. I feel like we've been transported to Europe when we go there! It is special in every way and I recommend it highly, especially for an occasion. The only problem is, it's pricey. But we know that going in, and are prepared. The entrees aren't so expensive, but by the time you add a salad, a drink (or a bottle of wine), appetizer, -or whatever, it adds up. Still, it is one of those places that I have fond memories of over many years of going there, and that's worth a bunch. We make a point of going there nearly every time we visit Pacific Grove. Overall, fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There is much character with the buildin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

There is much character with the building and the location. I highly recommend it for a business meal or a casual meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good place to dine,no real surprises kit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

good place to dine,no real surprises kitchen-wise.

Value for money, friendly staff .

All good .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wild Abalone - WOW! everything was grea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wild Abalone - WOW! everything was great - great service, food, wine, value pricing, public parking adjacent. A perfect setting which made for a great evening !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed coming to Fandango for m ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have enjoyed coming to Fandango for many years and are never disappointed. The food is delicious and the service is superb. It is a neighborhood gem located in Pacific Grove.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fandango is now at the top of the "must ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fandango is now at the top of the "must eat there" list whenever we go to the Monterey area. There are never any disappointments with the food or the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend this restaurant. The fo ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant. The food is incredible and Is one of my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cannot wait to return, as there were far ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Cannot wait to return, as there were far too many items on the menu that were enticing. I wished I could order them all. The wine list was quite impressive, and the service... top notch. Overall, a wonderful discovery!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant with great atmosphe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with great atmosphere and excellent food ! We will go every time we visit the Monterey Peninsula in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A real mixed bag. Cocktails and appetiz ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A real mixed bag. Cocktails and appetizers were terrific. Some entrees outstanding. Some over done or under done second and third attempts failed. Soufflés under cooked and I single.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always one of our favorites. We love th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always one of our favorites. We love the food, especially the specials,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was okey, but the service was r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was okey, but the service was really bad. They over charge us and they count a salad that we didn't order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Everything was wonderful, but you need d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything was wonderful, but you need decaf Lipton tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had 7 guests to impress and Fandango c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had 7 guests to impress and Fandango certainly left them wanting to return again. Everyone ordered something different and every single dish was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to this restaurant. I had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our first time to this restaurant. I had osso bucco, which was fabulous; it is rare to find a restaurant that will offer his dish, and even more rare to detect the signs that the traditional slow cooking preparation has been followed. Wife had delicious fiket mignonette with scampi, and loved it. Great wine list. We will return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always delicious and reliably good. Dino ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always delicious and reliably good. Dino is an excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner at Fandago. We chose some o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great dinner at Fandago. We chose some of the French dish and they were so authentic .

The service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place never disappoints. We come d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place never disappoints. We come down from Eastbay for lunch. Best sand dabs anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner had the rack of lamb and enjo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My partner had the rack of lamb and enjoyed it. I had the paella and was a bit disappointed. Their preparation seemed to lack saffron and was somewhat bland. Service was very good. We were in a small room with four tables that were very close together. Thus, some conversations around us were very intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This was the second time my wife and I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was the second time my wife and I have dined at Fandango and we have never been disappointed. The service and ambiance have been first rate and the food has been wonderful. All in all a memorable fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific sand dabs and salad! We'll be b ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Terrific sand dabs and salad! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Always delicious and consistent. Best pl ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always delicious and consistent. Best place in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience, the food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful experience, the food was fabulous as was the atmosphere and service. We will definetly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time here, probably last time Old ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

First time here, probably last time

Old refurbished house, small rooms, felt cramped

Food and service were OK

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My filet was perfect and the salad perfe ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My filet was perfect and the salad perfectly dressed! They obviously train their servers well, it's always a fabulous experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great family dinner!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great family dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous dinner, great service, couldn't ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fabulous dinner, great service, couldn't have asked for anything tone better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat here every time we visit PG. hav ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We eat here every time we visit PG. have never had a bad meal, love the ambience, and service is always great. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and rood were great. Don't sit ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service and rood were great. Don't sit in the old living room in the middle table by the fireplace at sunset. The Sun was blinding, but they closed the curtains when requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful setting and structure inside a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful setting and structure inside and out. Mediocre service, our waiter didn't tell us of the specials, we had to ask for butter, we were in a lovely corner but out of the traffic enough to be overlooked by the waiter and host. Food inconsistent, great sweetbreads but bad cassoulet........almost all beans. Overall an acceptable experience but poor attention by staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Love Fandango's

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love Fandango's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Whenever I visit Pacific Grove, it is a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Whenever I visit Pacific Grove, it is a must for me to eat at Fandango. I love the small rooms, the warm welcome and the attentiveness of the waiters. Their menu is varied, but I always opt for the lamb chops. I can't speak to much else as I tend to get the same item each time I visit. The lamb is always cooked to perfection for me, never rare, but medium on the inside and cooked well on the outside...keeps the juice in. I enjoyed this with a wonderful glass of Pinot Noir. My dessert was profiteroles, lovely cream puffs with coffee ice cream inside and whipped cream on top with drizzles of chocolate sauce. I left a very satisfied customer. I may try one of their other wonderful menu items next time I visit (but I doubt it - I can't pass up the lamb!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fandango is a gem. It is consistently ex ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fandango is a gem. It is consistently excellent- food, service, ambiance, cocktails. We had the sand dab appetizer- the best sand dabs we have ever had, and we've had quite a few. They were so good we ordered anther plate of them! The onion soup is excellent, and so is the surf and turf. This is a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.