Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today
Special offers available. See details

Falansai

4.6
17 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Vietnamese
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good Vegetarian Options
  • Good for Anniversaries
Falansai in Brooklyn, New York, serves three menus of Vietnamese cuisine. For lunch, you'll have a number of street food options. At dinner, we serve home-cooked Vietnamese comfort food. On the weekend, you can enjoy Vietnamese brunch with cocktails. A number of items on all menus are influenced by French and Chinese fare.

There are a number of vegan dishes at Falansai. However, everyone else should consider trying the seafood pho. This MSG-free house specialty comes with crab, shrimp, and calamari. Any pho can also be augmented with different sauce options from around the world like Mexico, Southeast Asia and Peru.

We now serve Vietnamese Brunch on weekends, including savory Vietnamese crepes, and caramelized pork belly on Vietnamese grits, cooked in coconut milk. Enjoy Falansai cocktails, such as the Drunken Master with boba, Ranalita, or I-Viet Coffee. In the summer our garden with water lily pond and mural is open.
Dining Style
Home Style
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Vietnamese, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 11:00 am–4:00 pm
Lunch
Tue–Fri 11:30 am–3:00 pm
Dinner
Tue–Thu, Sun 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm–11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(347) 599-1190
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Henry Trieu
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Porter Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of street parking especially after 6pm.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Morgan Ave stop off the L Train
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Take your dad to Vietnamese Brunch and Cocktails, including Caramelized Pork Belly with Vietnamese Grits, cooked in coconut milk, and a Drunken Master drink.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 17 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Really nice spot. The food isn’t as saucy as east village spots but still worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was great and the overall experience made the night special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2015

Great and there's tons of variety. Worth the trip and easy four groups.

Would suggest sharing a bunch of small things.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

Great location only 2 blocks from subway. Nice atmosphere, attentive staff, nice food selection from appetizers to entree and dessert. Would go again and would recommend to friends if in neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2015

The service is fabulous and the food is even better. Don't hesitate.

PS not fancy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 19, 2014

My review was based on lunch, and the dining room had just one other patron.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2014

This place is small and quaint and the atmosphere is very pleasant. The service is great this was my husband and I second time coming and the waitress remembered us which was very nice. The food is absolutely delicious I know we've stumbled into a real gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2014

This place has great cocktails, a wonderful bar scene with a fantastic bartender! Our server was also excellent and the food was divine to say the least. We came to celebrate my mom's birthday and we will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 3, 2014

Fresh, great flavors/combination of spies! The iced coffee reminded me of the time I spent in Vietnam. Service was delightful. We will definitely be making this a regular on our list of favorites in the neighborhood!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2014

We picked Falansai because we were going to be nearby. Having eaten there we will travel back to Bushwick just to go there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2014

Such a cute place. Delicious food, great wine list and really reasonable prices. Also appreciated that we didn't have to shout to hear each other - which is rare!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2014

Recommended by a friend my husband and I tried it out. It was a great recommendation. Upon entry we was welcomed and seated immediately. The service was great and the food was awesome. The only thing that was not all that great was the desert. I oredered the chocolate mousse with candied ginger. It was hard and not to good. Luckily I ordered the vietimese coffee with the cake which tasted beautiful. I would recommend anyone to go here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2014

Lovely mood, an oasis in Bushwick, we were able to make a last minute reservation on a Sat night. Quiet with French lounge music being played, perfect because we had our 72 yr old Dad with us so noisy is no good. It did get louder after two large parties arrived but it was from voices and ambient sound; not music being blasted so you have to scream to be heard. Excellent, friendly service, our waitress was great making recommendations with food/wine. My husband loved the Shaking Beef, my Dad loved the Mama's Ginger Chicken which they made mild for him; I had the Kung Pao Calamari which was very good too (my fault for selecting a dish with baby fish which turned out not to my personal taste) and we shared the Dad's Shrimp Rolls, also yummy!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2014

We found this restaurant browsing Open Table, and deciding to give it a try for a Valentine's Day dinner. Don't be fooled by Harrison Place which is populated with warehouses, it has a great restaurant on the corner. We were pleasantly surprised, and totally satisfied with Falansai. The food was not only reasonably priced, but it was delicious! The service was excellent, and our servers treated us like we were guests in their home. It is a charming little spot that I'll definitely be visiting again, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for exceptional Asian food in Brooklyn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2014

I had read a few reviews of this place and decided to take my partner and some friends there for his birthday. We are total foodies and trekked out from the upper west side. The food was outstanding - really delicious and it was not super noisy like most places. It was the perfect place to take a group. Outside of the food being really amazing the service was great and it was really reasonably priced. I will definitely go again and it was well worth the trip. I highly recommend Falansai. It was not crowded and I guess no one has caught on yet what amazing food this place has!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2013

Though only a couple of block from the train station, this place is off the beaten path as the street is mostly warehouses.
We started our dinner with an excellent pinot from their pretty extensive wine list. We enjoyed the Dad's shrimp roll with tofu skin. The Shaking Beef was very succulent cubes of beef that had a nice smoky flavor. We also had the kung pao calamari with little dried fish which exploded with flavors. The lemongrass tofu was simple but was quite tasty. We ordered more food than could finish and had them packed. We skipped the desserts (looked interesting). Service was warm and efficient. The place had an soothing and foreign vibe with its turquoise hue and the eclectic cabaret like music. We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 17, 2013

It's tough to say as we eat vietnamese cuisine pretty regularly and the prices here seemed a bit high; none-the-less the appetizers were pretty good - Chicken Wings and Imperial Rolls. The Papaya salad left something to be desired. Our entrees left us both scratching our heads too: Crab w/ Glass Noodles and Kung Pao Calamari. The latter was certainly interesting, to say the least. I think it would only be fair to watch the evolution of this restaurant, over the next 6 months - give them a year or so to get their feet beneath them - and check back to see how they have progressed. As of now, all we can say is that they are very sweet people, with great intentions.

Report
Helpful

Tweets by Falansai