About Faith & Flower

705 W. 9th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

Faith & Flower is a contemporary Los Angeles restaurant located in the WaterMarke Tower in DTLA’s South Park district. The restaurant’s name pays homage to the two major renaissance periods—the 1920s and modern day—that have fundamentally shaped the Downtown Los Angeles community, with “Flower” referring to the street on which the restaurant lies today, and “Faith” for the street’s alleged name during the early 1920s.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm


Bar

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Flower

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 239-0642

Website:
http://www.faithandflowerla.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Faith & Flower, Los Angeles, CA
Faith & Flower, Los Angeles, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Faith & Flower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Cozy (8)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Tapas (7)
Private Room (7)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Do not go here if you are hungry. They w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Do not go here if you are hungry. They warn you ahead of time that this is a "sharing" restaurant. Well, I don't know about sharing portions that are the size of a teacup and not at all cheap! The ambiance is lovely albeit noisy with the high ceiling, the service was good but not a place where I would return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

A lovely dining experience. We really en ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

A lovely dining experience. We really enjoyed the steak tartare, bone marrow pasta and pork chop. Our desert was delish too, a Greek yogurt panna cotta

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is beautiful and the food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is beautiful and the food was outstanding, drinks were great as well. The bummer about this place is the service. We were there on a Saturday afternoon, it was not that busy. Had to wait over 20 minutes before anyone took our drink order. The food (again, really good) came out separately for all three of us, although they did apologize for that and brought over a free appetizer. When we all had our food we ordered another round of drinks just because we were afraid the waitress would not return  If you have a lot of time and don’t mind waiting you should check it out everything was delicious, just need the right frame of mind to go there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Wonderful ambiance and very creative dec ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and very creative decor. Food is designed to be shared and each dish was wonderful. The cocktails were awesome and creative as well. Peter was our server and he was very attentive, helpful on both dishes to order and wines and was a delight. Highly recommend Faith & Flower!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very pleasant surprise after we went t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A very pleasant surprise after we went to the Broad Art Museum. Deviled eggs, seafood risotto, half chicken, and broccoli were all delicious in order I have listed. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An easy favorite restaurant. Food is ve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

An easy favorite restaurant. Food is very good, service is friendly and the ambiance is nice. Favored dishes are the steak tartare, seafood risotto and oxtail with marrow butter; excellent. It's shared plates and we ordered 6 small and entree sized items which was a good amount for three of us. There was some lag time in service on my last visit, but other than that the meal was well-received by my guests. One guest did not like her cocktail so ordered something else. It would have been nice if the wait staff would have removed the undrunk drink from the tab, as I believe is custom, but a small quibble.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible experience. It was my son's 32n ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Horrible experience. It was my son's 32nd bday and was very disappointed. Price point was high for what you get and a foodie so I know what good food is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great vibe, unique but not radical menu. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great vibe, unique but not radical menu. Family style presentation made for great group dinner and fun experience. Different without trying too hard to be so. Will definitely be repeat diners here.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere however service and foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great atmosphere however service and food was surprisingly subpar. Came here with a group of friends right after the LA auto show and was really looking forward to our brunch however it was not nearly anywhere as good as we had expected based on other reviews. My wife's bourbon pancakes and my prime beef Picadillo were certainly something we can make it home very easily. My friend who was unable to get his eggs made to order to his preference of over hard ended up spending a ton of money for simply having eggs and side order plates of bacon. To be fair if I'm around the area again for lunch or dinner, I would hope to not have the same experience. For now, the two stars are most appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Second visit and we love the ambience, s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Second visit and we love the ambience, service and food. We ordered the persimmon and chicory salad, kanpache ceviche, seared trout, and tagliatelle. All were unusual, but the flavors blended beautifully. Must try the English Milk Punch--a drink of the year award winner. The hazelnut chocolate feuilletine with port for dessert was a perfect ending. It's our favorite downtown LA spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great brunch! The service was a li ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a great brunch! The service was a little slow in the beginning. Our whole party wasn't there but we were waiting a very long time to be greeted by our waitress and get water. The food was delicious and the mimosa was amazing. The Eggs Benedict pizza is a must try! Valet parking is $9 with validation pretty typical for Downtown and saves a lot of time instead of driving around looking for street parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great lunch spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great lunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was just ok. My expectations were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was just ok. My expectations were much higher. We sent back a broccalini dish that tasted very fishy. My fish was undercooked & had to be sent back & it took a very long time. They brought out another dish & then quickly whisked it away... saying they had to remake the dish. Our rib eye was expensive & not what expected.. it was in a lot of sauce.. taste was just ok.. not worth the $...

Our waitress Erica was very soft spoken & very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Had a wonderful lunch with colleagues an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch with colleagues and a potential recruit. I would definitely go back - great menu, service and ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Faith & Flower never disappoints especia ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Faith & Flower never disappoints especially when it comes to service! Whenever I am in LA I make a point of heading there - it's a little expensive but it's worth it for the unpretentious staff who makes you feel comfortable and treats you like you're family but special all at the same time!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite place to eat in LA. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is my favorite place to eat in LA. The food is amazing. Darwin is one of the best bartenders in LA. The bar is hip and fresh. Jared the sommelier is one of a kind. I look forward to conversation with Jared and Darwin every time I am in town. Great people. The Servers and bussers service makes the great food even better. Everyone is very knowledgeable about what you are being served. We stayed for 3 hours for dinner and after dinner drinks at the bar. Thanks to everyone at Faith and Flower!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Def go, ambience is perfection.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Def go, ambience is perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great experience, attentive service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience, attentive service and excellent food! Ask for the wine advisor to help you with a perfect pairing... you won't be disappointed for sure. A++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were there on the earlier ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I were there on the earlier side so the lighting/ambience was on the brighter side. They dimmed the lights as we were leaving around 7:30pm setting the mood. Appetizers were very good. I ordered the kanpachi ceviche and my wife ordered the roasted carrots. Cocktails were well crafted. Entrees were prepared well. My wife ordered a wine and we didn't like it. So, the sommelier brought over a wine tasting based on our appetites which was unexpected. Faith & Flower will always be a go to in downtown's ever evolving food destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing bar service, drinks delicious... ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Amazing bar service, drinks delicious... food stood out! Attentive and high end table service... beautiful decor and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent again, great somme ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Service was excellent again, great sommelier, however the music was too loud and made it difficult to talk across the table

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about our experience was wond ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything about our experience was wonderful. The food was phenomenal and the "family style" plates were perfect for our group of 4. The sommelier helped us discover our new favorite wine which paired perfectly with our food. The server was friendly and quick, and answered all of our questions! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jessica was great. Helpful on the menu a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Jessica was great. Helpful on the menu and attentive to seating desires. Food was good...scallop ceviche serving was too small and tempura green beans was too large. Find a even compromise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place. Great food. Service was spo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place. Great food. Service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here for several times only for aft ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Been here for several times only for after office drinks and this was the 1st time I had dinner. (Party of 3)

English Milk Punch - 5/5 topnotch, always my fave.

Deviled Jidori Eggs - 5/5 got this for free, just by checking in thru Yelp.

NY Steak Tartare - 5/5 perfect!

Brocollini - 2/5 too salty for my taste buds

Jerk Marinated Chicken - 4/5 it's tasty but nothing out of the ordinary

Shellfish Risotto- 4/5 tasty but a little bit salty

Smoked Trout - 5/5

Hazelnut Chocolate Feulletine - 4/5 not too sweet, washed off any after taste that the Risotto left on my taste buds

Our bill was pretty expensive compare to it's sister resto Terrine for a party of 6. But if you ask me, I will choose to dine at Faith & Flower again. Their service was impeccable and our server had that genuine smile. ( I have to go through the receipt to get her name though )

The food was not really exceptional but the service was.

**BTW, the open table "tab" didn't work out. we had to use other means of payment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was AMAZING!!!!! Service was i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was AMAZING!!!!! Service was impeccable And extremely attentive and friendly staff!!!! Best little secret in Downtown Los Angeles!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top trendy for its own good. Food ok. Co ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Top trendy for its own good. Food ok. Concept is weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food, mediocre service. Had to ask ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, mediocre service. Had to ask more than once for sugar for tea, refills on coffee. Food came out in pieces rather than all at once. Had to hunt down server to order more drinks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was fantastic and the service was s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was fantastic and the service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hat mir recht gut gefallen, schön innen, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Hat mir recht gut gefallen, schön innen, essen war nicht so meins aber ist geschmacksache

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Kampachi, agnolotti and grilled pork ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The Kampachi, agnolotti and grilled pork chop were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a celebratory breakfast with my coll ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had a celebratory breakfast with my colleagues there today. The service was really great!! Had the pancakes and bacon. It was awesome. Also had mimosa. Go check it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I brought my in-laws here ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I brought my in-laws here for Sunday brunch and we were blown away! The service was impeccable, the ambiance was beautiful and the food was delicious. Monk was our server and he was wonderful and gave our group fabulous recommendations.

Albacore Carpaccio 9/10 This dish was fabulous and had wonderful flavors. It was served with house made potato chips-- AMAZING.

Eggs Benedict Pizza- 9/10 The pizza was so well cooked and had a beautiful, deep smokey flavor with every bite. Since not everyone was a fan of hollandaise sauce, we ordered it on the side. It was perfect.

Kimchi Cornbread- 9.5/10 Unexpectedly my favorite dish. I was the only one in the group who likes kimchi, but everyone LOVED it. The kimchi flavor is incredibly subtle so you would not notice it unless you were really looking for it. It was sitting in a plate of smoked mozzarella fondue. So incredibly moist and delicious.

Prime beef picadillo 7.5/10- I didn't care for this dish, but others in the group really liked it. Compared to the other dishes, I was underwhelmed. The beef was well cooked but the rice seemed a bit soggy.

Iberian Style Frittata 7/10- This was a good, basic frittata, but again, compared to the other dishes, I wasn't super impressed. There was nothing very memorable about the dish.

Greek Yogurt Panna Cotta- 8.5/10- If you like yogurt or other non-savory desserts, get this. It has a beautiful, light, refreshing finish. It is served with a yuzu granita, which I though was very innovative and delightful.

Fried Apple pies- 8.5/10- This dish was served with three mini-pies in a bowl of thin vanilla custard. The pies were coated in cinnamon and sugar and filled with a delicious apple pie filling.

Overall, such a fantastic experience and a great place to take out of town guests or to celebrate a special occasion. I can't wait to go back to try dinner!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

There are relatively few good restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

There are relatively few good restaurants in this part of downtown and this is a welcome addition. The dishes are unique and well made. The service is prompt and careful.

The restaurant is large and seems to attract many large groups. There is something dissonant about the atmosphere - as it feels a bit like going to a large chain restaurant (Cheesecake Factory perhaps) and not to a smaller, more intimate chef-driven location where you might expect a menu like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A bustling Downtown L.A. "scene" restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A bustling Downtown L.A. "scene" restaurant that is (almost) spoiled by its own popularity. After being seated in the back room where there were two boisterous millennial birthday parties were happening, it soon became clear that we would not be able to enjoy the meal for the DEAFENING noise level, which not much better in the main dining room. The service was very professional and friendly and the food was quite delicious, but the first courses took way too long to come out of the kitchen. I might go back here to eat at the bar by myself, but if you want to have a normal conversation with a friend over dinner, you'll have to find somewhere else that doesn't have the decibel level of a NASCAR racetrack.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The food was wonderful. Very creative. W ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was wonderful. Very creative. We sat outside which was warmer (AC was too high inside) and quieter. We shared all the dishes. Really liked the devilled eggs and the oxtail pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I needed a place for a business dinner w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I needed a place for a business dinner with someone attending a conference at the JW Marriot / LA Live. It's only a short walk from LA Live. Our server was great--very knowledgeable and appropriately opinionated. The atmosphere was great--lively but not loud. We took our time with really nice cocktails The food was excellent--we shared carpaccio, a kale salad, the oxtail agnolotti and jerk half chicken. Every dish was great. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first visit for a lunch date with a f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

My first visit for a lunch date with a friend. Cocktails we're delicious and beautifully presented. The dishes were delicious. Service was great and friendly and very attentive. Will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful service, we are lots of small ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful service, we are lots of small plates. The lemon tagliatelle was my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for a Sunday Brunch, the m ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were there for a Sunday Brunch, the menu and food are just awesome, highly recommend it. The kimchee cornbread is amazing. On and on, order everything! The room is also beautiful. Great place for a long foodie brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.