About Faith & Flower

705 W. 9th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

Faith & Flower is a contemporary Los Angeles restaurant located in the WaterMarke Tower in DTLA’s South Park district. The restaurant’s name pays homage to the two major renaissance periods—the 1920s and modern day—that have fundamentally shaped the Downtown Los Angeles community, with “Flower” referring to the street on which the restaurant lies today, and “Faith” for the street’s alleged name during the early 1920s.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm


Bar

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Flower

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 239-0642

Website:
http://www.faithandflowerla.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Faith & Flower
Faith & Flower

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Faith & Flower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (89)
Special Occasion (86)
Romantic (62)
See All
Hot Spot (54)
Good for Groups (54)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Great for Lunch (35)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing. The décor was per ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing. The décor was perfect . Really became one of my favorite restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced. Need to diversify their menu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overpriced. Need to diversify their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

nice ambiance, modern, well lit, tables ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

nice ambiance, modern, well lit, tables well spaced, low noise level; food more than acceptable, nothing exceptional but good food at decent prices; on-sight valet parking; good for lunch, I suspect good for dinner but was only there for lunch

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place! The sommelier, Jare ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love this place! The sommelier, Jared, really knows his stuff and is happy to assist you in selecting something delicious. Server's are knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is simply terrific. The co ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food here is simply terrific. The combinations are imaginative and totally original. You will not find a menu like this anywhere else in the city. Pricey? Yes, a bit. But well worth it for a unique dining experience. Music is a little loud. Wait staff is a little harried. But the staff is also extremely good natured and helpful. Don't miss it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The deviled eggs were awesome. The bone ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The deviled eggs were awesome. The bone marrow pasta was also delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great vibe, food and most approachable s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great vibe, food and most approachable staff I've seen downtown!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Eh. I've been here plenty of times for l ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Eh. I've been here plenty of times for lunch and it's a very different experience at dinner. For starters, I walked into an empty restaurant and somehow the hostess managed to sit me at the most uncomfortable long table. That long beige tufted bench is not comfortable and since they had several nice booths available, like, maybe 5 nicer seating options, it's unclear why I was sat in such a bad option.

Also, they sat 3 other tables very close to us, so the empty restaurant actually sounded packed. The hostess also recommended that we order 5-6 plates "sharables" and that was very confusing as the prices on all of these plates are $$$. We ended up ordering edamame and deviled eggs and drinking 1 glass of wine that alone was $15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Fantastic food. Small portions to share ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fantastic food. Small portions to share but certainly flavorful. Creative drink menu. Good wine selection. Worth it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wise, I wasn't impressed. I didn't ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food wise, I wasn't impressed. I didn't find one particular dish to be great and everything tasted very one note. The drink was worth coming for. To me, this was just one of those place to hang out after you've eaten. Not to mention I think the items are overpriced for the quality of the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious food, great atmosphere. Went t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food, great atmosphere.

Went there on a Friday for happy hour then dinner but it turned out that there is no happy hour on Fridays. Restaurant's website wasn't clear about that. I think website needs to be more consumer friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was just okay. I felt like I was wa

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was just okay. I felt like I was wa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Staff was overwhelmed for Sunday brunch. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Staff was overwhelmed for Sunday brunch. Took 45 minutes to get order and they forgot one person's food. Server then "rushed" order. We cancelled reorder after another 30 minutes. Food is very good but service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Love this restaurant! Food and service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love this restaurant! Food and service are amazing. Especially the wine director Jared hooper-- he was so knowledgable and easy to discuss things options with. Would definitely go back! He was the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had to take an early reservation as t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had to take an early reservation as that was all that was available (our fault for booking last minute) and we requested something quiet. We were seated under a speaker and when we left, about 35% of the tables were empty/had not been sat while we were there. Not including outside which we didn't know was an option. It was our first time at F&F and had high hopes from the reviews. The food was very good but the wine selection didn't measure up. The service was very good but because it wasn't so busy, I don't think we had more than 30 seconds without someone coming to the table to do something. But guess it's better to have too much service than not enough. I think F&F might be more suited for big groups than romantic evenings. Or maybe going to the bar. That looked quite nice. At some point, we will give it another shot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Our food experience was terrible. Excep ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our food experience was terrible. Except the raw bar(oyster), every thing was super salty (seafood risotto, trout, including the salad!) .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was lacking when we visited this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was lacking when we visited this past Sunday. We asked for hot sauce after receiving our food but it took forever. I was almost half way done with my meal before they brought out the hot sauce. Plus, it took forever to get our check. For the price of the meal, the ambience of the place, and the high reviews that this place was given on Yelp & on different blogs, this place did not deliver. Will not be recommending this place or will be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Waitress totally ruined our experience! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Waitress totally ruined our experience! Our group of five wanted to order the Pork Porterhouse for each as the main course. She explained the portions were quite large and after several failed objections from the attendees, she insisted on putting in an order for just 3 "you can order more if you want." Three in the group are French and two visiting from Paris (last night) - and are big eaters. There was just not enough food, because the porterhouse cut has a large portion of bone - which she neglected to mention when showing the size of the meat via hand gesture! They did not want to have to order more - they wanted what they wanted. One friend actually left the table in disgust during the ordering process. I spoke with the Floor Manager and told her how upset we were and demanded the entire meal be comped - which she did along with a sincere apology and offered her card, saying to please contact on the next visit; she would be sure to take care me. General Manager tried to make amends by offering shots - but all we wanted to do is leave. Upsetting and totally unforgivable. I've never encountered such arrogant behavior in any restaurant in this country or other - ever! It was my third visit however, doubt I will be returning any time soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Overal wonderful experience. The cocktai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Overal wonderful experience. The cocktails were delicious and potent. The milk punch was unique and an experience in itself. Days later, the food is still a topic of discussion and only good things are being said. The Kim chi deviled eggs, the house made pastas, showgirl peppers and so much garlic. Every bite was a hit.

Would recommend this place to any friend although it can definitely get pricey. Worth it to really knock a date out of the water.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was good but we feel like some ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was good but we feel like some were a bit overpriced. But we can't get over how great the experience was with the Leap of Faith drink and the Baked Alaska. It made for a really fun experience and birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place in Downtown LA for lunch and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great place in Downtown LA for lunch and dinner - menu choices creative and fun. lots of sharing opportunities in the small plates try the tartare...and the pork chop! great service and value

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great. The sitting was okay ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was great. The sitting was okay. Decor is pretty. Prices were expensive though for the value.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love this restaurant. My only complai ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love this restaurant. My only complaint is it can get a little noisy

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I stayed in LA for one night at an Air B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I stayed in LA for one night at an Air BnB. The host recommended this restaurant and I was truly impressed. I made a reservation online the same day using Open Table to ensure we would get in. We came earlier than expected and had to wait for our table to be ready at the bar. The bar was very cool and the bartender was awesome. We loved every drink that we tried. Our table was ready right before our reservation time. We loved all of the food. The deviled eggs were fantastic and very different from any others that I've tasted. We also got and loved the Oxtail Agnolotti.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my dining exoerience at Faith ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I enjoyed my dining exoerience at Faith & Flower but I would love to see an expanded menu in the future. The options for dishes are not too many.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant is beautiful and the bar ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful and the bar program is wonderful. For the second time, Darwin at the bar gave us phenomenal service in addition to perfect drinks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We really enjoyed prior visits to F&F. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really enjoyed prior visits to F&F. But, our dinner there last Saturday was clearly an exception. The service was poor and rude at times. They messed up several of our cocktails, even after multiple tries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was top-notch. Our server was fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was top-notch. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food served in a vibrant busy ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious food served in a vibrant busy restaurant. Good service. Would go again on next trip to LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good service. Great skirt steak! Tempura ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good service. Great skirt steak! Tempura green beans were also fabulous.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Faith and Flower is a gem. A very hands ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Faith and Flower is a gem. A very handsome space, flooded with light and furnished with fanciful, kooky, yet swanky decor. It is upscale yet decidedly friendly and comfortable. Their shared plates style allows everyone in the party to enjoy a terrific variety of exquisitely- and creatively-designed and prepared dishes, from small starters to larger mains. We had an oxtail pasta which was creamy, slightly spicy and perfectly seasoned. We also had tempura fried green beans and a moist, perfectly cooked cod, with a crispy skin. All was perfect. We were seeing a concert down the street that night and they were profoundly attentive to getting us out on time. Our waiter, Zach, was exceptionally helpful, friendly and capable. Not the cheapest restaurant in town, but so worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and great service. Like t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fabulous food and great service. Like the OpenTable payment option.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were running behind on reservations ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

They were running behind on reservations and couldn't get us seated at first so we went to the bar. The bartender seemed like he was in a bad mood and was complaining to the people next to us about how much he was getting taxed. Checked in with the host 30 minutes later about getting seated and she seemed annoyed about it and to hold on because they were gonna get us seated in just a sec. Got seated along windows to right and was probably about 10 inches away from the two parties sitting next to us, so we could barely slide past tables to get to the couch. Food was absolute amazing but took forever and had to keep hailing over our server for everything. Came here to celebrate a birthday and made a note of this in the reservation and no one made any mention of it. Might come back for some delicious grub but the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Food and ambiance was great, but the ste ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and ambiance was great, but the steak was very expensive. A little too pricey for casual dining, OK for special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This place was exactly what I was hoping ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This place was exactly what I was hoping for. The food was amazing and it proved to be the perfect place for a romantic and "fancy" 4 year anniversary with my girlfriend. The space is well designed, the waitor was attentive. I am coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was excited to try this place but it w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was excited to try this place but it was lackluster in my opinion. Oysters didn't taste fresh and the drinks were overpriced. Milk punch was good, but not $16 good. Food was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall my experience here was very medi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall my experience here was very mediocre. The ambiance was nice but the fire alarm was going on for half of our meal and flashing (they did give us a free dessert but the waiter said this happens often). They were out of Mezcal for their own signature cocktails. The waiter (who was lovely) heavily oversold one of the members of our party on another drink and she didn't love and was very different than the suggestion she asked for. Finally, we ordered the "jerk chicken" which our waiter lavished on about but was actually not prepared jerk style, it was an anise soy glaze. Overall, if you're in the mood for "kind of a nice dinner" this place is definitely that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

It was good but not worth $30 a plate. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was good but not worth $30 a plate. I had the jerk chicken which was delicious and my girlfriend had the cod which was a 6/10. Also while we were there the fire alarm was going off for 3/4 of our time there. A low siren and a flashing where going on through our dinner.

Go to the Perch: better view, all the food was great, and worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Location is a bit tricky - valet took aw ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Location is a bit tricky - valet took awhile. Dinner was good, but took forever. I think they forgot our main fish dish until we had to ask what was taking so long. For salad and a few dishes the entire meal took 3 hours to complete..... way too long. The fire alarm was squealing for the better part of an hour - that didn't help!

Probably wouldn't go back to this trendy eatery.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a 6:30 reservation… But we were s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had a 6:30 reservation… But we were seated at 6:50. We were told by the hostess we could not stand in front of her station and we need to go to the bar. The bar was completely crowded with no place to sit or stand without crowding other diners. They were busy. Once seated, we were told it would be best to order nothing from the grill in order to make our show by 8:00 pm. The waitress was right... Even ordering salads we barely made it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.