About Faith & Flower

705 W. 9th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

Faith & Flower is a contemporary Los Angeles restaurant located in the WaterMarke Tower in DTLA’s South Park district. The restaurant’s name pays homage to the two major renaissance periods—the 1920s and modern day—that have fundamentally shaped the Downtown Los Angeles community, with “Flower” referring to the street on which the restaurant lies today, and “Faith” for the street’s alleged name during the early 1920s.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm


Bar

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Flower

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 239-0642

Website:
http://www.faithandflowerla.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Faith & Flower
Faith & Flower

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Faith & Flower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (115)
special occasion (95)
romantic (68)
See All
hot spot (67)
good for groups (64)
neighborhood gem (48)
vibrant bar scene (38)
great for brunch (38)
notable wine list (34)
great for lunch (28)
great for outdoor dining (21)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have never walked out of a restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have never walked out of a restaurant before this but my experience was very unpleasant. I was very excited to take my mother here for lunch for a mother/daughter day. We were kept waiting for close to 30 minutes even though a lot of the tables were empty! I still have no idea why were kept waiting for that long!

When we finally got seated a lady came by to "apologize." I understand that the lady was trying to apologize but if I express my unhappiness to her and the feedback I get is "That's why I'm here" it makes you question if the apology is sincere. This whole experience was a waste of my time and I would have wished a better experience. Although, I was given a 10% coupon for my next visit, I highly doubt I will be returning anytime soon especially after paying valet parking for nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were actually about 10 minutes late f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were actually about 10 minutes late for our reservation due to traffic, but the hostess and (I believe mgr) was very accommodating and put us on a wait list. It wasn't a long wait until we were seated. We can tell that it was very busy and possibly short staffed but the mgr seemed to be helping out the floor staff and did the best to meet everyone's needs. we did have to wait a while to receive the drinks besides the water that was given. If was unfortunate that they were out of the original dish we wanted to try, but the food came swiftly and we were checked upon multiple times. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and wanted to thank the staff for handling a busy Sunday brunch with grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Sunday brunch with a friend's college ag ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday brunch with a friend's college age daughter was peaceful--too peaceful. I understand that no one particularly wants to work the first Sunday shift, but at noon having one waiter working both the bar and the tables near the bar was not enough. The bus staff pitched in, but when we had to wait an hour after we came in to get our first, cold, dish, and then half an hour longer for a couple of hot brunch dishes, plus another half an hour for a forgotten side dish, we weren't interested in seeing if we could get dessert. The place wasn't empty, but it wasn't crowded, either. Reminders to check on our food were taken cheerfully enough, and we didn't make a fuss, but it was just too long. I wondered if the kitchen was understaffed.

We had:

Albacore carpaccio with fennel and radish: good, solid product, nothing outstanding but nothing unexpected at $17

Eggs benedict: promised smoked trout and trout eggs, but looked and tasted like smoked salmon and salmon eggs; could have been mistaken on the smoked fish, but definitely not on the fish eggs; still good if overpriced at $20 for the pair

Prime beef and eggs: sold as their version of steak and eggs, but it was ground beef, so more like beef hash; mediocre at best, and overpriced at $17

Roasted asparagus: good, with an odd sauce including fragments of cooked egg white that looked like chopped bits that might have been trimmed off the poached eggs, but again, not sure that 6 spears were worth $12

For the prices charged, the lack of service was inexcusable; I've never had slower. As I wasn't sure where the fault lay, I still tipped decently, but I'm not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The brunch here is fantastic! You can g ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

The brunch here is fantastic! You can get oysters and champagne or huevos with chorizo. I have searched for a great Belgian waffle reminiscent of my first experience at the Worlds Fair...I found it here!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I like the decorations of the restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

I like the decorations of the restaurant. less choice of Brunch, I will come back to try regular dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

When friends come to LA I ask, "do you w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

When friends come to LA I ask, "do you want to eat LA?" If yes, Faith & Flower would be my spot of choice. It's close enough to LA Live to walk, and I would come here for a pre-concert meal at Disney Hall (a few subway stops away).

The food was fantastic: I convinced my son to get the eggs Benedict pizza, which was awesome, and my Grandmother 's chorizo hash was delicious. I could have eaten the bourbon pancakes without syrup!

My only disappointment was not being able to partake of any adult beverages; that will be on the to-do list next time! Our server and the hostess were personable and responsive; that made our brunch even more enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance. Tasty food. Trendy resta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance. Tasty food. Trendy restaurant and location in DTLA. The food was amazing, but served in tapas style - tiny, tiny servings. You will leave hungry. Not a great vegetarian selection. The oxtail agnolotti was amazing as was the scallop ceviche. They have a "milk punch" rum beverage that sneaks up on you but is light and refreshing and just amazing...especially considering I don't normally drink rum! I think this restaurant would be best with a large group so you can try tons of dishes and not go broke doing so.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great food, great service, great ambia ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

great food, great service, great ambiance, clean / nice bathroom , will come again for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, fancy set-up, pricey, service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, fancy set-up, pricey, service was a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for brunch on Saturday. Menu was li ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for brunch on Saturday. Menu was limited but my food was good. The place is extremely well decorated. Love the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Wonderful service! Knowledgable staff wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service! Knowledgable staff with a great atmosphere and a terrific food and wine menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beautiful decor. the room in the back wo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

beautiful decor. the room in the back would be amazing for a private party. food was good, had the kanpachi ceviche appetizer which was delicious. portions were on the smaller side but came for dineLA lunch so maybe that's why. overall very pleasant experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Love the sommelier Jared!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love the sommelier Jared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing. The sommelier w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was amazing. The sommelier was incredibly helpful. We loved the Dine LA menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and great deal for DineLA. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food and great deal for DineLA. Would return again for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the waiter was initially friend ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Although the waiter was initially friendly and helpful. The food took more than 45 minutes to come out. Our waiter did not check in with us, apologize or offer any updates about the wait time. When we asked what was happening our food "magically" appeared. It is worth revisiting and maybe a strong suggestion to the waiter to check in with his tables, even if it's not his fault the food is coming out of the kitchen slowly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Waiter must have been on casting calls b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Waiter must have been on casting calls between dishes. Took over 2 hours. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was really enjoyable but everyt ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was really enjoyable but everything came out so slow. We had a total of four starters. The first two came out really quick but the last two came out two minutes after, then our food another twenty minutes after that. I had to ask what happened to our other plates and what was the hold up. Server told us that the registers were down and they're was a hold up. I felt he should of came up to us initially and told us that so we weren't waiting around. Not only that but our server didn't check up on us often or really fill us in with drink/food wait times. Restaurant is really beautiful inside food menu is great. All the delays just ruined my overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

A shout out to the cocktails and the amb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A shout out to the cocktails and the ambience. Definitely a lot of art deco feel to the place. We had the chance to taste the restaurant week menu. It was a generous menu, which offered 2 appetizers, one entree and one dessert for each person. Between the four of us, we ended up getting pretty much the whole menu. The notable dishes included the NY Strip tartare, the deviled jidori eggs, the shellfish risotto, and the pork porterhouse, and the strawberry and rhubarb (which I thought was the best pairing of the menu). Definitely a great spot and will return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow! $385 for four and it was worth it. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wow! $385 for four and it was worth it. Not the cheapest option in downtown LA but if you have an important dinner this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server,Erica E,enhanced our dining e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server,Erica E,enhanced our dining experience. She was able to articulate each menu item with great detail. A most pleasant lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hip restaurant with great food. Service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Hip restaurant with great food. Service was a bit stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Beautiful decor. Fun Atmosphere. VERY ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful decor. Fun Atmosphere. VERY creative menu. Delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

UnFoodiebelievable food, drinks, and ser ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

UnFoodiebelievable food, drinks, and service. Had dinner with an old friend and when we dine we like try all the popular items to see where our tastebuds fall in relation to the general population-geeky foodies I guess. Anyway, this place is on point with it all and our waiter Zak was the cherry on top in his stellar service and deadpan comedic timing. When, not if, you go have the albacore appetizer, the melon salad, the chicken, and the ok tail, and any beverage on the long list that the server recommends- but my fav was SheSoEasy. Sip slowly, breathe deeply, and enjoy immensely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit and we were ple ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised. F&F serves small shared plates to allow everyone to try different dishes. . We started with the green bean and a crispy prosciutto salad, next they brought our pork tenderloin with Cavatelli, and finally the ribeye with risotto. All were delicious. We ended with the baked Alaska - which was much too much for three guests! Our only complaint would be the service. The timing of dishes was slow and the risotto came out much earlier than the meat, which we had to inquire about, so our risotto got a bit cold. Great place for a group to gather to eat & drink!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We'dheard the buzz about Faith & Flower ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We'dheard the buzz about Faith & Flower when it opened, but hadn't made our way up from OC to try it. We met friends from the East Coast for a long-awaited get-together on a Sunday evening. The food was delicious, especially the albacore carpaccio, and the atmosphere just right. We weren't rushed by the servers, so we were able to share food and talk for several hours in comfort. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was absolutely terrible - everythin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was absolutely terrible - everything was extremely too salty or too bland and there was not even one dish I enjoyed so that by dessert time, my party had no interest in trying anything else on the menu. The cost was $340 (including gratuity) for 4 ladies who shared the $74 24 oz rib eye (salty), cod (bland), oysters, risotto (bland), etc, among other popular items on the menu. I would expect excellent food quality for this price. The restaurant itself is beautiful but I can't see it staying around for long with the food served-- especially with all the other great options in LA. We leftover much of the food and I went home hungry and had a piece of toast! I also had stated on my reservation that we were celebrating a birthday and although it was acknowledged at check-in, our waiter made no mention of it during dinner. We won't be returning...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Our server was really, really wonderful. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was really, really wonderful. She gave great recommendations, was very attentive, was really responsible. Food was tasty and imaginative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What can I say, the chef at Faith and Fl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What can I say, the chef at Faith and Flower has designed a menu to delight and enthrall the naive to sophisticated palate!!! There is nothing bad on this menu! From cocktails , wine list Brews available - the ordered courses to the delectable dessert fare - run to Faith and Flower for a terrific dining experience right in the heart of Downtown LA!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, excellent service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great restaurant, excellent service and wonderful dishes. Even though they are shared plates, portions are hearty and delicious. Don't skip dessert, they have an excellent menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Faith & Flower is a great restaurant if ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Faith & Flower is a great restaurant if you are looking for a nice upscale restaurant experience, fit for a date or a special night out, in the heart of downtown. I enjoyed the food here, and especially enjoyed the ambiance, but felt the service was a bit 'overbearing' for lack of a better word. Also, the value for what you pay I felt was poor, but this unfortunately is the norm for DTLA restaurants.

My wife and I sampled and enjoyed a few items, and we were impressed with the taste, freshness, and quality of the food.

My major complaint was the service basically hovering over our table, waiting to whisk away plates and utensils the moment it seems we might be done. To quote from an article in the Washington Post (The Most Annoying Restaurant Trend Happening Today):

"When a server clears a plate before everyone is finished, he or she leaves the table with a mess of subtle but important signals. Those who are still eating are made to feel as though they are holding others up; those who are not are made to feel as though they have rushed the meal. What was originally a group dining experience becomes a group exercise in guilt."

I would suggest to Faith & Flower to cool off on the hyper-attentive service, as it can be a bit detracting to the experience.

Other than that rant, I did enjoy my experience and would hope to dine there again. I will reserve it for special occasions as the food is good, but everything is quite expensive and doesn't carry a lot of value. The setting is elegant, and really lends itself to a comfortable and pleasant dining atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Food was quite good but brought to the t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was quite good but brought to the table in a random order which was confusing and difficult for wine pairing

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The drinks were great but the food was t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The drinks were great but the food was too salty. We were barely checked on to see if we needed our waters or drinks refilled, and although the restaurant didn't look full, it took a long time for our food to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The overall experience was good! Food wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The overall experience was good! Food was good, service was good. We felt like we lost our waiter and had to wait for the next dish and drink at one point but then he came back after a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceptional food along with attentive se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Exceptional food along with attentive service from the entire staff. Get your plates to share. Flawlessly timed course delivery. The ambiance is perfect for groups. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience food-wise; howeve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Had a great experience food-wise; however, it was a bit marred by a few unforeseen circumstances:

- Firstly, it was a birthday reservation. Yet none of the wait staff seemed to have acknowledged it. We loved our waitress, but was surprised that somehow slipped her mind too.

- Secondly, the 30% gratuity charge for 4 people. Our waitress certainly deserved a high-tip, but this was pre-calculated into our overall bill without prior notice. Think this charge should only be applicable to parties of 6 or more.

- Thirdly, tried paying with OpenTable Tab with my promo code. Didn't go through at all, even after switching to my debit card. I've used the app successfully for two other transactions which went smoothly. The GM, though well-mannered and sweet, didn't attempt to do much to rectify the issue and instead blamed OpenTable on the faulty transaction.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

An absolutely fantastic experience! Will ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

An absolutely fantastic experience! Will return often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

bit overpriced for the food, but always ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

bit overpriced for the food, but always enjoyable. we got lucky with a table not too loud.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food had potential, but it missed on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food had potential, but it missed on key points. An appetizer dish that is supposed to be spicy as part of its profile but lacks the spice and is primarily sweet. The other problem was that a pork chop if said to come out medium, should indeed be medium, not medium rare. The wine list is good, has something for everyone. The bar is cool, and they know their business.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good place for dates and group setting. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good place for dates and group setting. Nice ambiance. Food was good, some were ok. Drink menu looks good. Service was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.