About Faith & Flower

705 W. 9th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

Faith & Flower is a contemporary Los Angeles restaurant located in the WaterMarke Tower in DTLA’s South Park district. The restaurant’s name pays homage to the two major renaissance periods—the 1920s and modern day—that have fundamentally shaped the Downtown Los Angeles community, with “Flower” referring to the street on which the restaurant lies today, and “Faith” for the street’s alleged name during the early 1920s.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm


Bar

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Flower

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 239-0642

Website:
http://www.faithandflowerla.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Faith & Flower
Faith & Flower

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Faith & Flower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (109)
Special Occasion (101)
Romantic (71)
See All
Good for Groups (67)
Hot Spot (64)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Notable Wine List (35)
Great for Brunch (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for a Date (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overal wonderful experience. The cocktai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overal wonderful experience. The cocktails were delicious and potent. The milk punch was unique and an experience in itself. Days later, the food is still a topic of discussion and only good things are being said. The Kim chi deviled eggs, the house made pastas, showgirl peppers and so much garlic. Every bite was a hit.

Would recommend this place to any friend although it can definitely get pricey. Worth it to really knock a date out of the water.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was good but we feel like some ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good but we feel like some were a bit overpriced. But we can't get over how great the experience was with the Leap of Faith drink and the Baked Alaska. It made for a really fun experience and birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place in Downtown LA for lunch and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place in Downtown LA for lunch and dinner - menu choices creative and fun. lots of sharing opportunities in the small plates try the tartare...and the pork chop! great service and value

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great. The sitting was okay ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was great. The sitting was okay. Decor is pretty. Prices were expensive though for the value.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love this restaurant. My only complai ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love this restaurant. My only complaint is it can get a little noisy

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I stayed in LA for one night at an Air B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I stayed in LA for one night at an Air BnB. The host recommended this restaurant and I was truly impressed. I made a reservation online the same day using Open Table to ensure we would get in. We came earlier than expected and had to wait for our table to be ready at the bar. The bar was very cool and the bartender was awesome. We loved every drink that we tried. Our table was ready right before our reservation time. We loved all of the food. The deviled eggs were fantastic and very different from any others that I've tasted. We also got and loved the Oxtail Agnolotti.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my dining exoerience at Faith ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I enjoyed my dining exoerience at Faith & Flower but I would love to see an expanded menu in the future. The options for dishes are not too many.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This restaurant is beautiful and the bar ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful and the bar program is wonderful. For the second time, Darwin at the bar gave us phenomenal service in addition to perfect drinks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We really enjoyed prior visits to F&F. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really enjoyed prior visits to F&F. But, our dinner there last Saturday was clearly an exception. The service was poor and rude at times. They messed up several of our cocktails, even after multiple tries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was top-notch. Our server was fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was top-notch. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food served in a vibrant busy ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious food served in a vibrant busy restaurant. Good service. Would go again on next trip to LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good service. Great skirt steak! Tempura ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good service. Great skirt steak! Tempura green beans were also fabulous.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Faith and Flower is a gem. A very hands ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Faith and Flower is a gem. A very handsome space, flooded with light and furnished with fanciful, kooky, yet swanky decor. It is upscale yet decidedly friendly and comfortable. Their shared plates style allows everyone in the party to enjoy a terrific variety of exquisitely- and creatively-designed and prepared dishes, from small starters to larger mains. We had an oxtail pasta which was creamy, slightly spicy and perfectly seasoned. We also had tempura fried green beans and a moist, perfectly cooked cod, with a crispy skin. All was perfect. We were seeing a concert down the street that night and they were profoundly attentive to getting us out on time. Our waiter, Zach, was exceptionally helpful, friendly and capable. Not the cheapest restaurant in town, but so worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and great service. Like t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fabulous food and great service. Like the OpenTable payment option.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were running behind on reservations ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

They were running behind on reservations and couldn't get us seated at first so we went to the bar. The bartender seemed like he was in a bad mood and was complaining to the people next to us about how much he was getting taxed. Checked in with the host 30 minutes later about getting seated and she seemed annoyed about it and to hold on because they were gonna get us seated in just a sec. Got seated along windows to right and was probably about 10 inches away from the two parties sitting next to us, so we could barely slide past tables to get to the couch. Food was absolute amazing but took forever and had to keep hailing over our server for everything. Came here to celebrate a birthday and made a note of this in the reservation and no one made any mention of it. Might come back for some delicious grub but the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Food and ambiance was great, but the ste ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and ambiance was great, but the steak was very expensive. A little too pricey for casual dining, OK for special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This place was exactly what I was hoping ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This place was exactly what I was hoping for. The food was amazing and it proved to be the perfect place for a romantic and "fancy" 4 year anniversary with my girlfriend. The space is well designed, the waitor was attentive. I am coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was excited to try this place but it w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was excited to try this place but it was lackluster in my opinion. Oysters didn't taste fresh and the drinks were overpriced. Milk punch was good, but not $16 good. Food was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall my experience here was very medi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall my experience here was very mediocre. The ambiance was nice but the fire alarm was going on for half of our meal and flashing (they did give us a free dessert but the waiter said this happens often). They were out of Mezcal for their own signature cocktails. The waiter (who was lovely) heavily oversold one of the members of our party on another drink and she didn't love and was very different than the suggestion she asked for. Finally, we ordered the "jerk chicken" which our waiter lavished on about but was actually not prepared jerk style, it was an anise soy glaze. Overall, if you're in the mood for "kind of a nice dinner" this place is definitely that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

It was good but not worth $30 a plate. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was good but not worth $30 a plate. I had the jerk chicken which was delicious and my girlfriend had the cod which was a 6/10. Also while we were there the fire alarm was going off for 3/4 of our time there. A low siren and a flashing where going on through our dinner.

Go to the Perch: better view, all the food was great, and worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Location is a bit tricky - valet took aw ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Location is a bit tricky - valet took awhile. Dinner was good, but took forever. I think they forgot our main fish dish until we had to ask what was taking so long. For salad and a few dishes the entire meal took 3 hours to complete..... way too long. The fire alarm was squealing for the better part of an hour - that didn't help!

Probably wouldn't go back to this trendy eatery.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a 6:30 reservation… But we were s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had a 6:30 reservation… But we were seated at 6:50. We were told by the hostess we could not stand in front of her station and we need to go to the bar. The bar was completely crowded with no place to sit or stand without crowding other diners. They were busy. Once seated, we were told it would be best to order nothing from the grill in order to make our show by 8:00 pm. The waitress was right... Even ordering salads we barely made it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great for dinner before a Staples concer ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great for dinner before a Staples concert. You can walk to Staples!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meal and service was great. When we rece ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Meal and service was great. When we received bill, we decided to split it in half.

The following day my friend's CC was charged twice. My CC has normal charges.

Faith and Flower is investigating.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, ambiance very nice an ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service was great, ambiance very nice and such a cool place. Very good for business dinners, group outings or dates. The only thing was that while we were there the fire alarm was going off the whole time from the apartments upstairs and the fire alarm was flashing a bright light that was very dizzying the whole time. It was very distracting and I could not fully enjoy the ambiance of the place. Apparently this happens a lot. Also, we had a reservation and still had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Stopped by before a show at the Staples ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Stopped by before a show at the Staples center - good that we allowed 90 minutes before we needed to leave as the meal took that long to complete without dessert. The food was exceptional and there were lots of great options on the menu to pick from for Tapas. The oxtail pasta option must be had. The atmosphere is super cool and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal from start to finish. I just wish we had a bit more time to try out the dessert menu as that sounded amazing too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food takes too long to serve.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food takes too long to serve.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Faith & Flower is one of my favorite men ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Faith & Flower is one of my favorite menus. Their NY Steak Tartare is one of the best tartares around... Trust me, I've tried a lot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to a lot of high-end de jour r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I've been to a lot of high-end de jour restaurants. This place provided the least amount of food for the most amount of money, and the taste was not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The decor is beautiful. The dishes were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The decor is beautiful. The dishes were well executed. They have very unique cocktails and a laid back brunch. I would recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was such a lovely experience! The spa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was such a lovely experience! The space is absolutely beautiful and the service was excellent. Our table was cleared promptly and everyone was pretty good about making sure we had enough water etc. the dishes were excellent. We will definitely come back again. 😀

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great whiskey cocktail

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and great whiskey cocktail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Went during Dine LA week. There were 4 o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Went during Dine LA week. There were 4 of us for dinner. We tried the Dine LA Prix Fixe menu.

We shared 8 appetizers, 4 entres and 4 desserts. SO MANY dishes and all of them were great! Definitely the way to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at Faith & Flower was exce ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My experience at Faith & Flower was exceptional. The staff was very friendly and accommodating from the front desk to the bussers. Food was delicious, and the wine list was very impressive, as was how friendly the sommelier was in giving recommendations for our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for dineLA and the food was am ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Came here for dineLA and the food was amazing. The place is beautifully decorated. I highly recommend the Seafood Risotto and the Steak Tartare, so flavorful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have never walked out of a restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have never walked out of a restaurant before this but my experience was very unpleasant. I was very excited to take my mother here for lunch for a mother/daughter day. We were kept waiting for close to 30 minutes even though a lot of the tables were empty! I still have no idea why were kept waiting for that long!

When we finally got seated a lady came by to "apologize." I understand that the lady was trying to apologize but if I express my unhappiness to her and the feedback I get is "That's why I'm here" it makes you question if the apology is sincere. This whole experience was a waste of my time and I would have wished a better experience. Although, I was given a 10% coupon for my next visit, I highly doubt I will be returning anytime soon especially after paying valet parking for nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were actually about 10 minutes late f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were actually about 10 minutes late for our reservation due to traffic, but the hostess and (I believe mgr) was very accommodating and put us on a wait list. It wasn't a long wait until we were seated. We can tell that it was very busy and possibly short staffed but the mgr seemed to be helping out the floor staff and did the best to meet everyone's needs. we did have to wait a while to receive the drinks besides the water that was given. If was unfortunate that they were out of the original dish we wanted to try, but the food came swiftly and we were checked upon multiple times. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and wanted to thank the staff for handling a busy Sunday brunch with grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Sunday brunch with a friend's college ag ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Sunday brunch with a friend's college age daughter was peaceful--too peaceful. I understand that no one particularly wants to work the first Sunday shift, but at noon having one waiter working both the bar and the tables near the bar was not enough. The bus staff pitched in, but when we had to wait an hour after we came in to get our first, cold, dish, and then half an hour longer for a couple of hot brunch dishes, plus another half an hour for a forgotten side dish, we weren't interested in seeing if we could get dessert. The place wasn't empty, but it wasn't crowded, either. Reminders to check on our food were taken cheerfully enough, and we didn't make a fuss, but it was just too long. I wondered if the kitchen was understaffed.

We had:

Albacore carpaccio with fennel and radish: good, solid product, nothing outstanding but nothing unexpected at $17

Eggs benedict: promised smoked trout and trout eggs, but looked and tasted like smoked salmon and salmon eggs; could have been mistaken on the smoked fish, but definitely not on the fish eggs; still good if overpriced at $20 for the pair

Prime beef and eggs: sold as their version of steak and eggs, but it was ground beef, so more like beef hash; mediocre at best, and overpriced at $17

Roasted asparagus: good, with an odd sauce including fragments of cooked egg white that looked like chopped bits that might have been trimmed off the poached eggs, but again, not sure that 6 spears were worth $12

For the prices charged, the lack of service was inexcusable; I've never had slower. As I wasn't sure where the fault lay, I still tipped decently, but I'm not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The brunch here is fantastic! You can g ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The brunch here is fantastic! You can get oysters and champagne or huevos with chorizo. I have searched for a great Belgian waffle reminiscent of my first experience at the Worlds Fair...I found it here!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I like the decorations of the restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I like the decorations of the restaurant. less choice of Brunch, I will come back to try regular dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.