Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Fairview Dining Room

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: (919) 493-6699

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Great for Brunch (41)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (28)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Afternoon Tea (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Scenic View (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Live Music (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Historic (8)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Vegan (3)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Seating was appropriate. Interesting menu. Seemed that other guests included date nights, families, and birthdays. Service was super, kept checking on us. Wife got cool, and they brought her a blanket - which she loved. Live piano player was very good. Will certainly be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The brunch food and especially the dessert bar are excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Restuarant did a great job accommodating my group on Father's Day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is thoughtfully done and well presented. The value for the three course dinner is outstanding. The customer service is always professional yet personable. We always enjoy our experience at the Fairview. The only reason I gave a four star on the value category is that I feel the wine list is overpriced for the "house wines". I would love to see more value options here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I was very disappointed with the eggs Benedict. They were overcooked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I highly recommend Dinner at Dusk for a quiet, relaxing meal. The attentive staff and tasty chef's creations made my parents' anniversary dinner one to remember, and definitely a place to plan on for future events.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Really disappointing. I took my husband to Fairview as a birthday dinner and told the hostess and the waitress this was special. We were there on a Tuesday night and it wasn't busy, but our waitress seemed like she couldn't be bothered with us. She left for long periods of time and frequently checked on the only other table on the patio without even speaking to us. She asked if my husband wanted his salad and his soup together, which he did. The soup cake put but no salad, so he asked for it and then she brought it out. All of this pushed back our steaks being brought out and she asked if he wanted it with the salad. So now our steaks are sitting under a heat lamp. It was all overdone since it was sitting out. Then instead of comping dessert, she brought out a dessert after we ordered a similar dessert with a candle on it. Clearly it was an afterthought. I just don't get it. She wasn't particularly friendly but she could have been more responsive. She made what should have been a celebration into an expensive hassle where we both left feeling ignored. We will not return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This is perhaps the best value fine dining in entire triangle. Great food, wonderful presentation, fabulous service, beautiful surroundings.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a delightful experience when I took my mother for a special birthday lunch. Everything was delicious, staff were top-notch, and the piano player played "Happy Birthday" when our waiter brought my mom a special birthday dessert complete with candle: Mom felt like a queen. I can't imagine a nicer destination for a celebration!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

As they say ......"When it comes to love and age..it"s never too late"
When it comes to cozy and classy ambience ...it"s never to late to experience the Fairview restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went for brunch with our mother-in-law during Triangle Restaurant Week and had a lovely time. She was impressed with the impeccable service, the creative food presentation, and the perfectly cooked meal. Everything was just perfect!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fairview Dining Room is a amazing experience in upscale dining. The location is scenic, historical, elegant, and romantic. I am so grateful to Triangle Restaurant Week for providing an affordable way to experience this priceless, memorable opportunity to enjoy fine dining at its best.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our first visit and definitely won't be our last! Fairview is very lovely and has a wonderful, upscale atmosphere. The menu is creative and the food is delectable. The service is top notch. It was a memorable day experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great overall experience. The food was exceptional and the service was also.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dining at Fairview is always a wonderful experience. Both the food and the service are consistently stellar. We always look forward to this dining experience......simply the best!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Fairview and Bull Durham Bar is a unique destination for drinks, dining, and relaxing. The views of the golf course from the patio and inside are picturesque. The service is great in the dining room. The menu is interesting and flavorful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a very disappointing lunch last Saturday. Maybe it was because of Restaurant Week but at a place this nice, that should not have happened. First the hostess told us to wait in the room nearby in a shrill tone. Then the servers left us without napkins through half the meal when one member of our party requested dark napkins. Next they forgot to serve a glass of prosecco and last of all, the coffee service came after we finished dessert, and we were poured half a cup. Too many bad things during one meal. Fortunately, the kitchen is dependable and everything we ordered was fine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch after my son's high school graduation. Service is always gracious. Kids love the all you care to eat desert bar. The shrimp and grits were outstanding. Other members of our party enjoyed the eggs benedict, the french toast, and the waffles with fried chicken! With beverage, starter, entree, and endless desert covered in one price, this is our favorite brunch location. Live piano music is very pleasant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Went for restaurant week. They offer a $15 lunch which is an excellent value. It is a smaller portion of items off their regular menu. The service this time was a bit confused but friendly and quick to correct mistakes.

The soup arrived with no spoons.

i ordered French dip sandwich but a chicken sandwich arrived. Fairly quickly they brought the right thing but the frites were undercooked just a bit. I had to ask for ketchup.

I was never offered a refill on tea but flagged a passing person who brought it.

The dessert sampler was a nice finish without being too much. Overall the value is still there for their inexpensive restaurant week offering.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was one of the finest dining experiences I have ever enjoyed. Fairview Dining Room hit all the bases: excellent food and menu choices, Outstanding wines and wine list, Truely outstanding service at each stage of the meal. Treat yourself to an exception dining experience and try this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I've been here for Tea and had an incredible experience, but dinner didn't quite impress me or any of the friends I was with. The dessert was amazing but I wouldn't go back for the food. Pork was way way too undercooked for a white meat and salmon was crispy and dry. The ambiance can't be beat, just wish the food measured up.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Delightful lunch in elegant setting. Very quiet with excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

As usual, the Fairview Dining Room was very good. The grilled salmon was delicious. Always enjoy feasting there. Anytime we dine at the Fairview, it is a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Awesome! Great food, service was excellent and relaxing and great atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were meeting friends after a day at Duke Medical Center for a meeting with my wife's doctor. We were staying in the hotel, and just wanted a good meal with friends after a trying day. The food was great and the service was very good as well. If you are in the area, or staying at the Washington Duke Inn, you must have a meal here. It is well worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was an unusually mediocre experience at this fine restaurant. My wife's eggs Benedict were under cooked in the English muffins were totally soggy and my steak was way too salty. Unfortunately our server never came by to check on the quality of our meal so we were not able to request a correction

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The ambience and service was excellent. The strawberry and spinach salad and desserts were delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Six of us enjoyed lunch over a discussion meeting. Fernando, our waiter, was prompt, on the spot with menus, drinks and filling drinks. Our seperate checks came in a timely fashion and while we continued to talk for a few minutes longer, no one rushed us out.

The ambiance and service most appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We chose the Fairview for a graduation dinner. It was a beautiful day and we sat on the patio. Just beautiful, delicious food and attentive service. Worth the money. They did not rush us and the tables were not overcrowded. So we were able to talk and enjoy our special occasion. Would go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The dining room was beautiful, and the waiters were very courteous. I'm glad I brought my family to eat here!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Service started off fine but went downhill prior to entree being delivered. Food was barely warm therefore had to return it. Manager was very helpful and removed the charge from our bill. Unfortunately, this was a birthday celebration that was disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

12:45pm reservation, our server keep forgetting to bring tea !( after he asked us what we'll like to drink! ) so I've ask for coffee instead, ( temperature of the coffee was Luke warm , not good .) Dessert stations: some of the pies , need to be refreshed with new one , few messy slice with some crumbs left over . Need to keep up with refresh.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Poached eggs were hard-boiled, but rest of Benedict was cold. Wait for water. Finally had to ask for bread. Chicken so over-fried and dried out. Music so loud we couldn't hear conversations. We are taking this place off our list. Sorry, because it is really a pretty site.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Have had both good and fair service and food at the Fairview. This time the service was slow, seating selection by hostess was very poor, food was overcooked. On prior occasions it was fine. They were busy but still does not excuse the slow service and poor hostessing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have had several negative experiences with the waiter Diego. He often puts me down, and is rude to me when he serves me (I have eaten with him 7+ times). Last night he was rude that I had not ordered more food and a dessert, and asked me "is that ALL you're ordering?" He later told my friend not to share his dessert with me because I didn't order one of my own. It was passive aggressive and made my experience less than enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Went with friends, who had never been there, for our birthdays and they were enthralled with the whole dining experience. Unfortunately, I made the reservations for 3 and said we were celebrating 2 birthdays, when I should have said 3 (they're twins), so we all shared two candles.

We had a wonderful time and would hope to do it again for next year's birthdays.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I have dined at the Fairview many times, but this was the first time the meal was so disappointing.

There was a very extended delay between the 1st course and our meals. When the meals did arrive, they were not up to standard. The grits were awful! Bland without any flavor or seasoning. The table must have used the whole shaker of salt on the grits. The eggs benedict were cool and the hollandaise sauce was congealed. We had to ask for more, but it did not help. The meal went half eaten. She was very disappointed. The dessert table did have some good choices, the berry crisp was nice.

We will return, but disappointed over all with this meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a terrible restaurant! The service was below a regular one dollar sign restaurant. We asked for bread three times before it was brought to us, and we had to ask a different server! Then he brought one small basket of bread for a table of 13 people. What? He asked us to finish the basket before he can bring more. What kind of outrage! This was embarrassing for me to host the business meal. Then he went around tripping over chairs and clanking around with silverware. Not only was service slow, he served us one dessert short that was included in the set menu, and we had to ask him to come back again a third time (AFTER THE CHECK WAS SIGNED AND HE TOOK THAT AWAY TOO) so he can practice counting with us. How humiliating. Would not recommend for anyone to go through the high bucks torture.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Ambiance is Good. Excellent menu and impeccable service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This place is always amazing, from the food to the service. I highly recommend it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.