About Fairview Dining Room

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: 9194936699x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Durham
6 More
Best Service
Durham
Best Ambiance
Durham
Best Value
Durham
Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

special occasion (98)
romantic (56)
fit for foodies (46)
See All
great for brunch (46)
good for groups (36)
great for outdoor dining (33)
great for lunch (32)
scenic view (32)
notable wine list (22)
neighborhood gem (15)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Piano interferred with conversation

Dined 3 days ago

The 6 of us were seated in an alcove to ourselves, which we thought would be great for conversation. That hope was short lived when the nearby grand piano came to life. In fairness, our ears are 70+ years old. The other patrons were likely less challenged. Next time we'll be sure to ask about the seating and hope to be able to hear without straining someone sitting across from us without their raising their voices. Somewhat marred an otherwise very nice dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service wonderful food, than ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful service wonderful food, thank you Shahb and the kitchen staff

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special occasion

Dined 5 days ago

A relative I rarely see was in town, and i wanted to impress. Fairview Dining did the job, even for a diehard Carolina fan. Excellent service, innovative food, wonderful wines. Highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best of Durham

Dined 7 days ago

The ambience and the service were excellent. Great attention to detail. We were made to feel really special. Surprisingly the portions were larger than expected for a gourmet restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive Dining Experience

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We decided to try this country club restaurant when we spent the night in Durham, since the online menu had a sunset prix fix menu, which had some interesting choices. The restaurant has wonderful views of the golf course and grounds. Our server Nathaniel was extremely attentive. We had to ask the hostess for the prix fix menu, though, and thought it should have been given to us without asking. That was the only downside. For our first course, I enjoyed the shrimp and corn chowder and my husband liked his unusual nettle (herb) chilled soup. He enjoyed the sliced sirloin for his main entree, and I thought my salmon dish was well prepared and perfect. For dessert, we enjoyed a medley of small bites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We have eaten here before and enjoyed th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We have eaten here before and enjoyed the food very much. Our dinner was disappointing as it did not meet our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the Fairview Restaurant!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have eaten here many times. The filet mignon is delicious, as are any of the fish dishes that we have eaten. I would trust them on anything you order. The service is top notch, and the wine list is extensive. Often there is a piano player, who has happily played some requests for us. The atmosphere is quiet, the music is background. Our twenty-something children love it as much as we do! We have also gone for brunch and the brunch dessert bar is wonderful! The restaurant is not inexpensive, but we feel that you do get what you are paying for!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous graduation celebration spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family and I adored dining at the Fairview. The food was delicious but the real jewel is the phenomenal and attentive service. The small touch of a special dessert saying congratulations really put the evening on the map. Definitely recommending the Fairview to all of my friends for any upcoming events or even a nice dinner out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Teacher Appreciation Day

Dined on May 3, 2016

Thanks to Fairview Dining Room for recognizing Durham Public School teachers for Teacher Appreciation Day. I used this as a good excuse to take my mother out to celebrate her students' AP exam success. We had an early reservation and were able to take advantage of the 3-course early dinner special menu. The service was excellent. The food was interesting with unique combinations of local ingredients - my mother was especially impressed with the beet and potato side for her salmon. We were also pleasantly surprised with the chocolate mousse dessert - it tasted like it was garnished with maracuya, which was a lovely flavor to conclude the dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Wa Du Brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have eaten at the Washington Duke on several occasions and typically the service is spot on! However, this morning it was quite slow, the server was not particularly attentive; had to request coffee refills several times, was slow getting back with specific requests, coffee and soup were both lukewarm. The food, however, especially the divine dessert bar was, as always, excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2

We got a second floor room for about 20 ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We got a second floor room for about 20 guests. Drink, food, are expected level as usual. However, only 1 waitress served us. So it was so slow. At least one more serving guy should be there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Recently enjoyed an intimate dinner duri ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Recently enjoyed an intimate dinner during a Saturday early evening. Staff was professional and attentive. Food was reasonably priced and exceptional quality.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointed and some food unacceptable!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Took my grandson for him to enjoy a real dining experience. Disappointed! My chowder was passible but my shrimp-crab louis awful. Canned or popcorn shrimp, invisible crab meat, small piece of bibb lettuce. His 12oz New York strip was okay but he stated that he had had better elsewhere. He did like his shrimp cocktail (real shrimp ). For their reputation and $90.00+ tab I certainly expected better. You can spend your dining dollars better elsewhere./

food5
ambience5
service5

Can't recall having better service at an ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Can't recall having better service at any restaurant. Period. Truly outstanding. Five despite servers and the food manager bid us farewell calling me by my name each time as we left. A name they only learned of when we came to dine. Outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

The citrus salad was delicious. The blac ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

The citrus salad was delicious. The black bean burger was surprisingly large but the flavor was pleasing.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

A good experience

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed the setting at Fairview. We were staying in this beautifully set hotel on the campus of Duke University and we enjoyed our whole stay. The restaurant is in a beautiful setting and very romantic. The food was average, but the service was over the top. Overall we enjoyed our experience there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites

Dined on March 13, 2016

Always good food, excellent service, and a lovely setting. Great for special occasions but I really like to for lunches as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Chilean sea bass was perfect.

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Chilean sea bass was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanted evening

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Fine dining without being pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wanting, Hoping, Unfulfilled

Dined on March 9, 2016

We saw the reviews and nice pictures. We took a shot. Service was good, we were few tables there, so many servers coming around. Food was lacking. The steak was delicious, but the other entree was way over done.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Durham for food, service, and sc ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Best in Durham for food, service, and scenery! Executive Club membership is a bargain

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with out of state friends

Dined on March 6, 2016

I can only give the Fairview Inn superlatives. Food,ambience, and service were great. Our friends enjoyed the evening and found it to be a highlight of their visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Samantha was a great server.

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Samantha was a great server.

food5
ambience5
service5

Blown away by the ambiance of the settin ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Blown away by the ambiance of the setting. Did not know much about the Duke family, but the displays were educational. The food was superb, and made better by the fine service Denise provided. The total experience was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the best restaurant I have been ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Probably the best restaurant I have been to in Durham. Very classy old-style hotel dining room. Go early for the specials through 6:30 PM. A great $35 value with appetizer, entrée and salad. The winter salad with pomegranate and goat cheese was terrific. The rack of boar was surprisingly good cooked medium rare

food5
ambience5
service5

Literally the best brunch in the Triangl ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Literally the best brunch in the Triangle. Save room for the dessert bar, and when in season, the chocolate covered strawberries.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Elegant dining is hard to come by.

Dined on February 19, 2016

It is difficult to find a dining room that is elegant, serves good food, provides courteous service, and is quiet enough to carry on a real conversation. If that is what you are seeking, this is the place. We were seated too close to the back of the dining room, where there is some kind of informal eating space. We were subjected to young people running into us because they were absorbed with their phones. Flip flops, baggy shorts and loud chatter seemed inappropriate for that setting. Wish there were another entrance for them that didn't bring them into the elegance of the dining room. This was a birthday dinner and they were most gracious. They brought the celebrant a lovely dessert, which was appreciated. I'll be back .

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dining room

Dined on February 18, 2016

Recommend for special occasions. Food,service and ambience everything are great!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Great food, wonderful people, fantastic surroundings, and a beautiful view - makes for a comfortable dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Heart of Duke

Dined on February 4, 2016

My fiancé is a huge Duke fan and all around foodie. I wanted to choose something special for his 40th birthday and Fairview was perfect. Within the walls of the iconic Washington Duke Inn is this intimate dining experience with amazing fresh and local food. I have Celiac so we try and find places with at least 2 options (other than salad) for me and this gem had lots. The waitress was great at making recommendations for me and at dessert made sure to mention the offered gluten-free carrot cheesecake. I was in heaven! The food and service was amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional - Enough Said

Dined on January 31, 2016

In a word - FANTASTIC. Food, ambience and service were all stellar. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic first visit to Fairview

Dined on January 31, 2016

The service, food, and atmosphere were extremely enjoyable. It seems well worth the time and cost to return anytime outside of Triangle Restaurant Week.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Fairview-Food Excellent/Service-less than Fair

Dined on January 31, 2016

My husband and I ate at the Washington Duke (Fairview Dining Room) last Saturday night during Triangle Restaurant Week. Their Restaurant Week menu was excellent. There were 6 appetizer choices and 6 entree choices. The food could not have been better! Everything we ordered came out attractive, perfectly seasoned and served at the correct temperature. The low country jambalaya was delicious! That said, for a restaurant at this price point, with a quiet, romantic ambiance and beautiful surroundings the service was really awful. We had 3 or 4 different servers and although they were each professionally dressed and professional in manner, they never to got the correct order to the correct person and never managed to refill anything with out being asked.....bread, butter, water, coffee,etc. The restaurant was about 2/3rd full but the waitstaff just seemed overwhelmed. The food was so great I truly hope Fairview Dining Room get this issue ironed out as I see by many Yelp reviews that this is an ongoing problem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on January 30, 2016

Came to the Fairview Dining Room for a Saturday brunch. One of the best brunch menus around. Nice selection and great quality. Great coffee and tea selection and the dessert buffet provides the sweet finish to a perfect meal. We were entertained by the soft piano music of the talented Mr. Paul Holmes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent food, particularly good offerings for gluten free and vegan diets. The seating was comfortable and there was lovely piano playing throughout the evening. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

We went to Fairview for lunch because of the Restaurant Week offer, and we had a very nice experience. The place is so elegant, and the staff members were very nice and accommodating; however, some of the servers did not seem to match the sophistication of the restaurant - a couple of them could not readily explain the menu items we had questions about.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

We loved our dinner, my husband had the aged New York Strip and it was amazing. The sea bass was wonderful!! Nice wine list, very comfortable seating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Somewhat disappointing...

Dined on January 28, 2016

Restaurant Week is a zoo and some restaurants do better than others in responding to the crowds. At Fairview the food was a bit dry--especially the desert--as if it had been prepared well in advance.

food4
ambience4
service4

Restaurant Week visit. Good value for e ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Restaurant Week visit. Good value for excellent food. Wine prices did seem inflated. Great service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great favorite!

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

These guys do everything well in great surroundings. Easy to relax and feel pampered.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.