About Fairview Dining Room

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: (919) 493-6699

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
See All
Romantic (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Cozy (17)
Afternoon Tea (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Scenic View (11)
Historic (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fireplace (7)
Live Music (6)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

Food is spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food & good wine selection. Cocktails are always excellent as well. We love coming here for the ambience and good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a reservation at the Fairview for Valentines Day. The food was amazing. They had a live pianist playing all sorts of songs ranging from contemporary to lovey romantic ones. They had a specific Valentines Day menu that was a 4 course meal. Wine was excellent. The price of the food was a bit on the expensive side; however, for a romantic get-away dinner, it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went to the Fairway Dining Room at the Washington Duke Inn for Valentine's Day. As usual, the food was excellent and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and amazing-good tastes in everything from the salad to the dessert!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great and service was spectacular as expected at a fine dining establishment such as this one. I asked that they do something special for my Valentine date and they managed to write her name into the dessert plate which was a hit.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What a lovely experience. My husband and I tried Fairview Dining room for the first time and we were so happy we did. We came up from Raleigh looking for a new place. We were delighted to find a quiet, old school restaurant with modern cuisine. Our meal was so delicious - the duck was incredible and the bison filet to die for!! Our server was great as well. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I had not been to the Fairview in 25 years, and that was for the Christmas Day Buffet, which I still remember as fantastic! The decor and atmosphere are formal and elegant and the service was excellent. My cocktail was well executed as was my dessert. Unfortunately, the entree, which was medium rare bison strip sirloin was so salty it was inedible. When my server inquired about it, I was honest with him and he rightly offered to bring something else, but because I was somewhat full due to a smaller stomach from gastric bypass surgery, I didn't want a replacement. He said he would pass my comment about it being too salty on to the chef. I did have vanilla ice cream & cafe latte for dessert - both delicious. The server did not offer to comp my entree, but I think the offer to substitute another entree was fair. I had looked forward to this dinner and attended a performance in Duke Chapel afterward, and was sorely disappointed in the flavor of my entree!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Menu was very very poor unexpected and very few choices no specials. Service was moderate to good all young people. Table itself , the structure was very poor shook and rocked all over the place. It took 3 people to fine manager. To tell him. He said he wishes we would have said something . !! Ok. Who wants to sit in 5 star table. . Them move after we have seated and started . Get it right before I sit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food..customer service ..excellent management ( special thanks to Manager James for wonderful dinning experience.

Sara..

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was so-so but ambience and service were superb.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

For Restaurant Week, the $15 lunch was the best deal going. Excellent food, and a delightful meal. This is an annual event; i am already looking forward to when it comes around again! It is also a great recommendation to the quality of the food on a daily basis, which is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our server was incredible. Very responsive and knowledgeable. Based on his service I would definitely return. However, there was a patron seated behind our table that was extremely loud in her conversations which made the ambiance a little less desirable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fairview dining is always such an enjoyable experience. We feel pampered, enjoy amazing food, live piano music & top notch service. Definitely, one of our favorite dining experiences.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Never disappointed with dining at Fairview! They were very accommodating for our group of 9 ladies and, as always, the food and service were excellent! Everyone was very pleased with the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent food, amazing service and great atmosphere was what greeted us for our lunch at Fairview. Will definitely go back, and will keep in mind for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Fairview is really resting on whatever shrivelled laurels it still has and to a certain extent relying on a captive audience that now has many more choices. The decor is outmoded, and the food extremely average. We went for the Triangle restaurant week, which has a short, good value lunch menu. Now, I know that the average client of the Fairview is well over 60 (by the looks of it) but if I wanted to attract a younger clientele - something that is necessary if you want to survive in Durhams burgeoning restaurant scene - I would make the calculation that younger or first time visitors (I am both) might try it out first with this menu. A discounted menu is not an excuse for so-so cooking, it's an opportunity to do great things with cheap ingredients. This place did neither. I went to try it out, as I'd heard it was an upscale dining experience, and sometimes it's nice to have a 'white tablecloth' experience. If it had been any good I would have been back many times. As it was I will not go again. The service, although some staff were inexperienced, was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Lovely ambiance for special birthday lunch. The Triangle Restaurant Week menu was impressive and delicious. Our only challenge was initially-undercooked fish, which the waitstaff and kitchen quickly corrected. Very nice place for lunch, especially by the windows.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My colleagues and I went here for lunch during Triangle Restaurant week and had a wonderful meal. It is fancier than we would normally do for a work lunch, but during Restaurant Week we got a 3 course lunch for $15, so that was a good deal. The food was delicious, creative, and filling. The atmosphere is upscale, but in a southern comfortable sort of way.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Beautiful dining room. Food was good but service was not up to expectations. It was a busy night but a quality restaurant should always find a way to give top notch service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The Fairview Dining Rom is beautiful and elegant, as is the whole Washington Duke Inn. Service was OK, but our waiter spent a lot of time talking to a man in the other room, probably a regular. Food was almost too imaginative, with a hodgepodge of ingredients (often, less is better). For example, we had:

bison with: tarragon yukon gold mashed potato, vanilla fried onions,

caramelized red onion, benton’s bacon & brussels sprout sauté, demi-glace

nine spice duck breast*: baby vegetable confit, purple sweet potato, tricolored quinoa, scott farms sweet frîtes, plum duckling jus

Passionfruit cheesecake was excellent.

Sauces were too salty for us. I would still recommend trying it, since it’s such a lovely venue.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great Anniversary Dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The Washington Duke Inn Fairview Dining Restaurant has become a favorite quiet date night destination for us. Love the ambiance and when there's piano music. Great food - a nice treat! Wonderful, attentive service.

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful lunch with the ladies! We had the quiche and soup combo along with salmon entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything was excellent as usual but the head waiter 'hovered' too much. He was constantly walking by our table, looking, moving into see if all was ok, etc. Was actually a bit annoying. We felt 'rushed' even though it was not crowded at all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

While the service is not quite as finely tuned as past visits, the food remains excellent. The selection is broad from meats to poultry, seafood and vegan. The bison was s highlight/ perfectly cooked, tender and plated with amazingly tasty Brussel sprouts. The bar does a fine job of highlighting some excellent cocktails, wines and beers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The atmosphere at the Fairview was great. Being in a nice hotel, there was much better ambience overall than a restaurant within a strip-mall. They also still had all their tasteful Christmas decorations up through out the lobby and dining room. The food was also very good and they had nice selection of wine by the glass, beer on tap (and a full bar for any mixed drinks). Not sure why it never occurred to us to eat here previously before a movie/theater show in Durham - but we will definitely be back. We ended up here this particular evening because are standard favorite place had closed down (Four Square). This may be the new default for us for pre-show dinners.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Elegant and lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoying a wonderful brunch was a great way to start the new year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happy new year!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fairview has usually been a superb experience. However, on New Year's Eve when I was hosting dear friends who are quite knowledgeable about cuisine and wine, our service and hence most of the evening was a huge disappointment. Champagne was not served when requested and both the amuse bouche and appetizer arrived before the beverage. Courses were not hot and pepper that was promised never arrived. After several comments, things improved somewhat, although the attitude of the primary server did not. He blamed others, and then was clearly inauthentic in his quasi-apologies.

Given the choices we could have had for that evening, I regret that Fairview could not live up to its usual high standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food! Romantic atmosphere. Live piano music was really nice. It was New Years Eve and my wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal before going to see Cinderella. A little too pricey to be a regular spot for us but definitely a great location for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food beautifully presented and outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful. The perfect place for New Years lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As usual, my wife and I enjoyed our brunch at the Fairview. The atmosphere and service were both great, but I was disappointed in the fried chicken with waffles as the chicken was way too dry! Maybe dark meat would be a better choice for this meal?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Today's lunch at the Fairview was my first disappointment at this establishment. Not only was the black bean burger totally unmanageable as a "burger," it completely lacked any flavor. I had expected the mole barbeque sauce and the jalapeno jelly to be an interesting combination, but I have to wonder if the chef forgot to put it on mine as it was tasteless. I realize I declined the red onion, but I expected more than a few mashed black beans on a bun. It was curious that our service was unusually slow as well--we watched diners who were seated after us be served well before us. And, we had to point out to the staff that we were still waiting for our food.

As always, the atmosphere made the occasion and I enjoyed visiting with my family. I will give the Fairview another chance, but I would warn other diners the black bean burger is bland and tasteless and not the "AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rated" as their food is advertised .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Nice place, good service,good food,old school,good for Anniversaries.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

While the wait staff seemed to be doing their best, the food was quite slow coming out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been to the Fairview on Christmas for their extragavanza buffet. Pricey but so nice if you don't want to cook. But this was our first visit for their weekend brunch which also is pricey but offers an array of entrees and includes an appetizer and dessert table (really terrific!) The food was delicious and service superior. A great place for a special treat.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A delightful evening in celebration of my wife and my anniversary. Excellent, friendly service by four waitstaff. Delectable appetizer, dinner and desserts. Lovely Christmas ambience and live piano music.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A wonderful restaurant to go to for a Christmas lunch with my friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful, as always! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Lovely holiday celebration with some close friends. The experience was as close to perfect as I can recall. Excellent! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The place was lovely but the food was somewhat disappointing. We got venison and risotto, and both were fine but nothing to write home about. For the price, we were expecting something more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, great wine, wonderful service. Beautiful surroundings, excellent Christmas decorations and relaxing live piano. What more is there to say.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent meal for my daughters Birthday. Food was very good and ambiance nice for Christmas. Service was a bit slow but other than that a good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was great. Christmas Decorations were excellent. When I made the reservations, it stated I would earn 1000 points. I got an email today congratulating me on earning 100. Can that be explained to me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch with superb service, as always. A favorite spot for lunch and dinner, and always so festive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Always wonderful. Beautiful ambiance. Great food. Superb service. Everything is to the 9's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food (I love their 8oz filet mignon) and great staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.