Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Fairview Dining Room

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (23)
See All
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for a Date (16)
Afternoon Tea (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Scenic View (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Live Music (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The Fairview Dining Room never disappoints! They do breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner extremely well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Our friends recommended Fairview. After dining we sent them a big thank you. Place is very nice. Everyone loved their food. Service was too notch. If we are in the area again we will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

First time customer; took friends to lunch to celebrate his retirement. Found it a bit expensive but it was worth it for the occasion as the ambiance, service and food were all very good. We would go back for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

What draws us back to the Fairview is the lovely service--attentive and courteous. The food is perfectly fine but the staff is absolutely marvelous.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent presentation and service. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Delicious dishes. Creative presentations. Super, personalized service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was average. Service was poor. We had three different people waiting on us. They weren’t helpful. Sat us right next to the piano player could not hear each other. Dessert buffet at brunch was bad. Overall poor for an Anniversary brunch. I was embarrassed taking my wife there for brunch. Most likely we won’t be back for dinner. This was one of our favorite places in Durham for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a very nice time but there were just a couple of negatives: an order for a cup of soup was delivered as a bowl; the soup was supposed to be gluten free but had croutons in it; meat was request medium rare and came more medium well. They assured us that the bowl would only be charged as a cup. It did not happen. But they did provide a wonderful desert as a complimentary item. We would eat there again but not immed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This was expensive but worth the money. It's a great place to take your spouse/date for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent service and interesting seasonal menu additions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

WaDuke never disappoints, but it was a particularly gorgeous night to eat out on the terrace.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Wonderful staff and ambiance. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Although the bar was very busy when we arrived, the bartender did not rush us when asked for a special cocktail prior to our reservation time. The restaurant was quiet and the hosts were very welcoming. We were escorted to our table that was comfortably located and arranged. The service staff were extremely on point with the amount of attention given throughout the dining experience. When questioned about any food allergy needs, the staff was as helpful as one could expect reassuring that all needs would be fulfilled.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

From the moment our party of seven walked in, we were greeted with friendly, smiling faces
who immediately found our reservation and showed us to our table. The personal attention
continued throughout our visit and we were treated as special guests. There was a good selection on the menu and our entire party was pleased with the outstanding food as well as
excellent service. We will definitely plan more visits to the Fairview Dining at Washington
Duke Inn.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great outdoor dining over looking the Duke golf course. Great outdoor seating! Great service , food & wine!!! Would definitely dine here again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great old time elegant environment and the wait staff was impeccable

All in my party loved their food

Prices slightly higher than expected but worth every penny

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food: soup of the day and salads plus beef, pork, and seafood entrees. We were well taken care of, but sometimes the servers seemed oh so overly solicitous. Some might like that, but more moderation in that would be our preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had the Sunday Brunch, the shrimp corn chowder was excellent, the corned beef hash and eggs was in a tiny little appetizer size cast iron skillet, for $26 you would think that they can give at least and adult sized portion. Asked for piece of whole wheat toast and was charged $2 for one piece of toast, it should have been included in the price of the meal. Dessert table was out of a few items, good, but the variety was limited. Brunch came with a basket of four assorted biscuits, scones and a muffin. Total with a tip for three came to $107. It was our anniversary, we will find another nice venue to celebrate the occasion in the future. Coffee was included in the price of the brunch. I recognize that the Washington Duke Inn is a premier facility, however, there is a disparity between value for what was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great place for a group of 12 composed of parents and students! Incredible service and quality of food for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful lunch celebrating our friend's 70 th birthday. She received a special dessert and felt very cared for. Thanks for a great event

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We celebrated a business birthday lunch. The food was fabulous. Stephanie was our waitress, and she did a super job! Our honoree was very, very happy, and she felt very special! We all enjoyed a delicious meal! Thank you for a wonderful experience and a wonderful meal!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Terrific menu and Wine list. Wonderful ambience!
Waitress interrupted our conversation twice and I called her on that error the second time. She needs manners training and, if that fails, she should be dismissed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Terrific service! Food and wine were excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This was our first visit the the Fairview Dining Room and we were pleasantly surprised. It is not mentioned on Open Table that it is inside the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, so we had a bit of a time finding it. The food was delicious, though the meat was overlooked but they very quickly refired my filet. The most notable, however, was the exceptional service we received from the moment we entered the Inn and from every member of the staff. Thank you for introducing us to a local restaurant that we will now frequent!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious and relaxing brunch with three generations of family. Good choices for everyone. The staff accommodated a request not on the children's menu. The Sunday brunch features a piano player who entertained us with delightful melodies, but did not overwhelm our conversation. The staff was friendly and very attentive to our needs. There were a wide range of choices for lunch; the food was delicious, from decadent French toast or pancakes, to Florentine eggs Benedict, Norwegian salmon, and salads. The desert table had a wonderful gluten free peach cobbler as well as an assortment of little cakes and treats.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent staff, food, and facilities! Will certainly return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner, setting, and service. It was a fine choice for dinner on a special occasion. We will return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Celebrated our 13th Anniversary on 7-23-17. Kathleen was terrific and the whole staff communicated and interacted with unity. Other members of staff even wished us a Happy Anniversary. Chef was terrific and made our experience memorable. Lighting was romantic, music was subtle & perfect, and terrific ambience. Food was fresh and local. Dessert was delightful. It was if we were the only ones dining. Exceeded all of our expectations. Terrific venue I recommend for others. We dined on a Sunday evening and the attention to detail we were given made for a very special memory. We will be back but next time we plan on spending the night. Kudos to the whole team.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Consistently good, beautiful room and ambiance.
All of the courses were delicious and we lingered over coffee and good conversation where service was excellent but not intrusive.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fairview is elegance personified. Beautiful ambiance, amazing and creative menu, courteous and professional service. Lovely piano music on the weekends. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was very good. Service was great at the beginning of the dinner and slowed down once more tables were filled. The little extra's the chef provided were quite delicious. The noise level was a bit loud but that has more to do with the people sitting at the tables.
We would go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Expecting this to be a high priced restaurant due to the fact its located on the Duke university campus I was hoping for something more than what was received. Atmosphere is upscale. Service is mediocre, the food above average. This is not 5 star. 3.5 maybe.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing kale caesar salad. Couldnt be fresher or better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is an outstanding restaurant that certainly deserves it's 4-star, 4-diamond rating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I like this location because it is quiet and you can have a long brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent, attentive service, good choice of entrees, flavorful food and beautiful, interesting location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The salmon was overcooked and oversalted. Perhaps the head chef wasn't available the evening we went, as all of the dishes were a bit off.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fairview never disappoints! Their food and service are always both amazingly. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The restaurant is fairly large and decorated beautifully around the "Duke "Blue" theme. Chairs are a little low but comfortable. The atmosphere is relaxing and dinner moves along at a comfortable pace.

We dined at the restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday and the meals and experience couldn't have been more perfect. I ordered the shrimp, corn and Bacon Chowder and the NC black grouper. My wife ordered the strawberry salad and pan seared Norwegian salmon. Everything was delicious. Our server said the soup has been on the menu 25 years and I can see why. It was served hot and delicious. My wife's salad was crisp and fresh. The salmon was prepared medium as ordered. The NC grouper and polenta was terrific. Our server, Kathleen, was knowledgeable, pleasant and attentive.
My wife was blown away by the quality of the meals, atmosphere and service. I thank the restaurant for the great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.