About Fairview Dining Room

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: 9194936699x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Winter Salad
Quiche
Bailey's Ice Cream
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Pan-Roasted Duck Breast
Seared Loch Duart Salmon
Monkfish Wrapped In Bacon
Sweet Potato Cake With Maple Ice Cream
Rabbit Confit
Duck With Celery Foam
Cranberry Walnut Alaska
Spring Desserts
Cronut With Root Beer Ice Cream
Rack Of Lamb And Striped Sea Bass
Beef Short Ribs With Risotto
Pretzle Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich
Shrimp and Grits
Afternoon Tea

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
6 More
Best Overall
Durham
Best Service
Durham
Best Ambiance
Durham
Best Value
Durham
Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Special Occasion (68)
Romantic (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Scenic View (33)
Great for Brunch (32)
Great for Lunch (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great selections for the early evening p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great selections for the early evening prix fixe menu. Beautiful presentation and explanation of everything on the menu. Would recommend for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing food & service! Excellent experi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing food & service! Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience. The staf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. The staff was friendly and attentive, but not imposing. The food was excellent, the piano music relaxing, and the décor upscale. The occasion was my wife's birthday and the staff made sure that are table was in a somewhat private spot in the restaurant and that the flowers I had ordered ahead of time were on the table before we arrived. It truly was a great time for out entire party of seven adults.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With my daughter in law and two adult gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

With my daughter in law and two adult granddaughters, we had a delightful meal together to celebrate the upcoming senior year of college for one and a new job for the other. One of them had never

dined there before and was awestruck by everything about it......food , ambience, view and

Piano music in the background. Three of us ordered the broccoli quiche and one had the

mushroom omelette....all of us were pleased with our choices and would highly recommend

them. The dessert table offered a large variety of choices, among them a blueberry tart and

a bread pudding.........absolutely outstanding!!! All in all, it was a treat to be repeated soon!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was attentive and kind, and the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everyone was attentive and kind, and the food was delicious, making for a wonderful birthday dinner for my friend.

Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. Especially the outdo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I love this place. Especially the outdoor patio seating area overlooking the beautiful golf course. The cocktails are always outstanding, and the chef generally prepares a little something "special" that is served as soon as you are seated, and this time we got another little "chef's treat" at the end of the meal before we left - little hand-made apricot gummy things which were absolutely fantastic!! These little special touches plus the great food, service, and atmosphere, make this our go-to venue for a truly special dinner out!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 23rd wed ...

 
 (Dubai)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary by going to dinner at the Fairview Dining Room. We chose the Fairview because the items offered on the menu looked like interesting and unusual combinations of flavors. We thought the food was very good, not amazing, but good. However, the service was exceptional! We were there on a weeknight, so the dining room was fairly quiet, which suited us well. And the views of the golf course and trees were lovely and peaceful. Overall, we had a very nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazingly creative cuisine. Knowledgable ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amazingly creative cuisine. Knowledgable and attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was wonderful! The Salmon ent ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was wonderful!

The Salmon entree with the barley pilaf was scrumptious. The waiter was warm and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was exquisite. The food, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The experience was exquisite. The food, the wine, the service and the ambiance could not have been better. Nathaniel was knowledgeable and suggested the special appetizer and it could not have been better....Chesapeake Bay Fried Oysters....fantastic.

Beautiful place for a special occasion or just a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, while attentive, is extremely s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service, while attentive, is extremely slow-- took forever to get our entrees, dessert, and check. Salmon is best as medium rare and not as medium as the chef recommends. Solid food, nothing mind blowing. Ask for extra mini biscuits with your bread basket! Those are delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We elected to have our dinner on the pat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We elected to have our dinner on the patio, overlooking the golf course. The weather was nice and there was a slight breeze. The hostess was most accommodating to providing us with a fantastic table. Service was quick, and our waitress was very attentive. She was knowledgeable of the menu and preparations. The wine list was adequate, although not overly extensive. But, nice quality wines nonetheless. Our food was prepared to our satisfaction, and in an acceptable timeframe. This was a very nice dining experience for us. Price of the dinner was appropriate for the level of service, ambiance and quality of the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are at Duke University, you need ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

If you are at Duke University, you need to take the opportunity to have lunch or dinner here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is great time always at here in Fairv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It is great time always at here in Fairview Dining Room.

We could spend pleasant time with our old friends from Japan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. It is quiet and the seats are comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 51st weddin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 51st wedding anniversary at the Fairview Dining Room. It was a memorable and very enjoyable experience. From the moment that we were welcomed by several members of the staff to the moment we departed we felt that not only was our anniversary a special day but that we were also special.

Everything was perfect. The service. the food, the atmosphere, the attention to detail and the personal touch that our server, Samantha, was able to provide.

We could not have asked for anything more to make our Fairview experience more enjoyable.

This was our first visit to this restaurant but we plan to make several more -- even if it's not a special occasion .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful annive ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner at the Fairview Dining Room. We both tried seafood - crabcakes for my wife, scallops for me. We raved about the flavors and the accompaniments all evening. Comfortable seating, quiet ambience, very attentive service -- all made it a special occasion. Spectacular wine list. It was our second time there, and it won't be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice old south dining. But under se ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very nice old south dining. But under seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My wife and I celebrated our 53rd Weddin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 53rd Wedding Anniversary in the Fairview Dining Room and had a mixed experience. The service and ambience were perfect as well as the Seared Tuna salad and Marinated Strawberry & Fig salad. We were however somewhat disappointed in the entrée quality. My wife's Bourbon Glazed Pork Chop was virtually tasteless and partially saved by the bacon lardon-red pea confit. My Roasted Lamb Rack was very disappointing in meat quality and preparation. It was the worst cut of lamb I have ever experienced. Paying $37 for a split of Moet Chandon was certainly not a good value. The evening ended on a high note with Chocolate Lava cake and the best coffee we have ever drank.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely food and dining atmosphere. Our ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Lovely food and dining atmosphere. Our seafood was excellent, perfectly cooked and lovely in presentation. The same was true of the pork chop. This restaurant has such a nice, luxurious ambiance, providing a good place to have conversations since the overall dining room is quieter than most places. The service was precise and efficient. Good place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went out for our 36th anniversary. Ha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went out for our 36th anniversary. Had heard good things about this restaurant and were excited to try them. The service was a bit slow and there was a lot of sitting and waiting between courses. We brought a bottle of very expensive wine from our cellar that we had to ask to be decanted. Most restaurants when seeing that you have a "nice" bottle of wine do that without having to be asked. When it was poured into the decanter it was not done properly. It was poured into the decanter like pouring a bottle of water into a glass. I ordered a filet medium rare and when it arrived it was well done. My husband was completely done with his meal by the time mine was returned to me cooked properly. Overall we were very disappointed and will not make a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful food. Wait staff made us feel ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful food. Wait staff made us feel so special. I had king salmon and my husband had the pork chop. Portion size was quite generous. Flavors were superb. Lovely, elegant & refined setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and delicious food. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding service and delicious food. A great place to celebrate a special occasions such as an anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was exceptional. He was very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter was exceptional. He was very attentive and the service was better than any of our previous experiences at this same restaurant. He made our Father's Day very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to enjoy Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a pleasure to enjoy Sunday brunch there. Beautiful atmosphere and great service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cigar smoke drifted onto the patio where ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Cigar smoke drifted onto the patio where we were dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant. The $30 restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The $30 restaurant week menu was fabulous. Truly a wonderful value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. We went for ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and food. We went for brunch during Triangle Restaurant Week which made it a great deal. Not sure I would go and order from the regular menu, unless it were a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Upscale hotel dining room. Ordered a qu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Upscale hotel dining room. Ordered a quiche this time, which was not as good as I might have hoped (rather tasteless and a little watery), but the breads were excellent and the dessert awesome, while the salad was quite good. Service was relatively quick, so parents of well behaved youngsters would not find them antsy, but it is clearly more suitable for adults and youngsters on treat behavior. This was a fixed price special with a limited menu, but have also been for brunch in the past, which was quite elegant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was amazing meal for the triangle r ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was amazing meal for the triangle restaurant week value. Wouldn't have likely been to try the food had it not been for the low price for the occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This may seem silly but if you like Fren ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This may seem silly but if you like French fries get them here because they are perfect. I didn't even use ketchup they are that good. We came here for Restaurant Week lunch and the choices were amazing and all for such a reasonable price. Amazing waitstaff and nice and comfy booths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Elegant and Delicious

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My friend and I were here for lunch during Restaurant Week. The ambience, décor and service are all impeccable. The food is delicious. I started with the WA Shrimp, Bacon and Corn Chowder which was tasty and just enough to not fill us up before the entrée. We both had the grilled salmon with the beet puree and cucumbers. I asked for it medium well and should have had medium but in spite of that it wasn't dry at all and was perfectly seasoned and slightly blackened. Our dessert was a sampler and the Crème Brulee' was the hands down winner there. I've never been here for dinner but it is now definitely on my to do list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice time during Restaurant Week

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The Fairview, located inside Washington Duke Inn, is one of those places that you just take for granted because it's always been there. But do yourself a favor and GO there, for the food, the service, and the ambiance. It's a great place for business, a special occasion, or to just treat yourself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance are charming. We went for lunch during Triangle Restaurant Week and had a full 3-course meal for $15 (only available during Triangle Restaurant Week). All the food was delicious and clearly prepared with skill and pride.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. The table next ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great dining experience. The table next to me was a bit loud for a group of six, but it was obvious they were a group of Duke faculty trying to recruit someone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hopefully a Bad Night

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I arrived 1 & 1/2 hour before closing. Our date started off promising, but quickly declined. My salad was nothing special, my wahoo was overcooked and tough, I did hear the waiter call it swordfish, my husband's filet was beautiful, but cold. The bright spots of our meal were the wine and the crème brulee. We ate here 2 years ago and had a much better experience. Perhaps, they were having a bad night. I definitely want to give a huge compliment to the pianist, that was the highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Piano interferred with conversation

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The 6 of us were seated in an alcove to ourselves, which we thought would be great for conversation. That hope was short lived when the nearby grand piano came to life. In fairness, our ears are 70+ years old. The other patrons were likely less challenged. Next time we'll be sure to ask about the seating and hope to be able to hear without straining someone sitting across from us without their raising their voices. Somewhat marred an otherwise very nice dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service wonderful food, than ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful service wonderful food, thank you Shahb and the kitchen staff

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A relative I rarely see was in town, and i wanted to impress. Fairview Dining did the job, even for a diehard Carolina fan. Excellent service, innovative food, wonderful wines. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best of Durham

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The ambience and the service were excellent. Great attention to detail. We were made to feel really special. Surprisingly the portions were larger than expected for a gourmet restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.