About Fairview Dining Room

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: 9194936699x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Quiche
Winter Salad
Bailey's Ice Cream
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Pan-Roasted Duck Breast
Monkfish Wrapped In Bacon
Cronut With Root Beer Ice Cream
Cranberry Walnut Alaska
Rack Of Lamb And Striped Sea Bass
Sweet Potato Cake With Maple Ice Cream
Beef Short Ribs With Risotto
Seared Loch Duart Salmon
Rabbit Confit
Spring Desserts
Duck With Celery Foam
Pretzle Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich
Shrimp and Grits
Afternoon Tea

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
8 More
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Durham
Best Service
Durham
Best Ambiance
Durham
Best Value
Durham
Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

special occasion (89)
romantic (50)
great for outdoor dining (44)
See All
great for brunch (41)
scenic view (40)
fit for foodies (40)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (29)
notable wine list (26)
neighborhood gem (14)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We elected to have our dinner on the pat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We elected to have our dinner on the patio, overlooking the golf course. The weather was nice and there was a slight breeze. The hostess was most accommodating to providing us with a fantastic table. Service was quick, and our waitress was very attentive. She was knowledgeable of the menu and preparations. The wine list was adequate, although not overly extensive. But, nice quality wines nonetheless. Our food was prepared to our satisfaction, and in an acceptable timeframe. This was a very nice dining experience for us. Price of the dinner was appropriate for the level of service, ambiance and quality of the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is great time always at here in Fairv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It is great time always at here in Fairview Dining Room.

We could spend pleasant time with our old friends from Japan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I celebrated our 51st weddin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 51st wedding anniversary at the Fairview Dining Room. It was a memorable and very enjoyable experience. From the moment that we were welcomed by several members of the staff to the moment we departed we felt that not only was our anniversary a special day but that we were also special.

Everything was perfect. The service. the food, the atmosphere, the attention to detail and the personal touch that our server, Samantha, was able to provide.

We could not have asked for anything more to make our Fairview experience more enjoyable.

This was our first visit to this restaurant but we plan to make several more -- even if it's not a special occasion .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful annive ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner at the Fairview Dining Room. We both tried seafood - crabcakes for my wife, scallops for me. We raved about the flavors and the accompaniments all evening. Comfortable seating, quiet ambience, very attentive service -- all made it a special occasion. Spectacular wine list. It was our second time there, and it won't be our last.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice old south dining. But under se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very nice old south dining. But under seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My wife and I celebrated our 53rd Weddin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 53rd Wedding Anniversary in the Fairview Dining Room and had a mixed experience. The service and ambience were perfect as well as the Seared Tuna salad and Marinated Strawberry & Fig salad. We were however somewhat disappointed in the entrée quality. My wife's Bourbon Glazed Pork Chop was virtually tasteless and partially saved by the bacon lardon-red pea confit. My Roasted Lamb Rack was very disappointing in meat quality and preparation. It was the worst cut of lamb I have ever experienced. Paying $37 for a split of Moet Chandon was certainly not a good value. The evening ended on a high note with Chocolate Lava cake and the best coffee we have ever drank.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely food and dining atmosphere. Our ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Lovely food and dining atmosphere. Our seafood was excellent, perfectly cooked and lovely in presentation. The same was true of the pork chop. This restaurant has such a nice, luxurious ambiance, providing a good place to have conversations since the overall dining room is quieter than most places. The service was precise and efficient. Good place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went out for our 36th anniversary. Ha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went out for our 36th anniversary. Had heard good things about this restaurant and were excited to try them. The service was a bit slow and there was a lot of sitting and waiting between courses. We brought a bottle of very expensive wine from our cellar that we had to ask to be decanted. Most restaurants when seeing that you have a "nice" bottle of wine do that without having to be asked. When it was poured into the decanter it was not done properly. It was poured into the decanter like pouring a bottle of water into a glass. I ordered a filet medium rare and when it arrived it was well done. My husband was completely done with his meal by the time mine was returned to me cooked properly. Overall we were very disappointed and will not make a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful food. Wait staff made us feel ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful food. Wait staff made us feel so special. I had king salmon and my husband had the pork chop. Portion size was quite generous. Flavors were superb. Lovely, elegant & refined setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and delicious food. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding service and delicious food. A great place to celebrate a special occasions such as an anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was exceptional. He was very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter was exceptional. He was very attentive and the service was better than any of our previous experiences at this same restaurant. He made our Father's Day very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to enjoy Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a pleasure to enjoy Sunday brunch there. Beautiful atmosphere and great service and food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cigar smoke drifted onto the patio where ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Cigar smoke drifted onto the patio where we were dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant. The $30 restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The $30 restaurant week menu was fabulous. Truly a wonderful value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. We went for ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and food. We went for brunch during Triangle Restaurant Week which made it a great deal. Not sure I would go and order from the regular menu, unless it were a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Upscale hotel dining room. Ordered a qu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Upscale hotel dining room. Ordered a quiche this time, which was not as good as I might have hoped (rather tasteless and a little watery), but the breads were excellent and the dessert awesome, while the salad was quite good. Service was relatively quick, so parents of well behaved youngsters would not find them antsy, but it is clearly more suitable for adults and youngsters on treat behavior. This was a fixed price special with a limited menu, but have also been for brunch in the past, which was quite elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was amazing meal for the triangle r ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was amazing meal for the triangle restaurant week value. Wouldn't have likely been to try the food had it not been for the low price for the occasion

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This may seem silly but if you like Fren ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This may seem silly but if you like French fries get them here because they are perfect. I didn't even use ketchup they are that good. We came here for Restaurant Week lunch and the choices were amazing and all for such a reasonable price. Amazing waitstaff and nice and comfy booths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Elegant and Delicious

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My friend and I were here for lunch during Restaurant Week. The ambience, décor and service are all impeccable. The food is delicious. I started with the WA Shrimp, Bacon and Corn Chowder which was tasty and just enough to not fill us up before the entrée. We both had the grilled salmon with the beet puree and cucumbers. I asked for it medium well and should have had medium but in spite of that it wasn't dry at all and was perfectly seasoned and slightly blackened. Our dessert was a sampler and the Crème Brulee' was the hands down winner there. I've never been here for dinner but it is now definitely on my to do list.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice time during Restaurant Week

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The Fairview, located inside Washington Duke Inn, is one of those places that you just take for granted because it's always been there. But do yourself a favor and GO there, for the food, the service, and the ambiance. It's a great place for business, a special occasion, or to just treat yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance are charming. We went for lunch during Triangle Restaurant Week and had a full 3-course meal for $15 (only available during Triangle Restaurant Week). All the food was delicious and clearly prepared with skill and pride.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. The table next ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great dining experience. The table next to me was a bit loud for a group of six, but it was obvious they were a group of Duke faculty trying to recruit someone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hopefully a Bad Night

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I arrived 1 & 1/2 hour before closing. Our date started off promising, but quickly declined. My salad was nothing special, my wahoo was overcooked and tough, I did hear the waiter call it swordfish, my husband's filet was beautiful, but cold. The bright spots of our meal were the wine and the crème brulee. We ate here 2 years ago and had a much better experience. Perhaps, they were having a bad night. I definitely want to give a huge compliment to the pianist, that was the highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Piano interferred with conversation

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The 6 of us were seated in an alcove to ourselves, which we thought would be great for conversation. That hope was short lived when the nearby grand piano came to life. In fairness, our ears are 70+ years old. The other patrons were likely less challenged. Next time we'll be sure to ask about the seating and hope to be able to hear without straining someone sitting across from us without their raising their voices. Somewhat marred an otherwise very nice dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service wonderful food, than ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful service wonderful food, thank you Shahb and the kitchen staff

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A relative I rarely see was in town, and i wanted to impress. Fairview Dining did the job, even for a diehard Carolina fan. Excellent service, innovative food, wonderful wines. Highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best of Durham

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The ambience and the service were excellent. Great attention to detail. We were made to feel really special. Surprisingly the portions were larger than expected for a gourmet restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive Dining Experience

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We decided to try this country club restaurant when we spent the night in Durham, since the online menu had a sunset prix fix menu, which had some interesting choices. The restaurant has wonderful views of the golf course and grounds. Our server Nathaniel was extremely attentive. We had to ask the hostess for the prix fix menu, though, and thought it should have been given to us without asking. That was the only downside. For our first course, I enjoyed the shrimp and corn chowder and my husband liked his unusual nettle (herb) chilled soup. He enjoyed the sliced sirloin for his main entree, and I thought my salmon dish was well prepared and perfect. For dessert, we enjoyed a medley of small bites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here before and enjoyed th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have eaten here before and enjoyed the food very much. Our dinner was disappointing as it did not meet our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We LOVE the Fairview Restaurant!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We have eaten here many times. The filet mignon is delicious, as are any of the fish dishes that we have eaten. I would trust them on anything you order. The service is top notch, and the wine list is extensive. Often there is a piano player, who has happily played some requests for us. The atmosphere is quiet, the music is background. Our twenty-something children love it as much as we do! We have also gone for brunch and the brunch dessert bar is wonderful! The restaurant is not inexpensive, but we feel that you do get what you are paying for!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous graduation celebration spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My family and I adored dining at the Fairview. The food was delicious but the real jewel is the phenomenal and attentive service. The small touch of a special dessert saying congratulations really put the evening on the map. Definitely recommending the Fairview to all of my friends for any upcoming events or even a nice dinner out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Teacher Appreciation Day

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Thanks to Fairview Dining Room for recognizing Durham Public School teachers for Teacher Appreciation Day. I used this as a good excuse to take my mother out to celebrate her students' AP exam success. We had an early reservation and were able to take advantage of the 3-course early dinner special menu. The service was excellent. The food was interesting with unique combinations of local ingredients - my mother was especially impressed with the beet and potato side for her salmon. We were also pleasantly surprised with the chocolate mousse dessert - it tasted like it was garnished with maracuya, which was a lovely flavor to conclude the dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wa Du Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We have eaten at the Washington Duke on several occasions and typically the service is spot on! However, this morning it was quite slow, the server was not particularly attentive; had to request coffee refills several times, was slow getting back with specific requests, coffee and soup were both lukewarm. The food, however, especially the divine dessert bar was, as always, excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We got a second floor room for about 20 ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We got a second floor room for about 20 guests.

Drink, food, are expected level as usual.

However, only 1 waitress served us.

So it was so slow.

At least one more serving guy should be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Recently enjoyed an intimate dinner duri ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Recently enjoyed an intimate dinner during a Saturday early evening. Staff was professional and attentive. Food was reasonably priced and exceptional quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed and some food unacceptable!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Took my grandson for him to enjoy a real dining experience. Disappointed! My chowder was passible but my shrimp-crab louis awful. Canned or popcorn shrimp, invisible crab meat, small piece of bibb lettuce. His 12oz New York strip was okay but he stated that he had had better elsewhere. He did like his shrimp cocktail (real shrimp ). For their reputation and $90.00+ tab I certainly expected better. You can spend your dining dollars better elsewhere./

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Can't recall having better service at an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Can't recall having better service at any restaurant.

Period. Truly outstanding.

Five despite servers and the food manager bid us farewell calling me by my name each time as we left.

A name they only learned of when we came to dine. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The citrus salad was delicious. The blac ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The citrus salad was delicious. The black bean burger was surprisingly large but the flavor was pleasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good experience

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed the setting at Fairview. We were staying in this beautifully set hotel on the campus of Duke University and we enjoyed our whole stay. The restaurant is in a beautiful setting and very romantic. The food was average, but the service was over the top. Overall we enjoyed our experience there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Always good food, excellent service, and a lovely setting. Great for special occasions but I really like to for lunches as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.