About Fairview Dining Room

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: 9194936699x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Quiche
Winter Salad
Bailey's Ice Cream
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Pan-Roasted Duck Breast
Monkfish Wrapped In Bacon
Cronut With Root Beer Ice Cream
Cranberry Walnut Alaska
Rack Of Lamb And Striped Sea Bass
Sweet Potato Cake With Maple Ice Cream
Beef Short Ribs With Risotto
Seared Loch Duart Salmon
Rabbit Confit
Spring Desserts
Duck With Celery Foam
Pretzle Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich
Shrimp and Grits
Afternoon Tea

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Brunch
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
7 More
Best Overall
Durham
Best Food
Durham
Best Service
Durham
Best Ambiance
Durham
Best Value
Durham
Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

special occasion (89)
romantic (52)
great for outdoor dining (43)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
great for brunch (40)
scenic view (39)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (30)
notable wine list (22)
neighborhood gem (14)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food. Wait staff made us feel ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food. Wait staff made us feel so special. I had king salmon and my husband had the pork chop. Portion size was quite generous. Flavors were superb. Lovely, elegant & refined setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and delicious food. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service and delicious food. A great place to celebrate a special occasions such as an anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was exceptional. He was very ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter was exceptional. He was very attentive and the service was better than any of our previous experiences at this same restaurant. He made our Father's Day very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to enjoy Sunday brunch ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a pleasure to enjoy Sunday brunch there. Beautiful atmosphere and great service and food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Cigar smoke drifted onto the patio where ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Cigar smoke drifted onto the patio where we were dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. The $30 restauran ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The $30 restaurant week menu was fabulous. Truly a wonderful value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and food. We went for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and food. We went for brunch during Triangle Restaurant Week which made it a great deal. Not sure I would go and order from the regular menu, unless it were a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale hotel dining room. Ordered a qu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Upscale hotel dining room. Ordered a quiche this time, which was not as good as I might have hoped (rather tasteless and a little watery), but the breads were excellent and the dessert awesome, while the salad was quite good. Service was relatively quick, so parents of well behaved youngsters would not find them antsy, but it is clearly more suitable for adults and youngsters on treat behavior. This was a fixed price special with a limited menu, but have also been for brunch in the past, which was quite elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was amazing meal for the triangle r ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was amazing meal for the triangle restaurant week value. Wouldn't have likely been to try the food had it not been for the low price for the occasion

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

This may seem silly but if you like Fren ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This may seem silly but if you like French fries get them here because they are perfect. I didn't even use ketchup they are that good. We came here for Restaurant Week lunch and the choices were amazing and all for such a reasonable price. Amazing waitstaff and nice and comfy booths.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and Delicious

Dined on June 10, 2016

My friend and I were here for lunch during Restaurant Week. The ambience, décor and service are all impeccable. The food is delicious. I started with the WA Shrimp, Bacon and Corn Chowder which was tasty and just enough to not fill us up before the entrée. We both had the grilled salmon with the beet puree and cucumbers. I asked for it medium well and should have had medium but in spite of that it wasn't dry at all and was perfectly seasoned and slightly blackened. Our dessert was a sampler and the Crème Brulee' was the hands down winner there. I've never been here for dinner but it is now definitely on my to do list.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice time during Restaurant Week

Dined on June 8, 2016

The Fairview, located inside Washington Duke Inn, is one of those places that you just take for granted because it's always been there. But do yourself a favor and GO there, for the food, the service, and the ambiance. It's a great place for business, a special occasion, or to just treat yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance are charming. We went for lunch during Triangle Restaurant Week and had a full 3-course meal for $15 (only available during Triangle Restaurant Week). All the food was delicious and clearly prepared with skill and pride.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. The table next ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great dining experience. The table next to me was a bit loud for a group of six, but it was obvious they were a group of Duke faculty trying to recruit someone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Hopefully a Bad Night

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I arrived 1 & 1/2 hour before closing. Our date started off promising, but quickly declined. My salad was nothing special, my wahoo was overcooked and tough, I did hear the waiter call it swordfish, my husband's filet was beautiful, but cold. The bright spots of our meal were the wine and the crème brulee. We ate here 2 years ago and had a much better experience. Perhaps, they were having a bad night. I definitely want to give a huge compliment to the pianist, that was the highlight.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Piano interferred with conversation

Dined on May 21, 2016

The 6 of us were seated in an alcove to ourselves, which we thought would be great for conversation. That hope was short lived when the nearby grand piano came to life. In fairness, our ears are 70+ years old. The other patrons were likely less challenged. Next time we'll be sure to ask about the seating and hope to be able to hear without straining someone sitting across from us without their raising their voices. Somewhat marred an otherwise very nice dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service wonderful food, than ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful service wonderful food, thank you Shahb and the kitchen staff

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special occasion

Dined on May 19, 2016

A relative I rarely see was in town, and i wanted to impress. Fairview Dining did the job, even for a diehard Carolina fan. Excellent service, innovative food, wonderful wines. Highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best of Durham

Dined on May 17, 2016

The ambience and the service were excellent. Great attention to detail. We were made to feel really special. Surprisingly the portions were larger than expected for a gourmet restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive Dining Experience

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We decided to try this country club restaurant when we spent the night in Durham, since the online menu had a sunset prix fix menu, which had some interesting choices. The restaurant has wonderful views of the golf course and grounds. Our server Nathaniel was extremely attentive. We had to ask the hostess for the prix fix menu, though, and thought it should have been given to us without asking. That was the only downside. For our first course, I enjoyed the shrimp and corn chowder and my husband liked his unusual nettle (herb) chilled soup. He enjoyed the sliced sirloin for his main entree, and I thought my salmon dish was well prepared and perfect. For dessert, we enjoyed a medley of small bites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We have eaten here before and enjoyed th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We have eaten here before and enjoyed the food very much. Our dinner was disappointing as it did not meet our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the Fairview Restaurant!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have eaten here many times. The filet mignon is delicious, as are any of the fish dishes that we have eaten. I would trust them on anything you order. The service is top notch, and the wine list is extensive. Often there is a piano player, who has happily played some requests for us. The atmosphere is quiet, the music is background. Our twenty-something children love it as much as we do! We have also gone for brunch and the brunch dessert bar is wonderful! The restaurant is not inexpensive, but we feel that you do get what you are paying for!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous graduation celebration spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family and I adored dining at the Fairview. The food was delicious but the real jewel is the phenomenal and attentive service. The small touch of a special dessert saying congratulations really put the evening on the map. Definitely recommending the Fairview to all of my friends for any upcoming events or even a nice dinner out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Teacher Appreciation Day

Dined on May 3, 2016

Thanks to Fairview Dining Room for recognizing Durham Public School teachers for Teacher Appreciation Day. I used this as a good excuse to take my mother out to celebrate her students' AP exam success. We had an early reservation and were able to take advantage of the 3-course early dinner special menu. The service was excellent. The food was interesting with unique combinations of local ingredients - my mother was especially impressed with the beet and potato side for her salmon. We were also pleasantly surprised with the chocolate mousse dessert - it tasted like it was garnished with maracuya, which was a lovely flavor to conclude the dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Wa Du Brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have eaten at the Washington Duke on several occasions and typically the service is spot on! However, this morning it was quite slow, the server was not particularly attentive; had to request coffee refills several times, was slow getting back with specific requests, coffee and soup were both lukewarm. The food, however, especially the divine dessert bar was, as always, excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2

We got a second floor room for about 20 ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We got a second floor room for about 20 guests. Drink, food, are expected level as usual. However, only 1 waitress served us. So it was so slow. At least one more serving guy should be there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Recently enjoyed an intimate dinner duri ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Recently enjoyed an intimate dinner during a Saturday early evening. Staff was professional and attentive. Food was reasonably priced and exceptional quality.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointed and some food unacceptable!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Took my grandson for him to enjoy a real dining experience. Disappointed! My chowder was passible but my shrimp-crab louis awful. Canned or popcorn shrimp, invisible crab meat, small piece of bibb lettuce. His 12oz New York strip was okay but he stated that he had had better elsewhere. He did like his shrimp cocktail (real shrimp ). For their reputation and $90.00+ tab I certainly expected better. You can spend your dining dollars better elsewhere./

food5
ambience5
service5

Can't recall having better service at an ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Can't recall having better service at any restaurant. Period. Truly outstanding. Five despite servers and the food manager bid us farewell calling me by my name each time as we left. A name they only learned of when we came to dine. Outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

The citrus salad was delicious. The blac ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

The citrus salad was delicious. The black bean burger was surprisingly large but the flavor was pleasing.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

A good experience

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed the setting at Fairview. We were staying in this beautifully set hotel on the campus of Duke University and we enjoyed our whole stay. The restaurant is in a beautiful setting and very romantic. The food was average, but the service was over the top. Overall we enjoyed our experience there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites

Dined on March 13, 2016

Always good food, excellent service, and a lovely setting. Great for special occasions but I really like to for lunches as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Chilean sea bass was perfect.

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Chilean sea bass was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanted evening

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Fine dining without being pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wanting, Hoping, Unfulfilled

Dined on March 9, 2016

We saw the reviews and nice pictures. We took a shot. Service was good, we were few tables there, so many servers coming around. Food was lacking. The steak was delicious, but the other entree was way over done.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Durham for food, service, and sc ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Best in Durham for food, service, and scenery! Executive Club membership is a bargain

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with out of state friends

Dined on March 6, 2016

I can only give the Fairview Inn superlatives. Food,ambience, and service were great. Our friends enjoyed the evening and found it to be a highlight of their visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Samantha was a great server.

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Samantha was a great server.

food5
ambience5
service5

Blown away by the ambiance of the settin ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Blown away by the ambiance of the setting. Did not know much about the Duke family, but the displays were educational. The food was superb, and made better by the fine service Denise provided. The total experience was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the best restaurant I have been ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Probably the best restaurant I have been to in Durham. Very classy old-style hotel dining room. Go early for the specials through 6:30 PM. A great $35 value with appetizer, entrée and salad. The winter salad with pomegranate and goat cheese was terrific. The rack of boar was surprisingly good cooked medium rare

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.