About Fairview Dining Room

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: (919) 493-6699

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Winter Salad - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Quiche - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Bailey's Ice Cream  - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Pan-Roasted Duck Breast - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Seared Loch Duart Salmon - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Monkfish Wrapped In Bacon  - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Sweet Potato Cake With Maple Ice Cream - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Rabbit Confit - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Duck With Celery Foam - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Cranberry Walnut Alaska - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Spring Desserts - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Cronut With Root Beer Ice Cream - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Rack Of Lamb And Striped Sea Bass - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Beef Short Ribs With Risotto - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Pretzle Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Shrimp and Grits - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Afternoon Tea - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Quiet Conversation (23)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Afternoon Tea (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Seasonal (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Scenic View (7)
Live Music (6)
Historic (6)
Fireplace (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Anniversary Dinner!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Great Anniversary Dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Washington Duke Inn Fairview Dining ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The Washington Duke Inn Fairview Dining Restaurant has become a favorite quiet date night destination for us. Love the ambiance and when there's piano music. Great food - a nice treat! Wonderful, attentive service.

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch with the ladies! We had ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful lunch with the ladies! We had the quiche and soup combo along with salmon entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was excellent as usual but th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was excellent as usual but the head waiter 'hovered' too much. He was constantly walking by our table, looking, moving into see if all was ok, etc. Was actually a bit annoying. We felt 'rushed' even though it was not crowded at all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

While the service is not quite as finely ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

While the service is not quite as finely tuned as past visits, the food remains excellent. The selection is broad from meats to poultry, seafood and vegan. The bison was s highlight/ perfectly cooked, tender and plated with amazingly tasty Brussel sprouts. The bar does a fine job of highlighting some excellent cocktails, wines and beers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere at the Fairview was great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The atmosphere at the Fairview was great. Being in a nice hotel, there was much better ambience overall than a restaurant within a strip-mall. They also still had all their tasteful Christmas decorations up through out the lobby and dining room. The food was also very good and they had nice selection of wine by the glass, beer on tap (and a full bar for any mixed drinks). Not sure why it never occurred to us to eat here previously before a movie/theater show in Durham - but we will definitely be back. We ended up here this particular evening because are standard favorite place had closed down (Four Square). This may be the new default for us for pre-show dinners.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and lovely

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Elegant and lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoying a wonderful brunch was a great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoying a wonderful brunch was a great way to start the new year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy new year!!!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happy new year!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fairview has usually been a superb exper ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fairview has usually been a superb experience. However, on New Year's Eve when I was hosting dear friends who are quite knowledgeable about cuisine and wine, our service and hence most of the evening was a huge disappointment. Champagne was not served when requested and both the amuse bouche and appetizer arrived before the beverage. Courses were not hot and pepper that was promised never arrived. After several comments, things improved somewhat, although the attitude of the primary server did not. He blamed others, and then was clearly inauthentic in his quasi-apologies.

Given the choices we could have had for that evening, I regret that Fairview could not live up to its usual high standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Delicious food! Romantic atmosphere. Liv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food! Romantic atmosphere. Live piano music was really nice. It was New Years Eve and my wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal before going to see Cinderella. A little too pricey to be a regular spot for us but definitely a great location for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food beautifully presented and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food beautifully presented and outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. The perfect place for New Yea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful. The perfect place for New Years lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, my wife and I enjoyed our brun ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As usual, my wife and I enjoyed our brunch at the Fairview. The atmosphere and service were both great, but I was disappointed in the fried chicken with waffles as the chicken was way too dry! Maybe dark meat would be a better choice for this meal?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Today's lunch at the Fairview was my fir ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Today's lunch at the Fairview was my first disappointment at this establishment. Not only was the black bean burger totally unmanageable as a "burger," it completely lacked any flavor. I had expected the mole barbeque sauce and the jalapeno jelly to be an interesting combination, but I have to wonder if the chef forgot to put it on mine as it was tasteless. I realize I declined the red onion, but I expected more than a few mashed black beans on a bun. It was curious that our service was unusually slow as well--we watched diners who were seated after us be served well before us. And, we had to point out to the staff that we were still waiting for our food.

As always, the atmosphere made the occasion and I enjoyed visiting with my family. I will give the Fairview another chance, but I would warn other diners the black bean burger is bland and tasteless and not the "AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rated" as their food is advertised .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Nice place, good service,good food,old s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Nice place, good service,good food,old school,good for Anniversaries.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While the wait staff seemed to be doing ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

While the wait staff seemed to be doing their best, the food was quite slow coming out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We have been to the Fairview on Christma ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been to the Fairview on Christmas for their extragavanza buffet. Pricey but so nice if you don't want to cook. But this was our first visit for their weekend brunch which also is pricey but offers an array of entrees and includes an appetizer and dessert table (really terrific!) The food was delicious and service superior. A great place for a special treat.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A delightful evening in celebration of m ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A delightful evening in celebration of my wife and my anniversary. Excellent, friendly service by four waitstaff. Delectable appetizer, dinner and desserts. Lovely Christmas ambience and live piano music.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful restaurant to go to for a Ch ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A wonderful restaurant to go to for a Christmas lunch with my friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always! Thank you!!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful, as always! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely holiday celebration with some clo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Lovely holiday celebration with some close friends. The experience was as close to perfect as I can recall. Excellent! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was lovely but the food was so ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The place was lovely but the food was somewhat disappointing. We got venison and risotto, and both were fine but nothing to write home about. For the price, we were expecting something more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, great wine, wonderful servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, great wine, wonderful service. Beautiful surroundings, excellent Christmas decorations and relaxing live piano. What more is there to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal for my daughters Birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent meal for my daughters Birthday. Food was very good and ambiance nice for Christmas. Service was a bit slow but other than that a good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great. Christmas Decorations w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was great. Christmas Decorations were excellent. When I made the reservations, it stated I would earn 1000 points. I got an email today congratulating me on earning 100. Can that be explained to me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch with superb ser ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch with superb service, as always. A favorite spot for lunch and dinner, and always so festive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful. Beautiful ambiance. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Always wonderful. Beautiful ambiance. Great food. Superb service. Everything is to the 9's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food (I love their 8oz filet m ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food (I love their 8oz filet mignon) and great staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch with my partner. He had never eat ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Brunch with my partner. He had never eaten there before and was quite impressed. Food was very good...my only suggestion is with the eggs Florentine DO NOT use the honey sweet English muffins! Use regular English muffins...way too sweet for this dish. I ask the waiter if it was a regular English muffin and he said yes, then it was the honey one...I should have sent it back! Otherwise it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We enjoy the beauty and formality of thi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We enjoy the beauty and formality of this lovely dining room, and that is not to say that it is stuffy - it's not. It is just so nice to have a wonderful lunch in a well appointed atmosphere with modern food choices. The place has character and the menu has substance plus a wine list that shows time was taken to select.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the special 3 course early dinner me ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Had the special 3 course early dinner menu and was very impressed with the flavor profiles of each dish. As an added surprise they provided a pre-appetizer in the form of a morsel of smoked scallop with some salmon roe. After dessert was also a raspberry gel cube that was very tasty.

Perfect service in a very high class Inn.

Couldn't ask for more...beautiful Christmas decorations as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is quite a surprise. Fo ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This restaurant is quite a surprise. For a "hotel" restaurant, it is amazingly creative and always extremely tasty. Even clients from the "big cities" are impressed with how well-prepared and flavorful every dish was.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved our server :) treats us so well ev ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Loved our server :) treats us so well even though we are students.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifully decorated for the Holidays, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Beautifully decorated for the Holidays, and we enjoyed long conversations, good food, and a quiet dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations were easy. The service was ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Reservations were easy. The service was prompt, courteous, and very helpful. I believe the waiter’s name was Diego. Our party of four had a very relaxed and pleasurable time. I will return as this place is on my list for special celebrations/gatherings..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The exotic and ostentatious descriptions ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The exotic and ostentatious descriptions of the entrees sets the diner up for disappointment. Two different entrees equally inedible. Stick to the appetizers and desserts - far safer bets.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Can't beat great food, great service, an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Can't beat great food, great service, and live piano!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service pretty bad; got order wrong so w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service pretty bad; got order wrong so we ended up sharing food. Tips are automatically added at 19% for large party which is extremely high.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We were especially impressed by the Chef ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were especially impressed by the Chef's new take on Shrimp and Grits -- using a Pimiento Cheese in the sauce. Truly outstanding, very creative, a new approach to a traditional Southern favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.