Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Fairview Dining Room

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: (919) 493-6699

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Business Meals (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Afternoon Tea (15)
Cozy (14)
Historic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Scenic View (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Live Music (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fireplace (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Went with friends, who had never been there, for our birthdays and they were enthralled with the whole dining experience. Unfortunately, I made the reservations for 3 and said we were celebrating 2 birthdays, when I should have said 3 (they're twins), so we all shared two candles.

We had a wonderful time and would hope to do it again for next year's birthdays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

I have dined at the Fairview many times, but this was the first time the meal was so disappointing.

There was a very extended delay between the 1st course and our meals. When the meals did arrive, they were not up to standard. The grits were awful! Bland without any flavor or seasoning. The table must have used the whole shaker of salt on the grits. The eggs benedict were cool and the hollandaise sauce was congealed. We had to ask for more, but it did not help. The meal went half eaten. She was very disappointed. The dessert table did have some good choices, the berry crisp was nice.

We will return, but disappointed over all with this meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a terrible restaurant! The service was below a regular one dollar sign restaurant. We asked for bread three times before it was brought to us, and we had to ask a different server! Then he brought one small basket of bread for a table of 13 people. What? He asked us to finish the basket before he can bring more. What kind of outrage! This was embarrassing for me to host the business meal. Then he went around tripping over chairs and clanking around with silverware. Not only was service slow, he served us one dessert short that was included in the set menu, and we had to ask him to come back again a third time (AFTER THE CHECK WAS SIGNED AND HE TOOK THAT AWAY TOO) so he can practice counting with us. How humiliating. Would not recommend for anyone to go through the high bucks torture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Ambiance is Good. Excellent menu and impeccable service

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This place is always amazing, from the food to the service. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our experience was excellent. The food was great and our server Freddie was very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great value from the "dining at dusk" menu. Lots of good menu choices, and very attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Haven't been for years and so glad I had a chance while back in Durham to go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My first visit to the Fairview Dining Room in the Washington Duke Inn, a very high class historic Inn just off the Duke University Campus in Durham, NC. The two meals my wife and had were well prepared and just perfect. She had a Grouper dish with potato and fresh veggies, I had a nice flat iron steak with broccolini and a posta, they were presented in an elegant fashion. Drinks were perfect and if you go early there is a separate bar/lounge that is very nice and inviting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Vegan, People Watching, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It's a beautiful restaurant and I'm very happy we attended brunch there with our daughter

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Wonderful food with different and interesting ingredients. Not your run of the mill restaurant. Great value for the quality and inspiration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We would have expected more from such a great resorts main restaurant. Service was terrible. Food was below average, over cooked and took forever to get considering we were one of a few tables in the restaurant. The rest of the resort and golf course were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food and atmosphere is great for special occasions with fine dining experience. Having the early bird special gives you a full course, value meal from the main menu items. The food is always fresh and often local when available. The servers are attentive and we had a piano player complete the atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food is always excellent, though service can be a little inconsistent at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My daughter and I were celebrating a special occasion and the Fairview's brunch came to mind. We got a reservation - always a good idea. We had to wait in a comfortable but crowded waiting space, but only for a few minutes. The wait staff were attentive without being a nuisance and kept bringing us coffee even after our food was long gone (but not our conversation). We'll be back, for sure.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was excellent and the environment was simultaneously elegant and comfortable/relaxed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good but slightly irritating to get a follow up from Open Table suggesting that I hadn't honored my reservation clearly at the behest of the restaurant. Given that I'd gone to the extent of spelling my name to the receptionist so that she could find the reservation in the first place, not exactly impressive. However apart from that the food was good and the ambience is excellent particularly when you can sit outside in the summer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We inadvertently came on a home basketball night so the traffic was terrible, the hotel crowded and most disappointingly, the menu limited. Nonetheless we had a very pleasant dinner. Our waiter was superb and the food was good. The restaurant cleared out about the time we arrived as folks left for the game. For a short time we were blissfully by our selves in one corner of the dining area and then they seated another couple right next to us even though that part of the room was otherwise empty.
We will come back but certainly not on a game night or day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I always enjoy a birthday lunch at the Fairview with friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The manager was quite energetic and polite. He did check on us frequently. The service of the food between courses really slowed down after the appetizer course and after the dinner course awaiting dessert. Could be a little less wait time. Food was excellent, the chowder especially.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our experience at the Fairview was spectacular from beginning to end. The service was impeccable, and the food was fantastic. Our favorite was the dessert bar, of course. Every course we had and each item the four of us had was quite good - fresh, tasty and well cooked.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed Saturday brunch, food was delicious, service was exceptional. The weather was mild and sunny so we were able to sit outside. Must bring an appetite! The desert table is amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food is spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious food & good wine selection. Cocktails are always excellent as well. We love coming here for the ambience and good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a reservation at the Fairview for Valentines Day. The food was amazing. They had a live pianist playing all sorts of songs ranging from contemporary to lovey romantic ones. They had a specific Valentines Day menu that was a 4 course meal. Wine was excellent. The price of the food was a bit on the expensive side; however, for a romantic get-away dinner, it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went to the Fairway Dining Room at the Washington Duke Inn for Valentine's Day. As usual, the food was excellent and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and amazing-good tastes in everything from the salad to the dessert!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great and service was spectacular as expected at a fine dining establishment such as this one. I asked that they do something special for my Valentine date and they managed to write her name into the dessert plate which was a hit.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What a lovely experience. My husband and I tried Fairview Dining room for the first time and we were so happy we did. We came up from Raleigh looking for a new place. We were delighted to find a quiet, old school restaurant with modern cuisine. Our meal was so delicious - the duck was incredible and the bison filet to die for!! Our server was great as well. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I had not been to the Fairview in 25 years, and that was for the Christmas Day Buffet, which I still remember as fantastic! The decor and atmosphere are formal and elegant and the service was excellent. My cocktail was well executed as was my dessert. Unfortunately, the entree, which was medium rare bison strip sirloin was so salty it was inedible. When my server inquired about it, I was honest with him and he rightly offered to bring something else, but because I was somewhat full due to a smaller stomach from gastric bypass surgery, I didn't want a replacement. He said he would pass my comment about it being too salty on to the chef. I did have vanilla ice cream & cafe latte for dessert - both delicious. The server did not offer to comp my entree, but I think the offer to substitute another entree was fair. I had looked forward to this dinner and attended a performance in Duke Chapel afterward, and was sorely disappointed in the flavor of my entree!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Menu was very very poor unexpected and very few choices no specials. Service was moderate to good all young people. Table itself , the structure was very poor shook and rocked all over the place. It took 3 people to fine manager. To tell him. He said he wishes we would have said something . !! Ok. Who wants to sit in 5 star table. . Them move after we have seated and started . Get it right before I sit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food..customer service ..excellent management ( special thanks to Manager James for wonderful dinning experience.

Sara..

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was so-so but ambience and service were superb.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

For Restaurant Week, the $15 lunch was the best deal going. Excellent food, and a delightful meal. This is an annual event; i am already looking forward to when it comes around again! It is also a great recommendation to the quality of the food on a daily basis, which is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our server was incredible. Very responsive and knowledgeable. Based on his service I would definitely return. However, there was a patron seated behind our table that was extremely loud in her conversations which made the ambiance a little less desirable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fairview dining is always such an enjoyable experience. We feel pampered, enjoy amazing food, live piano music & top notch service. Definitely, one of our favorite dining experiences.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Never disappointed with dining at Fairview! They were very accommodating for our group of 9 ladies and, as always, the food and service were excellent! Everyone was very pleased with the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent food, amazing service and great atmosphere was what greeted us for our lunch at Fairview. Will definitely go back, and will keep in mind for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Fairview is really resting on whatever shrivelled laurels it still has and to a certain extent relying on a captive audience that now has many more choices. The decor is outmoded, and the food extremely average. We went for the Triangle restaurant week, which has a short, good value lunch menu. Now, I know that the average client of the Fairview is well over 60 (by the looks of it) but if I wanted to attract a younger clientele - something that is necessary if you want to survive in Durhams burgeoning restaurant scene - I would make the calculation that younger or first time visitors (I am both) might try it out first with this menu. A discounted menu is not an excuse for so-so cooking, it's an opportunity to do great things with cheap ingredients. This place did neither. I went to try it out, as I'd heard it was an upscale dining experience, and sometimes it's nice to have a 'white tablecloth' experience. If it had been any good I would have been back many times. As it was I will not go again. The service, although some staff were inexperienced, was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Lovely ambiance for special birthday lunch. The Triangle Restaurant Week menu was impressive and delicious. Our only challenge was initially-undercooked fish, which the waitstaff and kitchen quickly corrected. Very nice place for lunch, especially by the windows.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.