Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Fairview Dining Room

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: (919) 493-6699

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Great for Brunch (30)
See All
Quiet Conversation (30)
Romantic (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Afternoon Tea (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Scenic View (20)
Business Meals (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Live Music (11)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful lunch celebrating our friend's 70 th birthday. She received a special dessert and felt very cared for. Thanks for a great event

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated a business birthday lunch. The food was fabulous. Stephanie was our waitress, and she did a super job! Our honoree was very, very happy, and she felt very special! We all enjoyed a delicious meal! Thank you for a wonderful experience and a wonderful meal!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Terrific menu and Wine list. Wonderful ambience!
Waitress interrupted our conversation twice and I called her on that error the second time. She needs manners training and, if that fails, she should be dismissed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific service! Food and wine were excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit the the Fairview Dining Room and we were pleasantly surprised. It is not mentioned on Open Table that it is inside the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, so we had a bit of a time finding it. The food was delicious, though the meat was overlooked but they very quickly refired my filet. The most notable, however, was the exceptional service we received from the moment we entered the Inn and from every member of the staff. Thank you for introducing us to a local restaurant that we will now frequent!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious and relaxing brunch with three generations of family. Good choices for everyone. The staff accommodated a request not on the children's menu. The Sunday brunch features a piano player who entertained us with delightful melodies, but did not overwhelm our conversation. The staff was friendly and very attentive to our needs. There were a wide range of choices for lunch; the food was delicious, from decadent French toast or pancakes, to Florentine eggs Benedict, Norwegian salmon, and salads. The desert table had a wonderful gluten free peach cobbler as well as an assortment of little cakes and treats.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent staff, food, and facilities! Will certainly return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner, setting, and service. It was a fine choice for dinner on a special occasion. We will return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Celebrated our 13th Anniversary on 7-23-17. Kathleen was terrific and the whole staff communicated and interacted with unity. Other members of staff even wished us a Happy Anniversary. Chef was terrific and made our experience memorable. Lighting was romantic, music was subtle & perfect, and terrific ambience. Food was fresh and local. Dessert was delightful. It was if we were the only ones dining. Exceeded all of our expectations. Terrific venue I recommend for others. We dined on a Sunday evening and the attention to detail we were given made for a very special memory. We will be back but next time we plan on spending the night. Kudos to the whole team.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Consistently good, beautiful room and ambiance.
All of the courses were delicious and we lingered over coffee and good conversation where service was excellent but not intrusive.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fairview is elegance personified. Beautiful ambiance, amazing and creative menu, courteous and professional service. Lovely piano music on the weekends. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was very good. Service was great at the beginning of the dinner and slowed down once more tables were filled. The little extra's the chef provided were quite delicious. The noise level was a bit loud but that has more to do with the people sitting at the tables.
We would go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Expecting this to be a high priced restaurant due to the fact its located on the Duke university campus I was hoping for something more than what was received. Atmosphere is upscale. Service is mediocre, the food above average. This is not 5 star. 3.5 maybe.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing kale caesar salad. Couldnt be fresher or better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is an outstanding restaurant that certainly deserves it's 4-star, 4-diamond rating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I like this location because it is quiet and you can have a long brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent, attentive service, good choice of entrees, flavorful food and beautiful, interesting location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The salmon was overcooked and oversalted. Perhaps the head chef wasn't available the evening we went, as all of the dishes were a bit off.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fairview never disappoints! Their food and service are always both amazingly. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The restaurant is fairly large and decorated beautifully around the "Duke "Blue" theme. Chairs are a little low but comfortable. The atmosphere is relaxing and dinner moves along at a comfortable pace.

We dined at the restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday and the meals and experience couldn't have been more perfect. I ordered the shrimp, corn and Bacon Chowder and the NC black grouper. My wife ordered the strawberry salad and pan seared Norwegian salmon. Everything was delicious. Our server said the soup has been on the menu 25 years and I can see why. It was served hot and delicious. My wife's salad was crisp and fresh. The salmon was prepared medium as ordered. The NC grouper and polenta was terrific. Our server, Kathleen, was knowledgeable, pleasant and attentive.
My wife was blown away by the quality of the meals, atmosphere and service. I thank the restaurant for the great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Seating was appropriate. Interesting menu. Seemed that other guests included date nights, families, and birthdays. Service was super, kept checking on us. Wife got cool, and they brought her a blanket - which she loved. Live piano player was very good. Will certainly be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The brunch food and especially the dessert bar are excellent!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Restuarant did a great job accommodating my group on Father's Day.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is thoughtfully done and well presented. The value for the three course dinner is outstanding. The customer service is always professional yet personable. We always enjoy our experience at the Fairview. The only reason I gave a four star on the value category is that I feel the wine list is overpriced for the "house wines". I would love to see more value options here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I was very disappointed with the eggs Benedict. They were overcooked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I highly recommend Dinner at Dusk for a quiet, relaxing meal. The attentive staff and tasty chef's creations made my parents' anniversary dinner one to remember, and definitely a place to plan on for future events.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Really disappointing. I took my husband to Fairview as a birthday dinner and told the hostess and the waitress this was special. We were there on a Tuesday night and it wasn't busy, but our waitress seemed like she couldn't be bothered with us. She left for long periods of time and frequently checked on the only other table on the patio without even speaking to us. She asked if my husband wanted his salad and his soup together, which he did. The soup cake put but no salad, so he asked for it and then she brought it out. All of this pushed back our steaks being brought out and she asked if he wanted it with the salad. So now our steaks are sitting under a heat lamp. It was all overdone since it was sitting out. Then instead of comping dessert, she brought out a dessert after we ordered a similar dessert with a candle on it. Clearly it was an afterthought. I just don't get it. She wasn't particularly friendly but she could have been more responsive. She made what should have been a celebration into an expensive hassle where we both left feeling ignored. We will not return.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This is perhaps the best value fine dining in entire triangle. Great food, wonderful presentation, fabulous service, beautiful surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a delightful experience when I took my mother for a special birthday lunch. Everything was delicious, staff were top-notch, and the piano player played "Happy Birthday" when our waiter brought my mom a special birthday dessert complete with candle: Mom felt like a queen. I can't imagine a nicer destination for a celebration!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

As they say ......"When it comes to love and age..it"s never too late"
When it comes to cozy and classy ambience ...it"s never to late to experience the Fairview restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went for brunch with our mother-in-law during Triangle Restaurant Week and had a lovely time. She was impressed with the impeccable service, the creative food presentation, and the perfectly cooked meal. Everything was just perfect!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fairview Dining Room is a amazing experience in upscale dining. The location is scenic, historical, elegant, and romantic. I am so grateful to Triangle Restaurant Week for providing an affordable way to experience this priceless, memorable opportunity to enjoy fine dining at its best.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our first visit and definitely won't be our last! Fairview is very lovely and has a wonderful, upscale atmosphere. The menu is creative and the food is delectable. The service is top notch. It was a memorable day experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great overall experience. The food was exceptional and the service was also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dining at Fairview is always a wonderful experience. Both the food and the service are consistently stellar. We always look forward to this dining experience......simply the best!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Fairview and Bull Durham Bar is a unique destination for drinks, dining, and relaxing. The views of the golf course from the patio and inside are picturesque. The service is great in the dining room. The menu is interesting and flavorful.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a very disappointing lunch last Saturday. Maybe it was because of Restaurant Week but at a place this nice, that should not have happened. First the hostess told us to wait in the room nearby in a shrill tone. Then the servers left us without napkins through half the meal when one member of our party requested dark napkins. Next they forgot to serve a glass of prosecco and last of all, the coffee service came after we finished dessert, and we were poured half a cup. Too many bad things during one meal. Fortunately, the kitchen is dependable and everything we ordered was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch after my son's high school graduation. Service is always gracious. Kids love the all you care to eat desert bar. The shrimp and grits were outstanding. Other members of our party enjoyed the eggs benedict, the french toast, and the waffles with fried chicken! With beverage, starter, entree, and endless desert covered in one price, this is our favorite brunch location. Live piano music is very pleasant.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We visited Fairview as part of the Triangle Restaurant week. We sat outside on the patio on a perfect weather day. The food was amazing. Service was outstanding. The only thing I would recommend is better signs for the restaurant. We asked two people since the restaurant is not obviously located. No problem though. Everyone was extremely helpful but I bet they get the question quite often...where is the Fairview?

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.