About Fairview Dining Room

3001 Cameron Blvd
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Year after year, the cuisines served up at the Fairview earn the highest marks among respected food critics and peer reviewers. Our Executive Culinary team is widely regarded for their unique "regional neo-American" specialties. The Fairview has received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond award for 22 consecutive years and is the recipient of the Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star rating for two consecutive years.



From our ever-so-tempting appetizers to the last irresistible morsel of our homemade desserts, every meal at the Fairview is executed with discriminating taste and renowned attention to detail. The Inn's extensive wine list, recognized annually by the Wine Spectator Magazine, assures the perfect wine compliment for your meal. Exquisite food, impeccable presentation, attentive service, and a cordial, elegant ambiance make the Fairview the area's restaurant of choice.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Afternoon Tea: Wednesday - Sunday: 2:30pm - 4:30pm. Reservations are required, please contact the restaurant directly.

Cross Street:
Science Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 493-6699

Website:
http://www.washingtondukeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Light classics are played on our baby Grand on Friday & Saturday evening 7pm-10pm, Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm.

Parking Details:
On site secure parking, with complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Jason Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Yes

Private Party Contact:
Bobby Gorham or James Holcomb: 9194936699x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Winter Salad - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Quiche - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Bailey's Ice Cream  - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Pan-Roasted Duck Breast - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Seared Loch Duart Salmon - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Monkfish Wrapped In Bacon  - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Sweet Potato Cake With Maple Ice Cream - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Rabbit Confit - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Duck With Celery Foam - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Cranberry Walnut Alaska - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Spring Desserts - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Cronut With Root Beer Ice Cream - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Rack Of Lamb And Striped Sea Bass - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Beef Short Ribs With Risotto - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Pretzle Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Shrimp and Grits - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC
Afternoon Tea - Fairview Dining Room, Durham, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Fairview Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
American
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Durham
3 More
Best Service
Durham
Best Ambiance
Durham
Best Value
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (20)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Afternoon Tea (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (11)
Scenic View (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Historic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Live Music (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fireplace (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved our server :) treats us so well ev ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved our server :) treats us so well even though we are students.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifully decorated for the Holidays, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Beautifully decorated for the Holidays, and we enjoyed long conversations, good food, and a quiet dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations were easy. The service was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Reservations were easy. The service was prompt, courteous, and very helpful. I believe the waiter’s name was Diego. Our party of four had a very relaxed and pleasurable time. I will return as this place is on my list for special celebrations/gatherings..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The exotic and ostentatious descriptions ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The exotic and ostentatious descriptions of the entrees sets the diner up for disappointment. Two different entrees equally inedible. Stick to the appetizers and desserts - far safer bets.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Can't beat great food, great service, an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Can't beat great food, great service, and live piano!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service pretty bad; got order wrong so w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service pretty bad; got order wrong so we ended up sharing food. Tips are automatically added at 19% for large party which is extremely high.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We were especially impressed by the Chef ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were especially impressed by the Chef's new take on Shrimp and Grits -- using a Pimiento Cheese in the sauce. Truly outstanding, very creative, a new approach to a traditional Southern favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent in every way. We were seated ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent in every way. We were seated immediately. Our table was comfortable. The server was superb--friendly and efficient and helpful with choosing a wine. The menu has something for every taste. The food is well-prepared. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service. Paid attention to det ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent service. Paid attention to detail and to special requests

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the Duke Golf Club was excellen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As usual the Duke Golf Club was excellent for a Sunday brunch

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. However, becaus ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was excellent. However, because it is in a hotel and close to the university, it had lots of college students and much louder than we had expected. Nice for a business dinner or group dinner but not so much for a quiet anniversary dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Fairview is a classy, first class restau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fairview is a classy, first class restaurant, with a splendid menu and delicious cuisine. Service is attentive, polite and efficient. Would that the rest of life were as comfy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, The Fairview never disappoint ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

As always, The Fairview never disappoints. Our waiter, Diego was attentive but not hovering! All four of us ordered different meals and all were superb.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the quiet atmosphere and the foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We love the quiet atmosphere and the food is always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and recommendations and g ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent food and recommendations and great private table to catch up with old friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We work for Duke and decided to hold our ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We work for Duke and decided to hold our Staff meeting there AND we were also celebrating a new hire in our department. The Service was very good and the food portions exceeded expectations.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, creative food...quality servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent, creative food...quality service..elegant setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very disappointing meal. I h ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was a very disappointing meal. I had to send my eggs back as they came out hard (I ordered over easy) and the crab cakes were almost inedible. Bright spots were the Bloody Mary's were really good, the service was good and the piano was most enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Had Sunday brunch. Three courses, severa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had Sunday brunch. Three courses, several main course options from french toast to streak and eggs. Large portions. Piano music. All was lovely.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was great. Food was great. Lo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our server was great. Food was great. Love the atmosphere and the piano in the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was well presented and was very del ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

food was well presented and was very delightful to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was delighted to take my California fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I was delighted to take my California friend here for lunch. It is always fun to show off the Washington Duke to California people. The beauty of the Inn and the gracious staff make it memorable. My friend thanked me several times.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a delicious crab and shrimp Louis. W ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Had a delicious crab and shrimp Louis. With a cold glass of prosecco..outside under the stars..very nice evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Fairview Dining Room is a great plac ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Fairview Dining Room is a great place for a romantic dinner or even a business dinner. It is very classy with live music and respectful workers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were superb. Lunch ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food and service were superb. Lunch at the Dining Room was perfect for great conversation among old friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always elegant place with delicious food ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Always elegant place with delicious food special occasion with out of town friends

Salads unique and could have been meal

Seasonal soup excellent

Special (steak) only dish that fell short -abut grisly fish and vegetarian choices were spot on. Deserts are deconstructed Aztec chocolate was terrific end of meal

Would like to see more pumpkin

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fabulous dining experience on every leve ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fabulous dining experience on every level! Service was flawless. The ambiance and facility were beautiful, in fact, picturesque! Food was not only delicious, but quite affordable. Five stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! Food and service w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Food and service was spectacular. I am 60+ and this was the best steak I have ever eaten. Our server Andrew went the extra mile for us and was knowledgable of my wife's food allergies. I have recommended already and look forward to returning. The only issue I had, and you probably can't do anything about , customers that came in after us were very noisy and loud. They obviously had been to bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice brunch on our anniversary (num ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very nice brunch on our anniversary (number 45). Also, server and manager gave us some special dessert treats as part of the anniversary brunch. It was very nice and my wife loved it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We treated our parents for their 55th We ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We treated our parents for their 55th Wedding Anniversary and they loved it! They said that the food was great! And the atmosphere was perfect!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 50th anniversary and t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We celebrated our 50th anniversary and the Fairview helped make it special. Service was exceptional and food as wonderful as ever.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal. For my boyfriend's birthday ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Phenomenal. For my boyfriend's birthday, the server's brought out a beautiful plate with a candle, while Happy Birthday played gently on the piano. It was an amazing night of incredible food and even more incredible service. My water and soda was never empty :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food although somewhat overpriced. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2016

good food although somewhat overpriced. The small bowl of corn chowder - a signature dish for many years - was mostly corn and potatoes, very little seafood, and was overpriced at $9. The fish entrees were excellent. We were seated next to a large boisterous group, which was strange as there were plenty of empty tables elsewhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great selections for the early evening p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great selections for the early evening prix fixe menu. Beautiful presentation and explanation of everything on the menu. Would recommend for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a beautiful setting to treat my s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a beautiful setting to treat my students and their friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food & service! Excellent experi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing food & service! Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience. The staf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. The staff was friendly and attentive, but not imposing. The food was excellent, the piano music relaxing, and the décor upscale. The occasion was my wife's birthday and the staff made sure that are table was in a somewhat private spot in the restaurant and that the flowers I had ordered ahead of time were on the table before we arrived. It truly was a great time for out entire party of seven adults.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With my daughter in law and two adult gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

With my daughter in law and two adult granddaughters, we had a delightful meal together to celebrate the upcoming senior year of college for one and a new job for the other. One of them had never

dined there before and was awestruck by everything about it......food , ambience, view and

Piano music in the background. Three of us ordered the broccoli quiche and one had the

mushroom omelette....all of us were pleased with our choices and would highly recommend

them. The dessert table offered a large variety of choices, among them a blueberry tart and

a bread pudding.........absolutely outstanding!!! All in all, it was a treat to be repeated soon!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fun, Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was attentive and kind, and the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everyone was attentive and kind, and the food was delicious, making for a wonderful birthday dinner for my friend.

Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. Especially the outdo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I love this place. Especially the outdoor patio seating area overlooking the beautiful golf course. The cocktails are always outstanding, and the chef generally prepares a little something "special" that is served as soon as you are seated, and this time we got another little "chef's treat" at the end of the meal before we left - little hand-made apricot gummy things which were absolutely fantastic!! These little special touches plus the great food, service, and atmosphere, make this our go-to venue for a truly special dinner out!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.