About Fahrenheit - Charlotte

222 South Caldwell St.
Suite 2100
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Located in Charlotte"s Uptown, Fahrenheit has already become a player in the up and coming Charlotte food scene! Rising Star Chef, Rocco Whalen, a Wolfgang Puck protégé, will blow you away with his approachable and cutting edge cooking style. Taste Rocco's contemporary cuisine with its Mediterranean & Asian accents & you'll know why Esquire declared him a "Chef to Keep Your Eye On". Fahrenheit is equipped with a full service bar complete with a la carte dining, private dining rooms available for large parties and the most breathtaking view of Charlotte’s beautiful sky line from every table in the restaurant!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 4:00PM - 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00PM - 2:00AM
Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Sunday Brunch: 11AM - 2:30PM

Cross Street:
E. 3rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6718

Website:
http://www.chefroccowhalen.com/

Catering:
Fahrenheit is truly a one stop shop for all of your dining needs. No matter how small or large your get together may be, let Fahrenheit worry about the details! We customize menus and tailor experiences to the needs of each and every one of our patrons!

Parking Details:
Valet is accessible from 3rd St. Cost is $10 when you dine with us and can be included on your bill or paid in cash directly at the valet stand.

Public Transit:
3rd Street/Convention Center along the Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Rocco Whalen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

For details or reservations, contact our Private Events Manager, Andrea Franceschelli, at 980-237-6718 or via email at bookings@fahrenheit-charlotte.com

Events: Business lunches and dinners, pharmaceutical presentations, birthday celebrations, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, cocktail receptions, holiday parties, private chef’s tastings, wine dinners, private brunches and more!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

Fahrenheit - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Scenic View (299)
Special Occasion (228)
Romantic (174)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (125)
Hot Spot (116)
Good for Groups (79)
Fit for Foodies (77)
Late-night Find (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
Notable Wine List (56)
Great for Brunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (7)
Fireplace (7)
Casual (6)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered the pork chop after the waitre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I ordered the pork chop after the waitress assured me it was NOT spicy. My mouth was on fire after my 4th bite. I couldn't finish my meal. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Brought out-of-town co-workers. GREAT VI ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Brought out-of-town co-workers. GREAT VIEW! - wanted to enjoy the deck longer, but there was limited seating. Our server seemed nervous or inexperienced. Some of her explanations/answers seemed not genuine either because she didn't understand, didn't care, or didn't know. She sold us on an amazing toffee cake with ice cream for dessert. Instead she brought us crème brulee. We questioned, and she assured us it was the toffee cake. When questioned again, she grudgingly said she would check with the chef. Upon returning, she said the pastry chef offerings were not matched to the server menus and that the chef was irritated that the servers kept asking for toffee cake. Why wasn't the discrepancy corrected after the first request? Dinner was very good; dessert was underwhelming.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful view of the city!! Service was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Beautiful view of the city!! Service was very good and in spite of the odd menu selections, the food that we ordered was exquisite!! A wonderful blend of unexpected flavors!!

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only issue we had was a couple of dr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The only issue we had was a couple of drunk people that were falling everywhere and had to be escorted out. I wish they could have been cut off at the bar before it got that bad. Also my husband went to the restroom and witnessed your employee go and walk out without washing their hands.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Private Room, Live Music, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm pretty sure our server was high. He ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I'm pretty sure our server was high. He brought me out an entree I didn't order so my husband finished his meal before I even got mine. Ahi poke nachos were so good. Lobster Mac and cheese was good, but not worth $36. View of the city was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Outstanding view an ambiance while sitti ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding view an ambiance while sitting outside

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and views. Slightly pricey an ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food and views. Slightly pricey and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit, after we were to a lot ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

First time visit, after we were to a lot restaurants in and around Charlotte. The Fahrenheit was superb - the food is AWESOME...the views are breathtaking ( for the Carolinas)....everything but not awesome is the noise level. Very loud that evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the overall experience. Howev ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I enjoyed the overall experience. However, seemed like EVERYTHING was on a slow speed. From the waitstaff to the retrieval of the car from the valet, it was slow. Which was surprising since there was an abundance of staff and very few customers at that time. The food and gracious staff made it worthwhile. I hope the molasses-feel of service was a fluke. I will go back for a second shot!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a really hot little spot in Char ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is a really hot little spot in Charlotte. They were busy but the service was on point. Food options were nice, we shared several (to many) small plates for a great variety. We had a nice sized table by a window with the those great rooftop skyline views. Overall, awesome food, great Service, very nice views!

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The view of the city at sunset was stunn ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The view of the city at sunset was stunning, the service was fabulous - we loved our server, but the food was definitely mediocre at best for the price. If you are looking for a place to have a few drinks with friends with a great view, then go and hang out on the patio. I was also very disappointed that the menu online was different from the menu in the restaurant. A few simple additions such as variety of salad dressings and an available steak sauce would have made a big difference in our opinion as silly as it seems. I feel like they focus so much on trying to make their food "fancy" and one of a kind that they forgot about the basics. For 2 appetizers, salad, entree, 1 drink from the bar and an iced tea our total with tip was $110. The view wasn't worth it. There was also a surprising lack of seating on the patio. I guess I expected there to be some couches, etc in addition the couple of tables with stools. It would have made it easier to relax and enjoy the view. On a Saturday night the tables fill up very quickly so everyone else is left to stand. Again, our server was great and our table was ready early which was very nice however half of our party was blinded through part of dinner b/c the setting sun shined right into their eyes until it was past the buildings.

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The food was the best iv tasted in a lon ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was the best iv tasted in a long time, it was reasonably priced except for the wine. I think 54 dollars was alittle much. It is very loud as its busy but thatdidn't put me off. The views are amazing, it could use alittle more seating outside. Overall it'sworth it, I will go back the food is to die for.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant left a good impression o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This restaurant left a good impression on my taste buds. I was here for two reasons - to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and because I wanted another serving of the Kobe Beef from the appetizer's menu. The scrimp from appetizer's menu was new to us and great. I plan to return again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the city view and the firepits ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We loved the city view and the firepits outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were slightly disappointed when we fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were slightly disappointed when we found out that they have discontinued some of our favorite vegetarian dishes. But still have enough choices left if you are vegetarian.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The view and atmosphere was the best ! ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The view and atmosphere was the best ! Server was pleasant but not very attentive . This was Sunday brunch so the value was very good . Food was good but not spectacular - would try the dinner menue but would be hesitate if I were only going for the food .Really the view makes up for it . A lady fell on a step and hit the floor pretty hard , & while her party rushed to her aid no one from restaurant seemed to concerned ( couldn't miss it ) bathrooms were dirty & I ended up going to the hyatts main lobby restroom.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Just for their information, I fell on Su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Just for their information, I fell on Sunday in their bar area on a very slippery step and pulled tendons and ligaments in my foot. This should be addressed immediately!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated a friend for her birthday to thi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Treated a friend for her birthday to this establishment, but i'm torn over truly liking it. While the food was amazing, i'm not completely sure it was worth the price. I think you are paying for the experience of eating 21 floors in the air with a view of uptown Charlotte. The food portions lacked a filling meal. Honestly, $35 for 3 Scallops? and decorations??? that was a bit crazy to me. Some of the items I wanted to try were unavailable, although recommended by one of the servers. Please make note of whatever the kitchen has ran out of before talking to patrons. i was really excited to try the shrimp and grits, only to find out that they were out for the evening! My drink was wonderful...something involving the word Machete...nice earthy drink. the view is amazing and the fire pits outside helped to keep me warm. Apparently it is a hotspot for celebrities when in town because I sat next to Fantasia and her friends. The waiter that served us said that they encounter that type of crowd frequently. I might dine there again, definitely earlier in the evening to ensure that i get to try food that is actually there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great except the portion ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was great except the portion size. The size of the filet was extremely small for 41$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Several large parties were going on arou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Several large parties were going on around us and made it difficult for conversation.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The whole experience in the restaurant w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The whole experience in the restaurant was perfect. Mercury, the hostess, and Corbin, our server, were both outstanding. They both went above and beyond to make our evening super special. The view was incredible and I watched at least 3 servers offer to go outside and take pics of guests with the skyline. We ordered the rock shrimp appetizer, scallops and salmon and loved it all. They also brought us out a chocolate mousse dessert to congratulate us on what we were there celebrating and it was delicious. I was so very impressed with everything about our dinner. My only complaint would be that the valet is $10. It seems like there should be validation or at least a discount. On top of the higher price, it was chaotic and unorganized, but still all of the valets were incredibly nice amidst the disorder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the food was awful and over priced, my f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

the food was awful and over priced, my fish was so salty. the hostess was VERY rude. only good thing was the terrace and the view but I wil never go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

I took my friend there for her birthday. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I took my friend there for her birthday. The ambiance was perfect the food was great. The service was great, I recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I was excited to come to Fahrenheit to c ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was excited to come to Fahrenheit to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday, but was disappointed with the service overall. It took almost 10 min to receive water, another 10 min for our drinks to come. Our food came out in a timely fashion, however it took almost 15 min for our check to be picked up.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Delicious food with the best view of the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Delicious food with the best view of the Queen City. It's was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fahrenheit is always very good, but with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fahrenheit is always very good, but with every meal I am pleasantly surprised just how good it is. Chef Rocco's unique use of Asian flavors in classic and Southern dishes is wonderful. Plus, I love that he sources his ingredients as close to restaurant as possible to give a real authentic Charlotte dining experience. His wait staff is charming and very well versed with the menu. They truly serve as a great guide throughout the meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was passing through Charlotte and read ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I was passing through Charlotte and read up about a number of restaurants I ought to check out. This one caught my attention. Excellent choice! Lovely view of the city while dining. Outside patio surrounds the restaurant with live plantings of herbs and other plantings. Delicious food, attentive server, and quiet conversation. Will definitely go back when in Charlotte.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Great atmosphere and vie ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was great! Great atmosphere and view of the Charlotte skyline.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took like 20+ mins to get my table and I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Took like 20+ mins to get my table and I had made a reservation a week in advance.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

food is pricey for some stuff but overal ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

food is pricey for some stuff but overall good quality

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Terrible experience. Went here for a dua ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Terrible experience. Went here for a dual Father's Day and birthday celebration. My family does not live in Charlotte and I wanted to show them something cool in the QC. Made a reservation two months ahead of time. Could not find parking so we called to ask where to park and to let them know we were otw. There is a long story more after this, but the rudeness continued. The manager did work with us. Finally once seated, the place mats smelled like sour dish cloth and the food ...I could better at Applebee's, Chilis, etc. No way is this ever worth it, even for a special occasion. Go to Dels or Ruth's. Or the Olive Garden. :)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Mixed mule drink was horrible and food w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Mixed mule drink was horrible and food was not good now way worth 40 a plate. Only good food item was shrimp from the apps.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Our waiter Shawn was very attentive and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter Shawn was very attentive and even allowed me to take a peek at a part of the restaurant we were looking to rent out for our wedding reception. The food was delicious and the views were mostly what we expected. The only complaint was that our drinks seemed to take awhile despite an only moderately full reataurant for a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great view. Good food. Noisy. Young prof ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great view. Good food. Noisy. Young professional atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal, with exceptiona ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had a wonderful meal, with exceptional service. However, the temperature in the restaurant was so high that we were actually sweating. We had to ask the waitress to adjust the thermostat, which she did. The view was amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Views are great from the terrace. Servic ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Views are great from the terrace. Service was excellent. Appetizers were good and interesting, but every entree was over salted. The skirt steak was very tough, but that might be my fault, as I went against the recommendation to have it English. We would go back for the scene and the appetizers, but not for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Server Aaron made the experience even mo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Server Aaron made the experience even more special. He made recommendations and took extra care of us. We WILL be coming back and will look for him.

Also when I called to confirm reservations the hostess was clear, pleasant, and lived up to her reputation when we arrived.

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrible...views were amazin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was horrible...views were amazing....the food wasn't good enough to come back again. And deal with horriblly inattentive servers.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Wonderful food and service! Pork chop wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Pork chop was simply amazing! Being on the 21st floor of a hotel, the sights off the outside deck of uptown Charlotte are second to none! Would easily recommend to anyone as a "must do" on your list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and great service! It was a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place and great service! It was a wonderful way to spend my birthday!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.