About Fahrenheit - Charlotte

222 South Caldwell St.
Suite 2100
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Located in Charlotte"s Uptown, Fahrenheit has already become a player in the up and coming Charlotte food scene! Rising Star Chef, Rocco Whalen, a Wolfgang Puck protégé, will blow you away with his approachable and cutting edge cooking style. Taste Rocco's contemporary cuisine with its Mediterranean & Asian accents & you'll know why Esquire declared him a "Chef to Keep Your Eye On". Fahrenheit is equipped with a full service bar complete with a la carte dining, private dining rooms available for large parties and the most breathtaking view of Charlotte’s beautiful sky line from every table in the restaurant!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 4:00PM - 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00PM - 2:00AM
Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Sunday Brunch: 11AM - 2:30PM

Cross Street:
E. 3rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6718

Website:
http://www.chefroccowhalen.com/

Catering:
Fahrenheit is truly a one stop shop for all of your dining needs. No matter how small or large your get together may be, let Fahrenheit worry about the details! We customize menus and tailor experiences to the needs of each and every one of our patrons!

Parking Details:
Valet is accessible from 3rd St. Cost is $7 when you dine with us and have your valet ticket stamped at the hostess stand.

Public Transit:
3rd Street/Convention Center along the Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Rocco Whalen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

For details or reservations, contact our Private Events Manager, Andrea Franceschelli, at 980-237-6718 or via email at bookings@fahrenheit-charlotte.com

Events: Business lunches and dinners, pharmaceutical presentations, birthday celebrations, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, cocktail receptions, holiday parties, private chef’s tastings, wine dinners, private brunches and more!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

Fahrenheit - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

scenic view (286)
special occasion (205)
romantic (151)
See All
hot spot (124)
vibrant bar scene (112)
fit for foodies (76)
great for outdoor dining (72)
good for groups (71)
late-night find (67)
notable wine list (45)
great for brunch (31)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for lunch (13)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went as part of Restaurant week. Had bee ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went as part of Restaurant week. Had been a very hot day and that made restaurant seating area very warm and somewhat uncomfortable. Lewis was our waiter and he was very good. Hostess could have been a bit more attentive. Food was phenomenal and food is spectacular!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The dining room temperature was too hot. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

The dining room temperature was too hot. The men in our group were breaking a sweat!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Not worth the price. Steak was very fatt ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Not worth the price. Steak was very fatty and noise level was so outrageous I couldn't hear my date. Most likely won't return... The view was great except I had a wall beside my seat and couldn't really see outside. However, our server and the rest of the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

I took my daughter here for queen's feas ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

I took my daughter here for queen's feast. I was under the impression that the courses were $30 but they were $35. Gratuity was included at 18%. The service was good. The only issue was that it took a while to pay. Someone stepped in and took the check maybe noticing that it was taking a while. I plan on returning on a romantic date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat and have a good time ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to eat and have a good time with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Fahrenheit. It was res ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

My first visit to Fahrenheit. It was restaurant week and the place was very busy and extremely LOUD! Beautiful view of uptown Charlotte. Service was adequate. Had to ask our server for another round of drinks. Couldn't hear what anyone was saying to us when they came to our table, it was so noisy. Food was good, nothing that special. 18% gratuity added to bill for 2 people. Nice place to go for a drink and and the view. Too expensive.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time dining here and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time dining here and we went for restaurant, so the $35 per person was very reasonable for this upscale restaurant. We may go again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The steak was not of good quality.(only ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

The steak was not of good quality.(only ate about 1/3 of it) I had gift cards and was requested to pay gratuity with cash and not use the gift card.(Which is what I had planned on doing) Not everyone has a lot of cash with them.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went for cocktails and appetizers on a M ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for cocktails and appetizers on a Monday after work. At 5:30 the bar area was relatively quiet - but quickly filled up. We had prompt, friendly service. We loved the chorizo stuffed dates, and also had the shaved Brussel sprout salad - which was nice and light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Service was terrible ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Service was terrible. We waited 20 minutes to have a server come speak to us upon sitting down. After our food was delivered our server never came by again until we were almost done eating. My beer and my Girlfriends cocktail were both empty for a majority of the meal. (which at $12 a drink makes zero sense.) Not sure what the deal was considering for the price point good service is expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Awesome pace especially during restauran ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome pace especially during restaurant week. One of the two steaks we purchased was very tough though and nearly impossible to chew. My date and ended up splitting my steak.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved being able to try the food, everyt ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved being able to try the food, everything was great besides the steak. I know that it was restaurant week but the cut of strip was very poor and fatty. If the chef wanted to showcase his steak, he shouldn't of used a cheaper cut of meat. The pork chop, appetizers and dessert were very good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of longtime friends met for Rest ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

A group of longtime friends met for Restaurant Week dinner. The bar area was nice and roomy with a great view and excellent wines/cocktails. Dinner as very good and we all enjoyed every bite. Calamari as a starter was delicious. Not too much breaking and very good. Pork chop was thick, juicy and delicious. Finished with peanut butter and jelly dessert which was very tasty. The wines were great and our server Montreal was excellent - very attentive and friendly. We stepped outside after dinner to take in the view of the skyline. The city looked great at night. We enjoyed our time together and the dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food overall was pretty good some of the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food overall was pretty good some of the Asian twist worked very well with the exception of the wasabi mashed potatoes. Was a little over-powering. Great for a date night!!! Did not like the $15 added gratuity for restaurant week. This would not deter me from dining again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a great experience enjoyed having ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was a great experience enjoyed having the gift card speacial and queen feast week makes it possible to eat at a nice restaurant like Fahrenhit but only thing was their was too much sauce on the steak but other than that it was great. Oh and the pretzel bread is amazing

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Have a drink and see the view; then go e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Have a drink and see the view; then go elsewhere to dine. The "fusion" cuisine apparently is the fantasy that adding ginger and/or soy to ordinary food will be exotic. The wine list is full of classics, to be sure, but nothing that would complement "fusion" food. Hint: Gewurztraminer might be a good place to start along a different Riesling. The dyspeptic background music does not add to fine dining, and the restroom had not been serviced for a long time. Much paper towels and toilet tissue was on the floor. The three women at the maitre d table had a two minute discussion about which table to use to seat our two person party. And if you go for the view, wait until sunset: the restaurant faces to the west. Our service was superb. It was the one bright spot in the evening.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

I was finally able to get a reservation ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was finally able to get a reservation at the upscale restaurant with scenic views. I was expecting my experience to be great, but I was disappointed. The customer service was not up to basic standards throughout the entire evening. I ordered calamari for my appetizer and it was bland outside of the small amount of sauce provided on the plate. For my dinner entree, I ordered the new york strip steak and it was the worst steak I have ever tasted. When I attempted to cut the steak with the provided steak knife I struggled to cut it. The steak was extra tough and the vegetables (mostly carrots) provided were burnt. I sent my food back and they prepare me another new york strip steak which was still not up to basic standards. The scenic view is the best part about this restaurant. The food at this restaurant is not upscale quality. I would not recommend this restaurant to friends, family,coworkers or to anyone else that seeks restaurant recommendation.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our server was extremely disappointing. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was extremely disappointing. He did not check on us but one time and our water was refilled by another server. We forgot what time it was and tried to order drinks prior to 12 on a Sunday. We saw our server take drinks to a table right next to us who had been seated prior to us right at 12, but he never came to us and asked if we still would like our drinks. He also did not ask if we needed to put our parking on our bill (which for a restaurant that offers that option you would think the server would ask before bringing us our bill). We tried to order the fried biscuit doughnuts and the mixer was broken. One mixer for a whole restaurant? No other possible way to mix? Extremely upsetting considering I have worked in the food business and driven to a store in the middle of a shift to make sure we could serve what was on the menu. The server failed to give any helpful suggestions on what to order, so I ended up ordering something that maybe wasn't the most popular dish and not very good. The place is beautiful, and I was very excited to go. I would not recommend brunch, and cannot recommend or discourage dinner as we have not been. I wish the over 45 minute drive had been worth it.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

This was my first time for brunch and ov ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time for brunch and overall the food was large but just average. I got the captain crunch pancakes and my husband got waffles and fried chicken. The pancakes really tasted like any diner pancakes and they just threw cereal on top. They were fine but reply sweet! The portion was enormous so split it. The waffles bad chicken were a little better but I don't like when Fried chicken has the bone in when served over something like waffles. The portion was also large. Overall eh for $50... The server we had was great though, super nice me very attentive. Always sit on the left side of the restaurant because it's way cooler than the open side. Not sure if I will do brunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Our waiter Robert was ridiculously negli ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Robert was ridiculously negligent, at a time when the restaurant was not even busy. We were the first ones there for brunch so you'd think it wouldn't be hard for him to be attentive. Our food came out 30 minutes after ordering and had many things missing from 2 of the meals, but of course he wasn't around to even ask us if everything was good. We had to pester a nearby waitress when he still hadn't stopped by 10-15 minutes later for the large list of things that were still needed. When he finally showed up after the waitress took care of our needs he didn't apologize, didn't ask us if we needed anything else, didn't even speak to us the rest of our meal. I didn't end up eating half of my food because it was cold by the time I received everything I needed (waffles probably need syrup, right) Good job on having the worst service I've ever experienced at a restaurant before.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The beauty of the dishes! Also, I will t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

The beauty of the dishes! Also, I will thank Fahrenheit for seating me early, thanks much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went for restaurant week and for the vie ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Went for restaurant week and for the view of Charlotte skyline. The menu was good with nice choices for all. We shared our appetizers of spring rolls and calamari. Dinner entrees were nice portions. I even had left overs of the pork chop and lemon grass fried rice. Our server, Shawn, made the evening. He was engaging and talkative and took great care of us. The evening went downhill after leaving the restaurant where the $10 valet took almost an hour to bring our car and turned into an unpleasant heated exchange with no response from PMC Parking company. Take away is Fahrenheit is worth the visit but find self-parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service and atmosphere was great! Food w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service and atmosphere was great! Food was pretty good, not as good as normal, but that probably was because restaurant week started and it was packed. I always love going here for special occasions because it is a really good spot, but great views and fine dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our evening. Food was great. Pri ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed our evening. Food was great. Pricey on glass of wine.

Great rooftop view of Charlotte.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was wonderful, service very good, b ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was wonderful, service very good, but when the shorter, brown haired lady from the kitchen came in from the patio carrying a mop/broom/bucket through the dining area and then into the kitchen I was shocked, mad, very turned off with this happening, put a sour taste in my mouth about coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fahrenheit is awesome. My date and I had ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fahrenheit is awesome. My date and I had a wonderful time. We'll be returning soon

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome. Huge improvement fr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was awesome. Huge improvement from the last 3 times we have been there since you opened. The caliber of service was on par with the restaurant tier this can/should be .

Food was not great. The wagyu beef dishes were so fatty, they were hard to eat, as we had to cut out all the fat to try and get a few bites of the meat portion. Also desserts left a lot to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Wonderful view of Charlotte and even bet ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful view of Charlotte and even better food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was okay. The food was deli ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was okay. The food was delicious as always.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This is a beautiful restaurant with a gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant with a great rooftop view and the staff are very attentive. However, the ridiculous high-energy club music played very loudly at dinner was completely out of place. Also, there is only paid valet parking available. The portions are small and expensive, and my fish was terrible. I actually had to spit part of it out because I couldn't chew it; it was like eating gristle! On a positive note, my husbands short ribs were tasty and we got some nice pictures on the roof. I would not visit this restaurant again and didn't feel it was worth the money. Could be great, but needs some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

The servers here are on top of their gam ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The servers here are on top of their game with a never say "no" attitude, Similar too those of Apple on the phone. A eye drawing view from the twenty first floor is perfect for that special someone and you too have a great dinner and a drink. I strongly recommend this fine restaurant not only for the view, but for food and service as well. Enjoy.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent spot for millennials et al. Fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent spot for millennials et al. Food is excellent and service comparable. Urban view dominates. Outdoor seating, fire pits, and herb garden appropriate for setting. For more mature (old) folks, age 70 and above, hold on to your hats. Difficult to carry on a conversation, music less than relaxing, and dress attire of diners reminds one of someone who just got out of bed on a Saturday morning and stumbles to the curb for the morning paper. Wait staff knowledgeable, courteous, and most helpful. I am certain that this place will continue to be a hit with the young folks as it should be. An excellent choice for the right demographic which it has achieved!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

It was memorable. It was our very first ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was memorable. It was our very first time going for a girls night out. The waiters were very intelligent on what they personally liked as well as the all time favorites there. The food was phenomenal! The vibe was very energetic and you have an amazing night if you go here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced maincourses. I would spilt on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Overpriced maincourses. I would spilt one of their delicious pizzas and apps. Can't beat the views!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere but wildly expensive. F ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great atmosphere but wildly expensive. Food was good but not $200 good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Dinner was a few selections. Filet migno ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Dinner was a few selections. Filet mignon was tender and amazing. Wonderful view of downtown Charlotte. Really enjoyed being there and would definitely return for a special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

PLUS- quality of the meal surprised me, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

PLUS- quality of the meal surprised me, food that good usually costs way more. MINUS- too noisy for a conversation and men should really wear shirts with collars. 75% of men wore t-shirts and flip flops - ruins the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

First time I was still at the table when ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time I was still at the table when it was being cleared

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

We had the steamed buns as an app!!! Wo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had the steamed buns as an app!!! Wow!! They were incredible. We would highly recommend them. For dinner we enjoyed the short ribs and pork chop. They both were excellent. We always enjoy the view. The service was very TGIF!!! Very impersonable just wanting to get the job done. We were also disappointed in the valet parking. It takes at least 10 minutes. So plan accordingly or park our car on our own which is very convenient. All in all the food is worth the so so service and poor service with the valet parking. Go enjoy the food and the view!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

If you haven't been to Fahrenheit yet, g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

If you haven't been to Fahrenheit yet, go! The view alone is worth the visit, but the food IS delicious too! Definitely one of the best restaurants in Charlotte.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.