About Fahrenheit - Charlotte

222 South Caldwell St.
Suite 2100
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Located in Charlotte"s Uptown, Fahrenheit has already become a player in the up and coming Charlotte food scene! Rising Star Chef, Rocco Whalen, a Wolfgang Puck protégé, will blow you away with his approachable and cutting edge cooking style. Taste Rocco's contemporary cuisine with its Mediterranean & Asian accents & you'll know why Esquire declared him a "Chef to Keep Your Eye On". Fahrenheit is equipped with a full service bar complete with a la carte dining, private dining rooms available for large parties and the most breathtaking view of Charlotte’s beautiful sky line from every table in the restaurant!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 4:00PM - 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00PM - 2:00AM
Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Sunday Brunch: 11AM - 2:30PM

Cross Street:
E. 3rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6718

Website:
http://www.chefroccowhalen.com/

Catering:
Fahrenheit is truly a one stop shop for all of your dining needs. No matter how small or large your get together may be, let Fahrenheit worry about the details! We customize menus and tailor experiences to the needs of each and every one of our patrons!

Parking Details:
Valet is accessible from 3rd St. Cost is $10 when you dine with us and can be included on your bill or paid in cash directly at the valet stand.

Public Transit:
3rd Street/Convention Center along the Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Rocco Whalen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

For details or reservations, contact our Private Events Manager, Andrea Franceschelli, at 980-237-6718 or via email at bookings@fahrenheit-charlotte.com

Events: Business lunches and dinners, pharmaceutical presentations, birthday celebrations, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, cocktail receptions, holiday parties, private chef’s tastings, wine dinners, private brunches and more!

Specials

Restaurant Week

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Restaurant Week

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Queen's Feast 2015-- 3 Courses for $35. Please call 980.237.6718 for reservations or book online at Open Table. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available for Dinner Only Tax & 20% Gratuity will be added to all checks. Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

Fahrenheit - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (115)
Good for a Date (89)
Special Occasion (85)
See All
Romantic (70)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Hot Spot (52)
Modern Decor (50)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Fireplace (46)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Bar Seating (37)
Fun (36)
Business Meals (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Happy Hour (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Late-night Find (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
People Watching (21)
Casual (20)
Open Kitchen (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Outstanding Value (10)
Seasonal (8)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (7)
Private Room (6)
Tapas (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Live Music (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great first time celebrating a birthday! ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Great first time celebrating a birthday! Shrimp & Grits were awesome as was the pork chop!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating a successful first semester ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating a successful first semester of college and it was definitely a memorable experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a spectacular Sunday brunch overl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a spectacular Sunday brunch overlooking the city.

Phenomenal burger, eggs and fried chicken and burger.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a wonderful time and the view is inc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful time and the view is incredible. We had a wonderful server named Montreal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new tradition for my girls night out! ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

A new tradition for my girls night out! A must do

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fun, , Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I went for our anniversary. Apps were great. Drinks were over priced for the amount you get. Wine by the glass especially. Entrees were sub par. Better off sticking with the cheaper entree. More expensive entrees were not up to expectations from presentation to taste.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

I chose this restaurant to surprise my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

I chose this restaurant to surprise my husband for his 40th birthday when we were visiting Charlotte. It was recommended by a girlfriend who lives in Charlotte and it did not disappoint . From riding the elevator 21 stories up, to the window seats with an amazing view, to the delectable cocktails, to the mouthwatering food, it was nothing less than perfect. My husband can sometimes be hard to please but everything he ate was followed by "This is scrumptious." Whenever we visit Charlotte, this will be the first place we go.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoy the night with my husband ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

I really enjoy the night with my husband for his birthday. My choice of meal was delicious as well (the avocado salad), and my husband got the steak. The noise level was a little loud but it was ok. I would definitely return.

Tags: Private Room, Late-night Find, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my daughter here for a pre-theate ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

I took my daughter here for a pre-theater date and our server was very attentive and helped her find things on the menu that she would like . I highly recommend the grilled avocado on the appetizer menu it's always a favorite !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was not my first visit to Fahrenhei ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

This was not my first visit to Fahrenheit, each time being for casual business meetings. This visit I met with my boss as I mentioned to him the possibility of recommending this venue to our concierge clients. It was a warm day, the view from the patio was perfectly inviting. We had a delightful dinner and were able to people watch and discuss business in a seemingly perfect setting. My only concern was seeing people around us dressed in work out gear and tennis shoes. I would not expect that at a venue like this on a Friday evening after 5pm. However, I will return and consider recommending it to our clients. The food is devine.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was my other half birthday. The first ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It was my other half birthday. The first one since coming back from being over seas. I suprised him with this place. They brought him a dessert with a candle in it. The service was outstanding. Food was tremendous. Everyone was very friendly. The view was magnificent along with the beautifully placed fire pit for warmth. He was overjoyed by this place. Made his birthday as special and as perfect as I hoped it would be. Would def recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, , Disabled Access, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, really terrific!! Was hopin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food, really terrific!! Was hoping to see my Open Table points posted but not in my profile....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great for drinks and view of the city! T ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great for drinks and view of the city! The food is good but way to pricy for being mediocre

Tags: Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was my birthday and wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was my birthday and wedding anniversary. The host went out of his way to create my wife and I a celebration plate with a little cake and candles.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dishes well presented and very good. Als ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Dishes well presented and very good. Also unexpectedly good sized portions for a $$$ restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fantastic team service, excellent ambian ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Fantastic team service, excellent ambiance, wagyu short ribs and salmon was amazing. Great beer and wine selection. Staff is very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Birthday Dinner. The food is aweso ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great Birthday Dinner. The food is awesome here and portions are good, even though pricey. Unfortunely it was foggy so we didnt get to see the view, but we will be back when the weather is warmer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our group of six went to Fahrenheit for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our group of six went to Fahrenheit for brunch on New Year's day. We've been there before for brunch, and have always had a good experience. This time, however, not so much. The service was mediocre, and the bloody marys were so spicy they were not drinkable. A very disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was good, but service was lacking. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good, but service was lacking. Considering the restaurant wasn't busy at all, our waiter barely paid any attention to us. I expect more from an upscale, pricey restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was inexcusable. Everyone wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was inexcusable. Everyone was very kind when they would bother to stop by our table. We had to go to the bar to get silverware for our initial small plate that was ordered. Drinks were mediocre, the cinnamon roll was mediocre. In the pursuit of a good meal and great service, we decided to leave and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

First time and won't be my last time com ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time and won't be my last time coming here! The food is amazing and the staff are so friendly that by the end of the night you don't want to leave! Can't wait to come back to Charlotte and eat and drink here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The braised veal shank was absolutely de ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The braised veal shank was absolutely delicious and I was stunned by the creative concoction that was the Chef's Southern Style Creamy Grits. They combined sweet corn with grits to create an amazing ambience of flavor. It was sweetness of spoon bread with the delicious taste of my mom's homemade mashed potatoes (consistency similar too).

The Asian Accents were a delight for all options, I enjoyed the ramen like noodle in the Soba.

Tags: Vegan, Spicy, Business Meals, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Casual, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for dinner on New Year's E ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for dinner on New Year's Eve...I made the reservation without checking the prix fixe menu, and was really pleasantly surprised by the selections. The food was great--special enough for a NYE dinner, and larger portions ("normal") than I expected for a four course prix fixe. I could see making this a NYE tradition! (And our server, Chris, was funny, friendly, and very helpful).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I went to what was my favorite Charlotte ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I went to what was my favorite Charlotte restaurant for New Years Eve and even though I was not aware of a pre set menu it's to be expected during a special occasion like NYE. So at $100/pp you would expect a great dining experience...wrong. We were brought all 3 courses within a matter of 15-20 mins, the waitress spilt ranch dressing on my coat and instead of telling me pretending she was cleaning the chair. I could not believe it and the real kicker that sent me over the top was my New Years morning was spent laying in bed feeling like I was being kicked in the stomach because of food poisoning- I had 2 drinks all night so I wish I could attribute it to too much drinking but I've only experienced that type of stomach pain nearly 7 years ago when I and my ex both had food poisoning from calamari. So unexpectedly $300 and for a 30 minute meal that ultimately came back up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Crab bisque with butternut squash was in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Crab bisque with butternut squash was incredible.. Scallops were well seared although the savory sweet combo with the parsnip puree I wasn't a fan of. Ambiance was perfect and upbeat as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I had a nice experience for ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I had a nice experience for early new year's eve dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is absolutely amazing, You MU ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place is absolutely amazing, You MUST go here. Bring someone you really love to share this moment of atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Casual, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was okay. Very loud. Food was okay, w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was okay. Very loud. Food was okay, we didn't get our drinks until after our food. They don't have ranch or 57 sauce I was surprised .... very dark inside.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

I had the filet and it was very good. S ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I had the filet and it was very good. Service was also good and the view of the city is top notch. The outdoor fire pits are a great touch. I would recommend Fahrenheit to anyone looking for some good food and drinks with a fantastic view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I went here for my 18th birthday and it ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I went here for my 18th birthday and it was phenomenal! The food was perfect and the service was the best I've ever had. The view of the city was breath taking but it was a little loud. You kinda had to talk above an inside voice just to hear the people at your table. But besides the noise level it was an overall great experience. I would recommend this place to others.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, , Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service is always top notch. The foo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service is always top notch. The food is amazing. . . .Chef Rocco always prepares mouthwatering, melt in your mouth meals.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is amazing! I love the fire pit ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The view is amazing! I love the fire pit! The food is great, but I wish there more options to choose from. The only "negative" thing that I would say is it can be extremely noisy at dinner time, so it's not the best place to go to if you want to have an intimate conversation.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and food. Can't beat th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and food. Can't beat the view, overlooking the city of Charlotte. Pricey and limited entree menu, so ordering appetizers is the way to go.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great view, expensive food certainly goo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great view, expensive food certainly good but not room for improvement, would go back !

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We had Sarah as our server and she was a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had Sarah as our server and she was awesome. We brought our 3 young children(10 and8 years old) and she was so accommodating. Truly one of the best experiences We have had Being out to dinner with our kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

View was great, decor and service was go ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

View was great, decor and service was good. We went here because we heard good things and was my boyfriend's birthday. But honestly the food was not as good as hoped and really not worth the menu price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food in a tastefully appointed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food in a tastefully appointed atmosphere. Attentive service without being suffocating. Great view of city.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! New favorite restaurant in Char ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Awesome! New favorite restaurant in Charlotte, purchased (2) $100 gift cards.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome wait staff and valet staff. Grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Awesome wait staff and valet staff. Great food, reasonable prices, wonderful view

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining at Fahrenheit was a special exper ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Dining at Fahrenheit was a special experience. We have recently moved to Charlotte and friends have raved about how nice it is. The food was well-prepared and presented. Scallops were some of the best. Nice job, Chef! The view from the 21st floor was amazing. We were celebrating our anniversary and were surprised with a nice "congrats" treat at the end of our meal. We will be back, often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.