About Fahrenheit - Charlotte

222 South Caldwell St.
Suite 2100
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Located in Charlotte"s Uptown, Fahrenheit has already become a player in the up and coming Charlotte food scene! Rising Star Chef, Rocco Whalen, a Wolfgang Puck protégé, will blow you away with his approachable and cutting edge cooking style. Taste Rocco's contemporary cuisine with its Mediterranean & Asian accents & you'll know why Esquire declared him a "Chef to Keep Your Eye On". Fahrenheit is equipped with a full service bar complete with a la carte dining, private dining rooms available for large parties and the most breathtaking view of Charlotte’s beautiful sky line from every table in the restaurant!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 4:00PM - 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00PM - 2:00AM
Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Sunday Brunch: 11AM - 2:30PM

Cross Street:
E. 3rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6718

Website:
http://www.chefroccowhalen.com/

Catering:
Fahrenheit is truly a one stop shop for all of your dining needs. No matter how small or large your get together may be, let Fahrenheit worry about the details! We customize menus and tailor experiences to the needs of each and every one of our patrons!

Parking Details:
Valet is accessible from 3rd St. Cost is $10 when you dine with us and can be included on your bill or paid in cash directly at the valet stand.

Public Transit:
3rd Street/Convention Center along the Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Rocco Whalen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

For details or reservations, contact our Private Events Manager, Andrea Franceschelli, at 980-237-6718 or via email at bookings@fahrenheit-charlotte.com

Events: Business lunches and dinners, pharmaceutical presentations, birthday celebrations, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, cocktail receptions, holiday parties, private chef’s tastings, wine dinners, private brunches and more!

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Don't miss out on the chance to ring in 2017 at Fahrenheit! We are offering a chef crafted pre-fixe dinner menu as well as champagne specials, all while overlooking Uptown Charlotte. $99 per person or $160 per person with Moet Imperial.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

Fahrenheit - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Scenic View (124)
Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (81)
See All
Good for a Date (76)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Hot Spot (51)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Bar Seating (40)
Fun (40)
Modern Decor (38)
Fireplace (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Business Meals (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Late-night Find (26)
Happy Hour (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
People Watching (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Casual (20)
Open Kitchen (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Authentic (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Private Room (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tapas (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Nice spot for brunch. Servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Nice spot for brunch. Service was a little odd as we had multiple people bring out our food but no one really knew who got what. It wasn't a big deal (because we were able to direct them) it just seemed odd.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I travel extensively for work but live i ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

I travel extensively for work but live in Charlotte and have been looking forward to going here for some time. Was very disappointed overall. Upon entering the first impression of the 2 hostesses was terrible. No smile no greeting and got the feeling we were more of a bother than anything. I will say however there was another hostess standing over across that kinda took over and she was the only positive experience all night. Food was marginal at best and way overpriced. The outside view is great but our table by the window had a huge structure blocking most of the view. Our waitress had little to no personality and rarely came by to check on us. Very very disappointed all the way around.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

At first glance of the menu I was very i ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

At first glance of the menu I was very intimidated, so I ordered something "safe". My dish (lobster mac & cheese) was the best I've had yet. Chunks of lobster served in a creamy sauce, just out right delicious. Everyone at the table enjoyed their dish. I must confess that I tried 3 dishes not including my own and they were all GREAT. It's a must try.

P.S Chris is a great waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My parents celebrated their anniversary ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

My parents celebrated their anniversary there from us and my mom has raved about everything. They loved it. My sad wasn't used to small portions, but he enjoyed it too. Thank you for everything.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Live Sports, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Our waiter Corbin was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience. Our waiter Corbin was probably the best we've ever had. He is very attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was sat at a table by a wall with the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

I was sat at a table by a wall with the beautiful view obstructed. That tiny table should not even be in there. The monkey bread dessert was stale as stale can be. It was a disappointment. My walk out on the roof top was the highlight. Better luck next time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Business Meals, Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

Love this place!!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the atmosphere, trendy-ness and v ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I love the atmosphere, trendy-ness and vibe. I visit Charlotte a few times a year and I enjoy going Fahrenheit. Love It!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Scenic View, People Watching, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rock N Roll! Spectacular view, awesome s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Rock N Roll! Spectacular view, awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The first time that I dined there, my fr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The first time that I dined there, my friend and I had to send back our plates twice before we received the food that we ordered. I gave it another try this weekend. The appetizers were very good with one exception (avocado dish). Not sure if I'd go back anytime soon.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant is very nice and has a gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and has a great view of the city but the experience went downhill for us at that point. The service attitude was extremely lacking and we never felt like anyone was trying to make sure that our experience warranted a return visit. Our server didn't come by our table for a full 35 minutes including the time that our meals were delivered and we had to ask someone else for a dessert menu. The meal was tasty and enjoyable but we didn't have anything that could overcome the poor service. Great service goes a long way in bringing up the average, even if the meal turns out to be less than desirable. Unfortunately, Fahrenheit fell short of our expectations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Very pricey for the quality. Does have g ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very pricey for the quality. Does have great views of downtown from the 21st floor with a fire pit and huge balcony. My main course was an 8oz Filet Mignon, which was not at all as soft or as flavorful as Del Friscos. Good service the entire evening.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome view of skyline and great outsid ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Awesome view of skyline and great outside social areas but pricey dinner and drinks My third time there and it's always been too warm inside restaurant

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, fantastic view, delic ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent service, fantastic view, delicious grilled smoked avocado and one of the most succulent grilled pork chops I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. Five of Five Stars for Sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was very romantic and relax ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The ambiance was very romantic and relaxing. The server was very knowledgeable of the menu, and very attentive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first time here happened to be the d ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our first time here happened to be the debut of their new brunch menu on a late Sunday morning. Our server was wonderful and warned us the food may take a bit since the kitchen was working with new recipes, which would have been fine, but actually the food came out rather quickly and was delicious. Excellent coffee as well. The view of the city can't be beaten. We'll definitely be trying this again for dinner sometime!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First time at restaurant decided to have ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

First time at restaurant decided to have my birthday dinner there I am glad I did the food was amazing the waiter was super helpful I was thoroughly impressed sad I couldn't have the lobster mac due to my allergies my guest couldn't stop raving about it will definitely be returning soon!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Fahrenheit with relatively hig ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I went to Fahrenheit with relatively high expectations and they were excitingly met. This restaurant was highly recommended by a fellow student at JWU Charlotte. Chef Rocco knows very well how to wow his guests at the table. The atmosphere of the dining are was a very energetic one to math that of the lounge, bar and patio/ balcony area. Apart from the vibe and the food (which was excellent, I had the kobe beef braised short rib, crab stuffed Maine lobster and mint chocolate chip Ice cream) the real reason to visit here is the view from the restaurant. There are panoramic windows around the entire restaurant and an outdoor patio which overlooks the entire skyline of Charlotte. Absolutely beautiful. In addition to that, the service we had was excellent. The server was very attentive and helpful and got our food to us quickly. Overall the experience was excellent and may be one of the best restaurant experiences I have had

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 53rd annive ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 53rd anniversary at Fahrenheit and were delightfully pleased with the ambience, creative food choices, courteous and efficient staff, and food samples. It offers several dining atmospheres to suit anyone of any age with cuisine to match. Our dinner was exceptional, and we highly recommend it to anyone seeking a unique dining experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beer was a little lacking. However great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Beer was a little lacking. However great menu and great service. Definetly worth the view and a great patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Noise level was the first impression.... ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Noise level was the first impression....Service was just ok, and expected more. Had indicated when the reservation was made, that it was for a birthday, yet the staff was not aware until it was mentioned at the end of the meal. For the price of the meal ($200 with tip and one cocktail), the quality of the meal was just ok. Great location, view etc., but could be much better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

LOUD. Corporate. Food overpriced and no ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 15, 2016

LOUD. Corporate. Food overpriced and not imaginative. Overall i would not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

This was my second visit in as many mont ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my second visit in as many months and I was very pleased! This is an upscale restaurant with very polite and timely service. I look forward to my next visit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always a solid especially for a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food is always a solid especially for a date night but this particular night service left little to be desired. Our server checked in on us once to get our drinks and meal going and then was MIA. Once our food came out we asked for more drinks which never came but ended up on our check when we threw in the towel and wanted to go... Food was 4 1/2 stars... service was 1. Sorry...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I am really not a good one to review sin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I am really not a good one to review since I am not easily impressed with small food on odd shaped plates. The view is the very best thing about the place. Very noisy. Very good wait staff. Pricey. Very impressed with its own self.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent, but table was not re ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was excellent, but table was not ready and the noise was awful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – and the view was incredible! Several in my party were not a fan of the food, they prefer more traditional southern food. However, 2 of the 7 liked the food, it was just pricey. The bread is incredible! Service was well-timed and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I found Fahrenheit on-line and made rese ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I found Fahrenheit on-line and made reservations via Open Table. My wife and I wanted a special place to have dinner since I had not visited Charlotte in well over 50 years. We recently moved to Tennessee from Seattle, WA and had been craving great seafood such as one finds in the Pacific Northwest. We really lucked out by choosing Fahrenheit! My wife was almost in tears because her generous king salmon entree was cooked to absolute perfection--moist, tasty, delicious in every way. The view was spectacular, the waitstaff was friendly and efficient, and the prices were reasonable for a restaurant of this caliber. And it was only a short walk from our hotel! So we were happy campers. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in cold food and loud I do ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Disappointed in cold food and loud

I don't like to write a lot or say much negative

This is a better review than they deserve

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My experience was fabulous. The atmosphe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My experience was fabulous. The atmosphere was great. The staff were awesome they set the tone for the evening. The food was great. It would be nice to see a live jazz band once in awhile. My family enjoyed it as well. The view of our city was absolutely beautiful. I will defiantly come back again. Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great anniversary dinner and desert

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great anniversary dinner and desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was not impressed with the service. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I was not impressed with the service. I made reservations for my boyfriends birthday. I made wrote a note saying this was a birthday. I called prior to arrival making sure they knew it was a birthday... and mentioned it when I got there. The waitress did not acknowledge my boyfriends birthday or provide complimentary desert. Which upset me because the restaurant does not allow outside food. She also was never to be found and we spent our whole date waiting for her to come check on us. The food was great... the atmosphere was perfect. Was not impressed with customer service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Overall, we enjoyed our experience. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed our experience. They were out of Bud Light, which is the particular beer I ordered. We were also told that their pizza oven was not working (and had planned on ordering a pizza), but about 20 minutes later (after we had finished eating) saw other patrons with a pizza...

The food that we did order was great, but my fiance would have much preferred the pizza to her selection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The appearance of the food.

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The appearance of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely will be back. Food was delici ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely will be back. Food was delicious and the view was incredible - a must for visiting Charlotte even if you don't have a meal. The bar is good (average, actually. Didn't make a very good whiskey sour - low grade whiskey was used), but the view makes it worth even a so-so drink. Wine list is very good. Service was somewhat slow, but it gets pretty crowded on a Saturday night. A bit pricey, but you have to pay for a view like that! :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We really enjoyed Fahrenheit. The restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We really enjoyed Fahrenheit. The restaurant is popular, so reservations are limited. It would be nice if they had a larger menu, but everything we had was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over-rated. Interior ambiance only so s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Over-rated. Interior ambiance only so so. Might return for drinks and view with friends, but otherwise too many better places to choose.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Perfect,Outstanding couldn't have asked ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Perfect,Outstanding couldn't have asked for a better night out. Service was impeccable and the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and excellent food. The a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great service and excellent food. The atmosphere is great and no place in Charlotte can beat the view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, prestation,staff and view are ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food, prestation,staff and view are spectacular! The prices are high - it's something everyone should experience but save your pennies!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.