About Fadó - Philadelphia

Philly's premier pub, Irish or otherwise! Whether you're in the mood for a pint of Guinness done right, a football game (soccer for you Yanks) with a staff that appreciates "the beautiful game", or a tasty treat that defies what you think you know about bar food, we’ve got you covered. We’re in the heart of Center City, a stone’s throw from the Avenue of the Arts, with plenty of parking in the area. Come have yourself a proper pub experience!

1500 Locust St
Philadelphia, PA 19102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Irish, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Bar: Monday - Saturday: 2:00am, Sunday: 12:00am

Happy Hour 5-7, Monday-Friday.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 893-9700

Website:
http://www.fadoirishpub.com/philadelphia

Catering:
Give us a call and place your lunch order in advance. We can get your lunch started while you make your way over from the office OR we can package it up for you for takeout.

Executive Chef:
Sam Kokhan

Private Party Facilities:
Our Philadelphia event space is used regularly for corporate, government and personal events and we have a dedicated party planner who will take you step by step through the process of planning your event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea McNett: (855) 402-5234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fadó is a wonderful place to celebrate with a group. We offer a wide variety of high quality food and drink options from light appetizers to full dinners. We’ll customize a menu based on your needs. Our goal is to help create a memorable event and to make evaluation and booking process easy.

Fadó - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (7)
See All
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Live Sports (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Romantic (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great meal! Excellent choice of brews!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife, sister and I made reservations there before a show at the Academy of Music- "Celtic Woman".......we enjoyed the food and drinks and the owner even bouhght me a drink because I was wearing my USMC, Quantico hat and he noticed to my surprise, even though I knocked ove rand broke a glass of water....I was very appreciative of this and will not forget how we were treated which was top notch,,,,I would definitely return there

Dennis E Van Horn

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food. Friendly service. Great ambiance. Perfect for before the show dining after show drinks.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was good, pride was good, menu was limited. Drink pours were short.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We enjoy Fado. The food is good, the service is good, and it is a lively place to go before the Ballet or orchestra.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very interesting ambiance , lots of very interesting nooks and krannies for seating. Great burgers, nice selection of brews and pleasant service. Will go back

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I enjoyed Fado Irish Pub it had a nice, friendly atmosphere. The waitstaff was very courteous and lively ;) our lunch came out on time so did our drinks thanks for the good service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Definite Hot Spot! Fun night out with friends to celebrate birthday! Will go back again!

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Dancing, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Friendly, efficient service and delicious food. Great beer selection too! We will definitely return for a quick dinner when in town for a show

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fado is a basic Irish pub. It knows what it wants to be, and it does it well. It is affordable. The food is basic but well prepared. The service is just fine. It is one of the better inexpensive non-chain dining options near the Avenue of the Arts.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious shepherd's pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had a great dinner with good atmosphere. Close to the theaters for before show meal or after show drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Fado. They certainly have recreated an Irish Pub here in Philadelphia. The food was great and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Service was horrible, waiter barely visited out table - had to track him down just to pay the check - also was not able to order food because we did not have enough time before our show started.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Boxty was amazing, and our server, Lexi, was fantastic! We will go back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service was great. We were late and they still held our reservation and got us to the show on time! Disappointed that the menu has become more "Americanized". I miss the options of the traditional Irish dishes. Food was still good but nothing special the way it used to be.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Unfortunately, we were late for our reservation due to traffic, and we had tickets for the Ballet at 7:30. I don't feel it would be fair to give a review under those circumstances. We ordered appetizers, they did not come out quickly enough and we finally had to take them to go. They were delicious. We just wish our waiter had brought them out as soon as each one was ready instead of waiting for them all to come out together. Then maybe we could have enjoyed them a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food and service is always fabulous. The fish tacos on the small plates menu were very good.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have now dined at Fado several times the service is unique and wonderful a previous time we had Bianka as our server she went over and above anything we could've asked this last time when we visited she remembered us what we had had where we had set who was with us and introduce this to our new server . Rich turned out to be a great server as well how impressed we are with the people that Fado has hired .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable. Food was very good. Noise level was very high, as is often the case in a pub or bar atmosphere. Overall the noise level prevented me from giving the highest rating, but this was well worth the stop anyway for pre-concert dinner.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

With a large and varied menu as well as a great selection of beers this is a great plac foir a quick bite before or after a show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Good spot for a quick casual bit to eat before a concert. The service was well paced. We ordered traditional bar type food of a bacon cheeseburger and fries. Both were quite good but we particularly enjoyed the fries.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Enjoyed the crowd. Soccer on the TV, lots of excitement. Great Beers and Bar food. Pear Salad was excellant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2016

One of the few restaraunts that takes larger parties in the city. Service was incredible wish I remembered our servers name she was such a sweetheart! We were a party of 11 the Friday after St. Patrick's Day and we had a lot of special requests which Fado was able to accommodate. We came to celebrate my Dad's birthday and it was the perfect place! Very fun atmosphere and great service! We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great Irish pub!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2016

We went to Fado before a show at the Kimmel Center. Fado has a great happy hour - discounts on some appetizers and some drinks. Good bartender, good bar food (lamb slider were memorable). Service was efficient, so we were able to get to our show on time.
Be sure to make a reservation - it's a small place, and it seems they frequently have parties who reserve the bar area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Ok place for a burger and cocktails before a show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great restaurant bar with attentive service, neat atmosphere, and great Guinness.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We reserved a table for Superbowl 50 and had a great time! Our table was in front of their huge TV so game viewing was awesome. Our server, Rich, was very attentive and cool. My friends and I had a very fun time - the service, atmosphere and company were better than the game! Way to go Fado!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2016

A very god Irish pub, on par with those in Manhattan. Nice, genuine atmosphere. Great, attentive service. Good food. Reasonably priced with good value. Great proximity to performing arts venues, just a short walk to Kimmel, Mirriam, Academy of Music.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Fun for what it is...an Irish Pub :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2015

This is an authentic Irish bar with real Irish food and drinks. The Guinness, which is known not to be a good traveler was excellent. Chips and Curry was great as was the all day Irish breakfast.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2015

I've been to Fado in Philadelphia several times and I've never been disappointed! Having traveled all over Ireland, I believe Fado has perfectly replicated the Irish Pub feel - dark wood throughout, "football", friendly staff, and of course the perfectly poured pint of Guinness!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2015

We were early for our reservation but got seated right away which was nice. Service was prompt and friendly- food really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2015

We made reservations to have dinner before seeing The Philadelphia Orchestra. When we arrived we were seated right away in a small room off from the bar where we could see the hustle and bustle of downtown Philadelphia. A waitress checked on us to see if we were ready to order drinks. We explained we needed more time. After a few minutes another waitress came and took our drink order. When she returned with our drinks we were ready to order. She promptly took our order. A few minutes later she returned with our salads. Just as we were finishing our salads our entrees came to the table. The food was very good and we will definitely be returning. Fado is a great spot to grab dinner before a show because it is one block from Philadelphia's Avenue of the Arts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2015

Fado was excellent. Even though the inside is cozy with rich, dark wood we decided to eat outside since it was such a nice evening. Our server was superb. She was fast and very friendly. The food was excellent. We recommend the Pulled Lamb French Dip (I wanted to drink the au jus), the Fado Reuben and the All-Day Irish Breakfast. They also have a huge selection of beer. We highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 14, 2015

Great meeting spot...lots of different hangout areas. Atmosphere was really cool. Food was good, lots of different beers. Would most definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2015

My client reommanded , very nice Irish pub and restaurant. Food was good. Service was fast.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2015

Great evening, best Shepherds Pie I ever had! Service was wonderful, our waitress recommended a appetizer and the beers were ice cold!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2015

Don't think Fado knows what it wants to be - a restaurant or a hang out. In my opinion , you can't be both. I've been to the Phuilly location twice in the past few months. Food has been excellent both times. Service was Ok the first time but off on the second visit as the waitress was involved in a card game with the party of nine next to me. (Yes, she was holding a full hand if 10 cards in "Cards against humanity" which becayse of its inappropriate content shouldn't really be played in public).
Not really ablet enjoy a comfortable experience either time because of the din, the vulgar language and vulgar behavior of other patrons that was not addressed by employees or management. I wint be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.