Fadó - Philadelphia

4.0
88 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
  • Bar Seating
Philly's premier pub, Irish or otherwise! Whether you're in the mood for a pint of Guinness done right, a football game (soccer for you Yanks) with a staff that appreciates "the beautiful game", or a tasty treat that defies what you think you know about bar food, we’ve got you covered. We’re in the heart of Center City, a stone’s throw from the Avenue of the Arts, with plenty of parking in the area. Come have yourself a proper pub experience!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Irish, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Bar: Monday - Saturday: 2:00am, Sunday: 12:00am

Happy Hour 5-7, Monday-Friday.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 893-9700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sam Kokhan
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Give us a call and place your lunch order in advance. We can get your lunch started while you make your way over from the office OR we can package it up for you for takeout.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
15th Street
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Fadó is a wonderful place to celebrate with a group. We offer a wide variety of high quality food and drink options from light appetizers to full dinners. We’ll customize a menu based on your needs. Our goal is to help create a memorable event and to make evaluation and booking process easy.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 88 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent service! Standard Americanized Irish food but good. Loved the different half and bald drinks with Guinness. Thanks for a great night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great place, fantastic staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Fadó is a great Irish pub. The food is comfort type and very tasty!! I wouldn’t get the hummus there, though but that’s a middle Eastern speciality so I wasn’t surprised. The happy hour is great and we enjoyed some appetizers, beer and wine for good prices. Our servers were excellent- one guy in training doing a fab job!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We came after the Opera. The service was slow taking almost an hour to get our dinner. When it came, I thought the fish and chips were really sub-par. The fish was greasy and the chips tasted like they came out of freezer bag. Drinks were great. Go here for drinks and light appetizer, not dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Went there before a show
Food is good and not expensive
Service is good
Just wonder why they put onions and peppers in Cole slaw?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

This was second trip to Fado, and the first for having dinner. Location is great, service was great, ability to reserve (and be seated earlier) was great, food was great, and I could go on and on with each ending "...was great." Really a gem in Philly and highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Delicious food at a very reasonable price! Nice that the menu was not overwhelming, but the choices were great. Our server was great: efficient AND attentive. We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went there to try something different after theatre mid day show. Was pleasantly surprised!

Fast Service and very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The Fish and Chips was spot on and the coleslaw was fantstic. Prices were good even for drinks. Waitress was friendly and quick. We had a 6:30 reservation were seated promptly and were waited on in under 5 minutes.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 25, 2018

This is not a restaurant, but an Irish Pub. We wanted to have dinner there and made a reservation. Upon arrival, the only available table was right in front of the restrooms. Noise level was unbearable. We left the bar straight away without taking dinner. This is no place for dining, but drinking only.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

All good! Our table was ready on a very busy Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

We went here before a show. Food came out quickly and it was awesome! We didn't have to rush. I would definitely go there again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Sat by the fireplace... ambiance was great. Bianca, our server, was top notch. We visited pre-theater and wound up coming back after the show. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 26, 2017

The service was terrible. Food came out wrong. Had to wait 20 minutes for a drink

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 23, 2017

I had reservations for 9 people and when the first party arrived they were told there wasn’t any reservation and that they would sit us at the bar. We had 2 children with us! One of them was performing in the Nutcracker. We absolutely refused that and we were placed in a room that had 2 tables on either side but, our backs were to each other. I was a bit disappointed since this was a get together of friends prior to seeing the Nutcracker.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

We had a fun night out for a family birthday!! The food was great, and the beer selection was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2017

Very nice waitress and the food was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 30, 2017

Delish food and good service. But it was so dark we had to use our phone flashlights to read the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Reservations were ready.wait staff were attentive and fast service. Food was well prepared and very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Until I spent a few days in Philly, I really had no idea what a foodie friendly city Philly is! Fado was a great find, somewhat of a random OpenTable find prior to leaving on my trip. The food is amazing traditional Irish food, I had corned beef and cabbage. They also offered an updated version of this dish, but I decided to stay traditional. It was delicious. They were accommodating with my date's request to omit an ingredient in his lamb dish, which was also unbelievably good. Drink menu is on point, lots of whisky to choose from and a great list of lagers and such. I suggest you start your meal with a pickleback shot! Lastly, be prepared for the lack of sticker shock when you get your bill. Fado is great food at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 1, 2017

very impressed. nice tvs. great service friendly

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Nice Irish pub but very noisy near the bar. Good food and beer selection

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Great little pub. Delicious food, great selection, and specials. Plenty of drinks to choose from. Would be glad to get back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

We arrived at Fado right when they opened for the afternoon - 11:30 - since we were seeing a show at 1pm. Service was quick and I really enjoyed the food. I would love to come back again and sample more dishes. I'm sure it is a happening place when happy hour rolls around!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Happy hour was great and then the music started. It was a bit loud and distracting.
Food was great. I loved the chicken tinga

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2017

Felt like we stepped into Ireland
Just like when we visited the Emerald Isle

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Fado was terrific! The food was fantastic and a great value. Their happy hour specials are great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

When we come to the City to the Academy for the Plays we always eat at Fado's for Great Food, Fast Service, and a Friendly Place to eat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2017

This is the second time we've gone to Fado before a show at the Academy of Music, because it is so conveniently located. But the food itself is enough to bring us back. Three of us ordered Cheese Dip and Wedges as an appetizer, which was fantastic! The burger that my husband had looked delicious and he said it was, our daughter's Mojo Chicken Boxty disappeared, and my Fado Reuben was enormous, way too much to eat in one sitting. Extremely reasonable pricing. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

We stopped in before a show and grabbed a few appetizers. We had Salmon bites, fish tacos, and flatbread. They were delish and did not taste like typical bar food. The beer was great and the server was nice and friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Fadó was a good experience for us. The menu offered us sufficient options that the more conservative could stick with the tried and true (fish and chips or pub sandwich), the health conscious could get a substantial salad (with or without protein), and the more adventurous could try one of the interesting "traditional" Irish offerings. All were good. The service was outstanding. Our server was constantly a presence without being an annoyance, which is a tricky thing to do. And we had plenty of time to enjoy the meal before heading to a show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Awful service! They never checked on us and we had to find the waiter to get the check.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2017

Fado was everything I was looking for - comfortable, good food, friendly service. We were going to the theatre and weren't looking for anything fancy and upscale. We wanted, good, comfortable and a place where we could enjoy a hearty laugh. All of which we did at Fado!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Fun place. Good food, great beer!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2017

As usual we had a good meal and a good time. The food was excellent we recommend the Pear and Blue Ceese salad. Our server Rich was attentive and welcoming. He remembered us and asked about the orchestra with comments about what we were about to hear. He was right on too. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2017

Great meal! Excellent choice of brews!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2017

My wife, sister and I made reservations there before a show at the Academy of Music- "Celtic Woman".......we enjoyed the food and drinks and the owner even bouhght me a drink because I was wearing my USMC, Quantico hat and he noticed to my surprise, even though I knocked ove rand broke a glass of water....I was very appreciative of this and will not forget how we were treated which was top notch,,,,I would definitely return there

Dennis E Van Horn

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food. Friendly service. Great ambiance. Perfect for before the show dining after show drinks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was good, pride was good, menu was limited. Drink pours were short.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Fadó - Philadelphia