About Fadó - Philadelphia

1500 Locust St
Philadelphia, PA 19102
View Larger Map

Philly's premier pub, Irish or otherwise! Whether you're in the mood for a pint of Guinness done right, a football game (soccer for you Yanks) with a staff that appreciates "the beautiful game", or a tasty treat that defies what you think you know about bar food, we’ve got you covered. We’re in the heart of Center City, a stone’s throw from the Avenue of the Arts, with plenty of parking in the area. Come have yourself a proper pub experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Irish, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Bar: Monday - Saturday: 2:00am, Sunday: 12:00am

Happy Hour 5-7, Monday-Friday.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 893-9700

Website:
http://www.fadoirishpub.com/philadelphia

Catering:
Give us a call and place your lunch order in advance. We can get your lunch started while you make your way over from the office OR we can package it up for you for takeout.

Executive Chef:
Sam Kokhan

Private Party Facilities:
Our Philadelphia event space is used regularly for corporate, government and personal events and we have a dedicated party planner who will take you step by step through the process of planning your event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea McNett: 8554025234

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fadó is a wonderful place to celebrate with a group. We offer a wide variety of high quality food and drink options from light appetizers to full dinners. We’ll customize a menu based on your needs. Our goal is to help create a memorable event and to make evaluation and booking process easy.

Fadó - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.7

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Vibrant Bar Scene
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

vibrant bar scene (12)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (6)
See All
fit for foodies (6)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (5)
special occasion (2)
romantic (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
31 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pre-orchestra meal

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Good spot for a quick casual bit to eat before a concert. The service was well paced. We ordered traditional bar type food of a bacon cheeseburger and fries. Both were quite good but we particularly enjoyed the fries.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun at an Irish Pub

Dined on March 26, 2016

Enjoyed the crowd. Soccer on the TV, lots of excitement. Great Beers and Bar food. Pear Salad was excellant.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome pub!

Dined on March 18, 2016

One of the few restaraunts that takes larger parties in the city. Service was incredible wish I remembered our servers name she was such a sweetheart! We were a party of 11 the Friday after St. Patrick's Day and we had a lot of special requests which Fado was able to accommodate. We came to celebrate my Dad's birthday and it was the perfect place! Very fun atmosphere and great service! We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Irish pub!

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Great Irish pub!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great happy hour

Dined on March 3, 2016

We went to Fado before a show at the Kimmel Center. Fado has a great happy hour - discounts on some appetizers and some drinks. Good bartender, good bar food (lamb slider were memorable). Service was efficient, so we were able to get to our show on time. Be sure to make a reservation - it's a small place, and it seems they frequently have parties who reserve the bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3

Ok place for a burger and cocktails befo ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Ok place for a burger and cocktails before a show

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun place to go

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great restaurant bar with attentive service, neat atmosphere, and great Guinness.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superbowl 2016

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We reserved a table for Superbowl 50 and had a great time! Our table was in front of their huge TV so game viewing was awesome. Our server, Rich, was very attentive and cool. My friends and I had a very fun time - the service, atmosphere and company were better than the game! Way to go Fado!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good find in Phila.

Dined on January 2, 2016

A very god Irish pub, on par with those in Manhattan. Nice, genuine atmosphere. Great, attentive service. Good food. Reasonably priced with good value. Great proximity to performing arts venues, just a short walk to Kimmel, Mirriam, Academy of Music.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Fun for what it is...an Irish Pub :)

Dined on November 27, 2015

Fun for what it is...an Irish Pub :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Authentically Irish

Dined on November 27, 2015

This is an authentic Irish bar with real Irish food and drinks. The Guinness, which is known not to be a good traveler was excellent. Chips and Curry was great as was the all day Irish breakfast.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Irish Pub Feel

Dined on November 14, 2015

I've been to Fado in Philadelphia several times and I've never been disappointed! Having traveled all over Ireland, I believe Fado has perfectly replicated the Irish Pub feel - dark wood throughout, "football", friendly staff, and of course the perfectly poured pint of Guinness!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

We were early for our reservation but go ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

We were early for our reservation but got seated right away which was nice. Service was prompt and friendly- food really good.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great Irish food in Philadelphia!

Dined on October 20, 2015

We made reservations to have dinner before seeing The Philadelphia Orchestra. When we arrived we were seated right away in a small room off from the bar where we could see the hustle and bustle of downtown Philadelphia. A waitress checked on us to see if we were ready to order drinks. We explained we needed more time. After a few minutes another waitress came and took our drink order. When she returned with our drinks we were ready to order. She promptly took our order. A few minutes later she returned with our salads. Just as we were finishing our salads our entrees came to the table. The food was very good and we will definitely be returning. Fado is a great spot to grab dinner before a show because it is one block from Philadelphia's Avenue of the Arts!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service, relaxed atmosphere

Dined on September 4, 2015

Fado was excellent. Even though the inside is cozy with rich, dark wood we decided to eat outside since it was such a nice evening. Our server was superb. She was fast and very friendly. The food was excellent. We recommend the Pulled Lamb French Dip (I wanted to drink the au jus), the Fado Reuben and the All-Day Irish Breakfast. They also have a huge selection of beer. We highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Fun night

Dined on August 14, 2015

Great meeting spot...lots of different hangout areas. Atmosphere was really cool. Food was good, lots of different beers. Would most definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place for business lunch

Dined on July 15, 2015

My client reommanded , very nice Irish pub and restaurant. Food was good. Service was fast.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening, best Shepherds Pie I ever ...

Dined on February 20, 2015

Great evening, best Shepherds Pie I ever had! Service was wonderful, our waitress recommended a appetizer and the beers were ice cold!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service2

Confusing

Dined on February 13, 2015

Don't think Fado knows what it wants to be - a restaurant or a hang out. In my opinion , you can't be both. I've been to the Phuilly location twice in the past few months. Food has been excellent both times. Service was Ok the first time but off on the second visit as the waitress was involved in a card game with the party of nine next to me. (Yes, she was holding a full hand if 10 cards in "Cards against humanity" which becayse of its inappropriate content shouldn't really be played in public). Not really ablet enjoy a comfortable experience either time because of the din, the vulgar language and vulgar behavior of other patrons that was not addressed by employees or management. I wint be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

A Definate Recommend

Dined on January 3, 2015

Definitely would recommend. The Sheppard's Pie is amazing and the staff is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Irish Pub!

Dined on December 29, 2014

Perfect Irish gem. Food was tasty. Service friendly and quick. We had our two kids with us and they enjoyed it too! Nice vibrant, CLASSIC Irish pub.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

we always come here for happy hour speci ...

Dined on October 14, 2014

we always come here for happy hour specials, especially the cheese puffs. great service every time. they accomodated our large group and the service was great as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic Irish Pub

Dined on October 3, 2014

7 of us for dinner on a Friday night. Food and service were fantastic. Very loud however and we could hardly hear each other speak, but maybe that was where we were sitting. Everyone loved their food. On Saturdays and Sundays, they have endless mimosas (and bloody mary's) for $15. The waitress was kind enough to say, most people don't drink enough bloody mary's for the price and it's not the same as if you ordered their traditional bloody mary. Saturday, 3 of us went for brunch. A friend ordered the endless mimosas. I ordered their traditional bloody mary. It was delicious! Brunch was Irish yummy and not that expensive. All of us would highly recommend this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

good pre theater

Dined on September 26, 2014

We ran late and only had 40 minutes to order and eat- Our waitress was amazing- recommended specials We had the fish and chips and the spinach salad- Both were good. Thanks for getting us to the show with time to spare! Lisa

food3
ambience3
service4

OK

vip
Dined on August 7, 2014

Not the best for authentic irish food in philly. Would be better for drinking and light meal

food5
ambience4
service4

great place!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2014

I love irish food! The Boxtys were great! really enjoyed it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service5

It was extremely loud when we went but i ...

Dined on April 25, 2014

It was extremely loud when we went but it was during the hockey game so it's understandable. The food wasn't anything too special but it was still good. Cheap eat.

food3
ambience4
service4

Decent. Not as good as 1st visit.

Dined on March 21, 2014

First visit was with a group of friends over the Holidays. Thoroughly enjoyed. This trip however, wasn't as good. I still recommend Fado highly if you're going out after work for a few drinks and some apps. The prices during Happy Hour are tough to beat for the are and the selection is solid for both food and drinks. This trip however, the apps we ordered came cold. Not so much cold as prepared, re-heated and served. The 2nd set of apps we ordered came out fresh and hot, which offset the feeling of the 1st batch. I still recommend Fado as a place to hang out after work or with a decent sized group. Will go back again.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun Place

Dined on March 21, 2014

Special was fish & chips, BOGO, so we did and the fish was perfectly cooked and the pieces were huge! I couldn't finish mine, but my hubby did! Always a fantastic atmosphere and staff is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place and Great Food!

Dined on March 11, 2014

We went to Fado as we had theater tickets and were tight on time. Our waitress was absolute wonderful and thoughtful. We had reservations for 5:30 -- we had drinks, ate, coffee and dessert and left with 15 minutes to walk to the theater!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Meal in a Fun Atmosphere

Dined on February 22, 2014

Excellent service, great food! My friend and I went and really enjoyed going to Fado for the food and the cheerful and lively bar scene! The manager, waiters, and bartenders all had good personalities that helped make the evening fun! I highly recommend going for the delicious food, great service, and a fun evening!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.