About Eva

317 S Main St
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2702
View Larger Map

Eva is dedicated to and named after chef Charlie Perry's great grandmother. Eva Coombs passed on her respect for quality ingredients, an emphasis on the nourishing benefits of food and most importantly, the shared pleasure of eating. At Eva, our tapas style dining promotes a communal sense of enjoyment. We have an extensive and varied small plates menu, craft cocktails and hand picked wine list.




Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
300 S.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-8447

Website:
http://evaslc.com/

Catering:
Please call for details and pricing.

Executive Chef:
Charlie Perry

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eva
  • Eva
Eva
Eva

Eva Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
Newest
19 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food! A little chilly

Dined on January 13, 2016

This was our family's first visit to Eva, at the request of our daughter whose birthday we were celebrating. (She has been to Eva several times and loves it.) We all thought the food was wonderful and even Grandma who is 87 y.o. gave it a great review! I was curious if sharing small plates among the six of us would leave us un-filled. But that was not the case! We were all plenty satisfied when the meal was over. Great gourmet tastes. Would give the food a solid "9" on a scale of 1-10. I would give ambience about a "7". The restaurant is not too large, so we were able to hear each other pretty well. Concrete floors in a restaurant are the trend and are probably cheaper to maintain than carpet, but they make everything echo and it's often difficult to hear each other around the table. We were seated near the front door, so every time someone came in, we got a little blast of cold from the winter air. But, it wasn't too bad. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown gem!

Dined on August 18, 2015

We brought our friends here from Vegas and once again we were not disappointed. The food, service, ambiance was amazing. Can't wait to come back with just my husband (date nite).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

First timer

vip
Dined on July 30, 2015

What a great downtown restaurant! The service was exceptional, and the food we ordered was wonderfully prepared as well as beautifully presented. Five of us shared a variety of small plates, flat bread, and pizza. We were all impressed and will return on a regular basis. Their mixed drinks, beer, and wine were equally as lovely as a Utah pour allows. The only minor glitch, and I emphasize minor, was being out of stock on one beer order. Great place with a big city urban ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Don't be decieved

vip
Dined on May 22, 2015

Initial impression is that of a cheap fast food place when you look at it from outside. Once you walk in, it has a cute vibe with bench style tables and candles. The cocktails were so delicious, just wish there were more on the menu. You are able to order a lot of food to try different Things for a great price! Stand outs includes the dog and pig pizza, grass fed meatballs, Parmesan garlic fries, and the chocolate croissant with ice cream! All very good! Wish the place was a little bigger, but I have now decided this place will be a must stop every time I come to Salt Lake City! I recommend this place to group/team dinners, especially because the price point and how much you can order!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Experience Once again

Dined on April 15, 2015

We've been to Eva several times and, as always, it was fabulous. This time we had 8 people and I was a little worried about how quick we would be served, etc. The food came out in perfect stages and all of our co-workers loved it. Several said the asparagus, sweet potato gratin and spare ribs were "life changing". I am a foodie an proud to say that I never get tired of this place. Will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2

Good food ruined by poor service

vip
Dined on March 10, 2015

A group of 8 friends dined at Eva on a Monday night. It was surprisingly packed for a Monday- very busy, and extremely loud. It's a very hipster vibe, but after our heads were ringing from shouting across the table all evening, we decided to go elsewhere for dessert. We had split a number of small plates and a few pizzas. The vegan pizza, risotto and veggie dishes were all very tasty. The problem was when we went to pay separately. We did not ask for separate checks, but were told that they "don't split the check." We were fine with one check, but were paying individually. We said we would sort out what we would each pay- we wrote it on pieces of paper and attached to our credit cards for her to make it easy. She said "just for future reference, we don't do that. We only have one computer and it's a hassle for us." Uhh- OK- thanks for the advice (as we are determining tip- not the best timing to cop a big attitude!). She was quite indignant with the "extra work" - which only seemed to take her a couple of minutes, and was rolling her eyes as she stomped off. Just rude. Unfortunately, it left a bad taste in our mouths- all 8 of us- who go out regularly. Lots of other tapas places in town, which we'll go to next time so as not to inconvenience them!

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Our new favorite place

Dined on December 23, 2014

Our group of 5 people had 14 different items, all of them were wonderful. Some were easier to share, but the waiter let us know ahead of time. All portions were good size for small plates. Value for the money can't be beat. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Fun time--food space--service!

Dined on December 19, 2014

Great food and drink options. Fun, casual dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good atmosphere.

Dined on December 19, 2014

The food is all delectable, it came quickly and the format allows you to try many different dishes. I love this place and will be coming back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on October 9, 2014

Great, wide variety food. Our family enjoyed getting a taste of alot of different kinds of food! Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

wannabefine

Dined on August 19, 2014

Food was nice but I think small plates were served in wrong order with meat first, flatbread and one person's entree in the middle and two vegetable dishes at the end. We got one item we didn't mean to order, but we were probably responsible for the confusion. It was very noisy which made it a bit hard to visit. I would suggest some sound buffers are in order which could still preserve the lively atmosphere. There was a steady stream of people, so obviously it is quite popular. Service was efficient.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5

A pleasant surprise

Dined on July 30, 2014

We wanted a restaurant close to Capital Theater so my son recommended Eva. What a pleasant surprise. There were 6 of us so we each ordered 2 items off the menu. That way we were able to sample quite a few items from the menu. Every dish set in front of us was delicious. Everything was so good, I wouldn't be able to recommend any one dish. Can't wait to go again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on July 11, 2014

Way too loud. Sitting at a picnic table does not work for us.

food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful!

Dined on April 21, 2014

We went to Eva for a group brunch to celebrate a work achievement. Their options were great during happy hour, and we all got drinks and plates for less than $70 for 6 of us. The food was DIVINE! I would definitely recommend their brussel sprouts, their flat bread, and their calamari.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food enthusiasts loved the food!

Dined on March 26, 2014

Reserved a table for a business dinner. All attendees are food enthusiasts and thoroughly enjoyed sharing a variety of wonderful dishes. Great wine list. We reserved a table in the back which was perfect for a small group. Had we not reserved this more private table, it would have been too loud for a business dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent, service

Dined on March 11, 2014

Food was excellent, service was great - only issue was with a reservation for six we were seated at a picnic style table, and several in our group were over 60 and sitting without back support was unpleasant and uncomfortable. Chairs at all tables would be a better option!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, as usual

Dined on February 11, 2014

Eaten at Eva's a number of times, and I cannot recall ever eating anything that wasn't amazing. Even "gross" foods like brussel sprouts come out of this kitchen as something you cannot get enough of. This is always a great dining experience and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Perfect dining, save 1 major issue.

Dined on December 31, 2013

Don't get me wrong, we love Eva. But the last two times we've gone there we've been seated at this ridiculously, freezing table; right inside the door. They need to either move that table, get a double door, or build a wall there, so that our dining experience isn't full of frigid blasts from arctic air. We understand that it is a small restaurant, that's what we love about it. But the tables by the door in the wintertime are completely in acceptable for dining. We won't be back until spring. Sorry for the bad review Eva. Your hostess could at least have given us the option to wait for warmer table, warning us that the front table is freezing. We were mortified taking friends to dinner there. Apologizing the whole time for the temperatures.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

Tapas Sharing

Dined on December 4, 2013

We had a great meal here last week. We didn't order off the menu...just asked the waiter to bring us what he thought we would like. We had a party of 7 and shared 10 small plates. All of them were great. Will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.