Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Eva

Eva is dedicated to and named after chef Charlie Perry's great grandmother. Eva Coombs passed on her respect for quality ingredients, an emphasis on the nourishing benefits of food and most importantly, the shared pleasure of eating. At Eva, our tapas style dining promotes a communal sense of enjoyment. We have an extensive and varied small plates menu, craft cocktails and hand picked wine list.




317 S Main St
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
300 S.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-8447

Website:
http://evaslc.com/

Catering:
Please call for details and pricing.

Executive Chef:
Charlie Perry

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Eva Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (5)
Tapas (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
39 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a light, flavorfull small plate/tapas. It was perfect for date night. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our server wasn't a very happy person that particular evening ... However, she couldn't ruin the incredible food!!! Everything we ordered (quite a few tapas) was spectacular! It is a bit noisy & not a place I would choose for a romantic dinner, as the tables are quite close to each other. My only other complaint is that I wish they would have switched out our personal plates every so often so all the flavors didn't meld together & feel & look messy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We came right when they opened and all the drinks and food were fresh and top notch. Lots of yummy vegetarian options: rosemary fries, roasted edamame, homemade labneh, and salad. Easy to share between the 3 of us. Great bar specials too. Fun night with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Crazy small portions even for tapas and literally the slowest service and food I have ever experienced. Good for a drink not for a meal. You will leave hungry and poorer.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was my second visit to Eva. Both times were wonderful. The food is amazing. Our servers were both mindful that we had activities to get to. Cool building.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Waiters and staff need to slow down the speed of delivery. The last thing you want is to get all your small plates at once. We corrected the situation when the 2nd plate got to our table. We had barely started our 1st plate. The waitress took it back without hesitation and manager was happy to do it! Great experience! The food was exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Eva's food is always great. There are lots of vegetarian options and inventive dishes. The restaurant is noisy when full.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food!! Each dish was unique and extremely flavorful. Our favorites were the spinach and potato gnocchi, beets with goat cheese and mint, asparagus with poached egg, and Brussels sprouts with cider vinegar! We got 10 plates for 5 people and it was the perfect amount! Thank you Eva for a wonderful dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was spectacular and I could have eaten much more. The only downside was the amount of time taken to bring drinks after they had been ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Cheese or butter in almost every dish (I'm vegan), expensive as hell, wine was meh and I had to eat again when I got home. I'll never return . Also bench seating was not comfy, no back support.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Small plates were great after our group (a casual collection of business colleagues) had a few too many too large entree type group dinners. Good value for dollar, nice wine and spirits list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We arrived at 5:30 and it was ideal for a group of 5 however by the time we left it was so noisy we couldn't hear anything. I would recommend to go early. The food was good and the chef was so accommodating to one in our group who could not have garlic. He made many dishes without the garlic and they still were really good. The only thing I would love to see are a few more reasonably price wines. The wine prices were high and there were not any less expensive options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Overall very good. Didn't care for short rib to salty, very little meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Very disappointed in the quality of a dish that impacted my entire experience. It was also very costly.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

6 of us are in town visiting and went to Eva on the recommendation of a friend living in SLC. Great food great service. Very enjoyable all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 4, 2016

A nice find. Small size restaurant with a good variety of choices for vegetarians and meat eaters. Service was great and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were a large group and divided in half for plate selections. The six I joined picked almost everything on the menu and loved all of it. The gnocchi and desserts were standouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food and service was great but it was super hot in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2016

This was our family's first visit to Eva, at the request of our daughter whose birthday we were celebrating. (She has been to Eva several times and loves it.) We all thought the food was wonderful and even Grandma who is 87 y.o. gave it a great review! I was curious if sharing small plates among the six of us would leave us un-filled. But that was not the case! We were all plenty satisfied when the meal was over. Great gourmet tastes. Would give the food a solid "9" on a scale of 1-10. I would give ambience about a "7". The restaurant is not too large, so we were able to hear each other pretty well. Concrete floors in a restaurant are the trend and are probably cheaper to maintain than carpet, but they make everything echo and it's often difficult to hear each other around the table. We were seated near the front door, so every time someone came in, we got a little blast of cold from the winter air. But, it wasn't too bad. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 18, 2015

We brought our friends here from Vegas and once again we were not disappointed. The food, service, ambiance was amazing. Can't wait to come back with just my husband (date nite).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2015

What a great downtown restaurant! The service was exceptional, and the food we ordered was wonderfully prepared as well as beautifully presented. Five of us shared a variety of small plates, flat bread, and pizza. We were all impressed and will return on a regular basis. Their mixed drinks, beer, and wine were equally as lovely as a Utah pour allows. The only minor glitch, and I emphasize minor, was being out of stock on one beer order. Great place with a big city urban ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2015

Initial impression is that of a cheap fast food place when you look at it from outside. Once you walk in, it has a cute vibe with bench style tables and candles. The cocktails were so delicious, just wish there were more on the menu. You are able to order a lot of food to try different Things for a great price! Stand outs includes the dog and pig pizza, grass fed meatballs, Parmesan garlic fries, and the chocolate croissant with ice cream! All very good! Wish the place was a little bigger, but I have now decided this place will be a must stop every time I come to Salt Lake City! I recommend this place to group/team dinners, especially because the price point and how much you can order!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2015

We've been to Eva several times and, as always, it was fabulous. This time we had 8 people and I was a little worried about how quick we would be served, etc. The food came out in perfect stages and all of our co-workers loved it. Several said the asparagus, sweet potato gratin and spare ribs were "life changing". I am a foodie an proud to say that I never get tired of this place. Will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2015

A group of 8 friends dined at Eva on a Monday night. It was surprisingly packed for a Monday- very busy, and extremely loud. It's a very hipster vibe, but after our heads were ringing from shouting across the table all evening, we decided to go elsewhere for dessert. We had split a number of small plates and a few pizzas. The vegan pizza, risotto and veggie dishes were all very tasty. The problem was when we went to pay separately. We did not ask for separate checks, but were told that they "don't split the check." We were fine with one check, but were paying individually. We said we would sort out what we would each pay- we wrote it on pieces of paper and attached to our credit cards for her to make it easy. She said "just for future reference, we don't do that. We only have one computer and it's a hassle for us." Uhh- OK- thanks for the advice (as we are determining tip- not the best timing to cop a big attitude!). She was quite indignant with the "extra work" - which only seemed to take her a couple of minutes, and was rolling her eyes as she stomped off. Just rude. Unfortunately, it left a bad taste in our mouths- all 8 of us- who go out regularly. Lots of other tapas places in town, which we'll go to next time so as not to inconvenience them!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 23, 2014

Our group of 5 people had 14 different items, all of them were wonderful. Some were easier to share, but the waiter let us know ahead of time. All portions were good size for small plates. Value for the money can't be beat. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2014

Great food and drink options. Fun, casual dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2014

The food is all delectable, it came quickly and the format allows you to try many different dishes. I love this place and will be coming back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2014

loved the atmosphere. great food, its a touch of french without being too fussy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 9, 2014

Great, wide variety food. Our family enjoyed getting a taste of alot of different kinds of food! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2014

Food was nice but I think small plates were served in wrong order with meat first, flatbread and one person's entree in the middle and two vegetable dishes at the end. We got one item we didn't mean to order, but we were probably responsible for the confusion. It was very noisy which made it a bit hard to visit. I would suggest some sound buffers are in order which could still preserve the lively atmosphere. There was a steady stream of people, so obviously it is quite popular. Service was efficient.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2014

We wanted a restaurant close to Capital Theater so my son recommended Eva. What a pleasant surprise. There were 6 of us so we each ordered 2 items off the menu. That way we were able to sample quite a few items from the menu. Every dish set in front of us was delicious. Everything was so good, I wouldn't be able to recommend any one dish. Can't wait to go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 11, 2014

Way too loud. Sitting at a picnic table does not work for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2014

We went to Eva for a group brunch to celebrate a work achievement. Their options were great during happy hour, and we all got drinks and plates for less than $70 for 6 of us. The food was DIVINE! I would definitely recommend their brussel sprouts, their flat bread, and their calamari.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2014

Reserved a table for a business dinner. All attendees are food enthusiasts and thoroughly enjoyed sharing a variety of wonderful dishes. Great wine list. We reserved a table in the back which was perfect for a small group. Had we not reserved this more private table, it would have been too loud for a business dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2014

Food was excellent, service was great - only issue was with a reservation for six we were seated at a picnic style table, and several in our group were over 60 and sitting without back support was unpleasant and uncomfortable. Chairs at all tables would be a better option!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2014

Eaten at Eva's a number of times, and I cannot recall ever eating anything that wasn't amazing. Even "gross" foods like brussel sprouts come out of this kitchen as something you cannot get enough of. This is always a great dining experience and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2013

Don't get me wrong, we love Eva. But the last two times we've gone there we've been seated at this ridiculously, freezing table; right inside the door. They need to either move that table, get a double door, or build a wall there, so that our dining experience isn't full of frigid blasts from arctic air. We understand that it is a small restaurant, that's what we love about it. But the tables by the door in the wintertime are completely in acceptable for dining. We won't be back until spring. Sorry for the bad review Eva. Your hostess could at least have given us the option to wait for warmer table, warning us that the front table is freezing. We were mortified taking friends to dinner there. Apologizing the whole time for the temperatures.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2013

We had a great meal here last week. We didn't order off the menu...just asked the waiter to bring us what he thought we would like. We had a party of 7 and shared 10 small plates. All of them were great. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.