Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Eva

Eva is dedicated to and named after chef Charlie Perry's great grandmother. Eva Coombs passed on her respect for quality ingredients, an emphasis on the nourishing benefits of food and most importantly, the shared pleasure of eating. At Eva, our tapas style dining promotes a communal sense of enjoyment. We have an extensive and varied small plates menu, craft cocktails and hand picked wine list.




317 S Main St
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
300 S.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 359-8447

Website:
http://evaslc.com/

Catering:
Please call for details and pricing.

Executive Chef:
Charlie Perry

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Eva Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Casual (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

It's a little too dark. None of the group really liked the cocktails ordered--except the drink du jour--it was lovely. As was the Riesling. Food plates were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Eva's steak and trout outstanding. The gem lettuce salad was shredded/finely chopped, very fresh, lightly dressed. Dressing light enough it did not interfere with he taste of wine. Sauces and rubs work. Just enough spice and heat. Great textures, nothing over-cooked. Small plate approach really works here. Very affordable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Eva was a great choice for dinner with friends. Many options to share-

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delish!!- wonderful cuisine and atmosphere. Small plates, shareable. Party of 8 before Book of Mormon - we loved it!
We ordered one of almost every dish on the menu and duplicates of certain ones +
a blend of specialty cocktails, a bottle of wine and corkage on a special champagne.

I would certainly go back over and over!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was really interesting and tasty. Love the small plates where everyone can taste each dish. Service was timely and not overbearing. The only thing that was a challenge was the noise level.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food is shareable and delicious. Our service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Have not been here in a year, but it still was a great as ever! The updated menu was the best yet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food here has always been good! The dishes are meant to share. The pizzas are really good, and we had the shrimp and hominy dish that were amazing as well as the grilled asparagus and fries. If you are HANGRY, it may not be the place you want to go. It is more of a date/friend get together place. And everyone can get a dish or two to try out and see if they like it! Staff is friendly and the place is very nice with romantic flares and clean. They have a great wine selection and the place is right downtown so it is a great location for a lunch/dinner party.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Eva is our favorite place for tapas in Salt Lake. Now that they offer reservations on OpenTable, we will go more frequently (on this occasion we went for my husband's birthday). It's great for a lighter dinner and all the food is always exceptional! I definitely recommend if you're in there area looking for local, fresh tapas and delicious, unique cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Foodie quality for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were looking for a local place to eat dinner and didn't want a huge meal. Eva's was perfect! The food was superb and was enjoyed by everyone. The favorites were the steak bruchetta; the fig and pig pizza, and the meatballs. We weren't crazy about the brussel sprouts as they are shaved and it was more like cole slaw. I know some of the reviews commented about space but we did not think it was a problem -- it isn't designed to be a romantic restaurant.
Overall go to Evas! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Good food. Great menu. Too loud. Tables too close together. Service not great.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Nice small enviroment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This is a very nice, interesting Salt Lake restaurant. The food is unusual and very good.
The service is excellent in my experience.
I only wish they would do something about the music.
To my ear, it creates the wrong atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This was a nice change of pace for us.

Great little place, very friendly servers and staff. Kept the water coming and were attentive.

We shared the Brussels Sprouts and Homemade Labneh small plates. The sprouts were incredible!! And the labneh was also delicious and the gold beet relish was a nice touch.

For an entrée, I had the Shrimp & Grits and Hubs had the Lamb Tangine. My shrimp was cooked perfectly and the grits were yummy. It had arugula and feta and a lemony sauce that made my tastebuds dance.

Hubs said his lamb was wonderful, full of delicious flavor and he'd order it again. He did say when it came out the skillet was Chernobyl hot and it would have been nice if the server warned him about it.

My only negative remark: the two entrees did not come out at the same time. My shrimp dish came out, then Hubs had to wait a good 5 minutes for his. This is a major pet peeve of mine. If you have two diners and they both order an entrée, how hard is it for the kitchen to coordinate efforts to have the food come out at the same time? It was awkward eating in front of him. And, there were only 4 tables inside that were occupied, so it's not like they were busy.

I'll come back, but I sure hope we can get our food at the same time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Good place for tapas, tasty cocktails, usually very crowded. The food is excellent but expensive considering the portions. If you don't want to wait consider making reservations. The ambience is very fun and trendy, but the tables are very close together and the volume is generally quite high. I wouldn't recommend it for a first date or any occasion where you want to have a long or private conversation, but it's great for a fun tapas night with friends. I would recommend eating a snack before hand if you're not looking to spend a lot, as plates are very small (they are tapas after all.)

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Good food, variety of dishes to please every palate. Too much salt in some dishes, surprising when the level of spice and heat made the high salt level unnecessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Eva...good food, to be sure, and pretty good service. All of the above were good. Ambiance? Perhaps it's just me, but not a place I aspire to go to...not terribly comfortable. Informal, to be sure, and that's not a bad thing. Just not a place I want to go chill. That said, there's apparently a back area I did not see/explore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food and drinks were spectacular! We were able to sit out on the patio and it was comfortable, warm and quiet. Will definitely keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were disappointed in Eva. I'd read nice reviews and we expected a pleasing dinner. First, the service was really poor. Our server hardly had the time of day for us and at the end of the meal we had to flag down another server to get a check. He never mentioned any of the specials to us. We would have ordered at least one of them. We may not look important to him, but we've plenty of expendable cash and eat out at least once/week in Salt Lake. I also do a lot of on line restaurant reviews. Big mistake, David.

The food was ok. We had four plates, two were quite good, one was ok and one that I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

By the time we left the restaurant, which is quite small, it had become really noisy. With tables that are very close to one another, noise does really impact your dining experience. It may be a hip and happening vibe, but I like to be able to talk to my dinner companion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great menu, fun to share with like minded friends, although choices for everyone. Food came out quickly, do if you're pressed for time, they will accommodate you. Pizza's take longe, but we well worth the wait.
We'll go again!

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We loved each of the several tapas that were ordered. The vegetarian options were some of our favorites. Service was great. On the downside, it was too warm (mid May) and noisy. This was not our first time, and we will be back.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The dinner was true culinary experience and the kitchen demonstrated a great range in style. The Korean short rib, asparagus, calamari and gnocchi were all delicious. We also ordered the fig and pig pizza which was good but not on par with the rest of the meal. Cocktails were inventive and strong. Overall highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A very competent small plates place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We sat in the back room and had a wonderful time. The way the tables are situated it seems more private but cozy. They have a large selection of small plates so we had fun trying many, many dishes between the four of us. The service was exceptional right down to the friendly, attentive hostess.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great place for a light, flavorfull small plate/tapas. It was perfect for date night. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our server wasn't a very happy person that particular evening ... However, she couldn't ruin the incredible food!!! Everything we ordered (quite a few tapas) was spectacular! It is a bit noisy & not a place I would choose for a romantic dinner, as the tables are quite close to each other. My only other complaint is that I wish they would have switched out our personal plates every so often so all the flavors didn't meld together & feel & look messy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We came right when they opened and all the drinks and food were fresh and top notch. Lots of yummy vegetarian options: rosemary fries, roasted edamame, homemade labneh, and salad. Easy to share between the 3 of us. Great bar specials too. Fun night with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

This was my second visit to Eva. Both times were wonderful. The food is amazing. Our servers were both mindful that we had activities to get to. Cool building.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Crazy small portions even for tapas and literally the slowest service and food I have ever experienced. Good for a drink not for a meal. You will leave hungry and poorer.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Waiters and staff need to slow down the speed of delivery. The last thing you want is to get all your small plates at once. We corrected the situation when the 2nd plate got to our table. We had barely started our 1st plate. The waitress took it back without hesitation and manager was happy to do it! Great experience! The food was exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Eva's food is always great. There are lots of vegetarian options and inventive dishes. The restaurant is noisy when full.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food!! Each dish was unique and extremely flavorful. Our favorites were the spinach and potato gnocchi, beets with goat cheese and mint, asparagus with poached egg, and Brussels sprouts with cider vinegar! We got 10 plates for 5 people and it was the perfect amount! Thank you Eva for a wonderful dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was spectacular and I could have eaten much more. The only downside was the amount of time taken to bring drinks after they had been ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Cheese or butter in almost every dish (I'm vegan), expensive as hell, wine was meh and I had to eat again when I got home. I'll never return . Also bench seating was not comfy, no back support.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Small plates were great after our group (a casual collection of business colleagues) had a few too many too large entree type group dinners. Good value for dollar, nice wine and spirits list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We arrived at 5:30 and it was ideal for a group of 5 however by the time we left it was so noisy we couldn't hear anything. I would recommend to go early. The food was good and the chef was so accommodating to one in our group who could not have garlic. He made many dishes without the garlic and they still were really good. The only thing I would love to see are a few more reasonably price wines. The wine prices were high and there were not any less expensive options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Overall very good. Didn't care for short rib to salty, very little meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very disappointed in the quality of a dish that impacted my entire experience. It was also very costly.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.