Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Eva

4.5
136 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Tapas
  • Pre/post Theatre
Eva is dedicated to and named after chef Charlie Perry's great grandmother. Eva Coombs passed on her respect for quality ingredients, an emphasis on the nourishing benefits of food and most importantly, the shared pleasure of eating. At Eva, our tapas style dining promotes a communal sense of enjoyment. We have an extensive and varied small plates menu, craft cocktails and hand picked wine list.




Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 359-8447
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charlie Perry
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call for details and pricing.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
300 S.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 136 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

The food was incredible. Perfect for a group.
I loved the “shared plates for family dining” idea. Great way to try a bunch of different things. All 6 of us loved the food.

The service was just ok. The staff didn’t seem super friendly, which definitely changes the atmosphere of a place.

The food saved the experience. I would easily give it 5 stars if the servers were friendly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants in SLC. We've never been disappointed. Small intimate dates or larger parties they've always accommodated. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The small plates are great, but I didn’t see anything new since last year. Maybe change up the menu a little bit?

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

First time to Eva and overall a decent experience. The wine and cocktails were great and most of the tapas were delicious! The mushroom pizza and the asparagus dish were two of our favorites. We had high hopes for the meat and cheese board but were disappointed. The jar of cheesecake for dessert was also not a favorite. Overall, we would try it again and try different tapas. The ambiance was nice, staff was friendly and the drinks were great. Walking distance to the Eccles theater was a bonus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Wonderful food! I try to explore Salt Lake City when I am in town for business and this dinner did not disappoint! Fantastic shared menu items and wonderful service made this a perfect evening after a long day in airports.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great tapas and wonderfully created drinks! Loved this place for my sons birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Very original dining experience. Will return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Eva's is always a hit. Food is fantastic! The ambiance of the back room dining is cozy, and sweet. Perfect for gatherings, dates, and other special occasions, or just because. My fav SLC spot.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Each dish was delicious but served 10-20 minutes after the previous one. We almost got up to leave after finishing our third dish and waiting 20 min for the next to arrive. It also was less enjoyable to have only one dish on the table at a time rather than being able to nibble st several things at once, which is more typical in a small plates venue. Waiter never returned to offer us more drinks and we had to commandeer another staff member. Still, whatever they were perseverating on between courses, each was extremely tasty!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

tl;dr Great food, but if you’re charging what they’re charging, the customer deserves the whole experience to be great, and it wasn’t. It’s priced to high for what you get.

Absolutely amazing food. Deep, intricate flavors in everything we tried. The service left us wanting, however. At a place that charges $9 for five spears of asparagus, or $12 for gnocchi, you would expect excellent service to match the excellent food and expensive pricing. This wasn’t the case. Our waiter was wearing a ball cap, jeans, and a t-shirt. My date pointed out that servers are usually better dressed at Denny’s. A server’s dress should match the aesthetic the restaurant is going for - it didn’t. A woman next to us ordered a Sprite and was served a flat soda - the server didn’t tell her the carbonation machine was broken. Our server didn’t tell us or the table next to us that only half of the dessert menu was available, which was very disappointing seeing as we were some of the first patrons of the day (how are you ”out” of cheesecake?).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The food was well executed and very unique. A lot of interesting flavors that really worked!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This was our third time to Eva, and it was delightful again! The four of us shared 8 plates of incredible, perfectly cooked and well-balanced food and each had a handcrafted cocktail then shared a delicious bottle of wine. It is a small, cozy spot nestled downtown and an absolute must! It was very busy and our server, while attentive when we had his attention, was too busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

I cannot believe the value at Eva. Incredible food and service with an unbeatable price. A wonderful experience all around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

I love Eva but it was a little slow this time and we had opera to catch. Even though I mentioned this to the server numerous times it did not get any quicker and we had to take our dessert to go. (This has not been a problem in the past).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The food was great, the service less so. We were visiting SLC and grabbed a reservation at Eva for our anniversary dinner. There were long waits between placing orders, our server never checked on our wine or water levels. Also, plates weren’t cleared between dishes, leading to weird flavor combinations.

That being said the food was great and the wine was excellent. Good value but I’d have a hard time wanting to go back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Randomly picked thus place out of a list for a date night. So glad I did, the food was delicious and the staff was amazing. I will be back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Our visit was a bit underwhelming. The dining room is not large, yet everyone was seated in one portion of it, making for an unnecessary crowded feeling. The main focus here is small plates. We were not asked in what order we wanted the plates, but we did volunteer that we wanted the pizza first. We instead received a plate of brussels sprouts that sat for quite some time getting cold until the rest of our items were delivered all at the same time. The food was good but not extraordinary or particularly interesting. Overall, Eva was on the positive side of okay and we'd go back there in a pinch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

A good place for simple but fun meal. Probably more fun if you are in a larger group so that one can sample different dishes. I think they should serve you a basket of bread...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

I was visiting Salt Lake City for a concert and chose this restaurant for convenience and the menu. The food was very creatively prepared and tasty. Service was warm and efficient, with three different servers helping me at some point. I will happily return the next time I am in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

This was our second visit to Eva and our favorites such as the spinach and potato gnocchi did not disappoint. We brought friends and were able to taste more dishes such as the woderfully seasoned shaved brussel sprouts and the roasted asparagus. We also tried the fried chicken and would not recommend it. It was overcooked and came out swimming in a green and white sauce that was not only unappetizing looking, but also flavorless. This $13 dish disappointed. In fact, my husband felt the entire meal was overpriced. Six pieces of asparagus for $9! Yes, it tasted wonderful, but the price was over the top. I'd probably return for a special occasion, but not for everyday dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Very unassuming from the outside. Service great. Food was excellent (Brussel sprouts, cauliflower, flatbread, French fries) to name a few. Nice wine selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Had a great evening at Eva after looking at other online reviews. Had to add an extra person to the reservation at the last minute and the restaurant, while busy, was able to accommodate us at two adjoining tables. Great atmosphere, cozy fire in back, love the small plates especially for groups - enjoyed every single one we tried. Recommend highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great food. Loved the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Went here the other night with my lady and the food was fantastic. We tried a bunch of different dishes and I can honestly say that every single one was quite tasty. The soy glaze that comes with Eva’s Steak was so good we ordered the flatbread for the sole purpose of mopping it up. I loved the crispy potatoes and dill in the Pork Cabbage Roll dish. And the Gnochhi was fabulous – pillowy soft with an amazing cream sauce.

The Brussel Sprouts and Charred Beets were very good too, although perhaps the least exciting of the things we tried. But the goat cheese that came with the beets was quite pleasant. We also enjoyed the Fried Trout dish, which was nice and crispy on one side yet flaky and moist on the other. As for dessert, we went with the Warm Chocolate Cake and the Candied Corn Bread, and although I enjoyed both, I though the chewiness of the Candied Corn Bread mixed with cream was the standout.

One thing I really like about this place is that there are so many items on the menu that look/sound good. You can go time and time again, mixing tried-and-true favorites with items that you haven’t tried for a unique experience every time. Lastly, I enjoy this place a lot more at night than during the day. Not because the food is any different, mind you, but the space itself just seems a lot more cozy and warm. I already can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Went here for a friend’s 30th bday dinner with a party of 5. We were all initially stoked to try this place as the menu had our mouths watering. The excitement quickly left. Our food was tolerable but not delicious and our drinks were unbearable. We ordered 12-15 small plates which was sufficiennt enough for a light dinner for our group (perhaps it wouldn’ have been enough if we had enjoyed the food though). The drinks all had very interesting tastes. Smokey, sour, strange. We passed around our drinks hoping out of our group someone would like them butnto no avail. It was so bad I politely asked if we could trade them in for ANY other drink so that at least it wouldn’t be a complete wash. The manager would not comp/switch any drinks. We grabbed our checks and went directly to Whiskey Street and Maxwells to save the night. :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Food was decent, but did not wow us like we had hoped. One starter was okay, the other better, and one small plate was very bland while the other was very tasty, but had so many different flavors going on it was hard to decide what was going on with the dish. The server described the petite beef as "like a filet mignon" but it was definitely just simple flank steak when it arrived. A nice flank steak, but far from filet! We recommend Francks and other places in SLC for better food. We loved the ambiance and our server was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Great food and the server helped with surprising my cousin on her birthday meal by putting a candle on the dessert we ordered!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

I have always heard great things about this restaurant so I finally went. The food was delicious plus there were so many different options. We had a very wonderful time and experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Every item we had was utterly plate licking fabulous! I could have eaten a bucket of fired cauliflower! The dessert - upside caramel corn cake was beyond words incredible. Divine drinks too. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We had a group of 5 so we got to try a LOT of the small dishes, and they were all terrific, really good. Interesting options, and absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Food was very delicious! Love that my friend could order several small plates and share them. We loved every dish and our waitress was very friendly but not overbearing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

This was the second time I have enjoyed Eva’s. The food is crazy good! So flavorful and beautiful presentation. My main complaint tho is the very loud music!! Sitting close to others we literally had to shout to one another over the loud music.

But that will not keep me from coming back! Fantastic !!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We got the cauliflower, asparagus, shrimp and hominy, mushroom and truffle pizza, and the trout. The cauliflower, pizza, and trout were our favorites. We wouldn't order the asparagus or shrimp dish again...not that they were bad, just not stand outs. Overall, it was a very nice meal and something a little different, but still familiar.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Too small of plates. I paid 15 bucks for two or three bites of Steak, felt robbed. Very disappointing! ONE TIME experience for sure! Date Night Fail. Thanks Eva.....NOT!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great food and service. Gnocchi was the bomb!! Had the duck and it was amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Very noisy and hard to have a conversation. But delicious food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

2nd time and just as good as the first

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Brought foodie-friends visiting from Seattle. They were blown away. We were like “yeah, that’s right, this is Salt Lake”. We couldn’t have been more proud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2018

First time visit to Eva and sat in the back enclosed patio. Great ambiance with the fire going, and quiet area. Friendly service and delicious small plates. Had the brussels sprouts, beets and split the pear & walnut pizza...all very tasty!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Went here for our anniversary. We were seated so close to two other couples that we felt bad when we spoke because it seemed like we interrupted their conversations. We had to totally lift up and move our table when I needed to get out to go to the restroom. Food was outstanding, portions were small, service was fine. It just wasn't the quiet intimate evening we were hoping for.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4