About Europea

1227, rue de la Montagne
Montreal, QC H3G1Z2
View Larger Map

Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jérôme ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France"
An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 1:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Sainte Catherine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 398-9229

Website:
http://www.europea.ca/

Catering:
Cheered in TV shows and through his culinary books, Jérôme Ferrer and his team present The Europea signature catering service, an amazing package for you cocktails, buffets or special events that will change this special occasion in a outstanding experience.

As well, live a unique moment by reserving our "chef à Domicile " service : The Europea experience in your own home with our chefs and waiters.

Public Transit:
Metro Peel on the green line

Executive Chef:
Jerome Ferrer

Private Party Contact:
cécile kilidjian: (514) 397-9161

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cornish Game Hen Baked In Clay With Potatoes And Spinach
Cotton Candy Dessert Tree
Scallop Ceviche, Raw Tuna, And Potsticker
Homard And Sweet Bread With Linguini
Calmar Avec Oeuf Poche
Truffe Aux Risotto Et Capuccino A Lhomard
Sorbet Avec Sucre A Briser
Petoncle Xxl
Cocktail Fruite
Risotto A La Betterave Et Creme D'oursin
Madeleines
Desserts
Foie Gras With Smoothie
Lapin
Foie Gras On A Stone
Chocolate Mousse
Braised Veal Cheek And Melting Potatoes
Filet De Bar Et Petits Legumes
Foie Gras
Jambon
Poulet
Dessert Comme Un Oeuf Au Plat
Trio Of Mini Desserts
Octopus Salad
Poulet Croustillant au Gingembre
Secret De Maurice
Chocolate Desert En Excess
Lobster
Crab And Green Peas
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Cornish Game Hen
Cotton candy
Scallop
Scampi Carpaccio
Deserts
Yuzu
Creme De Homard Capuccino
Petoncle Avec Creme Blanche
Menu Degustation 99.50$ No 1
Tagliolini
Larbre De La Culpabilite
Gravlax
Appletini
Proscuitto A La Corde A Linge Et Succette Aux Fromage
Clafouti Au Fromage Et Chips Aux Sesame
Foie Gras On A Stone Caramelise
Tagliatelle Of Lemony Calamari
Beef Cheek On Barley Risotto
Fois Gras Seared At The Table On Hot Stone With Maple Syrup Glaze
cornish hen

Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
14 More
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Notable Wine List
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (131)
fit for foodies (129)
romantic (87)
See All
notable wine list (79)
hot spot (46)
great for lunch (34)
neighborhood gem (28)
good for groups (21)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We went in 2015 and loved it. As we went ...

Dined 3 days ago

We went in 2015 and loved it. As we went back to Montreal we decided to have another dinner there and loved it just as much. The food was really good with all the free give away from the kitchen. The multitude of desserts offered was, as last year, surprising and abundant. We took the host menu and we highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the reviews set our expectations a ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

While the reviews set our expectations at the high end of the range, they were exceeded in every dimension. The service was excellent, highly attentive without being intrusive. The menu was original and a source of consternation; how was one to chose from the many compelling options? The food was delicious at every course. And the surprising and unusual treats before and after the meal topped off a perfect evening. I can recommend without hesitation and am looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered 3 portions of AAA Angus beef ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We ordered 3 portions of AAA Angus beef with wild mushrooms. The beef was perfect cooked but it tasted a bit salty and same as wild mushrooms.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's my second time at Europea and it wa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

It's my second time at Europea and it was as great as my first time. Excellent food, great service, all kind of surprises between meals. A little note from Mr. Ferrer wishing me a nice evening. My guest told me that she wants to go back. And of course me too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food was excellent!

Dined on June 14, 2016

Amazing service and food was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Excellent service. Overa ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. Overall top notch. Would return when in Montreal

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding dining experience

Dined on June 9, 2016

Europea exceeded our expectations for both the dining experience and quality of each course. The special surprises and presentation of each course added overall experience. Would definitely recommend for someone looking for a unique and special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

You can always count on Europea

Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was good but ambiance was quiet. The service was very attentive. Nice lunch special.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mitchlin Star standard

Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant was a real find via Top Table, we were very pleasantly surprised, the service and food was exceptional and the wine list extensive and very good. Although expensive it was worth every $Can!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Creative and delicious

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We opted for the 12-course tasting menu, which was full of inventive and delicious surprises. Be aware that while paced out over several hours, this menu also includes some amuse bouche type bites and frequent offers of (excellent) bread, so expect to leave completely stuffed! Water refills got noticeably slower as the restaurant filled up over the course of the evening, but service remained friendly and helpful throughout. The sommelier was particularly wonderful, explaining her pairing choices to us (and all paired beautifully with the intended courses). This is a definite splurge, but well worth checking out for a night of fine dining in downtown Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical experience at Europea!

Dined on June 6, 2016

We have chosen the tasting menu and it was a great pleasure for our eyes and mouth. The different plates were served by waiters who acted very well. It's like if we were part of a play as they introduced the plates in a theatrical way. We did appreciate it a lot. The amuse-bouche were delicious and very unusual. Delicacies were extraordinary and numerous, so the dessert was almost too much. A great experience for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!!!

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

I love my California Cuisine, because it is outstanding.... but, I'm sorry, Napa, Montreal has you beat!!! And single-handedly by Restaurant Europea!!! I am so happy I found this place!! So amazing!!! So many "treats" and "surprises" and "extras"!!!! I don't want to spoil the surprise, but lets just say you get so much more than you pay for!!!! I will be back!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best dining ever

Dined on June 3, 2016

Fantastic food and unbelievable atmosphere The food was endless in tantalizing bites We enjoyed the drinks almost as much as the food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Rare to find in the heart of downtown Montreal

Dined on June 3, 2016

I was looking for a place to take my family while they were visiting me for my graduation. I was hesitant to go here due to the price point, but they had a lunch course of 4 at a very reasonable price. All members of my family are quite petite and do not eat that much so this table d'hote was a perfect choice for us. The cutlery was very beautiful and they also provided appetizer of the day which was displayed very interestingly. I would definitely recommend his place for day-to-day dining as well as for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good for special occasions

Dined on June 2, 2016

Very good and unique food experience. The tasting menu with wine pairing is very interesting. However, for the price paid you would expect everything to be expceptional and it was not. Service is efficient but distant and at times progammed like robots. Little personal connection. Many creative dishes and surprise effects.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Clever and tastey array of small bites.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Clever and tastey array of small bites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Extraordinary dining experience

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Not just dinner. A dinner and dining experience. Wonderful food beautifully served like a flawless dance performance. Everything was perfect from beginning to end. We were there to celebrate a special anniversary and it definitely made for a memorable evening. Thank you to the Chef and all our attentive servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A MICHELIN TYPE RESTAURANT

Dined on May 28, 2016

If Montreal was on the Michelin list, I could see this place getting 1 or 2 stars. From their tasting menu, some dishes will absolutely floor you with their taste and presentation. However, 2 of our dishes had their salt levels off. One was under salted while the other was teeth clenching salty. Anyways its an experience well worth it in Montreal. It has that "it" factor. It is also very filling, so be sure to go easy on some of the early snacks and bread they bring out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a culinary experience where flavo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a culinary experience where flavors, textures and imagination came together to put Europea in Les Grandes Tables du Monde 2016.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food is definitely very interesting and unique. The lunch menu is a very good deal. I personally wasn't wow-ed by the food/flavor but I appreciate the thought put into the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place . Highly recommended

Dined on May 26, 2016

Superb food. Wonderful menu. Excellent service. We had a wonderful evening and would dine there often .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious and filling meal. V ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Absolutely delicious and filling meal. Very attentive staff. Could not have been happier with the experience. It was our first time. We have already made reservations to come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sensational presentation. Food was AWESOME!!!!!

Dined on May 24, 2016

The made every accommodation that I requested. My plans changed, but they were an A+ establishment. This place is romantic. The food is excellent!!!!!!! The presentation is sensational!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must do on your bucket list. Amazing f ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

A must do on your bucket list. Amazing food, excellent service and worth the value. I know there were a few people on here that said it's too expensive but my husband did the full course menu and I just did an appetizer and main. It was quite reasonable. I also have a gluten allergy and the staff went above and beyond to make the night special. Every table I looked at seem to have a good time and enjoy the food. They make you feel like the night is just about you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Probably the best restaurant!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Probably the best restaurant!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Get ready for 4h dinner

Dined on May 20, 2016

Even though the food presentation was very arty and tasted amazing, everything got ruined by the fact that it lasted for 4 hours! My husband and I love good food but we were not ready to spend so much time in the restaurant. Also because we had to wait long between the servings we stayed hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent service they made my client f ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

excellent service they made my client feel special, was a first experience for him. great job!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

European makes you feel royal. You feel ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

European makes you feel royal. You feel the king customer. Every detail is designed to surprise and truly welcome . Incredible as menu 9 steps desserts. Highly recommended. It is expensive but worth it

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This restaurant came recommended by an a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This restaurant came recommended by an acquaintance who had dined there before. After reading the reviews, I kind of knew what to expect. One of which, was a lot of time, up to 3 hours, although they didn't specify if that was lunch or dinner. We chose to go there for lunch and got the tasting menu, wanting to fully enjoy the experience. It started out great, but each course was served to us so fast, we were shocked. We had originally wanted to order a different glass of wine with our meat dish but we never had time. As soon as we put down our fork, another dish was served. I don't know if it was rushed because we were there for lunch but our entire dining experience was about 70 minutes. My husband and I were on vacation and so time was not really an issue for us. And there was empty tables in our area so I don't think there was a wait. The food was good but not great. Creative yes, but in our opinion, over priced. I get that you are paying for an experience but we were very disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, innovatively presented. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food, innovatively presented. In general, I thought the "little" extras made the meal more than the entree and principle plates themselves, but the quality of the food could not be faulted. The servers were very attentive, and the staff made a reasonable effort to accommodate my wife's dietary restrictions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent service, good ambience, food was very good and good value. Can't imagine anyone able to finish the whole degustation menu. Price reasonable too compared to other restaurant on the same caliber around the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievably Great!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We went there for the pre-fixe lunch as a birthday treat. We brought our (happily sleeping!) toddler. Everyone was very accommodating - the food was stellar. I'm still raving about how good it was a week later. If you are bringing a child, make sure that you only do the lunch seating, and that they're somewhat older as they need to have an appreciation for food. No picky eaters or chicken fingers here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing experience at Europea.

Dined on May 3, 2016

It was our first time there. Everything was great : food, service, ambiance etc. We had the 12 course menu. The foie gras was the best I had ever eaten. The dishes are really tasty and the appearance was great too. I found that the service was of high quality but in the mean time I did not feel stiff or awkward like in other really good restaurants. We could ask questions about the menu, the products etc. And finally they gave us a tour of the kitchen which was really nice !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 2, 2016

I recently traveled to Montreal and decided to dine in the top-rated restaurant. EUROPEA was recommended. I had a delightful time. Dinner is a wonderful swirl of multiple courses done in very imaginative presentations. Had a superb meal and wonderful conversations with table neighbors and the staff, who also provided a quick tour of the kitchen. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great culinary experience! I went with t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great culinary experience! I went with the 12-course menu with the wine pairing and husband went with the 6-course menu. Everything tasted fantastic! His favorite course was the lobster cappuccino and I absolutely loved the red risotto and the foie gras. The service was attentive.

food2
ambience4
service3

Food was good but no wow factor at all. ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was good but no wow factor at all. Basic menu and outdated ideas. Most of the 12 service meal was served cold/warm when it was supposed to be hot. Service was very good at the beginning but as the evening went on the plates took longer and longer to arrive. Cutlery was the highlight of the night. Overprice for the overall quality of the experience. This restaurant runs on the reputation only. They need to rethink their menu and come in the year 2016. Our group was disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Again

Dined on April 13, 2016

My fourth time here and once again greatness. Creative, imaginative, and yet returns to key things the restaurant is known for. Smoke, foam, and layers of flavours. Very highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved every second of our night!!!!!!!!

Dined on April 12, 2016

My husband and I had a great night! We enjoyed our 4 hours of eating! Lol. Every dish was incredible, the plating and attention to detail was phenomenal. Europea did not disappoint, after reviewing many reviews and other restaurants we knew we just had to try it, So glad we did. We look forward to going again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely amazing presentations. We had ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Absolutely amazing presentations. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

From the moment to when our final course of desserts, the experience was of the unexpected. I would give the restaurant 11/10 for service and experience. I came here with a few friends for a special occasion and would recommend this restaurant to anyone for something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.