About Europea

1227, rue de la Montagne
Montreal, QC H3G1Z2
View Larger Map

Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jérôme ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France"
An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 1:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Sainte Catherine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 398-9229

Website:
http://www.europea.ca/

Catering:
Cheered in TV shows and through his culinary books, Jérôme Ferrer and his team present The Europea signature catering service, an amazing package for you cocktails, buffets or special events that will change this special occasion in a outstanding experience.

As well, live a unique moment by reserving our "chef à Domicile " service : The Europea experience in your own home with our chefs and waiters.

Public Transit:
Metro Peel on the green line

Executive Chef:
Jerome Ferrer

Private Party Contact:
cécile kilidjian: (514) 397-9161

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
12 More
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (116)
fit for foodies (113)
romantic (80)
See All
notable wine list (74)
hot spot (42)
great for lunch (33)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (4)
 (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place . Highly recommended

Dined 4 days ago

Superb food. Wonderful menu. Excellent service. We had a wonderful evening and would dine there often .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious and filling meal. V ...

Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely delicious and filling meal. Very attentive staff. Could not have been happier with the experience. It was our first time. We have already made reservations to come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must do on your bucket list. Amazing f ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

A must do on your bucket list. Amazing food, excellent service and worth the value. I know there were a few people on here that said it's too expensive but my husband did the full course menu and I just did an appetizer and main. It was quite reasonable. I also have a gluten allergy and the staff went above and beyond to make the night special. Every table I looked at seem to have a good time and enjoy the food. They make you feel like the night is just about you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Probably the best restaurant!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Probably the best restaurant!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Get ready for 4h dinner

Dined on May 20, 2016

Even though the food presentation was very arty and tasted amazing, everything got ruined by the fact that it lasted for 4 hours! My husband and I love good food but we were not ready to spend so much time in the restaurant. Also because we had to wait long between the servings we stayed hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent service they made my client f ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

excellent service they made my client feel special, was a first experience for him. great job!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

European makes you feel royal. You feel ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

European makes you feel royal. You feel the king customer. Every detail is designed to surprise and truly welcome . Incredible as menu 9 steps desserts. Highly recommended. It is expensive but worth it

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This restaurant came recommended by an a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This restaurant came recommended by an acquaintance who had dined there before. After reading the reviews, I kind of knew what to expect. One of which, was a lot of time, up to 3 hours, although they didn't specify if that was lunch or dinner. We chose to go there for lunch and got the tasting menu, wanting to fully enjoy the experience. It started out great, but each course was served to us so fast, we were shocked. We had originally wanted to order a different glass of wine with our meat dish but we never had time. As soon as we put down our fork, another dish was served. I don't know if it was rushed because we were there for lunch but our entire dining experience was about 70 minutes. My husband and I were on vacation and so time was not really an issue for us. And there was empty tables in our area so I don't think there was a wait. The food was good but not great. Creative yes, but in our opinion, over priced. I get that you are paying for an experience but we were very disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, innovatively presented. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food, innovatively presented. In general, I thought the "little" extras made the meal more than the entree and principle plates themselves, but the quality of the food could not be faulted. The servers were very attentive, and the staff made a reasonable effort to accommodate my wife's dietary restrictions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent service, good ambience, food was very good and good value. Can't imagine anyone able to finish the whole degustation menu. Price reasonable too compared to other restaurant on the same caliber around the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievably Great!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We went there for the pre-fixe lunch as a birthday treat. We brought our (happily sleeping!) toddler. Everyone was very accommodating - the food was stellar. I'm still raving about how good it was a week later. If you are bringing a child, make sure that you only do the lunch seating, and that they're somewhat older as they need to have an appreciation for food. No picky eaters or chicken fingers here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing experience at Europea.

Dined on May 3, 2016

It was our first time there. Everything was great : food, service, ambiance etc. We had the 12 course menu. The foie gras was the best I had ever eaten. The dishes are really tasty and the appearance was great too. I found that the service was of high quality but in the mean time I did not feel stiff or awkward like in other really good restaurants. We could ask questions about the menu, the products etc. And finally they gave us a tour of the kitchen which was really nice !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 2, 2016

I recently traveled to Montreal and decided to dine in the top-rated restaurant. EUROPEA was recommended. I had a delightful time. Dinner is a wonderful swirl of multiple courses done in very imaginative presentations. Had a superb meal and wonderful conversations with table neighbors and the staff, who also provided a quick tour of the kitchen. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great culinary experience! I went with t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great culinary experience! I went with the 12-course menu with the wine pairing and husband went with the 6-course menu. Everything tasted fantastic! His favorite course was the lobster cappuccino and I absolutely loved the red risotto and the foie gras. The service was attentive.

food2
ambience4
service3

Food was good but no wow factor at all. ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was good but no wow factor at all. Basic menu and outdated ideas. Most of the 12 service meal was served cold/warm when it was supposed to be hot. Service was very good at the beginning but as the evening went on the plates took longer and longer to arrive. Cutlery was the highlight of the night. Overprice for the overall quality of the experience. This restaurant runs on the reputation only. They need to rethink their menu and come in the year 2016. Our group was disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Again

Dined on April 13, 2016

My fourth time here and once again greatness. Creative, imaginative, and yet returns to key things the restaurant is known for. Smoke, foam, and layers of flavours. Very highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved every second of our night!!!!!!!!

Dined on April 12, 2016

My husband and I had a great night! We enjoyed our 4 hours of eating! Lol. Every dish was incredible, the plating and attention to detail was phenomenal. Europea did not disappoint, after reviewing many reviews and other restaurants we knew we just had to try it, So glad we did. We look forward to going again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely amazing presentations. We had ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Absolutely amazing presentations. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

From the moment to when our final course of desserts, the experience was of the unexpected. I would give the restaurant 11/10 for service and experience. I came here with a few friends for a special occasion and would recommend this restaurant to anyone for something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Main course

Dined on April 1, 2016

The main course was a bit dry. Everything else was superb. Beautiful plating, great service, much attention to detail - with the amuse buche and pre-dessert. A lot to delight the eye and the palate.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply amazing

Dined on March 31, 2016

From start to finish it was an amazing experience. Each offering was better than the next. I was unable to do the tasting menu because it had a lot of shell fish which I'm allergic to so I opted for the decouverte menu. The were very kind to substitute the langoustine on the fois gras plate because it was a dish I really wanted to try. Pure heaven. The squash risotto was savory and sweet which was music to my palate. I can go on about the desserts (yes plural) , the lovely wine that was suggested and the attentive but not overbearing staff. Yes, you'll pay handsomely for the experience but as far as I'm concerned, it was well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Most incredible dining experience. The s ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Most incredible dining experience. The staff were friendly, professional and always available. The meal was delicious, cooked to perfection. The only downside was the wine was 3-4X retail price - ouch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

full of surprises

Dined on March 24, 2016

There are lots of surprises beyond the well cooked and tasty foods. Wonderful for both families and friends, my daughters loved it, because there are a lot of stories could tell. A little bit pricy though, this is definitely worthy to try when in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

outstanding meal

Dined on March 16, 2016

fantastic meal that was outstanding in terms of service, presentation, and most of all, delicious food. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great lunch deal

Dined on March 15, 2016

Get a gastronomic creative experience for half the price at lunch time. But we warned It is not ideal for business lunch as the smallest menu takes already 1,5 hours to serve. I went for a romantic date so that was no issue at all. Wine selection is very good but expensive. Service is up to French standards and perfectly bilingual.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an incredible culinary experien ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

This was an incredible culinary experience. Everything was outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Magical!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Europea is one of the rare true gems Montreal has to offer in terms of gastronomic experiences. Jerome Ferrer's inventivity and savoir-faire shine through all of his plates. From the amuse-bouche to the whimsical mignardises with the barbe-à-papa at the end, everything is lush, delicious and exciting, both for the eyes and for the papillae ! I will come back for more of this magical dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a great experience with the surpr ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was a great experience with the surprise tasting menu!! It was the 2nd best tasting menu I had since Joel Robuchon at Las Vegas. Wine pairing is best to elevate the whole course!! Worth to try it!! :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Theater

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We had the Valentine's Day tasting menu. So did every other diner that night. Dinner was a seemingly endless series of (perhaps a dozen) small courses of exotic preparations. The presentation of each course can best be described as food theater. We thoroughly enjoyed each course. There was plenty to eat. We chose an excellent bottle of wine from the menu rather than the paired tastings selected by the house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

very creative tasting menu, good wine pairings

Dined on February 13, 2016

my only critique of these better restaurants is that lately we have been sat in backrooms. Considering we are dropping 500-700 dollars im not sure why they exist. Its like A flight and B flight customers. I think we look pretty hip but.. other than that we did enjoy ourselves, it was a 4 hour experience so book earlier unless you like staying and eating past 12:30

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Experience like no other

Dined on January 29, 2016

From the time you walk in and are greeted by the staff, shown to your table, and introduced to some unique "amuse-bouches" like beef jerky on a clothesline, popcorn with truffle oil, and throughout your meal, its an experience not soon forgotten. Small touches like a welcome note from the chef, and a special platform for the purses not to touch the floor, everything here is made to make an impression. We had the tasting menu, and every plate was special and quite unique.....something to amaze your palate, as well as a feast for the eyes. Like others have said the lobster cappuccino was unique and amazing. Other dishes were equally amazing both in taste and visually...each one a work of art in itself. And come dessert, a tree made of cotton candy with small individual sweets and chocolates was a sight to behold. Its apparent that the wait staff as well as the kitchen staff take great pride in what they are doing and it shows in every plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Europa is an experience you must try.

Dined on January 20, 2016

My girlfriend and I both had the lunch menu which ended up taking 2 hours +The waiter was very attentive and his explanation of the dish was thorough. Europa is an experience you must try. I was especially impressed by the way the food was served and displayed. The only caveat is my girlfriend is on a dairy free diet. A lot of the dishes and dessert were heavy on the dairy products. The wait staff was very attentive and accommodating to her requirements, but it did limit the menu options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

I had a dinner with my wife this evening ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

I had a dinner with my wife this evening and it is hard to get the table on Saturday, food is excellent and services is also excellent. I would come back and recommend to friends.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great service. But cheese selection coul ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great service. But cheese selection could have been better. Chicken was too salty.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disapointing for the price

Dined on January 9, 2016

- the service is not distinctive enough (they don't help sit you, the menu was not even discribed to us, they just asked us if we had any questions). It is basically too friendly and too casual vs other restaurants such as Toqué or Chasse et Peche where the services are really classier. - the starter and main plates were disapointing (the scallops with the cabbage soup were missing taste, the sirlon steak was in fact three slim slices of meat which is very disapointing for a 50$ plate). I was expecting a culinar experience such as at the Toque where each bite provides an explosion of taste. The desert experience (taste, quantity and decoration) was better than the rest but not enough to justify the price. Better pay a little more and get an amazing experience at the Toque. I was expecting much more from the Europea (which is very focused on the decoration around the food instead of the food itself).

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service is good.

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

Our waiter Lavi provided us with great service. It was hockey night but our food came very promptly. Table was ready when we arrived and food is good as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best New Year's Eve celebration

Dined on December 31, 2015

Went for New Year's Eve and the food and service were excellent. The menu had a wonderful mix of savory and delicious combinations. This was a true dining experience. The chef came out during the evening and was very gracious to all the patrons.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A meal at Europea is more of a dining ex ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

A meal at Europea is more of a dining experience than just a dinner. The presentation was delightful and the service was amazing. Be sure to save room for the passport to dessert!

food5
ambience5
service5

Getting a card from the chef welcoming y ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Getting a card from the chef welcoming you to the restaurant was a special touch. The lunch discovery menu was a huge bargain. Great food, great ambiance, superb service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection.

vip
Dined on December 21, 2015

Perfection.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.