About Europea

1227, rue de la Montagne
Montreal, QC H3G1Z2
View Larger Map

Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jérôme ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France"
An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 1:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Sainte Catherine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 398-9229

Website:
http://www.europea.ca/

Catering:
Cheered in TV shows and through his culinary books, Jérôme Ferrer and his team present The Europea signature catering service, an amazing package for you cocktails, buffets or special events that will change this special occasion in a outstanding experience.

As well, live a unique moment by reserving our "chef à Domicile " service : The Europea experience in your own home with our chefs and waiters.

Public Transit:
Metro Peel on the green line

Executive Chef:
Jerome Ferrer

Private Party Contact:
cécile kilidjian: (514) 397-9161

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cornish Game Hen Baked In Clay With Potatoes And Spinach
Cotton Candy Dessert Tree
Scallop Ceviche, Raw Tuna, And Potsticker
Homard And Sweet Bread With Linguini
Calmar Avec Oeuf Poche
Truffe Aux Risotto Et Capuccino A Lhomard
Sorbet Avec Sucre A Briser
Petoncle Xxl
Cocktail Fruite
Risotto A La Betterave Et Creme D'oursin
Madeleines
Desserts
Foie Gras With Smoothie
Lapin
Foie Gras On A Stone
Chocolate Mousse
Braised Veal Cheek And Melting Potatoes
Filet De Bar Et Petits Legumes
Foie Gras
Jambon
Poulet
Dessert Comme Un Oeuf Au Plat
Trio Of Mini Desserts
Octopus Salad
Poulet Croustillant au Gingembre
Secret De Maurice
Chocolate Desert En Excess
Lobster
Crab And Green Peas
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Cornish Game Hen
Cotton candy
Scallop
Scampi Carpaccio
Deserts
Yuzu
Creme De Homard Capuccino
Petoncle Avec Creme Blanche
Menu Degustation 99.50$ No 1
Tagliolini
Larbre De La Culpabilite
Gravlax
Appletini
Proscuitto A La Corde A Linge Et Succette Aux Fromage
Clafouti Au Fromage Et Chips Aux Sesame
Foie Gras On A Stone Caramelise
Tagliatelle Of Lemony Calamari
Beef Cheek On Barley Risotto
Fois Gras Seared At The Table On Hot Stone With Maple Syrup Glaze
cornish hen

Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
15 More
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Notable Wine List
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (143)
fit for foodies (134)
romantic (95)
See All
notable wine list (89)
hot spot (47)
neighborhood gem (31)
great for lunch (23)
good for groups (21)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Truly an amazing place.. Such a unique e ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

Truly an amazing place.. Such a unique experience which we will never forget. The food was out of this world so was the service. Loved every second of the experience and enjoyed how much thought and effort was put into every single dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was so great! People was very organ ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 6 days ago

food was so great! People was very organized and provided very good service for us. Each course was amazing and we like them very much! It was a wonderful dinner in Montreal and I definitely go to visit the European again in next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best restaurant I've been t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was the best restaurant I've been to in a long time. Food was amazing, service impeccable, and entire evening went off without a hitch. My husband and I eat at top restaurants often...and this place outshined them all. We felt that the host took extra time and care to make our experience superior and we appreciated every moment. We recently got married and this was the perfect way to start off our honeymoon at Europea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our 25th anniversary and had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary and had the privilege of sitting at the chefs table. We had the beat dining experience of our lives. The food was exquisite. The food had multiple complex flavours with wonderful aromas and multiple textures, in each dish. The staff was so attentive and personable. The cheese selection was out of this world. The dessert was over the top. Lastly, sitting at the chefs table and watching everything in the kitchen was a real highlight. It is amazing to see how the kitchen works . Chef Luciano ran the kitchen like a maestro and every dish had his approval before leaving the kitchen. We also enjoyed watching the fact that when then crazy part of the night settled, he was smiling, joking and having fun. We loved our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular as usual. Easily among the t ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Spectacular as usual. Easily among the top 3 tables in Montreal, which is no small feat given the calibre of kitchens in this city. Outstanding value for money, every meal comes with a plethora of small bouchées and entremets, each more delicate and refined than the other.

Calarami entrée served in a stone bowl shredded to resemble tagliatelle was out of this world. Only two caveats: one dim sum as part of an otherwise fabulous scallop ceviche was all flour and too chewy, and the port sauce that came with the joue de veau and the beef was slightly too salty in our opinion... Otherwise a fabulous evening, and our waiter (Martin?) was just a riot, with a nice sense of humor and not an ounce of affectation, kudos!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience overall. From the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Incredible experience overall. From the attentive and informative service to the beautifully plated and delicious meals, each more unique and exciting than the next. My now fiancé proposed to me and he couldn't have picked a more perfect atmosphere. The staff, aware of his plan, ensured our experience was perfect. Providing a personalized card from the chef, small treats between meals and a beautiful dessert. Overall, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was described beautifully on ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything was described beautifully on the menu and looked lovely on the plate but tasted quite ordinary. The risotto was like glue, one of the signs of a mediocre kitchen. The wines by the glass were very overpriced. Over all Europea is more style than content... and not worth the money when are so many excellent restaurants in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

It was my first time to Europea and it w ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was my first time to Europea and it won't be my last .. Me and my girlfriend went there for my birthday, it was fantastic.. One of the best meals I've ever had

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Everything was ter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful experience. Everything was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a must if you are ever in the ar ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a must if you are ever in the area. The experience of the courses is incredible. There is nothing like it in comparison. The chef is inventive and trying new flavors, I give him props for doing so. Each course had a very unique feel and flavor. Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Overall very nice experience with long t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall very nice experience with long tasting menu with wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I was looking forward to this culinary e ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I was looking forward to this culinary experience, what a perfect occasion to celebrate my birthday with an amazing meal that awakes new taste buds. Unfortunately I came down with a bug and during the second course I had to leave. I didn't have a chance to complete the meal. The staff was amazing & tried their best to make me feel better. Hopefully I will be able to return to really experience this extraordinary Establishment.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, wonderful experience. Th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fabulous food, wonderful experience. The tasting menu was great fun, not super expensive

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been three times - every time I v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have been three times - every time I visit Montreal from NYC - it is spectacular!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Love the creativity ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious. Love the creativity of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All show. Food heavy and dull and just n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

All show. Food heavy and dull and just not tasty enough. Wine pours mean. Worst tasting menu we have had. Last year's anniversary dinner at Brushstroke in NYC was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

A creative, whimsical, and fun gastronom ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A creative, whimsical, and fun gastronomic experience. Just seems like chef has fun with the dishes, and in turn, so does the audience. It's pricey, but compared to similar experiences, good value for the money. I had the top wine pairing with the full tasting menu, and they did a nice job of matching the flavors. Service was friendly and genuine. Wine list was thorough but not as many half bottle/by the glass options as one would expect for this type of restaurant, given the tasting menus/mixing and matching--don't know if it has to do with provincial availability. Overall impressed and think this would be a top choice in any city in the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a once in a lifetime thing to do ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is a once in a lifetime thing to do: order their 12 course meal with wine pairing. I'd never do it again and can't actually say I'd even recommend it. The service here stands out most. I'd go back just for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went in 2015 and loved it. As we went ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We went in 2015 and loved it. As we went back to Montreal we decided to have another dinner there and loved it just as much. The food was really good with all the free give away from the kitchen. The multitude of desserts offered was, as last year, surprising and abundant. We took the host menu and we highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great service. Kept the culi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food, great service. Kept the culinary surprises coming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the reviews set our expectations a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

While the reviews set our expectations at the high end of the range, they were exceeded in every dimension. The service was excellent, highly attentive without being intrusive. The menu was original and a source of consternation; how was one to chose from the many compelling options? The food was delicious at every course. And the surprising and unusual treats before and after the meal topped off a perfect evening. I can recommend without hesitation and am looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered 3 portions of AAA Angus beef ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We ordered 3 portions of AAA Angus beef with wild mushrooms. The beef was perfect cooked but it tasted a bit salty and same as wild mushrooms.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It's my second time at Europea and it wa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It's my second time at Europea and it was as great as my first time.

Excellent food, great service, all kind of surprises between meals.

A little note from Mr. Ferrer wishing me a nice evening.

My guest told me that she wants to go back. And of course me too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food was excellent!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Amazing service and food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Excellent service. Overa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. Overall top notch. Would return when in Montreal

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An outstanding dining experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Europea exceeded our expectations for both the dining experience and quality of each course. The special surprises and presentation of each course added overall experience. Would definitely recommend for someone looking for a unique and special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on Europea

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was good but ambiance was quiet. The service was very attentive. Nice lunch special.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Mitchlin Star standard

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant was a real find via Top Table, we were very pleasantly surprised, the service and food was exceptional and the wine list extensive and very good. Although expensive it was worth every $Can!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and delicious

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We opted for the 12-course tasting menu, which was full of inventive and delicious surprises. Be aware that while paced out over several hours, this menu also includes some amuse bouche type bites and frequent offers of (excellent) bread, so expect to leave completely stuffed! Water refills got noticeably slower as the restaurant filled up over the course of the evening, but service remained friendly and helpful throughout. The sommelier was particularly wonderful, explaining her pairing choices to us (and all paired beautifully with the intended courses). This is a definite splurge, but well worth checking out for a night of fine dining in downtown Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Magical experience at Europea!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We have chosen the tasting menu and it was a great pleasure for our eyes and mouth.

The different plates were served by waiters who acted very well. It's like if we were part of a play as they introduced the plates in a theatrical way. We did appreciate it a lot.

The amuse-bouche were delicious and very unusual. Delicacies were extraordinary and numerous, so the dessert was almost too much.

A great experience for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!!!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I love my California Cuisine, because it is outstanding.... but, I'm sorry, Napa, Montreal has you beat!!! And single-handedly by Restaurant Europea!!! I am so happy I found this place!! So amazing!!! So many "treats" and "surprises" and "extras"!!!! I don't want to spoil the surprise, but lets just say you get so much more than you pay for!!!! I will be back!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining ever

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Fantastic food and unbelievable atmosphere

The food was endless in tantalizing bites

We enjoyed the drinks almost as much as the food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rare to find in the heart of downtown Montreal

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I was looking for a place to take my family while they were visiting me for my graduation.

I was hesitant to go here due to the price point, but they had a lunch course of 4 at a very reasonable price. All members of my family are quite petite and do not eat that much so this table d'hote was a perfect choice for us.

The cutlery was very beautiful and they also provided appetizer of the day which was displayed very interestingly.

I would definitely recommend his place for day-to-day dining as well as for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good for special occasions

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Very good and unique food experience. The tasting menu with wine pairing is very interesting.

However, for the price paid you would expect everything to be expceptional and it was not. Service is efficient but distant and at times progammed like robots. Little personal connection.

Many creative dishes and surprise effects.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Clever and tastey array of small bites.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Clever and tastey array of small bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Extraordinary dining experience

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Not just dinner. A dinner and dining experience. Wonderful food beautifully served like a flawless dance performance. Everything was perfect from beginning to end. We were there to celebrate a special anniversary and it definitely made for a memorable evening. Thank you to the Chef and all our attentive servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A MICHELIN TYPE RESTAURANT

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

If Montreal was on the Michelin list, I could see this place getting 1 or 2 stars. From their tasting menu, some dishes will absolutely floor you with their taste and presentation. However, 2 of our dishes had their salt levels off. One was under salted while the other was teeth clenching salty. Anyways its an experience well worth it in Montreal. It has that "it" factor. It is also very filling, so be sure to go easy on some of the early snacks and bread they bring out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a culinary experience where flavo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a culinary experience where flavors, textures and imagination came together to put Europea in Les Grandes Tables du Monde 2016.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food is definitely very interesting and unique. The lunch menu is a very good deal. I personally wasn't wow-ed by the food/flavor but I appreciate the thought put into the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous place . Highly recommended

 
 (Hong Kong)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Superb food. Wonderful menu. Excellent service. We had a wonderful evening and would dine there often .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.