About Europea

1227, rue de la Montagne
Montreal, QC H3G1Z2
View Larger Map

Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jérôme ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France"
An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 1:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Sainte Catherine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 398-9229

Website:
http://www.europea.ca/

Catering:
Cheered in TV shows and through his culinary books, Jérôme Ferrer and his team present The Europea signature catering service, an amazing package for you cocktails, buffets or special events that will change this special occasion in a outstanding experience.

As well, live a unique moment by reserving our "chef à Domicile " service : The Europea experience in your own home with our chefs and waiters.

Public Transit:
Metro Peel on the green line

Executive Chef:
Jerome Ferrer

Private Party Contact:
cécile kilidjian: (514) 397-9161

Additional:
Banquet, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallop Ceviche, Raw Tuna, And Potsticker
Cornish Game Hen Baked In Clay With Potatoes And Spinach
Cotton Candy Dessert Tree
Homard And Sweet Bread With Linguini
Calmar Avec Oeuf Poche
Madeleines
Truffe Aux Risotto Et Capuccino A Lhomard
Sorbet Avec Sucre A Briser
Risotto A La Betterave Et Creme D'oursin
Foie Gras With Smoothie
Petoncle Xxl
Lapin
Desserts
Cocktail Fruite
Chocolate Mousse
Foie Gras On A Stone
Braised Veal Cheek And Melting Potatoes
Filet De Bar Et Petits Legumes
Foie Gras
Jambon
Poulet
Dessert Comme Un Oeuf Au Plat
Trio Of Mini Desserts
Octopus Salad
Secret De Maurice
Poulet Croustillant au Gingembre
Chocolate Desert En Excess
Crab And Green Peas
Lobster
Cotton candy
Cornish Game Hen
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Scampi Carpaccio
Scallop
Tagliolini
Clafouti Au Fromage Et Chips Aux Sesame
Petoncle Avec Creme Blanche
Menu Degustation 99.50$ No 1
Appletini
Proscuitto A La Corde A Linge Et Succette Aux Fromage
Yuzu
Larbre De La Culpabilite
Gravlax
Creme De Homard Capuccino
Foie Gras On A Stone Caramelise
Deserts
Beef Cheek On Barley Risotto
Tagliatelle Of Lemony Calamari
cornish hen
Fois Gras Seared At The Table On Hot Stone With Maple Syrup Glaze

Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
15 More
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Notable Wine List
Montreal / Quebec
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (121)
Fit for Foodies (111)
Romantic (82)
See All
Notable Wine List (68)
Hot Spot (36)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredible and the best restaurant food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible and the best restaurant food and service combined

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of the best restaurants in the world. It has gotten a bit more "professional" and business like over the years, but it still very friendly and attentive. And the food and "treats" are to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service. Loved thi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Loved this dining experience.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner as theater. Excellent service, ac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Dinner as theater. Excellent service, accommodating to our need for more light at our table. Explanations of all we ate, and questions answered. We felt very special. Not for an every-day meal, but a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined in some of the most intere ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have dined in some of the most interesting and creative restaurants in the world. Europea ranks in the top 2 or 3 in the world for quality, variety, special services and entertainment value. Our 4 1/2 hour dining experience was unsurpassed. Absolutely amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner in Montreal. We always stop ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best dinner in Montreal. We always stop in when we visit the city. The food is incredible tasting with presentation beyond compare. The staff are friendly and so professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal. Food was presented beautifu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great meal. Food was presented beautifully. Meal was well paced. The space felt compact and the pace with which the servers flew around the room made me afraid to leave my chair to go to the restroom. Also, it seems to be beneath the dignity of a restaurant of this caliber to charge for a glass of wine served with the cheese course when the premium pairing option had been selected. Felt like kind of a used car salesman move as the alternative would have evidently been to eat the cheese course with no wine in front of me or to complain about the bill in front of my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My new favorite restaurant. Their abilit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My new favorite restaurant. Their ability to create a personalized experience on a mass level is astounding. Europea is a combination of good food and innovative design. I'm not going to describe it in detail because I don't want to ruin the experience for you but I highly recommend this restaurant, specifically their tasting menu, to anyone seeking delicious food and an awesome time. You will definitely be telling your friends about it. It was tasty, tons of fun and memorable. There was no strict dress code but I suggest business casual at minimum. A great restaurant for any celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Inventive menu, stellar service, and a v ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Inventive menu, stellar service, and a very well executed restaurant overall. Every course was well thought out and creative. Definitely a restaurant that is more of an experience than simply a meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service here was the highlight of th ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service here was the highlight of the meal. Most of the appetizers and amuse Bouche that we received were delicious, but we were a little disappointed by the entrées. However, overall it was a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was overall a very satisfying experie ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was overall a very satisfying experience. The 12-course tasting menu was a blast. Everything was delicate and well presented. It was like opening a gift and it's full of surprise. The service was good as well. The waiter made some jokes and they enlightened the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the 12-course tasting menu. The ris ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had the 12-course tasting menu. The risotto w/squid ink: bland taste and texture. Clay-pot fowl breast excellent. Short ribs w/mashed: not best mixed together. The smoke from the Cheese-cigar box made one diner leave for good. Foie-gras outstanding, seafood "cappuccino" great, cheese selection excellent. Very good steamed fish/sauce. Cotton candy tree (just cotton candy) and assorted sweets was good, some assortment but would have preferred a "traditional" dessert. . Wine selections were excellent but understandably pricey. . Definitely some performance-art, but that would lose its charm on a second visit (or if the surprise is spoiled by the table next to you). Attentive service. Get an upper-floor table with a window view if you can. I would go a-la-carte if I returned (but won't).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

This is one of Montreal's finest restaur ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is one of Montreal's finest restaurants. There are no surprises other than great service, excellent food and great ambience.

If you are looking to impress an important client, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recommend EUROPEA for its gourmet food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I recommend EUROPEA for its gourmet food.

¡Extraordinaire!

It is the Cirque du soleil of taste and food presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food, amazing service. The whole ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service. The whole thing felt like such a treat and though it was a bit pricy, it was a special occasion and well worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly an amazing place.. Such a unique e ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Truly an amazing place.. Such a unique experience which we will never forget. The food was out of this world so was the service. Loved every second of the experience and enjoyed how much thought and effort was put into every single dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was so great! People was very organ ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

food was so great! People was very organized and provided very good service for us. Each course was amazing and we like them very much! It was a wonderful dinner in Montreal and I definitely go to visit the European again in next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best restaurant I've been t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was the best restaurant I've been to in a long time. Food was amazing, service impeccable, and entire evening went off without a hitch. My husband and I eat at top restaurants often...and this place outshined them all. We felt that the host took extra time and care to make our experience superior and we appreciated every moment. We recently got married and this was the perfect way to start off our honeymoon at Europea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our 25th anniversary and had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary and had the privilege of sitting at the chefs table. We had the beat dining experience of our lives. The food was exquisite. The food had multiple complex flavours with wonderful aromas and multiple textures, in each dish. The staff was so attentive and personable. The cheese selection was out of this world. The dessert was over the top. Lastly, sitting at the chefs table and watching everything in the kitchen was a real highlight. It is amazing to see how the kitchen works . Chef Luciano ran the kitchen like a maestro and every dish had his approval before leaving the kitchen. We also enjoyed watching the fact that when then crazy part of the night settled, he was smiling, joking and having fun. We loved our experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My second time there. Again, the food wa ...

 
 (Bonn & Umgebung)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My second time there. Again, the food was great!

BUT it was all the same. Same menu, same amuse-bouches, same everything.

I would have expected a seasonal menu of some sort for the summer, some variations based on what was on the market that week/day.

There was nothing new and that was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Spectacular as usual. Easily among the t ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Spectacular as usual. Easily among the top 3 tables in Montreal, which is no small feat given the calibre of kitchens in this city. Outstanding value for money, every meal comes with a plethora of small bouchées and entremets, each more delicate and refined than the other.

Calarami entrée served in a stone bowl shredded to resemble tagliatelle was out of this world. Only two caveats: one dim sum as part of an otherwise fabulous scallop ceviche was all flour and too chewy, and the port sauce that came with the joue de veau and the beef was slightly too salty in our opinion... Otherwise a fabulous evening, and our waiter (Martin?) was just a riot, with a nice sense of humor and not an ounce of affectation, kudos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience overall. From the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Incredible experience overall. From the attentive and informative service to the beautifully plated and delicious meals, each more unique and exciting than the next. My now fiancé proposed to me and he couldn't have picked a more perfect atmosphere. The staff, aware of his plan, ensured our experience was perfect. Providing a personalized card from the chef, small treats between meals and a beautiful dessert. Overall, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was described beautifully on ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything was described beautifully on the menu and looked lovely on the plate but tasted quite ordinary. The risotto was like glue, one of the signs of a mediocre kitchen. The wines by the glass were very overpriced. Over all Europea is more style than content... and not worth the money when are so many excellent restaurants in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

It was my first time to Europea and it w ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was my first time to Europea and it won't be my last .. Me and my girlfriend went there for my birthday, it was fantastic.. One of the best meals I've ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Everything was ter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful experience. Everything was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a must if you are ever in the ar ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a must if you are ever in the area. The experience of the courses is incredible. There is nothing like it in comparison. The chef is inventive and trying new flavors, I give him props for doing so. Each course had a very unique feel and flavor. Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Overall very nice experience with long t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall very nice experience with long tasting menu with wine pairings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I was looking forward to this culinary e ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I was looking forward to this culinary experience, what a perfect occasion to celebrate my birthday with an amazing meal that awakes new taste buds. Unfortunately I came down with a bug and during the second course I had to leave. I didn't have a chance to complete the meal. The staff was amazing & tried their best to make me feel better. Hopefully I will be able to return to really experience this extraordinary Establishment.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, wonderful experience. Th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fabulous food, wonderful experience. The tasting menu was great fun, not super expensive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been three times - every time I v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have been three times - every time I visit Montreal from NYC - it is spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Love the creativity ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious. Love the creativity of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All show. Food heavy and dull and just n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

All show. Food heavy and dull and just not tasty enough. Wine pours mean. Worst tasting menu we have had. Last year's anniversary dinner at Brushstroke in NYC was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

A creative, whimsical, and fun gastronom ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A creative, whimsical, and fun gastronomic experience. Just seems like chef has fun with the dishes, and in turn, so does the audience. It's pricey, but compared to similar experiences, good value for the money. I had the top wine pairing with the full tasting menu, and they did a nice job of matching the flavors. Service was friendly and genuine. Wine list was thorough but not as many half bottle/by the glass options as one would expect for this type of restaurant, given the tasting menus/mixing and matching--don't know if it has to do with provincial availability. Overall impressed and think this would be a top choice in any city in the world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a once in a lifetime thing to do ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is a once in a lifetime thing to do: order their 12 course meal with wine pairing. I'd never do it again and can't actually say I'd even recommend it. The service here stands out most. I'd go back just for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went in 2015 and loved it. As we went ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We went in 2015 and loved it. As we went back to Montreal we decided to have another dinner there and loved it just as much. The food was really good with all the free give away from the kitchen. The multitude of desserts offered was, as last year, surprising and abundant. We took the host menu and we highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great service. Kept the culi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food, great service. Kept the culinary surprises coming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the reviews set our expectations a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

While the reviews set our expectations at the high end of the range, they were exceeded in every dimension. The service was excellent, highly attentive without being intrusive. The menu was original and a source of consternation; how was one to chose from the many compelling options? The food was delicious at every course. And the surprising and unusual treats before and after the meal topped off a perfect evening. I can recommend without hesitation and am looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered 3 portions of AAA Angus beef ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We ordered 3 portions of AAA Angus beef with wild mushrooms. The beef was perfect cooked but it tasted a bit salty and same as wild mushrooms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It's my second time at Europea and it wa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It's my second time at Europea and it was as great as my first time.

Excellent food, great service, all kind of surprises between meals.

A little note from Mr. Ferrer wishing me a nice evening.

My guest told me that she wants to go back. And of course me too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food was excellent!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Amazing service and food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.