About Europea

1227, rue de la Montagne
Montreal, QC H3G1Z2
View Larger Map

Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jérôme ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France"
An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 1:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Sainte Catherine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 398-9229

Website:
http://www.europea.ca/

Catering:
Cheered in TV shows and through his culinary books, Jérôme Ferrer and his team present The Europea signature catering service, an amazing package for you cocktails, buffets or special events that will change this special occasion in a outstanding experience.

As well, live a unique moment by reserving our "chef à Domicile " service : The Europea experience in your own home with our chefs and waiters.

Public Transit:
Metro Peel on the green line

Executive Chef:
Jerome Ferrer

Private Party Contact:
cécile kilidjian: (514) 397-9161

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallop Ceviche, Raw Tuna, And Potsticker
Cornish Game Hen Baked In Clay With Potatoes And Spinach
Cotton Candy Dessert Tree
Homard And Sweet Bread With Linguini
Calmar Avec Oeuf Poche
Madeleines
Truffe Aux Risotto Et Capuccino A Lhomard
Sorbet Avec Sucre A Briser
Risotto A La Betterave Et Creme D'oursin
Foie Gras With Smoothie
Petoncle Xxl
Lapin
Desserts
Cocktail Fruite
Chocolate Mousse
Foie Gras On A Stone
Braised Veal Cheek And Melting Potatoes
Filet De Bar Et Petits Legumes
Foie Gras
Jambon
Poulet
Dessert Comme Un Oeuf Au Plat
Trio Of Mini Desserts
Octopus Salad
Secret De Maurice
Poulet Croustillant au Gingembre
Chocolate Desert En Excess
Crab And Green Peas
Lobster
Cotton candy
Cornish Game Hen
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Scampi Carpaccio
Scallop
Tagliolini
Clafouti Au Fromage Et Chips Aux Sesame
Petoncle Avec Creme Blanche
Menu Degustation 99.50$ No 1
Appletini
Proscuitto A La Corde A Linge Et Succette Aux Fromage
Yuzu
Larbre De La Culpabilite
Gravlax
Creme De Homard Capuccino
Foie Gras On A Stone Caramelise
Deserts
Beef Cheek On Barley Risotto
Tagliatelle Of Lemony Calamari
cornish hen
Fois Gras Seared At The Table On Hot Stone With Maple Syrup Glaze

Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
8 More
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
French
Montreal
Most Booked
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (125)
Fit for Foodies (106)
Romantic (85)
See All
Notable Wine List (70)
Hot Spot (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Tasting Menu (29)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Music (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there five years ago and were blown ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went there five years ago and were blown away by the taste and presentation of the food. Made a reservation three weeks before we went back to Montreal to make sure we could get a table. You didn't disappoint, it was even better than the last time. This time I took pictures so I could show everyone what we ate. We were so impressed that the Chef came and spoke at every table. Service is over the top too!!🤗

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the finest food served as expert ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Some of the finest food served as expertly as you can find. We did what was literally the 12 course tasting menu. Nearly 2 1/2 hours. Some of the courses were simply extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing lunch at Europea. The servers we ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing lunch at Europea. The servers were very professional. Some very unique presentation.

From the small clothes line with a small piece of dried meat to the parmesan lolli pop when i first arrived. lobster cappucino was a great start, then enjoyed the calamari and the Scallops with risotto as an entree . The highlight was the the cotton candy tree which came with dessert which also came with what looked like a china take out box with the most amazing warm lemon soft shell shaped cookies that you took with you when you left. Overall a great experience and look forward to going for dinner the next time i am in Montreal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so impressed and delighted with ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We were so impressed and delighted with the artistic, dramatic and creative presentation. in addition, the food was spectacular. The servers were extremely attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant. overall the tasting menu was a thrill to experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic location to experience haute c ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fantastic location to experience haute cuisine. Very good service and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again, our experience at Europea wa ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Once again, our experience at Europea was extraordinary. The exquisite and creative cuisine, the friendly, very knowledgeable and elegant service, and the overall experience where each service is its own mise en scene, makes the Europea the best table in Montreal! Bravo!

Between the Europea and the Toque, I vote for Europea everytime!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Europea was exquisite. ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everything about Europea was exquisite. The prix fixe luncheon menu was both delicious and a great price point. The lemony calamari tagliatelle is NOT a pasta, but a clever preparation of thin strands of calamari, poached quail eggs, and squid ink and garlic butter croutons. Magnificent! The sommelier directed us to a Canadian white wine that was nicely light and crisp for lunch. Dessert just as inventive and tasty. Lemon pie with a cristaline top, white chocolate filled macaroons, and a cotton candy tree. We loved every moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was truly amazing - would drive miles ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was truly amazing - would drive miles just to try it again. Outstanding, superb, vive la France

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Most Outstanding Culinary Experience ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Most Outstanding Culinary Experience for our party of four. We have all eaten in many countries in the world this has topped most of them... from beginning to end ! If you have the opportunity to dine here you will very impressed from the moment you are seated till you leave😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and very creative selection ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Amazing food and very creative selections! Thank you for making our anniversary so much special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter seemed indifferent when takin ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our waiter seemed indifferent when taking our order and appeared friendlier to French-speaking patrons (we're Americans). There was another waiter that helped set up the plates and utensils, and clean the table, who was nicer than our regular waiter. Besides that, the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely best dining experience imagin ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Absolutely best dining experience imagined and more. Service matched the quality of food, and both were exceptionally coordinated. Truly a gem and would recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant for foodies. Every t ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Awesome restaurant for foodies. Every taste is a surprise and you'll leave there with a smile on your face, and a full tummy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

À la cart or one of two fixed price meal ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

À la cart or one of two fixed price meals.

Went lesser of the two fixed and had more treats before the meal started than anywhere we've been.

Lots of theatre.

One of the best experiences in the world of culinary arts.

Blew past Charlie Trotters, may he rest in peace.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible and the best restaurant food ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Incredible and the best restaurant food and service combined

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food . A lots of surprise that ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent food . A lots of surprise that I didn't expect ! The price was reasonable .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was the best restaurant I have ever ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was the best restaurant I have ever been to! If you go to Montreal and don't go here, you have missed out! The food plus the experience will make you wanting more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurants in t ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in the world. It has gotten a bit more "professional" and business like over the years, but it still very friendly and attentive. And the food and "treats" are to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service. Loved thi ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Loved this dining experience.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner as theater. Excellent service, ac ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Dinner as theater. Excellent service, accommodating to our need for more light at our table. Explanations of all we ate, and questions answered. We felt very special. Not for an every-day meal, but a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined in some of the most intere ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have dined in some of the most interesting and creative restaurants in the world. Europea ranks in the top 2 or 3 in the world for quality, variety, special services and entertainment value. Our 4 1/2 hour dining experience was unsurpassed. Absolutely amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner in Montreal. We always stop ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best dinner in Montreal. We always stop in when we visit the city. The food is incredible tasting with presentation beyond compare. The staff are friendly and so professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal. Food was presented beautifu ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great meal. Food was presented beautifully. Meal was well paced. The space felt compact and the pace with which the servers flew around the room made me afraid to leave my chair to go to the restroom. Also, it seems to be beneath the dignity of a restaurant of this caliber to charge for a glass of wine served with the cheese course when the premium pairing option had been selected. Felt like kind of a used car salesman move as the alternative would have evidently been to eat the cheese course with no wine in front of me or to complain about the bill in front of my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My new favorite restaurant. Their abilit ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My new favorite restaurant. Their ability to create a personalized experience on a mass level is astounding. Europea is a combination of good food and innovative design. I'm not going to describe it in detail because I don't want to ruin the experience for you but I highly recommend this restaurant, specifically their tasting menu, to anyone seeking delicious food and an awesome time. You will definitely be telling your friends about it. It was tasty, tons of fun and memorable. There was no strict dress code but I suggest business casual at minimum. A great restaurant for any celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Inventive menu, stellar service, and a v ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Inventive menu, stellar service, and a very well executed restaurant overall. Every course was well thought out and creative. Definitely a restaurant that is more of an experience than simply a meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service here was the highlight of th ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service here was the highlight of the meal. Most of the appetizers and amuse Bouche that we received were delicious, but we were a little disappointed by the entrées. However, overall it was a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was overall a very satisfying experie ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was overall a very satisfying experience. The 12-course tasting menu was a blast. Everything was delicate and well presented. It was like opening a gift and it's full of surprise. The service was good as well. The waiter made some jokes and they enlightened the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Europea provides a very sharp and cohesi ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Europea provides a very sharp and cohesive dining experience that keeps improving. Well worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the 12-course tasting menu. The ris ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had the 12-course tasting menu. The risotto w/squid ink: bland taste and texture. Clay-pot fowl breast excellent. Short ribs w/mashed: not best mixed together. The smoke from the Cheese-cigar box made one diner leave for good. Foie-gras outstanding, seafood "cappuccino" great, cheese selection excellent. Very good steamed fish/sauce. Cotton candy tree (just cotton candy) and assorted sweets was good, some assortment but would have preferred a "traditional" dessert. . Wine selections were excellent but understandably pricey. . Definitely some performance-art, but that would lose its charm on a second visit (or if the surprise is spoiled by the table next to you). Attentive service. Get an upper-floor table with a window view if you can. I would go a-la-carte if I returned (but won't).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

This is one of Montreal's finest restaur ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is one of Montreal's finest restaurants. There are no surprises other than great service, excellent food and great ambience.

If you are looking to impress an important client, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recommend EUROPEA for its gourmet food ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I recommend EUROPEA for its gourmet food.

¡Extraordinaire!

It is the Cirque du soleil of taste and food presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food, amazing service. The whole ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service. The whole thing felt like such a treat and though it was a bit pricy, it was a special occasion and well worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly an amazing place.. Such a unique e ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Truly an amazing place.. Such a unique experience which we will never forget. The food was out of this world so was the service. Loved every second of the experience and enjoyed how much thought and effort was put into every single dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was so great! People was very organ ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

food was so great! People was very organized and provided very good service for us. Each course was amazing and we like them very much! It was a wonderful dinner in Montreal and I definitely go to visit the European again in next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best restaurant I've been t ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was the best restaurant I've been to in a long time. Food was amazing, service impeccable, and entire evening went off without a hitch. My husband and I eat at top restaurants often...and this place outshined them all. We felt that the host took extra time and care to make our experience superior and we appreciated every moment. We recently got married and this was the perfect way to start off our honeymoon at Europea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our 25th anniversary and had ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary and had the privilege of sitting at the chefs table. We had the beat dining experience of our lives. The food was exquisite. The food had multiple complex flavours with wonderful aromas and multiple textures, in each dish. The staff was so attentive and personable. The cheese selection was out of this world. The dessert was over the top. Lastly, sitting at the chefs table and watching everything in the kitchen was a real highlight. It is amazing to see how the kitchen works . Chef Luciano ran the kitchen like a maestro and every dish had his approval before leaving the kitchen. We also enjoyed watching the fact that when then crazy part of the night settled, he was smiling, joking and having fun. We loved our experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My second time there. Again, the food wa ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My second time there. Again, the food was great!

BUT it was all the same. Same menu, same amuse-bouches, same everything.

I would have expected a seasonal menu of some sort for the summer, some variations based on what was on the market that week/day.

There was nothing new and that was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Spectacular as usual. Easily among the t ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Spectacular as usual. Easily among the top 3 tables in Montreal, which is no small feat given the calibre of kitchens in this city. Outstanding value for money, every meal comes with a plethora of small bouchées and entremets, each more delicate and refined than the other.

Calarami entrée served in a stone bowl shredded to resemble tagliatelle was out of this world. Only two caveats: one dim sum as part of an otherwise fabulous scallop ceviche was all flour and too chewy, and the port sauce that came with the joue de veau and the beef was slightly too salty in our opinion... Otherwise a fabulous evening, and our waiter (Martin?) was just a riot, with a nice sense of humor and not an ounce of affectation, kudos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience overall. From the ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Incredible experience overall. From the attentive and informative service to the beautifully plated and delicious meals, each more unique and exciting than the next. My now fiancé proposed to me and he couldn't have picked a more perfect atmosphere. The staff, aware of his plan, ensured our experience was perfect. Providing a personalized card from the chef, small treats between meals and a beautiful dessert. Overall, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was described beautifully on ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything was described beautifully on the menu and looked lovely on the plate but tasted quite ordinary. The risotto was like glue, one of the signs of a mediocre kitchen. The wines by the glass were very overpriced. Over all Europea is more style than content... and not worth the money when are so many excellent restaurants in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.