Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

King's HighwayKing's Highway
(99)
$$$$
American | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 6 times today
Mr. Lyons SteakhouseMr. Lyons Steakhouse
(404)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 17 times today
SO.PA at L'Horizon Resort and SpaSO.PA at L'Horizon Resort and Spa
(260)
$$$$
International | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 9 times today
533 Viet Fusion533 Viet Fusion
(265)
$$$$
Asian | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 7 times today
The Purple RoomThe Purple Room
(447)
$$$$
American | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 19 times today
The TropicaleThe Tropicale
(3592)
$$$$
Californian | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 61 times today
Lulu California BistroLulu California Bistro
(2757)
$$$$
Californian | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 31 times today
Spencer's RestaurantSpencer's Restaurant
(3384)
$$$$
American | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 51 times today
Workshop Kitchen + BarWorkshop Kitchen + Bar
(1363)
$$$$
American | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 54 times today
JohannesJohannes
(1738)
$$$$
Modern European | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 29 times today
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & GrillRio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
(434)
$$$$
Mexican | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 8 times today
FARMFARM
(121)
$$$$
French | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 11 times today
Copley's on Palm CanyonCopley's on Palm Canyon
(1374)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 52 times today
Miro's RestaurantMiro's Restaurant
(1056)
$$$$
Modern European | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 22 times today
Melvyn's RestaurantMelvyn's Restaurant
(1260)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Palm Springs, Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Booked 8 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Europa

AAA’s Westways Magazine calls Villa Royale’s Europa Restaurant “a charming hideaway where you’ll feel as if you’ve been transported to an intimate castle in Europe.” Europa offers the very best in fine dining in Palm Springs. In fact, for ten consecutive years, AAA has given the restaurant a 4 Diamond Rating, The Wine Spectator has given Europa award after award and Zagat Guide has offered their highest endorsement.

1620 S Indian Trl
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary European

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(760) 327-2314

Website:
http://villaroyale.com/dining/

Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great and Seth the server was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Seth our server was great. Food was very good. Halibut was cooked perfectly. Would definitely go back. Must eat in the patio. Very quaint

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was my wife 65 birthday. We dined outside with the fireplace on - very romantic settings. Service was excellent great food too. A little costly, but than we did have a bottle of champagne and the special appetizers and entries. I highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was very good but the service did not mirror the quality of food. Two missed courses, amuse-bouche and appetizers, which eventually I had to ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I loved the grilled Caesar salad and duck. My dinner partner was likewise impressed with the beet salad and scallops. The chef is a master. The atmosphere is charmingly a European cottage with a patina consistent with age. It formerly was the estate of Sonja Henie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Service, food and atomphere all come together at this quaint European influenced restaurant. From start to finish the evening was perfect. First time ever we had a sever ask if we were enjoying the pace of the evening. An experience to remember. Wonderful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Onion soup was very good; the flatbread dough was not home made and the toppings to heavy; Our amuse came only after the entree and not before as been told. By the way an amuse should be served before the appetizer. The entrees were not very delicate plated. However the duck was of great great quality and well prepared. The veal ossobuco was very good. Maybe they need a very good person at the front of the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were very disappointed with the fact that they did not have 3 different wines that were on the wine list. The waiter and the Asst manager had very limited wine knowledge, but when they deferred to the Manager, she blamed the wine vendors for not having what we wanted and said that the wine list was obsolete. It seems that she could make the effort to select new ones and type some new lists. Als when we entered, we asked two different diners how their dinners were and one said the Sablefish was just so so and do not order it, the other said the same thing about the Osso Buco. With such a limited menu, this leaves little to choose.. Sorry, but you need to make several improvements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Such a beautiful restaurant, complete with welcoming fire. Service was very good and the food was delicious. A very romantic setting. Great choice for a special occasion,

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service and food. we have eaten here many times over the ears and have never been disappointed. Highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent all around

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We always enjoy going to Europa for birthdays, Christmas, etc.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food, great dining room, lovely fireplace, great live music, fabulous resort.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Perfect dining experience at Europa! Everything was charming and delicious! The menu is limited but, the salad of the day and the beef entree were cooked to perfection. This is a great hide away restaurant for romantic dining. In the past it had been a hit or miss at Europa. I have to say Europa exceeded my expectations and have the thank the staff for an amazing evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Went there on a ptivate couple of friends night. The grounds were wonderful lush and serene. We were immediately greeting at the bar by the acting hostess and seated right away. The harpist was playing as we received the appetizers which were niecly balanced to not overfill you. Then we recieved main course and the scallops that I ordered were light and seasoned with such a wonderful blend of spices that were just fantastic. Our waitress was right on que with everything, knew here venues history and had a smile that was contageous as was her uplifting spirit. All in all, Europa was a well balanced, luxureously appointed, escape from the world experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We celebrated a Thanksgiving/Birthday. Very worthwhile.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went to Europa for Thanksgiving dinner. How can a restaurant make a disaster of Thanksgiving? Europa found myriad ways. The first course was tasteless. The second course took an hour to arrive and was awful. Tough porchetta. Over cooked salmon with the same tasteless sauce as the first course. Vegetables that were either over cooked or almost raw. We waited another hour for a desert that never arrived. How long does it take to slice some pie? To top it off, service was tragic. The space is charming. It would be a great venue for a chef and some management who knew how to run a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a lovely, romantic place! The decor is lovely and having a live harpist certainly contributes to the atmosphere. The smallish menu is very nice. We both opted for the duck which sounded marvelous - and was. The wine list has good options in medium-priced wines. We had a delightful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Lovely, romantic and quiet. Been coming here for years and it never is less than wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Europa is a quiet, cozy restaurant in a boutique hotel. The food and service are excellent and priced reasonably considering the quality. It is a great romantic "get-away".

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Not the liveliest place in Palm Springs, by any stretch. But for a quiet, intimate dinner, with really fantastic Continental cuisine, and a small, but well-thought out, reasonable wine list, Europa is a great place to visit. Service can be a little informal for a place like this, and not 100% attentive. But everyone is really friendly. For this type of food in Palm Springs, most people would think Le Vallauris, but honestly, I think the food at Europa gets the nod.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great old Palm Springs Restaurant. Very wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 25, 2016

A very special spot - even more important when you learn its history. Our waitperson was delightful, interesting, and knew when not to interrupt. We were celebrating our anniversary and being at Europa made the occasion something we will remember. We intend to return every year.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Clean, pretty, unique, great food, clever nice server, All-around a fun evening.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best dinners we have had in Palm Springs. We have to remember Europa more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are frequent diners at Europa. It is our first thought for any special occasion, or if we just want a romantic evening. This time we were there with our daughter and her family, and we had a wonderful time. The service is always great - Erin is just the best, and is so knowledgeable and very enthusiastic at presenting their menu. I haven't had scallops for decades, so decided to try them - unbelievable! My husband had the Moroccan Chicken - fantastic. Our daughter had the vegetable risotto - incredible. Europa is such a special place that the line should be forming out the door. It is a hidden gem, though, and a beautiful part of Palm Springs history.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was very over priced for what we got. The soup was flavorful but needed to be hotter. The shortribs were on the fatty side, considering they were $38.00 they should have been excellent. Drinks were expensive but good. It was a Saturday night but only 3 table (including ours) were occupied, this should have told the story.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Europa is a very special place. It is the most romantic restaurant in the valley. Reservations are recommended as it is relatively small and is a favorite among locals. Locals know how unique and rare this place is. It is to be appreciated for all of its nuances, old as they are. In a way I'm glad it is "hidden away", and not as well-known as others, but I also want EVERYONE to experience it! The food is great - never had anything I didn't love. The service is great - never had a server I didn't like. The servers are passionate about what they are serving, which gives you a clue as to the quality. It's not a "happening" place, but for romance, a bit of Palm Springs history, and a place to savor, Europa is it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent service from Erin and food to die for! Rich flavors.. delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Unquestionably the best food in Palm Springs....and we have done them all. Kitchen is always outstanding. Wonderful venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best meal I have had in Palm Springs since I moved here two years ago!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This place needs a good cleaning and having there gardens tended. Also more staff would be very helpful, the night we went there was only one waitperson not nearly enough to cover the demand.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2016

This place was great! Always wanted to,try it, and will now go back anytime!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Close your eyes and visualize . Located in a lovely European hotel, Europa excells in most area's. Menu choices range from the best roasted beet salad had in quite awhile.The Sea Bass AKA Branzino (not quite sure which is correct ), enjoyed by my BW ( beautiful wife ) and me as well was good, but not great.Sides of gnocci and a veggie worked well . Worth the drive but not the flight over the pond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This gem is a wonderful high end restaurant that would not disappoint any palate. Generous cocktails, reasonably priced wine list and food that leaves nothing to be desired...all in an eclectic cozy atmosphere. A can't miss!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 9, 2016

There were three of us in our party and two of us had never been to the restaurant, so we were excited to try something new and different for us year-round residents. First, the Cosmo that I ordered at the bar tasted more like a vodka and cranberry and the bar couldn't break a $100 bill at 8 PM. Although the restaurant felt more like someones home, it seemed a bit dated. I ordered the veal and it was tasteless. I told my friends that I couldn't tell what I was eating for the $45.00 price, so the experience was very underwhelming and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The Tuscan salmon and filet were both amazing! Europa is back ! Superb service. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great little off the beaten path find. Amazing ambiance, and food as good if not better than any we've had in PS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.