About Europa

1620 S Indian Trl
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

AAA’s Westways Magazine calls Villa Royale’s Europa Restaurant “a charming hideaway where you’ll feel as if you’ve been transported to an intimate castle in Europe.” Europa offers the very best in fine dining in Palm Springs. In fact, for ten consecutive years, AAA has given the restaurant a 4 Diamond Rating, The Wine Spectator has given Europa award after award and Zagat Guide has offered their highest endorsement.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary European

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(760) 327-2314

Website:
http://villaroyale.com/dining/

Europa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

romantic (16)
special occasion (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
notable wine list (6)
great for lunch (2)
good for groups (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Europe at your doorstep

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Close your eyes and visualize . Located in a lovely European hotel, Europa excells in most area's. Menu choices range from the best roasted beet salad had in quite awhile.The Sea Bass AKA Branzino (not quite sure which is correct ), enjoyed by my BW ( beautiful wife ) and me as well was good, but not great.Sides of gnocci and a veggie worked well . Worth the drive but not the flight over the pond.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This gem is a wonderful high end restaur ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

This gem is a wonderful high end restaurant that would not disappoint any palate. Generous cocktails, reasonably priced wine list and food that leaves nothing to be desired...all in an eclectic cozy atmosphere. A can't miss!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not your typical desert bar / restaurant

Dined on April 10, 2016

There were three of us in our party and two of us had never been to the restaurant, so we were excited to try something new and different for us year-round residents. First, the Cosmo that I ordered at the bar tasted more like a vodka and cranberry and the bar couldn't break a $100 bill at 8 PM. Although the restaurant felt more like someones home, it seemed a bit dated. I ordered the veal and it was tasteless. I told my friends that I couldn't tell what I was eating for the $45.00 price, so the experience was very underwhelming and disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Tuscan salmon and filet were both am ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The Tuscan salmon and filet were both amazing! Europa is back ! Superb service. We'll be back soon!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great little off the beaten path find. ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Great little off the beaten path find. Amazing ambiance, and food as good if not better than any we've had in PS.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

The decor is very European, the salmon was excellent, and the waitress was friendly and efficient. It's a great place for a special occasion or to impress friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good

Dined on March 27, 2016

Dining at Europa is always a nice experience. The ambiance is so nice, romantic and quiet. The service is very good as is the food. Last time we were there a harpist was playing the nicest music. Europa is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot

Dined on March 3, 2016

What a sweet oasis! Very friendly staff and great food. The outdoor patio is perfect. I had the branzino which was delicious. Good wine selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A romantic restaurant

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was your second meal at Europa. The restaurant is magical: European in atmosphere, it is elegant, refined and intimate. The harp soloist added to the atmosphere. Food delectable and wine list good. Menu is ala carte and soup of the day and dinner salads were both $15.00.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A quiet elegant restaurant with a great menus.

Dined on February 19, 2016

Nice wine selections and we had a tasty dinner with great ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

HAPPY VALENTINES!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went here for our first visit and the charm, harp player, and elegant service and small atmosphere was just right for the gourmand offerings. Had the Shrimp cocktail with this incredible horseradish pannacotta and fresh beets..., ceaser charred salad --superb (while little over dressed) and split a wonderful steak Del monico. Overall great experience for Palm Springs to match up for larger city expectations. Lovely experience and we'll be back to enjoy the menu and charm again. Thanks Europa for a romantic and delicious eve! - ps- need fresh bluecheese olives for martinis...or be able to make a few.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten here several times and alw ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

We have eaten here several times and always enjoy coming back. The dining room is lovely and elegant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

What a disappointment. After confirming ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

What a disappointment. After confirming our reservation by phone earlier, they could not find us in their computer, but put us in. Said had new chef who served a cracker with a slice of cucumber and slice of cheese...looked like a kindergarteners first try at food. Chicken breast was over cooked. Have eaten here before, but never again.

food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Europa

Dined on October 29, 2015

My wife and I dined at Europa this past week. This was our fourth visit. Excellent service from our server (Erin) along with wonderful old world ambience created a delightful evening. My wife had the Lobster/Crab entire and I had the lamb. I would recommend both dishes to anyone. This restaurant is located in the Villa Royal Hotel and is a bit on the pricey side especially the cocktails at $14 per glass and most entrees are $30 and up.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have spent ou ...

Dined on October 19, 2015

This is the second time we have spent our anniversary at Europa. Beautiful, delicious and very romantic. Fantastic service and delicious food. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our go to 5 Star dining establish ...

vip
Dined on October 19, 2015

One of our go to 5 Star dining establishments in Palm Springs!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very elegant

Dined on October 9, 2015

Excellent for special occasions. Food was great, service was excellent. Would recommend to anyone looking to impress a special person.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Consistently quite good

Dined on September 18, 2015

A real valley gem. Ambiance is fabulous, service beyond fabulous.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous location and delicious meal!

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

One of our favorite spots in Palm Springs, this gem is hidden away off Highway 111 but is worth finding. I had the short rib dish and my husband had the mushroom risotto special while our friends both ordered the lobster and shrimp carbonara. We each enjoyed the heck out of our meals, so delicious! The short ribs were incredible, perfectly done and so tender. The risotto was also fantastic, I snuck a bite haha then a taste of the carbonara, which had bug chunks of succulent lobster...yum...such a treat! Our server was also fab, fun and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

I enjoy going to Europa. It is a lovely ...

Dined on July 16, 2015

I enjoy going to Europa. It is a lovely place. The main problem for me is the cost. It is too expensive. I would only go there on a very special occasion. I would say my before dinner drink was one of the best I have had. The attention of our service people was outstanding, however there were only three tables occupied.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Fine Dining

Dined on June 7, 2015

Europa is a very romantic restaurant with fantastic food! The Old World cozy atmosphere is very comfortable and you feel like you are in a hidden away private gem in Europe. The service is excellent, and the food is remarkably great - especially their Osso Buco - to die for. Europa is one of my most favorite restaurants in the desert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

My third visit

Dined on June 4, 2015

First two visits were wonderful, but I found the service awful. Couldn't find the server after the main course was served. Food was fair, but not as good as the other times we visited. Pork chop was not tender and the dessert was boring....ice cream and hard cookies. Three choices of cookies....all baked. Ambiance is nice, but there are lots of better places to eat in the Valley.

food2
ambience4
service1

Shallow flavors, distant service

vip
Dined on May 30, 2015

Was quite disappointed - the flavors lacked complexity and clarity and the service - while quite friendly - was lacking. We had to ask three times to get water, they couldn't remember who had ordered what dish...many better choices in the Valley.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service3

Escape Palm Springs

vip
Dined on May 30, 2015

If you are looking to escape palm springs and get transported away to some other place in some other time this is the restaurant for you. A french inspired menu with brick floor, white tablecloth, old world inspired ( but a bit dated ) decor this is the place. There is a new chef and a slightly updated menu. The food is good, the service is good, and the grounds are wonderful. A bit salty but nothing that a suggestion for them to reduce the salt during prep wouldn't take care of.

food5
ambience5
service5

European Setting

Dined on May 29, 2015

We usually come here for special occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Pay cash thieves at work!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2015

Quaint hotel and charming restaurant with very nice staff and excellent food. Server was Angela and had the Pekin Duck (yes, Pekin, as Written on menu) very good)and onion soup for starter which was ok. 2 ladies I was with had Salmon and Duck and beet salad all good. Nice Pinot noir wine recommend. When check arrived they did not accept AMEX, so used my VISA which I rarely do. Next morning get a fraud alert for my credit card. Only time that card was out of my possession in the past 2 days. This has happened before and 9 out of 10 times whe information is stolen there is a small charge ( mine was for 8 $ tried before the big one. My fraud alert caught it. So I will get a new card which is a pain, but not as bad as most folks who don't have protection have it. A bumme!! I called to speak with the manager the next day and restaurant does not open until 4. The hotel staff answered the phone and assured me that they would have the owner or manager call me, for a lost item, and I did not hear back. Now I need to drive back to Palm Springs police department to file a police report. If you have your identy stolen always file a report. My wife did whe Her identy was stolen and the culprit went to jail! Otherwise an enjoyable evening. PS our server Angela was delightful and professional and she may have had someone process the transaction.

food4
ambience3
service5

Amazing Service, great food an overall great time

Dined on April 22, 2015

the service was the highlight of the visit. I believe the servers name was Cienna or Sierra ( sorry) but she was amazing. Very professional, fun and new the menu and history of restaurant as if it were her own. The food was great, and the appetizer specials recommended were delicious, the scallops were prepared to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 20, 2015

Been there 4 or 5 times. The last 3 were terribly disappointing. Food not up to standards, and the server, Sierra, Over the top and that is not a compliment. . We have dined in Michelin 3 star restaurants, and service is always exceptional and she is trying way too hard. Sorry, but don't think we will go back

food5
ambience5
service5

Second Timers

Dined on April 19, 2015

We had been here last year and sat outside and had the patio to ourselves. It was a beautiful evening. This year we took friends for their anniversary. We sat inside where someone was playing the harp and totally enjoyed that experience. The food was delicious both times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Choice.

vip
Dined on April 11, 2015

Europa was our number one choice to entertain my younger brother and his wife from Lakeview, OR (nowhere). They were very impressed, as we knew they would be. The restaurant has old world charm as well as class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Special Occasion

vip
Dined on April 4, 2015

Lovely setting and very good food that is presented beautifully. I wish the menu had just a few more choices, but everyone in our group was happy with their food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3

The osso buca which I ordeered was not veal.

vip
Dined on March 19, 2015

The ossa buca wasw not veal.s. In fact it was later revealed that it was pork on a bone about the size a wrestler's fist. It was placed on a thin bed of polenta and gravy which was totally unappealing. Also the caesar salad was soggy. I also ordered a capacino coffee which was very weak. It was replaced by a regular espresso coffee which was okay. .

food5
ambience5
service5

A great dining experience. A Very Speical Place

vip
Dined on February 21, 2015

Europa has always been a wonderful restaurant to dine. The staff takes good care of you and will do anything to make your dining experience wonderful. The chef did a excellent job and everyone in our party raved about the food. This is a great neighborhood restaurant and I always enjoy dining there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Hidden Gem

Dined on February 16, 2015

Cute place , hidden gem , great food and ambiance. Chef has changed in November 2014 and its great now. Service was great. A bit expensive though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Got to be among top 5 restaurants in the valley!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2015

Everything from the nightly specials to the regular menu items really show a lot of imagination and creative thinking. We have not had a single dish that has not been prepared properly. You are missing out if you overlook this restaurant. The need for reservations provides proof!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place, cozy...romantic

vip
Dined on February 9, 2015

The setting is perfect in an old French-like inn. Food is very good, great presentation. Cozy, comfortable setting with all of the décor of a French country inn. Caution: if you go on a weekend, be prepared to wait a while between courses....they have a very good kitchen....but a it is very small and can only prepare a few dinners at a time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great new menu!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2015

Hadn't been in years and was surprised with the new menu and new chef! Great service by Erin! Amazing experience! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Rediscovering Europa

Dined on January 24, 2015

We used to stay at the Villa Royale years ago, and have eaten at Europa in the past, but not for several years. With the local buzz about the new chef, it was past time to revisit this place. We almost always have our canine companion, so we ate in the outdoor patio, with the outdoor fireplace and heater. It was fortunate we were the only ones on the patio, because I think they only have one heater. Our server was Sierra, who was totally charming and attentive to whatever we needed. Started with the Europa salad and beet salad, both of which were phenomenal. Selected entrees were beef tenderloin with sweet potato puree, baby brussels sprouts with cabernet reduction; and the pekin duck with cherry glaze, same potato puree and green beans. Both were delicious, although the steak might have been a tad overcooked. The Rombauer zinfandel was a perfect complement, and at a price point that was less than a 2x markup from what you'll pay at BevMo. Desert was a flourless chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. The place is tucked away in a charming old hotel off the beaten path, but is well worth a visit. It would be nice if the online menu was up to date. Regardless, we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Being amongst the best

Dined on January 19, 2015

It's difficult enough to be special in a town as eating out great as Palm Springs. Throw in the rest of the Valley and you have to go the distance to be as special as Café Europa. It's expensive but a great value at the same time. Café Europa is an experience, in it's ambiance, it's menu, and it's outstanding staff. We don't go often but each meal is memorable and each occasion special. It's the kind of place you love to visit because, let's face it....you deserve it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience

vip
Dined on January 10, 2015

Our meal was perfection and the service was excellent. This place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.