About Europa

1620 S Indian Trl
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

AAA’s Westways Magazine calls Villa Royale’s Europa Restaurant “a charming hideaway where you’ll feel as if you’ve been transported to an intimate castle in Europe.” Europa offers the very best in fine dining in Palm Springs. In fact, for ten consecutive years, AAA has given the restaurant a 4 Diamond Rating, The Wine Spectator has given Europa award after award and Zagat Guide has offered their highest endorsement.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary European

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(760) 327-2314

Website:
http://villaroyale.com/dining/

Europa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Special Occasion (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Historic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fireplace (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated a Thanksgiving/Birthday. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated a Thanksgiving/Birthday. Very worthwhile.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Europa for Thanksgiving dinne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went to Europa for Thanksgiving dinner. How can a restaurant make a disaster of Thanksgiving? Europa found myriad ways. The first course was tasteless. The second course took an hour to arrive and was awful. Tough porchetta. Over cooked salmon with the same tasteless sauce as the first course. Vegetables that were either over cooked or almost raw. We waited another hour for a desert that never arrived. How long does it take to slice some pie? To top it off, service was tragic. The space is charming. It would be a great venue for a chef and some management who knew how to run a restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

What a lovely, romantic place! The deco ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

What a lovely, romantic place! The decor is lovely and having a live harpist certainly contributes to the atmosphere. The smallish menu is very nice. We both opted for the duck which sounded marvelous - and was. The wine list has good options in medium-priced wines. We had a delightful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, romantic and quiet. Been coming ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lovely, romantic and quiet. Been coming here for years and it never is less than wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Europa is a quiet, cozy restaurant in a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Europa is a quiet, cozy restaurant in a boutique hotel. The food and service are excellent and priced reasonably considering the quality. It is a great romantic "get-away".

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not the liveliest place in Palm Springs, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Not the liveliest place in Palm Springs, by any stretch. But for a quiet, intimate dinner, with really fantastic Continental cuisine, and a small, but well-thought out, reasonable wine list, Europa is a great place to visit. Service can be a little informal for a place like this, and not 100% attentive. But everyone is really friendly. For this type of food in Palm Springs, most people would think Le Vallauris, but honestly, I think the food at Europa gets the nod.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great old Palm Springs Restaurant. Very ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great old Palm Springs Restaurant. Very wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A very special spot - even more importan ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 26, 2016

A very special spot - even more important when you learn its history. Our waitperson was delightful, interesting, and knew when not to interrupt. We were celebrating our anniversary and being at Europa made the occasion something we will remember. We intend to return every year.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clean, pretty, unique, great food, cleve ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Clean, pretty, unique, great food, clever nice server, All-around a fun evening.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners we have had in P ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the best dinners we have had in Palm Springs. We have to remember Europa more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are frequent diners at Europa. It is ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We are frequent diners at Europa. It is our first thought for any special occasion, or if we just want a romantic evening. This time we were there with our daughter and her family, and we had a wonderful time. The service is always great - Erin is just the best, and is so knowledgeable and very enthusiastic at presenting their menu. I haven't had scallops for decades, so decided to try them - unbelievable! My husband had the Moroccan Chicken - fantastic. Our daughter had the vegetable risotto - incredible. Europa is such a special place that the line should be forming out the door. It is a hidden gem, though, and a beautiful part of Palm Springs history.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very over priced for what we got. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was very over priced for what we got. The soup was flavorful but needed to be hotter. The shortribs were on the fatty side, considering they were $38.00 they should have been excellent. Drinks were expensive but good. It was a Saturday night but only 3 table (including ours) were occupied, this should have told the story.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Europa is a very special place. It is t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Europa is a very special place. It is the most romantic restaurant in the valley. Reservations are recommended as it is relatively small and is a favorite among locals. Locals know how unique and rare this place is. It is to be appreciated for all of its nuances, old as they are. In a way I'm glad it is "hidden away", and not as well-known as others, but I also want EVERYONE to experience it! The food is great - never had anything I didn't love. The service is great - never had a server I didn't like. The servers are passionate about what they are serving, which gives you a clue as to the quality. It's not a "happening" place, but for romance, a bit of Palm Springs history, and a place to savor, Europa is it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from Erin and food to ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent service from Erin and food to die for! Rich flavors.. delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unquestionably the best food in Palm Spr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Unquestionably the best food in Palm Springs....and we have done them all. Kitchen is always outstanding. Wonderful venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I have had in Palm Springs sin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best meal I have had in Palm Springs since I moved here two years ago!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needs Overhall

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2016

This place needs a good cleaning and having there gardens tended. Also more staff would be very helpful, the night we went there was only one waitperson not nearly enough to cover the demand.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Yum!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place was great! Always wanted to,try it, and will now go back anytime!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Europe at your doorstep

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Close your eyes and visualize . Located in a lovely European hotel, Europa excells in most area's. Menu choices range from the best roasted beet salad had in quite awhile.The Sea Bass AKA Branzino (not quite sure which is correct ), enjoyed by my BW ( beautiful wife ) and me as well was good, but not great.Sides of gnocci and a veggie worked well . Worth the drive but not the flight over the pond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This gem is a wonderful high end restaur ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 9, 2016

This gem is a wonderful high end restaurant that would not disappoint any palate. Generous cocktails, reasonably priced wine list and food that leaves nothing to be desired...all in an eclectic cozy atmosphere. A can't miss!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not your typical desert bar / restaurant

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 10, 2016

There were three of us in our party and two of us had never been to the restaurant, so we were excited to try something new and different for us year-round residents. First, the Cosmo that I ordered at the bar tasted more like a vodka and cranberry and the bar couldn't break a $100 bill at 8 PM. Although the restaurant felt more like someones home, it seemed a bit dated. I ordered the veal and it was tasteless. I told my friends that I couldn't tell what I was eating for the $45.00 price, so the experience was very underwhelming and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Tuscan salmon and filet were both am ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The Tuscan salmon and filet were both amazing! Europa is back ! Superb service. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little off the beaten path find. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great little off the beaten path find. Amazing ambiance, and food as good if not better than any we've had in PS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely place

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 28, 2016

The decor is very European, the salmon was excellent, and the waitress was friendly and efficient. It's a great place for a special occasion or to impress friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Dining at Europa is always a nice experience. The ambiance is so nice, romantic and quiet. The service is very good as is the food. Last time we were there a harpist was playing the nicest music. Europa is a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely spot

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2016

What a sweet oasis! Very friendly staff and great food. The outdoor patio is perfect. I had the branzino which was delicious. Good wine selection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A romantic restaurant

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was your second meal at Europa. The restaurant is magical: European in atmosphere, it is elegant, refined and intimate. The harp soloist added to the atmosphere. Food delectable and wine list good. Menu is ala carte and soup of the day and dinner salads were both $15.00.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A quiet elegant restaurant with a great menus.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Nice wine selections and we had a tasty dinner with great ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

HAPPY VALENTINES!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went here for our first visit and the charm, harp player, and elegant service and small atmosphere was just right for the gourmand offerings. Had the Shrimp cocktail with this incredible horseradish pannacotta and fresh beets..., ceaser charred salad --superb (while little over dressed) and split a wonderful steak Del monico. Overall great experience for Palm Springs to match up for larger city expectations.

Lovely experience and we'll be back to enjoy the menu and charm again.

Thanks Europa for a romantic and delicious eve!

  • ps- need fresh bluecheese olives for martinis...or be able to make a few.
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here several times and alw ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2016

We have eaten here several times and always enjoy coming back. The dining room is lovely and elegant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a disappointment. After confirming ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2015

What a disappointment. After confirming our reservation by phone earlier, they could not find us in their computer, but put us in. Said had new chef who served a cracker with a slice of cucumber and slice of cheese...looked like a kindergarteners first try at food. Chicken breast was over cooked. Have eaten here before, but never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner at Europa

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2015

My wife and I dined at Europa this past week. This was our fourth visit. Excellent service from our server (Erin) along with wonderful old world ambience created a delightful evening. My wife had the Lobster/Crab entire and I had the lamb. I would recommend both dishes to anyone. This restaurant is located in the Villa Royal Hotel and is a bit on the pricey side especially the cocktails at $14 per glass and most entrees are $30 and up.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have spent ou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 19, 2015

This is the second time we have spent our anniversary at Europa. Beautiful, delicious and very romantic. Fantastic service and delicious food. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our go to 5 Star dining establish ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 19, 2015

One of our go to 5 Star dining establishments in Palm Springs!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elegant

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Excellent for special occasions. Food was great, service was excellent. Would recommend to anyone looking to impress a special person.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently quite good

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 18, 2015

A real valley gem. Ambiance is fabulous, service beyond fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous location and delicious meal!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 6, 2015

One of our favorite spots in Palm Springs, this gem is hidden away off Highway 111 but is worth finding. I had the short rib dish and my husband had the mushroom risotto special while our friends both ordered the lobster and shrimp carbonara. We each enjoyed the heck out of our meals, so delicious! The short ribs were incredible, perfectly done and so tender. The risotto was also fantastic, I snuck a bite haha then a taste of the carbonara, which had bug chunks of succulent lobster...yum...such a treat! Our server was also fab, fun and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy going to Europa. It is a lovely ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 16, 2015

I enjoy going to Europa. It is a lovely place. The main problem for me is the cost. It is too expensive. I would only go there on a very special occasion.

I would say my before dinner drink was one of the best I have had. The attention of our service people was outstanding, however there were only three tables occupied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.