About Europa

1620 S Indian Trl
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

AAA’s Westways Magazine calls Villa Royale’s Europa Restaurant “a charming hideaway where you’ll feel as if you’ve been transported to an intimate castle in Europe.” Europa offers the very best in fine dining in Palm Springs. In fact, for ten consecutive years, AAA has given the restaurant a 4 Diamond Rating, The Wine Spectator has given Europa award after award and Zagat Guide has offered their highest endorsement.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary European

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(760) 327-2314

Website:
http://villaroyale.com/dining/

Europa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

special occasion (11)
romantic (10)
fit for foodies (7)
See All
neighborhood gem (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
notable wine list (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service from Erin and food to ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent service from Erin and food to die for! Rich flavors.. delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unquestionably the best food in Palm Spr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Unquestionably the best food in Palm Springs....and we have done them all. Kitchen is always outstanding. Wonderful venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I have had in Palm Springs sin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best meal I have had in Palm Springs since I moved here two years ago!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needs Overhall

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This place needs a good cleaning and having there gardens tended. Also more staff would be very helpful, the night we went there was only one waitperson not nearly enough to cover the demand.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Yum!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place was great! Always wanted to,try it, and will now go back anytime!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Europe at your doorstep

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Close your eyes and visualize . Located in a lovely European hotel, Europa excells in most area's. Menu choices range from the best roasted beet salad had in quite awhile.The Sea Bass AKA Branzino (not quite sure which is correct ), enjoyed by my BW ( beautiful wife ) and me as well was good, but not great.Sides of gnocci and a veggie worked well . Worth the drive but not the flight over the pond.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This gem is a wonderful high end restaur ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This gem is a wonderful high end restaurant that would not disappoint any palate. Generous cocktails, reasonably priced wine list and food that leaves nothing to be desired...all in an eclectic cozy atmosphere. A can't miss!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not your typical desert bar / restaurant

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

There were three of us in our party and two of us had never been to the restaurant, so we were excited to try something new and different for us year-round residents. First, the Cosmo that I ordered at the bar tasted more like a vodka and cranberry and the bar couldn't break a $100 bill at 8 PM. Although the restaurant felt more like someones home, it seemed a bit dated. I ordered the veal and it was tasteless. I told my friends that I couldn't tell what I was eating for the $45.00 price, so the experience was very underwhelming and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Tuscan salmon and filet were both am ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The Tuscan salmon and filet were both amazing! Europa is back ! Superb service. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little off the beaten path find. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great little off the beaten path find. Amazing ambiance, and food as good if not better than any we've had in PS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely place

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The decor is very European, the salmon was excellent, and the waitress was friendly and efficient. It's a great place for a special occasion or to impress friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Dining at Europa is always a nice experience. The ambiance is so nice, romantic and quiet. The service is very good as is the food. Last time we were there a harpist was playing the nicest music. Europa is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

What a sweet oasis! Very friendly staff and great food. The outdoor patio is perfect. I had the branzino which was delicious. Good wine selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A romantic restaurant

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was your second meal at Europa. The restaurant is magical: European in atmosphere, it is elegant, refined and intimate. The harp soloist added to the atmosphere. Food delectable and wine list good. Menu is ala carte and soup of the day and dinner salads were both $15.00.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A quiet elegant restaurant with a great menus.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Nice wine selections and we had a tasty dinner with great ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

HAPPY VALENTINES!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went here for our first visit and the charm, harp player, and elegant service and small atmosphere was just right for the gourmand offerings. Had the Shrimp cocktail with this incredible horseradish pannacotta and fresh beets..., ceaser charred salad --superb (while little over dressed) and split a wonderful steak Del monico. Overall great experience for Palm Springs to match up for larger city expectations.

Lovely experience and we'll be back to enjoy the menu and charm again.

Thanks Europa for a romantic and delicious eve!

- ps- need fresh bluecheese olives for martinis...or be able to make a few.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here several times and alw ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We have eaten here several times and always enjoy coming back. The dining room is lovely and elegant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a disappointment. After confirming ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

What a disappointment. After confirming our reservation by phone earlier, they could not find us in their computer, but put us in. Said had new chef who served a cracker with a slice of cucumber and slice of cheese...looked like a kindergarteners first try at food. Chicken breast was over cooked. Have eaten here before, but never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner at Europa

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

My wife and I dined at Europa this past week. This was our fourth visit. Excellent service from our server (Erin) along with wonderful old world ambience created a delightful evening. My wife had the Lobster/Crab entire and I had the lamb. I would recommend both dishes to anyone. This restaurant is located in the Villa Royal Hotel and is a bit on the pricey side especially the cocktails at $14 per glass and most entrees are $30 and up.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have spent ou ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

This is the second time we have spent our anniversary at Europa. Beautiful, delicious and very romantic. Fantastic service and delicious food. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our go to 5 Star dining establish ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

One of our go to 5 Star dining establishments in Palm Springs!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elegant

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Excellent for special occasions. Food was great, service was excellent. Would recommend to anyone looking to impress a special person.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently quite good

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

A real valley gem. Ambiance is fabulous, service beyond fabulous.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous location and delicious meal!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

One of our favorite spots in Palm Springs, this gem is hidden away off Highway 111 but is worth finding. I had the short rib dish and my husband had the mushroom risotto special while our friends both ordered the lobster and shrimp carbonara. We each enjoyed the heck out of our meals, so delicious! The short ribs were incredible, perfectly done and so tender. The risotto was also fantastic, I snuck a bite haha then a taste of the carbonara, which had bug chunks of succulent lobster...yum...such a treat! Our server was also fab, fun and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy going to Europa. It is a lovely ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

I enjoy going to Europa. It is a lovely place. The main problem for me is the cost. It is too expensive. I would only go there on a very special occasion.

I would say my before dinner drink was one of the best I have had. The attention of our service people was outstanding, however there were only three tables occupied.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Romantic Fine Dining

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

Europa is a very romantic restaurant with fantastic food! The Old World cozy atmosphere is very comfortable and you feel like you are in a hidden away private gem in Europe. The service is excellent, and the food is remarkably great - especially their Osso Buco - to die for. Europa is one of my most favorite restaurants in the desert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My third visit

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

First two visits were wonderful, but I found the service awful. Couldn't find the server after the main course was served. Food was fair, but not as good as the other times we visited. Pork chop was not tender and the dessert was boring....ice cream and hard cookies. Three choices of cookies....all baked. Ambiance is nice, but there are lots of better places to eat in the Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Shallow flavors, distant service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Was quite disappointed - the flavors lacked complexity and clarity and the service - while quite friendly - was lacking. We had to ask three times to get water, they couldn't remember who had ordered what dish...many better choices in the Valley.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Escape Palm Springs

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

If you are looking to escape palm springs and get transported away to some other place in some other time this is the restaurant for you. A french inspired menu with brick floor, white tablecloth, old world inspired ( but a bit dated ) decor this is the place.

There is a new chef and a slightly updated menu. The food is good, the service is good, and the grounds are wonderful.

A bit salty but nothing that a suggestion for them to reduce the salt during prep wouldn't take care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

European Setting

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

We usually come here for special occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pay cash thieves at work!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2015

Quaint hotel and charming restaurant with very nice staff and excellent food. Server was Angela and had the Pekin Duck (yes, Pekin, as Written on menu) very good)and onion soup for starter which was ok. 2 ladies I was with had Salmon and Duck and beet salad all good.

Nice Pinot noir wine recommend. When check arrived they did not accept AMEX, so used my VISA which I rarely do. Next morning get a fraud alert for my credit card. Only time that card was out of my possession in the past 2 days. This has happened before and 9 out of 10 times whe information is stolen there is a small charge ( mine was for 8 $ tried before the big one. My fraud alert caught it. So I will get a new card which is a pain, but not as bad as most folks who don't have protection have it. A bumme!!

I called to speak with the manager the next day and restaurant does not open until 4. The hotel staff answered the phone and assured me that they would have the owner or manager call me, for a lost item, and I did not hear back. Now I need to drive back to Palm Springs police department to file a police report. If you have your identy stolen always file a report. My wife did whe Her identy was stolen and the culprit went to jail! Otherwise an enjoyable evening. PS our server Angela was delightful and professional and she may have had someone process the transaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing Service, great food an overall great time

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 22, 2015

the service was the highlight of the visit. I believe the servers name was Cienna or Sierra ( sorry) but she was amazing. Very professional, fun and new the menu and history of restaurant as if it were her own. The food was great, and the appetizer specials recommended were delicious, the scallops were prepared to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Disappointing

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 20, 2015

Been there 4 or 5 times. The last 3 were terribly disappointing. Food not up to standards, and the server, Sierra, Over the top and that is not a compliment. . We have dined in Michelin 3 star restaurants, and service is always exceptional and she is trying way too hard. Sorry, but don't think we will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Second Timers

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

We had been here last year and sat outside and had the patio to ourselves. It was a beautiful evening. This year we took friends for their anniversary. We sat inside where someone was playing the harp and totally enjoyed that experience. The food was delicious both times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Choice.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

Europa was our number one choice to entertain my younger brother and his wife from Lakeview, OR (nowhere). They were very impressed, as we knew they would be. The restaurant has old world charm as well as class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Occasion

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

Lovely setting and very good food that is presented beautifully. I wish the menu had just a few more choices, but everyone in our group was happy with their food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The osso buca which I ordeered was not veal.

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 19, 2015

The ossa buca wasw not veal.s. In fact it was later revealed that it was pork on a bone about the size a wrestler's fist. It was placed on a thin bed of polenta and gravy which was totally unappealing.

Also the caesar salad was soggy.

I also ordered a capacino coffee which was very weak. It was replaced by a regular espresso coffee which was okay.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

A great dining experience. A Very Speical Place

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Europa has always been a wonderful restaurant to dine. The staff takes good care of you and will do anything to make your dining experience wonderful. The chef did a excellent job and everyone in our party raved about the food.

This is a great neighborhood restaurant and I always enjoy dining there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on February 16, 2015

Cute place , hidden gem , great food and ambiance. Chef has changed in November 2014 and its great now. Service was great. A bit expensive though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.