About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D'Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Private Party Facilities:
An intimate room that has a table large enough to seat 12 people. The private dining room seats at 6:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. A food and beverage minimum + tax and gratuity will apply.

Private Party Contact:
Colin Wilson: (941) 383-3633

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Brooke, Monday - Friday from 10:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (37)
See All
Cozy (36)
Good for a Date (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Notable Wine List (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Authentic (16)
Business Meals (11)
Historic (11)
Live Music (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (9)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed our experience - food was excellent, the sever was very attentive as well as other support people - I love to see well-trained staff. And we saved room for the dessert room upstairs at which our waiter held us a table so there was no wait. Also I left a note on my Open table reservation asking if there was a cancellation, could be please be moved to an earlier time (9 was all they had on schedule) and the management called me back and got us in for 7 since we were only 2.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We go here annually for our wedding anniversary and we have never been disappointed in anything. The food is phenomenal, the service is above and beyond, and they go out of their way to make to evening memorable. I only wish I could go more often. thank you to staff for making our night fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Top class cuisine, service and ambiance. Waiting staff
were very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Atmosphere and décor very relaxing. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Brian was just the right amount of attentive. Bravo. We have been here many times before but the last was 17 years ago. It's a vacation hot spot. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our first visit... every bite was fantastic!Try the pistachio encrusted red snapper!and dessert upstairs in the lounge with live music-a must!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

One of the best! Ambiance and service were wonderful but the food - fantastic! And just when I thought it couldnt get any better, we were escorted upstairs to the dessert room. An incredible place to spend a special evening - not to be missed if you are in the area. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always a special occasion to eat at Euphemia Haye!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This restaurant is exceptional. Every time we visit Sarasota, we make it a point to dine at
Euphemia Haye! Just a wonderful dining experience. DO NOT MISS the Dessert room!!
The food and service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

What a charming restaurant to share with that someone special. The snapper was unbelievably delicious. The filet was more to the medium rare side than it was medium well. The potato pancake was too good not to share. Brian was attentive and made great recommendations. While reservations are recommended, we have no reservations about coming back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We normally love this restaurant but this time we felt we were treated very differently due to having our 4 year old granddaughter with us. We were seated in a room away from the rest of the customers and the waiter was not the normal helpful server we experienced in previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Well worth the long drive from our vacation home. The cozy ambience, great service and top-notch food keep Euphemia at the top of our list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Best restaurant in the area. Romantic setting, superb food and service. Ceaser salad should be a must. Cannot go wrong with the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Every thing was perfect David our waiter is the best

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance, pistachio red snapper was very good. Highly recommend the dessert room experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner in a cozy corner. Then, upstairs we headed for delicious dessert.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Truly excellent Caesar!
Escargot was wonderful.
Spicy shrimp nicely prepared, a touch sweet.
The starters alone were great, the room was quaint. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. Simply the best. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Setting is great for a special occasion. Best Caesar salad ever. The dessert room upstairs is a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This restaurant is one of the hidden treasures within the Sarasota-Bradenton-Longboat Key area. Great food, great ambience and the deserts ... you just have to experience them! It's a great place for all occasions. Make the drive out to LBK, and experience this wonderful place. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our Whole Experience was Amazing !!!! Love This Place !!! Best Duck In The WORLD !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I had the veal shank which was a little tough - although the sauce was amazing. Everything else we had was delish! Asian Duck Livers, the Pear & Blue Cheese Salad, and the duck!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Visited with my girlfriend for our anniversary and were not disappointed. Food was amazing and the service was excellent! Chef personally checked on us and ensured everything was to our satisfaction. Definitely on our short list for special occasions and it should be on yours too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Best place within 20 milesbeen there 5 times will always go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Chef Raymond owner seated us. He has been here 38 years; outstanding man.
Food very good as always. My first time guest was quite impressed.
Service also good even with large table next to us.
Only one disappointment. Second visit in a row that they were out of the Chocolate Mousse for dessert. Perhaps next time on OpenTable, my reservation will include the desert request.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was awesome to share this very special restaurant with friends who had not been before. The place was quite busy but service was good, our waiter and other staff friendly and we didn't feel rushed. The mushroom soup, hand tossed Caesar, lamb shank and crispy duck were the group's favorites. After dinner we visited the upstairs dessert bar - decadent and delicious - then retired to the lounge for after dinner drinks and relaxing music. A perfect evening! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Read good things about this restaurant, but the food was mediocre at best -- nothing special. Fish was overlooked. Nothing inventive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2017

As always, the food was outstanding. Three of us ordered the duck and it didn't disappoint.
The only thing that marred our special evening was the very loud party of women sitting two tables over. They were literally yelling over each other to be heard and everyone else in the room had to shout as well, or just dine without conversation (as I noticed a few tables did).
Although the women were having a good time, it was quite inconsiderate of them to be so boisterous. However, the meal was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Best pepper steak in town. And the duck is to die for. And great ambiance. A AAA restaurant in longboat key

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The lamb was under seasoned and the chairs are uncomfortable in the fine dinningroom. We won't be going back to this dinningroom.

The eggplant parm was great as was the soup and salad. Nicely timed courses and pleasant wait staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This was my wife and I first time there. We have been wanting to get there , but never made it. This place is everything we heard of it and MORE. The food was delicious, upstairs on the second floor, where we enjoyed our dessert and coffee was exceptionable. Why we waited so long to enjoy I don't know. We will be visiting this restaurant on our next vacation to the area and will recommend the restaurant to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent venue and cuisine. Service beyond superb. Chef table stop by was a nice touch
Excellent wine list.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Still outstanding after all these years. Had the duck, it was great. Wife had the grouper. Outstanding. A wonderful cozy and comfortable place. Chef Raymond gets it right all the time.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Upon entering the gentle man at the bar did not acknowledged us when we entered .. finally after a minute he expressed the host would be right back. The host came back and proceeded to take our name ..grabed a menues and started to wall to the table and did not tell us to follow him. Very awkward and unfriendly start to a great dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Overpriced..won't be back anytime soon unless they change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We've been coming for more then 20 years, and have enjoyed a wonderful experience every single time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As a kid, we used to come down from New York State in the 1960's during Easter with our mom back when Euphemia Haye would advertise in the old Holiday Magazine. We've been admirers and patrons that long. As always, food is excellent and the old Florida ambience will never be duplicated. And let's not forget about the dessert room. For years my husband and I have been coming down over Memorial Day to Lido Key and friends drive down from Tampa to join us for dinner: it is that good. Cocktails at The Chart House, then dinner and coffee and dessert at Euphemia Haye is a lovely tradition. Downtown Sarasota is a splendid food scene; but this is truly one of the originals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Euphemia Haye. The food is spectacular. We recommend the duck and the chicken florentine.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Outstanding dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food ..service like a chain restaurant. Good for foodies but fine dining? Misses the mark by far. They are not shy on pricing but the food doesn't make up for a Below average evening. Lots of better choices. Check yelp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.