About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D'Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Private Party Facilities:
An intimate room that has a table large enough to seat 12 people. The private dining room seats at 6:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. A food and beverage minimum + tax and gratuity will apply.

Private Party Contact:
Colin Wilson: (941) 383-3633

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Brooke, Monday - Friday from 10:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (50)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Good for a Date (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Cozy (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Historic (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (13)
Live Music (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding meal on Longboat Key! Food was fantastic, service great and the upstairs dessert bar was way over the top. We look forward to getting back on our next trip. Although the place was packed the noise level was low and quiet conversation was not a problem. Nice wine list with price ranges for everyone.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

I have eaten here many times. The food is always good and I love the ambience. The service is always fantastic. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Best restaurant on Longboat Key. Great food and service. Unique loft setting for dessert.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful as always. We have been coming for many years and they never disappoint.

This is our favorite restaurant in Florida.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Our neighbor at our condo recommended so we decided to go for dinner. Lovely atmosphere and the food was top notch! The dessert bar upstairs was wonderful. We will visit again next time we are in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

EXCELLENT FOR CLASSICAL DISHES AND SERVICE,BUT LACKING ORIGINALITY. VERY TRADITIONAL COOKING WITH GENEROUS PORTIONS. THIS RESTAURANT IS GEARED TO GUESTS WHO ARE LOOKING FOR GOOD FOOD WITHOUT SURPRISES AND IT SHOULD BE NOTED WHO ARE WILLING TO PAY PREMIUM PRICES.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Not what we expected! When a restaurant comes highly recommended, you have high hopes. However, this did not live up to the hype. The service was a complete disappointment; our waiter was often absent, our entrees took an hour to come out, and the food was under-flavored, filet was undercooked, and overall, it was underwhelming. There are much better options out there for this kind of money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A wonderful spot to enjoy excellent food and good company. A comfortable ambiance that is supported by helpful and knowledgable staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Charming restaurant Great food and service Will go baCK

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Superb dining experience. Our second visit, and everything was just as we remembered. Great caesar salad, superb grouper special, attentive service. Pricey..but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was our second visit. First was outstanding, when I had sweetbreads and my wife had taj mahal shrimp. This time I had the duck and she had veal marsala. The duck was overcooked and was a real disappointment. The veal marsala was just ok.

But we will return. The menu is rich and we have just barely sampled the offerings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We were given the table we requested, by the window. I had the duck and my wife the sliced filet. Both were very good as was the service and atmosphere. We couldn't eat everything and brought leftovers home which we had for lunch the next day. Therefore no dessert but we did go upstairs, just to visit. On the way out we made another reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

When we're in Longboat Key down from up North this is a must stop !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Healthy, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We are on vacation from CT
A local Sarasota friend recommended Euphemia for our Anniversary dinner
It was one of the best meals we have ever had

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very poor service. It took one and half hour to get our food from the time we ordered it. They seemed to be under staffed but not apolegetic. Our waiter was no where to be seen after we placed our order. Our table of 5 didn't get our entrees at the same time. Food was average and we felt it was overpriced. Entrees come without any additions like potatos or asparagus or broccoli.Place feels cramped by small rooms.Staff is not very friendly. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A friend recommended this restaurant for a great place for date and food. We arrived a little early and sat at the small bar downstairs as the upstairs was packed. We had a nice chat with other guests and enjoyed the selection and atmosphere.
When we got to our table someone brought water out quickly. The experience went down hill from there. Our server took about 15 minutes to come by the table and then seemed to want to leave quickly. He kind of ignored us from there all the way to getting our bill. We had to prompt him to order apps and our meal. We even had to get the specials out of him. We finally got our meal. Both the fish and lamb were smothered in butter and gravy, respectively. Overall we had a nice time together despite the service and food. The food lacked creativity one would expect at a high end established restaurant and the service lacked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We make a special two hour trip, each way, at least twice a year just to enjoy this wonderful resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This was a fine dining restaurant. Service was very good the food was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My only complaint is concerning my son told me later that he had ordered a $85.00 bottle of wine to be served to our table. It was not! No mention was made of his request and We were disappointed when we heard about later.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Outstanding service, excellent food, creative menu..... a great evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Quite honestly, it was a bit pedestrian. This dated restaurant needs to come into the 21st Century. While the customer base is probably the reason it has been as successful for as long as it has, Euphemia Hay is in desperate need of a major overhaul. The menu and waitstaff have been around for a long time and it shows quite obviously. Our waiter knew the menu so well that he came across as Westworld-ish...very robotic and stiff...hardly deviating off script. When I asked the Bartender in the Hay Loft what the signature drink was, there seemed to be a synaptic disconnect, a malfunctioned fuse gone "hay"wire as he wasn't able to answer...uh...well, we don't have one. What??
All in all, there were some redeeming factors...the one waitress that seemed to go off script providing some semblance of humanity and flexibility, the busperson that had only been there a year (he seemed shell shocked already having come from NY and had entered a cartoon)... But, in the end, the hostess, when we left, couldn't unglue herself from the computer screen of the dining room's table seating plan enough to say goodbye, even if by rote, was a tell tale sign of the horrific shadow that Euphemia Hay has become. Please, please, please, get a clue and update all the way around lest you ruin your longstanding reputation that has preceded you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Loved the bar upstairs but our meal downstairs was very disappointing. Fettuccine was drenched in sauce but hardly any pasta. Very little flavour. Not sure if there was ANY Parmesan but way too much egg. Parsley was terribly wilted so it also looked bad! Veal special was similarly drenched in sauce with little seasoning. Roasted vegetables (side dish you paid for if you wanted a vegetable) was lukewarm at best, over cooked and muddled into a dish that looked and tasted like yesterday's leftovers. Although I'd heard great things about their desserts, by this time I'd had enough. Server overheard me rating the vegetables with my husband and asked if he could replace them but again, I didn't want an accompaniment for the tasteless veal. Sad - I so wanted this restaurant to live up to the critiques but for the price it is massively overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Sarasota. Every time I go the food and service is excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As always, absolutely wonderful. We've been coming here for more than 25 years and they never miss a beat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A special place on Longboat Key. They are known for their prime strip steaks, which are very good, but seafood, other meats and sides and salads are very good. interesting daily specials as well. Very good service. An expanded desert area is on the second floor. Very good pecan pie.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Clearly the best restaurant we have been to in the Sarasota/Bradenton area. Food was excellent. Tables (for two) were small, but adequate. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. Food was delicious.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Disappointing
Have been going to restaurant periodically for over 10 years
Waiter did not listen and orders were not correct and my spouse had to send main course back
Very disappointing experience at the price point and quality the chef tries to offer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very neat place and very good food except for the (barely) seared tuna with mayo (ok, ailoi) which wasn't needed. Waldorf salad, fries green tomatoes and snapper were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellence--- Food, ambience, service. My wife and I have this restaurant are our list each time we visit Longboat!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Known for the signature dish, duck. It wasn't a disappointment. Somewhat pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Warm hosts, excellent food and very cozy. I took my parents there on their last night in town and they loved it! Chef Ray and his wife D'Arcy stopped by our table several times to make sure we were enjoying our meal. Excellent service by all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I want to say THANK YOU to both Sage (hostess) and Spencer(server) coupled with the owners who helped me execute an incredible 60th surprise dinner for my wife! We dined with our LBK friends, Mike & Lyn Haycock, along with my wife's best friend who flew into SRQ to surprise her at the restaurant! Everyone went above & beyond to make this evening extra special! We even had a wonderful experience upstairs with Eric (missed Sammy!) for dessert & drink after our meal! Our favorite restaurant on LBK!!
Mark & Shawn Weller
Cincinnati, OH

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We ordered medallion of beef. What you served was not medallion.
It was what is called grenadine of beef.
Presentation needs to be improved.
The duck was very nice.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This an old school fine dining establishment that is a excellent today as the first time I visited in 1982. I'd make the trip for the sweetbreads alone, but everything on the menu is outstanding. Save room for dessert in the elegant room upstairs. Worth the trip from Tampa or St Pete for a special evening that local restaurants just can't duplicate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant for a Valentine's Day meal. The escargots, spinach salad, and specialty entrees were all excellent, as was the service. We enjoyed the intimate surroundings, which felt as if we were dining in someone's home. The portions were so large that we will order less items next time. Our only disappointment was that the flambeed desserts were not prepared at or near the table so that we could watch the process.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went here for a special birthday and it exceeded our expectations. The wait staff was incredibly attentive and offered great suggestions. Little details like chilled salad forks and attention to special dietary preferences were part of the incredible service we received. We went upstairs for our decadent desserts and coffees and very much enjoyed the funky, Old Floroda vibe.

If you are looking for a special, special dining experience, go downstairs. If you want a fun, funky dining experience (smaller menu) and huge dessert go upstairs to the Haye Loft. Either way, put this restaurant on your "must do" list !!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ordered several Dinners off of menu and only one was worth the cost
Lamb Shank was excellent as well as potatoes and gravy
Medallions were good but potatoes and gravy were plain
Shrimp Taj Mahal was fair. Advertised as curry flavor but tasted more like sweet ans sour
Scallops. Scallops were excellent however a bed of plain white rice was bland. Risotto would have been a better choice

Ceasar salad, Bruschetta and wine were excellent as was our service

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As usual, Euphemia Haye was excellent. This is definitely a class act. There are periodic hitches if you go there regularly but this time, all was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This may be the best restaurant in Florida! It's the best we've found. We dine out frequently and make the hour drive to Euphemia Haye at least once a month. Our favorites are: the Carbonara(seasonal), Caesar salad, Veal du jour, Pepper steak, Shrimp Taj Mahal, Chicken Florentine and duck. The dessert room favorites are the must have warm brownie sundae, banana crème pie and warm pecan pie. Good wine list with a full bar. This place never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.