About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D"Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:15pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Private Party Facilities:
An intimate room that has a table large enough to seat 12 people. The private dining room seats at 6:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. A food and beverage minimum + tax and gratuity will apply.

Private Party Contact:
Colin Wilson: (941) 383-3633

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Amy, Monday - Friday from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Romantic (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Cozy (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Live Music (13)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The duck was great. But everything else ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The duck was great. But everything else is too heavy and old-fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

It had been a long time since my last vi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

It had been a long time since my last visit to Euphemia Haye. We weren't disappointed. The food was very tasty and service stellar. David was so good, efficient but non-obtrusive. We were so please with the creative cuisine and overall experience. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent preparation of flavors! Also s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent preparation of flavors! Also s nice wine list to select from. We try to go at least once per month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Euphemia Haye for 20 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been going to Euphemia Haye for 20+ years, and it's always fabulous. Every part of the meal is wonderful, they modify as per the customer's preference, the staff is top notch. If I could afford it, I'd go there every week. And they remembered my mom by name, even though she hadn't been in for 5 years. Just go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The three of us thoroughly enjoyed the e ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The three of us thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The duck was somewhat on the dry side but otherwise everything else was quite good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely setting with great service and at ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely setting with great service and attention to details. Usually one of our favorite local restaurants, but dinner was less than spectacular tonight. Maybe an off night? Duck and its stuffing were dry and disappointing. We will be back, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our favorite place in the area, one of t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our favorite place in the area, one of the best meals we have had. We had friends in town and it was their favorite of all the places we took them to. Service was great and they loved the desert room.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always our choice for a special occasion ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always our choice for a special occasion. Topped off with entertainment of live music, and the fabulous dessert room. What could be better?

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, amazing food, and outsta ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great ambiance, amazing food, and outstanding service--this restaurant has it all

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful and unique restaurant. Food is ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful and unique restaurant. Food is OUTSTANDING. Service is great too! It's a funky little place that we are lucky to have here in Sarasota.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our all time favorite places to e ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of our all time favorite places to eat. From the bread to the deserts everything is wonderful. The service is beyond excellent. Even the chief comes to your table to ask how your meal is.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place for special occasions ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our favorite place for special occasions always been good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere and service. The food ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and service. The food was very rich however. I would order a lighter meal next time and leave room for the delicious desserts upstairs!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious dinner with friends. Everythin ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Delicious dinner with friends. Everything was great. Just wish I knew how to pronounce Euphemia

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was an anniversary dinner and they ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was an anniversary dinner and they went out of their way to help us celebrate. They reserved a window table and provided excellent, attentive service. The chef prepared a special off-menu dish to accomodate our vegetarian diet.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed dinning at this restaura ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have enjoyed dinning at this restaurant several times and will continue. This is one of our favorite places. The food and service is impeccable. The dinning rooms are small and friendly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a really special place

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a really special place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the Dodd, service, and ambianc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As usual, the Dodd, service, and ambiance were impeccable. We even left room for dessert this time and it was incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant to dine at Christma ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful restaurant to dine at Christmas. A fabulous menu with seasonal specialties such as roast goose...where do you find that anymore?

Our cocktails were well made and our server Michael was terrific. Thanks for your suggestion that we split the Caesar salad. Well done!

We had a very nice meal in a very cozy gem of a dining room. We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the finest restaurants on ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is one of the finest restaurants on Longboat Key and, for that matter, in most of Sarasota. It is elegant without being stuffy and every item on the menu is superb. You can always tell how well a restaurant is run when you go on a holiday - in this case Christmas Day - when they are fully booked from open to close. This is an exceptionally well run restaurant with all the food coming out perfectly, including some substitutions we made to our main course. We never felt rushed and there was more than ample time between courses for us to relax and enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant. Our waiter "David L" could not have been more accommodating throughout the meal, including assisting the one vegetarian at the table selecting the perfect components for a perfect meal. This is one restaurant I can always count on to always exceed all my expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We had been to the restaurant previously. So we knew what to expect as far as service and quality of the meals. Pricing id a bit high for anything other than a special occasion for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Has been our favorite restaurant for ove ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Has been our favorite restaurant for over 25 years. Just simply the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a very nice experience. A little ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overall a very nice experience. A little pricey but excellent food in a cozy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

David was our server and he was GREAT! T ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

David was our server and he was GREAT! The tomato appetizer was tasty and the signature apple/walnut pie was STELLAR! We never leave EH hungry either! 👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely destination restaurant, charming ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Lovely destination restaurant, charming atmosphere, good service, but the food, while perfectly fine, is simply not worth the price they ask.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Phenomenal experience, will be back and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Phenomenal experience, will be back and recommend to others!

Tags: Vegan, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in the world I believe

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best Restaurant in the world I believe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as usual!!!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Outstanding as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the most enjoyable dining experie ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of the most enjoyable dining experiences we have had recently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very prompt sometimes rushed service. n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very prompt sometimes rushed service. nice ambience. She had green tomatoes fantastic, I has sushimi average. She was told that they "just checked" and the daily fish special had not come in, so that was changed, hard to imagine they would not have know that beforehand. Her fish was way over creamed could not taste the snapper. I had the most bland sweetbreads I have experienced in a longtime. The service certainly was attentive, however the push to sell dessert upstairs was a little aggressive and persistent. I would not go back there are other places more worthy of the time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The good was very tasty and the wine lis ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The good was very tasty and the wine list was rather robust and sophisticated. The downstairs room is good for dining but a bit small in case there is a large group. Reservation recommended. The upstairs room has live music and delicious homemade desserts!! Worth the price and drive.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always make an effort to go here on our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always make an effort to go here on our vacation. Have been going for over 20 years and have never been disappointed. Great dessert experience too. Love the Haye Loft with a reduced menu, but same good service and tasty food, drinks and desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our yearly go to restaurant for ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is our yearly go to restaurant for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. Great menu and service. Welcoming staff and friendly wait staff, very efficient, nice upstairs loft/bar often with music, pleasant surroundings, knowledgeable bar tender. Highly recommend this well established restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at Thanksgiving was disapp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My experience at Thanksgiving was disappointing.

First, I was seated in a very loud room with a large party. I asked to move and they said no, I waited but then asked to move upstairs or leave, then they moved us. I had the duck. The meat was dry but I guess because it was a smaller portion. Apple pie

Was outsmding. I eat here about twice a year and will continue to do so but not on the holidays.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Amazing little restaurant that never dis ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing little restaurant that never disappoints...the owner chef came around and made sure everything was ok personally...our waiter was great....the food amazing...the duck is the best we have ever had...a great dinner with family

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five of us spent $250 on a driver with a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Five of us spent $250 on a driver with a car to go to dinner at Euphemia Haye for our annual trip (however four of us just bought houses nearby). The food was outstanding as usual. However the service was horrible for many unacceptable reasons. First of all, we called ahead to see if we could bring our own wine (yes). Corkage fee was not a problem. We arrived 1/2 hour before our reservation but we were seated anyways (early) as they were not busy/full. Our waiter was Clarke, who had an attitude before we even sat down. Clarke took forever to wait on us at any level of service. Was it because we brought our own wine? There was an hour or more between the appetizers and the next course. Clarke RARELY checked on us, asked if we wanted to buy any of the house wine or poured any of the wines that we brought (that was okay. Since we brought it with own own corkscrew we didn't mind pouring our own wine). Our dinner took 2 1/2 hours and we did not have time to order any dessert. In fact, at that point we just asked for our check although we usually go upstairs and spend a lot of money on desserts and after dinner drinks but we had NO TIME because our driver was waiting for us. Our meal was $350 plus tip. Needless to say we were not going to give Clarke our usual 20% tip. As Clarke walked by he yelled out to us that he had not charged a corkage fee for EVERY bottle that we brought with us (were we suppose to add that $20 to his tip??). We will definately be back to Euphemia Haye but the management needs to have a little talk with our waiter, Clarke.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Vacationing on Anna Maria Island for the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Vacationing on Anna Maria Island for the first time with some idea about where to eat. Euphemia Haye was not on the list but drove past and decided to check out the menu. I'm a sweetbread fan. So, whenever I find a place with sweetbreads, I go .....and was not disappointed. My wife had the snapper and was equally pleased.

Nice wine list.

Liked the place so much, decided to go back 3 nights later.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great meal. Tried Shrimp Taj Ma ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always a great meal. Tried Shrimp Taj Mahalmfor the first time. Complex, delicious flavor.

Haye Loft for coffee and dessert is fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, as always! Service is impecca ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent, as always! Service is impeccable, quality is above-standard. Our daughter was thrilled to celebrate her 14th birthday at Euphemia Haye!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best snapper on the coast, ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The absolute best snapper on the coast, and the homemade dessert are decadent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.