About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D'Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Brooke, Monday - Friday from 10:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (12)
Live Music (11)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Euphemia Haye was a beautiful experience. The staff makes you feel as if you are their most important customer. The menu is diverse. The meal I chose was very tasty and the presentation Love

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food, great service and a dessert room that has you questioning 'have I died and gone to heaven.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Been coming here for 23 years and the place impresses me every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I have been to this Restaurant a total of four times and never have been disappointed in the service, presentation or the food. Simply great.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were hosting some friends for the weekend. They love good food and wine. Our experience was very good and the service was perfect. We all really enjoyed the evening. Thanks for doing such a good job.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is a perfect spot for special occasions and fine dining, but in a semi-casual environment.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food and service were amazing!
Server was friendly and made great recommendations!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had our wedding night dinner here almost 10 years ago and it was amazing. Tonight, since we were staying in the area, decided to have dinner here, and again, amazing. The ambiance, service and the FOOD, delicious! A wonderful place to have a memorable time. Thank you for another fantastic memory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Been going here for many years and Excellent as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I have been going to Euphemia Haye for close to four decades. To me the food is the star. It is artfully prepared and consistently excellent. In my opinion their signature dishes, which are Peppered Steak and Crispy Duck, are simply the best you can get. My favorite is the peppered steak, and it has no rival. I have never had one anywhere that compares to it. My wife loves the crispy duck. We do glance at the menu, but we always seem to order the same things because they are that good. The décor is relaxing and elegant, yet unpretentious. The feeling is that of a true French country inn. Their key staff have been there forever, and we know many by name. They have always been friendly and professional. The Caesar salads are prepared at a station in view from most tables, and are wonderful. It is expensive, so we reserve it for special occasions. It is one of our absolute favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Euphemia Haye. For appetizer we shared the Chef's Pate and then a Caesar Salad with anchovies. Both were excellent and the portions were ample. Our entrees were Pork Osso Buco and Famous Roast Duck. My wife likes her duck real crispy which it was and it was cooked to perfection. We also ordered a side of roasted brussel sprouts. We ended the meal with Banana Cream Pie that we shared. All in all, an excellent meal. We will dine there again next time in Sarasota.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We were very disappointed in our food. It was extremely bland with very little taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very pleasant and quiet with gracious service.
A gem on LBK

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A little disappointed in this visit. The ceasar salad was excellent. My husband's sweetbreads are the best dish in town. The special veal schnitzel was disappointing. Not a typical version..and not great. Tough, no flavor except for bell pepper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delightful evening, dinner was delicious! Our waiter, David, was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delightful and delicious! Loved my wine choice. Conundrum white. The black grouper was flavorful and the desserts were as much fun to look at as to eat. The wait service was perfectly attentive, informative and gracious. And ah... the ambiance... an island setting... It's one of my favorite places to dine on the islands.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with friends. The service by Glenn was outstanding as was every dish we had. The pepper steak has been on the menu forever and is still as wonderfully flavorful as it has ever been. There is a great selections of wine, too. The rooms are decorated eclectic and not too many tables per room. Upstairs in the Haye Loft, the dessert table will surprise you no matter how many times you've been there. Every night there are amazing desserts. Our group shared 4 and not a crumb was left. DELICIOUS!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The best.........staff was very professional and absolutely the best food

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always enjoy dining here, wonderful food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Enjoyed our experience - food was excellent, the sever was very attentive as well as other support people - I love to see well-trained staff. And we saved room for the dessert room upstairs at which our waiter held us a table so there was no wait. Also I left a note on my Open table reservation asking if there was a cancellation, could be please be moved to an earlier time (9 was all they had on schedule) and the management called me back and got us in for 7 since we were only 2.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We go here annually for our wedding anniversary and we have never been disappointed in anything. The food is phenomenal, the service is above and beyond, and they go out of their way to make to evening memorable. I only wish I could go more often. thank you to staff for making our night fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Top class cuisine, service and ambiance. Waiting staff
were very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Atmosphere and décor very relaxing. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Brian was just the right amount of attentive. Bravo. We have been here many times before but the last was 17 years ago. It's a vacation hot spot. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our first visit... every bite was fantastic!Try the pistachio encrusted red snapper!and dessert upstairs in the lounge with live music-a must!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

One of the best! Ambiance and service were wonderful but the food - fantastic! And just when I thought it couldnt get any better, we were escorted upstairs to the dessert room. An incredible place to spend a special evening - not to be missed if you are in the area. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always a special occasion to eat at Euphemia Haye!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This restaurant is exceptional. Every time we visit Sarasota, we make it a point to dine at
Euphemia Haye! Just a wonderful dining experience. DO NOT MISS the Dessert room!!
The food and service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

What a charming restaurant to share with that someone special. The snapper was unbelievably delicious. The filet was more to the medium rare side than it was medium well. The potato pancake was too good not to share. Brian was attentive and made great recommendations. While reservations are recommended, we have no reservations about coming back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We normally love this restaurant but this time we felt we were treated very differently due to having our 4 year old granddaughter with us. We were seated in a room away from the rest of the customers and the waiter was not the normal helpful server we experienced in previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Well worth the long drive from our vacation home. The cozy ambience, great service and top-notch food keep Euphemia at the top of our list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Best restaurant in the area. Romantic setting, superb food and service. Ceaser salad should be a must. Cannot go wrong with the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Every thing was perfect David our waiter is the best

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance, pistachio red snapper was very good. Highly recommend the dessert room experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner in a cozy corner. Then, upstairs we headed for delicious dessert.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Truly excellent Caesar!
Escargot was wonderful.
Spicy shrimp nicely prepared, a touch sweet.
The starters alone were great, the room was quaint. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. Simply the best. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Setting is great for a special occasion. Best Caesar salad ever. The dessert room upstairs is a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This restaurant is one of the hidden treasures within the Sarasota-Bradenton-Longboat Key area. Great food, great ambience and the deserts ... you just have to experience them! It's a great place for all occasions. Make the drive out to LBK, and experience this wonderful place. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.