About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D'Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:15pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Private Party Facilities:
An intimate room that has a table large enough to seat 12 people. The private dining room seats at 6:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. A food and beverage minimum + tax and gratuity will apply.

Private Party Contact:
Colin Wilson: (941) 383-3633

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Brooke, Monday - Friday from 10:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Cozy (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Live Music (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Historic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

I want to say THANK YOU to both Sage (hostess) and Spencer(server) coupled with the owners who helped me execute an incredible 60th surprise dinner for my wife! We dined with our LBK friends, Mike & Lyn Haycock, along with my wife's best friend who flew into SRQ to surprise her at the restaurant! Everyone went above & beyond to make this evening extra special! We even had a wonderful experience upstairs with Eric (missed Sammy!) for dessert & drink after our meal! Our favorite restaurant on LBK!!

Mark & Shawn Weller

Cincinnati, OH

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

We ordered medallion of beef. What you served was not medallion.

It was what is called grenadine of beef.

Presentation needs to be improved.

The duck was very nice.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

This an old school fine dining establishment that is a excellent today as the first time I visited in 1982. I'd make the trip for the sweetbreads alone, but everything on the menu is outstanding. Save room for dessert in the elegant room upstairs. Worth the trip from Tampa or St Pete for a special evening that local restaurants just can't duplicate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed this restaurant for a Valentine's Day meal. The escargots, spinach salad, and specialty entrees were all excellent, as was the service. We enjoyed the intimate surroundings, which felt as if we were dining in someone's home. The portions were so large that we will order less items next time. Our only disappointment was that the flambeed desserts were not prepared at or near the table so that we could watch the process.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went here for a special birthday and it exceeded our expectations. The wait staff was incredibly attentive and offered great suggestions. Little details like chilled salad forks and attention to special dietary preferences were part of the incredible service we received. We went upstairs for our decadent desserts and coffees and very much enjoyed the funky, Old Floroda vibe.

If you are looking for a special, special dining experience, go downstairs. If you want a fun, funky dining experience (smaller menu) and huge dessert go upstairs to the Haye Loft. Either way, put this restaurant on your "must do" list !!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ordered several Dinners off of menu and only one was worth the cost

Lamb Shank was excellent as well as potatoes and gravy

Medallions were good but potatoes and gravy were plain

Shrimp Taj Mahal was fair. Advertised as curry flavor but tasted more like sweet ans sour

Scallops. Scallops were excellent however a bed of plain white rice was bland. Risotto would have been a better choice

Ceasar salad, Bruschetta and wine were excellent as was our service

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As usual, Euphemia Haye was excellent. This is definitely a class act. There are periodic hitches if you go there regularly but this time, all was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This may be the best restaurant in Florida! It's the best we've found. We dine out frequently and make the hour drive to Euphemia Haye at least once a month. Our favorites are: the Carbonara(seasonal), Caesar salad, Veal du jour, Pepper steak, Shrimp Taj Mahal, Chicken Florentine and duck. The dessert room favorites are the must have warm brownie sundae, banana crème pie and warm pecan pie. Good wine list with a full bar. This place never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been trying to get over the west coast for some time to have dinner at Eupemia Haye.

So glad we were finally able to make the trip! The food was excellent and the service and ambiance were spot on. Wanted to try their sweetbreads but they were completely sold out. the lamb shank and the tenderloin were melt in your mouth delicious! Wine list is diverse enough for most folks and the prices were reasonable for the quality . look forward to another visit!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Euphemia has been one of our favorites for many years. Always consistently excellent service and amazing food. Chef owned and operated, Ray and D'Arcy Arpke oversee every detail and their attention is reflected in every meal served. Crisp white table linens, china, and low-lighting make for special ambiance. And the desserts, lively bar and nightly live music make the upstairs a separate destination. This Longboat Key icon never disappoints.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fabulous food with great service. Waiters are very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always reliable ... the best restaurant on Longboat Key!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Restaurant atmosphere was unique and fun. Our dinners were delicious. We were disappointed in the upstairs dessert bar. We've had better desserts that usually included a scoup of ice cream for a zero to nominal fee (4.25 for one scoup of Edy's ice cream).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful romantic restaurant , Food and service were outstanding . I would definitely recommend dining at Euphemia haye.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great dining, lovely atmosphere. Waiter was attentive without being bothersome. Cooked my meal to order. All meals were excellent. We had fish, veal and pepper steak.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The restaurant is second to none when it comes to food quality, wine, desserts. This restaurant will be one of the nicer restaurants that you will eat in on Longboat key

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

What a lovely place in an interesting location. The server(David, the snowmobiler was top shelf), topped only by the snapper and key lime pie. Though you are two hours away we will share your place with other friends, thanks for s special evening Dennis

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Euphemia Haye has a wonderful piano lounge. I would recommend it .

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I have eaten here for years - and always found the food to be good. Maybe my mistake was coming on a Monday night (chef's day off??) - but it sure was a mistake to bring out of town friends! The caesar said - usually very good - had so much dressing on it that it weighed 5 pounds - and the romaine was not fresh. The duck was overcooked! Really really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good service, good Food, great wait staff and the desserts are to die for!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is a bit above average but not up to the premium menu pricing. Too heavy on the sauces, etc on most dishes. Our waiter on this particular evening was inattentive and overly familial. May go there again when looking for a nearby old school restaurant but would not recommend it to foodies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Would have given all maximum stars but we were seated in a very small room with our table of three, another table for two, and a big table for...eight!!! The table for eight was a fun group but it was pretty loud in this small room as eight people tried to converse with each other from up and down the table. Other than that, the food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. We will not let this "chatty" experience detain us from returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

GREAT food, and great wait staff. Love the dessert bar, bar and live entertainment upstairs. Wonderful experience overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This was our second time to dine here, it was my wife 65th birthday. The food was outstanding as well as the service. I had flowers delivered to the restaurant prior to our arrival and they were at our table when we got there. Perfect evening.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Second time to this place and lived up to the experience last time. Great food in a unique setting. Make sure you save room for the upstairs dessert experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The roast duck is the best. The service, ambiance and food are all well done but if you are a duck fan you should try it here. Only negative is the high price of the alacarte salads and sides.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Steak is good ...but do not go upstairs snooty people just want to steal your chair...this my 3rd time here and the 3rd time we have had problems with snooty Perrier drinking sweater over the shoulders jerks...don't not go up there ...Have the peppered steak only good thing on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in. It has everything!! Great food, ambience and fantastic service. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was excellent and service exceptional. Only complaint was being squished into the small middle room with a big table that was noisy. After they left, we continued a lovely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We enjoyed our experience and would go back. It's a very nice setting, the food and the service is good. What I especially enjoyed was going upstairs for dessert after dinner. The dessert selection is unsurpassed, and it's all out on display for you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The duck was great. But everything else is too heavy and old-fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It had been a long time since my last visit to Euphemia Haye. We weren't disappointed. The food was very tasty and service stellar. David was so good, efficient but non-obtrusive. We were so please with the creative cuisine and overall experience. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing as always! Dave is an excellent server! Highly recommended .

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent preparation of flavors! Also s nice wine list to select from. We try to go at least once per month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've been going to Euphemia Haye for 20+ years, and it's always fabulous. Every part of the meal is wonderful, they modify as per the customer's preference, the staff is top notch. If I could afford it, I'd go there every week. And they remembered my mom by name, even though she hadn't been in for 5 years. Just go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The three of us thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The duck was somewhat on the dry side but otherwise everything else was quite good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Lovely setting with great service and attention to details. Usually one of our favorite local restaurants, but dinner was less than spectacular tonight. Maybe an off night? Duck and its stuffing were dry and disappointing. We will be back, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our favorite place in the area, one of the best meals we have had. We had friends in town and it was their favorite of all the places we took them to. Service was great and they loved the desert room.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always our choice for a special occasion. Topped off with entertainment of live music, and the fabulous dessert room. What could be better?

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great ambiance, amazing food, and outstanding service--this restaurant has it all

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful and unique restaurant. Food is OUTSTANDING. Service is great too! It's a funky little place that we are lucky to have here in Sarasota.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of our all time favorite places to eat. From the bread to the deserts everything is wonderful. The service is beyond excellent. Even the chief comes to your table to ask how your meal is.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our favorite place for special occasions always been good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and service. The food was very rich however. I would order a lighter meal next time and leave room for the delicious desserts upstairs!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Delicious dinner with friends. Everything was great. Just wish I knew how to pronounce Euphemia

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was an anniversary dinner and they went out of their way to help us celebrate. They reserved a window table and provided excellent, attentive service. The chef prepared a special off-menu dish to accomodate our vegetarian diet.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have enjoyed dinning at this restaurant several times and will continue. This is one of our favorite places. The food and service is impeccable. The dinning rooms are small and friendly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a really special place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As usual, the Dodd, service, and ambiance were impeccable. We even left room for dessert this time and it was incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful restaurant to dine at Christmas. A fabulous menu with seasonal specialties such as roast goose...where do you find that anymore?

Our cocktails were well made and our server Michael was terrific. Thanks for your suggestion that we split the Caesar salad. Well done!

We had a very nice meal in a very cozy gem of a dining room. We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.