About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D"Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:15pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Private Party Facilities:
An intimate room that has a table large enough to seat 12 people. The private dining room seats at 6:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. A food and beverage minimum + tax and gratuity will apply.

Private Party Contact:
Colin Wilson: 9413833633x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Amy, Monday - Friday from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Sarasota / Bradenton
Special Occasion
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Longboat Key ›

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (56)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Notable Wine List (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful evening from beginning to end!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful evening from beginning to end!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for a birthday celebration, ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went here for a birthday celebration, had a very enjoyable meal, but wished we had known more about the upstairs dessert and restaurant area, would have been nice to eat up there. Perhaps next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service and food was excellent. Servers ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Servers on restaurant and Loft were excellent. Best Brandy Alexanders we ever had!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the slow season; the restaurant, ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is the slow season; the restaurant, one we have previously enjoyed, was almost empty. Service was its usual attentive self, and the food was, as expected, superb. We have always been somewhat unhappy with the small tables at this venue. For a group of four, the table was just too small, with plates and glasses bumping each other while we dined. We both bought wine from the wine list, which has to be the best of any Sarasota County restaurant, and brought a bottle of our own for corkage and decanting--which was done very professionally and timely. Even in crowded times, we have never been rushed at Euphemia Haye, and with the very light evening traffic, were not this time. We will, of course, return for something really special; unfortunately, its prices mean we can't enjoy it as often as we would like. High quality--high cost, but worth it if you appreciate fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant with delicious food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with delicious food, the duck was excellent! Service was impeccable! Decor is lovely but it is a small place. We took my 85 year old mother and one of our grown children to dine but feel it is a better place for a couple. We were seated in a booth which was very cramped for 4 people. Other tables were placed very close together. Was not an easy restaurant for an older person to navigate in. Cost of meals are high and most everything is ala carte but portions were generous and prepared perfectly!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We let almost ten years pass before goin ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We let almost ten years pass before going to this place, partly because it is a drive, a partly because buzz had it overrated. Not! This is one of the best places we have been, here or overseas. The atmosphere is cozy and quiet, with white linen table cloths, good china, and good silver. The food is - exquisite comes to mind always, but that is not right - beyond being over the top, everything melts in your mouth and you want to savor it right there forever. My wife had veal that was better than the best of Italian restaurant where we always try veal as a “marker.” I had something between sirloin tips and tournedos over potato, and it was better than anything I cook, and I the steak I do generally beats anything I have eating out. The creamed spinach was “real,” just the way you would imagine it done in heaven. And on and on. Our waiter got extra.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but overpriced. We would ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was good but overpriced. We would not return or recommend it for that reason alone. Have tried better places in Sarasota nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

They had a large group of people in the ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

They had a large group of people in the other room and not enough waiters to service the tables that were not part of that group. They should not have taken our reservation. We knew it was going to be an expensive restaurant and along with great food should come great service. The servers were not present like he should have been.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We have eaten here about 5 times since t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have eaten here about 5 times since the beginning of 2016 and this is our favorite restaurant in Sarasota, Longboat Key or Anna Maria. Food, service and atmosphere are great. We have had the chicken, the snapper and several veal dishes. We are moving to LBK and we will be regulars once we move.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but for the price, it ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was good but for the price, it was very simple preparation. It was an over 65 crowd with very little energy. Tables were too close together. The upstairs bar area was nice and may be a better value than the full priced entrees in the dining room. We had desert and a drink and enjoyed the live music after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We just moved back to the area from Nort ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We just moved back to the area from North Carolina. We haven't been to the restaurant in about 12 years. We have lived all over the country and prior to our anniversary dinner on the 24th, it was probably in our top 5 all time restaurants. Sadly, we were quite disappointed ith our dining experience. After dinner we went upstairs for dessert and coffee in hopes of a pleasant end to the evening. It seemed we were bothering the server when we asked for menus. So we just ended up leaving. We were so looking forward to a nice celebration and, unfortunately it was anything but that. Although our server was excellent we probably will not return. Maybe it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

Lovely ambience, unique for this area, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lovely ambience, unique for this area, although a bit loud. Service was wonderful, and friendly.

all enjoyed their dinners- duck very crispy, pistachio grouper excellent, monk fish enjoyed...

and we wer entertaining major foodies! Loved the idea of going upstairs for some wonderful desserts.... bananas Foster, and cocoanut cream pie, especially. We will return, and enjoy the bar room as well.....so happy to have found a now favorite restaurant, that felt like an event!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Third time we have been to this restaura ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Third time we have been to this restaurant for special occasion only. Not a place we would go to often. Good food and wine but pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In my opinion was the food good but to h ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

In my opinion was the food good but to high prized. The upstairs desert place was nice. Ambiance nice.

The waiter made the impression he wanted us out as soon as possible.

Maybe with a kind service it woukd have been a whole different experience. Now i m not sure if i will go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We had the salmon and veal entree. Both ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had the salmon and veal entree. Both were excellent. The appetizer was snails Leslie. Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is a great restaurant. The food was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is a great restaurant. The food was delicious and the waitstaff was so attentive. I cannot say enough good comments. After dinner, my husband and I went to the Haye Loft for dessert. Oh my gosh, the desserts were superb. My husband had pecan pie (his favorite) and he said "this is the best I have ever had". I will definitely recommend Eupehmia Haye and my husband and I will go there again for another special occasion. Thanks to my daughter who arranged this wonderful dinner for us!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Euphemia Haye has a peaceful and romant ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Euphemia Haye has a peaceful and romantic ambiance. The charming and romantic atmosphere alone will whet your appetite as you peruse their eclectic menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always excellent service and a wonder ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always excellent service and a wonderful menu. the desserts are too die for - which is why my teenage daughter always wants to go when we are in Longboat Key !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sending my wife and I to the upstairs ba ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Sending my wife and I to the upstairs bar, upon arrival, was unnecessary. The fried green tomato appetizer was nothing special, soggy and without much flavor. The signature roast duckling was very good. I explained to my wife how difficult it is to roast a duck crisply. This was one of the best ducks I've ever eaten. The apricot sauce and stuffing was OK. My wife really liked the veal special. The server selling us on the coffees and desserts would have been fine, if he would have served them at our table. Instead we were told to close-out our dinner check and escorted to another casual restaurant upstairs. The French pressed coffee was full of grinds, twice. The hot tea was fine. It was so nice to have each dessert described at the buffet by the young hostess. Couldn't remember all the featured desserts by the time we got back to the table. A featured dessert menu would have helped. The apple crumb pie looked great on the buffet. On-the-plate it had little taste, with the apple slices undercooked. After receiving our third check for the evening, I felt underwhelmed by the whole dining experience at Euphemia Haye.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Go there periodically and always enjoy. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Go there periodically and always enjoy. Food and service excellent!! David the waiter was excellent and he has helped us before. Our only disappointment was at the door when we entered, the person hosting never, never spoke to us. He simply grabbed two menus and walked away after I said my name and reservation for 2. He did not even respond when I said "should we follow you?" He said not a word after he handed us our menus at the table. I mentioned this to David that this has never happened before and he said that person was from another job in the restaurant.

We will of course return but it was a distracting experience to have no welcome or dialogue at all with the host.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Snapper is awesome

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Snapper is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our meal was one of the best we have eve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our meal was one of the best we have ever experienced!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife there for her birthday. Gre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Took my wife there for her birthday. Great food, great service and great atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good, but way overpriced in ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was good, but way overpriced in my opinion. The server was rude and acted luke we were bothering him. For the price, service should be MUCH better than what it was. Won't go back again. We vacation in FL every year and there are much better places to go, in my opinion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

A very special place. Know one has bette ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A very special place. Know one has better steak au poirve or traditional roast duck. Their Cesar salad is exceptional. We settled for wild caught salmon tonight. It was good. However, the lemon chive sauce was non distinct in flavor, as in bland. The bread was poor quality and according to my wife, a bit freezer burned. My wife could not drink the cappuccino. She mentioned to me that it tasted like instant coffee from the micro wave. When we asked our waiter he admitted that their espresso machine was broken. Are you kidding me? What in the hell were you serving it for? Some restaurants are well appreciated for the consistency of service. These guys here are just worn out and don't seem to care. Did they not know we were rich and famous?? Just kidding. The A plus show here is possibly over. Guess I should skip the bread critique and stick to the steak au poirve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Wonderful ambiance in an old house Excel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful ambiance in an old house

Excellent food- especially the Roast Duck

Upstairs is the dessert bar with a delicious assortment of goodies and a piano player

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is okay, but never as good a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service is okay, but never as good as one might expect from a white linen restaurant. The bar and music upstairs is always a treat. Desserts are my favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Always a great meal. Desert is a must an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a great meal. Desert is a must and the highlight to top off the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Great service. A true di ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food. Great service. A true dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the food were very good. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The service and the food were very good. The ambience was great. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an upscale dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I have been living in Sarasota for years ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been living in Sarasota for years and have heard about this restaurant and never went. This was the first time and I must say it was fabulous - My husband and I were impressed and would definitely be returning! It is a drive but the atmosphere was lovely, food delicious and service excellent. The duck was delicious! My husband had the scallops which he loved. Upstairs dessert bar was great and we will be going back. Unlike some upscale restaurants in Sarasota that are so LOUD - this restaurant wasn't.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been dining here for over 30 year ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been dining here for over 30 years. My friend was very impressed for his first meal there.

I love Euphemia Haye....Everything about it..and Billy, our Waiter, was superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, this was an amazing experienc ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

As always, this was an amazing experience. The food and dessert room were great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always, food was excellent perf ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great as always, food was excellent perfect wine pairing. Service was outstanding as it always is.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been to the restaurant before and ...

vip
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We had been to the restaurant before and had a great meal. But this time was not nearly as good. We both had salads as appetizers, that were just okay. My wife had the Veal special, that was about as good as you could get in any average Italian restaurant, but double the price. I had the Beef Medallions dish, but it had obviously been sitting under the heat lamp in the kitchen before being served, so the sauce and the mashed potatoes had congealed with a skin over the top. We ordered a side of Brussels Sprouts, as neither dish came with vegetables, for which we were charged $7.75 - for 50 c worth of Sprouts. It was hard not to feel that we were being ripped off.

The food was at best average, but 2 - 3 times the price that other restaurants would charge.

Would will probably not return. There are too many excellent restaurants on Longboat Key, that serve superior food at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Our meal, while excellent, was a little ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our meal, while excellent, was a little disappointing. The ambiance was unique, and the food was really tasty (the Noisette of beef is superb!). The service left MUCH to be desired considering our meal for two cost over $170, excluding dessert. Upon arrival, the host left us standing for at least 5 minutes while he completed a same day reservation over the phone, ignoring us completely. We were dining at Euphemia Haye to celebrate our anniversary, and despite every table around us being asked why they were dining, we were not. The chef visited every table around us, and ignored us completely. The server dribbled wine on our table and cut the foil sloppily, getting flakes of aluminum all over our dish of butter. When we brought it to his attention his only reply was that aluminum is bad for you... When leaving the restaurant our server said "happy birthday" in a very offhand "you've already tipped me so I don't really care" kind of way. Dessert upstairs was delicious. Overall, we would have chosen to eat at Maison Blanche or Bijou Café if we'd known the service would be SO lackluster for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great as always.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another place I may have outgrown

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I must be getting old because some of my former favorite places just aren't doing it for me anymore. We dined here with friends about a year ago and came away feeling it was our favorite place in the area, but with just the two of us this time I came out feeling differently. My overall impression was too much average food for too much money at a too small table in too small a space.

When we dined as four we were seated in their first room, which seemed light and spacious. This time we were in the smaller back room that seemed mostly for tables of two. It was darker and cramped and next to a cooking station where the chef was searing their signature pepper steak. I guess some would love it, but it was just too much of an experience for me, and I still smell like seared pepper steak.

I had the pecan crusted snapper, which seemed rather ordinary to me. Nothing wrong with it, I'd just prefer less fish cooked more creatively. Everything is a la carte, so we ordered a split of potato pancakes, which were good. My wife had a grouper special that she enjoyed. In fact she enjoyed the whole experience more than I did. Like I say, I must be getting old, although she's older than I am. I'm sure the regulars who frequent and revere this place think I'm crazy, but I just feel like there are better places now.

One thing that hasn't changed is their excellent dessert bar upstairs. You get to pick your choice from a decadent selection that are pretty much all guaranteed not to disappoint. Share one though, unless you have a really big appetite. The chocolate cake was totally awesome. My cappuccino came cold, which is odd because my wife's was steaming hot. The replacement they brought was only a little warmer. Demerits for not including a sugar stick.

Overall, I'd return if someone really wanted to go, but I would not hike out there again real soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Never disappoints

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were a party of four during our recent visit and everyone ordered something different. Everything was exceptional, but the table favorites were the Chef's Pate, Shrimp Taj Mahal, and the Veal special. Excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.