About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D"Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:15pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Private Party Facilities:
An intimate room that has a table large enough to seat 12 people. The private dining room seats at 6:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. A food and beverage minimum + tax and gratuity will apply.

Private Party Contact:
Colin Wilson: 9413833633x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Amy, Monday - Friday from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Longboat Key ›

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (11)
Live Music (9)
Historic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the most enjoyable dining experie ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the most enjoyable dining experiences we have had recently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very prompt sometimes rushed service. n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very prompt sometimes rushed service. nice ambience. She had green tomatoes fantastic, I has sushimi average. She was told that they "just checked" and the daily fish special had not come in, so that was changed, hard to imagine they would not have know that beforehand. Her fish was way over creamed could not taste the snapper. I had the most bland sweetbreads I have experienced in a longtime. The service certainly was attentive, however the push to sell dessert upstairs was a little aggressive and persistent. I would not go back there are other places more worthy of the time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The good was very tasty and the wine lis ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The good was very tasty and the wine list was rather robust and sophisticated. The downstairs room is good for dining but a bit small in case there is a large group. Reservation recommended. The upstairs room has live music and delicious homemade desserts!! Worth the price and drive.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always make an effort to go here on our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always make an effort to go here on our vacation. Have been going for over 20 years and have never been disappointed. Great dessert experience too. Love the Haye Loft with a reduced menu, but same good service and tasty food, drinks and desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our yearly go to restaurant for ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is our yearly go to restaurant for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. Great menu and service. Welcoming staff and friendly wait staff, very efficient, nice upstairs loft/bar often with music, pleasant surroundings, knowledgeable bar tender. Highly recommend this well established restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at Thanksgiving was disapp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My experience at Thanksgiving was disappointing.

First, I was seated in a very loud room with a large party. I asked to move and they said no, I waited but then asked to move upstairs or leave, then they moved us. I had the duck. The meat was dry but I guess because it was a smaller portion. Apple pie

Was outsmding. I eat here about twice a year and will continue to do so but not on the holidays.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Amazing little restaurant that never dis ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing little restaurant that never disappoints...the owner chef came around and made sure everything was ok personally...our waiter was great....the food amazing...the duck is the best we have ever had...a great dinner with family

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five of us spent $250 on a driver with a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Five of us spent $250 on a driver with a car to go to dinner at Euphemia Haye for our annual trip (however four of us just bought houses nearby). The food was outstanding as usual. However the service was horrible for many unacceptable reasons. First of all, we called ahead to see if we could bring our own wine (yes). Corkage fee was not a problem. We arrived 1/2 hour before our reservation but we were seated anyways (early) as they were not busy/full. Our waiter was Clarke, who had an attitude before we even sat down. Clarke took forever to wait on us at any level of service. Was it because we brought our own wine? There was an hour or more between the appetizers and the next course. Clarke RARELY checked on us, asked if we wanted to buy any of the house wine or poured any of the wines that we brought (that was okay. Since we brought it with own own corkscrew we didn't mind pouring our own wine). Our dinner took 2 1/2 hours and we did not have time to order any dessert. In fact, at that point we just asked for our check although we usually go upstairs and spend a lot of money on desserts and after dinner drinks but we had NO TIME because our driver was waiting for us. Our meal was $350 plus tip. Needless to say we were not going to give Clarke our usual 20% tip. As Clarke walked by he yelled out to us that he had not charged a corkage fee for EVERY bottle that we brought with us (were we suppose to add that $20 to his tip??). We will definately be back to Euphemia Haye but the management needs to have a little talk with our waiter, Clarke.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Vacationing on Anna Maria Island for the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Vacationing on Anna Maria Island for the first time with some idea about where to eat. Euphemia Haye was not on the list but drove past and decided to check out the menu. I'm a sweetbread fan. So, whenever I find a place with sweetbreads, I go .....and was not disappointed. My wife had the snapper and was equally pleased.

Nice wine list.

Liked the place so much, decided to go back 3 nights later.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great meal. Tried Shrimp Taj Ma ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always a great meal. Tried Shrimp Taj Mahalmfor the first time. Complex, delicious flavor.

Haye Loft for coffee and dessert is fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, as always! Service is impecca ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent, as always! Service is impeccable, quality is above-standard. Our daughter was thrilled to celebrate her 14th birthday at Euphemia Haye!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best snapper on the coast, ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The absolute best snapper on the coast, and the homemade dessert are decadent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EH is always a great place to eat. Price ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

EH is always a great place to eat. Prices are higher than some others on Longboat, but not inconsistent with the quality of the food and service. I always feel as though I have received good value for my money. We eat in the main dining room 4-6 times a year, but up in the Haye Loft a couple of times a month. This is just a great restaurant!..I have NEVER been disappointed!!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting and wonderful food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful setting and wonderful food and cocktails. Dining rooms quiet. After dinner we went upstairs to the desert room and in the bar was a singer/key board playing

It was a wonderful and memorable evening. What a treasure of a restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING as usual!! We really enjoy it ev ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

AMAZING as usual!! We really enjoy it every time! The waiter has been there 39 years and does an outstanding job. This is a must for anyone to take their sweetheart to . You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Gourmet Food with a Unique Twi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious Gourmet Food with a Unique Twist. We were on vacation in Sarasota and decided to experience some of the fine restaurants in the area. I am a vegetarian and I had a wonderful salad, the green olive soup which was AMAZING! And fried Green Tomatoes. Service, Ambiance, Upstairs dessert room, Food,....all Excellent. Great location! Highly Recommend. We are minorities and received the same excellent service as all others. The owners (front of the house and the chef) were accommodating. Love the chef coming to the table to receive feedback and check on the guests. Fabulous and upscale.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just not that great. Over priced for s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Just not that great. Over priced for so so food. The Hayloft is fun for dessert though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great menu. Top service. Personable tabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great menu. Top service. Personable table visit by award winning executive chef. Terrific desserts.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot go wrong. Prefect evening

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 31, 2016

You cannot go wrong. Prefect evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

love this place!! one of the best on th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

love this place!! one of the best on the key! peppercorn encrusted strip steak with orange brandy sauce with the brussels sprouts and cesar salad is a must!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were disappointed in our dining exper ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were disappointed in our dining experience at Euphemia Haye. My husband and I dined there in fall 2015 and had a very good meal with good service, however when we returned this year the service was mediocre (there was a strange mention of moving us to another table if we wanted dessert and the server seemed generally disinterested) and the food was not of the quality I'd expect for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This restaurant seems to be living off i ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This restaurant seems to be living off its faded glory and is very expensive for what it is.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was a delightful evening. Live music ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It was a delightful evening. Live music upstairs and a nice dessert menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Gourmet cooking and outstanding service, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Gourmet cooking and outstanding service, topped off with fresh local foods. Perfect for celebrations and one of a kind evenings. From salads with chilled forks to ultra fresh desserts, it was first class. Not our first visit and certainly more to come!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time my wife and I we ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is the second time my wife and I went here for our anniversary, and it was the same amazing experience the second time as it was the first time. Intimate setting, amazing food, and outstanding service all add up to an amazing overall experience. Plus, the dessert room is an amazing way to top off a great dinner date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place to celebrate special occas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A great place to celebrate special occasions. The pepper steak is outstanding. The high prices are justified by the food quality and level of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We made reservations for a special dinne ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We made reservations for a special dinner for 2. I immediately loved the ambience of this very charming restaurant. We had a lovely table for two by the window. Our wine was wonderful and very affordable. I love roast duck and was very pleased that I ordered it. My husband loved his strip steak. The service was super. Our only issue was that they seated a party of 5 right next to us while the rest of the room was empty except for one other table. This party was boisterously celebrating an event and made conversation between my husband and me impossible and uncomfortable.

Despite that problem, we loved the restaurant, and the food, and make this a regular stop when we visit Longboat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck was excellent! We also loved the sh ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Duck was excellent! We also loved the shortbreads dish. The preparation was spot on and delicious. We will be back!! Perfect romantic spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Since we live on the mainland it is a dr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Since we live on the mainland it is a drive but a beautiful day and the restaurant is all that I expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Euphemia Haye is always a favorite "must ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Euphemia Haye is always a favorite "must-dine" when we visit the Longboat Key area. It's always consistent in gourmet-quality food and the atmosphere so inviting. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and attentive to guests. And, the banana-nut bread to start the meal is a real treat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

There were 4 of us there for my wife's b ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

There were 4 of us there for my wife's birthday. We were seated quickly. The food was great, the wine selection was great. Everything was very good except the waiter. He was too in a hurry to get done with us and move on to some other table. He did not explain the specials very well, he rushed us through our ordering process (I wasn't even done yet when he went on to the next person) and he did not explain the wine selection when I asked him to. We've been here many times and never had such a bad experience with any of the wait staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We were first time at the restaurant, wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were first time at the restaurant, was Sarasota restaurant week.

We all had a pre-set menu as a special.

Duck liver in appetizer was dry, two of us had a filet as a main course -

it was TASTELESS,couldn't finish.

The highlight was a duck-excellent!

Overall -restaurant is very dated,no view,feel cramped.

Dont think im going back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lost its luster. Ok if you live nearby I ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Lost its luster. Ok if you live nearby I suppose with little else to choose from. No longer worth the drive off the mainland. At first I thought we just got a weak server, then the mediocre food started arriving. After 30 adult years living in the area, this spot is of my restaurant destination list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We took our friends from out of town for ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We took our friends from out of town for their 39th anniversary. They loved it! We have been there several times and it is always such of a beautiful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, a wonderful experience at Euph ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

As usual, a wonderful experience at Euphemia Haye. The duck and filet with peppercorn sauce both great. The Caesar salad was perfect also. We enjoy going upstairs afterwards for a drink, and listen to the music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute favorite for more than thirt ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

An absolute favorite for more than thirty years, service, food and ambiance all superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding. Have been dining wit ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always outstanding. Have been dining with them for over 20 years and they always do a great job. Food is fantastic and the service superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not overly friendly. We wer ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Service was not overly friendly. We were stuck at a table near a door which has not been cleaned in a very, very long time. Wine suggestion was excellent but they only had one bottle of it. Food was delicious and plated attractively.

Desert room was noisy, deserts were generous portions and very good. Again, wait staff were not very friendly. Not rude exactly but they seemed to be a bit put out to be there. For 4 people, our bill was about $400.00. At that price, I would expect a pleasant smile at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious dinner followed by dessert ups ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Delicious dinner followed by dessert upstairs in the Loft with live entertainment in the bar area.

Excellent service. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in the Sa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the Sarasota-Bradenton area. It is great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.