About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D'Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Private Party Facilities:
An intimate room that has a table large enough to seat 12 people. The private dining room seats at 6:00 p.m. or 9:00 p.m. A food and beverage minimum + tax and gratuity will apply.

Private Party Contact:
Colin Wilson: (941) 383-3633

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Brooke, Monday - Friday from 10:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Romantic (54)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Cozy (48)
Worth the Drive (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for a Date (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Historic (25)
Authentic (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Live Music (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We've been coming for more then 20 years, and have enjoyed a wonderful experience every single time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

As a kid, we used to come down from New York State in the 1960's during Easter with our mom back when Euphemia Haye would advertise in the old Holiday Magazine. We've been admirers and patrons that long. As always, food is excellent and the old Florida ambience will never be duplicated. And let's not forget about the dessert room. For years my husband and I have been coming down over Memorial Day to Lido Key and friends drive down from Tampa to join us for dinner: it is that good. Cocktails at The Chart House, then dinner and coffee and dessert at Euphemia Haye is a lovely tradition. Downtown Sarasota is a splendid food scene; but this is truly one of the originals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy dining at Euphemia Haye. The food is spectacular. We recommend the duck and the chicken florentine.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Outstanding dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food ..service like a chain restaurant. Good for foodies but fine dining? Misses the mark by far. They are not shy on pricing but the food doesn't make up for a Below average evening. Lots of better choices. Check yelp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We tried this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend. We were visiting from the east coast of Florida. My boyfriend had the fish and it was excellent. I had the duck (because I read that it was a specialty) and it was good. I would have liked the option to have the duck without the bread stuffing. After dinner, we went upstairs to hear the music and have coffee and desert. The atmosphere upstairs was very nice and the bartender was excellent. Overall, we were under-whelmed based on the reviews we had read. However, I would recommend this restaurant as a place to go if you are looking to celebrate a very special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always amazing! Fun though sophisticated dishes, great service and an insanely good dessert bar upstairs.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 11, 2017

FABULOUS! HAVE BEEN COMING TO THIS RESTAURANT SINCE IT OPENED!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very much enjoyed the whole experience, bar, to dinner, to dessert and music upstairs

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The duck is the best! Also love the cauliflower mash and great grouper as well. My all time favorite sarasota restaurant for both food and ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Still one of the best on LBK.
Best veal dishes around.
Upstairs bar/dessert bar is amazing.
Unique after dinner drink menu.
Well worth the money!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The best fine dining on the Island! Exceptional service, food, ambience. Very beautiful and inviting. Can't wait to. Go back! Highly recommend!

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best Duck in the USA. Well worth the drive from Siesta Keys.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food is average at best and way overpriced. The portions were small. The service was not up to the pricey menu. Extremely disappointed and feel we got ripped off!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Second time visiting and it was again fantastic!! I would recommend!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was disappointing visit given we had looked forward to it since planning our annual visit to Longboat Key. Last year, we were thrilled with everything there (being able to watch the chef work and look into the garden to food & service.)

Upon arrival on 4/29, the hostess took us to a small table against a wall in their crowded "private" dining room. When we inquired about another table we saw in the next room against the window and commented about our prior experience, she dismissively said the table we saw was reserved and those guests were coming in right behind us (they arrived 30 minutes later.)

We sat for a while and our server finally came over. The customary banana nut bread was delivered, but was dry. We ordered a Caesar Salad to share (which last year we could see being prepared) and it was fine. We both ordered noisettes of beef with peppercorn sauce, which came with mashed potatoes. We had a brief discussion about ordering some Brussels Sprouts, but we opted out in favor of room for dessert. Nonetheless, those sprouts still were brought out.

The entree was absolutely smothered in the peppercorn sauce to the point that nothing had any taste. The beef was over cooked and the potatoes smothered under sauce and some wilted greens. The chef actually came by to check on us, but it seemed a standard visit and we did not elect to engage in a crowded room about our disappointment.

Things only got worse when we headed upstairs to the dessert room, which we thought might redeem the experience. Our server properly handed us off to a nice lady that explained each dessert. We then asked to be seated outside and then sat for 15 minutes before I had to go in and ask for our server. She went looking for the server and proceeded to tell him we had been waiting forever. One couple actually got up and left. Our server had no personality and I'm certain delivered us fully caffeinated coffee. We got a bill, but simply left cash while waiting for change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great food and service but tables are squeezed in making it uncomfortable

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 25, 2017

A great dinning experience...as always! We always bring our friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

A made to order Cesar's salad is a whole different experience from the ones with pre-made dressings at most places. The fresh garlic and anchovy mix with the Parmesan and oil and cold fresh romain for a truly original experience. You haven't had a Caesar until you've had one here.

The dishes are classics, and prepared with care. Menu items are a la carte, but the sides are enough for 2 when they come. The pate' appetizer was creamy and delicious.

The wait staff was friendly, attentive and professional. I do not recommend children under 10 or 12 attend. This is one of the disappearing places for grown ups.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fabulous time with best friends. Decor is very cozy and fun. Excellent food. Great deserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Beautiful ambience, impeccable service, and an incredible, creative menu with delectable creations for the most discerning foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

So we were told to go here for the duck . Omg. The duck is soooo good but even knowing that had hard choices. The menu is extensive and our waiter was not only wonderful but knowledgeable, amiable and gave great recommendations. My wife had the grouper special. Also omg. The wine list was among the best and the mark up was reasonable.
Then we went for dessert upstairs . There is no way to say no so either bite the bullet and go or get out of dodge when you can .
We will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were greeted vrry friendly as we walked in the door. Told the hostess we wanted to go upstairs for a cocktail n we would be back down for dinner. Thwy accomodated our request nicely and our table was waitimg for us when we csme down.

Food and service was A1.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent cuisine with very unique dishes and a wonderful dessert selection upstairs.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We went to EH for an anniversary dinner on a Thursday. The ambiance, service and of course the food, were all superb. Our waiter, Dave, gently nudged toward a great bottle of wine when I was on the fence. Salmon crepe app was split onto to attractive plates rather than dumped on one plate to share. The snapper entree was great, and the Peppered Steak was just spectacular. Sides were perfect. Dessert (pecan pie) was good, not great, but the french pressed coffee was really good. Special place, always worth the long ride, need to go more often! Thanks for a memorable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very disappointed in overall experience . Thought way over priced for dinner. Soup was watery for I think $12 then we had the bruschetta which had 2 pieces for around $8 . My wife had breaded grouper that was not cooked well and I had the Veal which was cooked too much. Would not waste my money here if I were you .

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! Love everything about this gem and beloved treasure.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had never been to Euphemia Haye and thought we'd try it at Easter. I had black pants in and the napkins were white. Most upscale restaurants automatically change the napkin to match. That was not automatic but they asked if I wanted the change of napkin. Shouldn't ask.... just do.
They had a special menu. The lamb was good along with the potatoes and white beans that came with it on the same plate. Lamb juice created a stew like look to the plate. The presentation was simple ad nothing memorable. My partner had the grouper and it was very good. Again, a very average presentation.
Dessert can be taken in the dining room or one can go upstairs to the dessert bar. We opted for the later. They had a nice assortment of cakes and pies but we opted for the cherries jubilee. There was plenty of ice cream but no taste to the strawberries or the liquor used to enhance the flavor.
So, the overall experience was good but not great. We're not planning a return in the near future except to the bar area for live music and perhaps a try of a different dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and specials were quite varied. There is something for everyone. The Caesar salad is one of the best I've had. Definitely would recommend the seafood.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Duck is still wonderful after all these years. Other then our 2 top table being a bit tight everything was perfect!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food is excellent! Freshly prepared and perfectly seasoned and served with class on beautiful dishes. The menu includes something for everyone, and the chef can make changes when necessary for food allergies. There is a "Haye Loft" upstairs with live music and wonderful desserts. Euphemia Haye has been owned and run by the same chef and his wife for 38 years. It is pricey, but worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Have been coming for 40+ years, still very good. This year the meal was better than last year. Must be what I ordered. Get the duck especially if green peppercorn sauce is on the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is the best restaurant on Longboat Key. We Rae never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food and service is always exceptional and is the reason we choose to dine there on a regular basis. It is our favorite restaurant on LBK.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Desserts highly overrated but the steak was outstanding and the veal dish was superb

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great evening at Euphemia. Caesar salad, scallops and snapper were excellent. Service was great and the best part was going upstairs to enjoy dessert and live music.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

One of my all time favorites in food, ambiance and service. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We heard about Euphemia Haye from a friend. It was our favorite restaurant so far! The ambience is kind of artsy and eclectic. The server was very nice and helpful. We were not rushed at all. The food was excellent! Very gourmet style. After a great dinner, we were ushered upstairs to a fabulous dessert bar. The dessert was to die for! There is a piano player in the bar too you can hear. Word of warning.... the patrons from the restaurant have first dibs on the dessert bar upstairs. We saw several people trying to just go upstairs and were turned away. If the restaurant is not busy, you can eat upstairs (like pizza or limited menu) and have dessert. Loved this place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This evening was my birthday celebration with my husband. The restaurant never mentioned it, even though it was on our reservation through Open Table? We shared the pate (well presented and tasty) and duck livers (a little dry, but the wasabi salad greens were great). Entrees were the lamb shank and I had the grouper special. Both came out on hot plates and prepared well. Our side of Brussel sprouts was over cooked. (I ate them because I love them). I just have to comment on the chef doing steak flambé and Caesar salads . He had a station in the middle of the room, tore the romaine with his bare hands, not appealing, glad I did not have the ceasar! Dessert was upstairs, nice selection! My dessert was packed in a Chinese take out container to go home? It was not so nice looking at home!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.