About Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL

Since 1980, Chef Raymond and D'Arcy Arpke have operated this exquisite restaurant set inside a charming island bungalow. Considered one of the most romantic "restaurants in the country." Euphemia Haye is well known for its creative and carefully sourced ingredients, impeccable service and intimate atmosphere. Featuring a diverse, satisfying, eclectic menu that "wows" diners with favorites including Euphemia Haye's famous Prime Pepper Steak, Roast Ducking with seasonal sauces, Sweetbreads, nightly Veal and fresh, local Fish specials. Food writers such as Fodor's and the New York Times, consistently describe Euphemia Haye as being "extraordinary" and "the stuff dreams are made of." Euphemia Haye is ranked among the nation's top restaurants. Please visit our web site at www.EuphemiaHaye.com for more of our menu offerings, awards, FAQ and to learn about the Haye Loft and make a reservation.

5540 Gulf of Mexico Dr
Longboat Key, FL 34228
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner; Sunday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 383-3633

Website:
http://www.euphemiahaye.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano jazz is featured nightly in our upstairs lounge.

Parking Details:
Free parking is directly behind building, and across the side street.

Public Transit:
There is an MCAT bus stop, one block north of us.

Executive Chef:
Chef Raymond Arpke

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentine's Day reservations are being taken by phone only. Please call our office at 941.383.3633 and speak with Brooke, Monday - Friday from 10:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. to reserve your table

Euphemia Haye - Longboat Key, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (7)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort by
S
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food in an old time Florida setting. Classic restaurant. One of the best in the Sarasota/Longboat Key area. The Caesar salad, escargot, red snapper, pepper steak, and sweetbreads are recommended though the menu is extensive and there is something for everyone. The quality and preparation were excellent. The wine list is extensive and with
a great selection of wines from around the world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2017

I am reluctant to leave my review because it's already hard enough to get reservations in season. Nonetheless, again everything was wonderful. The sweetbread dinner is the best I have had any where in the world. My wife and I make a trip 2-3 times a year from Naples to enjoy this excellent restaurant and after dinner cordial and dessert bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

LOVE this place! Over the years, it has stayed consistently wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This has always been my favorite restaurant in the Sarasota area. The food is always good (I always order the duck). This restaurant is expensive by any standard. I have noticed some variability in the quality of the duck.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Consistently excellent food in a warm setting with great service....what else can you ask for ???

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Sent you an email two days ago advising Euphemia Haye had not honored my reward certificate,
No response from you to date . I now question the simplicity of using my 10,000 points
in .my account for future dining
Eugene Trudeau
941-377-8158

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 27, 2017

lovely meal at Euphemia Haye, it has been over 15 years since we have returned to Euphemia Haye, but we have such fond memories so we booked it again with friends. We were not disappointed, food, service and ambiance was all top notch. My red fish was delicious, our friend said it was the best duck he has ever had and the veal so tender and done to perfection. Wish we had room for dessert! We will return hopefully we it won't be 15 years!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Through the years we have been to Euphemia Hayes for special occasions. We had a friend get together and decided to make it a special time. The setting and location is a throwback to when you went to “dine” not just dinner. It is a ellegent and comfortable setting with excellent service. The upstairs dessert room is a must. We all enjoyed the evening. My only complaint is the food . When you spend $38 for a curry shrimp dinner you expect quality - but it was not so. A couple of the shrimp were mushy and the curry was mostly onion and peppers not a sauce. My companion. Had the veal that was sliced so thin it looked like deli meat. The side of potatoes pancakes was almost burnt. On the positive side those who chose the snapper said it was delicious and everyone enjoyed the Brussels sprouts. They need to work on their food - but it was a fun night!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We enjoyed delicious food, great , friendly service and amazing desserts in this quaint, charming place !

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our anniversary was celebrated with excellence at Euphemia Haye. The choices and food preparation were excellent along with a fine bottle of wine. Our server, David, was an exceptional professional who made our experience memorable.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this restaurant. Food was superb, service was excellent. We have tried for quite some time to get in. It was worth the wait!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was amazing- we both had roast duck. The portions were generous and the price was good for fine dining. For $39 each, we each chose an appetizer or salad, entree and a dessert from a select menu. The service was prompt, but the waiter was neither friendly not unfriendly. He was just uninspired. Overall, we were impressed by all facets of our food and would go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Went for anniversary dinner Great food and service. We both ordered duck and thoroughly enjoyed it and a bottle of wine. Our waiter has been with this family owned restaurant for forty years . He gave attententive but not obtrusive service throughout our dinner . The all inclusive fixed menu specials allow you to enjoy five star dining at reasonable prices .

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Superb food and good service. We were seated in a room titled "private room". There were three tables for two and one for six. The six people in the six table monopolized the noise and almost ruined a delicious meal and pleasant evening. The room was too small for three tables for two and one for six.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2017

First time diner. Food was very good. Upstairs deserts are awesome

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our dining experience at Euphemia Haye very much. The food and service were both very good indeed. We will most definitely recommend it to friends and we will return again.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My wife and I have been going to this restaurant 3 or 4 times a year for many years and it has always been a good experience. This time, however, it was not. When I made reservations they asked if it was for a special occasion and I said yes. It was for my wife's birthday and I asked for a table for 2 by a window. When we arrived they walked us right past a table for 2 by a window and seated us instead against a wall between 2 large tables. Nothing special was noted for my wife's birthday so I don't know why they asked in the first place. The waiter seemed rushed and was not very attentive or helpful. When I asked for a recommendation for wine, he seemed confused and just suggested what he liked. After my wife and I finished our first drinks, there was no offer of another. I had to flag him done to ask for refills. He never brought them. Then suddenly remembered and brought me mine but not my wife's. Every other time we were there, the waiter would ask if we wanted a table upstairs in the dessert room. This one did not. We had to tell him we would like to go upstairs for dessert. Overall the food was good but the service was not. I don't think we will go there again anytime soon and I don't expect the owners to care since we are not exactly regular visitors.

Tags: Good for a Date
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

First time visitor - salad made in front of us. Shrimp very fresh with good spice. Duck outstanding. And desert - wow! Recommend the warm brownie with a scoop.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great food, very nice service. Chef slight modified my sweetbread based on request, my wife ordered the Gamberetti e Capellini. Bother were excellent! The Haye Loft offers a great spot for desert, after dinner drink and when available music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Special place for a special occasion. Great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was okay, but not amazing for the price that you pay. The recommended New York Strip Peppercorn steak was tough and only the very center was medium rare. The service was also just okay. Everything was just okay. If you are going to spend $200+ on a special dinner there are better local places to go.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. The food, service, and atmosphere is amazing. Kudo's to Chef Ray and all of the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Euphemia Haye was a beautiful experience. The staff makes you feel as if you are their most important customer. The menu is diverse. The meal I chose was very tasty and the presentation Love

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food, great service and a dessert room that has you questioning 'have I died and gone to heaven.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Been coming here for 23 years and the place impresses me every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I have been to this Restaurant a total of four times and never have been disappointed in the service, presentation or the food. Simply great.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were hosting some friends for the weekend. They love good food and wine. Our experience was very good and the service was perfect. We all really enjoyed the evening. Thanks for doing such a good job.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is a perfect spot for special occasions and fine dining, but in a semi-casual environment.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food and service were amazing!
Server was friendly and made great recommendations!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had our wedding night dinner here almost 10 years ago and it was amazing. Tonight, since we were staying in the area, decided to have dinner here, and again, amazing. The ambiance, service and the FOOD, delicious! A wonderful place to have a memorable time. Thank you for another fantastic memory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always an outstanding dining experience. It does seem to becoming a bit more closed-in with more tables. Try to save room and plan for more time with the dessert room upstairs.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Been going here for many years and Excellent as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I have been going to Euphemia Haye for close to four decades. To me the food is the star. It is artfully prepared and consistently excellent. In my opinion their signature dishes, which are Peppered Steak and Crispy Duck, are simply the best you can get. My favorite is the peppered steak, and it has no rival. I have never had one anywhere that compares to it. My wife loves the crispy duck. We do glance at the menu, but we always seem to order the same things because they are that good. The décor is relaxing and elegant, yet unpretentious. The feeling is that of a true French country inn. Their key staff have been there forever, and we know many by name. They have always been friendly and professional. The Caesar salads are prepared at a station in view from most tables, and are wonderful. It is expensive, so we reserve it for special occasions. It is one of our absolute favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Euphemia Haye. For appetizer we shared the Chef's Pate and then a Caesar Salad with anchovies. Both were excellent and the portions were ample. Our entrees were Pork Osso Buco and Famous Roast Duck. My wife likes her duck real crispy which it was and it was cooked to perfection. We also ordered a side of roasted brussel sprouts. We ended the meal with Banana Cream Pie that we shared. All in all, an excellent meal. We will dine there again next time in Sarasota.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We were very disappointed in our food. It was extremely bland with very little taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very pleasant and quiet with gracious service.
A gem on LBK

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A little disappointed in this visit. The ceasar salad was excellent. My husband's sweetbreads are the best dish in town. The special veal schnitzel was disappointing. Not a typical version..and not great. Tough, no flavor except for bell pepper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delightful evening, dinner was delicious! Our waiter, David, was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delightful and delicious! Loved my wine choice. Conundrum white. The black grouper was flavorful and the desserts were as much fun to look at as to eat. The wait service was perfectly attentive, informative and gracious. And ah... the ambiance... an island setting... It's one of my favorite places to dine on the islands.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with friends. The service by Glenn was outstanding as was every dish we had. The pepper steak has been on the menu forever and is still as wonderfully flavorful as it has ever been. There is a great selections of wine, too. The rooms are decorated eclectic and not too many tables per room. Upstairs in the Haye Loft, the dessert table will surprise you no matter how many times you've been there. Every night there are amazing desserts. Our group shared 4 and not a crumb was left. DELICIOUS!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.