Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

The Hatch Rotisserie & BarThe Hatch Rotisserie & Bar
(181)
$$$$
American | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 7 times today
Il Cortile RistoranteIl Cortile Ristorante
(1287)
$$$$
Italian | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 15 times today
ArtisanArtisan
(2181)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 7 times today
La Cosecha Bar and RestaurantLa Cosecha Bar and Restaurant
(163)
$$$$
Latin / Spanish | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 4 times today
PanolivoPanolivo
(231)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
MisturaMistura
(111)
$$$$
Peruvian | San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 2 times today
Villa Creek RestaurantVilla Creek Restaurant
(618)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Cello Ristorante & BarCello Ristorante & Bar
(58)
$$$$
Continental | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 7 times today
The Steakhouse at Paso Robles InnThe Steakhouse at Paso Robles Inn
(35)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 4 times today
Nino's GrillNino's Grill
(2)
$$$$
American | Templeton, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 1 time today
The Restaurant at JUSTIN Vineyards & WineryThe Restaurant at JUSTIN Vineyards & Winery
(252)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Cambria Pines LodgeCambria Pines Lodge
(243)
$$$$
Organic | Cambria, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 8 times today
Apple Farm RestaurantApple Farm Restaurant
(326)
$$$$
American | San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 7 times today
Granada BistroGranada Bistro
(219)
$$$$
Californian | San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 12 times today
Foremost Wine CompanyForemost Wine Company
(102)
$$$$
Contemporary American | San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Booked 2 times today

About Estrella

815 12th St
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

Estrella is a tapas bar that specializes in authentic Latin American cuisine. The interior of the restaurant is modern and trendy, with dining tables spaced widely apart to ensure a private and comfortable dining experience. At the same time, larger groups can be accommodated easily. If you will be dining with a large group, remember to reserve your table ahead of time. Enjoy your meal at Estrella with a glass of wine from its extensive wine menu.

Begin your meal with a selection from the wide range of tapas on the menu, including black mussels steamed in chorizo-smoked chile cream sauce or crispy masa cakes topped with slow cooked shredded chicken, chipotle-tomatillo sauce, sour cream and spicy cabbage salad. Estrella's entrées include signature dishes like Kahlua-glazed pork chop served with garlic mashed potatoes and Argentinian-style grilled ribeye. For dessert, try a popular Latin bread pudding called capirotada.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Friday- Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dinner: Friday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Park St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 226-5406

Website:
http://www.estrellarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Full Catering Division lead by Chef Garret Cowan and team, directed by Amanda Landon. Tables, linens, fully upholstered chairs, decor and experienced service staff. 5 years experience gives a multitude of menus and menu options to the guest. Past reviews speak to surprisingly reasonable rates.
For a quote contact amandalandon@gmail.com

Public Transit:
AM Track Train Depot 2 blocks south on cross street -Pine street

Executive Chef:
Travis Borba

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Month Guest Brewery Dinners! Every month Estrella invites a new Beer Brewery to pair their latin menu, and the guest reap the rewards!
Abundant plates of delicious food and tall glasses of chilled beer are dispensed, while guests learn about various beer making techniques and unusual styles and components of both the brews and the food. Executive Chef Travis Borba, Chef Mike Learned, as well as manager Aric Grimes love to create and host these dinners that end up being a good time sell out.

Sort By:
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went on a night that they did not have t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Went on a night that they did not have their liquor license due to transition of ownership. Needless to say on a Friday night in Paso Robles, the place was pretty empty. My date and I had our fill of wine tastings so we were more concerned about eating. The mussels and empanadas were really good and the half chicken very flavorful . Two apps and an entree was more than enough to two. Would come back once they get their liquor license squared away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

No liquor license for a month

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 17, 2015

No liquor license for a month so hardly anyone in the restaurant especially since it was Harvest Wine Weekend.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Estrella is exquisite!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2015

I had the enchiladas with both sauces! The rice, the corn, the chips and salsa (especially the chips) were great. Huge portions. Great waiter, so accommodating. My sangria was really tasting and their wine list had a really good selection of local wines. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent food in downtown Paso

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Nothing special about Estrella except the service. The food was average and the decor dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Terrific Menu with Great Execution

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Great flavors with amazing service. Our server answered our questions about the menu and recommended certain wines off of the local wine menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Vibrant place with fantastic food.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Plenty of interesting and delicious menu choices. I had the Argentinian steak and it was all it was billed to be, and more. Other dinner companions had steak and salmon dishes...all were exquisite. There were two large and loud parties going on in the restaurant during our meal, but the dining room seems to accommodate the noise well. Service was personable and prompt and pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We will be back!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 12, 2015

We don't go out to eat often and when we do it's to restaurants we already know we love. We decided to gamble and try something new. We are very happy we did. Estrella was fantastic . The ambiance inviting. I loved the exposed brick and the beautiful wood. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Everything on the menu sounded wonderful and we both had a hard time deciding what to eat. I don't like fish, but one of the fish dishes sounded so good I almost ordered it anyway! The plating was beautiful and the food delicious. I look forward to eating at Estrella again in the future and would recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a slow meal with friends

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2015

This place has fantastic energy and some interesting items on the menu like like cactus mushroom soup. Everything was delicious. We had the Jamaican Seafood Curry which came with generous pieces of fish, scallops, prawns, mussels, and clams. That dish was done well and slightly too rich. The second dish was the grilled pork with some sort of maple sauce. The pork chop was done PERFECTLY, which can be very difficult. The sauce was a tad bit too sweet and overwhelming with maple.

The service was very slow and the servers were extremely understaffed. Our server was knowledgeable and had good recommendations for pairings. Our two person dinner lasted about 2 hours.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Loved it!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2015

Really interesting menu--Latin/Argentinian. Starting with chips and salsa (restaurant cooked black beans, fresh corn and tomatoes), to the salad (jicama/mandarin orange), to the lovely rib eye, everything was excellent. The hot pepper-infused jicama was a bit picante for my husband, but just right for me.

We'll come back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Somewhat disappointing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2015

Menu sounds great, however several dishes were under seasoned, both salt and pepper. God is good, but really could be much better. Once interior and excellent service. Marginal recommend based one one visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food and attentive service.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2015

We were a party of 4 who had dinner here to celebrate a birthday! The food was fantastic! The Carnitas Chile Relleno was outstanding, different but the best I have ever had! Others dining had the Seafood Curry and Grilled Ribeye that were also outstanding choices! Our server was thoughtful and attentive too! Great place to dine, I would recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great night out!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 9, 2015

We met our friends here before a concert. Great variety of food and even though the menu was small, we all loved our choices. Service was attentive but not rushed, even on a Saturday night. Thanks, Estrella's, for making our evening so enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anytime we are on the road in the direct ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2015

Anytime we are on the road in the direction of San Luis Obispo, or on the way back from visiting relatives in Las Vegas, we keep finding excuses to swing by Paso Robles. One of the main reasons is to eat supper at Estrella. Often it's a great break in the drive back to SF. Consistently great food and service. Eric (again) maintains a great wine list and always provides samples to ensure the best wine for a meal. We can't seem to get away from the Jamaican seafood curry - yum. Dependable, relaxing, and always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very disappointed

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 20, 2015

Booked this restaurant based on reviews. I was a bit worried when none of the locals we met recommended it. It turns out the locals were right! Very nice ambiance and our server was engaging however that is about it. The grilled scallop cerviche was a joke. it was some scallops with no grill flavor mixed with diced mango in what tasted like the juice in a jar of mango s. My Mahi Mahi with Jumbo Prawns was overcooked, dry' with no real flavor. And the the prawns were by no means "jumbo". My wife's Jamaican seafood curry was OK. Also the wait for our food was so long that the server had to apologize for it. Overall not a place I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Fabulous!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2015

First visit for me and my family. The ambiance is elegant yet family friendly. My son is a very picky eater and loved the steak. The waiter was excellent and very accommodating. We really enjoyed the sangria and queso fundido! I had the rib eye steak and it was cooked perfectly! My side of squash was also super yummy and I'm not a fan of squash :) we will definitely go there again and I will recommend to all of my friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday occasion lunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Had a lovely celebratory Sunday lunch for 12. They were all set up for us and service was prompt, warm and welcoming. Love the decorative interior. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

More like comfort food than fine dining

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Dinner for 4 while visiting Paso. Food was all well prepared. I had the pork chop special and it was excellent, but like I titled the review, it is more like comfort food than a fine dining experience. Our server was great and everyone enjoyed their meals. The scallop ceviche was quite good as a starter. Portions were nice without being overwhelming. Overall, a nice find.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

excellent food, quiet atmosphere fresh bold flavor

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 31, 2015

The food is always very fresh and full of interesting combinations of favors. We always enjoy our time there by ourselves or with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 24, 2015

We had another wonderful meal here with our friends. Our favorite server, Javier, suggested that I try the special, which was salmon. It was to die for!!! Thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Place

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 16, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner. Lots of tapas to choose from. Delicious soup. Entree was very good too (Enchilada). My only complaint was the sauce was supposed to be spicy but was very mild instead. It was still tasty though. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and Service

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 13, 2015

Looked good online and went with a friend. Had the Patagonia steak, really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

server Anthony was 5star; checked on us ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2015

server Anthony was 5star; checked on us without crowding; recommendations spot-on; food not found elsewhere/excellent; location in heart of town

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flavor that excites your taste buds!!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 26, 2015

Estrella was awesome from begging to end..... Javier our waiter was exceptional. Attentive, kind and very nice. the food is the bomb. Yucca fries so good and the Coconut fish burst with flavor every bite makes your mouth happy. This place is a must, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit and we loved it!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2015

The food was original Spanish food. Our waiter was very helpful in helping us decided what food and wine to pair together. He even put the spicey saice for my duck tamales on the side without my asking. The tamales and the nightly special Chili Rellleno with short ribs was amazing. We cannot wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Worth Trying

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2015

In the area for winetasting and spring scenery, we had noticed the food on the plates of diners on small front patio in walking around town, but the restaurant was packed on that Saturday night. We returned the next evening for an earlier dinner, and found the food to be as tasteful as it was beautifully presented. Portions are large so we enjoyed the delicious leftover chicken leg the next day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Recommended

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Great service, great location across from the square, diverse menu, wait staff attentive - great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Had a few appetizers-the Yucca fries were wonderful and filling. The Empenadas were delicious. This was enough for the two of us. Decided to have the Bread Pudding for dessert. Was delicious, very rich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic dinner in Paso Robles

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2015

Passing Through Paso Robles stop to have dinner Estrella was a small place with great ambiance in and out side dinning. The menu had small verity of tapas and very basic it was good but not exciting or original in selection I ordered the Sea bass special, fish was fresh and tasty but didn't care for the sauce, my husband on the other hand did enjoy it our dinner came with rice and vegetables kind of bland be cooked well. While desert menu was limited wind list was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Staff was great, food was wonderful.

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 22, 2015

We had the best meal and service. We had 9 people and they were so attentive, on time, friendly, just wonderful food and ambiance. We all will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a fabulous place, for a group or just 2.

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 21, 2015

We started and ended our wine weekend in Paso Robles at this restaurant and just loved it. Our group of foodies thoroughly enjoyed the food and wine. Great selection of tapas, entrees. Great energy to the restaurant, wonderful service. We just set a new tradition for our annual wine trip. One tip: just keep asking for more bread to get every drop of sauce from the muscles with chorizo....or you could tip the bowl and drink it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Frequent LA visitors to PR...but our fir ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2015

Frequent LA visitors to PR...but our first time here. We enjoyed meal and service and although it was a weekday we felt the ambiance fell short. Lighting was bright rather than romantic. Music was very low which did nothing to enhance the restaurants Latin fusion inspiration. Ambiance is an essential component to any restaurant and often is at least part of the consideration when choosing a place to dine. Estrella may benefit as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Latin Find

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 10, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner at Estrella very much. We've had dinner there twice and lunch once. Friendly restaurant with good service and delicious food. The Latin flair make it very interesting and fun to try new things. Has a great varied menu.

J

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food....reasonably priced

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2015

Enjoyed our dinner here...food was delivered promptly...great presentation....and it was all delicious....and reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An excellent choice

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 7, 2015

We decided to try the number 2 restaurant from Trip Advisor. The food was amazing and wonderfully creative. Our server was excellent and directed us if we asked him. Empanades were wonderful and the apple dessert was exceptional. Recommend them highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great Valentine's dinner! The a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2015

We had a great Valentine's dinner! The ambiance was very nice and romantic and Chef Mike made amazing food! Our waiter Josh was great and took very good care of us. We will definitely go back:-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Valentines Experience

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2015

I took my wife here for Valentines day. We were fortunate to have the manager wait on us and he did a great job. They went over and above on everything. Very knowledgeable. It was not our first time and it will definitely not be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AWESOME! I took my husband and our son ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2015

AWESOME! I took my husband and our son for an early Valentine dinner. The food was fantastic and our waiter Javier (I think) was amazing, and despite him being extremely busy he always had a smile to share and was attentive to us and the others enjoying the evening... THANK YOU! We will recommend Estrella to our friends and are looking forward to going back to try another fabulous dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Concept - Just Needs To Step Up A Notch

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2015

Would like to see some better choices offered in regards to protein and gluten. This concept would be awesome if it could step up to some grass fed/pasture meats and wild (not farmed) seafood offerings on the menu. It's also frustrating trying to uncover the sources of gluten for those with sensitivities. If the plantains need to be covered in flour before frying better choice would be rice flour.

Service was awesome as Cindy was very kind and sincerely generous to our group. She was just flat out great. Though would honestly be happier with average service and quality of food stepped up a notch. See too much of that on menu. Concept is great and some of the items are brilliant and well thought out. Just step up the sourcing of higher quality to meet the needs of today's nutrition. More and more people are also willing to pay for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Paso Robles Dining

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2015

We had a wonderful dining experience at Estrella's. The food was unique with an Argentinian flare which was absolutely tremendous. In addition to the great food, the service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Will come back...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2015

My husband loved his luncheon sandwich. I was disappointed that I forgot to let wait staff know that needed lo sodium chicken for my southwest club. Lunch was well presented and staff cheerful and friendly. As it was my oversight, will definitely come back and look forward to ordering one of the chef's special creations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.