About Estia Taverna – Radnor

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for Lunch or Dinner!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for New Year's Eve we will be open until 2:00 a.m.
Live DJ and Complimentary Champagne Toast at Midnight!
Full menu available

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Authentic (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Business Meals (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Healthy (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Family Style (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (6)
Live Music (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tapas (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Authentic Greek food and excellent servi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Authentic Greek food and excellent service! Staff was helpful and friendly. So many good dessert options, it's hard to choose!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Estia when it first opened an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Estia when it first opened and was delighted with the food selection and the reasonable prices, since the Locust Street location is quite expensive. Well, something changed. The menu is now less exciting and the prices are outrageous. $28/lb for Dory fish? I don't think so. And the wine list is just as steep. We stuck with the "common" Greek food and I must say everything was delicious and the prices more reasonable. But it will probably be a while until we return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I like Estia. The chips for an appetizer ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I like Estia. The chips for an appetizer are fantastic. The seafood is great. But, I do think it is overpriced. It starts off oddly with a plastic menu and no table cloth (which makes the room noisy). Many of the dishes come out looking a little sad. Most recently, I ordered a swordfish kebab and it comes out with great flavor, but just that. Not even a few grains of rice to go with it. Heck, not even a garnish. You have to spend extra to buy a side dish to go with it. I think at those entree price points (most between $25-$40), they could throw a scoop of rice on that plate. But food is good. Just be forewarned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food; great, friendly, experienced ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food; great, friendly, experienced service. A neiborhood restaurant as good as its center city sister.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was so looking forward to great Greek fo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

Was so looking forward to great Greek food with my friend while our husbands attended a whiskey dinner at Teresa's in Wayne. This was our first time at Estia. I was very happy with the ambiance as we entered ....liked the rustic feel. Our waiter, George, was excellent. He even suggested trying each of 2 wines, since I could not decide. I did, and very much enjoyed my choice of a Greek white. Even though I have been to Greece many times, my friend had questions about selections on the menu. George, of course, was very familiar and explained each question. We ultimately chose a Greek white fish at $38 per pound to share. The supposed 2 pounds we shared looked very sparse, with a bit of Horta on the side. Not much for the $76, in my opinion. The dolmades and grilled octopus appetizers were just ok. Very disappointed in the octopus. $87 each for just an "ok" meal was very disappointing. Should have just eaten at Teresa's Next Door while our guys were at their dinner. Sorry to give such a review, but again, the service was excellent and ambiance was appealing. Don't know if I'll give it a second chance

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Frequent Estia- always great service and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Frequent Estia- always great service and great food. Excellent wine selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific fish. Octopus appetizer is amaz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Terrific fish. Octopus appetizer is amazing. Nice atmosphere

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this restaurant- The food is outsta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love this restaurant- The food is outstanding. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very good. Service was excellent. The manager came over to see how things were which is a nice touch. Our server picked up in the fact that it was my wife's birthday and brought a little treat . Very pleasant evening. Wine was a little pricey but what are you going to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

the food is superb. service was excellen ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

the food is superb. service was excellent. very, very loud with a very busy bar scene. the live music seemed only to add to the noise level. but the noise is worth it for the superb food. Outstanding wine advisor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A good meal, not great. Calamari was ave ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A good meal, not great. Calamari was average, tasted more like fried onion rings. Shrimp and rice was also average, Salmon ok, good bread, hopping bar scene for baby boomers. Very loud, they should do better job of screening the bar noise and questionable behaviors! Too much PDA.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our experience was great. Service was at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our experience was great. Service was attentive, the fish top notch preparation and the wine was really delicious. I selected one I had wanted to taste. The only issue at the Radner location is the high noise level. But don't let it stop you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food - wonderful service - gre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent food - wonderful service - great ambiance! Would highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although we dine regularly at Estia Radn ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Although we dine regularly at Estia Radnor we went on a Sunday to celebrate a birthday! By our 7:30 reservation they were out of a few favorite menu items. Service was extremely poor, although the restaurant was mostly empty. It almost seemed as if we were forgotten. I had noted a birthday in our reservation but it was not acknowledged. We decided to skip coffee and dessert and head elsewhere! #notmyusualestiaexperience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food and service were fantastic as e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food and service were fantastic as expected. The restaurant was packed as one might expect on a Saturday evening, but the space between tables was so tight as to make it difficult to move around, and servers were often mere inches from sitting on our plates as they took orders from neighboring tables. That, plus the ever present screaming children of the main line, detracted from the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

A main-line hang out for those too lazy ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A main-line hang out for those too lazy to travel to one of the great restaurants in the city, all this matched by the behavior - it's a public place - not everyone needs to hear your personal story. As to the food - good NOT great. That said, for Greek place one of the worst baklava I have ever had.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Noisier than I would prefer, but not the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Noisier than I would prefer, but not the worst. Food very good & service attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was delightful, but the service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was delightful, but the service was God awful. Our server appeared to be really distracted! We waited a long time to be served; After we had been served, we also waited an awful long time for her to come back and check on us; and once again we waited a long time for our table to be cleared after eating; Then, after she brought out the dessert menu, we again waited so long for her to come back that we just gave up on dessert altogether. Sigh! She ruined a very good evening!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Estia continues to be one of my favorite ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Estia continues to be one of my favorite restaurants! The food is always ever so fresh and tasty and the service is outstanding! It's authentic Greek cuisine and wine at it's best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm just sorry I wasn't in town another ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I'm just sorry I wasn't in town another night so that I could eat here! Loved the lamb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have always been a fan of Estia in Cen ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I have always been a fan of Estia in Center City and have been wanting to try the one in Radnor. It was a bit of a disappointment to me. The food was good but not great. The prices were high for the quality and portion size. The grilled vegetable appetizer we shared had a "dipping sauce" that was as thick as cream cheese. We both ordered the shrimp orzo, although good, was nothing special. I will not be returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A dinner of firsts for this frequent din ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A dinner of firsts for this frequent diner who dines out several times a week. Have you ever dined out and were drinking a wine you were enjoying with friends and ordered another bottle, and the server appears with a different bottle and suggests that maybe you might want to try this instead? Have you ever ordered two pieces of grilled prawns (at $46/lb) and enjoyed the first one, but found the second to be pasty and mealy in texture and taste? And when asked by the server how dinner was, expressed your opinion politely, only to have a manager show up at your table with your half eaten plate and challenge you among the other guests you were dining with about whether the fish was truly the way you expressed it to be? Have you ever had a manager literally, holding the plate up to you and challenging you on your opinion? That's all I'm going to say about our first and last dining experience at Estia. Can't get past the arrogance of the management and there are too many other great places in the area to patronize. Don't need to go back here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Estia is THE PLACE TO BE!!! We travel 45 ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Estia is THE PLACE TO BE!!! We travel 45 minutes to get here and it is worth it every time!! There is never a bad meal here!! The staff here makes you feel like family and the food here is consistently fresh and full of FLAVOR!!!! We love Gina the manager she is AMAZING and we love Loretta as our waitress, she knows just what we like. They have live music now TOO! A truly special MAIN LINE GEM!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, People Watching, Live Music, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was both creative and delicious ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was both creative and delicious! Service was friendly and attentive; our clients were duly impressed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy to enjoy! 2 couples hoped to s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Too noisy to enjoy!

2 couples hoped to spend the evening enjoying conversation & good food, noise level made enjoying conversation impossible.

There is a noisy bar, we were seated at a table a reasonable distance away, but in general it's noisy..then to add to the extreme a live band is a playing...THE END!

We won't be back , perhaps for lunch on a slow day....lamb chops were great as always, tried sardines, very good...too bad 😡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Always a pleasure to eat dinner or lunch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat dinner or lunch at Estia Radnor. Consistently delicious food, lovely place, great service! You can't go wrong!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to enjoy great food. We or ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Perfect place to enjoy great food. We ordered several apps to share as well as a few entrees - it was perfect...Best octopus in town!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Estia is expensive, but you get what you ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Estia is expensive, but you get what you pay for....and what we got was great. Every time we go to Estia, we leave happy. Thanks to the staff at Estia for making my girlfriend's birthday a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very beautiful atmosphere and tasty Gree ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very beautiful atmosphere and tasty Greek fare. Food good nice appetizers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

jim was our waiter edwardo was off sunda ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

jim was our waiter edwardo was off sunday very helpfull we like radnor better than city more warm and fuzzy food much better also thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was perfect place to get together w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was perfect place to get together with old friends, dinner was delicious, service and waiter were very attentive and friendly. Food was delicious. We cant wait to go back. We never felt rushed, as a matter a fact we closed the restaurant. Fabulous all around.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food good - especially the g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service and food good - especially the grilled fresh fish. We were very surprised and not pleased with the limited wine list. They had decided to hold a Greek only wine week and the only selections were Greek and quite expensive- all bottles were between $50.00 and $100.00 - there were two below at $40.00. We did not appreciate the fact that we were limited to the selection and that the price seemed high.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Way too expensive as comparable to other ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Way too expensive as comparable to other similar restaurants on the Mainline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

First of all, I have been dining at Esti ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

First of all, I have been dining at Estia for long time, have been my favorite when I want Greek dish, and still on top of my list.

However, the experience I recieved very recently was fairly disappointing., as this was my experience.

My mother was visiting us from Japan, I thought we should go to Estia as this was my favorite place. Got reservation (via opentable, of course) and we happily were sitting at the table. The waiter didn't come for a while to take our orders, we thought it might be the busy period so we didn't mind. The waiter took our order, and as we were little eater, we took Estia chips, fried calamari (both my son's favorite), greek salad and sea bass (both my favorite). We waited for a while, nothing came. And the then was the sea bass and fried calamari. It was ok at this time, as we didn't ask the main to be last. Once we finished, Estia chip came out, but the salad didn't, and I needed to asked for it once again. It did come out eventually, but after everything was finished and I was disappointed about this service.

I'm thinking this was just an one time accident, I would definitely go back again, but if I encounter similar experiences again, I need to rethink...

I'm hoping everyone else are having a great experiences, as this was and is my favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Every time I dine here the entire experi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Every time I dine here the entire experience is excellent. I have challenging food allergies and the servers and kitchen are so kind and sensitive about meeting my needs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and ambience. Highly re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Outstanding food and ambience. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Estia is great. Will come back often! We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Estia is great. Will come back often! We were here to celebrate a friends birthday and they helped make it special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place to go on the Main Line for gre ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The place to go on the Main Line for great food in a great space with exceptional service .

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our third visit. Love the food! Have had ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our third visit. Love the food! Have had businessman's lunch; great choices. Delicious, healthy Greek Salad ( but they won't tell where they get the tomatoes), and live the walnut cake. Dinner fish selection is excellent. My Mediterranean Sea bad was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love the Estia chips! I dine th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I really love the Estia chips! I dine there as often as possible.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.