About Estia Taverna – Radnor

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Radnor ›

fit for foodies (121)
special occasion (93)
neighborhood gem (83)
See All
good for groups (76)
great for lunch (66)
vibrant bar scene (58)
hot spot (52)
great for outdoor dining (40)
notable wine list (30)
romantic (29)
great for brunch (22)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Very very good.

Dined 6 days ago

Very very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food I want to try every single th ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food I want to try every single thing on the menu

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, thoughtful service

Dined on June 20, 2016

Delicious food, thoughtful service

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is regrettable that this Estia lacks ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

It is regrettable that this Estia lacks the more elegant and relaxed atmosphere of the one on Locust Street. Although warned that prices would be high, we were able to have a really quite delicious meal without ruining ourselves. It isn't a place to linger, prices are high, and the noise level was really damaging to the overall experience. But the food and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although a 45 minute drive from my home, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Although a 45 minute drive from my home, the food is worth it! This is my second time dining here and we love the food! The food is so fresh, the fish is wonderful and service very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We came with friends to celebrate our an ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We came with friends to celebrate our anniversary. I bring clients there frequently for work. The food was fabulous, however our server was horrible! She was very condescending and talked down to us. She attempted to get us to order a 2lb fish and we are healthy eaters but don't over eat and a 2 lb fish was too much and the other couple didn't want the same fish, she kept pressing us. Then she tried to talk us into a much more expensive wine. We enjoy your restaurant but the server was a turn-off, she was too pushy. I would come back but only if we did not have her again as our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful - very pleasant ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful - very pleasant server, great menu and food was delicious, nice wine list, excellent bread. Our new favorite place! Bar scene seemed hopping and they had live music on Friday Night. Loved it! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great choice no matter which of ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a great choice no matter which of the of the three locations you chose to experience Center City, Radnor or Marlton New Jersey a restaurant that never misses a beat.. A must try!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, (the fried zucchini appe ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food, (the fried zucchini appetizer is a must!) great service, pricy, and very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding lamb chops. Try the zucchin ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Outstanding lamb chops. Try the zucchini/eggplant chips.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Desra was the ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, great service. Desra was the best server!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The octopus is always out of this world ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The octopus is always out of this world ! Great job with atmosphere and wine selection

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Heaven for fish lovers

Dined on June 5, 2016

Estia Taverna is as good a fish restaurant as original Estia downtown Philly. Best place if you love fish! As fresh as it comes and perfectly cooked. Our branzino (sea bass) was superb, as were the tuna tartar and the octopus. Great menu choices, wine list OK. Prices medium-high but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Every dish was executed well except for ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Every dish was executed well except for the dessert selection. Very glad to have estia in the main line.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but loud

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

This was out second visit to Estia in Radnor. Mistakenly, I neglected to ask for a table on the quiet side of the restaurant. We were seated in the room surrounded by glass/windows which bounced the sounds around the room, so much so, that we could not really enjoy the fabulous food and therefore were regretably anxious to leave. Next time we go, on a Friday night, I'll be sure to request a more quiet table. Food was great, but noise level was upsetting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

"Frequent Flier"

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Yes, I dine at Estia often because I love good food but am a healthy eater. After all, the Mediterranean diet is the most nutritious in the world! The food and wine menus are diverse in choices and price, and the kitchen is flexible with changes. For example, my wife does not like green peppers in her Greek salad, so a substitute to red peppers was not a problem. Delicious bread and pita with hummus are complimentary. Estia is amenable to sharing. A word of caution! The specials of the day, served all of the time, are especially expensive with most entrees running about 50% more than those on the menu. If money is not an object, go for it! The hosts and hostesses ar terrific at all times. The wait staff is efficient and friendly. I have already started celebrating a special birthday which doesn't come for another 2 weeks. By that time, I'll have been to Estia 3 more times. Need I say more?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Better than downtown!

Dined on May 30, 2016

The best neighborhood meal we've had in a long time. The fish was delicious and perfectly cooked. The waiter was engaging and helpful. An all around great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It remains a favorite!

Dined on May 29, 2016

I keep coming back to Estia with friends because it is such a nice restaurant! The food and service are consistently outstanding. The sea food is particularly good - fresh and perfectly prepared. I'll be back soon, I'm sure!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent and unusual menu, kind of expensive

Dined on May 28, 2016

Kind of on the expensive side, but very good and unusual menu featuring Mediterranean dishes. Great fish selection and nice atmosphere, was a pleasant and welcome change.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great authentic Greek food!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Dined at the Radnor location for a family birthday--selected for menu and location near a relative's home. We had a great experience--food was excellent, atmosphere was great, and service was fabulous. Staff was attentive and friendly. Highly recommend! Don't miss the Estia veggie chips appetizer and the dolmades! Our server (from Russia originally) was delightful and personable. We will definitely dine here again. Nice outdoor dining option too for next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The decor was great with positive energy ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The decor was great with positive energy. Drinks fantastic and overall experience makes this an easy recommendation for dinner.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great atmosphere - The entrees were over priced

Dined on May 27, 2016

The appetizers and mixed drinks were very good. One bar tender was excellent and the other bartender was slow, poured and charged me for the more $20 glass of wine when I asked to try the $11 glass of wine. The black sea bass was bland and cost $80. The sole was good but too expensive at $45. I would stick with sitting at the bar for happy hour and eating appetizers for dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service. Estia always has ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great meal and service. Estia always has consistently good food but it is not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Prices are up

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Noticed prices are up on the new menu, though I can't blame them as the place is jammed every time we go. But be careful not to alienate those of us who supported from the beginning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience on my 74th birthday.

Dined on May 25, 2016

May return for lunch in few days! Intend to return many more times.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The whole fish our waiter suggested (a w ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

The whole fish our waiter suggested (a white snapper) we shared and it was divine! They do a great job with the whole fish there and I highly recommend. Salads are large and easily shareable. Nice server, who was also fairly knowledgable. Don't always find that is the case in the burbs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just great

Dined on May 22, 2016

continue to love it....could dine on Estia chips alone (with a side of octopus)...langostines, superb!.....attentive service Many thanks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had been here for dinner and to the cent ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had been here for dinner and to the center city location for lunch. This time it was for brunch. My smoked fish platter was very good as was my partner's poached eggs. Service was very attentive. Interestingly, our waiter informed us that the fresh fish is flown in from Greece every 48 hours.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Food (except dessert) very good but serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food (except dessert) very good but service subpar. Waiter rushed us the whole night. He spilled my wine while pouring and didn't even wipe the wine up. Another waiter at table next to us knocked wine glass full of red wine off table-it got on 4 people. Cake was dry. Ouzo promised to arrive in a cute glass but came in a boring shot glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Greek food in a setting where ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent Greek food in a setting where the quiet room is still quite noisy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and service. You always get ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome food and service. You always get a great meal. I never get tired of coming!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Awful service. Took 50 minutes to get f ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Awful service. Took 50 minutes to get food. Talked to staff and really got no response.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A Loud Dinner at Estia

Dined on May 18, 2016

We decided to try dinner at Estia after several successful lunches. A table was ready soon after our reservation time on a busy weekday night. The food was OK and the server was reasonably attentive. The facility is very nice, but light on sound deadening features. The restaurant was VERY LOUD. We will stick to lunch, where the food was better and conversation was possible.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality food, consistently prepared ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

High quality food, consistently prepared. My favorite Mediterranean restaurant. Great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Greek salad is wonderful (they won't ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The Greek salad is wonderful (they won't serve it if they don't have tasty, ripe tomatoes). The fish is always fresh and the service is crisp.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Greek dining in the middle of Radnor!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I have enjoyed another fine dinner at Estia and continue to find it to be a great dining experience! All of the ingredients, from the fish to the vegetables, are so fresh and flavorful, and the service is outstanding; you know I'll be back soon!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and wine were excellent. Our w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and wine were excellent. Our waitress was well versed in the menu, specials, and wine list. Estia made a wonderful gesture (a delicious comp'd dessert plate) to mark our special occasion (two 50th birthdays) that was very much appreciated. It was a fantastic evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. Have been t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Have been there twice in the past three weeks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

The wine is outrageously overpriced and ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The wine is outrageously overpriced and insultingly so as if no one would be familiar with drinking wine, especially Greek wine, at a restaurant. The waiter was very good, but too obviously working for a big tip...not very very smooth. All in all, between the wine prices and the waiter we felt that they figured we, and everyone else never went to real restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time to Estia Taverna ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was my first time to Estia Taverna and it exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.