About Estia Taverna – Radnor

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Authentic (33)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Business Meals (22)
Fun (21)
Healthy (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Family Style (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Live Music (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tapas (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I am recently back in the area and this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I am recently back in the area and this is my second visit to Estia. Our server was enthusiastic and knowledgeable with great recommendations . The Stateside martini with stuffed olives was perfect, the grilled octopus had a wonderfully smoky flavor and the tuna appetizer very well done. My friend and I were so satisfied that we skipped right to desert. I can't say enough about the pistachio gelato and coconut pistachio confection we shared. Estia will definitely be our new place to meet!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Service was average. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing!! Service was average. Prices fair. Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Outstanding cuisine ! Great ambiance an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding cuisine ! Great ambiance and service ! Highly recommend this excellent

restaurant !

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, , Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, People Watching, Business Meals, Vegan, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Food was good. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service. Food was good. The Lamb chops were substantial and delicious. The hummus was fresh and had a surprising kick. The homemade phyllo dough on the spanakopita was not as flaky as I would have liked but the spinach and feta filling was outstanding and the portion was huge. I was not a fan of the walnut cake. It reminded me of fruit cake. Atmosphere was welcoming. They are known for their fish so next time we will try that but on this first visit we chose to try some of our favorite foods for a comparison. Overall it was good and we will go again.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply amazing. We love this place. Grea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Simply amazing. We love this place. Great food. The appetizers are the best. You won't want to miss this one.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderfully memorable first experi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had a wonderfully memorable first experience at Estia. We had a little but of trouble finding the restaurant but once we got there we were so impressed. Impeccable service from our waiter Rick. Everything he suggested (especially the octopus, the best I have ever had) was to die for. Great wine suggestion (Pinot Noir) from the manager who was warm and friendly. And the end of the meal she brought us a special Greek "dessert wine" which was such a nice touch as we didn't mention it was our anniversary. Neither of us had ever had "dessert wine" so it was such a treat. When we were leaving, we asked her how she knew it was a special occasion and she said she overheard us talking and wanted to do something special. It was very thoughtful and was the perfect way to end our meal. Trully an absolutely unforgettable evening from start to finish. My wife and I cant wait to return.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Family Style, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Best Lobster Roll I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was excellent. Best Lobster Roll I have ever had even ones eaten in Maine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too loud. Very difficult to have a c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Way too loud. Very difficult to have a conversation. Waiter was too attentive, if possible. Kept interrupting to ask if everything was okay. I found it quite annoying. Food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

We go to this restaurant often. It has e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We go to this restaurant often. It has excellent Greek food, with good service, and a very robust choice of wines and drinks. It is upscale, and is a bit pricey. But I think it is worth it now and then.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the sea bass here. It's grilled ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I love the sea bass here. It's grilled and light. The kale salad is also a winner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best seafood restaurant on the main line ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best seafood restaurant on the main line. Fresh, tasty, the ingredients are top notch, the recipes are perfectly executed! The service is incredible and we feel so welcomed every time. They take the time and make sure you have everything. Either you come as a family or for an anniversary, it's always perfect. R is the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good but overpriced. I hav ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good but overpriced. I have had similar dishes that were superior for less.

Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent. Neil is the best!! Great serv ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent. Neil is the best!! Great service excellent experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, as always. Howev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was delicious, as always. However, two items we wanted, the daily special and an appetizer, were no longer available even though it was eArly in the evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We absolutely love this place.Always hav ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We absolutely love this place.Always have a great meal.Took out of town guests who loved it also.

My only negative is it could be quieter,especially at the front.No one likes to shout at the table to be heard.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very consistent! I know that I will get ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very consistent! I know that I will get an excellent quality meal!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always such a pleasure here! Every time ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always such a pleasure here! Every time I go, I think about ordering something other than the organic salmon and horta, but I just can't do it. (Aside from awesome apps like the tuna tartare, estia chips, shrimp saganaki...)

Great food, amazing service. Spendy but worth it :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The octopus and estia chips appetizers were huge and some of the best we have ever had. The lamp chops and shrimp orzo were cooked to perfection! Highly

Recommend!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we walked in we had a gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

From the moment we walked in we had a great experience.

The waiter was attentive and knowledgeable - always there but not obtrusive.

The meal itself was wonderful- grilled octopus, crab cake, grilled eggplant and a pasta/seafood dish- all well seasoned and delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food fish was delicious Staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food fish was delicious

Staff was very accommodating to our special requests

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in the su ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the suburbs. Beautiful space, great menu and a relaxed attitude.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server, Minh, was extremely polite a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our server, Minh, was extremely polite and knowledgeable. He checked in with us between all the courses to see how everything was. We noticed that he had quite a few tables but he still gave us his full attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent and seems to be ma ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food is excellent and seems to be made with healthy recipes in mind. Spinach pie was a little different than traditional recipes, but we liked that it was not dripping with butter in between the phyllo layers. Grape leaves were filled with couscous, rather than rice, for a delicious twist. Bifteki souvlaki and lamb pita were delicious; we ordered roasted potatoes instead of fries and they were beautifully flavored. A delicious lunch with loads of leftovers that we ate for dinner! We were given a $50 gift certificate and we went $3 over.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding Greek cuisine , ambiance, a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Outstanding Greek cuisine , ambiance, and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times but will never go back again. We were served mussels where the mussels were so tiny, they could not be picked up with a fork! The sauce was not good, too garlicky and both my dinner mate and I had heartburn afterwards. Also I found out this time that Estia charges an obnoxious amount for the simple wines they serve, i.e., 5 times the market price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Always a great meal, tasty Mediterranean ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a great meal, tasty Mediterranean food. Love ordering a bunch of appetizers for tapas. Service spot on.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a great meal with good service!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was a great meal with good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was extremely disappointed with the qu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I was extremely disappointed with the quality of the food. I could not even cut my steak it was so tough and very expensive. The server saw the meat and I feel as though she should have done something about it. I would never return to Estia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The sardines, octopus, Greek salad, meat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The sardines, octopus, Greek salad, meatballs and spreads were great. The mussels were not good at all. Overall great dining experience, just don't get the mussels Great ambiance, quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently excellent food and service. ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Consistently excellent food and service. No bargains, but quality is high. Mediterranean plate is awesome, as are the whole fish dishes, and lamb. Something for everyone, including vegans.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Hot Spot, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite making an OpenTable reservation ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Despite making an OpenTable reservation four days in advance for a party of four we were seated next to the loud live music near the front door and the manager refused to reseat us so that we could actually carry on a conversation. There were empty tables available but we were told moving was impossible... He just couldn't do it.

We politely asked for another table upon seeing where the hostess was bringing us. There was NO reason for the manager to simply say NO to moving us. I have dined at this restaurant before but will never return after being treated so rudely by the management.

We were told other "better" tables were already reserved. I have had this experience with other Open Table reservations at other restaurants... Being given the less desirable table. I'm beginning to wonder if this is in response to using this website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Got my order wrong then claimed I didn't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Got my order wrong then claimed I didn't know what I was ordering when it was clearly listed. Made me feel bad for even bringing it up. Server wasn't very attentive nor knowledgeable about the menu in terms of dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The restaurant strives to stand out base ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The restaurant strives to stand out based on where they get their meats i.e. from different parts of the world and at the same time "fresh"... I don't know if it's value for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious and plentiful. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was delicious and plentiful. The service very friendly. Very enjoyable lunch. Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Waiter Ed from Peru was great . . . ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Our Waiter Ed from Peru was great . . . very presentable and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times. The service is always wonderful. We love the food. It is delicious and the portions are generous. The atmosphere in this restaurant makes you feel like you are really in Greece, and while the food is authentic, the menu is abundant with varied choices. We love going back.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service a little to pushy, after we orde ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service a little to pushy, after we ordered drinks and appetizers, we told waitress we wanted to wait 15 minutes or so before we ordered dinner. She came back in 5. After dinner again we said we want 15 minutes or so to digest and finish our drinks before ordering dessert. Again she was back in 5 asking if we decided. Dinner to check was 1 hour and 15 minutes. Too rushed for a relaxing Saturday night. Food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The staff was very good And friendly . ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The staff was very good And friendly .a little too noise food very good

Octopus outstanding a little pricey but I would go back again

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

what is not to like? The food? perfect. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

what is not to like? The food? perfect. The service? Spot on. The room? Tastefully beautiful. What's not to like? The price.

The place is easily 20% overpriced, maybe more

Then again, maybe it is fair-priced, and I am spoiled by better bargains. Maybe. But there are enough of the latter that I don't think I will come as often as Estia's overall excellence would suggest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Order the octopus appetizer and the fres ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Order the octopus appetizer and the fresh fish. Great food. Great service. Wonderful wine selection

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.