About Estia Taverna – Radnor

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Radnor ›

fit for foodies (135)
special occasion (97)
neighborhood gem (96)
See All
good for groups (82)
great for lunch (75)
vibrant bar scene (69)
hot spot (55)
romantic (35)
notable wine list (26)
great for outdoor dining (25)
great for brunch (24)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

The whole fish our waiter suggested (a w ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The whole fish our waiter suggested (a white snapper) we shared and it was divine! They do a great job with the whole fish there and I highly recommend. Salads are large and easily shareable. Nice server, who was also fairly knowledgable. Don't always find that is the case in the burbs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just great

Dined 4 days ago

continue to love it....could dine on Estia chips alone (with a side of octopus)...langostines, superb!.....attentive service Many thanks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had been here for dinner and to the cent ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had been here for dinner and to the center city location for lunch. This time it was for brunch. My smoked fish platter was very good as was my partner's poached eggs. Service was very attentive. Interestingly, our waiter informed us that the fresh fish is flown in from Greece every 48 hours.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Food (except dessert) very good but serv ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food (except dessert) very good but service subpar. Waiter rushed us the whole night. He spilled my wine while pouring and didn't even wipe the wine up. Another waiter at table next to us knocked wine glass full of red wine off table-it got on 4 people. Cake was dry. Ouzo promised to arrive in a cute glass but came in a boring shot glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Greek food in a setting where ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent Greek food in a setting where the quiet room is still quite noisy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and service. You always get ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Awesome food and service. You always get a great meal. I never get tired of coming!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Awful service. Took 50 minutes to get f ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Awful service. Took 50 minutes to get food. Talked to staff and really got no response.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A Loud Dinner at Estia

Dined on May 18, 2016

We decided to try dinner at Estia after several successful lunches. A table was ready soon after our reservation time on a busy weekday night. The food was OK and the server was reasonably attentive. The facility is very nice, but light on sound deadening features. The restaurant was VERY LOUD. We will stick to lunch, where the food was better and conversation was possible.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality food, consistently prepared ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

High quality food, consistently prepared. My favorite Mediterranean restaurant. Great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Greek salad is wonderful (they won't ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The Greek salad is wonderful (they won't serve it if they don't have tasty, ripe tomatoes). The fish is always fresh and the service is crisp.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Greek dining in the middle of Radnor!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I have enjoyed another fine dinner at Estia and continue to find it to be a great dining experience! All of the ingredients, from the fish to the vegetables, are so fresh and flavorful, and the service is outstanding; you know I'll be back soon!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and wine were excellent. Our w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and wine were excellent. Our waitress was well versed in the menu, specials, and wine list. Estia made a wonderful gesture (a delicious comp'd dessert plate) to mark our special occasion (two 50th birthdays) that was very much appreciated. It was a fantastic evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. Have been t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Have been there twice in the past three weeks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

The wine is outrageously overpriced and ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The wine is outrageously overpriced and insultingly so as if no one would be familiar with drinking wine, especially Greek wine, at a restaurant. The waiter was very good, but too obviously working for a big tip...not very very smooth. All in all, between the wine prices and the waiter we felt that they figured we, and everyone else never went to real restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time to Estia Taverna ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was my first time to Estia Taverna and it exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great good, fresh seafood, great service ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

great good, fresh seafood, great service, very busy, very hip

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another nice night at Estia Radnor. We a ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Another nice night at Estia Radnor. We always make a resv but tend to end up at the bar. Good drinks made by a very hospitable staff behind the bar keeps us ther e. Can't go wrong with a number of the appys which is what we stay with. Calamari, tuna tartare, shrimp saganaki, oysters...everything better than the next. Go and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoy a place with Greek food nearby

Dined on May 8, 2016

Found the food a bit salty this time, especially the cheese appetizer and the lemon soup, but still had a lovely dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good food . It is not a value meal though.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day dinner. Our service was very good as was the food. That said it was expensive.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wh.ile food was good, service from hostesses was poor. Bar tender did not remember drink order (only 2 beverages ordered). Waiter was good, but felt received unequal attention.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

First Greek restaurant we have visited. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

First Greek restaurant we have visited. The food was great and the waitress after knowing its our first experience helped us with overall meal, very friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and the service was e ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was excellent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

always great food

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was a special holiday meal and as always first rate. Eat here often and have never been disappointed. Staff friendly and food outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Cost adds up fast!!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Wine list is extremely overpriced and the food is delicious but the menu is challenging. The fish is sold by the pound and you have to buy the full fish so if you were hoping for white snapper, but you don't want to buy the 1.87 lb fish at $40+/lb., then you're out of luck or you are paying about $80 for a piece of fish that includes a side of greens.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Menu....I wanted to order everything!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Take any recommendations from the staff. They wont steer you wrong!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Estia Chips and Octopus are amazing!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Estia Chips and Octopus are amazing!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. A bit Pricey

Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent casual dining for a special occasion. Service was above average. Food was exceptional. Very fresh. I would return for another meal there.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent variation of the Original in Town

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food and service of this Taverna is every bit as good as the Center City location. The ambiance is a bit more casual. On top of that, doesn't require the 2 hour commute to the City! I recommend it highly and plan to return with more friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal at the bar. Bar tending p ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Wonderful meal at the bar. Bar tending provided excellent recommendation for food and wine.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary. Upon the recommendation of a friend, we requested to sit on the left side of the restaurant to have a quieter location. This was a wise move as it is a bit away from the bar. Our server was excellent: fast, courteous, friendly and attuned to our needs. The moment I had a question or concern, she was right there. She helped us to order a delicious meal. We had the grilled octopus (outstanding! - would come back just for this alone!) The spinach pie was very tasty and both appetizers were generous portions. The bread service with hummus, olives and radishes was a delight. Main course - Dover sole was superb with lemons and capers, flakey and tender. The prawns were a little tough for my taste, but my husband liked them. For dessert they brought a handsome portion of baklava with a candle - I think it was the best baklava I've ever had - not drenched in honey, and with fresh toasted pistachios. There's a lot of unacceptable, slap-dash baklava out there! We also ordered the molten chocolate cake which I am STILL thinking about. Estia is a treasure in our neighborhood. It is a first class kitchen. I would have given a higher rating for ambiance, but I thought the music didn't really match the food/occasion. Seemed more like bar-scene music. Would have enjoyed Greek music, maybe? We are looking forward to going back and trying the Black Sea Bass and the White Snapper.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One thing that bothered me was

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was not happy that my wife went to your facility to buy gift certificates and was given a $25.00 certificate while at the bar and as we were leaving the waiter came running out to say it was only 10.00 dollars, thought that was not a friendly encounter especially when the bartender said it was a 25.00 value, I never heard of a 10.00 certificate for food. That was disappointing especially with a restaurant of your caliber. Sincerely, James Harper

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

We really enjoyed Estia. Had the beet appetizer, which was extremely tasty. Husband had lamb chops, I had spanikopita, all excellent. Also enjoyed a lovely Dionysus (sp?) drink. Great way to celebrate our anniversary. Service was attentive and accurate but not cloying.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner! Easy parking! Wish the men ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great dinner! Easy parking! Wish the menu had a few more non Greekish items, less feta!

food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I celebrated my mom's birt ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

My family and I celebrated my mom's birthday tonight. I booked the reservation for 6:45pm and we got seated right away, the waitress was excellent, and the food was amazing. We thought the decor was very cool with the bamboo ceiling. We'll definitely be back.

food1
ambience1
service1

Pretty bad overall. This place has poten ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Pretty bad overall. This place has potential. But food was overcooked. Seemed like it was sitting under the heat lamps for a while. Service, was bad. And the food was nothing special. Will never go back again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid Choice

Dined on April 9, 2016

Been to the Center City location years ago which was solid as was this. Grilled octopus was excellent as was the Moussaka

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey for small portions.

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

A little pricey for small portions.

food4
ambience3
service3

This place is generally mobbed but take ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

This place is generally mobbed but take it from me, it's wildly over-priced. Five smallish shrimp and orzo for $28--are you kidding me?! A fairly ordinary Greek salad for $15--really?! Some entrees are north of $50. Guard your wallets, People!! And this is in a mini-strip center setting. You can fool some of the people...

food4
ambience4
service5

Fine restaurant with excellent service a ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Fine restaurant with excellent service and quality food. We enjoyed branzino and lamb chops, along with flaming cheese for an appetizer and molten chocolate cake for dessert. The place is a bit pricey and be prepared for a lot of snooty Main Liners as fellow diners.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food and Vibe but......

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Been here many times and love it. The food is Awesome, The service is top notch and it is a really beautiful restaurant inside. Really really nice. I just keep coming back but this last time I was here I was a little dissappointed. Seems as though they have scaled back the size of their appetizers (At least the Estia chips). I brought friends there and we ordered probably 5 appetizers and a couple of dinners with drinks. I noticed that the appetizers were a little on the small side for something that is running about $20 per plate. Additionally the amount of Pita and stuff supplied wasn't enough to allow us to finish the great dips they come with. No problem asked for some on the side. The bill for 4 people was nearly $300 and when I looked at the bill I realized we probably over did the apps given their cost. However I also noticed the charged us $1 for some extra pita. Overall while the food is fantastic I don't think the Apps are a great value for what you get. That was my only dissappointment here ever. It is consistently good quality but if you are a value shopper watch how many apps you order they can really drive up the Bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.