About Estia Taverna – Radnor

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (79)
Special Occasion (61)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
See All
Great for Lunch (51)
Good for Groups (46)
Hot Spot (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Romantic (27)
Great for Brunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have grown to really enjoy this restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Have grown to really enjoy this restaurant even if a bit on the expensive side.

Fresh fish flown in daily from the Mediterranean is wonderful and unique feature,

but of course price. Quality of food and preparation is excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was disappointed with the food. I may ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was disappointed with the food. I may be over critical coming from a greek family but it wasnt as good as i had hoped. The saganoki was not fully cooked, the calamari was greasy, and the lobster did not warrant the $70 price tag. I can say i was there and tried, but will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

charging $80 fro a 2 lb black bass fish ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

charging $80 fro a 2 lb black bass fish is robbery!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We loved Estia! My husband and I chose ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We loved Estia! My husband and I chose this place for a long needed date night and really enjoyed our experience. My sea bass was delicious - what a treat to have that after so long. My husband loved his grilled octopus appetizer. And we both absolutely loved the hummus, warm pita bread and the walnut cake and vanilla gelato. My meal totally killed my diet but it was worth it!

We'll definitely be back. We loved the atmosphere, the wine and the service. too. I recommend this restaurant for a date night or girls night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Estia is the best restaurant in the area ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Estia is the best restaurant in the area without question. Delicious, healthy options and very friendly, knowledgeable staff. We have never had a bad experience here. It can be a bit noisy at times but it has an energetic feel. Highly recommend!

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal here

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Never a bad meal here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Estia in Radnor never ceases to amaze me ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Estia in Radnor never ceases to amaze me. The food is the freshest around- you will not find juicier tomatoes ANYWHERE!!!!! Seriously, where do they get them? The customer service at this restaurant is TOP NOTCH! It doesn't matter how long we have been away, the manager Gina still remembers our favorite table and drinks!! She makes you feel like you are the only people dining in the restaurant. Another delicious, memorable dinner at Estia!! We will be back again and again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at this location on severa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have dined at this location on several occasions.. This visit was not very satisfactory. The kitchen was overwhelmed and food was poorly prepared. COLD

Our server was very upset about the situation and notified the manager. He did comp the meals, which was appreciated, but certainly did not make up for a very unpleasant dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

This was my fourth trip to Estia and I w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was my fourth trip to Estia and I will continue to go back. The food, wines, service...all very good. I highly recommend for couples, business dinner, friends get-together.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

At Estia Taverna the food is very, very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

At Estia Taverna the food is very, very good, fresh and authentic. But, it is also very pricy. It is one of those restaurants where if you have to "ask the price" you should not go. I love the greek salad here too. The wine list is extensive, with a great selection of Greek wines. I love the place, I crave the place. We go whenever we can, but we have save up for it.

We took a friend visiting from Australia to Estia and she ordered the Moussaka. Her Moussaka came out warm not hot. It was quickly whisked away and brought back to the table without being in the ceramic ramekin. Shouldn't the sous chef or the waiter used the "ole" finger test (or a thermometer) in the kitchen initially? However, the Moussaka she said was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

excellent greek food. nice ambience. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

excellent greek food. nice ambience. we are heading back next week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, very rushed service. First ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good food, very rushed service. First course out immediately, entrees brought before first course was cleared. Restaurant wasn't full so seemed no reason to hurry so.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Too noisy, service too slow, food just o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Too noisy, service too slow, food just okay. It was a Sunday evening and people at the next table thought they were having their own private party and they were standing up and moving about and crowding our table. Obnoxious Main Liners who think only think of themselves. Had to ask for our water glasses to be refilled. Waiter disappeared for long stretches of time. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

I always love the food at Estia. We had ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I always love the food at Estia. We had an EXCELLENT waitress who gave us very good service and advice. I don't know her name.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Estia taverna has become fave for weeken ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Estia taverna has become fave for weekend Brunch.

We have had dinner there a couple of times....the food is great, but the noise level can be pretty high.

Maybe midweek nights are less noisy than weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with friends on Friday of Labor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went with friends on Friday of Labor Day weekend. It was very crowded but the food and service were excellent. Having just been in Greece, we were seeking some authentic Greed food and were not disappointed. The eggplant and octopus were delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It took nearly 15 minutes for us to get ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It took nearly 15 minutes for us to get service and we got that only after we contacted the manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

This restaurant never disappoints! Food ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints! Food is fabulous, reminiscent of the meals I grew up with. Service is great and always a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant was chosen by a coworker ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This restaurant was chosen by a coworker who thought it would be a nice change of pace for a business dinner and she was right. We had a table of 7 people and EVERYONE raved about the look of the restaurant and the food. I am planning to bring my spouse back for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I prefer the Estia in Philadelphia to th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I prefer the Estia in Philadelphia to this one. There is something about a suburban shopping center setting that makes this less special than the one in midtown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This Estia has yet to disappoint. I lov ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This Estia has yet to disappoint. I loved the food, the appetizers, the wine, the easy casual atmosphere, and the bill was correct. Friendly bar service, nice people. Don't miss the kalamari, the fried zucchini chips and the Tarama. I thought their Greek wine list was very well-thought out and has improved markedly from years ago at the downtown sister store.

Well done.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent particularly all sea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was excellent particularly all sea food. Restaurant was noisy And with music was almost impossible to hear regular table conversation. Quality of the food however made up for any noise distraction. we were lucky to sit as far away from the music as possible, still had trouble hearing. Music quality was good but too much in an already noisy setting.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The only problem I have with the restaur ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The only problem I have with the restaurant is the noise, particularly if you're sitting in the dining area to the right of the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was cooked perfectly! Genero ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything was cooked perfectly! Generous portions. Authentic flavors. Very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love going to Estia. It's more reasonab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Love going to Estia. It's more reasonable for lunch. Love sitting outside too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed are dinner. The staff was fri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We enjoyed are dinner. The staff was friendly. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The greek salad is so fresh and the spin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The greek salad is so fresh and the spinach pie is wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic, great atmosphere. Wo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was fantastic, great atmosphere. Wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had to wait for 30-40 minutes for us t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I had to wait for 30-40 minutes for us to get our drinks. After waiting over 2 hours our food finally came, my fish was not what I ordered, and the food came out cold. When I asked for the check I noticed that 18% gratuity was already added. When I spoke to the manager I was told that the poor service was not the waiter's fault because they hd a shortage in the kitchen. Normally I wouldn't mind but the manager's response really annoyed me because it didn't address the fact it took 2 hours for food to come, when it did come it was ice cold, 1 order was incorrect, and it took 30 minutes just to get our drinks. I would suggest they not automatically add a 18% tip when staff is this unprofessional and uninterested in doing their job.

I would lime to add that I routinely visit the Estia at Broad and Locust in the city and the service there is outstanding compared to this place. Save your money and go to Red Lobster instead, basically its the same service, to be honest you may get better service at Red Lobster

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The food is delicious. Perfectly prepar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is delicious. Perfectly prepared with a great selection. The drinks are well made and large. Our server was funny and made great recommendations and helped us make selections. We love it here and will go back soon. Valet Service was friendly and efficient - beautiful crowd of people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced and the food was only okay. S ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overpriced and the food was only okay. Shrimp Orzo @ $28 had mostly orzo and 6 small shrimp. The Greek salad @ $15 had 2 pieces of Feta and otherwise, greens and a few olives. Moussaka was not very good---too heavy on the sauce without enough meat or eggplant. Our waitress was trying to oversell, pushing us towards fish which is charged by the pound and weighed before they removed head or bone. She appeared disappointed when we didn't choose the fish. Very noisy. We were charged for an extra drink. When we pointed it out to the waitress, she said that she was sorry, and we had to ask her to remove the charge--she didn't automatically offer.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Savory Greek treats in a cosy Mediterran ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Savory Greek treats in a cosy Mediterranean ambiance. Greek salad and tzatziki are terrific. Fish seems fresh. Some dishes a bit pricey, but generally decent value considering how tasty everything is. Love the Greek music, can do without the rock band on weekend nights. Brunch is really a special treat. Opa!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

While the food was good, it is far bette ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

While the food was good, it is far better to venture to Estia's downtown location for the meal. From service to atmosphere the dining experience downtown (we have been there) worth the cost of parking downtown, the inconvenience of having to bypass the local (for us) venue, and all else. Note my recommendations yield no check marks for this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

The band on Friday night was so loud we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The band on Friday night was so loud we couldn't hear any of our conversation. The food and service were great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Another excellent meal all around! Love ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Another excellent meal all around! Love your fish and lagostino as all of your Greek dinners!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was really good. Service was g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was really good. Service was good. A little too loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizers were amazing as usual! Alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Appetizers were amazing as usual!

Always a good place for fresh fish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Have been there thr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Have been there three times and food was excellent every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My reservation was honored as soon as I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My reservation was honored as soon as I arrived. The place was packed and it was noisy but it did not detract from the experience. The food simply is spectacular. The zucchini chips are incredible. I ordered the Papoutsaki which also was delicious. Service was excellent even though the place was crowded on a Friday night. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.