About Estia Taverna – Radnor

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Radnor ›

fit for foodies (126)
special occasion (94)
neighborhood gem (82)
See All
great for lunch (71)
good for groups (71)
vibrant bar scene (59)
hot spot (53)
great for outdoor dining (47)
notable wine list (30)
romantic (30)
great for brunch (20)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The salads are very fresh; I still don't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The salads are very fresh; I still don't understand where or how they consistently score the most tasty and voluptuous tomatoes. But one gaffe put a damper on this otherwise good meal. I was charged $3.25 for a club soda not once, but twice. When the waiter asked if I wanted a refill, he should have warned me that it would cost another $3.25, which is already exorbitant for 2 oz. of water with carbonation. We ended up paying $6.50 -- for water with bubbles. And that's why I gave the service and value low ratings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

First time dinning here as we've been to ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time dinning here as we've been to the center city location many times. Great menu, service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had never tried octopus, and I absolu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had never tried octopus, and I absolutely loved it. It was prepared

so well, not chewy, but rich and flavorful. I had the prawns for dinner and

my husband had the sole. Both unbelievably good. Estia is a unique

culinary experience, and must be experienced to appreciate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant decor is cool food is creativ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Restaurant decor is cool food is creative and good. Wine list is $$$$$.

Seated us at 2 horrible locations: one table along the window where sun blasted us and the other on the cushion crack of a banquet table. Honestly. Also, annoying - when sitting at banquet the guest sittingg in the chair is higher than the guest in the banquet. Degrading to women who are offered to take the banquet seat. U should consider adjusting height.

Server inattentive: never checked on us after entree arrived and long (over 10 min) wait for a check. It was faster to go to wawa to buy hagendaz than wait for server to put in a dessert order. It killed me to leave a decent tip.

Lagostino by pound were NOT a good value, need to rethink this entree. We ordered 1 lb and we'recharged for 1.5lb.

Thanks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

This is my new favorite restaurant. Gree ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is my new favorite restaurant. Greek with heavy emphasis on seafood, but plenty of items for those who aren't seafood fans. The freshest fish, flown in daily. Outstanding crab cakes. Excellent classic Greek salad. Try the zucchini and eggplant chips as an appetizer. To die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great "Business Man's" lunch bargain. S ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great "Business Man's" lunch bargain. Soup was excellent & pasta very good. Walnut cake was light & moist. Ambience is light and airy and pleasing overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is consistently excellent and a ...

vip
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is consistently excellent and a pleasure each time we are there

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & amazing food!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service & amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Estia has become my favorite local resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Estia has become my favorite local restaurant! The food is always outstanding - the seafood is so fresh and tasty - and the service is always remarkable! I'll be back, again and again, I'm sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Estia in Radnor is a fabulous restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Estia in Radnor is a fabulous restaurant. I would highly recommend the Greek Salad & the lambchops! The fresh fish choices are delicious also!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was delicious tho the baklava was n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was delicious tho the baklava was not as good as usual..a bit soggy on top

Service was excellent

We have had our waiter rigle before and he is the best

Estia is one of my fave restaurants

It is beautiful and the food is wonderful

I don't know where they get their tomatoes but winter or summer they are incredible

Next time I would like to sit outside

Probably a good bit quieter

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect from start to finish; ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely perfect from start to finish; excellent food and service from the moment we arrived. Extremely accommodating and knowledgable staff. Freshest food and best service on the main line in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful mea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Estia Taverna in Radnor, PA. We shared a greek salad with the reddest and juiciest tomatoes around and the portion for two was perfect. My Dover Sole was excellent and my husband devoured his roasted chicken accompanied by an incredible risotto. Our only complaint was that it was very hard to hear yourself think let alone talk. For me, the noise level took away from the dining experience since we had to speak loudly throughout the entire meal in order to communicate. The prices were also on the high side so be mindful if that is a concern. The sole was $48.00 per pound, weighed with bones, skin, head and tail. I would guess that the final quantity on my plate was around 1/2 pound.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

food and service was great. Restaurant i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

food and service was great.

Restaurant is very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service excellent. Perfect for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food and service excellent. Perfect for summer dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was nice. A pleasant place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The ambiance was nice. A pleasant place to dine with friends and family. The good is good.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner! Love to go there!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Love to go there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grilled Octopus salad on fava bean p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The grilled Octopus salad on fava bean puree is a must try.

If you like mediterranean prawns and don't mind spending $60/lb, try the Carabineros prawns from Portugal.

$5 bloody marys and mimosas for Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We have enjoyed several brunches with di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have enjoyed several brunches with different sets of friends. We always have a great meal & a good time. The ambience is truly reminiscent of Greek Tavernas.

Opa!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was our first visit to Estia the fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

this was our first visit to Estia the food was great. we will be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was okay. Very overpriced. Bar sce ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was okay. Very overpriced. Bar scene, music and ambiance made it special.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The restaurant experience was very good, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant experience was very good, the reservation was not.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at this Estia. I've eaten at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

First time at this Estia. I've eaten at the downtown site a number of times. The fish dishes were outstanding. My Halibut special wrapped in parchment paper was perfectly cooked and flavorful. The octopus appetizer was terrific as was the stuffed calamari. The baklava for dessert was just right. I'll be back again next week.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Estia Taverna is terrific! Food is amaz ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Estia Taverna is terrific! Food is amazing - options from salads to full meals. Service is great. Best Greek food around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Estia is my go to eating place on the Ma ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Estia is my go to eating place on the Main Line. The selection of fish and seafood makes it great for me. Service is excellent, attentive without being overbearing. Another aspect of eating at the restaurant,is it's ambience. In addition, I find it very comfortable. Last of all pRking is easy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very very good.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food I want to try every single th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food I want to try every single thing on the menu

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, thoughtful service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Delicious food, thoughtful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is regrettable that this Estia lacks ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It is regrettable that this Estia lacks the more elegant and relaxed atmosphere of the one on Locust Street. Although warned that prices would be high, we were able to have a really quite delicious meal without ruining ourselves. It isn't a place to linger, prices are high, and the noise level was really damaging to the overall experience. But the food and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although a 45 minute drive from my home, ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Although a 45 minute drive from my home, the food is worth it! This is my second time dining here and we love the food! The food is so fresh, the fish is wonderful and service very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came with friends to celebrate our an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We came with friends to celebrate our anniversary. I bring clients there frequently for work. The food was fabulous, however our server was horrible! She was very condescending and talked down to us. She attempted to get us to order a 2lb fish and we are healthy eaters but don't over eat and a 2 lb fish was too much and the other couple didn't want the same fish, she kept pressing us. Then she tried to talk us into a much more expensive wine. We enjoy your restaurant but the server was a turn-off, she was too pushy. I would come back but only if we did not have her again as our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Everything was wonderful - very pleasant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful - very pleasant server, great menu and food was delicious, nice wine list, excellent bread. Our new favorite place! Bar scene seemed hopping and they had live music on Friday Night. Loved it! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great choice no matter which of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a great choice no matter which of the of the three locations you chose to experience Center City, Radnor or Marlton New Jersey a restaurant that never misses a beat.. A must try!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, (the fried zucchini appe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food, (the fried zucchini appetizer is a must!) great service, pricy, and very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding lamb chops. Try the zucchin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Outstanding lamb chops. Try the zucchini/eggplant chips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service. Desra was the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, great service. Desra was the best server!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The octopus is always out of this world ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The octopus is always out of this world ! Great job with atmosphere and wine selection

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Heaven for fish lovers

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Estia Taverna is as good a fish restaurant as original Estia downtown Philly. Best place if you love fish! As fresh as it comes and perfectly cooked. Our branzino (sea bass) was superb, as were the tuna tartar and the octopus. Great menu choices, wine list OK. Prices medium-high but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every dish was executed well except for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Every dish was executed well except for the dessert selection. Very glad to have estia in the main line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food but loud

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was out second visit to Estia in Radnor. Mistakenly, I neglected to ask for a table on the quiet side of the restaurant. We were seated in the room surrounded by glass/windows which bounced the sounds around the room, so much so, that we could not really enjoy the fabulous food and therefore were regretably anxious to leave. Next time we go, on a Friday night, I'll be sure to request a more quiet table. Food was great, but noise level was upsetting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.