About Estia Taverna – Radnor

222 North Radnor Chester Road
Radnor, PA 19087
View Larger Map

The stunning restaurant, which is the first of its kind in Radnor, will transport guests to the Greek Islands with an atmosphere reminiscent of an inviting Mediterranean home, and a menu of authentic specialties, simply prepared, that represent the best of Greek cuisine. The restaurant specializes in whole grilled fish, which are flown in from the Greek islands, the shores of Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, and procured from independent North American fishermen. We have created a welcoming restaurant designed with the comforts of a typical Greek home. We used materials such as hand-chiseled Jerusalem limestone floors, hand woven rugs, vaulted ceilings, antiqued stucco walls, wood plank floors and exposed wood beams to evoke the traditional atmosphere. A series of dining areas feature rustic farm tables, dark wood chairs with beige cushions and dining nooks with upholstered banquettes. The homelike ambiance is accentuated with whitewashed walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Coming Soon! Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Lancaster Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(484) 581-7124

Website:
http://www.estiataverna.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Estia Taverna – Radnor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (115)
Special Occasion (101)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
See All
Good for Groups (70)
Great for Lunch (67)
Vibrant Bar Scene (62)
Hot Spot (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Notable Wine List (39)
Romantic (34)
Great for Brunch (22)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed are dinner. The staff was fri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed are dinner. The staff was friendly. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic, great atmosphere. Wo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was fantastic, great atmosphere. Wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had to wait for 30-40 minutes for us t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I had to wait for 30-40 minutes for us to get our drinks. After waiting over 2 hours our food finally came, my fish was not what I ordered, and the food came out cold. When I asked for the check I noticed that 18% gratuity was already added. When I spoke to the manager I was told that the poor service was not the waiter's fault because they hd a shortage in the kitchen. Normally I wouldn't mind but the manager's response really annoyed me because it didn't address the fact it took 2 hours for food to come, when it did come it was ice cold, 1 order was incorrect, and it took 30 minutes just to get our drinks. I would suggest they not automatically add a 18% tip when staff is this unprofessional and uninterested in doing their job.

I would lime to add that I routinely visit the Estia at Broad and Locust in the city and the service there is outstanding compared to this place. Save your money and go to Red Lobster instead, basically its the same service, to be honest you may get better service at Red Lobster

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The food is delicious. Perfectly prepar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is delicious. Perfectly prepared with a great selection. The drinks are well made and large. Our server was funny and made great recommendations and helped us make selections. We love it here and will go back soon. Valet Service was friendly and efficient - beautiful crowd of people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced and the food was only okay. S ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overpriced and the food was only okay. Shrimp Orzo @ $28 had mostly orzo and 6 small shrimp. The Greek salad @ $15 had 2 pieces of Feta and otherwise, greens and a few olives. Moussaka was not very good---too heavy on the sauce without enough meat or eggplant. Our waitress was trying to oversell, pushing us towards fish which is charged by the pound and weighed before they removed head or bone. She appeared disappointed when we didn't choose the fish. Very noisy. We were charged for an extra drink. When we pointed it out to the waitress, she said that she was sorry, and we had to ask her to remove the charge--she didn't automatically offer.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Savory Greek treats in a cosy Mediterran ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Savory Greek treats in a cosy Mediterranean ambiance. Greek salad and tzatziki are terrific. Fish seems fresh. Some dishes a bit pricey, but generally decent value considering how tasty everything is. Love the Greek music, can do without the rock band on weekend nights. Brunch is really a special treat. Opa!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

While the food was good, it is far bette ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

While the food was good, it is far better to venture to Estia's downtown location for the meal. From service to atmosphere the dining experience downtown (we have been there) worth the cost of parking downtown, the inconvenience of having to bypass the local (for us) venue, and all else. Note my recommendations yield no check marks for this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

The band on Friday night was so loud we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The band on Friday night was so loud we couldn't hear any of our conversation. The food and service were great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Another excellent meal all around! Love ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Another excellent meal all around! Love your fish and lagostino as all of your Greek dinners!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was really good. Service was g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was really good. Service was good. A little too loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizers were amazing as usual! Alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Appetizers were amazing as usual!

Always a good place for fresh fish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Have been there thr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Have been there three times and food was excellent every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My reservation was honored as soon as I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My reservation was honored as soon as I arrived. The place was packed and it was noisy but it did not detract from the experience. The food simply is spectacular. The zucchini chips are incredible. I ordered the Papoutsaki which also was delicious. Service was excellent even though the place was crowded on a Friday night. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable from start to finish. Friendl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Impeccable from start to finish. Friendly, accommodating hostess and manager. Server Dezra was knowledgeable and energetic. Every thing she recommended was delicious and so so fresh! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly overrated. Very overpriced, poor ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Highly overrated. Very overpriced, poor value. I had lobster that all you could taste was lemon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We go to this place often, either as a c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We go to this place often, either as a couple, or with my parents, or in this case for family get-together (group of 7 this time). Reservations are easy to make through Open Table. Hostesses are friendly and accommodating. The ambience is very nice, with good seating and good view. Waiters are very good. Food is also very good, especially the Greek salad, and lamb chops.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. However we waited Cl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was delicious. However we waited Clise to an hour for entrees after asking several times. Told kitchen was busy. But other tables were getting served. Maybe back tables aren't a good location! Entrees were Luke warm and dry! Very disappointed considering our guests were first timers!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Disappointed that their signature Estia ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Disappointed that their signature Estia Chips were not served warm. Other than that, a delightful lunch treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The salads are very fresh; I still don't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The salads are very fresh; I still don't understand where or how they consistently score the most tasty and voluptuous tomatoes. But one gaffe put a damper on this otherwise good meal. I was charged $3.25 for a club soda not once, but twice. When the waiter asked if I wanted a refill, he should have warned me that it would cost another $3.25, which is already exorbitant for 2 oz. of water with carbonation. We ended up paying $6.50 -- for water with bubbles. And that's why I gave the service and value low ratings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

First time dinning here as we've been to ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time dinning here as we've been to the center city location many times. Great menu, service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good local option

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good local option

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had never tried octopus, and I absolu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had never tried octopus, and I absolutely loved it. It was prepared

so well, not chewy, but rich and flavorful. I had the prawns for dinner and

my husband had the sole. Both unbelievably good. Estia is a unique

culinary experience, and must be experienced to appreciate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant decor is cool food is creativ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Restaurant decor is cool food is creative and good. Wine list is $$$$$.

Seated us at 2 horrible locations: one table along the window where sun blasted us and the other on the cushion crack of a banquet table. Honestly. Also, annoying - when sitting at banquet the guest sittingg in the chair is higher than the guest in the banquet. Degrading to women who are offered to take the banquet seat. U should consider adjusting height.

Server inattentive: never checked on us after entree arrived and long (over 10 min) wait for a check. It was faster to go to wawa to buy hagendaz than wait for server to put in a dessert order. It killed me to leave a decent tip.

Lagostino by pound were NOT a good value, need to rethink this entree. We ordered 1 lb and we'recharged for 1.5lb.

Thanks!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

This is my new favorite restaurant. Gree ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is my new favorite restaurant. Greek with heavy emphasis on seafood, but plenty of items for those who aren't seafood fans. The freshest fish, flown in daily. Outstanding crab cakes. Excellent classic Greek salad. Try the zucchini and eggplant chips as an appetizer. To die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great "Business Man's" lunch bargain. S ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great "Business Man's" lunch bargain. Soup was excellent & pasta very good. Walnut cake was light & moist. Ambience is light and airy and pleasing overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is consistently excellent and a ...

vip
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is consistently excellent and a pleasure each time we are there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & amazing food!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service & amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Estia has become my favorite local resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Estia has become my favorite local restaurant! The food is always outstanding - the seafood is so fresh and tasty - and the service is always remarkable! I'll be back, again and again, I'm sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Estia in Radnor is a fabulous restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Estia in Radnor is a fabulous restaurant. I would highly recommend the Greek Salad & the lambchops! The fresh fish choices are delicious also!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was delicious tho the baklava was n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was delicious tho the baklava was not as good as usual..a bit soggy on top

Service was excellent

We have had our waiter rigle before and he is the best

Estia is one of my fave restaurants

It is beautiful and the food is wonderful

I don't know where they get their tomatoes but winter or summer they are incredible

Next time I would like to sit outside

Probably a good bit quieter

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect from start to finish; ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely perfect from start to finish; excellent food and service from the moment we arrived. Extremely accommodating and knowledgable staff. Freshest food and best service on the main line in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful mea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Estia Taverna in Radnor, PA. We shared a greek salad with the reddest and juiciest tomatoes around and the portion for two was perfect. My Dover Sole was excellent and my husband devoured his roasted chicken accompanied by an incredible risotto. Our only complaint was that it was very hard to hear yourself think let alone talk. For me, the noise level took away from the dining experience since we had to speak loudly throughout the entire meal in order to communicate. The prices were also on the high side so be mindful if that is a concern. The sole was $48.00 per pound, weighed with bones, skin, head and tail. I would guess that the final quantity on my plate was around 1/2 pound.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

food and service was great. Restaurant i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

food and service was great.

Restaurant is very loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service excellent. Perfect for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food and service excellent. Perfect for summer dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was nice. A pleasant place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The ambiance was nice. A pleasant place to dine with friends and family. The good is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner! Love to go there!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Love to go there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grilled Octopus salad on fava bean p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The grilled Octopus salad on fava bean puree is a must try.

If you like mediterranean prawns and don't mind spending $60/lb, try the Carabineros prawns from Portugal.

$5 bloody marys and mimosas for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We have enjoyed several brunches with di ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have enjoyed several brunches with different sets of friends. We always have a great meal & a good time. The ambience is truly reminiscent of Greek Tavernas.

Opa!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was our first visit to Estia the fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

this was our first visit to Estia the food was great. we will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.