About Essense

67-425 Two Bunch Palms Trail
Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
View Larger Map

In Essense, we want our guests to savor exceptional farm-to-table cuisine that nourishes the body and replenishes the soul. Share a warm, inspired setting with friends or someone special. Encounter service that is so attentive it seems effortless and invisible. Delight in the fresh bounty of the land and immerse yourself in a culinary experience that offers explosive flavors, rich produce and boldly seasoned proteins paired with crisp inviting textures. Essense…an experience that indulges the palate, seduces the senses and feeds your passions.
Guests must be 18 years or older to access the property.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday: Breakfast: 7:30am - 10:30am
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
18 Years or Older to Access the Resort

Cross Street:
Palm Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 288-7805

Website:
http://www.twobunchpalms.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on Thursdays & Fridays

Catering:
For group reservations, contact reservations@twobunchpalms.com

Parking Details:
On site parking

Public Transit:
n/a

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Garden House

Essense Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Quiet

60% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (5)
special occasion (2)
fit for foodies (1)
See All
great for lunch (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
22 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

disappointing experiences

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We were there for lunch on my friend's birthday, had a lovely table along the big widow. The restaurant has a charming setting, relaxing and serene, yet the food experience was not good. My companion had the Essense Burger that was fully cooked, though he requested for medium and pink inside, the Kobe Wagyu beef was dry and without taste. I had the Baked Salmon Nori Roll, also dry and bland, had to wash it down with coffee. Have many farm-to-table experiences, the farm is not good if that's how the food taste, or no taste actually and for those prices.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fantastic! Food was hit or miss.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Impressed with service. Appetizers were great. My entree was not good at all. Views and ambiance was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Low-key

Dined on March 9, 2016

Very laid-back atmosphere, with great food and view!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice ambience, disappointing meal

Dined on March 6, 2016

After reading great reviews of this place, we made reservations and were able to find it (not easy, kinda hidden). While the staff was nice, and our salads were tasty, our entrees took a very long time to arrive. Though the wait staff apologized and promised our food was coming right out, it was still a disappointment when it arrived. My duck entree was good, but my husbands lamb dish was lacking. It seemed like they ran out of the ingredients, as the plate did not warrant the $37 price tag. We do not mind paying top dollar for great food, but this was not up to par. Our waitress gave us a complimentary dessert of chocolate and berries, which was a nice gesture.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience, wonderful food, great ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great experience, wonderful food, great service - a perfect evening

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was dank. From the momen ...

Dined on July 29, 2015

This restaurant was dank. From the moment I stepped foot onto the property, I knew I was in for something special. Indeed, I was. I opted for the Kobe burger. It was fresh, in both the metaphorical and the literal sense, or essense, of the word. Juicy, flavourful, with a nice char. The vegetables added a delightful crispness and were properly balanced. My wife ordered a salad. I accompanied my hearty meal with a light, refreshing and rejuvenating cocktail. I forgot the name, but it had freshly muddled basil and cucumber, gin, simple syrup, lime juice and soda water. It was the beez colokneez! It was towards the end of my feast that Ryan, the manager, came to our table to inquire about our day. This led to a tour of the property, a story of Al Capone, a former resident of the property, and ultimately, a life-long customer and friend. The staff was wonderful. The food was magnificent. The drinks were off the chain. Thank you all for your hospitality and putting the cherry on top of me and my wife's anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fine local foods prepared by an innovati ...

vip
Dined on July 23, 2015

Fine local foods prepared by an innovative chef. Excellent service and a fine selection of drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & ambience

Dined on June 28, 2015

Love that the menu addresses special diets.Could use nightly specials if dining there a few days in a row.Friendly yet professional service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Two Bunch Palms Resort celebrating their 75 years

vip
Dined on March 28, 2015

It was our first visit to this charming resort where we had dinner at their restaurant, Essence. Age is evident in some aspects, but it works here. The staff is terrific, from the young lady who greeted us when we walked in, to the bartender, to our server, to the Food and Beverage Manager, who stopped by to welcome us. We dined outdoors on a beautiful deck. The only negative was the upholstered seats which are stained and spotted. The menu is not for everyone. It leans towards organic, with only a couple of entrees that appealed to me and my husband. We started with a Caesar salad, which had olives in it...unusual. The lettuce was wilted and the dressing was dealt with a heavy hand. I had the Mexican Prawn dish, which was good, but could have been larger. My husband had the pasta, and he had the same comment regarding the amount of food. We ordered dessert, which was listed on the menu as Strawberry Shortcake, but turned out to be the Chef's version of Strawberry Shortcake, but not ours. We didn't like it, and they were kind enough to take it off the bill. All in all the atmosphere and the service more than made up for anything that was lacking, and we would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience5
service4

Beautiful Grounds, Good Food

Dined on January 18, 2015

The lady and I went to Essense in Desert Springs rather on a whim. Not too many fine dining options in this little 'burb. A beautifully low-key restaurant on some amazingly maintained land at the Twin Palms Resort. Feed the turtles after dinner! I had the beet salad with goat cheese and salmon. Couldn't find the salmon but the wood mushrooms were delicious. She had the burrata. Fresh Indio tomatoes MADE this dish! For dinner, my ahi tuna was a bit overcooked but I blame that on us being the last ones in the restaurant. The lady likes to take her time getting ready... The wasabi potatoes on the side were excellent as were all the sauces on the tuna. I like it veeerrrry rare, and it was seared a bit too long. The lady's prawns over curry was a nice dish, if the prawns were also a bit overcooked. The chef has an excellent handle on sauces and ingredients, but needs to take care a bit more while cooking later in the night. My only real complaint was with desert. We had the pineapple butter cake, which was downright stale! The coffee ice cream, salted caramel sauce and homemade whipped cream made up for it, so we ate around the cake. The Sangiovese was a nice wine choice for the lady and my gin tea cooler was a refreshing option. The bartender even came out to serve it himself and gave me some pointers on enjoying it. Believe me, I know how to drink alcohol, but still a nice touch. When you're done dinner, make sure to walk around the resort paths, as the stars are gorgeous at night, and the Japanese style sand gardens are beautiful, as are all the little ponds, where if you stop for a moment, turtles are likely to walk right up to you for a dinner of their own. I would definitely go back, albeit a bit earlier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place to leave the world behind

vip
Dined on November 12, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch with a relaxing atmosphere. Walking the grounds before or after your meal is a must. The food is very good. Like some others I would prefer that bath robes were not permitted in the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than expected

vip
Dined on October 26, 2014

After recent reviews we were fearful , but our experience was wonderful. Ignore the "critics" and enjoy its a gem

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

What a difference a week makes

Dined on September 13, 2014

We returned to Essense after a great lunch the week prior and it was extremely disappointing. It took three attempts to find a wine that was available and then one of the wines was off. I ordered the same meal as the week prior - Penne Al Fresco - and was greeted with a dish that was drenched in oil and had none of the fresh vibrance of the dish I had just a week earlier. The bread arrived at the table after the lunch dishes. A listed ingredient in one of the desserts was not available and although it was substituted, it would have been nicer as listed. We were going to try the restaurant for dinner but I'm not sure that we will. If they allow people to wear bathrobes at dinner as well, then we most certainly will not.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Lunch Spot

Dined on September 6, 2014

Essense is a very relaxed setting to enjoy a nice lunch with a glass or two. Looking forward to trying the dinner menu. The only drawback was that guests of the resort turn up to the restaurant in bath robes. I understand the nature of the resort but the restaurant is open to the general public, and I would have thought that a certain standard would be required.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service2

Good makeover, but needs work

Dined on July 22, 2014

Decor gets five stars! Hostess & did not read/relay our Open Table special request to server. Dinner was ok, but filet mingon sauce was runny. Veggie gaspatcho consisted of two tablespoons for $8! The waitress even said sorry when she delivered it to us. We asked for our half eaten duck dinner ($$$) to be wrapped to go, but the server never brought it back...Open Table request for birthday celebration, w/ no acknowledgement of it by anyone. We ordered desert with no extra fuss (there had already been so many issues w/ the two parties next door. Please do not sit the only three tables in the restaurant next to one another so we have to listen to other's awful language...Pls work on service & hope the chef fine tunes his dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4

not what it used to be

Dined on July 20, 2014

New chef does not live up to previous reviews. Great setting; poor food.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

We simply enjoyed my wifes

Dined on April 13, 2014

We simply enjoyed my wifes birthday-evening in this spectacular restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 9, 2014

The Two Bunch Palms Resort and Spa is absolutely divine. An oasis in the desert of serenity and calm The dining room menu is offers a selection of healthy and appetizing entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful setting - make sure

vip
Dined on March 29, 2014

Beautiful setting - make sure you stroll the grounds while you are there. There is a path through the grotto that goes down to behind the building where there are two ponds and then further. Very serene. Food and service were both good to excellent. My only gripe was that we made a reservation on OpenTable and they seated us in the lounge part of the restaurant, even though there were empty tables in the main dining room. We asked to sit there but they said they were 'reserved'... even though we had an OpenTable reservation. One other important note: The OpenTable app shows the location on the map to be about 0.5-1 miles WEST of Palm. In reality you need to turn EAST when coming from Palm. Informed restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful gem in DHS!

Dined on March 20, 2014

"Moisture is the essence of wetness, and wetness is the essence of beauty." - Zoolander Essense literally MADE my trip. My wife and I love to go to DHS spas, namely "The Spring". We found this little gem (newly opened) by sheer chance. What we found was delicious food, an incredible ambiance, and a most helpful wait staff. The manager, Ryan, was extremely hospitable and made us feel welcome, like friends. We will be tossing Essense into our DHS routine of ultimate relaxation and pleasure. Did I mention, the food is amazing?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

The menu is very appealing

vip
Dined on November 20, 2013

The menu is very appealing and the food is prepared with care and style. However most dishes were lacking flavor and continuity. Many things were too sweet or saucy or very bland. Meat dishes were overdone. Service tires hard but is off. The 'hostess' doubles as a bus--girl and is uniformed as one. The waitress was friendly and helpful but lacking in deep knowledge of the food and preparation. Who I believe was the manager paid no attention to the goings on and sat with friends sharing a bottle of wine. Of course the place itself and view are very special.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

This new restaurant at Two

vip
Dined on October 24, 2013

This new restaurant at Two Bunch Palms is a wonderful departure from the old one. The eco décor is a breath of fresh air and speaks to the property's new direction of healthy gourmet dining. Their menu is Cal-mediterrean infused with local ingredients. I especially love the Borscht, Indio Date Salad and their salmon and steak. But if you want to try a true vegan dish, go for the beet and lentil burger - YUM! The staff is nice and since the restaurant has been doing so well, they are going through growing pains. Oh and don't forget to try their fresh juices with kale and beet (Hani's magic) during the day and then select from their wonderful wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.