About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 9043217693x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gambas Mozambique
  • Paella Valenciana
  • Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
  • paella marinera
  • solomillo con cabrales
Gambas Mozambique
Paella Valenciana
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
paella marinera
solomillo con cabrales

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
7 More
Best Overall
Amelia Island
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Special Occasion
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

Fit for Foodies (130)
Special Occasion (127)
Neighborhood Gem (116)
See All
Romantic (100)
Great for Outdoor Dining (60)
Good for Groups (56)
Notable Wine List (40)
Hot Spot (26)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1095 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

EXCELLENT!! This time and every time!!! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

EXCELLENT!! This time and every time!!! My personal favorite.

(the only thing I don't like is gum chewing among the staff. especially in a food environment. hostess was)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a town (Historic Fernandina Beach FL) ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

In a town (Historic Fernandina Beach FL) full of great restaurants, this one is our favorite whether for a special occasion or a group meal of shared tapas. Yummy food and Sangria!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is a bit abbreviated - there ar ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The menu is a bit abbreviated - there are a dozen or so tapas, a few salads, three kinds of paella, and then maybe a half dozen entrees. The food was good but not, say, exceptional. The service was very good, though, and it was clear everyone in the place was having a good time. The energy was fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Paella was delicious. Got the paella rus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Paella was delicious. Got the paella rustica and YUM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had been wanting to eat at Espana for qu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Had been wanting to eat at Espana for quite sometime and it was well worth the wait. Food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Espana is one of the best dining experie ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Espana is one of the best dining experiences on Amelia Island. It is a "Don't Miss". All dishes are prepared and presented beautifully. The seafood is exceptional and their signature seafood paella is the best we've had. Service, ambiance and wine selection are all first class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoyed our first visit to Espana. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit to Espana. The service was extremely attentive and a bit too fast/rushed. Our appetizers....calamari and stuffed peppers were very good...especially the peppers. My husband ordered the spicey snapper and it was fabulous....my spicey grouper was so-so. Bottle of chardonnay was tasty and well priced at $30. Tiramisu was good. Nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very fresh seafood and nice house wine. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very fresh seafood and nice house wine. Love the assortment of small plates.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not much seafood in our dish. Dish only ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

not much seafood in our dish. Dish only had4 shrimp 4 mussels 4 clams and some calamari- Dish was for 2 people- Thought it would have been more seafood.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great staff!! Great Food!! I love this r ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great staff!! Great Food!! I love this restaurant!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espana was recommended to us by a friend ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Espana was recommended to us by a friend's wife and I could not be happier that we went and tried it out. It was my favorite meal of our entire trip. The food was incredible!! The tappas were delicious. I will 110% be going back there on my next vacation and recommend it to everyone I know who heads that way.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite is the paella. And th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a favorite is the paella. And the sangria was also quite good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Had sangria and pa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was outstanding. Had sangria and paella. Both were great. Service was excellent. Ambiance was just ok. Nothing special. Overall Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Very good food! Plan to go back again wh ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very good food! Plan to go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food! was a little bit price ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

very good food! was a little bit pricey for the amount you got, but we just had apps. friendly server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

My boyfriend and I had dinner here three ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My boyfriend and I had dinner here three nights ago to celebrate his birthday and it was just great ! I just moved here and we have been here before and I think this Is probably my favorite place to eat ever! The ceviche is highly recommended!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience. Delicious ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was an amazing experience. Delicious food and great service. They also have great Spanish wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic. Service was very goo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was very good. We will come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Paella was wonderful, if a bit much even ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Paella was wonderful, if a bit much even for two people. Andulusia salad was a perfect start, but there were sufficient hot and cold tapas to share as well. Disappointed in alcoholic beverages offered-wine list was very limited, and no cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was our second time visiting the re ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our second time visiting the restaurant, and it was as excellent as it was the previous time. Another family joined us for this occasion, and it was enjoyable to see other fine dishes served at our table. I would love to visit again in the future and try some of their other menu options.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is DELICIOUS and the waitress is so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food is DELICIOUS and the waitress is so nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A family friend recommended España with ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A family friend recommended España with great enthusiasm for their paella, which he declared to be better than paella's origin, Spain. And he wasn't lying, the fish was incredibly succulent and fresh. The dishes aren't limited to only fish, as many would assume, because their lemon-chicken was highly raved by a devout poultry glutton. The ambiance isn't limited to only seasoned, pinot-comatose vacationers, and the service was well-timed and approachable, even to those of non-biligunal "menu-reading" abilities. From the humid air of Florida's beaches to the refreshing and welcoming atmosphere of España, I'd suggest sitting down and ordering two baskets of their fluffy bread. It's a vacation paradise, isn't it? like a comfortable dining room in a friends home from entrance to exit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our third visit, and it did not ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our third visit, and it did not disappoint! The three of us sampled three different tapas appetizers (including the day's special empanadas) and three different entrées. All were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service...a bit lou ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding food and service...a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful service and great food. Only ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful service and great food. Only regret was that my favorite eggplant tapas was unavailable on the night we dined.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in the old historic dis ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great restaurant in the old historic district. We went there with a group of seven on the recommendation of our son. The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is beyond amazing! Sangria is t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food is beyond amazing! Sangria is the best anywhere! We eat here every time we are in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in the Seafood Pallea. It w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Disappointed in the Seafood Pallea. It was over cooked, too spicy and the rice was dry. Mozzarella dish was excellent. Bread was ok. Shrimp cervice was too Limey and too much juice. Service was just ok.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My second time visiting Amelia Island an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My second time visiting Amelia Island and also this restaurant. It's by far one of my favorite places I've ever eaten at. The food and service are superb. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes Spanish Tapas. Tried the Paella this time: the portion for one was perfect for sharing, along with 2 other tapas. We had no room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Espana is amazing. It is one ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food at Espana is amazing. It is one of the best restaurants I have ever dined at! Service was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Espana was terrific! The sp ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food at Espana was terrific! The spicy snapper was awesome. A great vacation dinner and the service was terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner and the serves was grea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent dinner and the serves was great - as always. One of our favorite restaurants in Fernandina, there are a lot more to choice from and this is one of the top on our lists.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very attentive and my wat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was very attentive and my water glass was never less than half full. After finishing our meal, I ordered an Americano and while my girlfriends and I were talking he came up and gave us all a tad bit more wine, no charge. I will definitely be back. The tapas were all excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals I have ever eaten!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a short stay on Amelia Island and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a short stay on Amelia Island and we read about Espana. It was an amazing experience, the paella was fantastic and Omar our server was amazing pleasant and knowledgeable. It was a great meal, wonderful atmosphere. I recommend it to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation at 9pm. We had foun ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a reservation at 9pm. We had found the restaurant hot inside and very dim. Had to use the flashlight app on the phone to read the menu. The menu was interesting, the food did not disappoint. I only wished for AC and more lights.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tapas were excellent, we ate to many tap ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Tapas were excellent, we ate to many tapas so we didn't have a chance to try the paella, but it looked really good. Service was superb, and home made Sangria was very good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite place when visiting Fernandi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My favorite place when visiting Fernandina Beach. My favorite is the Seafood a paella.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

After reading reviews of Espana, I expec ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

After reading reviews of Espana, I expected more from the restaurant. Food was ok but nothing special for a Spanish/Portugese restaurant. If you like balsamic glaze on virtually everything, you'll go nuts over Espana (much too much balsamic) . The bar had a poor choice of Spanish or Portugese wines. Most of the reds were from Chile or California. I don't remember any tempranillos. No Portugese wines at all. So, given that the prices tended to be high, I had expected better food, wine, and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have, once again, decided Espana is o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have, once again, decided Espana is our "go to" place. The food is delicious, the garden view is beautiful in the early evening sun (if you are on the porch side), and the service is great. From escargot to calamari steak, from scallops to pork tenderloin, from shrimp curry to red snapper, each dish is a tasty adventure. And then, there is the wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.