Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (108)
Good for a Date (80)
Creative Cuisine (69)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Authentic (68)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Special Occasion (63)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Romantic (58)
Worth the Drive (47)
Casual (45)
Cozy (44)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Fun (30)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Tasting Menu (19)
Healthy (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Spicy (18)
Business Meals (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

What a wonderful place, charming, excellent food, super wait staff, and so gracious, thank you for making our first meal in Amelia Island the best one!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Our go-to place. Always terrific! Can make a meal out of tapas or choose the fabulous fresh seafood. Super friendly, efficient staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

A fantastic dinner with authentic Spanish and Portuguese food in a cozy atmosphere. The Fisherman's Stew is to die for. So is the tres leches.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I selected this restaurant upon reading previous reviews from other patrons and was presently surprised at the atmosphere and the service. Upon arriving and walking to the door we met other patrons and ask them if they've ever been there before and they said that they were there last night and Back Again because the food was so good. My wife ordered eggplant tapas and said that it was the best eggplant she has ever eaten in her life. Her Aunt Ray was a pork loin that was roasted to Perfection with also very good and melted in her mouth. I was torn between the Paia and the Boya base on the menu but then when the waiter suggested a special of seafood stew I ordered that. I was pleasantly surprised when the seafood stew came to the table it looked like a mix between Boyer bays and Paia little bit spicier but I love spicy food it was excellent to say the least probably the best seafood stew Bay Bay's type dish that I've ever had. To say the least my wife and I will definitely travel from St Augustine to Fernandina Beach to eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We go here often and as always it is wonderful. Food always good and staff is really friendly.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious and well presented food. The service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

As always fantastic. We enjoy going there so much we gladly drive the one and half hours to get there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Espana is a fantastic restaurant! The food is exceptional and the service impeccable. Must have the sangria.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best paella ever eaten including dish in Miami, St. Augustine and Tampa. Enjoyed so much, went back next night and ordered paella for two to bring home to Tallahassee. Highly recommended this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Espana is by far, one of my favorite restaurants. The food is outstanding and the service is excellent. They have an extensive tapas menu, all of them are large enough to share. They have the absolute best sangria. I have never been disappointed dining at Espana. Exceptional food at a fair price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 10, 2017

España always has excellent service. The food is outstanding. Get the Fisherman's stew. It's our favorite restaurant in Fernandina Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great servic, unique menu. Were able to make changes to accommodate a large group. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Seafood paella was great! Lovely place. Wish is wasn't too hot to eat on the beautiful patio. Would definitely visit on next visit to Amelia Island.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I had the Paella Valencia for two. We shared a house salad and the bread while we waited. The Paella was delicious and had plenty of fish and chicken and chorizo. The spices were spot on and we enjoyed it so much. The service was very attentive but not over bearing. A bottle of wine and a dish of paella, who could ask for more.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We made our first trip to Amelia Island and a coworker (who lived there a few years ago) highly recommended Espana. We also met several locals and they all said we just HAD to try it. Well, we did, and all I can say is that we would make a trip back to Amelia Island JUST to eat at Espana again! It was absolutely incredible! We had the shrimp, escargot and calamari as appetizers, and the seafood paella and chicken with lemon and garlic for the main course. Five Stars, all the way!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Jonathan was fantastic! Shrimp Mozambique was an excellent recommendation for tapas. My wife really enjoyed steak and Madeira and I had the fisherman stew which was amazing. Go more than once so you can really explore the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We always eat here when visiting Fernandina. We've only ordered tapas and have done many of them. Favorites are the calamari steak - unique, delicious and healthy! The shrimp tapas come in a vast variety of sauces - curry being a favorite. Have enjoyed indoor and outdoor dining - love them both depending on the weather.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fish special and snapper were great. Inside can be noisy. Service always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent as always! Out of town friends said it was the best dinner they have had on the island. Brilliant restaurant to take guests , always happiness. Fresh seafood and paella were delicious! Thank you to the many who make it so great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food and service. We especially loved the service provided by the waiter. Lots of seafood selections on the menu. Loved the tapas. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. Great place to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

If you go, ask for a garden view. The vegetarian paella was good as was the sangria. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Gave them a 4 star and I am stingy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our least favorite restaurant in Amelia Island. The "spicy" snapper was dry, flavorless and over cooked. The shrimp was too salty. The rice was cold and the bread was chewy and so cold you couldn't spread the cold butter on it. Tight loud restaurant. Didn't find anything appealing about the place or the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We love Espana our favorite restaurant on the Island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a great meal and service. Had a tuna special and a beef empanada appetizer. Excellent! Would highly recommend to every one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

This was our first time to Espana after visiting Fernandina Beach for years but this was our first time to Espana. We had a great meal (my wife had the snapper with spinach and I had the Paella Valencia. My meal was great and I would definitely order it on our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wait staff were excellent. Half of the food excellent until we got to the main course Paella Valencia. I have eaten it in restaurants all over including three in Spain. It was hardly edible The chef must have confused the cayenne and saffron. Too much of one and not enough of the other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Modest restaurant with limited seating in old small building. Food was average but interesting. A table near ours was "Overserved and they were extremely loud".

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Amazing!!! I miss living in Seville and this spot fulfill my tastebuds needs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My mother and I ate at Espana on Tuesday, July 18. We had booked our reservation on Open Table. Upon arrival, we were seated immediately. We were fortunate to have Jonathan as our waiter. As mentioned in another review, he is awesome! The food and sangria were excellent. My mother and I both had the Grouper Lisbon. This was our first visit to Espana, and we will definitely return. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Once again Espana delivers a great meal!!!! Always a great choice! My fav on the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Small local restaurant off the Main Street, but big on food selection, service, ambiance and attention to detail. My wife and I shared the fish stew which was adequate for the two of us. It was Great tasting with a little kick to it. It was serverd in a large cast iron skillet with a side of saffron rice. Our waiter Scott made the evening and diner just a little bit special. I strongly suggest this restaurant and feel regardless of what you order it will more than satisfy your appetite. Great job done by all.

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The Snapper with creamy pablano sauce was very good. The house white Sangria was tasty and complemented the snapper. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful food with a great variety of Spanish food. Pealla was excellent as well as the snapper and scallops. Sangria is a must....suprisingly enjoyed the banana bread pudding as well. Note it is not quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This place is our favorite on the island! Great atmosphere, great food and our server, Omar, was exceptional! The shrimp and escargot appetizers were delicious and our entrees were fantastic. The time between appetizer and entree was longer than anticipated but it was worth the wait. Thanks for making our family dinner a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food and service was awesome. It was the perfect place to celebrate our 25th anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My third time and everything was super. The fisherman's stew is really outstanding. The wait staff is friendly and very professional. All in all a wonderful time. And my date was very favorably impressed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding service. Great sangria and ceviche. We had the Fisherman's stew which was excellent. Paella is also very good.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The seating is too close for me. We felt crowded by the talkative guest seated next to us. We were there at 530, so were some of the first to arrive. Think it would be too loud and clostrophobic once tables were filled. Definitely not a place for children!! The food and service were great. Justin took very good care of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.