About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 9043217693x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gambas Mozambique
  • Paella Valenciana
  • Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
  • paella marinera
  • solomillo con cabrales
Gambas Mozambique
Paella Valenciana
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
paella marinera
solomillo con cabrales

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Amelia Island
7 More
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Fit for Foodies
Amelia Island
Special Occasion
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

Special Occasion (104)
Fit for Foodies (96)
Neighborhood Gem (90)
See All
Romantic (76)
Good for Groups (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Notable Wine List (35)
Hot Spot (20)
Tapas (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (4)
Scenic View (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Waterfront (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fantastic! Great flavor - So ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Great flavor -

Solomillo con Cabrales - the best ever; Vieras en Salsa Verde - excellent

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Family enjoyed being able to share tapas ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Family enjoyed being able to share tapas, trying a little bit of everything. Food was excellent. Service was equally good. Fisherman's Stew is great for sharing.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

we were looking toward the meal we heard ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

we were looking toward the meal we heard great things comparing to the Columbia ,somewaht disappointed . the steak was ordered med rare and came out med well. they fixed that . my rice was still a little crunchy. The staff was awesome and the sangria was great . we will try it again may had been a off night .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fabulous experience at Espana. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a fabulous experience at Espana. The food was delicious and our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. I highly recommend Omar.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as always. Omar was our sever and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great, as always. Omar was our sever and he did a fantastic job.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were visiting from west FL for a meet ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

we were visiting from west FL for a meeting and this was recommended by the concierge from our hotel (Amelia Island Plantation); excellent choice! We will return when we revisit the area!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tapas is so good and varied that we ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The tapas is so good and varied that we skipped the entrées completely. I enjoyed the escargot the most, while my wife enjoyed the muscles. The wine list was good, with plenty of Spanish selections to accompany the Spanish inspired dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We tell people it is our favorite in Fer ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We tell people it is our favorite in Fernandina Beach..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most in my party enjoyed the food but my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Most in my party enjoyed the food but my grouper was over-cooked and very dry. I asked my wife to have a taste and she suggested I should send it back which I did. Also, there was a table near us and they were having a good time but their conversations were so loud we were unable to converse with one another. Our server had to be asked for everything: water, bread even ground pepper for my salad. I feel certain we must have just had a bad evening and their food/service that particular night was not typical.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Most of the food we ordered was okay. Ou ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Most of the food we ordered was okay. Our favorite was the gambas Mozambique. They were delicious. Like most tapas restaurants in the US it was pretty pricey for what you get. It was a fairly small and cozy restaurant with a beautiful patio area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Jonath ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Jonathan, our waiter, decribed the featured items well and he was patient with us as we took our time to look over the menu. We had an assortment of olives and salads two salads to start. My wife had the tenderloin with a Spanish blue cheese cream sauce and I had the spicy grouper (they are listed by names in Portuguese, I'm refering to the English names that are also listed). Both were to die for. My grouper also came with a fried scallop! Both dishes has a wonderful vegetable medley that were sliced julienning style which is my favorite. They had nice spice to them. Definitely not boring. Also a Spanish rice was served with Both dishes. We finished off our meal with a cafe and desert. Easily one of the best meals I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NEEDS A FULL BAR!! Food was excellent A ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

NEEDS A FULL BAR!! Food was excellent

Authentic menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Espana never disappoints! We try to take ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Espana never disappoints! We try to take our out of town family there every chance we get! Love the tapas, paella, scallops, grouper and sangria!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

should consider more basic tapas like "g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

should consider more basic tapas like "garbanzos fritos. tortilla espanola, octopus/squids/ eels in vinaigrette or cooked.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This used to be our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This used to be our favorite restaurant on Amelia Island but sadly not any more. We had the most awful experience for our last visit. We had hoped to enjoy a special evening celebrating a significant wedding anniversary but were made to sit in the bar area despite having made our reservation long in advance. Unfortunately what we had hoped would be a memorable occasion turned in to an absolute nightmare as we had to compete with a large, raucous and very noisy group that made the simple act of having a conversation with my wife completely impossible. It was the type of environment one might expect in a sports bar, but not a somewhat pricey and supposedly elegant restaurant. We were only able to briefly commiserate with the couple sitting next to us who similarly expressed concern at their inability to hold a conversation and vowed that they would never return. If you do go then insist on being seated in the dinning room and avoid being seated in the bar area, otherwise be prepared to not even being able to hear yourself think. We simply will not go there again unless we can be assured of seating in the dinning room side.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

W e Always have a great meal and experie ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

W e Always have a great meal and experience when we go to Espana! What a great staff and menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hidden gem. Good food, excellent ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great hidden gem. Good food, excellent services, relaxing comfortable decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent restaurant with a relaxing amb ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent restaurant with a relaxing ambience. Food was exceptional as was the sangria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!! This time and every time!!! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

EXCELLENT!! This time and every time!!! My personal favorite.

(the only thing I don't like is gum chewing among the staff. especially in a food environment. hostess was)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espana never fails to disappoint. My dat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Espana never fails to disappoint. My date absolutely loved it and he can't wait to go back. The food, service, etc. is exceptional.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a town (Historic Fernandina Beach FL) ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

In a town (Historic Fernandina Beach FL) full of great restaurants, this one is our favorite whether for a special occasion or a group meal of shared tapas. Yummy food and Sangria!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is a bit abbreviated - there ar ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The menu is a bit abbreviated - there are a dozen or so tapas, a few salads, three kinds of paella, and then maybe a half dozen entrees. The food was good but not, say, exceptional. The service was very good, though, and it was clear everyone in the place was having a good time. The energy was fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Paella was delicious. Got the paella rus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Paella was delicious. Got the paella rustica and YUM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had been wanting to eat at Espana for qu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Had been wanting to eat at Espana for quite sometime and it was well worth the wait. Food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Espana is one of the best dining experie ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Espana is one of the best dining experiences on Amelia Island. It is a "Don't Miss". All dishes are prepared and presented beautifully. The seafood is exceptional and their signature seafood paella is the best we've had. Service, ambiance and wine selection are all first class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoyed our first visit to Espana. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit to Espana. The service was extremely attentive and a bit too fast/rushed. Our appetizers....calamari and stuffed peppers were very good...especially the peppers. My husband ordered the spicey snapper and it was fabulous....my spicey grouper was so-so. Bottle of chardonnay was tasty and well priced at $30. Tiramisu was good. Nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very fresh seafood and nice house wine. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very fresh seafood and nice house wine. Love the assortment of small plates.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not much seafood in our dish. Dish only ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

not much seafood in our dish. Dish only had4 shrimp 4 mussels 4 clams and some calamari- Dish was for 2 people- Thought it would have been more seafood.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great staff!! Great Food!! I love this r ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great staff!! Great Food!! I love this restaurant!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espana was recommended to us by a friend ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Espana was recommended to us by a friend's wife and I could not be happier that we went and tried it out. It was my favorite meal of our entire trip. The food was incredible!! The tappas were delicious. I will 110% be going back there on my next vacation and recommend it to everyone I know who heads that way.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite is the paella. And th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a favorite is the paella. And the sangria was also quite good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Had sangria and pa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was outstanding. Had sangria and paella. Both were great. Service was excellent. Ambiance was just ok. Nothing special. Overall Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Very good food! Plan to go back again wh ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very good food! Plan to go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food! was a little bit price ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

very good food! was a little bit pricey for the amount you got, but we just had apps. friendly server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

My boyfriend and I had dinner here three ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My boyfriend and I had dinner here three nights ago to celebrate his birthday and it was just great ! I just moved here and we have been here before and I think this Is probably my favorite place to eat ever! The ceviche is highly recommended!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience. Delicious ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was an amazing experience. Delicious food and great service. They also have great Spanish wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic. Service was very goo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was very good. We will come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Paella was wonderful, if a bit much even ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Paella was wonderful, if a bit much even for two people. Andulusia salad was a perfect start, but there were sufficient hot and cold tapas to share as well. Disappointed in alcoholic beverages offered-wine list was very limited, and no cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was our second time visiting the re ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our second time visiting the restaurant, and it was as excellent as it was the previous time. Another family joined us for this occasion, and it was enjoyable to see other fine dishes served at our table. I would love to visit again in the future and try some of their other menu options.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is DELICIOUS and the waitress is so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food is DELICIOUS and the waitress is so nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.