Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (109)
Good for a Date (81)
Authentic (78)
See All
Special Occasion (72)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Romantic (54)
Cozy (50)
Casual (44)
Worth the Drive (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fun (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Local Ingredients (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Spicy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (17)
Healthy (17)
Hot Spot (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (7)
Family Style (7)
Historic (6)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Been there before never disappoints. Will be back when we are the area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I went to Espana for a date night while on the island. What a great experience. We told our waiter to have the chef send us his recommendations and IT WAS AMAZING! The best meal we have had on the island. Be sure to get the Tres Leches as well...the most perfect dessert ever.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Food, service & staff were stupendous from start to finish. Tapas, salad, entrées, all of it great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Phenomenal food and service. Definitely the best restaurant we've ever eaten at inn Amelia Island.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

A longtime village jewel, I had one of my
few bad experiences. We had a party of six
and arrived promptly as per our reservations. We were seated and gave our
order to the pleasant server. Four of us got our ordered meal. It took TWENTY MINUTES for the other two diners, in our party, to receive theirs. Free desserts DO NOT compensate! We paid our $280.00 bill and left without incident. I will give them one more try. Competent wait service is a MUST!!! There are too many wonderful restaurants from which to choose!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Large portions reasonably priced and delicious food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Service, food, and wine were exceptional. I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Prompt, attentive and courteous service. Great selections, fresh, tasty....definitely going again. A local fave, glad to have found it,

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We went to celebrate my husbands board exam. Our server took over ten minutes to come say hello and get our drink order because he was busy with friends one table over. We just sat there waiting and waiting. Had to finally ask the water guy. Then the server was irritated with us our whole dinner, didn't want to tell us specials and acted like we were to demanding. It just went downhill fast. The food was pretty amazing, I would skip the calamari in the future, shrimp was right on! Overall we would go back but fingers crossed server would be different.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food experience at España is out of this world. Roberto and Marina do an outstanding job at the restaurant. From Tapas to Desserts the food was well prepared and served. This is a must go to restaurant if your in Fernandina Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Have not been to many Spanish restaurants but really enjoyed our meal and time there. Would go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food. Spicy snapper and drunken clams are the best. No one makes the spicy snapper as good. Great meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Outstanding food and service! The server was thorough in he assistance with menu. I appr coated that!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Disappointing. The service and setting was pleasant. The ensalada de sangria salad's lettuce looked old. It was not very appealing to the eye. There was very little seafood in the Paella Marinera. It was mostly rice.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We are on vacation with our kids and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The grilled calamari was fantastic as were the mussels.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Two to three tables were waited on before us even though we arrived first. We then waited 20 minutes after ordering to receive our appetizer which fortunately, was delicious. Then, we waited for 25 plus minutes after finishing our appetizer for our main course. The waiter was very courteous and apologetic, offering the explanation that they were "overwhelmed and that our orders just kept getting pushed back." He offered free drinks (after the first one) and appetizer for the delay which was fine but we went there to eat, not drink.
The restaurant has a very nice atmosphere. I would like to go again, believing in second chances, but I don't know if I can. An ironic note to this dining experience is that I had been trying for 4 years to convince my wife to go there. Being Fathers Day weekend she gave in.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were all that we heard. Great all the way around! We plan to visit the next time we are in Amelia Island. Book your reservation early. Go for the Sangria!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time in the area and a friend recommended Espana Restaurant. It was a superb evening. We were in no rush so enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and a relaxing dining experience. Everything from the homemade warm bread to the fantastic flume (spelling?) dessert was outstanding.

We thanked our friends for a great recommendation!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We are locals and this is one of our favorites. Always great service, great food and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Fernandina Beach! It's well earned. Don't miss it. Btw, they could bottle and sell their sangria. It's that good!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great variety in the menu including many seafood options. Our server was terrific, suggesting we order three tapas items and then split one entree...perfect amount of food for the two of us.
If we are on Amelia again, we will eat here again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Super restaurant with authentic cuisine and awesome sangria

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always wonderful and our favorite restaurant on the island.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have enjoyed Espana several times, both inside and outside in the gardens. The service is excellent and the owner/chef will cook or alter your selection to your specific needs. I was with 2 others and this was our preferred 1st choice. We were famished after The Artragious Art Walk, thirsty too.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Healthy, Spicy, Organic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

we are return customers, Waiter was excellent, food superb!!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Fantastic Tapas and paella as well as great sea food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We dine here at least twice every time we visit our Condo.
The shrimp tapas are our favorite and the sangria salad. The goat cheese salad if they are serving as a special. A half pitcher of Sangria is just enough.
Reservations are highly recommended.
We already are looking forward to our next visit in July.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Experience was great. We both had fish entrees that were awesome. Wait staff was great. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Espana is one of the many jewels in the Amelia Island Restaurant Collection.
ALWAYS consistent food quality and a prolific display of creative offerings.
Service was more than adequate. I only wish they moved to a more accommodating
facility.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was hard to pass up on the paella having heard so much about it. We opted for a steak and fish dish which were both very good. Highly recommend this Vichy and the shrimp Mozambique. Look forward to going back again soon

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Tapas, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Tapas was very good. The shrimp Mozambique and calamari drizzled with balsamic vinegar were special.

The entrees were very good and good value/size. We probably could have shared with the tapas and been satisfied.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Celebrated our 33rd Wedding Anniversary with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed the food, drink, and service at España. This is my go to place for an excellent meal and atmosphere on Amelia Island. We always enjoy the sangria (white or red) with freshly cut fruit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wow! Although some reviewers complain about the prices, you get what you pay for. Our dining experience was special in every way. Service was spot on and the food was simply delicious. If you are looking for a special evening, or just a relaxing evening with fine food and wine, you are in for a treat at Espana.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 30, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've ever had in the world! Food was excellent, prices were reasonable. I had the snapper special, with crab, scallop and shrimp, which was amazing. Service was great, professional. We had a nice Spanish wine, which was great too.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Great restaurant. Highly recommend

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Again, Espana performs. Great, innovative food, service, ambiance. Roberto's shop is a definite stop if you are on Amelia Islan/ Fernandina Beach. Easy place to get everyone something they like and love.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Waited a long time to try out this restaurant. It was worth the wait! The food was delicious. Definitely try one of the paella dishes and the sangria!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great experience at Espana. Good, service and atmosphere. Sangria was awesome. Next time I'll skip the entrees and just order several tapas. All good. We'll be back

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Every time we visit Amelia, we stop in to España. Great authentic food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great meal, great service, great atmosphere. Courtyard is beautiful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.