Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 6:45PM

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (103)
Authentic (80)
Special Occasion (71)
See All
Good for a Date (68)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Romantic (42)
Cozy (41)
Casual (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Fun (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Groups (21)
Outstanding Value (17)
Spicy (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Historic (14)
Family Style (13)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food, great service and atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Great find in Amelia. Delicious tapas. Friendly service. Nice indoor atmosphere. Outside dining looks inviting. We will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a lovely evening. Just ordered the white sangria and we all got tapas and salads. My mushroom dish was delish--want to recreate the sauce at home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Espana is consistently excellent in every way.
If I could dine there every evening, I would!!

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first visit as a local....great evening for birthday dinner. Food was delicious, Snapper & Pollo w saffron.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful meal with excellent food, service, and atmosphere. My brother, his wife, and my wife all agree.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Disappointed that there wasn't more interaction with waitress, not very attentive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service and food!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, delicious sangria and an awesome waiter. A fantastic dinner in every way!

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fabulous meal, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

If the weather permits, choose outside in the garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Had 4 small plates including the scallops special, stuffed peppers and Andalusian Salad. Very good and the service was prompt and attentive. We would definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

All four diners ordered a different meal and all four diners enjoyed their meal. We tried lemon chicken, scallops, salad sangria, shrimp, paella, and angry potatoes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Wonderful flavorful food. Enjoyed Gambas Mozambique and Ensalada Andalusia with Serrano Hamilton and manchego cheese. Service was attentive. Great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service was excellent. I enjoyed the Snapper with brown sauce and the flan for dessert. I did not want the rice but the server gave me no options. The vegetables as a side were undercooked. I only like raw cabbage in cold slaw! The ambiance was unfortunate and my daughter had to go outside because the noise bothered her. Recommend outdoor garden seating!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was our second visit to Espana. Enjoyed the homemade sangria and the excellent service. The seafood paella for two was perfect for a nice Good Friday dinner. Recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting Fernandina Beach.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fifty stars! Outstanding dinner, what flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Someone recommended this restaurant to us and said they made amazing paella. It was true! Our teenage daughters are picky eaters and they enjoyed it as well. The food was amazing, the service was wonderful and we enjoyed the overall experience

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is definately the best paella we have had, my husband had the meat and I had the Seafood. We went twice while we were on the island and enjoyed both immensely. My husband had the Spicy Red fish and I had the lamb special on our second visit, they were both great. But the show stopper was the Black mussels in wine with Spanish sausage appetizer, the sauce is great for dipping the bread. We will go back again on our next trip, the other reviews said this was excellent and they were correct.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food, great service. Not good for kids, but knew that ahead off time so we didn't bring them. Ordered tapas, the calamari steak was really awesome. Attention to detail could be a little better on the table cloth setup, it wasn't centered, which set off my OCD alarm. But looking past that would eat here again, and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I was fortunate to have found this hidden gem via this app. It was very important for me to make sure that my wife's and I's anniversary celebrating our 16th year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Espana. The Sangria is a must have. We had the calamari, wish a
tender and fried perfectly. We ordered the special Empanadas wish were quite large and cut for sharing. My granddaughter wanted to order the pork appetizer, which I would not have typically picked. It was served in a cast iron skillet and we fought to dip our bread in the gravy.
The entree was the Portuguese Fisher Stew that had lots of local seafood in. tomato broth. The fried soft shell crabs in the soup were the best ever. A wonderful meal indeed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great dinner and fantastic service .
Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had, and I've had a lot of great meals. Had a whole meal of tapas - the grilled calamari and garlic shrimp were my favorites. Good red sangria to go with the meal. Excellent service too. Definitely make a reservation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary and it was a very enjoyable dinner. We have six children and were looking to have a night out without the kids and we were very pleased to see only adults dining out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This is our "go-to" date night restaurant. Guaranteed, amazing food, great service, great ambiance, 10 out of 10. Give this place a try and you will not regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ate here for the first time this past weekend and the food and service were great. The waiter was very personable and quite patient. All of the food was delicious; I want to return to try more tapas. We got a selection of fresh fish entrees, and the price of the meals was very fair. I hope to return to sit outside on the patio; the front dining room was small with tables quite close together, and this made things feel a bit tight. Also, the restaurant only has one restroom for each gender; I ended up having to wait for it twice for some time, which was a bit disconcerting.

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely selection of tapas and good paella and seafood dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fabulous! Everything came to the table hot. Outstanding
Our go to place on all occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wow, what a wonderful experience and authentic Spanish cuisine. Marina and Roberto are a delight and their passion for the culture and food shine through everything they create.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I love the food here. The porch area is sooo loud though. The owners Hotess/and chef? Made us feel a little uncomfortable. One rude and one too schmoozie. But........I love the food.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My husband and I are always so pleased with our experiences at España. You can never go wrong to pick this place for a good date night. You can tell the shrimp is local and the sangria, white or red, is DELICIOUS. It's definitely one of our favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Ordered an appetizer - Caracoles
(Escargot Andalusia Style)
Escargot flambéed with brandy,
garlic, onion and a creamy tomato - OK, nothing extraordinary
Bread was disappointing.
Paella Rustica
(All Meat Paella)
Chicken, pork tenderloin, chorizo, and white beans
$41.95 for two - OK
Sangria - OK

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

For a special dinner, this is the place. Delicious tapas, entrees - great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Delicious!! Everything was fabulous! It was so good that we went twice in one week!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Music was too loud for table conversation. My meal could have been warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our second visit to Espana, this time to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was fantastic from start to finish. Waiter was attentive, but not intrusive, and he made the evening for us by bringing sparkling wine as soon as we sat down. The tapas were tasty (and filling), the wine was a perfect match for the food, and our entrees were hearty, flavorful, and more than we could eat. This was the second time my wife tried the special of the night (this time a spicy seafood casserole, which is more like a stew), and she absolutely loved it. They know precisely what kind of food they are making for their clientele, and they do it extremely well. It's a small place and the crowd can be boisterous, but it's also a lot of fun--several tables spoke with each other, toasted other birthdays, etc. Every week we spend in Fernandina will involve a visit to Espana because we know it will deliver something special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Tapas, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Delicious apps and tapas. Enjoyed all the fruit in my sangria! The grouper and snapper entrees were both very tasty. Our server was personable and attentive. Great dining experience while on vacation.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Always special to sample their many tapas. Never disappointed during 8 visits. Lovely outdoor patio makes for special memories. Friendly and efficient wait staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.