Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 67 times today

España Restaurant of Amelia Island

4.7
1894 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Spanish
Top Tags:
  • Tapas
  • Authentic
  • Good for a Date
Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Spanish, Portuguese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 261-7700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Roberto Pestana
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Marina: (904) 321-7693
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Centre Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout
What 1894 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

I will not recommend this place. The waiter Omar bring the food medium rare and we specifically told him that if we saw blood the plate will be returning to the kitchen for proper cook and he comed back to our table trying to give us lessons about the terms of cooking.
Medium well has small amount of pink in the center BUT not blood, we KNOW it!
We do not appreciate his condescend attitude.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food at a busy, fun spot! Paella very good as were the mussel a appetizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service....Portuguese seafood stew is phenomenal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

we really enjoyed the espanada (sp?). we look forward to eating there again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This was our second visit and each time we have been there the experience was great! The food was superb and we love their sangria. Highly recommend the flan for dessert! Service is always friendly and good. This place has now become our regular destination whenever we are on Amelia Island!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

AMAZING food and an incredible value!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The sangria was potent but excellent. The tapas were amazing. The selection was diverse and our choices of Gambas Mozambique shrimp, angry potatoes, calamari Fritos, chorizo encebollado. We finished the meal with tiramisu. The service was wonderful. We would recommend Espana to anyone looking for quality food and service in a wonderful environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Awesome food, sangria, and great service!! Loved the outside dining with beautiful garden setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We both enjoy the beef tenderloins at España. My wife had the blue cheese and I had the wine sauce. Both were cooked perfectly to medium. We split the Ensalada Jardinera which was just right for us. The Shooting Star Cabernet paired perfectly with the beef.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We have been to Espana several times but for this Mothers Day dinner they truly failed.
There were 4- in our dinner party and 2 people ordered a paella to share. When the orders came out, the paella was not the correct one we ordered but, the other 2- diners received their dinners. So, 2- people (one being my Mom) waited for their food for a very long time. Actually, we finished our 2- entree's and their shared paella order still didn't arrive. I had to grab a busser to ask about the status of the missing food order. Our server didn't seem to want to face us while we waited, but when he did return, he offered a round of free drinks. The offer was impractical because one person had a 1/2 pitcher of sangria, and the other two said they didn't want second drinks. An offer of dessert or an adjustment of the bill would have been a more sincere offer by the restaurant. I felt disappointed & awful for my mother to be treated so disrespectfully on Mothers Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

First time to España and have been looking for a good local Tapas restaurant. España exceeded my expectations and then some. Not only were the Tapas excellent but the dinners were excellent as well. My mother had the snapper and my sister the grouper and they both raved about their meals. I had the beef and feta empanadas and Spanish red peppers stuffed with smoked salmon. Excellent presentation and both were delicious! Service was excellent as well. Will definitely be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This was our second visit to this restaurant. The previous dining experience was a couple of years ago, and we arrived just before closing. The food wasn't that good, because of the late arrival.

This time we made reservations ahead of time, and boy what a turn around. My wife had the Paella, and I had a Grouper special, with a jumbo shrimp, and scallop. Both dishes were beautifully plated, and the food was scrumptious.

Definetley will return for another fabulous meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

My husband and I traveled to the area to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Espana was recommended by one of my husband’s co-workers. We loved the restaurant, and our server, Jonathan, was excellent. The garlic shrimp tapas were so delicious! My husband ordered the special, grouper with scallops, and loved it. I ordered the tenderloin Madeira. While I liked my steak well enough, the meat was a little tough. The sauce, though, was delicious. All in all, we enjoyed our visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We had a wonderful time as always! Just wish they had a desert to celebrate a Birthday. Piece of cake with a single candle would have been nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Amazing restaurant, do yourself a favor and go. Order an assortment of small plates and enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

This restaurant was amazing. So glad we had the opportunity to go. Next time at Amelia Island we will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Everything was very nice, food excellent. The service is the only drawback here. Had to ask other wait staff to please send our server to our table. Not horrible service, but not great either. We will be going back, for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Service and food fantastic....as usual. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is by far our favorite restaurant on the Island. The blue cheese tenderloin is incredible. Tapas are awesome and they always have great specials.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great service. Wonderful food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is the best restaurant in Fernandina! We come here for the Fishermens stew. It’s unbelievable every time fresh muscles shrimp scallops calamari you name it it’s in there served with rice for two people it’s more than enough and we go home craving more. The service at this restaurant is always really attentive and their wine list compliments everything. Do yourself a favor make a reservation do it quickly!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great service. Great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Wonderful restaurant. We had the calamari and potatoes tapas and then Paella and the flan for dessert. Not to forget the service and Sangria. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Best Paella I've ever had. Very good Sangria. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very nice Spanish restaurant in the heart of town. Excellent food, great service and ambience.
The Ensalada de Sangria was very large for a salad portion, but devoured. The Pargo Ole' (spicy snapper) was perfectly prepared and presented, and mouth-watering delicious.
Never disappointing and always new and fresh tastes, as well as the traditionally best Paella I have ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Espana is our favorite go-to restaurant when we have visitors. Food is always great. In years of dining here have never been disappointed in food or service. A local treasure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We always enjoy Espana, been going there since they opened! Always wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Service and food were outstanding! Very reasonably priced for such high quality food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

This restaurant was outstanding from the food to the service! I highly recommend the tuna steak if it's available!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

One of our favorite places for a fabulous meal. Excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Chef came and spoke with everyone, food was wonderful. Gui, the server, was terriffic. Great location, needs more parking spaces.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

this has been about the 5-6th time we have eaten there. ALWAYS good!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable experience in a lovely patio setting. Would happily repeat. Paella was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Had dinner reservations at another location. Changed them to España because of the recommendation from a local. Very small location. Minimal bar space. Service and food were good, but not what we were expecting considering the long wait times and previous recommendation. Overall we enjoyed the experience, but feel like it was slightly overhyped all things considered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Espana, in my opinion, is the best restaurant on Amelia Island. In the 15 yrs we've been going there, have never had a bad meal or bad service - it's my favorite!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The Service was outstanding and the Tenderloin was perfectly done. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is that if I pay 30 bucks for an entree I want more than a choice of a "VEGETABLE MEDLEY" and a scoop of spanish rice (and these were cold). I can get a vegetable medley with a TV dinner. All at the table agreed that the vegetables were an afterthought to the meal and that should be given as much care as the main part of the entree.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Everything was amazing. Food, service, etc. However, this is a small establishment, so it is difficult to converse if the restaurant is full.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

What a wonderful dinner! It was our anniversary, and the first thing they brought to us was two glasses of champagne. Such a nice touch. The empanadas special tapa was delicious. My husband and I both had the grouper special, and we enjoyed every bite. The only downside of the flan dessert is we wished it were bigger because we wanted more :) We highly recommend Espana!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

A good but not great tapas restaurant. The Spanish bell peppers stuffed with house smoked salmon, capers and red onion spread topped with smoked salt did not have much wow factor. The salad of romaine hearts, onion and tomato topped with balsamic dressing and crumbled Spanish blue cheese married all of the flavor notes. Great Patas Bravas have two elements, the perfect cooking/ frying of the potatoes and the sauce. Espana's sauce was unremarkable. Not bad just not special. The Shrimp sautéed with fresh garlic, paprika and parsley were good. Skip the pedestrian escargot flambéed with brandy,garlic, onion and tomato cream sauce. Sangria was tasty.

The evening was marred by a loud business group seated on the patio that also resulted in slow initial service. I don't regret the choice but probably would try another place on a return visit to the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Absolutely amazing food and ambience. The patio is lovely !

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
48