Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (66)
Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Authentic (40)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (18)
Spicy (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Fun (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Another perfect meal at Espana. We all enjoyed calamari appetizer, fresh garden salad with blue cheese and then finally the Fishermens stew. The Fishermens stew was always a real treat specializing a lot of local seafood served with rice and hot bread. It was extremely comforting especially on this cold evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely nothing on behalf of Espana!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Wonderful in-town restaurant with a great menu and the service was outstanding. Very busy staff very enthusiastic. We are from Westchester outside of NYC so high standards and this exceeded our expectations! Stephanie our service was very knowledgeable! *

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Awesome as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great table. Excellent server. The food was delicious. Mussels were incredibly delicious. The goat cheese salad melted in your mouth. A wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Great place- loved the potatoes and the shrimp Mozambique!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

They provided the table I requested and as always the food was excellent. My wife had the grouper; I had the snapper and the couple we were dining with had the fisherman Stew. The service was excellent and of course, they continue to have one of the best Sangria's in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Wonderful cooking with fresh ingredients and every dish arrived hot. Servers are knowledgeable and friendly. Liked it so much, we returned the next night to try their paella.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We are local and this is our favorite restaurant! We always recommend it to tourists as well as locals! Good variety and choices for tapas or entre are great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Tapas, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great service! Over the top tapas! Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

food sooooo good, great friendly service, consistently good

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2017

It was our anniversary and when we arrived they congratulated us witha bottle of champagne. The staff was very attentive and our meal was excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 30, 2017

The tapas were excellent. Nice atmospher. Next time I want to try paella. I had gosh special which was great flavor.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Excellent Spanish/Portuguese food, especially the fisherman stew and Paella. Ambiance is usually wonderful except we were seated in a room with a large group/party/ that was extremely loud. It made our dining experience difficult because of the noise level. Our reservations were made a few months in advance and we should have been seated in the smaller dinning room away from the noise. Despite the situation, I would recommend trying this cuisine, it is exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Had an excellent meal with our family to close out our annual Thanksgiving weekend in Amelia Island. We enjoyed sharing the Gambas al Ajillo, Champinones a la Espana, Calamares Fritos, a mussels special and Paella Rustica. Our teenage daughters ordered the flour-less chocolate cake. Each dish was excellent as was the service! We will be back next year.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Great sangria! Excellent service. Paella good. Nice fresh salad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2017

This was my wife and I's second visit to Espana. We had just recently moved to Fernandina Beach and had family members in from out of town (day after Thanksgiving). There were a total of five adults. Four of us decided to order multiple hot and cold tapas to share and one person decided to do a chicken entree.
One of the items I had during our previous visit that I wanted to try again was the Calamari a la Plancha which is a seared calamari "steak". This is delicious! We also had orders of shrimp done three different ways, clams, mussels, grilled portobello mushrooms and chorizo. My wife wanted something simple and had the chicken with lime and garlic and really enjoyed it.
We washed all this down with the house sangria which was very tasty.
Service was attentive without being intrusive. Everyone in our group enjoyed it very much.

Espana will be on our regular rotation of places to go as we settle into out new home here.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Friendly and attentive staff, wonderful spanish food, great tapas, excellent use of local seafoods.
bring an appetite and a willingness to share and experience different flavors. Need reservations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2017

We had an outstanding dinner on our way through Fernandina Beach to Boca Grande. It was our second visit, and each time the dinner was superb, the price reasonable, and the service impeccable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Espania is the best restaurant in Fernandina Beach. Good reasonably priced wines as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Fantastic salad and tapas selections. Excellent service from Omar.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Delicious tapas and reasonably priced wine selection. We ordered plates to share, calamari, shrimp two different ways, with coconut and curry sauces , patatas bravas, escargot, oxtail, and pork tenderloin, all with delicious sauces and salads for four people and had more than we could finish. We will be back soon and this time will order one of the tantalizing snapper entrees.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Wonderful service and the food was delicious. We would definitely return.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great food! Loud customers for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Fabulous evening at Espana! We have been here so many times over the years and it continues to impress. Mussels special appetizer were especially yummy as well as all the fish dishes. Sat outside under the gazebo and had a quiet table with easy conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

This was our first visit and boy was it an incredible experience! Our server was Omar. He helped guide us through the wine list the appetizers the meal, he answered every question we had with eye contact and a smile! Omar was as much the experience as the food! We ordered garlic shrimp and escargot for appetizers along with a nice bottle of Zinfandel. The entrees we ordered were the Snapper Pablo and the grouper special. The variety of sauces, seafoods and flavors exploding in our mouths was truly an amazing treat! I can't remember having a finer meal! We will definitely be back and recommend to all!! I wish I had taken pictures!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Broker Bob’s birthday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

Incredible as always!!! We get to spoil ourselves on a rare occasion and we rarely choose anywhere other than Espana. The spicy snapper with shrimp is amazing! Thanks for a great evening one again!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Outstanding food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2017

What an amazing experience! From the wonderful tapas to the entrees, we loved it all! The exceptional service was incredible and food was absolutely delicious! The shrimp cheviche was perfect and ask for their advice on which entrees and appetizers to try together. The chorizo appetizer, scallop entree plus the paella were all wonderful! There is a very energetic atmosphere and it is a little dark for those of us that need glasses to read the menu but other was absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We never hesitate to make reservations here and always recommend Espanña to everyone!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2017

This place is our must-go every visit. The absolute best food and beautiful outdoor dining space. I love all the food but cannot miss out on the paella and escargot. We get it every time. Marina and Roberto own a very special place.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was outstanding. Very cute place. Waiter was very friendly. Loved the portobello mushroom with Manchego cheese

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Incredible restaurant with fantastic food. My go to place when I go to Amelia Island.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2017

As always- we had the perfect date night at our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Food and ambiance are great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 31, 2017

We’ve been to this restaurant several times, always with the thought of getting fresh fish. But it’s the empanadas that keep us coming back. The fish was rather bland. If you like tapas, Chianti this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 31, 2017

It was our anniversary and we had a fantastic meal. The food and the service were wonderful. They should not change a thing!!!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Zacatecas)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Always an outstanding dining experience. Creative flavorful cuisine. Good wine and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

If you're a fan of authentic Spanish food, this is your place. There is a nice assortment of hot and cold tapas options as well as large plates. We shared the special short rib empanadas- delicious and generous enough for two. Paella was closest to those in Spain that we've had in a long time. Dimly lit, casual but pretty place with attentive service. Try it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.