About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 9043217693x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gambas Mozambique - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • Paella Valenciana - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • paella marinera - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • solomillo con cabrales - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
Gambas Mozambique - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
Paella Valenciana - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
paella marinera - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
solomillo con cabrales - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 6:45PM

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Amelia Island
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
3 More
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

Tapas (51)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Authentic (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (16)
Outstanding Value (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Spicy (8)
Healthy (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, intimate and cozy space. H ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food, intimate and cozy space. Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous specials and knowledgeable staf ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous specials and knowledgeable staff.

Great sangria and wine list as well!! A plus restaurant!! Our favorite by far!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

empanadas were the best . had the grou ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

empanadas were the best . had the grouper with tomatoes and capers it was perfectly cooked just not a lot of flavor ,the Paella Florentine was awesome one of the best the escargot was different they were in a Spanish style red sauce over all a great meal staff gave an educated suggestion on what to or not to order would go back and bring friends

Tags: Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. The Portuguese Fishermen ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. The Portuguese Fishermen's Stew was amazing. Our friends had the paella and said it was excellent, also. Great food each time we go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Time and time again España leaves me hap ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Time and time again España leaves me happy and excited to return. Excellent menu with unique daily specials, fun and professional staff inside an excellent space in historic downtown fernandina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We drive 300 miles a few times a year ju ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We drive 300 miles a few times a year just to some here! Love, love it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in NE Florid ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants in NE Florida and a well kept secret. Go with the seafood stew or paella. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

One of the best places to eat in Fernand ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

One of the best places to eat in Fernandina Beach. Spanish and Portuguese seafood and meat specialty dishes. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent! My guest had a st ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was excellent! My guest had a steak with blue cheese that she thought was the best She ever had. I had the seafood paella. It was tasty but the size & amount of the shrimp & scallops was on the small size in comparison to the online photo. My other guest has dietary requirements & the dish he wanted was unavailable so he had a beer and kept us company. They comped his beer without even notifying us, which we thought was very classy. The flan was amazing. Like the best flan I've ever put into my mouth amazing. If you like flan, definitely save room for it. Romantic setting, low lights and pretty decor. I would definitely recommend it and come back next time I am in town. I did see the special go by and it looked amazing. I wish I had gotten that because the shrimp were huge on that dish. Also a lovely outside dining patio is available. Hope this was helpful. Enjoy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner. The food was ver ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. The food was very fresh, delicious,with excellent presentation .

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. We've always had an excellent meal there.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

As always the food did not disappoint. I can always count on a great meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing ambience, service and the paella ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Amazing ambience, service and the paella...OMG delicious. This is a fan favorite. We'll definitely be repeat customers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. We had a few tapas and for o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great food. We had a few tapas and for our entrees had a seafood paella and a snapper dish. Everything was excellent! Service was good-very attentive but not hovering. We are from Texas otherwise we would be regulars for sure

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoy going to Espana. We've b ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We really enjoy going to Espana. We've been several times and have loved each one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

great as always. Such nice people, gre ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

great as always. Such nice people, great food and a great night out.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are consistently ve ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food and service are consistently very good with enough variety (except salads - which are limited) on the menu to satisfy most everyone in your party. Tapas are creatively prepared and bread is tasty and served warm) Servers are knowledgeable about the wine list and will usually offer a taste test if you are unsure about your selection. Call if you need to inquire about gluten free items. Noise level can depend on who is dining near your table. Some people are just more respectful than others, but overall the noise level is usually moderate. Make reservations in advance as this dining spot is a favorite of the locals and for good reason.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fantastic experience. We came from ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Had a fantastic experience. We came from New Orleans for a conference and had never been to España or Amelia Island for that matter. Phenomenal food, value and service. Mandy recommended a perfect Portuguese bottle of wine I hadn't tried before after I told her the flavor profile we were looking for. Scott was very attentive and Robbie, the busser was very helpful as well. Ordered a few great tapas and a dessert. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'd give this restaurant a 3.5 rather th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I'd give this restaurant a 3.5 rather than 3, if that were an option. Our waitress was very attentive and the service in general was very good. I'd also give the quality of the food a 3.5--the grilled calamari was wonderful, the stuffed peppers quite good, the shrimp Mozambique okay, the pork tenderloin and salad nothing special. Based on previous reviews, we were expecting the food to be a bit more interesting and tastier overall, and we've definitely been to better tapas places, but I'd still recommend Espana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

service was great, wine great, food was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2016

service was great, wine great, food was excellent!

I mentioned in the reservation it was my wifes birthday, they did not forget

great time, will go back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had been to España twice before, and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We had been to España twice before, and loved it. I was excited to be able to get reservations for my wife's birthday. They have an authentic Spanish menu and a pleasant ambiance. My wife's fish was well cooked, but our waiter was unable to meet her request for a small piece, instead of the huge piece he served. I ordered the Paella Marinera, as I had enjoyed it on an earlier trip. This time it was badly overcooked, with the rice burned to the paella pan and the muscles and clams dry and tough. There were four scallops the size of a fingernail and a couple of pieces of unidentifiable fatty fish. It was an unpleasant sight and a worse dining experience. I did not want to make any kind of scene on my wife's birthday. Our experienced waiter, who certainly knew what the paella should look like, did not have the gall to bring it to the table himself. España has accordingly left a bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Dinner was fantastic! Omar our waiter wa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Dinner was fantastic! Omar our waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were great-the nois ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service and food were great-the noise level was a bit much for a.couple looking for a quiet meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We made the drive up for the Saturday ev ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We made the drive up for the Saturday evening for a musical event and an overnight stay. We've been to Espana a few times and this did not disappoint. Omar our server was wonderful, and I asked and he guided our choices through our dining experience, matching tapas and specials to our tastes, pacing us to exit by showtime and making it an all around wonderful experience. The fish special, the eggplant tapa special, gambas, paella and the finish with the caramel flan were all wonderful. Go - you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were exceptional!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food and service were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal with friends her ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with friends here. The tapas and salads were generous and the paella was amazing. Service attentive but easy-going. perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything about Espana is terrific. One ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Everything about Espana is terrific. One of my two favorite Spanish restaurants in Florida and the Carolinas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We vacation on Amelia Island often and a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We vacation on Amelia Island often and always meet friends who live in Florida. Espana is a great restaurant always on our list. Our most recent dinner was another great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was very nice and cozy. We had ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The place was very nice and cozy.

We had a great dining experience plus a great waiter Scott.

We had some drinks and paella which was perfect for two .

Tags: Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have eaten at Espana every year for m ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We have eaten at Espana every year for many years. We attend a conference on Amelia Island. This was the first time we arrived and found the restaurant with open tables. The owners are almost always there but not present the night we were there. The food didn't compare to years in the past. The Dishes didn't taste fresh. The shrimp had no flavor and the white fish in the Paella was soaked in water. Very disappointed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service as always! A Fern ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great meal and service as always! A Fernandina Beach must visit restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited Espana on the last night of our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Visited Espana on the last night of our vacation. Omar the waiter and his associates were very nice and accommodating. The flavors of the food were wonderful. Would recommend the myriad of savory flavors in the paella. This neighborhood gem it a must try on your Amelia island visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant was full, and they may ha ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant was full, and they may have been a bit short handed, resulting in a few moments when we felt ignored.

The food was good, but not excellent, which is what we usually experience at Espana. I don't want this to seem like a bad review, because the meal was good. It is just that between the service delays and slightly disappointing food, it was not up to our general expectations for this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great variety of menu choices; wanted to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great variety of menu choices; wanted to try all if them! We started with one of the appetizer specials, empinadas. The braised beef with goat cheese filling was divine and substantial. We also had the papa bravo or "angry potatoes" which were excellent and perfect pairing with the empinadas. My husband ordered the tenderloin steak with Madeira sauce. It was heavenly! My seafood paella was very good; but the seafood ratio to the rice was a disappointment. Too much rice... I was left wishing I had ordered one of the red snapper dishes. The menu choices were all so tempting! We would definitely return!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just great food & fun sharing tapas & di ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Just great food & fun sharing tapas & dinner entrees. Also. Servers were personable & fun.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must dining experience as we travel fr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

A must dining experience as we travel from CT to the Florida Keys for the winter. The atmosphere & food never disappoints!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a lovely restaurant with generously ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

What a lovely restaurant with generously portioned traditional tapas! You can tell a great deal of care goes into the preparation of the dishes. The service is very friendly and efficient. Enjoyed the lovely courtyard for our evening experience. Don't miss the homemade sangria , and the delectable flan!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to have an anniversary d ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful place to have an anniversary dinner. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and enjoyable atmosphere. ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and enjoyable atmosphere. We have really enjoyed it both times we have eaten there. We got the paella for two and the portion was huge! We both are way too much and there was still a good sized portion left over. The flan was also very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a delightful dining experience. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a delightful dining experience. Our server gave great advice on entrees. We started with ceviche which was delicious, then ensalada andalusia. Main courses included Grouper a la Lisbon and paella valencia - all very tasty and generous portions. I wish we could have eaten more!

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The calamari appetizer was innovative an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The calamari appetizer was innovative and delicious. Shockingly good. The spicy grouper was also quite good. The shrimp Mozambique weren't good but everything else was very very good.

It's beer and wine only. No cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.