About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 6:45PM

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (77)
Authentic (60)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Romantic (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Cozy (28)
Fun (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Casual (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Tasting Menu (13)
Outstanding Value (10)
Spicy (9)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Historic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the place & the food. We are taking friends next week!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious. Our out of town guests really enjoyed dining at Espana.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent, always dependable! Best beef on Amelia Island, and the sangria can't be beat either!

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant was highly recommended, so we had high expectations. Charming hostess. Seated promptly (we had reservations). Average server, better suited for a sports bar. Greeted us: I'm ----. I'll be helping you guys out tonight". Noisy. Generous portions of average food. Paella dry. Red snapper over cooked and cold/lukewarm. The red snapper dish had one jumbo shrimp and one scallop. The shrimp was over cooked. The scallop was excellent. Patrons seemed to love the Sangria.

Note: when we told the server the food was cold, he didn't offer to warm it, he just said he would tell the kitchen and that was that!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

I enjoyed the food. Good for sharing. Good value. Overall nice dining experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The shrimp mozambique knocked my socks if, I wish I had ordered two plates. I went with a friend and two 10 year olds and everything went well. Friendly, fast service. Good wine selections. The plates were uniformly delicious and my saliva glands are kicking in as I recall the shrimp.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 7 days ago

For the second time now, we enjoyed a wonderful meal at Espana! Their Portuguese fisherman's stew is outstanding and the fish and scallop dishes were all delightful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of our favorite places for a reason. The food is authentic Spanish with hearty appetizers and entrees. There is also a good selection of wine. We enjoy looking out over their gatden while sharing tapas and talking to the personable owner/chef.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

5 minutes late for reservation, gave table away. Waited 15 minutes for one to open up

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This is our fav spot in fernandina beach. Flavors are wonderful, choices a refreshing change from stanfard fare steak and seafood houses. A little noisy, but overall always a nice experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I had a really great time at dinner. The food was delicious, reasonably priced and the outside ambiance was awesome! You can dress up or go more casual. It is a great spot that most can enjoy.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a great evening at this restaurant. Our seafood dishes were good and authentic and the flan is out of this world. We will go back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always love Espana! Food is fabulous , service is great - couldn't ask for anything more! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved this place. All 3 of us thought it was one of the best meals we've ever had. We shared several tapas and 2 main dishes. The steak melted in your mouth. All the sauces were delicious and lots of fresh seafood fishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We felt very welcome and appreciated. The owner, Roberto, couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. The food was outstanding, and was topped off by a wonderful caramel flan. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was good but not great this time. Paella was a little too dry for my taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at España. The tapas and the entrée choices were excellent, and service was outstanding. Sitting with a view of the garden area was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This restaurant is just absolutely awesome. Incredible food, incredible service, incredible price. The coconut shrimp tapas is to die for. I immediately looked on the internet for the recipe, I was craving it by the time I got home. When we got the bill, it was much smaller than I had expected for the quality of meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

One of our best meals ever would go back tonight if we could

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We go to Espana every time we're in Amelia Island. This time we had the seafood paella for two. Food and service were excellent. Had a bottle of lovely Albarino. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We enjoyed the empanana and the champione tapas. Great service provided by Justin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed a nice menu selection. Wine was nice for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This restaurant was our first stop to welcome ourselves back for our third annual trip to Amelia Island. We stay for a month and expect to visit a couple times more during our stay .... There are a lot of good restaurants on the island but this one is our favorite. We had a pitcher of sangria and shared tapas. The seared calamari and spicy potatoes were especially memorable. In the past, we have shared a seafood stew. The prices are fair, the food is consistently excellent, the service is professional with experienced, efficient staff and the ambiance is dress casual. Our only issue was that we wished that we had lingered longer. The waiter told us to take our time but we were in an out in an hour because we were served so fast and our dishes were whisked away as soon as we finished (one time, a little too soon) . The next time we'll slow it down ourselves to enjoy the experience a bit longer. This might also be helped by asking to sit on the patio where there were heaters to take the chill out of the cool evening. In any case, we surely will be back soon!

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Can't rave about this restaurant enough. The food is AWESOME.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As visitors to Amelia Island we had not been back to this restaurant for some time. We recall enjoying it very much on our first visit and knew it was time for a revisit. We were seated in the back in front of large windows overlooking the garden which was a beautiful place to sit. It was a little cool to sit outside but we noticed there were tables there and it would be a nice place to dine on a warmer evening. We decided to make a meal of the tapas--smaller appetizer-sized servings---and it was a good choice. We selected Lobster Ravioli, grilled portobello mushroom, and pork tips in brown sauce. Our server was helpful. We told him we were light eaters and thinking about the tapas for our meal. He suggested we start with three, which was just right for us. It left us room for the tiramisu which was a delicious, light and airy confection. Everything was excellent and we will return again. The menu is extensive and varied, so there will be something to please everyone in your party!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This was my first time visit and I will definitely be back. I felt like I was back in Spain eating their luscious food.

Hooray!

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Spanish cuisine in a cozy home like atmosphere. great service, well seasoned paella. the flan looked delicious but didnt try it. highly regarded in a town full of places to eat, with good reason.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It's the best restaurant on Amelia Island, freshest seafood the scallops were cooked perfectly can't wait to go back.. Mandy took such good care of us. Thank You for a wonderful night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Espana is our go to place when we visit Amelia Island. The staff is friendly & professional and the food is just wonderful. All together it makes for a wonderful evening. Spanish cuisine is not usually available for me so the varied selections of freshly prepared meats,fish,and poultry combined with tasty sauces will keep me coming back as long as they are open.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Splendid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We bought bottle of wine at the bar and paid for it at the bar. Our waiter brings the bill and we actually looked before paying. We discover that the waiter charged us for the wine - over $100. When brought to his attention that the circumstances made it seem like a scam, he was smug and failed to provide a believable justification for the "mistake." Adding insult to injury, no bona fide apology was offered - we didn't want desert but offering it would have been the touch of class most other restaurants would have done. The bill was otherwise large enough that we would not have discovered the misbilling without flyspecking the bill. Outrageous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. Loved the polenta and short ribs. Did not care for bread but it isn't necessary because entree portions are generous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great restaurant! We have been here many times at it is our favorite. This week was restaurant week in Fernadina so tried the special... tomato/ mozzarella salad, ceviche & seared tuna. All were wonderful!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Got the paella for one and shared it after we had a hot tapa. It was outstanding and just enough for both of us.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Perfect meal from every aspect. I need not say more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We want to Espana during restaurant week in Fernandina Beach. We checked Trip advisor and it received rave reviews. The reviews were right on. It's a quaint little place tucked in on 4th st. It was very clean and their offerings were outstanding. My wife was daring and went for the Oxtail. I had a Piaia. Both were outstanding. The Sangria is fantastic. The service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Everything we had was terrific? Fish stew was amazing! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We visit Espana each time we come to AI. Our service was a bit off for a slow evening. Our server was friendly and informed. It took a bit of time to get the excellent bottle of wine he recommended. After that, we waited. Dinner was served promptly and as ordered after the wait.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very nice food, attentive staff, prices matched the value of the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Espana is arguably the best restaurant in north Florida. I find occasions to travel from Gainesville and stay overnight just to eat there. Having eaten the dish in Valencia, I can attest that the paella at Espana is authentic (the substitution of chicken for rabbit aside).

WMM

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Highly recommend making reservations. Our service from the time we walked in the door to the exiting the service was A+. The food was delicious, seasoned perfectly and an extensive wine list to choose from. We definitely will be returning.

Thank you,

Burlingame's

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My family loves this restaurant! We have eaten the fish dishes, spicy shrimp, salad, steak and seafood casserole. We eat here every time we are in fernandina!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at Espana. The escargot appetizer was the best ever and the service was exceptional. Thank you, Omar!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice evening. Started with Tapas - best escargot I ever tried, Charcuterie was great.

We split the special which was a sea scallop, and giant shrimp, and an ample piece of American Red Snapper. I can't wait to return.

Mandy was experienced and we appreciated her input on our wine pairings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great Food and Service. Omar was delightful! A wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Espana was utterly charming. Lovely Spanish dishes with local ingredients, including a delightful seafood paella. Warm and attentive service in an inviting room.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Roberto continues to turn out masterpiece dishes, just the right size. Great spot in Fernandina

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We always look forward to the specials at España! We have never been disappointed!

The wine selection and sangria are both fabulous and our favorite appetizer/tapa is the calamari steak- it's unbelievably good!

Our favorite restaurant on Amelia Island by far!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

You will not go wrong with a meal here. We had a party of five guys; 3 omnivores, carnivore and a vegetarian. No one left hungry. A wonderful variety of tapas that we indulged in and washed them down with a great sangria. All the elements in the seafood paella were cooked perfectly; not always an easy chore. Certainly a go to place when I return to Amelia Island.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was my first visit to Espana and I must say that I was very impressed. We ordered the seafood paella and it was Perfect. also had the escargot appetizer and a fried goat cheese salad. all of the items were great. The sangria was also very good. The also offer a white Sangria which for some reason is not on the menu but should be. We had a sample of the white Sangria and it was also delicious. The service was also very good. I can't remember her name but everything was very good and prompt. Her name may have been Mandy???

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.