About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gambas Mozambique - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • Paella Valenciana - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • paella marinera - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
  • solomillo con cabrales - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL

Report a photo problem

Gambas Mozambique - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
Paella Valenciana - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
paella marinera - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL
solomillo con cabrales - España Restaurant of Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, FL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 6:45PM

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (74)
Authentic (54)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Cozy (27)
Romantic (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Local Ingredients (21)
Casual (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Healthy (10)
Historic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Spicy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice food, attentive staff, prices ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice food, attentive staff, prices matched the value of the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espana is arguably the best restaurant i ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Espana is arguably the best restaurant in north Florida. I find occasions to travel from Gainesville and stay overnight just to eat there. Having eaten the dish in Valencia, I can attest that the paella at Espana is authentic (the substitution of chicken for rabbit aside).

WMM

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Highly recommend making reservations. Ou ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Highly recommend making reservations. Our service from the time we walked in the door to the exiting the service was A+. The food was delicious, seasoned perfectly and an extensive wine list to choose from. We definitely will be returning.

Thank you,

Burlingame's

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My family loves this restaurant! We hav ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

My family loves this restaurant! We have eaten the fish dishes, spicy shrimp, salad, steak and seafood casserole. We eat here every time we are in fernandina!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at Espana. The escargot appetizer was the best ever and the service was exceptional. Thank you, Omar!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice evening. Started with Tapas - ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice evening. Started with Tapas - best escargot I ever tried, Charcuterie was great.

We split the special which was a sea scallop, and giant shrimp, and an ample piece of American Red Snapper. I can't wait to return.

Mandy was experienced and we appreciated her input on our wine pairings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food and Service. Omar was delight ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Food and Service. Omar was delightful! A wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Espana was utterly charming. Lovely Span ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Espana was utterly charming. Lovely Spanish dishes with local ingredients, including a delightful seafood paella. Warm and attentive service in an inviting room.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roberto continues to turn out masterpiec ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Roberto continues to turn out masterpiece dishes, just the right size. Great spot in Fernandina

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always look forward to the specials a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We always look forward to the specials at España! We have never been disappointed!

The wine selection and sangria are both fabulous and our favorite appetizer/tapa is the calamari steak- it's unbelievably good!

Our favorite restaurant on Amelia Island by far!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will not go wrong with a meal here. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

You will not go wrong with a meal here. We had a party of five guys; 3 omnivores, carnivore and a vegetarian. No one left hungry. A wonderful variety of tapas that we indulged in and washed them down with a great sangria. All the elements in the seafood paella were cooked perfectly; not always an easy chore. Certainly a go to place when I return to Amelia Island.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my first visit to Espana and I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This was my first visit to Espana and I must say that I was very impressed. We ordered the seafood paella and it was Perfect. also had the escargot appetizer and a fried goat cheese salad. all of the items were great. The sangria was also very good. The also offer a white Sangria which for some reason is not on the menu but should be. We had a sample of the white Sangria and it was also delicious. The service was also very good. I can't remember her name but everything was very good and prompt. Her name may have been Mandy???

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Espana! Don't miss the escargot!! ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love Espana! Don't miss the escargot!!!! It's a must!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Fernandina Beach one night. Crea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Visited Fernandina Beach one night. Creative and very ethnically delicious! The paella was very flavorful but for two there should have been more seafood and meat...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first visit and will most c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was our first visit and will most certainly not be our last. The food was excellent as was the service!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever my husband and I are on Island, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Whenever my husband and I are on Island, we make plans to have dinner at Espana. It is always consistently good in all aspects, and we always leave feeling very satisfied and happy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations are a must! Small, intimate ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Reservations are a must! Small, intimate spot & great Spanish food. We will definitely be back on our next visit in Fernandina Beach.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a very pleasant surprise. Had h ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was a very pleasant surprise. Had hear the restaurant was great, but until you experience it for yourself, you never really know. It was wonderful!!! Food was authentic , prepared well , hot and plentiful! Sangria was delicious.. Would go back in a minute and recommend it highly to anyone who is traveling to Amelia Island.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner for myself, my husband ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic dinner for myself, my husband and our two guests from Philly. We had the garlic shrimp and portabellas first. Then we had the veal, pork, redfish with garlic spinach and seared calamari for the main course. Everything was perfect. The restaurant was very crowded and we had a little wait for our dinner, but didn’t mind. Reservations were at 6:15 and it was very quiet, even though full. By around 7:30 it got noisier, but still acceptable so you could hear each other.

Wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delectable and interesting. Lived the sh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delectable and interesting. Lived the shrimp Mozambique and the tamales....every tapas dish we ordered was incredible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Looking forw ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espana is our favorite restaurant in the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Espana is our favorite restaurant in the State of Florida. We drove from Charleston (the Food Capital of the World) just to spend the night in Fernandina and dine at Espana, as we have many times. It was outstanding in every respect. Highly recomended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal food and service on Xmas nigh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great meal food and service on Xmas night. We always enjoy every time we come to Amelia. Best restaurant in Amelia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this restaurant! Food is fabulo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We love this restaurant! Food is fabulous and service is wonderful.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything (food, service, ambiance) wer ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything (food, service, ambiance) were all great. We were able to get a Christmas Eve reservation at a convenient time. My only qualification is that our party of 5 was seated at a rectangular table which made it harder to carry on a conversation. Definitely one of the very best restaurants in Fernandina!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server Justin was not very attentive, he ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Server Justin was not very attentive, he did not come to check on us until we had to wave him down and then tried to overcompensate. The food as usual was excellent!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Every time we dine here we love it!! We ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Every time we dine here we love it!! We have tried almost every thing in the menu and every time it was excellent. We try to get in every month or more when our time is available. Always plan to reserve ahead. there are a lot more Espana lovers out there than you can imagine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the relaxed feel of this place . ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place . I definitely would return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed empanadas and the meat paella (r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed empanadas and the meat paella (rustica). Great server and a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was delicious! The shrimp ceviche was ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was delicious! The shrimp ceviche was cold with a nice brightness in flavor. The calamari steak was exceptional with the capers and balsamic glaze and the short rib empanadas were delicious. Second time eating there and was not disappointed. Our server, Omar was excellent in every way. Bravo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Found thru Trip Advisor. Very nice dinne ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Found thru Trip Advisor. Very nice dinner. Wife enjoyed her Beef Tenderloin with Madeira. My Paella was good. The Flan was excellent. But Omar our waiter made the evening. Suggested a reasonably priced Spanish Gernach over my choice and he was right. Don't miss this one if you are in the area. Next time it will be the Portuguese Fish Stew. And if no one will join you ask if they will prepare it for onext person.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tapas, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our Anniversary at Espana, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We celebrated our Anniversary at Espana, recently, for the fourth year in a row. Always excellent service, food, and nice atmosphere. Our server, Mandy, was very professional and helpful in explaining the specials for the day and in providing perfect service - along with the rest of the wait staff. My husband had a grouper dish which was the special and it included local shrimp and a scallop. Grilled and then awash in white wine flavors it was excellent. I had the always amazing seafood paella which was really good. Another customer seated next to us had the Fisherman's Stew and we have already started planning a return trip to experience that dish which looked and smelled wonderful. Highly recommend this spot, especially for special occasions. The atmosphere is nice but it can get really loud once the place is full.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Espana. This visit two ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We always enjoy Espana. This visit two of us ordered beef tenderloin with Madeira sauce. Excellent choice! Cooked perfectly medium, tender and the sauce is delicious. Service is discrete and attentive. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening, great service, delici ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful evening, great service, delicious. Sangria yummy-

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Tapas, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are big fans of Espana, and always bo ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We are big fans of Espana, and always book a reservation when we visit Amelia Island-FB. However, this time the paella marinera was seasoned differently (bitter aftertaste) and did not taste nearly as good as it normally does. We had three separate orders at our table and the evaluation was the same for each of us, and all of whom are regulars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was great! It was a birthday c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was great! It was a birthday celebration and we were not disappointed. Can't wait to go back. The tres leche was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a truly wonderful place to dine ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was a truly wonderful place to dine. The atmosphere was spectacular and next tone we will do the outdoor seating in their lovely garden area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a phenomenal experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I had a phenomenal experience. We opted to explore the tapas, instead of entrees...great choice. The lamb meatballs, shrimp and curry, and empanadas were excellent in taste. We ordered the angry potatoes; however, they did not match our taste—at no fault to España. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espana is an exceptional food destinatio ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Espana is an exceptional food destination that always pleases. My daughter and her husband were visiting for the holidays and requested to have dinner at Espana. We had her rehearsal dinner at Espana last summer and she and all of her closest friends were hooked. Roberto, the proprietor, is constantly adding variety to his offerings that make your palate dance with joy. Espana is guaranteed to please with great food and attentive service. This is a "must try" destination if you travel to Fernandina Beach.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, , Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is vast and gives the option f ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The menu is vast and gives the option for tapas or entrees. Justin was a wonderful server. He had thorough understanding of his menu and wine list. His personality was well suited for his craft. He assisted us in choosing a red blend we thoroughly enjoyed. We ordered the special appetizer of grilled eggplant with mozzarella and light tomato sauce. So tasty and well

Prepared. We also chose the beef filet with blue cheese sauce and the special fish of the day which was snapper with shrimp and scallop with lemon butter sauce. The tenderloin of beef was a bit tough and overcooked but very flavorful and blue cheese sauce wonderful. The snapper was simply great. The fish was fresh and prepared properly. Scallop and shrimp was again expertly prepared the sauce complemented the dish well. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We will be back again when in Fernandina

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.