Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (77)
Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Authentic (47)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Romantic (38)
Worth the Drive (31)
Cozy (29)
Casual (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fun (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Spicy (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely love Espana! The service, food, and wine selection is always incredible! This is our go to place for any kind of celebration. Everything on the menu is great- you truly can't go wrong.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife Isabel and I celebrated our 21st anniversary at Espana and had an incredible dining experience. Chef Roberto's culinary creations were nothing short of outstanding and the service was top notch. If you're looking for authentic Spanish cuisine with fresh local seafood and a carefully crafted wine list all at an affordable price than I highly recommend to visit Espana on your next visit to beautiful Fernandina beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Arrived early to our reservation & table was ready. Server was a bit shy but service was on point. Wine & food was incredible. Could not imagine it any better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappoints! We love the Fisherman’s Stew for two. Spicy and delicious! Also, do not forgo the empanadas, especially if they have the goat cheese and brisket ones.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

4 couples staying at the Omni made the 15 min drive and absolutely loved it and would recommend to anyone close. Great spot great food. Limited bar menu but food overcomes any shortcomings at bar. Great spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Once again an exceptional meal
We had the two specials and both were outstanding. The service was top shelf. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Exquisite! The ambience, the service, the food, the value, is top notch. You won’t be disappointed!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Fantastic food, the atmosphere was cozy, service was great, and once you go, you will want to go back again! We went twice during a five-day vacation. It's a popular place, so it's smart to make a reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Date night and my choice so picked Espana. Seated early nice corner table for two. Lighting a little too low for me but that’s nit-picking overall ambience was perfect for date night. Wife ordered a nice house Pinot and I had an Estella beer while we went through menus. Stephanie our server came back and helped with choices and said there would be no problem with changing some items to accommodate wife being vegetarian. Choose a couple shrimp tapas the calamari and a hot portabella with manchego. All were excellent. Wife went for a salad and I choose Paella Valencia for one. Again both very good. Portion wise the tapas allowed for multiple choices without over ordering. Dinner accompanied with a nice Tempranillo from a good wine list. Overall great food and reasonable $ in my opinion. Stephanie was a great host server. We never felt pressured once to hurry either which I always appreciate. She made sure the choices came with plenty of time to chat and rest between courses. One note is there is not a liquor license so beer and wine only. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Roberto continues to amaze us with small plates that seem big. Interesting, crafty and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My family has been dining at this restaurant for years. The food is always excellent!

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We visit Espania restaurant every time we are in Amelia Island. My husband LOVES your seafood casserole and we have often stopped just for dinner. Mandy is usually our waiter and we missed her this trip.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We try to make it a point to come here when we're in the area. They were very accommodating when we realized we had shown up on the wrong date. Brought good friends back the next night and shared tapas and paella. We always know the service and food will be first rate. They also have specials so you don't have to order just what's on the menu. I lived in Spain and these tapas are as close to the real thing as I've experienced since living in Florida.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Awesome Dinner!!! My wife had the Red Snapper special and loved it, I had the Seafood Paella and I savored every bite. We also had mozzarella tapas and steamed shrimp tapas, both fantastic. Also the Sangria was outstanding. We might go back a 2nd time this week.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We love this place. Wonderful creative food. We make special effort to dine here...tapas and entrees.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food. Great service - there were 2 assistants to our waiter and they were very helpful. We followed the waiter's lead on suggestions and did the appetizer special and snapper. Interesting wine list with South American emphasis on the wines by the glass. Not a hushed atmosphere - other reviews cite it noisy - to us it was normal considering it was almost full at 6 pm. Make a reservation for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very good food and a pretty decent wine list. This restaurant has been a reliable source for good food in the six years I've lived in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Travel stop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent food and drink. The fresh seafood dishes are beyond compare on the island. The Sangria is world class. Staff provides excellent service. The four of us enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Espana was the best meal and dining experience that we had on Amelia Island. The food was tasty and flavorable, the wait staff was exceptional, and the atmosphere was very unique and cozy. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Awesome date night , the ambience was so romantic and the filet was so delicious .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The last time we had great Portuguese was about 15 years ago in NJ. This restaurant is a gem in Amelia Island. Service , ambiance, and food were perfect. We would have ordered much more but we were staying at an inn ...if It was close to our home I could just taste those fabulous leftovers!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Restaurant was extremely noisy. Our waiter had to repeat himself numerous times and hence copped an attitude.
Service was poor, food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our second time dining here and it was just as good as we remembered it! The homemade sangria is a must and you can't go wrong with any of the authentic paella dishes. Absolutely delicious! Great service and nice ambience too. Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Salty and overcooked Paella Valencia, a stable, should be perfect.
We have very good Spanish restaurants at home and I travel to Spain for work.
This was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always a good evening; food was fabulous; sangria was on point

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Healthy, Comfort Food, Spicy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We celebrate our anniversary at Espana nearly every year. It's a part of the trip to Fernandina Beach that we look forward to. The food is great, the service is impeccable, the prices are in line with the food and service provided.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We had the Pargo Olé...Fresh snapper filet topped with sautéed shrimp and a creamy roasted poblano sauce and the Paella Rustica...(All Meat Paella). Both were excellent. One of the best meals we've had in Fernandina...and we have eaten at most of the restaurants in town. The service (Omar) and ambiance were nearly equal to the food. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The receptionist/host was unfriendly. The waiter was arrogant and condecending. The wine was horrible and the food marginal. We didnt like this restaurant at all. There are much better restaurants in Amelia Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Hands down our favorite restaurant on Amelia Island! Spicy snapper is 🔥🔥🔥

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The best on Amelia which has become the next Charleston as a foodie town... Espana is the best food and wine period.. others are good.. this is better than NY

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was very friendly and fast. Dim and romantic. The chef special we had was excellent (short rib empanadas). The prices were also very reasonable for both the tapas and wine.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This place was such a pleasant surprise!!

The food and service we're outstanding. We split nine (yes, nine), tapas between four of us, had a drink or two and the check was about $100.00. Beyond worth every penny.

A must visit if you're on the island.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always delicious! Don't miss the blonde sangria and the fisherman's stew. Oh so yummy!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 24, 2017

What a fantastic meal! We started with the pulled beef and goat cheese empanadas and chorizos encebolldos (Spanish sausage and onions). The empanadas were so tasty, we ordered a second plate. For our main course, we split a fisherman's stew, which is loaded with seafood. Our table also shared the Gambas Mozambique and the escargot- hands down, my two favorite dishes at España. The sauce in both is perfect for dipping bread in. Everything was washed down with their delicious sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Really enjoyed the food! Sat at a small table overlooking the garden area, which provided a nice atmosphere. Garlic shrimp appetizer was very good, and we loved the snapper and the grouper dishes. They both had a little kick - the snapper was even spicier than the grouper - but very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Delicious sangria! Food was very good and the service was excellent.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Fantastic sangria (and a good deal too). All the food was great, but the Calderada de Mariscos (Portuguese Fishermans Stew) in particular was one of the best things I have ever eaten in my life. I am not usually motivated to write reviews, but this stew was so good, it deserves a call out!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Have eaten here a number of times since they opened. Never a bad meal. One of the best in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.