About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 9043217693x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gambas Mozambique
  • Paella Valenciana
  • Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
  • paella marinera
  • solomillo con cabrales
Gambas Mozambique
Paella Valenciana
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
paella marinera
solomillo con cabrales

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Amelia Island
7 More
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Fit for Foodies
Amelia Island
Special Occasion
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

fit for foodies (156)
special occasion (128)
neighborhood gem (127)
See All
romantic (97)
great for outdoor dining (75)
notable wine list (46)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (24)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1033 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had was wonderful, from th ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Everything we had was wonderful, from the ceviche and potatas bravas to the seafood paella to flourless chocolate torte! Would definitely eat here again and again!

food5
ambience4
service4

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

Dined 3 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants on Amelia Island. The food is always excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, as always Our favorite rest ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding, as always Our favorite restaurant in Amelia Island, Espana never disappoints !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service. Sangria w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food, excellent service. Sangria was really good. Would definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, food was superb. Roberto and M ...

Dined 6 days ago

As usual, food was superb. Roberto and Marina were wonderful hosts. My favorite restaurant in North East Florida. Well worth the hour ride to and fro to eat there. Tappas and Paella are great. The fisherman's stew is spicy and marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service can't be beat! Alw ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food and service can't be beat! Always excellent!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Espana was recommended to us by a new fr ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Espana was recommended to us by a new friend on the golf course. We found the staff (Omar) polite and convivial, and the atmosphere relaxed. Then the food came, and the fireworks began. Fantastic calamari and paella! my steak was perfect, and my picky eater son even enjoyed the chicken picatta. Thanks for a wonderful evening with friends. Top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! One of the best choices on t ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic! One of the best choices on the island.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fabulous! The service impec ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is fabulous! The service impeccable! Ambiance very nice. We eat here every time we are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grouper special was out of this worl ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Grouper special was out of this world. Shrimp Mozambique is a Must. The Calderada de Mariscos (Portuguese Fisherman Stew) was awesome. Definitely going back to try tapas.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was excessively salty to the point ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was excessively salty to the point that we didn't finish our food. The paella was the worst I have ever eaten. This is our third time eating at Espana. We will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it was excellent, after many y ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As always it was excellent, after many years and many meals it is still my all-time favorite. The consistency of the food quality is unmatched and when you pair this with the superior service, you have a winner. Peter

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Excellent food. Our 4th visit from Ashe ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food. Our 4th visit from Asheville. Noise level was a bit too much in the smaller room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a nice surprise! A lovely meal. Ins ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Such a nice surprise! A lovely meal. Inspiring food and terrific service. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is the best on Amelia Is ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant is the best on Amelia Island... Hands down. I eat at Espana every time I come. I love it!!!! The white wine sangria is beyond delicious. Great restaurant!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate on the patio on a nice night. It ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We ate on the patio on a nice night. It was delightful. There did seem to be a noisier environment inside, though. We had shrimp-based dishes. Fernandina Beach is noted for its fresh caught shrimp, and the folks at Espana know how to prepare it beautifully.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined here several times and each t ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Have dined here several times and each time was a great experience. The snapper with spinach was impeccable and the service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

España never fails to deliver! This visi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

España never fails to deliver! This visit was especially notable due to impeccable service by Omar. He did a fantastic job on recommendations, as well as making sure each course was timed perfectly. Bravo.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with great food. Only b ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Nice restaurant with great food. Only beer and wine available. Calamari was excellent as was the flan and main courses. The only part we didn't enjoy was the salad. Staff was friendly and accommodating

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espana's food is divine and their servic ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Espana's food is divine and their service is impeccable and that's what keeps us coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a great place with wonderful aut ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This is a great place with wonderful authentic food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, so nice I was able to briefl ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food, so nice I was able to briefly see/chat w/Roberto, as I was visiting! Missed my 'Romeo & Juliet' dessert, maybe next time! Hugs to one of my fav restaurants on the island!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

España was everything I expected and mor ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

España was everything I expected and more. My friends had small plates: two shrimp dishes, and eggplant and fresh cheese dish, a fabulous beef and goat cheese empanada. I had a house salad and the paella. All were excellent. The bread must have been good as well, but it disappeared before I could sample it! I had the house sqngria ( red, not sweet, with lost of APPLES (!) in it. For dessert we chose the caramel flan, the only below par item of the evening. They need to work on the desserts: other choices ( profiteroles, tiramisu, and chocolate lava cake) were obviously not Portuguese at all! Service was great ( thanks, Omar!). Ate there several years ago but found it much higher quality and more attractive this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The Paella Valenciana and the Portuguese ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The Paella Valenciana and the Portuguese Fisherman's Stew are the Crown Jewels of this fine exemplar of Spanish cuisine.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Looking for something different and foun ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Looking for something different and found you. Took family members. Recommended to book club.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I almost never write reviews, but this w ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

I almost never write reviews, but this was truly a terrific evening of food and fun on the back patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on June 8, 2016

You will find this unbelievable but Espana was so good we had dinner there 3 nights in a row just to sample many great dishes on the menu. Paella of several variations all were great as was a special seafood salad appetizer, slight heat from chile peppers with balsamic dressing amazing. Servers all were attentive, and knowledgeable. Wine and beer only. Do not miss Espana on a visit to Fernandina Beach, although there are many good restaurants in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amelia Island's best Restaurant.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Espana is the BEST of the BEST! Number ONE restaurant on Amelia Island in downtown Fernandina Beach, in my opinion. Been going to this restaurant for about 12 yrs - always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum Yum

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

You just can't beat this restaurant in Fernandina Beach. Consistently great service, delicious food and delightful setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yearly Snowbird Dining

Dined on June 4, 2016

We found Espana about 9 years ago when traveling on the ICW by boat. We now stop there twice a year as a snowbird traveling north & south via car, going the extra 20 miles off I-95. The food never disappoints, and the wait staff and chefs are excellent. The paella is always good, but this time we tried the daily special, and it was cooked to perfection. The shrimp ceviche small plate made us want to try a variety of small plates next time and save room for dessert. Oh, yes, we liked the wine list, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Authentic

Dined on May 30, 2016

Fine tapas, authentic Spanish cuisine, great attention to detail.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bugs & heat wasn't enjoyable in the outdoor dining

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was delicious, but when you make a reservation make sure you specify inside or outdoor dining. The noise of traffic, and outdoor bands will really put a damper on your dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great

Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food and great service. Great white sangria. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Espana!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

I love Espana. I visit with all of my friends every time I am in Fernandina and can't get enough of the escargot, Fishermans's stew, portobello mushroom and sangria! I cannot imagine a better experience than sitting in the patio eating tapas and having drinks with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great wine list. Ser ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food and great wine list. Service was very attentive. You should definitely try it.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So good we are going back tonight.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Tapas were generous. Entrees were delicious especially the snapper with the pablano sauce. Justin our server was timely with everything. It was so good we are returning tonight.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service were both outstanding. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food and service were both outstanding. We were well taken care of and all our food was brought out at the right time. The quality of the food and the flavors were amazing. We look forward to coming back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate there while on vacation

Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I ate at Espana on Friday evening, May 27th, while spending a short vacation at Amelia Island. We ordered different meals. I had the spicy snapper and she had the grouper entree on the regular evening menu. We exchanged a bite of each to enjoy the flavors of both meals. We also had the house salad and a glass of wine. All of the food was exceptionally well seasoned and cooked - not overdone in any way. In fact, we enjoyed the meal so much, we asked our waitress to give our compliments to the chef! Our waitress was friendly, but a bit reserved. We finally got her to open up and laugh a little before we left. All in all, our dining experience was very positive. We both decided to return to Espana on our next trip to the area. We would recommend Espana for the quality of the food and the enjoyable atmosphere. In fact, we have already recommended Espana to our friends who also vacation at Amelia from time to time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic at Espana, from ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Everything was fantastic at Espana, from the ambiance to the service and, of course, the incredible food. The staff is very knowledgable and makes excellent recommendations. This little gem is great for everything from romantic dinners for two to fun groups of 10-12. Highly recommend for your next trip to Amelia Island!

food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Excellent except for service

Dined on May 24, 2016

Food was fantastic but server just left us, wanted more wine, so had to flag him down. He did not check back after we were served. He was very friendly when he gave us the check. Such a shame because the food was really fantastic, as usual. I know he had anoher table of 8 people but he was not that busy. We waited 45 minutes for food, I understand that kitchen can be busy but server should have checked in with us. We travel to Fernandina Beach just to eat here. I will be back again but hope he is not the server. This is about our 5th time here and the only time this has happened. Great menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.