About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 9043217693x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gambas Mozambique
  • Paella Valenciana
  • Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
  • paella marinera
  • solomillo con cabrales
Gambas Mozambique
Paella Valenciana
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
paella marinera
solomillo con cabrales

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
8 More
Best Overall
Amelia Island
Best Food
Amelia Island
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Fit for Foodies
Amelia Island
Special Occasion
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

fit for foodies (150)
special occasion (134)
neighborhood gem (129)
See All
romantic (101)
great for outdoor dining (69)
good for groups (48)
notable wine list (46)
hot spot (26)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (7)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was very attentive and my wat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was very attentive and my water glass was never less than half full. After finishing our meal, I ordered an Americano and while my girlfriends and I were talking he came up and gave us all a tad bit more wine, no charge. I will definitely be back. The tapas were all excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals I have ever eaten!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best meals I have ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a short stay on Amelia Island and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a short stay on Amelia Island and we read about Espana. It was an amazing experience, the paella was fantastic and Omar our server was amazing pleasant and knowledgeable. It was a great meal, wonderful atmosphere. I recommend it to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas were excellent, we ate to many tap ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Tapas were excellent, we ate to many tapas so we didn't have a chance to try the paella, but it looked really good. Service was superb, and home made Sangria was very good

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite place when visiting Fernandi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My favorite place when visiting Fernandina Beach. My favorite is the Seafood a paella.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

After reading reviews of Espana, I expec ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

After reading reviews of Espana, I expected more from the restaurant. Food was ok but nothing special for a Spanish/Portugese restaurant. If you like balsamic glaze on virtually everything, you'll go nuts over Espana (much too much balsamic) . The bar had a poor choice of Spanish or Portugese wines. Most of the reds were from Chile or California. I don't remember any tempranillos. No Portugese wines at all. So, given that the prices tended to be high, I had expected better food, wine, and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have, once again, decided Espana is o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have, once again, decided Espana is our "go to" place. The food is delicious, the garden view is beautiful in the early evening sun (if you are on the porch side), and the service is great. From escargot to calamari steak, from scallops to pork tenderloin, from shrimp curry to red snapper, each dish is a tasty adventure. And then, there is the wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent all around. Clam appetizer wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent all around. Clam appetizer was best I have ever had-- wanted to turn up the bowl and drink the liquid!!!

Grouper entree was perfect in every way. We will return next time in Fernandina.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb food and service, probably the be ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Superb food and service, probably the best tiramisu I've had on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not couples seeking conversation. Good f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Not couples seeking conversation. Good for groups to drink a lot of sangria and get loud.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Quality food and great service. We have ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quality food and great service. We have eaten there before, and have always enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for dinner at this restaurant wit ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went for dinner at this restaurant with my husband when we were on our relaxing trip to Amelia Island. Our hotel front desk lady suggest us this restaurant. I made reservations . Server was very nice and helpful. I was interested in small plate of scallops that was not in the menu and my server said yes he can ask the cook to make scallops in spicy sauce. We also ordered tapas shrimps , lime chicken , small salad and 1/2 pitcher sangria. Everything tasted good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went to dinner to Espan ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I went to dinner to Espana for our 15th anniversary. We ordered the Gambas Mozambique and Papas bravas for appetizer. The Mozambique was excellent! If you like spicy I highly recommend this dish. For dinner we ordered the spicy snapper and the chicken dish. The snapper was not spicy, but still good. The chicken was cooked in a very flavorful sauce. We also got champagne on the house for our anniversary, which was very nice. And we ordered sangria, which was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ended up sitting outside due to A/C prob ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Ended up sitting outside due to A/C problem inside. Best thing that could have happened . Great food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been waiting more than two years to ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I've been waiting more than two years to return to this restaurant because a friend and I had a fantastic and memorable meal here: paella and sangría. I was alone this time, and although the service and the table were appropriate, I was disappointed in both the food and the beverage. The paella was served in the paella pan and placed directly in front of me. The pan was so hot that the paella continued cooking and was too hot to eat. I moved the food from the pan to the serving plate underneath the pan, doing my best not to burn myself, and I was better able to enjoy it after that. It was good, but not exceptional. Clearly I had set my expectations too high. I had a large glass of sangría, but enjoyed not even a momentary buzz, like the one I remember enjoying during my first visit. I ordered flan for dessert, and it was so heavy (somewhat silky much too heavy on the tongue--too much cream, perhaps?) that I didn't eat it, and the waiter did not charge me for it. I won't be dreaming about this place again, although I would love to find a place in North Central Florida that can dish up paella and sangría the way the're supposed to be served.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The seafood was very well prepared but t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The seafood was very well prepared but the flavors didn't blow me away (scallops with green sauce, seafood paella). On the contrary, the pork was slightly overdone/dry but the mushroom sauce was amazing. Beef tenderloin with Spanish blue cheese sauce was the highlight of the meal as it was expertly prepared and very flavorful. The julienned veggies that accompanied the entrees were tender crisp and well seasoned. I was very disappoints in the bread. It was very conventional and nothing to speak of. Felt more of a filler than a pleasure to eat. Sangria was fresh and fruity and a nice addition to our meal. Service was slightly better than adequate but didn't feel as full service as what the menu prices and ambiance dictate it should be. Not a bad experience but not a WOW experience either. The outdoor patio was lovely and picturesque. The interior design was unimaginative. All said and done, I would return to try more of the menu offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Lovely small restaurant with great choic ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Lovely small restaurant with great choice of tapas and entrees. Quiet and friendly. Nice find

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous as always! We come to Amelia I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fabulous as always! We come to Amelia Island every year and make it a point to eat at Espana.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Be sure you ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent food and service! Be sure you make reservations, as it is very popular!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been several times and always ha ...

 
 (Panama City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been several times and always have a wonderful experience. We had Jonathan as our waiter and he is just GREAT! The food was amazing as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good special occasion selection - my boy ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good special occasion selection - my boyfriend had never had Spanish food or paella, so this was fun to introduce him to it. The table service was great. The sangria was great. The tapas were all quite good - we had the charcuterie plate the mozzerella and the calamari steak. The mozzerella wasn't particularly special in any way. The tomatoes were okay but they were grocery store tomatoes. The calamari steak was interesting and he liked it but I remembered it being more tender my last time here. The paella was okay - frankly I was quite disappointed in the crust - or lack thereof. The boyfriend said the bottom was quite scorched and quite bitter and frankly he was pretty suprised. So was I. The rice was fine and the seafood was good. The tres leches cake was good - solid. Not the best I've ever had but fine. We had to wait a good five minutes at the hostess stand because the hostess was chatting with folks in the bar. I'm not normally touchy about that stuff but the bartender saw us standing there and didn't redirect her. It was pretty full given it was a Saturday night and no big deal, but for a $150 dinner I'd love to not feel like I'm imposing on your time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is an excellent restaurant. Their t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant. Their tapas are unique and delicious. The service is friendly and fast, but you never feel rushed. Be sure to make reservations because this restaurant is a favorite among locals as well as tourists.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a must when we are on the Island. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always a must when we are on the Island. Looking forward to our next visit

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where we always go for a special occasio ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Where we always go for a special occasion ....service....tapas....venue all great!! Sangria one of my favs in town too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was high. Would prefer to e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Noise level was high. Would prefer to eat outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our fav!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of our fav!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were vacationing on Amelia Island and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were vacationing on Amelia Island and a local resident told us about Espana. The food was fantastic. The service was excellent. We actually went back again for a second time during our stay. We HIGHLY recommend it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service eve ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service everytime! This is one of the best restaurants on the island!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was wonderful, from th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything we had was wonderful, from the ceviche and potatas bravas to the seafood paella to flourless chocolate torte! Would definitely eat here again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants on Amelia Island. The food is always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding, as always Our favorite rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Outstanding, as always

Our favorite restaurant in Amelia Island, Espana never disappoints !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service. Sangria w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Sangria was really good. Would definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, food was superb. Roberto and M ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

As usual, food was superb. Roberto and Marina were wonderful hosts. My favorite restaurant in North East Florida. Well worth the hour ride to and fro to eat there. Tappas and Paella are great. The fisherman's stew is spicy and marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service can't be beat! Alw ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service can't be beat! Always excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Espana was recommended to us by a new fr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Espana was recommended to us by a new friend on the golf course. We found the staff (Omar) polite and convivial, and the atmosphere relaxed. Then the food came, and the fireworks began. Fantastic calamari and paella! my steak was perfect, and my picky eater son even enjoyed the chicken picatta.

Thanks for a wonderful evening with friends. Top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! One of the best choices on t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic! One of the best choices on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is fabulous! The service impec ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is fabulous! The service impeccable! Ambiance very nice. We eat here every time we are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grouper special was out of this worl ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Grouper special was out of this world. Shrimp Mozambique is a Must. The Calderada de Mariscos

(Portuguese Fisherman Stew) was awesome. Definitely going back to try tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excessively salty to the point ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was excessively salty to the point that we didn't finish our food. The paella was the worst I have ever eaten. This is our third time eating at Espana. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

As always it was excellent, after many y ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always it was excellent, after many years and many meals it is still my all-time favorite.

The consistency of the food quality is unmatched and when you pair this with the superior service, you have a winner.

Peter

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.