Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your España experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining which is generally open Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Let us make your trip to España a memorable one.

Family owned and operated since 2004. The original on Amelia Island!

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday
First sitting: 5:00
Last sitting: 9:30

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (904) 321-7693

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 6:45PM

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (101)
Authentic (77)
Good for a Date (69)
See All
Special Occasion (68)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Cozy (44)
Romantic (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Casual (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Outstanding Value (18)
Business Meals (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Historic (12)
Spicy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (10)
Family Style (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent paella and fish meals. Both of great quality and sufficient. Would go again definitely but feel a reservation should be made as very popular. Unfortunately I have forgotten the name of our server but she was very pleasant and efficient.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Deborah was a great Hostess, kept me updated on progress of table. Loved the corner one by the street. Although many choices on the island, clearly this was one of the best!! Loved seeing the special attention the owner showed to guests and staff. Felt like we were all family

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

As always the food was amazing. I had the Paella but after a bite of the steak I will be back to order for myself next time. I think the taste is one of the best on the island. Also, the mussels appetizer is a must.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, we really enjoyed it. Very tasty and good value. We will dine there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

Espana always provides great food and outstanding service in a casual setting. Highly recommend for their wonderful, fresh, and large selections on the menu. Can't ever leave without having the Flan... yum, yum...!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Our Favorite place on Amelia Island! Fantastic Service and Unbelievably Flavorful Food Everytime!! You must try!! You'll become a fan!!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

The experience was great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner composed entirely of tapas. We ordered four--the grilled shrimp, the empanadas (a special), the ceviche, and the Portuguese chorizo. After eating all four, we decided we were full and didn't need anything else. The decor is charming and though we ate indoors, our view of the outdoor garden was lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

A group of us
shared wonderful tapas. Every one was delicious. The escargot was so good we ordered a second serving

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

The quality of food and service has been consistently great. We go to Amelia Island every year and never miss the opportunity to dine at Espana. Pleasant ambiance and a great place for quiet enjoyment of a great meal. Wait staff are very attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

We love Espana and are sure to eat there every time we are on the island. The tapas are outstanding and fun to share. Our favorites are the sausage and onions and the shrimp Mozambique. This time we also had wonderful beef empanadas, and we finished the meal with tres Dulce de Leches cake. It is always one of our favorite evenings. Not to be missed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent, had a great time and the bus girl was very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

surprise to find an incredible spanish/portuguese restaurant in seaside town. my wife and i had the fishstew and our son and girlfriend had the paella.
highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Highly recommend. The snapper special was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Incredible food. Excellent evening

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We were very disappointed after reading the good reviews. Two small ravioli for $10 was too expensive. Portions small. I think the reviews were based on the very expensive entrees. The appetizers and tapas were not tasty. No liquor is served here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have come every year for the past 12 years on the Sunday of the Concours. We brought friends who had never been here before and I was afraid I had built up the restaurant too much. They could not have been happier....our meal was outstanding.

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Perfect dinner. Food was delicious. As good as new Jersey portuguse restaurants

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent in every way. A must go when in Amelia island!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We are in Amelia for the car show, and we're thrilled to get a reservation at this outstanding restaurant. John worked so hard to get a table for us. A cancellation came in and John reached out! Great service, great food.

Kathy Kretz

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food. We ordered several tapas to share. Service was great. Definitely would return. Reservations needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Some of the best paella ever!! As good or better than dishes we've had in Spain!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A second trip to Espana was as great as the last one. We had 3 small plates to share and the Valencia paella for our group of four. It was the perfect amount of food and variety of tastes. The curry shrimp are to die for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food and service was superb. Just like dining in Spain

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Definitely a VERY classy restaurant. Food, service, atmosphere - very nice. It's our favorite in Fernandina Beach, for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Comfortable feel, great service, super menu recommendation for two from server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Fernandina Beach/Amelia Island for special occasions! The food is always incredibly good and the service is impeccable! The outdoor patio is beautiful and is pet friendly. Can't get any better than this!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our second visit. Was better than last time. Delicious!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I like this restaurant with one exception--the hostess is very unfriendly on the phone and in person. She is irritable and bossy every time I go there. She needs to be replaced!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We have been wintering in Fernandina Beach for three years and this is our favorite restaurant. The food and service are consistently excellent.We will be back next year. Do not change a thing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Espana was recommended to us by the bartender at our hotel during our visit to Amelia Island. What a FANTASTIC recommendation it turned out to be as our dinner was OUTSTANDNG. Everyone that worked there was very friendly and gave good recs on what to order. We had their homemade sangria to start and it was delicious. The flavor of our seafood dishes were just out of the world. We will definitely be going back to Espana on our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We had eaten here one other time and thought it was very good. We decided to return on our last night in Fernandina, and I chose the grouper special. It was truly the best grouper I had ever had and the presentation was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Simply fantastic tapas as starters, hard to beat the fish stew for two as a main!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was our first time there but not our last! Service was outstanding and food was phenomenal!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Creative and delicious tapas worthy of Jose Garcis. Staff was attentive and friendly. A wonderful experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We visit Amelia every year with friends and this is our third year eating at Espana. It never disappoints. Omar, our server for the past two years, is outstanding--friendly with humor and very knowledgeable. Don't miss this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service was amazing. The food was even better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A very good restaurant. From the moment you walk in to the moment you leave the service and people are do nice and friendly. The fisherman stew was to die for. Had to keep asking for more bread to soak up the liquids of the stew.
Would come back to the area just for this restaurant.
Do not miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good selection of warm and cold tapas. Good Spanish red wines.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We loved the recommended Spanish Red Snapper. The waiter was very accommodating as we tasted the first bottle of wine that we ordered and it was palatable. He said they would use it later and we ordered a different wine that was very good.

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.