About España Restaurant of Amelia Island

22 S. 4th Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
View Larger Map

Savor the traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal in the heart of downtown historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, fresh fish or meat entree including the national dish of Spain, Paella. Complete your Espana experience with some homemade desert. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area (weather permitting). Let us make your trip to Espana a memorable one. Family owned and operated since 2004.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 261-7700

Website:
http://espanadowntown.com/

Catering:
Various catering options are available to suit all budgets. Our Paella Party is very popular, which includes a cooking demonstration.

Executive Chef:
Roberto Pestana

Private Party Facilities:
Either of our two dining rooms are available for private groups.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 9043217693

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout

Restaurant Photos

España Restaurant of Amelia Island Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Amelia Island
Best Food
Amelia Island
6 More
Best Service
Amelia Island
Best Ambiance
Amelia Island
Best Value
Amelia Island
Fit for Foodies
Amelia Island
Special Occasion
Amelia Island
Most Booked
Amelia Island
Best Restaurants in Amelia Island ›

fit for foodies (158)
special occasion (128)
neighborhood gem (126)
See All
romantic (92)
great for outdoor dining (72)
notable wine list (53)
good for groups (41)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (7)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great wine list. Ser ...

Dined 11 hours ago

Excellent food and great wine list. Service was very attentive. You should definitely try it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic at Espana, from ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was fantastic at Espana, from the ambiance to the service and, of course, the incredible food. The staff is very knowledgable and makes excellent recommendations. This little gem is great for everything from romantic dinners for two to fun groups of 10-12. Highly recommend for your next trip to Amelia Island!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding. You are a little close to others while dinning which makes it tough to have private conversation so get to know your neighbors next to you. View of the outside was very nice with all of the flowers. Had an outstanding evening there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff was great and the food wa ...

Dined 7 days ago

The wait staff was great and the food was AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time

Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband and I travelled one night through Amilia Island and chose Epana based on Trip Advisor reviews. We prefer a tapas experience over a full dinner. Our experience at Espana did not disappoint. Our table was perfect, small romantic table in the corner. Our server Scott was very helpful in our selections. And although the restaurant was quite busy Scott never made us feel he didn't have time - very personalized service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly enjoyed our meal

Dined on May 20, 2016

My daughter and I ate at Espana during a recent girls weekend on Amelia Island. The food was terrific. Particularly enjoyed the paella and the meat empanadas. The Sangria was outstanding! Our waitress was present but not overly so. Huge helpings and promptly served. Would definitely go again when back to Amelia Island

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Espana!

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I travel from Mount Dora to dine at Espana....it is our favorite Spanish restaurant! The food is exquisite and the service is excellent Bravo!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good experience - some dishes were well ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Good experience - some dishes were well executed others like the Paella very bland.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely food , homemade sangria, beautifu ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lovely food , homemade sangria, beautiful patio. Can hear to talk. A must-for-dinner when on vacation on Amelia.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always first place we eat when we arrive ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

always first place we eat when we arrive in Fernandina Beach - love the Paella!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have to say, we were disappointed with ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I have to say, we were disappointed with our first visit last week to Espana. The decor is very inviting and intimate. The restaurant wasn't very busy yet we were given a table quite a bit away from the main dining area and pretty remote considering there weren't many people dining. We decided to order a variety of tapas as many of the items sounded wonderful. We had to wait quite some time before any waitstaff came to the table but, once we were "discovered" and ordered, wine and food arrived to our table in good fashion. The first course of Curry Shrimp was very good and the spices really complemented the shrimp. However, after that, we felt the dishes basically all tasted the same, covered in the same brown sauce, didn't matter if it was pork or beef, just tasted the same. Not much on the presentation either, more like items you might get in an Indian restaurant, in a dish, just covered in sauce. We have eaten at many Tapas restaurants and this wasn't quite what we expected. Maybe the opening of the new sister restaurant around the corner has gotten all the attention and we just hit it on a bad night. Either way, it's not inexpensive and we had hoped for better. We had heard good things about this place and do plan to try it again, the patio looks very inviting when the weather warms up, but we will probably will skip the tapas and try entrees instead. Hope we just hit a bad night.....

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding birthday diner

Dined on May 10, 2016

Celebrated my birthday with friends at Espana. We shared several tapas and several entrees...more than enough food for 4 people. The escargot was exceptional, as was the fisherman's stew. All of the food was expertly prepared and very taste. A pitcher of sangria completed the meal. All of the staff was extermely courteous and helpful. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We travel 200 miles to dine here. The fisherman's

Dined on May 9, 2016

Not as good as previous visits. Bread is not as it was. Appetizer was not as described, the puff pastry short ribs has no puff. Still good but a heavy pastry. We always cone back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good spanish tapas

Dined on May 8, 2016

A friend and I were in town and in the mood for some Spanish tapas and Espana definitely delivered. All the tapas were delicious and the sangria was good too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Quality and Creative Dishes

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a special dinner for Mother's Day (a day early) as our father passed away suddenly last Fall. We wanted to pamper mom this weekend and chose España because it had great reviews and high ratings on Yelp and Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! The tapas are great. I had the Caracoles (escargots) and it was fantastic. Even the tapas are good sized portions. Nice atmosphere and although we sat inside, the outdoor patio looked very nice. The owner came by and was quite gracious. I will definitely return and recommend. ~Buen Provecho

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique menu, delicious food!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Husband and I had dinner here for the first time on an overnight trip to Amelia. Everything was great. We had a reservation, we were seated right away. We sat looking into the courtyard, which was nice, and if we'd know there was a courtyard, we would have requested to sit there bc it was very pretty and private. I did not catch the server's name, but he was very good. Just the right amount of attention. I could see he had a lot of tables, but never seemed flustered or in the weeds. Red sangria = delicious! We did the tapas: the antipasto plate, calimari steaks, pork tenderloin, and garlic shrimp. The calamari steak was one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten. Ever. Bread was a little dry, but we didn't come for the bread, so no big deal. It's to be noted the the tapas menu (really the whole menu) is heavy on seafood, so if you don't care for or are allergic, it might not be your place. But they have some non-seafood choices as well. Finished with a chocolate torte that I thought I would have just a few bites of, and ate the whole thing! Cappuccino was top notch. All around really great dinner. This would be a great place for a date or girls night out. Seems like parties more than 6 would be harder to seat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Some disappointments

Dined on May 7, 2016

They have discontinued the olive oil dip for the bread, had to ask for it. I know that good olive oil has gone up in price, but discontinuing it is not the answer. We had scallops, I thought they were fine, but my wife said they tasted as if they had been frozen. I know they come from the northeast, so I expect they were frozen for shipping. The dessert was the real disappointment, we ordered terra masu ( I know the spelling is probably wrong, but you get the idea), instead of getting a layered cake with the cream between the layers, we got a cup of cream with cinnamon topping. NOT a good move. Another cost cutting move like the olive oil that didn't go over very well. I think most of your customers would pay slightly more to get the real stuff and not the short cuts.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Poor Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Thanks for your e-mail. My wife and I have eaten at least twice a year when we visit Amelia Island, and all of our visits have been first class in every way. HOWEVER, our dinner there on 5/6/16 was NOT GOOD. We had 2 guests dining with us, who have accompanied us many times to Espana. Our complaint was the service, and it has always been impeccable, but not this time. Our server was named Justin. The first 2 rounds of our tapas orders was timely served and delicious, as always. But, one of my guests and my wife watched as Justin was socializing with a young couple at the little bar. An inordinate amount of time went by as Justin continued to socialize with patrons. Finally, my guest was able to get his attention. We inquired why the long delay in serving our final round of tapas, to which he replied that there was a back-up in the kitchen. We then waited some more time. Finally, the last round, which consisted of two orders of the mussel special tapas, was served and IT WAS COLD!!!!! We were served 4 cordial glasses of what Justin said was port and apologized for the service. I only had one taste of the cold mussels, and no one ate any more. The charges for the mussel special were not added to our dinner check, and should not have been. Our complaint was registered with the hostess, who told us she was told about the mussels. We will be back on Amelia Island for the week of Thanksgiving and will dine again at Espana but will hope there will not be a repeat performance of this disappointing experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

One of our favorite Fernandina Beach res ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

One of our favorite Fernandina Beach restaurants !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants T ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants The food and the people are fabulous

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal Ever

Dined on May 3, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed many restaurants throughout the world. We had the Portugese Fish Stew at Espana. We both agreed that it may be the best dish we have ever eaten anywhere in the world. We were thinking about having the Paella, but a couple next to us strongly advised us to get the Seafood Stew as they said that they come back yearly to get this meal. We are so happy that they advised us to get this as it was phenomenal. The service was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Decent restaurant with excellent service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Easy to make dinner arrangements thru Open Table. Were greeted and promptly seated, although we arrived 10 minutes early. Good table. Excellent waiter and attentive table workers. Various menu selections to choose from - we chose the Paella Marinara. Rice a little soggy but overall good. Would recommend to others.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Some of the best tapas you can get. The food is amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Again this little gem never fails to mee ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Again this little gem never fails to meet all your expectations. The house dishes are as good as they get. We will continue to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent....again

Dined on April 28, 2016

One of our favorites in Fernandina....good food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was fantastic. Dessert was great! ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was fantastic. Dessert was great! We'll be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner success

Dined on April 24, 2016

Second time celebrating our anniversary at this restaurant. It was a success! We are both hispanics with a spanish decent and it was a small piece of the motherland.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, as always, was wonderful.

Dined on April 22, 2016

There was a mix-up with the reservation, but they got us seated fairly quickly. Ordered tapas - spicy shrimp, portabella mushrooms and antipasti - and they were all delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Prissy

Dined on April 19, 2016

Good paella. Nice wine but salad dressing very tart.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

The bouillabaisse was awesome...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The bouillabaisse was awesome...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas for Two

Dined on April 18, 2016

There Tapas is to Die For!! Must give it a try. We had the Portabello Mushroom with Serrano Ham and there brown sauce. Brown sauce was amazing you could put it on anything. We also had the shrimp and garlic and the salmon, just delicious. They also have reasonable wine prices for good wine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to Amelia Island

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant was very accommodative, as we changed our reservation multiple times, adding people. Omar, our waiter, was great! The food was very good, and I would definitely go back if ever I find myself in Amelia Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not Spanish paella

Dined on April 17, 2016

The orange rice Paella was tasteless compared to real Spanish yellow rice Paella -wouldn't order again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We really enjoyed the Fisherman's Stew and the ceviche . It was a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Viva España

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We think this is the best restaurant on Amelia Island! Food, service, ambiance always good. The owners are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious tapas

Dined on April 16, 2016

The delicious tapas, savored with Albariño and served with Omar's impeccable timing, were as good as what we enjoyed recently in Barcelona. If you're near Fernandina Beach, don't miss this gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We had been to Espana once before when s ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We had been to Espana once before when staying on Amelia Island and thoroughly enjoyed it. We started with clams which were excellent. My husband and I both had fish, but mine was over-cooked so was dry. The sauce though was very good.)

food5
ambience5
service4

We selected all tapas and everything was ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

We selected all tapas and everything was delicious! The spicy shrimp and portobello mushroom dishes were my favorite. Great wine list but our server never brought the half bottle of wine that we ordered to go with our second round of tapas. Otherwise it was a perfect evening!

food5
ambience4
service5

This was one of our best dining experien ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

This was one of our best dining experiences on Amelia Island! We asked our waiter to bring one of his favorite tapas to share since we were all having salads and full entrees. He brought a braised beef empanada - delicious!! We all had different salads fresh and tasty! The beef with blue cheese sauce was fabulous! 2 different fish dishes and cioppino also delightful. We'd definitely return!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

Dined on April 11, 2016

If you are looking for good food with a flair this is your spot. Everything on the menu has flair written into it. Latino cuisine including flan for dessert. Seafood prepared to perfection. Service is right out of Downton Abbey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.