About Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel

6 Picton Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Treat yourself to authentic Wine Country cuisine in the contemporary Mediterranean flair of Escabèche. Our 4-diamond designation & VQA Restaurant Award of Excellence are testimony to the high caliber of dining experience you can expect.

Savour each season as it is revealed in innovative menus created by Executive Chef Chris Smythe. He masterfully blends art & science to create dishes sure to stimulate & satisfy the most discerning palates.

Enhance your meal with a bottle of wine from our award winning list of over 400 vintages from Niagara & around the world. Be sure to visit our world class cellar with Sommelier Fred Gamula.

Whether you are here on business, a romantic getaway or family trip, we will cater to your every need. Unparalleled service, award-winning cuisine & elegant ambience make your dinner at Escabèche a truly extraordinary experience.

Call to enquire about Tea in our Drawing Room or a visit to our Churchill Lounge & Patio.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary French / American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST:
Sunday to Saturday 7am - 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Saturday 12pm - 2:30pm

SUNDAY VICTORIAN BREAKFAST BUFFET 8am - 12pm

DINNER
Sunday to Saturday 5pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
King Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-3246 ext. 6530

Website:
http://www.vintage-hotels.com/princeofwales/dining.htm

Entertainment:
Featuring great live entertainment in our Churchill Lounge:

Fridays from 9pm to 11pm
Saturdays from 8pm to 11pm

Catering:
We do both onsite and offsite catering. Our group menus are fresh, contemporary and of great value.

Chef Chris Smythe and his team has put together menus that will suit most tastes. If you don't see something you want, ask us and we may be able provide it!

We are Vegetarian & Vegan friendly with many Gluten-free options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available to all our guests in the lot of Prince of Wales Hotel, home to Escabèche.

Executive Chef:
Chris Smythe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Perfect for Weddings, Corporate Groups, Baptisms, Holy Communions, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Anniversaries, Birthdays & Themed Parties. More recently we've added Little Princess Tea Parties - your little girl can entertain her friends with Afternoon Tea!

At Prince of Wales hotel, we can host groups of up to 100.
Our brand new soon to open Banquet Facility, will be able accomodate up to 250 persons.

Call us for info or to book you next event with us.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chacuterie Plate - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
pork loin sandwich - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Red Sangria - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Egg White Omelet - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Blueberry Scones - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Victory Farms Organic Arugula Salad - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
White Peach Sangria - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Fruit Plate - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Wine Rack - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Crispy Arctic Char - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Eggs Benedict - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
Lobster Poutine - Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON

Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Historic (13)
Seasonal (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience! Served by Joe, who was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience! Served by Joe, who was attentive, friendly and informative. The onion and cheese tart was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I remember this location from my childho ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I remember this location from my childhood. It has become a neighbourhood icon and proudly wears its heritage. We celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased with our choice. We booked this evening from our home in BC and it was well worth the effort. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fireplace, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were having a simple post New Year's ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were having a simple post New Year's break and decided to try the main restaurant associated with the Prince of Wales Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We were very pleased with the outstanding ambiance and seasonal decor. The sound system provided great background music (we could hear ourselves, but not the other couples nearby). Our dinner was well presented with an superb salad and an excellent main course (tenderloin). Service was attentive, friendly and appropriately responsive and totally unrushed. However, we would appreciate having more gluten-free options, especially for dessert. We would highly recommend Escabeche and plan on returning when there's better weather, soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent NY's Day lunch with friends... ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent NY's Day lunch with friends...! Great service, excellent food and very accommodating with the kids....!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very clean and crisp atmosphere yet quie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

very clean and crisp atmosphere yet quiet and relaxing defiinitely will return during the theater season!

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When we arrived at the restaurant we wer ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived at the restaurant we were treated very shabbily. In fact the staff were belligerent, rude and not cooperative

The dinner was great our server was lovely.

When we were leaving the same staff that were present on arrival retrieved our coats and offered NO assistance to the lady.

We found this unacceptable

☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️

Wow what a difference from the Trump Hotel in Chicago where we were treated royally 2 days previously

Rita Menninga

rita Menninga

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Very fine food, well-prepared in a cozy ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very fine food, well-prepared in a cozy environment with excellent service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and excellent service. The Ye ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The Yellow Fin Tuna was perfectly cooked. My wife's tenderloin was amazing. My sons enjoyed their dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yearly trip to Niagara on the Lake

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Yearly trip to Niagara on the Lake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great every time - Ask for Daniel, he is ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great every time - Ask for Daniel, he is the best waiter we have had in years! We went for Christmas Day dinner, last year the regular menu was offered as well, was disappointed we couldn't order from the regular menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A very pleasant & enjoyable dining exper ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A very pleasant & enjoyable dining experience. Top class.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We reserved our table at Escabeche for C ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We reserved our table at Escabeche for Christmas dinner with our son and daughter in law . While the ambiance was magical,the food superb our experience began with a very long + 45 minute wait for our table.It seemed the entire second seating experienced the same wait. While a reasonable wait time is acceptable, having to wait for a 7:15 reservation in the lobby of the hotel with most of the other diners with like reservations for almost an hour was a little off putting. The servers were great,under the circumstances,but were obviously rattledby the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Facility, staff and food lovely - rockin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Facility, staff and food lovely - rocking table not so much, should be repaired immediately.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Rather disappointing overall. The select ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Rather disappointing overall. The selection was limited, and while OK, certainly not to the standard I have seen from this establishment in the past. As for the seating, we were a table of four stuck in a thoroughfare with another table of four. In order to get to the food someone from the neighbouring table had to get up and move their chair out the way every time. Not impressed for an over $200 price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was spectacular for Christmas ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was spectacular for Christmas Brunch including the harp player. Will be back next Christmas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Christmas Eve dinner was superb. W ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our Christmas Eve dinner was superb. We have been coming on Christmas Eve for 20 plus years. Our party size has declined considerably over the years , however, we still feel like special guests and look forward every year to an extraordinary evening. Service, food and ambiance was excellent once again this year.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service and we both greatly en ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic service and we both greatly enjoyed our meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I had a terrific meal, and s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My wife and I had a terrific meal, and service was excellent. The server was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was delicious. It was also nice ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our meal was delicious. It was also nice and quiet which was nice. The service was excellent. Unfortunately I think they charged my credit card twice so I'm looking into it. Other than that everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mediocre food. Overpriced for tourists. ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Mediocre food. Overpriced for tourists. Way better restaurants in town & at the wineries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Escabeche has become a regular for us wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Escabeche has become a regular for us when we want to celebrate a special occasion. This last time -- a birthday -- we had the tasting menu with paired wines, and it was uniformly superb. Elegant, outstanding food, perfect service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food but extremely expensive. Wai ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food but extremely expensive.

Waiter is knowledgable but doesn't want to take no the first time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

While the food was excellent at this loc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

While the food was excellent at this location we did not find the restaurant to be good value for money. They serve very small "nouvelle cuisine" portions and when one is spending upwards of $200.00 for a meal one expects to leave the establishment pleasantly full, not thinking of what to eat later.

We cannot fault the service which was consistently excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The Drawing Room at the Prince of Wales ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Drawing Room at the Prince of Wales is my top choice for afternoon tea in Niagara Region. The decor and ambiance are superb and the menu items are fresh, delicious and perfectly presented.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We choose to do the tasting menu and wer ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We choose to do the tasting menu and were delighted with the flavour and presentation of each course. Our waiter was also excellent and very personable. We were however somewhat disappointed in finding that the accompanying wine for the main course was substituted with two selections that were barely drinkable. (The sommelier made a point of letting us know that he had added an extra wine to the pairing, but did not mention the they would both be bad). The listed ice wine that was to accompany the desert course was also substituted with the same wine from a vintage two years older than listed in the menu. This would normally be considered to be a bonus, but, the 2004 Vidal ice wine, while still drinkable was brown in colour and had an off flavour (which is difficult for many to detect in a sweet variety).

Overall... a nice experience, but really disappointed with the deviation from the printed wine pairings - especially considering the fact that we're in the middle of Ontario's wine country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first dining experience at Escabeche ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our first dining experience at Escabeche and we won't be recommending it. The chowder was nice but other dishes were all cold to tepid. Service was inattentice even though the place was not busy. Waiter had to be reminded to bring our dessert. The dining room is beautiful, bright, and nice view of the street. The menu sounded great but the kitchen did not deliver. With several excellent restaurants nearby, we were disappointed.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Had the faboulicious menu; romaine salad ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Had the faboulicious menu; romaine salad & tuna & cheesecake. Husband had the Duck confit appetizer & tuna. Everything was well presented & generally tasty. The tuna accompaniments were very tasty but unfortunately the tuna was quite bland. Although it was nicely done (not too rare/not overdone). Wine sommelier was quite good. Suggestion he made was great. Had a bottle of Gamay.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the ambience l ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was great and the ambience lovely! Great table! Unfortunately the food was very disappointing - it was Fabulicious, the restaurant was very busy. The beef tenderloin was very under done for medium rare and the tuna was dry, tasteless and overcooked. I would give them another try as i have had very good meals there. But food really needs improvement!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and ambiance with superb ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance with superb service - very enjoyable experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

While there, a patron fell ill briefly d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

While there, a patron fell ill briefly during dinner service, a server was quick to act and assess the wellbeing of the individual. Terrific job, this is over and above exceptional food and atmosphere. Never disappointed at this restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had Wayne as our server. Wayne was v ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had Wayne as our server. Wayne was very comfortable making both wine, and food suggestions. We even had the sommelier for our single glass selections with our first two courses.

The Beef Tenderloin was perfectly tender, perfectly seasoned, and had just enough on the plate.

The food, and staff were both lovely and helpful without pretentiousness.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service is very good but a litt ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service is very good but a little pricey. Staff is pleasant and attentive and food is nicely presented. It's a nice spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lilly our server was outstanding. our s ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Lilly our server was outstanding. our soups were luke warm and my meal too. we told Lilly after we were eating it and she went to the kitchen and came back to talk to us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, everyone enjoyed a fantastic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always, everyone enjoyed a fantastic meal. Beautiful ambiance and attention to detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We felt that we were well taken care of ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We felt that we were well taken care of without being bothered. The somellier seemed to have neglected us for a short time, but overall the experience was positive. The food was immaculate!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We stayed at The Prince of Wales on our ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We stayed at The Prince of Wales on our last visit but were unable to book a room this time so we decided to go for dinner one night at Escabeche. Although the dining room is elegant and the waiter and additional wait staff were excellent, friendly and professional, we were very disappointed in our food. I ordered the tiger prawns and expected giant juicy shrimp but instead got the size of the extra large you would buy at the grocery store that were far from succulent. My husband had the chicken which was dry. The desserts were not spectacular either, overall we were not pleased with the food based on the price of the meal. We love to dine out and we do dine out at least once every weekend but I think we are spoiled by our home town of Prince Edward County chefs that prepare meals that are twice as good, we don't mind spending the money on a good meal but not when the meal is not up to the price. Overall is was not good value and very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service and food! We had a won ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent service and food! We had a wonderful evening! Our only little thing was the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 50th Anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were celebrating our 50th Anniversary and everyone went above and beyond to make our celebration a memorable one. Our waiter, Wayne, was outstanding !!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous restaurant!!! Enjoyed our meal ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fabulous restaurant!!! Enjoyed our meals. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Escabeche is always our go to restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Escabeche is always our go to restaurant for special occasions. This type of upscale dining is disappearing all over so we need to frequent the remaining good ones to show our support for the style that we want maintained. This occasion was our wedding supper having just been married that afternoon in Niagara on the lake. Well done Escabeche!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.