Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel

Treat yourself to authentic Wine Country cuisine in the contemporary Mediterranean flair of Escabèche. Our 4-diamond designation & VQA Restaurant Award of Excellence are testimony to the high caliber of dining experience you can expect.

Savour each season as it is revealed in innovative menus created by Executive Chef Chris Smythe. He masterfully blends art & science to create dishes sure to stimulate & satisfy the most discerning palates.

Enhance your meal with a bottle of wine from our award winning list of over 400 vintages from Niagara & around the world. Be sure to visit our world class cellar with Sommelier Fred Gamula.

Whether you are here on business, a romantic getaway or family trip, we will cater to your every need. Unparalleled service, award-winning cuisine & elegant ambience make your dinner at Escabèche a truly extraordinary experience.

Call to enquire about Tea in our Drawing Room or a visit to our Churchill Lounge & Patio.

6 Picton Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary French / American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST:
Sunday to Saturday 7am - 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Saturday 12pm - 2:30pm

DINNER
Sunday to Saturday 5pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
King Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-3246 ext. 6530

Website:
http://www.vintage-hotels.com/princeofwales/dining.htm

Entertainment:
Featuring Live Entertainment in our Churchill Lounge:

Fridays from 9pm to 11pm
Saturdays from 8pm to 11pm

Catering:
We do both onsite and offsite catering. Our group menus are fresh, contemporary and of great value.

Chef Chris Smythe and his team has put together menus that will suit most tastes. If you don't see something you want, ask us and we may be able provide it!

We are Vegetarian & Vegan friendly with many Gluten-free options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available to all our guests in the lot of Prince of Wales Hotel, home to Escabèche.

Executive Chef:
Chris Smythe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Perfect for Weddings, Corporate Groups, Baptisms, Holy Communions, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Anniversaries, Birthdays & Themed Parties. More recently we've added Little Princess Tea Parties - your little girl can entertain her friends with Afternoon Tea!

At Prince of Wales hotel, we can host groups of up to 100.
Our brand new soon to open Banquet Facility, will be able accomodate up to 250 persons.

Call us for info or to book you next event with us.

Specials

Pre-Theatre Dinner Promotion

Special valid May 19, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Pre-Theatre Dinner Promotion

Special valid May 19, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy an exquisite 3-course select dinner at the Prince of Wales Hotel dining room. Space is limited so please reserve your spot. Excludes Tax and Tip. Diners arriving after 6pm will not be eligible for this promotion. Special valid May 19, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Historic (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Limited menu choices. Duck was amazing. Gerard the server made it a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Very good meal and great service at a great location in the heart of town. Also parking was available for guests of the restaurant and that in itself is a draw downtown.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was lovely. But our waiter poured us $9/each juice before asking if we had the breakfast plan. That added $18 to our bill that we wouldn't have ordered. Otherwise, the service and food was quite good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The mussels were creamy and delicious. The wine list was nice as well. I would definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The variety in food for the Mother's day Brunch was a little disappointing. Usually we attend The Queen's Landing Tiara Restaurant and we have also tried the Pillar and Post for Mother's Day Brunch and both restaurants have a better assortment and selection of food for the occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day Brunch before our theatre show

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my wife for Mother's Day the food and waiter was great my wife favourite place place to dine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and service.
Delicious food priced accordingly. We had a great time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our waiter 'Jerid' displayed very good people skills.Kudos to the chef.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service from certain waiter needs improving in this kind of rest. (e.g. explaining menu, repeating order, more friendly, etc.)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have enjoyed having our lunch here. The food was good and the atmosphere is great. We also appreciate the service that was prompt and efficient. The food variety was good enough for lunch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and service..One of the best prime rib and dessert we've ever had. The staff (Bill and Christi) are very accommodating and friendly. Absolutely made our wedding anniversary celebration more special when our delicious German chocolate cake was served with ' Happy Anniversary' written on the plate.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The Fabulicious 2017 Lunch menu offered some interesting choices.
Overall, the food and service were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fantastic service and amazing fine dining. Always an amazing experience. One of the best in all of Niagara.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Soups offered to0 creamy
Beer battered Haddock was greasy
Crepe dessert - too cold
Everyone was friendly
Ambiance is excellent

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was wonderful and staff was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Our server went above and beyond to ensure we had a great experience. Will definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I very much enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant. The food was very nicely prepared, and quite delicious. The reason why I only gave this 3 stars was to do with the service. While our waiter was very nice and pleasant, the service was very slow. Additionally, we were not asked how we wanted our steak to be cooked. Fortunately it arrived cooked perfectly, but I felt that we should have been asked. Finally, trying to sort out our bill took a very long time as we were part of a package that had been ordered. Again, our waiter was very pleasant and very apologetic for the delay. I feel that the restaurant did not have enough staff to adequately support the busyness of the evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A few couples stopped in for dinner during the Icewine Festival. The menu had some tempting choices, both my friend and I ordered the Arctic char and were both surprised at how bland it was. It's like they forgot to season it and there was no salt on the table. Two other guests ordered the huge steak and they were both not cooked to their likings. The place is very charming and unique, but the staff seemed tired and even handed my friend the breakfast menu for dessert! Not the most professional. They did comp one of the steaks, but it was still disappointing that they cooked them wrong. My husband's 'rare' steak was medium-well with a lot of char that tasted bitter. With all the other options in Niagara on the Lake, we'll be trying something else next time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal - everything was terrific!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent ambiance. Historic building. Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great experience! Served by Joe, who was attentive, friendly and informative. The onion and cheese tart was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I remember this location from my childhood. It has become a neighbourhood icon and proudly wears its heritage. We celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased with our choice. We booked this evening from our home in BC and it was well worth the effort. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fireplace, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were having a simple post New Year's break and decided to try the main restaurant associated with the Prince of Wales Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We were very pleased with the outstanding ambiance and seasonal decor. The sound system provided great background music (we could hear ourselves, but not the other couples nearby). Our dinner was well presented with an superb salad and an excellent main course (tenderloin). Service was attentive, friendly and appropriately responsive and totally unrushed. However, we would appreciate having more gluten-free options, especially for dessert. We would highly recommend Escabeche and plan on returning when there's better weather, soon!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent NY's Day lunch with friends...! Great service, excellent food and very accommodating with the kids....!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

very clean and crisp atmosphere yet quiet and relaxing defiinitely will return during the theater season!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived at the restaurant we were treated very shabbily. In fact the staff were belligerent, rude and not cooperative
The dinner was great our server was lovely.
When we were leaving the same staff that were present on arrival retrieved our coats and offered NO assistance to the lady.
We found this unacceptable
☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️
Wow what a difference from the Trump Hotel in Chicago where we were treated royally 2 days previously
Rita Menninga
rita Menninga

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very fine food, well-prepared in a cozy environment with excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The Yellow Fin Tuna was perfectly cooked. My wife's tenderloin was amazing. My sons enjoyed their dinners.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Yearly trip to Niagara on the Lake

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great every time - Ask for Daniel, he is the best waiter we have had in years! We went for Christmas Day dinner, last year the regular menu was offered as well, was disappointed we couldn't order from the regular menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A very pleasant & enjoyable dining experience. Top class.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We reserved our table at Escabeche for Christmas dinner with our son and daughter in law . While the ambiance was magical,the food superb our experience began with a very long + 45 minute wait for our table.It seemed the entire second seating experienced the same wait. While a reasonable wait time is acceptable, having to wait for a 7:15 reservation in the lobby of the hotel with most of the other diners with like reservations for almost an hour was a little off putting. The servers were great,under the circumstances,but were obviously rattledby the experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Facility, staff and food lovely - rocking table not so much, should be repaired immediately.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Rather disappointing overall. The selection was limited, and while OK, certainly not to the standard I have seen from this establishment in the past. As for the seating, we were a table of four stuck in a thoroughfare with another table of four. In order to get to the food someone from the neighbouring table had to get up and move their chair out the way every time. Not impressed for an over $200 price tag.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was spectacular for Christmas Brunch including the harp player. Will be back next Christmas.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our Christmas Eve dinner was superb. We have been coming on Christmas Eve for 20 plus years. Our party size has declined considerably over the years , however, we still feel like special guests and look forward every year to an extraordinary evening. Service, food and ambiance was excellent once again this year.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic service and we both greatly enjoyed our meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My wife and I had a terrific meal, and service was excellent. The server was excellent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our meal was delicious. It was also nice and quiet which was nice. The service was excellent. Unfortunately I think they charged my credit card twice so I'm looking into it. Other than that everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Mediocre food. Overpriced for tourists. Way better restaurants in town & at the wineries.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.