About Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel

6 Picton Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Treat yourself to authentic Wine Country cuisine in the contemporary Mediterranean flair of Escabèche. Our 4-diamond designation & VQA Restaurant Award of Excellence are testimony to the high caliber of dining experience you can expect.

Savour each season as it is revealed in innovative menus created by Executive Chef Chris Smythe. He masterfully blends art & science to create dishes sure to stimulate & satisfy the most discerning palates.

Enhance your meal with a bottle of wine from our award winning list of over 400 vintages from Niagara & around the world. Be sure to visit our world class cellar with Sommelier Fred Gamula.

Whether you are here on business, a romantic getaway or family trip, we will cater to your every need. Unparalleled service, award-winning cuisine & elegant ambience make your dinner at Escabèche a truly extraordinary experience.

Call to enquire about Tea in our Drawing Room or a visit to our Churchill Lounge & Patio.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary French / American, Italian, Organic

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST:
Sunday to Saturday 7am - 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Saturday 12pm - 2:30pm

SUNDAY VICTORIAN BREAKFAST BUFFET 8am - 12pm

DINNER
Sunday to Saturday 5pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
King Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-3246 ext. 6530

Website:
http://www.vintage-hotels.com/princeofwales/dining.htm

Entertainment:
Featuring great live entertainment in our Churchill Lounge:

Fridays from 9pm to 11pm
Saturdays from 8pm to 11pm

Catering:
We do both onsite and offsite catering. Our group menus are fresh, contemporary and of great value.

Chef Chris Smythe and his team has put together menus that will suit most tastes. If you don't see something you want, ask us and we may be able provide it!

We are Vegetarian & Vegan friendly with many Gluten-free options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available to all our guests in the lot of Prince of Wales Hotel, home to Escabèche.

Executive Chef:
Chris Smythe

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Perfect for Weddings, Corporate Groups, Baptisms, Holy Communions, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Anniversaries, Birthdays & Themed Parties. More recently we've added Little Princess Tea Parties - your little girl can entertain her friends with Afternoon Tea!

At Prince of Wales hotel, we can host groups of up to 100.
Our brand new soon to open Banquet Facility, will be able accomodate up to 250 persons.

Call us for info or to book you next event with us.

Restaurant Photos

Chacuterie Plate
pork loin sandwich
Red Sangria
Egg White Omelet
Blueberry Scones
Victory Farms Organic Arugula Salad
White Peach Sangria
Fruit Plate
Wine Rack
Eggs Benedict
Crispy Arctic Char
Lobster Poutine

Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

special occasion (29)
notable wine list (19)
romantic (18)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (12)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The staff was extremely accommodating an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

The staff was extremely accommodating and the food was splendid.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambience was nice but food was ordinary ...

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ambience was nice but food was ordinary at best and some were not what was described in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful beforetheater meal. Great pers ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful beforetheater meal. Great personable service. Nicely done salmon and chicken entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It says food is farm to table No one new ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It says food is farm to table

No one new the farm.

Meat from butcher in Scarborough.

Wow, how people run a restaurant!!!!!!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Escabeche hits all the high notes for a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Escabeche hits all the high notes for a 5-star experience. You expect a finely-tuned menu, cellar, and staff from a restaurant at Escabeche's level and they did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and experienced and the menu was enticing, the execution of the dishes perfect. Give yourself plenty of time to experience what they have to offer. We did not have the tasting menu, but assembled three courses from the ample selections available and were not disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was poorly prepared and overcoo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was poorly prepared and overcooked. The Fishwich was fried to the point where it was rubber, the haddock had more batter than fish inside and for the price you pay, at least give the person a bigger portion of food and side. The bun was bigger then the burger, disappointed. I expected more from a higher end restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

We had the salmon and pork rib chop they ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had the salmon and pork rib chop they were fantastic meals. Perfectly done, great service from Gerard , wonderful restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have eaten at Escabeche ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at Escabeche several times but it has been a few since our last visit. Disappointingly it has gone downmarket. Our starters (mussels, and lettuce leaves) were fine but overpriced. Of our entrees (chicken, and fish) we ate only the proteins, and left everything else on the plate. I would have been embarrassed to put such plates in front of guests! The tomato, mushroom and rapini on mine were overcooked, and mixed together on the plate; it looked like a mess. The frisee mixture on my husband's plate looked tired (brown edges). And for this we paid close to $300, including a discount the waiter arranged because of the poor main courses. We used to look forward to dining at Escabeche when we visited NOTL, but we'll be looking for another dining venue in future. So sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The only thing I was disappointed in was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The only thing I was disappointed in was the pasta, being Italian I'm critical of the sauces I'm offered in restaurants, this was an arrabbiata sauce, yes it was spicy but I found it to be too sweet for my taste.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Other than its location inside the Princ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Other than its location inside the Prince of Wales Hotel, there is really no reason to dine there. I found the menu selections very limited and what we did order was mediocre at best. It has a nice ambience but that's about all.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

four friends recently dined here and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

four friends recently dined here and the food & service were great. will return again for this wonderful dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent but ... we ord ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was excellent but ... we ordered the salad (sort of a Caesar) with chicken and the portion was quite small and really it was just a few romaine leaves thrown on the plate ... very unimpressive. The food did not match the lovely room and service. I could have done much better myself. Yes, it was just a light salad that we ordered but it could have been carried out with some style, don't you think?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very elegant and high-class Resturant in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very elegant and high-class Resturant in terms of its setting, service and atmosphere. Food is great, service is good. Great experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was below our expectations. Service ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was below our expectations. Service and ambiance was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful and charming, good food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Other than not honouring our special table request, the food and service were outstanding. Very knowledgeable sommelier, attentive server, pleasant atmosphere

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I attended the mother's day brunch. Alth ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I attended the mother's day brunch. Although we had a pleasant afternoon overall I would say that I felt things were disorganized. There was no signage inside or out to direct people to the completely separate building behind the hotel. When we went to the resautrant they seemed to confirm we had a reservation and were told to wait while they set our table. After waiting about 15 mins I didn't see any buffet so I questioned the host and then they confirmed we were in the wrong place. When we finally found the building where brunch was served we had to again wait about 15-20 mins. Finally seated it took a while for our server to take our drink order. Food stations were messy, serving spoons had caked on food, dishes were adequate certainly nothing special or extra special for mothers day. I had to clear our plates myself and walk them over to someone!!! Pancakes and French toast were hard and dry which was disappointing. By the time we got to dessert there was no fruit left and the staff confirmed! Lastly, the setting was disappointing. We were just in a closed off banquet hall which was pretty sad. I would have expected mother's day to be special and a main feature inside the hotel with all its charm which is why I chose to book here in the first place. I do like this hotel and have been here for tea but unfortunately I will not be back for mothers day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Review of Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the Mother's Day Brunch in the Royal Cambridge Room at the Prince of Wales Hotel. We booked a reservations for 3 people months in advance. We were sat at a table for 2 where we were crammed in with barely enough room for our plates. The ambience was terrible. We were sat at rows of tables in a large conference-style room. The line for the food was quite long and the food was either cold or the buffet containers were empty. The service was absolutely terrible. Our server sat us, got us orange juice and then never came back. We had to ask another server to get refill our drinks and clear our plates. Definitely not worth it.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely ambience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My hubby took me here for my mother's day brunch and although we had reservations, we still had to wait in the long line for 15 minutes to get in. I'm not sure there was enough staff on hand to sit everyone. However once we got inside and met with our server, everything was great. Attentive server, excellent food and always great ambience. We sat in the bar area this time as I guess the dining room was full, but it was still a great ambience very close to the fireplace. My eggwhite omelette with squash, oka cheese and Kale was excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor Service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were very excited to go to the Prince of Wales for a fine dining experience with our grandparents. We were taking them to a fancy lunch and play. I was very frustrated from the beginning. Not one person came to our table for about 15 minutes. Finally we got service. We all asked for water and only 4 of the 5 of us got one. Throughout the lunch the water glasses were empty. We then asked for a appetizer, which was a Caesar salad.. it was specified by myself that I wanted this before hand. It came with the meal, the food was tasty. No complaints there. My sister did not enjoy the pizza very much. It was then time for the bill, and we waited around for a half an hour after all plates were removed for the bill, after specifying that was all and the bill was needed. After we got the bill we then waited 15 minutes for the server to come back and get the payment. For a fine dining restaurant I was exceptionally disappointed with the service. I would probably never return unless it was for high tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Wonderful ambience!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything from the food, to the service and the ambience was first rate. The lobby was decorated beautifully, as always. There was a magical theme of Alice in Wonderland throughout the main reception area. Whoever is responsible for the decoration and display of the Prince of Wales Hotel should receive an award. I believe it is why I return time and time again. Whether it is life size nutcrackers at the entrance during the holiday season, or stunning flower displays or the Alice in Wonderland backdrop, it is the stunning decor at this Hotel that sets it apart. We had a really enjoyable morning at the Escabeche restaurant and will be returning very soon.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Historic town, memories

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The hotel dining room was well appointed, with amazing staff. The wine expert was outstanding. The food was not up to the price level, but acceptable. It is a great place to celebrate a special occassion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Special Night Out

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

we were celebrating our 55th wedding anniversary and the staff could not do enough for us.

from the assistance in choosing the right wine, to the added pre-dinner treat, to the script wishing us a happy anniversary on our dessert plate the attention to detail was outstanding.

The main course of red snapper was cooked to perfection. We both enjoyed our evening and plan to return next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter Dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Four of us enjoyed Easter dinner here. Everything was excellent from the appetizers to dessert. Our waiter was very helpful and offered good suggestions for both dinner and wine. All in all an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch Excell. Service/Food, Too Busy/Not Enough

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server was excellent, the restaurant was lovely, the food was excellent, the only issue was the food ran out quickly yet not quickly replaced, alot of people, lines, not enough food.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Really pleasant and enjoyable

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Good food. Great setting. Attentive but unobtrusive service. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server, Daniel, was tremendous. He w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our server, Daniel, was tremendous. He was personable and professional and his suggestion to have the perch pan sauteed without the cornmeal crust was perfect. We will come back again when we visit Niagara on the Lake!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the right components but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We ordered the tasting menu and wine pairing. The seasame shiitake mushroom salad was an amazing balance of flavor and freshness - certainly a nice way to start the dinner. The appetizer course of scallop and pulled pork was a tasty if a somewhat odd combination. For the main, the duck breast was badly undercooked. The skin was hardly crispy and the rest was, well ... essentially sashimi. We were told it would be served medium rare, but it was far from that. On the upside, the wine pairings and the sommelier were excellent. Interesting experience and lots of potential with some real highlights, but a bit inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Valentine's dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our meal was very nice - not amazing but nice - the room however was freezing - we were seated beside a window on an extremely cold night - I was chilled to the bone by the time I left - they really needed to heat the room. I don't expect to have to keep my coat when we are eating upscale. Service was good and food tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was very good, selection was somewh ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was very good, selection was somewhat limited but the atmosphere/ambiance and service was excellent

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my girlfriend on Valentines to this ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my girlfriend on Valentines to this restaurant. Very high end, with great service and food. Great for couples or larger groups. Absolutely beautiful building and restaurant. 5/5

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food Excelent Service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at Prince of Wales on the Icewine Lovers package which included dinner and breakfast. The two breakfasts and the dinner we had at Escabeche were excellent ~ couldn't believe how yummy the gluten free french toast was! At dinner my boyfriend had the pork chop and I had the fish... both very tasty but I did covet the pork chop when our meals arrived. The food was well prepared, beautifully presented and, most importantly, served hot. It was clearly a very slow time of year there but all of our servers were wonderful and attentive ~ Especially Fred and Gerry who took care of us during dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The food, service by Daniel and atmosphere was absolutely perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Thieve

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

In the spirit of cutting to the chase, I am going to break down the good and the bad in point form first, and add my write up further down:

Note:

- As the title suggests, this was a NYE dinner, which may have affected their service level, food quality and value adversely. I have never dined there before so perhaps their daily experience is better.

The Good:

- Absolutely beautiful setting.

- Historic yet well maintained.

- Definitely a good pick for a special occasion.

The Bad:

- We arrived exactly at the time we reserved, yet had to wait for about 30 mins.

- Service was excessively slow and flustered.

- I was surprised to find that I was limited to the NYE prix fixe menu (this was not mentioned on their website when I was making the reservation) and at $90 per person it was incredibly overpriced (and that's not even taking into account the subpar experience).

- Food experience was average, with dessert being mediocre and soup mediocre, which - to add insult to injury - was served lukewarm.

Having set their NYE menu to roughly double the expected cost per person when no particular holiday show or other form of entertainment was on would lead you to expect a stellar gastro-experience. However, this was far from the reality. The staff was overwhelmed, people had to wait long to be seated, and (considering we were in for a relatively late dinner) the dinner service took up about 2 hours in our case. Some tables were served their courses out of order. If it wasn't for the lovely ambiance and the pleasant waiter, this would have been a total flop.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Other than our wobbly table to service was good

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The service was great and the whole staff was very attentive to all of our needs even after our dinner very attentive and amazing time

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent place!!! Highly recommended

 
 (México)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The place was excellent, the ambiance and the service was amazing. We had 2 toddlers with us and they were very friendly with them as well.

The food was very good and good portions too.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great scenic view, great menu, delicous pork chop

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

First time at this Restaurant and it did not disappoint!! Totally amazing, from the service Travis our server to the delicious and beautiful presentation of the food. I cant wait to go back for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good dinner, but had to wait 35-40 min

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We arrived right on time for our reservation, but were told it would be about 10 minutes, and to kindly go to the bar in the meantime. After about 35 minutes someone finally showed up and we were seated and things were fine from there. BUT this is too long too wait for a table that had been reserved, and there was no apology made whatsoever. No offer to pay for drinks at the bar either, of course

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Over booked at Christmas lunch.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Booked one month in advance. 45 minute wait for the table. Manager was good with us but still service was really bad. A lot of people complaining. We go ever year at Christmas but this experience will make us look at other options. We are local to the area and would keep away in the future. I would recommend do not over book your restaurant and keep tabs on your wait staff. You could see the look of fear on all the staffs faces from how busy it was. Food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We had a reservation for 5 guests 1:00 pm but due to over booking we were not seated until 1:40. The hostess tried her very best and was most apologetic. Upon being seated our table encourched on other tables making it uncomfortable for them. Our table settings were not complete with glassware & cutlery. The table lacked any centrepiece to mark the holiday. Our server required multiple requests for beverages & butter. Attentive to take away soiled plates was appreciated.

The buffet was very average and for a holiday meal of over $40 per person I expected more. The carving station offered Turkey & Roast beef. The soup was tasteless. The breakfast menus were standard. Pancakes?? No variety of side dishes. Dessert average. For a CHRISTMAS buffet attention to detail such as ham, lamb would have been nice. Vegetables variety choice of mashed potatoes , pasta. Trifle or pudding for dessert.

As mentioned disappointed and will not return for further dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A Feast for All Senses

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

From the minute I walked in the restaurant, I was treated to an exquisite experience. Friendly, personable service, a beautifully presented and wonderfully delicious meal, and a warm atmosphere made my Christmas Eve memorable. I will definitely add Escabeche to my holiday traditions.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.