Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel

Treat yourself to authentic Wine Country cuisine in the contemporary Mediterranean flair of Escabèche. Our 4-diamond designation & VQA Restaurant Award of Excellence are testimony to the high caliber of dining experience you can expect.

Savour each season as it is revealed in innovative menus created by Executive Chef Chris Smythe. He masterfully blends art & science to create dishes sure to stimulate & satisfy the most discerning palates.

Enhance your meal with a bottle of wine from our award winning list of over 400 vintages from Niagara & around the world. Be sure to visit our world class cellar with Sommelier Fred Gamula.

Whether you are here on business, a romantic getaway or family trip, we will cater to your every need. Unparalleled service, award-winning cuisine & elegant ambience make your dinner at Escabèche a truly extraordinary experience.

Call to enquire about Tea in our Drawing Room or a visit to our Churchill Lounge & Patio.

6 Picton Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary French / American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST:
Sunday to Saturday 7am - 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Saturday 12pm - 2:30pm

DINNER
Sunday to Saturday 5pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
King Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-3246 ext. 6530

Website:
http://www.vintage-hotels.com/princeofwales/dining.htm

Entertainment:
Featuring Live Entertainment in our Churchill Lounge:

Fridays from 9pm to 11pm
Saturdays from 8pm to 11pm

Catering:
We do both onsite and offsite catering. Our group menus are fresh, contemporary and of great value.

Chef Chris Smythe and his team has put together menus that will suit most tastes. If you don't see something you want, ask us and we may be able provide it!

We are Vegetarian & Vegan friendly with many Gluten-free options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available to all our guests in the lot of Prince of Wales Hotel, home to Escabèche.

Executive Chef:
Chris Smythe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Perfect for Weddings, Corporate Groups, Baptisms, Holy Communions, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Anniversaries, Birthdays & Themed Parties. More recently we've added Little Princess Tea Parties - your little girl can entertain her friends with Afternoon Tea!

At Prince of Wales hotel, we can host groups of up to 100.
Our brand new soon to open Banquet Facility, will be able accomodate up to 250 persons.

Call us for info or to book you next event with us.

Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Historic (10)
Romantic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have enjoyed having our lunch here. The food was good and the atmosphere is great. We also appreciate the service that was prompt and efficient. The food variety was good enough for lunch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and service..One of the best prime rib and dessert we've ever had. The staff (Bill and Christi) are very accommodating and friendly. Absolutely made our wedding anniversary celebration more special when our delicious German chocolate cake was served with ' Happy Anniversary' written on the plate.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The Fabulicious 2017 Lunch menu offered some interesting choices.
Overall, the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fantastic service and amazing fine dining. Always an amazing experience. One of the best in all of Niagara.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Soups offered to0 creamy
Beer battered Haddock was greasy
Crepe dessert - too cold
Everyone was friendly
Ambiance is excellent

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was wonderful and staff was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Our server went above and beyond to ensure we had a great experience. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I very much enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant. The food was very nicely prepared, and quite delicious. The reason why I only gave this 3 stars was to do with the service. While our waiter was very nice and pleasant, the service was very slow. Additionally, we were not asked how we wanted our steak to be cooked. Fortunately it arrived cooked perfectly, but I felt that we should have been asked. Finally, trying to sort out our bill took a very long time as we were part of a package that had been ordered. Again, our waiter was very pleasant and very apologetic for the delay. I feel that the restaurant did not have enough staff to adequately support the busyness of the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A few couples stopped in for dinner during the Icewine Festival. The menu had some tempting choices, both my friend and I ordered the Arctic char and were both surprised at how bland it was. It's like they forgot to season it and there was no salt on the table. Two other guests ordered the huge steak and they were both not cooked to their likings. The place is very charming and unique, but the staff seemed tired and even handed my friend the breakfast menu for dessert! Not the most professional. They did comp one of the steaks, but it was still disappointing that they cooked them wrong. My husband's 'rare' steak was medium-well with a lot of char that tasted bitter. With all the other options in Niagara on the Lake, we'll be trying something else next time.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal - everything was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent ambiance. Historic building. Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great experience! Served by Joe, who was attentive, friendly and informative. The onion and cheese tart was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I remember this location from my childhood. It has become a neighbourhood icon and proudly wears its heritage. We celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased with our choice. We booked this evening from our home in BC and it was well worth the effort. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fireplace, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were having a simple post New Year's break and decided to try the main restaurant associated with the Prince of Wales Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We were very pleased with the outstanding ambiance and seasonal decor. The sound system provided great background music (we could hear ourselves, but not the other couples nearby). Our dinner was well presented with an superb salad and an excellent main course (tenderloin). Service was attentive, friendly and appropriately responsive and totally unrushed. However, we would appreciate having more gluten-free options, especially for dessert. We would highly recommend Escabeche and plan on returning when there's better weather, soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent NY's Day lunch with friends...! Great service, excellent food and very accommodating with the kids....!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

very clean and crisp atmosphere yet quiet and relaxing defiinitely will return during the theater season!

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived at the restaurant we were treated very shabbily. In fact the staff were belligerent, rude and not cooperative
The dinner was great our server was lovely.
When we were leaving the same staff that were present on arrival retrieved our coats and offered NO assistance to the lady.
We found this unacceptable
☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️
Wow what a difference from the Trump Hotel in Chicago where we were treated royally 2 days previously
Rita Menninga
rita Menninga

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very fine food, well-prepared in a cozy environment with excellent service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The Yellow Fin Tuna was perfectly cooked. My wife's tenderloin was amazing. My sons enjoyed their dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Yearly trip to Niagara on the Lake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great every time - Ask for Daniel, he is the best waiter we have had in years! We went for Christmas Day dinner, last year the regular menu was offered as well, was disappointed we couldn't order from the regular menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A very pleasant & enjoyable dining experience. Top class.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We reserved our table at Escabeche for Christmas dinner with our son and daughter in law . While the ambiance was magical,the food superb our experience began with a very long + 45 minute wait for our table.It seemed the entire second seating experienced the same wait. While a reasonable wait time is acceptable, having to wait for a 7:15 reservation in the lobby of the hotel with most of the other diners with like reservations for almost an hour was a little off putting. The servers were great,under the circumstances,but were obviously rattledby the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Facility, staff and food lovely - rocking table not so much, should be repaired immediately.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Rather disappointing overall. The selection was limited, and while OK, certainly not to the standard I have seen from this establishment in the past. As for the seating, we were a table of four stuck in a thoroughfare with another table of four. In order to get to the food someone from the neighbouring table had to get up and move their chair out the way every time. Not impressed for an over $200 price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was spectacular for Christmas Brunch including the harp player. Will be back next Christmas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our Christmas Eve dinner was superb. We have been coming on Christmas Eve for 20 plus years. Our party size has declined considerably over the years , however, we still feel like special guests and look forward every year to an extraordinary evening. Service, food and ambiance was excellent once again this year.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic service and we both greatly enjoyed our meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My wife and I had a terrific meal, and service was excellent. The server was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our meal was delicious. It was also nice and quiet which was nice. The service was excellent. Unfortunately I think they charged my credit card twice so I'm looking into it. Other than that everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Mediocre food. Overpriced for tourists. Way better restaurants in town & at the wineries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Escabeche has become a regular for us when we want to celebrate a special occasion. This last time -- a birthday -- we had the tasting menu with paired wines, and it was uniformly superb. Elegant, outstanding food, perfect service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food but extremely expensive.
Waiter is knowledgable but doesn't want to take no the first time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

While the food was excellent at this location we did not find the restaurant to be good value for money. They serve very small "nouvelle cuisine" portions and when one is spending upwards of $200.00 for a meal one expects to leave the establishment pleasantly full, not thinking of what to eat later.
We cannot fault the service which was consistently excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Drawing Room at the Prince of Wales is my top choice for afternoon tea in Niagara Region. The decor and ambiance are superb and the menu items are fresh, delicious and perfectly presented.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We choose to do the tasting menu and were delighted with the flavour and presentation of each course. Our waiter was also excellent and very personable. We were however somewhat disappointed in finding that the accompanying wine for the main course was substituted with two selections that were barely drinkable. (The sommelier made a point of letting us know that he had added an extra wine to the pairing, but did not mention the they would both be bad). The listed ice wine that was to accompany the desert course was also substituted with the same wine from a vintage two years older than listed in the menu. This would normally be considered to be a bonus, but, the 2004 Vidal ice wine, while still drinkable was brown in colour and had an off flavour (which is difficult for many to detect in a sweet variety).

Overall... a nice experience, but really disappointed with the deviation from the printed wine pairings - especially considering the fact that we're in the middle of Ontario's wine country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our first dining experience at Escabeche and we won't be recommending it. The chowder was nice but other dishes were all cold to tepid. Service was inattentice even though the place was not busy. Waiter had to be reminded to bring our dessert. The dining room is beautiful, bright, and nice view of the street. The menu sounded great but the kitchen did not deliver. With several excellent restaurants nearby, we were disappointed.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Had the faboulicious menu; romaine salad & tuna & cheesecake. Husband had the Duck confit appetizer & tuna. Everything was well presented & generally tasty. The tuna accompaniments were very tasty but unfortunately the tuna was quite bland. Although it was nicely done (not too rare/not overdone). Wine sommelier was quite good. Suggestion he made was great. Had a bottle of Gamay.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was great and the ambience lovely! Great table! Unfortunately the food was very disappointing - it was Fabulicious, the restaurant was very busy. The beef tenderloin was very under done for medium rare and the tuna was dry, tasteless and overcooked. I would give them another try as i have had very good meals there. But food really needs improvement!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance with superb service - very enjoyable experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

While there, a patron fell ill briefly during dinner service, a server was quick to act and assess the wellbeing of the individual. Terrific job, this is over and above exceptional food and atmosphere. Never disappointed at this restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.