About Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel

6 Picton Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0
View Larger Map

Treat yourself to authentic Wine Country cuisine in the contemporary Mediterranean flair of Escabèche. Our 4-diamond designation & VQA Restaurant Award of Excellence are testimony to the high caliber of dining experience you can expect.

Savour each season as it is revealed in innovative menus created by Executive Chef Chris Smythe. He masterfully blends art & science to create dishes sure to stimulate & satisfy the most discerning palates.

Enhance your meal with a bottle of wine from our award winning list of over 400 vintages from Niagara & around the world. Be sure to visit our world class cellar with Sommelier Fred Gamula.

Whether you are here on business, a romantic getaway or family trip, we will cater to your every need. Unparalleled service, award-winning cuisine & elegant ambience make your dinner at Escabèche a truly extraordinary experience.

Call to enquire about Tea in our Drawing Room or a visit to our Churchill Lounge & Patio.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary French / American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST:
Sunday to Saturday 7am - 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Saturday 12pm - 2:30pm

SUNDAY VICTORIAN BREAKFAST BUFFET 8am - 12pm

DINNER
Sunday to Saturday 5pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
King Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 468-3246 ext. 6530

Website:
http://www.vintage-hotels.com/princeofwales/dining.htm

Entertainment:
Featuring great live entertainment in our Churchill Lounge:

Fridays from 9pm to 11pm
Saturdays from 8pm to 11pm

Catering:
We do both onsite and offsite catering. Our group menus are fresh, contemporary and of great value.

Chef Chris Smythe and his team has put together menus that will suit most tastes. If you don't see something you want, ask us and we may be able provide it!

We are Vegetarian & Vegan friendly with many Gluten-free options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available to all our guests in the lot of Prince of Wales Hotel, home to Escabèche.

Executive Chef:
Chris Smythe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Perfect for Weddings, Corporate Groups, Baptisms, Holy Communions, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Anniversaries, Birthdays & Themed Parties. More recently we've added Little Princess Tea Parties - your little girl can entertain her friends with Afternoon Tea!

At Prince of Wales hotel, we can host groups of up to 100.
Our brand new soon to open Banquet Facility, will be able accomodate up to 250 persons.

Call us for info or to book you next event with us.

Restaurant Photos

Chacuterie Plate
pork loin sandwich
Red Sangria
Egg White Omelet
Blueberry Scones
Victory Farms Organic Arugula Salad
White Peach Sangria
Fruit Plate
Wine Rack
Crispy Arctic Char
Eggs Benedict
Lobster Poutine

Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Scenic View (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Cozy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous restaurant!!! Enjoyed our meal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous restaurant!!! Enjoyed our meals. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Escabeche is always our go to restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Escabeche is always our go to restaurant for special occasions. This type of upscale dining is disappearing all over so we need to frequent the remaining good ones to show our support for the style that we want maintained. This occasion was our wedding supper having just been married that afternoon in Niagara on the lake. Well done Escabeche!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never dined here and pass it ever ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We had never dined here and pass it every year and think we should book a dinner. This year we did and it lived up to our expectations. Our table was near the window so we had a great view of all the flowers and the people passing by. The food was exceptional, the menu extensive enough that you had several choices and the wine list was perhaps a bit daunting and we know the local wines enough and even we were intimidated. The sommelier stopped by and was very helpful and suggested a great bottle of wine, not too expensive and very tasty. We will definitely add this one to our list. We ate lunch earlier in the day in the Churchill and it was good too, nice place for lunch or a drink before/after the play.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall a nice meal. Service was excelle ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall a nice meal. Service was excellent and the waiter was very attentive. A bit disappointed that my steak was on the rare side instead of medium rare. The music was a bit dated. OK if you like Frank Sinatra and that era for background music. The cake for dessert was on the dry side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bustling, crowded tourist trap but fun n ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Bustling, crowded tourist trap but fun nonetheless, if you aren't too fussy. Service was eccentric but amusing. The whole room seemed to be anarchic with nobody actually in charge. Decor is cozy meets shopworn. The food is terrible ("organic" romaine that was both wilted and improperly washed, greasy fish and chips, inedible pasta with leaden meatballs, etc.). Decent list of mostly local wines. Prices fairly high. So long as you don't take it too seriously, this can be a potentially amusing stopover in a popular tourist area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

This is a lovely place with excellent se ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This is a lovely place with excellent service and food. Their tasting menu with local wines is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriends and I were ready to be wo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My girlfriends and I were ready to be wowed, because the atmosphere and interior design were impecable. The water was served in about 20min after we sat down. The wine of our choice was mistaken for a more expensive one ( by 30$) and was served before water. When one of my friends asked for additional ice - the waiter's response was that the water was "plenty cold already"...

Food was great, but unfortunately the experience with the waiter tainted our experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

At first we were seated at a table that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

At first we were seated at a table that was closer to the kitchen. We asked if we could change to a different room and they accommodated us right away. The waiter was very friendly as the Sommelier. Our food was great and I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The hotel is very nice, the flowers were ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The hotel is very nice, the flowers were very nice, the service was very nice BUT the food was like pub food for lunch. Why don't you have up to date healthy options? We wanted nice healthy dishes with good flavor and there was nothing except some basic sounding salad, which we could add shrimp or chicken to. There are so many awesome healthy dishes and I think pub food should be reserved for your pub. Trust me, you would get a lot more diners if you modernized your menu and offered tasty healthy options like grilled scallops or salmon (with great flavoring) on a bed of vermicelli noodles with mushrooms, etc. I recently had this dish (with the salmon) and it was amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Five of us had lunch on Monday. It was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Five of us had lunch on Monday. It was a beautiful dining room but we did not enjoy the lunch at all. Soup (with seafood) was warm and with a strong fish smell so we requested reheating by microwave. It was much better when the soup was hot. Meatball pasta was very dry and overdone so we finished one meatball only. Burgers and fish and chips were fine. There were flies around us once the soup and lunch were served. We reported to the waitress who said she could not deal with the flies and provided us with a handheld bug zapper racket. We will not recommend this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Entering the Prince of Wales, Escabeche ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Entering the Prince of Wales, Escabeche was a much anticipated event. Our weekend getaway had been cut short and suddenly became very hectic. It was so refreshing to dine in such a fine restaurant. We requested a window view and it did not disappoint. It was so lovely to be able to watch the carriages passing by and also to gaze at all the gorgeous flowers.

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and also very accommodating, from his recommendation of the delicious pork entree to his willingness to assist us in a relaxing meal in such a fashion that we were able to enjoy dinner, drink and dessert and still have time to leisurely walk to Festival Theater with plenty of time to see the show. We will definitely be going back!!

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. A little pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. A little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service! We were told the tip w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Terrible service! We were told the tip was not sufficient, the waiter wanted 18% because it's a group of 9. If it is the policy of restaurant, it should be stated somewhere on the menu and added to bill rather than having to ask for more money on the spot. When we arrived at 1150am for 12 noon reservation and told we were too early! Finally table was ready and it is by the entrance and in front of kitchen despite we were too early!

Our water glasses were never refilled and the waiters were running around and seems in a hurry.

Personally I do not feel the service deserve more than 10%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

For a fancy restaurant in an upscale hot ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

For a fancy restaurant in an upscale hotel, I expected much better. We went for brunch and various things were off the mark. Homefries were stale - had obviously been made hours ago and just sitting under a lamp all morning. "Soft-poached eggs" for benedicts were very hard poached. Waiter brought toast for various people but only delivered jam/preserves to one person. Wait staff were very accommodating, but on the whole I expected much better food and overall service for the price and the fact that it's the Prince of Wales!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Service goes above and beyond (Gerard in ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service goes above and beyond (Gerard in particular)!!!

Delicious, thank you for an amazing night and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sommelier helped us match wines to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great sommelier helped us match wines to our meals, super knowledgeable waiter made sure we had time for a relaxed meal and still be finished in time for a theater date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance was lovely in th window room, f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Ambiance was lovely in th window room, food was great and our server Kafil was friendly, knowledgeable, and had just the right amount of flirtatious deference for our group of elder ladies. All in all - a wonderful experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating a special family occ ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were celebrating a special family occasion and we were very pleased with our experience. The food was great but the service was even better. It really was quite seamless and we never wanted for anything. I would definitely recommend you in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner was superb. Two of us ordere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The dinner was superb. Two of us ordered from the creative menu, and our third friend, with dietary restrictions, was beautifully accommodated by the chef. Our waiter was knowledgable and provided just the right level of attention. The experience exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

To be honest, the hype and anticipation ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

To be honest, the hype and anticipation was better than the whole experience. It certainly is an excellent restaurant, but is it worth the price, I don't think so. They ran out of a certain wine, naturally was offered a way more expensive one. Not for the budget minded traveller.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wayne was our server. He was very attent ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wayne was our server. He was very attentive but not overbearing.

He made some great food suggestions , and was most engaging.

Overall he gave us superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A recent trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake bro ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A recent trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake brought us to Escabeche - The Prince of Wales Hotel. While the food was pretty tasty, the location of our table for 6 (right outside the kitchen doors and in the path of patrons, servers, and other staff) was slightly unpleasant. We were unable to have great conversation because of the distracting back and forth of people searching for the bar, the bathroom, etc. There was also a very persistent fly that had fun annoying us right up until the time we left. Our server, Neil, was overall not bad, but reaching over a child to pour a drink is an absolute no-no as anyone in the industry should know. One aspect of our order was incorrect (requested change not submitted) but that could happen to anyone and was not a big deal. The best part about Neil was his reception to my nephew's attempt to engage him in conversation. Neil actually sat at a separate table right next to us for a few minutes to listen to my nephew and answer the questions from the 4 year old. Not many adults will take the time to do that and it was appreciated by our family. Overall, the experience was fine. The building is beautiful and the food was enjoyed. Some selections we ordered were the lamb burger, the haddock, the pizza, and the crab dip. Oh, and I think that dip should have come out ahead of the meal instead of with it. I'm pretty sure it was supposed to be an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our 4th time dining here, food ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our 4th time dining here, food was outstanding. The lamb shoulder was braised and very flavourful, my wife had the strip steak, it was also excellent as I finished her's :). Service was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

We were a group of four for lunch. Three ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were a group of four for lunch. Three of us had a great meal . I did not. I had the grilled country ham with swiss cheese. My sandwich had lovely panni grill marks but was cold. The cheese was not melted and was not the speciality swiss cheese I was hoping for as my mother is from that part of Switzerland.

Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Lovely ambience and good food but terrib ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Lovely ambience and good food but terrible service ruined a special evening. It took over ten minutes before someone came to our table with water. Told they didn't expect so many people even though it was a holiday weekend and restaurant had many empty tables. Entry took fifty minutes to arrive and one had to be sent back as it wasn't cooked properly. Prices are exorbitant and not worth it. Will not return. The rip off pricing and bad service make it an unattractive option.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

Awesome restaurant, amazing service, inc ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Awesome restaurant, amazing service, incredile menu !!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good experience. If possible get a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very good experience. If possible get a table in the sunroom area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff was extremely accommodating an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The staff was extremely accommodating and the food was splendid.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALL The server were not friendly to me o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

ALL The server were not friendly to me only . They all talked to my fiend who is white and I am colored . That was my perception. They probably never served or expect a guest that is not white.

ALL the food served to me was not to my expectation. Considering the amount that I paid. Almost $200.00 for 2 person. The appetizer was salty the main dish almost burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Ambience was nice but food was ordinary ...

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Ambience was nice but food was ordinary at best and some were not what was described in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful beforetheater meal. Great pers ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful beforetheater meal. Great personable service. Nicely done salmon and chicken entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was very attentive and went ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and went beyond what was expected.

The meal was excellent and the bar service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It says food is farm to table No one new ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It says food is farm to table

No one new the farm.

Meat from butcher in Scarborough.

Wow, how people run a restaurant!!!!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Escabeche hits all the high notes for a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Escabeche hits all the high notes for a 5-star experience. You expect a finely-tuned menu, cellar, and staff from a restaurant at Escabeche's level and they did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and experienced and the menu was enticing, the execution of the dishes perfect. Give yourself plenty of time to experience what they have to offer. We did not have the tasting menu, but assembled three courses from the ample selections available and were not disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was poorly prepared and overcoo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was poorly prepared and overcooked. The Fishwich was fried to the point where it was rubber, the haddock had more batter than fish inside and for the price you pay, at least give the person a bigger portion of food and side. The bun was bigger then the burger, disappointed. I expected more from a higher end restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

We had the salmon and pork rib chop they ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had the salmon and pork rib chop they were fantastic meals. Perfectly done, great service from Gerard , wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have eaten at Escabeche ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at Escabeche several times but it has been a few since our last visit. Disappointingly it has gone downmarket. Our starters (mussels, and lettuce leaves) were fine but overpriced. Of our entrees (chicken, and fish) we ate only the proteins, and left everything else on the plate. I would have been embarrassed to put such plates in front of guests! The tomato, mushroom and rapini on mine were overcooked, and mixed together on the plate; it looked like a mess. The frisee mixture on my husband's plate looked tired (brown edges). And for this we paid close to $300, including a discount the waiter arranged because of the poor main courses. We used to look forward to dining at Escabeche when we visited NOTL, but we'll be looking for another dining venue in future. So sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The only thing I was disappointed in was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The only thing I was disappointed in was the pasta, being Italian I'm critical of the sauces I'm offered in restaurants, this was an arrabbiata sauce, yes it was spicy but I found it to be too sweet for my taste.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Other than its location inside the Princ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Other than its location inside the Prince of Wales Hotel, there is really no reason to dine there. I found the menu selections very limited and what we did order was mediocre at best. It has a nice ambience but that's about all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

four friends recently dined here and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

four friends recently dined here and the food & service were great. will return again for this wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.