About Ernie's

Ernie's is an "open to the public" Gastro-Pub located at PGA West, overlooking the famous Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament courses. The hallmark of Gastro Pub fare is that it takes adventurous twists on familiar food, all made from scratch with palette arousing ingredients. Ernie's offers both a casual and refined atmosphere that welcomes the casual beer drinker, the wine enthusiast or the hipster looking for a cocktail. The restaurant consists of booths, low and high top tables positioned to provide people watching, sports on various TV’s or take in golf course views. The large patio provides both outdoor living room furniture and table dining. Two gas fire pits provide and area to relax, unwind and socialize.

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
56150 PGA Blvd
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Grab 'n Go Breakfast Monday to Thursday 6am - 7am

Full Breakfast Service Friday to Sunday 7am - 11am

Lunch 11:00am - 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7125

Website:
http://www.laquintaresort.com/dining/ernies/

Entertainment:
10 Plasma screens featuring every sporting event and all of the sport packages. $5 Bloody Mary Bar every weekend with additional food and drink specials. We play all your favorite games with NFL Sunday Ticket and ESPN Gameplan.

Catering:
Ernie's Bar and Grill is available to host your golf outing, business meeting or social occasion. Wonderful golf course wedding ceremony locations available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Shimazu

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make Ernie's you home base for sporting events through the year. We also organize special holiday theme events, wine dinners, beer dinners and live entertainment throughout the year. Please watch our website, facebook or open table home page for events announcements.

Private Dining

We all must eat. But those who do so simply for the taste are starving themselves of the true experience. Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serve an unforgetabble experience that is made to order.

Ernie's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (16)
Casual (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fireplace (6)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Tuna was not fresh and we had to send 2 meals back to the kitchen. Salad were not served promptly but were nrought with the main course.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've been to Ernies several times so decided to go there for Easter brunch.
When we arrived we were immediately greeted by the hostess who told us we had 9 minutes to order brunch, then it changed to lunch. As we were walking to the table she told us we now had 8 minutes. The waiter arrived and told us we had 5 minutes to order brunch. We said fine, we'd just have the lunch menu. We were seated inside rather than outside on the patio like we had requested and had been confirmed with the hostess but then she explained they had lunch groups that overlapped with our time so could not accommodate us outside.
The service was fair, the waiter was nice but not quick and the food was ok.
Go there to sit outside on the patio for a relaxing meal, otherwise skip it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Schweiz)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We have been going to lunch and dinner at Ernies for the past ten years. This past year we have seen the food quality plummet. The menu has changed this past season which is usually good - but unfortunately we have found the food to be tasteless and mediocre at best. The bar is great and the service is usually very good. During the past season we have ate there approximately 10 times as we live in PGA West and the location is convenient for us. The food quality was consistently poor. For instance - the amount of toppings on the Ernie's Cobb salad had decreased hugely. The champagne dressing on our last salad was too oily and not seasoned. Someone needs to manage the kitchen and not attempt to save food cost at the cost of decreased substance and flavor of your well know excellent dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We've been to Ernie's twice now. Both times we were very happy with overall service. We have only ordered off the luncheon menu. Great items were there local bowls - i.e. the California bowl with red quinoa, vegetables and your choice of meat. Salads were good too. We have run across one item we did not like and that was the pastrami reuben. Pastrami was sliced very thick. Seemed more like corned beef. The Pastrami did not taste like typical pastrami. We will avoid this menu item.
All in all - a fun place to eat - with great golf course views. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service terrible. Ahi tuna was not grilled properly on outside- pan obviously not hot- so a gray chunk of tuna served with randomly cut wedges of tomato & onion. So poorly done

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was very very bad. Burgers were burned and inedible. They couldn't even make a grilled cheese, it was hard as a rock, you could hit it against the table

Setting was nice, service was attentive and drinks were fine, so as long as you avoid eating entirely you'll be fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Myself and some coworkers went to this restaurant for dinner one night before our conference started. We opted for an outdoor table overlooking the golf-course - so the setting was beautiful. The server wasn't on point and seemed to have no sense of time. Several tables were seated and had drinks and appetizers before our first drink arrived. However the food diminished the impact of the not so great service. Myself and one of my coworkers ordered the Pan-Roasted Free Range Chicken Breast prepared with Kale, broccoli, brussel sprouts, carrots, apple and a balsamic reduction. It was amazing. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the preparation was outstanding. I would recommend and definitely would go back.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The view of the closing holes on the Tournament , under the shade , are well worth the golf cart drive. Food is fun for families and a great fun evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I had a great ahi tuna nicoise salad. The 2 ladies in the group ordered the cob salad. When they saw mine, they thought that is what a cobb should actually look like. It had big chunks of egg and other ingredients and a minimal amount of lettuce. Their cobb salads were 99% lettuce. They had to really dig around to find anything else. They were very disappointed.
We've been to Ernie's many times and really hope the cobb salad improves next time.
Service was great but the ladies didn't feel like complaining about the salads because we were pretty hungry and they didn't want to send back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always a beautiful view. Additionally a good cocktail selection.
Menu offers sandwiches to steaks.

A nice evening.
Service slightly slow due to crowd ,nothing horrid.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Beautiful setting and very nice lunch menu. Reasonable prices for a wonderful lunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our table for 5 was near the door , so they constantly had the door open delivering outdoors and we were disturbed by cold breezes from outside , other than that ....the food was very good

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The view on the patio is spectacular. Food was good, although service a bit slow.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food very good as well as the service. Very pretty setting.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We really love this patio and the food is good but unfortunately the service is extremely slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent service and a wonderful place for a casual lunch- especially after golf.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Ernie's used to have wonderful food. With each ownership change, the food gets worse. The atmosphere is wonderful with the golf crowd and sports fans and numerous televisions. But the food is just okay. Sad. They changed the menu at Adobe Grill too (same owners) and it's no longer wonderful. Both have incredible settings... too bad the menus/food don't match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had a spot by the fireplace on a night with a full moon over the lake. The food was great and a lot of it. Half price on certain wines was a pleasant surprise. The waiter, Raul, was extremely attentive. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Just average. Menu is kind of limited. Good for lunch or after golf.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Ernie's is much better than the usual restaurant at a golf course. The menu choices are interesting and well executed, and the views of the course are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was quite good and the atmosphere is festive and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Ernie's has great tasting, quality food. They unfortunately, took off the best Monte Cristo sandwich we've ever had. Bummer. The cobb salad is superb and the chicken sandwich is equally delicious. Prices aren't cheap, but the food is wonderful and if you enjoy golf, the view is gorgeous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great server on Xmas day. Thanks for being open!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nothing more than weak bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The chicken wrap was mostly vegetables and very very dry. It needed much more humus or something. The fish tacos are great although they tear and fall apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Ernie's. Usually go 3-4 times a month. We were a bit disappointed at the menu change on our most recent trip. They took a few of our favorite items off the dinner menu, like the Ahi Burger (one of the best in the desert). Still you can't beat the ambience, and the service is always excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was horrible... they sat us by a door to the patio that the waitstaff kept pushing open as the went outside and it was really cold out so we continually had to get up and close it.

Then they cranked up the music with this head banging music that you couldn't even talk over. When we reported it to the manager she had nothing but excuses.

Hopefully this was just an isolated situation but patrons beware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Amazing place for food and drinks - huge patio and space inside at the bar or for lunch/dinner. Beautiful view and delicious food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love the new menu! Definitely a prime dining spot for us this season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Love PGA West's neighborhood restaurant. Wonderful golf course views and the menu has something for everyone. Staff is friendly and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great girls night out. Service was great for a group of nine on the patio.

Tags: Tapas, Live Sports, Fireplace, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 4, 2016

we came in for lunch with a reservation for 10:30 AM however they do not begin serving until 11 AM. Ordered two of their specialty bloody marys that were ok not worth the extra. Being the only ones in there the service was slow it took ten minutes to make the two drinks.
Its an over glorified golf snack bar with a view. Also took 4 days to acknowledge the reservation confirmation for points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We came in with our son for his birthday. According to him you have the BEST MONTE CRISTO this side of the Blue Bayou at Disneyland. My Flat Iron steak salad was phenomenal. And my husband quite enjoyed his burger. At our sons insistence, we shared an order of chili cheese fries.. They are sinfully dangerously delicious!! Our waiter Raul was top notch and didn't miss a thing., hopefully he will be there next time we come back to taste test your lobster fries. Happy to say Ernie's is now one of our top choices for local dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We love Ernie's. Great scenery and always excellent and interesting food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 5, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal at Ernie's a couple of weeks earlier. This visit was very disappointing. The food was not very good, and the flies were a real annoyance. Ernie's needs to work on their consistency. They could be a much better restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went with friends, had never been there before. It's a nice restaurant and beautiful view . My friends had been there for breakfast and lunch and said the food was ok . We went for dinner and was very disappointed . I had the meatloaf and it was a complete disappoint, have had better meatloaf in a TV dinner... My wife had a large salad and was ok with it and a single glass of wine ... I had the terrible meatloaf and lemon aid and the bill with tip came to 50.00 bucks !!!
Very disappointed and will not be going for dinner there anytime soon .
Marv Tennant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had two great meals at this place while on vacation. We came for dinner and breakfast. Both were great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We came here for dinner and breakfast while on vacation. Both meals were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Yikes ...LOVE the servers....LOVE the view...Food was disgusting. I had the short ribs they
had obviously been cooked the night before...still tasted cold and stiff from the refrigerator
very small portions thankfully...the dollop of mashed potatoes was cold. This place needs
to have a short menu so everything can be good and fresh

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.