About Ernie's

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
56150 PGA Blvd
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Ernie's is an "open to the public" Gastro-Pub located at PGA West, overlooking the famous Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament courses. The hallmark of Gastro Pub fare is that it takes adventurous twists on familiar food, all made from scratch with palette arousing ingredients. Ernie's offers both a casual and refined atmosphere that welcomes the casual beer drinker, the wine enthusiast or the hipster looking for a cocktail. The restaurant consists of booths, low and high top tables positioned to provide people watching, sports on various TV’s or take in golf course views. The large patio provides both outdoor living room furniture and table dining. Two gas fire pits provide and area to relax, unwind and socialize.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Grab 'n Go Breakfast Monday to Thursday 6am - 7am

Full Breakfast Service Friday to Sunday 7am - 11am

Lunch 11:00am - 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7125

Website:
http://www.laquintaresort.com/dining/ernies/

Entertainment:
10 Plasma screens featuring every sporting event and all of the sport packages. $5 Bloody Mary Bar every weekend with additional food and drink specials. We play all your favorite games with NFL Sunday Ticket and ESPN Gameplan.

Catering:
Ernie's Bar and Grill is available to host your golf outing, business meeting or social occasion. Wonderful golf course wedding ceremony locations available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Shimazu

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make Ernie's you home base for sporting events through the year. We also organize special holiday theme events, wine dinners, beer dinners and live entertainment throughout the year. Please watch our website, facebook or open table home page for events announcements.

Private Dining

We all must eat. But those who do so simply for the taste are starving themselves of the true experience. Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serve an unforgetabble experience that is made to order.

Ernie's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Romantic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Special Occasion (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love Ernie's. Great scenery and alway ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We love Ernie's. Great scenery and always excellent and interesting food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great meal at Ern ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal at Ernie's a couple of weeks earlier. This visit was very disappointing. The food was not very good, and the flies were a real annoyance. Ernie's needs to work on their consistency. They could be a much better restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Went with friends, had never been there ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went with friends, had never been there before. It's a nice restaurant and beautiful view . My friends had been there for breakfast and lunch and said the food was ok . We went for dinner and was very disappointed . I had the meatloaf and it was a complete disappoint, have had better meatloaf in a TV dinner... My wife had a large salad and was ok with it and a single glass of wine ... I had the terrible meatloaf and lemon aid and the bill with tip came to 50.00 bucks !!!

Very disappointed and will not be going for dinner there anytime soon .

Marv Tennant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We had two great meals at this place whi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had two great meals at this place while on vacation. We came for dinner and breakfast. Both were great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for dinner and breakfast wh ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We came here for dinner and breakfast while on vacation. Both meals were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Yikes ...LOVE the servers....LOVE the vi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Yikes ...LOVE the servers....LOVE the view...Food was disgusting. I had the short ribs they

had obviously been cooked the night before...still tasted cold and stiff from the refrigerator

very small portions thankfully...the dollop of mashed potatoes was cold. This place needs

to have a short menu so everything can be good and fresh

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

A few friends got together and it was gr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A few friends got together and it was great. The view is incredible, the food was very good, the service excellent. Will definitely be going back there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Asked for medium to pink sliders. they c ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Asked for medium to pink sliders. they came well done. No, did not send back because I was hungry and did not want to wait. Staff gathered and chatted within hearing range - not professional.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A nice surprise...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Was in La Quinta for a week to play golf and attend the ANA Inspiration LPGA Championship.

Was guided to Ernie's by the owner & friend of the place we stayed at.

Ended up dining there 3 times while we were there.

Good flatbreads, hamburgers & fish tacos.

Ambience casual and comfortable.

Nice view of the golf course & mountains + a plethora of TV's for sports fans.

See you next year!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Had a reservation for a party of 8 (family in the Coachella Valley for a casual holiday weekend) and we picked Ernie's based on the reviews and the menu posted on Open Table. Indeed, the veggie burger was a particular draw given that half of our group is vegetarian. Service was slow (they appeared to have understaffed the restaurant for the Sunday night crowd they had) but competent though the veggie burger was no longer on the menu (other vegetarian options were quite limited), so we made do with what we could cobble together. The food we did order was average at best, again disappointingly so based on the other reviews we had read. Maybe it was an off night for the kitchen? But even then, the restaurant should be updating its website and OpenTable profile with current menus. The location is out of the way, so I can't imaging going back, especially now that the variety, quality and quantity of real dining options in the Desert is on the rise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Service & food

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Our waiter asked us how our food was. I picked up my soggy fish taco & the shell broke into pieces. When I told him, he just walked away. Unbelieveably bad service. He was the worse waiter I have had in a long time. We sat outside & he just didn't care.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Was OK

vip
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was ok for what we had. We went kind of late for dinner after a day of traveling; everyone was tired so we wanted something close to the condo we were renting in PGA West. We just had sandwiches and they were fine. I'd go back again for something simple and casual. On a nice night, it would be fun to sit on the outdoor patio overlooking the golf course.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was so well priced for such a c ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was so well priced for such a classy restaurant! And the view was to die for! Service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and not so

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Pepperoni flatbread and Caesar salad were delicious. but friend ordered fish tacos, and fish pieces were tough and cold. Sent that back to the kitchen, and it came back the same - tough and cold. She couldn't eat it. At least waiter took it off the check, but this should not have happened. They need to figure out how to cook/unthaw fish for this relatively simple entree. Sitting outside on the terrace is a lovely experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Disappointing. Has gone downhill.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We have eaten at ernies in past but this year it seems all has gone downhill. The food definitely is not as good as it used to be. The chicken on all of our dishes was overcooked (tasted like it was grilled earlier and reheated for orders), the kids meal missing the veggies listed on the menu (the server said they hadn't updated menu), and the pasta was overdone and unimpressive. It's disappointing to because the view is great from patio and we used to go for happy hour quite often. Found out they also discontinued happy hour! Would l not recommend except for maybe a drink and look at golf course view from patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Service is great, staff is friendly, food is fantastic. For the dollar, this is a great place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best hamburgers I've ever had.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Ernie's was a little hard for us to find, since it's at PGA West, but I'm so glad we did! I was very pleasantly surprised that Ernie's had one of the best hamburgers I've ever had! The french fries are amazing too! We went for dinner, so it was dark out, but you could tell that during the day the view is stunning. It's not a large restaurant, so it may not be the best choice for a large group. We were a group of six and had to wait for 20-30 minutes to be seated, even with a reservation. It seems more like a large bar than an actual restaurant, and better suited for groups of 4 or less. It's definitely a fun place for a few friends to hang out. However, I would go somewhere else for a family dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Ernie's Prime Rib Saturday 11/7/15

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The best Prime Rib Buffet in the Valley, deserts are way over the top.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant surprise for a golf course restaurant.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Gorgeous views, great food and service. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our "go to" restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

We live in PGA West - Ernies is very convenient for us. Fortuneately, the food and service are usually superior and this evening was not an exception - our group had salads, cheese burgers and steak - everything done to satisfaction. We sat outside by the firepit and enjoyed our evening immensely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Place

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 14, 2015

Ernie's is a special place. The views of the golf course are spectacular. We have taken friends there several times and they have all enjoyed the experience. The food and service have always been very good. The prices are reasonable considering the views and quality of food. I recommend the fish and chips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great place to dine

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

Ernie's has been changed their menu this year with a new chef. The menu is casual, but its good and satisfying. The Martinis are great. The atmosphere is is wonderful with the mountains as a back drop. You must dine outside to get the full effect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Our service was excellent. The view of the golf course was breathtaking. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect patio dining

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

The outdoor ambiance on the patio was terrific. We got annoyed at another table for wanting the firepit lighted because they were cold. Really??? It was 84 degrees at 7 pm. We suggested that Ernies turn off the misting system and get her a sweater!

Everyone at our table had something different to eat, and we were all very happy. And nice that we could avoid the crowds by not having to dine near a Hwy 111 and the tennis gardens at this time if year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dine at Ernies while in the desert

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

We dined at Ernies following our round of golf and with reservations we were immediately seated. I had salmon and it was very good and healthy. The boys had a hamburger loaded with blue cheese and they loved it. Fries were good. We enjoyed a cocktail and looked over a fairway and green so the setting was lovely although it turned dark. They have fire pits near tables and heaters if needed. Our second time there we will return,

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

mills

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 12, 2015

Average evening of food and overall service. Unfortunately it was a cloudy day in the desert and views were muted.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

It took 20 min to get a glass of wine asking twice

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

Seating booths are worn out, not comfortable, and the tables are too far away, causing you to set on the edge of the booth seat. Some of the servers are dressed sloppy. The biggest issue is the gratuity is added in the bill at 18%. I would not have paid 18% or $16.27 for sub-standard service. Ernie's has just lost my business

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

mills

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

A great outdoor evening by the fire pit set up a nice outdoor meal. I particularly enjoyed the meatloaf with the heavy mushroom sauce. Overall a nice meal on a nice evening in the desert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Train Staff to be Accommodating

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

I made reservations for a Saturday brunch, requesting to be outside on the patio. My request was granted and the view was beautiful. We took in the views and enjoyed the weather while being shielded by a patio umbrella. The hostess was attentive and quick. She tried to find crayons and coloring sheets for the kids but didn't find any After seating us, she returned with a few sheets of paper for the kids to doodle. Even though, I brought activities and crayons for the kids, her gesture was greatly appreciated It was very thoughtful of her.

My husband and I didn't indulge in any cocktails but we did order coffee and a cappuccino. Both were great My only grudge was when I asked the waiter, Jose, for some cinnamon for my cap. He said he would check to see if there was any, then said "We're not a Starbucks, you know." I was offended by that comment as I simply asked for a common spice to any kitchen/restaurant. Our waiter never came back until after we got our food, he did not even bother to ask if I still needed cinnamon. He didn't bother to bring the water my husband asked for. The kitchen staff (a female, we did not get her name) kindly brought the cinnamon and brown sugar we asked for. The waiter finally brought out waters for myself and my husband after we requested three times. At that point, his ignorance clearly showed us that he didn't care for our business. He asked how are food was, which was maybe the only attentive gesture he showed.

We loved our food, portions & flavor were great and the kids enjoyed themselves for being at the golf course. Our 3 yo son spilled his milk on him and with the weather resistant chairs, the milk spilled right off onto the ground. I apologetically brought the issue to the staff's attention who did not immediately clean it up. I attempted to clean it myself using the napkins at our table. It was not pleasant or professional for the staff to leave the spill to clean at their convenience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Go for the view!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

We live at PGA West and although Ernie's is not known for it's food, the view is incredible. We always bring out out of town guests as one only get's "one chance to make a good first impression". We usually don't dine there too often as the food is usually a disappointment. However, I feel the need to compliment the chef on the new menu and the food. We ordered simple, I had the Cobb Salad and it was excellent. My partner had the fish and chips which he NEVER orders. The fish came out done to perfection with a light battered crust that melted in your mouth, the fish was moist and flaky and had substance. We wanted MORE! The chips. well let's just leave it at that. They were not the best chips we've ever had, but certainly not the worst. I can't wait to go back and try the other goodies on the menu if this is any indication of the change in the kitchen. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Impeccable Friendly Experience

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

The calamari appetizer is a must have. Had the Iceberg wedge and fish tacos. The service as usual friendly and superb. Despite the outcome of SB XLIX not being that which I wanted a visit to Ernie's to cheer on my team of choice could be a new tradition.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super Bowl Party

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

This was the second time we were at Ernie's for a Super Bowl. I have to say that the previous time was a little better. In 2012 we were there and they actually had a Vegas night where they had all sorts of games set up (with play money of course) and gave away prizes, etc... They also had several large screen TV's set up on the outside patio where you could go out and enjoy the game oustide. This year there was a private room where if you paid 35 dollars you could go in and see the game on what I guessed were larger screened TV's than in the restaurant, but it didn't appear that much more than that was going on in there. In the main restaurant they worked on making it a really energetic atmosphere and we had a great time, but was a little disappointing after the previous time there. However the food and drinks were excellent. We ordered a few things at a time over the course of the game and each were excellent. My sister and I had the chicken and brie sliders which were yummy. Our husbands had the chili and enjoyed that as well.

The wait staff was very attentive without going overboard, they knew that most folks were there for the duration of the game so didn't rush us but came over at appropriate times to ask about refills or more food. All in all a good day!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is terrible

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

Food is overcooked, no ingredients on the terrible pizza's, sliders are like hockey pucks, help is slow coming to table, needs a new food & beverage director pronto! Forgot my wine order. Brought it when they brought the check. Dah!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Terrific View

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

The outdoor patio provided a great atmosphere, view, and ambience. We enjoyed watching the golfers approach two different greens while we waited for our lunch. Both the Pesto Chicken Flatbread & the BLT salad was delicious. Service started out great but quickly became delayed for both cocktails and food service. Regardless of this service concern, I will give Ernies another visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Too much salt

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Three of the four of us complained that too much salt was used in our food. We all had different things. In a day where we are trying to cut down on sodium intake, this is not good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Price of food

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

We think the food prices are too high so we will not be going there very often. The food is very good but so pricy. A cup of coffee for $3.50 is outrageous!! We would go more often but do feel they out of line for price for such a small restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Birthday

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

We had the private room for my birthday and it was fabulous. The food and service were exceptional and the overall experience great. The only bummer was that the restaurant closed at 8:30 on a Saturday night. We were not aware and felt a bit rushed although we stayed until 9.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Horrible, horrible, horrible

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

The service was the worst service I have ever had. If the food was excellent that may have made up for some of the service issues, but it was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Golf gem

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Went to Ernie's for lunch a had a wonderful experience. Great patio overlooking one of the golfcourses. Excellent food at a good price. Excellent service too. Golfer or not, a great place to dine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would come back and try again

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Good food, I would be more effusive if I didn't have to send my burger back for being charred to a crisp and sent out with the wrong cheese. Staff was very apologetic, but the replacement was just good, not a great burger. My friends salad looked delish, but the menu is rather limited.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.