About Ernie's Food & Spirits

1351 North Main Street
Manteca, CA 95336
View Larger Map

Ernie’s Food & Spirits….a luxury boutique restaurant is strategically located between Modesto, Stockton and Tracy. EFS brings a new twist on “California Modern” Cuisine to the central valley. Our menu is a composition of small plates to share, which are ideal in the lounge, as well as traditional entrée selections unique modern elements.

"Bringing Manhattan to Manteca"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: 11:00AM-4:00PM

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4:00PM-9:00PM

Dinner: Friday-Saturday 4:00PM-10:00PM

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
Louise Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 239-3351

Website:
http://www.erniesfoodandspirits.com/

Catering:
Our onsite venue, Ernie’s Rendezvous Room, is a private space that can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated dinner. From standing cocktail receptions with a caviar bar to seated dinners with an artistic flare, Chef Midgley can design your menu around your event. In addition, EFS Catering is prepared to work with you at the venue of your choice to plan and design private events for up to 300 guests.

Executive Chef:
Michael Midgley

Private Party Contact:
Marie Houston: 2092398790x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Ernie's Food & Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
3 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Stockton
Best Restaurants in Manteca ›

Special Occasion (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They were out of the fish special as wel ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

They were out of the fish special as well as the lobster (which I was looking forward to)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Very surprised with the preparation and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very surprised with the preparation and presentation, everything was excellent. I had the shrimp caprese pasta and my husband had the ribeye, we both enjoyed our dinner very much. We will be back to try other things on Ernie's menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter provided excellent service

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our waiter provided excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed. Very small portions f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very disappointed. Very small portions for the price.

My husband had the leek/potato soup which was excellent. The other 3 had the wedge which was very good small. Only 1 Roma tomatoes cut in half and little bacon but nice piece of avocado. When cut up it was an ok size but definitely not one to share at a $4 charge. My husband and I shared the rib eye because we are dieting and the steak lacked flavor. The veggies on the plate were tasty - a very small serving. The other couple split the filet which was 2 pieces a piece. They said it was tasty but even if they didn't share was a very small steak for $44. The splitting for entrees was $7

The staff was very nice and accommodating.

Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

My fish was undercooked and the service ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My fish was undercooked and the service (water refill, bread, etc.) was slow. Other than that it's a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

My out of town cousin and I met our Uncl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My out of town cousin and I met our Uncle at Ernie's restaurant. Manteca is halfway point between Merced and Fremont. I wanted to book a nice restaurant that would allows us to spend quality time together, be able to visit, take our time to catch up with each other and enjoy a nice meal. Ernie's was absolutely perfect, food was delicious, service was outstanding and we had a great time. I highly recommend Ernie's restaurant and look forward to going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never been to Ernie's I was pleas ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have never been to Ernie's I was pleasantly surprised. Beautiful dining room. White tablecloths and lovely decor. The food was terrific , service was a little lacking. Our server told us how we could copy the chard caesar salad by buying the caesar dressing at Costco. Dessert was disappointing especially since my meal was fantastic. I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

This was our 4th visit to the restaurant ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our 4th visit to the restaurant from Stockton. Little bit of a drive but well worth it. Great wine list and full bar. Every meal we have had was delicious! My wife loves the grilled Caesar salad. I had the Filet and she had the Rib eye both med rare and done to perfection. This is definitely a gem of a place in Manteca. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience, excellent service, and v ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great ambience, excellent service, and very clean. The food quality was not as high as I expected, but we'll give them another chance. The nicest restaurant in Manteca by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was the right level of attent ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waiter was the right level of attentive, the wine list was amazing (it was 1/2 of our bill because it's the only establishment in the area that carries Caymus), and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took a chance as the name and location d ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Took a chance as the name and location did not match the beautiful restaurant and amazing food/wine list. Perfectly prepared dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My rack of lamb was virtually raw when o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

My rack of lamb was virtually raw when ordered medium. The old fashioned was made completely incorrectly according to proper bar recipe. Place is outrageously expensive, I mean crazy. Ambience excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is awesome. Upscale, fine dining ex ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food is awesome. Upscale, fine dining experience. But, Location is sketchy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Ernies on Saturday ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I went to Ernies on Saturday July 16th. We expected to have a wonderful dinner and have a chance to relax with our children being gone for the night. We enjoyed a cocktail at the bar and then were promptly seated. Our waitress came by and asked if we needed a cocktail or appetizer. We requested two cocktails and some bread and placed our dinner order since we new what we wanted. 10 minutes later the waitress brought my cocktail but not my wives stating that the bartender was very slow. She also forgot the bread. My wife reminded her about the bread and she said she would right back with it. Another 10 minutes and the bus person brought my wife's salad but no cocktail. Finally after 15 minutes her cocktail arrived but the waitress seemed confused and asked what we had ordered. She stated that their was a computer malfunction. We repeated our dinner order and once again asked for bread.

About ten minutes later our entrees arrived without the sides we had ordered. We again asked if there was any bread to be had and she assured us she would get it immediately. You guessed it no bread was delivered. After our meal the waitress asked if we wanted desert. My wife ordered a desert and coffee and at the same time I handed the waitress my credit card and requested she bring the bill. 10 minutes the waitress returned with a small dish with two after dinner candies and my bill but no desert or credit card while saying" no desert tonight?"

We were flabbergasted. I stated no just the bill and my credit card. She

Then dropped a serving plate on my shoulder and laughed it off. A few minutes later she obviously had an accident with plates and food crashing to the floor and that's when I realized our waitress was drunk.

I told my wife " what do you bet the waitress is getting fired right now and she's leaving with my credit card"

Well thats exactly what happened.

The manager comped our meal and told me she would call the next day about my card but never did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

Expensive, but great. We try and get th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Expensive, but great. We try and get there at least twice a year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ernies, under Chef John Fisher has regai ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Ernies, under Chef John Fisher has regained its "all five star" ratings, with excellent food and service, as well as an extensive wine list. The setting has always been elegant. As others have noted, sharing a parking lot with the card room isn't the best first impression, but once in the restaurant everything is working very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The location is right off the highway near a casino but once you are inside it is very nice, quiet and besides good food I was impressed by the massive spirit list. If you ever want to try any type of rarely found whisky. Ernies probably has it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ernie looks like a dive from the out sid ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Ernie looks like a dive from the out side. The inside however is spectacular. The ambiance is wonderful. The food, all locally grown and raised was superb. I don't know how the chef finds time to talk to all the patrons at their tables and still prepare such an eligant meal, but he does. They also have an extensive list of spirits and wines. All around a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and amazing food. Our ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food. Our server, the hostess, and the chef made us feel truly special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining in the last place you would expect it

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I definitely didn't expect much the first time my wife said we were going to dinner in Manteca. And when you first pull into the parking lot you're even more hesitant. It's completely out of place in an old shopping center I guess you would call it, that's now a casino of some kind? But hidden away in the corner is Ernies. Once you step inside that door, you forget where you are. It's very well appointed with a great bar, outstanding steaks and service that truly makes you feel welcome. We've been back at least a dozen times since we found Ernies. They have a delicious Kobi filet that you have to try at least once. They even accommodated our party of 24---with prior reservations of course. I would highly recommend Ernies. I haven't had a bad meal there yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I travel 60 miles each way to eat at Ernie's

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Fantastic food, Great wine selection. service is incredible. I would recommend Ernie's to everyone that loves to relax and enjoy a perfect meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Date nite with my wife, couldn't have been better. The octopus appetizer was spot on. I had the rib eye and she had the fish special, (some Hawaiian variety). Rib Eye was perfectly cooked and the topping was outstanding. The fish was excellent as well. Peach bread pudding for dessert, was devoured, no leftovers. Great job

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Manteca's best kept secret!

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Why haven't I heard of this place before! What a gem! I will definitely be singing Ernie's praises from the rooftops to all of my friends. The top-notch service and quality food make for an excellent fine-dining experience! Looking forward to coming back. The trip up from Modesto is worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Ernie's is by far the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Ernie's is by far the best restaurant in the Valley. The

Food, Service and Friendliness of the Staff were Stellar. We have found a Gem and look forward to another visit soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently GOOD!

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2016

AMY is an amazing hostess she always remembers me and my family. Marie is an effective manager. John Fisher is an inovative Executive Chef that comes out of the kitchen to check in his guests in the small quant romantics establishment. John is always procuring the finest ingredients and meats from around The World that make foodie like me and my family happy to return monthly. I also really appreciate that they use OpenTable for efficient reservation, as I never have had to wait for my table once I have checked in with the wonderful AMY!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Pretty impressed

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 20, 2016

This place is definitely a hidden gem. Even from the parking lot you have no idea what you're about to walk into, and it's amazing. The interior design is just beautiful, you definitely forget you're in Manteca. Food recs: The truffle martini, the french onion soup, and the lamb. For dessert we tried the cheesecake... it definitely tasted fresh and homemade, but was lacking in flavor. Overall, I would definitely go back for a celebration/nice occasion. It's pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Small, hidden, gem

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Unassuming from the outside, beautiful inside. Great food, nice choices, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They keep interrupting our conversations ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2016

They keep interrupting our conversations to clear table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

ERNIES FOR FOOD

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2016

We had a great experience. The food was great, the service seamless and professional, and the ambiance was quiet and made for easy conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Manteca

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2016

Once again we had a great meal and service. Was there for my wife's birthday and everything was excellent. Can't wait until we go back again. The veal ravioli made a great entree. Heidi is a great server and mixologist.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a relaxing business lunch!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2016

A friend and I met to discuss business over lunch and needed a place close to our next scheduled appointment. I had heard about Ernie's and found it had very positive reviews on multiple sites, so made reservations through Open Table. We were delighted about the entire experience and both my friend and I plan to return with our husbands for a nice evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Good food,Great service from Lisa.We will return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2015

Never been disappointed in the times we've eatten at Ernie's. Will continue to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my friends Birthday and Boyfrie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2015

Went for my friends Birthday and Boyfriends . We really enjoyed ourselves . Great place over all for everything .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Keep Returning

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2015

This was the 6th time we've eaten at Ernies and have never been disappointed and neither have our dinner guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Been to Ernie's several times and always enjoyable

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Thanks very much for helping to make this a special 50th birthday celebration for our son. Food and service were very good given it was a busy evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A gem in Mateca

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Don't judge Ernie's from the outside! We thought we had the wrong address when we arrived, but once we stepped inside the dining room we expected we were in for an excellent dining experience, and we weren't disappointed. We both started with excellent butternut soup - thick. creamy, and not overly spiced. I had perfectly cooked chicken (sous vide with crisped skin) beautifully plated. Desserts were too tempting to share. Service was outstanding. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been to Ernie's several times an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 11, 2015

We have been to Ernie's several times and unfortunately this was not a good experience. The waitress forgot a few things including my husband's salad, what he ordered and we asked for bread twice and water and they forgot. My lobster was not good, it tasted old, I didn't eat it. The calamari used to be a favorite for us at Ernie's but we didn't like it this time either. 😁 The manager insisted on removing the lobster from our bill which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Wonderful restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2015

We recently moved to the area and thought we would need to go to the Bay Area for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My husband got this recommendation from someone at my daughters school. From the outside it is very unassuming, the inside was really nice when we opened the door. Modern decor, the ambience was really nice. We were greeted very nicely when we arrived, the attention from the staff was great, the chef even came around to check on everything. The food was so spectacular, words can't describe not only how yummy it was, but also how visually appealing it was. I look forward to going here again in the future. It really is worth the money to go here, you won't regret it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is good, servers are nice but we fe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Food is good, servers are nice but we feel we were rushed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.