Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Ernie's Food & Spirits

Ernie’s Food & Spirits….
Our doors open to a sleek, contemporary environment inspired by the supper clubs of San Franciscio, Manhatten and Chicago. Our seasonal menu will tantalize the palate with our creative, inspired versions of traditional menu items featuring the absolute best Choice and Prime cuts of beef, the highest quality organic chicken, grass fed lamb and kurobuta pork, as well as the freshest sustainable seafood available. Ernie's staff adheres to the highest service standards and offers a truly spectacular wine list as well as a notably impressive awe-inspiring collection of fine spirits. Ernie's offers a truly unique dining experience.

1351 North Main Street
Manteca, CA 95336
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00AM-4:00PM

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4:00PM-9:00PM

Dinner: Friday-Saturday 4:00PM-10:00PM

Closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
Northgate Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 239-3351

Website:
http://www.erniesfoodandspirits.com/

Catering:
Our onsite venue, Ernie’s Rendezvous Room, is a private space that can accommodate up to 60 guests for a seated dinner. From standing cocktail receptions to seated dinners with an artistic flare, Chef John Fisher can design your menu around your event.

Parking Details:
Private Parking Lot includes Security camera's and Security Guards on Duty

Executive Chef:
John Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private venues, The "E" Room that seats up to 24 guests and has access to our patio. Our Rendezvous Room can accomodate up to 60 guests. Please inquire for seating capacity if AV equipment is needed.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Houston General Manager: (209) 239-3351

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ernie's Food & Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

This particular visit was for our 36th anniversary. I had dropped off a bouquet of flowers and a card for my wife, asking to have them placed on our table. Several hours later we arrived and were greeted with a "Happy Anniversary", led to our table that had the bouquet displayed on the table along with my card. Everyone from receptionist, bus boy, and server all commented "Happy Anniversary". When we opened our menus, both had headings saying "Happy 36th Anniversary". Ever had that done before? The drinks were great, the fresh baked French bread and butter were also great. However, both of our entrees were beyond belief. So much flavor, such beautiful presentation, and nothing was left behind. We even had dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always great to dine at Ernies. Had not been there in at least a year and decided to celebrate our anniversary this past weekend. Love the bar and selection of small batch bourbons as well as a tremendous wine list. I think a larger selection of individual glasses of wine would add a greater dimension to the dining experience. Had a great meal, pricey, but outstanding!! Service was great in all areas!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent meal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a very nice dinner. There was an issue but our waiter Alfonso was awesome and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy...and we were!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a very nice lunch. Limited options on variety of menu items. Fairly expensive for the size of entree. We tried the Skirt steak salad. Nothing outstanding. Atmosphere is very nice

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Quality of food was at least acceptable, but you can better for the price. Great wine selection. Great service!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Filet - delicious
Bernaise sauce $5.00 extra - really?
I would ask that you re-consider this sauce as an extra $5.00 charge.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I went to Ernies and was pleasantly surprised. Very nice decor. Very freindly staff. The food was great. Only gave it 4 stars because my husband ordered the Rib Eye and he was served a New York in its place. It was still tasty but it wasn't a rib eye. Don't know if they ran out and thought we wouldn't know. Overall great place and would definitely go back. It reminds me of the High Stakes restaurant at Thunder Valley.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Ordered the calamari appetizer very tough, we sent it back, didn't like the idea the server charged us for the dish anyway. Other than that the meals have always been excellent, endive salad a little different it was cut up, where I've always had the leaves as my salad but still very good, The special Sea bass very good with vegetables and risotto, the sea scallops were very yummy!! Never disappointed at Ernie's!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food is always good....servers need to stop rushing you by taking plates away that are still quite full with food. Parking can be a challenge on a popular night as they compete with a big casino.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Outstanding service from server - tasty ribeye - fantastic wine. Quiet which was nice for business conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This is a great restaurant with excellent food and service. More on the formal side and $$$.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a great time. Food tasted delicious. My only concerns were. Our table was not ready on time and our party waited holding 2 champagne bottles that were not taken upon arriving but had to be request twice. The menus with designated header for Birthday celebration were only printed on 2 menus & not all 6. Our bill was incorrect & noticed after we paid & reviewed itemized receipt at home. Charges for 4 desserts were added & brought a cake with 6 cake fees charged. Overall our experience was good. We will return most likely as a couple & not a party not because of service or atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Don't let the outside of the building detour you....very unassuming and doesn't look like much, once inside all your doubts will be erased. My husband and I were staying in Lathrop on a business trip and decided we needed to treat ourselves for our last night there. When I googled restaurants in the area Ernies showed up (with mixed reviews).
We were seated about 5 mins earlier than our reservation. And apparently we were there on their busiest weekend (Holiday gatherings and such), so it was very loud. We received our water quickly but the server took his time (wish I could remember his name, might have been Jeffery or something like that). He wasn't the friendliest but it was busy in there so I gave him a pass. Overall his demeanor didn't change, got the feeling we weren't really on his priority list.
The appetizer was outstanding (sauteed mushrooms w/bacon and grilled bread), my drink was ok but they got my husbands right so that worked for me (his will throw even the most seasoned of bartenders). I ordered filet mignon and my husband ordered halibut. The halibut was good, flavorful and very tender. My steak (I asked for medium) was over cooked and dry, the garlic mashed potatoes were abundant and ok. I would expect any experienced chef to know that you ALWAYS under cook a steak, much easier to throw it back on the grill if really necessary. I didn't complain due to the time it took to get our server to our table in the first place, I wasn't excited at the prospect of having to wait that much longer to get a new one cooked.
As we were eating our appetizer the Executive Chef made his rounds which was a nice touch. As the night went on we were also greeted by what we assumed was the manager. She was very friendly and made us feel appreciated.
Now granted this was our first visit and I will say that if we are ever in Manteca again we will probably give Ernie's another try, would like to hope that maybe it was just an off night for them.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I love this restaurant. If I need to entertain during lunch I will drive from Stockton to enjoy a very nice lunch. The restaurant is a 5 star restaurant. The staff is always very nice,

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant in central California. We go there for fine dinning. The food is varied and delicious. The presentation is beautiful and the service is unsurpassed. Perfect experience to impress a date, a loved one, or for a business meeting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 13, 2016

When you go inside the restaurant, all the doubts you've had going there will disappear. Enie's is a quaint, but lovely restaurant. It had a nice looking bar and a few chairs and tables. We went out for dinner on a Monday night. It wasn't packed at first, but there were people there and more came as night passed.

Our waiter Gregory did a wonderful job of getting us acquainted with the menu. He did a superb job attending to us and our needs.

The food was super delicious! My husband ordered the ribeye and I had the half-rack of lamb. Personally, I didn't care for polenta, but that's just my taste. The meats were so scrumptious, though.

Yes, this restaurant can be a little bit pricey. We had champagne to go with our dinner. However, this is a very nice restaurant and it was totally worth it. Everything was great and I would go there another time we have something to celebrate.

If you want a special and romantic dinner, this is a place to be in Manteca.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Wonderful food, fine dining, great service. Highly recommend Ernie's to family and friends. Great place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

They were out of the fish special as well as the lobster (which I was looking forward to)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Ernie's was recommended to me and my husband a long time ago by a chef who owns 2 Italian restaurants in Modesto. The restaurant has beautiful decor and a romantic ambiance. The server was impeccable. The food was good not great. My husband had the pork chop and I had salmon and with the high prices they charge I expected better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very surprised with the preparation and presentation, everything was excellent. I had the shrimp caprese pasta and my husband had the ribeye, we both enjoyed our dinner very much. We will be back to try other things on Ernie's menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our waiter provided excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very disappointed. Very small portions for the price.
My husband had the leek/potato soup which was excellent. The other 3 had the wedge which was very good small. Only 1 Roma tomatoes cut in half and little bacon but nice piece of avocado. When cut up it was an ok size but definitely not one to share at a $4 charge. My husband and I shared the rib eye because we are dieting and the steak lacked flavor. The veggies on the plate were tasty - a very small serving. The other couple split the filet which was 2 pieces a piece. They said it was tasty but even if they didn't share was a very small steak for $44. The splitting for entrees was $7
The staff was very nice and accommodating.
Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My fish was undercooked and the service (water refill, bread, etc.) was slow. Other than that it's a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My out of town cousin and I met our Uncle at Ernie's restaurant. Manteca is halfway point between Merced and Fremont. I wanted to book a nice restaurant that would allows us to spend quality time together, be able to visit, take our time to catch up with each other and enjoy a nice meal. Ernie's was absolutely perfect, food was delicious, service was outstanding and we had a great time. I highly recommend Ernie's restaurant and look forward to going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have never been to Ernie's I was pleasantly surprised. Beautiful dining room. White tablecloths and lovely decor. The food was terrific , service was a little lacking. Our server told us how we could copy the chard caesar salad by buying the caesar dressing at Costco. Dessert was disappointing especially since my meal was fantastic. I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our 4th visit to the restaurant from Stockton. Little bit of a drive but well worth it. Great wine list and full bar. Every meal we have had was delicious! My wife loves the grilled Caesar salad. I had the Filet and she had the Rib eye both med rare and done to perfection. This is definitely a gem of a place in Manteca. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great ambience, excellent service, and very clean. The food quality was not as high as I expected, but we'll give them another chance. The nicest restaurant in Manteca by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waiter was the right level of attentive, the wine list was amazing (it was 1/2 of our bill because it's the only establishment in the area that carries Caymus), and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Took a chance as the name and location did not match the beautiful restaurant and amazing food/wine list. Perfectly prepared dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

My rack of lamb was virtually raw when ordered medium. The old fashioned was made completely incorrectly according to proper bar recipe. Place is outrageously expensive, I mean crazy. Ambience excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food is awesome. Upscale, fine dining experience. But, Location is sketchy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I went to Ernies on Saturday July 16th. We expected to have a wonderful dinner and have a chance to relax with our children being gone for the night. We enjoyed a cocktail at the bar and then were promptly seated. Our waitress came by and asked if we needed a cocktail or appetizer. We requested two cocktails and some bread and placed our dinner order since we new what we wanted. 10 minutes later the waitress brought my cocktail but not my wives stating that the bartender was very slow. She also forgot the bread. My wife reminded her about the bread and she said she would right back with it. Another 10 minutes and the bus person brought my wife's salad but no cocktail. Finally after 15 minutes her cocktail arrived but the waitress seemed confused and asked what we had ordered. She stated that their was a computer malfunction. We repeated our dinner order and once again asked for bread.
About ten minutes later our entrees arrived without the sides we had ordered. We again asked if there was any bread to be had and she assured us she would get it immediately. You guessed it no bread was delivered. After our meal the waitress asked if we wanted desert. My wife ordered a desert and coffee and at the same time I handed the waitress my credit card and requested she bring the bill. 10 minutes the waitress returned with a small dish with two after dinner candies and my bill but no desert or credit card while saying" no desert tonight?"
We were flabbergasted. I stated no just the bill and my credit card. She
Then dropped a serving plate on my shoulder and laughed it off. A few minutes later she obviously had an accident with plates and food crashing to the floor and that's when I realized our waitress was drunk.
I told my wife " what do you bet the waitress is getting fired right now and she's leaving with my credit card"
Well thats exactly what happened.
The manager comped our meal and told me she would call the next day about my card but never did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Expensive, but great. We try and get there at least twice a year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Ernies, under Chef John Fisher has regained its "all five star" ratings, with excellent food and service, as well as an extensive wine list. The setting has always been elegant. As others have noted, sharing a parking lot with the card room isn't the best first impression, but once in the restaurant everything is working very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The location is right off the highway near a casino but once you are inside it is very nice, quiet and besides good food I was impressed by the massive spirit list. If you ever want to try any type of rarely found whisky. Ernies probably has it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Ernie looks like a dive from the out side. The inside however is spectacular. The ambiance is wonderful. The food, all locally grown and raised was superb. I don't know how the chef finds time to talk to all the patrons at their tables and still prepare such an eligant meal, but he does. They also have an extensive list of spirits and wines. All around a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food. Our server, the hostess, and the chef made us feel truly special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I definitely didn't expect much the first time my wife said we were going to dinner in Manteca. And when you first pull into the parking lot you're even more hesitant. It's completely out of place in an old shopping center I guess you would call it, that's now a casino of some kind? But hidden away in the corner is Ernies. Once you step inside that door, you forget where you are. It's very well appointed with a great bar, outstanding steaks and service that truly makes you feel welcome. We've been back at least a dozen times since we found Ernies. They have a delicious Kobi filet that you have to try at least once. They even accommodated our party of 24---with prior reservations of course. I would highly recommend Ernies. I haven't had a bad meal there yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Fantastic food, Great wine selection. service is incredible. I would recommend Ernie's to everyone that loves to relax and enjoy a perfect meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.