Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Ernesto's Mexican Food

4.2
183 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

Ernesto�s Mexican Food can be found in Sacramento, California and has been in business since 1991. The restaurant offers the freshest and healthiest ingredients to bring out the best flavors in the dishes served. The menu offers several vegetarian options, and there is a full bar with many tequilas and margaritas to try. Ernesto�s Mexican Food also has a kids� menu with favorites such as bean burrito and cheese quesadilla.

The menu is extensive and offers a taste of many Mexican classics. You can try the shrimp taco salad for a twist on a loved dish, or the specialty menu item like the chile verde with slow roasted pork. For dessert, Ernesto�s Mexican Food offers up churros, Mexican hot chocolate and more.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Regional Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: M-F 11:00am-5:00pm
Lunch: Sa-Su 2:00pm-5:00pm
Dinner: M-Th 5:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am
Dinner: Su 5:00pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(916) 441-5850
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jose Carrillo
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
16th and S Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking available on the side of 16th St. and 17 St.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Light Rail on 16th St. and R St
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Mariachi Music every Thursday and Special Events. Please view our Event Page for more information or call the restaurant for details.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 183 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on August 26, 2016

Took my party of 10 there for my birthday. They let me keep my cake in their fridge till it was time. Table was ready on time , service was very acomidating. And the food was delicious. Margaritas where great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2016

We have Ben coming here for years! This is our favorite Mexican place to eat. They make a fabulous margarita and I love their chicken colorado Nacho's! They are to die for!. My husband's favorite is the chicken colorado chimichanga. Love the staff also! ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

This is a classy Mexican Restaurant. I should know, I grew up in a Mexican Restaurant. The staff really hustles. I was impressed by the hostesses constantly cleaning the menus while they stood at the hostess stand. The iced tea could have been filled a little quicker. During the summer, you have to keep that glass filled. It is expensive for Mexican food, but you get what you pay for. You want excellent food, you're going to pay for it. It's really loud so if you want a quiet place to dine, this ain't it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

Ernesto greets you at the door and make certain everything you want is handled quickly. It is not your typical mexican food restaurant. It has been a long time favorite of many San Antonians for nearly 30 years. If you like great fish and good wine, this is the place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 26, 2016

Carnitas were moist and tasty. Love that they had frijoles de olla which were also good. Partner had tacos and found the other meats standard. Margarita was good. Overall a good place for Mexican food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and our server, Isaac, was exceptional. Will definitely eat here again. Thank you.
The prices are also very reasonable.
The staff was very helpful and Dani created a special birthday menu for my mother. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2016

Tasty, reliable Mexican food with prompt, attentive service. Great fish tacos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2016

We went with a family group to Ernesto's, traveling the 25 minutes from Davis to Sacramento. The food was far better than any Davis or Woodland Mexican restaurant we have tried. The food was terrific and so was the service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 16, 2016

We've eaten here several times with family and always enjoyed the food and the service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2016

Love this place, been coming here for a long time. The food s always good and The Margaritas are awesome.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was delicious! It was a bit noisy but it 6:45 on a Saturday evening. The service was great. Overall a great dining experience. We will defiantly go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 23, 2016

Always perfect or near perfect, been going here for over 20 years, about twice a month, More frequent before. Just to many things in our lives, but we never get tired of this place and don't see that we ever will. By the way we travel from Vacaville a 45 min. drive and don't do much other Mexican resturants, They just don't cut it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 23, 2016

Delicious Food !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 20, 2016

Went here before a concert downtown Sacramento. Came during happy hour and had the opportunity to take advantage of the low drink prices. Really enjoyed the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

We have now been to Ernesto's two weekends in a row. Granted one occasion was for my daughter's birthday, and the next was for Father's Day. my family LOVES Ernesto's. My husband loves the fish taco. I am smitten with the carnitas quesadilla and beef taquito. My girls really like the chicken taco and the tamales.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always authentic and delicious. What we truly enjoy is the excellent and attentive service. Also the variety and prices make Ernesto's a place to always consider when choosing a place for dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

A very enjoyable and tasty brunch for 5, service was attentive, price reasonable. Lovely blackberry margarita!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been here so many times and it is always great-- whatever you order. We even had a terrific breakfast. It is all freshly made and served hot! Our favorite Mexican restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2016

My all time favorite place to go for food and drinks. The environment is just wonderful the service is outstanding. You always feel welcome. Love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2016

Delicious food, plenty of fish and vegetarian options. Server was very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was okay, but not great...literally everything was under seasoned. Service was fantastic and quick. Kids loved that they got little pots of beans to enjoy with their chips. Probably won't go back though as the food just wasn't good enough to warrant a return visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2016

Mostly everyone in our group was satisfied with their meal, a couple meals were wrong. The waiter was quick but never had a smile on his face and seemed upset when we asked for something.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2016

Been going here for years. Food is always great and margaritas outstanding. It is a bit loud but that's because it's always packed. Brunch, lunch or dinner you will find something great on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2016

As always, super yum. We ate outside, and the building blocked the wind. GREAT drinks. Super friendly service -and quick. Easy with our 2 kids.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2016

Our favorite place to get authentic, fresh, Mexican food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2016

Awful chips, great salsa. Awful enchiladas but amazing beans. Good margaritas. It's not my favorite Mexican restaurant, but the ambiance and service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2016

We tried a wide variety of menu items and they all were great. The service was spot on. If you are in the mood for "real" Mexican food this place can't be beat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Great atmosphere. Great service. Wonderful time celebrating Mothers Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

We love the food and the service has always been good. The food is outstanding and we would recommend it to anyone who loves Mexican food. My wife says the margarita's are the best she has ever had. The shrimp tacos on flour tortillas are to die for!

Not a bad thing to say about Ernesto's! We are so happy we found it. We will be back every week to try something else so don't come or we won't be able to get a seat!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2016

I want to start off by saying that if you only care how the food is, this place is WONDERFUL. The food was incredible, the service however, lacked. I made a reservation 3 days in advance for Ernesto's. When I arrived, 2 of 5 my party had already been seated (great!) At a table outdoors. However, there was not enough space for the 5 of us (I have a baby with a highchair). The server asked us if we wanted to be seated inside where there was more room, and went off to check with the hostess. We sort of fumbled around trying to not get in the way of other guests until the server eventually came back and said that we outdoors (we did not) and now having an issue getting us inside. Eventually, after another table left, we were pushed into a back corner table with no room without bumping into the person next to us. We were able to order our food, but had to keep asking for basic things to enjoy our meal (a straw, some water, SILVERWARE, napkins). The food and drinks were great, but I did not appreciate being stuffed away because I have a baby. It was very clear my party was an "inconvenience" and were not a priority. Perhaps I'll need to wait until my child can sit in a normal chair before I consider returning to be treated fairly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Good solid Mexican food. Very reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2016

Always a busy place. Sometimes it can get a little loud and hard to hear your tablemate. Food is always good and the prices are very affordable. I had a birthday coupon for a free entree! Thanks Ernestos!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2016

I've eaten here many times and they are consistently and reliably good. Excellent service and food is prepared fresh. I took my friend to lunch here today and merely mentioned it was for her birthday and they brought a delicious free flan with sparkler and sang happy birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2016

Perfect for meetings! Food was fresh and promptly served, great service, ambiance... I'll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2016

Food was outstanding as always went on Mon to avoid crowd and noise, very noisy. Drinks were not our favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2016

We love Ernestos!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2016

Really good food, nice large portions, and very attentive service! FISH TACOS omg yummmm

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 19, 2016

We used to go here a lot. Food seems to have gone downhill. Carnitas was not nearly as tasty, and service was not the level it should be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2016

It's been awhile since I've eaten at Ernesto's and I was pleased to find it was just as good as I remembered. The food was delicious (as confirmed by my entire party). Our server was very friendly and checked frequently to see if we needed anything and to refill our beverages. Since it was a sunny day we ate out on the patio (which is why I choose the "moderate" noise level since the patio is on a busy street). It made the dining experience even more enjoyable and the noise wasn't loud enough that it impeded our conversation. I'll definitely be coming back again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Tweets by Ernesto's Mexican Food