About Ernesto's Mexican Food

1901 16th Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

Since 1991, Ernesto"s Mexican Food has proudly served Midtown Sacramento as it's #1 choice for Best Mexican Food. By using only the freshest ingredients, our chefs work diligently to ensure the authentic Mexican flavors our customers desire while simultaneously keeping their well-being in mind. Ernesto's offers a range of award-winning dishes the whole family can enjoy, including it's Signature Carnitas, Vegetarian options and "Great Margaritas". From it's colorful artwork to the rhythm of the salsa music that pulsates throughout the restaurant; Ernesto's has offered a beautiful display of true Mexican culture. We are honored to have had the chance to share the past 21 years with the Sacramento Community and we look forward to many more. The Ernesto's family wants to thank everyone for its many years of success!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Regional Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M-F 11:00am-5:00pm
Lunch: Sa-Su 2:00pm-5:00pm
Dinner: M-Th 5:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am
Dinner: Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
16th and S Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 441-5850

Website:
http://ernestosmexicanfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live Mariachi Music every Thursday and Special Events. Please view our Event Page for more information or call the restaurant for details.

Parking Details:
Parking available on the side of 16th St. and 17 St.

Public Transit:
Light Rail on 16th St. and R St

Executive Chef:
Jose Carrillo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine Bar

Ernesto's Mexican Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Sacramento
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

great for outdoor dining (30)
great for lunch (27)
good for groups (26)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
special occasion (14)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (12)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
romantic (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect or near perfect, been goi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Always perfect or near perfect, been going here for over 20 years, about twice a month, More frequent before. Just to many things in our lives, but we never get tired of this place and don't see that we ever will. By the way we travel from Vacaville a 45 min. drive and don't do much other Mexican resturants, They just don't cut it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Delicious Food !

Dined 3 days ago

Delicious Food !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here before a concert downtown Sacr ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went here before a concert downtown Sacramento. Came during happy hour and had the opportunity to take advantage of the low drink prices. Really enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have now been to Ernesto's two weeken ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We have now been to Ernesto's two weekends in a row. Granted one occasion was for my daughter's birthday, and the next was for Father's Day. my family LOVES Ernesto's. My husband loves the fish taco. I am smitten with the carnitas quesadilla and beef taquito. My girls really like the chicken taco and the tamales.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always authentic and delicio ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always authentic and delicious. What we truly enjoy is the excellent and attentive service. Also the variety and prices make Ernesto's a place to always consider when choosing a place for dining.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A very enjoyable and tasty brunch for 5, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A very enjoyable and tasty brunch for 5, service was attentive, price reasonable. Lovely blackberry margarita!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

We have been here so many times and it i ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been here so many times and it is always great-- whatever you order. We even had a terrific breakfast. It is all freshly made and served hot! Our favorite Mexican restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My all time favorite place to go for foo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

My all time favorite place to go for food and drinks. The environment is just wonderful the service is outstanding. You always feel welcome. Love it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, plenty of fish and veget ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Delicious food, plenty of fish and vegetarian options. Server was very pleasant.

food3
ambience4
service5

Food was okay, but not great...literally ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was okay, but not great...literally everything was under seasoned. Service was fantastic and quick. Kids loved that they got little pots of beans to enjoy with their chips. Probably won't go back though as the food just wasn't good enough to warrant a return visit.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Mostly everyone in our group was satisfi ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Mostly everyone in our group was satisfied with their meal, a couple meals were wrong. The waiter was quick but never had a smile on his face and seemed upset when we asked for something.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going here for years. Food is alway ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Been going here for years. Food is always great and margaritas outstanding. It is a bit loud but that's because it's always packed. Brunch, lunch or dinner you will find something great on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, super yum. We ate outside, a ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

As always, super yum. We ate outside, and the building blocked the wind. GREAT drinks. Super friendly service -and quick. Easy with our 2 kids.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3

Our favorite place to get authentic, fre ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Our favorite place to get authentic, fresh, Mexican food.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

When we arrived the host seemed confused ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

When we arrived the host seemed confused and bothered by the fact that we were increasing our party size. When we got there we were one of 3 tables and it took the server a while to come to us. When he finally came to take our drink order I placed an order for a margarita on the rocks and he brought it blended, but I did not want to make a big deal. When my parents ordered coffee which was clearly on the Menu he said they did not have any and hesitate it to offer to make some. Lastly my parents got food poisoning from eating here. Overall not a very good experience and I would not eat nor recommend this restaurant. I am from the Napa Valley area and was just not satisfied with the service.

food3
ambience3
service4

Awful chips, great salsa. Awful enchila ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Awful chips, great salsa. Awful enchiladas but amazing beans. Good margaritas. It's not my favorite Mexican restaurant, but the ambiance and service was great.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Great service. Wonderf ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great atmosphere. Great service. Wonderful time celebrating Mothers Day.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely an amazing place!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love the food and the service has always been good. The food is outstanding and we would recommend it to anyone who loves Mexican food. My wife says the margarita's are the best she has ever had. The shrimp tacos on flour tortillas are to die for! Not a bad thing to say about Ernesto's! We are so happy we found it. We will be back every week to try something else so don't come or we won't be able to get a seat!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was great. Space was an issue.

Dined on May 7, 2016

I want to start off by saying that if you only care how the food is, this place is WONDERFUL. The food was incredible, the service however, lacked. I made a reservation 3 days in advance for Ernesto's. When I arrived, 2 of 5 my party had already been seated (great!) At a table outdoors. However, there was not enough space for the 5 of us (I have a baby with a highchair). The server asked us if we wanted to be seated inside where there was more room, and went off to check with the hostess. We sort of fumbled around trying to not get in the way of other guests until the server eventually came back and said that we outdoors (we did not) and now having an issue getting us inside. Eventually, after another table left, we were pushed into a back corner table with no room without bumping into the person next to us. We were able to order our food, but had to keep asking for basic things to enjoy our meal (a straw, some water, SILVERWARE, napkins). The food and drinks were great, but I did not appreciate being stuffed away because I have a baby. It was very clear my party was an "inconvenience" and were not a priority. Perhaps I'll need to wait until my child can sit in a normal chair before I consider returning to be treated fairly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Good solid Mexican food. Very reasonable ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Good solid Mexican food. Very reasonable prices.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

A Mexican Goldmine!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always a busy place. Sometimes it can get a little loud and hard to hear your tablemate. Food is always good and the prices are very affordable. I had a birthday coupon for a free entree! Thanks Ernestos!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always love Ernesto's

Dined on April 9, 2016

I've eaten here many times and they are consistently and reliably good. Excellent service and food is prepared fresh. I took my friend to lunch here today and merely mentioned it was for her birthday and they brought a delicious free flan with sparkler and sang happy birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great casual spot

Dined on April 5, 2016

Perfect for meetings! Food was fresh and promptly served, great service, ambiance... I'll definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Ernesto's Birthday dinner

Dined on April 5, 2016

Food was outstanding as always went on Mon to avoid crowd and noise, very noisy. Drinks were not our favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Ernestos!

Dined on April 4, 2016

We love Ernestos!

food5
ambience4
service5

Really good food, nice large portions, a ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Really good food, nice large portions, and very attentive service!

food2
ambience3
service2

We used to go here a lot. Food seems to ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We used to go here a lot. Food seems to have gone downhill. Carnitas was not nearly as tasty, and service was not the level it should be.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as good as I remembered.

Dined on February 22, 2016

It's been awhile since I've eaten at Ernesto's and I was pleased to find it was just as good as I remembered. The food was delicious (as confirmed by my entire party). Our server was very friendly and checked frequently to see if we needed anything and to refill our beverages. Since it was a sunny day we ate out on the patio (which is why I choose the "moderate" noise level since the patio is on a busy street). It made the dining experience even more enjoyable and the noise wasn't loud enough that it impeded our conversation. I'll definitely be coming back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mexican food in Sac. Cadillac marg ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Best Mexican food in Sac. Cadillac marg is great!

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Saturday Dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

Made a reservation for 6:30pm and was seated on time. Staff was fast and friendly. The Green Iguana is one tasty drink. The Midtown Combo is perfect if you can't decide on another dish. The carnitas are awesome and the chicken enchilada is truly delicious. My date had the Veracruz Shrimp and she was kind enough to share a few bites. I plan to order this dish the next time we visit Ernesto's. The atmosphere was lively, as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love Ernestos but it is toooooo noisy. ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Love Ernestos but it is toooooo noisy. Not energetic loud and you can't hear a thing....

food5
ambience5
service5

Always fresh and exceptional

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Always fresh and exceptional

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Carnitas and vegetarian quesadillas!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The carnitas were delicious. I had the carnitas enchiladas. I do wish I just got the carnitas dinner and made my own tacos however so I could have fully appreciated just the taste of the meat without the enchilada sauce. Albeit though, the sauce was quite tasty. My fiancee got the vegetarian quesadilla - it looked delicious, lots of veggies. The salsa was great and the bean dip with chips is vegetarian too. Its hard to negotiate where we go when one person is a complete carnivore and the other is a complete vegetarian to and we always have to ask. The server was able to answer right away as to what was vegetarian. That was great!!! Also, everything was fresh. Only complaint I can come up with is that I wish my margarita had been shaken a bit better. I'm a rocks girl and I go with shaken, not stirred. Would have been a bit smoother. All in all, worth it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for authentic Mexican Cu ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were looking for authentic Mexican Cuisine for our Valentines Day dinner. Fortunately Ernesto's provided that for us. Although we arrived 1hr early the hostess accommodated our request to move our reservation up 1/2hr which gave us time to find a parking spot near the restaurant. The food was excellent. Our server Franco was most attentive to all our requests and made our dining experience most enjoyable. We will definitely become regular customers to Ernesto's!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great resturant

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my first time here and I thought the food was great and the ambiance was awesome

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice neighborhood restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ernesto's is my favorite Mexican food place in Midtown, Sacramento! Almost everyone I know has been there and agrees! It's a great brunch and lunch restaurant. The service is good and the food is better. Not to mention great Margaritas! I highly recommend trying them. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Rucusuave64

Dined on February 13, 2016

Drinks at the bar were excellent , very quick service. Ambiance is very energetic on Friday night, live mariachi and very reasonably priced menu , would recommend to family and friends.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service. Fast, friendly and helpfu ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great service. Fast, friendly and helpful

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was really good.

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was really good, service was good but the noise level was way too much. Any time we needed anything extra for our meal the service person was friendly and accommodating to what we asked for.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.