Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Hook and Ladder Manufacturing CompanyHook and Ladder Manufacturing Company
(41)
Contemporary American | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Iron Horse Tavern - SacramentoIron Horse Tavern - Sacramento
Reviews Coming Soon
American | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
LocalisLocalis
(103)
Californian | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
WaterboyWaterboy
(1830)
French American | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Zocalo SacramentoZocalo Sacramento
(85)
Mexican | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Paesanos - MidtownPaesanos - Midtown
(3)
Italian | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Mulvaney's B&LMulvaney's B&L
(1195)
American | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Aioli Bodega EspanolaAioli Bodega Espanola
(610)
Spanish | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Hock Farm Craft & ProvisionsHock Farm Craft & Provisions
(140)
Californian | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Cafeteria 15LCafeteria 15L
(1433)
Comfort Food | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
The Porch Restaurant & Bar - SacramentoThe Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento
(1239)
Southern | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
de Vere's Irish Pub - Sacramentode Vere's Irish Pub - Sacramento
(127)
Gastro Pub | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Firestone Public HouseFirestone Public House
(14)
American | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Saddle RockSaddle Rock
(6)
Contemporary American | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now
Lucca Restaurant & BarLucca Restaurant & Bar
(676)
Californian | Sacramento, Sacramento
Reserve Now

About Ernesto's Mexican Food

1901 16th Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

Since 1991, Ernesto"s Mexican Food has proudly served Midtown Sacramento as it's #1 choice for Best Mexican Food. By using only the freshest ingredients, our chefs work diligently to ensure the authentic Mexican flavors our customers desire while simultaneously keeping their well-being in mind. Ernesto's offers a range of award-winning dishes the whole family can enjoy, including it's Signature Carnitas, Vegetarian options and "Great Margaritas". From it's colorful artwork to the rhythm of the salsa music that pulsates throughout the restaurant; Ernesto's has offered a beautiful display of true Mexican culture. We are honored to have had the chance to share the past 21 years with the Sacramento Community and we look forward to many more. The Ernesto's family wants to thank everyone for its many years of success!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Regional Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M-F 11:00am-5:00pm
Lunch: Sa-Su 2:00pm-5:00pm
Dinner: M-Th 5:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am
Dinner: Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
16th and S Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 441-5850

Website:
http://ernestosmexicanfood.com/

Entertainment:
Live Mariachi Music every Thursday and Special Events. Please view our Event Page for more information or call the restaurant for details.

Parking Details:
Parking available on the side of 16th St. and 17 St.

Public Transit:
Light Rail on 16th St. and R St

Executive Chef:
Jose Carrillo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ernesto's Mexican Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Spicy (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my party of 10 there for my birthda ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Took my party of 10 there for my birthday. They let me keep my cake in their fridge till it was time. Table was ready on time , service was very acomidating. And the food was delicious. Margaritas where great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have Ben coming here for years! This ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have Ben coming here for years! This is our favorite Mexican place to eat. They make a fabulous margarita and I love their chicken colorado Nacho's! They are to die for!. My husband's favorite is the chicken colorado chimichanga. Love the staff also! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a classy Mexican Restaurant. I s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a classy Mexican Restaurant. I should know, I grew up in a Mexican Restaurant. The staff really hustles. I was impressed by the hostesses constantly cleaning the menus while they stood at the hostess stand. The iced tea could have been filled a little quicker. During the summer, you have to keep that glass filled. It is expensive for Mexican food, but you get what you pay for. You want excellent food, you're going to pay for it. It's really loud so if you want a quiet place to dine, this ain't it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ernesto greets you at the door and make ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Ernesto greets you at the door and make certain everything you want is handled quickly. It is not your typical mexican food restaurant. It has been a long time favorite of many San Antonians for nearly 30 years. If you like great fish and good wine, this is the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carnitas were moist and tasty. Love that ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Carnitas were moist and tasty. Love that they had frijoles de olla which were also good. Partner had tacos and found the other meats standard. Margarita was good. Overall a good place for Mexican food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dinner and our server ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and our server, Isaac, was exceptional. Will definitely eat here again. Thank you.

The prices are also very reasonable.

The staff was very helpful and Dani created a special birthday menu for my mother. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty, reliable Mexican food with prompt ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Tasty, reliable Mexican food with prompt, attentive service. Great fish tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went with a family group to Ernesto's ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went with a family group to Ernesto's, traveling the 25 minutes from Davis to Sacramento. The food was far better than any Davis or Woodland Mexican restaurant we have tried. The food was terrific and so was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten here several times with fami ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We've eaten here several times with family and always enjoyed the food and the service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place, been coming here for a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love this place, been coming here for a long time. The food s always good and The Margaritas are awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was delicious! It was a bit noi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was delicious! It was a bit noisy but it 6:45 on a Saturday evening. The service was great. Overall a great dining experience. We will defiantly go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Always perfect or near perfect, been goi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always perfect or near perfect, been going here for over 20 years, about twice a month, More frequent before. Just to many things in our lives, but we never get tired of this place and don't see that we ever will. By the way we travel from Vacaville a 45 min. drive and don't do much other Mexican resturants, They just don't cut it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food !

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Delicious Food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Went here before a concert downtown Sacr ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Went here before a concert downtown Sacramento. Came during happy hour and had the opportunity to take advantage of the low drink prices. Really enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have now been to Ernesto's two weeken ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have now been to Ernesto's two weekends in a row. Granted one occasion was for my daughter's birthday, and the next was for Father's Day. my family LOVES Ernesto's. My husband loves the fish taco. I am smitten with the carnitas quesadilla and beef taquito. My girls really like the chicken taco and the tamales.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is always authentic and delicio ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always authentic and delicious. What we truly enjoy is the excellent and attentive service. Also the variety and prices make Ernesto's a place to always consider when choosing a place for dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very enjoyable and tasty brunch for 5, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A very enjoyable and tasty brunch for 5, service was attentive, price reasonable. Lovely blackberry margarita!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here so many times and it i ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been here so many times and it is always great-- whatever you order. We even had a terrific breakfast. It is all freshly made and served hot! Our favorite Mexican restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My all time favorite place to go for foo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My all time favorite place to go for food and drinks. The environment is just wonderful the service is outstanding. You always feel welcome. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, plenty of fish and veget ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Delicious food, plenty of fish and vegetarian options. Server was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was okay, but not great...literally ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was okay, but not great...literally everything was under seasoned. Service was fantastic and quick. Kids loved that they got little pots of beans to enjoy with their chips. Probably won't go back though as the food just wasn't good enough to warrant a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Mostly everyone in our group was satisfi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Mostly everyone in our group was satisfied with their meal, a couple meals were wrong. The waiter was quick but never had a smile on his face and seemed upset when we asked for something.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Been going here for years. Food is alway ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Been going here for years. Food is always great and margaritas outstanding. It is a bit loud but that's because it's always packed. Brunch, lunch or dinner you will find something great on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, super yum. We ate outside, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

As always, super yum. We ate outside, and the building blocked the wind. GREAT drinks. Super friendly service -and quick. Easy with our 2 kids.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place to get authentic, fre ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Our favorite place to get authentic, fresh, Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

When we arrived the host seemed confused ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

When we arrived the host seemed confused and bothered by the fact that we were increasing our party size. When we got there we were one of 3 tables and it took the server a while to come to us. When he finally came to take our drink order I placed an order for a margarita on the rocks and he brought it blended, but I did not want to make a big deal. When my parents ordered coffee which was clearly on the Menu he said they did not have any and hesitate it to offer to make some. Lastly my parents got food poisoning from eating here. Overall not a very good experience and I would not eat nor recommend this restaurant. I am from the Napa Valley area and was just not satisfied with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Awful chips, great salsa. Awful enchila ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Awful chips, great salsa. Awful enchiladas but amazing beans. Good margaritas. It's not my favorite Mexican restaurant, but the ambiance and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great atmosphere. Great service. Wonderf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great atmosphere. Great service. Wonderful time celebrating Mothers Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Absolutely an amazing place!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We love the food and the service has always been good. The food is outstanding and we would recommend it to anyone who loves Mexican food. My wife says the margarita's are the best she has ever had. The shrimp tacos on flour tortillas are to die for!

Not a bad thing to say about Ernesto's! We are so happy we found it. We will be back every week to try something else so don't come or we won't be able to get a seat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great. Space was an issue.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I want to start off by saying that if you only care how the food is, this place is WONDERFUL. The food was incredible, the service however, lacked. I made a reservation 3 days in advance for Ernesto's. When I arrived, 2 of 5 my party had already been seated (great!) At a table outdoors. However, there was not enough space for the 5 of us (I have a baby with a highchair). The server asked us if we wanted to be seated inside where there was more room, and went off to check with the hostess. We sort of fumbled around trying to not get in the way of other guests until the server eventually came back and said that we outdoors (we did not) and now having an issue getting us inside. Eventually, after another table left, we were pushed into a back corner table with no room without bumping into the person next to us. We were able to order our food, but had to keep asking for basic things to enjoy our meal (a straw, some water, SILVERWARE, napkins). The food and drinks were great, but I did not appreciate being stuffed away because I have a baby. It was very clear my party was an "inconvenience" and were not a priority. Perhaps I'll need to wait until my child can sit in a normal chair before I consider returning to be treated fairly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Good solid Mexican food. Very reasonable ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Good solid Mexican food. Very reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A Mexican Goldmine!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Always a busy place. Sometimes it can get a little loud and hard to hear your tablemate. Food is always good and the prices are very affordable. I had a birthday coupon for a free entree! Thanks Ernestos!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Always love Ernesto's

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I've eaten here many times and they are consistently and reliably good. Excellent service and food is prepared fresh. I took my friend to lunch here today and merely mentioned it was for her birthday and they brought a delicious free flan with sparkler and sang happy birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great casual spot

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Perfect for meetings! Food was fresh and promptly served, great service, ambiance... I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Ernesto's Birthday dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Food was outstanding as always went on Mon to avoid crowd and noise, very noisy. Drinks were not our favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We love Ernestos!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We love Ernestos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good food, nice large portions, a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Really good food, nice large portions, and very attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We used to go here a lot. Food seems to ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We used to go here a lot. Food seems to have gone downhill. Carnitas was not nearly as tasty, and service was not the level it should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Just as good as I remembered.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

It's been awhile since I've eaten at Ernesto's and I was pleased to find it was just as good as I remembered. The food was delicious (as confirmed by my entire party). Our server was very friendly and checked frequently to see if we needed anything and to refill our beverages. Since it was a sunny day we ate out on the patio (which is why I choose the "moderate" noise level since the patio is on a busy street). It made the dining experience even more enjoyable and the noise wasn't loud enough that it impeded our conversation. I'll definitely be coming back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.