Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Erna's Elderberry House

"I have the simplest of tastes, I only want the best." These words, compliments of Oscar Wilde, can be found over the kitchen door at Erna's Elderberry House Restaurant on the grounds of Château du Sureau. They seem to sum up the exquisite experience of dining at Erna's Elderberry House and the adjacent Château, where the vast culinary talents of Chef de Cuisine Jonathon Perkins now reign supreme.

The restaurant, with its European country-estate atmosphere, is divided into three lovely dining areas, each adorned with antique French provincial furnishings, magnificent tapestries and original oil paintings. A stately terrace with a commanding view of the Sierra Nevada Mountains adds to the fabulous ambiance.

48688 Victoria Lane
Oakhurst, CA 93644
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Vegetarian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Annual Winter Break - closed from Monday, January 2nd through Thursday, January 19th, 2017.

Regular Hours of Operation - April through December
Dinner: M-Su 5:30pm-8:30pm
Brunch: Su 11:00am-1:00pm

Winter Hours - January through April
Dinner: Tue-Su 5:30pm - 8:00pm
Brunch: Su 11:00am - 1:00pm

Please know the Restaurant will be closed each Monday in observance of the Winter months - from now through the end of March.

Cross Street:
Highway 41

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 683-6800

Website:
http://www.chateausureau.com/

Catering:
Whether it be a wedding, birthday, anniversary, or corporate gathering. Let us offer you our delectable cuisine, attentive service and expertise. Whether it be 50 guests or 500 guests, we will ensure you gathering is one of a kind.

Parking Details:
From Fresno, take Highway 41 North towards Coarsegold/Oakhurst
We are 20 minutes from the South Entrance to Yosemite

4 Hours from San Francisco
4 Hours from Los Angeles

We are at a 3,000 foot elevation, snow is possible (but rare) in the winter months.

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
The three dining rooms of Erna's Elderberry House, the Escoffier, the Point or the Paul Bocuse can all be rented exclusively for your group. The Escoffier easily seats up to 55 guests, the Point seats up to 35 guests and the Paul Bocuse will easily accommodate a group of ten.

Private Party Contact:
Carina Stephens: (559) 683-6800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Annual Epicurean Dinner - Sunday, February 12th, 2017
* Seating from 5pm to 9pm - $135 per person
(spirits, wine, tax and gratuity are additional)

Valentine's Dinner - Tuesday, February 14th, 2017
* Seating from 5pm to 9pm - Dinner $125 per person
(spirits, wine, tax and gratuity are additional)

Easter Brunch - Sunday, April 17th, 2017
* seating from 10am to 3pm

Mother's Day Brunch - Sunday, May 14th, 2017
* seating from 10am to 3pm

Father's Day - Sunday, June 18th, 2017
* Sunday Brunch and Dinner will be served at our regular hours

Elderberry Harvest Dinner - Sunday, July 23rd, 2017

"An Evening in Vienna" - Sunday, August 20th, 2017

Thanksgiving Dinner - Thursday, November 23rd, 2017

Christmas Eve Dinner - Sunday, December 24th, 2017

Christmas Day Dinner - Monday, December 25th, 2017

New Year's Eve Gala - Sunday, December 31st, 2017

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Sunday Aug 20, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Sunday Aug 20, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special event dinners require credit card on file with 48hr cancellation policy. Special valid on Sunday Aug 20, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Erna's Elderberry House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Romantic (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to the Benefit for victims of the Detwiler fire. Every course was terrific. It was all beautifully styled, concentrated flavours, and unique selections. Fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 6 days ago

Erna's is a very special place to dine. Beautiful, flavorful, creative food - service is excellent. We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant - a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Dining in this restaurant is an absolute privilege and for a couple of hours, one feels as if they were in Europe. The restaurant staff is as professional as any fine dining establishment I've ever been to and they pay a great deal of attention to etiquette. The food is incredibly unique with different flavors and pairings that bring nothing but delight. This is a very special place, with a very special owner and staff. I look forward to a return visit someday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It's like being in an Austrian mountain town and dining in an elegant atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We decided that our family trip to Yosemite Valley might be one of the last family trips we would have together In the near future-our older son graduated and is looking for a job. We decided to revisit Erna's after our prior visit close to 20 years prior. The chateau was homey, the service of Erica and Nicole was outstanding, and our boys were truly impressed with the food- no easy task. It made for a great conclusion of a memorable weekend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The most delightful experience with attention to detail! We celebrated our one year anniversary and the food and ambiance and wine were superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had the 5-course dinner, with wine pairing. The food was excellent; we were however dissapointed with the wine pairing: we would have expected more local wines (we made the remark to the sommelier at the beginning of the meal, where he offered to make some substitutions; we accepted to keep with the original choices); the wines selected were fine but not perfect. Nonetheless, Erna's is in a class by itself; a nice find on our California trip through, among others, San Francisco and the Napa valley. The best evening we had of all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

What an amazing find! We had been in Yosemite for long weekend and were heading home and hoping for something fun to end our trip with. Checked open table and found this and booked it. When we arrived we were so happy to find this beautiful dining room, next to a beautiful European Chateau. The service was top notch and the food heaven! We hope to come back soon! Thank you for being such gracious hosts and hats off to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant in a historic building. Service is good , food is great. Far beyond my expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This restaurant is very good, a bit pricey for the average family. I wouldn't recommend children under 14. If you are wanting a European feel this is exactly the place you want to dine. The staff was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Old World charm of Erna's Elderberry House is evident from the time you enter the grounds with chateau inspired construction. You are greeted warmly as you enter the front door. The five-star awards the restaurant is continually earning will continue as the table service is warm but professional and each course elicits an "ah" for presentation and "so delicious" responses as you taste to identify all of the tantalizing flavors. We enjoyed a wonderful 45th wedding anniversary dinner with a view of the gardens and patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Wow. Just an amazing experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Had a truly exquisite meal here. Superbly prepared dinner made of fresh local fare. Friendly knowledgable staff gave attentive service without being intrusive. Every course was excellent yet the halibut stood out as the most moist and flavorful I have ever eaten. The Elderberry would be a stand-out in any city, but it was certainly a lovely surprise in the outlands of Yosemite!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 25, 2017

It was great coming back to Erna's after we had our first wedding anniversary dinner here 25yrs ago. Love the ambience and the 5 meal course!👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This restaurant was just fabulous, great food, lovely décor, attentive but not fussy staff. Just as I remembered it from a visit a couple of year ago which was a very pleasant surprise. We had a set menu with wine pairings, dessert outside in a lovely courtyard.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The setting is magical, and, as always, the courses and wine pairings were delightful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We had two spectacular dinners at Erna's while staying at the adjacent Chateau. Everything was perfect. The wine pairings and chef's creations made for memorable experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We took our friends from Japan and they loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My husband and I had our 24th wedding anniversary on June 11th, Brunch. Food , Service, Ambiance was exceptional. We will reurn.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. We like to bring out of town friends who are always impressed. We always get the window table we prefer

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is one the finest restaurants in the United States. I do believe that Erna's rivals French laundry which is my all-time favorite.
The difference is you are Tucktaway in a château which makes you feel like you were in another world . The five course tasting menu and wine pairing were delectable .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Spectacular in every way. Each bite was delicious. The wine pairings were on target. It was the perfect meal for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Hello,
For starters, thank you for an incredible experience. Our reservation was for 8:15pm Saturday June 3rd, (my wife B-day) and it was to be a surprise!! we're running late. Coming from Yosemite where we had hiked all day(It was my wife subtle hint a few days earlier to go to Yosemite for a day. we live in long Beach). Had it all figured out, we would be back in Oakhurst by 6:30pm, have time to get cleaned up/suited up and make it to Elderberry.
We got too the Yosemite floor at 6:30am and headed up too Vernal falls, from Vernal we headed up to Nevada Falls(what beauty). From there she thought, let's try lllilouette Falls(it's about 11am. thinking time wise its cool, she doesn't know about the restaurant date ). so we headed out and as we walked the conversation turned too, if we go that far, it's closer to just head up
to Glacier Point, grab the shuttle bus there and cruise back down to valley floor. Enjoy more incredible beauty,(I'm thinking we still have plenty of time). We headed up to Glacier Point, totally filled with the beauty of the day. On a few occasions,Hikers passed us and asked us if there was a shuttle at Glacier? Made me wonder.

Got to Glacier Point, saw some tour buses and figured, we're good, went to the shop there and asked the lady behind the counter if we could jump on the shuttle. She said, "there is no shuttle. Its a tour bus, tickets are sold out, you'll have to hike the 4 mile trail down to the valley floor, next!!". Guess what, time problem. We downed a Gatorade and headed down, got down and realized are car is about 2 miles away. Because of a couple bears, shuttle stuck in traffic, got to our car at 7:30pm. Your restaurant is 1 1/2 hours away. Yikes!! Had to tell my wife to call you and say were running really late, she wants to cancel, but because of your kindness, we got there at 8:45 with our hiking clothes and you allowed us to have best meal and service ever. Thank you for understanding and making my wife's B-day so cool..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. The staff make you feel like family, and go out of their way to make your experience a special one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Some service struggles (wrong dish, didn't offer a taste of wine before pouring) from younger staff...excellent in all other regards...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This hidden gem in the Sierra's is a fantastic experience with incredible food. Amazing service compliments the cuisine, and the chef is creative and focused on delighting the customers, not proving some culinary point. We go here every time we are in the area, and will continue to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Small details, like personalized Menu with our name,that really made a difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wonderful special occasion evening dining event. New a la cartel menu makes it easier for all parties to order. Portions were nice sized

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We had the BEST time here! The staff was attentive but not hovering. They were also extremely nice. Not at all snooty. The food was amazing. I especially loved the Foie Gras parfait and the Duck was the best I've ever had. I don't understand why other reviewer's have called this place expensive. With drinks it was less than $90 a person and an amazing experience. Don't think, just st go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Gosh--we had dinner here three separate times years ago, and always enjoyed it. This time, I am sad to say, the taste of the food was just not that exceptional. It was just OK for this type of restaurant. The potato/leek soup was very good, but the berry/foie gras parfait appetizer was not, could not taste the foie gras. The desserts had overly complicated and fussy plating which was pretty to look at, but just not delicious--kind of bland actually, and some of the decorative droplets of sauce tasted spoiled. We were all generally disappointed with the food, and all the more so when the cost of the meal was considered. The staff is very kind and well trained, and the atmosphere, decor, and gardens are lovely. They try very hard to make it a special evening, and it is a genuinely welcoming and elegant place. Based on the past, we would have only imagined it was going to be a 5 star evening all around, but regretfully that was not the case this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Incredible and stupendous in every way! One of the most elegant and gourmet meals of my life. The attention to detail is outstanding without being pretenious, and Erna is so very gracious and welcoming!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Erna's Elderberry House never fails to please. We have been there a dozen times and always look forward to our next visit. We were there most recently for Sunday brunch Memorial Day weekend, what a great time to visit. There were just a few people there so it felt like a private event just for us. One of these times after dinner we are going to stay in one of their beautiful rooms.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great experience from the moment we arrived and had handmade cocktails and mocktails in the cellar bar until the finish of our 5 course prix-fixe menu which with all of the amuse bouche and extra desserts was mire like 10 courses. Each course was presented elegantly and each was more flavorful than the last. Quite an experience for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed our brunch for our anniversary. I highly recommend the tasting menu which is a lot of food, to experience things you would not normally try. Bob appetit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent service and culinary experience. The best bloody Mary you will ever have!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I have been there three times now, absolutely love the atmosphere. The whole 5 course meal is just an experience. I feel like I am in a fairy tale when I go there. Have stayed at the Chateau twice and that is a dream come true in my opinion. We did not stay this time, and the place we chose instead was just awful. Will never do that again, already looking into next trip in a few months. Thank you. Also the change to menu that you can choose another item instead of pre-set dishes I really liked. The halibut was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The meal was excellent. The lamb was the best I've had in a long time. The waitstaff was exceptional, it was really a treat to see the young men and women with such good manners and professionalism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very disappointed in the food and selection. Seems there are several menus, one of which
we were not privy too - called a "local" menu, which as it turns out, I would have been much
happier with. Just happened to be seated next to two people who had that choice.
Very strange evening and forget the jacket and tie recommendation!!! My husband, being
a serious follower of "recommendations" was dressed nicely in his sport coat, shirt and
dark pants, looking the perfect gentleman that he is. Unfortunately, we stuck out among
the other diners, who apparently didn't read the "recs". I did not feel very well after eating
the duck (didn't eat much of it - very, very rare) and the cherry "shooter"-yuk! Not as
we remembered it from 3 years ago - we dropped $325 for this not-so-great evening and food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had the Mother's Day brunch menu. All the courses were outstanding! The seating in the patio outside was beautiful. A memorable and highly enjoyable meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Erna's - the food, service, and ambiance were all outstanding. It's quite fancy but is a great option for a special occasion or when you want to splurge. They are extremely accommodating with dietary restrictions and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. It's a gem in the area and I would definitely recommend it to someone visiting Yosemite.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.