About Erna's Elderberry House

48688 Victoria Lane
Oakhurst, CA 93644
View Larger Map

"I have the simplest of tastes, I only want the best." These words, compliments of Oscar Wilde, can be found over the kitchen door at Erna's Elderberry House Restaurant on the grounds of Château du Sureau. They seem to sum up the exquisite experience of dining at Erna's Elderberry House and the adjacent Château, where the vast culinary talents of Chef de Cuisine Jonathon Perkins now reign supreme.

The restaurant, with its European country-estate atmosphere, is divided into three lovely dining areas, each adorned with antique French provincial furnishings, magnificent tapestries and original oil paintings. A stately terrace with a commanding view of the Sierra Nevada Mountains adds to the fabulous ambiance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Annual Winter Break - closed from January 3rd - January 21st, 2016

Dinner: M-Su 5:30pm-8:30pm
Brunch: Su 11:00am-1:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 41

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 683-6800

Website:
http://www.elderberryhouse.com/

Catering:
Whether it be a wedding, birthday, anniversary, or corporate gathering. Let us offer you our delectable cuisine, attentive service and expertise. Whether it be 50 guests or 500 guests, we will ensure you gathering is one of a kind.

Parking Details:
From Fresno, take Highway 41 North towards Coarsegold/Oakhurst
We are 20 minutes from the South Entrance to Yosemite

4 Hours from San Francisco
4 Hours from Los Angeles

We are at a 3,000 foot elevation, snow is possible (but rare) in the winter months.

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
The three dining rooms of Erna's Elderberry House, the Escoffier, the Point or the Paul Bocuse can all be rented exclusively for your group. The Escoffier easily seats up to 55 guests, the Point seats up to 35 guests and the Paul Bocuse will easily accommodate a group of twelve.

Private Party Contact:
Carina Stephens: 5596836800x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"In The Spirit of St. Valentine" - Dinner and Concert - Friday, February 13th
* Concert and Champagne Service 6:30pm - $250.00 per person (all inclusive, alcoholic beverages are additional)
* Dinner ONLY from 5:30pm to 8:30pm - $112.00 per person

Annual Epicurean Dinner - Saturday, February 13th
* Seating from 5pm to 9pm - $135 per person

Valentine's Brunch and Dinner - Sunday, February 14th, 2016
* Sunday Brunch (1-hour only) from 11am to 12pm - $68 per person
* Dinner served from 5pm to 9pm - $125 per person


Restaurant Photos

Erna's Elderberry House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Yosemite / Mammoth Lakes
Most Booked
Yosemite
Best Restaurants in Oakhurst ›

special occasion (18)
romantic (18)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
scenic view (10)
great for brunch (10)
notable wine list (10)
great for outdoor dining (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals we've ever had, bu ...

Dined 3 days ago

One of the best meals we've ever had, but also the most expensive meal we've ever had. The service was exquisite and the food was outstanding as was the wine pairing. The chef creates unique dishes you've probably never had anywhere else. Most of the food apparently is purchased direct from local farmers. Definitely a place to consider for special occasions. Not an every day dining spot. Given the prices charged, you won't get much privacy here as the tables are crowded way to close together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of my guests were extremely impresse ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

All of my guests were extremely impressed. The senior member said it was the best dining in his lifetime.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Dinner!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was perfect, from the exceptionally outstanding service to the mouth watering beautifully presented dishes! If you have a chance do not miss having a meal here! Seriously

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at Erna's before. It was e ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Erna's before. It was excellent, so our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. It always makes it a little more special when we are able to have a little interaction with Erna, herself. She greeted us at the door as if we were her personal guests. She came by to check on us several times. The food of course was great. The wait staff was very attentive.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Felt way too closed in for my taste, esp ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Felt way too closed in for my taste, especially for the price. We were right next to everyone around us. Fine if it was a communal table and we knew so ahead of time, but these were individual tables put way too close together.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH

Dined on May 8, 2016

THE FOOD ,SERVICE, DECOR AND ATMOSPHER WAS ALL EXCELLENT. IT WAS AS ADVERTISED

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent but fixed price is 112 per pla ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent but fixed price is 112 per plate not 50 as displayed by open table

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Extremely disappointing

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

One assumes when a chef has prepared a signature prix fixed menu it should be showing off one's best. At $200 per person it was one of the worst meals I've ever had. Scallops were rare, duck was undercooked/rare and everything else was only good looking and unbelievably odd. Having been an owner in a high end restaurant like this, it's not uncommon in my experience for the chef to get too full of themselves and miss the tastes their customers

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. They looked after all finer details. From water to bread to cutleries, not a beat was missed. We enjoyed our dinner thoroughly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 20, 2016

We went for my Mom's 70th Birthday. The food wasn't just food...it was an experience that I would recommend to all. Service was great and enjoyed Erna stopping by the table. It was our first time there so we were a little confused on how the menu and experience works. Would be helpful to explain to possible new comers a little better. I think there was an assumption that we knew. Just a minor note on an otherwise perfect evening of food, wine and fun . The service overall was amazing. Thanks for a great time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our family has been dining at Erna's sin ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Our family has been dining at Erna's since it opened and we have never been disappointed. The tasting menu is diverse and beautifully plated. Everything is delicious. The setting is relaxing and the service is impeccable from start to finish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erna's Elderberry Haus is foodie heaven

Dined on March 27, 2016

We've come here many times and are always surprised and amazed at the combination of the culinary expertise and the artful presentation of each course. One's level of contentment at the end of the meal is a good indicator of excellence! Hats off to Erna!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the finest dining experience we ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

This was the finest dining experience we have ever encountered. The service, ambiance, and meal were exceptional. If you are in to a total experience, this is the place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on March 10, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 73rd and 74th birthdays at Erna's Elderberry House. It was a wonderful experience all the way around! We were treated like royalty! The food was unique and delicious. Thank you so much for making it so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dining experience!

Dined on February 24, 2016

1st time here for our 30th wedding anniversary, what an evening! The food was fresh and delicious, the wine pairing was right on, the service was impeccable and the ambiance was transforming. Thank you for making our evening "very special!" A little pricey, but well worth the splurge. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Outstanding in every possible way from the setting, the dining room, the impeccable service, to the food that can only be described as perfection on a plate. We have dined at some of the finest restaurants in the world and this one is now included. My husband is not as much of a gourmet as I am and he was not so sure about the set menu, but he did everything but lick his plates while raving about each course! My hat is off to the Chef, Erna and the whole staff for a Valentine's day never to be forgotten.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Elderberry House provides an elegant, yet gourmet dining experience. From the ambience of the environment to the genuine warmth of the family and staff to the top notch chefs, this gourmet European style cuisine is nothing short of amazing. There is nothing common or standard about the food or the way one is treated. It is evident that everything is built upon love, whether it be the crafting of the food or the the proud family culture and environment. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE Perfectly Romantic New Year's Eve Celebration

Dined on January 1, 2016

Every moment of the evening, from the impeccable service, to the gentle rhythms of the live, 3-piece band, to the incredible food, to the celebratory champagne at midnight, and to the bon voyage cookies at the end, was a stunning success! The room was elegantly appointed with giant balloons clinging to the ceiling, and the fireworks display at the end topped everything off. Go. Don't ask yourself; just go! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Erna provided an outstanding ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

As always, Erna provided an outstanding special occasion meal. Normally Erna's is out of our price range, but when we want something extra special it is perfect. We included the wine pairings and found them excellent. On this night, the server's were charming and attentive, and the food was exquisite. The restaurant was slower than normal, perhaps because it was December 30th, so the restaurant was very quiet--classical music filled the air. As always at Erna's, none of the courses appear particularly generous, yet they are satisfying and delicious--what's more they were filling. None of us had room to finish the dessert. Thank you to Erna, her chefs and staff for a marvelous night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a very pleasant Xmas eve dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

A much better experience than one we had 2 years earlier. Tjis time, the food was excellent, service had improved, ambiance nicer

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Save your pennies for a peerless meal

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We brought our grown children here for Christmas dinner. It was exquisite. Every bite a delight. The portions were just right, by which I mean that we ate beautifully, but not so much that we felt overstuffed. It was very, very expensive, but certainly worth it for this special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Gourmet Cuisine, Elegant Interior

Dined on December 25, 2015

Cuisine is top notch and award-winning. Service is excellent. Please be aware that nowhere on the site does it state their cancellation policy until AFTER you run your credit card. (It's 48 hours advance notice). I think this needs to change. We had guests who were snowed in on Christmas Eve, and we had to pay for the two extra meals--$250. Luckily, Erna's gave us a gift certificate for two meals for the future, however we had to pay tax on the phantom diners.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A meal of a lifetime!

Dined on December 11, 2015

We live fairly near Erna's but had never eaten there because of the price. This year, we decided that, as our Christmas gift to each other, we would have dinner there. We each ordered the prixe-fixe meal, and I ordered the wine pairing. Everything was absolutely delicious, the wines superb, the service attentive and helpful, the atmosphere all that we could have wished. The portions were moderate, but when all courses are taken into account it was really more food than I wanted. The price, alas, was as extravagant as we expected. If we visit again (and I hope we do) I'll order a-la-carte instead of stuffing myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience! Best restaurant ...

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Outstanding experience! Best restaurant in the Central Valley! :)

food5
ambience5
service4

Thankful for Thanksgiving Meal

Dined on November 26, 2015

We had a delightful time and a delicious meal. We arrived shortly before the 2:00 PM reservation and had to wait for the doors to open. We were quickly seated and culinary delight began. The only hiccup in the meal was they had added another dinner party and mixed up our first course...no big deal they realized their mistake, corrected it and the service was stellar from that point forward. The food was beautifully plated, each course was described by the server and completely enjoyed by my wife and I. After three hours of culinary delight, we finished the meal with a cappuccino and a savory delight! It was well worth the time, money and effort to travel to Oakhurst and dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 50th Wedding Anniversary Dinner

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 50th anniversary somewhere special. We discovered Erna's in 1991 and have returned several times over the years. This dinner was truly magical. The ambience is lovely. The restaurant is beautiful and elegant. The service is classy but not snooty. Our waiter was friendly and accommodating . He made the evening very special. The food here is always outstanding. Every course was delicious especially the creamy Cauliflower Veloute, a delicious creamy cauliflower soup served over pomegranate seeds and cilantro. It was wonderful. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a lucky find!

Dined on November 1, 2015

The restaurant lived up to its 5-star billing in every way. The décor, ambiance, staff, food and wine were all top notch. We requested some adjustments to the set menu and it was handled without a fuss. We had the wine pairings and they were all interesting wines that enhanced the meal. We did not have the cheese course - we were tempted but the set menu is quite a lot of food. A shout-out to Starlight taxi who ferried us back and forth from our accommodation, ensuring that we enjoyed the wines without any concerns. We will try to visit the next time we are in the park.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary brunch

Dined on October 25, 2015

While we had each been to the Elderberry House separately years ago, this was our first time there, together. It was a delightful afternoon with good food and helpful and friendly staff. When I was last there in the late '80s, I enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and wonderful setting, but...I left there after brunch with the feeling that I had not had enough to eat. This was certainly not the case this time. My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and were delighted with every facet of our experience. We wished only that we could have the same experience more often.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect

Dined on October 18, 2015

Our family always uses Erna's for special occasions and entertaining guests. The food is superb. Creative and beautifully presented by a professional wait staff. It never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and hospitality, just okay food

Dined on October 17, 2015

We have gone here maybe 15 times in the last 12 years. Overall, we love this place. But, the food is hit, or miss. Sometimes, it is amazing. Other times, it is just okay. This last visit was just okay. The service is always amazing, and their hospitality really makes you feel like you are a VIP. We will continue to come back here, but we could have spent half the money and received a better meal at many other fine dining establishments. But, sometimes their food cannot be matched. And, that is a large part of why we keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful restaurant for a specia ...

Dined on October 16, 2015

What a wonderful restaurant for a special occasion! Each course was better the first!

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection in the mountains.

Dined on October 4, 2015

Erna's never fails to impress with the quality and originality of the menu and the peerless service. Because it's a set menu (with accommodations for allergies, of course), we usually try something we might never have ordered and it's always excellent. Allow plenty of time to enjoy your meal (2-3 hours). Although each course is a small serving, you will be more than satisfied by the time the exquisite dessert arrives.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable

Dined on August 18, 2015

I've been to restaurants all over Europe and the U.S. and I must say, I've never had an experience like this. This is not a place to stop for a "quick bite." It is an event. I'll forego eating at so-so restaurants just to be able to go to Elderberry House a couple times a year. The service is impeccable. They are there if you need them, but they don't "hover." Plan on at least 2.5 hours. A lot of time between courses to digest and visit with your companions. When the first course came, I thought I'll have to go for a hamburger afterwords to fill up. Not so, by the time the last course was finished, I was stuffed. And the food....heavenly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for special moments.

Dined on August 13, 2015

We got married at the Chateau and returned for our 5 yr. wedding anniversary. Erna's Elderberry House made this moment very special and we will return. One of very few 5 star restaurants in the area. Would love to return again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

Dined on August 8, 2015

After bringing a company group of 14 here last year (where they worked very well with me to stay within our budget), we decided to bring our 18 year-old son and his friend here last week for a fine-dining experience. Veal was on the menu, and everyone said it was the best they had ever had. Erna's serves appropriate portions for the number of courses (not Claim Jumper size). The vichyssoise was the only thing everyone at the table did not absolutely love, but my son's friend ate almost all of ours! There was not a speck of food left after we finished. Erna visiting our table was a nice touch, even bringing a plate, and our boys said they felt like they had met royalty. My son said he even loved the glasses that cast interesting shows on the white tablecloths, so we are currently shopping for those. We will visit this place every trip to Yosemite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

An Amazing Dining Experience!

vip
Dined on August 5, 2015

The menu changes daily. We had swordfish and chicken breast. That was the basis of our meals. The preparation and presentation were wonderful. Check online to see if they have the local menu on Tue evening. The dinners are prix fix, but they do provide some a la carte orders from that menu. The personal service starts with menus printed with the name the on reservation. Samuel provided help with food and wine selections and made the evening more special. It was nice to chat with Erna and Jonathon (chef). When it was time for dessert, they suggested we move outside and sit near the fountain. It was a lovely night and so nice to be outside. Dessert was carrot cake as well as a scoop each of dark chocolate, coconut and raspberry sorbet. All in all it was an amazing evening of delicious food and wonderful service. If you are anywhere near Oakhurst (we stayed here while visiting Yosemite) be sure to arrange for dinner at Erna's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Erna's is always a treat

Dined on July 20, 2015

Have been celebrating our anniversary at Erna's for several years. It's pricey but worth it. The only negative comment is regarding the wine list. The prices have gone ballistic. A few more affordable wines on the list would be appreciated. So many were in the 6 figure category.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always!

Dined on July 20, 2015

Erna makes a special occasion even more special. The food is exquisit and the service is outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A very Happy 33rd Anniversary

Dined on July 20, 2015

We are new in the area and wanted to celebrate our 33rd anniversary in style. The Elderberry House restaurant lived up to its hype and more. The staff is very accomodating, we arrived at 5pm, 1/2 hour before they open to the public and we were seated at the bar with smiles. They served us drinks and continued to prepare the flower arrangements while chatting with us. The staff is incredibly professional, knowledgeable, amiable and a delight to interact with. We were invited to inspect the dining rooms and gardens and if we wanted be seated early. This could go on for ever, suffice to say we received a personalized menu (congratulating us on our anniversary no less), the staff took us through the evenings fare and options. Although the menu was fixed they did offer a choice of main entre if desired. Several courses later, including individual wine servings for each course the chef served us a special treat, not listed on the menu, and personally congratulated us on our Anniversary. There were several treats not listed on the menu throughout the evenings meal that just enhanced the delicious food served at this top notch restaurant. I won't go into details as your menu will be tailored to you. After dinner we were invided to stay at the table for as long as desired, or walk the garden grounds, visit the bar etc. All in all a very memorable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Well sourced. Excellently executed.

vip
Dined on July 4, 2015

The overall experience was very well-done from the amuse bouche, appetizer, main course and cheese tray. The dessert was a little sloppy, but tasty nonetheless. The wine selection was well-done and our waiter very knowledgable and helpful. However, the cost for the meal was very high and we cannot shake the feeling that we could get a comparble meal for less in other more cosmopolitan venues.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.