Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Erna's Elderberry House

"I have the simplest of tastes, I only want the best." These words, compliments of Oscar Wilde, can be found over the kitchen door at Erna's Elderberry House Restaurant on the grounds of Château du Sureau. They seem to sum up the exquisite experience of dining at Erna's Elderberry House and the adjacent Château, where the vast culinary talents of Chef de Cuisine Jonathon Perkins now reign supreme.

The restaurant, with its European country-estate atmosphere, is divided into three lovely dining areas, each adorned with antique French provincial furnishings, magnificent tapestries and original oil paintings. A stately terrace with a commanding view of the Sierra Nevada Mountains adds to the fabulous ambiance.

48688 Victoria Lane
Oakhurst, CA 93644
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Vegetarian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Annual Winter Break - closed from Monday, January 2nd through Thursday, January 19th, 2017.

Regular Hours of Operation - April through December
Dinner: M-Su 5:30pm-8:30pm
Brunch: Su 11:00am-1:00pm

Winter Hours - January through April
Dinner: Tue-Su 5:30pm - 8:00pm
Brunch: Su 11:00am - 1:00pm

Please know the Restaurant will be closed each Monday in observance of the Winter months - from now through the end of March.

Cross Street:
Highway 41

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 683-6800

Website:
http://www.chateausureau.com/

Catering:
Whether it be a wedding, birthday, anniversary, or corporate gathering. Let us offer you our delectable cuisine, attentive service and expertise. Whether it be 50 guests or 500 guests, we will ensure you gathering is one of a kind.

Parking Details:
From Fresno, take Highway 41 North towards Coarsegold/Oakhurst
We are 20 minutes from the South Entrance to Yosemite

4 Hours from San Francisco
4 Hours from Los Angeles

We are at a 3,000 foot elevation, snow is possible (but rare) in the winter months.

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
The three dining rooms of Erna's Elderberry House, the Escoffier, the Point or the Paul Bocuse can all be rented exclusively for your group. The Escoffier easily seats up to 55 guests, the Point seats up to 35 guests and the Paul Bocuse will easily accommodate a group of twelve.

Private Party Contact:
Carina Stephens: (559) 683-6800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Annual Epicurean Dinner - Sunday, February 12th, 2017
* Seating from 5pm to 9pm - $135 per person
(spirits, wine, tax and gratuity are additional)

Valentine's Dinner - Tuesday, February 14th, 2017
* Seating from 5pm to 9pm - Dinner $125 per person
(spirits, wine, tax and gratuity are additional)

Easter Brunch - Sunday, April 17th, 2017
* seating from 10am to 3pm

Mother's Day Brunch - Sunday, May 14th, 2017
* seating from 10am to 3pm

Father's Day - Sunday, June 18th, 2017
* Sunday Brunch and Dinner will be served at our regular hours

Elderberry Harvest Dinner - Sunday, July 23rd, 2017

"An Evening in Vienna" - Sunday, August 20th, 2017

Thanksgiving Dinner - Thursday, November 23rd, 2017

Christmas Eve Dinner - Sunday, December 24th, 2017

Christmas Day Dinner - Monday, December 25th, 2017

New Year's Eve Gala - Sunday, December 31st, 2017

Erna's Elderberry House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Scenic View (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The setting is magical, and, as always, the courses and wine pairings were delightful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We had two spectacular dinners at Erna's while staying at the adjacent Chateau. Everything was perfect. The wine pairings and chef's creations made for memorable experiences.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We took our friends from Japan and they loved it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My husband and I had our 24th wedding anniversary on June 11th, Brunch. Food , Service, Ambiance was exceptional. We will reurn.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. We like to bring out of town friends who are always impressed. We always get the window table we prefer

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This is one the finest restaurants in the United States. I do believe that Erna's rivals French laundry which is my all-time favorite.
The difference is you are Tucktaway in a château which makes you feel like you were in another world . The five course tasting menu and wine pairing were delectable .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Spectacular in every way. Each bite was delicious. The wine pairings were on target. It was the perfect meal for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Hello,
For starters, thank you for an incredible experience. Our reservation was for 8:15pm Saturday June 3rd, (my wife B-day) and it was to be a surprise!! we're running late. Coming from Yosemite where we had hiked all day(It was my wife subtle hint a few days earlier to go to Yosemite for a day. we live in long Beach). Had it all figured out, we would be back in Oakhurst by 6:30pm, have time to get cleaned up/suited up and make it to Elderberry.
We got too the Yosemite floor at 6:30am and headed up too Vernal falls, from Vernal we headed up to Nevada Falls(what beauty). From there she thought, let's try lllilouette Falls(it's about 11am. thinking time wise its cool, she doesn't know about the restaurant date ). so we headed out and as we walked the conversation turned too, if we go that far, it's closer to just head up
to Glacier Point, grab the shuttle bus there and cruise back down to valley floor. Enjoy more incredible beauty,(I'm thinking we still have plenty of time). We headed up to Glacier Point, totally filled with the beauty of the day. On a few occasions,Hikers passed us and asked us if there was a shuttle at Glacier? Made me wonder.

Got to Glacier Point, saw some tour buses and figured, we're good, went to the shop there and asked the lady behind the counter if we could jump on the shuttle. She said, "there is no shuttle. Its a tour bus, tickets are sold out, you'll have to hike the 4 mile trail down to the valley floor, next!!". Guess what, time problem. We downed a Gatorade and headed down, got down and realized are car is about 2 miles away. Because of a couple bears, shuttle stuck in traffic, got to our car at 7:30pm. Your restaurant is 1 1/2 hours away. Yikes!! Had to tell my wife to call you and say were running really late, she wants to cancel, but because of your kindness, we got there at 8:45 with our hiking clothes and you allowed us to have best meal and service ever. Thank you for understanding and making my wife's B-day so cool..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food and outstanding service. The staff make you feel like family, and go out of their way to make your experience a special one.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Some service struggles (wrong dish, didn't offer a taste of wine before pouring) from younger staff...excellent in all other regards...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This hidden gem in the Sierra's is a fantastic experience with incredible food. Amazing service compliments the cuisine, and the chef is creative and focused on delighting the customers, not proving some culinary point. We go here every time we are in the area, and will continue to do so.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Small details, like personalized Menu with our name,that really made a difference.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Wonderful special occasion evening dining event. New a la cartel menu makes it easier for all parties to order. Portions were nice sized

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We had the BEST time here! The staff was attentive but not hovering. They were also extremely nice. Not at all snooty. The food was amazing. I especially loved the Foie Gras parfait and the Duck was the best I've ever had. I don't understand why other reviewer's have called this place expensive. With drinks it was less than $90 a person and an amazing experience. Don't think, just st go!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Gosh--we had dinner here three separate times years ago, and always enjoyed it. This time, I am sad to say, the taste of the food was just not that exceptional. It was just OK for this type of restaurant. The potato/leek soup was very good, but the berry/foie gras parfait appetizer was not, could not taste the foie gras. The desserts had overly complicated and fussy plating which was pretty to look at, but just not delicious--kind of bland actually, and some of the decorative droplets of sauce tasted spoiled. We were all generally disappointed with the food, and all the more so when the cost of the meal was considered. The staff is very kind and well trained, and the atmosphere, decor, and gardens are lovely. They try very hard to make it a special evening, and it is a genuinely welcoming and elegant place. Based on the past, we would have only imagined it was going to be a 5 star evening all around, but regretfully that was not the case this time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Incredible and stupendous in every way! One of the most elegant and gourmet meals of my life. The attention to detail is outstanding without being pretenious, and Erna is so very gracious and welcoming!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Erna's Elderberry House never fails to please. We have been there a dozen times and always look forward to our next visit. We were there most recently for Sunday brunch Memorial Day weekend, what a great time to visit. There were just a few people there so it felt like a private event just for us. One of these times after dinner we are going to stay in one of their beautiful rooms.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great experience from the moment we arrived and had handmade cocktails and mocktails in the cellar bar until the finish of our 5 course prix-fixe menu which with all of the amuse bouche and extra desserts was mire like 10 courses. Each course was presented elegantly and each was more flavorful than the last. Quite an experience for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed our brunch for our anniversary. I highly recommend the tasting menu which is a lot of food, to experience things you would not normally try. Bob appetit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have been there three times now, absolutely love the atmosphere. The whole 5 course meal is just an experience. I feel like I am in a fairy tale when I go there. Have stayed at the Chateau twice and that is a dream come true in my opinion. We did not stay this time, and the place we chose instead was just awful. Will never do that again, already looking into next trip in a few months. Thank you. Also the change to menu that you can choose another item instead of pre-set dishes I really liked. The halibut was fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The meal was excellent. The lamb was the best I've had in a long time. The waitstaff was exceptional, it was really a treat to see the young men and women with such good manners and professionalism.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very disappointed in the food and selection. Seems there are several menus, one of which
we were not privy too - called a "local" menu, which as it turns out, I would have been much
happier with. Just happened to be seated next to two people who had that choice.
Very strange evening and forget the jacket and tie recommendation!!! My husband, being
a serious follower of "recommendations" was dressed nicely in his sport coat, shirt and
dark pants, looking the perfect gentleman that he is. Unfortunately, we stuck out among
the other diners, who apparently didn't read the "recs". I did not feel very well after eating
the duck (didn't eat much of it - very, very rare) and the cherry "shooter"-yuk! Not as
we remembered it from 3 years ago - we dropped $325 for this not-so-great evening and food!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had the Mother's Day brunch menu. All the courses were outstanding! The seating in the patio outside was beautiful. A memorable and highly enjoyable meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our evening started with a delicious champagne cocktail served by Shane, the restaurant's mixologist. The bar area is cozy and much like a European castle room.
We then moved to the beautifully decorated dining room to begin our sumptuous meal. Every course was delicious and the service was outstanding. Our waiter/mixologist Shane perfectly described each course as it was served. Our taste buds were delighted with every bite. We were treated royally as were all the guests.
We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Erna, as well as her daughter, Renee-Nicole who is the wine director. Lucky us!!
Choose Erna's Elderberry House if you are looking for dining perfection.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Simply said, amazing restaurant. White glove service, delicious food, unique menu, great ambience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent in every aspect! Can not wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was delicious. Small portions. Attentive servers. Beautiful setting.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fabulous food! Very creative and yet extremely flavourful. One of the best meals in the U.S. Maitre d'hotel and wine specialist was fantastic. She really knows public service and her wines. The waiter Nicholas was a little off-putting. He was rather strange and not very approachable and rushed through things when the restaurant wasn't that busy. All the other staff were exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing service - we celebrated our anniversary and completely enjoyed the evening. The staff was amazing and pampered us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a beautiful brunch with a very nice waiter. We also received a tour of the grounds after which made the experience even better! We loved every minute and would highly recommend this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Extremely attentive service and ambiance. Tables are not placed too close to each other. The food is quite excellent and perfectly prepared. However, in relation to fine dining in such places as Santa Fe. Irna's is on the high end.
We would return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a lovely Easter brunch. I've never had anything less than elegance and beautifully prepared and presented meals at Erna's. We highly recommend it for special occasions or just to treat yourself.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Years ago I took my mother and some family to Erna's for Mother's Day and this year, my mother returned the favor by taking my wife and our small family to dinner for my 49th birthday.

Looking back, I cannot remember ever having such amazing service anywhere in the world. The staff entered our private dining room and placed each dish of our five course dinner, in front of us with a touch of elegance. Their attention to detail was impeccable.

The presentation of each dish wowed us all, as did its spectacular flavor and uniqueness.

To cap off a exceptional dinner, we had the pleasure of a visit from Erna herself as well as her daughter. Together they make a great team and we all look forward to visiting again and will graciously brag to our friends in days to come, about our outstanding and wonderful experience at Erna's Elderberry House.

-Maurice

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our brunch for my friend's 60th birthday was flawless! The ambience, food, and especially the service were all top notch. I would definitely recommend the Elderberry House to anyone who would enjoy this lovely throw back to more elegant, refined times...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My 86 year old mother wanted to take her children and their spouses out to Sunday Brunch and chose Erna's Elderberry House. She and my Dad stayed at the Chateau and had a meal many years ago and wanted to take us there. We were 7 adults and in a lovely private room. The service was attentive, friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and elegantly presented.
We had so much fun we stayed for 2 1/2 hours. We recommend Erna's for any occasion. You won't be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Loved the new menu and all the choices. It was hard to choose. I ordered 3 courses ($75) and my husband had the traditional 5 course menu. We shared everything and that was fun. The cheese course (I LOVE cheese) and the wine pairings were well thought out and above average. Highly recommend dessert and coffee outside after dinner (even though I didn't order dessert but ate most of my husband's). Go early so you can catch the sunset on the patio.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Definitely 5 star. Comparable to the best we had in France.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Erna's is like going to the opera or a Broadway play. It is otherworldly, especially to an average guy like me. It was spectacular, very unusual, exotic, and new.
I loved trying all the new items, and they were all new to me!
Criticisms? The quail was "lightly smoked," which I interpreted to me that it was not cooked per se but smoked for a while. Its texture was leaning toward raw to me, which I do not prefer. The snickerdoodle at the end was dry. I prefer them to have a bit of moisture in the center giving them a slightly chewy texture.
You can't beat Erna's Elderberry House for that once-in-a-lifetime experience, but you have to be rich or a foodie to go there often.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I'm a foodie, my husband is not. Have heard that this place is wonderful and wanted to try, but it wasn't hubby's type of place. Posted online and gathered a group of locals through Facebook to try it -- generated a dinner club and had an awesome time together. Several met in advance of our reservation in the warm, friendly bar for a pre-dinner cocktail. Shane did a superb job taking care of everyone's orders and making us welcome. We then moved to a private dining room where 10 of us were elegantly seated for a dining experience, par excellance! We ordered from a "locals only" menu, making the three course offering more affordable but no skimping on five star service, quality of presentation or deliciousness! It was outstanding in every special way possible. Erna herself stopped in to make sure we were happy. For a special occasion, I will definitely return and bring my out of town company to be impressed. Might even drop by the bar "of an evening" to say hello again to Shane and have another spectacular cocktail.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This is wonderful dining experience. The food exceptional, service top notch. We plain to experience this amazing foray into a food heaven again in the very near future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.