About Erna's Elderberry House

48688 Victoria Lane
Oakhurst, CA 93644
View Larger Map

"I have the simplest of tastes, I only want the best." These words, compliments of Oscar Wilde, can be found over the kitchen door at Erna's Elderberry House Restaurant on the grounds of Château du Sureau. They seem to sum up the exquisite experience of dining at Erna's Elderberry House and the adjacent Château, where the vast culinary talents of Chef de Cuisine Jonathon Perkins now reign supreme.

The restaurant, with its European country-estate atmosphere, is divided into three lovely dining areas, each adorned with antique French provincial furnishings, magnificent tapestries and original oil paintings. A stately terrace with a commanding view of the Sierra Nevada Mountains adds to the fabulous ambiance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Annual Winter Break - closed from January 3rd - January 21st, 2016

Dinner: M-Su 5:30pm-8:30pm
Brunch: Su 11:00am-1:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 41

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 683-6800

Website:
http://www.elderberryhouse.com/

Catering:
Whether it be a wedding, birthday, anniversary, or corporate gathering. Let us offer you our delectable cuisine, attentive service and expertise. Whether it be 50 guests or 500 guests, we will ensure you gathering is one of a kind.

Parking Details:
From Fresno, take Highway 41 North towards Coarsegold/Oakhurst
We are 20 minutes from the South Entrance to Yosemite

4 Hours from San Francisco
4 Hours from Los Angeles

We are at a 3,000 foot elevation, snow is possible (but rare) in the winter months.

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
The three dining rooms of Erna's Elderberry House, the Escoffier, the Point or the Paul Bocuse can all be rented exclusively for your group. The Escoffier easily seats up to 55 guests, the Point seats up to 35 guests and the Paul Bocuse will easily accommodate a group of twelve.

Private Party Contact:
Carina Stephens: 5596836800x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"In The Spirit of St. Valentine" - Dinner and Concert - Friday, February 13th
* Concert and Champagne Service 6:30pm - $250.00 per person (all inclusive, alcoholic beverages are additional)
* Dinner ONLY from 5:30pm to 8:30pm - $112.00 per person

Annual Epicurean Dinner - Saturday, February 13th
* Seating from 5pm to 9pm - $135 per person

Valentine's Brunch and Dinner - Sunday, February 14th, 2016
* Sunday Brunch (1-hour only) from 11am to 12pm - $68 per person
* Dinner served from 5pm to 9pm - $125 per person


Restaurant Photos

  • Erna's Elderberry House
Erna's Elderberry House

Erna's Elderberry House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Yosemite / Mammoth Lakes
Most Booked
Yosemite
Best Restaurants in Oakhurst ›

special occasion (23)
romantic (22)
fit for foodies (17)
See All
notable wine list (14)
scenic view (10)
great for brunch (9)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a great evening for a special occ ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was a great evening for a special occasion. It is pricey so you can't go often. With the menu pre planned it was a special surprise to have lamb which is my favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite!! Our dining experience was lo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Exquisite!! Our dining experience was lovely. From the moment we walked in and throughout the evening we felt welcomed and well attended too. Erna herself, was not only there to greet, but came to each table to say hello and chat briefly. The wait staff was friendly, informative, and invisible while we were dining. Never disrupting conversation during our meal. Each and every dish was prepared with ultimate and careful detail with perfection in mind. My husband had never experienced oysters or duck, yet he enjoy both dishes. We had the wine pairings suggested with each course, as well as the cheese platter. Considering the amount of food we ate over a three hour dinner, we were not uncomfortable. The time in between each course was well planned and portions were generous. My only regret is having waited so many years to enjoy this incredible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were late getting there and being roa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were late getting there and being road weary were in no mood for indifferent service so we walked out

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The food and service at Erna's is always ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service at Erna's is always outstanding. We always have the set price dinner menu. The chef will alter the menu for any special dietary needs you may have. We have never been disappointed !

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire experience at Erna's was awes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The entire experience at Erna's was awesome. The service is on point, the ambiance is upscale comfort and the food was inventive and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For years, we've wanted to dine at the E ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

For years, we've wanted to dine at the Elderberry House. It is a local gem, and we know that. It really came down to finding the right reason because the experience is a pricey one. We opted for the 5 course meal (omitted the optional cheese plate). The portions are small, but when all combined, we were quite full by the end.

There were some items that I'd never eaten, but I'm so glad that I tried. My wife has severe limitations on alcohol used in preparation (or general consumption). I let the chef know ahead of time, and a menu specific for her was designed ahead of time. Such class!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit pricey, as expected, but for a spe ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A bit pricey, as expected, but for a special occasion, A fantastic experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

solid five star

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Have been to Erna's several times over the past fifteen years. Five star food and service every time, never disappointed. My wife and I have enjoyed foods that we would never have ordered from reading a menu. Absolutely amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

From the time we walked in the door, we felt like we were the most important people. The waiter and chief were just outstanding, and the dinner, what can I say? It was excellently, just excellent! Thank you for an outstanding experience!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere and service, delici ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and service, delicious food but simply too expensive at $200 each with one of their more reasonable bottles of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Go for it

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Perhaps not for a casual meal but a fine dining experience for those that do. Attentive service at a leisurely pace in a comfortable, quiet dining room. 5 course daily prix fixe menus offer a variety of delicious taste treats along with several surprises as the meal progresses. My only regret is that I was not staying the night as a pleasant walk to a room would have been perfect. I'll make that correction next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time was Great

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We enjoyed our entire meal, food, service and ambiance. We ate inside, but given the choice , outdoors would have been the way to experience the great food and the beautiful site.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals we've ever had, bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever had, but also the most expensive meal we've ever had. The service was exquisite and the food was outstanding as was the wine pairing. The chef creates unique dishes you've probably never had anywhere else. Most of the food apparently is purchased direct from local farmers. Definitely a place to consider for special occasions. Not an every day dining spot. Given the prices charged, you won't get much privacy here as the tables are crowded way to close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All of my guests were extremely impresse ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

All of my guests were extremely impressed. The senior member said it was the best dining in his lifetime.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Dinner!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was perfect, from the exceptionally outstanding service to the mouth watering beautifully presented dishes! If you have a chance do not miss having a meal here! Seriously

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Erna's before. It was e ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Erna's before. It was excellent, so our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. It always makes it a little more special when we are able to have a little interaction with Erna, herself. She greeted us at the door as if we were her personal guests. She came by to check on us several times. The food of course was great. The wait staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt way too closed in for my taste, esp ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Felt way too closed in for my taste, especially for the price. We were right next to everyone around us. Fine if it was a communal table and we knew so ahead of time, but these were individual tables put way too close together.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

THE FOOD ,SERVICE, DECOR AND ATMOSPHER WAS ALL EXCELLENT. IT WAS AS ADVERTISED

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but fixed price is 112 per pla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent but fixed price is 112 per plate not 50 as displayed by open table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely disappointing

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

One assumes when a chef has prepared a signature prix fixed menu it should be showing off one's best. At $200 per person it was one of the worst meals I've ever had. Scallops were rare, duck was undercooked/rare and everything else was only good looking and unbelievably odd. Having been an owner in a high end restaurant like this, it's not uncommon in my experience for the chef to get too full of themselves and miss the tastes their customers

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

outstanding

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. They looked after all finer details. From water to bread to cutleries, not a beat was missed. We enjoyed our dinner thoroughly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We went for my Mom's 70th Birthday. The food wasn't just food...it was an experience that I would recommend to all. Service was great and enjoyed Erna stopping by the table. It was our first time there so we were a little confused on how the menu and experience works. Would be helpful to explain to possible new comers a little better. I think there was an assumption that we knew. Just a minor note on an otherwise perfect evening of food, wine and fun . The service overall was amazing. Thanks for a great time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family has been dining at Erna's sin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Our family has been dining at Erna's since it opened and we have never been disappointed. The tasting menu is diverse and beautifully plated. Everything is delicious. The setting is relaxing and the service is impeccable from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Erna's Elderberry Haus is foodie heaven

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We've come here many times and are always surprised and amazed at the combination of the culinary expertise and the artful presentation of each course. One's level of contentment at the end of the meal is a good indicator of excellence! Hats off to Erna!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the finest dining experience we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

This was the finest dining experience we have ever encountered. The service, ambiance, and meal were exceptional.

If you are in to a total experience, this is the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Celebration

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 73rd and 74th birthdays at Erna's Elderberry House. It was a wonderful experience all the way around! We were treated like royalty! The food was unique and delicious. Thank you so much for making it so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dining experience!

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

1st time here for our 30th wedding anniversary, what an evening! The food was fresh and delicious, the wine pairing was right on, the service was impeccable and the ambiance was transforming. Thank you for making our evening "very special!" A little pricey, but well worth the splurge. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Outstanding in every possible way from the setting, the dining room, the impeccable service, to the food that can only be described as perfection on a plate. We have dined at some of the finest restaurants in the world and this one is now included. My husband is not as much of a gourmet as I am and he was not so sure about the set menu, but he did everything but lick his plates while raving about each course! My hat is off to the Chef, Erna and the whole staff for a Valentine's day never to be forgotten.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Elderberry House provides an elegant, yet gourmet dining experience. From the ambience of the environment to the genuine warmth of the family and staff to the top notch chefs, this gourmet European style cuisine is nothing short of amazing. There is nothing common or standard about the food or the way one is treated. It is evident that everything is built upon love, whether it be the crafting of the food or the the proud family culture and environment. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE Perfectly Romantic New Year's Eve Celebration

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Every moment of the evening, from the impeccable service, to the gentle rhythms of the live, 3-piece band, to the incredible food, to the celebratory champagne at midnight, and to the bon voyage cookies at the end, was a stunning success! The room was elegantly appointed with giant balloons clinging to the ceiling, and the fireworks display at the end topped everything off. Go. Don't ask yourself; just go! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Erna provided an outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

As always, Erna provided an outstanding special occasion meal. Normally Erna's is out of our price range, but when we want something extra special it is perfect. We included the wine pairings and found them excellent. On this night, the server's were charming and attentive, and the food was exquisite. The restaurant was slower than normal, perhaps because it was December 30th, so the restaurant was very quiet--classical music filled the air.

As always at Erna's, none of the courses appear particularly generous, yet they are satisfying and delicious--what's more they were filling. None of us had room to finish the dessert.

Thank you to Erna, her chefs and staff for a marvelous night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very pleasant Xmas eve dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

A much better experience than one we had 2 years earlier. Tjis time, the food was excellent, service had improved, ambiance nicer

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Save your pennies for a peerless meal

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We brought our grown children here for Christmas dinner. It was exquisite. Every bite a delight. The portions were just right, by which I mean that we ate beautifully, but not so much that we felt overstuffed. It was very, very expensive, but certainly worth it for this special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gourmet Cuisine, Elegant Interior

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Cuisine is top notch and award-winning. Service is excellent. Please be aware that nowhere on the site does it state their cancellation policy until AFTER you run your credit card. (It's 48 hours advance notice). I think this needs to change. We had guests who were snowed in on Christmas Eve, and we had to pay for the two extra meals--$250. Luckily, Erna's gave us a gift certificate for two meals for the future, however we had to pay tax on the phantom diners.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Special Spot fot for Celebration in ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Very Special Spot fot for Celebration in the Mountains!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A meal of a lifetime!

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

We live fairly near Erna's but had never eaten there because of the price. This year, we decided that, as our Christmas gift to each other, we would have dinner there. We each ordered the prixe-fixe meal, and I ordered the wine pairing. Everything was absolutely delicious, the wines superb, the service attentive and helpful, the atmosphere all that we could have wished. The portions were moderate, but when all courses are taken into account it was really more food than I wanted. The price, alas, was as extravagant as we expected. If we visit again (and I hope we do) I'll order a-la-carte instead of stuffing myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience! Best restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Outstanding experience! Best restaurant in the Central Valley! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thankful for Thanksgiving Meal

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We had a delightful time and a delicious meal. We arrived shortly before the 2:00 PM reservation and had to wait for the doors to open. We were quickly seated and culinary delight began. The only hiccup in the meal was they had added another dinner party and mixed up our first course...no big deal they realized their mistake, corrected it and the service was stellar from that point forward. The food was beautifully plated, each course was described by the server and completely enjoyed by my wife and I. After three hours of culinary delight, we finished the meal with a cappuccino and a savory delight! It was well worth the time, money and effort to travel to Oakhurst and dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our 50th Wedding Anniversary Dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 50th anniversary somewhere special. We discovered Erna's in 1991 and have returned several times over the years. This dinner was truly magical. The ambience is lovely. The restaurant is beautiful and elegant. The service is classy but not snooty. Our waiter was friendly and accommodating . He made the evening very special. The food here is always outstanding. Every course was delicious especially the creamy Cauliflower Veloute, a delicious creamy cauliflower soup served over pomegranate seeds and cilantro. It was wonderful. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a lucky find!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The restaurant lived up to its 5-star billing in every way. The décor, ambiance, staff, food and wine were all top notch. We requested some adjustments to the set menu and it was handled without a fuss. We had the wine pairings and they were all interesting wines that enhanced the meal. We did not have the cheese course - we were tempted but the set menu is quite a lot of food. A shout-out to Starlight taxi who ferried us back and forth from our accommodation, ensuring that we enjoyed the wines without any concerns. We will try to visit the next time we are in the park.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.