About Erna's Elderberry House

48688 Victoria Lane
Oakhurst, CA 93644
View Larger Map

"I have the simplest of tastes, I only want the best." These words, compliments of Oscar Wilde, can be found over the kitchen door at Erna's Elderberry House Restaurant on the grounds of Château du Sureau. They seem to sum up the exquisite experience of dining at Erna's Elderberry House and the adjacent Château, where the vast culinary talents of Chef de Cuisine Jonathon Perkins now reign supreme.

The restaurant, with its European country-estate atmosphere, is divided into three lovely dining areas, each adorned with antique French provincial furnishings, magnificent tapestries and original oil paintings. A stately terrace with a commanding view of the Sierra Nevada Mountains adds to the fabulous ambiance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Annual Winter Break - closed from January 3rd - January 21st, 2016

Dinner: M-Su 5:30pm-8:30pm
Brunch: Su 11:00am-1:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 41

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 683-6800

Website:
http://www.elderberryhouse.com/

Catering:
Whether it be a wedding, birthday, anniversary, or corporate gathering. Let us offer you our delectable cuisine, attentive service and expertise. Whether it be 50 guests or 500 guests, we will ensure you gathering is one of a kind.

Parking Details:
From Fresno, take Highway 41 North towards Coarsegold/Oakhurst
We are 20 minutes from the South Entrance to Yosemite

4 Hours from San Francisco
4 Hours from Los Angeles

We are at a 3,000 foot elevation, snow is possible (but rare) in the winter months.

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Perkins

Private Party Facilities:
The three dining rooms of Erna's Elderberry House, the Escoffier, the Point or the Paul Bocuse can all be rented exclusively for your group. The Escoffier easily seats up to 55 guests, the Point seats up to 35 guests and the Paul Bocuse will easily accommodate a group of twelve.

Private Party Contact:
Carina Stephens: 5596836800x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"In The Spirit of St. Valentine" - Dinner and Concert - Friday, February 13th
* Concert and Champagne Service 6:30pm - $250.00 per person (all inclusive, alcoholic beverages are additional)
* Dinner ONLY from 5:30pm to 8:30pm - $112.00 per person

Annual Epicurean Dinner - Saturday, February 13th
* Seating from 5pm to 9pm - $135 per person

Valentine's Brunch and Dinner - Sunday, February 14th, 2016
* Sunday Brunch (1-hour only) from 11am to 12pm - $68 per person
* Dinner served from 5pm to 9pm - $125 per person


Restaurant Photos

  • Erna's Elderberry House
Erna's Elderberry House

Erna's Elderberry House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Yosemite / Mammoth Lakes
Most Booked
Yosemite
Best Restaurants in Oakhurst ›

Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Scenic View (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful, innovative food. Lovely, atte ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful, innovative food. Lovely, attentive staff. Worth a detour. Good for a destination dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The menu for 8/21 was outstanding!! Love ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The menu for 8/21 was outstanding!! Loved the menu and the music!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my mother -in-lin-law for her 85 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We took my mother -in-lin-law for her 85th birthday. It was the annual Vienna evening , celebrating the owner's home country of Austria. As my mother-in-law is from Germany, she was delighted. Food, ambiance, attentiveness of staff made for such a special night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place. I recommend the wine pa ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent place. I recommend the wine pairings. The food is excellent and the service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In our 52 years of marriage, I have had ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

In our 52 years of marriage, I have had the opportunity to wine and dine my wife in many fine places . Erna's Elderberry is clearly the finest of them all.

It is a hidden gem in the relatively small mountain town of Oakhurst, CA about 45 miles from Fresno. And then, it is on a small street and not visable to the tourists driving by. Our daughter found it through friends and, knowing we were spending a week at nearby Bass Lake, she gave us a gift certificate.

Elderberry features a five course prix fixe dinner and they suggest wine pairings for each course. Each course presents well and the tastes are far above the fine dinning average. The wine list is quite extensive from several countries and while most bottles are under $100, many are several hundred to a few under $2,000 and one for $5,800.

Erna is from Austria so we enjoyed a European evening we remember from my military days long ago. Elderberry also has a number of rooms and a spa. Both are clearly for the well to do.

We thoroughly enjoyed our most expensive dinner, but that's what happens when we have shared a life time of love.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal at an outstanding price ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Outstanding meal at an outstanding price. The wine flight pairs wonderfully with the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Erna's Elderberry House to ce ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went to Erna's Elderberry House to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We had a great experience. The food was excellent and presented well. The wait staff were very knowledgeable and very attentive but not obtrusive. We could not have had a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ernas Elderberry house is a fantastic ge ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Ernas Elderberry house is a fantastic gem just minutes from Fresno and the Yosemite Valley. The cuisine is ever changing showcasing seasonal fruits and vegetables. The food is delicately prepared and served with great care. The wait staff is professional and courteous. California's central valley is lucky to have a place like Erna's. Erna is a delightful host and deserves every great review. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having become weary of hotel buffet food ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Having become weary of hotel buffet food we were looking forward to 'home-style' cooking. We were pleasantly surprised to discover the restaurant was a Relais & Chateaux establishment and five courses later we emerged with our faith in food fully restored. Quite simply, one of the best restaurants in the US.

Tags: Group Bookings, Romance, Special Occasions, Lunch, Scenic View, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and services are excellent. Fancy a ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food and services are excellent. Fancy and a little bit on expensive side, but it is worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best of the best!!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The best of the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great evening for a special occ ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was a great evening for a special occasion. It is pricey so you can't go often. With the menu pre planned it was a special surprise to have lamb which is my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite!! Our dining experience was lo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Exquisite!! Our dining experience was lovely. From the moment we walked in and throughout the evening we felt welcomed and well attended too. Erna herself, was not only there to greet, but came to each table to say hello and chat briefly. The wait staff was friendly, informative, and invisible while we were dining. Never disrupting conversation during our meal. Each and every dish was prepared with ultimate and careful detail with perfection in mind. My husband had never experienced oysters or duck, yet he enjoy both dishes. We had the wine pairings suggested with each course, as well as the cheese platter. Considering the amount of food we ate over a three hour dinner, we were not uncomfortable. The time in between each course was well planned and portions were generous. My only regret is having waited so many years to enjoy this incredible experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were late getting there and being roa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were late getting there and being road weary were in no mood for indifferent service so we walked out

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The food and service at Erna's is always ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service at Erna's is always outstanding. We always have the set price dinner menu. The chef will alter the menu for any special dietary needs you may have. We have never been disappointed !

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire experience at Erna's was awes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The entire experience at Erna's was awesome. The service is on point, the ambiance is upscale comfort and the food was inventive and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For years, we've wanted to dine at the E ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

For years, we've wanted to dine at the Elderberry House. It is a local gem, and we know that. It really came down to finding the right reason because the experience is a pricey one. We opted for the 5 course meal (omitted the optional cheese plate). The portions are small, but when all combined, we were quite full by the end.

There were some items that I'd never eaten, but I'm so glad that I tried. My wife has severe limitations on alcohol used in preparation (or general consumption). I let the chef know ahead of time, and a menu specific for her was designed ahead of time. Such class!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit pricey, as expected, but for a spe ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A bit pricey, as expected, but for a special occasion, A fantastic experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brought my husband and his parents here ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Brought my husband and his parents here for my husband's birthday while we were visiting Yosemite. It was a great excuse to look nice for a night. The atmosphere was authentic and I felt like I was dining in the home of French royalty. The service was great and I really appreciated their noting my allergy and adjusting the menu as needed. The chef's menu was great and it changes all the time. We did the wine pairing as well and I was very impressed by each of the wines and how well they were paired. This is not a place you'd expect to find on the outskirts of Yosemite, but I am so very glad we did. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

solid five star

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Have been to Erna's several times over the past fifteen years. Five star food and service every time, never disappointed. My wife and I have enjoyed foods that we would never have ordered from reading a menu. Absolutely amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

From the time we walked in the door, we felt like we were the most important people. The waiter and chief were just outstanding, and the dinner, what can I say? It was excellently, just excellent! Thank you for an outstanding experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere and service, delici ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and service, delicious food but simply too expensive at $200 each with one of their more reasonable bottles of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Go for it

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Perhaps not for a casual meal but a fine dining experience for those that do. Attentive service at a leisurely pace in a comfortable, quiet dining room. 5 course daily prix fixe menus offer a variety of delicious taste treats along with several surprises as the meal progresses. My only regret is that I was not staying the night as a pleasant walk to a room would have been perfect. I'll make that correction next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time was Great

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We enjoyed our entire meal, food, service and ambiance. We ate inside, but given the choice , outdoors would have been the way to experience the great food and the beautiful site.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals we've ever had, bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever had, but also the most expensive meal we've ever had. The service was exquisite and the food was outstanding as was the wine pairing. The chef creates unique dishes you've probably never had anywhere else. Most of the food apparently is purchased direct from local farmers. Definitely a place to consider for special occasions. Not an every day dining spot. Given the prices charged, you won't get much privacy here as the tables are crowded way to close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All of my guests were extremely impresse ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

All of my guests were extremely impressed. The senior member said it was the best dining in his lifetime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Dinner!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was perfect, from the exceptionally outstanding service to the mouth watering beautifully presented dishes! If you have a chance do not miss having a meal here! Seriously

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Erna's before. It was e ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten at Erna's before. It was excellent, so our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. It always makes it a little more special when we are able to have a little interaction with Erna, herself. She greeted us at the door as if we were her personal guests. She came by to check on us several times. The food of course was great. The wait staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt way too closed in for my taste, esp ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Felt way too closed in for my taste, especially for the price. We were right next to everyone around us. Fine if it was a communal table and we knew so ahead of time, but these were individual tables put way too close together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

THE FOOD ,SERVICE, DECOR AND ATMOSPHER WAS ALL EXCELLENT. IT WAS AS ADVERTISED

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but fixed price is 112 per pla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent but fixed price is 112 per plate not 50 as displayed by open table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely disappointing

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

One assumes when a chef has prepared a signature prix fixed menu it should be showing off one's best. At $200 per person it was one of the worst meals I've ever had. Scallops were rare, duck was undercooked/rare and everything else was only good looking and unbelievably odd. Having been an owner in a high end restaurant like this, it's not uncommon in my experience for the chef to get too full of themselves and miss the tastes their customers

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

outstanding

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. They looked after all finer details. From water to bread to cutleries, not a beat was missed. We enjoyed our dinner thoroughly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We went for my Mom's 70th Birthday. The food wasn't just food...it was an experience that I would recommend to all. Service was great and enjoyed Erna stopping by the table. It was our first time there so we were a little confused on how the menu and experience works. Would be helpful to explain to possible new comers a little better. I think there was an assumption that we knew. Just a minor note on an otherwise perfect evening of food, wine and fun . The service overall was amazing. Thanks for a great time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family has been dining at Erna's sin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Our family has been dining at Erna's since it opened and we have never been disappointed. The tasting menu is diverse and beautifully plated. Everything is delicious. The setting is relaxing and the service is impeccable from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Erna's Elderberry Haus is foodie heaven

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We've come here many times and are always surprised and amazed at the combination of the culinary expertise and the artful presentation of each course. One's level of contentment at the end of the meal is a good indicator of excellence! Hats off to Erna!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the finest dining experience we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

This was the finest dining experience we have ever encountered. The service, ambiance, and meal were exceptional.

If you are in to a total experience, this is the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Celebration

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 73rd and 74th birthdays at Erna's Elderberry House. It was a wonderful experience all the way around! We were treated like royalty! The food was unique and delicious. Thank you so much for making it so special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dining experience!

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

1st time here for our 30th wedding anniversary, what an evening! The food was fresh and delicious, the wine pairing was right on, the service was impeccable and the ambiance was transforming. Thank you for making our evening "very special!" A little pricey, but well worth the splurge. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Outstanding in every possible way from the setting, the dining room, the impeccable service, to the food that can only be described as perfection on a plate. We have dined at some of the finest restaurants in the world and this one is now included. My husband is not as much of a gourmet as I am and he was not so sure about the set menu, but he did everything but lick his plates while raving about each course! My hat is off to the Chef, Erna and the whole staff for a Valentine's day never to be forgotten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.