About Erminia Ristorante

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bruno : (212) 879-4284

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (37)
Cozy (29)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Authentic (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
823 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I just love this restaurant, the food and service never disappoint. So glad I changed plans and decided to eat at Erminia's.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Nos ha encantado todo, la comida fabulosa y el trato del personal super atento en todo momento. Altamente recomendable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

one of the best meals I've had in years, quiet, cosy, even romantic atmosphere - I loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food is always very good. Service is friendly and attentive. Very small and a bit crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always wonderful. Great gnocchi, sublime bronzino, outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service and ambiance were great, as was the bread and pasta dish. The entrees however were disappointing. Too salty and the veal was a little gamey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The service was attentive right from the start. Our server was honest and gave great suggestions - he even suggested a lower cost item because he said it was his favorite - and it did not disappoint. I had a delicious pasta dish with pancetta and my husband had an amazing steak. Even his potatoes were impressively seasoned and delicious. It was our anniversary, and I thought it was a great spot for a romantic, authentic Italian meal. The tiramisu (which I have had elsewhere a million times) was the best I've ever had. They make all desserts in-house and it was a very impressive one. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Delicious food. Tiny and cozy restaurant. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

When I made the reservation through Open Table, one of the questions was whether the dinner was celebrating an occasion. I noted that it was for an anniversary, but didn't think about it. My husband and I were so touched when our desserts were brought to the table with a candle, and we were wished a happy anniversary. This is just one of the reasons we have always loved Erminia and will continue to return!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Small genuine restaurant. Only 12 tables. Extremely good service from modest waiters. Classic Italian menu. Perfect for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is a small, pretty Italian restaurant on the Upper East Side. The food was fine but nothing special. The ambiance is quite nice and the service attentive. You can actually hold a conversation with the people at your table and the tables are spaced apart.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

A timeless treasure. Intimate, warm setting, attentive service, delicious and authentic Italian food. Always special.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Day after day, month after month, beautiful setting, great food, wonderful service!!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our experience at Erminia was so lovely and exceeded expectations! Both the food and the aesthetic were authentic, cozy, quaint, and just perfect. Exceptional service, good food & wine, and perfect ambiance!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Still wonderful after 35 years!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Lovely little spot. Wonderful food. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent small restaurant with intimate feel – small staff worked efficiently – we liked the attitude of everybody The food was really quite good and we had a great bottle of wine – would go back in a flash!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great place with unparalleled welcoming service and freshly cooked authentic Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Overall lovely experience. The service is very gracious and the food was very good. The ricotta cheesecake was a nice surprise. - Served warm with a wonderful lemon tang. The one disappointment was the tomatoes in the salad. It is August and I expected wonderful local tomatoes. These were cold and tasted store bought.

I would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is NYC there are hundreds and hundreds of restaurants to choose; don't choose this one! Its supposed to be QUIET and Romantic, yet before we received our entrees the host sat a raucous group of six right next to us. The place was empty. We were the only two and they let in this loud drunk crowd who were doing shots and using the most disgusting language imaginable. I complained to the owner and his response was YES. I KNOW...SORRY! The place wants to maintain such a quiet "ambience" that they have signs up stating NO CELL PHONES...which is great. However, they let in this crowd and never once did the host or owner approach them and ask them to quiet down or leave. Absolutely infuriating! They are all about the buck. I'm a life long UES resident and I've been everywhere and never gone here before because friends and neighbors would complain about the staffs attitude. A first and the last. They just don't care. You would think that since our night was ruined that they would have tried something like buying us a drink/dessert? NO, another sign of poor management. They must be paying someone to give them such fabulous reviews. Terrible experience...my pasta dish was no different than what I get at my local pizzeria for $7.00! Save your money and go elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was my first time but it won't be my last! Everything tasted as if I was eating it in Italy. Quite pricey, but worth it! It was a special occasion. I got the seafood platter and a canollo, two thumbs up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It's one of my all time favorite restaurants. Feels like I'm in Rome in someone's house. It's pretty small and cozy but the food is exceptional and I really like all the servers. They're warm and friendly without being overbearing. It's a special place, where nothing is "commercial" about it

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful service! A wonderful UES gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place is more than just a neighborhood gem. It's one of our favorite restaurants in NYC. I can't recommend it enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Both the food and the service were exceptional! I was very impressed. The setting was quite romantic as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Erminia never fails to impress. The food is always delicious, the charm hard to match and one of the rare places to eat in NYC where you can hear the people who are at your table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was beyond amazing. The place is about the size of a closet and the lighting was extremely dim but I would go back every day if I could. I've never had food this good in my life seriously. Wouldn't recommend elderly people going here because of how dark it is inside, perfect for tables of 2. Definitely will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I ordered a chicken dish with eggplant and fontina cheese. The serving size was very small and the chicken was dry and tasteless. The dish was so overdone that the cheese dried out! When I told the waiter that the chicken was dry he said thank you and walked away. This restaurant is overpriced and the food uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

What a truly wonderful experience for our last night in NYC. The service and food were the best my husband and I have ever experienced.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As usual, excellent food nicely served in a beautiful room!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful UES restaurant tucked back away from busy 2nd Avenue. Quaint and quiet with just a dozen tables (+/-). Exceptional service and delicious food prepared perfectly. Great wine list and house made desserts. Any restaurant that has been in business for 37 years is testament to one of two things only. Cheap and fast food prepared quickly or a restaurant that creates a memorable dining experience. Erminia Ristorante is solidly positioned in the latter. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food was amazing and the atmosphere was great. Highly recommended for a date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We really had a great meal at this small neighborhood restaurant. Atmosphere was charming and the food was it 10.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Intimate quiet room with excellent service and very good food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We loved Erminia and regret waiting 4 years after we moved to the neighborhood to try it. We went early on a Saturday and enjoyed a delicious, friendly and intimate dinner. Everything was very good but my bucatini all'amatriciana was extra fantastic and we had a lamb milanese special that really impressed us. The panna cotta was refreshing along with some expert espresso and a mighty grappa. We definitely want to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Erminia lived up to its reputation. Very cozy and romantic. Good service and great food. Nice wine choices too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Year after year Bruno and his staff expertly serve great food and wine in a beautiful, quiet setting!! Who can ask for anything more??

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Been going there for 10 years now for special occasions. Always perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Yes, it is a very romantic restaurant! For some that alone might be enough, but even if romance is not on your mine Erimina is worth. The visit. The food was expensive but worth the price. Excellent choices and well prepared. The service was attentive without hovering. They were friendly and informative and made the dining experience very pleasurable. Oh, and did I say it was romantic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Wonderful restaurant, from the ambiance to the food, this was a spectacular dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.