About Erminia Ristorante

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bruno : (212) 879-4284

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Erminia Restaurant is happy to announce that we will be open for LUNCH as well as DINNER on Valentine's Day starting at 12:00. We look forward to having you!

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

COME AND CELEBRATE VALENTINE`S DAY AT THE MOST ROMANTIC RESTAURANT IN NEW YORK CITY WE WILL HAVE 3 SEATINGS = 5 PM TO 7 PM 7 PM TO 9 PM
9 PM TO CLOSE
FOUR COURSE PRIX FIXE MENU $ 125 PER PERSON WILL BE SERVED. THANK YOU FOR CHOOSING ERMINIA HAPPY VALENTINE!!!!!

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (39)
Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Gosh, we had a really unfortunate experi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 8 hours ago

Gosh, we had a really unfortunate experience at Erminia Ristorante.

My boyfriend had heard great things about the restaurant from friends in Milan, Italy so we were excited to go.

The host was really wonderful and the food was great but we had the worst waiter ever. He brought the bread but not the olive oil which is no sin by any means but the waiter was so rude when we requested it.

As my boyfriend picked up his last bite of food and was about to CHEW, the waiter cleared his plate. The waiter then proceed to bring the bill (which was not requested for) within seconds of that. After he dropped the bill, he returned twice, within three minutes of dropping the check, to see if the payment was within the check presenter.

This was really a horrid experience.

The waiter really let this place down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Food was great, service welcoming, but a ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great, service welcoming, but above all the place was charming.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We went to diner at Erminia, loved the h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to diner at Erminia, loved the high quality food, the cozy atmosphere and the small number of tables. Very much quiet, excellent service, short but good wine list, but the food is what shines there. Very high quality ingredients prepared in a masterful way, great taste ! and the price tag does not break the bank account.

Enthusiastically recommended !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful atmosphere, staff is so nice a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere, staff is so nice and helpful. Food is mind blowing. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful evening with my wife rea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful evening with my wife real romantic place with wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Good portions. My boyfri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. Good portions. My boyfriend had the special---Bronzino. They brought the whole fish on the table to show him after it was cooked, then back to the kitchen to fillet, sauce was delicious. I had the octopus from appetizer , that was delicious too! Very tender, served with cherry tomato. The amount of octopus was very little compared to other fancy restaurant. This octopus salad only had 4-6 pieces. I also had the eggplant from the appetizer section for dinner. This was ordinary, I ate half since it wasn't that great. The waiter service was good. They can use a little bit of education on glutten free menu. We asked several times if there are glutten free dessert. Waiter answered with hesitation and mentioned few items that are not glutten free. My boyfriend caught cream brullee on what he recited and asked if it's glutten free. Waiter then decided that it was.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE had a wonderful dinner and most Wonde ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

WE had a wonderful dinner and most Wonderful attentive service... Terrific atmosphere for a quiet dining experience... went early which was best, got busy towards the end of our dinner. Small spot ....which we like best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was pleasantly surprised when I took m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised when I took my colleagues to dinner here. First of all Bruno, the owner , is Italian and has deep roots here.

He is gracious and makes you feel comfortable.

I also liked the menu. The meatballs were just as good as my moms , who is also from Italy. The Bucatini was fab, as well as my colleagues lasagna.

The ambiance is quiet and relaxed. It is small and quaint . Real candles!

I hope to visit again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful!! A true gem! Food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!! A true gem! Food was wonderful and the ambiance was prefect for a romantic date night!

Tags: Comfort Food, , Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very disappointing. The mea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was very disappointing. The meatball appetizer and bolognese were both far too salty and the bucatini was watered down, and overall pretty flavorless.

I went to this restaurant on a recommendation from a friend. Unfortunately, I did not have the same experience she did - not sure if the chef has since changed, but I definitely would not recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Delicious old school Italian in an intim ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Delicious old school Italian in an intimate setting.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at Erminia, wit ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was our second time at Erminia, with over a year between visits (as we live out of town). It was just as good the second time, and both evenings were wonderful. Highly recommended

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate 8in Erminia for first time on New Ye ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ate 8in Erminia for first time on New Year's Eve for a pre fixe dinner. The food was only fair at best. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Got there at 7:30 New Year's Eve. Was se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Got there at 7:30 New Year's Eve. Was seated promptly. Restaurant was decorated. Service was nice.

Was told that there was no more veal, ordered shrimp scampi that had no butter, garlic or spices and wasn't even broiled. Filet of soul was very good and the chocolate desert was excellent.

Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing place .. romantic and great serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing place .. romantic and great service and food !!

I highly recommend !!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food service and ambiance

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was simply amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The entire experience was simply amazing. The food, the desserts, the service, and the ambience. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had an excellent experience at Erminia ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had an excellent experience at Erminia. I brought my girlfriend for our one year anniversary. The food and wine were amazing. The service was perfect. Nothing was rushed, and the wait for food was perfectly timed. The atmosphere is great for small groups or dates. My compliments to the chefs, managers, and hosts/wait staff. 10 out of 10 all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, very good food, cute amb ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Friendly staff, very good food, cute ambiance and fair price. It worth the visit'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a delicious meal at Erminia from ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always a delicious meal at Erminia from Appetizer to dessert! The service and the attention you get makes the evening even more special. Definitely a must!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A small intimate italian restaurant with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A small intimate italian restaurant with all that you hope for. Quiet, great service, not rushed. All dishes were excellent portions appropriate. Must have reservations. Off the beaten path but well worth the trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly a gem in the upper East Side of NY ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Truly a gem in the upper East Side of NYC. As authentic as you can get. Ten tables that turn, but you never feel rushed. Excellent food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere in this small and cozy p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Nice atmosphere in this small and cozy place. It would be good if they offered a daily special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at Erm ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at Erminia with another couple. The restaurant lives up to its excellent reputation with professional service that accompanied a fine Italian meal. I was surprised that there was no bar, just wine or Peroni Beer; and I was also surprised by the very small and cozy size of the restaurant. Just a dozen tables or so, made for intimate conversation and very personalized service. Erminia is a very special place ...

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Again and again Erminia's excellent staf ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Again and again Erminia's excellent staff serves great food and wine in a warm, comfortable atmosphere!! Continue to prosper!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but a little generic. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food was good, but a little generic. The space is very tight, so one really loud table can be much more impactful than usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Magical! Meatballs, main dish, Napoleon ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Magical! Meatballs, main dish, Napoleon, cannoli, candied orange peel!!! All of it beyond delicious! Excellent service too!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely intimate Italian restaurant. Sm ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A lovely intimate Italian restaurant. Small, quiet and excellent food. The Branzino was prepared and filleted perfectly. Candlelight provides a warm , romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Although Erminia is in my neighborhood i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Although Erminia is in my neighborhood it was the first time I was there, but not the last. Absolutely make reservations in advance. Although the restaurant was small, the noise level was low and the well orchestrated movement of the staff added to the charm. Delicious food, especially the grilled artichokes and wonderful wine. The staff including the manager were very interested in their guests having a wonderful experience. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our second time for dinner. Greeted and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our second time for dinner. Greeted and seated right away. Eggplant appetizer, Gnocchi and Ravioli for pasta, Milenese for my wife and Lamb shank for me. Ricotta cheesecake with espresso/cappuccino for dessert. Everything was excellent except the risotto was salty, only miss, 9/10 on food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent.

The room was cozy and the candles gave the room a romantic look.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Again and again, excellent food, atmosph ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Again and again, excellent food, atmosphere and service!!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately, our experience at Ermin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Unfortunately, our experience at Erminia Ristorante was not at all what we had anticipated. We were excited to try this restaurant for a special date night as we had read that it was "cozy" and "romantic". However, after making a reservation well in advance and showing up on time, it became clear that the only table they had available and were willing to offer us was a large round table, set for four people, in the center of the restaurant and immediately in front of the door. Basically, this meant that we would be sitting far apart from each other and that every time the door opened a gust of wind would come in and we would have new patrons standing over our table waiting to be seated. Not at all the romantic evening we had in mind! After some deliberation we decided to leave and spare ourselves the awkwardness of this unpleasant arrangement. So, while I can't comment on the food, I can say that I would not recommend this spot on the basis of the seating arrangements and lack of consideration we received.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Erminia is a true Gem!!! You would love ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Erminia is a true Gem!!! You would love having dinner here. So quaint and wonderful atmosphere. The bolognese was absolutely wonderful. Their ricotta balls were melt in your mouth yumminess!!! You have to experience Erminia's and truly have fantastic Italian cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, , Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cozy place with delicious food! Fir ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very cozy place with delicious food! First time experience I was a little surprised at how small it was inside but the food makes up for everything. If they keep up the great food and amazing hospitality, they won't be small for long. Beautiful evening!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place for a date/special occas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fantastic place for a date/special occasion. Their Bolognese is some of the best and their gnocchi is probably the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, attentive service, warm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service, warm atmosphere..........meal after meal after meal.......!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erminia Ristorante lived up to its repu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Erminia Ristorante lived up to its reputation as a romantic Italian dining spot.

I believe there were only 10 tables in this candle lit setting. The menu provides

very nicely prepared ,well known Italian specialties such as the pasta bolognese,

which was excellent by any standard. Service was very attentive. If you're

looking for fine, traditional New York Italian dining, this is the spot. It's not

the place to expect trendy or experimental cuisine, but there are plenty of those

places.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First rate experience, good service, foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

First rate experience, good service, food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

To quote my wife, "I love that place." T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

To quote my wife, "I love that place." That says it all. An old world charm restaurant with amazing food and excellent service. It is simply our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.