About Erminia Ristorante

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Nikola Camaj: 2128794284

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Erminia Restaurant is happy to announce that we will be open for LUNCH as well as DINNER on Valentine's Day starting at 12:00. We look forward to having you!

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (25)
special occasion (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
See All
fit for foodies (7)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Celebrated my man turning 50. It was per ...

Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated my man turning 50. It was perfect, in every way. Romantic atmosphere, cozy, and the food, spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I think when you go to Erminia, you have ...

Dined 5 days ago

I think when you go to Erminia, you have to keep in mind the whole experience and not only the food. the food did not unfortunately meet my expectation. Erminia is a time capsule that takes you out of the busy NYC into a small neighborhood in Rome. Will revisit again for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places. Have introdu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of our favorite places. Have introduced many friends to it. Always a lovely treat

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Intimate, cosy, romantic

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Intimate, cosy, romantic

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic ambiance

Dined on May 31, 2016

Came here to celebrate our one year anniversary after reading all the wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is small and has about twelve tables total, and you are met with standing candles and romantic lighting. The food itself was well prepared and not astronomically priced. Wine selection was good. Overall we had very enjoyable experience and will certainly come again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

This is a small restaurant tucked away on a side street. The interior is a bit like a rustic Italian cabin, but there's nothing rustic about the food, though not high-falutin' either which to me is a plus. Just really delicious Italian fare--fresh ingredients, well-combined in perfect portion sizes. And I loved that the noise level was quiet enough to speak softly and still be heard. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Very quaint great food good service

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Very quaint great food good service

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic and warm setting slow dining.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent service and atmosphere. Food was very good; not excellent. Salad was salty (returned it). Wine is very expensive by the glass. Very relaxing. Nice candle light and warm surroundings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a Dinner reservation for our 25th ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I made a Dinner reservation for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. I'm not from the area and took a chance on this place after much searching. I was NOT disappointed. This place is a gem. Great ambience, food, and service. I was very pleased.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to amaze

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Great simple salad, fabulous gnocchi, great salmon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put - truly one of the most roman ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Simply put - truly one of the most romantic places to take your loved one. It strikes the right balance of intimacy. Food & staff are good too. Note - no cell phones allowed :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on March 5, 2016

Outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best of the best of the best

Dined on February 28, 2016

I've read the review - moved to NY from Tokyo where they have their fair share of excellent restaurants - food quality, service, and ambiance. Erminia by far takes it to a new level - the service was perfect, the food was amazing, the ambiance - as good as it gets. Call it a 'neighborhood gem' if you will - it's world class. Best of best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit; still impressed

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

The gnocchi with truffles were sublime. The veal was very good. Chicken with sausage: simple and wonderful. Good wine. Excellent service. As I have stated in two prior reviews, this is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten at. Look forward to my next visit to NY in March.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always! Love this restaurant!

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food is perfection! My favorite restaurant anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

A perfect dining experience every time. Family, friends always are happy at Erminia, our favorite place to also dine alone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always superb

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

we went for a quiet romantic dinner and that is exactly what we got. we have been there at least 5 times, and each time it is the same. great service, and fabulous food. it is the perfect place for a date or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

This was our second visit in two months and we can now say that our first meal was not a fluke. The food here is consistently excellent. This is an outstanding Italian restaurant with excellent food, ingredients and service. We will back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

An Upper East Side oasis

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

Is a small, quiet, friendly, intimate Italian restaurant hard to find on the UES? For us, not any more! Erminia was made to order for clients seeking a peaceful haven for fine dining and tranquil conversation. This exquisite little place will become a favorite for us, worth a trip from NJ.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Average Food - Cute Restaurant - Average Service

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

I went here for NYE and was able to order off the regular menu. Food was decent - not phenomenal. I was surprised that one of the bus boys removed my plate before my date finished her meal completely - completely inappropriate for a restaurant that is catering to being higher class. Lastly, the flatware and stemware were not up to par -- would recommend they upgrade to higher quality crystal wine glasses and better silverware. Lastly, the balloons on the ceiling were really cheesy and tacky -- I would prefer that they be removed or not used in the future.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Special Occasion Restaurant

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Romantic and cozy, this small Italian restaurant is perfect for a special occasion. My husband and I celebrated our 34th anniversary here. Service was attentive and food was very good. Roman artichokes for appetizer, housemade pasta with Bolognese sauce, veal chop, and delicious tiramisu for dessert. No rushing or hurrying you out the door, very relaxing dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Very bad experience for an NYC Italian r ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Very bad experience for an NYC Italian restaurant. The pasta was not homemade. I could've made a better barilla pasta at home. The melanzane was watery. The tiramisu was not. The waiters were rude to their clients in Italian (unfortunately we understand Italian). They tried to convince us that an espresso was a decaf when it was in fact not. It's too bad because we were excited about the romantic setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Italian food.

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

This is one of the best Italian dinners (here or in Italy) that I have ever had. Gnocchi were devine. Excellent salad. Good veal medallions. Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Not what it used to be

Dined on December 17, 2015

Sadly, the food was not as good as it used to be. Either a change in the chef, suppliers or owners. The restaurant remains one of the most charming places on the UES and the service was terrific.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service. Authentic.

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Great food, great service. Authentic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wife's 50th Birthday

Dined on December 3, 2015

I was looking for an Upper East Side restaurant to take my wife for her big birthday and had heard about Ermina. It was cozy…romantic… with great food. Perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exceptional, especially the artichoke d

vip
Dined on December 1, 2015

The food was awesome but it's the ambience that's really unique. Very warm and cozy. Would definitely want to go back. A amazing find!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

It's ok needs more staff

Dined on November 29, 2015

The food was ok not the best , servers were more concerned with making money than getting refills or clearing the tables, ruined my romantic evening for a wedding proposal, the server was pretty

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Romantic spot on the UES

vip
Dined on November 24, 2015

Nice and cozy, perfect for our wedding anniversary. Great Roman Italian food.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Authentic!!!!!

Dined on November 20, 2015

Wonderful staff, very friendly. They customized our meals per our request. Very small space but decor is great!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

An open little secret

Dined on November 14, 2015

Erminia's is a cozy romantic spot on the UES. Food is done the rustic way. No fancy schmancy meals, just downright cooking with amore... Well done, no wonder it's been there for many years...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Good things come in small packages

Dined on November 8, 2015

Erminia may be a tiny restaurant But the food will have a big impact on your experience. Service was friendly and informative without being pushy. Do try the ricotta cheese cake, it's house made and one of the best we have had. So if size does not matter to you and your serious about great Italian food, do try this neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous special occasion restaurant - i ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Fabulous special occasion restaurant - it never fails!

food3
ambience5
service4

Romantic, great service, yummy food. We ...

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

Romantic, great service, yummy food. We went for our 5th wedding anniversary and were given a table for 2 that seemed like an after thought in the corner of the restaurant that made it difficult for the waiter to serve us. Aside from that everything was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place for a date!

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Perfect place for a date!

food5
ambience5
service4

I live nearby and only recently started ...

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

I live nearby and only recently started going to Erminia. It is a wonderful place and I highly recommend it

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointing! Excellent and frie ...

Dined on October 27, 2015

Never disappointing! Excellent and friendly! Delicious pasta and Tartufo in a very intimate atmosphere. Go for it!

food5
ambience3
service5

Tiny place, great food, terific service.

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Would definitely go back, although tables are close enough to one another that you might be tempted to eat off someone elses plate and an adjoining table.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Italian Food in Quaint Romantic Setting

Dined on October 22, 2015

My party ordered the fettuccini Bolognese which was excellent, very robust sauce. We also ordered the veal scaloppini and pasta with shrimp, both of which were excellent. The standout was definitely the homemade tiramisu, heads and shoulders above the dry tasteless ones made with ladyfingers. Very small restaurant, very quaint with brick walls and lanterns.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

romantic dinner

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

We had a wonderful date night. Erminia is the perfect place for a romantic dinner. The ambiance was great. The food was excellent. Small place, but mostly couples at the restaurant. Highly recommend for a special date night dinner.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.