About Erminia Ristorante

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bruno : (212) 879-4284

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Erminia Restaurant is happy to announce that we will be open for LUNCH as well as DINNER on Valentine's Day starting at 12:00. We look forward to having you!

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (46)
Good for a Date (37)
Cozy (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Authentic (21)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service and great vibe. Oh, and the food is good too. Standouts include Bronzino, and gnocchi will truffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Really cozy place, food is fantastic with a great wine list
The staff is really great as well. I have come to Erminas a few times for business meetings as well as for a romantic anniversary with my wife you will not be disapointed

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I had a very nice dinner at Erminia. The restaurant is small and cozy with a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive. Our meal was not rushed with time to rest between courses. The food was excellent. We look forward to going back to Erminia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very romantic. Excellent for quiet conversation. Food far above average but not so avant-garde as to be distracting. All-in-all, highly recommend for sophisticated, quiet dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A very nice spot with great food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

wonderful italian restaurant. it's small and cozy with friendly, professional and accommodating service. The food is always well prepared and very delicious. Great spot for couples or friends.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great intimate dining venue on the UES. Classic Roman Italian cuisine served by an obviously professional and knowledgeable staff in the "old school Italian Style". The manager / host made us feel special from the minute we walked in. Our waiter doted over us without being intrusive. He was always there when we wanted something and never there when we didn't want anything! We like to eat late and tend to linger. At no time did we feel rushed as the time approached 11:00pm, which is rare for a UES restaurant. The food was perfect! I had the Branzino. It was meaty, tender and juicy. Filleted completely, (not one bone). Served with vegetables surrounding it, picture perfect! My wife had a regional Roman pasta dish with shrimp and vegetables. It must have been excellent because when I asked her for a taste, it was gone. We ventured out on a cold night to go to Erminia. It was well worth it and we'll certainly go back!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing food. Gorgeous room. Old world service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and my wife and I had a wonderful time. A number of pieces of my octopus appetizer were mushy otherwise I would have given it a better rating. But you can't beat the setting and the service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Perfect place for a special occasion or date. Food and service is excellent. Nice little hideaway in NYC.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Amazing food and hospitality by Bruno! They will see us again. An upper east side gem and must go to place for a cozy evening! Dress up and eat well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant was a fantastic option for the upper east side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A little piece of old NY that is sadly disappearing. A little pricey but a sublime pleasure to spend a special evening here. It's not always just about the food. Comfort food in a comfortable and grownup room.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant is one of the most quaint and romantic areas on the upper Eastside. We chose to go the weekend before Valentine's Day to celebrate the special occasion. Everything was incredibly wonderful. The only thing that I would need to make mention of is that the bread basket was left a bit wanting. (Flacky cracker type instead of a good hearty dipping bread that you usually see in a fine Italian restaurant like this )

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food disappoints...mediocre at best. The ambiance is really where this restaurant shines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Delicious meal, one of the best octopus I've had. The shrimp and lobster were also exquisite. The napoleon is huge and super crunchy. They offered a glass of champagne to toast my birthday. Great experience. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Erminia never disappoints in any aspect! I use the wird gracious to describe their service, eccellent for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had Eggplant/tomato/cheese, Gnocchi, Linguine with clam sauce, Branzino, and dessert. All of the food was delicious and excellent for us and our kid. Their service was great and very friendly. We are neighbors, so will definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Supposedly "real" Rome-style food and "romantic" (for which it has some sort of award). The food is not particularly good Italian food even by NYC (or any other major US metro area), let alone how one can eat in Rome. Lots of cream sauces, limited wine list, and supposedly Jerusalem artichokes that appeared to be just small tough domestic artichokes that were nearly impossible to chew. The ambiance is nice and so are the people running the place, but given how many really good Italian restaurants exist in NYC I cannot fathom why anyone would go out of their way to eat here. I wish I could have given a better review, but there you have it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My boyfriend and I were in NY for business for only 24 hours. This was the only restaurant we had time to go to. It was quiet, intimate and candle-lit. Very authentic. There were only 10 tables in the restaurant, and the tables were quite small so you sit very close next to your dinner guest. Both server and host had adorable Italian accents. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was romantic. I would recommend for a date night, anniversary, or engagement.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Gosh, we had a really unfortunate experience at Erminia Ristorante.

My boyfriend had heard great things about the restaurant from friends in Milan, Italy so we were excited to go.

The host was really wonderful and the food was great but we had the worst waiter ever. He brought the bread but not the olive oil which is no sin by any means but the waiter was so rude when we requested it.

As my boyfriend picked up his last bite of food and was about to CHEW, the waiter cleared his plate. The waiter then proceed to bring the bill (which was not requested for) within seconds of that. After he dropped the bill, he returned twice, within three minutes of dropping the check, to see if the payment was within the check presenter.

This was really a horrid experience.

The waiter really let this place down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was great, service welcoming, but above all the place was charming.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to diner at Erminia, loved the high quality food, the cozy atmosphere and the small number of tables. Very much quiet, excellent service, short but good wine list, but the food is what shines there. Very high quality ingredients prepared in a masterful way, great taste ! and the price tag does not break the bank account.
Enthusiastically recommended !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, staff is so nice and helpful. Food is mind blowing. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a wonderful evening with my wife real romantic place with wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great. Good portions. My boyfriend had the special---Bronzino. They brought the whole fish on the table to show him after it was cooked, then back to the kitchen to fillet, sauce was delicious. I had the octopus from appetizer , that was delicious too! Very tender, served with cherry tomato. The amount of octopus was very little compared to other fancy restaurant. This octopus salad only had 4-6 pieces. I also had the eggplant from the appetizer section for dinner. This was ordinary, I ate half since it wasn't that great. The waiter service was good. They can use a little bit of education on glutten free menu. We asked several times if there are glutten free dessert. Waiter answered with hesitation and mentioned few items that are not glutten free. My boyfriend caught cream brullee on what he recited and asked if it's glutten free. Waiter then decided that it was.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

WE had a wonderful dinner and most Wonderful attentive service... Terrific atmosphere for a quiet dining experience... went early which was best, got busy towards the end of our dinner. Small spot ....which we like best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised when I took my colleagues to dinner here. First of all Bruno, the owner , is Italian and has deep roots here.
He is gracious and makes you feel comfortable.
I also liked the menu. The meatballs were just as good as my moms , who is also from Italy. The Bucatini was fab, as well as my colleagues lasagna.
The ambiance is quiet and relaxed. It is small and quaint . Real candles!
I hope to visit again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!! A true gem! Food was wonderful and the ambiance was prefect for a romantic date night!

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was very disappointing. The meatball appetizer and bolognese were both far too salty and the bucatini was watered down, and overall pretty flavorless.

I went to this restaurant on a recommendation from a friend. Unfortunately, I did not have the same experience she did - not sure if the chef has since changed, but I definitely would not recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Delicious old school Italian in an intimate setting.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was our second time at Erminia, with over a year between visits (as we live out of town). It was just as good the second time, and both evenings were wonderful. Highly recommended

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ate 8in Erminia for first time on New Year's Eve for a pre fixe dinner. The food was only fair at best. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Got there at 7:30 New Year's Eve. Was seated promptly. Restaurant was decorated. Service was nice.
Was told that there was no more veal, ordered shrimp scampi that had no butter, garlic or spices and wasn't even broiled. Filet of soul was very good and the chocolate desert was excellent.
Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing place .. romantic and great service and food !!
I highly recommend !!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food...great service...and truly a romantic restaurant for that special occaision

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The entire experience was simply amazing. The food, the desserts, the service, and the ambience. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had an excellent experience at Erminia. I brought my girlfriend for our one year anniversary. The food and wine were amazing. The service was perfect. Nothing was rushed, and the wait for food was perfectly timed. The atmosphere is great for small groups or dates. My compliments to the chefs, managers, and hosts/wait staff. 10 out of 10 all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Friendly staff, very good food, cute ambiance and fair price. It worth the visit'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.