About Erminia Ristorante

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bruno : (212) 879-4284

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (53)
Good for a Date (42)
Cozy (35)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Authentic (22)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Historic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, nice ambiance, delicious food . Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great little cozy spot out of the way on the UES. Restaurant is tiny, but has great ambiance and outstanding service. Perfect for a romantic dinner. The food is very good and reasonably priced. They did make one mistake on our order, but corrected it swiftly when pointed out to them with no fuss. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Located on Manhattan's Tony East Side, Ermina is worth seeking out. The restaurant is small so consider reservations a must. The service is crisp, the food is good, the room is subdued and is rightly called one of Manhattan's premier romantic restaurants. The wine list is pricey, but it is after all the upper East Side of Manhattan. Not particularly easy to get to via public transportation from the West Side but so worthy of your dining dollar.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was the perfect place to meet with an old friend i hadn't seen for 2 years. The right mixture of busy and quiet - we could talk. Very good service and the specials were incredibly fresh and delectable - fish and seasonable vegetables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

cozy, lovely and worth the cab ride. good food, great service and nice and quiet

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I come here for the atmosphere I stay for the best truffle gnocchi in manhattan. Wonderful gem hidden in the UES. When they know your wine order walking through the door, you might go too much...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing ambiance, service and most importantly some of the best Italian food I've ever had! You know it's good when the plain pasta with their homemade sauce is addicting 👌🏼

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

A neighborhood gem where the food is delicious and the service attentive and always respectful- never rushing you out.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Over and over and over Erminia serves great food graciously, and in a beautiful setting!!

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in all of NYC!! It has such charm, class and character with an old world feel to it.
The food is always exceptional and delicious.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've been here before, and the food and ambience has always been terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Incredible food and service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very nice restaurant, very quaint . Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service was wonderful! The staff was attentive and friendly, very available due to the size of the restaurant and constantly engaged. They offered superb recommendations around both the wine menu and the food menu. Could not recommend more for a traditional Italian feel on a romantic night, or really any night you want amazing Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of our favorite NYC dining spots... great food, fantastic service, friendly, not stuffy, very romantic. We are from out of town and will continue to plan our NYC visit around a dinner at Erminia!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Outstanding service and great vibe. Oh, and the food is good too. Standouts include Bronzino, and gnocchi will truffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Really cozy place, food is fantastic with a great wine list
The staff is really great as well. I have come to Erminas a few times for business meetings as well as for a romantic anniversary with my wife you will not be disapointed

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Had dinner there for my fiancé's birthday, nice, cute spot, perfect for a date. Food was terrific, a little too pricey for the portion size. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I had a very nice dinner at Erminia. The restaurant is small and cozy with a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive. Our meal was not rushed with time to rest between courses. The food was excellent. We look forward to going back to Erminia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very romantic. Excellent for quiet conversation. Food far above average but not so avant-garde as to be distracting. All-in-all, highly recommend for sophisticated, quiet dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A very nice spot with great food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

wonderful italian restaurant. it's small and cozy with friendly, professional and accommodating service. The food is always well prepared and very delicious. Great spot for couples or friends.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great intimate dining venue on the UES. Classic Roman Italian cuisine served by an obviously professional and knowledgeable staff in the "old school Italian Style". The manager / host made us feel special from the minute we walked in. Our waiter doted over us without being intrusive. He was always there when we wanted something and never there when we didn't want anything! We like to eat late and tend to linger. At no time did we feel rushed as the time approached 11:00pm, which is rare for a UES restaurant. The food was perfect! I had the Branzino. It was meaty, tender and juicy. Filleted completely, (not one bone). Served with vegetables surrounding it, picture perfect! My wife had a regional Roman pasta dish with shrimp and vegetables. It must have been excellent because when I asked her for a taste, it was gone. We ventured out on a cold night to go to Erminia. It was well worth it and we'll certainly go back!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing food. Gorgeous room. Old world service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and my wife and I had a wonderful time. A number of pieces of my octopus appetizer were mushy otherwise I would have given it a better rating. But you can't beat the setting and the service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Perfect place for a special occasion or date. Food and service is excellent. Nice little hideaway in NYC.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Amazing food and hospitality by Bruno! They will see us again. An upper east side gem and must go to place for a cozy evening! Dress up and eat well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant was a fantastic option for the upper east side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A little piece of old NY that is sadly disappearing. A little pricey but a sublime pleasure to spend a special evening here. It's not always just about the food. Comfort food in a comfortable and grownup room.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant is one of the most quaint and romantic areas on the upper Eastside. We chose to go the weekend before Valentine's Day to celebrate the special occasion. Everything was incredibly wonderful. The only thing that I would need to make mention of is that the bread basket was left a bit wanting. (Flacky cracker type instead of a good hearty dipping bread that you usually see in a fine Italian restaurant like this )

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food disappoints...mediocre at best. The ambiance is really where this restaurant shines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Delicious meal, one of the best octopus I've had. The shrimp and lobster were also exquisite. The napoleon is huge and super crunchy. They offered a glass of champagne to toast my birthday. Great experience. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Erminia never disappoints in any aspect! I use the wird gracious to describe their service, eccellent for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had Eggplant/tomato/cheese, Gnocchi, Linguine with clam sauce, Branzino, and dessert. All of the food was delicious and excellent for us and our kid. Their service was great and very friendly. We are neighbors, so will definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Supposedly "real" Rome-style food and "romantic" (for which it has some sort of award). The food is not particularly good Italian food even by NYC (or any other major US metro area), let alone how one can eat in Rome. Lots of cream sauces, limited wine list, and supposedly Jerusalem artichokes that appeared to be just small tough domestic artichokes that were nearly impossible to chew. The ambiance is nice and so are the people running the place, but given how many really good Italian restaurants exist in NYC I cannot fathom why anyone would go out of their way to eat here. I wish I could have given a better review, but there you have it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My boyfriend and I were in NY for business for only 24 hours. This was the only restaurant we had time to go to. It was quiet, intimate and candle-lit. Very authentic. There were only 10 tables in the restaurant, and the tables were quite small so you sit very close next to your dinner guest. Both server and host had adorable Italian accents. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was romantic. I would recommend for a date night, anniversary, or engagement.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Gosh, we had a really unfortunate experience at Erminia Ristorante.

My boyfriend had heard great things about the restaurant from friends in Milan, Italy so we were excited to go.

The host was really wonderful and the food was great but we had the worst waiter ever. He brought the bread but not the olive oil which is no sin by any means but the waiter was so rude when we requested it.

As my boyfriend picked up his last bite of food and was about to CHEW, the waiter cleared his plate. The waiter then proceed to bring the bill (which was not requested for) within seconds of that. After he dropped the bill, he returned twice, within three minutes of dropping the check, to see if the payment was within the check presenter.

This was really a horrid experience.

The waiter really let this place down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was great, service welcoming, but above all the place was charming.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to diner at Erminia, loved the high quality food, the cozy atmosphere and the small number of tables. Very much quiet, excellent service, short but good wine list, but the food is what shines there. Very high quality ingredients prepared in a masterful way, great taste ! and the price tag does not break the bank account.
Enthusiastically recommended !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, staff is so nice and helpful. Food is mind blowing. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.