Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Erminia Ristorante

4.8
916 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 879-4284
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Bruno : (212) 879-4284
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off-site catering is available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.
Additional
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 916 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Went here to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary! It was a beautiful romantic experience! The ambiance is cozy and the place has a super-attentive staff!! Food was just divine! 😊

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

THe place is very small, but has a great feeling of not being in NYC. It seems to have staff that have been working there for years. Which shows it is a great place to be and to eat at. The staff was wonderful in allowing me to wait for my date. The service is very professional.
The only complaint is when the shave off the fresh parmesan cheese it goes all over the table. Not a big deal, thought it would be little more perfect.
Glad I went and would go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The service was outstanding. The suggestions made to us were right on and even though the place was full we had attention when needed and were left alone to enjoy at other times. Food was very good. The atmosphere was romantic and comfortable. The prices were very reasonable for the food, service and neighborhood. A very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Reservation handled professionally. Lovely space. Excellent service. Food very good but portions too small for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My husband and I were on a special trip to New York for my 50th birthday. I had read an article about local gems on the upper east side and decided to book Erminia. It was fabulous! The restaurant is small and cozy with a very personal feel. The food was delicious and the service exceptional. A wonderful find for a special occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

First time at this very special restaurant. The food was fresh and delicious. The service was excellent and the ambiance wonderful. Will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Amazing top to bottom!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Love them!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Haven’t been here in many years it was delicious then and delicious now

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Amazing food as usual cannot be between in NYC, accommodated both my requests for a specific table and flowers to be brought to the table. Amazing service with lovely people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The food, service, and atmosphere were fantastic. It was our 20th anniversary and they put a little candle on the desert we ordered. Our wine and water glasses were never empty...they really took care of us. I ordered one of the specials....loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

A must go! Beautiful ambiance. The food is spectacular and the hosts will make you feel welcome. There's nothing like this place in the Upper East Side. Best for a romantic evening without feeling too stuffy. You will not be dissapointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Amazing experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We took my son and his wife here for his birthday. The restaurant is charming, small, beautiful ambiance, The service was perfect, and the waitstaff charming.
Now, for the food - amazing, delicious, perfectly seasoned. We all lived our meals.
When I made the reservation I mentioned it was my son's birthday, never thinking they would remember. The waiter brought out an amazing piece of Tiramasu with a lit birthday candle!
We sang happy birthday, quietly, and then the other diners began wishing him a happy birthday. So how is Erminia? Perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This restaurant is good for all of the above!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

We have been going to Erminia’s for years and have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding, and the chef was very accommodating when we asked for a dish not currently on the menu. Our server, Pepe, made our party of six feel welcome and at home. Erminia’s is the perfect place for that special dining experience, be it for a romantic dinner or a special occasion with family and friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Without a doubt the most romantic little restaurant in NYC and the food is fantastic.
It will be everybody's favorite, as it is mine now.
And the service is excellent. And so is the value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Day in, day out Bruno and his staff, with great attentiveness and warmth, serve great food and wine in a beautiful setting!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We arrived a bit early for our 5:30 reservation so were able to choose a quiet table for the four of us. Service was great, food excellent and small intimate size a wonderful place to catch up with friends without bustle and noise from a crowd.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Wonderful food and caring and personal service! It was really enjoyable. We had a late reservation but were not rushed. Dying to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This was such a special evening! The food was excellent. They split on two plates the salad and appetizer (meatballs which were so good). But the atmosphere is why you must go- it’s so tiny and perfectly romantic lit by candles. LOVED IT! Wr always try new places when we come to New York because there are so many fun places to go BUT this will be a repeat. Very very special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

very cosy small restaurant serving great italian food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Excellent food with attentive service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Very cozy!! Very nice ambiance, service and food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

It’s just the best. Our favorite in New York City. And that is quite a feat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We had an amazing time at Erminia. Beautiful place, both inside and outside. Greeted when we arrived, they took care our jackets, made some jokes and sat us down. The feeling was very authentic.

The food was great, service was great. This is a quite place but great for a date.

I would really recommend this for couples on date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food, service and ambiance were all exceptional. Came with my gf for a date night, and it felt really romantic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We celebrated our anniversary with friends at Erminia and agree with all the reviews — it's truly a lovely romantic setting and the food is perfectly prepared authentic Old World Italian. Service is efficient and friendly and never rushed. This is just the sweetest spot to have a quite, cozy romantic dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great food, excellent service & incredible ambiance!!! Go every time I’m in NY. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

We heard this was a mainstay on the UES and we were not disappointed, The service was terrific as you felt you were a customer for decades. The food was good not exemplary which is why I gave it a strong 4 stars. Would go back. Thank you for the hospitality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Wine only - no beer available - food very flavorful with good sized portions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I thought the food was very good, but not great. The octopus was a bit too salty, breading on the clams was way too much. Everything else was spot-on. I was here just a few years back and recaal the food being a bit more dialed in. Not a major hit as the service was exceptional and the ambiance perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Staff was fantastic. So gracious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

A real dining experience of the first order. Terrific atmosphere - small and intimate - experienced, thoughtful staff - delicious meal - nice wine list. A real gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Always excellent. A special restaurant in every way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great ambiance and delicious pasta.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

I cannot say anything bad about Erminia. My girlfriend and I have been there twice, and it has become our little spot! Both times it has been a phenomenal experience all-around. Perfect for special occasions and VERY romantic. I love this restaurant and I hope to be back very soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

We loved the sense of a family owned service with great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

This has become my husband and I favorite restaurant. It’s very cozy and romantic. You feel like you’re in another world. Service is always great. The food; OMG, where do I start. We’ve been there a few times and I’ve Never been disappointed. Everything is fabulous, on or off the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Perfect as always. Great food, service, and wine!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23