About Erminia Ristorante

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bruno : 2128794284x

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Erminia Restaurant is happy to announce that we will be open for LUNCH as well as DINNER on Valentine's Day starting at 12:00. We look forward to having you!

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Romantic
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

Romantic (34)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, excellent service, very roma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, excellent service, very romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 7:30 reservations for 4 on Friday ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had 7:30 reservations for 4 on Friday. Greeted warmly and given a choice of the few empty tables which filled up quickly. Although a little cozy the noise level was non existent.

On the outside, the one story building seems to be a European style home. The inside continued the European atmosphere. The hosts and wait staff were warm and professional.

The food was perfectly presented and cooked to perfection. The Italian Ripasso was very nice and we'll priced for NYC.

Dessert was very good, especially the Italian Cheese cake.

Our first time won't be our last. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on our 10 monthiversary and impress ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went on our 10 monthiversary and impressed my boyfriend. Everything was great particularly the wine selection. The service was super . Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. It was a nice place, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was good. It was a nice place, very romantic with the dim light setting and wooden table. It was cozy and not as big as I thought itd be but that would be my only complaint

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I chose Erminia based on a Google search ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I chose Erminia based on a Google search - romantic Italian - as I wanted a special restaurant for my loved one's birthday and Erminia did not disappoint. Food was good, service attentive without making us feel rushed. I had the special chicken stuffed with proscuitto and cheese which was delicious as I strayed from my usual branzino : )

Highly recommend for that special evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was spot on. Special porcini mushr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was spot on. Special porcini mushroom pasta with shrimp was delectable. The Tartufo has a crunchy chocolate outside and is world class. Wonderful service too. Don't miss this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful evening in this quiet, exclusi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful evening in this quiet, exclusive environment. Romantic.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the artichoke appetizer. Would ret ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Loved the artichoke appetizer. Would return just for that!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The atmosphere was awesome the service a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The atmosphere was awesome the service and the food was great, I will recommend this restaurant for and special occasion or romantic dinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful compliment for a romantic e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A delightful compliment for a romantic evening. The food was delicious and the ambiance was exceptionally romantic. Would definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely! Made to feel comfortable! Food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lovely! Made to feel comfortable! Food was great as was service!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The grilled calamari was especially succ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The grilled calamari was especially succulent and a great starter. The wine was good and fairly priced. Bruno and Pepe made the evening even more special.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service! Will go here again w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent service! Will go here again with my girlfriend. Perfect for romantic dinners

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming old world feel and charming own ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Charming old world feel and charming owner and staff. Loved the food, decor, experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service, food and ambiance were great. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service, food and ambiance were great. They made my wife's birthday a memorable event. The restaurant is very intimate. They might have the best veal chop in the city. Mine was delicious and unbelievably tender. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ermina is what any truly good Italian re ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ermina is what any truly good Italian restaurant should be, but very rarely is. It's a smallish space one could call "intimate." Which is usually a way of saying "cramped and uncomfortable." But it's not. It's a warm, quiet if not large space with used bricks on the walls and starched tablecloths with long tapers burning on the tables. The servers wear what servers should wear in a fine space...suits. They smile warmly but speak softly, moving with grace and finesse among the close tables ensuring that every guest feels like precisely that...a guest.

The kitchen is excellent and the cooking is exceptionally good. So far so good. A gracious and professional staff. A charming room. A kitchen that turns out a very reasonable amount of unreasonably good dishes with fine-tuned consistency. So what makes Erminia exceptional, not merely high quality, in city of high-quality dining? The ingredients. Every ingredient is the best of the best, no compromise expected or given. Any vegetable will be fresh and of the highest quality available, anywhere at any price. The meats and fish are not just the best available but but are served only in that narrow window that is the peak of freshness and flavor. One assumes occasionally the owners sit in the back thinking, "Should I cut a corner? Should I order second best? Would anyone notice? Would anyone care?" That answer is no. And no. And yes. And yes. What goes into the kitchen before it comes out of the kitchen is what moves Erminia from the level of "really good" to the truly exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my man turning 50. It was per ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrated my man turning 50. It was perfect, in every way. Romantic atmosphere, cozy, and the food, spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I think when you go to Erminia, you have ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I think when you go to Erminia, you have to keep in mind the whole experience and not only the food.

the food did not unfortunately meet my expectation.

Erminia is a time capsule that takes you out of the busy NYC into a small neighborhood in Rome.

Will revisit again for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't expect this place to be so poor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I didn't expect this place to be so poor, the min I entered I felt I came in to a furnace it was so hot. I had to ask them to bring the Ac to comfort level in hot summer day.

The worst thing was I ended up having hair in my food. The min I had it I couldn't stand the place more than 5 min and left my dinner in between

Service part wasn't even nice considering the kind of place it is, servers have an edge of ego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

One of our favorite places. Have introdu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of our favorite places. Have introduced many friends to it. Always a lovely treat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate, cosy, romantic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Intimate, cosy, romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Romantic ambiance

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Came here to celebrate our one year anniversary after reading all the wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is small and has about twelve tables total, and you are met with standing candles and romantic lighting. The food itself was well prepared and not astronomically priced. Wine selection was good. Overall we had very enjoyable experience and will certainly come again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very romantic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This is a small restaurant tucked away on a side street. The interior is a bit like a rustic Italian cabin, but there's nothing rustic about the food, though not high-falutin' either which to me is a plus. Just really delicious Italian fare--fresh ingredients, well-combined in perfect portion sizes. And I loved that the noise level was quiet enough to speak softly and still be heard. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quaint great food good service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very quaint great food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Romantic and warm setting slow dining.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent service and atmosphere.

Food was very good; not excellent. Salad was salty (returned it).

Wine is very expensive by the glass.

Very relaxing. Nice candle light and warm surroundings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I made a Dinner reservation for our 25th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I made a Dinner reservation for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. I'm not from the area and took a chance on this place after much searching. I was NOT disappointed. This place is a gem. Great ambience, food, and service. I was very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Continues to amaze

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great simple salad, fabulous gnocchi, great salmon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put - truly one of the most roman ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Simply put - truly one of the most romantic places to take your loved one. It strikes the right balance of intimacy. Food & staff are good too. Note - no cell phones allowed :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best of the best of the best

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I've read the review - moved to NY from Tokyo where they have their fair share of excellent restaurants - food quality, service, and ambiance. Erminia by far takes it to a new level - the service was perfect, the food was amazing, the ambiance - as good as it gets. Call it a 'neighborhood gem' if you will - it's world class. Best of best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit; still impressed

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The gnocchi with truffles were sublime. The veal was very good. Chicken with sausage: simple and wonderful. Good wine. Excellent service. As I have stated in two prior reviews, this is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten at. Look forward to my next visit to NY in March.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always! Love this restaurant!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food is perfection! My favorite restaurant anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

A perfect dining experience every time.

Family, friends always are happy at Erminia, our favorite place to also dine alone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always superb

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

we went for a quiet romantic dinner and that is exactly what we got. we have been there at least 5 times, and each time it is the same. great service, and fabulous food. it is the perfect place for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

This was our second visit in two months and we can now say that our first meal was not a fluke. The food here is consistently excellent. This is an outstanding Italian restaurant with excellent food, ingredients and service. We will back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Upper East Side oasis

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Is a small, quiet, friendly, intimate Italian restaurant hard to find on the UES? For us, not any more! Erminia was made to order for clients seeking a peaceful haven for fine dining and tranquil conversation. This exquisite little place will become a favorite for us, worth a trip from NJ.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Average Food - Cute Restaurant - Average Service

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I went here for NYE and was able to order off the regular menu. Food was decent - not phenomenal. I was surprised that one of the bus boys removed my plate before my date finished her meal completely - completely inappropriate for a restaurant that is catering to being higher class. Lastly, the flatware and stemware were not up to par -- would recommend they upgrade to higher quality crystal wine glasses and better silverware. Lastly, the balloons on the ceiling were really cheesy and tacky -- I would prefer that they be removed or not used in the future.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Special Occasion Restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Romantic and cozy, this small Italian restaurant is perfect for a special occasion. My husband and I celebrated our 34th anniversary here. Service was attentive and food was very good. Roman artichokes for appetizer, housemade pasta with Bolognese sauce, veal chop, and delicious tiramisu for dessert. No rushing or hurrying you out the door, very relaxing dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very bad experience for an NYC Italian r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Very bad experience for an NYC Italian restaurant. The pasta was not homemade. I could've made a better barilla pasta at home. The melanzane was watery. The tiramisu was not. The waiters were rude to their clients in Italian (unfortunately we understand Italian). They tried to convince us that an espresso was a decaf when it was in fact not. It's too bad because we were excited about the romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.