About Erminia Ristorante

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bruno : (212) 879-4284

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (45)
Good for a Date (35)
Cozy (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Authentic (21)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This is NYC there are hundreds and hundreds of restaurants to choose; don't choose this one! Its supposed to be QUIET and Romantic, yet before we received our entrees the host sat a raucous group of six right next to us. The place was empty. We were the only two and they let in this loud drunk crowd who were doing shots and using the most disgusting language imaginable. I complained to the owner and his response was YES. I KNOW...SORRY! The place wants to maintain such a quiet "ambience" that they have signs up stating NO CELL PHONES...which is great. However, they let in this crowd and never once did the host or owner approach them and ask them to quiet down or leave. Absolutely infuriating! They are all about the buck. I'm a life long UES resident and I've been everywhere and never gone here before because friends and neighbors would complain about the staffs attitude. A first and the last. They just don't care. You would think that since our night was ruined that they would have tried something like buying us a drink/dessert? NO, another sign of poor management. They must be paying someone to give them such fabulous reviews. Terrible experience...my pasta dish was no different than what I get at my local pizzeria for $7.00! Save your money and go elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time but it won't be my last! Everything tasted as if I was eating it in Italy. Quite pricey, but worth it! It was a special occasion. I got the seafood platter and a canollo, two thumbs up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It's one of my all time favorite restaurants. Feels like I'm in Rome in someone's house. It's pretty small and cozy but the food is exceptional and I really like all the servers. They're warm and friendly without being overbearing. It's a special place, where nothing is "commercial" about it

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful service! A wonderful UES gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place is more than just a neighborhood gem. It's one of our favorite restaurants in NYC. I can't recommend it enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Both the food and the service were exceptional! I was very impressed. The setting was quite romantic as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Erminia never fails to impress. The food is always delicious, the charm hard to match and one of the rare places to eat in NYC where you can hear the people who are at your table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was beyond amazing. The place is about the size of a closet and the lighting was extremely dim but I would go back every day if I could. I've never had food this good in my life seriously. Wouldn't recommend elderly people going here because of how dark it is inside, perfect for tables of 2. Definitely will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I ordered a chicken dish with eggplant and fontina cheese. The serving size was very small and the chicken was dry and tasteless. The dish was so overdone that the cheese dried out! When I told the waiter that the chicken was dry he said thank you and walked away. This restaurant is overpriced and the food uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

What a truly wonderful experience for our last night in NYC. The service and food were the best my husband and I have ever experienced.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As usual, excellent food nicely served in a beautiful room!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful UES restaurant tucked back away from busy 2nd Avenue. Quaint and quiet with just a dozen tables (+/-). Exceptional service and delicious food prepared perfectly. Great wine list and house made desserts. Any restaurant that has been in business for 37 years is testament to one of two things only. Cheap and fast food prepared quickly or a restaurant that creates a memorable dining experience. Erminia Ristorante is solidly positioned in the latter. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food was amazing and the atmosphere was great. Highly recommended for a date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We really had a great meal at this small neighborhood restaurant. Atmosphere was charming and the food was it 10.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Intimate quiet room with excellent service and very good food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We loved Erminia and regret waiting 4 years after we moved to the neighborhood to try it. We went early on a Saturday and enjoyed a delicious, friendly and intimate dinner. Everything was very good but my bucatini all'amatriciana was extra fantastic and we had a lamb milanese special that really impressed us. The panna cotta was refreshing along with some expert espresso and a mighty grappa. We definitely want to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Erminia lived up to its reputation. Very cozy and romantic. Good service and great food. Nice wine choices too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Year after year Bruno and his staff expertly serve great food and wine in a beautiful, quiet setting!! Who can ask for anything more??

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Been going there for 10 years now for special occasions. Always perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Yes, it is a very romantic restaurant! For some that alone might be enough, but even if romance is not on your mine Erimina is worth. The visit. The food was expensive but worth the price. Excellent choices and well prepared. The service was attentive without hovering. They were friendly and informative and made the dining experience very pleasurable. Oh, and did I say it was romantic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Wonderful restaurant, from the ambiance to the food, this was a spectacular dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

For years Erminia has graciously served wonderful food and wine in a quiet, beautiful setting. A wonderful dining experience!!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Food, as always, was fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Very cozy and romantic. The entire restaurant has only 12 tables, all candlelit, for a very intimate experience. The service was excellent, the staff very attentive. Although the menu is a bit limited, the food was excellent. Gnocchi in a white truffle sauce....amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience. Roman food perfetto.
They have a distinct style that they succeed in relaying to the customers.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is a charming restaurant with excellent food, attentive service and moderate noise level. We especially liked the seared duck and pear salad specials and look forward to returning soon. Our out of town cousins loved it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful, small, intimate restaurant. Stocked wine from Puglia-a hidden gem among red wine choices

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very old world feel. Exceptional service. Lovely evening out with my husband.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is a remarkable restaurant hidden in the UES. The dining room is small. The service was excellent and all three courses were just outstanding. The setting is cozy and rustic with candles on each table and subdued lighting overall. It is a perfect couples spot. We felt we were in Italy or Spain. Erminia is delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

A lovely addition to the UES. A little too dark but the food was really good. Lots of waiters except when you needed one. I'll have to remember it if I ever have a date again - it could be quite romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Erminia is one of the most charming places to eat in NYC. 13 or so tables. Old world decor and feel and amazing service. It's always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful food, terrific service, charming decor. Will definitely become a regular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

very cozy, small room. Very friendly, efficient service. The food was very good, delicious. Really nice.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We went here for my boyfriend's birthday for the 2nd year and were again very impressed. The restaurant is intimate and we got the feeling that we were in Italy rather than NYC. The servers were very friendly and gave us amazing recommendations. Food was delicious, we've already been spreading the words to friends about this hidden gem. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner with impeccable service and delicious food!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of the best Caesar Salads ever, the Sole was wonderful, the Vongole was perfect - petite clams in an amazing sauce. Perfect Ravioli and the deserts were incredible. No need to say more. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

You get your money's worth. Food, service and ambiance all in a small setting.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Cozy is an understatement as our waiter literally had to talk above another table to speak with us. Food isn't very good either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This restaurant is a hidden gem! Tiny place with very welcoming service, the menu is a mix of old school Italian dishes and more creative compositions. We will definitely be back here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great service, nice ambiance, delicious food . Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.