About Erminia Ristorante

250 East 83rd Street
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Erminia, opened in 1982, is New York City’s most romantic restaurant. Obtaining some of the Zagat Survey’s most highly rated scores for food, service and décor each year, the Roman influenced Italian food is second to none on the Upper East Side. Forbes Magazine twice selected Erminia as its number one Top Pick for food. Most diners agree that the original concoctions prepared here will win the hearts of all those who come to experience the fare. The Swiss Alps cabin-like atmosphere accents the rustic feel at Erminia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:45pm

Cross Street:
Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 879-4284

Website:
http://www.erminiaristorante.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
4, 5 & 6 trains to 86th Street.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events can be held at the restaurant for up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Nikola Camaj: 2128794284

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Erminia Restaurant is happy to announce that we will be open for LUNCH as well as DINNER on Valentine's Day starting at 12:00. We look forward to having you!

Erminia Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Romantic
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper East Side ›

romantic (29)
special occasion (21)
neighborhood gem (20)
See All
fit for foodies (9)
notable wine list (8)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the food and service was excellent-very ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

the food and service was excellent-very attentive to our needs. one of the best dinners I have had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service! Will go here again w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent service! Will go here again with my girlfriend. Perfect for romantic dinners

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming old world feel and charming own ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Charming old world feel and charming owner and staff. Loved the food, decor, experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service, food and ambiance were great. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service, food and ambiance were great. They made my wife's birthday a memorable event. The restaurant is very intimate. They might have the best veal chop in the city. Mine was delicious and unbelievably tender. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ermina is what any truly good Italian re ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ermina is what any truly good Italian restaurant should be, but very rarely is. It's a smallish space one could call "intimate." Which is usually a way of saying "cramped and uncomfortable." But it's not. It's a warm, quiet if not large space with used bricks on the walls and starched tablecloths with long tapers burning on the tables. The servers wear what servers should wear in a fine space...suits. They smile warmly but speak softly, moving with grace and finesse among the close tables ensuring that every guest feels like precisely that...a guest.

The kitchen is excellent and the cooking is exceptionally good. So far so good. A gracious and professional staff. A charming room. A kitchen that turns out a very reasonable amount of unreasonably good dishes with fine-tuned consistency. So what makes Erminia exceptional, not merely high quality, in city of high-quality dining? The ingredients. Every ingredient is the best of the best, no compromise expected or given. Any vegetable will be fresh and of the highest quality available, anywhere at any price. The meats and fish are not just the best available but but are served only in that narrow window that is the peak of freshness and flavor. One assumes occasionally the owners sit in the back thinking, "Should I cut a corner? Should I order second best? Would anyone notice? Would anyone care?" That answer is no. And no. And yes. And yes. What goes into the kitchen before it comes out of the kitchen is what moves Erminia from the level of "really good" to the truly exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my man turning 50. It was per ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrated my man turning 50. It was perfect, in every way. Romantic atmosphere, cozy, and the food, spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I think when you go to Erminia, you have ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I think when you go to Erminia, you have to keep in mind the whole experience and not only the food.

the food did not unfortunately meet my expectation.

Erminia is a time capsule that takes you out of the busy NYC into a small neighborhood in Rome.

Will revisit again for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't expect this place to be so poor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I didn't expect this place to be so poor, the min I entered I felt I came in to a furnace it was so hot. I had to ask them to bring the Ac to comfort level in hot summer day.

The worst thing was I ended up having hair in my food. The min I had it I couldn't stand the place more than 5 min and left my dinner in between

Service part wasn't even nice considering the kind of place it is, servers have an edge of ego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

One of our favorite places. Have introdu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of our favorite places. Have introduced many friends to it. Always a lovely treat

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate, cosy, romantic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Intimate, cosy, romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Romantic ambiance

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Came here to celebrate our one year anniversary after reading all the wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is small and has about twelve tables total, and you are met with standing candles and romantic lighting. The food itself was well prepared and not astronomically priced. Wine selection was good. Overall we had very enjoyable experience and will certainly come again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very romantic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This is a small restaurant tucked away on a side street. The interior is a bit like a rustic Italian cabin, but there's nothing rustic about the food, though not high-falutin' either which to me is a plus. Just really delicious Italian fare--fresh ingredients, well-combined in perfect portion sizes. And I loved that the noise level was quiet enough to speak softly and still be heard. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quaint great food good service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very quaint great food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Romantic and warm setting slow dining.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent service and atmosphere.

Food was very good; not excellent. Salad was salty (returned it).

Wine is very expensive by the glass.

Very relaxing. Nice candle light and warm surroundings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I made a Dinner reservation for our 25th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I made a Dinner reservation for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. I'm not from the area and took a chance on this place after much searching. I was NOT disappointed. This place is a gem. Great ambience, food, and service. I was very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Continues to amaze

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great simple salad, fabulous gnocchi, great salmon.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put - truly one of the most roman ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Simply put - truly one of the most romantic places to take your loved one. It strikes the right balance of intimacy. Food & staff are good too. Note - no cell phones allowed :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best of the best of the best

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I've read the review - moved to NY from Tokyo where they have their fair share of excellent restaurants - food quality, service, and ambiance. Erminia by far takes it to a new level - the service was perfect, the food was amazing, the ambiance - as good as it gets. Call it a 'neighborhood gem' if you will - it's world class. Best of best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third visit; still impressed

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The gnocchi with truffles were sublime. The veal was very good. Chicken with sausage: simple and wonderful. Good wine. Excellent service. As I have stated in two prior reviews, this is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten at. Look forward to my next visit to NY in March.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always! Love this restaurant!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food is perfection! My favorite restaurant anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

A perfect dining experience every time.

Family, friends always are happy at Erminia, our favorite place to also dine alone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always superb

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

we went for a quiet romantic dinner and that is exactly what we got. we have been there at least 5 times, and each time it is the same. great service, and fabulous food. it is the perfect place for a date or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

This was our second visit in two months and we can now say that our first meal was not a fluke. The food here is consistently excellent. This is an outstanding Italian restaurant with excellent food, ingredients and service. We will back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Upper East Side oasis

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Is a small, quiet, friendly, intimate Italian restaurant hard to find on the UES? For us, not any more! Erminia was made to order for clients seeking a peaceful haven for fine dining and tranquil conversation. This exquisite little place will become a favorite for us, worth a trip from NJ.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Average Food - Cute Restaurant - Average Service

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I went here for NYE and was able to order off the regular menu. Food was decent - not phenomenal. I was surprised that one of the bus boys removed my plate before my date finished her meal completely - completely inappropriate for a restaurant that is catering to being higher class. Lastly, the flatware and stemware were not up to par -- would recommend they upgrade to higher quality crystal wine glasses and better silverware. Lastly, the balloons on the ceiling were really cheesy and tacky -- I would prefer that they be removed or not used in the future.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Special Occasion Restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Romantic and cozy, this small Italian restaurant is perfect for a special occasion. My husband and I celebrated our 34th anniversary here. Service was attentive and food was very good. Roman artichokes for appetizer, housemade pasta with Bolognese sauce, veal chop, and delicious tiramisu for dessert. No rushing or hurrying you out the door, very relaxing dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very bad experience for an NYC Italian r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Very bad experience for an NYC Italian restaurant. The pasta was not homemade. I could've made a better barilla pasta at home. The melanzane was watery. The tiramisu was not. The waiters were rude to their clients in Italian (unfortunately we understand Italian). They tried to convince us that an espresso was a decaf when it was in fact not. It's too bad because we were excited about the romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Outstanding Italian food.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

This is one of the best Italian dinners (here or in Italy) that I have ever had. Gnocchi were devine. Excellent salad. Good veal medallions. Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not what it used to be

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Sadly, the food was not as good as it used to be. Either a change in the chef, suppliers or owners. The restaurant remains one of the most charming places on the UES and the service was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food, great service. Authentic.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Great food, great service. Authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife's 50th Birthday

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

I was looking for an Upper East Side restaurant to take my wife for her big birthday and had heard about Ermina. It was cozy…romantic… with great food. Perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exceptional, especially the artichoke d

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

The food was awesome but it's the ambience that's really unique. Very warm and cozy. Would definitely want to go back. A amazing find!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's ok needs more staff

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

The food was ok not the best , servers were more concerned with making money than getting refills or clearing the tables, ruined my romantic evening for a wedding proposal, the server was pretty

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Romantic spot on the UES

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

Nice and cozy, perfect for our wedding anniversary. Great Roman Italian food.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Authentic!!!!!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Wonderful staff, very friendly. They customized our meals per our request. Very small space but decor is great!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

An open little secret

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Erminia's is a cozy romantic spot on the UES. Food is done the rustic way. No fancy schmancy meals, just downright cooking with amore... Well done, no wonder it's been there for many years...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good things come in small packages

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Erminia may be a tiny restaurant But the food will have a big impact on your experience. Service was friendly and informative without being pushy. Do try the ricotta cheese cake, it's house made and one of the best we have had. So if size does not matter to you and your serious about great Italian food, do try this neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous special occasion restaurant - i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Fabulous special occasion restaurant - it never fails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Romantic, great service, yummy food. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Romantic, great service, yummy food.

We went for our 5th wedding anniversary and were given a table for 2 that seemed like an after thought in the corner of the restaurant that made it difficult for the waiter to serve us.

Aside from that everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.